Candidates seeking to file applications outside of lobby hours should contact the Elections Division at 512-463-5650.

Qualified high school students can register to vote with principal

September 13, 2016
Contact: Alicia Pierce or Mari Bergman

AUSTIN, TX – Today, Texas Secretary of State Carlos H. Cascos reminded qualified students that they have a variety of options to register to vote, including through their high school principal.

“Texas law has a unique provision that requires high school principals, or their designees, to serve as a voter registrar,” said Secretary Cascos. “I encourage all high school principals to offer this opportunity before the October 11 registration deadline for the November election.”

Students may register if they are a U.S. Citizen and have reached the age of 17 years and 10 months. To vote in an election, a Texan must be 18 years old by Election Day. In addition to students, high school principals or their designee may also register employees of their schools.

Secretary Cascos, who has made outreach to first-time voters a priority in his administration, stressed the importance of reaching out to students who may feel uncertain about the voting process.

“By providing voting education and registration opportunities to young Texans now, we can help them create life-long voting habits to carry throughout adulthood,” said Secretary Cascos.

Late last month, the Office of the Texas Secretary of State mailed information to high school principals and school district superintendents reminding me them of the obligation and providing instructions. Principals with questions about their obligation to serve as a registrar should call 1-800-252-VOTE or email.

In addition to registering through their principal, qualified students may register through ways open to all Texans. This includes creating an application at VoteTexas.gov, which they will need to print, sign and mail. Texans may also find voter registration cards at many community locations such as public libraries and U.S. Post Offices.

If a Texan is not a high school principal and wishes to become a volunteer deputy registrar, they should contact their county elections office for additional details. In Texas, anyone can pass out voter registration cards, but only a registrar can collect the registrations.

For additional questions about registration and voting in Texas, visit VoteTexas.gov or call 1-800-252-VOTE.