Election Outlook: Secretary Hughs Encourages Texans To Vote Early, Make Preparations To Cast A Ballot In November 3rd General Election  |  More about Identification Requirements for Voting  |  Early voting for the November 3, 2020 Uniform Election Date runs Tuesday, October 13, 2020 – Friday, October 30, 2020  |  What’s on the Ballot?  |  Am I Registered to Vote?  |  Election Results  |  Voter Information  |  Voting Issues for Texas Evacuees Due to Natural Disasters  |  Texas Election Security Update
Close this message COVID-19 - As recommended precautions continue to increase for COVID-19, the James E. Rudder Building will be closed to visitors and customers beginning Wednesday, March 18, 2020. The Office of the Secretary of State is committed to continuing to provide services to ensure business and public filings remain available 24/7 through our online business service, SOSDirect or use the new SOSUpload. Thank you in advance for your patience during this difficult time. Information on Testing Sites is now available.

Frequently Asked Questions for Form Series 3300 - Texas State Seal

The answers to our Frequently Asked Questions are provided for informational purposes and are not intended to provide legal advice or to substitute for the advice of an attorney. If you have specific legal questions, consult your attorney.

1. Do I have to be licensed to use the State Seal?

Section 17.08 of the Texas Business and Commerce Code requires that a person must obtain a license to use the Texas State Seal for a commercial purpose. Section 17.08 defines "commercial purpose" and specifies certain exceptions to the definition.

2. If I obtain a license, can I use the state seal for any purpose?

The primary purpose of Section 17.08 is to allow for the manufacturing of products which bear a representation of the state seal. A use that is not in the best interest of the State of Texas and/or is detrimental to the image of the State is not allowed. In addition, a use may be determined to violate the Deceptive Trade Practices Act and subject the user to fines and penalties provided by such Act.

3. How do I apply for a license to use the State Seal?

You must complete a license application, available from the Registrations Unit, and file it, with the Secretary of State. A license application fee of $35.00 and a license fee of $250.00 must accompany the license application form.

In addition, each licensee must pay a royalty fee to the State in an amount equal to three percent of the licensee's annual gross receipts related to the licensed use that is in excess of $5,000.00.

4. Where do I send my request for an electronic copy of the State Seal?

Requests for an electronic version of the State Seal should be directed to Registrations Unit.