TABLES & Graphic images included in rules are published separately in this tables and graphics section. Graphic images are arranged in this section in the following order: Title Number, Part Number, Chapter Number and Section Number.

Part Number, Chapter Number and Section Number.

Part of the emergency, proposed, and adopted rules by the following tag: the word "Figure" has been paragraph, subparagraph, and so on.

Figure: 19 TAC §13.474(b)

<u>Funded Outcome</u>	<u>Funded Value</u>	<u>Funded Value for</u>
		Completion in a High-
		<u>Demand Field</u>
(1) Dual Credit or Dual	\$1,700	n/a
Enrollment Fundable Outcome		
(2) Transfer Fundable Outcome	\$3,500	n/a
or Structured Co-Enrollment		
<u>Fundable Outcome</u>		
(3) Fundable Credentials	See subtypes below	See subtypes below
(A) Licensure/Certification, as	\$1,000	\$1,250
defined in 13.472(16)(C)(iii)		
(B) Institutional Credential	\$1,000	\$1,250
<u>Leading to a</u>		
<u>Licensure/Certification</u>		
(C) Occupational Skills Award	<u>\$750</u>	\$1,000
(D) Certificate (Advanced	\$1,750	\$3,500
Technical Certificate, Level 1 or		
<u>Level 2 Certificate)</u>		
(E) Associate Degree	\$3,500	\$4,500
(F) Baccalaureate Degree	\$3,500	\$4,500

## CONSUMER BILL OF RIGHTS

#### Personal Automobile Insurance

#### What is the Bill of Rights?

It is a basic outline of important rights you have under Texas law. Insurance companies must give you this Bill of Rights with your policy. It is important to read and understand your policy.

### The Bill of Rights is not:

- A complete list of all your rights,
- Part of your policy, or
- A list of everything that you are responsible for.

#### **Questions about these rights?**

- If you are not sure about anything in your policy, ask your agent or insurance company.
- If you have questions or a complaint, contact the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI):

**Call with a question:** 1-800-252-3439

Email with a question: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov

File a complaint through the website:

www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/get-help-with-an-insurance-complaint.html

• To learn more about insurance, visit www.opic.texas.gov or call the Office of Public Insurance Counsel (OPIC) at 1-877-611-6742.

AVISO: Este documento es un resumen de sus derechos como asegurado. Tiene derecho a llamar a su compañía de seguros y obtener una copia de estos derechos en español. Además, puede ser que su compañía de seguros tenga disponible una versión de su póliza en español.

# **Table of Contents**

WI	here to Get Information	3
1.	Your insurance company	
2.	Your declarations page	3
3.	The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI)	3
4.	Resources for shopping for insurance	3
WI	hat You Should Know When You File a Claim	3
5.	Choice of repair shop and replacement parts	3
6.	Auto repair notice requirements	3
7.	Deadlines for processing claims and payments	3
8.	Written explanation of claim denial	4
9.	Information not required for processing your claim	4
10.	Reasonable investigation	4
11.	Deductible recovery	4
12.	Notice of liability claim settlement.	4
W	no to Contact for Claim Disagreements	
13.	ho to Contact for Claim Disagreements  Claim disagreements	4
13.	Claim disagreementshat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal	4
13. Wl 14.	Claim disagreements	4 4 5
13. WI 14. 15.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies	4 4 5
13. Wl 14. 15. 16.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies  Notice of cancellation	455
13. Wl 14. 15. 16.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies  Notice of cancellation  Your right to cancel	4555
13. Wl 14. 15. 16. 17. 18.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies  Notice of cancellation  Your right to cancel  Refund of premium.	45555
13. Wl 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies  Notice of cancellation  Your right to cancel  Refund of premium.  Limits on using claims history to change premium.	455555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies  Notice of cancellation  Your right to cancel  Refund of premium.  Limits on using claims history to change premium.  Timing of nonrenewal	445555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20. 21.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies  Notice of cancellation  Your right to cancel  Refund of premium  Limits on using claims history to change premium.  Timing of nonrenewal  Notice of nonrenewal	455555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies Notice of cancellation Your right to cancel Refund of premium Limits on using claims history to change premium. Timing of nonrenewal Notice of nonrenewal Nonrenewal for failure to cooperate.	455555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies  Notice of cancellation  Your right to cancel  Refund of premium  Limits on using claims history to change premium.  Timing of nonrenewal  Notice of nonrenewal  Notrenewal for failure to cooperate  Not-at-fault claims	4455555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23. 24.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies Notice of cancellation Your right to cancel Refund of premium Limits on using claims history to change premium. Timing of nonrenewal Notice of nonrenewal Nonrenewal for failure to cooperate. Not-at-fault claims Limit on using credit information to nonrenew your policy.	455555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23. 24. 25.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal  Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages  Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies  Notice of cancellation  Your right to cancel  Refund of premium  Limits on using claims history to change premium.  Timing of nonrenewal  Notice of nonrenewal  Nonrenewal for failure to cooperate.  Not-at-fault claims  Limit on using credit information to nonrenew your policy  Limit on using age to nonrenew your policy.	4455555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23. 24. 25. 26.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies Notice of cancellation Your right to cancel Refund of premium Limits on using claims history to change premium Timing of nonrenewal Notice of nonrenewal Nonrenewal for failure to cooperate Not-at-fault claims Limit on using credit information to nonrenew your policy Limit on using age to nonrenew your policy Protections from discrimination.	455555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23. 24. 25. 26. 27.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies Notice of cancellation Your right to cancel Refund of premium Limits on using claims history to change premium. Timing of nonrenewal Notice of nonrenewal Nonrenewal for failure to cooperate. Not-at-fault claims Limit on using credit information to nonrenew your policy Limit on using age to nonrenew your policy Protections from discrimination Right to ask questions	4455555
13. WI 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23. 24. 25. 26. 27. 28.	Claim disagreements  hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies Notice of cancellation Your right to cancel Refund of premium Limits on using claims history to change premium Timing of nonrenewal Notice of nonrenewal Nonrenewal for failure to cooperate Not-at-fault claims Limit on using credit information to nonrenew your policy Limit on using age to nonrenew your policy Protections from discrimination.	45555

#### Where to Get Information

- 1. Your insurance company. When you get a copy of your policy you will also get an "Important Notice" from the company. The notice explains how to contact your company and how to file a complaint. You may request a complete copy of your policy from your company at any time.
- 2. Your declarations page. The declarations page, also called the "dec page," shows: (a) the name and address of your insurance company, (b) the dates your policy is in effect, (c) the insured vehicles and drivers, (d) any excluded drivers, (e) the amounts and types of coverage, and (f) your deductibles.
- 3. The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI). You have the right to call TDI for free at 1-800-252-3439 for information and help with a complaint against an insurer. You can also find information on the TDI website at www.tdi.texas.gov.
- 4. Resources for shopping for insurance. The Office of Public Insurance Counsel (OPIC) and TDI developed www.HelpInsure.com to help you compare rates and coverages for different insurance companies. OPIC also has an online tool to help you compare policies. You can find this policy comparison tool at www.opic.texas.gov.

#### What You Should Know When You File a Claim

- 5. Choice of repair shop and replacement parts. You have the right to choose the repair shop and parts for your vehicle. An insurance company may not specify the brand, type, kind, age, vendor, supplier, or condition of parts or products used to repair your auto, but they are not required to pay more than a reasonable amount.
- **6. Auto repair notice requirements.** The insurance company must provide you a document about your rights regarding auto repairs as follows:
  - Claims submitted by telephone: Written notice within 3 business days or verbal notice during the call, followed by written notice within 15 business days;
  - Claims submitted in person: Written notice at the time you present your vehicle to an
    insurer, an insurance adjuster, or other person in connection with a claim for repair; or
  - Claims submitted in writing (including email and fax): Written notice must be provided within 3 business days of the insurance company receiving notice of the claim.
- 7. **Deadlines for processing claims and payments.** When you file a claim on your own policy, the insurance company must meet these deadlines:
  - Within 15 days after you file a claim: The company must let you know they received your claim. The company must also start their investigation and ask you for any other information they need.
  - Within 15 business days after they get all the information they need: The company must approve or deny your claim in writing. They can extend this deadline up to 45 days from the date they: (a) let you know they need more time and (b) tell you why.
  - Within 5 business days after they let you know your claim is approved: The company must pay the claim.

Note: TDI can extend these deadlines by 15 more days if there is a weather-related catastrophe.

If your company fails to meet these deadlines, you may be able to collect the claim amount, interest, and attorney's fees.

- 8. Written explanation of claim denial. Your insurance company must tell you in writing why your claim or part of your claim was denied.
- 9. Information not required for processing your claim. Your insurance company can only ask for information reasonably needed for their claim investigation. However, they cannot ask for your federal income tax returns unless: (a) they get a court order or (b) your claim involves a fire loss, loss of profits, or lost income.
- 10. Reasonable investigation. Your insurance company cannot refuse to pay your claim without a reasonable investigation of the claim. You should keep records of all claim communications (including notes from phone calls) and other claim documentation (including damage estimates and receipts).
- 11. **Deductible recovery.** If another person may be liable for the damage to your auto and you (a) filed a claim, and (b) paid or owe a deductible on your own policy, then your insurance company must:
  - Take action to recover your deductible no later than 1 year from when your claim is paid; or
  - Refund your deductible; or
  - Notify you that they will not take action and allow you to try to collect your money (a) within 1 year from that date your claim is paid, or (b) at least 90 days before the statute of limitations expires (whichever date comes first).
- 12. Notice of liability claim settlement. Liability means you are responsible for other people's injuries or damage to their property. Your insurance company must let you know in writing:
  - About the first offer to settle a claim against you within 10 days after the offer is made.
  - About any claim settled against you within 30 days after the date of the settlement.

#### Who to Contact for Claim Disagreements

- **13.** Claim disagreements. You can dispute the amount of your claim payment or what is covered under your policy. You can:
  - Contact your insurance company.
  - Contact the repair person or shop.
  - Contact an attorney to advise you of your rights under the law. The State Bar of Texas can help you find an attorney.
  - Pay a qualified appraiser to examine the damage to your property.
  - File a complaint with TDI.

#### What You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation, and Nonrenewal

Renewal means that your insurance company is extending your policy for another term.

Cancellation means that, before the end of the policy period, the insurance company:

• Terminates the policy;

- Gives you less coverage or limits your coverage; or
- Refuses to give additional coverage that you are entitled to under the policy.

"Refusal to renew" and "nonrenewal" are terms that mean your coverage ends at the end of the policy period. The policy period is shown on the declarations page of your policy.

- 14. Offer of uninsured/underinsured motorist and personal injury protection coverages. Insurance companies must offer you Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage on a new policy. If you decline them, it must be in writing. The company is not required to reoffer these coverages upon renewal, but you may request them at any time.
- **15.** Insurance company cancellation of personal automobile policies. If your policy has been in effect for **60 days or more**, your company can only cancel your policy if:
  - You don't pay your premium when it is due;
  - You file a fraudulent claim;
  - TDI decides that keeping the policy violates the law;
  - Your driver's license or vehicle registration is suspended or revoked (unless you agree to exclude coverage for yourself as a driver under the policy); or
  - Any driver who lives with you, or who usually drives a vehicle covered by the policy, has their
    driver's license or vehicle registration suspended or revoked (unless you agree to exclude coverage
    for that person as a driver under the policy).
- 16. Notice of cancellation. If your insurance company cancels your policy, they must let you know by mail at least 10 days before the effective date of the cancellation. Check your policy because your company may give you more than 10 days' notice.
- 17. Your right to cancel. You can cancel your policy at any time and get a refund of the unused premium.
- **18. Refund of premium.** If you or your insurance company cancel your policy, the company must refund any unused premium within 15 business days from:
  - the date the company receives notice of the cancellation or
  - the date of cancellation, whichever is later.

You must let your company know you want the refund sent to you. If not, they may refund the remaining premium by giving you a premium credit on the same policy.

- 19. Limits on using claims history to change premium. Your insurance company can't change your premium solely because of a claim you file that is not paid or payable under your policy.
- **20. Timing of nonrenewal.** Your insurance company must renew your policy until it has been in effect for 1 year. If your policy is renewed, your company must continue to renew your policy until the yearly anniversary of the original effective date.

For example, if your six-month policy was originally effective on January 1, 2050, your company must renew your policy until January 1, 2051. After that, your company may only refuse to renew your policy on the original effective date (in this example, January 1) of any future year.

Note: There is an exception. See #22, "Nonrenewal for failure to cooperate."

- 21. Notice of nonrenewal. Your insurance company must send you a notice that they are not renewing your policy. They must let you know at least 60 days before your policy expires, or you can require them to renew your policy.
- 22. Nonrenewal for failure to cooperate. Your insurance company is required to nonrenew your policy if you or someone covered by your policy fails or refuses to cooperate in the investigation, settlement, or defense of a third-party liability claim or action or the company is unable to contact you or someone covered by your policy using reasonable efforts. The company must first give you a written notice that states:
  - (1) how you or someone covered by your policy failed or refused to cooperate, including failure as a result of the company's inability to contact you or them;
  - (2) the claim or action for which the company is requesting cooperation; and
  - (3) continued failure or refusal to cooperate will result in the company not renewing your policy.
- **23.** Not-at-fault claims. Your insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy solely because of any one of the following:
  - Claims involving damage from a weather-related incident that do not involve a collision, like damage from hail, wind, or flood.
  - Accidents or claims involving damage by contact with animals.
  - Accidents or claims involving damage caused by flying gravel, missiles, or other flying objects.
     However, if you have 3 of these claims in a three-year period, the company may increase your deductible on your next annual renewal date.
  - Towing and labor claims. However, once you have made 4 of these claims in a three-year period, the company may remove this coverage from your policy on your next annual renewal date.
  - Any other accident or claim that cannot reasonably be considered your fault, unless you have 2 of these claims or accidents in a one-year period.
- **24.** Limit on using credit information to nonrenew your policy. An insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy solely because of your credit.
- **25.** Limit on using age to nonrenew your policy. An insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy based solely on the age of any person covered by the policy. Your company also cannot require you to exclude a family member from coverage solely because they reached driving age.
- **26. Protections from discrimination.** An insurance company cannot refuse to insure you; limit the coverage you buy; refuse to renew your policy; or charge you a different rate based on your race, color, creed, country of origin, or religion.
- **27. Right to ask questions.** You can ask your insurance company a question about your policy. They cannot use your questions to deny, nonrenew, or cancel your coverage. Your questions also cannot be used to determine your premium.

For example, you may ask:

- General questions about your policy;
- Questions about the company's claims filing process; and
- Questions about whether the policy will cover a loss, unless the question is about damage: (a) that occurred and (b) that results in an investigation or claim.
- 28. Notice of a "material change" to your policy. If your insurance company does not want to cancel or nonrenew your policy, but wants to make certain material changes, then they must explain the changes in

writing at least 30 days before the annual renewal date. Material changes include:

- Giving you less coverage;
- Changing a condition of coverage; or
- Changing what you are required to do.

Instead of a notice of "material change" a company may choose to not renew your existing policy. If so, the company has to send a nonrenewal letter, but may still offer you a different policy.

Note: A company cannot reduce coverage during the policy period unless you ask for the change. If you ask for the change, the company does not have to send you a notice.

**29.** Written explanation of cancellation or nonrenewal. You can ask your insurance company to tell you in writing the reasons for their decision to cancel or not renew your policy. The company must explain in detail why they cancelled or nonrenewed your policy.

# DECLARACIÓN DE DERECHOS DEL CONSUMIDOR

#### Seguro de Automóvil Personal

#### ¿Qué es la Declaración de Derechos?

Es un resumen básico de los derechos importantes que tiene bajo la ley de Texas. Las compañías de seguros tienen que darle una copia de esta Declaración de Derechos junto con su póliza. Es importante leer y entender su póliza.

#### La Declaración de Derechos no es:

- Una lista completa de todos sus derechos,
- Parte de su póliza, o
- Una lista de todas sus obligaciones.

### ¿Tiene preguntas sobre estos derechos?

- Si tiene una duda sobre algún aspecto de su póliza, consulte a su agente o a la compañía de seguros.
- Si tiene preguntas o alguna queja, comuníquese con el Departamento de Seguros de Texas (Texas Department of Insurance - TDI, por su nombre y siglas en inglés):

Para preguntas por teléfono, llame al: 1-800-252-3439

Para preguntas por correo electrónico: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov

Para presentar una queja a través del sitio web:

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/get-help-with-an-insurance-complaint.html

Para obtener más información sobre seguros, visite <a href="https://www.opic.texas.gov/es/pagina-principal">https://www.opic.texas.gov/es/pagina-principal</a> o llame a la Oficina del Asesor Público de Seguros (Office of Public Insurance Counsel -OPIC, por su nombre y siglas en inglés) al 1-877-611-6742.

AVISO: Si recibe algún documento en inglés, llame a su agente o compañía de seguros y pregunte si lo tienen disponible en español.

# Tabla de Contenido

Dó	nde obtener información	3
1.	La compañía de seguros	3
2.	La página de declaraciones	3
3.	El Departamento de Seguros de Texas (TDI)	3
4.	Recursos para ayudarlo a comprar seguro	3
Lo	que debería saber al presentar una reclamación	
5.	Selección del taller de reparación y las piezas de repuesto	
6.	Avisos requeridos sobre la reparación de autos	
7.	Plazos para tramitar reclamaciones y pagos	
8.	Explicación por escrito de la denegación de la reclamación	4
9.	Información no requerida para procesar su reclamación	4
10.	Investigación razonable	4
11.	Recuperación del deducible	
12.	Aviso de que se llegó a un acuerdo sobre la reclamación de responsabilidad	4
Co	n quién hablar si hay desacuerdos sobre las reclamaciones	4
	Desacuerdos sobre reclamaciones.	
	que debería saber sobre la renovación, la cancelación y la no renovación	
	para reclamaciones de lesiones personales	
15.	Cancelación por parte de la compañía de seguros de su póliza de auto personal	
16.	Aviso de cancelación	
17.		
18.	Reembolso de la prima	
	Limitación al uso de su historial de reclamaciones para hacer cambios a la prima	
	Fechas relacionadas a la no renovación.	
	Aviso de no renovación	
	No renovación por falta de cooperación.	
	Reclamaciones sin culpa	
	Limitación al uso de información crediticia para no renovar su póliza	
25.	Limitación al uso de la edad para no renovar su póliza	
26.		
27.	Derecho a hacer preguntas	
	Aviso de un "cambio material" a su póliza	
29.	Explicación por escrito de la cancelación o la no renovación	7

#### Dónde obtener información:

- 1. La compañía de seguros. Cuando reciba una copia de su póliza, también recibirá un "Aviso Importante" de la compañía. El aviso explica cómo ponerse en contacto con la compañía y cómo presentar una queja. Puede solicitar una copia completa de su póliza a la compañía en cualquier momento.
- 2. La página de declaraciones. La página de declaraciones, también llamada "dec page," muestra:

  (a) el nombre y la dirección de la compañía de seguros, (b) las fechas efectivas de su póliza, (c) los vehículos y conductores asegurados, (d) cualquier conductor que esté excluido, (e) las cantidades y tipos de cobertura, y (f) sus deducibles.
- 3. El Departamento de Seguros de Texas (TDI). Tiene derecho a llamar gratis a TDI al 1-800-252-3439 para obtener información y ayuda sobre una queja contra una aseguradora. También puede encontrar información en el sitio web de TDI en www.tdi.texas.gov.
- 4. Recursos para ayudarlo a comprar seguro. La Oficina del Asesor Público de Seguros (OPIC) y TDI establecieron el sitio web www.HelpInsure.com para ayudarlo a comparar tarifas y coberturas de diferentes compañías de seguros. OPIC también tiene una herramienta en línea para ayudarlo a comparar las pólizas. Puede encontrar esta herramienta de comparación de pólizas en www.opic.texas.gov.

#### Lo que debería saber al presentar una reclamación

- 5. Selección del taller de reparación y las piezas de repuesto. Tiene derecho a elegir el taller de reparación y las piezas para su vehículo. La compañía de seguros no puede especificar la marca, el estilo, el tipo, la edad, el surtidor, el proveedor o la condición de las piezas o productos utilizados para reparar su auto, pero la aseguradora no está obligada a pagar más del costo razonable.
- 6. Avisos requeridos sobre la reparación de autos. La compañía de seguros tiene que entregarle un documento acerca de sus derechos respecto a la reparación de autos, como se indica a continuación:
  - Reclamaciones presentadas por teléfono: Aviso por escrito dentro de los 3 días hábiles o aviso verbal durante la llamada, seguido de un aviso por escrito dentro de los 15 días hábiles;
  - Reclamaciones presentadas en persona: Aviso por escrito en el momento en que presente su vehículo a la compañía aseguradora, al ajustador de seguros o a cualquier otra persona acerca de una reclamación sobre reparaciones; o
  - Reclamaciones presentadas por escrito (incluyendo correo electrónico y fax): Aviso por escrito
    dentro de los 3 días hábiles a partir de la fecha en que la compañía de seguros recibe la notificación
    de la reclamación.
- 7. Plazos para tramitar reclamaciones y pagos. Cuando presente una reclamación bajo su propia póliza, la compañía de seguros tendrá que cumplir con los siguientes plazos:
  - Dentro de los 15 días después de la presentación de una reclamación: La compañía tendrá que informarle que recibió su reclamación. La compañía también tendrá que comenzar su investigación y pedirle cualquier otra información que necesita.
  - Dentro de los 15 días hábiles después de recibir toda la información necesaria: La compañía tendrá que aprobar o rechazar su reclamación por escrito. Pueden extender este plazo hasta 45 días a partir de la fecha en que: (a) le informan que necesitan más tiempo y (b) le indican la razón.
  - Dentro de 5 días hábiles después de que le informen que su reclamación ha sido aprobada: La compañía tendrá que pagar la reclamación.

Nota: TDI puede extender estos plazos por 15 días más si ocurre una catástrofe relacionada con el clima.

Si la compañía no cumple con estos plazos, podría recibir la cantidad especificado en la reclamación, así como los intereses y los honorarios de los abogados.

- 8. Explicación por escrito de la denegación de la reclamación. La compañía de seguros tendrá que informarle por escrito por qué se rechazó su reclamación o alguna parte de su reclamación.
- 9. Información no requerida para procesar su reclamación. La compañía de seguros puede solicitar únicamente información que sea razonablemente necesaria para hacer la investigación de su reclamación. Sin embargo, no pueden solicitar sus declaraciones de impuestos federales, a menos que: (a) obtengan una orden judicial o (b) su reclamación implique una pérdida por incendio, pérdida de ganancias o pérdida de ingresos.
- 10. Investigación razonable. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a pagar su reclamación sin hacer una investigación razonable de la reclamación. Debe mantener registros de todas las comunicaciones de reclamos (incluidas las notas de llamadas telefónicas) y otra documentación de reclamos (incluidos los estimados de daños y recibos).
- 11. Recuperación del deducible. Si otra persona pudiera tener responsabilidad legal por el daño a su auto y usted (a) presentó una reclamación y (b) pagó o está obligado a pagar un deducible bajo su propia póliza, entonces su compañía de seguros tendrá que:
  - Tomar medidas para recuperar su deducible a más tardar 1 año después de que se paga su reclamación; o
  - Reembolsar su deducible; o
  - Informarle que no se tomarán más medidas y que le permitirán que usted trate de cobrar su dinero (a) dentro de 1 año a partir de la fecha en que se paga su reclamación, o (b) al menos 90 días antes de que se venza el plazo para tomar acción legal (lo que suceda primero).
- **12.** Aviso de que se llegó a un acuerdo sobre la reclamación de responsabilidad. Responsabilidad significa que usted es responsable de las lesiones o daños a la propiedad de otras personas. La compañía de seguros tiene que informarle por escrito:
  - Acerca de la primera oferta para resolver una reclamación contra usted dentro de los 10 días después de la fecha en que se hizo la oferta.
  - Acerca de cualquier reclamación decidida en su contra dentro de los 30 días después de la fecha del acuerdo.

# Con quién hablar si hay desacuerdos sobre las reclamaciones

- **13. Desacuerdos sobre reclamaciones.** Puede disputar la cantidad que le pagan en su reclamación o lo que está cubierto en su póliza. Usted puede:
  - Comunicarse con la compañía de seguros.
  - Comunicarse con el técnico de reparaciones o con el taller.
  - Comunicarse con un abogado para que le aconseje sobre sus derechos bajo la ley. El Colegio de Abogados del Estado de Texas (The State Bar of Texas, por su nombre en inglés) puede ayudarlo a buscar un abogado.

- Contratar a un tasador calificado para que examine los daños a su propiedad.
- Presentar una queja al Departamento de Seguros de Texas (TDI).

#### Lo que debería saber sobre la renovación, la cancelación y la no renovación

La renovación significa que la compañía de seguros extiende su póliza por un período adicional.

La cancelación significa que, antes de llegar al final del período de la póliza, la compañía de seguros:

- Termina la póliza;
- Le ofrece menos cobertura o limita su cobertura; o
- Se niega a darle cobertura adicional a la cual tiene derecho bajo su póliza.

"Negar la renovación" y "no renovación" son términos que significan que su cobertura termina al final del período de la póliza. El período de la póliza aparece en la página de declaraciones de su póliza.

- 14. Oferta de cobertura de protección contra conductores sin seguro/con insuficiente seguro y de protección para reclamaciones de lesiones personales. En una nueva póliza, las compañías de seguros tienen que ofrecerle cobertura de Protección contra Conductores sin Seguro o con Insuficiente Seguro (Uninsured Motorists Coverage (UM/UIM), por su nombre y siglas en inglés) y Protección para Lesiones Personales (Personal Injury Protection (PIP), por su nombre y siglas en inglés). Si rechaza esta cobertura, lo tiene que hacer por escrito. La compañía no está obligada a volver a ofrecerle estas coberturas al momento de la renovación, pero usted puede solicitarlas en cualquier momento.
- 15. Cancelación por parte de la compañía de seguros de su póliza de auto personal. Si su póliza ha estado vigente por 60 días o más, la compañía solo puede cancelar su póliza si:
  - No paga su prima en la fecha indicada;
  - Presenta una reclamación fraudulenta;
  - TDI decide que mantener la póliza viola la ley.
  - Se le suspende o revoca su licencia de conducir o el registro de su vehículo (a menos que acepte excluirse a sí mismo de la cobertura como conductor bajo la póliza); o
  - Se le suspende o revoca la licencia de conducir o el registro de vehículo a cualquier conductor que viva con usted, o que generalmente maneje un vehículo cubierto bajo la póliza (a menos que acepte excluir a esa persona de la cobertura como conductor bajo la póliza).
- 16. Aviso de cancelación. Si la compañía de seguros cancela su póliza, tendrá que informarle por correo al menos 10 días antes de la fecha en que se haga efectiva la cancelación. Revise su póliza porque es posible que su compañía de seguros le ofrezca más de 10 días de notificación.
- 17. Su derecho a cancelar. Puede cancelar su póliza en cualquier momento y obtener un reembolso de la prima no utilizada.
- **18.** Reembolso de la prima. Si usted o la compañía de seguros cancela su póliza, la compañía tendrá que reembolsarle cualquier prima no utilizada dentro de los 15 días hábiles a partir de:
  - la fecha en que la compañía recibe la notificación de la cancelación, o
  - la fecha de cancelación, la que sea posterior.

Tiene que informarle a la compañía que desea que se le envíe el reembolso. De lo contrario, podrían reembolsarle la prima restante ofreciéndole un crédito de prima en la misma póliza.

- 19. Limitación al uso de su historial de reclamaciones para hacer cambios a la prima. La compañía de seguros no puede cambiar su prima solo porque presentó una reclamación que no le pagó o que no se le pudo pagar bajo su póliza.
- 20. Fechas relacionadas a la no renovación. La compañía de seguros está obligada a renovar su póliza hasta que esté en vigencia por un año. Si le renuevan su póliza, la compañía de seguros tiene que seguir renovándola hasta llegar al aniversario de la fecha original en que se hizo efectiva.

Por ejemplo, si su póliza de seis meses se hizo efectiva originalmente el 1 de enero del 2050, la compañía tiene que renovar su póliza hasta el 1 de enero del 2051. A partir de esa fecha, la compañía solo puede negarse a renovar su póliza en la fecha original en que se hizo efectiva (en este ejemplo, el 1 de enero) de cualquier año futuro.

Nota: Hay una excepción. Vea #22, "No renovación por falta de cooperación".

- 21. Aviso de no renovación. La compañía de seguros tiene que enviarle un aviso de que no van a renovar su póliza. Tendrá que informarle al menos 60 días antes del vencimiento de su póliza, o usted puede exigir que renueven su póliza.
- 22. No renovación por falta de cooperación. La compañía de seguros está obligada a no renovar su póliza si usted o alguien cubierto por su póliza no coopera o se niega a cooperar en la investigación, el acuerdo de reclamo, o la defensa de un reclamo o acción de responsabilidad civil de terceros, o la compañía no puede comunicarse con usted o alguien cubierto por su póliza haciendo esfuerzos razonables. La compañía de seguros primero tendrá que enviarle un aviso por escrito que explica:
  - (1) cómo usted o alguien cubierto por su póliza falló o se negó a cooperar, incluyendo fallas como resultado de la incapacidad de la compañía en comunicarse con usted o ellos;
  - (2) el reclamo o acción por los cuales la compañía solicita cooperación; y
  - (3) si sigue sin cooperar o continúa negándose a cooperar, la compañía de seguros no renovará su póliza.
- **23.** Reclamaciones sin culpa. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza solo por darse uno de los siguientes hechos:
  - Reclamaciones referentes a daños por accidentes relacionados al clima que no tienen que ver con un choque, tal como daños por granizo, viento o inundación.
  - Accidentes o reclamaciones que tengan que ver con daños por contacto con animales.
  - Accidentes o reclamaciones que tengan que ver con daños causados por grava voladora, proyectiles
    o algún otro objeto volador. Sin embargo, si tiene 3 reclamaciones de este tipo en un período de tres
    años, la compañía puede aumentar su deducible en su próxima fecha de renovación anual.
  - Reclamaciones para cubrir gastos de grúa y de mano de obra. Sin embargo, una vez que haya presentado 4 reclamaciones de este tipo en un período de tres años, la compañía puede eliminar esta cobertura de su póliza en su próxima fecha de renovación anual.
  - Cualquier otro accidente o reclamación que razonablemente no se pueda considerar que haya sido culpa suya, a menos que tenga 2 reclamaciones o accidentes de este tipo en un período de un año.
- **24.** Limitación al uso de información crediticia para no renovar su póliza. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza únicamente debido a la condición de su crédito.
- 25. Limitación al uso de la edad para no renovar su póliza. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza basándose únicamente en la edad de cualquier persona cubierta bajo la póliza. Su compañía tampoco puede exigirle que excluya a un miembro de su familia de la cobertura únicamente

porque llegó a la edad de conducir.

- **26. Protecciones contra la discriminación.** La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a asegurarle; limitar la cobertura que compra; negar la renovación de su póliza; o cobrarle una tarifa diferente debido a su raza, color, creencia, país de origen o religión.
- **27. Derecho a hacer preguntas.** Puede hacerle una pregunta a la compañía de seguros sobre su póliza. No pueden usar sus preguntas para denegar, no renovar o cancelar su cobertura. Sus preguntas tampoco se pueden utilizar para determinar su prima.

Por ejemplo, puede hacer:

- Preguntas generales sobre su póliza;
- Preguntas sobre el proceso de presentación de reclamaciones de la compañía; y
- Preguntas sobre si la póliza cubrirá una pérdida, a menos que la pregunta sea sobre un daño: (a) que ocurrió y (b) que resulta en una investigación o reclamación.
- 28. Aviso de un "cambio material" a su póliza. Si la compañía de seguros no quiere cancelar o no renovar su póliza, pero desea hacer ciertos cambios materiales o importantes, tendrá que explicar los cambios por escrito al menos 30 días antes de la fecha anual de renovación. Los cambios materiales incluyen:
  - Ofrecerle menos cobertura;
  - Cambiar una condición de la cobertura; o
  - Cambiar lo que se requiere que usted haga.

En lugar de un aviso de "cambio material", la compañía puede optar por no renovar su póliza existente. Si es así, la compañía tiene que enviar una carta de no renovación, pero todavía puede ofrecerle una póliza diferente.

Nota: La compañía no puede reducir la cobertura durante el período de la póliza a menos que usted solicite el cambio. Si usted solicita el cambio, la compañía no tiene que enviarle un aviso.

29. Explicación por escrito de la cancelación o la no renovación. Puede pedirle a la compañía de seguros que le informen por escrito los motivos de su decisión de cancelar o de no renovar su póliza. La compañía tendrá que darle una explicación detallada de por qué cancelaron o no renovaron su póliza.

## **CONSUMER BILL OF RIGHTS**

#### Homeowners, Dwelling, and Renters Insurance

#### What is the Bill of Rights?

It is a basic outline of important rights you have under Texas law. Insurance companies must give you this Bill of Rights with your policy. It is important to read and understand your policy.

#### The Bill of Rights is not:

- A complete list of all your rights,
- Part of your policy, or
- A list of everything that you are responsible for.

#### Questions about these rights?

- If you are not sure about anything in your policy, ask your agent or insurance company.
- If you have questions or a complaint, contact the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) at:

**Call with a question:** 1-800-252-3439

Email with a question: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov

File a complaint through the website:

www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/get-help-with-an-insurance-complaint.html

• To learn more about insurance, visit www.opic.texas.gov or call the Office of Public Insurance Counsel (OPIC) at 1-877-611-6742.

AVISO: Este documento es un resumen de sus derechos como asegurado. Tiene derecho a llamar a su compañía de seguros y obtener una copia de estos derechos en español. Además, puede ser que su compañía de seguros tenga disponible una versión de su póliza en español.

# **Table of Contents**

WI	here to Get Information	2
1.	Your insurance company	.3
2.	Your declarations page	.3
3.	The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI)	.3
4.	Resources for shopping for insurance.	.3
WI	nat You Should Know When You File a Claim	3
5.	Deadlines for processing claims and payments	.3
6.	Written explanation of claim denial	.3
7.	Reasonable investigation	.3
8.	Information not required for processing your claim.	.4
9.	Right to contract with a public insurance adjuster	4
10.	Release of claim payments from lenders	.4
11.	Notice of liability claim settlement	.4
Wl	no to Contact for Claim Disagreements	4
12.	Claim disagreements	.4
	hat You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation and Nonrenewal	
	Notice of premium increase.	
	Insurance company cancellation of homeowners policies	
	Insurance company cancellation of other residential property policies	
	Notice of cancellation	
	Your right to cancel	
	Refund of premium	
	Limits on using claims history for nonrenewal	
	Limits on using claims history to increase premium.	
	Right to ask questions	
22.	Limit on using credit information to nonrenew your policy	.6
23.	Protections from discrimination	.6
	Protection for low-value property.	.7
	Protection for low-value property  Protection for older houses	.7
25.	* * ·	.7 .7
25. 26.	Protection for older houses	.7 .7 .8

#### Where to Get Information

- 1. Your insurance company. When you get a copy of your policy you will also get an "Important Notice" from the company. The notice explains how to contact your company and how to file a complaint. You may request a complete copy of your policy from your company at any time.
- 2. Your declarations page. The declarations page, also called the "dec page," shows: (a) the name and address of your insurance company, (b) the location of the insured property, (c) the dates your policy is in effect, and (d) the amounts and types of coverage.
  - Your company must list the exact dollar amount of each deductible in your policy. The declarations page, or a separate page, must also list any part of your policy that changes any deductible amount.
- 3. The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI). You have the right to call TDI for free at 1-800-252-3439 for information and help with a complaint against an insurer. You can also find information on the TDI website at www.tdi.texas.gov.
- 4. Resources for shopping for insurance. The Office of Public Insurance Counsel (OPIC) and TDI developed www.HelpInsure.com to help you compare rates and coverages for different insurance companies. OPIC also has an online tool to help you compare policies. You can find this policy comparison tool at www.opic.texas.gov.

#### What You Should Know When You File a Claim

- 5. Deadlines for processing claims and payments. You should file your claim with your insurance company as soon as possible. When you file a claim on your own policy, the insurance company must meet these deadlines:
  - Within 15 days after you file a claim: The company must let you know they received your claim. The company must also start their investigation and ask you for any other information they need.
  - Within 15 business days after they get all the information they need: The company must approve or deny your claim in writing. They can extend this deadline up to 45 days from the date they: (a) let you know they need more time and (b) tell you why.
  - Within 5 business days after they let you know your claim is approved: The company must pay the claim.

Note: TDI can extend these deadlines by 15 more days if there is a weather-related catastrophe.

If your company fails to meet these deadlines, you may be able to collect the claim amount, interest, and attorney's fees.

- 6. Written explanation of claim denial. Your insurance company must tell you in writing why your claim or part of your claim was denied.
- 7. **Reasonable investigation.** Your insurance company cannot refuse to pay your claim without a reasonable investigation of the claim. You should keep records of all claim communications (including notes from phone calls) and other claim documentation (including damage estimates and receipts).

- 8. Information not required for processing your claim. Your insurance company can only ask for information reasonably needed for their claim investigation. However, they cannot ask for your federal income tax returns unless: (a) they get a court order or (b) your claim involves a fire loss, loss of profits, or lost income.
- 9. **Right to contract with a public insurance adjuster.** Your insurer cannot include a provision in your policy that prohibits you from contracting with a licensed public insurance adjuster to act on your behalf in negotiating for or effecting the settlement of a claim.
- **10. Release of claim payments from lenders.** Often an insurance company will make a claim payment to you and your lender. If your lender gets the payment:
  - No later than 10 days after receiving it they must: (a) notify you and (b) tell you what you must do so the money can be released.
  - No later than 10 days after you ask for the money, they must: (a) send the money to you, or (b) tell you how to get the money released.

If your lender does not: (a) provide the notices mentioned above or (b) pay the money after all the requirements have been met, the lender must pay you interest on the money.

- 11. Notice of liability claim settlement. Liability means you are responsible for other people's injuries or damage to their property. Your insurance company must let you know in writing:
  - About the first offer to settle a claim against you within 10 days after the offer is made.
  - About any claim settled against you within 30 days after the date of the settlement.

#### Who to Contact for Claim Disagreements

- **12.** Claim disagreements. You can dispute the amount of your claim payment or what is covered under your policy. You can:
  - Contact your insurance company.
  - Contact an attorney to advise you of your rights under the law. The State Bar of Texas can help you find an attorney.
  - Pay a licensed public adjuster to review the damage and handle the claim.
  - File a complaint with TDI.

#### What You Should Know about Renewal, Cancellation and Nonrenewal

Renewal means that your insurance company is extending your policy for another term.

Cancellation means that, before the end of the policy period, the insurance company:

- Terminates the policy;
- Gives you less coverage or limits your coverage; or
- Refuses to give additional coverage that you are entitled to under the policy.

"Refusal to renew" and "nonrenewal" are terms that mean your coverage ends at the end of the policy period. The policy period is shown on the declarations page of your policy.

- 13. Notice of premium increase. If your insurance company plans to increase your premium by 10 percent or more on renewal, your company must send you notice of the rate increase at least 60 days before your renewal date.
- **14.** Insurance company cancellation of homeowners policies. If your homeowners policy has been in effect for **60 days or more**, your company can only cancel your policy if:
  - You don't pay your premium when it is due;
  - You file a fraudulent claim.
  - There is an increase in the risk covered by the policy that is: (a) within your control and (b) would make your premium go up; or
  - TDI decides that keeping the policy violates the law.

If your policy has been in effect for less than 60 days, your company can only cancel your policy if:

- One of the reasons listed above applies;
- They reject a required inspection report within 10 days after getting the report. The report must be done by a licensed or authorized inspector and cannot be more than 90 days old; or
- They find something that creates an increase in risk that you did not include in your application and is not related to a prior claim.
- 15. Insurance company cancellation of other residential property policies. After your policy has been in effect for 90 days, your company can only cancel your policy if:
  - You don't pay your premium when it is due;
  - You file a fraudulent claim:
  - There is an increase in the risk covered by the policy that is: (a) within your control and (b) would make your premium go up; or
  - TDI decides that keeping the policy violates the law.
- **16. Notice of cancellation.** If your insurance company cancels your policy, they must let you know by mail at least **10 days** before the effective date of the cancellation. Check your policy because your company may give you more than 10 days' notice.
- 17. Right to cancel. You can cancel your policy at any time and get a refund of the unused premium.
- **18. Refund of premium.** If you or your insurance company cancel your policy, the company must refund any unused premium within 15 business days from:
  - the date the company receives notice of the cancellation or
  - the date of cancellation, whichever is later.

You must let your company know you want the refund sent to you. If not, they may refund the remaining premium by giving you a premium credit on the same policy.

19. Limits on using claims history for nonrenewal. Your insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy based on claims for damage from natural causes, including weather-related damage; or claims that are filed but not paid or payable under the policy.

**Appliance-related water damage claims.** Your insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy based on an appliance-related water damage claim if:

• The damage has been properly repaired or remediated; and

• The repair or remediation was inspected and certified.

# However, your insurance company may refuse to renew your policy based on appliance-related water damage claims if:

- Three or more claims were filed and paid (including a claim filed by a prior owner on your property); or
  - You: (a) file 2 claims within a three-year period; and (b) after the second claim, your company gives you written notice that filing a third appliance-related claim could result in your policy not being renewed; and
- You file a third claim.

Claims other than appliance-related water damage claims. Your insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy based on other claims unless:

- You: (a) file 2 claims within a three-year period; and (b) after the second claim, your company gives you written notice that filing a third claim could result in your policy not being renewed; and
- You file a third claim.
- **20.** Limits on using claims history to increase premium. Your insurance company cannot increase your premium based on claims for damage from natural causes, including weather-related damage; or claims that are filed but not paid or payable under your policy.

**Appliance-related water damage claims.** Your company cannot increase your premium based on a prior appliance-related water damage claim if:

- The damage has been properly repaired or remediated; and
- The repair or remediation was inspected and certified.

# However, your insurance company may increase your premium based on prior appliance-related water damage claims if:

• Three or more claims were filed and paid (including a claim filed by a prior owner on your property)

Claims other than appliance-related water damage claims. Your insurance company cannot increase your premium based on other claims unless:

- You file 2 or more claims within a three-year period.
- 21. Right to ask questions. You can ask your insurance company a question about your policy. They cannot use your questions to deny, nonrenew, or cancel your coverage. Your questions also cannot be used to determine your premium.

For example, you may ask:

- General questions about your policy;
- Questions about the company's claims filing process; and
- Questions about whether the policy will cover a loss, unless the question is about damage: (a) that occurred and (b) that results in an investigation or claim.
- **22.** Limit on using credit information to nonrenew your policy. An insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy solely because of your credit.
- 23. Protections from discrimination. An insurance company cannot refuse to insure you; limit the coverage you buy; refuse to renew your policy; or charge you a different rate based on your race, color, creed,

- country of origin, or religion.
- **24. Protection for low-value property.** An insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy because the property value is low.
- **25. Protection for older houses.** An insurance company cannot refuse to renew your policy based on the age of your property. However, they can refuse to renew your policy based on the condition of your property, including your plumbing, heating, air conditioning, wiring, or roof.
- **26.** Notice of nonrenewal. Your insurance company must send you a notice that they are not renewing your policy. They must let you know at least **60 days** before your policy expires, or you can require them to renew your policy.
- 27. Notice of a "material change" to your policy. If your insurance company does not want to cancel or nonrenew your policy, but wants to make certain material changes, then they must explain the changes in writing at least 30 days before the renewal date. Material changes include:
  - Giving you less coverage;
  - Changing a condition of coverage; or
  - Changing what you are required to do.

Instead of a notice of "material change" a company may choose to not renew your existing policy. If so, the company has to send a nonrenewal letter, but may still offer you a different policy.

Note: A company cannot reduce coverage during the policy period unless you ask for the change. If you ask for the change, the company does not have to send you a notice.

28. Written explanation of cancellation or nonrenewal. You can ask your insurance company to tell you in writing the reasons for their decision to cancel or not renew your policy. The company must explain in detail why they cancelled or nonrenewed your policy.

# DECLARACIÓN DE DERECHOS DEL CONSUMIDOR

#### Seguro de hogar, de propiedad residencial y para inquilinos

#### ¿Qué es la Declaración de Derechos?

Es un resumen básico de los derechos importantes que tiene bajo la ley de Texas. Las compañías de seguros tienen que darle una copia de esta Declaración de Derechos junto con su póliza. Es importante leer y entender su póliza.

#### La Declaración de Derechos no es:

- Una lista completa de todos sus derechos,
- Parte de su póliza, o
- Una lista de todas sus obligaciones.

#### ¿Tiene preguntas sobre estos derechos?

- Si tiene una duda sobre algún aspecto de su póliza, consulte a su agente o a la compañía de seguros.
- Si tiene preguntas o alguna queja, comuníquese con el Departamento de Seguros de Texas (Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), por su nombre y siglas en inglés):

Para preguntas por teléfono, llame al: 1-800-252-3439

Para preguntas por correo electrónico: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov

Para presentar una queja a través del sitio web:

www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/get-help-with-an-insurance-complaint.html

Para obtener más información sobre seguros, visite www.opic.texas.gov/eses/pagina-principales/pagina-principal.html o llame a la Oficina del Asesor Público de Seguros (Office of Public Insurance Counsel (OPIC), por su nombre y siglas en inglés) al 1-877-611-6742.

AVISO: Si recibe algún documento en inglés, llame a su agente o compañía de seguros y pregunte si lo tienen disponible en español.

## Tabla de Contenido

Dó	onde obtener información:	3
1.	La compañía de seguros	3
2.	La página de declaraciones	3
3.	El Departamento de Seguros de Texas (TDI)	3
4.	Recursos para ayudarlo a comprar seguro	3
	que debería saber al presentar una reclamación	
5.	Plazos para tramitar reclamaciones y pagos	
6. 7	Explicación por escrito de la denegación de la reciamación  Investigación razonable	
7.		
8.	Información no requerida para procesar su reclamación	
9.	Derecho a contratar con un ajustador público de seguros	
	Liberación del pago de la reclamación por parte del prestamista	
11.	Aviso de que se llegó a un acuerdo sobre la reclamación de responsabilidad	4
12.	on quién hablar si hay desacuerdos sobre las reclamaciones  Desacuerdos sobre reclamaciones	4
	que debería saber sobre la renovación, la cancelación y la no renovación	
	Aviso del aumento de la prima	
	Cancelación por parte de la compañía de seguros de la póliza de hogar	
	Cancelación por la compañía de otras pólizas de propiedad residencial	
	Aviso de cancelación	
	Su derecho a cancelar	
	Reembolso de la prima	
	Limitaciones a usar su historial de reclamaciones para no renovar	
	Limitaciones a usar su historial de reclamaciones para aumentarle la prima	
	Derecho a hacer preguntas	
	Limitación a usar información crediticia para no renovar su póliza	7
	Protecciones contra la discriminación	
24.		
	Protección para las propiedades de bajo valor	7
25.	Protección para casas más antiguas	7 7
<ul><li>25.</li><li>26.</li></ul>	Protección para casas más antiguas  Aviso de no renovación	7 7 7
<ul><li>25.</li><li>26.</li><li>27.</li></ul>	Protección para casas más antiguas	7 7 7

#### Dónde obtener información:

- 1. La compañía de seguros. Cuando reciba una copia de su póliza, también recibirá un "Aviso Importante" de la compañía. El aviso explica cómo ponerse en contacto con la compañía y cómo presentar una queja. Puede solicitar una copia completa de su póliza a la compañía en cualquier momento.
- **2.** La página de declaraciones. La página de declaraciones, también llamada "página de dec.", muestra: (a) el nombre y la dirección de la compañía de seguros, (b) la localidad de la propiedad asegurada, (c) las fechas en que su póliza está vigente, y (d) las cantidades y tipos de cobertura.

La compañía tendrá que indicar la cantidad exacta en dólares de cada deducible en su póliza. La página de declaraciones, o una página acompañada, también tendrá que incluir una lista de las secciones de su póliza que cambien la cantidad de cualquier deducible.

- 3. El Departamento de Seguros de Texas (TDI). Tiene derecho a llamar gratis a TDI al 1-800-252-3439 para obtener información y ayuda sobre una queja contra una aseguradora. También puede encontrar información en el sitio web de TDI en www.tdi.texas.gov.
- 4. Recursos para ayudarlo a comprar seguro. La Oficina del Asesor Público de Seguros (OPIC) y TDI establecieron el sitio web www.HelpInsure.com para ayudarlo a comparar tarifas y coberturas de diferentes compañías de seguros. OPIC también tiene una herramienta en línea para ayudarlo a comparar las pólizas. Puede encontrar esta herramienta de comparación de pólizas en www.opic.texas.gov.

#### Lo que debería saber al presentar una reclamación

- 5. Plazos para tramitar reclamaciones y pagos. Debe presentar su reclamación a la compañía de seguros lo más pronto posible. Cuando presente una reclamación bajo su propia póliza, la compañía de seguros tendrá que cumplir con los siguientes plazos:
  - Dentro de los 15 días después de la presentación de una reclamación: La compañía tendrá que informarle que recibió su reclamación. La compañía también tendrá que comenzar su investigación y pedirle cualquier otra información que necesita.
  - Dentro de los 15 días hábiles después de recibir toda la información necesaria: La compañía tendrá que aprobar o rechazar su reclamación por escrito. Pueden extender este plazo hasta 45 días a partir de la fecha en que: (a) le informan que necesitan más tiempo y (b) le indican la razón.
  - Dentro de los 5 días hábiles después de que le informen que su reclamación ha sido aprobada: La compañía tendrá que pagar la reclamación.

Nota: TDI puede extender estos plazos por 15 días más si ocurre una catástrofe relacionada con el clima.

Si la compañía no cumple con estos plazos, podría recibir la cantidad especificada en la reclamación, así como los intereses y los honorarios de los abogados.

- **6.** Explicación por escrito de la denegación de la reclamación. La compañía de seguros tendrá que informarle por escrito por qué se rechazó su reclamación o alguna parte de su reclamación.
- 7. Investigación razonable. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a pagar su reclamación debido a la edad de su propiedad. Debe mantener registros de todas las comunicaciones de reclamos (incluidas las notas de llamadas telefónicas) y otra documentación de reclamos (incluidos los estimados de daños y

recibos).

- 8. Información no requerida para procesar su reclamación. La compañía de seguros puede solicitar únicamente información que sea razonablemente necesaria para hacer la investigación de su reclamación. Sin embargo, no pueden solicitar sus declaraciones de impuestos federales, a menos que: (a) obtengan una orden judicial o (b) su reclamación implique una pérdida por incendio, pérdida de ganancias o pérdida de ingresos.
- 9. Derecho a contratar a un ajustador público de seguros. Su aseguradora no puede incluir una disposición en su póliza que le prohíba a usted contratar a un ajustador público de seguros con licencia para que actúe en su nombre en la negociación o en la realización de la liquidación de una reclamación.
- **10.** Liberación del pago de la reclamación por parte del prestamista. Muchas veces, la compañía de seguros le enviará el pago de una reclamación a usted y a su prestamista. Si su prestamista recibe el pago:
  - A más tardar 10 días después de recibirlo, el prestamista tiene que: (a) notificarle y (b) informarle lo que tiene que hacer para que el dinero pueda ser liberado.
  - A más tardar 10 días después de que solicite el dinero, el prestamista tiene que: (a) enviárselo a usted, o (b) decirle qué tiene que hacer para lograr que se libere el dinero.

Si su prestamista no: (a) le notifica lo mencionado anteriormente o (b) no le paga el dinero después de que se hayan cumplido todos los requisitos, el prestamista tendrá que pagarle intereses sobre el dinero.

- 11. Aviso de que se llegó a un acuerdo sobre la reclamación de responsabilidad. Responsabilidad significa que usted es responsable de las lesiones o daños a la propiedad de otras personas. La compañía de seguros tiene que informarle por escrito:
  - Acerca de la primera oferta para resolver una reclamación contra usted dentro de los 10 días después de la fecha en que se hizo la oferta.
  - Acerca de cualquier reclamación decidida en su contra dentro de los 30 días después de la fecha del acuerdo.

#### Con quién hablar si hay desacuerdos sobre las reclamaciones

- **12. Desacuerdos sobre reclamaciones.** Puede disputar la cantidad que le pagan en su reclamación o lo que está cubierto en su póliza. Usted puede:
  - Comunicarse con la compañía de seguros.
  - Comunicarse con un abogado para que le aconseje sobre sus derechos bajo la ley. El Colegio de Abogados del Estado de Texas (The State Bar of Texas, por su nombre en inglés) puede ayudarlo a buscar un abogado.
  - Pagar a un ajustador público con licencia para que revise el daño y se haga cargo del reclamo.
  - Presentar una queja al Departamento de Seguros de Texas (TDI).

#### Lo que debería saber sobre la renovación, la cancelación y la no renovación

La renovación significa que la compañía de seguros extiende su póliza por un período adicional.

La cancelación significa que, antes de llegar al final del período de la póliza, la compañía de seguros:

- Se termina la póliza;
- Le ofrece menos cobertura o limita su cobertura; o
- Se niega a darle cobertura adicional que le corresponde bajo su póliza.

"Negar la renovación" y "no renovación" son términos que significan que su cobertura termina al final del período de la póliza. El período de la póliza aparece en la página de declaraciones de su póliza.

- 13. Aviso del aumento de la prima. Si su compañía de seguros tiene planes de aumentar su prima en un 10 por ciento o más al renovar, tendrá que informarle al menos 60 días antes de la fecha de renovación.
- **14.** Cancelación por parte de la compañía de seguros de la póliza de hogar. Si su póliza de hogar ha estado vigente por **60 días o más**, la compañía solo puede cancelar su póliza si:
  - No paga su prima en la fecha indicada:
  - Presenta una reclamación fraudulenta;
  - Hay un aumento en el riesgo cubierto por la póliza que: (a) está bajo su control y (b) aumentaría su prima; o
  - TDI decide que mantener la póliza viola la ley.

Si su póliza ha estado vigente por menos de 60 días, su compañía solo puede cancelar su póliza si:

- Una de las razones enumeradas anteriormente se aplica;
- Le rechazan el informe obligatorio de la inspección dentro de los **10 días** después de la recepción del informe. El informe lo tiene que ser preparado por un inspector con licencia o un inspector autorizado y no puede haber pasado más de 90 días desde que se preparó; o
- Descubren algo que aumenta los riesgos que usted no incluyó en su solicitud y que no tiene que ver con una reclamación anterior.
- **15.** Cancelación por la compañía de otras pólizas de propiedad residencial. Una vez que su póliza haya estado vigente por **90 días**, la compañía solo puede cancelar su póliza si:
  - No paga su prima en la fecha indicada;
  - Presenta una reclamación fraudulenta:
  - Hay un aumento en el riesgo cubierto por la póliza que: está bajo su control y aumentaría su prima; o
  - TDI decide que mantener la póliza viola la ley.
- **16.** Aviso de cancelación. Si la compañía de seguros cancela su póliza, tendrá que informarle por correo al menos 10 días antes de la fecha en que se haga efectiva la cancelación. Revise su póliza porque es posible que su compañía le ofrezca más de 10 días de notificación.
- 17. Su derecho a cancelar. Puede cancelar su póliza en cualquier momento y obtener un reembolso de la prima no utilizada.
- **18.** Reembolso de la prima. Si usted o la compañía de seguros cancela su póliza, la compañía tendrá que reembolsarle cualquier prima no utilizada dentro de los 15 días hábiles a partir de:
  - la fecha en que la compañía recibe la notificación de la cancelación, o
  - la fecha de cancelación, la que sea posterior.

Tiene que informarle a la compañía que desea que se le envíe el reembolso. De lo contrario, podrían

reembolsarle la prima restante ofreciéndole un crédito de prima en la misma póliza.

19. Limitaciones a usar su historial de reclamaciones para no renovar. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza basándose en las reclamaciones de daños por causas naturales, incluidos daños relacionados con el clima; o reclamaciones que se presentan pero que no se le pagó o que no se le pudo pagar bajo su póliza.

Reclamaciones de daños de agua relacionados a electrodomésticos. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza basándose en una reclamación de daños de agua relacionado a electrodomésticos, si:

- El daño ha sido reparado o remediado adecuadamente; y
- La reparación o la remediación fue inspeccionada y certificada.

Sin embargo, la compañía de seguros puede negarse a renovar su póliza basándose en reclamaciones de daños de agua relacionados a electrodomésticos si:

- Ya se presentaron y pagaron tres o más reclamaciones (incluyendo reclamaciones a su propiedad presentadas por un propietario anterior); o
- Usted: (a) presenta 2 reclamaciones dentro de un período de tres años; y (b) después de la segunda reclamación, la compañía le notifica por escrito que presentar una tercera reclamación relacionada con un electrodoméstico podría resultar en que su póliza no se renueve; y
- Usted presenta una tercera reclamación.

Reclamaciones que no sean reclamaciones de daños de agua relacionadas a electrodomésticos. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza basándose en otras reclamaciones a menos que:

- Usted: (a) presente 2 reclamaciones dentro de un período de tres años; y (b) después de la segunda reclamación, la compañía le notifica por escrito que presentar una tercera reclamación podría resultar en que su póliza no se renueve; y
- Usted presenta una tercera reclamación.
- 20. Limitaciones a usar su historial de reclamaciones para aumentarle la prima. La compañía de seguros no puede aumentar su prima basándose en las reclamaciones de daños por causas naturales, incluidos daños relacionados con el clima; o reclamaciones que se presentan pero que no se le pagó o que no se le pudo pagar bajo su póliza.

Reclamaciones de daños de agua relacionados a electrodomésticos. La compañía de seguros no puede aumentar su prima basándose en una reclamación anterior de daños de agua relacionados a electrodomésticos si:

- El daño ha sido reparado o remediado adecuadamente; y
- La reparación o la remediación fue inspeccionada y certificada.

Sin embargo, la compañía de seguros puede aumentar su prima basándose en reclamaciones anteriores de daños de agua relacionados a electrodomésticos si:

• Ya se presentaron y pagaron tres o más reclamaciones (incluyendo reclamaciones a su propiedad presentadas por un propietario anterior).

Reclamaciones que no sean reclamaciones de daños de agua relacionados a electrodomésticos. La compañía de seguros no puede aumentar su prima basándose en otras reclamaciones a menos que:

• Usted presente 2 o más reclamaciones dentro de un período de tres años.

**21. Derecho a hacer preguntas.** Puede hacerle una pregunta a la compañía de seguros sobre su póliza. No pueden usar sus preguntas para denegar, no renovar o cancelar su cobertura. Sus preguntas tampoco se pueden utilizar para determinar su prima.

Por ejemplo, puede hacer:

- Preguntas generales sobre su póliza;
- Preguntas sobre el proceso de presentación de reclamaciones de la compañía; y
- Preguntas sobre si la póliza cubrirá una pérdida, a menos que la pregunta sea sobre un daño: (a) que ocurrió y (b) que resulta en una investigación o reclamación.
- **22.** Limitación a usar información crediticia para no renovar su póliza. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza únicamente debido a la condición de su crédito.
- 23. Protecciones contra la discriminación. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a asegurarle; limitar la cobertura que compra; negar la renovación de su póliza; o cobrarle una tarifa diferente debido a su raza, color, creencia, país de origen o religión.
- **24. Protección para las propiedades de bajo valor.** La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza porque el valor de la propiedad es bajo.
- 25. Protección para casas más antiguas. La compañía de seguros no puede negarse a renovar su póliza debido a la edad de su propiedad. Sin embargo, puede negarse a renovar su póliza debido a la condición de su propiedad, incluso, la condición de la plomería, calentador, aire acondicionado, alambrado o techo.
- **26. Aviso de no renovación.** La compañía de seguros tendrá que enviarle un aviso de que no van a renovar su póliza. Tendrá que informarle al menos **60 días** antes del vencimiento de su póliza, o usted les puede exigir que renueven su póliza.
- 27. Aviso de un "cambio material" a su póliza. Si la compañía de seguros no quiere cancelar o no renovar su póliza, pero desea hacer ciertos cambios materiales o importantes, tendrá que explicar los cambios por escrito al menos 30 días antes de la fecha de renovación. Los cambios materiales incluyen:
  - Ofrecerle menos cobertura;
  - Cambiar una condición de la cobertura; o
  - Cambiar lo que se requiere que usted haga.

En lugar de un aviso de "cambio material", la compañía puede optar por no renovar su póliza existente. Si es así, la compañía tiene que enviar una carta de no renovación, pero todavía puede ofrecerle una póliza diferente.

Nota: La compañía no puede reducir la cobertura durante el período de la póliza a menos que usted solicite el cambio. Si usted solicita el cambio, la compañía no tiene que enviarle un aviso.

**28.** Explicación por escrito de la cancelación o la no renovación. Puede pedirle a la compañía de seguros que le informen por escrito los motivos de su decisión de cancelar o de no renovar su póliza. La compañía tendrá que darle una explicación detallada de por qué cancelaron o no renovaron su póliza.