Election Notice:  ID requirements for voting in person  |  ID requirements for voting by mail  |  Election Night Returns

Frequently Asked Questions

Texas Register and Texas Administrative Code

How do I subscribe to the Texas Register?
For print subscriptions, please contact LexisNexis Matthew Bender & Company at 800-223-1940. For access to our internet-based services, please call the Texas Register at (512) 463-5561 or email register@sos.texas.gov.

How does the open meeting system work?
Both state and regional agencies submit their notices of open meetings to the Secretary of State's office through a secure internet site. Agencies may post their meetings at any time and are not limited to posting during normal business hours. Meetings are added to the open meetings portion of the Texas Register internet site within five minutes of being posted by the agency. The Secretary of State is not responsible for the information or content that is contained in open meeting notices. Nor does the SOS make any representations as to sufficiency or accuracy of the posted information.

How frequently will issues of the Texas Register be added to the internet site?
The Texas Register is published weekly, every Friday. Each issue will be posted on the internet site by 5 p.m. CST every Friday. The postings contained in the Texas Register are submitted electronically by parties outside the control of the SOS and any questions about a particular posting should be directed to that entity. Contact information is included in each posted document.

How up to date is the Texas Administrative Code (TAC)?
The Texas Administrative Code is current through today's date.

How can I print copies of rules from the Texas Administrative Code?
Copies of individual chapters can be downloaded for free in a variety of formats by using our Public Document Request option.

Is graphic and tabular material included online?
All graphic and tabular material in each issue of the Texas Register is included in all online services.

What is the comment period for a proposed rule?
Texas Gov't Code 2001.029 states a state agency "...shall give all interested persons a reasonable opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing." Proposed rules may not be submitted to the Texas Register for adoption any earlier than 30 days from the date of publication of the proposed rule in the Texas Register.

When does a rule become effective?
Typically, a rule takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is filed with the Secretary of State. (For exceptions see Texas Gov't Code 2001.036). Day one is the date following the filing, and the rule may take effect on day 20. Note that the time period for an adopted rule is triggered by filing.

How is a rule different from a statute?
Statutes are created or amended by the Legislature. Rules are adopted by state agencies (Executive branch), usually with specific rulemaking authority from the Legislature.

Where can I find the statutes?
You can find the on-line version at the Texas Legislature Online web site at http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/