

# Appointments

### Appointments for August 31, 2023

Appointed to the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation for a term to expire February 1, 2029, Gerald R. "Ray" Callas, M.D. of Beaumont, Texas (Dr. Callas is being reappointed).

Appointed to the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation for a term to expire February 1, 2029, Gary F. Wesson, D.D.S. of Richmond, Texas (Dr. Wesson is being reappointed).

Appointed to the Texas Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors for a term to expire July 1, 2029, Gary F. Gibson of Houston, Texas (replacing John D. Swanson of Frisco, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Texas Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors for a term to expire July 1, 2029, Kristina R. "Kristi" Koncaba of Friendswood, Texas (Ms. Koncaba is being reappointed).

Appointed to the Texas Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors for a term to expire July 1, 2029, Ronald E. "Ron" Simmons of Lewisville, Texas (Representative Simmons is being reappointed).

Appointed to the Parks and Wildlife Commission for a term to expire February 1, 2029, William L. "Leslie" Doggett of Houston, Texas (replacing Arch H. "Beaver" Aplin, III of Lake Jackson, whose term expired).

Designating Jeffrey D. "Jeff" Hildebrand of Houston as presiding officer of the Parks and Wildlife Commission for a term to expire at the pleasure of the Governor. Mr. Hildebrand is replacing Arch H. "Beaver" Aplin, III of Lake Jackson as presiding officer.

#### **Appointments for September 1, 2023**

Appointed to the Gulf Coast Authority Board of Directors for a term to expire August 31, 2023, Amber M. Batson of Tomball, Texas (Ms. Batson is being reappointed).

Pursuant to HB 3, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, appointed as Director of the Office of School Safety and Security for a term to expire at the pleasure of the Governor, John P. Scott of Prosper, Texas.

# Appointments for September 5, 2023

Appointed to the Southern Regional Education Board for a term to expire June 30, 2024, Brad Buckley, D.V.M. of Salado, Texas (replacing Larry Taylor of Friendswood, who is no longer a legislator).

Appointed to the Southern Regional Education Board for a term to expire June 30, 2027, Deborah "Debbie" Crane Aliseda of McAllen, Texas (replacing Kendall L. Baker, D.D. of Houston, whose term expired).

Pursuant to HB 3474, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, appointed as Judge of the 465th Judicial District Court, Bastrop County, for a term until December 31, 2024, or until her successor shall be duly elected and qualified, Veronica Juarez-Dunne of Elgin, Texas.

# Appointments for September 6, 2023

Pursuant to HB 728, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, appointed to the Statewide Interagency Aging Services Coordinating Council for a term to expire September 1, 2029, Tamela D. Griffin of Austin, Texas.

Appointed to the Advisory Council on Postsecondary Education for Persons with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities for a term to expire August 31, 2025, Aaron W. Bangor, Ph.D. of Austin, Texas (replacing Agata K. "Agatha" Thibodeaux of Katy, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Risk Management Board for a term to expire February 1, 2029, Elizabeth "Lisa" Maciejewski-West of Horseshoe Bay, Texas (replacing Tómas "Tommy" Gonzalez of El Paso, whose term expired).

Appointed to the Texas State Technical College System Board of Regents for a term to expire August 31, 2027, Ronald D. "Ron" Rohrbacher of League City, Texas (replacing Antonio "Tony" Abad of San Antonio, who resigned).

Appointed to the Texas State Technical College System Board of Regents for a term to expire August 31, 2029, Robert J. "Robb" Misso, III of Cedar Park, Texas (Mr. Misso is being reappointed).

Appointed to the Texas State Technical College System Board of Regents for a term to expire August 31, 2029, Tiffany M. Tremont, D.Sc. of New Braunfels, Texas (Dr. Tremont is being reappointed).

Greg Abbott, Governor

TRD-202303260

# ♦ ♦ ♦

Proclamation 41-4073

# TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME:

WHEREAS, I, GREG ABBOTT, Governor of the State of Texas, issued a disaster proclamation on August 11, 2023, certifying that wildfires that began on July 24, 2023, posed an imminent threat of widespread or severe damage, injury, or loss of life or property in several counties; and

WHEREAS, the Texas Division of Emergency Management has confirmed that those same wildfire conditions continue to exist in these and other counties in Texas;

NOW, THEREFORE, in accordance with the authority vested in me by Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code, I do hereby amend and renew the aforementioned proclamation and declare a disaster in Anderson, Andrews, Angelina, Aransas, Archer, Armstrong, Atascosa, Austin, Bailey, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Bowie, Brazoria, Brazos, Brewster, Briscoe, Brooks, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Callahan, Cameron, Cass, Castro, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collin, Colorado, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Cooke, Coryell, Cottle, Crockett, Crosby, Culberson, Dallas, Delta, Denton, DeWitt, Dickens, Dimmit, Duval, Eastland, Ector, Edwards, El Paso, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Fayette, Fisher, Fort Bend, Freestone, Frio, Gaines, Galveston, Garza, Gillespie, Glasscock, Goliad, Gonzales, Grayson, Gregg, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hale, Hamilton, Hardeman, Hardin, Harris, Harrison, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Houston, Howard, Hudspeth, Hunt, Jack, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Johnson, Jones, Karnes, Kaufman, Kendall, Kenedy, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Kleberg, Knox, La Salle, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Live Oak, Llano, Lynn, Madison, Marion, Martin, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McCulloch, McLennan, Medina, Menard, Midland, Milam, Mills, Mitchell, Montague, Montgomery, Morris, Nacogdoches, Navarro, Newton, Nolan, Nueces, Orange, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Pecos, Polk, Potter, Presidio, Randall, Rains, Reagan, Real, Red River, Reeves, Refugio, Roberts, Robertson, Rockwall, Runnels, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, San Saba, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Shelby, Smith, Somervell, Starr, Stephens, Sutton, Tarrant, Taylor, Terrell, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Travis, Trinity, Tyler, Upshur, Upton, Uvalde, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Ward, Washington, Webb, Wharton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Williamson, Wilson, Winkler, Wise, Wood, Yoakum, Young, Zapata, and Zavala Counties.

Pursuant to Section 418.017 of the Texas Government Code, I authorize the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions that are reasonably necessary to cope with this disaster.

Pursuant to Section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, any regulatory statute prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business or any order or rule of a state agency that would in any way prevent, hinder, or delay necessary action in coping with this disaster shall be suspended upon written approval of the Office of the Governor. However, to the extent that the enforcement of any state statute or administrative rule regarding contracting or procurement would impede any state agency's emergency response that is necessary to protect life or property threatened by this declared disaster, I hereby authorize the suspension of such statutes and rules for the duration of this declared disaster.

In accordance with the statutory requirements, copies of this proclamation shall be filed with the applicable authorities.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and have officially caused the Seal of State to be affixed at my office in the City of Austin, Texas, this the 1st day of September, 2023.

Greg Abbott, Governor

TRD-202303239

