
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION 

PART 1. RAILROAD COMMISSION OF 
TEXAS 

CHAPTER 3. OIL AND GAS DIVISION 
16 TAC §3.15, §3.107 

The Railroad Commission of Texas proposes amendments to 
§3.15, relating to Surface Equipment Removal Requirements 
and Inactive Wells, and §3.107, relating to Penalty Guidelines 
for Oil and Gas Violations, to implement House Bill 2663, 89th 
Texas Legislature (Regular Session, 2025). The bill amends 
Texas Natural Resources Code §89.029 to require an operator 
who is applying for a plugging extension for a well that has been 
inactive for at least 10 years to affirm to the Commission it has 
removed all equipment associated with providing electric power 
to the production site, unless the equipment is owned by a util-
ity provider, as defined by Texas Utilities Code §31.002. The 
bill also requires the Commission to assess a penalty of up to 
$25,000 if an operator falsely files this affirmation. 
The Commission proposes amendments in §3.15(f)(2)(A) to add 
a reference to Texas Natural Resources Code §89.029. 
The Commission proposes amendments in §3.15(f)(2)(A)(ii) to 
add wording that an operator who is applying for a plugging ex-
tension for a well that has been inactive for at least 10 years to 
affirm that equipment associated with providing electric service 
has been removed. This new provision does not apply to equip-
ment owned by an electric utility. 
The Commission proposes amendments to the Figure in 
§3.107(j) to add the new penalty. 
David Lindley, Assistant Director, Oil and Gas Division, has de-
termined there will be no cost to the Commission as a result of 
the proposed amendments. Mr. Lindley has determined that for 
the first five years the amendments will be in effect, there will be 
no fiscal implications for local governments as a result of enforc-
ing the amendments. 
Mr. Lindley has also determined that the public benefit antici-
pated as a result of enforcing or administering the amendments 
will be the reduction of wildfire risks, improvements in well-site 
safety, proper decommissioning of inactive wells through a well 
operator's written affirmation regarding the removal of equipment 
associated with providing electric service to the well's production 
site, and penalties issued to operators that do not comply with 
the new provisions. 
Mr. Lindley has determined that for each year of the first five 
years that the amendments will be in effect, there will be no addi-
tional economic costs for persons required to comply as a result 

of Commission adoption of the proposed amendments. A per-
son who violates the rule may have an additional cost of paying 
the penalty. 
In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2006.002, the 
Commission has determined there will be no adverse economic 
effect on rural communities, small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses resulting from the proposed amendments; therefore, the 
Commission has not prepared the economic impact statement 
or the regulatory flexibility analysis required under §2006.002. 
The Commission has determined that the proposed rulemaking 
will not affect a local economy; therefore, pursuant to Texas Gov-
ernment Code, §2001.022, the Commission is not required to 
prepare a local employment impact statement for the proposed 
rule. 
The Commission has determined that the proposed amend-
ments do not meet the statutory definition of a major environ-
mental rule as set forth in Texas Government Code, §2001.0225; 
therefore, a regulatory analysis conducted pursuant to that 
section is not required. 
During the first five years that the rule would be in effect, the 
proposed amendments would not: create or eliminate a gov-
ernment program; create or eliminate any employee positions; 
require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions; increase fees paid to the agency; create a new regulation; 
increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; expand, limit, or repeal an existing regula-
tion; or affect the state's economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Rules 
Coordinator, Office of General Counsel, Railroad Commis-
sion of Texas, P.O. Box 12967, Austin, Texas 78711-2967; 
online at www.rrc.texas.gov/general-counsel/rules/com-
ment-form-for-proposed-rulemakings; or by electronic mail 
to rulescoordinator@rrc.texas.gov. The Commission will ac-
cept comments until 5:00 p.m., on Monday, October 6, 2025. 
The Commission finds that this comment period is reason-
able because the proposal and an online comment form will 
be available on the Commission's web site more than two 
weeks prior to Texas Register publication of the proposal, 
giving interested persons additional time to review, analyze, 
draft, and submit comments. The Commission encourages 
all interested persons to submit comments no later than the 
deadline. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments 
submitted after the deadline will be considered. For further 
information, call Mr. Lindley at (512) 463-6217. The sta-
tus of Commission rulemakings in progress is available at 
www.rrc.texas.gov/general-counsel/rules/proposed-rules. Once 
received, all comments are posted on the Commission's website 
at https://rrc.texas.gov/general-counsel/rules/proposed-rules/. 
If you submit a comment and do not see the comment posted at 
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this link within three business days of submittal, please call the 
Office of General Counsel at (512) 463-7149. The Commission 
has safeguards to prevent emailed comments from getting lost; 
however, your operating system's or email server's settings may 
delay or prevent receipt. 
The Commission proposes the amendments under Texas Nat-
ural Resources Code, §81.051 and §81.052, which provide the 
Commission with jurisdiction over all persons owning or engaged 
in drilling or operating oil or gas wells in Texas and the authority 
to adopt all necessary rules for governing and regulating per-
sons and their operations under commission jurisdiction; Texas 
Natural Resources Code §§85.042, 85.202, 86.041 and 86.042, 
which require the Commission to adopt rules to control waste of 
oil and gas; and Texas Natural Resources Code, §89.023, which 
authorizes the Commission to adopt rules relating to the defini-
tion of active operation. 
Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§81.051, 
81.052, 85.042, 85.202, 86.041, 86.042, 89.023. 
Cross-reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code, 
Chapter 81, 85, 86, and 89. 
§3.15. Surface Equipment Removal Requirements and Inactive Wells. 

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used 
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) Active operation--Regular and continuing activities re-
lated to the production of oil and gas for which the operator has all 
necessary permits. In the case of a well that has been inactive for 12 
consecutive months or longer and that is not permitted as a disposal or 
injection well, the well remains inactive for purposes of this section, re-
gardless of any minimal activity, until the well has reported production 
of at least five barrels of oil for oil wells or 50 Mcf of gas for gas wells 
each month for at least three consecutive months, or until the well has 
reported production of at least one barrel of oil for oil wells or at least 
one Mcf of gas for gas wells each month for 12 consecutive months. 

(2) Cost calculation for plugging an inactive well--The 
cost, calculated by the Commission or its delegate, for each foot of 
well depth plugged based on average actual plugging costs for wells 
plugged by the Commission for the preceding state fiscal year for the 
Commission Oil and Gas Division district in which the inactive well 
is located. 

(3) Delinquent inactive well--An inactive well for which, 
after notice and opportunity for a hearing, the Commission or its dele-
gate has not extended the plugging deadline. 

(4) Enhanced oil recovery (EOR) project--A project that 
does not include a water disposal project and is: 

(A) a Commission-approved EOR project that uses any 
process for the displacement of oil or other hydrocarbons from a reser-
voir other than primary recovery and includes the use of an immiscible, 
miscible, chemical, thermal, or biological process; 

(B) a certified project described by Texas Tax Code, 
§202.054; or 

(C) any other project approved by the Commission or 
its delegate for EOR. 

(5) Good faith claim--A factually supported claim based on 
a recognized legal theory to a continuing possessory right in a min-
eral estate, such as evidence of a currently valid oil and gas lease or a 
recorded deed conveying a fee interest in the mineral estate. 

(6) Inactive well--An unplugged well that has been spud-
ded or has been equipped with cemented casing and that has had no 
reported production, disposal, injection, or other permitted activity for 
a period of greater than 12 months. 

(7) Operator designation form--A certificate of compliance 
and transportation authority or an application to drill, recomplete, and 
reenter that has been approved by the Commission or its delegate. 

(8) Physical termination of electric service to the well's 
production site--Disconnection of the electric service to an inactive 
well site at a point on the electric service lines most distant from the 
production site toward the main supply line in a manner that will 
not interfere with electrical supply to adjacent operations, including 
cathodic protection units. 

(b) Plugging of inactive bay and offshore wells required. 

(1) An operator of an existing inactive bay or offshore well 
as defined in §3.78 of this title (relating to Fees and Financial Security 
Requirements) must: 

(A) restore the well to active operation as defined by 
Commission rule; 

(B) plug the well in compliance with a Commission rule 
or order; or 

(C) obtain the approval of the Commission or its del-
egate of an extension of the deadline for plugging an inactive bay or 
offshore well. 

(2) The Commission or its delegate may not approve an 
extension of the deadline for plugging an inactive bay or offshore well 
if the plugging of the well is otherwise required by Commission rules 
or orders. 

(c) Extension of deadline for plugging an inactive bay or off-
shore well. The Commission or its delegate may administratively grant 
an extension of the deadline for plugging an inactive bay or offshore 
well as defined by Commission rules if: 

(1) the operator has a current organization report; 

(2) the operator has, and on request provides, evidence of 
a good faith claim to a continuing right to operate the well; 

(3) the well and associated facilities are otherwise in com-
pliance with all Commission rules and orders; and 

(4) for a well more than 25 years old, the operator success-
fully conducts and the Commission or its delegate approves a fluid level 
or hydraulic pressure test establishing that the well does not pose a po-
tential threat of harm to natural resources, including surface and sub-
surface water, oil, and gas. 

(d) Plugging of inactive land wells required. 

(1) An operator that assumes responsibility for the physical 
operation and control of an existing inactive land well must maintain 
the well and all associated facilities in compliance with all applica-
ble Commission rules and orders and within six months after the date 
the Commission or its delegate approves an operator designation form 
must either: 

(A) restore the well to active operation as defined by 
Commission rule; 

(B) plug the well in compliance with a Commission rule 
or order; or 

(C) obtain approval of the Commission or its delegate 
of an extension of the deadline for plugging an inactive well. 
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(2) The Commission or its delegate may not approve an 
extension of the deadline for plugging an inactive land well if the plug-
ging of the well is otherwise required by Commission rules or orders. 

(3) Except for an operator designation form filed for the 
purpose of a name change, the Commission or its delegate may not ap-
prove an operator designation form for an inactive land well until the 
operator satisfies the requirements of paragraph (1)(C) of this subsec-
tion. 

(4) If an operator fails to restore the well to active operation 
as defined by Commission rule, plug the well in compliance with a 
Commission rule or order, or obtain an extension of the deadline for 
plugging an inactive well within six months after acquiring an inactive 
well, the Commission or its delegate may, after notice and opportunity 
for hearing, revoke the operator's organization report. 

(5) The Commission or its delegate may approve an organ-
ization report that is delinquent or has been revoked if the Commission 
or its delegate simultaneously approves extensions of the deadline for 
plugging the operator's inactive wells. 

(e) Extension of deadline for plugging an inactive land well. 
The Commission or its delegate may administratively grant an exten-
sion of the deadline for plugging an inactive land well if: 

(1) the Commission or its delegate approves the operator's 
Application for an Extension of Deadline for Plugging an Inactive Well 
(Commission Form W-3X); 

(2) the operator has a current organization report; 

(3) the operator has, and on request provides evidence of, 
a good faith claim to a continuing right to operate the well; 

(4) the well and associated facilities are otherwise in com-
pliance with all Commission rules and orders; and 

(5) for a well more than 25 years old, the operator success-
fully conducts and the Commission or its delegate approves a fluid level 
or hydraulic pressure test establishing that the well does not pose a po-
tential threat of harm to natural resources, including surface and sub-
surface water, oil, and gas. 

(f) Application for an extension of deadline for plugging an 
inactive land well. 

(1) This subsection does not apply to a bay well or an off-
shore well as those terms are defined in §3.78 of this title. 

(2) An operator must include the following in an applica-
tion for an extension of the deadline for plugging an inactive well: 

(A) an affirmation made by an individual with personal 
knowledge of the physical condition of the inactive well pursuant to 
the provisions of Texas Natural Resources Code, §89.029 and §91.143, 
stating the following: that the operator has physically terminated elec-
tric service to the well's production site; and either: 

(i) if the operator does not own the surface of the 
land where the well is located and the well has been inactive for at 
least five years but for less than 10 years as of the date of renewal of the 
operator's organization report, that the operator has emptied or purged 
of production fluids all piping, tanks, vessels, and equipment associated 
with and exclusive to the well; or 

(ii) if the operator does not own the surface of the 
land where the well is located, and the well has been inactive for at 
least 10 years as of the date of renewal of the operator's organization 
report, that the operator has removed: 

(I) all surface equipment and related piping, 
tanks, tank batteries, pump jacks, headers, fences, and firewalls; has 
closed all open pits; and has removed all junk and trash, as defined by 
Commission rule, associated with and exclusive to the well; and 

(II) all equipment associated with providing 
electric service to the well's equipment production site, except for 
equipment owned by an electric utility, as defined by Section 31.002, 
Utilities Code; and 

(B) documentation that the operator has satisfied at least 
one of the following requirements: 

(i) for all inactive land wells that an operator has op-
erated for more than 12 months, the operator has plugged or restored to 
active operation, as defined by Commission rule, 10% of the number 
of inactive land wells operated at the time of the last annual renewal of 
the operator's organization report; 

(ii) if the operator is a publicly traded entity, for all 
inactive land wells, the operator has filed with the Commission a copy 
of the operator's federal documents filed to comply with Financial Ac-
counting Standards Board Statement No. 143, Accounting for Asset 
Retirement Obligations, and an original executed Uniform Commer-
cial Code Form 1 Financing Statement, filed with the Secretary of State, 
that names the operator as the "debtor" and the Railroad Commission 
of Texas as the "secured creditor" and specifies the funds covered by 
the documents in the amount of the cost calculation for plugging all 
inactive wells; 

(iii) the filing of a blanket bond on Commission 
Form P-5PB(2), Blanket Performance Bond, a letter of credit on 
Commission Form P-5LC, Irrevocable Documentary Blanket Letter 
of Credit, or a cash deposit, in the amount of either the lesser of the 
cost calculation for plugging all inactive wells or $2 million; 

(iv) for each inactive land well identified in the ap-
plication, the Commission has approved an abeyance of plugging re-
port and the operator has paid the required filing fee; 

(v) for each inactive land well identified in the ap-
plication, the operator has filed a statement that the well is part of a 
Commission-approved EOR project; 

(vi) for each inactive land well identified in the ap-
plication that is not otherwise required by Commission rule or order to 
conduct a fluid level or hydraulic pressure test of the well, the operator 
has conducted a successful fluid level test or hydraulic pressure test of 
the well and the operator has paid the required filing fee; 

(vii) for each inactive land well identified in the ap-
plication, the operator has filed Commission Form W-3X and the Com-
mission or its delegate has approved a supplemental bond, letter of 
credit, or cash deposit in an amount at least equal to the cost calcu-
lation for plugging an inactive land well for each well specified in the 
application; or 

(viii) for each time an operator files an application 
for a plugging extension and for each inactive land well identified in 
the application, the operator has filed Commission Form W-3X and the 
Commission or its delegate has approved an escrow fund deposit in an 
amount at least equal to 10% of the total cost calculation for plugging 
an inactive land well. 

(g) Commission action on application for plugging extension. 

(1) The Commission or its delegate shall administratively 
grant all applications for plugging extensions that meet the require-
ments of Commission rules. 
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(2) The Commission or its delegate may administratively 
deny an application for a plugging extension for an inactive well if the 
Commission or its delegate determines that: 

(A) the applicant does not have an active organization 
report at the time the plugging extension application is filed; 

(B) the applicant has not submitted all required filing 
fees and financial assurance for the requested plugging extension and 
for renewal of its organization report; or 

(C) the applicant has not submitted a signed organiza-
tion report for the applied-for extension year that qualifies for approval 
regardless of whether the applicant has complied with the inactive well 
requirements of this section. 

(3) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, 
if the Commission or its delegate determines that an organization report 
should be denied renewal solely because it does not meet the inactive 
well requirements of this section, a Commission delegate shall, within a 
reasonable time of not more than 14 days after receipt of the applicant's 
administratively complete organization report renewal packet, includ-
ing all statutorily required fees and financial assurance: 

(A) notify the operator of the determination; 

(B) provide the operator with a written statement of the 
reasons for the determination; and 

(C) notify the operator that it has 90 days from the expi-
ration of its most recently approved organization report to comply with 
the requirements of this section. 

(4) If, after the expiration of the 90-day period specified 
in paragraph (3)(C) of this subsection, the Commission or its delegate 
determines that the operator remains out of compliance with the re-
quirements of this section, the Commission delegate shall mail the op-
erator a written notice of this determination. The operator may request 
a hearing. If the operator fails to timely file a request for hearing and 
the required hearing fee, the Commission shall enter an order denying 
the plugging extension request and denying renewal of the operator's 
organization report without further notice or opportunity for hearing. 

(5) To request a hearing, the operator must file a written 
request for hearing and the hearing fee of $4,500 with the Hearings 
Division, no later than 30 days from the date the written notice was 
mailed to the operator. In the request for hearing, the operator must 
identify by its assigned American Petroleum Institute (API) number 
each inactive well for which the operator is seeking a hearing to con-
test the determination that the well remains out of compliance. At the 
time an operator files a request for hearing under this subsection, the 
operator shall provide a list of affected persons to be given notice of 
the hearing. Affected persons shall include the owners of the surface 
estate of each tract on which a well that is the subject of the hearing 
request is located, the director of the Commission's Enforcement Sec-
tion, and the district director of each Commission district in which the 
wells are located. The applicant's failure to diligently prosecute a hear-
ing requested under this subsection may result in the application being 
involuntarily dismissed for want of prosecution on the motion of any 
affected person or on the Commission's own motion. 

(6) If an operator files a timely plugging extension applica-
tion that is not properly administratively denied for the reasons speci-
fied in paragraph (2) of this subsection, then the operator's previously 
approved organization report shall remain in effect until the Commis-
sion approves its plugging extension application or enters a final order 
denying the application. 

(h) Revocation of extension. The Commission or its delegate 
may revoke an extension of the deadline for plugging an inactive well 

if the Commission or its delegate determines, after notice and an op-
portunity for a hearing, that the applicant is ineligible for the extension 
under the Commission's rules or orders. 

(i) Removal of surface equipment for land wells inactive more 
than 10 years. Requirements to remove surface equipment for land 
wells inactive more than 10 years do not excuse an operator from com-
pliance with all other applicable Commission rules and orders includ-
ing the requirements in Chapter 4 of this title (relating to Environmental 
Protection). 

(1) An operator of an inactive land well must leave a clearly 
visible sign as required by §3.3 of this title (relating to Identification 
of Properties, Wells, and Tanks) at the wellhead of the well and must 
maintain wellhead control as required by §3.13 of this title (relating to 
Casing, Cementing, Drilling, and Completion Requirements). 

(2) An operator may not store surface equipment removed 
from an inactive land well on an active lease. 

(3) An operator may be eligible for a temporary extension 
of the deadline for plugging an inactive land well or a temporary ex-
emption from the surface equipment removal requirements if the oper-
ator is unable to comply with the requirements of subsection (f)(2)(A) 
of this section because of safety concerns or required maintenance of 
the well site and the operator includes with the application a written 
affirmation of the facts regarding the safety concerns or maintenance. 

(4) An operator may be eligible for an extension of the 
deadline for plugging a well without complying with the surface equip-
ment removal requirements for inactive land wells if the well is located 
on a unit or lease or in a field associated with an EOR project and the 
operator includes a statement in the written affirmation that the well 
is part of such a project. The exemption provided by this subsection 
applies only to the equipment associated with current and future oper-
ations of the project. 

(j) Abeyance of plugging report. 

(1) An operator that files an abeyance of plugging report 
must: 

(A) pay an annual fee of $100 for each inactive land 
well covered by the report; 

(B) use Commission Form W-3X on which the operator 
must specify the field and the covered wells within that field; and 

(C) for each well, include a certification signed and 
sealed by a person licensed by the Texas Board of Professional Engi-
neers or the Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists stating that the 
well has: 

(i) a reasonable expectation of economic value in 
excess of the cost of plugging the well for the duration of the period 
covered by the report, based on the cost calculation for plugging an in-
active well; 

(ii) a reasonable expectation of being restored to a 
beneficial use that will prevent waste of oil or gas resources that other-
wise would not be produced if the well were plugged; and 

(iii) documentation demonstrating the basis for the 
affirmation of the well's future utility. 

(2) Except as provided in paragraph (3) of this subsection, 
the Commission or its delegate may not transfer an abeyance of plug-
ging report to a new operator of an existing inactive land well. The new 
operator of an existing inactive land well must file a new abeyance of 
plugging report or otherwise comply with the requirements of this sub-
chapter not later than six months after the date the Commission or its 
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delegate approves the new operator's request to be recognized as the 
operator of the well. 

(3) The Commission or its delegate may transfer an 
abeyance of plugging report in the event of a change of name of an 
operator. 

(k) Enhanced oil recovery (EOR) project. 

(1) An inactive well is considered to be part of an EOR 
project if the well is located on a unit or lease or in a field associated 
with a Commission-approved EOR project. 

(2) Except as provided in paragraph (3) of this subsection, 
the Commission and its delegate may not transfer a statement that an 
inactive well is part of an EOR project to a new operator of an existing 
inactive well. A new operator of an existing inactive well must file a 
new statement stating that the well is part of such an EOR project or 
otherwise comply with the provisions of this section not later than six 
months after the date the Commission or its delegate approves the new 
operator's request to be recognized as the operator of the well. 

(3) The Commission or its delegate may transfer a state-
ment that a well is part of an EOR project in the event of a change of 
name of an operator. 

(l) Fluid level or hydraulic pressure test for inactive wells more 
than 25 years old. 

(1) At least three days prior to the test, the operator must 
give the district office notice of the date and approximate time the op-
erator intends to conduct a fluid level or hydraulic pressure test. The 
district office may require that a test be witnessed by a Commission 
employee. The district office may allow an operator to conduct a test 
even if notice of the test is provided to the district office fewer than 
three days prior to the test. 

(2) No operator may conduct a test other than a fluid level 
or hydraulic pressure test without prior approval from the district di-
rector or the director's delegate. 

(3) For each inactive well that is more than 25 years old and 
that has been inactive more than 10 years, the operator must perform 
either a fluid level test once every 12 months or a hydraulic pressure 
test once every five years and obtain the approval of the Commission 
or its delegate of the results of said tests. 

(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (1) of this 
subsection, an operator may conduct a hydraulic pressure test without 
prior approval from the district director or the director's delegate, pro-
vided that the operator gives the district office written notice of the date 
and approximate time for the test at least three days prior to the time 
the test will be conducted; the production casing is tested to a depth of 
at least 250 feet below the base of usable quality water strata or 100 
feet below the top of cement behind the production casing, whichever 
is deeper; and the minimum test pressure is greater than or equal to 250 
psig for a period of at least 30 minutes. 

(5) Using Commission Form H-15, each operator must file 
in the Commission's Austin office the results of a successful fluid level 
test within 30 days of the date the test was performed. The results, if 
approved, are valid for a period of one year from the date of the test. 
Upon request by the Commission or its delegate, the operator must file 
the actual test data. 

(6) Using Commission Form H-5 or Form H-15, each op-
erator must file in the district office the results of a successful hydraulic 
pressure test, including the original pressure recording chart or its elec-
tronic equivalent, within 30 days of the date the test was performed. 
The results, if approved, are valid for a period of five years from the 

date of the test, unless the Commission or its delegate requires the op-
erator to perform testing more frequently to ensure that the well does 
not pose a threat of harm to natural resources. 

(7) An operator of an inactive well that is more than 25 
years old may not return that inactive well to active operation unless 
the operator performs either a successful fluid level test of the well 
within 12 months prior to the return to activity or a successful hydraulic 
pressure test of the well within five years prior to the return to activity. 

(m) Fluid level or hydraulic pressure test for inactive land well 
less than 25 years old. 

(1) At least three days prior to the test, each operator must 
give the district office notice of the date and approximate time the op-
erator intends to conduct a fluid level or hydraulic pressure test. The 
district office may require that a test be witnessed by a Commission 
employee. The district office may allow an operator to conduct a test 
even if notice of the test is provided to the district office fewer than 
three days prior to the test. 

(2) No operator may conduct a test other than a fluid level 
or hydraulic pressure test without prior approval from the district di-
rector or the director's delegate. 

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (1) of this 
subsection, an operator may conduct a hydraulic pressure test without 
prior approval from the district director or the director's delegate, pro-
vided that the operator gives the district office written notice of the date 
and approximate time for the test at least three days prior to the time 
the test will be conducted; the production casing is tested to a depth of 
at least 250 feet below the base of usable quality water strata or 100 
feet below the top of cement behind the production casing, whichever 
is deeper; and the minimum test pressure is greater than or equal to 250 
psig for a period of at least 30 minutes. 

(4) An operator that files documentation of a fluid level test 
or a hydraulic pressure test for an inactive land well less than 25 years 
old in order to obtain a plugging extension must pay an annual fee of 
$50 for each well covered by the documentation. 

(5) Using Commission Form H-15, each operator must file 
in the Commission's Austin office the results of a successful fluid level 
test within 30 days of the date the test was performed. The results, if 
approved, are valid for a period of one year from the date of the test. 
Upon request by the Commission or its delegate, the operator must file 
the actual test data. 

(6) Using Commission Form H-5 or Form H-15, each op-
erator must file in the district office the results of a successful hydraulic 
pressure test, including the original pressure recording chart or its elec-
tronic equivalent, within 30 days of the date the test was performed. 
The results, if approved, are valid for a period of five years from the 
date of the test, unless the Commission or its delegate requires the op-
erator to perform testing more frequently to ensure that the well does 
not pose a threat of harm to natural resources. 

(7) The Commission or its delegate may transfer documen-
tation of the results of a fluid level or hydraulic pressure test to a new 
operator of an existing inactive land well that is less than 25 years old. 

(n) Supplemental financial assurance. 

(1) A supplemental bond, letter of credit, or cash deposit 
filed as part of an application for an extension for an inactive land well 
is in addition to any other financial assurance otherwise required of the 
operator or for the well. 

(2) The Commission or its delegate may not transfer a sup-
plemental bond, letter of credit, or cash deposit to a new operator of an 
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existing inactive land well. A new operator of an existing inactive land 
well must file a new supplemental bond, letter of credit, or cash deposit 
or otherwise comply with the provisions of this section not later than 
six months after the date the Commission or its delegate approves an 
operator designation form. 

(o) Escrow funds. 

(1) An operator must deposit escrow funds with the Com-
mission each time the operator files an application for an extension of 
the deadline for plugging an inactive well. 

(2) The Commission or its delegate may release escrow 
funds deposited with the Commission only as prescribed by §3.78 of 
this title. 

(p) Plugging more than 10% of inactive well inventory. If an 
operator plugs more than 10% of the number of inactive land wells dur-
ing a 12-month organization report cycle, the Commission will count 
the number of plugged wells above 10% toward fulfillment of the 10% 
blanket option under subsection (f)(2)(B)(i) of this section during the 
next organization report cycle. 

§3.107. Penalty Guidelines for Oil and Gas Violations. 
(a) Policy. Improved safety and environmental protection are 

the desired outcomes of any enforcement action. Encouraging opera-
tors to take appropriate voluntary corrective and future protective ac-
tions once a violation has occurred is an effective component of the 
enforcement process. Deterrence of violations through penalty assess-
ments is also a necessary and effective component of the enforcement 
process. A rule-based enforcement penalty guideline to evaluate and 
rank oil- and natural gas-related violations is consistent with the central 
goal of the Commission's enforcement efforts to promote compliance. 
Penalty guidelines set forth in this section will provide a framework 
for more uniform and equitable assessment of penalties throughout the 
state, while also enhancing the integrity of the Commission's enforce-
ment program. 

(b) Only guidelines. This section complies with the require-
ments of Texas Natural Resources Code, §81.0531 and §91.101, which 
provides the Commission with the authority to adopt rules, enforce 
rules, and issue permits relating to the prevention of pollution. The 
penalty amounts shown in the tables in this section are provided solely 
as guidelines to be considered by the Commission in determining the 
amount of administrative penalties for violations of provisions of Texas 
Natural Resources Code, Title 3; Texas Water Code, Chapters 26, 27, 
and 29, that are administered and enforced by the Commission; or the 
provisions of a rule adopted or order, license, permit, or certificate 
issued under Texas Natural Resources Code, Title 3, or Texas Water 
Code, Chapters 26, 27, and 29. This rule does not contemplate auto-
matic enforcement. Violations can be corrected by operators before 
being referred to legal enforcement. 

(c) Commission authority. The establishment of these penalty 
guidelines shall in no way limit the Commission's authority and discre-
tion to cite violations and assess administrative penalties. The guide-
line minimum penalties listed in this section are for the most common 
violations cited; however, this is neither an exclusive nor an exhaustive 
list of violations that the Commission may cite. The Commission re-
tains full authority and discretion to cite violations of Texas Natural Re-
sources Code, Title 3; including Nat. Res. Code §91.101, which pro-
vides the Commission with the authority to adopt rules, enforce rules, 
and issue permits relating to the prevention of pollution; the provisions 
of Texas Water Code, Chapters 26, 27, and 29, that are administered 
and enforced by the Commission; and the provisions of a rule adopted 
or an order, license, permit, or certificate issued under Texas Natural 
Resources Code, Title 3, or Texas Water Code, Chapters 26, 27, and 29, 
and to assess administrative penalties in any amount up to the statutory 

maximum when warranted by the facts in any case, regardless of inclu-
sion in or omission from this section. 

(d) Factors considered. The amount of any penalty requested, 
recommended, or finally assessed in an enforcement action will be de-
termined on an individual case-by-case basis for each violation, taking 
into consideration the following factors: 

(1) the person's history of previous violations; 

(2) the seriousness of the violation; 

(3) any hazard to the health or safety of the public; and 

(4) the demonstrated good faith of the person charged. 

(e) Typical penalties. Regardless of the method by which the 
guideline typical penalty amount is calculated, the total penalty amount 
will be within the statutory limit. 

(1) A guideline of typical penalties for violations of Texas 
Natural Resources Code, Title 3; the provisions of Texas Water Code, 
Chapters 26, 27, and 29, that are administered and enforced by the 
Commission; and the provisions of a rule adopted or an order, license, 
permit, or certificate issued under Texas Natural Resources Code, Title 
3, or Texas Water Code, Chapters 26, 27, and 29, are set forth in Table 
1. 
Figure: 16 TAC §3.107(e)(1) (No change.) 

(2) Guideline penalties for violations of §3.73 of this title, 
relating to Pipeline Connection; Cancellation of Certificate of Com-
pliance; Severance, include additional penalty amounts that are based 
on four components. In combination, these four components yield the 
factor by which an additional penalty amount of $1,000 is multiplied. 
The various combinations of the components are set forth in Table 1A. 

(A) The first component is the length of the violation. 
A low rating means the violation has been in existence less than three 
months. A medium rating means the violation has been outstanding for 
more than three months and up to one year. A high rating means the 
violation has been outstanding for more than one year. 

(B) The second component is production value. A low 
rating means the value of the production is less than $5,000. A medium 
rating means the value of the production is more than $5,000 and up 
to $100,000. A high rating means the value of the production is more 
than $100,000. 

(C) The third component is the number of unresolved 
severances. A low rating means there are fewer than two unresolved 
severances. A medium rating means there are more than two and up 
to six unresolved severances. A high rating means there are more than 
six unresolved severances. 

(D) The fourth component is the basis of the severance. 
The letter "N" indicates that the severance is not pollution related. The 
letter "Y" indicates that the severance is pollution related. 
Figure: 16 TAC §3.107(e)(2)(D) (No change.) 

(f) Penalty enhancements for certain violations. For violations 
that involve threatened or actual pollution; result in threatened or actual 
safety hazards; or result from the reckless or intentional conduct of the 
person charged, the Commission may assess an enhancement of the 
guideline penalty amount. The enhancement may be in any amount in 
the range shown for each type of violation as shown in Table 2. 
Figure: 16 TAC §3.107(f) (No change.) 

(g) Penalty enhancements for certain violators. For violations 
in which the person charged has a history of prior violations within 
seven years of the current enforcement action, the Commission may 
assess an enhancement based on either the number of prior violations 

50 TexReg 5800 September 5, 2025 Texas Register 



or the total amount of previous administrative penalties, but not both. 
The actual amount of any penalty enhancement will be determined on 
an individual case-by-case basis for each violation. The guidelines in 
Tables 3 and 4 are intended to be used separately. Either guideline may 
be used where applicable, but not both. 
Figure 1: 16 TAC §3.107(g) (No change.) 
Figure 2: 16 TAC §3.107(g) (No change.) 

(h) Penalty reduction for accelerated settlement before hear-
ing. The recommended monetary penalty for a violation may be re-
duced by up to 50% if the person charged agrees to an accelerated set-
tlement before the Commission conducts an administrative hearing to 
prosecute a violation. Once the hearing is convened, the opportunity 
for the person charged to reduce the basic monetary penalty is no longer 
available. The reduction applies to the basic penalty amount requested 
and not to any requested enhancements. 

(i) Demonstrated good faith. In determining the total amount 
of any monetary penalty requested, recommended, or finally assessed 
in an enforcement action, the Commission may consider, on an individ-
ual case-by-case basis for each violation, the demonstrated good faith 
of the person charged. Demonstrated good faith includes, but is not 
limited to, actions taken by the person charged before the filing of an 
enforcement action to remedy, in whole or in part, a violation or to mit-
igate the consequences of a violation. 

(j) Penalty calculation worksheet. The penalty calculation 
worksheet shown in Table 5 lists the guideline minimum penalty 
amounts for certain violations; the circumstances justifying enhance-
ments of a penalty and the amount of the enhancement; and the 
circumstances justifying a reduction in a penalty and the amount of 
the reduction. 
Figure: 16 TAC §3.107(j) 
[Figure: 16 TAC §3.107(j)] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502988 
Natalie Dubiel 
Assistant General Counsel 
Railroad Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 9. LP-GAS SAFETY RULES 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL REQUIRE-
MENTS 
The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) proposes 
the repeal of §9.14, relating to Military Fee Exemption, and 
proposes new §9.14, relating to Military Licensing and Fee 
Exemption. The Commission also proposes conforming amend-
ments to §§9.2, 9.10, 9.13, and 9.20 relating to Definitions, 
Rules Examination, General Installers and Repairman Exemp-
tion, and Dispenser Operations Certificate Exemption. The 
Commission proposes the repeal, new rule, and amendments 
pursuant to House Bill (HB) 5629 (89th Legislature, Regular 
Session, 2025) which amended Occupations Code §§55.004, 
55.0041, 55.0042, 55.005, and 55.009 and Senate Bill 1818 

(89th Legislature, Regular Session, 2025) which amended 
Occupations Code §§55.004 and 55.0041. 
HB 5629 amends current law governing state agencies that issue 
occupational licenses to military service members, military veter-
ans, and military spouses, establishing new and streamlined re-
quirements. The legislation amends provisions in §55.004, Oc-
cupations Code, related to the issuance of alternative licenses, 
and in §55.0041, Occupations Code, related to the recognition of 
out-of-state licenses. Pursuant to HB 5629, a state agency must 
issue an alternative license to a military service member, mili-
tary veteran, or military spouse if the applicant either (1) holds 
a current license issued by another state that is similar in scope 
of practice to the state agency's license and is in good standing 
with the out-of-state licensing authority, or (2) held a license with 
the state agency within the preceding five years. Similarly, HB 
5629 requires a state agency to recognize an out-of-state license 
for a military service member or a military spouse who (1) holds 
a current out-of-state license that is similar in scope of practice 
to the state agency's license, (2) is in good standing with the 
out-of-state licensing authority, and (3) submits certain required 
information in an affidavit. The legislation also clarifies the def-
inition of what qualifies as "good standing", decreases applica-
tion processing timelines from 30 business days to 10 business 
days, and requires a state agency to maintain a record of each 
complaint made against a military service member, military vet-
eran, or military spouse to whom the agency issued a license and 
to publish such information on its website. Lastly, HB 5629 re-
quires a state agency issuing an occupational license to waive li-
cense application and examination fees for military service mem-
bers, military veterans, and military spouses. The Commission 
already complies with the requirement to waive license applica-
tion and examination fees but streamlines those requirements in 
response to the legislation. 
The Commission's Alternative Fuels Safety Department (AFS) 
issues LP-gas licenses to applicants that meet the requirements 
of Chapter 9 to perform LP-gas activities in Texas. AFS also is-
sues certifications to qualified individuals, known as certificate 
holders or certified individuals, allowing them to perform certain 
LP-gas activities in Texas. Certificate holders must be in com-
pliance with all applicable continuing education and training re-
quirements, renewal requirements, and must be employed by an 
LP-gas licensee in accordance with §9.8(a) of this title (relating 
to Requirements and Application for a New Certificate). 
Section 55.001 of the Occupations Code defines "license" as "a 
license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of autho-
rization required by law or a state agency rule that must be ob-
tained by an individual to engage in a particular business." Ac-
cordingly, Chapter 55 and HB 5629 only apply to licenses, as de-
fined by §55.001, that are issued to individuals. AFS typically is-
sues LP-gas licenses to registered business entities, but on rare 
occasions may issue an LP-gas license to an individual operat-
ing as a sole proprietorship. Certifications, on the other hand, 
are issued only to individuals employed by an LP-gas licensee, 
provided they meet the applicable examination, continuing ed-
ucation, and renewal requirements in Chapter 9. Therefore, an 
LP-gas license issued to a sole proprietor and certifications is-
sued under Chapter 9 are "licenses" under §55.001 and are sub-
ject to the provisions of HB 5629 and this rulemaking. Proposed 
subsection §9.14(a)(2) adopts the term "license" as defined in 
§55.001, Occupations Code, and therefore, usage of the word 
"license" in proposed §9.14 refers specifically to LP-gas licenses 
issued to individuals as sole proprietors and to certifications is-
sued to individuals. 
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The Commission proposes amendments to §9.2(5)(F), the defi-
nition of "certificate holder", to clarify that an individual who holds 
an alternative license or the recognition of an out-of-state license 
pursuant to proposed §9.14 meets the definition of certificate 
holder. 
Proposed new §9.14 includes retitling the rule to more accurately 
reflect its subject matter, reorganizing the rule for greater clarity 
in light of the changes to military fee exemption requirements 
under HB 5629, and incorporating new provisions related to al-
ternative licensing and the recognition of out-of-state licenses as 
required by HB 5629. 
Proposed §9.14(a)(1)-(2) clarifies that proposed §9.14 applies 
to licenses, military service members, military veterans, or mil-
itary spouses as those terms are defined in §55.001, Occupa-
tions Code. Proposed §9.14(a)(3), in accordance with HB 5629, 
states that an individual is considered to be in good standing 
with another state's licensing authority if the individual holds a 
license that is current and has not been suspended, revoked, 
or voluntarily surrendered during an investigation for unprofes-
sional conduct; has not been disciplined with the other state's 
licensing authority; and is not currently under investigation by 
the other state's licensing authority for unprofessional conduct. 
AFS will conduct reviews of each application submitted under 
new §9.14 to determine whether the applicant is in good standing 
with the other state's licensing authority. Additionally, proposed 
§9.14(a)(4) states that the Commission shall maintain a record 
of complaints made against a military service member, military 
veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues an alternative 
license or out-of-state recognition of a license and shall publish 
at least quarterly the complaint information on its website. 
The Commission will need to set up a page on its website listing 
the complaints against the military service members that hold 
an alternative license or an out-of-state license recognized by 
the Commission. The website will need to be updated quarterly. 
The Commission will also need to create a new Form 16V for 
applications for an alternative license and a new Form 16M for 
applications for recognition of an out-of-state license. 
Proposed subsection §9.14(b) contains the provisions for alter-
native licensing pursuant to HB 5629. Military service members, 
military veterans, and military spouses may apply for an alterna-
tive license by submitting a completed Form 16V to AFS. There 
are two avenues by which an applicant may receive an alter-
native license from AFS. First, an applicant may receive an al-
ternative license from the Commission if the applicant holds a 
current license issued by another state's licensing authority that 
is similar in scope of practice to the requested LP-gas license is-
sued by AFS and the applicant is in good standing with the other 
state's licensing authority. The applicant must submit a com-
pleted Form 16V, which includes as an attachment a copy of the 
current LP-gas license issued in the other state, a copy of mili-
tary documentation reflecting the applicant's status as a military 
service member or military veteran, and any other documenta-
tion that may be requested by AFS. If the applicant is a military 
spouse, a copy of the marriage license must also be attached. 
Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with all required attach-
ments, AFS will conduct a review of the application to ensure the 
form and attachments are completed as required, will determine 
whether the other state's license is similar in scope of practice to 
the requested alternative license to be issued by AFS, and con-
duct due diligence to determine whether the applicant is in good 
standing with the other state's licensing authority. 

Second, an applicant may receive an alternative license from 
the Commission if the applicant held an LP-gas license from the 
Commission within the five years preceding the application date. 
Those applicants are still required to complete Form 16V and 
must attach military documentation and a marriage license, if ap-
plicable. Regardless of which avenue an applicant uses to pur-
sue an alternative license under proposed §9.14, AFS will issue 
the alternative license within 10 business days of the application 
date if the application meets the requirements of proposed §9.14 
and HB 5629. 
Proposed subsection §9.14(c) contains the provisions for the 
recognition of an out-of-state license pursuant to HB 5629. Mili-
tary service members and military spouses are eligible to apply 
for the recognition of an out-of-state license by submitting a com-
plete Form 16M to AFS. An applicant may receive the recognition 
of an out-of-state license from the Commission if the applicant 
holds a current license issued by another state's licensing au-
thority that is similar in scope of practice to the requested LP-gas 
license issued by AFS. The applicant must submit a completed 
Form 16M, which includes as an attachment a copy of the current 
LP-gas license issued in the other state, a copy of military orders 
showing relocation to Texas, and any other documentation that 
may be requested by AFS. If the applicant is a military spouse, a 
copy of the marriage license must also be attached. Finally, the 
affidavit included in Form 16M must be signed and notarized by 
the applicant, affirming under penalty of perjury that: (1) the ap-
plicant is the person described and identified in the application; 
(2) all statements in the application are true, correct, and com-
plete; (3) the applicant understands the scope of practice for the 
applicable license in this state and will not perform outside of 
that scope of practice; and (4) the applicant is in good standing 
in the state in which the applicant holds or has held an appli-
cable license. Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with all 
required attachments, AFS will conduct a review of the applica-
tion to ensure the form, attachments, and affidavit are completed 
as required and will determine whether the other state's license 
is similar in scope of practice to the requested alternative license 
to be issued by AFS. AFS will recognize the out-of-state license 
within 10 business days of the application date if the application 
meets the requirements of proposed §9.14 and HB 5629. 
Proposed §9.14(d) contains provisions for the exemption of li-
cense application and examination fees for military service mem-
bers, military veterans, and military spouses. A service member 
may apply for exemption from a license application fee or exam-
ination fee by filing a completed Form 35 with AFS, including a 
copy of applicable military records and a copy of the applicant's 
driver's license or state-issued identification card. If the exemp-
tion is granted by AFS, the applicant should attach the exemption 
to the application for a license or examination to serve as notice 
of payment. 
Proposed §9.14(e) contains provisions related to renewals of li-
censes. Alternative licenses and out-of-state recognitions are 
still required to submit renewals pursuant to Chapter 9 and are 
required to pay renewal fees. However, a military service mem-
ber who fails to renew a license because the individual was on 
active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed 
by AFS. Additionally, a military service member who holds a li-
cense is entitled to two years of additional time to complete con-
tinuing education requirements or any other requirement related 
to the renewal of the license. 
The Commission proposes amendments to §§9.10(c)(4)(E), 
9.13(g) and 9.20(8) to rename the title of §9.14 and to remove 
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language related to military licensing fee exemptions as all rule 
language related to fee exemptions will be covered by proposed 
changes to proposed §9.14(d). 
Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Department, 
has determined that during the first year of the first five years the 
proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would be in effect, 
there will be a programming cost to the Commission to make 
small changes to its Alternative Fuels Online System (AFOS) to 
accommodate applications, exemptions, and delayed expiration 
dates for active duty military members. There will be no other ad-
ditional cost to state government as a result of enforcing and ad-
ministering the repeal, new rule, and amendments as proposed. 
Any additional time to review and process license applications 
under proposed §9.14 will be subsumed by current staff. There 
is no fiscal effect on local government. 
Ms. Rudynski has determined that for each year of the first five 
years that the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments will 
be in effect, the primary public benefit resulting from implement-
ing HB 5629 will be a streamlined application process for military 
members, military veterans, and military spouses in good stand-
ing with a licensing authority of another state meeting certain 
requirements to receive an alternative license from AFS, and a 
streamlined application process for military members and mili-
tary spouses in good standing with a licensing authority of an-
other state meeting certain requirements to receive the recogni-
tion of an out-of-state license from AFS. 
Ms. Rudynski has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments are in 
effect, there will be no increase in economic cost to the LP-gas 
industry. 
In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2006.002, the 
Commission has determined there will be no adverse economic 
effect on rural communities, small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses resulting from the proposed repeal, new rule, and 
amendments. The proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
do not apply to rural communities and streamline and make 
efficient licensing requirements for individuals that may meet the 
definition of a small business or micro-business in §2006.001. 
Therefore, the Commission has not prepared the economic 
impact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis required under 
§2006.002(c). 
The Commission has also determined that the proposed repeal, 
new rule, and amendments will not affect a local economy. 
Therefore, the Commission has not prepared a local employ-
ment impact statement pursuant to Texas Government Code 
§2001.022. 
The Commission has determined that the proposed repeal, new 
rule, and amendments do not meet the statutory definition of 
a major environmental rule as set forth in Texas Government 
Code §2001.0225(a); therefore, a regulatory analysis conducted 
pursuant to that section is not required. 
During the first five years that the repeal, new rule, and amend-
ments would be in effect, the proposed repeal, new rule, and 
amendments would not: create or eliminate a government pro-
gram; create new employee positions or eliminate any existing 
employee positions; increase or decrease future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; require an increase or decrease in 
fees paid to the agency; increase or decrease the number of in-
dividuals subject to the rule's applicability; or affect the state's 
economy. The proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
would create a new regulation in that it complies with HB 5629's 

requirements to issue alternative licenses or recognize out-of-
state licenses if certain requirements are met. The proposed re-
peal, new rule, and amendments would also repeal current §9.14 
relating to fee exemptions and re-adopt language to comply with 
HB 5629. 
The Commission reviewed the proposed repeal, new rule, 
and amendments and found that they are neither identified 
in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC 
§29.11(b)(4), nor would they affect any action or authorization 
identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 
31 TAC §29.11(a)(3). Therefore, the proposed repeal, new 
rule, and amendments are not subject to the Texas Coastal 
Management Program. 
Comments on the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
may be submitted to Rules Coordinator, Office of General Coun-
sel, Railroad Commission of Texas, P.O. Box 12967, Austin, 
Texas 78711-2967; online at www.rrc.texas.gov/general-coun-
sel/rules/comment-form-for-proposed-rulemakings; or by elec-
tronic mail to rulescoordinator@rrc.texas.gov. The Commission 
will accept comments until 5:00 p.m. on Monday, October 6, 
2025. The Commission finds that this comment period is rea-
sonable because the proposal and an online comment form will 
be available on the Commission's website prior to Texas Reg-
ister publication of the proposal, giving interested persons ad-
ditional time to review, analyze, draft, and submit comments. 
The Commission cannot guarantee that comments submitted 
after the deadline will be considered. For further information, 
call Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Depart-
ment, at (512) 463-6828. The status of Commission rulemak-
ings in progress is available at www.rrc.texas.gov/general-coun-
sel/rules/proposed-rules. 

16 TAC §§9.2, 9.10, 9.13, 9.14, 9.20 

The Commission proposes the new rule and amendments un-
der Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the 
Commission to promulgate rules pertaining to the issuance of 
occupational licenses to military service members, military vet-
erans, and military spouses. 
Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and 
Texas Natural Resources Code, §113.051. 
Cross reference to statute: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter 113. 
§9.2. Definitions. 

In addition to the definitions in any adopted NFPA pamphlets, the fol-
lowing words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the fol-
lowing meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) Certificate holder--An individual: 

(A) - (C) (No change.) 

(D) who holds a current examination exemption certifi-
cate pursuant to §9.13 of this title (relating to General Installers and 
Repairman Exemption); [or] 

(E) who holds a current Dispenser Operations certifi-
cate exemption pursuant to §9.20 of this title (relating to Dispenser 
Operations Certificate Exemption); or 

(F) who holds an alternative license or a recognition by 
AFS of an out-of-state license pursuant to §9.14 of this title (relating 
to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption) and is in compliance with 
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renewal requirements in §9.9 of this chapter (relating to Requirements 
for Certificate Holder Renewal). 

(6) - (52) (No change.) 

§9.10. Rules Examination. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) An individual who files LPG Form 16 and pays the appli-
cable nonrefundable examination fee may take the rules examination 

(1) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) Exam fees. 

(A) - (D) (No change.) 

(E) A military service member, military veteran, or mil-
itary spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the 
requirements in §9.14 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and 
Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee exemp-
tion is not exempt from renewal, training, or continuing education fees 
specified in §9.9 of this title (relating to Requirements for Certificate 
Holder Renewal, §9.51 of this title, and §9.52 of this title (relating to 
Training and Continuing Education.] 

(F) (No change.) 

(5) - (6) (No change.) 

(d) - (h) (No change.) 

§9.13. General Installers and Repairman Exemption. 

(a) - (f) (No change.) 

(g) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse shall be exempt from the original registration fee pursuant to the 
requirements in §9.14 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and 
Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee exemption 
is not exempt from renewal fees specified in §9.9 of this title.] 

§9.14. Military Licensing and Fee Exemption. 

(a) General Provisions. 

(1) Applicability. This section applies to military service 
members, military veterans, or military spouses, as specified in this sec-
tion and as those terms are defined in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55. 

(2) License. For purposes of this section, a "license" means 
a license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of authorization 
required by this chapter that must be obtained by an individual to en-
gage in a particular business. 

(3) Determination of Good Standing. For purposes of this 
section, an individual is in good standing with another state's licensing 
authority if the individual: 

(A) holds a license that is current, has not been sus-
pended or revoked, and has not been voluntarily surrendered during 
an investigation for unprofessional conduct; 

(B) has not been disciplined by the licensing authority 
with respect to the license or individual's practice of the occupation for 
which the license is issued; and 

(C) is not currently under investigation by the licensing 
authority for unprofessional conduct related to the individual's license 
or profession. 

(4) Complaints and Reporting. The Commission shall 
maintain a record of each complaint made against a military service 
member, military veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues a 

license or who holds an out-of-state license the Commission recog-
nizes. The Commission shall publish at least quarterly on its website 
the complaint information, including a general description of the 
disposition of each complaint. 

(b) Alternative Licensing. 

(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse may apply to be issued an LP-gas license by the Commission if 
the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse: 

(A) holds a current license issued by the licensing au-
thority of another state that is similar in scope of practice to an LP-gas 
license issued by the Commission and is in good standing with the other 
state's licensing authority; or 

(B) within the five years preceding the application date 
held an LP-gas license issued by the Commission. 

(2) An application for an alternative license shall be made 
by submitting a completed Form 16V to AFS. The applicant must at-
tach the following to Form 16V: 

(A) a copy of the applicant's current LP-gas license is-
sued by the licensing authority of another state, if applicable; 

(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-
plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-
eran; 

(C) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the 
military spouse's marriage license; and 

(D) any other information that may be required by AFS. 

(3) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with required 
attachments, AFS shall: 

(A) confirm with the other state that the military service 
member, military veteran, or military spouse is currently licensed and 
in good standing for the relevant business or occupation; and 

(B) conduct a comparison of the other state's licensing 
requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to 
determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. 

(4) AFS shall issue the alternative LP-gas license not later 
than the 10th business day after the date AFS receives an application 
for an alternative license in compliance with this subsection and sec-
tion 55.004, Occupations Code (relating to Alternative Licensing for 
Military Service Members, Military Veterans, and Military Spouses). 

(c) Recognition of Out-of-State Licensing. 

(1) A military service member or military spouse may ap-
ply to engage in an LP-gas activity for which an LP-gas license is re-
quired by the Commission if the military service member or military 
spouse holds a current license issued by the licensing authority of an-
other state that is similar in scope of practice to an LP-gas license is-
sued by the Commission. A military service member or military spouse 
must receive a written recognition from AFS pursuant to this subsec-
tion before engaging in an LP-gas activity. 

(2) An application for the recognition of an out-of-state 
LP-gas license shall be made by submitting a completed Form 16M 
to AFS. The applicant must be in good standing with the other state's 
licensing authority for Form 16M to be approved. The applicant must 
attach the following to a Form 16M: 

(A) a copy of the applicant's current LP-gas license is-
sued by the licensing authority of another state; 
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(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-
plicant's status as a military service member or a military spouse; 

(C) a copy of the applicant's military orders showing 
relocation to this state; 

(D) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the 
military spouse's marriage license; and 

(E) any other information that may be required by AFS. 

(3) Form 16M includes an affidavit that must be notarized 
by the applicant affirming under penalty of perjury that: 

(A) the applicant is the person described and identified 
in the application; 

(B) all statements in the application are true, correct, 
and complete; 

(C) the applicant understands the scope of practice for 
the applicable license in this state and will not perform outside of that 
scope of practice; and 

(D) the applicant is in good standing in the state in 
which the applicant holds an applicable license. 

(4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required 
attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license 
requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to 
determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. 

(5) Not later than the 10th business day after AFS receives 
a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS will notify the 
applicant that: 

(A) AFS recognizes the applicant's out-of-state license 
and will provide a written recognition document; 

(B) the application is incomplete, noting the area of de-
ficiency; or 

(C) AFS is unable to recognize the applicant's out-of-
state license because the Commission does not issue a license similar 
in scope of practice to the applicant's out-of-state license. 

(6) If a military service member or military spouse is 
granted the written recognition of an out-of-state LP-gas license by 
the Commission, the following conditions apply: 

(A) The military service member or military spouse 
shall comply with all other laws and regulations applicable to the 
LP-gas license in this state; 

(B) The military service member or military spouse 
may only engage in the LP-gas activity authorized by the written 
recognition for the period during which the military service member 
is stationed at a military installation in Texas, or, with respect to a 
military spouse, the military service member to whom the spouse is 
married is stationed at a military installation in Texas; and 

(C) In the event of a divorce or similar event that affects 
a person's status as a military spouse, the former spouse may continue to 
engage in the business or occupation under the authority of this section 
until the third anniversary of the date the spouse submitted the Form 
16M. 

(d) Fee Exemptions. 

(1) The Commission shall waive the license application 
and examination fees for a military service member, military veteran, 
or military spouse. To receive a military fee exemption, an applicant 
for a fee exemption shall file with the Commission a Form 35 and any 
documentation required by this subsection. 

(2) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse shall submit the following documentation with Form 35: 

(A) a copy of any military records showing the appli-
cant's dates of service; and 

(B) a copy of the applicant's driver's license or state-
issued identification card. 

(3) AFS shall review Form 35 and required documentation 
to determine if the requirements for the fee exemption have been met 
and shall notify the applicant of the determination in writing within 10 
days. 

(A) If all requirements have been met, the applicant 
may submit the application for license or examination and attach a 
copy of the written notice granting military fee exemption with the 
application to serve as notice of payment. 

(B) If AFS has notified the applicant that the application 
is incomplete, the applicant shall provide any requested information or 
documentation within 10 days of the date of the notice. 

(e) Renewals. 

(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an 
out-of-state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements 
in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing 
education courses. 

(2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license 
because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased 
fee or penalty imposed by AFS. 

(3) A military service member who holds a license is enti-
tled to two years of additional time to complete: 

(A) any continuing education requirements; and 

(B) any other requirement related to the renewal of the 
military service member's license. 

§9.20. Dispenser Operations Certificate Exemption. 
An individual may perform work and directly supervise LP-gas activ-
ities requiring contact with LP-gas if the individual is granted the Dis-
penser Operations Certificate Exemption. The exemption may be ob-
tained by completing the Dispensing Propane Safely course, including 
examination, and complying with paragraph (1) of this section or by 
completing a PERC-based training course and examination in accor-
dance with paragraph (2) of this section. 

(1) - (7) (No change.) 

(8) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse shall be exempt from the original registration fee pursuant to the 
requirements in §9.14 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and 
Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee exemption 
is not exempt from renewal fees specified in §9.9 of this title. fees.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502991 
Natalie Dubiel 
Assistant General Counsel 
Railroad Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 
16 TAC §9.14 

The Commission proposes the repeal under Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the Commission to promul-
gate rules pertaining to the issuance of occupational licenses 
to military service members, military veterans, and military 
spouses. 
Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and 
Texas Natural Resources Code, §113.051. 
Cross reference to statute: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter 113. 
§9.14. Military Fee Exemption. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502992 
Natalie Dubiel 
Assistant General Counsel 
Railroad Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 13. REGULATIONS FOR 
COMPRESSED NATURAL GAS (CNG) 
SUBCHAPTER C. CLASSIFICATION, 
REGISTRATION, AND EXAMINATION 
The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) proposes 
the repeal of §13.76, relating to Military Fee Exemption, and 
proposes new §13.76, relating to Military Licensing and Fee 
Exemption. The Commission also proposes conforming amend-
ments to §§13.61 and 13.70, relating to License Categories, 
Container Manufacturer Registration, Fees, and Application 
for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, and Renewals; and 
Examination and Exempt Registration Requirements and Re-
newals. The Commission proposes the repeal, new rule, and 
amendments pursuant to House Bill (HB) 5629 (89th Legis-
lature, Regular Session, 2025) which amended Occupations 
Code §§55.004, 55.0041, 55.0042, 55.005, and 55.009 and 
Senate Bill 1818 (89th Legislature, Regular Session, 2025) 
which amended Occupations Code §§55.004 and 55.0041. 
HB 5629 amends current law governing state agencies that issue 
occupational licenses to military service members, military veter-
ans, and military spouses, establishing new and streamlined re-
quirements. The legislation amends provisions in §55.004, Oc-
cupations Code, related to the issuance of alternative licenses, 
and in §55.0041, Occupations Code, related to the recognition of 
out-of-state licenses. Pursuant to HB 5629, a state agency must 
issue an alternative license to a military service member, mili-
tary veteran, or military spouse if the applicant either (1) holds 
a current license issued by another state that is similar in scope 
of practice to the state agency's license and is in good standing 
with the out-of-state licensing authority, or (2) held a license with 
the state agency within the preceding five years. Similarly, HB 
5629 requires a state agency to recognize an out-of-state license 
for a military service member or a military spouse who (1) holds 

a current out-of-state license that is similar in scope of practice 
to the state agency's license, (2) is in good standing with the 
out-of-state licensing authority, and (3) submits certain required 
information in an affidavit. The legislation also clarifies the def-
inition of what qualifies as "good standing", decreases applica-
tion processing timelines from 30 business days to 10 business 
days, and requires a state agency to maintain a record of each 
complaint made against a military service member, military vet-
eran, or military spouse to whom the agency issued a license and 
to publish such information on its website. Lastly, HB 5629 re-
quires a state agency issuing an occupational license to waive li-
cense application and examination fees for military service mem-
bers, military veterans, and military spouses. The Commission 
already complies with the requirement to waive license applica-
tion and examination fees but streamlines those requirements in 
response to the legislation. 
The Commission's Alternative Fuels Safety Department (AFS) 
issues CNG licenses to applicants that meet the requirements of 
Chapter 13 to perform CNG activities in Texas. AFS also issues 
certifications to qualified individuals, known as certificate holders 
or certified individuals, allowing them to perform certain CNG ac-
tivities in Texas. Certificate holders must be in compliance with 
all applicable continuing education and training requirements, re-
newal requirements, and must be employed by a CNG licensee 
in accordance with §13.70(a). 
Section 55.001 of the Occupations Code defines "license" as "a 
license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of autho-
rization required by law or a state agency rule that must be ob-
tained by an individual to engage in a particular business." Ac-
cordingly, Chapter 55 and HB 5629 only apply to licenses, as 
defined by §55.001, that are issued to individuals. AFS typically 
issues CNG licenses to registered business entities, but on rare 
occasions may issue a CNG license to an individual operating 
as a sole proprietorship. Certifications, on the other hand, are is-
sued only to individuals employed by a CNG licensee, provided 
they meet the applicable examination, continuing education, and 
renewal requirements in Chapter 13. Therefore, a CNG license 
issued to a sole proprietor and certifications issued under Chap-
ter 13 are "licenses" under §55.001 and are subject to the pro-
visions of HB 5629 and this rulemaking. Proposed §13.76(a)(2) 
adopts the term "license" as defined in §55.001, Occupations 
Code, and therefore, usage of the word "license" in proposed 
§13.76 refers specifically to CNG licenses issued to individuals 
as sole proprietors and to certifications issued to individuals. 
Proposed new §13.76 includes retitling the rule to more ac-
curately reflect its subject matter, reorganizing the rule for 
greater clarity in light of the changes to military fee exemption 
requirements under HB 5629, and incorporating new provisions 
related to alternative licensing and the recognition of out-of-state 
licenses as required by HB 5629. 
Proposed §13.76(a)(1) - (2) clarifies that proposed §13.76 ap-
plies to licenses, military service members, military veterans, or 
military spouses as those terms are defined in §55.001, Occu-
pations Code. Proposed §13.76(a)(3), in accordance with HB 
5629, states that an individual is considered to be in good stand-
ing with another state's licensing authority if the individual holds 
a license that is current and has not been suspended, revoked, 
or voluntarily surrendered during an investigation for unprofes-
sional conduct; has not been disciplined with the other state's li-
censing authority; and is not currently under investigation by the 
other state's licensing authority for unprofessional conduct. AFS 
will conduct reviews of each application submitted under new 
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§13.76 to determine whether the applicant is in good standing 
with the other state's licensing authority. Additionally, proposed 
§13.76(a)(4) states that the Commission shall maintain a record 
of complaints made against a military service member, military 
veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues an alternative 
license or out-of-state recognition of a license and shall publish 
at least quarterly the complaint information on its website. 
The Commission will need to set up a page on its website listing 
the complaints against the military service members that hold 
an alternative license or an out-of-state license recognized by 
the Commission. The website will need to be updated quarterly. 
The Commission will also need to create a new Form 16V for 
applications for an alternative license and a new Form 16M for 
applications for recognition of an out-of-state license. 
Proposed §13.76(b) contains the provisions for alternative li-
censing pursuant to HB 5629. Military service members, military 
veterans, and military spouses may apply for an alternative 
license by submitting a completed Form 16V to AFS. There are 
two avenues by which an applicant may receive an alternative 
license from AFS. First, an applicant may receive an alternative 
license from the Commission if the applicant holds a current 
license issued by another state's licensing authority that is simi-
lar in scope of practice to the requested CNG license issued by 
AFS and the applicant is in good standing with the other state's 
licensing authority. The applicant must submit a completed 
Form 16V which includes as an attachment a copy of the current 
CNG license issued in the other state, a copy of military docu-
mentation reflecting the applicant's status as a military service 
member or military veteran, and any other documentation that 
may be requested by AFS. If the applicant is a military spouse, 
a copy of the marriage license must also be attached. Upon 
receipt of a completed Form 16V with all required attachments, 
AFS will conduct a review of the application to ensure the form 
and attachments are completed as required, will determine 
whether the other state's license is similar in scope of practice 
to the requested alternative license to be issued by AFS, and 
conduct due diligence to determine whether the applicant is in 
good standing with the other state's licensing authority. 
Second, an applicant may receive an alternative license from 
the Commission if the applicant held a CNG license from the 
Commission within the five years preceding the application date. 
Those applicants are still required to complete Form 16V and 
must attach military documentation and a marriage license, if 
applicable. Regardless of which avenue an applicant uses to 
pursue an alternative license under proposed §13.76, AFS will 
issue the alternative license within 10 business days of the appli-
cation date if the application meets the requirements of proposed 
§13.76 and HB 5629. 
Proposed §13.76(c) contains the provisions for the recognition 
of an out-of-state license pursuant to HB 5629. Military service 
members and military spouses are eligible to apply for the recog-
nition of an out-of-state license by submitting a complete Form 
16M to AFS. An applicant may receive the recognition of an 
out-of-state license from the Commission if the applicant holds a 
current license issued by another state's licensing authority that 
is similar in scope of practice to the requested CNG license is-
sued by AFS. The applicant must submit a completed Form 16M 
which includes as an attachment a copy of the current CNG li-
cense issued in the other state, a copy of military orders showing 
relocation to Texas, and any other documentation that may be re-
quested by AFS. If the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of 
the marriage license must also be attached. Finally, the affidavit 

included in Form 16M must be signed and notarized by the ap-
plicant, affirming under penalty of perjury that: (1) the applicant 
is the person described and identified in the application; (2) all 
statements in the application are true, correct, and complete; (3) 
the applicant understands the scope of practice for the applica-
ble license in this state and will not perform outside of that scope 
of practice; and (4) the applicant is in good standing in the state 
in which the applicant holds or has held an applicable license. 
Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with all required attach-
ments, AFS will conduct a review of the application to ensure 
the form, attachments, and affidavit are completed as required 
and will determine whether the other state's license is similar in 
scope of practice to the requested alternative license to be is-
sued by AFS. AFS will recognize the out-of-state license within 
10 business days of the application date if the application meets 
the requirements of proposed §13.76 and HB 5629. 
Proposed §13.76(d) contains provisions for the exemption of li-
cense application and examination fees for military service mem-
bers, military veterans, and military spouses. A service member 
may apply for exemption from a license application fee or exam-
ination fee by filing a completed Form 35 with AFS, including a 
copy of applicable military records and a copy of the applicant's 
driver's license or state-issued identification card. If the exemp-
tion is granted by AFS, the applicant should attach the exemption 
to the application for a license or examination to serve as notice 
of payment. 
Proposed §13.76(e) contains provisions related to renewals of 
licenses. Alternative licenses and out-of-state recognitions are 
still required to submit renewals pursuant to Chapter 13 and are 
required to pay renewal fees. However, a military service mem-
ber who fails to renew a license because the individual was on 
active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed 
by AFS. Additionally, a military service member who holds a li-
cense is entitled to two years of additional time to complete con-
tinuing education requirements or any other requirement related 
to the renewal of the license. 
The Commission proposes amendments to §§13.61(d), 
13.70(b)(3)(iv), and 13.70(g)(8) to rename the title of §13.76 and 
to remove language related to military licensing fee exemptions 
as all rule language related to fee exemptions will be covered 
by proposed changes to proposed §13.76(d). 
Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Department, 
has determined that during the first year of the first five years the 
proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would be in effect, 
there will be a programming cost to the Commission to make 
small changes to its Alternative Fuels Online System (AFOS) 
to accommodate applications, exemptions, and delayed expira-
tion dates for active duty military members. There will be no 
other additional cost to state government as a result of enforc-
ing and administering the repeal, new rule, and amendments as 
proposed. Any additional time to review and process license ap-
plications under proposed §13.76 will be subsumed by current 
staff. There is no fiscal effect on local government. 
Ms. Rudynski has determined that for each year of the first five 
years that the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments will 
be in effect, the primary public benefit resulting from implement-
ing HB 5629 will be a streamlined application process for military 
members, military veterans, and military spouses in good stand-
ing with a licensing authority of another state meeting certain 
requirements to receive an alternative license from AFS, and a 
streamlined application process for military members and mili-
tary spouses in good standing with a licensing authority of an-
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other state meeting certain requirements to receive the recogni-
tion of an out-of-state license from AFS. 
Ms. Rudynski has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments are in 
effect, there will be no increase in economic cost to the CNG 
industry. 
In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2006.002, the 
Commission has determined there will be no adverse economic 
effect on rural communities, small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses resulting from the proposed repeal, new rule, and 
amendments. The proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
do not apply to rural communities and streamline and make 
efficient licensing requirements for individuals that may meet the 
definition of a small business or micro-business in §2006.001. 
Therefore, the Commission has not prepared the economic 
impact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis required under 
§2006.002(c). 
The Commission has also determined that the proposed repeal, 
new rule, and amendments will not affect a local economy. 
Therefore, the Commission has not prepared a local employ-
ment impact statement pursuant to Texas Government Code 
§2001.022. 
The Commission has determined that the proposed repeal, new 
rule, and amendments do not meet the statutory definition of 
a major environmental rule as set forth in Texas Government 
Code §2001.0225(a); therefore, a regulatory analysis conducted 
pursuant to that section is not required. 
During the first five years that the repeal, new rule, and amend-
ments would be in effect, the proposed repeal, new rule, and 
amendments would not: create or eliminate a government pro-
gram; create new employee positions or eliminate any existing 
employee positions; increase or decrease future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; require an increase or decrease in 
fees paid to the agency; increase or decrease the number of in-
dividuals subject to the rule's applicability; or affect the state's 
economy. The proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
would create a new regulation in that it complies with HB 5629's 
requirements to issue alternative licenses or recognize out-of-
state licenses if certain requirements are met. The proposed 
repeal, new rule, and amendments would also repeal current 
§13.76 relating to fee exemptions and re-adopt language to com-
ply with HB 5629. 
The Commission reviewed the proposed repeal, new rule, 
and amendments and found that they are neither identified 
in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC 
§29.11(b)(4), nor would they affect any action or authorization 
identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 
31 TAC §29.11(a)(3). Therefore, the proposed repeal, new 
rule, and amendments are not subject to the Texas Coastal 
Management Program. 
Comments on the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
may be submitted to Rules Coordinator, Office of General Coun-
sel, Railroad Commission of Texas, P.O. Box 12967, Austin, 
Texas 78711-2967; online at www.rrc.texas.gov/general-coun-
sel/rules/comment-form-for-proposed-rulemakings; or by elec-
tronic mail to rulescoordinator@rrc.texas.gov. The Commission 
will accept comments until 5:00 p.m. on Monday, October 6, 
2025. The Commission finds that this comment period is rea-
sonable because the proposal and an online comment form will 
be available on the Commission's website prior to Texas Reg-
ister publication of the proposal, giving interested persons ad-

ditional time to review, analyze, draft, and submit comments. 
The Commission cannot guarantee that comments submitted 
after the deadline will be considered. For further information, 
call Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Depart-
ment, at (512) 463-6828. The status of Commission rulemak-
ings in progress is available at www.rrc.texas.gov/general-coun-
sel/rules/proposed-rules. 

16 TAC §§13.61, 13.70, 13.76 

The Commission proposes the new rule and amendments un-
der Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the 
Commission to promulgate rules pertaining to the issuance of 
occupational licenses to military service members, military vet-
erans, and military spouses. 
Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and 
Texas Natural Resources Code, §§116.012. 
Cross reference to statute: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter 116. 
§13.61. License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, 
Fees, and Application for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, and 
Renewals. 

(a) - (c) (No change.) 

(d) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse shall be exempt from the original license fee specified in sub-
section (b) of this section pursuant to the requirements in §13.76 of 
this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An in-
dividual who receives a military fee exemption is not exempt from the 
renewal or transport registration fees specified in subsection (p) of this 
section and §13.69 of this title (relating to Registration and Transfer of 
CNG Cargo Tanks or Delivery Units).] 

(e) - (r) (No change.) 

§13.70. Examination and Exempt Registration Requirements and Re-
newals. 

(a) Requirements and application for a new certificate. 

(1) In addition to NFPA 52 §§1.4.3 and 4.2, and NFPA 55 
§4.7, no person shall perform work, directly supervise CNG activities, 
or be employed in any capacity requiring contact with CNG, unless that 
individual is employed by a licensee and: 

(A) is a certificate holder who is in compliance with re-
newal requirements in subsection (h) of this section; 

(B) is a trainee who complies with subsection (f) of sec-
tion; [or] 

(C) holds a current examination exemption pursuant to 
subsection (g) of this section; or[.] 

(D) has an alternative license or a recognition by AFS 
of an out-of-state license pursuant to §13.76 of this chapter (relating 
to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption) and is in compliance with 
renewal requirements in subsection (h) of this section. 

(b) Rules examination. 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) An individual who files CNG Form 2016 and pays the 
applicable nonrefundable examination fee may take the rules examina-
tion. 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) Exam fees. 

(i) - (iii) (No change.) 
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(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or 
military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to 
the requirements in §13.76 of this title (relating to Military Licensing 
and Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee ex-
emption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in subsection (h) of 
this section.] 

(v) (No change.) 

(D) - (E) (No change.) 

(c) - (f) (No change.) 

(g) General installers and repairmen exemption. 

(1) - (7) (No change.) 

(8) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse shall be exempt from the original registration fee pursuant to 
the requirements in §13.76 of this title. [An individual who receives 
a military fee exemption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in 
subsection (h) of this section.] 

(h) (No change.) 

§13.76. Military Licensing and Fee Exemption. 

(a) General Provisions. 

(1) Applicability. This section applies to military service 
members, military veterans, or military spouses, as specified in this sec-
tion and as those terms are defined in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55. 

(2) License. For purposes of this section, a "license" means 
a license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of authorization 
required by this chapter that must be obtained by an individual to en-
gage in a particular business. 

(3) Determination of Good Standing. For purposes of this 
section, an individual is in good standing with another state's licensing 
authority if the individual: 

(A) holds a license that is current, has not been sus-
pended or revoked, and has not been voluntarily surrendered during 
an investigation for unprofessional conduct; 

(B) has not been disciplined by the licensing authority 
with respect to the license or individual's practice of the occupation for 
which the license is issued; and 

(C) is not currently under investigation by the licensing 
authority for unprofessional conduct related to the individual's license 
or profession. 

(4) Complaints and Reporting. The Commission shall 
maintain a record of each complaint made against a military service 
member, military veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues a 
license or who holds an out-of-state license the Commission recog-
nizes. The Commission shall publish at least quarterly on its website 
the complaint information, including a general description of the 
disposition of each complaint. 

(b) Alternative Licensing. 

(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse may apply to be issued a CNG license by the Commission if the 
military service member, military veteran, or military spouse: 

(A) holds a current license issued by the licensing au-
thority of another state that is similar in scope of practice to a CNG li-
cense issued by the Commission and is in good standing with the other 
state's licensing authority; or 

(B) within the five years preceding the application date 
held a CNG license issued by the Commission. 

(2) An application for an alternative license shall be made 
by submitting a completed Form 16V to AFS. The applicant must at-
tach the following to Form 16V: 

(A) a copy of the applicant's current CNG license issued 
by the licensing authority of another state, if applicable; 

(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-
plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-
eran; 

(C) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the 
military spouse's marriage license; and 

(D) any other information that may be required by AFS. 

(3) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with required 
attachments, AFS shall: 

(A) confirm with the other state that the military service 
member, military veteran, or military spouse is currently licensed and 
in good standing for the relevant business or occupation; and 

(B) conduct a comparison of the other state's licensing 
requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to 
determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. 

(4) AFS shall issue the alternative CNG license not later 
than the 10th business day after the date AFS receives an application 
for an alternative license in compliance with this subsection and sec-
tion 55.004, Occupations Code (relating to Alternative Licensing for 
Military Service Members, Military Veterans, and Military Spouses). 

(c) Recognition of Out-of-State Licensing. 

(1) A military service member or military spouse may ap-
ply to engage in a CNG activity for which a CNG license is required 
by the Commission if the military service member or military spouse 
holds a current license issued by the licensing authority of another state 
that is similar in scope of practice to a CNG license issued by the Com-
mission. A military service member or military spouse must receive 
a written recognition from AFS pursuant to this subsection before en-
gaging in a CNG activity. 

(2) An application for the recognition of an out-of-state 
CNG license shall be made by submitting a completed Form 16M to 
AFS. The applicant must be in good standing with the other state's li-
censing authority for Form 16M to be approved. The applicant must 
attach the following to a Form 16M: 

(A) a copy of the applicant's current CNG license issued 
by the licensing authority of another state; 

(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-
plicant's status as a military service member or a military spouse; 

(C) a copy of the applicant's military orders showing 
relocation to this state; 

(D) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the 
military spouse's marriage license; and 

(E) any other information that may be required by AFS. 

(3) Form 16M includes an affidavit that must be notarized 
by the applicant affirming under penalty of perjury that: 

(A) the applicant is the person described and identified 
in the application; 
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(B) all statements in the application are true, correct, 
and complete; 

(C) the applicant understands the scope of practice for 
the applicable license in this state and will not perform outside of that 
scope of practice; and 

(D) the applicant is in good standing in the state in 
which the applicant holds an applicable license. 

(4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required 
attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license 
requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to 
determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. 

(5) Not later than the 10th business day after AFS receives 
a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS will notify the 
applicant that: 

(A) AFS recognizes the applicant's out-of-state license 
and will provide a written recognition document; 

(B) the application is incomplete, noting the area of de-
ficiency; or 

(C) AFS is unable to recognize the applicant's out-of-
state license because the Commission does not issue a license similar 
in scope of practice to the applicant's out-of-state license. 

(6) If a military service member or military spouse is 
granted the written recognition of an out-of-state CNG license by the 
Commission, the following conditions apply: 

(A) The military service member or military spouse 
shall comply with all other laws and regulations applicable to the CNG 
license in this state; 

(B) The military service member or military spouse 
may only engage in the CNG activity authorized by the written 
recognition for the period during which the military service member 
is stationed at a military installation in Texas, or, with respect to a 
military spouse, the military service member to whom the spouse is 
married is stationed at a military installation in Texas; and 

(C) In the event of a divorce or similar event that affects 
a person's status as a military spouse, the former spouse may continue to 
engage in the business or occupation under the authority of this section 
until the third anniversary of the date the spouse submitted the Form 
16M. 

(d) Fee Exemptions. 

(1) The Commission shall waive the license application 
and examination fees for a military service member, military veteran, 
or military spouse. To receive a military fee exemption, an applicant 
for a fee exemption shall file with the Commission a Form 35 and any 
documentation required by this subsection. 

(2) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse shall submit the following documentation with Form 35: 

(A) a copy of any military records showing the appli-
cant's dates of service; and 

(B) a copy of the applicant's driver's license or state-
issued identification card. 

(3) AFS shall review Form 35 and required documentation 
to determine if the requirements for the fee exemption have been met 
and shall notify the applicant of the determination in writing within 10 
days. 

(A) If all requirements have been met, the applicant 
may submit the application for license or examination and attach a 
copy of the written notice granting military fee exemption with the 
application to serve as notice of payment. 

(B) If AFS has notified the applicant that the application 
is incomplete, the applicant shall provide any requested information or 
documentation within 10 days of the date of the notice. 

(e) Renewals. 

(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an 
out of state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements 
in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing 
education courses. 

(2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license 
because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased 
fee or penalty imposed by AFS. 

(3) A military service member who holds a license is enti-
tled to two years of additional time to complete: 

(A) any continuing education requirements; and 

(B) any other requirement related to the renewal of the 
military service member's license. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502994 
Natalie Dubiel 
Assistant General Counsel 
Railroad Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
16 TAC §13.76 

The Commission proposes the repeal under Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the Commission to promul-
gate rules pertaining to the issuance of occupational licenses 
to military service members, military veterans, and military 
spouses. 
Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and 
Texas Natural Resources Code, §§116.012. 
Cross reference to statute: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter 116. 
§13.76. Military Fee Exemption. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502993 
Natalie Dubiel 
Assistant General Counsel 
Railroad Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 

50 TexReg 5810 September 5, 2025 Texas Register 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 14. REGULATIONS FOR 
LIQUEFIED NATURAL GAS (LNG) 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL APPLICABILITY 
AND REQUIREMENTS 
The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) proposes 
the repeal of §14.2015, relating to Military Fee Exemption, 
and proposes new §14.2015, relating to Military Licensing and 
Fee Exemption. The Commission also proposes conforming 
amendments to §§14.2013 and 14.2019, relating to License 
Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, Fees, and 
Application for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, and Re-
newals; and Examination and Requirements and Renewals. 
The Commission proposes the repeal, new rule, and amend-
ments pursuant to House Bill (HB) 5629 (89th Legislature, 
Regular Session, 2025) which amended Occupations Code 
§§55.004, 55.0041, 55.0042, 55.005, and 55.009 and Senate 
Bill 1818 (89th Legislature, Regular Session, 2025) which 
amended Occupations Code §§55.004 and 55.0041. 
HB 5629 amends current law governing state agencies that issue 
occupational licenses to military service members, military veter-
ans, and military spouses, establishing new and streamlined re-
quirements. The legislation amends provisions in §55.004, Oc-
cupations Code, related to the issuance of alternative licenses, 
and in §55.0041, Occupations Code, related to the recognition of 
out-of-state licenses. Pursuant to HB 5629, a state agency must 
issue an alternative license to a military service member, mili-
tary veteran, or military spouse if the applicant either (1) holds 
a current license issued by another state that is similar in scope 
of practice to the state agency's license and is in good standing 
with the out-of-state licensing authority, or (2) held a license with 
the state agency within the preceding five years. Similarly, HB 
5629 requires a state agency to recognize an out-of-state license 
for a military service member or a military spouse who (1) holds 
a current out-of-state license that is similar in scope of practice 
to the state agency's license, (2) is in good standing with the 
out-of-state licensing authority, and (3) submits certain required 
information in an affidavit. The legislation also clarifies the def-
inition of what qualifies as "good standing", decreases applica-
tion processing timelines from 30 business days to 10 business 
days, and requires a state agency to maintain a record of each 
complaint made against a military service member, military vet-
eran, or military spouse to whom the agency issued a license and 
to publish such information on its website. Lastly, HB 5629 re-
quires a state agency issuing an occupational license to waive li-
cense application and examination fees for military service mem-
bers, military veterans, and military spouses. The Commission 
already complies with the requirement to waive license applica-
tion and examination fees but streamlines those requirements in 
response to the legislation. 
The Commission's Alternative Fuels Safety Department (AFS) 
issues LNG licenses to applicants that meet the requirements of 
Chapter 14 to perform LNG activities in Texas. AFS also issues 
certifications to qualified individuals, known as certificate holders 
or certified individuals, allowing them to perform certain LNG ac-
tivities in Texas. Certificate holders must be in compliance with 
all applicable continuing education and training requirements, re-
newal requirements, must be employed by an LNG licensee in 
accordance with §14.2019(a). 

Section 55.001 of the Occupations Code defines "license" as "a 
license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of autho-
rization required by law or a state agency rule that must be ob-
tained by an individual to engage in a particular business." Ac-
cordingly, Chapter 55 and HB 5629 only apply to licenses, as 
defined by §55.001, that are issued to individuals. AFS typically 
issues LNG licenses to registered business entities, but on rare 
occasions may issue an LNG license to an individual operating 
as a sole proprietorship. Certifications, on the other hand, are is-
sued only to individuals employed by an LNG licensee, provided 
they meet the applicable examination, continuing education, and 
renewal requirements in Chapter 14. Therefore, an LNG license 
issued to a sole proprietor and certifications issued under Chap-
ter 14 are "licenses" under §55.001 and are subject to the pro-
visions of HB 5629 and this rulemaking. Proposed subsection 
§14.2015(a)(2) adopts the term "license" as defined in §55.001, 
Occupations Code, and therefore, usage of the word "license" 
in proposed §14.2015 refers specifically to LNG licenses issued 
to individuals as sole proprietors and to certifications issued to 
individuals. 
Proposed new §14.2015 includes retitling the rule to more 
accurately reflect its subject matter, reorganizing the rule for 
greater clarity in light of the changes to military fee exemption 
requirements under HB 5629, and incorporating new provisions 
related to alternative licensing and the recognition of out-of-state 
licenses as required by HB 5629. 
Proposed §14.2015(a)(1)-(2) clarifies that proposed §14.2015 
applies to licenses, military service members, military veterans, 
or military spouses as those terms are defined in §55.001, Occu-
pations Code. Proposed §14.2015(a)(3), in accordance with HB 
5629, states that an individual is considered to be in good stand-
ing with another state's licensing authority if the individual holds 
a license that is current and has not been suspended, revoked, 
or voluntarily surrendered during an investigation for unprofes-
sional conduct; has not been disciplined with the other state's li-
censing authority; and is not currently under investigation by the 
other state's licensing authority for unprofessional conduct. AFS 
will conduct reviews of each application submitted under new 
§14.2015 to determine whether the applicant is in good stand-
ing with the other state's licensing authority. Additionally, pro-
posed §14.2015(a)(4) states that the Commission shall maintain 
a record of complaints made against a military service member, 
military veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues an al-
ternative license or out-of-state recognition of a license and shall 
publish at least quarterly the complaint information on its web-
site. 
The Commission will need to set up a page on its website listing 
the complaints against the military service members that hold 
an alternative license or an out-of-state license recognized by 
the Commission. The website will need to be updated quarterly. 
The Commission will also need to create a new Form 16V for 
applications for an alternative license and a new Form 16M for 
applications for recognition of an out-of-state license. 
Proposed §14.2015(b) contains the provisions for alternative li-
censing pursuant to HB 5629. Military service members, mil-
itary veterans, and military spouses may apply for an alterna-
tive license by submitting a completed Form 16V to AFS. There 
are two avenues by which an applicant may receive an alter-
native license from AFS. First, an applicant may receive an al-
ternative license from the Commission if the applicant holds a 
current license issued by another state's licensing authority that 
is similar in scope of practice to the requested LNG license is-
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sued by AFS and the applicant is in good standing with the other 
state's licensing authority. The applicant must submit a com-
pleted Form 16V which includes as an attachment a copy of the 
current LNG license issued in the other state, a copy of mili-
tary documentation reflecting the applicant's status as a military 
service member or military veteran, and any other documenta-
tion that may be requested by AFS. If the applicant is a military 
spouse, a copy of the marriage license must also be attached. 
Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with all required attach-
ments, AFS will conduct a review of the application to ensure the 
form and attachments are completed as required, will determine 
whether the other state's license is similar in scope of practice to 
the requested alternative license to be issued by AFS, and con-
duct due diligence to determine whether the applicant is in good 
standing with the other state's licensing authority. 
Second, an applicant may receive an alternative license from 
the Commission if the applicant held an LNG license from the 
Commission within the five years preceding the application date. 
Those applicants are still required to complete Form 16V and 
must attach military documentation and a marriage license, if 
applicable. Regardless of which avenue an applicant uses to 
pursue an alternative license under proposed §14.2015, AFS will 
issue the alternative license within 10 business days of the appli-
cation date if the application meets the requirements of proposed 
§14.2015 and HB 5629. 
Proposed §14.2015(c) contains the provisions for the recogni-
tion of an out-of-state license pursuant to HB 5629. Military ser-
vice members and military spouses are eligible to apply for the 
recognition of an out-of-state license by submitting a complete 
Form 16M to AFS. An applicant may receive the recognition of an 
out-of-state license from the Commission if the applicant holds 
a current license issued by another state's licensing authority 
that is similar in scope of practice to the requested LNG license 
issued by AFS. The applicant must submit a completed Form 
16M which includes as an attachment a copy of the current LNG 
license issued in the other state, a copy of military orders show-
ing relocation to Texas, and any other documentation that may 
be requested by AFS. If the applicant is a military spouse, a copy 
of the marriage license must also be attached. Finally, the affi-
davit included in Form 16M must be signed and notarized by the 
applicant, affirming under penalty of perjury that: (1) the appli-
cant is the person described and identified in the application; (2) 
all statements in the application are true, correct, and complete; 
(3) the applicant understands the scope of practice for the ap-
plicable license in this state and will not perform outside of that 
scope of practice; and (4) the applicant is in good standing in 
the state in which the applicant holds or has held an applica-
ble license. Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with all re-
quired attachments, AFS will conduct a review of the application 
to ensure the form, attachments, and affidavit are completed as 
required and will determine whether the other state's license is 
similar in scope of practice to the requested alternative license 
to be issued by AFS. AFS will recognize the out-of-state license 
within 10 business days of the application date if the application 
meets the requirements of proposed §14.2015 and HB 5629. 
Proposed §14.2015(d) contains provisions for the exemption 
of license application and examination fees for military service 
members, military veterans, and military spouses. A service 
member may apply for exemption from a license application 
fee or examination fee by filing a completed Form 35 with AFS, 
including a copy of applicable military records and a copy of the 
applicant's driver's license or state-issued identification card. If 
the exemption is granted by AFS, the applicant should attach 

the exemption to the application for a license or examination to 
serve as notice of payment. 
Proposed §14.2015(e) contains provisions related to renewals of 
licenses. Alternative licenses and out-of-state recognitions are 
still required to submit renewals pursuant to Chapter 14 and are 
required to pay renewal fees. However, a military service mem-
ber who fails to renew a license because the individual was on 
active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed 
by AFS. Additionally, a military service member who holds a li-
cense is entitled to two years of additional time to complete con-
tinuing education requirements or any other requirement related 
to the renewal of the license. 
The Commission proposes amendments to §§14.2013(c) and 
14.2019(b)(3)(C)(iv) to rename the title of §14.2015 and to re-
move language related to military licensing fee exemptions as 
all rule language related to fee exemptions will be covered by 
proposed changes to proposed §14.2015(d). 
Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Department, 
has determined that during the first year of the first five years the 
proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would be in effect, 
there will be a programming cost to the Commission to make 
small changes to its Alternative Fuels Online System (AFOS) 
to accommodate applications, exemptions, and delayed expira-
tion dates for active duty military members. There will be no 
other additional cost to state government as a result of enforc-
ing and administering the repeal, new rule, and amendments as 
proposed. Any additional time to review and process license ap-
plications under proposed §14.2015 will be subsumed by current 
staff. There is no fiscal effect on local government. 
Ms. Rudynski has determined that for each year of the first five 
years that the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments will 
be in effect, the primary public benefit resulting from implement-
ing HB 5629 will be a streamlined application process for military 
members, military veterans, and military spouses in good stand-
ing with a licensing authority of another state meeting certain 
requirements to receive an alternative license from AFS, and a 
streamlined application process for military members and mili-
tary spouses in good standing with a licensing authority of an-
other state meeting certain requirements to receive the recogni-
tion of an out-of-state license from AFS. 
Ms. Rudynski has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments are in 
effect, there will be no increase in economic cost to the LNG 
industry. 
In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2006.002, the 
Commission has determined there will be no adverse economic 
effect on rural communities, small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses resulting from the proposed repeal, new rule, and 
amendments. The proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
do not apply to rural communities and streamline and make 
efficient licensing requirements for individuals that may meet the 
definition of a small business or micro-business in §2006.001. 
Therefore, the Commission has not prepared the economic 
impact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis required under 
§2006.002(c). 
The Commission has also determined that the proposed repeal, 
new rule, and amendments will not affect a local economy. 
Therefore, the Commission has not prepared a local employ-
ment impact statement pursuant to Texas Government Code 
§2001.022. 
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The Commission has determined that the proposed repeal, new 
rule, and amendments do not meet the statutory definition of 
a major environmental rule as set forth in Texas Government 
Code §2001.0225(a); therefore, a regulatory analysis conducted 
pursuant to that section is not required. 
During the first five years that the repeal, new rule, and amend-
ments would be in effect, the proposed repeal, new rule, and 
amendments would not: create or eliminate a government pro-
gram; create new employee positions or eliminate any existing 
employee positions; increase or decrease future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; require an increase or decrease in 
fees paid to the agency; increase or decrease the number of in-
dividuals subject to the rule's applicability; or affect the state's 
economy. The proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
would create a new regulation in that it complies with HB 5629's 
requirements to issue alternative licenses or recognize out-of-
state licenses if certain requirements are met. The proposed 
repeal, new rule, and amendments would also repeal current 
§14.2015 relating to fee exemptions and re-adopt language to 
comply with HB 5629. 
The Commission reviewed the proposed repeal, new rule, 
and amendments and found that they are neither identified 
in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC 
§29.11(b)(4), nor would they affect any action or authorization 
identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 
31 TAC §29.11(a)(3). Therefore, the proposed repeal, new 
rule, and amendments are not subject to the Texas Coastal 
Management Program. 
Comments on the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments 
may be submitted to Rules Coordinator, Office of General Coun-
sel, Railroad Commission of Texas, P.O. Box 12967, Austin, 
Texas 78711-2967; online at www.rrc.texas.gov/general-coun-
sel/rules/comment-form-for-proposed-rulemakings; or by elec-
tronic mail to rulescoordinator@rrc.texas.gov. The Commission 
will accept comments until 5:00 p.m. on Monday, October 6, 
2025. The Commission finds that this comment period is rea-
sonable because the proposal and an online comment form will 
be available on the Commission's website prior to Texas Reg-
ister publication of the proposal, giving interested persons ad-
ditional time to review, analyze, draft, and submit comments. 
The Commission cannot guarantee that comments submitted 
after the deadline will be considered. For further information, 
call Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Depart-
ment, at (512) 463-6828. The status of Commission rulemak-
ings in progress is available at www.rrc.texas.gov/general-coun-
sel/rules/proposed-rules. 

16 TAC §§14.2013, 14.2015, 14.2019 

The Commission proposes the new rule and amendments un-
der Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the 
Commission to promulgate rules pertaining to the issuance of 
occupational licenses to military service members, military vet-
erans, and military spouses. 
Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and 
Texas Natural Resources Code, §§116.012. 
Cross reference to statute: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter 116. 
§14.2013. License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registra-
tion, Fees, and Application for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, 
and Renewals. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse shall be exempt from the original license fee specified in sub-
section (b) of this section pursuant to the requirements in §14.2015 of 
this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An in-
dividual who receives a military fee exemption is not exempt from re-
newal or transport registration fees specified in §14.2014 and §14.2704 
of this title (relating to Application for License or Manufacturer Reg-
istration (New and Renewal); and Registration and Transfer of LNG 
Transports), respectively.] 

(d) (No change.) 

§14.2015. Military Licensing and Fee Exemption. 
(a) General Provisions. 

(1) Applicability. This section applies to military service 
members, military veterans, or military spouses, as specified in this sec-
tion and as those terms are defined in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55. 

(2) License. For purposes of this section, a "license" means 
a license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of authorization 
required by this chapter that must be obtained by an individual to en-
gage in a particular business. 

(3) Determination of Good Standing. For purposes of this 
section, an individual is in good standing with another state's licensing 
authority if the individual: 

(A) holds a license that is current, has not been sus-
pended or revoked, and has not been voluntarily surrendered during 
an investigation for unprofessional conduct; 

(B) has not been disciplined by the licensing authority 
with respect to the license or individual's practice of the occupation for 
which the license is issued; and 

(C) is not currently under investigation by the licensing 
authority for unprofessional conduct related to the individual's license 
or profession. 

(4) Complaints and Reporting. The Commission shall 
maintain a record of each complaint made against a military service 
member, military veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues a 
license or who holds an out-of-state license the Commission recog-
nizes. The Commission shall publish at least quarterly on its website 
the complaint information, including a general description of the 
disposition of each complaint. 

(b) Alternative Licensing. 

(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse may apply to be issued an LNG license by the Commission if 
the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse: 

(A) holds a current license issued by the licensing au-
thority of another state that is similar in scope of practice to an LNG 
license issued by the Commission and is in good standing with the other 
state's licensing authority; or 

(B) within the five years preceding the application date 
held an LNG license issued by the Commission. 

(2) An application for an alternative license shall be made 
by submitting a completed Form 16V to AFS. The applicant must at-
tach the following to Form 16V: 

(A) a copy of the applicant's current LNG license issued 
by the licensing authority of another state, if applicable; 
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(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-
plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-
eran; and 

(C) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the 
military spouse's marriage license; and 

(D) any other information that may be required by AFS. 

(3) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with required 
attachments, AFS shall: 

(A) confirm with the other state that the military service 
member, military veteran, or military spouse is currently licensed and 
in good standing for the relevant business or occupation; and 

(B) conduct a comparison of the other state's licensing 
requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to 
determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. 

(4) AFS shall issue the alternative LNG license not later 
than the 10th business day after the date AFS receives an application 
for an alternative license in compliance with this subsection and sec-
tion 55.004, Occupations Code (relating to Alternative Licensing for 
Military Service Members, Military Veterans, and Military Spouses). 

(c) Recognition of Out-of-State Licensing. 

(1) A military service member or military spouse may ap-
ply to engage in an LNG activity for which an LNG license is required 
by the Commission if the military service member or military spouse 
holds a current license issued by the licensing authority of another state 
that is similar in scope of practice to an LNG license issued by the Com-
mission. A military service member or military spouse must receive a 
written recognition from AFS pursuant to this subsection before engag-
ing in an LNG activity. 

(2) An application for the recognition of an out-of-state 
LNG license shall be made by submitting a completed Form 16M to 
AFS. The applicant must be in good standing with the other state's li-
censing authority for Form 16M to be approved. The applicant must 
attach the following to a Form 16M: 

(A) a copy of the applicant's current LNG license issued 
by the licensing authority of another state; 

(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-
plicant's status as a military service member or a military spouse; 

(C) a copy of the applicant's military orders showing 
relocation to this state; 

(D) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the 
military spouse's marriage license; and 

(E) any other information that may be required by AFS. 

(3) Form 16M includes an affidavit that must be notarized 
by the applicant affirming under penalty of perjury that: 

(A) the applicant is the person described and identified 
in the application; 

(B) all statements in the application are true, correct, 
and complete; 

(C) the applicant understands the scope of practice for 
the applicable license in this state and will not perform outside of that 
scope of practice; and 

(D) the applicant is in good standing in the state in 
which the applicant holds an applicable license. 

(4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required 
attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license 
requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to 
determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. 

(5) Not later than the 10th business day after AFS receives 
a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS will notify the 
applicant that: 

(A) AFS recognizes the applicant's out-of-state license 
and will provide a written recognition document; 

(B) the application is incomplete, noting the area of de-
ficiency; or 

(C) AFS is unable to recognize the applicant's out-of-
state license because the Commission does not issue a license similar 
in scope of practice to the applicant's out-of-state license. 

(6) If a military service member or military spouse is 
granted the written recognition of an out-of-state LNG license by the 
Commission, the following conditions apply: 

(A) The military service member or military spouse 
shall comply with all other laws and regulations applicable to the LNG 
license in this state; 

(B) The military service member or military spouse 
may only engage in the LNG activity authorized by the written 
recognition for the period during which the military service member 
is stationed at a military installation in Texas, or, with respect to a 
military spouse, the military service member to whom the spouse is 
married is stationed at a military installation in Texas; and 

(C) In the event of a divorce or similar event that affects 
a person's status as a military spouse, the former spouse may continue to 
engage in the business or occupation under the authority of this section 
until the third anniversary of the date the spouse submitted the Form 
16M. 

(d) Fee Exemptions. 

(1) The Commission shall waive the license application 
and examination fees for a military service member, military veteran, 
or military spouse. To receive a military fee exemption, an applicant 
for a fee exemption shall file with the Commission a Form 35 and any 
documentation required by this subsection. 

(2) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse shall submit the following documentation with Form 35: 

(A) a copy of any military records showing the appli-
cant's dates of service; and 

(B) a copy of the applicant's driver's license or state-
issued identification card. 

(3) AFS shall review Form 35 and required documentation 
to determine if the requirements for the fee exemption have been met 
and shall notify the applicant of the determination in writing within 10 
days. 

(A) If all requirements have been met, the applicant 
may submit the application for license or examination and attach a 
copy of the written notice granting military fee exemption with the 
application to serve as notice of payment. 

(B) If AFS has notified the applicant that the application 
is incomplete, the applicant shall provide any requested information or 
documentation within 10 days of the date of the notice. 

(e) Renewals. 
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(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military 
spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an 
out-of-state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements 
in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing 
education courses. 

(2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license 
because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased 
fee or penalty imposed by AFS. 

(3) A military service member who holds a license is enti-
tled to two years of additional time to complete: 

(A) any continuing education requirements; and 

(B) any other requirement related to the renewal of the 
military service member's license. 

§14.2019. Examination Requirements and Renewals. 

(a) Requirements and application for a new certificate. 

(1) In addition to NFPA 52 §§4.1 and 4.2 and 59A §14.9, 
no person shall perform work, directly supervise LNG activities, or 
be employed in any capacity requiring contact with LNG unless that 
individual: 

(A) is a certificate holder who is in compliance with re-
newal requirements in subsection (g) of this section and is employed 
by a licensee; [or] 

(B) is a trainee who complies with subsection (f) of this 
section; or[.] 

(C) has an alternative license or a recognition by AFS 
of an out-of-state license pursuant to §14.2015 of this chapter (relating 
to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption) and is in compliance with 
renewal requirements in subsection (g) of this section. 

(b) Rules examination. 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) An individual who files LNG Form 2016 and pays the 
applicable nonrefundable examination fee may take the rules examina-
tion. 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) Exam fees. 

(i) - (iii) (No change.) 

(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or 
military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to 
§14.2015 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemp-
tion). [An individual who receives a military fee exemption is not ex-
empt from renewal fees specified in subsection (g) of this section.] 

(v) (No change.) 

(D) - (E) (No change.) 

(c) - (g) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502996 

Natalie Dubiel 
Assistant General Counsel 
Railroad Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
16 TAC §14.2015 

The Commission proposes the repeal under Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the Commission to promul-
gate rules pertaining to the issuance of occupational licenses 
to military service members, military veterans, and military 
spouses. 
Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and 
Texas Natural Resources Code, §§116.012. 
Cross reference to statute: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter 116. 
§14.2015. Military Fee Exemption. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502995 
Natalie Dubiel 
Assistant General Counsel 
Railroad Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 2. PUBLIC UTILITY 
COMMISSION OF TEXAS 

CHAPTER 22. PROCEDURAL RULES 
The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes 
13 amendments and one new rule in the Chapter 22 procedural 
rules. The scope of this rulemaking proceeding is limited to con-
sideration of the proposed rule amendments, additional modi-
fications to these rules that are reasonably related to the pro-
posed changes, and other minor and nonsubstantive amend-
ments. Substantive amendments to these rules not related to 
the proposed changes are not within the scope of this proceed-
ing. 
The proposed amendments are listed in order as follows (Sub-
chapters G through J): Subchapter G, §22.123, relating to 
Appeal of an Interim Order and Motions of Reconsideration 
of Interim Order Issued by the Commission, §22.124, relating 
to Statements of Position, §22.125, relating to Interim Relief, 
§22.126, relating to Bonded Rates, §22.127, relating to Certifi-
cation of an Issue to the Commission; Subchapter H, §22.141, 
relating to Form and Scope of Discovery, §22.142, relating to 
Limitations on Discovery and Protective Orders, §22.143, relat-
ing to Depositions, §22.144, relating to Requests for Information 
and Requests for Admissions of Facts; Subchapter I, §22.161, 
relating to Sanctions; Subchapter J, §22.181, relating to Dis-
missal of a Proceeding, §22.182, relating to Summary Decision, 
§22.183, relating to Disposition by Default. The proposed 
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new rule is §22.162, relating to Enforcement of Subpoenas or 
Commissions for Deposition. 
Rule Review Stakeholder Recommendations 

On May 3, 2025, commission staff filed a preliminary notice and 
request for comments which was published in the Texas Register 
on May 17, 2024, at 49 TexReg 3635. Comments were received 
from the Alliance for Retail Markets (ARM) and the Texas Energy 
Association for Marketers (TEAM), collectively (REP Coalition); 
Entergy Texas, Inc. (Entergy); the Lower Colorado River Au-
thority and LCRA Transmission Services Corporation (LCRA); 
the Office of Public Utility Counsel (OPUC); Oncor Electric De-
livery Company, LLC (Oncor); the Steering Committee of Cities 
Served by Oncor (OCSC); Texas Association of Water Compa-
nies, Inc. (TAWC); the Texas Rural Water Association (TRWA); 
Texas-New Mexico Power Company (TNMP); and Vistra Cor-
poration (Vistra). Based upon filed comments and an internal 
review by commission staff, the commission proposes the fol-
lowing rule changes. 
The proposed changes would amend §22.127, relating to Cer-
tification of an Issue to the Commission to clarify the procedure 
for certification of an issue in commission proceedings, eliminate 
specific deadlines for certification of an issue by the presiding of-
ficer, for placing a certified issue on the commission's agenda, 
and for filing party briefs. The proposed changes replace those 
deadlines with a general authorization for the presiding officer 
to certify an issue and the Office of Policy Docket Management 
(OPDM) place a certified issue on the commission's agenda "at 
the earliest time practicable." The proposed changes also au-
thorize OPDM to establish deadlines for party briefs on certified 
issues. 
The proposed changes would amend §22.141, relating to Form 
and Scope of Discovery, to authorize depositions to be taken, 
noticed, and used in accordance with the Texas Rules of Civil 
Procedure, subject to any other ruling or procedure established 
by the presiding officer. 
The proposed changes would amend §22.143, relating to Depo-
sitions, to require the party conducting a deposition to provide 
a copy of the transcript to commission staff without cost to the 
commission. 
The proposed changes would amend §22.144, relating to Re-
quests for Information and Requests for Admissions of Facts to 
authorize the presiding officer to order that drafts of testimony, 
exhibits, and workpapers to be filed in the proceeding are not 
subject to disclosure upon agreement by the parties. The pro-
posed changes would also, in instances where no response is 
made to requests for information, require motions to compel dis-
covery no later than five working days after the deadline by when 
a response was due. The revisions further specify that a party 
seeking discovery in connection with an unanswered discovery 
request or an incomplete discovery response must file a motion 
to compel no later than five working days from the date the in-
complete discovery response was received or the unanswered 
discovery request was due unless otherwise ordered by the pre-
siding officer. The proposed changes also eliminate the provi-
sion governing the production of voluminous material and re-
place it with general requirements governing the production of 
materials in response to a request for information. 
The proposed changes would amend §22.161, relating to Sanc-
tions, to clarify that either a presiding officer or a State Office 
of Administrative Hearing (SOAH) administrative law judge may 
impose sanctions. The proposed changes also clarify that either 

one or more commissioners or a SOAH administrative law judge 
may hold a sanction hearing if a one is requested for the motion 
for sanctions and omits the requirement for a hearing to be held 
automatically upon receipt of such a motion. 
The proposed changes would amend §22.181, relating to Dis-
missal of a Proceeding, by revising one of the grounds for dis-
missal of a proceeding to be abuse of discovery, rather than the 
higher standard of gross abuse of discovery. 
The proposed changes would amend §22.182, relating to Sum-
mary Decision, to require a response to a motion for summary 
decision to be filed within 20 days unless otherwise ordered by 
the presiding officer and clarify that a hearing on a motion for 
summary decision is not required. 
The proposed changes would amend §22.183, relating to Dis-
position by Default, to authorize a presiding officer to issue a 
proposal for decision granting default and, in such a proposal for 
decision, deem admitted factual matters asserted in the notice 
of the opportunity for a hearing. 
The proposed changes would make minor and conforming 
changes to the aforementioned rules and to §22.123, relating 
to Appeal of an Interim Order and Motions of Reconsideration 
of Interim Order Issued by the Commission; §22.124, relating 
to Statements of Position; §22.125, relating to Interim Relief; 
§22.126, relating to Bonded Rates; and §22.142, relating to 
Limitations on Discovery and Protective Orders. 
Proposed new §22.162, relating to Enforcement of Subpoenas 
or Commissions for Deposition, establishes that if a person fails 
to comply with a subpoena or commission for deposition issued 
by the presiding officer or a requesting party, the commission or 
the requesting party may seek enforcement in accordance with 
the APA. 
Growth Impact Statement 
The agency provides the following governmental growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rules are in 
effect, the following statements will apply: 
(1) the proposed rules will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rules will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
(4) the proposed rules will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
(5) the proposed rules will create a new regulation; 
(6) the proposed rules will expand, limit, and repeal existing reg-
ulations, as this is an omnibus rulemaking proceeding that is a 
component of the commission's Chapter 22 rule review; 
(7) the proposed rules will not change the number of individuals 
subject to the rule's applicability; and 

(8) the proposed rules will not affect this state's economy. 
Fiscal Impact on Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Com-
munities 
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There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities as a result of 
implementing the proposed rules. Accordingly, no economic im-
pact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis is required under 
Texas Government Code §2006.002(c). 
Takings Impact Analysis 

The commission has determined that the proposed rules will not 
be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the 
Texas Government Code. 
Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government 
Davida Dwyer, Deputy Director, Office of Policy and Docket Man-
agement, has determined that for the first five-year period the 
proposed rules are in effect, there will be no fiscal implications 
for the state or for units of local government under Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2001.024(a)(4) as a result of enforcing or ad-
ministering the sections. 
Public Benefits 

Ms. Dwyer has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed section is in effect the public benefit antici-
pated as a result of enforcing the section will be more efficient 
and clear rules of practice and procedure for matters before the 
commission. There will be probable economic costs to persons 
required to comply with the rules under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(5). 
Local Employment Impact Statement 
For each year of the first five years the proposed section is in 
effect, there should be no effect on a local economy; therefore, 
no local employment impact statement is required under Texas 
Government Code §2001.022. 
Costs to Regulated Persons 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045(b) does not apply to this 
rulemaking because the commission is expressly excluded un-
der subsection §2001.0045(c)(7). 
Public Hearing 

The commission will conduct a public hearing on this rulemak-
ing if requested in accordance with Texas Government Code 
§2001.029. The request for a public hearing must be received 
by October 6, 2025. If a request for public hearing is received, 
commission staff will file in this project a notice of hearing. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may file comments electronically through the 
interchange on the commission's website. Comments must be 
filed by October 6, 2025. Comments must be organized by rule 
section in sequential order, and each comment must clearly des-
ignate which section is being commented on. The commission 
invites specific comments regarding the effects of the proposed 
rule, including the costs associated with, and benefits that will 
be gained by the proposed amendments. The commission also 
requests any data, research, or analysis from any person re-
quired to comply with the proposed rules or any other interested 
person. The commission will consider the information submitted 
by commenters and the costs and benefits of implementation in 
deciding whether to modify the proposed rules on adoption. All 
comments should refer to Project Number 58401. 
Each set of comments should include a standalone executive 
summary as the last page of the filing. This executive summary 
must be clearly labeled with the submitting entity's name and 

should include a bulleted list covering each substantive recom-
mendation made in the comments. 
If comments are filed in PDF format, the commission re-
quests a copy in native format (e.g. Microsoft Word .doc/docx) 
be provided to commission staff via email to macken-
zie.arthur@puc.texas.gov. Similarly, a native copy of this 
proposal may be requested from commission staff via email at 
the same address. 
SUBCHAPTER G. PREHEARING 
PROCEEDINGS 
16 TAC §§22.123 - 22.127 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed for publication under PURA 
§14.001, which provides the commission with the general power 
to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility 
within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated 
or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient to the ex-
ercise of that power and jurisdiction; PURA §14.002 and PURA 
§14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b), which provide the 
commission with the authority to adopt and enforce rules rea-
sonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction, 
including rules governing practice and procedure before the 
commission and, as applicable, practice and procedure before 
the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 
§22.126, relating to Bonded Rates 

Amended §22.126 is proposed under PURA §§36.110 and 
53.110 which establish the authority and procedure for an 
electric utility to impose changed rates in certain circumstances 
by filing a bond with the commission. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act 
§§14.001, 14.002, 14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b); 
PURA §§15.024, and 36.110 and §53.110; and Texas Govern-
ment Code, Subchapter D §2001.081-103. 
§22.123. Appeal of an Interim Order and Motions for Reconsidera-
tion of Interim Order Issued by the Commission. 

(a) Appeal of an interim order. 

(1) Availability of appeal. Appeals are available for any in-
terim order of the presiding officer that immediately prejudices a sub-
stantial or material right of a party or materially affects the course of 
the proceeding [hearing]. Appeals are not available for discovery or 
evidentiary rulings. Interim orders are not subject to exceptions or mo-
tions for rehearing. 

(2) Procedure for appeal. If the presiding officer intends to 
reduce an oral ruling to a written order, the presiding officer must so 
indicate on the record at the time of the oral ruling and must promptly 
issue the written order. Any appeal to the commission from an interim 
order must be filed within ten days of the date [issuance] of the written 
order is filed or the date the appealable oral ruling is made when no 
written order is to be issued. The appeal must be served on all parties 
in accordance with §22.74 of this title (relating to Service of Pleadings 
and Documents) [by hand delivery, electronic mail, or by overnight 
courier delivery]. 

(3) Contents. An appeal must specify the reasons why the 
interim order is unjustified or improper and how it immediately preju-
dices a substantial or material right of a party or materially affects the 
course of the proceeding [hearing]. 
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(4) Responses. Any response to an appeal must be filed 
within five working days of the filing of the appeal. 

(5) Motion for stay. Pending a ruling by the commission-
ers, the presiding officer may, upon motion, grant a stay of the interim 
order if good cause is shown. A motion for a stay must specify the 
basis for a stay. [Good cause must be shown for granting a stay.] The 
mere filing of an appeal does not stay the interim order or any applica-
ble procedural schedule. 

(6) - (7) (No change.) 

(8) Reconsideration of appeal by presiding officer. The 
presiding officer may treat an appeal as a motion for reconsideration 
and may withdraw or modify the order under appeal before a commis-
sion decides on the merits of [decision on] the appeal. [The presiding 
officer must notify the commission of its decision to treat the appeal as 
a motion for reconsideration.] 

(b) Motion for reconsideration of interim order issued by the 
commission. 

(1) Availability of motion for reconsideration. Motions for 
reconsideration are available for any interim order of the commission 
that immediately prejudices a substantial or material right of a party or 
materially affects the course of the hearing. Motions for reconsidera-
tion may only be filed by a party to the proceeding and are not available 
for discovery or evidentiary rulings. Interim orders are not subject to 
exceptions or motions for rehearing. 

(2) Procedure for motion for reconsideration. If the com-
mission does not intend to reduce an oral ruling to a written order, the 
commission will so indicate on the record at the time of the oral ruling. 
A motion for reconsideration of an interim order issued by the com-
mission must be filed within five workings days of the date [issuance] 
of the written interim order is filed or the date the oral interim ruling is 
made. The motion for reconsideration must be served on all parties in 
accordance with §22.74 of this title [by hand delivery, electronic mail, 
or by overnight courier delivery]. 

(3) - (6) (No change.) 

§22.124. Statements of Position. 
(a) Statements of position required. 

(1) Each party that has not prefiled direct testimony must 
[and, insofar as its prefiled direct testimony does not address issues that 
a party intends to litigate, each party that has prefiled direct testimony 
shall] file a statement of position no later than three working days be-
fore the start of a hearing unless the presiding officer determines that 
such a requirement would add unjustified burden and expense to the 
proceeding, or that a different deadline should be imposed. 

(2) In accordance with [Pursuant to] §22.161 of this title 
(relating to Sanctions), the presiding officer may sanction any party 
who fails to comply with the requirement that a statement of position 
be filed. 

(b) Contents of Statement [statement] of Position [position]. 
Unless otherwise provided by order of the presiding officer, the state-
ment of position must [shall] contain the following information: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) a concise statement of the party's position on each issue 
identified in accordance with [pursuant to] paragraph (2) of this subsec-
tion. 

§22.125. Interim Relief. 
(a) Availability. Interim relief is not available for tariff filings 

unless the tariff filing has been docketed. 

(b) Requests for interim relief. A request for interim relief 
must [shall] be filed no later than 30 days before the interim relief is 
proposed to take effect, unless all parties agree to a later filing date. 

(c) Consideration of request for interim relief. Interim relief 
may be granted based on the agreement of all parties. The presiding 
officer may, after notice and opportunity for hearing, grant a contested 
request for interim relief only on a showing of good cause. In determin-
ing whether good cause exists, the presiding officer must [shall] take 
into account: 

(1) The applicant's [utility's] ability to anticipate the need 
for and obtain final approval of relief prior to the time relief is reason-
ably needed; 

(2) - (6) (No change.) 

(d) Standard and burden of proof. In any proceeding involving 
a proposed interim change in rates, the applicant bears the burden of 
proof to show that the proposed interim relief [change proposed by the 
utility or existing rate] is just and reasonable [shall be on the utility]. 

(e) Refunds and surcharges. Interim rates must [shall] be sub-
ject to refund or surcharge to the extent the rates ultimately established 
differ from the interim rates. 

§22.126. Bonded Rates. 

(a) During the pendency of its rate proceeding, a utility seek-
ing to implement rates under bond as allowed by PURA §36.110 or 
§53.110 or as allowed by TWC §13.187 or §13.1871 must file its ap-
plication for approval of bond at least two weeks prior to the date the 
bonded rates are to be effective. 

(1) The application must conform to the requirements of 
subchapter E of this chapter (relating to Pleadings). 

(2) The bond must be: 

(A) in an amount equal to or greater than one-sixth of 
the annual difference between the utility's current rates and the bonded 
rates. 

(B) approved by the presiding officer as to sufficiency 
based on commission staff's review of the utility's application. 

(b) Any decision by the presiding officer either approving or 
disapproving a bond is appealable to the commission under §22.123 
of this title (relating to Appeal of an Interim Order and Motions for 
Reconsideration of Interim Order Issued by the Commission). 

[During the pendency of its rate proceeding, a utility seeking to imple-
ment rates under bond as allowed by PURA §36.110 or §53.110 or as 
allowed by TWC §13.187 or §13.1871 shall file the required number of 
copies of its application for approval of bond at least two weeks prior 
to the date the bonded rates are to be effective. The application shall 
conform to the requirements of subchapter E of this chapter (relating 
to Pleadings). The bond shall be in an amount equal to or greater than 
one-sixth of the annual difference between the utility's current rates 
and the bonded rates. The bond must be approved by the Commission 
Advising and Docket Management Division as to sufficiency based on 
the commission staff's review of the utility's application. Any decision 
by the Commission Advising and Docket Management Division either 
approving or disapproving a bond is appealable to the commission un-
der §22.123 of this title (relating to Appeal of an Interim Order and 
Motions for Reconsideration of Interim Order Issued by the Commis-
sion).] 

§22.127. Certification of an Issue to the Commission. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 
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(c) Procedure for certification in commission proceedings. A 
party may request the presiding officer to certify an issue to the com-
mission or the presiding officer may certify an issue at his or her dis-
cretion. The presiding officer must submit a certified issue to the com-
mission by issuing a written order. 

(1) If a party requests an issue to be certified, the presiding 
officer will either certify the requested issue or file an order denying 
the motion at the earliest time practicable. 

(2) The Office of Policy and Docket Management (OPDM) 
must place the certified issue on the commission's agenda to be consid-
ered at the earliest time practicable. 

(3) Party briefs on the certified issue are due within the 
timeframe set by OPDM. 

(4) The presiding officer may abate the proceeding while a 
certified issue is pending. 

[(c) Procedure for certification. The presiding officer shall 
submit the certified issue to the Commission Advising and Docket 
Management Division. The Commission Advising and Docket Man-
agement Division shall place the certified issue on the commission's 
agenda to be considered at the earliest time practicable that is not ear-
lier than 20 days after its submission. Parties may file briefs on the 
certified issue within 13 days of its submission. The presiding officer 
may abate the proceeding while a certified issue is pending.] 

(d) Commission action. [The commission shall issue a written 
decision on the certified issue within thirty days of its submission.] A 
commission decision on a certified issue is not subject to a motion for 
rehearing. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503082 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER H. DISCOVERY PROCEDURES 
16 TAC §§22.141 - 22.144 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed for publication under PURA 
§14.001, which provides the commission with the general power 
to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility 
within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated 
or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient to the ex-
ercise of that power and jurisdiction; PURA §14.002 and PURA 
§14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b), which provide the 
commission with the authority to adopt and enforce rules rea-
sonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction, 
including rules governing practice and procedure before the 
commission and, as applicable, practice and procedure before 
the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 
Amended §§22.141 - 22.144 are proposed under Texas Gov-
ernment Code, Subchapter D §2001.081-103 which govern the 

usage of and procedures for evidence, witnesses and discovery 
for contested cases held at agencies of the State of Texas. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act 
§§14.001, 14.002, 14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b); 
PURA §§15.024, and 36.110 and §53.110; and Texas Govern-
ment Code, Subchapter D §2001.081-103. 
§22.141. Forms and Scope of Discovery. 

(a) Scope. Parties may obtain discovery regarding any matter 
not privileged or exempted under the Texas Rules of Evidence, the 
Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, or other law or rule that is applicable 
to the subject matter in the proceeding. 

(1) Discoverable matters include: 

(A) the existence, description, nature, custody, condi-
tion, location and contents of any documents, including papers, books, 
accounts, drawings, graphs, charts, photographs, maps, email, audio or 
video recordings; 

(B) any other data compilations from which informa-
tion can be obtained and translated, if necessary, by the person from 
whom information is sought, into reasonably usable form; and 

(C) any other tangible things which constitute or con-
tain matters relevant to the subject matter in the action, and the identity 
and location of persons having any knowledge of any discoverable mat-
ter. 

(2) Discovery is not limited to tangible things, but may ex-
tend to knowledge, mental impressions, and opinions of persons who 
will testify; explanations of documents or tangible things, or infor-
mation contained therein; and other relevant information within the 
knowledge or control of the entity from whom discovery is sought. 

(3) A person is not required to produce a document or tan-
gible thing unless it is within that person's constructive or actual pos-
session, custody, or control. 

(4) A person has possession, custody or control of a doc-
ument or tangible thing as long as the person has a superior right to 
compel the production from a third party and can obtain possession of 
the document or tangible thing with reasonable effort. 

[(a) Scope. Parties may obtain discovery regarding any matter, 
not privileged or exempted under the Texas Rules of Civil Evidence, 
the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, or other law or rule, that is relevant 
to the subject matter in the proceeding. Discoverable matters include 
the existence, description, nature, custody, condition, location and con-
tents of any documents, including papers, books, accounts, drawings, 
graphs, charts, photographs, maps, email, audio or video recordings, 
and any other data compilations from which information can be ob-
tained and translated, if necessary, by the person from whom infor-
mation is sought, into reasonably usable form, and any other tangi-
ble things which constitute or contain matters relevant to the subject 
matter in the action, and the identity and location of persons having 
any knowledge of any discoverable matter. Discovery is not limited 
to tangible things, but may extend to knowledge, mental impressions, 
and opinions of persons who will testify; explanations of documents 
or tangible things, or information contained therein; and other relevant 
information within the knowledge or control of the entity from whom 
discovery is sought. A person is not required to produce a document 
or tangible thing unless it is within that person's constructive or actual 
possession, custody, or control. A person has possession, custody or 
control of a document or tangible thing as long as the person has a su-
perior right to compel the production from a third party and can obtain 
possession of the document or tangible thing with reasonable effort.] 

(b) (No change.) 
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(c) Stipulations regarding discovery procedure. The parties 
may, by written agreement: 

(1) provide that depositions may be taken at any time or 
place, upon any notice, and in any manner and when so taken may be 
used in accordance with the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, subject to 
any other ruling or procedure established by the presiding officer [like 
other depositions]; 

(2) - (3) (No change.) 

§22.142. Limitations on Discovery and Protective Orders. 
(a) Limitation of discovery requests. The presiding officer 

may limit discovery, by order, to protect a party against unreasonable 
or unwarranted discovery requests. 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) Any person from whom discovery is sought may file a 
motion for a protective order, specifying the grounds on which a pro-
tective order is justified. Motions and [or] responses must include af-
fidavits, discovery pleadings, or other pertinent documents to support 
the allegations made therein. 

(3) - (4) (No change.) 

(b) - (c) (No change.) 

(d) Limitations on requests for information. 

(1) Before setting limitations on RFIs, the presiding officer 
may [must] consider the following factors: [set out in subparagraphs 
(A)-(K) of this paragraph.] 

(A) - (K) (No change.) 

(2) - (6) (No change.) 

§22.143. Depositions. 
(a) Governing statute. The taking and use of depositions in 

any proceeding are [shall be] governed by the APA. A request to is-
sue a commission for deposition must [shall] be filed no later than five 
working days before the date of the deposition. Issuance of a commis-
sion for deposition is a ministerial act and does not preclude requests 
for issuance of a protective order pursuant to §22.142 of this title (re-
lating to Limitations on Discovery and Protective Orders). 

(b) Deposition by agreement. Upon agreement of the parties, 
parties may waive the requirement of issuance of a commission. All 
parties will [shall] be given no less than three working days notice of 
depositions, including the person to be deposed, the date, time, and 
place of the deposition, and the subject of the deposition. 

(c) Copy to be provided. Upon receipt of a transcript of the 
deposition by the party, the party conducting the deposition must [shall] 
provide a copy of the transcript to commission staff without cost to the 
commission. 

(d) (No change.) 

§22.144. Requests for Information and Requests for Admission of 
Facts. 

(a) Availability. At any time after an application is filed, and 
subject to the provisions of §22.141 of this title (relating to Forms and 
Scope of Discovery), any party may serve upon any other party writ-
ten requests for information and requests for admission of fact. Upon 
agreement by the parties, the presiding officer may order that drafts of 
testimony, exhibits, and workpapers to be filed in the proceeding are 
not subject to disclosure. 

(b) Making requests for information. 

(1) Contents. A request under this section must [shall] 
identify with reasonable particularity the information, documents or 
material sought. A request seeking inspection of documents or prop-
erty must [shall] describe with reasonable particularity the documents 
to be produced or the property to which access is requested, and must 
[shall] set forth the items to be inspected by individual item or by 
category. 

(2) Service. A copy of each request for information must 
[shall] be served upon all parties to the proceeding in accordance with 
§22.74 of this title, relating to Service of Pleadings and Documents. 
[Requests for information may be served by facsimile transmittal on 
the recipient of the request if the recipient has a facsimile machine 
available for use in the proceeding.] Requests for information that are 
received after 5:00 [3:00] p.m. are [shall be] deemed to have been 
received the following working [business] day. Responses to requests 
for information must [shall] be served on the requesting party and any 
party that has requested, in writing, to be served. 

(c) Responding to requests for information. 

(1) Time for response. The party upon whom a request is 
served must [shall] serve a full written response to the request within 20 
days after receipt of the request. The presiding officer, on motion and 
for good cause shown, may extend or shorten the time for providing 
responses. 

(2) Requirements of response. 

(A) Each response to discovery under this subsection 
must [shall] identify the preparer or person under whose direct super-
vision the response was prepared, and the sponsoring witness, if any. 

(B) Each request for information must [shall] be an-
swered separately. Responses to requests for information must [shall] 
be preceded by the request to which the answer pertains. 

(C) Responses to requests for production of documents, 
property, or other items, must [shall] state, for each item or category 
of items for which an objection has not been raised, that inspection 
or other requested action will be permitted at a mutually convenient 
time at the location where the documents, property, or other items are 
maintained. If compliance with the request is impossible, a written 
response must [shall] be filed stating the reasons for the unavailability 
of the information. 

(D) Where the response to a request for information 
may be derived or ascertained from local public records, the respond-
ing party is [shall] not be obligated to produce the documents for the 
requesting party. It is a [shall be] sufficient answer to identify with 
particularity the public records that contain the requested information. 

(E) Where a request may be answered by production 
of or reference to information that currently exists in the form of a 
document, computer record, or other existing tangible thing [that is 
voluminous, as defined in subsection (h) of this section], it is a sufficient 
answer to the request to specify the records from which the answer may 
be derived or ascertained and to afford a reasonable opportunity to the 
requesting party to examine, to audit or to inspect such records and to 
allow the requesting party to make copies, compilations, abstracts or 
summaries from such records. The specification of records provided 
must be consistent with the method specified under subsection (h) of 
this section and [shall] include sufficient detail to permit the requesting 
party to locate and to identify[, as readily as can the responding party,] 
the records from which the answers may be ascertained. 
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(F) Responses to requests for information must [shall] 
be filed under oath, unless the responding party stipulates in writing 
that responses to requests for information can be treated by all parties 
as if the answers were filed under oath. 

(d) Objections to requests for information. Parties must [shall] 
negotiate diligently and in good faith concerning any discovery dispute 
prior to filing an objection. The objections must [shall] include a state-
ment that negotiations were conducted diligently and in good faith. If 
negotiation fails, objections to requests for information, if any, must 
[shall] be filed within ten [calendar] days of receipt of the request for 
information. The objections must [shall] state the date the request for 
information was received. 

(1) The objections must [shall] be a separate pleading and 
entitled "Objections of (name of objecting party) to (style of RFI ob-
jected to)." The request for information to which an objection is being 
filed must [shall] be stated and the specific grounds for the objection 
must [shall] be separately listed for each question. If an objection per-
tains only to a part of a question, that part must [shall] be clearly iden-
tified. All arguments upon which the objecting party relies must [shall] 
be presented in full in the objection. 

(2) If the objection is founded upon a claim of privilege or 
exemption under the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure or Texas Rules 
of Evidence, the objecting party must [shall] file within two working 
days of the filing of the objections, an index that lists, for each docu-
ment: the date and title of the document; the preparer or custodian of 
the information; to whom the document was sent and from whom it was 
received; and the privilege [privilege(s)] or exemption [exemption(s)] 
that is claimed. A full and complete explanation of the claimed privi-
lege or exemption must [shall] be provided. The index must [shall] be 
sufficiently detailed to enable the presiding officer to identify the docu-
ments from the list provided. The index and explanations must [shall] 
be public documents and must [shall] be served on all parties who are 
entitled to receive copies of responses to requests for information un-
der subsection (b)(2) of this section. If a document is to be provided 
pursuant to the terms of a protective order, the responding party need 
not comply with the procedures of this paragraph. 

(3) A party raising objections on the grounds of relevance 
as well as grounds of privilege or exemption is not required to file an 
index to the privileged or exempt documents at the time the objections 
are filed. A party may instead include an objection to the filing of the 
index. The objections must [shall] show good cause for postponement 
of the filing of the index. An index to the privileged or exempt docu-
ments is [shall be] due within five working days of receipt of an order 
denying the relevance objection or overruling the objection to the filing 
of an index. 

(4) The requirement to respond to those requests, or por-
tions thereof, to which objection is made will [shall]postponed until 
the objections are ruled upon and for such additional time thereafter as 
the presiding officer may direct. 

(5) In the interests of narrowing discovery disputes, the re-
sponding party may agree to provide certain information sought by a 
request while objecting to the provision of other information sought by 
the request. 

(e) Motions to compel. The party seeking discovery must 
[shall] file a motion to compel no later than five working days after 
the objection is received, or, if no response is made to the request 
for information, a motion to compel must be filed no later than five 
working days after the deadline by when a response was due. Absence 
of a motion to compel will be construed as an indication that the parties 
have resolved their dispute. The presiding officer may rule on the mo-
tion to compel based on written pleadings without allowing additional 

argument. Unless otherwise ordered by the presiding officer, a party 
seeking discovery in connection with an unanswered discovery request 
or an incomplete discovery response must file a motion to compel no 
later than five working days from the date the incomplete discovery 
response was received or the unanswered discovery request was due. 

(f) Responses to motions to compel. Responses to a motion to 
compel must [shall] be filed within five working days after receipt of 
the motion[,] and must [shall] include all factual and legal arguments 
the respondent wants to present regarding the motion. 

(g) In camera inspection. If an objection is founded on a claim 
of privilege or an exemption under the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure 
or Texas Rules of Evidence, the burden is on the objecting party to 
request an in camera inspection and to provide the documents for re-
view. Any request must [shall] be filed within three working days of 
the receipt of the motion to compel. The request must [shall] contain 
the factual and legal bases [basis] to support the claimed exemption 
or privilege. The objecting party must [shall] review the documents 
and note with specificity any portions to which the claimed privilege 
or exemption claim does not apply. The objecting party must [shall] 
provide the documents to the presiding officer, under seal, no later than 
one working day after it requests an in camera inspection. Documents 
submitted for in camera review must [shall] not be filed with Central 
Records [the commission filing clerk]. Documents submitted for in 
camera review must [shall] be submitted to the presiding officer and en-
closed in a sealed and labeled container accompanied by an explanatory 
cover letter. The cover letter must [shall] identify the control number 
and style of the proceeding and explain the nature of the sealed mate-
rials. The container must [shall] identify the control number, style of 
the case, name of the submitting party, and be marked "IN CAMERA 
REVIEW" in bold print at least one inch in size. Each page for which 
a privilege is asserted must [shall] be marked "privileged." 

(h) Production of material responsive to requests for informa-
tion. The following procedures apply to the production of materials 
responsive to requests for information unless otherwise specified by 
the presiding officer: 

(1) A party responding to a request for information must 
make available all material responsive to the request to each party to 
that proceeding. A party responding to a request for information makes 
such material available by: 

(A) serving a copy of all such responsive material to the 
other parties to the proceeding in the manner specified by §22.74 of this 
title; and 

(B) filing all such responsive material with the commis-
sion in the manner required by §22.71 of this title (relating to Commis-
sion Filing Requirements and Procedures) and, as applicable, §22.72 
of this title (relating to Form Requirements for Documents Filed with 
the Commission). 

(2) In addition to the required methods of production spec-
ified under paragraph (1)(A) and (B) of this section, a party responding 
to a request for information may also make available materials respon-
sive to such a request in a form and manner agreed to by the parties. 

(3) Material responsive to a request for discovery must, at 
a minimum, be: 

(A) consecutively categorized or classified (e.g. "At-
tachment A"); 

(B) labelled or cross-referenced by request for informa-
tion number and subpart (e.g. "Responsive to RFI 1-1"); and 

(C) sequentially ordered by page or bates number. 
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(4) A party providing materials that individually are 100 
pages or greater must include with its response a detailed index of the 
material responsive to a particular question and must organize the re-
sponses and material to enable parties to efficiently review the material. 
The index must include: 

(A) information sufficient to locate each individual doc-
ument by page or file number; 

(B) the date each document was created; 

(C) the title of the document, or, if none exists, a de-
scription of the document; 

(D) the name of the preparer or source of each docu-
ment; and 

(E) the length of each document. 

(5) If a party responding to a request for information does 
not provide an index required under paragraph (4) of this subsection, 
the party filing the request for information may file a motion to compel 
the responding party to produce such an index. 

[(h) Production of voluminous material. The following proce-
dures shall apply to production of voluminous materials:] 

[(1) Responses to particular questions that consist of less 
than 100 pages are not voluminous and shall be filed in full.] 

[(2) Subject to paragraph (3) of this subsection, the re-
sponding party shall make available all voluminous material provided 
in response to a request for information at a designated location in 
Austin.] 

[(3) A party will be released from its obligation to make 
available the requested voluminous material at a designated location in 
Austin, only if the volume of the material exceeds eight linear feet. 
In that event, the party shall make the material available where the 
material is located.] 

[(4) The party providing the voluminous material shall file 
with its response a detailed index of the voluminous material respon-
sive to a particular question and shall organize the responses and ma-
terial to enable parties to efficiently review the material, including la-
beling of material by request for information number and subparts and 
sequentially numbering the material responsive to a particular question. 
The index shall include:] 

[(A) information sufficient to locate each individual 
document by page number, file number, and box number;] 

[(B) the date of each document;] 

[(C) the title of the document, or, if none exists, a de-
scription of the document;] 

[(D) the name of the preparer of each document; and] 

[(E) the length of each document.] 

(i) Duty to supplement. A responding party is under a contin-
uing duty to supplement its discovery responses if that party acquires 
information upon the basis of which the party knows or should know 
that the response was incorrect or incomplete when made, or though 
correct or complete when made, is materially incorrect or incomplete. 
The responding party must [shall] amend its prior response within five 
working days of acquiring the information. 

(j) Requests for admission of facts. Requests for admission of 
facts must [shall] be made in accordance with the Texas Rules of Civil 
Procedure. 

(k) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503083 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER I. SANCTIONS 
16 TAC §22.161, §22.162 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed for publication under PURA 
§14.001, which provides the commission with the general power 
to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility 
within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated 
or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient to the ex-
ercise of that power and jurisdiction; PURA §14.002 and PURA 
§14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b), which provide the 
commission with the authority to adopt and enforce rules rea-
sonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction, 
including rules governing practice and procedure before the 
commission and, as applicable, practice and procedure before 
the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act 
§§14.001, 14.002, 14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b); 
PURA §§15.024, and 36.110 and §53.110; and Texas Govern-
ment Code, Subchapter D §2001.081-103. 
§22.161. Sanctions. 

[(a) Enforcement of subpoenas or commissions for deposi-
tions. If a person fails to comply with the subpoena or commission 
for deposition issued by the presiding officer, the commission or the 
party requesting the subpoena or commission for deposition may seek 
enforcement pursuant to APA.] 

(a) [(b)] Causes for imposition of sanctions. After notice and 
an opportunity for a hearing, a presiding officer [administrative law 
judge] own motion or on the motion of a party, [after notice and an 
opportunity for a hearing,] may impose appropriate sanctions against a 
party or its representative for the reasons specified under this subsec-
tion. If a hearing on the motion for sanctions is requested, one or more 
commissioners or a SOAH administrative law judge must hold a sanc-
tion hearing for purposes of this section. Sanctions may be imposed 
for: 

(1) filing a motion or pleading that was brought in bad faith, 
for the purpose of harassment, or for any other improper purpose, such 
as to cause unnecessary delay or needless increase in the cost of the 
proceeding; 

(2) abusing the discovery process in seeking, making, or 
resisting discovery; or [and] 

(3) failing to obey an order of an administrative law judge 
or the commission. 

(b) [(e)] Types of sanctions. A sanction imposed under this 
section may include, as appropriate and justified, issuance of an order: 

50 TexReg 5822 September 5, 2025 Texas Register 



(1) disallowing further discovery of any kind or a particular 
kind by the offending [disobedient] party; 

(2) - (5) (No change) 

[(6) punishing the offending party or its representative for 
contempt to the same extent as a district court;] 

(6) [(7)] requiring the offending party or its representative 
to pay, at the time ordered by the administrative law judge, the rea-
sonable expenses, including attorney's fees, incurred by other parties 
because of the sanctionable behavior; 

(7) [(8)] striking pleadings or testimony, or both, in whole 
or in part, or staying further proceedings until the order is obeyed; and 
[.] 

(8) limiting or disallowing the offending party's rights to 
participate in the proceeding; 

(9) dismissing the application with or without prejudice; 
and 

(10) imposing any other sanction available to the presiding 
officer by law. 

(c) [(e)] Procedure for seeking sanctions. A motion for sanc-
tions may be filed at any time during the proceeding or may be initiated 
sua sponte by the presiding officer. A motion to compel discovery is 
not a prerequisite to the filing of a motion for sanctions. A motion 
should contain all factual allegations necessary to apprise the parties 
and the presiding officer of the conduct at issue, should request spe-
cific relief, and must [shall] be verified by affidavit. A motion must 
[shall] be served on all parties. [Upon receipt of the motion, a hearing 
shall be held on the motion.] Any order regarding sanctions issued by 
a presiding officer is [shall be] appealable pursuant to §22.123 of this 
title (relating to Appeal of an Interim Order and Motions for Recon-
sideration of Interim Order Issued by the Commission). Any sanction 
imposed by the presiding officer may [shall] be [automatically] stayed 
to allow the party to appeal the imposition of the sanction to the com-
mission. 

[(d) Imposition of sanctions by the commission. In addition 
to the sanctions listed in subsection (c) of this section that may be im-
posed by an administrative law judge, except for Subsection (c)(6), any 
other presiding officer including the commission, after notice and op-
portunity for hearing, may impose sanctions including:] 

[(1) disallow the disobedient party's rights to participate in 
the proceeding;] 

[(2) dismiss the application with or without prejudice;] 

[(3) impose any other sanction available to the commission 
by law.] 

§22.162. Enforcement of Subpoenas or Commissions for Deposition. 

If a person fails to comply with the subpoena or commission for de-
position issued by the presiding officer, the commission or the party 
requesting the subpoena or commission for deposition may seek en-
forcement in accordance with the APA. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503084 

Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER J. SUMMARY PROCEEDINGS 
16 TAC §§22.181 - 22.183 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed for publication under PURA 
§14.001, which provides the commission with the general power 
to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility 
within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated 
or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient to the ex-
ercise of that power and jurisdiction; PURA §14.002 and PURA 
§14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b), which provide the 
commission with the authority to adopt and enforce rules rea-
sonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction, 
including rules governing practice and procedure before the 
commission and, as applicable, practice and procedure before 
the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 
§22.183, relating to Disposition by Default 
Amended §22.183 is proposed under PURA §15.024 which pro-
vides the commission with the authority to assess and impose 
an administrative penalty against a person who fails to timely re-
spond to a written notice summarizing an alleged violation and 
a corresponding recommended penalty. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act 
§§14.001, 14.002, 14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b); 
PURA §§15.024, and 36.110 and §53.110; and Texas Govern-
ment Code, Subchapter D §2001.081-103. 
§22.181. Dismissal of a Proceeding. 

(a) - (c) (No change.) 

(d) Reasons for dismissal. Dismissal of a proceeding or one or 
more issues within a proceeding may be based on one or more of the 
following reasons: 

(1) - (8) (No change.) 

(9) [gross] abuse of discovery consistent with 
§22.161(b)(2) of this title (relating to Sanctions); 

(10) - (11) (No change.) 

(e) Motion for dismissal, responses, and replies. Dismissal of 
a proceeding or one or more issues within a proceeding may be made 
upon the motion of the presiding officer or the motion of any party. 

(1) A party's motion for dismissal must specify at least one 
of the grounds for dismissal identified in subsection (d) of this section. 
The motion must include a statement that explains the basis for the 
dismissal and, if necessary: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(2) - (4) (No change.) 

(f) - (g) (No change.) 

§22.182. Summary Decision. 

(a) (No change.) 
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(b) Filing and contents of motion. Any party to a proceeding 
may move for summary decision on any or all of the issues. The mo-
tion must be filed before the close of the hearing on the merits or before 
the issuance of a proposal for decision or proposed order if no hearing 
is held, unless the time to file is extended by order of the presiding 
officer. The party filing the motion must [shall] demonstrate that the 
issue or issues may be resolved by summary decision in accordance 
with the standard set forth in subsection (a) of this section. Affidavits 
in support of the motion must [shall] be based on personal knowledge 
and must[shall] set forth such facts as would be admissible in evidence. 
A motion for summary decision must [shall] specifically describe the 
facts upon which the request for summary decision is based, the infor-
mation and materials which demonstrate those facts, and the laws or 
legal theories that entitle the movant to summary decision. 

(c) Response to motion. Any response to a motion for sum-
mary decision must [shall] be filed within 20 days, unless otherwise 
ordered [the time set] by the presiding officer. A party opposing the 
motion must [shall] show, by affidavits, materials obtained by discov-
ery or otherwise, admissions, matters officially noticed, or evidence of 
record, that there is a genuine issue of material fact for determination 
at the hearing, or that summary decision is inappropriate as a matter of 
law. 

(d) Hearing on the motion not required. A hearing on the mo-
tion for summary decision is not required [If appropriate, the presiding 
office shall set the motion for hearing]. 

(e) - (g) (No change.) 

§22.183. Disposition by Default. 

(a) Default. A default occurs when a party who does not have 
the burden of proof fails to appear for a hearing or fails to request a 
hearing within 30 days after service of notice of an opportunity for a 
hearing. 

(b) Default order. Upon default, the presiding officer may is-
sue a proposal for decision granting default and [default order - either 
a proposal for decision or a final order -] disposing of the proceeding 
without a hearing. In the proposal for decision granting default, the 
presiding officer may deem admitted the factual matters asserted in the 
notice of the opportunity for a hearing. A default order requires ade-
quate proof that: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(c) - (e) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503085 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 24. SUBSTANTIVE RULES 
APPLICABLE TO WATER AND SEWER 
SERVICE PROVIDERS 

The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes 
amendments to 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §24.101, 
relating to Appeal of Rate-making Decision, Pursuant to the 
Texas Water Code §13.043; §24.239, relating to Sale, Transfer, 
Merger, Consolidation, Acquisition, Lease, or Rental; §24.240, 
relating to Water and Sewer Utility Rates After Acquisition; 
§24.243, relating to Purchase of Voting Stock or Acquisition of 
a Controlling Interest in a Utility; §24.357, relating to Operation 
of a Utility by a Temporary Manager; and §24.363. Temporary 
Rates for Services Provided for a Nonfunctioning System. The 
commission also proposed amendments to the Application to 
Obtain or Amend a Water or Sewer Certificate of Convenience 
and Necessity (CCN) form used in association with Chapter 
24, Subchapter G, Certificates of Convenience and Necessity 
of the commission's substantive rules; the Application for Sale, 
Transfer, or Merger of a Retail Public Utility form used in associ-
ation with 16 TAC §24.239; and a new Application for Expedited 
Sale, Transfer, or Merger of a Retail Public Utility form for use in 
association with 16 TAC §24.239. 
The proposed rules will implement Texas Water Code §13.301 
as revised by Senate Bill (SB) 1965 during the Texas 88th Regu-
lar Legislative Session and SB 740 during the Texas 89th Regu-
lar Legislative Session. The proposed rules will also implement 
Texas Water Code §§13.002, 13.412, 13.4132 as revised by SB 
740 and new Texas Water Code § 13.3021 as enacted by SB 
740. 
Expedited STM Transactions (§24.239 and §24.243) 
The amended rules will establish an expedited process for sale, 
transfer, merger (STM) transactions for water utilities in accor-
dance with the requirements of SB 1965 and SB 740. STM trans-
actions generally involve the acquisition of assets under Texas 
Water Code § 13.301 and 16 TAC §24.239 but can also involve 
the acquisition of stock or a controlling interest under Texas Wa-
ter Code § 13.302 and 16 TAC §24.243. 
Eligibility for expedited STM 

Specifically, SB 1965 and SB 740 make certain water utilities that 
have also been appointed by the commission or Texas Commis-
sion on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) as a temporary manager, 
appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction as a receiver, or 
appointed by the commission as a supervisor eligible for an ex-
pedited STM transaction. 
Waiver of notice for expedited STMs 

In the expedited process, public notice requirements are waived 
regardless of whether the applicant elects to charge initial rates 
under 16 TAC §24.240 and Texas Water Code §13.3011, or use 
a voluntary valuation under 16 TAC §24.238, relating to Fair Mar-
ket Valuation and Texas Water Code §13.305. 
Waiver of review of financial, managerial, and technical require-
ments for expedited STMs 

In an expedited STM, the applicant's appointment as a tempo-
rary manager, receiver, or supervisor is considered sufficient to 
demonstrate adequate financial, managerial, and technical ca-
pability for purposes of the expedited transaction. 
Waiver of signature requirement in certain instances for expe-
dited STMs 

The signature of the owner is not required for commission ap-
proval of an expedited transaction if the owner has abandoned 
operation of the facilities that are the subject of the expedited 
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transaction and cannot be located or otherwise does not respond 
to the expedited application. 
Deferral of enforcement proceedings for expedited STMs 

The recent legislation also requires the commission to provide 
a "reasonable period" for the applicant, upon acquisition of the 
utility through the expedited process, to bring the acquired utility 
into compliance with commission rules before imposing a penalty 
for violations of the acquired utility for enforcement actions that 
are ongoing at the time of the acquisition. 
Cost recovery procedures for expedited STMs (regulatory asset) 
The expedited process also authorizes, if applicable, certain 
costs incurred by the applicant during the term of their ap-
pointment as a temporary manager, receiver, or supervisor 
to be considered a regulatory asset for the applicant that are 
recoverable in the applicant's next comprehensive base rate 
proceeding under 16 TAC Chapter 24, Subchapter B, relating 
to Rates and Tariffs (§§24.25-24.50) or system improvement 
charge application in accordance with 16 TAC §24.76, relating 
to System Improvement Charge. In the event temporary rates 
established in accordance with 16 TAC §24.363, the expedited 
process authorizes recovery of costs as a regulatory asset only 
to the extent such costs exceed the amount recovered by the 
temporary rates. 
Other legislative changes (SB 740) 
Amended 16 TAC §24.101 is revised to exempt municipal de-
cisions regarding wholesale water or sewer service provided to 
another municipality from appeals concerning the amount paid 
for water or sewer service, in accordance with Texas Water Code 
§ 13.043(f-1), as amended by SB 740. 
Amended 16 TAC §24.357 adds definitions of "person" and "tem-
porary manager" to incorporate the recent legislation and makes 
other conforming changes to the rule text as necessary. 
Other non-legislative changes 

Amended 16 TAC §24.239 is also revised to specify that, for a 
transaction that involves a nonfunctioning system to which a tem-
porary manager has been appointed, the temporary manager's 
appointment and the monthly temporary manager's fee must be 
terminated upon final commission approval of the transaction. 
Amended 16 TAC §24.239 and §24.243 also revise the phrase 
"commission approval" and variants thereof to differentiate be-
tween "[commission] approval for the transaction to proceed" 
and "final commission approval [of the transaction]" where nec-
essary. These terms distinguish between commission approvals 
authorizing closing of the STM transaction versus the final com-
mission determination that the closed transaction meets all ap-
plicable legal requirements and all issues attendant to the trans-
action are resolved. 
The commission also makes minor clerical revisions for gram-
mar and consistency with the commission's current style guide. 
Additionally, cross-references to §24.239 in amended §24.240 
and §24.243 are revised to ensure accuracy. The public interest 
determination provision under §24.240(c)(5) is also revised for 
clarity. 
Growth Impact Statement 
The agency provides the following governmental growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 

each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
(1) the proposed rule will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
(4) the proposed rule will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
(5) the proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 
(6) the proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing reg-
ulation; 
(7) the proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-
ject to the rule's applicability; and 

(8) the proposed rule will not affect this state's economy. 
Fiscal Impact on Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Com-
munities 

There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities as a result of 
implementing the proposed rule. Accordingly, no economic im-
pact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis is required under 
Texas Government Code §2006.002(c). 
Takings Impact Analysis 

The commission has determined that the proposed rule will not 
be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the 
Texas Government Code. 
Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government 
Nima Momtahan, Receivership Coordinator, Division of Utility 
Outreach has determined that for the first five-year period the 
proposed rule is in effect, there will be no fiscal implications for 
the state or for units of local government under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.024(a)(4) as a result of enforcing or adminis-
tering the sections. 
Public Benefits 

Mr. Momtahan has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed section is in effect the public benefit antici-
pated as a result of enforcing the section will be more efficient 
processing of certain water or sewer-related sale, transfer, or 
merger proceedings before the commission. There will not be 
any probable economic costs to persons required to comply with 
the rule under Texas Government Code §2001.024(a)(5). 
Local Employment Impact Statement 
For each year of the first five years the proposed section is in 
effect, there should be no effect on a local economy; therefore, 
no local employment impact statement is required under Texas 
Government Code §2001.022. 
Costs to Regulated Persons 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045(b) does not apply to this 
rulemaking because the commission is expressly excluded un-
der subsection §2001.0045(c)(7). 
Public Hearing 
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The commission will conduct a public hearing on this rulemak-
ing if requested in accordance with Texas Government Code 
§2001.029. The request for a public hearing must be received 
by October 2, 2025. If a request for public hearing is received, 
commission staff will file in this project a notice of hearing. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may file comments electronically through the 
interchange on the commission's website. Comments must be 
filed by October 2, 2025. Comments should be organized in a 
manner consistent with the organization of the proposed rules. 
The commission invites specific comments regarding the effects 
of the proposed rule, including the costs associated with, and 
benefits that will be gained by, implementation of the proposed 
rule. The commission also requests any data, research, or anal-
ysis from any person required to comply with the proposed rule 
or any other interested person. The commission will consider the 
information submitted by commenters and the costs and bene-
fits of implementation in deciding whether to modify the proposed 
rules on adoption. All comments should refer to Project Number 
58390. 
Each set of comments should include a standalone executive 
summary as the last page of the filing. This executive summary 
must be clearly labeled with the submitting entity's name and 
should include a bulleted list covering each substantive recom-
mendation made in the comments. 
In addition to comments on the proposed rule text, the commis-
sion requests comments on the following question concerning 
the timing of the reconciliation of temporary rates in an STM pro-
ceeding: 
1. In the event that a STM proceeding involves a nonfunction-
ing utility with temporary rates - when should the reconciliation 
of temporary rates occur? At the time the commission gives the 
order approving the transaction to proceed, final commission ap-
proval, or when the temporary rates expire or are terminated by 
the commission? The commission has previously established 
the following holdings in Project 50085 (See Commission Order, 
Item #58, Project 50085), which involved the acquisition of a sys-
tem with temporary rates and the acquiring entity requested the 
temporary rates to be continued: 
a. Temporary rates may be reconciled in the STM proceeding 
itself to assist the commission in reviewing the reasonableness 
of the approved temporary rates and the utility's financial health, 
which are factors that inform the commission's determination on 
the appropriate duration of the temporary rates post-acquisition. 
b. If the underlying improvements justifying the nonfunctioning 
system's temporary rates have not been completed at the time 
of the STM proceeding, the reconciliation may be bifurcated. 
Specifically, the reconciliation held in the STM proceeding will 
be an "interim" reconciliation and that a "final" reconciliation for 
any applicable improvements that remain uncompleted must be 
performed in the utility's next comprehensive base rate proceed-
ing. 
c. Reconciliations or interim reconciliations should be conducted 
prior to the "interim" commission order approving the transaction 
to proceed. 
d. When a nonfunctioning utility has temporary rates in place, in 
addition to making a determination of the duration of temporary 
rates the final order must set a deadline for the utility to file its 
next comprehensive base rate proceeding. 

SUBCHAPTER D. RATE-MAKING APPEALS 
16 TAC §24.101 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Water Code 
§13.041(a), which provides the commission the general power 
to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility 
within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated 
or implied by the Texas Water Code that is necessary and 
convenient to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; Texas 
Water Code §13.041(b), which provides the commission with 
the authority to adopt and enforce rules reasonably required in 
the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; Texas Water Code 
§13.043(f-1) which exempts municipal decisions regarding 
wholesale water or sewer service provided to another munici-
pality that involve the amount paid for water or sewer service 
from the commission's appellate jurisdiction; Texas Water Code 
§13.301, which establishes the requirements and procedures 
for STM proceedings and expedited STM proceedings before 
the commission; Texas Water Code §13.3021, which estab-
lishes the requirements and procedures for expedited STM 
proceedings before the commission for certain retail public 
utilities; Texas Water Code §13.412(g), which establishes the 
list of entities that may be appointed by a court of competent 
jurisdiction as a receiver and authorizes a receiver to seek both 
the acquisition of the utility under supervision and the transfer 
of the utility's certificate of convenience and necessity (CCN); 
and Texas Water Code §13.4132(a) and (a-1) which establishes 
the list of entities that may be appointed by the commission or 
TCEQ as a temporary manager and expands the definition of 
"person" to incorporate that list of entities for purposes of that 
section. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Texas Water Code §§ 13.041(a), 
13.041(b), 13.043(f-1), 13.301, 13.3021; 13.412(g)l 13.4132(a), 
13.4132(a-1). 
§24.101. Appeal of Rate-making Decision, Pursuant to the Texas Wa-
ter Code §13.043. 

(a) - (e) (No change.) 

(f) A retail public utility that receives water or sewer service 
from another retail public utility or political subdivision of the state, 
including an affected county, may appeal to the commission, a decision 
of the provider of water or sewer service affecting the amount paid 
for water or sewer service. An appeal under this subsection must be 
initiated within 90 days after notice of the decision is received from 
the provider of the service by filing a petition by the retail public utility. 
This subsection does not apply to a decision of a municipality regarding 
wholesale water or sewer service provided to another municipality. 

(g) - (j) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 
TRD-202503050 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 
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SUBCHAPTER H. CERTIFICATES OF 
CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY 
16 TAC §§24.239, 24.240, 24.243 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Water Code 
§13.041(a), which provides the commission the general power 
to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility 
within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated 
or implied by the Texas Water Code that is necessary and 
convenient to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; Texas 
Water Code §13.041(b), which provides the commission with 
the authority to adopt and enforce rules reasonably required in 
the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; Texas Water Code 
§13.043(f-1) which exempts municipal decisions regarding 
wholesale water or sewer service provided to another munici-
pality that involve the amount paid for water or sewer service 
from the commission's appellate jurisdiction; Texas Water Code 
§13.301, which establishes the requirements and procedures 
for STM proceedings and expedited STM proceedings before 
the commission; Texas Water Code §13.3021, which estab-
lishes the requirements and procedures for expedited STM 
proceedings before the commission for certain retail public 
utilities; Texas Water Code §13.412(g), which establishes the 
list of entities that may be appointed by a court of competent 
jurisdiction as a receiver and authorizes a receiver to seek both 
the acquisition of the utility under supervision and the transfer 
of the utility's certificate of convenience and necessity (CCN); 
and Texas Water Code §13.4132(a) and (a-1) which establishes 
the list of entities that may be appointed by the commission or 
TCEQ as a temporary manager and expands the definition of 
"person" to incorporate that list of entities for purposes of that 
section. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Texas Water Code §§ 13.041(a), 
13.041(b), 13.043(f-1), 13.301, 13.3021; 13.412(g)l 13.4132(a), 
13.4132(a-1). 
§24.239. Sale, Transfer, Merger, Consolidation, Acquisition, Lease, 
or Rental. 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) Notice and filing requirements for commission approval of 
the transaction to proceed. No later than 120 days before the effective 
date of any sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, lease, or 
rental, an applicant must file an application with the commission and 
give public notice of the transaction in accordance with this section. 
Notice is considered given under this subsection on the later of: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(c) - (e) (No change.) 

(f) Fair market valuation. An application filed under this sec-
tion for approval of a transaction that includes a fair market valuation 
of the transferee or the transferee's facilities must follow the process 
established in §24.238 of this title (relating to Fair Market Valuation). 
[If the transferee cannot demonstrate adequate financial capability, the 
commission may require that the transferee provide financial assurance 
to ensure continuous and adequate retail water or sewer utility ser-
vice is provided to both the requested area and any area already being 
served under the transferee's existing CCN. The commission will set 
the amount of financial assurance. The form of the financial assurance 
must meet the requirements of §24.11 of this title (relating to Financial 
Assurance). The obligation to obtain financial assurance under this title 

does not relieve an applicant from any requirements to obtain financial 
assurance to satisfy another state agency's rules.] 

(g) A retail public utility or person that files an application un-
der this section to purchase, transfer, merge, acquire, lease, rent, or 
consolidate a utility or system must demonstrate adequate financial, 
managerial, and technical capability for providing continuous and ade-
quate service to the requested area and the transferee's certificated ser-
vice area as required by §24.227(a) of this chapter (relating to Criteria 
for Granting or Amending a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity). 
[The commission will, with or without a public hearing, investigate the 
sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, lease, or rental to de-
termine whether the transaction will serve the public interest. If the 
commission decides to hold a hearing, or if the transferee fails either 
to file the application as required or to provide public notice, the trans-
action proposed in the application may not be completed unless the 
commission determines that the proposed transaction serves the public 
interest.] 

(h) If the transferee cannot demonstrate adequate financial ca-
pability, the commission may require that the transferee provide finan-
cial assurance to ensure continuous and adequate retail water or sewer 
utility service is provided to both the requested area and any area al-
ready being served under the transferee's existing CCN. The commis-
sion will set the amount of financial assurance. The form of the finan-
cial assurance must meet the requirements of §24.11 of this title (relat-
ing to Financial Assurance). The obligation to obtain financial assur-
ance under this title does not relieve an applicant from any require-
ments to obtain financial assurance to satisfy another state agency's 
rules. [Before the expiration of the 120-day period described in sub-
section (a) of this section, the commission will determine whether to 
require a public hearing to determine if the transaction will serve the 
public interest. The commission will notify the transferee, the trans-
feror, all intervenors, and the Office of Public Utility Counsel whether 
a hearing will be held. The commission may require a hearing if:] 

[(1) the application filed with the commission or the public 
notice was improper;] 

[(2) the transferee has not demonstrated adequate financial, 
managerial, and technical capability for providing continuous and ad-
equate service to the requested area and any area already being served 
under the transferee's existing CCN;] 

[(3) the transferee has a history of:] 

[(A) noncompliance with the requirements of the 
TCEQ, the commission, or the Texas Department of State Health 
Services; or] 

[(B) continuing mismanagement or misuse of revenues 
as a utility service provider;] 

[(4) the transferee cannot demonstrate the financial ability 
to provide the necessary capital investment to ensure the provision of 
continuous and adequate service to the requested area; or] 

[(5) there are concerns that the transaction does not serve 
the public interest based on consideration of the following factors:] 

[(A) the adequacy of service currently provided to the 
requested area;] 

[(B) the need for additional service in the requested 
area;] 

[(C) the effect of approving the transaction on the trans-
feree, the transferor, and any retail public utility of the same kind al-
ready serving the area within two miles of the boundary of the requested 
area;] 
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[(D) the ability of the transferee to provide adequate 
service;] 

[(E) the feasibility of obtaining service from an adjacent 
retail public utility;] 

[(F) the financial stability of the transferee, including, 
if applicable, the adequacy of the debt-equity ratio of the transferee if 
the transaction is approved;] 

[(G) environmental integrity;] 

[(H) the probable improvement of service or lowering 
of cost to consumers in the requested area resulting from approving the 
transaction; and] 

[(I) whether the transferor or the transferee has failed 
to comply with any commission or TCEQ order. The commission may 
refuse to approve a sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, 
lease, or rental if conditions of a judicial decree, compliance agreement, 
or other enforcement order have not been substantially met.] 

(i) The commission will, with or without a public hearing, in-
vestigate the sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, lease, or 
rental to determine whether the transaction will serve the public inter-
est. If the commission decides to hold a hearing, or if the transferee 
fails either to file the application as required or, except for an expe-
dited application under subsection (u) of this section, to provide public 
notice, the transaction proposed in the application may not be com-
pleted unless the commission determines that the proposed transaction 
serves the public interest. [If the commission does not require a public 
hearing, the sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, lease, or 
rental may be completed as proposed:] 

[(1) at the end of the 120-day period described in subsec-
tion (a) of this section; or] 

[(2) at any time after the transferee receives notice from the 
commission that a hearing will not be required.] 

(j) Before the expiration of the 120-day period described in 
subsection (b) of this section, the commission will determine whether 
to require a public hearing to determine if the transaction will serve the 
public interest. The commission will notify the transferee, the trans-
feror, all intervenors, and the Office of Public Utility Counsel whether 
a hearing will be held. The commission may consider the following 
factors when determining whether a hearing is required: [Within 30 
days of the commission order that approves the sale, transfer, merger, 
consolidation, acquisition, lease, or rental to proceed as proposed, the 
transferee must provide a written update on the status of the transac-
tion, and every 30 days thereafter, until the transaction is complete. The 
transferee must inform the commission of any material changes in its 
financial, managerial, and technical capability to provide continuous 
and adequate service to the requested area and the transferee's service 
area.] 

(1) the application filed with the commission or the public 
notice was improper; 

(2) the transferee has not demonstrated adequate financial, 
managerial, and technical capability for providing continuous and ad-
equate service to the requested area and any area already being served 
under the transferee's existing CCN; 

(3) the transferee has a history of: 

(A) noncompliance with the requirements of the TCEQ, 
the commission, or the Texas Department of State Health Services; or 

(B) continuing mismanagement or misuse of revenues 
as a utility service provider; 

(4) the transferee cannot demonstrate the financial ability 
to provide the necessary capital investment to ensure the provision of 
continuous and adequate service to the requested area; or 

(5) there are concerns that the transaction does not serve 
the public interest based on consideration of the following factors: 

(A) the adequacy of service currently provided to the 
requested area; 

(B) the need for additional service in the requested area; 

(C) the effect of approving the transaction on the trans-
feree, the transferor, and any retail public utility of the same kind al-
ready serving the area within two miles of the boundary of the requested 
area; 

(D) the ability of the transferee to provide adequate ser-
vice; 

(E) the feasibility of obtaining service from an adjacent 
retail public utility; 

(F) the financial stability of the transferee, including, if 
applicable, the adequacy of the debt-equity ratio of the transferee if the 
transaction is approved; 

(G) environmental integrity; 

(H) the probable improvement of service or lowering 
of cost to consumers in the requested area resulting from approving the 
transaction; and 

(I) whether the transferor or the transferee has failed to 
comply with any commission or TCEQ order. The commission may 
refuse to approve a sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, 
lease, or rental if conditions of a judicial decree, compliance agreement, 
or other enforcement order have not been substantially met. 

(k) If the commission does not require a public hearing, the 
sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, lease, or rental may 
be completed as proposed: [If there are outstanding customer deposits, 
within 30 days of the actual effective date of the transaction, the trans-
feror and the transferee must file with the commission, the following 
information supported by a notarized affidavit:] 

(1) at the end of the 120-day period described in subsection 
(a) of this section; or 

[(1) the names and addresses of all customers who have a 
deposit on record with the transferor;] 

(2) at any time after the transferee receives notice from the 
commission that a hearing will not be required. 

[(2) the date such deposit was made;] 

[(3) the amount of the deposit; and] 

[(4) the unpaid interest on the deposit. All such deposits 
must be refunded to the customer or transferred to the transferee, along 
with all accrued interest.] 

(l) Within 30 days of the commission order that approves the 
sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, lease, or rental to pro-
ceed as proposed, the transferee must provide a written update on the 
status of the transaction, and every 30 days thereafter, until the trans-
action is complete. The transferee must inform the commission of any 
material changes in its financial, managerial, and technical capability to 
provide continuous and adequate service to the requested area and the 
transferee's service area. [Within 30 days after the actual effective date 
of the transaction, the transferee and the transferor must file a signed 
contract, bill of sale, or other appropriate documents as evidence that 
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the transaction has closed as proposed. The signed contract, bill of 
sale, or other documents, must be signed by both the transferor and the 
transferee. If there were outstanding customer deposits, the transferor 
and the transferee must also file documentation that customer deposits 
have been transferred or refunded to the customers with interest as re-
quired by this section.] 

(m) If there are outstanding customer deposits, within 30 days 
of the actual effective date of the transaction, the transferor and the 
transferee must file with the commission, the following information 
supported by a notarized affidavit: [The commission's approval of a 
sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, lease, or rental of any 
water or sewer system or retail public utility expires 180 days following 
the date of the commission order allowing the transaction to proceed. 
If the sale has not been completed within that 180-day time period, the 
approval is void, unless the commission in writing extends the time 
period.] 

(1) the names and addresses of all customers who have a 
deposit on record with the transferor; 

(2) the date such deposit was made; 

(3) the amount of the deposit; and 

(4) the unpaid interest on the deposit. All such deposits 
must be refunded to the customer or transferred to the transferee, along 
with all accrued interest. 

(n) Within 30 days after the actual effective date of the trans-
action, the transferee and the transferor must file a signed contract, bill 
of sale, or other appropriate documents as evidence that the transaction 
has closed as proposed. The signed contract, bill of sale, or other docu-
ments, must be signed by both the transferor and the transferee. If there 
were outstanding customer deposits, the transferor and the transferee 
must also file documentation that customer deposits have been trans-
ferred or refunded to the customers with interest as required by this 
section. [If the commission does not require a hearing, and the trans-
action is completed as proposed, the commission may issue an order 
approving the transaction.] 

(o) The commission order allowing the transaction to proceed 
expires 180 days from the date the order is issued. If the sale has not 
been completed within that 180-day time period, the approval to pro-
ceed with the transaction is void, unless the commission in writing ex-
tends the time period. [A sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisi-
tion, lease, or rental of any water or sewer system or retail public utility 
required by law to possess a CCN, or transfer of customers or service 
area, owned by an entity required by law to possess a CCN that is not 
completed in accordance with the provisions of TWC §13.301 is void.] 

(p) If the commission does not require a hearing, and the trans-
action is completed as proposed, the commission may issue an order ap-
proving the transaction to proceed. [The requirements of TWC §13.301 
do not apply to:] 

[(1) the purchase of replacement property;] 

[(2) a transaction under TWC §13.255; or] 

[(3) foreclosure on the physical assets of a utility.] 

(q) A sale, transfer, merger, consolidation, acquisition, lease, 
or rental of any water or sewer system or retail public utility required by 
law to possess a CCN, or transfer of customers or service area, owned 
by an entity required by law to possess a CCN that is not completed 
in accordance with the provisions of TWC §13.301 is void. [If a util-
ity's facility or system is sold and the utility's facility or system was 
partially or wholly constructed with customer contributions in aid of 
construction derived from specific surcharges approved by the regula-

tory authority over and above revenues required for normal operating 
expenses and return, the utility may not sell or transfer any of its assets, 
its CCN, or a controlling interest in an incorporated utility, unless the 
utility provides a written disclosure relating to the contributions to both 
the transferee and the commission before the date of the sale or transfer. 
The disclosure must contain, at a minimum, the total dollar amount of 
the contributions and a statement that the contributed property or cap-
ital may not be included in invested capital or allowed depreciation 
expense by the regulatory authority in rate-making proceedings. This 
subsection does not apply to a utility facility or system sold as part of 
a transaction where the transferor and transferee elected to use the fair 
market valuation process set forth in §24.238 of this title (relating to 
Fair Market Valuation).] 

(r) The requirements of TWC §13.301 do not apply to: [For 
any transaction subject to this section, the retail public utility that pro-
poses to sell, transfer, merge, acquire, lease, rent, or consolidate its 
facilities, customers, service area, or controlling interest must provide 
the other party to the transaction a copy of this section before signing 
an agreement to sell, transfer, merge, acquire, lease, rent, or consoli-
date its facilities, customers, service area, or controlling interest.] 

(1) the purchase of replacement property; 

(2) a transaction under TWC §13.255; or 

(3) foreclosure on the physical assets of a utility. 

(s) This subsection applies if a utility's facility or system is sold 
and the utility's facility or system was partially or wholly constructed 
with customer contributions in aid of construction derived from spe-
cific surcharges approved by the regulatory authority over and above 
revenues required for normal operating expenses and return. This sub-
section does not apply to a utility facility or system sold as part of a 
transaction where the transferor and transferee elected to use the fair 
market valuation process set forth in §24.238 of this title (relating to 
Fair Market Valuation). 

(1) The utility may not sell or transfer any of its assets, its 
CCN, or a controlling interest in an incorporated utility, unless the util-
ity provides a written disclosure relating to the contributions to both the 
transferee and the commission before the date of the sale or transfer. 

(2) The disclosure must contain, at a minimum, the total 
dollar amount of the contributions and a statement that the contributed 
property or capital may not be included in invested capital or allowed 
depreciation expense by the regulatory authority in rate-making pro-
ceedings. 

(t) For any transaction subject to this section, the retail pub-
lic utility that proposes to sell, transfer, merge, acquire, lease, rent, or 
consolidate its facilities, customers, service area, or controlling interest 
must provide the other party to the transaction a copy of this section be-
fore signing an agreement to sell, transfer, merge, acquire, lease, rent, 
or consolidate its facilities, customers, service area, or controlling in-
terest. 

(u) Special requirements for certain transactions. For a 
transaction under this section that involves a nonfunctioning system 
to which a temporary manager has been appointed under §24.357 of 
this title (relating to Temporary Manager Appointment, Powers, and 
Duties), upon final commission approval of the transaction, the tem-
porary manager's appointment and the monthly temporary manager's 
fee must be terminated. 

(v) Expedited acquisition of assets. An eligible applicant may 
apply for the expedited acquisition of the assets and, if applicable, the 
certificated service area of a utility in accordance with this subsection. 
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(1) Eligibility. To be eligible for expedited acquisition un-
der this subsection, an applicant must meet the criteria in subparagraphs 
(A) and (B) of this paragraph. 

(A) Prior to filing an application for expedited acqui-
sition, an applicant must, for the utility subject to the acquisition, be 
either: 

(i) a person appointed by the commission or TCEQ 
as a temporary manager; or 

(ii) appointed as a receiver at the request of the com-
mission or TCEQ. 

(B) In addition to meeting one of the criteria under sub-
paragraph (A) of this paragraph, an applicant must also be either: 

(i) a Class A utility; 

(ii) a Class B utility; 

(iii) a municipally owned utility; 

(iv) a county; 

(v) a water supply or sewer service corporation; 

(vi) a public utility agency; or 

(vii) a district or river authority. 

(C) For purposes of determining eligibility under this 
paragraph, an applicant's appointment as a temporary manager or re-
ceiver of the utility subject to the application is sufficient to demon-
strate adequate financial, managerial, and technical capability for: 

(i) providing continuous and adequate service to the 
service area to be acquired; and 

(ii) any areas currently certificated to the applicant 
or, as applicable, any areas being served by the applicant. 

(2) Application. An application filed by an eligible appli-
cant under paragraph (1) of this subsection must comply with the re-
quirements of this section, except that the following are waived: 

(A) any public notice requirements required by this 
chapter, regardless of whether the person elects to charge initial rates 
in accordance with §24.240 of this title or use a voluntary valuation 
determined under §24.238 of this title; and 

(B) as applicable, any requirements of this chapter that 
do not apply to an entity over which the utility commission does not 
have original rate jurisdiction. 

(3) Commission approval and effects of approval. 

(A) The commission will approve an application under 
this subsection if the commission considers the transaction to be in the 
public interest in accordance with the processes specified under Texas 
Water Code §13.246 and §13.301, and subsections (i) and (j) of this 
section. In determining whether the transaction is in the public inter-
est, the commission may also consider any other factor the commission 
deems relevant, including whether the applicant is currently in compli-
ance with commission rules, orders, and other applicable law. 

(B) The commission will approve an application under 
this subsection without the signature of the owner of the utility being 
acquired that is required by other law if the utility owner has abandoned 
operation of the facilities that are the subject of the transaction and 
cannot be located, or does not respond to an application filed under 
this subsection. 

(C) Unless otherwise specified by §24.363 of this title 
(relating to Temporary Rates for Services Provided for a Nonfunction-
ing System), the applicant acquiring the utility may seek recovery of all 
used and useful invested capital and just and reasonable operations and 
maintenance costs incurred during the applicant's appointment term as 
a regulatory asset in the applicant's next comprehensive rate proceed-
ing under §24.41 of this title (relating to Cost of Service) or system 
improvement charge application under §24.76 of this title (relating to 
System Improvement Charge). 

§24.240. Water and Sewer Utility Rates After Acquisition. 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) Definitions. In this section, the following definitions apply 
unless the context indicates otherwise. 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) Initial rates--Rates charged by a transferee to the cus-
tomers of an acquired water or sewer system upon final commission 
approval of the transaction [by the commission]. An initial rate may 
be an existing rate, an authorized acquisition rate, or a rate authorized 
by other applicable law. 

(c) Initial Rates. 

(1) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) Public interest determination. If a transaction includes 
a request by the transferee to charge authorized acquisition rates, the 
commission will consider whether approving such rates would serve 
the public interest. [In determining whether to approve an acquisition 
under §24.239 of this title, the commission will consider whether ap-
proving the transferee's request to charge authorized acquisition rates 
under this section would change whether the proposed transaction 
would serve the public interest under §24.239(h)(5) of this title.] 

(d) Application. In addition to other applicable requirements, 
a request for authorized acquisition rates in a §24.239 proceeding must 
include the following: 

(1) - (5) (No change.) 

(6) additional explanation, including any applicable doc-
umentation, supporting the request to charge authorized acquisition 
rates, including: 

(A) that the requested authorized acquisition rates 
would be just and reasonable rates for the customers of the acquired 
system and for the transferee; 

(B) how approving the requested rates would change 
how the commission should evaluate whether the proposed transaction 
would serve the public interest[, according to any applicable criteria 
listed in §24.239(h)(5) of this title]; 

(C) if the transferee has multiple eligible in-force tariffs 
or rate schedules, a list of eligible tariffs or rate schedules and an ex-
planation for the tariff or rate schedules the transferee proposes to use 
for authorized acquisition rates; 

(D) if the transferor and transferee are affiliates or have 
been affiliates in the five-year period before the proposed acquisition, 
the application must also include an explanation for why the transferee 
is requesting to charge authorized acquisition rates instead of using 
other available ratemaking proceedings. 

(e) (No change.) 

(f) Commission review. The commission will, with or without 
a public hearing, investigate the request for authorized acquisition rates 
to determine whether the requested rates are just and reasonable for 
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the acquired customers and the transferee. That a regulatory authority 
has determined that the requested rates are just and reasonable for a 
water or sewer system to which the rates already apply is not, in itself, 
sufficient to conclude that the requested rates are just and reasonable 
for the acquired water or sewer system. 

(1) Public hearing. As part of its determination on 
whether to require a public hearing on the proposed transaction under 
§24.239[(h)] of this title, the commission will also consider whether a 
hearing is required to determine if the requested authorized acquisition 
rates are just and reasonable. 

(A) If the commission requires a public hearing under 
this section or §24.239[(h)] of this title, the request to charge autho-
rized acquisition rates will not be approved unless the commission de-
termines that the requested rates are just and reasonable. 

(B) If the commission does not require a public hear-
ing under this section or §24.239[(h)] of this title, and the transferee 
has complied with the notice provisions of this section, the request to 
charge authorized acquisition rates will be approved in the commis-
sion's order approving the transaction. This subparagraph does not ap-
ply if the commission does not approve the transaction. 

(2) (No change.) 

§24.243. Purchase of Voting Stock or Acquisition of a Controlling 
Interest in a Utility. 

(a) - (c) (No change.) 

(d) The commission may require a public hearing on the trans-
action if a criterion prescribed by §24.239[(k)] of this title relating to 
Sale, Transfer, Merger, Consolidation, Acquisition, Lease, or Rental 
applies. 

(e) - (h) (No change.) 

(i) The commission approval of a transaction to proceed un-
der this section [commission's approval of a utility's purchase of vot-
ing stock or a person's acquisition of a controlling interest in a util-
ity] expires 180 days after the date of the commission order approving 
the transaction as proposed. If the transaction has not been completed 
within the 180-day time period, and unless the utility purchasing vot-
ing stock or the person acquiring a controlling interest has requested 
and received an extension for good cause from the commission, the 
commission approval of the transaction to proceed is void. 

(j) Expedited acquisition of voting stock or controlling inter-
est. An eligible applicant may apply for the expedited acquisition of 
the voting stock or controlling interest and, if applicable, the certifi-
cated service area of a utility in accordance with this subsection. 

(1) Eligibility. To be eligible for expedited acquisition un-
der this subsection, an applicant must meet the criteria in subparagraphs 
(A) and (B) of this paragraph. 

(A) Prior to filing an application for expedited acqui-
sition, an applicant must, for the utility subject to the acquisition, be 
either: 

(i) a person appointed by the commission or TCEQ 
as a temporary manager; or 

(ii) appointed as a receiver at the request of the com-
mission or TCEQ. 

(B) In addition to meeting one of the criteria under sub-
paragraph (A) of this paragraph, an applicant must also be either: 

(i) a Class A utility; 

(ii) a Class B utility; 

(iii) a municipally owned utility; 

(iv) a county; 

(v) a water supply or sewer service corporation; 

(vi) a public utility agency; or 

(vii) a district or river authority. 

(C) For purposes of determining eligibility under this 
paragraph, an applicant's appointment as a temporary manager or re-
ceiver of the utility subject to the application is sufficient to demon-
strate adequate financial, managerial, and technical capability for: 

(i) providing continuous and adequate service to the 
service area to be acquired; and 

(ii) any areas currently certificated to the applicant 
or, as applicable, any areas being served by the applicant. 

(2) Application. An application filed by an eligible appli-
cant under paragraph (1) of this subsection must comply with the re-
quirements of this section, except that the following are waived: 

(A) any public notice requirements required by this 
chapter, regardless of whether the person elects to charge initial rates 
in accordance with §24.240 of this title (relating to Water and Sewer 
Utility Rates After Acquisition) or use a voluntary valuation deter-
mined under §24.238 of this title (relating to Fair Market Valuation); 
and 

(B) as applicable, any requirements of this chapter that 
do not apply to an entity over which the utility commission does not 
have original rate jurisdiction. 

(3) Commission approval and effects of approval. 

(A) The commission will approve an application under 
this subsection if the commission considers the transaction to be in 
the public interest in accordance with the processes specified under 
Texas Water Code §13.246 and §13.301. In determining whether the 
transaction is in the public interest, the commission may also consider 
any other factor the commission deems relevant, including whether the 
applicant is currently in compliance with commission rules, orders, and 
other applicable law. 

(B) The commission will approve an application under 
this subsection without the signature of the owner of the utility being 
acquired that is required by other law if the utility owner has abandoned 
operation of the facilities that are the subject of the transaction and 
cannot be located, or does not respond to an application filed under 
this subsection. 

(C) Unless otherwise specified by §24.363 of this title 
(relating to Temporary Rates for Services Provided for a Nonfunction-
ing System), the applicant acquiring the utility may seek recovery of all 
used and useful invested capital and just and reasonable operations and 
maintenance costs incurred during the applicant's appointment term as 
a regulatory asset in the applicant's next comprehensive rate proceed-
ing under §24.41 of this title (relating to Cost of Service) or system 
improvement charge application under §24.76 of this title (relating to 
System Improvement Charge). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 
TRD-202503051 
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Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER K. ENFORCEMENT, 
SUPERVISION, AND RECEIVERSHIP 
16 TAC §24.357, §24.363 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Water Code 
§13.041(a), which provides the commission the general power 
to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility 
within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated 
or implied by the Texas Water Code that is necessary and 
convenient to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; Texas 
Water Code §13.041(b), which provides the commission with 
the authority to adopt and enforce rules reasonably required in 
the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; Texas Water Code 
§13.043(f-1) which exempts municipal decisions regarding 
wholesale water or sewer service provided to another munici-
pality that involve the amount paid for water or sewer service 
from the commission's appellate jurisdiction; Texas Water Code 
§13.301, which establishes the requirements and procedures 
for STM proceedings and expedited STM proceedings before 
the commission; Texas Water Code §13.3021, which estab-
lishes the requirements and procedures for expedited STM 
proceedings before the commission for certain retail public 
utilities; Texas Water Code §13.412(g), which establishes the 
list of entities that may be appointed by a court of competent 
jurisdiction as a receiver and authorizes a receiver to seek both 
the acquisition of the utility under supervision and the transfer 
of the utility's certificate of convenience and necessity (CCN); 
and Texas Water Code §13.4132(a) and (a-1) which establishes 
the list of entities that may be appointed by the commission or 
TCEQ as a temporary manager and expands the definition of 
"person" to incorporate that list of entities for purposes of that 
section. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Texas Water Code §§ 13.041(a), 
13.041(b), 13.043(f-1), 13.301, 13.3021; 13.412(g)l 13.4132(a), 
13.4132(a-1). 
§24.357. Operation of a Utility by a Temporary Manager. 

(a) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this sec-
tion, have the following meanings unless the context indicates other-
wise. [By emergency order under TWC §13.4132, the commission may 
appoint a person, municipality, or political subdivision under Chapter 
22, Subchapter P of this title (relating to Emergency Orders for Wa-
ter Utilities) to temporarily manage and/or operate a utility that has 
discontinued or abandoned operations or the provision of service, or 
which has been or is being referred to the attorney general for the ap-
pointment of a receiver under TWC §13.412.] 

(1) Person -- natural persons, partnerships of two or more 
persons having a joint or common interest, mutual or cooperative as-
sociations, water supply or sewer service corporations, corporations, a 
municipally owned utility, county, public utility agency, or a district or 
authority created under Section 52, Article III, or Section 59, Article 
XVI, Texas Constitution. 

(2) Temporary manager -- a willing person appointed by 
the commission or the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
to temporarily manage and operate a utility. 

(b) The commission may appoint a willing person to temporar-
ily manage and operate a utility that has discontinued or abandoned 
operations or the provision of service, or which has been or is being 
referred to the attorney general for the appointment of a receiver un-
der TWC §13.412. [A person, municipality, or political subdivision 
appointed under this section has the powers and duties necessary to 
ensure the continued operation of the utility and the provision of con-
tinuous and adequate service to customers, including the power and 
duty to:] 

[(1) read meters;] 

[(2) bill for utility services;] 

[(3) collect revenues;] 

[(4) disburse funds;] 

[(5) request rate increases if needed;] 

[(6) access all system components;] 

[(7) conduct required sampling;] 

[(8) make necessary repairs; and] 

[(9) perform other acts necessary to assure continuous and 
adequate utility service as authorized by the commission.] 

(c) A person appointed under this section has the powers and 
duties necessary to ensure the continued operation of the utility and the 
provision of continuous and adequate service to customers, including 
the power and duty to: [Upon appointment by the commission, the 
temporary manager will post financial assurance with the commission 
in an amount and type acceptable to the commission. The temporary 
manager or the executive director may request waiver of the financial 
assurance requirements or may request substitution of some other form 
of collateral as a means of ensuring the continued performance of the 
temporary manager.] 

(1) read meters; 

(2) bill for utility services; 

(3) collect revenues; 

(4) disburse funds; 

(5) request rate increases if needed; 

(6) access all system components; 

(7) conduct required sampling; 

(8) make necessary repairs; and 

(9) perform other acts necessary to assure continuous and 
adequate utility service as authorized by the commission. 

(d) Upon appointment by the commission, the temporary man-
ager will post financial assurance with the commission in an amount 
and type acceptable to the commission. The temporary manager or 
the executive director may request waiver of the financial assurance 
requirements or may request substitution of some other form of collat-
eral as a means of ensuring the continued performance of the temporary 
manager. [The temporary manager shall serve a term of 180 days, un-
less:] 

[(1) specified otherwise by the commission;] 

[(2) an extension is requested by the commission staff or 
the temporary manager and granted by the commission;] 
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[(3) the temporary manager is discharged from his respon-
sibilities by the commission; or,] 

[(4) a superseding action is taken by an appropriate court 
on the appointment of a receiver at the request of the attorney general.] 

(e) The temporary manager must serve a term of 180 days, 
unless: [Within 60 days after appointment, a temporary manager shall 
return to the commission an inventory of all property received.] 

(1) specified otherwise by the commission; 

(2) an extension is requested by the commission staff or the 
temporary manager and granted by the commission; 

(3) the temporary manager is discharged from his respon-
sibilities by the commission; or, 

(4) a superseding action is taken by an appropriate court on 
the appointment of a receiver at the request of the attorney general. 

(f) Within 60 days after appointment, a temporary manager 
must return to the commission an inventory of all property received. 
[Compensation for the temporary manager will come from utility rev-
enues and will be set by the commission at the time of appointment. 
Changes in the compensation agreement may be approved by the com-
mission.] 

(g) Compensation for the temporary manager will come from 
utility revenues and will be set by the commission at the time of ap-
pointment. Changes in the compensation agreement may be approved 
by the commission. [The temporary manager shall collect the assets 
and carry on the business of the utility and shall use the revenues and 
assets of the utility in the best interests of the customers to ensure that 
continuous and adequate utility service is provided. The temporary 
manager shall give priority to expenses incurred in normal utility op-
erations and for repairs and improvements made since being appointed 
temporary manager.] 

(h) The temporary manager must collect the assets and carry 
on the business of the utility and shall use the revenues and assets of 
the utility in the best interests of the customers to ensure that continu-
ous and adequate utility service is provided. The temporary manager 
must give priority to expenses incurred in normal utility operations and 
for repairs and improvements made since being appointed temporary 
manager. [The temporary manager shall report to the commission on a 
monthly basis. This report shall include:] 

[(1) an income statement for the reporting period;] 

[(2) a summary of utility activities such as improvements 
or major repairs made, number of connections added, and amount of 
water produced or treated; and] 

[(3) any other information required by the commission.] 

(i) The temporary manager must report to the commission on 
a monthly basis. This report must include: [During the period in which 
the utility is managed by the temporary manager, the certificate of con-
venience and necessity shall remain in the name of the utility owner; 
however, the temporary manager assumes the obligations for operating 
within all legal requirements.] 

(1) an income statement for the reporting period; 

(2) a summary of utility activities such as improvements 
or major repairs made, number of connections added, and amount of 
water produced or treated; and 

(3) any other information required by the commission. 

(j) During the period in which the utility is managed by the 
temporary manager, the certificate of convenience and necessity must 

remain in the name of the utility owner; however, the temporary man-
ager assumes the obligations for operating within all legal require-
ments. 

§24.363. Temporary Rates for Services Provided for a Nonfunction-
ing System. 

(a) - (d) (No change.) 

(e) Regulatory asset. This section applies only to an expedited 
sale, transfer, or merger application under §24.239 of this title (relat-
ing to Sale, Transfer, Merger, Consolidation, Acquisition, Lease, or 
Rental) or §24.243 of this title (relating to Purchase of Voting Stock or 
Acquisition of a Controlling Interest in a Utility). 

(1) If a temporary rate is adopted during the term of a per-
son's temporary management, receivership, or supervision of a utility, 
the person's used and useful invested capital and just and reasonable op-
erations and maintenance costs that are incurred in excess of the costs 
covered by the temporary rate are considered to be a regulatory asset. 

(2) This regulatory asset is eligible for recovery in the 
person's next comprehensive rate proceeding or system improvement 
charge application. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 
TRD-202503052 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 25. SUBSTANTIVE RULES 
APPLICABLE TO ELECTRIC SERVICE 
PROVIDERS 
The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes 
amendments to 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.5, re-
lating to Definitions; §25.181, relating to Energy Efficiency Goal, 
and §25.182, relating to Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Factor. 
The scope of this rulemaking proceeding is limited to considera-
tion of the proposed rule amendments, additional modifications 
to the rules that are reasonably related to the proposed changes, 
and other minor and nonsubstantive amendments. Substantive 
amendments to these rules unrelated to the proposed changes 
are not within the scope of this proceeding. Further, an amend-
ment proposed to a rule provision to bring it into conformity with 
the commission's current style does not make other substantive 
changes to that provision within scope. A comprehensive review 
of the commission's energy efficiency-related rules may be taken 
up in a subsequent rulemaking. 
Proposed amendments to §25.181 change ERCOT's calcula-
tions of the avoided cost of energy and the deadline by which 
ERCOT files these calculations with the Commission. Proposed 
amendments to §25.182 change the calculation of the utility 
incentive (known as the performance bonus in the existing rule) 
and allow the commission to further limit the utility incentive 
for good cause. Other amendments to these rules are minor 
and conforming changes. Some of the minor and conforming 
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changes are related to definitions. Specifically, two definitions 
have been moved from §25.181 to §25.5, one new definition has 
been added to §25.5, one definition in §25.5 has been amended, 
14 definitions in §25.181 have been deleted because they are 
superfluous or already existing in §25.5, one definition has been 
added to §25.181 (low-income), and three definitions in §25.181 
have been substantively edited. Finally, other minor changes 
bring these rules into conformity with agency guidelines for rule 
language. 
The commission also proposes a template in Excel format that is 
filed on the commission's website in project number 57743. This 
template will be considered for adoption alongside the proposed 
amendments to the rule language. 
Growth Impact Statement 
The agency provides the following governmental growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rules are in 
effect, the following statements will apply: 
(1) the proposed rules will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rules will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
(4) the proposed rules will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
(5) the proposed rules will not create a new regulation; 
(6) the proposed rules will expand an existing regulation; 
(7) the proposed rules will not change the number of individuals 
subject to the rule's applicability; and 

(8) the proposed rules will affect this state's economy. 
Fiscal Impact on Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Com-
munities 

There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities as a result of 
implementing the proposed rules. Accordingly, no economic im-
pact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis is required under 
Texas Government Code §2006.002(c). 
Takings Impact Analysis 

The commission has determined that the proposed rules will not 
be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the 
Texas Government Code. 
Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government 
Jennifer DiLeo, Energy Efficiency Policy Analyst, Energy Effi-
ciency Division, has determined that for the first five-year period 
the proposed rules are in effect, there will be no fiscal implica-
tions for the state or for units of local government under Texas 
Government Code §2001.024(a)(4) as a result of enforcing or 
administering the sections. 
Public Benefits 

Ms. DiLeo has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed sections are in effect, the public benefit antic-

ipated as a result of enforcing the sections will be lower costs as-
sessed to consumers to fund utility energy efficiency programs. 
There will not be any probable economic costs to persons re-
quired to comply with the rules under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(5). 
Local Employment Impact Statement 
For each year of the first five years the proposed sections are in 
effect, there should be no effect on a local economy; therefore, 
no local employment impact statement is required under Texas 
Government Code §2001.022. 
Costs to Regulated Persons 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045(b) does not apply to this 
rulemaking because the commission is expressly excluded un-
der subsection §2001.0045(c)(7). 
Public Hearing 

The commission will conduct a public hearing on this rulemak-
ing if requested in accordance with Texas Government Code 
§2001.029. The request for a public hearing must be received 
by October 6, 2025. If a request for public hearing is received, 
commission staff will file in this project a notice of hearing. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may file comments electronically through the 
interchange on the commission's website. Comments must be 
filed by October 6, 2025. Comments should be organized con-
sistent with the organization of the amended rules. The com-
mission invites specific comments regarding the costs associ-
ated with, and benefits that will be gained by, implementation 
of the proposed rules. The commission will consider the costs 
and benefits in deciding whether to modify the proposed rules on 
adoption. All comments should refer to project number 57743. 
Each set of comments should include a standalone executive 
summary as the last page of the filing. This executive summary 
must be clearly labeled with the submitting entity's name and 
should include a bulleted list covering each substantive recom-
mendation made in the comments. 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
16 TAC §25.5 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed under Public Utility Regulatory 
Act (PURA) §14.001, which grants the commission the general 
power to regulate and supervise the business of each public util-
ity within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically desig-
nated or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient to 
the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; and §14.002, which 
authorizes the commission to adopt and enforce rules reason-
ably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction. The 
amendments are also proposed under PURA §36.204, which au-
thorizes the commission to establish rates for an electric utility 
that allow timely recovery of the reasonable costs for conser-
vation and load management, including additional incentives for 
conservation and load management; and PURA §39.905, which 
requires the commission to establish an incentive to reward util-
ities administering energy efficiency programs that exceed the 
minimum goals established by PURA §39.905. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act 
§14.001, §14.002, §36.204, and §39.905. 
§25.5. Definitions. 
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In this chapter, the following definitions apply unless the context indi-
cates otherwise: 

(1) - (24) (No change.) 

(25) Deemed savings--A pre-determined, validated es-
timate of energy savings and [peak] demand reduction [savings] 
attributable to an energy efficiency measure in a particular type of 
application that a utility may use instead of energy savings and [peak] 
demand reduction [savings] determined through measurement and 
verification activities. 

(26) - (76) (No change.) 

(77) Net-to-gross--A factor that is applied to convert gross 
program impacts into net program impacts. The factor is calculated by 
dividing net program savings by gross program savings and may ac-
count for variables that create differences between gross and net sav-
ings, such as free riders and spillover. 

(78) [(77)] New on-site generation--Electric generation 
with capacity greater than ten megawatts capable of being lawfully 
delivered to the site without use of utility distribution or transmission 
facilities, which was not, on or before December 31, 1999, either: 

(A) A fully operational facility; or 

(B) A project supported by substantially complete 
filings for all necessary site-specific environmental permits under 
the rules of the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission 
(TNRCC) in effect at the time of filing. 

(79) [(78)] Off-grid renewable generation--The generation 
of renewable energy in an application that is not interconnected to a 
utility transmission or distribution system. 

(80) [(79)] Other generation sources--A competitive 
retailer's or affiliated retail electric provider's supply of generated 
electricity that is not accounted for by a direct supply contract with an 
owner of generation assets. 

(81) [(80)] Person--Includes an individual, a partnership of 
two or more persons having a joint or common interest, a mutual or co-
operative association, and a corporation, but does not include an elec-
tric cooperative. 

(82) [(81)] Power cost recovery factor (PCRF)--A charge 
or credit that reflects an increase or decrease in purchased power costs 
not in base rates. 

(83) [(82)] Power generation company (PGC)--A person 
that: 

(A) - (C) (No change.) 

(84) [(83)] Power marketer--A person who becomes an 
owner of electric energy in this state for the purpose of selling the 
electric energy at wholesale; does not own generation, transmission, 
or distribution facilities in this state and does not have a certificated 
service area. 

(85) [(84)] Power region--A contiguous geographical area 
that is a distinct region of the North American Electric Reliability 
Council. 

(86) [(85)] Pre-interconnection study--A study or studies 
that may be undertaken by a utility in response to its receipt of a com-
pleted application for interconnection and parallel operation with the 
utility system at distribution voltage. Pre-interconnection studies may 
include, but are not limited to, service studies, coordination studies, 
and utility system impact studies. 

(87) [(86)] Premises--A tract of land or real estate or 
related commonly used tracts including buildings and other appurte-
nances thereon. 

(88) [(87)] Price to beat (PTB)--A price for electricity, as 
determined under PURA §39.202, charged by an affiliated retail elec-
tric provider to eligible residential and small commercial customers in 
its service area. 

(89) [(88)] Proceeding--A hearing, investigation, inquiry, 
or other procedure for finding facts or making a decision, including 
adopting, amending, or repealing a rule or setting a rate. The term 
includes a denial of relief or dismissal of a complaint. 

(90) [(89)] Proprietary customer information--Any infor-
mation obtained by a retail electric provider, an electric utility, or a 
transmission and distribution business unit as defined in §25.275(c)(16) 
of this title, on a customer in the course of providing electric service or 
by an aggregator on a customer in the course of aggregating electric ser-
vice that makes possible the identification of any individual customer 
by matching such information with the customer's name, address, ac-
count number, type or classification of service, historical electricity us-
age, expected patterns of use, types of facilities used in providing ser-
vice, individual contract terms and conditions, price, current charges, 
billing records, or any information that the customer has expressly re-
quested not be disclosed. Information that is redacted or organized in 
such a way as to make it impossible to identify the customer to whom 
the information relates does not constitute proprietary customer infor-
mation. 

(91) [(90)] Provider of last resort (POLR)--A retail elec-
tric provider (REP) certified in Texas that has been designated by the 
commission to provide a basic, standard retail service package in ac-
cordance with §25.43 of this title (relating to Provider of Last Resort 
(POLR)). 

(92) [(91)] Public retail customer--A retail customer that is 
an agency of this state, a state institution of higher education, a public 
school district, or a political subdivision of this state. 

(93) [(92)] Public utility or utility--An electric utility as 
that term is defined in this section, or a public utility or utility as those 
terms are defined in PURA §51.002. 

(94) [(93)] Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA)--The en-
abling statute for the Public Utility Commission of Texas, located in the 
Texas Utilities Code Annotated, §§11.001 et. seq. 

(95) [(94)] Purchased power market value--The value of 
demand and energy bought and sold in a bona fide third-party trans-
action or transactions on the open market and determined by using the 
weighted average costs of the highest three offers from the market for 
purchase of the demand and energy available under the existing pur-
chased power contracts. 

(96) [(95)] Qualified scheduling entity--A market partici-
pant that is qualified by ERCOT in accordance with section 16, Regis-
tration and Qualification of Market Participants of ERCOT's protocols, 
to submit balanced schedules and ancillary services bids and settle pay-
ments with ERCOT. 

(97) [(96)] Qualifying cogenerator- As defined by 16 
U.S.C. §796(18)(C). A qualifying cogenerator that provides electricity 
to the purchaser of the cogenerator's thermal output is not for that 
reason considered to be a retail electric provider or a power generation 
company. 

(98) [(97)] Qualifying facility--A qualifying cogenerator 
or qualifying small power producer. 
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(99) [(98)] Qualifying small power producer--As defined 
by 16 U.S.C. §796(17)(D). 

(100) [(99)] Rate--A compensation, tariff, charge, fare, 
toll, rental, or classification that is directly or indirectly demanded, 
observed, charged, or collected by an electric utility for a service, 
product, or commodity described in the definition of electric utility in 
this section and a rule, practice, or contract affecting the compensation, 
tariff, charge, fare, toll, rental, or classification that must be approved 
by a regulatory authority. 

(101) [(100)] Rate class--A group of customers taking elec-
tric service under the same rate schedule. 

(102) [(101)] Rate year--The 12-month period beginning 
with the first date that rates become effective. The first date that rates 
become effective may include, but is not limited to, the effective date 
for bonded rates or the effective date for interim or temporary rates. 

(103) [(102)] Ratemaking proceeding--A proceeding in 
which a rate may be changed. 

(104) [(103)] Registration agent--Entity designated by the 
commission to administer registration and settlement, premise data, 
and other processes concerning a customer's choice of retail electric 
provider in the competitive electric market in Texas. 

(105) [(104)] Regulatory authority--In accordance with the 
context where it is found, either the commission or the governing body 
of a municipality. 

(106) [(105)] Renewable demand side management (DSM) 
technologies--Equipment that uses a renewable energy resource (re-
newable resource) as defined in this section, that, when installed at a 
customer site, reduces the customer's net purchases of energy (kWh), 
electrical demand (kW), or both. 

(107) [(106)] Renewable energy--Energy derived from re-
newable energy technologies. 

(108) [(107)] Renewable energy credit (REC)--A tradable 
instrument representing the generation attributes of one MWh of elec-
tricity from renewable energy sources, as authorized by the PURA 
§39.904 and implemented under §25.173(e) of this title (relating to 
Goal for Renewable Energy). 

(109) [(108)] Renewable energy credit account (REC ac-
count)--An account maintained by the renewable energy credits trading 
program administrator for the purpose of tracking the production, sale, 
transfer, purchase, and retirement of RECs by a program participant. 

(110) [(109)] Renewable energy resource (renewable re-
source)--A resource that produces energy derived from renewable en-
ergy technologies. 

(111) [(110)] Renewable energy technology--Any technol-
ogy that exclusively relies on an energy source that is naturally re-
generated over a short time and derived directly from the sun, indi-
rectly from the sun, or from moving water or other natural movements 
and mechanisms of the environment. Renewable energy technologies 
include those that rely on energy derived directly from the sun, on 
wind, geothermal, hydroelectric, wave, or tidal energy, or on biomass 
or biomass-based waste products, including landfill gas. A renewable 
energy technology does not rely on energy resources derived from fos-
sil fuels, waste products from fossil fuels, or waste products from inor-
ganic sources. 

(112) [(111)] Repowering--Modernizing or upgrading an 
existing facility in order to increase its capacity or efficiency. 

(113) [(112)] Residential customer--Retail customers clas-
sified as residential by the applicable bundled utility tariff, unbundled 
transmission and distribution utility tariff or, in the absence of classi-
fication under a residential rate class, those retail customers that are 
primarily end users consuming electricity at the customer's place of 
residence for personal, family or household purposes and who are not 
resellers of electricity. 

(114) [(113)] Retail customer--The separately metered 
end-use customer who purchases and ultimately consumes electricity. 

(115) [(114)] Retail electric provider (REP)--A person that 
sells electric energy to retail customers in this state. A retail electric 
provider may not own or operate generation assets. The term does not 
include a person not otherwise a retail electric provider who owns or 
operates equipment used solely to provide electricity charging service 
for consumption by an alternatively fueled vehicle, as defined by Sec-
tion 502.004, Transportation Code. 

(116) [(115)] Retail electric provider (REP) of record--The 
REP assigned to the electric service identifier (ESI ID) in ERCOT's 
database. There can be no more than one REP of record assigned to an 
ESI ID at any specific point in time. 

(117) [(116)] Retail stranded costs--That part of net 
stranded cost associated with the provision of retail service. 

(118) [(117)] Retrofit--The installation of control technol-
ogy on an electric generating facility to reduce the emissions of nitro-
gen oxide, sulfur dioxide, or both. 

(119) [(118)] River authority--A conservation and recla-
mation district created under the Texas Constitution, article 16, section 
59, including any nonprofit corporation created by such a district pur-
suant to the Texas Water Code, chapter 152, that is an electric utility. 

(120) [(119)] Rule--A statement of general applicability 
that implements, interprets, or prescribes law or policy, or describes 
the procedure or practice requirements of the commission. The term 
includes the amendment or repeal of a prior rule, but does not include 
statements concerning only the internal management or organization 
of the commission and not affecting private rights or procedures. 

(121) Savings-to-investment ratio (SIR)--The ratio of the 
present value of a customer's estimated lifetime electricity cost savings 
from energy efficiency measures to the present value of the installation 
costs of those energy efficiency measures, which include the cost of 
any incidental repairs. 

(122) [(120)] Separately metered--Metered by an individ-
ual meter that is used to measure electric energy consumption by a retail 
customer and for which the customer is directly billed by a utility, retail 
electric provider, electric cooperative, or municipally owned utility. 

(123) [(121)] Service--Has its broadest and most inclusive 
meaning. The term includes any act performed, anything supplied, and 
any facilities used or supplied by an electric utility in the performance 
of its duties under PURA to its patrons, employees, other public utilities 
or electric utilities, an electric cooperative, and the public. The term 
also includes the interchange of facilities between two or more public 
utilities or electric utilities. 

(124) Small business--A legal entity, including a corpora-
tion, partnership, or sole proprietorship, that: 

(A) is formed for the purpose of making a profit; 

(B) is independently owned and operated; and 

(C) has fewer than 100 employees or less than $6 mil-
lion in annual gross receipts. 
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(125) [(122)] Spanish-speaking person--A person who 
speaks any dialect of the Spanish language exclusively or as their 
primary language. 

(126) [(123)] Standard meter--The minimum metering de-
vice necessary to obtain the billing determinants required by the trans-
mission and distribution utility's tariff schedule to determine an end-use 
customer's charges for transmission and distribution service. 

(127) [(124)] Stranded cost--The positive excess of the net 
book value of generation assets over the market value of the assets, 
taking into account all of the electric utility's generation assets, any 
above-market purchased-power costs, and any deferred debit related to 
a utility's discontinuance of the application of Statement of Financial 
Accounting Standards Number 71 ("Accounting for the Effect of Cer-
tain Types of Regulation") for generation-related assets if required by 
the provisions of PURA Chapter 39. For purposes of PURA §39.262, 
book value shall be established as of December 31, 2001, or the date 
a market value is established through a market valuation method un-
der PURA §39.262(h), whichever is earlier, and shall include stranded 
costs incurred under PURA §39.263. 

(128) [(125)] Submetering--Metering of electricity con-
sumption on the customer side of the point at which the electric utility 
measures electricity consumption for billing purposes. 

(129) [(126)] Summer net dependable capability--The net 
capability of a generating unit in megawatts (MW) for daily planning 
and operational purposes during the summer peak season, as deter-
mined in accordance with requirements of the reliability council or in-
dependent organization in which the unit operates. 

(130) [(127)] Supply-side resource--A resource, including 
a storage device, that provides electricity from fuels or renewable re-
sources. 

(131) [(128)] System emergency--A condition on a utility's 
system that is likely to result in imminent, significant disruption of ser-
vice to customers or is imminently likely to endanger life or property. 

(132) [(129)] Tariff--The schedule of a utility, municipally-
owned utility, or electric cooperative containing all rates and charges 
stated separately by type of service, the rules and regulations of the 
utility, and any contracts that affect rates, charges, terms or conditions 
of service. 

(133) [(130)] Termination of service--The cancellation or 
expiration of a sales agreement or contract by a retail electric provider 
by notification to the customer and the registration agent. 

(134) [(131)] Tenant--A person who is entitled to occupy a 
dwelling unit to the exclusion of others and who is obligated to pay for 
the occupancy under a written or oral rental agreement. 

(135) [(132)] Test year--The most recent 12 months for 
which operating data for an electric utility, electric cooperative, or 
municipally-owned utility are available and shall commence with a 
calendar quarter or a fiscal year quarter. 

(136) [(133)] Texas jurisdictional installed generation ca-
pacity--The amount of an affiliated power generation company's in-
stalled generation capacity properly allocable to the Texas jurisdiction. 
Such allocation shall be calculated pursuant to an existing commis-
sion-approved allocation study, or other such commission-approved 
methodology, and may be adjusted as approved by the commission to 
reflect the effects of divestiture or the installation of new generation 
facilities. 

(137) [(134)] Transition bonds--Bonds, debentures, notes, 
certificates, of participation or of beneficial interest, or other evidences 

of indebtedness or ownership that are issued by an electric utility, its 
successors, or an assignee under a financing order, that have a term not 
longer than 15 years, and that are secured or payable from transition 
property. 

(138) [(135)] Transition charges--Non-bypassable 
amounts to be charged for the use or availability of electric services, 
approved by the commission under a financing order to recover quali-
fied costs, that shall be collected by an electric utility, its successors, 
an assignee, or other collection agents as provided for in a financing 
order. 

(139) [(136)] Transmission and distribution business unit 
(TDBU)--The business unit of a municipally owned utility/electric co-
operative, whether structurally unbundled as a separate legal entity or 
functionally unbundled as a division, that owns or operates for com-
pensation in this state equipment or facilities to transmit or distribute 
electricity at retail, except for facilities necessary to interconnect a gen-
eration facility with the transmission or distribution network, a facility 
not dedicated to public use, or a facility otherwise excluded from the 
definition of electric utility in a qualifying power region certified un-
der PURA §39.152. Transmission and distribution business unit does 
not include a municipally owned utility/electric cooperative that owns, 
controls, or is an affiliate of the transmission and distribution business 
unit if the transmission and distribution business unit is organized as a 
separate corporation or other legally distinct entity. Except as specif-
ically authorized by statute, a transmission and distribution business 
unit shall not provide competitive energy-related activities. 

(140) [(137)] Transmission and distribution utility 
(TDU)--A person or river authority that owns, or operates for com-
pensation in this state equipment or facilities to transmit or distribute 
electricity, except for facilities necessary to interconnect a generation 
facility with the transmission or distribution network, a facility not 
dedicated to public use, or a facility otherwise excluded from the 
definition of "electric utility", in a qualifying power region certified 
under PURA §39.152, but does not include a municipally owned 
utility or an electric cooperative. The TDU may be a single utility or 
may be separate transmission and distribution utilities. 

(141) [(138)] Transmission line--A power line that is oper-
ated at 60 kilovolts (kV) or above, when measured phase-to-phase. 

(142) [(139)] Transmission service--Service that allows a 
transmission service customer to use the transmission and distribu-
tion facilities of electric utilities, electric cooperatives and municipally 
owned utilities to efficiently and economically utilize generation re-
sources to reliably serve its loads and to deliver power to another trans-
mission service customer. Includes construction or enlargement of fa-
cilities, transmission over distribution facilities, control area services, 
scheduling resources, regulation services, reactive power support, volt-
age control, provision of operating reserves, and any other associated 
electrical service the commission determines appropriate, except that, 
on and after the implementation of customer choice in any portion of 
the ERCOT region, control area services, scheduling resources, reg-
ulation services, provision of operating reserves, and reactive power 
support, voltage control and other services provided by generation re-
sources are not transmission service. 

(143) [(140)] Transmission service customer--A transmis-
sion service provider, distribution service provider, river authority, mu-
nicipally-owned utility, electric cooperative, power generation com-
pany, retail electric provider, federal power marketing agency, exempt 
wholesale generator, qualifying facility, power marketer, or other per-
son whom the commission has determined to be eligible to be a trans-
mission service customer. A retail customer, as defined in this section, 
may not be a transmission service customer. 
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(144) [(141)] Transmission service provider (TSP)--An 
electric utility, municipally-owned utility, or electric cooperative that 
owns or operates facilities used for the transmission of electricity. 

(145) [(142)] Transmission system--The transmission fa-
cilities at or above 60 kilovolts (kV) owned, controlled, operated, or 
supported by a transmission service provider or transmission service 
customer that are used to provide transmission service. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 
TRD-202503056 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER H. ELECTRICAL PLANNING 
DIVISION 2. ENERGY EFFICIENCY AND 
CUSTOMER-OWNED RESOURCES 
16 TAC §25.181, §25.182 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed under Public Utility Regulatory 
Act (PURA) §14.001, which grants the commission the general 
power to regulate and supervise the business of each public util-
ity within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically desig-
nated or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient to 
the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; and §14.002, which 
authorizes the commission to adopt and enforce rules reason-
ably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction. The 
amendments are also proposed under PURA §36.204, which au-
thorizes the commission to establish rates for an electric utility 
that allow timely recovery of the reasonable costs for conser-
vation and load management, including additional incentives for 
conservation and load management; and PURA §39.905, which 
requires the commission to establish an incentive to reward util-
ities administering energy efficiency programs that exceed the 
minimum goals established by PURA §39.905. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act 
§14.001, §14.002, §36.204, and §39.905. 
§25.181. Energy Efficiency Goal. 

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this section is to ensure that: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) each electric utility annually provides, through market-
based standard offer programs, targeted market-transformation pro-
grams, or utility self-delivered programs, program incentives sufficient 
for residential and commercial customers, retail electric providers, and 
energy efficiency service providers to acquire additional cost-effective 
energy efficiency, subject to EECRF caps established in §25.182(d)(7) 
of this title (relating to Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Factor), for 
the utility to achieve the goals in subsection (e) of this section. 

(b) (No change.) 

(c) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this section 
and in §25.182 of this title, [shall] have the following meanings unless 
the context indicates otherwise: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) Claimed savings--Values reported by an electric utility 
after the energy efficiency activities have been completed, but prior to 
the time an independent, third-party evaluation of the savings is per-
formed. As with projected savings estimates, these values may utilize 
results of prior evaluations or [and/or] values in technical reference 
manuals. However, they are adjusted from projected savings estimates 
by correcting for any known data errors and actual installation rates and 
may also be adjusted with revised values for factors such as per-unit 
savings values, operating hours, and savings persistence rates. Can be 
indicated as first year, annual demand or energy savings, or [and/or] 
lifetime energy or demand savings values. Can be indicated as gross 
savings or [and/or] net savings values. 

(4) Commercial customer--A non-residential customer 
taking service at a point of delivery at a distribution voltage under an 
electric utility's tariff during the prior program year or a non-profit 
customer or government entity, including an educational institution. 
For purposes of this section, each point of delivery must [shall] be 
considered a separate customer. 

[(5) Competitive energy efficiency services--Energy effi-
ciency services that are defined as competitive under §25.341 of this 
title (relating to Definitions).] 

(5) [(6)] Conservation load factor--The ratio of the annual 
energy savings goal, in kilowatt hours (kWh), to the peak demand goal 
for the year, measured in kilowatts (kW) and multiplied by the number 
of hours in the year. 

(6) [(7)] Deemed savings calculation--An industry-wide 
engineering algorithm used to calculate energy or demand savings of 
the installed energy efficiency measure that has been developed from 
common practice that is widely considered acceptable for the measure 
and purpose, and is applicable to the situation being evaluated. May 
include stipulated assumptions for one or more parameters in the 
algorithm, but typically requires some data associated with actual 
installed measure. An electric utility may use the calculation with 
documented measure-specific assumptions, instead of energy and peak 
demand savings determined through measurement and verification 
activities or the use of deemed savings. 

(7) [(8)] Deemed savings value--An estimate of energy or 
demand savings for a single unit of an installed energy efficiency mea-
sure that has been developed from data sources and analytical methods 
that are widely considered acceptable for the measure and purpose, and 
is applicable to the situation being evaluated. An electric utility may 
use deemed savings values instead of energy and peak demand savings 
determined through measurement and verification activities. 

[(9) Demand--The rate at which electric energy is used at a 
given instant, or averaged over a designated period, usually expressed 
in kW or megawatts (MW).] 

[(10) Demand savings--A quantifiable reduction in de-
mand.] 

(8) [(11)] Eligible customers--Residential and commercial 
customers. In addition, to the extent that they meet the criteria for par-
ticipation in load management standard offer programs developed for 
industrial customers and implemented prior to May 1, 2007, industrial 
customers are eligible customers solely for the purpose of participating 
in such programs. 
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[(12) Energy efficiency--Improvements in the use of elec-
tricity that are achieved through customer facility or customer equip-
ment improvements, devices, processes, or behavioral or operational 
changes that produce reductions in demand or energy consumption 
with the same or higher level of end-use service and that do not materi-
ally degrade existing levels of comfort, convenience, and productivity.] 

[(13) Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Factor (EECRF)-
-An electric tariff provision, compliant with §25.182 of this title, ensur-
ing timely and reasonable cost recovery for utility expenditures made 
to satisfy the goal of PURA §39.905 that provide for a portfolio of 
cost-effective energy efficiency programs under this section.] 

[(14) Energy efficiency measures--Equipment, materials, 
and practices, including practices that result in behavioral or opera-
tional changes, implemented at a customer's site on the customer's 
side of the meter that result in a reduction at the customer level and/or 
on the utility's system in electric energy consumption, measured in 
kWh, or peak demand, measured in kW, or both. These measures may 
include thermal energy storage and removal of an inefficient appliance 
so long as the customer need satisfied by the appliance is still met.] 

(9) [(15)] Energy efficiency program--The aggregate of the 
energy efficiency activities carried out by an electric utility under this 
section or a set of energy efficiency projects carried out by an electric 
utility under the same name and operating rules. 

[(16) Energy efficiency project--An energy efficiency mea-
sure or combination of measures undertaken in accordance with a stan-
dard offer, market transformation program, or self-delivered program.] 

[(17) Energy efficiency service provider--A person or other 
entity that installs energy efficiency measures or performs other energy 
efficiency services under this section. An energy efficiency service 
provider may be a retail electric provider or commercial customer, pro-
vided that the commercial customer has a peak load equal to or greater 
than 50 kW. An energy efficiency service provider may also be a gov-
ernmental entity or a non-profit organization, but may not be an electric 
utility.] 

[(18) Energy savings--A quantifiable reduction in a cus-
tomer's consumption of energy that is attributable to energy efficiency 
measures, usually expressed in kWh or MWh.] 

(10) [(19)] Estimated useful life (EUL)--The number of 
years until 50% of installed measures are still operable and providing 
savings, and is used interchangeably with the term "measure life". 
The EUL determines the period of time over which the benefits of the 
energy efficiency measure are expected to accrue. 

(11) [(20)] Evaluated savings--Savings estimates reported 
by the evaluation, measurement and verification (EM&V) contractor 
after the energy efficiency activities and an impact evaluation have been 
completed. Differs from claimed savings in that the EM&V contractor 
has conducted some of the evaluation or [and/or] verification activities. 
These values may rely on claimed savings for factors such as installa-
tion rates and the Technical Reference Manual for values such as per 
unit savings values and operating hours. These savings estimates may 
also include adjustments to claimed savings for data errors, per unit 
savings values, operating hours, installation rates, savings persistence 
rates, or other considerations. Can be indicated as first year, annual 
demand or energy savings, or [and/or] lifetime energy or demand sav-
ings values. Can be indicated as gross savings or [and/or] net savings 
values. 

(12) [(21)] Evaluation--The conduct of any of a wide range 
of assessment studies and other activities aimed at determining the ef-
fects of a program; or aimed at understanding or documenting program 

performance, program or program-related markets and market opera-
tions, program-induced changes in energy efficiency markets, levels 
of demand or energy savings, or program cost-effectiveness. Market 
assessment, monitoring, and evaluation, and measurement and verifi-
cation (M&V) are aspects of evaluation. 

[(22) Evaluation, measurement, and verification (EM&V) 
contractor--One or more independent, third-party contractors selected 
and retained by the commission to plan, conduct, and report on energy 
efficiency evaluation activities, including verification.] 

(13) [(23)] Free driver--Customers who do not directly par-
ticipate in an energy efficiency program, but who undertake energy ef-
ficiency actions in response to program activity. 

(14) [(24)] Free rider--A program participant who would 
have implemented the program measure or practice in the absence of 
the program. Free riders can be total, in which the participant's activ-
ity would have completely replicated the program measure; partial, in 
which the participant's activity would have partially replicated the pro-
gram measure; or deferred, in which the participant's activity would 
have completely replicated the program measure, but at a time after 
the time the program measure was implemented. 

(15) [(25)] Growth in demand--The annual increase in de-
mand in the Texas portion of an electric utility's service area at time of 
peak demand, as measured in accordance with this section. 

(16) [(26)] Gross savings--The change in energy consump-
tion or [and/or] demand that results directly from program-related ac-
tions taken by participants in an efficiency program, regardless of why 
they participated. 

(17) [(27)] Hard-to-reach [customers]--A customer that 
meets one of the following criteria: [Residential customers with an 
annual household income at or below 200% of the federal poverty 
guidelines.] 

(A) has a primary residence in an area with fewer than 
2,000 housing units or a total population of 5,000 or less; or 

(B) has a primary residence or owns a small business 
in an area where the utility is unable to effectively administer an en-
ergy efficiency program due to energy efficiency market barriers. Such 
market barriers may include limited access to an energy efficiency con-
tractor or energy efficiency service provider. 

(18) [(28)] Impact evaluation--An evaluation of the pro-
gram-specific, directly induced changes (e.g., energy or [and/or] de-
mand reduction) attributable to an energy efficiency program. 

(19) [(29)] Program incentive [Incentive] payment--Pay-
ment made by a utility to an energy efficiency service provider, an 
end-use customer, or third-party contractor to implement [and/or] at-
tract customers to energy efficiency programs, including standard of-
fer, market transformation and self-delivered programs. 

(20) [(30)] Industrial customer--A for-profit entity engaged 
in an industrial process taking electric service at transmission voltage, 
or a for-profit entity engaged in an industrial process taking electric 
service at distribution voltage that qualifies for a tax exemption under 
Tax Code §151.317 and has submitted an identification notice under 
subsection (u) of this section. 

(21) [(31)] Inspection--Examination of a project to verify 
that an energy efficiency measure has been installed, is capable of per-
forming its intended function, and is producing an energy savings or 
demand reduction equivalent to the energy savings or demand reduc-
tion reported towards meeting the energy efficiency goals of this sec-
tion. 
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(22) [(32)] Installation rate--The percentage of measures 
that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an energy efficiency 
program that are actually installed in a defined period of time. The 
installation rate is calculated by dividing the number of measures in-
stalled by the number of measures that receive a program incentive 
[incentives] under an efficiency program in a defined period of time. 

[(33) International performance measurement and verifica-
tion protocol (IPMVP)--A guidance document issued by the Efficiency 
Valuation Organization with a framework and definitions describing 
the M&V approaches.] 

(23) [(34)] Lifetime energy (demand) savings--The energy 
(demand) savings over the lifetime of an installed measure, project, 
or program [measure(s), project(s), or program(s)]. May include con-
sideration of measure estimated useful life, technical degradation, and 
other factors. Can be gross or net savings. 

[(35) Load control--Activities that place the operation of 
electricity-consuming equipment under the control or dispatch of an 
energy efficiency service provider, an independent system operator, or 
other transmission organization or that are controlled by the customer, 
with the objective of producing energy or demand savings.] 

(24) [(36)] Load management--Activities [Load control ac-
tivities] that result in a reduction in peak demand, or a shifting of energy 
usage from a peak to an off-peak period or from high-price periods to 
lower price periods. 

(25) Low-income--A customer that either: 

(A) meets the criteria for "low-income" as determined 
by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development 
(HUD) (i.e., resides in a household with an income level at or under 
80% of the area median income based on family size, as calculated by 
HUD); or 

(B) resides in a household in which at least one person 
receives economic assistance through a program listed in the Texas 
technical reference manual for the applicable program year. 

(26) [(37)] Market transformation program--Strategic pro-
grams intended to induce lasting structural or behavioral changes in 
the market that result in increased adoption of energy efficient tech-
nologies, services, and practices, as described in this section. 

(27) [(38)] Measurement and verification (M&V)--A sub-
set of program impact evaluation that is associated with the documen-
tation of energy or demand savings at individual sites or projects us-
ing one or more methods that can involve measurements, engineering 
calculations, statistical analyses, or [and/or] computer simulation mod-
eling. M&V approaches are defined in the International Performance 
Measurement and Verification Protocol [IPMVP]. 

(28) [(39)] Net savings--The total change in load that is at-
tributable to an energy efficiency program. This change in energy or 
[and/or] demand use must [shall] include, implicitly or explicitly, con-
sideration of appropriate factors. These factors may include free rider-
ship, participant and non-participant spillover, induced market effects, 
changes in the level of energy service, or [and/or] other non-program 
causes of changes in energy use or [and/or] demand. 

[(40) Net-to-gross--A factor representing net program sav-
ings divided by gross program savings that is applied to gross program 
impacts to convert them into net program impacts. The factor may be 
made up of a variety of factors that create differences between gross 
and net savings, commonly considering the effects of free riders and 
spillover.] 

(29) [(41)] Non-participant spillover--Energy savings that 
occur when a program non-participant installs energy efficiency mea-
sures or applies energy savings practices as a result of a program's in-
fluence. 

(30) [(42)] Off-peak period--Period during which the de-
mand on an electric utility system is not at or near its maximum. For 
the purpose of this section, the off-peak period includes all hours that 
are not in the peak period. 

(31) [(43)] Participant spillover--The additional energy 
savings that occur when a program participant independently installs 
incremental energy efficiency measures or applies energy savings 
practices after having participated in the efficiency program as a result 
of the program's influence. 

(32) [(44)] Peak demand--A distribution utility's 
[Electrical demand at the times of] highest annual retail demand [on 
the utility's system] at the source, used to determine the utility's annual 
energy efficiency goal [. Peak demand refers to Texas retail peak 
demand and, therefore, does not include demand of retail customers in 
other states or wholesale customers]. 

[(45) Peak demand reduction--Reduction in demand on the 
utility's system at the times of the utility's summer peak period or winter 
peak period.] 

(33) [(46)] Peak period--For the purpose of this section, the 
peak period consists of the hours from one p.m. to seven p.m. during 
the months of June, July, August, and September, and the hours of 
six a.m. to ten a.m. and six p.m. to ten p.m. during the months of 
December, January, and February[, excluding weekends and Federal 
holidays]. 

(34) [(47)] Program year--A year in which an energy ef-
ficiency incentive program is implemented, beginning January 1 and 
ending December 31. 

(35) [(48)] Projected savings--Estimated program or 
portfolio savings reported by an electric utility for planning purposes. 
[Values reported by an electric utility prior to the time the energy effi-
ciency activities are implemented. Are typically estimates of savings 
prepared for program and/or portfolio design or planning purposes. 
These values are based on pre-program or portfolio estimates of factors 
such as per-unit savings values, operating hours, installation rates, and 
savings persistence rates. These values may utilize results of prior 
evaluations and/or values in the Technical Reference Manual. Can 
be indicated as first year, annual demand or energy savings, and/or 
lifetime energy or demand savings values. Can be indicated as gross 
savings and/or net savings values.] 

[(49) Renewable demand side management (DSM) tech-
nologies--Equipment that uses a renewable energy resource (renew-
able resource), as defined in §25.173(c) of this title (relating to Goal 
for Renewable Energy), a geothermal heat pump, a solar water heater, 
or another natural mechanism of the environment, that when installed 
at a customer site, reduces the customer's net purchases of energy, de-
mand, or both.] 

[(50) Savings-to-Investment Ratio (SIR)--The ratio of the 
present value of a customer's estimated lifetime electricity cost savings 
from energy efficiency measures to the present value of the installation 
costs, inclusive of any incidental repairs, of those energy efficiency 
measures.] 

(36) [(51)] Self-delivered program--A program developed 
by a utility in an area in which customer choice is not offered that pro-
vides incentives directly to customers. The utility may use internal or 
external resources to design and administer the program. 
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(37) [(52)] Spillover--Reductions in energy consumption 
or [and/or] demand caused by the presence of an energy efficiency pro-
gram, beyond the program-related gross savings of the participants and 
without financial or technical assistance from the program. There can 
be participant or [and/or] non-participant spillover. 

(38) [(53)] Spillover rate--Estimate of energy savings at-
tributable to spillover expressed as a percent of savings installed by 
participants through an energy efficiency program. 

(39) [(54)] Standard offer contract--A contract between an 
energy efficiency service provider and a participating utility or between 
a participating utility and a commercial customer specifying standard 
payments based upon the amount of energy and peak demand savings 
achieved through energy efficiency measures, the measurement and 
verification protocols, and other terms and conditions, consistent with 
this section. 

(40) [(55)] Standard offer program--A program under 
which a utility administers standard offer contracts between the utility 
and energy efficiency service providers. 

(41) [(56)] Technical reference manual (TRM)--A resource 
document compiled by the commission's EM&V contractor that in-
cludes information used in program planning and reporting of energy 
efficiency programs. It can include savings values for measures, engi-
neering algorithms to calculate savings, impact factors to be applied to 
calculated savings (e.g., net-to-gross values), protocols, source docu-
mentation, specified assumptions, and other relevant material to sup-
port the calculation of measure and program savings. 

(42) [(57)] Verification--An independent assessment that a 
program has been implemented in accordance with the program de-
sign. The objectives of measure installation verification are to confirm 
the installation rate, that the installation meets reasonable quality stan-
dards, and that the measures are operating correctly and have the poten-
tial to generate the predicted savings. Verification activities are gener-
ally conducted during on-site surveys of a sample of projects. Project 
site inspections, participant phone and mail surveys or [and/or] imple-
menter and participant documentation review are typical activities as-
sociated with verification. Verification is also a subset of evaluation. 

(d) Cost-effectiveness standard. An energy efficiency pro-
gram is deemed to be cost-effective if the cost of the program to the 
utility is less than or equal to the benefits of the program. Utilities are 
encouraged to achieve demand reduction and energy savings through 
a portfolio of cost-effective programs that exceed each utility's energy 
efficiency goals while staying within the cost caps established in 
§25.182(d)(7) of this title. 

(1) The cost of a program includes the cost of program in-
centives, EM&V contractor costs, utility incentive [any shareholder 
bonus awarded to the utility], and actual or allocated research and de-
velopment and administrative costs. The benefits of the program con-
sist of the value of the demand reductions and energy savings, measured 
in accordance with the avoided costs prescribed in this subsection. The 
present value of the program benefits must [shall] be calculated over 
the projected life of the measures installed or implemented under the 
program. 

(2) The avoided cost of capacity must [shall] be established 
in accordance with this paragraph. 

(A) By November 1 of each year, commission staff 
must [shall] file the avoided cost of capacity for the upcoming year, 
including supporting data, in the commission's central records under 
the control number for the energy efficiency implementation project. 

(i) Staff must [shall] calculate the avoided cost of 
capacity from the base overnight cost using the lower of a new con-
ventional combustion turbine or a new advanced combustion turbine, 
as reported by the United States Department of Energy's Energy Infor-
mation Administration's (EIA) Cost and Performance Characteristics 
of New Central Station Electricity Generating Technologies associated 
with EIA's Annual Energy Outlook. If EIA cost data that reflects cur-
rent conditions in the industry does not exist, staff may establish an 
avoided cost of capacity using another data source. 

(ii) If the EIA base overnight cost of a new conven-
tional or an advanced combustion turbine, whichever is lower, is less 
than $700 per kW, the avoided cost of capacity will [shall] be $80 per 
kW-year. If the base overnight cost of a new conventional or advanced 
combustion turbine, whichever is lower, is at or between $700 and 
$1,000 per kW, the avoided cost of capacity will [shall] be $100 per 
kW-year. If the base overnight cost of a new conventional or advanced 
combustion turbine, whichever is lower, is greater than $1,000 per kW, 
the avoided cost of capacity will [shall] be $120 per kW-year. 

(iii) (No change.) 

(B) A utility in an area in which customer choice is 
not offered may petition the commission for authorization to use an 
avoided cost of capacity different from the avoided cost determined 
according to subparagraph (A) of this paragraph by filing a petition no 
later than 45 days after the date the avoided cost of capacity calculated 
by staff is filed in the commission's central records under the control 
number for the energy efficiency implementation project described by 
paragraph (2)(A) of this subsection. The petition must clearly describe 
the reasons a different avoided cost should be used, include supporting 
data and calculations, and state the relief sought. The avoided cost of 
capacity proposed by the utility must [shall] be based on a generating 
resource or purchase in the utility's resource acquisition plan and the 
terms of the purchase or the cost of the resource must [shall] be dis-
closed in the filing. 

(3) The avoided cost of energy must [shall] be established 
in accordance with this paragraph. 

(A) By April 1 [November 1] of each year, ERCOT 
must [shall] file its calculation of the avoided cost of energy for 
the upcoming calendar year for the ERCOT region[, as defined in 
§25.5(48) of this title (relating to Definitions), in the commission's 
central records] under the control number for the energy efficiency 
implementation project. ERCOT must [shall] calculate the avoided 
cost of energy by determining the load-weighted average of the com-
petitive load zone settlement point prices for the peak periods covering 
the seven [two] previous winter and summer peaks. The avoided cost 
of energy calculated by ERCOT may be challenged only by the filing 
of a petition within 45 days of the date the avoided cost of capacity is 
filed by ERCOT in the commission's central records under the control 
number for the energy efficiency implementation project described by 
paragraph (2)(A) of this subsection. The petition must clearly describe 
the reasons ERCOT's avoided cost of energy calculation is incorrect, 
include supporting data and calculations, and state the relief sought. 

(B) (No change.) 

(e) Annual energy efficiency goals. 

(1) An electric utility must [shall] administer a portfolio of 
energy efficiency programs to acquire, at a minimum, the following: 

(A) Until [Beginning with the 2013 program year, until] 
the trigger described in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph is reached, 
the utility must [shall] acquire a 30% reduction of its annual growth in 
demand of residential and commercial customers. 
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(B) If the demand reduction goal to be acquired by a 
utility under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph is equivalent to at least 
four-tenths of 1% of its summer weather-adjusted peak demand for 
the combined residential and commercial customers for the previous 
program year, the utility must [shall] meet the energy efficiency goal 
described in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph for each subsequent 
program year. 

(C) Once the trigger described in subparagraph (B) of 
this paragraph is reached, the utility must [shall] acquire four-tenths 
of 1% of its summer weather-adjusted peak demand for the combined 
residential and commercial customers for the previous program year. 

(D) Except as adjusted in accordance with subsection 
(u) of this section, a utility's demand reduction goal in any year must 
[shall] not be lower than its goal for the prior year, unless the commis-
sion establishes a goal for a utility under paragraph (2) of this subsec-
tion. 

(2) (No change.) 

(3) Each utility's demand-reduction goal must [shall] be 
calculated as follows: 

(A) Each year's historical demand for residential and 
commercial customers must [shall] be adjusted for weather fluctua-
tions, using weather data for the most recent ten years. The utility's 
growth in residential and commercial demand is based on the average 
growth in retail load in the Texas portion of the utility's service area, 
measured at the utility's annual system peak. The utility must [shall] 
calculate the average growth rate for the prior five years. 

(B) - (C) (No change.) 

(D) If a utility's prior five-year average load growth, 
calculated under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, is negative, the 
utility must [shall] use the demand reduction goal calculated using the 
alternative method approved by the commission beginning with the 
2013 program year or, if the commission has not approved an alter-
native method, the utility must [shall] use the previous year's demand 
reduction goal. 

(E) A utility must [shall] not claim savings obtained 
from energy efficiency measures funded through settlement orders or 
count towards the utility incentive [bonus calculation] any savings ob-
tained from grant funds [incentives] that have been awarded directly to 
the utility for energy efficiency programs. 

(F) Savings achieved through programs for hard-to-
reach customers must [shall] be no less than 5.0% of the utility's total 
demand reduction goal. A utility that operates in an area in which 
customer choice is not offered may achieve this requirement through 
a program designed for low-income customers. 

(G) Utilities may apply demand reduction and energy 
[peak] savings on a per project basis to summer or winter peak, but not 
to both summer and winter peaks. 

(4) An electric utility must [shall] administer a portfolio of 
energy efficiency programs designed to meet an energy savings goal 
calculated from its demand savings goal, using a 20% conservation 
load factor. 

(5) Electric utilities must [shall] administer a portfolio of 
energy efficiency programs to effectively and efficiently achieve the 
goals set out in this section. 

(A) Program incentive [Incentive] payments may be 
made under standard offer contracts, market transformation contracts, 
or as part of a self-delivered program for energy savings and de-

mand reductions. Each electric utility must [shall] establish standard 
program incentive payments to achieve the objectives of this section. 

(B) Projects or measures under a standard offer, market 
transformation, or self-delivered program are not eligible for program 
incentive payments or compensation if: 

(i) - (iii) (No change.) 

(C) (No change.) 

(D) A utility in an area in which customer choice is not 
offered may achieve the goals of paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsec-
tion by: 

(i) providing rebate or program incentive funds di-
rectly to eligible residential and commercial customers for programs 
implemented under this section; or 

(ii) (No change.) 

(E) For a utility in an area in which customer choice is 
offered, the utility may achieve the goal of this section in rural areas 
by providing rebate or program incentive funds directly to customers 
after demonstrating to the commission in a contested case hearing that 
the goal requirement cannot be met through the implementation of pro-
grams by retail electric providers or energy efficiency service providers 
in the rural areas. 

(f) Program incentive payments [Incentive payments]. The 
program incentive payments for each customer class must [shall] not 
exceed 100% of avoided cost, as determined in accordance with this 
section. The program incentive payments must [shall] be set by each 
utility with the objective of achieving its energy and demand savings 
goals at the lowest reasonable cost per program. Different program in-
centive levels may be established for areas that have historically been 
underserved by the utility's energy efficiency programs or for other ap-
propriate reasons. Utilities may adjust program incentive payments 
during the program year, but such adjustments must be clearly publi-
cized in the materials used by the utility to set out the program rules 
and describe the programs to participating energy efficiency service 
providers. 

(g) Utility administration. The cost of administration in a pro-
gram year must [shall] not exceed 15% of a utility's total program costs 
for that program year. The cost of research and development in a pro-
gram year must [shall] not exceed 10% of a utility's total program costs 
for that program year. The cumulative cost of administration and re-
search and development must [shall] not exceed 20% of a utility's total 
program costs, unless a good cause exception filed under subsection 
(e)(2) of this section is granted. Any portion of these costs that is not di-
rectly assignable to a specific program must [shall] be allocated among 
the programs in proportion to the program incentive costs. Any utility 
incentive [bonus] awarded by the commission must [shall] not be in-
cluded in program costs for the purpose of applying these limits. 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) A utility must [shall] adopt measures to foster competi-
tion among energy efficiency service providers for standard offer, mar-
ket transformation, and self-delivered programs, such as limiting the 
number of projects or level of program incentives that a single energy 
efficiency service provider and its affiliates is eligible for and establish-
ing funding set-asides for small projects. 

(3) (No change.) 

(4) Electric utilities offering standard offer, market trans-
formation, and self-delivered programs must [shall] use standardized 
forms, procedures, and program templates. The electric utility must 
[shall] file any standardized materials, or any change to it, with the 
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commission at least 60 days prior to its use. In filing such materials, 
the utility must[shall] provide an explanation of changes from the ver-
sion of the materials that was previously used. For standard offer, mar-
ket transformation, and self-delivered programs, the utility must [shall] 
provide relevant documents to retail electric providers and energy ef-
ficiency service providers and work collaboratively with them when it 
changes program documents, to the extent that such changes are not 
considered in the energy efficiency implementation project described 
in subsection (q) of this section. 

(5) Each electric utility in an area in which customer choice 
is offered must [shall] conduct programs to encourage and facilitate the 
participation of retail electric providers and energy efficiency service 
providers in the delivery of efficiency and demand response programs, 
including: 

(A) Coordinating program rules, contracts, and 
program incentives to facilitate the statewide marketing and delivery 
of the same or similar programs by retail electric providers; 

(B) - (C) (No change.) 

(h) Standard offer programs. A utility's standard offer program 
must [shall] be implemented through program rules and standard offer 
contracts that are consistent with this section. Standard offer contracts 
will be available to any energy efficiency service provider that satis-
fies the contract requirements prescribed by the utility under this sec-
tion and demonstrates that it is capable of managing energy efficiency 
projects under an electric utility's energy efficiency program. 

(i) Market transformation programs. Market transformation 
programs are strategic efforts, including, but not limited to, program 
incentives and education designed to reduce market barriers for energy 
efficient technologies and practices. Market transformation programs 
may be designed to obtain energy savings or peak demand reductions 
beyond savings that are reasonably expected to be achieved as a re-
sult of current compliance levels with existing building codes applica-
ble to new buildings and equipment efficiency standards or standard 
offer programs. Market transformation programs may also be specifi-
cally designed to express support for early adoption, implementation, 
and enforcement of the most recent version of the International Energy 
Conservation Code for residential or commercial buildings by local ju-
risdictions, express support for more effective implementation and en-
forcement of the state energy code and compliance with the state energy 
code, and encourage utilization of the types of building components, 
products, and services required to comply with such energy codes. The 
existence of federal, state, or local governmental funding for, or en-
couragement to utilize, the types of building components, products, and 
services required to comply with such energy codes does not prevent 
utilities from offering programs to supplement governmental spending 
and encouragement. Utilities should cooperate with the retail electric 
providers, and, where possible, leverage existing industry-recognized 
programs that have the potential to reduce demand and energy con-
sumption in Texas and consider statewide administration where appro-
priate. Market transformation programs may operate over a period of 
more than one year and may demonstrate cost-effectiveness over a pe-
riod longer than one year. 

(j) Self-delivered programs. A utility may use internal or ex-
ternal resources to design, administer, and deliver self-delivered pro-
grams. The programs must [shall] be tailored to the unique characteris-
tics of the utility's service area in order to attract customer and energy 
efficiency service provider participation. The programs must [shall] 
meet the same cost effectiveness requirements as standard offer and 
market transformation programs. 

(k) Requirements for standard offer, market transformation, 
and self-delivered programs. A utility's standard offer, market transfor-

mation, and self-delivered programs must [shall] meet the requirements 
of this subsection. A utility may conduct information and advertising 
campaigns to foster participation in standard offer, market transforma-
tion, and self-delivered programs. 

(1) Standard offer, market transformation, and self-deliv-
ered programs: 

(A) must [shall] describe the eligible customer classes 
and allocate funding among the classes on an equitable basis; 

(B) may offer standard program incentive payments 
and specify a schedule of payments that are sufficient to meet the goals 
of the program, which must [shall] be consistent with this section, 
or any revised payment formula adopted by the commission. The 
program incentive payments may include both payments for energy 
and demand savings, as appropriate; 

(C) must [shall] not permit the provision of any prod-
uct, service, pricing benefit, or alternative terms or conditions to be 
conditioned upon the purchase of any other good or service from the 
utility, except that only customers taking transmission and distribution 
services from a utility can participate in its energy efficiency programs; 

(D) must [shall] provide for a complaint process that 
allows: 

(i) - (ii) (No change.) 

(E) - (F) (No change.) 

(G) may require energy efficiency service providers to 
provide the following: 

(i) a description of how the value of any program 
incentive will be passed on to customers; 

(ii) - (vi) (No change.) 

(2) Standard offer and self-delivered programs: 

(A) must [shall] require energy efficiency service 
providers to identify peak demand and energy savings for each project 
in the proposals they submit to the utility; 

(B) must [shall] be neutral with respect to specific tech-
nologies, equipment, or fuels. Energy efficiency projects may lead to 
switching from electricity to another energy source, provided that the 
energy efficiency project results in overall lower energy costs, lower 
energy consumption, and the installation of high efficiency equipment. 
Utilities may not pay program incentives for a customer to switch from 
gas appliances to electric appliances except in connection with the in-
stallation of high efficiency combined heating and air conditioning sys-
tems; 

(C) must [shall] require that all projects result in a re-
duction in purchased energy consumption, or peak demand, or a reduc-
tion in energy costs for the end-use customer; 

(D) must [shall] encourage comprehensive projects in-
corporating more than one energy efficiency measure; 

(E) must [shall] be limited to projects that result in con-
sistent and predictable energy or peak demand savings over an appro-
priate period of time based on the life of the measure; and 

(F) (No change.) 

(3) A market transformation program must [shall] identify: 

(A) - (D) (No change.) 

(E) a baseline study that is appropriate in time and ge-
ographic region. In establishing a baseline, the study must [shall] con-
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sider the level of regional implementation and enforcement of any ap-
plicable energy code; 

(F) - (H) (No change.) 

(I) the period over which savings must [shall] be con-
sidered to accrue, including a projected date by which the market will 
be sufficiently transformed so that the program should be discontinued. 

(4) A market transformation program must [shall] be de-
signed to achieve energy or peak demand savings, or both, and lasting 
changes in the way energy efficient goods or services are distributed, 
purchased, installed, or used over a defined period of time. A util-
ity must [shall] use fair competitive procedures to select energy effi-
ciency service providers to conduct a market transformation program, 
and must [shall] include in its annual report the justification for the se-
lection of an energy efficiency service provider to conduct a market 
transformation program on a sole-source basis. 

(5) A load-control standard-offer program must [shall] not 
permit an energy efficiency service provider to receive program in-
centives under the program for the same demand reduction benefit for 
which it is compensated under a capacity-based demand response pro-
gram conducted by an independent organization, independent system 
operator, or regional transmission operator. The qualified scheduling 
entity representing an energy efficiency service provider is not prohib-
ited from receiving revenues from energy sold in ERCOT markets in 
addition to any program incentive for demand reduction offered under 
a utility load-control standard offer program. 

(6) Utilities offering load management programs must 
[shall] work with ERCOT and energy efficiency service providers to 
identify eligible loads and must [shall] integrate such loads into the 
ERCOT markets to the extent feasible. Such integration must[shall] 
not preclude the continued operation of utility load management 
programs that cannot be feasibly integrated into the ERCOT markets 
or that continue to provide separate and distinct benefits. 

(l) Energy efficiency plans and reports (EEPR). Each electric 
utility must [shall] file by April 1 of each year an energy efficiency 
plan and report in a project annually designated for this purpose, as 
described in this subsection and §25.183(d) of this title. The plan and 
report must [shall] be filed as a searchable pdf document and in Excel 
format for all included tables, with formulas intact, according to the 
commission's file format standards in §22.72 of this title (relating to 
Formal Requisites of Pleadings and Documents to be Filed with the 
Commission). The utility's plan and report must include a completed 
attachment based on the commission-prescribed Excel template. 

(1) Each electric utility's energy efficiency plan and report 
must [shall] describe how the utility intends to achieve the goals set 
forth in this section and comply with the other requirements of this 
section. The plan and report must [shall] be based on program years. 
The plan and report must [shall] propose an annual budget sufficient to 
reach the goals specified in this section. 

(2) Each electric utility's plan and report must [shall] in-
clude: 

(A) - (H) (No change.) 

(I) the proposed annual budget required to implement 
the utility's energy efficiency programs, broken out by program for 
each customer class, including hard-to-reach customers, and any set-
asides or budget restrictions adopted or proposed in accordance with 
this section. The proposed budget must [shall] detail the program in-
centive payments and utility administrative costs, including specific 
items for research and information and outreach to energy efficiency 

service providers, and other major administrative costs, and the basis 
for estimating the proposed expenditures; 

(J) - (N) (No change.) 

(O) expenditures for the prior five years for energy and 
demand program incentive payments and program administration, by 
program and customer class; 

(P) - (U) (No change.) 

(V) a description of new or discontinued programs, in-
cluding pilot programs that are planned to be continued as full pro-
grams. For programs that are to be introduced or pilot programs that 
are to be continued as full programs, the description must [shall] in-
clude the budget and projected demand and energy savings; 

(W) - (X) (No change.) 

(m) No change.) 

(n) Inspection, measurement and verification. Each standard 
offer, market transformation, and self-delivered program must [shall] 
include use of an industry-accepted evaluation or [and/or] measure-
ment and verification protocol, such as the International Performance 
Measurement and Verification Protocol or a protocol approved by the 
commission, to document and verify energy and peak demand savings 
to ensure that the goals of this section are achieved. A utility must 
[shall] not provide an energy efficiency service provider final compen-
sation until the provider establishes that the work is complete and eval-
uation or [and/or] measurement and verification in accordance with the 
protocol verifies that the savings will be achieved. However, a utility 
may provide an energy efficiency service provider that offers behav-
ioral programs incremental compensation as work is performed. If in-
spection of one or more measures is a part of the protocol, a utility must 
[shall] not provide an energy efficiency service provider final compen-
sation until the utility has conducted its inspection on at least a sample 
of measures and the inspections confirm that the work has been done. 
A utility must [shall] provide inspection reports to commission staff 
within 20 days of staff's request. 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) Where installed measures are employed, an energy effi-
ciency service provider must [shall] verify that the measures contracted 
for were installed before final payment is made to the energy efficiency 
service provider, by obtaining the customer's signature certifying that 
the measures were installed, or by other reasonably reliable means ap-
proved by the utility. 

(4) For projects involving over 30 installations, a statisti-
cally significant sample of installations will be subject to on-site in-
spection in accordance with the protocol for the project to verify that 
measures are installed and capable of performing their intended func-
tion. Inspection must [shall] occur within 30 days of notification of 
measure installation. 

(5) Projects of less than 30 installations may be aggregated 
and a statistically significant sample of the aggregate installations will 
be subject to on-site inspection in accordance with the protocol for the 
projects to ensure that measures are installed and capable of performing 
their intended function. Inspection must [shall] occur within 30 days 
of notification of measure installation. 

(6) (No change.) 

(o) Evaluation, measurement, and verification (EM&V). 
The following defines the evaluation, measurement, and verification 
(EM&V) framework. The goal of this framework is to ensure that 
the programs are evaluated, measured, and verified using a consistent 
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process that allows for accurate estimation of energy and demand 
impacts. 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) The commission must [shall] select an entity to act as 
the commission's EM&V contractor and conduct evaluation activities. 
The EM&V contractor must [shall] operate under the commission's su-
pervision and oversight, and the EM&V contractor must [shall] offer 
independent analysis to the commission in order to assist in making 
decisions in the public interest. 

(A) (No change.) 

(B) The EM&V contractor must [shall] have the author-
ity to request data it considers necessary to fulfill its evaluation, mea-
surements, and verification responsibilities from the utilities. A utility 
must [shall] make good faith efforts to provide complete, accurate, and 
timely responses to all EM&V contractor requests for documents, data, 
information and other materials. The commission may on its own voli-
tion or upon recommendation by staff require that a utility provide the 
EM&V contractor with specific information. 

(4) Evaluation activities will be conducted by the EM&V 
contractor to meet the evaluation objectives defined in this section. Ac-
tivities must [shall] include, but are not limited to: 

(A) - (C) (No change.) 

(5) (No change.) 

(6) The following apply to the development of a statewide 
TRM by the EM&V contractor. 

(A) The EM&V contractor must [shall] use existing 
Texas, or other state, deemed savings manual(s), protocols, and 
the work papers used to develop the values in the manual(s), as a 
foundation for developing the TRM. The TRM must [shall] include 
applicability requirements for each deemed savings value or deemed 
savings calculation. The TRM may also include standardized EM&V 
protocols for determining or [and/or] verifying energy and demand 
savings for particular measures or programs. Utilities may apply TRM 
deemed savings values or deemed savings calculations to a measure 
or program if the applicability criteria are met. 

(B) The TRM must [shall] be reviewed by the EM&V 
contractor at least annually, under a schedule determined by commis-
sion staff, with the intention of preparing an updated TRM, if needed. 
In addition, any utility or other stakeholder may request additions to 
or modifications to the TRM at any time with the provision of docu-
mentation for the basis of such an addition or modification. At the dis-
cretion of commission staff, the EM&V contractor may review such 
documentation to prepare a recommendation with respect to the addi-
tion or modification. 

(C) Commission staff must [shall] approve any updated 
TRMs through the energy efficiency implementation project. The ap-
proval process for any TRM additions or modifications, not made dur-
ing the regular review schedule determined by commission staff, must 
[shall] include a review by commission staff to determine if an addition 
or modification is appropriate before an annual update. TRM changes 
approved by staff may be challenged only by the filing of a petition 
within 45 days of the date that staff's approval is filed in the commis-
sion's central records under the control number for the energy efficiency 
implementation project described by subsection (d)(2)(A) of this sec-
tion. The petition must clearly describe the reasons commission staff 
should not have approved the TRM changes, include supporting data 
and calculations, and state the relief sought. 

(D) Any changes to the TRM must [shall] be applied 
prospectively to programs offered in the appropriate program year. 

(E) The TRM must [shall] be publicly available. 

(F) Utilities must [shall] utilize the values contained in 
the TRM, unless the commission indicates otherwise. 

(7) The utilities must [shall] prepare projected savings es-
timates and claimed savings estimates. The utilities must [shall] con-
duct their own EM&V activities for purposes such as confirming any 
program incentive payments to customers or contractors and preparing 
documentation for internal and external reporting, including providing 
documentation to the EM&V contractor. The EM&V contractor must 
[shall] prepare evaluated savings for preparation of its evaluation re-
ports and a realization rate comparing evaluated savings with projected 
savings estimates or [and/or] claimed savings estimates. 

(8) Baselines for preparation of TRM deemed savings val-
ues or deemed savings calculations or for other evaluation activities 
must [shall] be defined by the EM&V contractor and commission staff 
must [shall] review and approve them. When common practice base-
lines are defined for determining gross energy or [and/or] demand sav-
ings for a measure or program, common practice may be documented 
by market studies. Baselines must [shall] be defined by measure cate-
gory as follows (deviations from these specifications may be made with 
justification and approval of commission staff): 

(A) - (D) (No change.) 

(9) (No change.) 

(10) The utilities must [shall] be assigned the EM&V costs 
in proportion to their annual program costs and must [shall] pay the 
invoices approved by the commission. The commission must [shall] 
at least biennially review the EM&V contractor's costs and establish a 
budget for its services sufficient to pay for those services that it deter-
mines are economic and beneficial to be performed. 

(A) The funding of the EM&V contractor must [shall] 
be sufficient to ensure the selection of an EM&V contractor in accor-
dance with the scope of EM&V activities outlined in this subsection. 

(B) EM&V costs must [shall] be itemized in the util-
ities' annual reports to the commission as a separate line item. The 
EM&V costs must [shall] not count against the utility's cost caps or ad-
ministration spending caps. 

(11) For the purpose of analysis, the utility must [shall] 
grant the EM&V contractor access to data maintained in the utilities' 
data tracking systems, including, but not limited to, the following pro-
prietary customer information: customer identifying information, indi-
vidual customer contracts, and load and usage data in accordance with 
§25.272(g)(1)(A) of this title (relating to Code of Conduct for Electric 
Utilities and Their Affiliates). Such information must [shall] be treated 
as confidential information. 

(A) The utility must [shall] maintain records for three 
years that include the date, time, and nature of proprietary customer 
information released to the EM&V contractor. 

(B) The EM&V contractor must [shall] aggregate data 
in such a way as to protect customer, retail electric provider, and energy 
efficiency service provider proprietary information in any non-confi-
dential reports or filings the EM&V contractor prepares. 

(C) The EM&V contractor must [shall] not utilize data 
provided or received under commission authority for any purposes out-
side the authorized scope of work the EM&V contractor performs for 
the commission. 
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(D) The EM&V contractor providing services under 
this section must [shall] not release any information it receives related 
to the work performed unless directed to do so by the commission. 

(p) Targeted low-income energy efficiency program. Each un-
bundled transmission and distribution utility must [shall] include in its 
energy efficiency plan a targeted low-income energy efficiency pro-
gram. A utility in an area in which customer choice is not offered may 
include in its energy efficiency plan a targeted low-income energy ef-
ficiency program that utilizes the cost-effectiveness methodology pro-
vided in paragraph (2) of this subsection. Savings achieved by the pro-
gram must [shall] count toward the utility's energy efficiency goal. 

(1) Each utility must [shall] ensure that annual expendi-
tures for the targeted low-income energy efficiency program are not 
less than 10% of the utility's energy efficiency budget for the program 
year. 

(2) The utility's targeted low-income program must [shall] 
incorporate a whole-house assessment that will evaluate all applicable 
energy efficiency measures for which there are commission-approved 
deemed savings. The cost-effectiveness of measures eligible to be in-
stalled and the overall program must [shall] be evaluated using the Sav-
ings-to-Investment ratio (SIR). 

(3) Any funds that are not obligated after July of a program 
year may be made available for use in the hard-to-reach program. 

(q) Energy Efficiency Implementation Project - EEIP. The 
commission will [shall] use the EEIP to develop best practices in 
standard offer market transformation, self-directed, pilot, or other pro-
grams, modifications to programs, standardized forms and procedures, 
protocols, deemed savings estimates, program templates, and the 
overall direction of the energy efficiency program established by this 
section. Utilities must [shall] provide timely responses to questions 
posed by other participants relevant to the tasks of the EEIP. Any 
recommendations from the EEIP process must [shall] relate to future 
years as described in this subsection. 

(1) The following functions may also be undertaken in the 
EEIP: 

(A) - (D) (No change.) 

(E) review of and recommendations on program incen-
tive payment levels and their adequacy to induce the desired level of 
participation by energy efficiency service providers and customers; 

(F) - (I) (No change.) 

(2) The EEIP projects must [shall] be conducted by com-
mission staff. The commission's EM&V contractor's reports must 
[shall] be filed in the project at a date determined by commission staff. 

(3) A utility that intends to launch a program that is sub-
stantially different from other programs previously implemented by 
any utility affected by this section must [shall] file a program template 
and must [shall] provide notice of such to EEIP participants. Notice 
to EEIP participants need not be provided if a program description or 
program template for the new program is provided through the utility's 
annual energy efficiency report. Following the first year in which a 
program was implemented, the utility must [shall] include the program 
results in the utility's annual energy efficiency report. 

(4) Participants in the EEIP may submit comments and re-
ply comments in the EEIP on dates established by commission staff. 

(5) Any new programs or program redesigns must [shall] 
be submitted to the commission in a petition in a separate proceeding. 
The approved changes must [shall] be available for use in the utilities' 
next EEPR and EECRF filings. If the changes are not approved by 

the commission by November 1 in a particular year, the first time that 
the changes must [shall] be available for use is the second EEPR and 
EECRF filings made after commission approval. 

(6) Any interested entity that participates in the EEIP may 
file a petition to the commission for consideration regarding changes 
to programs. 

(r) Retail providers. Each utility in an area in which customer 
choice is offered must [shall] conduct outreach and information pro-
grams and otherwise use its best efforts to encourage and facilitate 
the involvement of retail electric providers as energy efficiency service 
companies in the delivery of efficiency and demand response programs. 

(s) Customer protection. Each energy efficiency service 
provider that provides energy efficiency services to end-use customers 
under this section must [shall] provide the disclosures and include 
the contractual provisions required by this subsection, except for 
commercial customers with a peak load exceeding 50 kW. Paragraph 
(1) of this subsection does not apply to behavioral energy efficiency 
programs that do not require a contract with a customer. 

(1) Clear disclosure to the customer must [shall] be made 
of the following: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) the fact that program incentives are made available 
to the energy efficiency services provider through a program funded 
by utility customers, manufacturers or other entities and the amount of 
any program incentives provided by the utility; 

(D) the amount of any program incentives that will be 
provided to the customer; 

(E) - (I) (No change.) 

(J) a description of the complaint procedure established 
by the utility under this section, and toll-free [toll free] numbers for the 
Consumer [Customer] Protection Division of the Public Utility Com-
mission of Texas, and the Office of Attorney General's Consumer Pro-
tection Hotline. 

(2) The energy efficiency service provider's contract with 
the customer, where such a contract is employed, must [shall] include: 

(A) - (D) (No change.) 

(3) When an energy efficiency service provider completes 
the installation of measures for a customer, it must [shall] provide the 
customer an "All Bills Paid" affidavit to protect against claims of sub-
contractors. 

(t) Grandfathered programs. An electric utility that offered a 
load management standard offer program for industrial customers prior 
to May 1, 2007 must [shall] continue to make the program available, 
at 2007 funding and participation levels, and may include additional 
customers in the program to maintain these funding and participation 
levels. 

(u) Industrial customer opt-out. [Identification notice.] An 
industrial customer taking electric service at distribution voltage may 
submit a notice identifying the distribution accounts for which it quali-
fies under subsection (c)(20) [(c)(30)] of this section. The identification 
notice must [shall] be submitted directly to the customer's utility. An 
identification notice submitted under this section must be renewed ev-
ery three years. Each identification notice must include the name of 
the industrial customer, a copy of the customer's Texas Sales and Use 
Tax Exemption Certification (under Tax Code §151.317), a descrip-
tion of the industrial process taking place at the consuming facilities, 
and the customer's applicable account number(s) or ESID number(s). 
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The identification notice is limited solely to the metered point of de-
livery of the industrial process taking place at the consuming facilities. 
The account number(s) or ESID number(s) identified by the industrial 
customer under this section must [shall] not be charged for any costs 
associated with programs provided under this section, including any 
shareholder bonus awarded; nor must [shall] the identified facilities 
be eligible to participate in utility-administered energy efficiency pro-
grams during the term. Notices must [shall] be submitted not later than 
February 1 to be effective for the following program year. A utility's 
demand reduction goal must [shall] be adjusted to remove any load that 
is lost as a result of this subsection. 

(v) (No change.) 

§25.182. Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Factor. 
(a) Purpose. The purpose of this section is to implement Public 

Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) §39.905 and establish: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) a [an] utility incentive to reward an electric utility that 
exceeds its demand and energy reduction goals under the requirements 
of §25.181 of this title at a cost that does not exceed the cost caps 
established in subsection (d)(7) of this section. 

(b) (No change.) 

(c) Definitions. The definitions provided in §25.181(c) of this 
title [shall] also apply in this section. The following terms, when used 
in this section, [shall] have the following meaning unless the context 
indicates otherwise: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(d) Cost recovery. A utility must [shall] establish an EECRF 
that complies with this subsection to timely recover the reasonable 
costs of providing a portfolio of cost-effective energy efficiency pro-
grams under §25.181 of this title. Each utility must file its application 
according to the commission's file format standards in §22.72 of this 
title (relating to Formal Requisites of Pleadings and Documents to be 
Filed with the Commission). 

(1) The EECRF must [shall] be calculated based on the fol-
lowing: 

(A) The utility's forecasted annual energy efficiency 
program expenditures, the preceding year's over- or under-recovery 
including interest and municipal and utility EECRF proceeding 
expenses, any utility incentive [performance] bonus earned under 
subsection (e) of this section, and evaluation, measurement, and 
verification (EM&V) contractor costs allocated to the utility by the 
commission for the preceding year under §25.181 of this title. 

(B) (No change.) 

(2) The commission may approve an EECRF for each eli-
gible rate class. The costs must [shall] be directly assigned to each rate 
class that received services under the programs to the maximum extent 
reasonably possible. In its EECRF proceeding, a utility may request a 
good cause exception to combine one or more rate classes, each con-
taining fewer than 20 customers, with a similar rate class that received 
services under the same energy efficiency programs in the preceding 
year. For each rate class, the under- or over-recovery of the energy 
efficiency costs must [shall] be the difference between actual EECRF 
revenues and actual costs for that class that comply with paragraph (12) 
of this subsection, including interest applied on such over- or under-re-
covery calculated by rate class and compounded on an annual basis for 
a two-year period using the annual interest rates authorized by the com-
mission for over- and under-billing for the year in which the over- or 
under-recovery occurred and the immediately subsequent year. Where 

a utility collects energy efficiency costs in its base rates, actual energy 
efficiency revenues collected from base rates consist of the amount of 
energy efficiency costs expressly included in base rates, adjusted to 
account for changes in billing determinants from the test year billing 
determinants used to set rates in the last base rate proceeding. 

(3) A proceeding conducted under this subsection is a 
ratemaking proceeding for purposes of PURA §33.023 and §36.061. 
EECRF proceeding expenses must [shall] be included in the EECRF 
calculated under paragraph (1) of this subsection as follows: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(4) Base rates must [shall] not be set to recover energy ef-
ficiency costs. 

(5) If a utility recovers energy efficiency costs through base 
rates, the EECRF may be changed in a general rate proceeding. If 
a utility is not recovering energy efficiency costs through base rates, 
the EECRF may be adjusted only in an EECRF proceeding under this 
subsection. 

(6) For residential customers and for non-residential rate 
classes whose base rates do not provide for demand charges, the 
EECRF rates must [shall] be designed to provide only for energy 
charges. For non-residential rate classes whose base rates provide for 
demand charges, the EECRF rates must [shall] provide for energy 
charges or demand charges, but not both. Any EECRF demand charge 
must [shall] not be billed using a demand ratchet mechanism. 

(7) The total EECRF costs outlined in paragraph (1) of this 
subsection, excluding EM&V costs, excluding municipal EECRF pro-
ceeding expenses, and excluding any interest amounts applied to over-
or under-recoveries, must [shall] not exceed the amounts prescribed in 
this paragraph unless a good cause exception filed under §25.181(e)(2) 
of this title is granted. The residential and commercial cost caps must 
be calculated to be the prior period's cost caps increased or decreased 
by a rate equal to the most recently available calendar year's percentage 
change in the South urban CPI, as determined by the Federal Bureau 
of Labor Statistics. 

[(A) For residential customers for program year 2018, 
$0.001263 per kWh increased or decreased by a rate equal to the 2016 
calendar year's percentage change in the South urban consumer price 
index (CPI), as determined by the Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics; 
and] 

[(B) For commercial customers for program year 2018, 
rates designed to recover revenues equal to $0.000790 per kWh in-
creased or decreased by a rate equal to the 2016 calendar year's per-
centage change in the South urban CPI, as determined by the Federal 
Bureau of Labor Statistics times the aggregate of all eligible commer-
cial customers' kWh consumption.] 

[(C) For the 2019 program year and thereafter, the res-
idential and commercial cost caps shall be calculated to be the prior 
period's cost caps increased or decreased by a rate equal to the most re-
cently available calendar year's percentage change in the South urban 
CPI, as determined by the Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics.] 

(8) Not later than May 1 of each year, a utility in an area 
in which customer choice is not offered must [shall] apply to adjust 
its EECRF effective January 1 of the following year. Not later than 
June 1 of each year, a utility in an area in which customer choice is 
offered must [shall] apply to adjust its EECRF effective March 1 of the 
following year. If a utility is in an area in which customer choice is 
offered in some but not all parts of its service area and files one energy 
efficiency plan and report covering all of its service area, the utility 
must [shall] apply to adjust the EECRF not later than May 1 of each 
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year, with the EECRF effective January 1 in the parts of its service area 
in which customer choice is not offered and March 1 in the parts of its 
service area in which customer choice is offered. 

(9) Upon a utility's filing of an application to establish a 
new EECRF or adjust an EECRF, the presiding officer must [shall] set 
a procedural schedule that will enable the commission to issue a final 
order in the proceeding required by subparagraphs (A), (B), and (C) of 
this paragraph as follows: 

(A) For a utility in an area in which customer choice is 
not offered, the presiding officer must [shall] set a procedural schedule 
that will enable the commission to issue a final order in the proceeding 
prior to the January 1 effective date of the new or adjusted EECRF, 
except where good cause supports a different procedural schedule. 

(B) For a utility in an area in which customer choice is 
offered, the effective date of a new or adjusted EECRF must [shall] be 
March 1. The presiding officer must [shall] set a procedural schedule 
that will enable the utility to file an EECRF compliance tariff consis-
tent with the final order within ten days of the date of the final order. 
The procedural schedule must [shall] also provide that the compliance 
filing date will be at least 45 days before the effective date of March 
1. The [In no event shall the] effective date of any new or adjusted 
EECRF must occur at least [less than] 45 days after the utility files a 
compliance tariff consistent with a final order approving the new or 
adjusted EECRF. The utility must [shall] serve notice of the approved 
rates and the effective date of the approved rates by the working day 
after the utility files a compliance tariff consistent with the final order 
approving the new or adjusted EECRF to retail electric providers that 
are authorized by the registration agent to provide service in the util-
ity's service area. Notice under this subparagraph may be served by 
email. The procedural schedule may be extended for good cause, but 
[in no event shall] the effective date of any new or adjusted EECRF 
must occur at least [less than] 45 days after the utility files a compli-
ance tariff consistent with a final order approving the new or adjusted 
EECRF.[, and in no event shall] The [the] utility may not serve notice 
of the approved rates and the effective date of the approved rates to 
retail electric providers that are authorized by the registration agent to 
provide service in the utility's service area more than one working day 
after the utility files the compliance tariff. 

(C) For a utility in an area in which customer choice is 
offered in some but not all parts of its service area and that files one 
energy efficiency plan and report covering all of its service area, the 
presiding officer must [shall] set a procedural schedule that will en-
able the commission to issue a final order in the proceeding prior to 
the January 1 effective date of the new or adjusted EECRF for the ar-
eas in which customer choice is not offered, except where good cause 
supports a different schedule. For areas in which customer choice is of-
fered, the effective date of the new or adjusted EECRF must [shall] be 
March 1. The presiding officer must [shall] set a procedural schedule 
that will enable the utility to file an EECRF compliance tariff consis-
tent with the final order within ten days of the date of the final order. 
The procedural schedule must [shall] also provide that the compliance 
filing date will be at least 45 days before the effective date of March 
1. The [In no event shall the] effective date of any new or adjusted 
EECRF must occur at least [less than] 45 days after the utility files a 
compliance tariff consistent with a final order approving the new or 
adjusted EECRF. The utility must [shall] serve notice of the approved 
rates and the effective date of the approved rates by the working day 
after the utility files a compliance tariff consistent with the final order 
approving the new or adjusted EECRF to retail electric providers that 
are authorized by the registration agent to provide service in the utility's 
service area. Notice under this subparagraph of this paragraph may be 
served by email. The procedural schedule may be extended for good 

cause, but [in no event shall] the effective date of any new or adjusted 
EECRF must occur at least [less than] 45 days after the utility files a 
compliance tariff consistent with a final order approving the new or ad-
justed EECRF.[, and in no event shall] The [the] utility may not serve 
notice of the approved rates and the effective date of the approved rates 
to retail electric providers that are authorized by the registration agent 
to provide service in the utility's service area more than one working 
day after the utility files the compliance tariff. 

(D) If no hearing is requested within 30 days of the fil-
ing of the application, the presiding officer must [shall] set a procedural 
schedule that will enable the commission to issue a final order in the 
proceeding within 90 days after a sufficient application was filed; or 

(E) If a hearing is requested within 30 days of the filing 
of the application, the presiding officer must [shall] set a procedural 
schedule that will enable the commission to issue a final order in the 
proceeding within 180 days after a sufficient application was filed. If 
a hearing is requested, the hearing will be held no earlier than the first 
working day after the 45th day after a sufficient application is filed. 

(10) A utility's application to establish or adjust an EECRF 
must [shall] include the utility's most recent energy efficiency plan and 
report, consistent with §25.181(l) and §25.183(d) of this title, as well as 
testimony and schedules, in Excel format with formulas intact, showing 
the following, by rate class, for the prior program year and the program 
year for which the proposed EECRF will be collected as appropriate: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) a calculation showing whether the utility qualifies 
for a [an] utility incentive [energy efficiency performance bonus] and 
the amount that it calculates to have earned for the prior year; 

(D) - (G) (No change.) 

(H) the program incentive payments by the utility, 
by program, including a list of each energy efficiency administrator 
or [and/or] service provider receiving more than 5% of the utility's 
overall program incentive payments and the percentage of the utility's 
program incentives received by those providers. Such information 
may be treated as confidential; 

(I) - (M) (No change.) 

(11) The following factors must be included in the applica-
tion, as applicable, to support the recovery of energy efficiency costs 
under this subsection. 

(A) - (I) (No change.) 

(J) the utility has set its program incentive payments 
with the objective of achieving its energy and demand goals under 
§25.181 of this title at the lowest reasonable cost per program. 

(12) The scope of an EECRF proceeding includes the ex-
tent to which the costs recovered through the EECRF complied with 
PURA §39.905, this section, and §25.181 of this title; the extent to 
which the costs recovered were reasonable and necessary to reduce de-
mand and energy growth; and a determination of whether the costs to 
be recovered through an EECRF are reasonable estimates of the costs 
necessary to provide energy efficiency programs and to meet or exceed 
the utility's energy efficiency goals. The proceeding will [shall] not in-
clude a review of program design to the extent that the programs com-
plied with the energy efficiency implementation project (EEIP) process 
defined in §25.181(q) of this title. The commission will [shall] not al-
low recovery of expenses that are designated as non-recoverable under 
§25.231(b)(2) of this title (relating to Cost of Service). 

(13) (No change.) 
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(14) The utility must [shall] file an affidavit attesting to the 
completion of notice within 14 days after the application is filed. 

(15) (No change.) 

(e) Utility incentive [Energy efficiency performance bonus]. 
To receive a utility incentive, a [A] utility must exceed [that exceeds] 
its demand and energy reduction goals established in §25.181 of this 
title at a cost that does not exceed the cost caps established in sub-
section (d)(7) of this section [shall be awarded a performance bonus 
calculated in accordance with this subsection]. The utility incentive 
must [performance bonus shall] be based on the utility's energy effi-
ciency achievements for the previous program year. The utility incen-
tive [bonus] calculation must [shall] not include demand or energy sav-
ings that result from programs other than programs implemented under 
§25.181 of this title. 

(1) The utility incentive allows a [performance bonus shall 
entitle the] utility to receive a share of the net benefits realized in ex-
ceeding [meeting] its demand reduction goal established according to 
[in] §25.181 of this title. 

(2) Net benefits are [shall be] calculated as the sum of to-
tal avoided cost associated with the eligible programs administered by 
the utility minus the sum of all program costs. Program costs [shall] in-
clude the cost of program incentives, incurred EM&V contractor costs, 
any utility incentive [shareholder bonus] awarded to the utility, and ac-
tual or allocated research and development and administrative costs, 
but do [shall] not include any interest amounts applied to over- or un-
der-recoveries. Total avoided costs and program costs must [shall] be 
calculated in accordance with this section and §25.181 of this title. 

(3) A utility that exceeds 100% of its demand and energy 
reduction goals may [shall] receive a utility incentive [bonus] equal to 
1% of the net benefits for every 2% that the demand reduction goal 
has been exceeded, with a maximum of 5% [10%] of the utility's total 
net benefits. The commission may further limit the maximum utility 
incentive a utility may receive for good cause. 

(4) The commission may reduce the utility incentive 
[bonus] otherwise permitted under this subsection for a utility with a 
lower goal, higher administrative spending cap, or higher EECRF cost 
cap established by the commission under §25.181(e)(2) of this title. 
The utility incentive will [bonus shall] be considered in the EECRF 
proceeding in which the utility incentive [bonus] is requested. 

(5) In calculating net benefits to determine a utility incen-
tive [performance bonus], a discount rate equal to the utility's weighted 
average cost of capital of the utility and an escalation rate of 2% must 
[shall] be used. The utility must [shall] provide documentation for the 
net benefits calculation, including, but not limited to, the weighted av-
erage cost of capital, useful life of equipment or measure, and quantity 
of each measure implemented. 

(6) The utility incentive [bonus] must [shall] be allocated 
in proportion to the program costs associated with meeting the demand 
and energy goals under §25.181 of this title and allocated to eligible 
customers on a rate class basis. 

(7) A utility incentive [bonus] earned under this section 
must [shall] not be included in the utility's revenues or net income for 
the purpose of establishing a utility's rates or commission assessment 
of its earnings. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 

TRD-202503057 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. INFRASTRUCTURE AND 
RELIABILITY 
16 TAC §25.53 

The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes 
amendments to 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.53, 
relating to Electric Service Emergency Operations Plans. The 
scope of this rulemaking proceeding is limited to the amend-
ments included in this proposal, the executive summary template 
attached to the copy of this order filed on the commission's web-
site, and other changes that are reasonably related to the pro-
posed amendments. 
The amended rule would require entities with Emergency Op-
erations Plans (EOPs) to comply with an executive summary 
template, include a comprehensive list of assets in their execu-
tive summaries, file flood annexes for transmission and distribu-
tion facilities and generation resources, file annexes in their en-
tirety, and comprehensively re-file their EOPs every three years. 
The amended rule additionally would clarify how EOPs should 
be made available to commission staff and makes other minor 
changes. 
Growth Impact Statement 
The agency provides the following governmental growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
(1) the proposed rule will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
(4) the proposed rule will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
(5) the proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 
(6) the proposed rule will expand an existing regulation; 
(7) the proposed rule will not change the number of individuals 
subject to the rule's applicability; and 

(8) the proposed rule will not affect this state's economy. 
Fiscal Impact on Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Com-
munities 

There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities as a result of 
implementing the proposed rule. Accordingly, no economic im-
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pact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis is required under 
Texas Government Code §2006.002(c). 
Takings Impact Analysis 

The commission has determined that the proposed rule will not 
be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the 
Texas Government Code. 
Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government 
Sherryhan Ghanem, Engineering Specialist, Infrastructure, has 
determined that for the first five-year period the proposed rule 
is in effect, there will be no fiscal implications for the state or 
for units of local government under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(4) as a result of enforcing or administering the sec-
tions. 
Public Benefits 

Ms. Sherryhan Ghanem has determined that for each year of the 
first five years the proposed section is in effect the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will improve the 
commission's ability to evaluate EOPs to assess the ability of the 
grid to withstand extreme weather events and improve consid-
erations for flood risks regarding transmission and generation. 
The rule continues to support improved transparency into the 
ability of the electric grid to withstand extreme weather events 
in the future. There may be an economic cost to some persons 
required to comply with the rule under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(5). These costs are expected to be minor and to 
vary by person. 
Local Employment Impact Statement 
For each year of the first five years the proposed section is in 
effect, there should be no effect on a local economy; therefore, 
no local employment impact statement is required under Texas 
Government Code §2001.022. 
Costs to Regulated Persons 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045(b) does not apply to this 
rulemaking because the commission is expressly excluded un-
der subsection §2001.0045(c)(7). 
Public Hearing 

The commission staff will conduct a public hearing on this rule-
making if requested in accordance with Texas Government Code 
§2001.029. The request for a public hearing must be received 
by October 2, 2025. If a request for public hearing is received, 
commission staff will file in this project a notice of hearing. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may file comments electronically through the 
interchange on the commission's website. Comments must be 
filed by October 2, 2025. Comments should be organized in a 
manner consistent with the organization of the proposed rules. 
The commission invites specific comments regarding the costs 
associated with, and benefits that will be gained by, implemen-
tation of the proposed rule. The commission will consider the 
costs and benefits in deciding whether to modify the proposed 
rules on adoption. All comments should refer to Project Number 
57928. 
To further assist the commission in implementing the provisions 
of H.B. 145 (89th), the commission also requests comments on 
the following issue: 

1. What, if any, changes should the commission make to align 
this rule with proposed §25.60, Transmission and Distribution 
Wildfire Mitigation Plans, currently under consideration in Project 
No. 56789. 
Each set of comments should include a standalone executive 
summary as the last page of the filing. This executive summary 
must be clearly labeled with the submitting entity's name and 
should include a bulleted list covering each substantive recom-
mendation made in the comments. 
Statutory Authority 

The amendment is proposed under Public Utility Regulatory 
Act (PURA) §14.001, which grants the commission the general 
power to regulate and supervise the business of each public 
utility within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically desig-
nated or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient to 
the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; §14.002, which au-
thorizes the commission to adopt and enforce rules reasonably 
required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction The rule is 
also proposed under Tex. Util. Code §186.007, which requires 
the commission to analyze the EOPs developed by electric 
utilities, power generation companies, municipally owned utili-
ties, and electric cooperatives that operate generation facilities 
in this state, and retail electric providers; prepare a weather 
emergency preparedness report; and require entities to submit 
updated EOPs if the EOP on file does not contain adequate in-
formation to determine whether the entity can provide adequate 
electric services. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act 
§14.001 and §14.002; Tex. Util. Code §186.007. 
§25.53. Electric Service Emergency Operations Plans. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) Filing requirements. 

(1) Except as provided by paragraph (3) of this subsection, 
an [An] entity must file an emergency operations plan (EOP) and ex-
ecutive summary under this section by March 15 of every calendar 
year [April 15, 2022]. [Notwithstanding the foregoing, a municipally 
owned utility must provide its EOP and executive summary in the man-
ner prescribed by the commission in this paragraph no later than June 
1, 2022.] Each individual entity is responsible for compliance with 
the requirements of this section. An entity filing a joint EOP or other 
joint document under this section on behalf of one or more entities over 
which it has control is jointly responsible for each entity's compliance 
with the requirements of this section. 

(A) An entity must file with the commission: 

(i) an executive summary that: 

(I) - (II) (No change.) 

(III) includes a comprehensive list of affiliated 
assets and facilities for PGCs that are included in the EOP including 
changes in facilities from the previous year such as sale of assets, re-
linquishments, and name changes; [includes the record of distribution 
required under paragraph (4)(A) of this subsection; and] 

(IV) includes the record of distribution required 
under paragraph (4)(A) of this subsection; [contains the affidavit re-
quired under paragraph (4)(C) of this subsection; and] 

(V) contains the affidavit required under para-
graph (4)(C) of this subsection; and 
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(VI) follows the executive summary template 
posted on PUCT website. 

(ii) a complete copy of the EOP with all confidential 
portions removed. 

(B) For an entity with operations within the ERCOT 
[power] region, the entity must submit its unredacted EOP in its en-
tirety to ERCOT. 

(C) ERCOT must designate an unredacted EOP submit-
ted by an entity as Protected Information under the ERCOT Protocols. 

(D) An entity must make its unredacted EOP available 
in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encrypted elec-
tronic method [at a location] designated by commission staff. 

(E) - (G) (No change.) 

(2) A person seeking registration as a PGC or certification 
as a REP must meet the filing requirements under paragraph (1)(A) 
of this subsection at the time it applies for registration or certification 
with the commission and must submit the EOP to ERCOT if it will 
operate in the ERCOT [power] region, no later than ten days after the 
commission approves the person's registration or certification. 

(3) An entity must continuously maintain its EOP in be-
tween the annual updates required under this paragraph. No later than 
March 15 of each calendar year, an [Beginning in 2023, an] entity that 
has previously filed an EOP must submit an [annually] update in accor-
dance with the provisions of this paragraph, except that an entity must 
file its EOP in full in accordance with paragraph (1) of this subsection 
at least once every three calendar years. [information included in its 
EOP no later than March 15 under the following circumstances:] 

(A) An entity that in the previous calendar year made a 
change to its EOP that materially affects how the entity would respond 
to an emergency must: 

(i) file with the commission an executive summary 
that: 

(I) - (II) (No change.) 

(III) includes a comprehensive list of affiliated 
assets and facilities for PGCs that are included in the EOP including 
changes in facilities from the previous year such as sale of assets, relin-
quishments, and name changes; and [includes the record of distribution 
required under paragraph (4)(A) of this subsection; and] 

(IV) includes the record of distribution required 
under paragraph (4)(A) of this subsection; and [contains the affidavit 
required under paragraph (4)(C) of this section;] 

(V) contains the affidavit required under para-
graph (4)(C) of this section; and 

(VI) follows the executive summary template 
posted on PUCT website. 

(ii) file with the commission a complete, revised 
copy of the EOP with all confidential portions removed; and 

(iii) submit to ERCOT its revised unredacted EOP 
in its entirety if the entity operates within the ERCOT [power] region. 

(B) (No change.) 

(C) An entity must update its EOP or other documents 
required under this section if commission staff determines that the en-
tity's EOP or other documents do not contain sufficient information 
to determine whether the entity can provide adequate electric service 
through an emergency. If directed by commission staff, the entity must 

file its revised EOP or other documentation, or a portion thereof, with 
the commission and, for entities with operations in the ERCOT [power] 
region, with ERCOT. 

(D) (No change.) 

(E) An entity must make a revised unredacted EOP 
available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an 
encrypted electronic method [at a location] designated by commission 
staff. 

(F) The requirements for joint and combined filings un-
der paragraph (1) of this subsection apply to revised joint and revised 
combined filings under this paragraph. 

(4) In accordance with the deadlines prescribed by para-
graphs (1) and (3) of this subsection, an entity must also file with the 
commission the following documents: 

(A) - (C) (No change.) 

(5) (No change.) 

(d) Information to be included in the emergency operations 
plan. An entity's EOP must address both common operational func-
tions that are relevant across emergency types and annexes that outline 
the entity's response to specific types of emergencies, including those 
listed in subsection (e) of this section. An EOP may consist of one or 
multiple documents. Each entity's EOP must include the information 
identified below, as applicable. If a provision in this section does not 
apply to an entity, the entity must include in its EOP an explanation of 
why the provision does not apply. 

(1) - (5) (No change.) 

(6) Each relevant annex presented in its full and compre-
hensive version, as detailed in subsection (e) of this section, and other 
annexes applicable to an entity. 

(e) Annexes to be included in the emergency operations plan. 

(1) An electric utility, a transmission and distribution util-
ity, a municipally owned utility, and an electric cooperative [a] must 
include in its EOP for its transmission and distribution facilities the 
following annexes: 

(A) - (G) (No change.) 

(H) A flood annex; [transmission and distribution util-
ity that leases or operates facilities under PURA §39.918(b)(1) or pro-
cures, owns, and operates facilities under PURA §39.918(b)(2) must 
include an annex that details its plan for the use of those facilities;] and 

(I) (No change.) 

(2) A transmission and distribution utility that leases or op-
erates facilities under PURA §39.918(b)(1) or procures, owns, and op-
erates facilities under PURA §39.918(b)(2) must include an annex that 
details its plan for the use of those facilities. 

[(2) An electric cooperative, an electric utility, or a munic-
ipally owned utility that operate a generation resource in Texas; and a 
PGC must include the following annexes for its generation resources 
other than generation resources authorized under PURA §39.918:] 

[(A) A weather emergency annex that includes:] 

[(i) operational plans for responding to a cold or hot 
weather emergency, distinct from the weather preparations required un-
der §25.55 of this title;] 

[(ii) verification of the adequacy and operability of 
fuel switching equipment, if installed; and] 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

[(iii) a checklist for generation resource personnel 
to use during a cold or hot weather emergency response that includes 
lessons learned from past weather emergencies to ensure necessary 
supplies and personnel are available through the weather emergency;] 

[(B) A water shortage annex that addresses supply 
shortages of water used in the generation of electricity;] 

[(C) A restoration of service annex that identifies plans 
intended to restore to service a generation resource that failed to start 
or that tripped offline due to a hazard or threat;] 

[(D) A pandemic and epidemic annex;] 

[(E) A hurricane annex that includes evacuation and 
re-entry procedures if facilities are located within a hurricane evacu-
ation zone, as defined by TDEM;] 

[(F) A cyber security annex;] 

[(G) A physical security incident annex; and] 

[(H) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate 
to the entity's particular circumstances.] 

(3) A PGC or an electric cooperative, an electric utility, or a 
municipally owned utility that operates a generation resource in Texas 
must include the following annexes for its generation resources: 

(A) A weather emergency annex that includes: 

(i) operational plans for responding to a cold or hot 
weather emergency, distinct from the weather preparations required un-
der §25.55 of this title; 

(ii) verification of the adequacy and operability of 
fuel switching equipment, if installed; and 

(iii) a checklist for generation resource personnel to 
use during a cold or hot weather emergency response that includes 
lessons learned from past weather emergencies to ensure necessary 
supplies and personnel are available through the weather emergency; 

(B) A water shortage annex that addresses supply short-
ages of water used in the generation of electricity; 

(C) A restoration of service annex that identifies plans 
intended to restore to service a generation resource that failed to start 
or that tripped offline due to a hazard or threat; 

(D) A pandemic and epidemic annex; 

(E) A hurricane annex that includes evacuation and 
re-entry procedures if facilities are located within a hurricane evacu-
ation zone, as defined by TDEM; 

(F) A cyber security annex; 

(G) A physical security incident annex; 

(H) A flood annex; and 

(I) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to 
the entity's particular circumstances. 

[(3) A REP must include in its EOP the following annexes:] 

[(A) A pandemic and epidemic annex;] 

[(B) A hurricane annex that includes evacuation and 
re-entry procedures if facilities are located within a hurricane evacu-
ation zone, as defined by TDEM;] 

[(C) A cyber security annex;] 

[(D) A physical security incident annex; and] 

[(E) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to 
the entity's particular circumstances.] 

(4) A REP must include in its EOP the following annexes: 

(A) A pandemic and epidemic annex; 

(B) A hurricane annex that includes evacuation and 
re-entry procedures if facilities are located within a hurricane evacu-
ation zone, as defined by TDEM; 

(C) A cyber security annex; 

(D) A physical security incident annex; and 

(E) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to 
the entity's particular circumstances. 

[(4) ERCOT must include the following annexes:] 

[(A) A pandemic and epidemic annex;] 

[(B) A weather emergency annex that addresses ER-
COT's plans to ensure continuous market and grid management op-
erations during weather emergencies, such as tornadoes, wildfires, ex-
treme cold weather, extreme hot weather, and flooding;] 

[(C) A hurricane annex that includes evacuation and 
re-entry procedures if facilities are located within a hurricane evacu-
ation zone, as defined by TDEM;] 

[(D) A cyber security annex;] 

[(E) A physical security incident annex; and] 

[(F) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to 
ERCOT's particular circumstances.] 

(5) ERCOT must include the following annexes: 

(A) A pandemic and epidemic annex; 

(B) A weather emergency annex that addresses ER-
COT's plans to ensure continuous market and grid management 
operations during weather emergencies, such as tornadoes, wildfires, 
extreme cold weather, extreme hot weather, and flooding; 

(C) A hurricane annex that includes evacuation and 
re-entry procedures if facilities are located within a hurricane evacu-
ation zone, as defined by TDEM; 

(D) A cyber security annex; 

(E) A physical security incident annex; and 

(F) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to 
ERCOT's particular circumstances. 

(f) - (g) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 
TRD-202503058 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 
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CHAPTER 25. SUBSTANTIVE RULES 
APPLICABLE TO ELECTRIC SERVICE 
PROVIDERS 
The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes 
new 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.60, relating to 
Transmission and Distribution Wildfire Mitigation Plans, and 
amendments to 16 TAC §25.231, relating to Cost of Service, to 
implement Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) §§38.080 and 
36.064 as established and revised, respectively, by House Bill 
145 during the 89th Regular Texas Legislative Session. 
New §25.60 will require electric utilities, municipally owned utili-
ties, and electric cooperatives that own transmission or distribu-
tion facilities in a wildfire risk area of this state to file and gain 
commission approval of a wildfire mitigation plan. Additionally, 
new §25.60 will provide that electric utilities, municipally owned 
utilities, and electric cooperatives that do not implement a plan 
approved by the commission under this section are subject to 
administrative penalties as provided by Chapter 15 of the Texas 
Utilities Code. 
Amended §25.231 will add additional criteria for the commission 
to consider when approving self-insurance plans of electric util-
ities. Amended §25.231 will also add specific conditions for the 
use of self-insurance reserve funds for damages from a wild-
fire event. The scope of this rulemaking project, with regards to 
§25.231, is limited to the proposed amendments, any additional 
changes reasonably related to the proposed amendments, and 
nonsubstantive changes. 
Growth Impact Statement 
The agency provides the following governmental growth impact 
statement for the proposed rules, as required by Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
(1) the proposed rules will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rules will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
(4) the proposed rules will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
(5) the proposed rules will create a new regulation; 
(6) the proposed rules will expand an existing regulation; 
(7) the proposed rules will not change the number of individuals 
subject to the rule's applicability; and 

(8) the proposed rules will not affect this state's economy. 
Fiscal Impact on Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Com-
munities 

There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities as a result of 
implementing the proposed rules. Accordingly, no economic im-
pact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis is required under 
Texas Government Code §2006.002(c). 

Takings Impact Analysis 

The commission has determined that the proposed rules will not 
be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the 
Texas Government Code. 
Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government 
James Euton, Project Engineer, Infrastructure Division, has de-
termined that for the first five-year period the proposed rules 
are in effect, there will be no fiscal implications for the state 
or for units of local government under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(4) as a result of enforcing or administering the sec-
tions. 
Public Benefits 

Mr. Euton has determined that for each year of the first five years 
the proposed sections are in effect the public benefit anticipated 
as a result of enforcing the section will be reduction in the likeli-
hood and severity of wildfires and impact on the lives and prop-
erties of Texans in high wildfire risk areas. The economic costs 
to persons required to comply with the rule under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.024(a)(5) will vary by person. 
Local Employment Impact Statement 
For each year of the first five years the proposed sections are in 
effect, there should be no effect on a local economy; therefore, 
no local employment impact statement is required under Texas 
Government Code §2001.022. 
Costs to Regulated Persons 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045(b) does not apply to this 
rulemaking because the commission is expressly excluded un-
der subsection §2001.0045(c)(7). 
Public Hearing 

The commission staff will conduct a public hearing on this rule-
making if requested in accordance with Texas Government Code 
§2001.029. The request for a public hearing must be received by 
September 24, 2025. If a request for public hearing is received, 
commission staff will file in this project a notice of hearing. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may file comments electronically through the 
interchange on the commission's website. Comments must be 
filed by September 24, 2025. Comments should be organized in 
a manner consistent with the organization of the proposed rules. 
The commission invites specific comments regarding the costs 
associated with, and benefits that will be gained by, implemen-
tation of the proposed rule. The commission will consider the 
costs and benefits in deciding whether to modify the proposed 
rules on adoption. All comments should refer to Project Number 
56789. 
Each set of comments should include a standalone executive 
summary as the last page of the filing. This executive summary 
must be clearly labeled with the submitting entity's name and 
should include a bulleted list covering each substantive recom-
mendation made in the comments. 
SUBCHAPTER C. INFRASTRUCTURE AND 
RELIABILITY 
16 TAC §25.60 

Statutory Authority 

PROPOSED RULES September 5, 2025 50 TexReg 5853 



The new rule and amendment are proposed under Public Util-
ity Regulatory Act (PURA) §§ 14.001, which grants the commis-
sion the general power to regulate and supervise the business of 
each public utility within its jurisdiction and to do anything specif-
ically designated or implied by this title that is necessary and 
convenient to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; 14.002, 
which authorizes the commission to adopt and enforce rules rea-
sonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; 
36.064, which authorizes the commission to evaluate and ap-
prove electric utility self-insurance plans; and 38.080, which au-
thorizes the commission to evaluate and approve, modify, or re-
ject wildfire mitigation plans filed by electric utilities, municipally 
owned utilities, or electric cooperatives that own transmission or 
distribution facilities in a wildfire risk area of this state. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act §§ 
14.001; 14.002; 36.064; and 38.080. 
§25.60. Transmission and Distribution Wildfire Mitigation Plans. 

(a) Application. This section applies to an electric utility, mu-
nicipally owned utility, and electric cooperative that owns a transmis-
sion or distribution facility in this state. 

(b) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this sec-
tion, have the following meanings unless the context indicates other-
wise. 

(1) Entity--an electric utility, a municipally owned utility, 
or an electric cooperative operating in this state. 

(2) Wildfire--any fire occurring on wildland or in a place 
where urban areas and rural areas meet. The term does not include a 
fire that constitutes controlled burning within the meaning of Section 
28.01, Penal Code. 

(3) Wildfire risk area--an area determined to be at an ele-
vated risk for wildfire by the Texas Division of Emergency Manage-
ment (TDEM) or an entity that owns transmission or distribution facil-
ities within that area. An area that is determined to be a wildfire risk 
area by an entity that owns transmission or distribution facilities within 
that area is only considered to be a wildfire risk area under this section 
with respect to the entity that made the designation. 

(c) Required filings and filing schedules. 

(1) Entities responsible for filing. An entity that owns a 
transmission or distribution facility in a wildfire risk area of this state 
must comply with the filing requirements of this section. 

(A) If the owner and operator of a transmission or dis-
tribution facility are different entities, the owner may authorize the op-
erator of the facility to file an application for approval of a wildfire 
mitigation plan or other filings required under this section on behalf of 
the owner. An owner that authorizes an operator to make filings on its 
behalf retains responsibility for compliance with the requirements of 
this section. 

(B) An entity may file a joint application for approval of 
a joint wildfire mitigation plan and other filings required under this sec-
tion on behalf of itself and one or more other entities provided that the 
joint plan satisfies the requirements of this section for each entity as if 
the entity had filed a separate plan, and the executive summary required 
under subsection (e)(1)(A) of this section identifies which sections of 
the joint plan apply to each entity. Each individual entity is responsible 
for compliance with the requirements of this section. 

(2) Wildfire mitigation plans. An entity that owns a trans-
mission or distribution facility in a wildfire risk area of this state must 
implement and continuously maintain a commission-approved wild-
fire mitigation plan. The entity must request commission approval of 

its plan as required by this paragraph by filing an application in accor-
dance with subsection (e) of this section. 

(A) Initial wildfire mitigation plan. An entity must file 
an application for approval of a wildfire mitigation plan after an area 
in which the entity owns transmission or distribution facilities is deter-
mined to be a wildfire risk area. 

(B) Changes to an approved plan. 

(i) An entity with a plan approved by the commis-
sion must continuously maintain and improve its plan in between re-
quired filings. 

(ii) An entity may make immaterial changes to a 
plan approved by the commission without voiding its approval. 

(iii) An entity that makes material changes to a plan 
approved by the commission must file an application to reobtain com-
mission approval of its plan. A material change is one that will impact 
how an entity will monitor, respond to, or mitigate the risk of wild-
fires. An application filed under this clause should describe the mate-
rial changes made to the plan. 

(C) Updated Plan. An entity must file an application to 
reobtain commission approval of its wildfire mitigation plan not later 
than three years after the date of approval of its most recently approved 
plan. 

(D) Application timing. An entity that is required to file 
an application under this section must file the application as soon as 
practicable, except as provided by clauses (i) and (ii) of this subpara-
graph. 

(i) Prior to May 1, 2026, an entity must not file an 
application unless the filing is scheduled by the commission under para-
graph (4) of this subsection. 

(ii) After May 1, 2026, an entity may file an appli-
cation on its estimated filing date, as provided by the entity's notice 
of intent under subsection (d) of this section, unless the commission 
schedules the filing for a different date under paragraph (4) of this sub-
section. 

(3) Notice of intent. Before filing an application for com-
mission approval of a wildfire mitigation plan under subsection (f) of 
this section, an entity must file a notice of intent in accordance with 
subsection (d) of this section. 

(A) An entity must file a notice of intent not later than 
60 calendar days prior to the entity's estimated application filing date. 

(B) An entity that files a notice of intent under this sub-
section must file an updated notice of intent not later than 30 calendar 
days prior to the estimated filing date in its original notice, if its up-
dated estimated filing date has changed by more than 30 calendar days. 

(C) An entity that owns facilities in a wildfire risk area 
determined by TDEM should file a notice of intent as soon as practi-
cable to notify the commission that the entity is aware it is required to 
file an application under this section. An entity may file a preliminary, 
incomplete notice of intent for this purpose and file an updated notice 
when practicable. 

(4) Application filing schedules. The commission will use 
notices of intent filed by entities under subsection (d) of this section to 
establish filing schedules for applications, as necessary. 

(A) The commission will establish an initial filing 
schedule for applications, based on notices of intent that were filed by 
entities under subsection (d) of this section prior to March 1, 2026. 

50 TexReg 5854 September 5, 2025 Texas Register 



However, the commission may schedule individual filings prior to this 
initial filing schedule, if practicable. 

(B) The commission may establish, at the recommen-
dation of commission staff or commission counsel, subsequent filing 
schedules for multiple applications or scheduled filing dates for indi-
vidual applications. 

(5) Annual report. An entity with an approved wildfire mit-
igation plan must file an annual status update on its plan by May 1 of 
each year. The annual status update must include information regard-
ing the entity's implementation of its plan. The entity must also either 
indicate that it received approval of a plan in the prior reporting year, 
indicate that it has a pending application for approval of a plan, attest 
that it did not make any material changes in the last year, or file a notice 
of intent to update its plan. 

(6) After-action report. In the event of a wildfire that im-
pacts an entity's transmission or distribution facilities or assets or is 
caused by the entity's transmission or distribution facilities or assets, 
the commission, the executive director of the commission, or a de-
signee of the executive director may require the entity to provide an 
after-action or lessons-learned report and file it with the commission 
by a specified date. 

(d) Notice of intent. An entity's notice of intent to file an ap-
plication for approval of a wildfire mitigation plan must comply with 
this subsection. Commission staff must open a designated project for 
the filing of notices of intent under this section. All notices of intent 
must be filed under this project unless commission staff designates an 
updated method of filing, such as an annual project number or online 
portal. A notice of intent must include: 

(1) An acknowledgment that the entity is required to file an 
application under this section. 

(2) A description of the entity's wildfire risk area(s), and 
whether the area was determined to be a wildfire risk area by TDEM 
or the entity. 

(3) A description of the transmission and distribution facil-
ities the entity owns in its wildfire risk area(s). 

(4) The approximate number of customers served by the 
entity, and the approximate number of transmission and distribution 
customers located in the entity's wildfire risk area(s). 

(5) A statement of the entity's preparedness to file an ap-
plication under this section, including an estimated date that the entity 
will file its application. 

(6) A statement of whether the entity intends to use a pro 
forma plan developed under subsection (g) of this section when assem-
bling its application. 

(7) A statement of whether the entity intends to file a joint 
application with another entity and an explanation for the joint filing. 

(e) Application. An entity's application for approval of a wild-
fire mitigation plan under this section must comply with this subsec-
tion. 

(1) Application contents. An entity's application must in-
clude: 

(A) An executive summary or comprehensive chart that 
includes: 

(i) A description of the contents of the entity's appli-
cation; 

(ii) A reference to specific sections and page num-
bers of the entity's application that correspond with the requirements 
of this paragraph; 

(iii) A description and map of each area of this state 
to which the entity provides transmission or distribution service that is 
in a wildfire risk area and a description of how the entity identified each 
wildfire risk area. 

(iv) A description of the entity's history with wildfire 
in its service territory for the preceding 15 years, including the date, im-
plicated TDEM disaster districts, and known impacts of each wildfire 
to life, property, and the entity's infrastructure; 

(v) A description of the environmental and opera-
tional risks that the entity's wildfire mitigation plan is designed to ad-
dress (e.g., low-moisture, high-temperature, or high-wind conditions 
or events, the presence of salt moisture or other contaminants on trans-
mission or distribution facilities or equipment, dry or high-volumes of 
vegetation, etc.); and 

(vi) An explanation of how the entity's wildfire miti-
gation plan sufficiently mitigates for wildfire risk in the entity's wildfire 
risk area(s). 

(B) A wildfire mitigation plan that includes: 

(i) A description of the entity's process for periodi-
cally inspecting its transmission and distribution facilities in its wildfire 
risk areas, including, if applicable, a description of the entity's use of 
geospatial or remote sensing technologies (such as LiDAR, satellite, 
etc.) or risk-modeling tools; 

(ii) A detailed plan for vegetation management in 
the entity's wildfire risk areas, including, if applicable, a description 
of the entity's use of geospatial or remote sensing technologies (such 
as LiDAR, satellite, etc.) or risk-modeling tools; 

(iii) A detailed operations plan for reducing the like-
lihood of wildfire ignition from the entity's transmission and distribu-
tion facilities, including, if applicable, a description of the entity's use 
of automated fault detection devices or programs (such as micropro-
cessor-based relays, SCADA, etc.); 

(iv) A detailed operations plan for responding to a 
wildfire in the entity's wildfire risk areas; 

(v) A description of the procedures the entity intends 
to use to restore its system during and after a wildfire, including con-
tact information for the entity that may be used for coordination with 
TDEM and first responders; 

(vi) The entity's community outreach and public 
awareness plan regarding wildfire risks and actual wildfires affecting 
the entity's service territory or system, including a specific communi-
cations plan for responding to a wildfire; 

(vii) A description of the entity's procedures for 
de-energizing power lines and disabling reclosers or implementing a 
public safety power shut-off plan to mitigate for potential wildfires, 
including, if applicable, a description of the entity's procedures for 
coordinating with its regional transmission organization, independent 
system operator, or other reliability coordinator; and 

(viii) A description of the procedures, measures, and 
standards that the entity will use to inspect and operate its infrastructure 
to mitigate for wildfire risks. 

(C) An analysis of the entity's wildfire mitigation plan 
prepared by an independent expert in fire risk mitigation. The indepen-
dent expert's analysis must include the following: 
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(i) a description of the independent expert's qualifi-
cations and expertise relative to fire risk mitigation; 

(ii) a description of the independent expert's 
methodology for analyzing the contents of the entity's plan; and 

(iii) a detailed assessment of adequacy and appro-
priateness of the contents of the entity's plan, relative to the risks in the 
entity's wildfire risk area(s), industry standards and best practices, and 
any available alternative wildfire mitigation measures. 

(D) A description of how the entity will monitor imple-
mentation and compliance with its wildfire mitigation plan, if approved 
by the commission. 

(E) Any other infrastructure report, maintenance report, 
transmission or distribution pole maintenance plan, or information that 
the entity is required to submit under PURA, other commission rules, 
North American Electric Reliability Corporation or other federal stan-
dards, or ERCOT protocols or operating guides that the entity deter-
mines is relevant to its wildfire mitigation efforts and would assist the 
commission in making a public interest determination on the entity's 
wildfire mitigation plan. An entity submitting a report, plan, or other 
information under this paragraph must submit the report, plan, or other 
information in its entirety and include a summary of how the report, 
plan, or other information relates to, or impacts, the entity's wildfire 
mitigation efforts. 

(2) Substantially similar information. An entity may fulfill 
the requirements of paragraph (1)(B) of this subsection by submitting 
any information required under other law that is substantially similar to 
the information required by paragraph (1)(B) of this subsection. An en-
tity must clearly identify in its wildfire mitigation plan the requirement 
the submitted information is intended to fulfill and include a descrip-
tion of why the entity believes the submitted information is substan-
tially similar to that requirement. 

(3) Confidentiality. An entity may designate portions of its 
application, including portions of its wildfire mitigation plan, as critical 
energy infrastructure information, as defined by applicable law, and file 
such portions confidentially. 

(f) Commission processing of application. 

(1) Notice of filing and intervention deadline. An entity 
must provide notice of its filed application under subsection (e) of this 
section, including the docket number assigned to the application and 
the deadline for intervention, not later than the working day following 
the filing. The intervention deadline is 30 calendar days from the date 
service of notice is complete. The notice must be provided using a 
reasonable method of notice, as applicable, to: 

(A) all municipalities in the entity's service area that 
have retained original jurisdiction; 

(B) all parties in the entity's most recent base-rate pro-
ceeding; 

(C) the Office of Public Utility Counsel; and 

(D) the entity's regional transmission operator, indepen-
dent system operator, or other reliability coordinator. 

(2) Sufficiency of application. An application is sufficient 
if the entity has filed a notice of intent as required by subsection (d) of 
this section, the entity's application includes the information required 
by subsection (e) of this section, and the entity has filed proof that the 
notice the notice of filing has been provided in accordance with this 
subsection. 

(A) Commission staff must review each application for 
sufficiency and file a recommendation on sufficiency within 28 calen-
dar days after the application is filed. If commission staff recommends 
the application plan be found deficient, commission staff must identify 
the deficiencies in its recommendation. An entity will have seven cal-
endar days to file a response. 

(B) If the presiding officer concludes the application is 
deficient, the presiding officer will file a notice of deficiency and cite 
the particular requirements with which the application does not com-
ply. The presiding officer must provide the entity an opportunity to 
amend its application. Commission staff must file a recommendation 
on sufficiency within 10 calendar days after the filing of an amended 
application, when the amendment is filed in response to a notice of de-
ficiency in the application. 

(C) If the presiding officer has not filed a notice of defi-
ciency within 14 working days after a deadline for a recommendation 
on sufficiency, the application is deemed sufficient. 

(3) The commission will approve or deny an application or 
approve a modified wildfire mitigation plan not later than 180 days after 
a complete application is filed. The presiding officer must establish a 
procedural schedule that will enable the commission to approve or deny 
an application or approve a modified wildfire mitigation plan not later 
than 180 days after a complete application is filed. An application is 
not complete if it is deemed insufficient. 

(4) Commission review of application. In determining 
whether to approve or deny an application or approve a modified 
wildfire mitigation plan, the commission will consider whether an 
entity's plan is in the public interest. The commission will not approve 
an application for a plan that is not in the public interest. In evaluating 
the public interest, the commission may consider: 

(A) the extent to which the plan will: 

(i) mitigate the wildfire risks present in an entity's 
wildfire risk areas; 

(ii) reduce the potential frequency or duration of ser-
vice interruptions, or potential damages to utility infrastructure, that are 
attributable to wildfires in an entity's wildfire risk areas; and 

(iii) improve an entity's communication and coordi-
nation before, during, and after a wildfire in an entity's wildfire risk 
areas with: 

(I) the entity's customers; 

(II) the commission; 

(III) if applicable, the entity's regional transmis-
sion operator, independent system operator, or other reliability coordi-
nator; 

(IV) first responders; and 

(V) TDEM. 

(B) whether there are more efficient or otherwise supe-
rior means of preventing, withstanding, mitigating for, or responding 
to wildfire risks addressed by the plan; or 

(C) other factors deemed relevant by the commission. 

(5) Commission decision. 

(A) The commission's denial of an entity's application 
is not a finding on the prudence or imprudence of the contents of the en-
tity's wildfire mitigation plan. Upon denial of an application, an entity 
may file a revised application for review and approval by the commis-
sion under this subsection. 
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(B) Commission approval of an entity's application un-
der this subsection is effective until the earlier of: 

(i) the fifth anniversary of the date the application 
was approved; or 

(ii) the date the entity receives commission approval 
of a subsequent application under this subsection. 

(g) Pro forma plan. Commission staff may initiate a proceed-
ing to develop one or more pro forma wildfire mitigation plans. Com-
mission staff may designate the size or characteristics of the entities 
or systems for which each pro forma plan is appropriate. An entity 
that uses a pro forma plan must adapt the details of the pro forma plan 
to the characteristics of its system and the wildfire risks to which its 
system is exposed. Additionally, an entity that uses a pro forma plan 
must include in the executive summary under subsection (e)(1)(A) of 
this section a description of the modifications made to the pro forma 
plan to adapt the plan to its system, and the analysis under subsection 
(c)(1)(C) of this section must include an assessment of whether the pro 
forma plan has been appropriately adapted to the entity's system. 

(h) Administrative penalty. An entity that fails to adequately 
implement a wildfire mitigation plan approved by the commission un-
der this section, including an entity that that fails to timely submit a 
plan or submits a plan that is not approved by the commission, is sub-
ject to an administrative penalty. 

(i) Record retention. An entity with an approved wildfire mit-
igation plan under must maintain records associated with the informa-
tion referred to in this section for five years, beginning the year after 
the plan is approved. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 
TRD-202503054 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER J. COSTS, RATES AND 
TARIFFS 
DIVISION 1. RETAIL RATES 
16 TAC §25.231 

Statutory Authority 

The amendment is proposed under Public Utility Regulatory Act 
(PURA) §§ 14.001, which grants the commission the general 
power to regulate and supervise the business of each public 
utility within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically des-
ignated or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient 
to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; 14.002, which au-
thorizes the commission to adopt and enforce rules reasonably 
required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; 36.064, 
which authorizes the commission to evaluate and approve elec-
tric utility self-insurance plans; and 38.080, which authorizes the 
commission to evaluate and approve, modify, or reject wildfire 

mitigation plans filed by electric utilities, municipally owned utili-
ties, or electric cooperatives that own transmission or distribution 
facilities in a wildfire risk area of this state. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act §§ 
14.001; 14.002; 36.064; and 38.080. 
§25.231. Cost of Service. 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) Allowable expenses. Only those expenses which are rea-
sonable and necessary to provide service to the public will be included 
in allowable expenses. In computing an electric utility's allowable ex-
penses, only the electric utility's historical test year expenses as ad-
justed for known and measurable changes will be considered, except as 
provided for in any section of these rules dealing with fuel expenses. 

(1) Components of allowable expenses. Allowable ex-
penses, to the extent they are reasonable and necessary, and subject to 
this section, may include, but are not limited to the following general 
categories: 

(A) - (F) (No change.) 

(G) Accruals credited to reserve accounts for self-insur-
ance under a self-insurance plan requested by an electric utility and ap-
proved by the commission. The commission may consider approval of 
a self-insurance [self insurance] plan in a rate case in which expenses 
or rate base treatment are requested for a such a plan. For the pur-
poses of this section, a self-insurance [self insurance] plan is a plan 
providing for accruals to be credited to reserve accounts. The reserve 
accounts are to be charged with losses that are not paid or reimbursed 
with commercial insurance and are either [with] property and liability 
losses which occur, and which could not have been reasonably antici-
pated and included in operating and maintenance expenses, or liability 
losses resulting from personal injury or property damage caused by a 
wildfire. [and are not paid or reimbursed by commercial insurance.] 
The reserve accounts must not be charged for liability losses resulting 
from personal injury or property damage caused by a wildfire that the 
utility caused intentionally, recklessly, or with gross negligence. The 
commission will approve a self-insurance [self insurance] plan to the 
extent it finds it to be in the public interest; that ratepayers will receive 
the benefits of any savings; and [. In order to establish that the plan is in 
the public interest,] the electric utility must present a cost benefit anal-
ysis performed by a qualified independent insurance consultant who 
demonstrates that either, with consideration of all costs, self-insurance 
is a lower-cost alternative than commercial insurance, that commercial 
insurance alone is insufficient to cover potential liability losses, dam-
ages, or catastrophic property loss, or the electric utility cannot obtain 
commercial insurance for a reasonable premium [and the ratepayers 
will receive the benefits of the self insurance plan]. The cost benefit 
analysis must present a detailed analysis of the appropriate limits of 
self-insurance [self insurance], an analysis of the appropriate annual 
accruals to build a reserve account for self-insurance [self insurance], 
and the level at which further accruals should be decreased or termi-
nated. In approving a self-insurance plan under this section, the com-
mission will prioritize the consideration of the presence and potential 
extent of wildfire losses, including historical data, actuarial studies and 
analyses, and the risk of the electric utility's exposure to losses from 
multiple types of disasters occurring within the utility's service terri-
tory. 

(H) (No change.) 

(2) (No change.) 

(c) (No change.) 
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 
TRD-202503055 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER S. WHOLESALE MARKETS 
16 TAC §25.504 

The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes 
amendments to 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.504 re-
lating to Wholesale Market Power in the Electric Reliability Coun-
cil of Texas Power Region. The amended rule will remove the 
exemption that currently prevents a generation company control-
ling less than 5% of ERCOT's total installed capacity from being 
considered to have market power. The scope of this rulemaking 
is limited to amendments to 16 TAC §25.504(c) and any related 
conforming changes. 
Growth Impact Statement 
The agency provides the following governmental growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
(1) the proposed rule will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
(4) the proposed rule will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
(5) the proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 
(6) the proposed rule will not expand, limit, or repeal an existing 
regulation; 
(7) the proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-
ject to the rule's applicability; and 

(8) the proposed rule will not affect this state's economy. 
Fiscal Impact on Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Com-
munities 

There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities as a result of 
implementing the proposed rule. Accordingly, no economic im-
pact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis is required under 
Texas Government Code §2006.002(c). 
Takings Impact Analysis 

The commission has determined that the proposed rule will not 
be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the 
Texas Government Code. 
Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government 
Rizwaan Lakhani, Regulatory Analyst, Rules and Projects, has 
determined that for the first five-year period the proposed rule 
is in effect, there will be no fiscal implications for the state or 
for units of local government under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(4) as a result of enforcing or administering the sec-
tions. 
Public Benefits 

Mr. Lakhani has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed section is in effect the public benefit antici-
pated as a result of enforcing the section will be a reduction in 
economic withholding and a more efficient electricity market in 
the ERCOT region. There will be no probable economic cost to 
persons required to comply with the rule under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.024(a)(5). 
Local Employment Impact Statement 
For each year of the first five years the proposed section is in 
effect, there should be no effect on a local economy; therefore, 
no local employment impact statement is required under Texas 
Government Code §2001.022. 
Costs to Regulated Persons 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045(b) does not apply to this 
rulemaking because the commission is expressly excluded un-
der subsection §2001.0045(c)(7). 
Public Hearing 

Commission staff will conduct a public hearing on this rulemak-
ing if requested in accordance with Texas Government Code 
§2001.029. The request for a public hearing must be received 
by October 3, 2025. If a request for public hearing is received, 
commission staff will file in this project a notice of hearing. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may file comments electronically through the 
interchange on the commission's website or by submitting a pa-
per copy to Central Records, Public Utility Commission of Texas, 
1701 North Congress Avenue, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, Texas 
78711-3326. Comments must be filed by October 3, 2025. Com-
ments should be organized in a manner consistent with the or-
ganization of the proposed rules. The commission invites spe-
cific comments regarding the costs associated with, and bene-
fits that will be gained by, implementation of the proposed rule. 
The commission will consider the costs and benefits in deciding 
whether to modify the proposed rules on adoption. All comments 
should refer to Project Number 58379. 
Each set of comments should include a standalone executive 
summary as the last page of the filing. This executive summary 
must be clearly labeled with the submitting entity's name and 
should include a bulleted list covering each substantive recom-
mendation made in the comments. 
Statutory Authority 

The amendment is proposed under Public Utility Regulatory 
Act (PURA) §14.001, which grants the commission the general 
power to regulate and supervise the business of each public 
utility within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically des-
ignated or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient 
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to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; §14.002, which 
authorizes the commission to adopt and enforce rules rea-
sonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; 
and §39.157, which authorizes the commission to monitor 
and address market power associated with the generation, 
transmission, distribution, and sale of electricity in this state. 
Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Acts §§ 
14.001; 14.002; and 39.157. 
§25.504. Wholesale Market Power in the Electric Reliability Council 
of Texas Power Region. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) Withholding of production. Prices offered by a generation 
entity with market power may be a factor in determining whether the 
entity has withheld production. A generation entity with market power 
that prices its services substantially above its marginal cost may be 
found to be withholding production; offering prices that are not sub-
stantially above marginal cost does not constitute withholding of pro-
duction. [Exemption based on installed generation capacity. A single 
generation entity that controls less than 5% of the installed generation 
capacity in ERCOT, as the term "installed generation capacity" is de-
fined in §25.5 of this title (relating to Definitions), excluding uncontrol-
lable renewable resources, is deemed not to have ERCOT-wide market 
power. Controlling 5% or more of the installed generation capacity in 
ERCOT does not, of itself, mean that a generating entity has market 
power.] 

(d) Voluntary mitigation plan. Any generation entity may 
submit to the commission a voluntary mitigation plan relating to 
compliance with §25.503(g)(7) of this title or with the Public Utility 
Regulatory Act (PURA) §39.157(a). Adherence to a commission-ap-
proved voluntary mitigation plan must be considered in a proceeding 
to determine whether the generation entity violated PURA §39.157 or 
§25.503(g)(7) of this title and, if so, the amount of the administrative 
penalty to be assessed for the violation. [Withholding of production. 
Prices offered by a generation entity with market power may be a 
factor in determining whether the entity has withheld production. 
A generation entity with market power that prices its services sub-
stantially above its marginal cost may be found to be withholding 
production; offering prices that are not substantially above marginal 
cost does not constitute withholding of production.] 

(1) The commission will approve the voluntary mitigation 
plan only if it finds that the plan is in the public interest. 

(2) A generation entity or commission staff may apply to 
amend a voluntary mitigation plan that applies to the generation entity. 

(3) The parties to a proceeding related to the approval or 
amendment of a voluntary mitigation plan are limited to the generation 
entity applying for the mitigation plan, commission staff, and the inde-
pendent market monitor. 

(4) Termination of voluntary mitigation plan. 

(A) The commission, on its own motion, may termi-
nate, in whole or in part, a voluntary mitigation plan approved under 
this subsection. The executive director or the executive director's de-
signee may also terminate a voluntary mitigation plan, in whole or in 
part, under the following conditions: 

(i) The executive director or the executive director's 
designee must determine that continuation of the plan is no longer in 
the public interest. 

(ii) The executive director or the executive director's 
designee must provide notice of the termination to the applicable gener-
ation entity and file a notice of termination in the same control number 

in which the plan was approved at least three working days prior to the 
effective date of the termination. The executive director or the execu-
tive director's designee may withdraw the notice of termination at any 
point prior to the effective date of the termination. 

(iii) The commission must affirm or set aside the ex-
ecutive director or the executive director's designee's termination of a 
voluntary mitigation plan as soon as practicable after the effective date 
of the termination. 

(B) A generation entity with a commission-approved 
voluntary mitigation plan may terminate the plan. The generation en-
tity must provide the executive director or executive director's designee 
notice of the termination and file a notice of termination in the same 
control number in which the plan was approved at least three work-
ing days prior to the effective date of the termination. The generation 
entity may withdraw its notice of termination at any point prior to the 
effective date of the termination. 

(e) Review of voluntary mitigation plans. 

(1) The commission will review each effective voluntary 
mitigation plan adopted under subsection (d) of this section to deter-
mine whether the plan remains in the public interest at least once every 
two years and not later than 90 days after the implementation date of 
a wholesale market design change. Commission staff, in consultation 
with the independent market monitor, will determine when a whole-
sale market design change requiring the review of voluntary mitigation 
plans has occurred. 

(A) In determining whether a change in a commission 
or ERCOT regulation constitutes a wholesale market design change 
for purposes of this subsection, commission staff and the independent 
market monitor must consider whether the change could materially in-
crease the ability of a generation entity with an existing voluntary mit-
igation plan to exercise market power. 

(B) If, at the time a proposed change in a commission 
or ERCOT regulation is being considered for approval by the commis-
sion, commission staff has determined that the proposed change would, 
if implemented, constitute a wholesale market design change, commis-
sion staff may include its determination in a filing addressing the pro-
posed change (e.g., as part of a staff memo recommending commission 
approval of a change in the ERCOT protocols). 

(C) Commission staff must provide notice, using a rea-
sonable method of notice, to a generation entity with an existing volun-
tary mitigation plan when its voluntary mitigation plan is under review. 
This notice must be provided no later than the date commission staff 
files its recommendation under paragraph (2) of this subsection. 

(D) Nothing in this paragraph prevents the commission, 
on its own motion, from determining that a change in a commission or 
ERCOT regulation constitutes a wholesale market design change for 
purposes of this subsection and directing commission staff, in consul-
tation with the independent market monitor, to provide a recommenda-
tion on whether each existing voluntary mitigation plan remains in the 
public interest. 

(2) At least 40 days prior to a deadline established by para-
graph (1) of this subsection, commission staff must file a recommen-
dation and draft order addressing whether each voluntary mitigation 
plan remains in the public interest. Commission staff's recommenda-
tion must include the date of the deadline established by paragraph (1) 
of this subsection and, if applicable, the details and implementation 
date of the applicable wholesale market design change. As part of its 
recommendation, for each voluntary mitigation plan adopted prior to 
September 1, 2023, commission staff must also address whether the 
plan complies with PURA §15.023(f) and this section. 
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(3) If the commission determines that all or a part of the 
plan is no longer in the public interest, the commission will terminate 
any part of the plan that it determines is no longer in the public interest. 
The generation entity may propose an amended plan for the commis-
sion's consideration. 

[(e) Voluntary mitigation plan. Any generation entity may 
submit to the commission a voluntary mitigation plan relating to 
compliance with §25.503(g)(7) of this title or with the Public Utility 
Regulatory Act (PURA) §39.157(a). Adherence to a commission-ap-
proved voluntary mitigation plan must be considered in a proceeding 
to determine whether the generation entity violated PURA §39.157 or 
§25.503(g)(7) of this title and, if so, the amount of the administrative 
penalty to be assessed for the violation.] 

[(1) The commission will approve the voluntary mitigation 
plan only if it finds that the plan is in the public interest.] 

[(2) A generation entity or commission staff may apply to 
amend a voluntary mitigation plan that applies to the generation entity.] 

[(3) The parties to a proceeding related to the approval or 
amendment of a voluntary mitigation plan are limited to the generation 
entity applying for the mitigation plan, commission staff, and the inde-
pendent market monitor.] 

[(4) Termination of voluntary mitigation plan.] 

[(A) The commission, on its own motion, may termi-
nate, in whole or in part, a voluntary mitigation plan approved under 
this subsection. The executive director or the executive director's de-
signee may also terminate a voluntary mitigation plan, in whole or in 
part, under the following conditions:] 

[(i) The executive director or the executive direc-
tor's designee must determine that continuation of the plan is no longer 
in the public interest.] 

[(ii) The executive director or the executive direc-
tor's designee must provide notice of the termination to the applicable 
generation entity and file a notice of termination in the same control 
number in which the plan was approved at least three working days 
prior to the effective date of the termination. The executive director or 
the executive director's designee may withdraw the notice of termina-
tion at any point prior to the effective date of the termination.] 

[(iii) The commission must affirm or set aside the 
executive director or the executive director's designee's termination of 
a voluntary mitigation plan as soon as practicable after the effective 
date of the termination.] 

[(B) A generation entity with a commission-approved 
voluntary mitigation plan may terminate the plan. The generation en-
tity must provide the executive director or executive director's designee 
notice of the termination and file a notice of termination in the same 
control number in which the plan was approved at least three work-
ing days prior to the effective date of the termination. The generation 
entity may withdraw its notice of termination at any point prior to the 
effective date of the termination.] 

[(f) Review of voluntary mitigation plans.] 

[(1) The commission will review each effective voluntary 
mitigation plan adopted under subsection (e) of this section to deter-
mine whether the plan remains in the public interest at least once every 
two years and not later than 90 days after the implementation date of 
a wholesale market design change. Commission staff, in consultation 
with the independent market monitor, will determine when a whole-
sale market design change requiring the review of voluntary mitigation 
plans has occurred.] 

[(A) In determining whether a change in a commission 
or ERCOT regulation constitutes a wholesale market design change 
for purposes of this subsection, commission staff and the independent 
market monitor must consider whether the change could materially in-
crease the ability of a generation entity with an existing voluntary mit-
igation plan to exercise market power.] 

[(B) If, at the time a proposed change in a commission 
or ERCOT regulation is being considered for approval by the commis-
sion, commission staff has determined that the proposed change would, 
if implemented, constitute a wholesale market design change, commis-
sion staff may include its determination in a filing addressing the pro-
posed change (e.g., as part of a staff memo recommending commission 
approval of a change in the ERCOT protocols).] 

[(C) Commission staff must provide notice, using a rea-
sonable method of notice, to a generation entity with an existing volun-
tary mitigation plan when its voluntary mitigation plan is under review. 
This notice must be provided no later than the date commission staff 
files its recommendation under paragraph (2) of this subsection.] 

[(D) Nothing in this paragraph prevents the commis-
sion, on its own motion, from determining that a change in a com-
mission or ERCOT regulation constitutes a wholesale market design 
change for purposes of this subsection and directing commission staff, 
in consultation with the independent market monitor, to provide a rec-
ommendation on whether each existing voluntary mitigation plan re-
mains in the public interest.] 

[(2) At least 40 days prior to a deadline established by para-
graph (1) of this subsection, commission staff must file a recommen-
dation and draft order addressing whether each voluntary mitigation 
plan remains in the public interest. Commission staff's recommenda-
tion must include the date of the deadline established by paragraph (1) 
of this subsection and, if applicable, the details and implementation 
date of the applicable wholesale market design change. As part of its 
recommendation, for each voluntary mitigation plan adopted prior to 
September 1, 2023, commission staff must also address whether the 
plan complies with PURA §15.023(f) and this section.] 

[(3) If the commission determines that all or a part of the 
plan is no longer in the public interest, the commission will terminate 
any part of the plan that it determines is no longer in the public interest. 
The generation entity may propose an amended plan for the commis-
sion's consideration.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 22, 2025. 
TRD-202503053 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 19. EDUCATION 

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION 
COORDINATING BOARD 

CHAPTER 13. FINANCIAL PLANNING 
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SUBCHAPTER K. DETERMINATION OF 
RESIDENT STATUS 
19 TAC §§13.191 - 13.203 

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) proposes new rules in Texas Administrative Code, Title 
19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter K, §§13.191 - 13.203, con-
cerning Determination of Resident Status. Specifically, this new 
section will consolidate existing rules relating to tuition and fees 
with the rules determining resident status, as the two concepts 
are inextricably linked, provide greater clarity to rules relating to 
determining resident status, and codify the current practices re-
lating to documentation needed to establish domicile. The rules 
also incorporate the requirements of interpreting federal law re-
lated to establishing lawful presence as a condition of eligibil-
ity for resident tuition. The Coordinating Board is authorized by 
Texas Education Code, §54.075, to adopt rules to carry out the 
purposes of Texas Education Code, Chapter 54, Subchapter B, 
Tuition Rates. 
Rule 13.191, Authority and Applicability, is the reconstituted 
§21.21, and establishes the general statutory authority, Texas 
Education Code (TEC), §54.075, for the provisions of the 
subchapter and makes it clear that this new chapter applies to 
public, private, and independent institutions of higher education 
when determining a person's entitlement to resident status 
under any provision of the TEC. 
Rule 13.192, Definitions, is the reconstituted §21.22, and es-
tablishes definitions for words and terms used throughout the 
subchapter and adds new terms. Definitions that now appear in 
Chapter 13, Subchapter A, have been removed from this sec-
tion. Definitions that are no longer relevant because the cor-
responding rules that used the term have been revised or re-
moved, such as "clear and convincing evidence," have also been 
removed. New language was added to the definition of "private 
high school" to specify that it includes a homeschool. The def-
inition of "temporary absence" was modified to make clear that 
the phrase "short duration" applies to the length of absence and 
not to the intent to return to Texas. When definitions are defined 
in TEC, §54.0501, reference was made to the statute. Refer-
ences to the Probate Code were deleted because the Probate 
Code no longer exists in Texas. Also, the concepts of "posses-
sory conservator" and other similar terms have been removed. 
In addition, a new definition for "lawful presence" was added to 
comply with requirements of federal law and implement a court 
order effective for Fall 2025 resident tuition determinations. 
Rule 13.193, Effective Date of this Subchapter, is the reconsti-
tuted §21.23, and makes clear when changes to this subchapter 
are effective as it relates to making resident status decisions and 
provides clarification to institutions who made resident status de-
terminations before the effective date. 
Rule 13.194, Determination of Resident Status, is the reconsti-
tuted §21.24(a) and (e) to reflect TEC, §54.052, and to reflect a 
recent court order implementing the requirements of federal law. 
A person must be able to demonstrate, and each institution must 
verify, that the person is lawfully present in the United States and 
also meets one of the three classifications of resident status de-
fined in TEC, §54.052(a)(1) - (3). Subsection (a)(1) contains lan-
guage to clarify that a person cannot be a dependent if they seek 
to qualify for resident status under TEC, §54.052(a)(1). Sub-
section (a)(3) contains language to comply with a recent court 
order implementing the requirements of federal law that, in or-
der to be eligible for in-state tuition, a person must be lawfully 

present in the United States, in addition to meeting the other 
requirements set forth in the new rule. As to the separate re-
quirement of domicile, subsection (b) captures the presumption 
stated in TEC, §54.052(b), that the domicile of a dependent's 
parent is presumed to be the domicile of the dependent. This 
presumption of domicile is reiterated in rule to specifically cor-
relate to a person who seeks to establish resident status under 
TEC, §54.052(a)(2). 
Rule 13.195, Core Residency Questions, reconstitutes §21.25, 
to reflect TEC, §54.053. The Coordinating Board promulgates 
the core residency questions, and each person who applies to a 
Texas institution must complete the Core Residency questions, 
either through the ApplyTexas application or with the institution 
directly. Institutions may not derive their own set of residency 
questions. The requirements outlined in TEC, §54.053(1) - (3) 
as they relate to the determination of resident status classifica-
tions are incorporated into the core residency questions. Fur-
thermore, this rule provides that non-citizen students seeking 
resident status under TEC, §54.052(a)(3) shall also provide to 
the institution an affidavit attesting to lawful presence so that an 
institution can make an initial determination of the person's res-
ident status. Institutions may request reasonable documenta-
tion not specifically listed in these rules when that information is 
necessary to substantiate information a person has listed in the 
"general comments" section of the Core Residency Questions, 
which provides the opportunity for a person to provide additional 
information or background commentary to substantiate their res-
ident status claim. 
Rule 13.196, Information Needed to Document Resident Status, 
is the reconstituted §21.24(b) - (d) and (f) - (i). The rule details 
the documents a person must provide to demonstrate domicile 
as one condition of eligibility for resident status depending upon 
which of the two resident categories under TEC, §54.052(a)(1) 
- (2), for which the person is seeking to establish resident sta-
tus, depending on whether the person is claiming domicile based 
on the person's own domicile or, in the case of a dependent, 
based on the domicile of the person's parent. The documenta-
tion, which must be at least one of the four options (significant 
gainful employment, residential real property, marriage, or own-
ership of a business), must be for the consecutive twelve-month 
period immediately preceding the census date of the academic 
term the person seeks to enroll at an institution. 
Subsection (a) addresses the four categories of information a 
person may provide to demonstrate they are domiciled in Texas 
under TEC, §54.052(a)(1). The four categories are substantially 
similar to §21.24(f). Demonstrating domicile through "significant 
gainful employment" which is a defined term, now requires the 
person to show the salary they earned. For a person who is 
self-employed, the person must show federal tax documentation 
showing domicile in Texas. For Subsection (a)(2), residential 
real property has been broadened to account for person who 
leases or rents, in addition to owning property. Subsection (b) 
establishes that a person who has demonstrated domicile, as 
outlined in at least one of the four listed factors, and who resides 
in Texas, is considered to have been domiciled in Texas for that 
period of time. 
Subsection (c) addresses the four categories of information a 
dependent may provide to an institution to demonstrate that 
their parents have established domicile in Texas under TEC, 
§54.052(a)(2). Subsection (d) establishes that a dependent 
whose parent has demonstrated domicile, as outlined in at 
least one of the four listed factors, and who resides in Texas, is 
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considered to have been domiciled in Texas for that period of 
time. 
The rule also details the documents a person must provide to 
demonstrate the person has maintained a residence as one con-
dition of eligibility for resident status under TEC, §54.052(a)(3). 
The documentation, which must be at least one of the eight 
options (utility bills, Texas high school transcripts, Texas voter 
registration card, Texas vehicle registration that was issued at 
least twelve months immediately preceding the census date, 
valid Texas driver's license or Texas identification card, lease 
or rental of residential real property, or other documentation 
used by the student to establish eligibility to enroll in the school 
district where the student attended high school) must be for the 
consecutive twelve-month period immediately preceding the 
census date of the academic term the person seeks to enroll 
at an institution. The rule also establishes that once a person 
demonstrates domicile under at least one of the four categories, 
they are considered to have maintained domiciled for that time. 
Subsection (e) specifies the necessary evidence a person 
may use to support a claim of residence under TEC, §54.052 
(a)(3)(B)(i), which mentions the "three years preceding the date 
of graduation or receipt of the diploma equivalent." Subsec-
tion (f) outlines options institutions may use as the necessary 
evidence a person may use to support a claim of residence 
under TEC, §54.052(a)(3)(B)(ii), which reconstitutes §21.24(b), 
with some changes. For example, "cancelled checks" was 
removed from the list to support a claim of residence under 
TEC, §54.052(a)(3)(B)(ii), because the use of checks is now 
minimal and no longer as relevant. Similarly, credit reports were 
also removed since reports can be delayed, there may be a 
cost, and the report may contain sensitive information that is not 
relevant to the demonstration of residency. Instead of these, the 
rule includes new categories of information, such as a Texas 
driver's license, and a broad category that allows for any other 
documentation used by the student to establish eligibility to 
enroll in the school district where the student attended high 
school. 
Subsection (g) maintains the clause under §21.24(g), and ap-
plies to all persons, no matter which category they seek to estab-
lish resident status under TEC, §54.052 (a)(1) - (3), in asserting 
that a person whose initial reason is to attend higher education 
in Texas is presumed not to make Texas their domicile. 
Subsection (h) maintains the clause under §21.24(h), and ap-
plies to all persons, no matter which category they seek to estab-
lish resident status under TEC, §54.052(a)(1) - (3), in asserting 
that a person that a person may not establish domicile by fulfill-
ing an educational objection or other activities that are generally 
performed only by temporary residents of Texas. 
Subsection (i) maintains the clause under §21.24(i), exactly re-
garding the rights of members of the United States Armed Forces 
for purposes of the determination of Texas resident status. 
Subsection (j) reinforces TEC, §54.075(b), that an institution 
cannot require evidence of resident status beyond what is 
stated in administrative rules. Subsection (k) is a reconstitution 
of §21.30(a), which serves as a reminder to institutions that 
they must retain documentation provided to them according to 
their record retention schedule. Current §21.24(d)(1) - (7), is no 
longer included in the determination of resident status rules, and 
former guidance that THECB may have issued on this subject 
is no longer relevant. 

Rule 13.197, Continuing Resident Status, reconstitutes §21.26, 
to reflect TEC, §54.054. Once an institution classifies a person 
as a resident of Texas, the person is entitled to continue to be 
classified as a resident without submitting additional information, 
unless information is identified that would lead to a reclassifica-
tion or the correction of an error, or if a person is not enrolled in a 
Texas institution for two or more consecutive regular semesters. 
The rule clarifies that both the person and the institution may 
identify information that warrants a change in resident status. 
Rule 13.198, Reclassification Based on Changed or Additional 
Information, reconstitutes §21.27, to reflect TEC, §54.055. Re-
classification is based on new or changed information. Errors in 
classification, including errors due to failure of a person to pro-
vide information, are addressed in subsequent sections. Institu-
tions are permitted to reclassify a person's status from resident 
to nonresident, or vice-versa, based on additional or changed 
information. Individuals are required to provide timely informa-
tion which may affect their resident or nonresident status. Such 
reclassification takes effect in the current semester if the reclas-
sification occurs prior to the census date. Otherwise, it takes 
effect in the first succeeding academic term. A change in eli-
gibility for resident tuition based on the June 2025, court order 
implementing federal law would require each institution to reclas-
sify students and charge the correct tuition during the Fall 2025 
semester. 
Rule 13.199, Errors in Classification for Nonresident Tuition, 
reconstitutes aspects of §21.28(a), to better reflect TEC, 
§54.056(a). Institutions are responsible for charging a person 
nonresident tuition beginning with the first academic term that 
begins after the date the institution discovers that the institution 
erroneously classified a person as a Texas resident. Liability 
for unpaid tuition due to an error in classification is limited by 
§13.200, and an institution may not request payment of the 
unpaid tuition until the first day of the academic term after the 
error is discovered. 
Rule 13.200, Liability for Errors in Classification, reconstitutes 
additional aspects of §21.28(a), to reflect TEC, §54.057 and as-
pects of §54.056(a). The rule outlines those situations when a 
person is liable for errors in classification. Persons are liable 
to pay the difference in resident and nonresident tuition result-
ing from an erroneous classification in situations where a person 
failed to provide new or changed information or provided false in-
formation that the person reasonably should have known would 
result in a change of classification. An institution may not require 
a person to pay unpaid tuition owed as a condition for any sub-
sequent enrollment by the person in the institution. However, 
persons who do not pay the tuition for which they are liable are 
restricted from receiving a certificate, diploma, or transcript un-
der certain circumstances. Persons who are entitled to permitted 
to have their nonresident tuition reduced to the level of resident 
tuition are not liable under this section. 
Rule 13.201, Institutional Errors in Classification for Resident 
Tuition, reconstitutes §21.28(b), to reflect TEC, §54.056(b). An 
institution must begin charging resident tuition in the academic 
term in which the institution identifies that a person was erro-
neously classified as a nonresident and must immediately refund 
the amount the person paid in excess of resident tuition. 
Rule 13.202, Resident Status Determination Official, reconsti-
tutes §21.29. Each institution must employ at least one person 
to serve as the resident status determination official who shall be 
familiar with these rules and corresponding statutes, as well as 
applicable state and federal laws. 
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Rule 13.203, Required Notification Regarding Permanent Res-
idency, reconstitutes rule §21.30(b). An institution must notify 
students who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and 
who demonstrated lawful presence, of their duty to apply for per-
manent resident status as soon as they are able. Institutions 
must notify such students upon admission, annually while the 
student is enrolled, and upon graduation or separation from the 
institution. 
Dr. Charles Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Student 
Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each of the first 
five years the sections are in effect there would be no fiscal im-
plications for state or local governments as a result of enforcing 
or administering the rules. There are no estimated reductions in 
costs to the state and to local governments as a result of enforc-
ing or administering the rule. There are no estimated losses or 
increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as a 
result of enforcing or administering the rule. 
There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and 
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment. 
Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Stu-
dent Financial Aid Programs, has also determined that for each 
year of the first five years the section is in effect, the public ben-
efit anticipated as a result of administering the section will be 
the improved clarity, specificity, and operability of rules relating 
to the determination of resident status. The proposed new rules 
bring the rules into compliance with recent court orders. There 
are limited anticipated economic costs to persons who are re-
quired to comply with the sections as proposed. 
Government Growth Impact Statement 
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or 
elimination of employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or 
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rules will create a new rule; 
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule; 
(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to 
the rule; and 

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy. 
Comments on the proposed rule or information related to the 
cost, benefit, or effect of the proposed rule, including any applica-
ble data, research or analysis, may be submitted to Dr. Charles 
W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Student Financial 
Aid Programs, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711-2788, or via 
email at Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publi-
cation of the proposal in the Texas Register. 
The new section is proposed under Texas Education Code, Sec-
tion 54.075, which provides the Coordinating Board with the au-
thority to adopt rules to carry out the purposes of Texas Educa-
tion Code, Chapter 54, Subchapter B. 
The proposed new section affects Texas Education Code, Title 
19, Part 1, Chapters 13 and 22. 
§13.191. Authority and Applicability. 

(a) Authority. Texas Education Code, §54.075, authorizes the 
Board to adopt rules to carry out the purposes of Texas Education Code, 
chapter 54, subchapter B, concerning the determination of resident sta-
tus. 

(b) Applicability. Each institution of higher education or pri-
vate or independent institution of higher education shall use the pro-
visions of this subchapter for the determination of the entitlement to 
resident status under any provision of the Texas Education Code. 

§13.192. Definitions. 
In addition to the words and terms defined in §13.1 of this chapter (relat-
ing to Definitions), the following terms, when used in this subchapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise or the relevant subchapter specifies a different definition: 

(1) Core Residency Questions--Board promulgated ques-
tions that a person completes for an institution's use in determining if 
the person is a Texas resident. The Core Residency Questions shall 
be included in the ApplyTexas Application and posted on the Board's 
website. 

(2) Dependent--A person who: 

(A) is less than 18 years of age and has not been eman-
cipated by marriage or by court order; or 

(B) is eligible to be claimed as a dependent of a parent 
of the person for purposes of determining the parent's income tax li-
ability under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 26 U.S. Code §152, 
regardless whether another person has claimed the dependent. 

(3) Domicile--A person's principal, permanent residence to 
which the person intends to return after any temporary absence, as de-
fined in Texas Education Code, §54.0501(3). 

(4) Significant Gainful Employment--Employment, in-
cluding self-employment, intended to provide an income to a person 
or allow a person to avoid the expense of paying another person to 
perform the tasks (as in child care) that is sufficient to provide at least 
one-half of the person's tuition, fees and living expenses as determined 
in keeping with the institution's student financial aid budget or that 
represents an average of at least twenty hours of employment per week. 
A person who is living off his/her earnings (present or past- such as 
pensions, veterans' benefits, social security, and savings from previous 
earnings) may be considered gainfully employed for purposes of es-
tablishing domicile, as may a person whose primary support is public 
assistance. Employment conditioned on student status, such as work 
study, internships, the receipt of stipends, fellowships, or research or 
teaching assistantships does not constitute gainful employment for 
purposes of resident determination. 

(5) Lawfully Present Alien--A non-U.S. citizen who seeks 
resident tuition and who proves by clear and convincing evidence that 
the alien is lawfully present in the United States as required by 8 U.S.C. 
§1623(a). 

(6) Nonresident Tuition--The amount of tuition paid by a 
person who is not a Texas resident and who is not entitled or permitted 
to pay resident tuition under this subchapter and as defined in Texas 
Education Code, §54.0501(4). 

(7) Parent--A natural or adoptive parent, managing or pos-
sessory conservator, or legal guardian of a person. Parent does not 
include a stepparent. 

(8) Private High School--A private, parochial, or home 
school in Texas. 

(9) Regular Semester--A fall or spring regular semester 
typically consisting of sixteen weeks. 
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(10) Residence--A person's home or other dwelling unit, as 
defined in Texas Education Code, §54.0501(6). 

(11) Resident Tuition--The amount of tuition paid by a per-
son who is a resident of Texas, as defined in Texas Education Code, 
§54.0501(7). 

(12) Residential Real Property--Land and improvements 
on it, such as a dwelling intended for long-term human habitation. 

(13) Temporary Absence--When a person who has previ-
ously met the criteria for resident status but is absent only for a short 
duration (i.e., less than one year) from the state of Texas and the person 
has the intention to return to the person's domicile in Texas. Temporary 
absence does not include a person's or dependent's parent's service in 
the U.S. Armed Forces, U.S. Public Health Service, or U.S. Department 
of State, due to employment assignment or for educational purposes. 

§13.193. Effective Date of this Subchapter. 

Changes to this subchapter adopted in October 2025, are effective to 
resident status decisions for payment of tuition made after the census 
date of the fall Regular Semester, 2025. Resident status determinations 
made prior to the effective date of these rules are governed by the state 
or federal law, including those modified by court order, at the time of 
determination. 

§13.194. Determination of Resident Status. 

(a) Persons Classified as Texas Residents. Subject to other ap-
plicable provisions of this subchapter, for an institution to classify a 
person as a resident of Texas, the person must be able to demonstrate, 
and each institution shall verify, that the person is a U.S. citizen or is a 
lawfully present alien, and also meets one of the following categories: 

(1) a person, other than a dependent, who qualifies for resi-
dent status pursuant to Texas Education Code, §54.052(a)(1), and who: 

(A) established a domicile in Texas not later than one 
year (12 months) before the census date of the academic term in which 
the person is enrolled in an institution; and 

(B) maintained that domicile continuously for the year 
(12 months) preceding that census date; 

(2) a dependent whose parent: 

(A) established a domicile in Texas not later than one 
year (12 months) before the census date of the academic term in which 
the dependent is enrolled in an institution; and 

(B) maintained the domicile continuously for the year 
(12 months) preceding the census date; or 

(3) a person who: 

(A) is a U.S. Citizen, permanent resident, or is other-
wise lawfully present in the United States, and graduated from a public 
or private high school in Texas or received a State of Texas Certificate 
of High School Equivalency or other diploma or high school degree 
recognized by the state; and 

(B) maintained a residence continuously in Texas for: 

(i) the three years (36 months) preceding the date of 
graduation or receipt of the diploma equivalent, as applicable; and 

(ii) the year (12 months) preceding the census date 
of the academic term in which the person is enrolled in an institution. 

(b) Presumption of Domicile. Pursuant to Texas Education 
Code, §54.052(b), the domicile of a dependent's parent, as established 
in accordance with §13.196(c) of this subchapter (relating to Informa-
tion Needed to Document Resident Status), is presumed to be the domi-

cile of the dependent, except when the person establishes eligibility of 
resident status under subsection (a)(3) of this section. 

(c) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, an in-
stitution may not require a person to provide evidence of resident status 
beyond what is included in this subchapter. 

(d) A person seeking resident tuition has the burden of proof 
to show by clear and convincing evidence that the person is a U.S. 
citizen or a lawfully present alien and has established and maintained 
domicile in Texas as required by subsection (a)(3) of this section. An 
institution may request any additional information reasonably neces-
sary to verify that a student seeking resident tuition pursuant to Texas 
Education Code, §54.052(a)(3), is lawfully present. An institution may 
verify lawful presence by confirming an applicant's eligibility with the 
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). 

§13.195. Core Residency Questions. 

(a) In order for an institution to make an initial determination 
regarding a person's resident status under §13.194 of this subchapter 
(relating to Determination of Resident Status), the institution shall re-
quire each student who seeks resident tuition to complete the set of Core 
Residency Questions provided in Figure: 19 TAC §13.195(a), which 
is incorporated into this subchapter for all purposes, and evidence de-
scribed in §13.196 of this subchapter (relating to Information Needed 
to Document Resident Status). 
Figure: 19 TAC §13.195(a) 

(b) Additionally, each student seeking resident tuition under 
§13.194(a)(3) of this subchapter shall also provide the institution with 
an affidavit in the form promulgated by the Board and provided in Fig-
ure: 19 TAC §13.195(b), which is incorporated into this subchapter for 
all purposes, stating that the person is able to demonstrate that he or 
she: is a lawfully present alien, can provide any documentation nec-
essary for the institution to verify the contents of the affidavit required 
by this section, and will apply to become a permanent resident of the 
United States as soon as the person is eligible to do so. 
Figure: 19 TAC §13.195(b) 

(c) Clarifying Core Residency Questions. In instances where 
answers to the Core Residency Questions under "General Comments" 
are unclear, an institution may make a good faith request that a person 
provide reasonable documentation to support or clarify their original 
comments. 

§13.196. Information Needed to Document Resident Status. 

(a) Evidence Supporting Domicile in Texas Pursuant to Texas 
Education Code, §54.052(a)(1). Each institution shall use the factors 
described by paragraphs (1) - (4) of this subsection for the consecu-
tive twelve-month period immediately preceding the census date of the 
academic term in which a person seeks to enroll at an institution in de-
termining a person's claim of domicile in Texas. 

(1) Significant Gainful Employment: 

(A) An employer's statement of dates of employment 
and salary earned in Texas (beginning and current or ending dates) that 
encompass at least the twelve consecutive months immediately preced-
ing the census date of the academic term in which the person enrolls 
showing the salary the person earned or pay stubs for twelve consec-
utive months immediately preceding the census date, reflecting signif-
icant gainful employment in Texas, or proof of other earned income 
such as pensions, veterans' benefits, social security, and savings from 
previous earnings for twelve consecutive months immediately preced-
ing the census date of the academic term in which the person enrolls. 

(B) For a person who is unemployed and living on pub-
lic assistance, written statements from the office of one or more social 
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service agencies located in Texas that attest to the provision of services 
to the person for at least the twelve consecutive months immediately 
preceding the census date of the academic term in which the person 
enrolls. 

(C) For a person who is self-employed, federal tax doc-
uments showing significant gainful employment and domicile in Texas 
(beginning and current or ending dates) that encompass at least the 
twelve consecutive months immediately preceding the census date of 
the academic term in which the person enrolls. 

(2) Residential Real Property. Sole or joint marital own-
ership, lease, or rental of residential real property in Texas with docu-
mentation, such as a warranty deed, lease agreement, or rental agree-
ment, to verify ownership, renting, or leasing, with the person having 
established and maintained domicile at that residence during at least 
the twelve consecutive months immediately preceding the census date 
of the academic term in which the person enrolls. 

(3) Marriage. Marriage certificate or declaration of regis-
tration of informal marriage with documentation to support that the 
spouse has established and maintained domicile in Texas for the twelve 
consecutive months prior to the census date of the academic term in 
which the person enrolls. 

(4) Ownership of a Business. Documents that evidence the 
organization of the business in Texas for twelve consecutive months 
prior to the census date of the academic term in which the person en-
rolls that reflect the ownership interest of the person, and the customary 
management of the business by the person without the intention of liq-
uidation for the foreseeable future. 

(b) A person who has demonstrated domicile by satisfying at 
least one of the factors described in subsection (a)(1) - (4) of this sec-
tion, and who continues to reside in Texas, except for temporary ab-
sences, is considered to have maintained domicile for the period of 
time unless the person take steps to the contrary. 

(c) Evidence Supporting a Dependent Pursuant to Texas Edu-
cation Code, §54.052(a)(2). Each institution shall use the factors de-
scribed by paragraphs (1) - (4) of this subsection for the consecutive 
twelve-month period immediately preceding the census date of the aca-
demic term in which a dependent seeks to enroll at an institution in de-
termining a dependent's parent's claim of domicile in Texas. 

(1) Significant Gainful Employment of the Parent: 

(A) An employer's statement of dates of employment 
and salary earned of the dependent's parent in Texas (beginning and 
current or ending dates) that encompass at least the twelve consecutive 
months immediately preceding the census date of the academic term 
in which the dependent enrolls showing the salary the dependent's par-
ent earned or pay stubs for twelve consecutive months immediately 
preceding the census date, reflecting significant gainful employment 
in Texas, or proof of other earned income such as pensions, veterans' 
benefits, social security, and savings from previous earnings for twelve 
consecutive months immediately preceding the census date the depen-
dent enrolls. 

(B) For a dependent's parent who is unemployed and 
living on public assistance, written statements from the office of one or 
more social service agencies located in Texas that attest to the provision 
of services to the dependent's parent for the twelve consecutive months 
immediately preceding the census date of the academic term in which 
the dependent enrolls. 

(C) For a dependent's parent who is self-employed, fed-
eral tax documents showing domicile in Texas (beginning and current 
or ending dates) that encompass at least the twelve consecutive months 

immediately preceding the census date of the academic term in which 
the dependent enrolls. 

(2) Residential Real Property of the Parent. Sole or joint 
marital ownership, lease, or rental of residential real property in Texas 
with documentation, such as a warranty deed, lease agreement, or rental 
agreement, to verify ownership, rental, and leasing with the depen-
dent's parent having established and maintained domicile at that res-
idence during at least the twelve consecutive months immediately pre-
ceding the census date of the academic term in which the dependent 
enrolls. 

(3) Marriage of the Parent. Marriage certificate or decla-
ration of registration of informal marriage with documentation to sup-
port that the dependent's parent's spouse has established and maintained 
domicile in Texas for at least the twelve consecutive months immedi-
ately preceding the census date of the academic term in which the per-
son enrolls. 

(4) Ownership of a Business of the Parent. Documents that 
evidence the organization of the business in Texas for at least the twelve 
consecutive months immediately preceding the census date of the aca-
demic term in which the dependent enrolls, that reflect the ownership 
interest of the dependent's parent, and the customary management of 
the business by the dependent's parent without the intention of liquida-
tion for the foreseeable future. 

(d) A dependent whose parent who has demonstrated domicile 
by satisfying at least one of the factors described in subsection (c)(1) 
- (4) of this section, and who continues to reside in Texas, except for 
temporary absences, the dependent is considered to have maintained 
domicile for the period of time unless the person take steps to the con-
trary. 

(e) Evidence Supporting Residence Pursuant to Texas Educa-
tion Code, §54.052(a)(3)(B)(i). Each institution should accept a per-
son's high school transcript, GED, or receipt of diploma equivalent 
showing three years of attendance at a public or private high school in 
Texas before graduation or receipt of diploma equivalent as evidence 
supporting a person's claim of residence in Texas. In cases where there 
may be a gap between a person's high school transcript, GED, or receipt 
of diploma equivalent, and the person is seeking to establish continu-
ous residence for the three year period, the person shall use the factors 
listed in subsection (f) of this section. 

(f) Evidence Supporting Residence Pursuant to Texas Educa-
tion Code, §54.052(a)(3)(B)(ii). Each institution shall use at least one 
of the following evidence in determining a person's claim of residence 
in Texas: 

(1) Utility bills for the twelve consecutive months imme-
diately preceding the census date; 

(2) Texas high school transcript(s) for the person's full se-
nior year or twelve months immediately preceding the census date; 

(3) Texas voter registration card that was issued at least 
twelve months preceding the census date; 

(4) Texas vehicle registration that was issued at least 
twelve months immediately preceding the census date; 

(5) Possession of a valid Texas driver's license or Texas 
identification card that was issued at least twelve months immediately 
preceding the census date; 

(6) Lease or rental of residential real property in the name 
of the person for the twelve consecutive months immediately preceding 
the census date; or 
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(7) any other documentation used by the student to estab-
lish eligibility to enroll in the school district where the student attended 
high school. 

(g) A person whose initial purpose for moving to Texas is to 
attend an institution as a full-time student will be presumed not to have 
the required intent to make Texas his or her domicile; however, the 
presumption may be overruled by clear and convincing evidence. 

(h) A person shall not be able to establish domicile by perform-
ing acts which are directly related to fulfilling educational objectives 
or which are required or routinely performed by temporary residents of 
the State. 

(i) Members of the United States Armed Forces. A member 
of the United States Armed Services whose Home of Record with the 
military is Texas is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her 
spouse and dependent children. A member whose Home of Record is 
not Texas but who provides the institution Leave and Earnings State-
ments that show the member has claimed Texas as his or her place of 
residence for the twelve consecutive months prior to enrollment is pre-
sumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent 
children. 

(j) An institution may not require a person to provide evidence 
of resident status beyond what is included this subchapter. 

(k) Documentation provided to an institution in accordance 
with this subchapter, must be retained by the institution in paper or elec-
tronic format as required by the institution's record retention schedule. 

§13.197. Continuing Resident Status. 
(a) Except as provided under subsection (b) of this section, a 

person classified by an institution as a resident of Texas under this sub-
chapter may, without submitting the information required by §13.195 
and §13.196 of this subchapter (relating to Core Residency Questions 
and Information Needed to Document Resident Status, respectively), 
be classified as a resident by any institution in each subsequent aca-
demic term in which the person enrolls unless the person provides in-
formation to the institution, or the institution identifies information, 
including a change in fact or law, that indicates a change in resident 
status is appropriate or required as indicated in §13.198 or §13.199 of 
this subchapter (relating to Reclassification Based on Changed or Addi-
tional Information and Errors in Classification for Nonresident Tuition, 
respectively). 

(b) If a person is not enrolled in an institution for two or more 
consecutive regular semesters, then the person must reapply for resi-
dent status and shall submit the information required in §13.195 and 
§13.196 of this subchapter and satisfy all the applicable requirements 
to establish resident status. 

§13.198. Reclassification Based on Changed or Additional Informa-
tion. 

(a) An institution may reclassify a person previously classified 
as a resident or nonresident under this subchapter based on additional 
or changed information. 

(b) If a person discovers additional or changed information 
which may affect their resident or nonresident classification status, the 
person shall timely provide the information to the institution. 

(c) If a person is initially classified as a nonresident, the person 
may request reclassification by providing the institution with the docu-
mentation described in §13.195 and §13.196 of this subchapter (relat-
ing to Core Residency Questions and Information Needed to Document 
Resident Status, respectively). 

(d) Any change made under this section shall apply to the first 
succeeding academic term in which the person is enrolled, if the change 

is made on or after the census date of that academic term. If the change 
is made prior to the census date, it will apply to the academic term in 
which the change was made. 

§13.199. Errors in Classification for Nonresident Tuition. 

(a) If an institution erroneously classified a person as a Texas 
resident and the person is not entitled or permitted to pay resident tu-
ition, liability for payment of nonresident tuition is as outlined in this 
subchapter: 

(1) the institution shall charge nonresident tuition to the 
person beginning with the first academic term that begins after the date 
the institution discovers the error; and 

(2) the person is liable for the difference between resident 
and nonresident tuition for each academic term in which the person 
paid resident tuition as a result of the error in classification. 

(b) Liability is Limited. An institution is limited to the provi-
sions outlined in §13.200 of this subchapter (relating to Liability for 
Errors in Classification) for the sanction of a student based on unpaid 
tuition owed by a person due to errors in classification for nonresident 
tuition. 

(c) Regardless of whether the person is still enrolled at the in-
stitution, not earlier than the first day of the academic term that begins 
after the date the institution discovers the error, the institution may re-
quest the person to pay the difference between resident and nonresident 
tuition. 

§13.200. Liability for Errors in Classification. 

(a) The following persons are liable to pay the difference be-
tween resident and nonresident tuition for each academic term in which 
the person paid resident tuition as the result of an error in classification 
under this subchapter: 

(1) A person who, upon receiving information that the per-
son reasonably should have known would be relevant to or could lead 
to a correction or reclassification of the person's resident or nonresident 
classification status, failed to provide the information to the institution 
in a timely manner; 

(2) A person who knowingly provided false information to 
the institution that the person reasonably knew or should have known 
could lead to an error in classification by the institution under this sub-
chapter; or 

(3) A person whose institution received or discovered in-
formation relevant to, or could lead to, a correction of a person's resi-
dent or nonresident classification status. 

(b) The person liable under subsection (a) of this section shall 
pay the applicable amount to the institution not later than the 30th day 
after the date the institution notified a person of the person's liability 
for the amount owed. After receiving the notice and until the amount 
is paid in full, the person is not entitled to receive from the institution 
a certificate or diploma, if not yet awarded on the date of the notice, 
or official transcript that is based at least partially on or includes credit 
for courses taken while the person was erroneously classified as a Texas 
resident. An institution may not withhold a transcript if prohibited by 
federal law. 

(c) Subsequent Enrollment. An institution may not require a 
person to pay unpaid tuition owed as a condition for any subsequent 
enrollment by the person in the institution. 

(d) A person who an institution erroneously classified as a res-
ident of Texas but who is entitled or permitted to have their nonresident 
tuition reduced to the same amount as resident tuition is not liable for 
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the difference between resident and nonresident tuition under this sec-
tion. 

§13.201. Institutional Errors in Classification for Resident Tuition. 
(a) Regardless of the reason for the error, if an institution 

erroneously classifies a person as a nonresident, the institution shall 
charge resident tuition to the person beginning with the academic term 
in which the institution discovers the error. 

(b) If an institution incorrectly charged or classified a person 
as liable for nonresident tuition when the student was entitled to pay 
resident tuition, the institution shall immediately refund the amount of 
tuition the person paid in excess of resident tuition. 

§13.202. Resident Status Determination Official. 
Each institution shall designate at least one individual who is employed 
by the institution as a Resident Status Determination Official who shall 
be knowledgeable of the requirements set out in this subchapter and the 
applicable statutes, including state and federal law, and who is respon-
sible for determining the resident status of students at the institution. 

§13.203. Required Notification Regarding Permanent Residency. 
Each institution shall provide a notification to each student who demon-
strated that the student is a lawfully present alien of the student's obli-
gation to apply for Permanent Resident status as soon as the student 
is eligible to do so, pursuant to Texas Education Code, §54.053(3)(B). 
An institution shall provide this notification to each applicable student 
upon admission, annually while the student is enrolled, and upon grad-
uation or separation from the institution. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 26, 2025. 
TRD-202503087 
Nichole Bunker-Henderson 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6365 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER L. ENGINEERING SUMMER 
PROGRAM 
19 TAC §§13.200 - 13.202 

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) proposes the repeal of Texas Administrative Code, Ti-
tle 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter L, §§13.200 - 13.202, 
concerning Engineering Summer Program. Specifically, this re-
peal will eliminate rules related to a program that is not currently 
funded and has not been funded in recent years. 
The Coordinating Board is authorized by Texas Education Code, 
§61.027, to adopt and publish rules in accordance with Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 2001. 
Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Stu-
dent Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each of the 
first five years the sections are in effect there would be no fiscal 
implications for state or local governments as a result of enforc-
ing or administering the rules. There are no estimated reductions 
in costs to the state and to local governments as a result of en-
forcing or administering the rule. There are no estimated losses 

or increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as 
a result of enforcing or administering the rule. 
There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and 
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment. 
Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Stu-
dent Financial Aid Programs, has also determined that for each 
year of the first five years the section is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of administering the section will be elimi-
nating rules related to a program that is not currently funded and 
has not been funded in recent years. There are no anticipated 
economic costs to persons who are required to comply with the 
sections as proposed. 
Government Growth Impact Statement 
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or 
elimination of employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or 
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rules will not create a new rule; 
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule; 
(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to 
the rule; and 

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Dr. Charles 
W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Student Financial 
Aid Programs, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711-2788, or 
via email at SFAPPolicy@highered.texas.gov. Comments will 
be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in 
the Texas Register. 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Education Code, Section 
61.027, which provides the Coordinating Board with the authority 
to adopt and publish rules in accordance with Texas Government 
Code, Chapter 2001. 
The proposed repeal affects Texas Administrative Code, Title 19, 
Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter L. 
§13.200. Authority, Scope, and Purpose. 
§13.201. Definitions. 
§13.202. Summer Program. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 26, 2025. 
TRD-202503086 
Nichole Bunker-Henderson 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6365 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES 
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PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
HEALTH SERVICES 

CHAPTER 1. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 
SUBCHAPTER D. LOW-THC CANNABIS FOR 
COMPASSIONATE USE 
25 TAC §1.61, §1.63 

The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission (HHSC), on behalf of the Texas Depart-
ment of State Health Services (DSHS), proposes an amendment 
to §1.61, concerning Incurable Neurodegenerative Diseases, 
and new §1.63, concerning Pulmonary Inhalation Devices for 
Low-THC Cannabis. 
BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The purpose of the proposal is to implement House Bill (H.B.) 46, 
by King et al, 89th Legislature, Regular Session, 2025, which 
amends Texas Occupations Code §169.003 to allow DSHS to 
receive physician requests to add medical conditions to the list 
of qualifying conditions for which physicians may prescribe low-
THC cannabis under the Texas Compassionate Use Program at 
the Texas Department of Public Safety. H.B. 46 also amends 
Texas Occupations Code Chapter 169 to add §169.006 to allow 
physicians to prescribe medical devices for the pulmonary in-
halation of an aerosol or vapor to administer low-THC cannabis 
and establish a timeline for reviewing and approving such de-
vices. In accordance with H.B. 46, the rule must be effective not 
later than October 1, 2025. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The proposed amendment to §1.61, Incurable Neurodegenera-
tive Diseases, changes the rule title to "Medical Conditions for 
which a Physician May Prescribe Low-THC Cannabis." The pro-
posed amendment also prescribes the way a physician may re-
quest additional medical conditions be added to the list of quali-
fying conditions. 
Proposed new §1.63, Pulmonary Inhalation Devices for Low-
THC Cannabis, defines a pulmonary inhalation medical device 
of an aerosol or vapor a physician may prescribe to a qualified 
patient and establishes a timeline for reviewing and approving 
such devices. 
FISCAL NOTE 

Christy Havel-Burton, DSHS Chief Financial Officer, has deter-
mined for each year of the first five years the rules will be in effect, 
enforcing or administering the rules does not have foreseeable 
implications relating to costs or revenues of state or local gov-
ernments. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

DSHS has determined during the first five years the rules will be 
in effect: 
(1) the proposed rules will not create or eliminate a government 
program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not affect the num-
ber of DSHS employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rules will result in no as-
sumed change in future legislative appropriations; 
(4) the proposed rules will not affect fees paid to DSHS; 

(5) the proposed rules will create a new regulation; 
(6) the proposed rules will expand existing regulation; 
(7) the proposed rules will increase the number of individuals 
subject to the rules; and 

(8) DSHS has insufficient information to determine the proposed 
rules' effect on the state's economy. 
SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-
MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS 

Christy Havel-Burton has also determined there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses, 
or rural communities. The rules do not impose any requirements 
or costs to small businesses, microbusinesses, or rural commu-
nities. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

The proposed rules will not affect a local economy. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045 does not apply to these 
rules because the rules are necessary to implement legislation 
that does not specifically state that §2001.0045 applies to the 
rules. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS 

Manda Hall, M.D., Deputy Commissioner, Community Health Im-
provement Division, has determined for each year of the first five 
years the rules are in effect, the public may benefit from the use 
of pulmonary inhalation devices for low-THC cannabis treatment 
through the Texas Compassionate Use Program. 
Christy Havel-Burton has also determined for the first five years 
the rules are in effect, there are no anticipated economic costs to 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed rules. The 
rules are intended to provide guidance for low-THC cannabis pul-
monary inhalation devices for treatment under the Texas Com-
passionate Use Program. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

DSHS has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit 
an owner's right to the owner's property that would otherwise ex-
ist in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not 
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code §2007.043. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Rules 
Coordination Office, P.O. Box 13247, Mail Code 4102, Austin, 
Texas 78711-3247, or street address 4601 West Guadalupe 
Street, Austin, Texas 78751; or emailed to HHSRulesCoordina-
tionOffice@hhs.texas.gov. 

To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than 
31 days after the date of this issue of the Texas Register. Com-
ments must be (1) postmarked or shipped before the last day of 
the comment period; (2) hand-delivered before 5:00 p.m. on the 
last working day of the comment period; or (3) emailed before 
midnight on the last day of the comment period. If the last day 
to submit comments falls on a holiday, comments must be post-
marked, shipped, or emailed before midnight on the following 
business day to be accepted. When emailing comments, please 
indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 25R037" in the subject 
line. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
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The amendment and new section are authorized by Texas 
Occupations Code Chapter 169 and Texas Government Code 
§524.0151, which provide that the executive commissioner 
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services system, and Texas 
Health and Safety Code §1001.075 which authorizes the exec-
utive commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules necessary for the 
operation and provision of health and human services by DSHS 
and for the administration of Texas Occupations Code Chapter 
169. 
The amendment and new section affect Texas Occupations 
Code Chapter 169, Texas Government Code §524.0151, and 
Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 1001. 
§1.61. Medical Conditions for which a Physician May Prescribe 
Low-THC Cannabis [Incurable Neurodegenerative Diseases]. 

(a) An incurable neurodegenerative disease is a condition, in-
jury, or illness: 

(1) that occurs when nerve cells in the brain or peripheral 
nervous system lose function over time; and 

(2) for which there is no known cure. 

(b) A qualifying physician under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 169, may prescribe low-THC cannabis to a patient with a 
documented diagnosis of one or more of the conditions listed under 
Texas Occupations Code §169.003, or one or more of the following 
incurable neurodegenerative diseases: 

(1) Incurable Neurodegenerative Diseases with Adult On-
set: 

(A) Motor Neuron Disease: 

(i) Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; 

(ii) Spinal-bulbar muscular atrophy; and 

(iii) Spinal Muscular Atrophy. 

(B) Muscular Dystrophies: 

(i) Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy; 

(ii) Central Core; and 

(iii) Facioscapulohumeral Muscular Dystrophy. 

(C) Freidreich's Ataxia. 

(D) Vascular dementia. 

(E) Charcot Marie Tooth and related hereditary neu-
ropathies. 

(F) Spinocerebellar ataxia. 

(G) Familial Spastic Paraplegia. 

(H) Progressive dystonias DYT genes 1 through 20. 

(I) Progressive Choreas: Huntington's Disease. 

(J) Amyloidoses: 

(i) Alzheimer's Disease; 

(ii) Prion Diseases: 

(I) Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease; 

(II) Gerstmann-Straussler-Scheinker Disease; 

(III) Familial or Sporadic Fatal Insomnia; and 

(IV) Kuru. 

(K) Tauopathies. 

(i) Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy: 

(ii) Pick Disease; 

(iii) Globular Glial Tauopathy; 

(iv) Corticobasal Degeneration; 

(v) Progressive Supranuclear Palsy; 

(vi) Argyrophilic Grain Disease; 

(vii) Neurofibrillary Tangle dementia, also known as 
Primary Age-related Tauopathy; and 

(viii) Frontotemporal dementia and parkinsonism 
linked to chromosome 17 caused by mutations in MAPT gene. 

(L) Synucleinopathies: 

(i) Lewy Body Disorders: 

(I) Dementia with Lewy Bodies; and 

(II) Parkinson's Disease; and 

(ii) Multiple System Atrophy. 

(M) Transactive response DNA-binding protein-43 
(TDP-43) Proteinopathies: 

(i) Frontotemporal Lobar Degeneration; 

(ii) Primary Lateral Sclerosis; and 

(iii) Progressive Muscular Atrophy. 

(2) Incurable Neurodegenerative Diseases with Pediatric 
Onset: 

(A) Mitochondrial Conditions: 

(i) Kearn Sayers Syndrome; 

(ii) Mitochondrial Encephalopathy Ragged Red 
Fiber; 

(iii) Mitochondrial Encephalopathy Lactic Acidosis 
Stroke; 

(iv) Neuropathy, Ataxia, and Retinitis Pigmentosa; 

(v) Mitochondrial neurogastrointestinal en-
cephalopathy; 

(vi) Polymerase G Related Disorders: 

(I) Alpers-Huttenlocher syndrome; 

(II) Childhood Myocerebrohepatopathy spec-
trum; 

(III) Myoclonic epilepsy myopathy sensory 
ataxia; and 

(IV) Ataxia neuropathy spectrum; 

(vii) Subacute necrotizing encephalopathy, also 
known as Leigh syndrome; 

(viii) Respiratory chain disorders complex 1 through 
4 defects: Co Q biosynthesis defects; 

(ix) Thymidine Kinase; 

(x) Mitochondrial Depletion syndromes types 1 
through 14: 

(I) Deoxyguanisine kinase deficiency; 
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(II) SUCLG1-related mitochondrial DNA de-
pletion syndrome, encephalomyopathic form with methylmalonic 
aciduria; and 

(III) RRM2B-related mitochondrial disease. 

(B) Creatine Disorders: 

(i) Guanidinoacetate methytransferase deficiency; 

(ii) L-Arginine/glycine amidinotransferase defi-
ciency; and 

(iii) Creatine Transporter Defect, also known as 
SLC 6A8. 

(C) Neurotransmitter defects: 

(i) Segawa Disease [Diease], also known as 
Dopamine Responsive Dystonia; 

(ii) Guanosine triphosphate cyclohydrolase defi-
ciency; 

(iii) Aromatic L-amino acid decarboxylase defi-
ciency; 

(iv) Monoamine oxidase deficiency; 

(v) Biopterin Defects: 

(I) Pyruvoyl-tetahydropterin synthase; 

(II) Sepiapterin reductase; 

(III) Dihydropteridine reductase; and 

(IV) Pterin-4-carbinolamine dehydratase. 

(D) Congenital Disorders of Glycosylation. 

(E) Lysosomal Storage Diseases: 

(i) Mucopolysaccaridosis: 

(I) Mucopolysaccharidosis Type I, also known as 
Hurler Syndrome or Scheie Syndrome; 

(II) Mucopolysaccharidosis Type II, also known 
as Hunter Syndrome; 

(III) Mucopolysaccharidosis Type III, also 
known as Sanfilippo A and B; 

(IV) Mucopolysaccharidosis Type IV, also 
known as Maroteaux-Lamy; and 

(V) Mucopolysaccharidosis Type VII, also 
known as Sly. 

(ii) Oligosaccharidoses: 

(I) Mannosidosis; 

(II) Alpha-fucosidosis; 

(III) Galactosialidosis; 

(IV) Asparylglucosaminuria; 

(V) Schindler; and 

(VI) Sialidosis; 

(iii) Mucolipidoses: 

(I) Mucolipidoses Type II, also known as Inclu-
sion Cell disease; and 

(II) Mucolipidoses Type III, also known as 
pseudo-Hurler polydystrophy; 

(iv) Sphingolipidoses: 

(I) Gaucher Type 2 and Type 3; 

(II) Neimann Pick Type A and B; 

(III) Neimann Pick Type C; 

(IV) Krabbe; 

(V) GM1 gangliosidosis; 

(VI) GM2 gangliosidosis also known as 
Tay-sachs and Sandhoff Disease; 

(VII) Metachromatic leukodystrophy; 

(VIII) Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis types 1-10 
including Batten Disease; and 

(IX) Farber Disease; and 

(v) Glycogen Storage-Lysosomal: Pompe Disease. 

(F) Peroxisomal Disorders: 

(i) X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy; 

(ii) Peroxisomal biosynthesis defects: 

(I) Zellweger syndrome: 

(II) Neonatal Adrenoleukodystrophy; and 

(iii) D Bidirectional enzyme deficiency. 

(G) Leukodystrophy: 

(i) Canavan disease; 

(ii) Pelizaeus-Merzbacher disease; 

(iii) Alexander disease; 

(iv) Multiple Sulfatase deficiency; 

(v) Polyol disorders; 

(vi) Glycine encephalopathy, also known as non-ke-
totic hyperglycinemia; 

(vii) Maple Syrup Urine Disease; 

(viii) Homocysteine re-methylation defects; 

(ix) Methylenetetrahydrofolate reductase deficiency 
severe variant; 

(x) L-2-hydroxyglutaric aciduria; 

(xi) Glutaric acidemia type 1; 

(xii) 3-hydroxy-3-methylglutaryl-CoA lyase defi-
ciency; 

(xiii) Galactosemia; 

(xiv) Manosidosis alpha and beta; 

(xv) Salidosis; 

(xvi) Peripheral neuropathy types 1 through 4; 

(xvii) Pyruvate Dehydrogenase Deficiency; 

(xviii) Pyruvate Carboxylase Deficiency; 

(xix) Refsum Disease; and 

(xx) Cerebral Autosomal Dominant Arteriopathy 
with Sub-cortical Infarcts and Leukoencephalopathy. 

(H) Fatty Acid Oxidation: 
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(i) Trifunctional protein deficiency; and 

(ii) Long-chain L-3 hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydroge-
nase deficiency. 

(I) Metal Metabolism: 

(i) Wilson Disease; 

(ii) Pantothenate Kinase Associated Neurodegener-
ation; and 

(iii) Neurodegeneration with brain iron accumula-
tion. 

(J) Purine and Pyrimidine Defects: 

(i) Adenylosuccinate synthase Deficiency; 

(ii) 5-aminoimidazole-4-carboxamide ribonu-
cleotide transformylase deficiency; 

(iii) Hypoxanthine-guanine phosophoribosyltrans-
ferase Deficiency also known as Lesch-Nyhan disease; 

(iv) Dihydropyrimidine dehydrogenase Deficiency; 
and 

(v) Dihydropirimidinase Deficiency. 

(c) A [treating] physician [of a patient suffering from an in-
curable neurodegenerative disease not listed in subsection (b) of this 
section] may submit a form [request] to the Texas Department of State 
Health Services (DSHS) [the department] to request adding a condi-
tion to the list of medical conditions in subsection (b) of this section 
for which a physician may prescribe low-THC cannabis [have a dis-
ease added]. 

(1) For forms that request addition of non-neurodegenera-
tive diseases to the list of medical conditions, DSHS will provide those 
forms and any submitted peer reviewed evidence to the Department of 
Public Safety (DPS). DPS will then submit requests to the legislature 
for consideration. 

(2) For forms that request addition of neurodegenerative 
diseases to the list of medical conditions, DSHS will assess those re-
quests for any neurodegenerative diseases not currently listed in sub-
section (b) of this section. 

(d) A request under subsection (c) of this section must [shall] 
be submitted using the form, Request to Add Medical Conditions 
for Which a Physician May Prescribe Low-THC Cannabis or Add 
Pulmonary Inhalation Devices for Low-THC Cannabis, located on 
the DSHS website [to the department on a form prescribed by the 
department, which can be found on the department's website at 
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/chronic/default.shtm]. 

(e) DSHS [After review of the submitted documentation, the 
department] may request additional information after review of the sub-
mitted form [or make a determination]. 

§1.63. Pulmonary Inhalation Devices for Low-THC Cannabis. 

(a) A pulmonary inhalation device is a machine designed, mar-
keted, and commercially sold to allow a user to inhale an aerosolized 
or vaporized substance. 

(b) A pulmonary inhalation device must not burn or ignite a 
substance for the purpose of inhaling smoke. 

(c) A qualifying physician under Texas Occupations Code 
Chapter 169 may prescribe a pulmonary inhalation device for low-THC 
cannabis to a patient who is qualified to receive a low-THC cannabis 
prescription. 

(d) A qualifying physician under Texas Occupations Code 
Chapter 169 may submit a form to DSHS to request adding a pul-
monary inhalation device to the list from which a physician may 
choose when prescribing a pulmonary inhalation device for low-THC 
cannabis. 

(e) A request under subsection (d) of this section must be sub-
mitted using the form, Request to Add Medical Conditions for Which 
a Physician May Prescribe Low-THC Cannabis or Add Pulmonary In-
halation Devices for Low-THC Cannabis, located on the DSHS web-
site. 

(f) The Texas Department of State Health Services must re-
view pulmonary inhalation devices every six months with stakeholders 
to determine potential changes to this section. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 20, 2025. 
TRD-202503019 
Cynthia Hernandez 
General Counsel 
Department of State Health Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 776-3554 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 30. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

PART 1. TEXAS COMMISSION ON 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

CHAPTER 17. TAX RELIEF FOR PROPERTY 
USED FOR ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION 
30 TAC §§17.2, 17.10, 17.12, 17.14, 17.17, 17.18, 17.20, 17.25 

(Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code, 
§2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is 
"cumbersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient," the figures 
in 30 TAC §§17.14, 17.17 and 17.18 are not included in the print 
version of the Texas Register. The figures are available in the 
on-line version of the September 5, 2025, issue of the Texas 
Register.) 

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ, 
agency, or commission) proposes to amend §§17.2, 17.10, 
17.12, 17.14, 17.17, 17.20, and 17.25 and add new §17.18. 
Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Proposed 
Rules 

The commission's rules in 30 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) 
Chapter 17 implement the exemption from taxation established 
in Texas Tax Code (TTC), §11.31 for certain property that is used 
wholly or partially as a facility, device, or method for the control 
of air, water, or land pollution. Under the requirements of 30 
TAC Chapter 17, an owner of property may submit an applica-
tion to the executive director to determine if the facility, device, 
or method is used wholly or partly as a facility, device, or method 
for the control of air, water, or land pollution. The proposed rule-
making would amend the provisions in 30 TAC Chapter 17 to 
update the requirements of the Tax Relief for Pollution Control 
Property Program based on the recommendations and advice of 
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the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee 
(committee), established under TTC, §11.31(n), make clarifying 
changes to existing items on the Tier I Table, and provide other 
updates as discussed in the Section by Section Discussion. This 
rulemaking would also fulfill the requirement of TTC, §11.31(l) 
that the commission, by rule, update the list adopted under TTC, 
§11.31(k), the Expedited Review List (ERL), at least once every 
three years and fulfills the requirement of 30 TAC §17.14(b) that 
the commission review and update the Tier I Table every three 
years. 
On December 1, 2022, the committee submitted its recommen-
dations to TCEQ as part of the triennial review of the Tier I Table 
located in §17.14(a) and the ERL included as part of §17.17(b). 
The committee evaluated Tier II and Tier III applications submit-
ted from April 1, 2018, through April 30, 2021, that received posi-
tive use determinations (PUD) to determine whether the pollution 
control property, if any, had been demonstrated consistently to 
be wholly used as pollution control property in the same man-
ner on each application for any given property. The committee 
determined that one type of pollution control property currently 
submitted as Tier II property should be considered Tier I property 
in the Tier I Table, which would no longer require a Tier II appli-
cation. Additional proposed changes include clarifying changes 
to existing items on the Tier I Table. 
Applications for use determinations may be submitted under 
Tiers I, II, and III. A Tier I application may be submitted for 
property used as listed on the Tier I Table that is used for 
pollution control in accordance with the description listed in the 
Tier I Table for that property type. A Tier II application may be 
submitted for property that is not listed on the Tier I Table, but 
is used wholly for the control of air, water, and/or land pollution. 
A Tier III application may be submitted for property that is used 
partially for pollution control. For Tier III applications, a cost 
analysis procedure (CAP) is used to determine the proportion 
of the property used for pollution control purposes. 
The proposed rulemaking would remove existing requirements 
that the commission review and update the Tier I Table every 
three years. This review is not required by statute and would not 
preclude the commission from reviewing the table or the commit-
tee from providing advice regarding the Tier I Table at any time. 
The requirement to review the ERL would not change because 
it is required in TTC, §11.31(l). 
This proposed rulemaking would allow for appeal-related doc-
uments and executive director notifications to be sent and re-
ceived electronically to make the process more efficient. 
The commission also proposes to amend the corresponding pro-
visions in Chapter 18, Voter-Approval Tax Relief for Pollution 
Control Requirements, to mirror the proposed changes in Chap-
ter 17. 
Section by Section Discussion 

In addition to the proposed amendments to address recommen-
dations from the advisory committee and to update and clar-
ify program requirements, the commission proposes non-sub-
stantive changes to update the rules in accordance with current 
Texas Register style and format requirements, improve readabil-
ity, establish consistency in the rules, and conform to the stan-
dards in the Texas Legislative Council Drafting Manual, Septem-
ber 2020. The specific substantive changes are discussed in 
greater detail in this Section by Section Discussion in the corre-
sponding portions related to the affected rule sections. Non-sub-
stantive changes are not intended to alter the existing rule re-

quirements in any way and may not be specifically discussed in 
this preamble. 
§17.2 Definitions 

The commission proposes to update references included in cer-
tain definitions in §17.2 to reflect revisions to other sections of the 
chapter. The proposed relocation of the ERL from §17.17(b) to a 
new section, §17.18, would make the reference to §17.17(b)(1) 
obsolete; therefore, the reference to 17.17(b)(1) of this title re-
lating to Partial Determinations will be replaced with a reference 
to §17.18 of this title (relating to Expedited Review List) in the 
definition of "capital cost old." Similarly, the proposed removal 
of subsection (b) in §17.14 would make references to §17.14(b) 
obsolete, and those references are proposed for revision from 
§17.14(b) to §17.14 in the definitions for "Tier I," "Tier II," and 
"Tier III." 
§17.10. Application for Use Determination 

The commission proposes amendments to §17.10(a)(1) to pro-
vide that the executive director specifies the form of applications 
submitted to the program instead of requiring applicants to sub-
mit two printed copies of the application. This would allow for the 
executive director to require electronic submittal of applications, 
which is more efficient for the program to administer than pro-
cessing paper applications. Proposed amendments to §17.10(c) 
would remove references to the postmarking of applications and 
replace them with references to submittal of applications. 
The commission proposes to add language in §17.10(d)(1) to 
specify that applications pertaining only to property listed on the 
ERL need not provide the environmental benefits of the property. 
This change is consistent with TTC, §11.31(m), and existing re-
quirements in Chapter 17. 
The commission proposes to amend §17.10(d)(5) to change the 
reference to §17.17(c) to §17.17(b). This change would corre-
spond with the proposed relocation of the ERL. 
§17.12. Application Review Schedule 

The commission proposes revisions to §17.12 to allow admin-
istrative completeness "notifications" to be sent in a form other 
than a letter, such as via electronic mail. Electronic correspon-
dence for communications with applicants is more efficient. The 
commission also proposes an amendment to §17.12(3) to revise 
the reference to the ERL to reflect the proposed renumbering of 
the ERL to proposed new §17.18. 
§17.14. Tier I Pollution Control Property 

The commission proposes to amend §17.14 to remove subsec-
tion (b) and update the Tier I table. Proposed amendments to 
the table include adding an item based on a recommendation 
from the committee and revising existing items for clarity and to 
expand applicability. 
The property listed in the table of §17.14 is designated as Tier 
I because the property has been predetermined to be pollution 
control property when used as described in the table. The com-
mission proposes to add item number M-25 to the Tier I Table at 
100% use for pollution control purposes as the committee recom-
mended, but with some deviations from the committee's recom-
mendation. The commission agrees with the committee's rec-
ommendation to add Amine Treating Systems (components nec-
essary to transfer impurities removed from natural gas to a final 
control device), when used as described in the committee's rec-
ommendation, to the Tier I Table because they are used wholly 
for pollution control purposes. 
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The committee recommended adding amine treating systems 
as an item number beginning with letter "A," to designate it as 
air pollution control equipment. However, the commission pro-
poses to designate this as miscellaneous pollution equipment, 
using the letter "M" because this property could be used to con-
trol pollution from the air, water, or land. Similarly, the commis-
sion proposes to list Amine Treating Systems with the media 
Air/Land/Water. The commission proposes to add the item us-
ing the property name, description, and use determination per-
centage recommended by the committee. This property type is 
described in the proposed rule language and is not further dis-
cussed in the Section by Section Discussion of this preamble. 
The committee recommended that amine treating systems be 
added to the Tier I Table based on a review and analysis of Tier II 
applications submitted from April 1, 2018, through April 30, 2021. 
The property type consistently received a PUD of 100% each 
time an applicant requested a use determination for such prop-
erty, demonstrating the property was consistently used wholly for 
pollution control. Although the proposed item number is added 
to the Tier I Table as 100% for pollution control purposes, an ap-
plicant would still be required, under §17.14 and §17.17, to sub-
mit a Tier III application if such property produces a marketable 
product or a Tier II or Tier III application if it is not used as de-
scribed in the Tier I table. 
The commission proposes to remove the requirement from item 
A-115 that external floating roofs be used to comply with a re-
quirement in 30 TAC §115.112. This rule applies only to certain 
geographical areas in Texas, but external floating roofs may be 
used throughout the state to comply with a pollution control re-
quirement other than those in §115.112. Additionally, other rules 
may be appropriate for applicants to cite when identifying the 
sections of the law(s), rule(s), or regulation(s) being met or ex-
ceeded by the use, installation, construction, or acquisition of 
the external floating roofs. Removing this requirement for item 
A-115 would allow applicants outside of the areas specified in 
§115.112 to be able to apply for a use determination using a Tier 
I application. 
The commission proposes an amendment to revise the descrip-
tion for item T-32 for Dielectric Coatings to clarify that the item 
includes factory installed coal-tar epoxies, enamels, fiberglass 
reinforced plastic, or urethanes on tanks and/or piping. This 
change would clarify that newer and alternative technologies 
such as fusion-bonded epoxies that protect against corrosion of 
tanks or pipes could also qualify for Tier I applications. 
The commission proposes to remove subsection (b) that re-
quires the commission to update and review the Tier I Table at 
least once every three years. The scheduled review required 
in this section is not required by statute and places an unnec-
essary burden on the commission to engage in a review and 
rulemaking on a rigid schedule. Further, the standard of review 
requiring "compelling evidence" in paragraphs (1) and (2) to add 
or remove items on the Tier I Table is not required by statute 
and does not need to be imposed on the commission. Any 
future rulemaking to revise the Tier I Table would be subject 
to the rulemaking authority conferred to the commission in the 
Texas Water Code, the Texas Government Code, and the TTC. 
Removal of the requirements and limitations would not preclude 
the commission from reviewing the table or the committee from 
providing advice on its contents at any time. The proposed 
removal of subsection (b) would result in a §17.14 that no 
longer requires subsection formatting. Corresponding changes 

to reflect reference to the renumbering of §17.14 would also be 
made. 
§17.17. Partial Determinations 

The proposed rulemaking would move §17.17(b) concerning and 
including the ERL to proposed new §17.18. The rule provisions 
for applications for partial use determinations and applications 
for property on the ERL are different and should be addressed 
in separate sections. No changes are proposed to the ERL in 
the figure in existing 30 TAC §17.17(b). Subsections (c) and (d) 
and figures in 30 TAC §17.17(c)(1) and §17.17(c)(2) would be 
renumbered accordingly. References to §17.14(a) would also 
be removed from the rule language. 
§17.18. Expedited Review List 

The proposed rulemaking would add new §17.18 and move ex-
isting §17.17(b), including the ERL, into the new section. The 
proposed move would help clarify that the applicability of the 
ERL is independent of the application requirements for partial 
use determinations, which are provided in existing §17.17. No 
changes are proposed for the ERL in the existing figure in 30 
TAC §17.17(b), proposed new figure 30 TAC §17.18. However, 
the rule language in proposed new §17.18 would be revised from 
existing §17.17(b) to indicate that an application that relies on an 
item from the ERL must still adhere to the requirements in Chap-
ter 17 associated with application tier and fee. 
§17.20. Application Fees 

The proposed amendments would update rules related to the 
payment of application fees. The proposed rule revisions in 
§17.20(b) would clarify that if it is determined, during review of 
an application, that the fee originally remitted with an application 
was not appropriate for the application, the correct fee must be 
submitted before application review continues. Additionally, pro-
posed revisions to §17.20(c) would specify how payment may 
be remitted and that the payment must be made payable to 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. This change 
would reflect rule language used by other program areas for pro-
cessing payments to the agency. Finally, the commission pro-
poses an amendment to §17.20(d) to specify that either the ap-
plication fee or a receipt for payment of the application fee must 
accompany the application. 
§17.25. Appeals Process 

The commission proposes amendments to §17.25 to provide for 
electronic submission of appeals and related correspondence by 
e-mail. Allowing such communications by e-mail provides more 
efficient administration of the program. This proposed rule would 
allow for appeal-related documents to be sent and received elec-
tronically. Currently, the rules specify appeals must be submit-
ted via United States mail, facsimile or hand delivery, but do not 
specifically include e-mail. Conforming changes, including re-
quiring the appeal to include the e-mail address of the person 
who files the appeal, to accommodate these changes, are also 
proposed in §17.25(b), (c), (f), and (g). 
Fiscal Note: Costs to State and Local Government 
Kyle Girten, Analyst in the Budget and Planning Division, has 
determined that for the first five-year period the proposed rules 
are in effect, the proposed rulemaking will not result in increased 
costs to TCEQ. Additionally, it is anticipated that there would 
be no or minimal revenue impacts to the agency. Addition of 
Amine Treating Systems and other minor revisions to the Tier I 
table (§17.14), would decrease the application fee for impacted 
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systems from $1,000 (Tier II fee amount) to $150. However, only 
four Tier II applications received since 2020 would have been 
affected by these revisions. 
The rulemaking is not anticipated to result in any fiscal implica-
tions for other state or local government entities. 
Public Benefits and Costs 

Mr. Girten determined that the public benefit of this rulemak-
ing is that the agency will be compliant with state law, specifi-
cally the requirement in TTC, §11.31(l), that TCEQ update the 
list of pollution control properties in §17.14 at least once every 
three years. Additionally, the public will benefit from the addi-
tion of Amine Treating Systems and other minor revisions to the 
Tier I Table (§17.14), and this would reduce the application fee 
for applicants affected by these changes from $1,000 (Tier II fee 
amount) to $150. Lastly, the public will benefit from provisions al-
lowing for electronic submittals of applications and uses of other 
electronic tools and communications (§17.10, §17.12, §17.20, 
and §17.25) and from non-substantive revisions which improve 
the clarity of the rule. This rulemaking would not result in any 
compulsory costs or requirements for any businesses or individ-
uals. 
Local Employment Impact Statement 
The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that a Local Employment Impact Statement is not required 
because the proposed rulemaking does not adversely affect a 
local economy in a material way for the first five years that the 
proposed rule is in effect. 
Rural Communities Impact Assessment 
The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that the proposed rulemaking does not adversely affect 
rural communities in a material way for the first five years that 
the proposed rules are in effect. The amendments would apply 
statewide and have the same effect in rural communities as in 
urban communities. 
Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment 
No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or micro-
businesses due to the implementation or administration of the 
proposed rule for the first five-year period the proposed rules 
are in effect. 
Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that a Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is 
not required because the proposed rule does not adversely af-
fect a small or micro-business in a material way for the first five 
years the proposed rules are in effect. 
Government Growth Impact Statement 
The commission prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed 
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program 
and will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative 
appropriations to the agency. The proposed rulemaking does 
not require the creation of new employee positions, eliminate 
current employee positions, nor require an increase or decrease 
in fees paid to the agency. The proposed rulemaking amends 
an existing regulation, and it does not create, expand, repeal, or 
limit this regulation. The proposed rulemaking does not increase 
or decrease the number of individuals subject to its applicability. 

During the first five years, the proposed rule should not impact 
positively or negatively the state's economy. 
Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination 

The commission reviewed the proposed amendments in light 
of the regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government 
Code (TGC), §2001.0225, and determined the rules do not 
meet the definition of "a Major environmental rule." Under 
TGC, §2001.0225, "a major environmental rule" means a rule, 
the specific intent of which is to protect the environment or 
reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure 
and that may adversely affect in a material way the economy, 
a sector of the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the 
environment, or the public health and safety of the state or 
a sector of the state. Furthermore, the proposed rulemaking 
does not meet any of the four applicability requirements listed 
in TGC, §2001.0225(a). TGC, §2001.0225 applies only to a 
major environmental rule that: 1) exceeds a standard set by 
federal law, unless the rule is specifically required by state 
law; 2) exceeds an express requirement of state law, unless 
the rule is specifically required by federal law; 3) exceeds a 
requirement of a delegation agreement or contract between the 
state and an agency or representative of the federal government 
to implement a state and federal program; or 4) adopts a rule 
solely under the general powers of the agency instead of under 
a specific state law. The proposed rulemaking amends the Tax 
Relief for Pollution Control Property rules. The commission rules 
in Chapter 17 implement a voluntary property tax exemption for 
owners of certain property used to control pollution as set out in 
TTC, §11.31. Because the proposed rules are not specifically 
intended to protect the environment or reduce risks to human 
health from environmental exposure but to implement a tax relief 
program, this rulemaking is not a major environmental rule and 
does not meet any of the four applicability requirements. These 
rules do not result in any new environmental requirements and 
should not adversely affect in a material way the economy, 
a sector of the economy, productivity, competition, or jobs. 
The commission invites public comment regarding this draft 
regulatory impact analysis determination. 
Written comments on the Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis may 
be submitted to the contact person at the address listed under 
the Submittal of Comments section of this preamble. 
Takings Impact Assessment 
The commission evaluated these amended rules and performed 
a preliminary assessment of whether TGC, Chapter 2007 is ap-
plicable. The commission's preliminary assessment indicates 
TGC, Chapter 2007 does not apply to these proposed amend-
ments. Enforcement of these proposed rules would be neither a 
statutory nor constitutional taking of private real property. Specif-
ically, the proposed rules do not affect a landowner's rights in 
private real property, because this rulemaking action does not 
burden, restrict, or limit the owner's rights to property or reduce 
its value by 25% or more beyond which would otherwise exist in 
the absence of the proposed regulations. 
Consistency with the Coastal Management Program 

The commission reviewed the proposed rules and found that 
they are neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implemen-
tation Rules, 31 TAC §29.11(b)(2) or (4), nor will they affect any 
action/authorization identified in Coastal Coordination Act Imple-
mentation Rules, 31 TAC §29.11(a)(6). Therefore, the proposed 
rules are not subject to the Texas Coastal Management Program. 
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Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be 
submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the 
Submittal of Comments section of this preamble. 
Effect on Sites Subject to the Federal Operating Permits Pro-
gram 

Participation in the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Pro-
gram is voluntary, but sites subject to the Federal Operating Per-
mits Program could choose to file an application for a use deter-
mination. If the proposed rules are adopted, owners or operators 
of affected sites subject to the federal operating permit program 
may choose to apply consistent with Chapter 17. 
Announcement of Hearing 

The commission will hold a virtual public hearing on this proposal 
on September 29, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. Central Daylight Time 
(CDT). The hearing is structured for the receipt of oral comments 
by interested persons. Individuals may present oral statements 
when called upon in order of registration. Open discussion will 
not be permitted during the hearing; however, commission staff 
members will be available to discuss the proposal 30 minutes 
prior to the hearing at 9:30 a.m. CDT. 
Individuals who plan to attend the hearing virtually and want to 
provide oral comments and/or want their attendance on record 
must register by Thursday, September 25, 2025. To register for 
the hearing, please e-mail Rules@tceq.texas.gov and provide 
the following information: your name, your affiliation, your email 
address, your phone number, and whether or not you plan to 
provide oral comments during the hearing. Instructions for par-
ticipating in the hearing will be sent on Friday, September 26, 
2025, to those who register for the hearing. 
For the public who do not wish to provide oral comments but 
would like to view the hearing may do so at no cost at: 
https://events.teams.microsoft.com/event/2a564f09-897c-
468b-a887-20536f00caa5@871a83a4-a1ce-4b7a-8156-
3bcd93a08fba 

Persons who have special communication or other accommoda-
tion needs who are planning to attend the hearing should con-
tact Sandy Wong, Office of Legal Services at (512) 239-1802 or 
1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD). Requests should be made as far in ad-
vance as possible. 
Submittal of Comments 

Written comments may be submitted to Gwen Ricco, MC 205, 
Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, or faxed 
to fax4808@tceq.texas.gov. Electronic comments may be sub-
mitted at: https://tceq.commentinput.com/comment/search. File 
size restrictions may apply to comments being submitted via the 
TCEQ Public Comments system. All comments should refer-
ence Rule Project Number 2023-123-017-AI. The comment pe-
riod closes on October 6, 2025. Please choose one of the meth-
ods provided to submit your written comments. 
Copies of the proposed rulemaking can be obtained from the 
commission's website at https://www.tceq.texas.gov/rules/pro-
pose_adopt.html. For further information, please contact 
Elizabeth Sartain, Air Quality Planning Section, at (512) 
239-3933 or elizabeth.sartain@tceq.texas.gov, Tax Relief for 
Pollution Control Property Program 12100 Park 35 Circle, Bldg. 
F, Austin, Texas 78753, Mail: MC-110, P.O. Box 13087, Austin 
Texas 78711-3087. 

Statutory Authority 

The new and amended rules are proposed under Texas Wa-
ter Code (TWC), §5.102, which authorizes the commission to 
perform any acts authorized by the TWC or other laws that are 
necessary and convenient to the exercise of its jurisdiction and 
powers; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the commission to 
adopt rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under 
the TWC. The rules are also proposed under Texas Tax Code 
(TTC), §11.31, which authorizes the commission to adopt rules 
to implement the tax exemption for pollution control property. 
The proposed amendments and new section implement TTC, 
§11.31. 
§17.2. Definitions. 
Unless specifically defined in the Texas Clean Air Act (TCAA), the 
Texas Solid Waste Disposal Act (TSWDA), the Texas Water Code 
(TWC), the Texas Tax Code (TTC), or the Texas Health and Safety 
Code (THSC), or in the rules of the commission, the terms used by 
the commission have the meanings commonly ascribed to them in the 
fields of pollution control or property taxation. In addition to the terms 
that are defined by Chapter 3 of this title (relating to Definitions), the 
TCAA, the TSWDA, TWC, TTC, and THSC, the following words and 
terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Capital cost new--The estimated total capital cost of the 
equipment or process. 

(2) Capital cost old--The cost of the equipment that is being 
or has been replaced by the equipment covered in an application. The 
value of this variable in the cost analysis procedure is calculated using 
one of the four hierarchal methods for this variable in the figure in 
§17.18 [§17.17(b)(1)] of this title (relating to Expedited Review List 
[Partial Determinations]). 

(3) Cost analysis procedure--A procedure that uses cost ac-
counting principles to calculate the percentage of a project or process 
that qualifies for a positive use determination as pollution control prop-
erty. 

(4) Environmental benefit--The prevention, monitoring, 
control, or reduction of air, water, and/or land pollution that results 
from the actions of the applicant. For purposes of this chapter, envi-
ronmental benefit does not include the prevention, monitoring, control, 
or reduction of air, water, and/or land pollution that results from the 
use or characteristics of the applicant's goods or service produced or 
provided. For the purpose of this chapter, the terms "environmental 
benefit" and "pollution control" are synonymous. 

(5) Marketable product--Anything produced or recovered 
using pollution control property that is sold as a product, is accumulated 
for later use, or is used as a raw material in a manufacturing process. 
Marketable product includes, but is not limited to, anything recovered 
or produced using the pollution control property and sold, traded, ac-
cumulated for later use, or used in a manufacturing process (including 
at a different facility). Marketable product does not include any emis-
sion credits or emission allowances that result from installation of the 
pollution control property. 

(6) Partial Determination--A determination that an item of 
property or a process is not used wholly as pollution control. 

(7) Pollution control property--A facility, device, or 
method for control of air, water, and/or land pollution as defined by 
TTC, §11.31(b). 

(8) Tier I--An application containing property that is on the 
Tier I Table in §17.14 [§17.14(a)] of this title (relating to Tier I Pollu-
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tion Control Property) or that is necessary for the installation or opera-
tion of property located on the Tier I Table. 

(9) Tier II--An application for property that is used wholly 
for the control of air, water, and/or land pollution, but is not located on 
the Tier I Table in §17.14 [§17.14(a)] of this title. 

(10) Tier III--An application for property used partially for 
the control of air, water, and/or land pollution and that does not corre-
spond exactly to an item on the Tier I Table in §17.14 [§17.14(a)] of 
this title. 

(11) Use determination--A finding, either positive or neg-
ative, by the executive director that the property is used wholly or par-
tially for pollution control purposes and listing the percentage of the 
property that is determined to be used for pollution control. 

§17.10. Application for Use Determination. 

(a) To be granted a use determination a person shall submit to 
the executive director: 

(1) a completed and signed [commission] application form 
specified by the executive director [and one copy of the completed, 
signed form]; and 

(2) the appropriate fee, under §17.20 of this title (relating 
to Application Fees). 

(b) An application must be submitted for each unit of pollution 
control property or for each group of integrated units that has been, or 
will be, installed for a common purpose. 

(c) If the applicant desires to apply for a use determination for 
a specific tax year, the application must be submitted [postmarked] no 
later than January 31 of the same tax year. Applications submitted 
[postmarked] after this date will be processed as a lower priority than 
applications submitted [postmarked] by the due date and without regard 
for any appraisal district deadlines. 

(d) All use determination applications must contain at least the 
following: 

(1) the anticipated environmental benefits from the instal-
lation of the pollution control property for the control of air, water, 
and/or land pollution, except for applications containing only equip-
ment on the Expedited Review List located in §17.18 of this title (re-
lating to Expedited Review List); 

(2) the estimated cost of the pollution control property; 

(3) the purpose of the installation of such facility, device, 
or method, and the proportion of the installation that is for pollution 
control, such as, if deemed by the executive director to be relevant and 
essential to the use determination, a detailed description of the pollution 
source and a detailed and labeled process flow diagram that clearly 
depicts the pollution control property and the processes and equipment 
that generate the pollutant(s) being controlled; 

(4) the specific sections of the law(s), rule(s), or regula-
tion(s) being met or exceeded by the use, installation, construction, or 
acquisition of the pollution control property; 

(5) if the installation includes property that is not used 
wholly for the control of air, water, and/or land pollution and is not 
on the Tier I Table, a worksheet showing the calculation of the Cost 
Analysis Procedure, §17.17(b) [§17.17(c)] of this title (relating to 
Partial Determinations), and explaining each of the variables; 

(6) any information that the executive director deems rea-
sonably necessary to determine the eligibility of the application; 

(7) if the property for which a use determination is sought 
has been purchased from another owner who previously used the prop-
erty as pollution control property, a copy of the bill of sale or other in-
formation submitted by the person or political subdivision that demon-
strates, to the satisfaction of the executive director, that the transaction 
involves a bona fide change in ownership of the property and is not a 
sham transaction for the purpose of avoiding tax liability; and 

(8) the name of the appraisal district for the county in which 
the property is located. 

§17.12. Application Review Schedule. 
Following submission of the information required by §17.10 of this title 
(relating to Application for Use Determination), the executive director 
shall determine whether the pollution control property is used wholly 
or partly for the control of air, water, and/or land pollution. If the de-
termination is that the property is used partly for pollution control, the 
executive director shall determine the proportion of the property used 
for pollution control. 

(1) As soon as practicable, the executive director shall send 
notice by regular mail or electronic mail to the chief appraiser of the 
appraisal district for the county in which the property is located that the 
person has applied for a use determination under this chapter. 

(2) As soon as practicable after receipt of an application 
for use determination, the executive director shall send written notifi-
cation informing the applicant that the application is administratively 
complete or that it is deficient. 

(A) If the application is not administratively complete, 
the notification will specify the deficiencies, and allow the applicant 30 
days to provide a revised application with the requested information. If 
the applicant does not submit the requested information within 30 days, 
the executive director shall take no further action on the application and 
the application fee will be forfeited under §17.20(b) of this title (relat-
ing to Application Fees). If the first revised application is deficient, the 
executive director shall send written notification informing the appli-
cant that the application is deficient and providing the applicant 30 days 
to provide a second revised application. If the second revised applica-
tion is not administratively complete or the applicant does not provide 
a second revised application within the 30 days, the executive director 
shall take no further action on the application and the application fee 
will be forfeited under §17.20(b) of this title. 

(B) The executive director may request additional tech-
nical information within 60 days of issuance of an administrative com-
pleteness notification [letter]. If additional information is requested, 
the applicant shall provide a revised application with the requested in-
formation. If the revised application is determined to be incomplete 
or the applicant does not provide the requested technical information 
within 30 days, the executive director may request additional technical 
information or the executive director may decide to take no further ac-
tion on the application and the application fee will be forfeited under 
§17.20(b) of this title. The executive director may not issue more than 
two notices of deficiency after the issuance of an administrative com-
pleteness notification [letter] on an application. 

(C) The technical review process is limited to a total of 
230 days from the date of declaration that the application is adminis-
tratively complete. If at the end of the review period the application is 
considered to be incomplete, the executive director shall issue a neg-
ative use determination for failure to document the eligibility of the 
property/equipment to receive a positive use determination. 

(D) An application where the executive director will 
take no further action under subparagraph (A) or (B) of this paragraph 
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may be refiled by the applicant. In such cases, the applicant shall pay 
the appropriate fee as required by §17.20 of this title. 

(3) For applications covering property listed in the table 
in §17.18 [§17.17(b)] of this title (relating to Expedited Review List 
[Partial Determinations]), the executive director will complete the tech-
nical review of the application within 30 days of receipt of the required 
application information without regard to whether the information re-
quired by §17.10(d)(1) of this title has been submitted. 

(4) The executive director shall determine whether the 
property is or is not used wholly or partly to control pollution. The 
executive director is authorized to grant positive use determinations 
for the portion of the property included in the application that is 
deemed pollution control property. 

(A) If a positive use determination is made, the execu-
tive director shall issue a use determination letter to the applicant that 
describes the proportion of the property that is pollution control prop-
erty. 

(B) If a negative use determination is made, the exec-
utive director shall issue a denial letter explaining the reason for the 
denial. 

(C) A letter enclosing a copy of the determination shall 
be sent by regular or electronic mail to the chief appraiser of the ap-
praisal district for the county in which the property is located. 

§17.14. Tier I Pollution Control Property. 
[(a)] For the property listed in the Tier I Table located in this 

subsection that is used wholly for pollution control purposes, a Tier 
I application is required. A Tier I application must not include any 
property that is not listed in this subsection or that is used for pollution 
control purposes at a use percentage that is different than what is listed 
in the table. Unless otherwise designated with a partial use percentage 
on the Tier I Table, if a marketable product is recovered (not including 
materials that are disposed) from property listed in this subsection, a 
Tier III application is required. 
Figure: 30 TAC §17.14 
[Figure: 30 TAC §17.14(a)] 

[(b) The commission shall review and update the Tier I Table 
at least once every three years.] 

[(1) The commission may add an item to the table only if 
there is compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item 
provides pollution control benefits and a justifiable pollution control 
percentage is calculable.] 

[(2) The commission may remove an item from the table 
only if there is compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the 
item does not render pollution control benefits.] 

§17.17. Partial Determinations. 
(a) A Tier III application requesting a partial determination 

must be submitted for all property that is either not used as described 
on the Tier I Table located in §17.14 [§17.14(a)] of this title (relating to 
Tier I Pollution Control Property), or does not fully satisfy the require-
ments for a 100% positive use determination under this chapter. For all 
property for which a partial use determination is sought, the cost anal-
ysis procedure (CAP) described in subsection (b) [(c)] of this section 
must be used. 

[(b) The Expedited Review List in this subsection is adopted 
as a nonexclusive list of facilities, devices, or methods for the control of 
air, water, and/or land pollution. This table consists of the list located 
in Texas Tax Code, §11.31(k) with changes as authorized by Texas Tax 
Code, §11.31(l). The commission shall review and update the items 
listed in this table only if there is compelling evidence to support the 

conclusion that the item provides pollution control benefits. The com-
mission may remove an item from this table only if there is compelling 
evidence to support the conclusion that the item does not render pollu-
tion control benefits.] 
[Figure: 30 TAC §17.17(b)] 

(b) [(c)] Consistent with subsection (a) of this section, the fol-
lowing calculation (cost analysis procedure) must be used to determine 
the creditable partial percentage for a property that is filed on a Tier III 
application: 

(1) If no marketable product results from the use of the 
property, use the following equation and enter "0" for the net present 
value of the marketable product (NPVMP): 
Figure: 30 TAC §17.17(b)(1) 
[Figure: 30 TAC §17.17(c)(1)] 

(2) For property that generates a marketable product (MP), 
the net present value (NPV) of the MP is used to reduce the partial 
determination when used in the equation in the figure in paragraph (1) 
of this subsection. The value of the MP is calculated by subtracting 
the production costs of the MP from the market value of the MP. This 
value is then used to calculate the NPV of the MP (NPVMP) over the 
lifetime of the equipment. The equation for calculating NPVMP is as 
follows: 
Figure: 30 TAC §17.17(b)(2) 
[Figure: 30 TAC §17.17(c)(2)] 

(c) [(d)] If the cost analysis procedure of this section produces 
a negative number or a zero, the property is not eligible for a positive 
use determination. 

§17.18. Expedited Review List. 
The Expedited Review List in this section is adopted as a nonexclusive 
list of facilities, devices, or methods for the control of air, water, and/or 
land pollution. This table consists of the list located in Texas Tax Code 
(TTC), §11.31(k) with changes as authorized by TTC, §11.31(l). The 
commission shall review and update the items listed in this table only 
if there is compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item 
provides pollution control benefits. The commission may remove an 
item from this table only if there is compelling evidence to support 
the conclusion that the item does not render pollution control benefits. 
An application that identifies an appropriate item from this list must 
be submitted as the appropriate tier level described in §17.2 (Relating 
to Definitions) and remit the corresponding fee as listed in §17.20(a) 
(relating to Application Fees). 
Figure: 30 TAC §17.18 

§17.20. Application Fees. 
(a) Fees shall be remitted with each application for a use de-

termination as required in paragraphs (1) - (3) of this subsection. 

(1) Tier I Application--A $150 fee shall be charged for ap-
plications for property that is located in the Tier I Table located in 
§17.14 [§17.14(a)] of this title (relating to Tier I Pollution Control Prop-
erty), as long as the application seeks no variance from that use deter-
mination. 

(2) Tier II Application--A $1,000 fee shall be charged for 
applications for property that is used wholly for the control of air, wa-
ter, and/or land pollution, but not in the Tier I Table located in §17.14 
[§17.14(a)] of this title. 

(3) Tier III Application--A $2,500 fee shall be charged for 
applications for property used partially for the control of air, water, 
and/or land pollution. 

(b) Fees will be forfeited for applications for use determina-
tion on which the executive director will take no further action under 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

§17.12(2) of this title (relating to Application Review Schedule). An 
applicant who submits an insufficient fee will receive a deficiency no-
tice in accordance with the procedures in §17.12(2) of this title. The 
fee must be remitted with the response to the deficiency notice before 
the application will be deemed administratively complete. If it is deter-
mined [during a technical review] that an application was submitted at 
the wrong tier level, the executive director will notify the applicant of 
the amount in which the fees are deficient or in excess, and if there are 
deficient fees, the applicant shall remit the appropriate fee according to 
the requirements in subsection (a) of this section [deficient amount of 
fees] before review of the application continues. If the deficient fees 
are not paid in full within 30 days of the applicant being notified of 
the deficiency, the executive director will take no further action on the 
application. If the executive director takes no further action on the ap-
plication, the portion of the fees already paid shall be forfeited by the 
applicant. 

(c) All fees shall be paid by check, money order, electronic 
funds transfer, or through the commission's payment portal, and shall 
be made payable to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
[either be remitted in the form of a check or money order made payable 
to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), by elec-
tronic funds transfer, or by using the commission's ePay system]. 

(d) The application fee or receipt for payment of the applica-
tion fee [check, money order, or electronic funds transfer receipt] must 
be delivered with the application to the commission [, at the address 
listed on the application form]. 

§17.25. Appeals Process. 

(a) Applicability. 

(1) This subchapter applies to all appeals of use determi-
nations issued by the executive director. A proceeding based upon an 
appeal filed under this subchapter is not a contested case for purposes 
of Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001. 

(2) The following persons may appeal a use determination 
issued by the executive director: 

(A) the applicant seeking a use determination; and 

(B) the chief appraiser of the appraisal district for the 
county in which the property for which a use determination is sought 
is located. 

(b) Form and timing of appeal. An appeal must be in writing 
and must be filed by United States mail, facsimile, e-mail, or hand de-
livery with the chief clerk of the commission within 20 days after the 
receipt of the executive director's determination letter. A person is pre-
sumed to have been notified on the third regular business day after the 
date the notice of the executive director's action is e-mailed or mailed 
by first class mail. If an appeal meeting the requirements of this subsec-
tion is not filed within the time period specified, the executive director's 
use determination is final. An appeal filed under this subchapter must: 

(1) provide the name, address, e-mail address, and daytime 
telephone number of the person who files the appeal; 

(2) give the name and address of the entity to which the use 
determination was issued; 

(3) provide the use determination application number for 
the application for which the use determination was issued; 

(4) request commission consideration of the use determi-
nation; and 

(5) explain the basis for the appeal. 

(c) Appeal processing. The chief clerk shall: 

(1) deliver, e-mail, or mail to the executive director a copy 
of the appeal; 

(2) deliver, e-mail, or mail a copy of the appeal to the ap-
plicant if the appeal was filed by the chief appraiser or to the chief 
appraiser if the appeal was filed by the applicant; and 

(3) schedule the appeal for consideration at the next regu-
larly scheduled commission meeting for which adequate notice can be 
given. 

(d) Action by the general counsel. The general counsel may 
remand a matter from the commission's agenda to the executive direc-
tor if the executive director or the public interest counsel requests a 
remand. 

(e) Action by the commission. 

(1) The person seeking the determination and the chief ap-
praiser may testify at the commission meeting at which the appeal is 
considered. 

(2) The commission may remand the matter to the execu-
tive director for a new determination or deny the appeal and affirm the 
executive director's use determination. 

(3) If the commission denies the appeal and affirms the ex-
ecutive director's use determination, the commission's decision shall be 
final and appealable in district court. 

(f) Action by the executive director. 

(1) If the commission remands a use determination to the 
executive director, the executive director shall: 

(A) conduct a new technical review of the application 
that includes an evaluation of any information presented during the 
commission meeting; and 

(B) upon completion of the technical review, issue a 
new determination. A copy of the new determination shall be e-mailed 
[mailed] to both the applicant and the chief appraiser of the county in 
which the property is located. 

(2) A new determination by the executive director may be 
appealed to the commission in the manner provided by this subchapter. 

(g) Withdrawn appeals. An appeal may be withdrawn by the 
entity who requested the appeal. The withdrawal must be in writing, 
and give the name, e-mail address, address, and daytime telephone 
number of the person who files the withdrawal, and the withdrawal 
shall indicate the identification number of the use determination. The 
withdrawal must be filed by United States mail, facsimile, e-mail, or 
hand delivery with the chief clerk of the commission. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 21, 2025. 
TRD-202503030 
Charmaine K. Backens 
Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-0682 
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CHAPTER 18. VOTER-APPROVAL TAX 
RELIEF FOR POLLUTION CONTROL 
REQUIREMENTS 
30 TAC §§18.2, 18.10, 18.15, 18.25, 18.26, 18.30, 18.35 

(Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code, 
§2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is 
"cumbersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient," the figures 
in 30 TAC §18.25 and §18.26 are not included in the print 
version of the Texas Register. The figures are available in the 
on-line version of the September 5, 2025, issue of the Texas 
Register.) 

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ, 
agency, or commission) proposes to amend the title of Chapter 
18 and §§18.2, 18.10, 18.15, 18.25, 18.26, 18.30, and 18.35. 
Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Proposed 
Rules 

The commission's rules in 30 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) 
Chapter 18 implement a tax rate adjustment program estab-
lished in Texas Tax Code (TTC), §26.045 to increase a political 
subdivision's tax rate equal to an amount that would allow the 
political subdivision to spend maintenance and operation funds 
to pay for certain property that is used wholly or partially as a 
facility, device, or method for the control of air, water or land 
pollution necessary to meet a permit issued by the commission. 
Under the requirements of 30 TAC Chapter 18, a political sub-
division may submit an application to the executive director to 
determine if property is used wholly or partly as a facility, device, 
or method for the control of air, water, or land pollution. If the 
determination is approved by the executive director, the political 
subdivision then presents the executive director's determination 
to the tax assessor for adjustment of the tax rate for the political 
subdivision. 
The proposed rulemaking would amend the provisions in 30 TAC 
Chapter 18 to correct the title of the chapter from Voter-Approval 
Tax Relief for Pollution Control Requirements to Voter-Approval 
Tax Rate Relief for Pollution Control Requirements. Senate Bill 
(SB) 2, Section 44, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, required the 
revision of the title's chapter. This change was adopted as part of 
a previous rulemaking, Rule Project Number 2020-031-018-AI, 
but the full title change was not made correctly. 
The proposed rulemaking would also amend the provisions in 
Chapter 18 to mirror the changes proposed in Chapter 17 as part 
of this rulemaking project (Rule Project No. 2023-123-017-AI). 
The commission's proposed amendments are based on the rec-
ommendations and advice of the Tax Relief for Pollution Control 
Property Advisory Committee (committee) and also include clar-
ifying changes to existing items on the Tier I Table, and provide 
other updates as discussed in the Section by Section Discus-
sion. This rulemaking would also fulfill the requirement of TTC, 
§26.045(g) that the commission, by rule, update the list adopted 
under TTC, §26.045(f), the Expedited Review List (ERL), at least 
once every three years and fulfills the existing requirement of 30 
TAC §18.25(b) that the commission review and update the Tier 
I Table every three years. 
On December 1, 2022, the committee submitted its recommen-
dations to TCEQ as part of the triennial review of the Tier I Ta-
ble located in §17.14(a) and ERL located in existing §17.17(b). 
This proposed rulemaking mirrors the committee's recommen-
dation made for Chapter 17 regarding the Tier I Table and ERL 

in Chapter 18, except when deviation from these recommenda-
tions is needed to ensure the rule appropriately and consistently 
describes pollution control property eligible for a positive use de-
termination (PUD) under Chapter 18. 
Because Chapter 18 is not in the committee's purview, it did not 
consider the ERL in TTC, §26.045(f), codified in §18.26, or the 
Tier I Table in §18.25(a). The ERL and Tier I table in Chapter 
18 are identical to the ERL in existing §17.17(b) and the Tier 
I Table in existing §17.14(a), respectively. The committee did 
not recommend any changes for the ERL in existing §17.17(b). 
However, the committee recommended the addition of one type 
of pollution control property be added to the Tier I Table. In the 
associated rule project for Chapter 17, several changes are pro-
posed to the Tier I Table; therefore, the commission proposes 
corresponding changes to the Tier I Table in §18.25(a). The 
proposed changes would afford applicants applying under the 
Chapter 18 rules the same opportunities to receive a PUD for 
property submitted on a Tier I application as applicants applying 
under the Chapter 17 rules. 
The proposed rulemaking would remove existing requirements 
in §18.25(b) that the commission review and update the Tier I 
Table every three years. This review is not required by statute 
and would not preclude the commission from reviewing the ta-
ble at any time. The requirement to review the ERL would not 
change because it is required in TTC, §26.045(g). 
Section by Section Discussion 

The commission proposes to amend the title of Chapter 18 from 
"Voter-Approval Tax Relief for Pollution Control Requirements" 
to "Voter-Approval Tax Rate Relief for Pollution Control Require-
ments" to implement SB 2, Section 44 and revise the chapter's 
title. 
In addition to the proposed amendments to incorporate corre-
sponding proposed changes to Chapter 17, the commission 
proposes non-substantive changes to update the rules in 
accordance with current Texas Register style and format re-
quirements, improve readability, establish consistency in the 
rules, and conform to the standards in the Texas Legislative 
Council Drafting Manual, September 2020. The specific sub-
stantive changes are discussed in greater detail in this Section 
by Section Discussion in the corresponding portions related to 
the affected rule sections. Non-substantive changes are not 
intended to alter the existing rule requirements in any way and 
may not be specifically discussed in this preamble. 
§18.2 Definitions 

The commission proposes revisions to the definition of Tier II in 
§18.2(5) to remove language that associates a Tier II application 
with property listed on the ERL. This change would clarify that the 
applicability of the ERL is independent of the Tier II application 
requirements for partial use determinations. The definition for 
Tier II would also be revised to add language that clarifies Tier II 
applications are associated not only with property not included 
on the Tier I Table but also with property that does not correspond 
exactly to an item on the Tier I Table. 
Under the current rules, §18.25(a) requires applicants to submit 
a Tier II application for any of the proposed property additions if 
the property is used for pollution control purposes at a percent-
age different than what is listed on the table or, at the request 
of the executive director, if the equipment is not being used in 
a standard manner. These existing criteria in §18.25(a) are not 
proposed for revision. Any of the property proposed for inclusion 
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in the Tier I Table would need to continue to adhere to these ex-
isting requirements. 
§18.10 Application for Use Determination 

The commission proposes amendments to §18.10 to provide 
that the executive director specifies the form of applications sub-
mitted to the program. This would allow for the executive direc-
tor to require electronic submittal of applications, which is more 
efficient for the program to administer than processing paper ap-
plications. 
The commission proposes revision to §18.10(c)(5) to specify that 
the applicability of the ERL is independent of the Tier II applica-
tion requirements for partial use determinations as specified in 
§18.30, relating to Partial Determinations. 
§18.15 Application Review Schedule 

The commission proposes amendments to §18.15 to allow the 
executive director to send notifications in a form other than a 
letter, such as via electronic mail, and to remove references to 
applications being mailed or sent back with notices of deficiency. 
Electronic correspondence for communications with applicants 
is more efficient. The commission also proposes amendments 
to §18.15 to specify that the executive director will take no action 
on an application, rather than sending an application back, if an 
applicant does not submit an adequate response within the 30 
days. 
§18.25 Tier I Eligible Equipment 

The commission proposes amendments to §18.25 to remove 
subsection (b) and update the Tier I table. In addition to pro-
posed updates to the Tier I table in §18.25 to mirror the updates 
proposed for the Chapter 17 Tier I table in §17.14, the commis-
sion proposes revisions to the Tier I table in §18.25 to remove the 
reference to the Cost Analysis Procedure, which is not found in 
Chapter 18, and to add a reference to documentation of the cal-
culation of the partial determination for Tier II applications. The 
proposed revisions would also correct the citation in the intro-
ductory paragraph to the Tier I table to refer to the appropriate 
section in the TTC. 
The commission proposes to add item number M-25 to the Tier I 
Table in §18.25(a), at 100% pollution control property as the advi-
sory committee recommended for the Tier I Table of Chapter 17, 
but with some deviations from the committee's recommendation. 
The commission agrees with the committee's recommendation 
to add Amine Treating Systems (components necessary to trans-
fer impurities removed from natural gas to a final control device), 
when used as described in the committee's recommendation, to 
the Tier I Table because they are used wholly for pollution con-
trol purposes. The commission proposes to add item M-25 to be 
consistent with the proposed revisions for Chapter 17. 
The committee recommended adding amine treating systems 
as an item number beginning with letter "A," to designate it as 
air pollution control equipment. However, the commission pro-
poses to designate this as miscellaneous pollution equipment, 
using the letter "M" because this property could be used to con-
trol pollution from the air, water, or land. Similarly, the commis-
sion proposes to list Amine Treating Systems with the media 
Air/Land/Water. The commission proposes to add the item us-
ing the property name, description, and use determination per-
centage recommended by the committee. This property type is 
described in the proposed rule language and is not further dis-
cussed in the Section by Section Discussion of this preamble. 

The committee recommended that amine treating systems be 
added to the Tier I Table based on a review and analysis of Tier 
II applications submitted under Chapter 17 from April 1, 2018, 
through April 30, 2021. The property type consistently received 
a PUD of 100% each time an applicant requested a use de-
termination for such property, demonstrating the property was 
consistently used wholly for pollution control. Although the pro-
posed item number is added to the Tier I Table as 100% for pollu-
tion control purposes, an applicant would still be required, under 
§18.25, to submit a Tier II application if such property produces 
a marketable product or is not used as described in the Tier I 
table. 
The commission proposes to remove the requirement from item 
A-115 that external floating roofs be used to comply with a re-
quirement in 30 TAC §115.112. This rule applies only to certain 
geographical areas in Texas, but external floating roofs may be 
used throughout the state to comply with a pollution control re-
quirement other than those in §115.112. Additionally, other rules 
may be appropriate for applicants to cite when identifying the 
sections of the law(s), rule(s), or regulation(s) being met or ex-
ceeded by the use, installation, construction, or acquisition of 
the external floating roofs. Removing this requirement for item 
A-115 would allow applicants outside of the areas specified in 
§115.112 to be able to apply for a use determination using a Tier 
I application. 
The commission proposes amendments to revise the descrip-
tion for item T-32 for Dielectric Coatings to clarify that the item 
includes factory installed coal-tar epoxies, enamels, fiberglass 
reinforced plastic, or urethanes on tanks and/or piping. This 
change would clarify that newer and alternative technologies 
such as fusion-bonded epoxies that protect against corrosion of 
tanks or pipes could also qualify for Tier I applications. 
The commission proposes to remove subsection (b) that re-
quires the commission to update and review the Tier I Table at 
least once every three years. The scheduled review required 
in this section is not required by statute and places an unnec-
essary burden on the commission to engage in a review and 
rulemaking on a rigid schedule. Further, the standard of review 
requiring "compelling evidence" in paragraphs (1) and (2) to add 
or remove items on the Tier I Table is not required by statute 
and does not need to be imposed on the commission. Any 
future rulemaking to revise the Tier I Table would be subject 
to the rulemaking authority conferred to the commission in the 
Texas Water Code, the Texas Government Code (TGC), and 
the TTC. Removal of the requirements and limitations would 
not preclude the commission from reviewing the table or the 
committee from providing advice on it at any time. The proposed 
removal of subsection (b) would result in §18.25 that no longer 
requires subsection formatting. References to the subsection 
for §18.25(a) would also be removed from the rule language. 
§18.26 Expedited Review List 

The commission proposes amendments to §18.26 to add lan-
guage to §18.26 to indicate that an application that relies on an 
item from the ERL must still adhere to the requirements in Chap-
ter 18 associated with application tier and fee. 
§18.30 Partial Determinations 

The commission proposes amendments to §18.30 to remove the 
requirement that applicants must request a partial use determi-
nation for items on the ERL. Existing rule language does not ac-
count for a scenario in which ERL property could be used as 
described on the Tier I Table, making it eligible for a Tier I ap-
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plication. This change would clarify that property included on 
the Tier I Table and ERL may be included on a Tier I application 
when used as described on the Tier I Table. A Tier II application 
would still be required if the property is not used wholly for pol-
lution control purposes or as described on the Tier I Table. 
§18.35 Application Fees 

Revisions are proposed to remove the provision in existing 
§18.35(a)(2) that a Tier II application is required for items listed 
on the ERL. Removal of this provision would help clarify that 
property on the ERL does not have to be submitted on a Tier II 
application. 
The proposed amendments would also update rules related to 
application fees. Proposed revisions to §18.35(b) would explain 
that fees would be forfeited for a use application upon which the 
executive director takes no further action, rather than for an ap-
plication that is sent back to an applicant. The proposed rule re-
visions in §18.35(b) would clarify that if, during review of an appli-
cation, it is determined that the fee originally remitted with an ap-
plication was not appropriate for the application, the correct fee 
must be submitted before application review continues. Addi-
tional proposed revisions to §18.35(c) would clarify how payment 
may be remitted and that the payment must be made payable to 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. This change 
would reflect rule language used by other program areas for pro-
cessing payments to the agency. Finally, the commission pro-
poses amendment to §18.35(d) to specify that either the appli-
cation fee or a receipt for payment of the application fee must 
accompany the application. 
Fiscal Note: Costs to State and Local Government 
Kyle Girten, Analyst in the Budget and Planning Division, has de-
termined that for the first five-year period the proposed rules are 
in effect, the proposed rulemaking would not result in increased 
costs to TCEQ. 
The rulemaking is not anticipated to result in any costs for other 
state government entities or local government entities. This rule-
making would not result in any compulsory costs or requirements 
for any local entities. 
Public Benefits and Costs 

Mr. Girten determined that the public benefit of this rulemaking 
is that the agency would be compliant with state law, specifi-
cally the requirement in TTC, §26.045(g) that TCEQ update the 
list of pollution control properties in §18.25 at least once every 
three years. Additionally, the public would benefit from provi-
sions allowing for electronic submittals of applications and uses 
of other electronic tools and communications (§18.10, §18.15, 
and §18.35) and from non-substantive revisions which improve 
the clarity of the rule. 
The proposed rulemaking would not result in any costs or re-
quirements for businesses or individuals. 
Local Employment Impact Statement 
The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that a Local Employment Impact Statement is not required 
because the proposed rulemaking does not adversely affect a 
local economy in a material way for the first five years that the 
proposed rule is in effect. 
Rural Communities Impact Assessment 
The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that the proposed rulemaking does not adversely affect 

rural communities in a material way for the first five years that 
the proposed rules are in effect. The amendments would apply 
statewide and have the same effect in rural communities as in 
urban communities. 
Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment 
No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or micro-
businesses due to the implementation or administration of the 
proposed rules for the first five-year period the proposed rules 
are in effect. 
Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

The commission reviewed this proposed rulemaking and deter-
mined that a Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is 
not required because the proposed rules do not adversely affect 
a small or micro-business in a material way for the first five years 
the proposed rules are in effect. 
Government Growth Impact Statement 
The commission prepared a Government Growth Impact State-
ment assessment for this proposed rulemaking. The proposed 
rulemaking does not create or eliminate a government program 
and will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative 
appropriations to the agency. The proposed rulemaking does 
not require the creation of new employee positions, eliminate 
current employee positions, nor require an increase or decrease 
in fees paid to the agency. The proposed rulemaking amends 
an existing regulation, and it does not create, expand, repeal, or 
limit this regulation. The proposed rulemaking does not increase 
or decrease the number of individuals subject to its applicability. 
During the first five years, the proposed rule should not impact 
positively or negatively the state's economy. 
Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination 

The commission reviewed the proposed amendments in light of 
the regulatory analysis requirements of TGC, §2001.0225, and 
determined the rules do not meet the definition of a "major envi-
ronmental rule." Under TGC, §2001.0225, a "Major environmen-
tal rule" means a rule, the specific intent of which is to protect 
the environment or reduce risks to human health from environ-
mental exposure and that may adversely affect in a material way 
the economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, competition, 
jobs, the environment, or the public health and safety of the state 
or a sector of the state. Furthermore, the proposed rulemaking 
does not meet any of the four applicability requirements listed in 
TGC, §2001.0225(a). TGC, §2001.0225 applies only to a major 
environmental rule that: 1) exceeds a standard set by federal 
law, unless the rule is specifically required by state law; 2) ex-
ceeds an express requirement of state law, unless the rule is 
specifically required by federal law; 3) exceeds a requirement 
of a delegation agreement or contract between the state and an 
agency or representative of the federal government to implement 
a state and federal program; or 4) adopts a rule solely under the 
general powers of the agency instead of under a specific state 
law. The proposed rulemaking amends the voter-approval tax 
rate relief for pollution control property rules. The commission 
rules in Chapter 18 implement a procedure available to politi-
cal subdivisions to adjust tax rates to recover maintenance and 
operation funds used to pay for certain property used to con-
trol pollution as set out in TTC, §26.045. The proposed rule 
amendments revise requirements for use determination applica-
tions submitted to the executive director. Because the proposed 
rules are not specifically intended to protect the environment or 
reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure but 
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to implement a tax rate adjustment program, this rulemaking is 
not a major environmental rule and does not meet any of the four 
applicability requirements. These rules do not result in any new 
environmental requirements and should not adversely affect in a 
material way the economy, a sector of the economy, productiv-
ity, competition, or jobs. The commission invites public comment 
regarding this draft regulatory impact analysis determination. 
Written comments on the Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis may 
be submitted to the contact person at the address listed under 
the Submittal of Comments section of this preamble. 
Takings Impact Assessment 
The commission evaluated these amended rules and performed 
a preliminary assessment of whether TGC, Chapter 2007 is ap-
plicable. The commission's preliminary assessment indicates 
TGC, Chapter 2007 does not apply to these proposed amend-
ments. Enforcement of these proposed rules would be neither a 
statutory nor constitutional taking of private real property. Specif-
ically, the proposed rules do not affect a landowner's rights in 
private real property, because this rulemaking action does not 
burden, restrict, or limit the owner's rights to property or reduce 
its value by 25% or more beyond which would otherwise exist in 
the absence of the proposed regulations. 
Consistency with the Coastal Management Program 

The commission reviewed the proposed rules and found that 
they are neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implemen-
tation Rules, 31 TAC §29.11(b)(2) or (4), nor will they affect any 
action/authorization identified in Coastal Coordination Act Imple-
mentation Rules, 31 TAC §29.11(a)(6). Therefore, the proposed 
rules are not subject to the Texas Coastal Management Program. 
Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be 
submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the 
Submittal of Comments section of this preamble. 
Effect on Sites Subject to the Federal Operating Permits Pro-
gram 

Participation in the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Pro-
gram is voluntary, but sites subject to the Federal Operating Per-
mits Program could choose to file an application for a use deter-
mination. If the proposed rules are adopted, political subdivi-
sions that own or operate affected sites subject to the federal 
operating permit program may choose to apply consistent with 
Chapter 18. 
Announcement of Hearing 

The commission will hold a virtual public hearing on this proposal 
on September 29, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. Central Daylight Time 
(CDT). The hearing is structured for the receipt of oral comments 
by interested persons. Individuals may present oral statements 
when called upon in order of registration. Open discussion will 
not be permitted during the hearing; however, commission staff 
members will be available to discuss the proposal 30 minutes 
prior to the hearing at 9:30 a.m. CDT. 
Individuals who plan to attend the hearing virtually and want to 
provide oral comments and/or want their attendance on record 
must register by Thursday, September 25, 2025. To register for 
the hearing, please e-mail Rules@tceq.texas.gov and provide 
the following information: your name, your affiliation, your email 
address, your phone number, and whether or not you plan to 
provide oral comments during the hearing. Instructions for par-
ticipating in the hearing will be sent on Friday, September 26, 
2025, to those who register for the hearing. 

For the public who do not wish to provide oral comments but 
would like to view the hearing may do so at no cost at: 
https://events.teams.microsoft.com/event/2a564f09-897c-
468b-a887-20536f00caa5@871a83a4-a1ce-4b7a-8156-
3bcd93a08fba 

Persons who have special communication or other accommoda-
tion needs who are planning to attend the hearing should con-
tact Sandy Wong, Office of Legal Services at (512) 239-1802 or 
1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD). Requests should be made as far in ad-
vance as possible. 
Submittal of Comments 

Written comments may be submitted to Gwen Ricco, MC 205, 
Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, or faxed 
to fax4808@tceq.texas.gov. Electronic comments may be sub-
mitted at: https://tceq.commentinput.com/comment/search. File 
size restrictions may apply to comments being submitted via the 
TCEQ Public Comments system. All comments should refer-
ence Rule Project Number 2023-123-017-AI. The comment pe-
riod closes on October 6, 2025. Please choose one of the meth-
ods provided to submit your written comments. 
Copies of the proposed rulemaking can be obtained from the 
commission's website at https://www.tceq.texas.gov/rules/pro-
pose_adopt.html. For further information, please contact 
Elizabeth Sartain, Air Quality Planning Section, at (512) 
239-3933 or elizabeth.sartain@tceq.texas.gov, Tax Relief for 
Pollution Control Property Program 12100 Park 35 Circle, Bldg. 
F, Austin, Texas 78753, Mail: MC-110, P.O. Box 13087, Austin 
Texas 78711-3087. 
Statutory Authority 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Water Code (TWC), 
§5.102, which authorizes the commission to perform any acts 
authorized by the TWC or other laws that are necessary and 
convenient to the exercise of its jurisdiction and powers; and 
TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the commission to adopt rules 
necessary to carry out its powers and duties under the TWC. 
The rules are also proposed under Texas Tax Code, §26.045, 
which authorizes the commission to adopt rules to implement the 
program for the voter-approval tax rate relief for pollution control 
requirements. 
The proposed amendments implement Texas Tax Code, 
§26.045. 
§18.2. Definitions. 

Unless specifically defined in the Texas Clean Air Act (TCAA), the 
Texas Solid Waste Disposal Act (TSWDA), the Texas Water Code 
(TWC), the Texas Tax Code (TTC), the Texas Health and Safety Code 
(THSC), or in the rules of the commission, the terms used by the com-
mission have the meanings commonly ascribed to them in the fields 
of pollution control or property taxation. In addition to the terms that 
are defined by §3.2 of this title (relating to Definitions), the TCAA, 
the TSWDA, TWC, TTC, and THSC, the following words and terms, 
when used in this chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Partial determination--A determination that an item of 
property or a process is not used wholly as pollution control. 

(2) Permit requirement--A clause within a permit issued by 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) which re-
quires the receiver of a permit to expend funds for a facility, device, or 
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method for control of air, water, or land pollution as defined by TTC, 
§26.045(b). 

(3) Pollution control property--A facility, device, or 
method for control of air, water, or land pollution as defined by TTC, 
§26.045(b). 

(4) Tier I--An application containing only property that is 
on the Tier I Table in §18.25 [§18.25(a)] of this title (relating to Tier I 
Eligible Equipment) or that is necessary for the installation or operation 
of property located on the Tier I Table. 

(5) Tier II--An application containing property that [is 
listed or contained on the Expedited Review List in §18.26 of this title 
(relating to Expedited Review List) or that] is not listed on the Tier I 
Table or that does not correspond exactly to an item on the Tier I Table 
in §18.25(a) of this title. 

(6) Use determination--A finding, either positive or nega-
tive, by the executive director that the property is used wholly or par-
tially for pollution control purposes and listing the percentage of the 
property that is determined to be used for pollution control. 

§18.10. Application for Use Determination. 
(a) In order to be granted a positive use determination, a polit-

ical subdivision shall submit to the executive director: 

(1) a completed and signed application form specified by 
the executive director [a Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
application form or a similar reproduction]; and 

(2) the appropriate fee, under §18.30 of this title (relating 
to Application Fees). 

(b) An application must be submitted for each permit require-
ment for which pollution control property has been or will be installed. 

(c) The application shall contain at least the following: 

(1) the anticipated environmental benefits from the instal-
lation of the pollution control property for the control of air, water, or 
land pollution, except for applications containing only equipment on 
the Expedited Review List located in §18.26 of this title (relating to 
Expedited Review List); 

(2) the estimated cost of the pollution control property, 
where the cost includes not only the cost of the specific property, but 
also any costs related to the installation or construction of the property; 

(3) the permit requirement being met by the installation of 
such facility, device, or method, and the proportion of the installation 
that is pollution control property; 

(4) a copy of the permit that is being met or exceeded by 
the use, installation, construction, or acquisition of the pollution control 
property; 

(5) if the installation includes property that is not used 
wholly for the control of air, water, or land pollution, and is not on 
the Tier I Table [or is property that is listed on the Expedited Review 
List], a worksheet showing the calculation of the partial determination 
as required in §18.30 of this title (relating to Partial Determinations), 
and explaining each of the variables; and 

(6) any information that the executive director deems rea-
sonably necessary to determine the eligibility of the application. 

§18.15. Application Review Schedule. 
Following submission of the information required by §18.10 of this title 
(relating to Application for Use Determination), the executive director 
shall determine whether the pollution control property is used wholly or 
partly to meet the requirements of a permit issued by the commission. 

If the determination is that the property is used partly for pollution 
control, the executive director shall determine the proportion of the 
property used for pollution control. 

(1) As soon as practicable, the executive director shall send 
[mail] written notification informing the applicant that the application 
has been received and if the application is considered to be administra-
tively complete or deficient. 

(A) If the application is not administratively complete, 
the notification shall specify the deficiencies and allow the applicant 
30 days to provide the requested information. If the applicant does not 
submit an adequate response, the executive director shall take no [the 
application will be sent back to the applicant without] further action on 
the application [by the executive director] and the application fee will 
be forfeited under §18.35(b) of this title (relating to Application Fees). 

(B) If no further action is taken on an application [is 
sent back to the applicant] under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, 
the applicant may re-file the application and pay the appropriate fee as 
required by §18.35(a) of this title [(relating to Application Fees)]. 

(2) For applications which contain only property that is 
listed on the Expedited Review List in §18.26 of this title (relating 
to Expedited Review List), the executive director shall complete the 
technical review of the application and issue the use determination 
within 30 days of receipt of the required application documents. 

(3) For all other applications, within 30 days of receiving 
the application, the executive director shall either issue a notification 
requesting additional information or issue the final determination. 

(A) If additional information is requested, the notifica-
tion shall specify the deficiencies and allow the applicant 30 days to 
provide the requested information. If the applicant does not submit an 
adequate response, the executive director shall take no [the application 
will be sent back to the applicant without] further action [by the execu-
tive director] and the application fee will be forfeited under §18.35(b) 
of this title. 

(B) If no further action is taken on an application [is 
sent back to the applicant] under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, 
the applicant may re-file the application and pay the appropriate fee as 
required by §18.35(a) of this title. 

(4) The executive director shall determine whether the 
property is used wholly or partly to control pollution. The executive 
director is authorized to grant positive use determinations for some or 
all of the property included in the application that is deemed pollution 
control property. 

(A) If a positive use determination is made, the execu-
tive director shall issue a use determination letter to the applicant that 
describes the proportion of the property that is pollution control prop-
erty. 

(B) If a negative use determination is made, the exec-
utive director shall issue a denial letter explaining the reason for the 
denial. 

§18.25. Tier I Eligible Equipment. 
[(a)] For the property listed on the Tier I Table located in this 

subsection that is used wholly for pollution control purposes, a Tier 
I application is required. A Tier I application must not include any 
property that is not listed in this subsection or that is used for pollution 
control purposes at a use percentage that is different than what is listed 
in the table in this subsection. Unless otherwise designated with a par-
tial use percentage in the Tier I Table of this subsection, if a marketable 
product is recovered (not including materials that are disposed) from 
property listed in this subsection, a Tier II application is required. 
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Figure 30 TAC §18.25 
[Figure 30 TAC §18.25(a)] 

[(b) The commission shall review and update the Tier I Table 
in subsection (a) of this section at least once every three years.] 

[(1) An item may be added to the list only if there is com-
pelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item provides pol-
lution control benefits and a justifiable pollution control percentage is 
calculable.] 

[(2) An item may be removed from the list only if there is 
compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item does not 
render pollution control benefits.] 

§18.26. Expedited Review List. 
The Expedited Review List in this section is a nonexclusive list of fa-
cilities, devices, or methods for the control of air, water, and/or land 
pollution. This table consists of the list located in Texas Tax Code, 
§26.045(f) with changes as authorized by Texas Tax Code, §26.045(g). 
The commission shall review and add to the items listed in this table 
only if there is compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the 
item provides [provide] pollution control benefits. The commission 
may remove an item from this table only if there is compelling evi-
dence to support the conclusion that the item does not render pollu-
tion control benefits. An application that identifies an appropriate item 
from this list must be submitted as the appropriate tier level described 
in §18.2 (Relating to Definitions) along with the corresponding fee as 
listed in §18.35(a) (related to Application Fees). 
Figure: 30 TAC §18.26 
[Figure: 30 TAC §18.26] 

§18.30. Partial Determinations. 
A partial determination must be requested for all property that [is in the 
figure in §18.26 of this title (relating to Expedited Review List) or that] 
is not wholly used for pollution control, except for property that is on 
the Tier I Table located in §18.25 [§18.25(a)] of this title (relating to 
Tier I Eligible Equipment) at a specified partial use percentage. It is the 
responsibility of the applicant to propose a reasonable method for cal-
culating a partial determination. The calculation must be documented 
and included with the application. It is the responsibility of the execu-
tive director to review the appropriateness of the proposed method and 
make the final determination. 

§18.35. Application Fees. 
(a) Fees shall be remitted with each application for a use de-

termination as required in paragraphs (1) - (2) of this subsection. 

(1) Tier I Application. A $150 fee shall be charged for ap-
plications which contain only property that is listed in the figure in 
§18.25 [§18.25(a)] of this title (relating to Tier I Eligible Equipment) 
or is necessary for the installation or operation of an item listed on the 
Tier I Table, as long as the application seeks no variance from the per-
centage listed on the Tier I Table. 

(2) Tier II Application. A $500 fee shall be charged for 
applications for property not listed in the figure located in §18.25 
[§18.25(a)] of this title [or that is listed in the figure located in §18.26 
of this title (relating to Expedited Review List)]. 

(b) Fees shall be forfeited for applications for use determina-
tion on which the executive director will take no further action under 
§18.15 of this title (relating to Application Review Schedule) [are sent 
back under §18.15 of this title (relating to Application Review Sched-
ule)]. An applicant who submits an insufficient fee will receive a defi-
ciency notice in accordance with the procedures in §18.15 of this title. 
The fee must be remitted with the response to the deficiency notice be-
fore the application will be deemed administratively complete. If it is 

determined that an application was submitted at an inappropriate tier 
level, the executive director will notify the applicant of the amount in 
which the fees are deficient or in excess, and if there are deficient fees, 
the applicant shall remit the appropriate fee described under §18.35(a) 
before review of the application proceeds. If the deficient fees are not 
paid in full within 30 days of the applicant being notified of the defi-
ciency, the executive director will take no further action on the applica-
tion. If the executive director takes no further action on the application, 
the portion of the fees already paid shall be forfeited by the applicant. 

(c) All fees shall be paid by check, money order, electronic 
funds transfer, or through the commission's payment portal, and shall 
be made payable to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
[either be remitted in the form of a check or money order made payable 
to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality or by electronic 
funds transfer by using the commission's ePay system]. 

(d) The application fee or receipt for payment [check, money 
order, or electronic funds transfer] must be delivered with the applica-
tion [to the commission at the address listed on the application form]. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 21, 2025. 
TRD-202503031 
Charmaine K. Backens 
Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-0682 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS 

PART 9. TEXAS COMMISSION ON 
JAIL STANDARDS 

CHAPTER 263. LIFE SAFETY RULES 
SUBCHAPTER D. PLANS AND DRILLS FOR 
EMERGENCIES 
37 TAC §263.40 

The Texas Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) proposes 
an amendment to rule §263.40, concerning life safety plans 
in county jails. The proposed rule adds language to 37 TAC 
§263.40, which makes grammatical corrections. This language 
is proposed following comments from the State Fire Marshal's 
Office, which were evaluated by the TCJS Administrative Rules 
Advisory Committee (ARAC). The TCJS ARAC recommended 
publication of this amendment, for public comment, to the 
Commission. 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that there 
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government as a 
result of enforcing this rule for the first five-year period. 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that for 
each year of the first five-years the rule is in effect, the public 
benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing this amended rule is 
enhanced compliance to national standards of fire protection. 
There will not be an effect on small businesses. There is 
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no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to 
comply with proposed amendment. 
The agency provides the following government growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
1. The proposed rule will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
2. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 
6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing 
regulation; 
7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-
ject to the rules applicability; and 

8. The proposed rule will not affect this state’s economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted in writing to 
Richard Morgan, Research Specialist, at P.O. Box 12985, 
Austin, Texas 78711-2985, or by email at richard.mor-
gan@tcjs.state.tx.us. 
This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt 
reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-
dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-
tion of county jails. 
This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. 
§263.40. Plans. 

Each facility shall have and implement a written plan, approved by the 
commission, for escapes, riots, assaults, fires, evacuations, rebellions, 
civil disasters, and any other emergencies. Each plan shall provide for: 

(1) use and response to alarms; 

(2) notification of and access for: 

(A) fire department; 

(B) emergency medical service; 

(C) other law enforcement officials; 

(3) isolation of emergency areas; 

(4) prompt release and evacuation of emergency areas (in-
cluding non-ambulatory [nonambulatory] inmates); 

(5) prevention of escapes during evacuations; 

(6) fire suppression and extinguishment, rendering of 
prompt medical aid and quelling disturbances; and 

(7) protection of staff during emergencies. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503061 
Brandon Wood 
Director Wood 
Texas Commission on Jail Standards 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 850-9668 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER E. LIFE SAFETY AND 
EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 
37 TAC §263.53 

The Texas Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) proposes an 
amendment to rule §263.53, concerning life safety and portable 
fire extinguishers in county jails. The proposed rule adds lan-
guage to 37 TAC §263.53, which adds a reference to the Na-
tional Fire Protection Association standards. This language is 
proposed following comments from the State Fire Marshal's Of-
fice, which were evaluated by the TCJS Administrative Rules 
Advisory Committee (ARAC). The TCJS ARAC recommended 
publication of this amendment, for public comment, to the Com-
mission. 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that there 
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government as a 
result of enforcing this rule for the first five-year period. 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that for 
each year of the first five-years the rule is in effect, the public 
benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing this amended rule is 
enhanced compliance to national standards of fire protection. 
There will not be an effect on small businesses, microbusi-
nesses, rural communities, and/or individuals. There is no 
anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to 
comply with proposed amendment. 
The agency provides the following government growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
1. The proposed rule will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
2. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 
6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing 
regulation; 
7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-
ject to the rules applicability; and 

8. The proposed rule will not affect this state's economy. 
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Comments on the proposal may be submitted in writing to 
Richard Morgan, Research Specialist, at P.O. Box 12985, 
Austin, Texas 78711-2985, or by email at richard.mor-
gan@tcjs.state.tx.us. 
This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt 
reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-
dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-
tion of county jails. 
This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. 
§263.53. Portable Fire Extinguishers. 

Portable fire extinguishers of the number, size, and type, and in appro-
priate locations or in accordance with NFPA 101, Life Safety Code and 
NFPA 10, Standard for Portable Fire Extinguisher shall be provided. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503062 
Brandon Wood 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Jail Standards 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 850-9668 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
37 TAC §263.54 

The Texas Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) proposes an 
amendment to rule §263.54, concerning life safety and storage 
of life safety equipment in county jails. The proposed rule adds 
language to 37 TAC §263.54, which corrects a grammatical mis-
take. This language is proposed following comments from the 
State Fire Marshal's Office, which were evaluated by the TCJS 
Administrative Rules Advisory Committee (ARAC). The TCJS 
ARAC recommended publication of this amendment, for public 
comment, to the Commission. 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that there 
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government as a 
result of enforcing this rule for the first five-year period. 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that for 
each year of the first five-years the rule is in effect, the public 
benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing this amended rule is 
enhanced compliance to national standards of fire protection. 
There will not be an effect on small businesses. There is 
no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to 
comply with proposed amendment. 
The agency provides the following government growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
1. The proposed rule will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
2. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 

3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 
6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing 
regulation; 
7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-
ject to the rules applicability; and 

8. The proposed rule will not affect this state’s economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted in writing to 
Richard Morgan, Research Specialist, at P.O. Box 12985, 
Austin, Texas 78711-2985, or by email at richard.mor-
gan@tcjs.state.tx.us. 
This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt 
reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-
dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-
tion of county jails. 
This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. 
§263.54. Equipment. 
All life safety equipment shall be out of reach of inmates or other-
wise secured from unauthorized tampering. At least one self-contained 
breathing apparatus shall be available and maintained in or near each 
facility control station. All staff shall be trained, and quarterly drills 
conducted in the use of this equipment. A minimum of one unit shall 
be provided for each building of a multibuilding facility and on each 
floor of a multistory facility. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503063 
Brandon Wood 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Jail Standards 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 850-9668 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 265. ADMISSION 
37 TAC §265.13 

The Texas Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) proposes 
an amendment to rule §265.13 verification of inmate status 
for county jails. The proposed rule adds language to 37 TAC 
§265.13 that requires a county jail to verify an inmates' veteran 
status during the intake process. This language is proposed to 
comply with SB 2938, 89(R). 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that there 
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government as a 
result of enforcing this rule for the first five-year period. 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that for each 
year of the first five-years the rule is in effect, the public bene-
fit anticipated as a result of enforcing this amended rule will be 

50 TexReg 5886 September 5, 2025 Texas Register 

mailto:gan@tcjs.state.tx.us
mailto:gan@tcjs.state.tx.us


enhanced sanitation in county jail holding cells. There will not 
be an effect on small businesses, microbusinesses, rural com-
munities, and/or individuals. There is no anticipated economic 
cost to persons who are required to comply with the proposed 
amendment. 
The agency provides the following government growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
1. The proposed rule will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
2. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 
6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing 
regulation; 
7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-
ject to the rules applicability; and 

8. The proposed rule will not affect this state's economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted in writing to 
Richard Morgan, Research Specialist, at P.O. Box 12985, 
Austin, Texas 78711-2985, or by email at richard.mor-
gan@tcjs.state.tx.us. 
This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt 
reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-
dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-
tion of county jails. 
This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. 
§265.13. Verify Veteran Status. 

(a) Each sheriff/operator shall investigate and verify the vet-
eran status of each prisoner by using data made available from the Vet-
erans Reentry Search Service (VRSS) operated by the United States 
Department of Veteran Affairs or similar service during intake, prior to 
housing. 

(b) Each sheriff/ operator shall provide assistance to prisoners 
identified as veterans, identified through either self-report or the VRSS, 
in applying for federal benefits or compensation for which the prisoners 
may be eligible under a program administered by the United States 
Department of Veterans Affairs. Assistance includes, but not limited 
to, direct assistance by qualified claims counselor, issuance of a referral 
card, or similar assistance. 

(c) Each sheriff shall maintain a log of positive VRSS returns 
with identifying prisoner number and whether a referral card was issued 
to the identified veteran prior to his or her release. If a referral card 
was not issued, a reason shall be provided on the log. A report shall be 
provided to the Texas Veterans Commission of positive identification 
of veteran status weekly. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503064 
Brandon Wood 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Jail Standards 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 850-9668 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 291. SERVICES AND ACTIVITIES 
37 TAC §291.4 

The Texas Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) proposes an 
amendment to rule §291.4 Visitation Plans in county jails. The 
proposed rule adds language to 37 TAC §291.4 that requires 
a county jail to allow certain visitation to inmates whose veteran 
status has been confirmed. This language is proposed to comply 
with SB 2938, 89(R). 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that there 
will be no fiscal implications for state or local government as a 
result of enforcing this rule for the first five-year period. 
Brandon Wood, Executive Director, has determined that for each 
year of the first five-years the rule is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing this amended rule will be en-
hanced sanitation in county jail holding cells. There will not be 
an effect on small businesses. There is no anticipated economic 
cost to persons who are required to comply with the proposed 
amendment. 
The agency provides the following government growth impact 
statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-
ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for 
each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-
fect, the following statements will apply: 
1. The proposed rule will not create a government program and 
will not eliminate a government program; 
2. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-
ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-
crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to the agency; 
4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not 
require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 
6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing 
regulation; 
7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-
ject to the rules applicability; and 

8. The proposed rule will not affect this state’s economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted in writing to 
Richard Morgan, Research Specialist, at P.O. Box 12985, 
Austin, Texas 78711-2985, or by email at richard.mor-
gan@tcjs.state.tx.us. 
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This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt 
reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-
dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-
tion of county jails. 
This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. 
§291.4. Visitation Plan. 

Each facility shall have and implement a written plan, approved by the 
commission, governing inmate visitation. The plan shall: 

(1) indicate frequency of visitation periods; each inmate 
shall be allowed a minimum of two in-person, noncontact visitation 
periods per week of at least 20 minutes duration each; 

(A) Facilities exempt from in-person visitation shall 
be determined by the provisions set forth in Government Code 
§511.009(20)(a-1). 

(B) The requirement of in-person visitation does not re-
move a sheriff's/operator's authority to limit visitation for disciplinary 
reasons as per 37 TAC §283.1. 

(2) provide that at least one visitation period be allowed 
during evenings or weekends; 

(3) provide for reasonable attorney/client visitation; 

(4) provide for inmates whose veteran status has been ver-
ified to have in-person or video visitation with the veterans county ser-
vice officer for the county or a peer service coordinator, at no cost to 
the inmate. These visits may not be counted towards the minimum al-
lowed visits; 

(5) [(4)] provide procedures for the selection of visitors, in-
cluding inmates' minor children. Accompaniment by parent, guardian, 
or legal counsel may be required. The sheriff/operator shall provide 
procedures regarding visitation by a guardian. The procedures shall in-
clude placement of a guardian, at the guardian's request, on the inmate's 
visitation list, and provide the guardian access to the inmate during reg-
ular visitation hours to an eligible inmate. A guardian's visit shall be 
in addition to normal visitation. The sheriff/operator shall require the 
guardian to provide the sheriff/operator with letters of guardianship as 
provided by §§1002.012, 1106.001 - 1106.003, Estates Code, before 
allowing visitation with the inmate; 

(6) [(5)] define procedures where contact visitation is per-
mitted; 

(7) [(6)] contain procedures for emergency visitation. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. 
TRD-202503060 
Brandon Wood 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Jail Standards 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 850-9668 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 20. TEXAS WORKFORCE 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 809. CHILD CARE SERVICES 
The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) proposes amend-
ments to the following sections of Chapter 809, relating to Child 
Care Services: 
Subchapter A. General Provisions, §809.1 and §809.2 

Subchapter C. Eligibility for Child Care Services, §809.43 

PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 

The purpose of the proposed amendments to Chapter 809 is to 
improve the efficiency and delivery of child care services and al-
low TWC's three-member Commission (Commission) flexibility 
to implement new service delivery concepts or Commission-ap-
proved statewide initiatives or special projects within Commis-
sion-defined parameters. The proposed amendments also clar-
ify that the provisions of Chapter 809 apply to any entity receiving 
Commission funds or benefits related to child care services. 
Additionally, the proposed amendments include child care wait-
ing list priority for children of child care workers. Senate Bill (SB) 
462, passed by the 89th Legislature, Regular Session, 2025, and 
signed by the governor, amended Texas Labor Code, Chapter 
302 by adding §302.0064, which requires the Commission to es-
tablish a waiting list priority group for children of child care work-
ers. The proposed amendments include the definition of a child 
care worker as provided in Texas Labor Code, §302.0064(a). 
PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS 

(Note: Minor editorial changes are made that do not change the 
meaning of the rules and, therefore, are not discussed in the 
Explanation of Individual Provisions.) 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter A: 
§809.1. Short Title and Purpose 

Section 809.1(b) is amended to conform with TWC style prac-
tices. 
Section 809.1(d) is amended to clarify that the provisions of 
Chapter 809 apply to all entities receiving Commission funds 
related to child care services. This amendment will ensure that 
all entities participating in and receiving benefits or funds from 
any Commission child care initiative will be subject to applicable 
rules, including rules related to fraud and improper payments, 
governing child care services and quality initiatives. 
New §809.1(e) is added to allow the Commission to suspend 
a provision of Chapter 809 for a specified time, on either a 
statewide or other basis, if the Commission determines that sus-
pending the provision does not violate federal or state statutes 
or regulations and will improve the efficiency and delivery of 
child care services, or is necessary to implement new service 
delivery concepts or Commission-approved statewide initiatives 
or special projects within Commission-defined parameters. 
This new subsection is designed to provide the Commission 
the flexibility to improve the delivery of child care services on 
a timely basis and to implement statewide initiatives or other 
special projects. In exercising this flexibility, the Commission 
intends to specify the provisions to be suspended and any 
applicable time limits on the suspension during public Com-
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mission meetings, and when the initiative or special project is 
approved by the Commission. The amended rule requires that 
the Commission must determine that the suspension does not 
violate federal or state statutes or regulations. 
Section 809.2. Definitions 

Section 809.2 is amended to add a definition of a child care 
worker for purposes of the waiting list priority in §809.43. The 
definition is identical to the definition provided in Texas Labor 
Code, §302.0064(a) and states that a child care worker is an in-
dividual employed by and working in a child care facility licensed 
under Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 42 for a minimum 
of 25 hours per week. The term does not include the owner or di-
rector of a child care facility unless the owner's or director's child 
is served in a program other than a program directly supervised 
by the owner or director. 
SUBCHAPTER C. ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES 

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter C: 
Section 809.43. Priority for Child Care Services 

Section 809.43 is amended to add a waiting list priority group for 
children of child care workers as required by Texas Labor Code, 
§302.0064. 
The Commission notes that Texas Labor Code, §302.0064(c) 
states that a child care worker whose child receives child care 
services under this priority group is subject to redetermination of 
the individual's eligibility for services in accordance with Com-
mission rule each year. Therefore, once a child of a child care 
worker is initially authorized for child care under this priority, the 
child and child's family will be subject to eligibility redetermina-
tion as described in §809.42. 
Additionally, TWC is concurrently making necessary enhance-
ments to the child care information system to implement the new 
priority group. The enhancements are expected to be completed 
when the rules are scheduled to be effective in late 2025. 
PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS 

Chris Nelson, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for 
each year of the first five years the rules will be in effect, the 
following statements will apply: 
There are no additional estimated costs to the state and to local 
governments expected as a result of enforcing or administering 
the rules. 
There are no estimated cost reductions to the state and to local 
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. 
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the 
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rules. 
There are no foreseeable implications relating to costs or rev-
enue of the state or local governments as a result of enforcing 
or administering the rules. 
There are no anticipated economic costs to individuals required 
to comply with the rules. 
There is no anticipated adverse economic impact on small busi-
nesses, microbusinesses, or rural communities as a result of en-
forcing or administering the rules. 
Based on the analyses required by Texas Government Code, 
§2001.024, TWC has determined that the requirement to re-

peal or amend a rule, as required by Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0045, does not apply to this rulemaking. 
Takings Impact Assessment 
Under Texas Government Code, §2007.002(5), "taking" means 
a governmental action that affects private real property, in whole 
or in part or temporarily or permanently, in a manner that requires 
the governmental entity to compensate the private real property 
owner as provided by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to 
the US Constitution or the Texas Constitution, §17 or §19, Article 
I, or restricts or limits the owner's right to the property that would 
otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental action, and 
is the producing cause of a reduction of at least 25 percent in the 
market value of the affected private real property, determined by 
comparing the market value of the property as if the governmen-
tal action is not in effect and the market value of the property 
determined as if the governmental action is in effect. TWC com-
pleted a Takings Impact Assessment for the proposed rulemak-
ing action under Texas Government Code, §2007.043. The pri-
mary purpose of this proposed rulemaking action, as discussed 
elsewhere in this preamble, is to improve the efficiency and de-
livery of child care services and implement state requirements 
regarding waiting list priority for children of child care workers. 
The proposed rulemaking action will not create any additional 
burden on private real property or affect private real property in 
a manner that would require compensation to private real prop-
erty owners under the US Constitution or the Texas Constitution. 
The proposal also will not affect private real property in a man-
ner that restricts or limits an owner's right to the property that 
would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental ac-
tion. Therefore, the proposed rulemaking will not cause a taking 
under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. 
Government Growth Impact Statement 
TWC has determined that during the first five years the rules will 
be in effect, they: 
--will not create or eliminate a government program; 
--will not require the creation or elimination of employee posi-
tions; 
--will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to TWC; 
--will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to TWC; 
--will not create a new regulation; 
--will not expand, limit, or eliminate an existing regulation; 
--will not change the number of individuals subject to the rules; 
and 

--will not positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

TWC has determined that the rules will not have an adverse eco-
nomic impact on small businesses or rural communities, as the 
proposed rules place no requirements on small businesses or 
rural communities. 
Mariana Vega, Director, Labor Market Information, has deter-
mined that there is not a significant negative impact upon em-
ployment conditions in the state as a result of the rules. 
Reagan Miller, Director, Child Care & Early Learning, has deter-
mined that for each year of the first five years the rules are in 
effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the 
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proposed rules will be to improve the efficiency and delivery of 
child care services, statewide initiatives, or special projects and 
implement state requirements regarding waiting list priority for 
children of child care workers. 
PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES 

The proposed amendments clarify the Commission's authority 
to suspend provisions of Chapter 809 rules for certain purposes 
as specified in the proposed rule language and implement child 
care waiting list priority requirements enacted by SB 462. Inter-
ested individuals may provide input by submitting comments to 
TWCPolicyComments@twc.texas.gov no later than October 6, 
2025. 
PART V. REQUEST FOR IMPACT INFORMATION 

TWC requests, from any person required to comply with the pro-
posed rules or any other interested person, information related 
to the cost, benefit, or effect of the proposed rules, including 
any applicable data, research, or analysis. Please submit the 
requested information to TWCPolicyComments@twc.texas.gov 
no later than October 6, 2025. 
PART VI. PUBLIC COMMENTS 

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to TWCPoli-
cyComments@twc.texas.gov and must be received no later than 
October 6, 2025. 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
40 TAC §809.1, §809.2 

PART VII. STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The rules are proposed under Texas Labor Code, §301.0015 
and §302.002(d), which provide TWC with the authority to adopt, 
amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary for the effec-
tive administration of TWC services and activities. 
The rules affect Title 4, Texas Labor Code, particularly Chapters 
301 and 302. 
§809.1. Short Title and Purpose. 

(a) The rules contained in this chapter may be cited as the 
Child Care Services rules. 

(b) The purpose of the rules contained in this chapter is to in-
terpret and implement the requirements of state and federal statutes and 
regulations governing child care and quality improvement activities 
funded through the [Texas Workforce Commission (]Commission[)], 
to include the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF), which in-
cludes: 

(1) funds allocated to local workforce development areas 
(workforce areas) as provided in §800.58 of this title; 

(2) private donated funds described in §809.17 of this chap-
ter; 

(3) public transferred funds described in §809.17 of this 
chapter; 

(4) public certified expenditures described in §809.17 of 
this chapter; and 

(5) funds used for children receiving protective services 
described in §809.49 of this chapter. 

(c) The rules contained in this chapter apply to other funds 
that are used for child care services allocated to workforce areas under 
Chapter 800 of this title, except for the following: 

(1) Funds used for quality improvement activities de-
scribed in §809.16 of this chapter; 

(2) Assessing the parent share of cost described in §809.19 
of this chapter; and 

(3) Subchapter C of this chapter [(relating to Eligibility for 
Child Care Services)]. 

(d) The rules contained in this chapter shall apply to the 
Agency [Commission], Local Workforce Development Boards 
(Boards), their child care contractors, child care providers, [and] 
parents applying for or eligible to receive child care services, and other 
entities participating in any Agency child care program or initiative. 

(e) The Commission may suspend a provision in this chapter 
for a specified time, on either a statewide or other basis, if the Commis-
sion determines that suspending the provision does not violate federal 
or state statutes or regulations, and: 

(1) will improve the efficiency and delivery of child care 
services; or 

(2) is necessary to implement new service delivery con-
cepts or Commission-approved statewide initiatives or special projects 
within Commission-defined parameters. 

§809.2. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Attending a job training or educational program--An in-
dividual is attending a job training or educational program if the indi-
vidual: 

(A) is considered by the program to be officially en-
rolled; 

(B) meets all attendance requirements established by 
the program; and 

(C) is making progress toward successful completion of 
the program as demonstrated through continued enrollment in the pro-
gram upon eligibility redetermination as described in §809.42 of this 
chapter. 

(2) Child--An individual who meets the general eligibility 
requirements contained in this chapter for receiving child care services. 

(3) Child care contractor--The entity or entities under con-
tract with the Board to manage child care services. This includes con-
tractors involved in determining eligibility for child care services, con-
tractors involved in the billing and provider payment process related 
to child care, as well as contractors involved in the funding of quality 
improvement activities as described in §809.16 of this chapter. 

(4) Child care desert [Care Desert]--An area described in 
Texas Labor Code, §302.0461 in which the number of children under 
age six with working parents is at least three times greater than the ca-
pacity of licensed child care providers in the area, based on data pub-
lished annually by the Commission. 

(5) Child Care Regulation (CCR)--Division in the Texas 
Health and Human Services Commission responsible for protecting the 
health, safety, and well-being of children who attend or reside in regu-
lated child care facilities and homes. 

(6) Child care services--Child care subsidies and quality 
improvement activities funded by the Commission. 

(7) Child care subsidies--Commission-funded child care 
payments to an eligible child care provider for the direct care of an 
eligible child. 
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(8) Child care worker--for purposes of the waiting list pri-
ority described in §809.43 of this chapter, and pursuant to Texas Labor 
Code, §302.0064, a child care worker is an individual employed by 
and working in a child care facility licensed under Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 42 for a minimum of 25 hours per week. The 
term does not include the owner or director of a child care facility un-
less the owner's or director's child is served in a program other than a 
program directly supervised by the owner or director. 

(9) [(8)] Child experiencing homelessness--A child who is 
homeless, as defined in the McKinney-Vento Act (42 USC 11434(a)), 
Subtitle VII-B, §725. 

(10) [(9)] Child with disabilities--A child who has a phys-
ical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major 
life activities, has a record of such an impairment, or is regarded as 
having such an impairment. Major life activities include, but are not 
limited to, caring for oneself; performing manual tasks; walking; hear-
ing; seeing, speaking, or breathing; learning; and working. 

(11) [(10)] Educational program--A program that leads to: 

(A) a high school diploma; 

(B) a Certificate of High School Equivalency; or 

(C) an undergraduate degree from an institution of 
higher education. 

(12) [(11)] Excessive unexplained absences--More than 40 
unexplained absences within a 12-month eligibility period as described 
in §809.78 of this chapter. 

(13) [(12)] Family--Two or more individuals related by 
blood, marriage, or decree of court, who are living in a single residence 
and are included in one or more of the following categories: 

(A) Two individuals, married--including by common-
law, and household dependents; or 

(B) A parent and household dependents. 

(14) [(13)] Household dependent--An individual living in 
the household who is: 

(A) an adult considered a dependent of the parent for 
income tax purposes; 

(B) a child of a teen parent; or 

(C) a child or other minor living in the household who 
is the responsibility of the parent. 

(15) [(14)] Improper payments--Any payment of Child 
Care Development Fund (CCDF) funds that should not have been 
made or that was made in an incorrect amount (including overpayments 
and underpayments) under statutory, contractual, administrative, or 
other legally applicable requirements governing the administration of 
CCDF grant funds and includes payments: 

(A) to an ineligible recipient; 

(B) for an ineligible service; 

(C) for any duplicate payment; and 

(D) for services not received. 

(16) [(15)] Job training program--A program that provides 
training or instruction leading to: 

(A) basic literacy; 

(B) English proficiency; 

(C) an occupational or professional certification or li-
cense; or 

(D) the acquisition of technical skills, knowledge, and 
abilities specific to an occupation. 

(17) [(16)] Listed family home--A family home, other 
than the eligible child's own residence, that is listed, but not licensed 
or registered with, CCR pursuant to Texas Human Resources Code, 
§42.052(c). 

(18) [(17)] Military deployment--The temporary duty as-
signment away from the permanent military installation or place of res-
idence for reserve components of the single military parent or the dual 
military parents. This includes deployed parents in the regular military, 
military reserves, or National Guard. 

(19) [(18)] Parent--An individual who is responsible for the 
care and supervision of a child and is identified as the child's natural 
parent, adoptive parent, stepparent, legal guardian, or person standing 
in loco parentis (as determined in accordance with Commission poli-
cies and procedures). Unless otherwise indicated, the term applies to a 
single parent or both parents. 

(20) [(19)] Protective services--Services provided when a 
child: 

(A) is at risk of abuse or neglect in the immediate or 
short-term future and the child's family cannot or will not protect the 
child without Texas Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS) Child Protective Services (CPS) intervention; 

(B) is in the managing conservatorship of DFPS and re-
siding with a relative or a foster parent; or 

(C) has been provided with protective services by DFPS 
within the prior six months and requires services to ensure the stability 
of the family. 

(21) [(20)] Provider--A provider is defined as a: 

(A) regulated child care provider; 

(B) relative child care provider; or 

(C) listed family home subject to the requirements in 
§809.91(e) of this chapter. 

(22) [(21)] Regulated child care provider--A provider car-
ing for an eligible child in a location other than the eligible child's own 
residence that is: 

(A) licensed by CCR; 

(B) registered with CCR; or 

(C) operated and monitored by the United States mili-
tary services. 

(23) [(22)] Relative child care provider--An individual 
who is at least 18 years of age, and is, by marriage, blood relationship, 
or court decree, the child's: 

(A) grandparent; 

(B) great-grandparent; 

(C) aunt; 

(D) uncle; or 

(E) sibling (if the sibling does not reside in the same 
household as the eligible child). 

(24) [(23)] Residing with--Unless otherwise stipulated in 
this chapter, a child is considered to be residing with the parent when 
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the child is living with, and physically present with, the parent during 
the time period for which child care services are being requested or 
received. 

(25) [(24)] Teen parent--A teen parent (teen) is an individ-
ual 18 years of age or younger, or 19 years of age and attending high 
school or the equivalent, who has a child. 

(26) [(25)] Texas Rising Star program--A quality-based 
rating system of child care providers participating in Commission-sub-
sidized child care. 

(27) [(26)] Texas Rising Star provider--A regulated child 
care provider meeting the Texas Rising Star program standards. Texas 
Rising Star providers are: 

(A) designated as an Entry Level Provider; 

(B) certified as a Two-Star Provider; 

(C) certified as a Three-Star Provider; or 

(D) certified as a Four-Star Provider. 

(28) [(27)] Working--Working is defined as: 

(A) activities for which one receives monetary compen-
sation such as a salary, wages, tips, and commissions; 

(B) participation in Choices or Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program Employment and Training (SNAP E&T) activities; 
or 

(C) engaging in job search at the time of eligibility de-
termination or redetermination as described in §809.56 of this chapter. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502989 
Les Trobman 
General Counsel 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (737) 301-9662 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD 
CARE SERVICES 
40 TAC §809.43 

The rules are proposed under Texas Labor Code, §301.0015 
and §302.002(d), which provide TWC with the authority to adopt, 
amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary for the effec-
tive administration of TWC services and activities. 
The rules affect Title 4, Texas Labor Code, particularly Chapters 
301 and 302. 
§809.43. Priority for Child Care Services. 

(a) A Board shall ensure that child care services are prioritized 
among the following three priority groups: 

(1) The first priority group is assured child care services 
and includes children of parents eligible for the following: 

(A) Choices child care as referenced in §809.45 of this 
subchapter; 

(B) Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
Applicant child care as referenced in §809.46 of this subchapter; 

(C) SNAP E&T child care as referenced in §809.47 of 
this subchapter; and 

(D) Transitional child care as referenced in §809.48 of 
this subchapter. 

(2) The second priority group is served subject to the avail-
ability of funds and includes, in the order of priority: 

(A) children who need to receive protective services 
child care as referenced in §809.49 of this subchapter; 

(B) children of a qualified veteran or qualified spouse 
as defined in §801.23 of this title; 

(C) children of a foster youth as defined in §801.23 of 
this title; 

(D) children experiencing homelessness as defined in 
§809.2 of this chapter and described in §809.52 of this subchapter; 

(E) children of parents on military deployment as de-
fined in §809.2 of this chapter whose parents are unable to enroll in 
military-funded child care assistance programs; 

(F) children of teen parents as defined in §809.2 of this 
chapter; [and] 

(G) children with disabilities as defined in §809.2 of 
this chapter; and 

(H) children of a child care worker as defined in §809.2 
of this chapter. 

(3) The third priority group includes any other priority 
adopted by the Board. 

(b) A Board shall not establish a priority group under subsec-
tion (a)(3) of this section based on the parent's choice of an individual 
provider or provider type. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 19, 2025. 
TRD-202502990 
Les Trobman 
General Counsel 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (737) 301-9662 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 43. TRANSPORTATION 

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION 

CHAPTER 1. MANAGEMENT 
SUBCHAPTER F. ADVISORY COMMITTEES 
43 TAC §1.84, §1.88 

The Texas Department of Transportation (department) proposes 
the amendments to §1.84, Statutory Advisory Committees, and 
§1.88, Duration of Advisory Committees. 
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EXPLANATION OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS 

The department's rules provide, in accordance with Government 
Code, §2110.008, that each of the commission's or department's 
advisory committees created by statute or by the commission or 
department is abolished on December 31, 2023. The commis-
sion has reviewed the need to continue the existence of those 
advisory committees beyond that date. The commission recog-
nizes that the continuation of some of the existing advisory com-
mittees is necessary for improved communication between the 
department and the public and this rulemaking extends the du-
ration of specified advisory committees for that purpose. 
Amendments to §1.84, Statutory Advisory Committees, delete 
the references to and information about the Urban Air Mobil-
ity Advisory Committee because the statute creating that ad-
visory committee, Transportation Code, §21.004, expired Jan-
uary 1, 2023. The amendments add provisions relating to the 
new Advanced Air Mobility Advisory Committee, created under 
Transportation Code, Section 21.0045, which was added by S.B. 
2144, Acts of the 88th Legislature, Regular Session. 
Amendments to §1.88, Duration of Advisory Committees, extend 
the dates on which the various advisory committees will be abol-
ished. 
FISCAL NOTE 

Stephen Stewart, Chief Financial Officer, has determined, in ac-
cordance with Government Code, §2001.024(a)(4), that for each 
of the first five years in which the proposed rules are in effect, 
there will be no fiscal implications for state or local governments 
as a result of the department's or commission's enforcing or ad-
ministering the proposed rules. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENT 

Brandye Hendrickson, Deputy Executive Director, has deter-
mined that there will be no significant impact on local economies 
or overall employment as a result of enforcing or administering 
the proposed rules and therefore, a local employment impact 
statement is not required under Government Code, §2001.022. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT 

Ms. Hendrickson has determined, as required by Government 
Code, §2001.024(a)(5), that for each year of the first five years 
in which the proposed rules are in effect, the public benefit an-
ticipated as a result of enforcing or administering the rules will 
be improved accuracy of the rules and improved communication 
between the department and the public. 
COSTS ON REGULATED PERSONS 

Ms. Hendrickson has also determined, as required by Govern-
ment Code, §2001.024(a)(5), that for each year of that period 
there are no anticipated economic costs for persons, including 
a state agency, special district, or local government, required 
to comply with the proposed rules and therefore, Government 
Code, §2001.0045, does not apply to this rulemaking. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS 

There will be no adverse economic effect on small business, mi-
cro-business, or rural communities, as defined by Government 
Code, §2006.001, and therefore, an economic impact statement 
and regulatory flexibility analysis are not required under Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

Erika Kemp has considered the requirements of Government 
Code, §2001.0221 and anticipates that the proposed rules will 
have no effect on government growth. She expects that during 
the first five years that the rule would be in effect: 
(1) it would not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) its implementation would not require the creation of new em-
ployee positions or the elimination of existing employee posi-
tions; 
(3) its implementation would not require an increase or decrease 
in future legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) it would not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to 
the agency; 
(5) it would not create a new regulation; 
(6) it would not expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; 
(7) it would not increase or decrease the number of individuals 
subject to its applicability; and 

(8) it would not positively or adversely affect this state's economy. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

Ms. Hendrickson has determined that a written takings im-
pact assessment is not required under Government Code, 
§2007.043. 
SUBMITTAL OF COMMENTS 

Written comments on the amendments to §1.84 and §1.88, may 
be submitted to Rule Comments, General Counsel Division, 
Texas Department of Transportation, 125 East 11th Street, 
Austin, Texas 78701-2483 or to RuleComments@txdot.gov with 
the subject line "Advisory Committees." The deadline for receipt 
of comments is 5:00 p.m. on October 6, 2025. In accordance 
with Transportation Code, §201.811(a)(5), a person who sub-
mits comments must disclose, in writing with the comments, 
whether the person does business with the department, may 
benefit monetarily from the proposed amendments, or is an 
employee of the department. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments and repeal are proposed under Transporta-
tion Code, §201.101, which provides the commission with the 
authority to establish rules for the conduct of the work of the de-
partment, and more specifically, Transportation Code, §201.117, 
which provides the commission with the authority to establish, as 
it considers necessary, advisory committees on any of the mat-
ters under its jurisdiction, and Government Code, §2110.008, 
which provides that a state agency by rule may designate the 
date on which an advisory committee will automatically be abol-
ished. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTES IMPLEMENTED BY 
THIS RULEMAKING 

Government Code, Chapter 2110, and Transportation Code, 
§§21.003, 21.0045, 201.114, 201.117, 201.623, and 455.004. 
§1.84. Statutory Advisory Committees. 

(a) Aviation Advisory Committee. 

(1) Purpose. Created pursuant to Transportation Code, 
§21.003, the Aviation Advisory Committee provides a direct link 
for general aviation users' input into the Texas Airport System. The 
committee provides a forum for exchange of information concerning 
the users' view of the needs and requirements for the economic devel-
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opment of the aviation system. The members of the committee are an 
avenue for interested parties to utilize to voice their concerns and have 
that data conveyed for action for system improvement. Additionally, 
committee members are representatives of the department and its 
Aviation Division, able to furnish data on resources available to the 
Texas aviation users. 

(2) Membership. The commission will appoint nine mem-
bers to staggered terms of three years with three members' terms expir-
ing August 31 of each year. A majority of the members of the commit-
tee must have five years of successful experience as an aircraft pilot, 
an aircraft facilities manager, or a fixed-base operator. A member may 
not serve more than three consecutive terms on the committee. 

(3) Duties. The committee shall: 

(A) periodically review the adopted capital improve-
ment program; 

(B) advise the commission on the preparation and adop-
tion of an aviation facilities development program; 

(C) advise the commission on the establishment and 
maintenance of a method for determining priorities among locations 
and projects to receive state financial assistance for aviation facility 
development; 

(D) advise the commission on the preparation and up-
date of a multi-year aviation facilities capital improvement program; 
and 

(E) perform other duties as determined by order of the 
commission. 

(4) Meetings. The committee shall meet once a calendar 
year and such other times as requested by the Aviation Division Direc-
tor. 

(5) Rulemaking. Section 1.83 of this subchapter (relating 
to Rulemaking) does not apply to the Aviation Advisory Committee. 

(b) Public Transportation Advisory Committee. 

(1) Purpose. Created pursuant to Transportation Code, 
§455.004, the Public Transportation Advisory Committee provides a 
forum for the exchange of information between the department, the 
commission, and committee members representing the transit industry 
and the general public. Advice and recommendations expressed by 
the committee provide the department and the commission with a 
broader perspective regarding public transportation matters that will 
be considered in formulating department policies. 

(2) Membership. Members of the Public Transportation 
Advisory Committee shall be appointed and shall serve pursuant to 
Transportation Code, §455.004. 

(3) Duties. The committee shall: 

(A) advise the commission on the needs and problems 
of the state's public transportation providers, including recommending 
methods for allocating state public transportation funds if the allocation 
methodology is not specified by statute; 

(B) comment on proposed rules or rule changes involv-
ing public transportation matters during their development and prior to 
final adoption unless an emergency requires immediate action by the 
commission; 

(C) advise the commission on the implementation of 
Transportation Code, Chapter 461; and 

(D) perform other duties as determined by order of the 
commission. 

(4) Meetings. The committee shall meet as requested by 
the commission or the division designated under §1.82(f) of this sub-
chapter (relating to Statutory Advisory Committee Operations and Pro-
cedures). 

(5) Public transportation technical committees. 

(A) The Public Transportation Advisory Committee 
may appoint one or more technical committees to advise it on specific 
issues, such as vehicle specifications, funding allocation methodolo-
gies, training and technical assistance programs, and level of service 
planning. 

(B) A technical committee shall report any findings and 
recommendations to the Public Transportation Advisory Committee. 

(c) Port Authority Advisory Committee. 

(1) Purpose. Created pursuant to Transportation Code, 
§55.006, the purpose of the Port Authority Advisory Committee 
is to provide a forum for the exchange of information between the 
commission, the department, and committee members representing 
the maritime port industry in Texas and others who have an interest 
in maritime ports. The committee's advice and recommendations will 
provide the commission and the department with a broad perspective 
regarding maritime ports and transportation-related matters to be 
considered in formulating department policies concerning the Texas 
maritime port system. 

(2) Membership. Members shall be appointed pursuant to 
Transportation Code, §55.006. Members appointed by the commission 
serve staggered three-year terms unless removed sooner at the discre-
tion of the commission. 

(3) Duties. The committee shall: 

(A) prepare a maritime port mission plan, in accordance 
with Transportation Code, §55.008 and submit the plan to the gover-
nor, lieutenant governor, speaker of the house of representatives and 
commission not later than December 1 of each even-numbered year; 

(B) review each project eligible to be funded under 
Transportation Code, Chapter 55, and make recommendations for 
approval or disapproval to the department; and 

(C) advise the commission and the department on mat-
ters relating to port authorities. 

(4) Meeting. The committee shall meet at least semiannu-
ally and such other times as requested by the commission, the executive 
director, or the executive director's designee. The chair may request the 
department to call a meeting. 

(d) Border Trade Advisory Committee. 

(1) Purpose. Created pursuant to Transportation Code, 
§201.114, the Border Trade Advisory Committee provides a forum 
for the exchange of communications among the commission, the 
department, the governor, and committee members representing 
border trade interests. The committee's advice and recommendations 
will provide the governor, the commission, and the department with 
a broad perspective regarding the effect of transportation choices on 
border trade in general and on particular communities. The members 
of the committee also provide an avenue for interested parties to 
express opinions with regard to border trade issues. 

(2) Membership. The border commerce coordinator des-
ignated under Government Code, §772.010, shall serve as the chair 
of the committee. The commission will appoint the other members 
of the committee in accordance with Transportation Code, §201.114. 
The commission will appoint members to staggered three-year terms 
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expiring on August 31 of each year, except that the commission may 
establish terms of less than three years for some members in order to 
stagger terms. 

(3) Duties. The committee shall: 

(A) define and develop a strategy for identifying and 
addressing the highest priority border trade transportation challenges; 

(B) make recommendations to the commission regard-
ing ways in which to address the highest priority border trade trans-
portation challenges; 

(C) advise the commission on methods for determining 
priorities among competing projects affecting border trade; and 

(D) perform other duties as determined by the commis-
sion, the executive director, or the executive director's designee. 

(4) Meetings. The committee shall meet at least once a cal-
endar year. The dates and times of meetings shall be set by the com-
mittee. The committee shall also meet at the request of the department. 

(5) Rulemaking. Sections 1.82(i) and 1.83 of this subchap-
ter do not apply to the Border Trade Advisory Committee. 

(e) I-27 Advisory Committee. 

(1) Purpose. Created pursuant to Transportation Code, 
§201.623, the purpose of the I-27 Advisory Committee, as stated 
in subsection (b) of that section, is to provide the department with 
information on concerns and interests along the Ports-to-Plains 
Corridor, which is specified in Transportation Code, §225.069, and 
advise the department on transportation improvements impacting the 
Ports-to-Plains Corridor. 

(2) Membership. Composition of the committee is pro-
vided by Transportation Code, §201.623(c) and (d). A member serves 
in accordance with §201.623(e). The chair and vice-chair of the com-
mittee are elected in accordance with §201.623(g). 

(3) Duty. The duty of committee is to provide to the de-
partment the information and advice on the Ports-to-Plains Corridor 
for which it was formed. 

(4) Meeting. In accordance with Transportation Code, 
§201.623(h), the committee shall meet at least twice each state fiscal 
year and at other times, as requested by the department or the chair. 

(5) Compensation. In accordance with Transportation 
Code, §201.623(i), an advisory committee member is not entitled to 
receive compensation for service on the committee or reimbursement 
for expenses incurred in the performance of official duties as a member 
of the committee. 

[(f) Advanced Air Mobility Advisory Committee.] 

[(1) Purpose. Created pursuant to Transportation Code, 
§21.0045, the purpose of the Advanced Air Mobility Advisory Com-
mittee, as stated in subsection (b)of that section, is to assess current 
state law and any potential changes to state law that are needed to 
facilitate the implementation of advanced air mobility technology in 
this state.] 

[(2) Membership. The committee is composed of members 
appointed by the commission in accordance with Transportation Code, 
§21.0045(c).] 

[(3) Duty. Not later than November 1, 2024, the commit-
tee shall submit to the commission and the legislature a written report 
that includes the committee's findings and recommendations on any 
changes to state law that are needed to facilitate the implementation of 
advanced air mobility technology in this state.] 

[(4) Meeting. The committee shall hold public hearings 
and receive comments in accordance with Transportation Code, 
§21.0045(d).] 

§1.88. Duration of Advisory Committees. 

(a) Except as provided by this section, each statutory advisory 
committee or department advisory committee is abolished on Decem-
ber 31, 2025 [2023]. 

(b) The following advisory committees are abolished on De-
cember 31, 2027 [2025]: 

(1) a statutory or department advisory committee created 
after December 31, 2025 [2023]; 

(2) the Aviation Advisory Committee; 

(3) the Public Transportation Advisory Committee; 

(4) the Port Authority Advisory Committee; 

(5) the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee; 

(6) the Freight Advisory Committee; and 

(7) the Commission for High-Speed Rail in the Dallas/Fort 
Worth Region. 

(c) A corridor segment advisory committee created under 
§1.87 of this subchapter (relating to Corridor Segment Advisory 
Committees) after December 31, 2025 [2023] is abolished on the date 
provided in the minute order creating the committee or if a date is not 
provided in the order, on the earlier of: 

(1) the date of the completion of the segment for which the 
committee was created; or 

(2) December 31, 2027 [2025]. 

(d) This section does not apply to the Border Trade Advisory 
Committee or the I-27 Advisory Committee. 

[(e) The Advanced Air Mobility Advisory Committee is 
abolished on January 1, 2025, as provided by Transportation Code, 
§21.0045(f).] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 21, 2025. 
TRD-202503032 
Becky Blewett 
Deputy General Counsel 
Texas Department of Transportation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 
For further information, please call: (512) 416-2298 
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	(2) The Commission or its delegate may administratively deny an application for a plugging extension for an inactive well if the Commission or its delegate determines that: (A) the applicant does not have an active organization report at the time the plugging extension application is filed; (B) the applicant has not submitted all required filing fees and financial assurance for the requested plugging extension and for renewal of its organization report; or (C) the applicant has not submitted a signed organi
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	if the Commission or its delegate determines, after notice and an op-portunity for a hearing, that the applicant is ineligible for the extension under the Commission's rules or orders. (i) Removal of surface equipment for land wells inactive more than 10 years. Requirements to remove surface equipment for land wells inactive more than 10 years do not excuse an operator from com-pliance with all other applicable Commission rules and orders includ-ing the requirements in Chapter 4 of this title (relating to E

	delegate approves the new operator's request to be recognized as the operator of the well. (3) The Commission or its delegate may transfer an abeyance of plugging report in the event of a change of name of an operator. (k) Enhanced oil recovery (EOR) project. (1) An inactive well is considered to be part of an EOR project if the well is located on a unit or lease or in a field associated with a Commission-approved EOR project. (2) Except as provided in paragraph (3) of this subsection, the Commission and it
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	date of the test, unless the Commission or its delegate requires the op-erator to perform testing more frequently to ensure that the well does not pose a threat of harm to natural resources. (7) An operator of an inactive well that is more than 25 years old may not return that inactive well to active operation unless the operator performs either a successful fluid level test of the well within 12 months prior to the return to activity or a successful hydraulic pressure test of the well within five years pri

	existing inactive land well. A new operator of an existing inactive land well must file a new supplemental bond, letter of credit, or cash deposit or otherwise comply with the provisions of this section not later than six months after the date the Commission or its delegate approves an operator designation form. (o) Escrow funds. (1) An operator must deposit escrow funds with the Com-mission each time the operator files an application for an extension of the deadline for plugging an inactive well. (2) The C
	maximum when warranted by the facts in any case, regardless of inclu-sion in or omission from this section. (d) Factors considered. The amount of any penalty requested, recommended, or finally assessed in an enforcement action will be de-termined on an individual case-by-case basis for each violation, taking into consideration the following factors: (1) the person's history of previous violations; (2) the seriousness of the violation; (3) any hazard to the health or safety of the public; and (4) the demonst

	or the total amount of previous administrative penalties, but not both. The actual amount of any penalty enhancement will be determined on an individual case-by-case basis for each violation. The guidelines in Tables 3 and 4 are intended to be used separately. Either guideline may be used where applicable, but not both. Figure 1: 16 TAC §3.107(g) (No change.) Figure 2: 16 TAC §3.107(g) (No change.) (h) Penalty reduction for accelerated settlement before hear-ing. The recommended monetary penalty for a viola
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	(89th Legislature, Regular Session, 2025) which amended Occupations Code §§55.004 and 55.0041. HB 5629 amends current law governing state agencies that issue occupational licenses to military service members, military veter-ans, and military spouses, establishing new and streamlined re-quirements. The legislation amends provisions in §55.004, Oc-cupations Code, related to the issuance of alternative licenses, and in §55.0041, Occupations Code, related to the recognition of out-of-state licenses. Pursuant to
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	The Commission proposes amendments to §9.2(5)(F), the defi-nition of "certificate holder", to clarify that an individual who holds an alternative license or the recognition of an out-of-state license pursuant to proposed §9.14 meets the definition of certificate holder. Proposed new §9.14 includes retitling the rule to more accurately reflect its subject matter, reorganizing the rule for greater clarity in light of the changes to military fee exemption requirements under HB 5629, and incorporating new provi
	Second, an applicant may receive an alternative license from the Commission if the applicant held an LP-gas license from the Commission within the five years preceding the application date. Those applicants are still required to complete Form 16V and must attach military documentation and a marriage license, if ap-plicable. Regardless of which avenue an applicant uses to pur-sue an alternative license under proposed §9.14, AFS will issue the alternative license within 10 business days of the application dat

	language related to military licensing fee exemptions as all rule language related to fee exemptions will be covered by proposed changes to proposed §9.14(d). Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Department, has determined that during the first year of the first five years the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would be in effect, there will be a programming cost to the Commission to make small changes to its Alternative Fuels Online System (AFOS) to accommodate applications, exemption
	language related to military licensing fee exemptions as all rule language related to fee exemptions will be covered by proposed changes to proposed §9.14(d). Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Department, has determined that during the first year of the first five years the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would be in effect, there will be a programming cost to the Commission to make small changes to its Alternative Fuels Online System (AFOS) to accommodate applications, exemption
	language related to military licensing fee exemptions as all rule language related to fee exemptions will be covered by proposed changes to proposed §9.14(d). Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Department, has determined that during the first year of the first five years the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would be in effect, there will be a programming cost to the Commission to make small changes to its Alternative Fuels Online System (AFOS) to accommodate applications, exemption
	requirements to issue alternative licenses or recognize out-of-state licenses if certain requirements are met. The proposed re-peal, new rule, and amendments would also repeal current §9.14 relating to fee exemptions and re-adopt language to comply with HB 5629. The Commission reviewed the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments and found that they are neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §29.11(b)(4), nor would they affect any action or authorization identified in C
	requirements to issue alternative licenses or recognize out-of-state licenses if certain requirements are met. The proposed re-peal, new rule, and amendments would also repeal current §9.14 relating to fee exemptions and re-adopt language to comply with HB 5629. The Commission reviewed the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments and found that they are neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §29.11(b)(4), nor would they affect any action or authorization identified in C

	P
	Link
	Link
	Link





	renewal requirements in §9.9 of this chapter (relating to Requirements for Certificate Holder Renewal). (6) -(52) (No change.) §9.10. Rules Examination. (a) -(b) (No change.) (c) An individual who files LPG Form 16 and pays the appli-cable nonrefundable examination fee may take the rules examination (1) -(3) (No change.) (4) Exam fees. (A) -(D) (No change.) (E) A military service member, military veteran, or mil-itary spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the requirements in §9.14 of t
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	license or who holds an out-of-state license the Commission recog-nizes. The Commission shall publish at least quarterly on its website the complaint information, including a general description of the disposition of each complaint. (b) Alternative Licensing. (1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse may apply to be issued an LP-gas license by the Commission if the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse: (A) holds a current license issued by the licensing au-
	license or who holds an out-of-state license the Commission recog-nizes. The Commission shall publish at least quarterly on its website the complaint information, including a general description of the disposition of each complaint. (b) Alternative Licensing. (1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse may apply to be issued an LP-gas license by the Commission if the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse: (A) holds a current license issued by the licensing au-
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	(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-plicant's status as a military service member or a military spouse; (C) a copy of the applicant's military orders showing relocation to this state; (D) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the military spouse's marriage license; and (E) any other information that may be required by AFS. (3) Form 16M includes an affidavit that must be notarized by the applicant affirming under penalty of perjury that: (A) the applicant is the person described an



	(2) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall submit the following documentation with Form 35: (A) a copy of any military records showing the appli-cant's dates of service; and (B) a copy of the applicant's driver's license or state-issued identification card. (3) AFS shall review Form 35 and required documentation to determine if the requirements for the fee exemption have been met and shall notify the applicant of the determination in writing within 10 days. (A) If all requirem
	(2) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall submit the following documentation with Form 35: (A) a copy of any military records showing the appli-cant's dates of service; and (B) a copy of the applicant's driver's license or state-issued identification card. (3) AFS shall review Form 35 and required documentation to determine if the requirements for the fee exemption have been met and shall notify the applicant of the determination in writing within 10 days. (A) If all requirem
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	(2) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall submit the following documentation with Form 35: (A) a copy of any military records showing the appli-cant's dates of service; and (B) a copy of the applicant's driver's license or state-issued identification card. (3) AFS shall review Form 35 and required documentation to determine if the requirements for the fee exemption have been met and shall notify the applicant of the determination in writing within 10 days. (A) If all requirem







	16 TAC §9.14 The Commission proposes the repeal under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the Commission to promul-gate rules pertaining to the issuance of occupational licenses to military service members, military veterans, and military spouses. Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, §113.051. Cross reference to statute: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter 113. §9.14. Military Fee Exemption. The 
	16 TAC §9.14 The Commission proposes the repeal under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the Commission to promul-gate rules pertaining to the issuance of occupational licenses to military service members, military veterans, and military spouses. Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, §113.051. Cross reference to statute: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter 113. §9.14. Military Fee Exemption. The 
	a current out-of-state license that is similar in scope of practice to the state agency's license, (2) is in good standing with the out-of-state licensing authority, and (3) submits certain required information in an affidavit. The legislation also clarifies the def-inition of what qualifies as "good standing", decreases applica-tion processing timelines from 30 business days to 10 business days, and requires a state agency to maintain a record of each complaint made against a military service member, milit
	a current out-of-state license that is similar in scope of practice to the state agency's license, (2) is in good standing with the out-of-state licensing authority, and (3) submits certain required information in an affidavit. The legislation also clarifies the def-inition of what qualifies as "good standing", decreases applica-tion processing timelines from 30 business days to 10 business days, and requires a state agency to maintain a record of each complaint made against a military service member, milit

	§13.76 to determine whether the applicant is in good standing with the other state's licensing authority. Additionally, proposed §13.76(a)(4) states that the Commission shall maintain a record of complaints made against a military service member, military veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues an alternative license or out-of-state recognition of a license and shall publish at least quarterly the complaint information on its website. The Commission will need to set up a page on its website listing t
	§13.76 to determine whether the applicant is in good standing with the other state's licensing authority. Additionally, proposed §13.76(a)(4) states that the Commission shall maintain a record of complaints made against a military service member, military veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues an alternative license or out-of-state recognition of a license and shall publish at least quarterly the complaint information on its website. The Commission will need to set up a page on its website listing t
	§13.76 to determine whether the applicant is in good standing with the other state's licensing authority. Additionally, proposed §13.76(a)(4) states that the Commission shall maintain a record of complaints made against a military service member, military veteran, or military spouse to whom AFS issues an alternative license or out-of-state recognition of a license and shall publish at least quarterly the complaint information on its website. The Commission will need to set up a page on its website listing t
	included in Form 16M must be signed and notarized by the ap-plicant, affirming under penalty of perjury that: (1) the applicant is the person described and identified in the application; (2) all statements in the application are true, correct, and complete; (3) the applicant understands the scope of practice for the applica-ble license in this state and will not perform outside of that scope of practice; and (4) the applicant is in good standing in the state in which the applicant holds or has held an appli
	included in Form 16M must be signed and notarized by the ap-plicant, affirming under penalty of perjury that: (1) the applicant is the person described and identified in the application; (2) all statements in the application are true, correct, and complete; (3) the applicant understands the scope of practice for the applica-ble license in this state and will not perform outside of that scope of practice; and (4) the applicant is in good standing in the state in which the applicant holds or has held an appli



	other state meeting certain requirements to receive the recogni-tion of an out-of-state license from AFS. Ms. Rudynski has determined that for each year of the first five years the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments are in effect, there will be no increase in economic cost to the CNG industry. In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2006.002, the Commission has determined there will be no adverse economic effect on rural communities, small businesses or micro-busi-nesses resulting from the propose
	other state meeting certain requirements to receive the recogni-tion of an out-of-state license from AFS. Ms. Rudynski has determined that for each year of the first five years the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments are in effect, there will be no increase in economic cost to the CNG industry. In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2006.002, the Commission has determined there will be no adverse economic effect on rural communities, small businesses or micro-busi-nesses resulting from the propose
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	ditional time to review, analyze, draft, and submit comments. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments submitted after the deadline will be considered. For further information, call Karley Rudynski, Director, Alternative Fuels Safety Depart-ment, at (512) 463-6828. The status of Commission rulemak-ings in progress is available at www.rrc.texas.gov/general-coun-sel/rules/proposed-rules. 16 TAC §§13.61, 13.70, 13.76 The Commission proposes the new rule and amendments un-der Texas Occupations Code, Chapte
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	(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the requirements in §13.76 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee ex-emption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in subsection (h) of this section.] (v) (No change.) (D) -(E) (No change.) (c) -(f) (No change.) (g) General installers and repairmen exemption. (1) -(7) (No change.) (8) A military service member, mil
	(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the requirements in §13.76 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee ex-emption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in subsection (h) of this section.] (v) (No change.) (D) -(E) (No change.) (c) -(f) (No change.) (g) General installers and repairmen exemption. (1) -(7) (No change.) (8) A military service member, mil
	(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the requirements in §13.76 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee ex-emption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in subsection (h) of this section.] (v) (No change.) (D) -(E) (No change.) (c) -(f) (No change.) (g) General installers and repairmen exemption. (1) -(7) (No change.) (8) A military service member, mil
	(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the requirements in §13.76 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee ex-emption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in subsection (h) of this section.] (v) (No change.) (D) -(E) (No change.) (c) -(f) (No change.) (g) General installers and repairmen exemption. (1) -(7) (No change.) (8) A military service member, mil
	(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the requirements in §13.76 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee ex-emption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in subsection (h) of this section.] (v) (No change.) (D) -(E) (No change.) (c) -(f) (No change.) (g) General installers and repairmen exemption. (1) -(7) (No change.) (8) A military service member, mil
	(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the requirements in §13.76 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee ex-emption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in subsection (h) of this section.] (v) (No change.) (D) -(E) (No change.) (c) -(f) (No change.) (g) General installers and repairmen exemption. (1) -(7) (No change.) (8) A military service member, mil
	(iv) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the requirements in §13.76 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An individual who receives a military fee ex-emption is not exempt from renewal fees specified in subsection (h) of this section.] (v) (No change.) (D) -(E) (No change.) (c) -(f) (No change.) (g) General installers and repairmen exemption. (1) -(7) (No change.) (8) A military service member, mil



	(B) within the five years preceding the application date held a CNG license issued by the Commission. (2) An application for an alternative license shall be made by submitting a completed Form 16V to AFS. The applicant must at-tach the following to Form 16V: (A) a copy of the applicant's current CNG license issued by the licensing authority of another state, if applicable; (B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-eran; (C) if 
	(B) within the five years preceding the application date held a CNG license issued by the Commission. (2) An application for an alternative license shall be made by submitting a completed Form 16V to AFS. The applicant must at-tach the following to Form 16V: (A) a copy of the applicant's current CNG license issued by the licensing authority of another state, if applicable; (B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-eran; (C) if 
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	(B) all statements in the application are true, correct, and complete; (C) the applicant understands the scope of practice for the applicable license in this state and will not perform outside of that scope of practice; and (D) the applicant is in good standing in the state in which the applicant holds an applicable license. (4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing re
	(B) all statements in the application are true, correct, and complete; (C) the applicant understands the scope of practice for the applicable license in this state and will not perform outside of that scope of practice; and (D) the applicant is in good standing in the state in which the applicant holds an applicable license. (4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing re
	(B) all statements in the application are true, correct, and complete; (C) the applicant understands the scope of practice for the applicable license in this state and will not perform outside of that scope of practice; and (D) the applicant is in good standing in the state in which the applicant holds an applicable license. (4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing re
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	(B) all statements in the application are true, correct, and complete; (C) the applicant understands the scope of practice for the applicable license in this state and will not perform outside of that scope of practice; and (D) the applicant is in good standing in the state in which the applicant holds an applicable license. (4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing re



	(A) If all requirements have been met, the applicant may submit the application for license or examination and attach a copy of the written notice granting military fee exemption with the application to serve as notice of payment. (B) If AFS has notified the applicant that the application is incomplete, the applicant shall provide any requested information or documentation within 10 days of the date of the notice. (e) Renewals. (1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives
	(A) If all requirements have been met, the applicant may submit the application for license or examination and attach a copy of the written notice granting military fee exemption with the application to serve as notice of payment. (B) If AFS has notified the applicant that the application is incomplete, the applicant shall provide any requested information or documentation within 10 days of the date of the notice. (e) Renewals. (1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives
	(A) If all requirements have been met, the applicant may submit the application for license or examination and attach a copy of the written notice granting military fee exemption with the application to serve as notice of payment. (B) If AFS has notified the applicant that the application is incomplete, the applicant shall provide any requested information or documentation within 10 days of the date of the notice. (e) Renewals. (1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives
	(A) If all requirements have been met, the applicant may submit the application for license or examination and attach a copy of the written notice granting military fee exemption with the application to serve as notice of payment. (B) If AFS has notified the applicant that the application is incomplete, the applicant shall provide any requested information or documentation within 10 days of the date of the notice. (e) Renewals. (1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives





	CHAPTER 14. REGULATIONS FOR LIQUEFIED NATURAL GAS (LNG) SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL APPLICABILITY AND REQUIREMENTS The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) proposes the repeal of §14.2015, relating to Military Fee Exemption, and proposes new §14.2015, relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption. The Commission also proposes conforming amendments to §§14.2013 and 14.2019, relating to License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, Fees, and Application for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, a
	CHAPTER 14. REGULATIONS FOR LIQUEFIED NATURAL GAS (LNG) SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL APPLICABILITY AND REQUIREMENTS The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) proposes the repeal of §14.2015, relating to Military Fee Exemption, and proposes new §14.2015, relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption. The Commission also proposes conforming amendments to §§14.2013 and 14.2019, relating to License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, Fees, and Application for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, a
	CHAPTER 14. REGULATIONS FOR LIQUEFIED NATURAL GAS (LNG) SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL APPLICABILITY AND REQUIREMENTS The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) proposes the repeal of §14.2015, relating to Military Fee Exemption, and proposes new §14.2015, relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption. The Commission also proposes conforming amendments to §§14.2013 and 14.2019, relating to License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, Fees, and Application for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, a
	CHAPTER 14. REGULATIONS FOR LIQUEFIED NATURAL GAS (LNG) SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL APPLICABILITY AND REQUIREMENTS The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) proposes the repeal of §14.2015, relating to Military Fee Exemption, and proposes new §14.2015, relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption. The Commission also proposes conforming amendments to §§14.2013 and 14.2019, relating to License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, Fees, and Application for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, a
	Section 55.001 of the Occupations Code defines "license" as "a license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of autho-rization required by law or a state agency rule that must be ob-tained by an individual to engage in a particular business." Ac-cordingly, Chapter 55 and HB 5629 only apply to licenses, as defined by §55.001, that are issued to individuals. AFS typically issues LNG licenses to registered business entities, but on rare occasions may issue an LNG license to an individual operating 

	sued by AFS and the applicant is in good standing with the other state's licensing authority. The applicant must submit a com-pleted Form 16V which includes as an attachment a copy of the current LNG license issued in the other state, a copy of mili-tary documentation reflecting the applicant's status as a military service member or military veteran, and any other documenta-tion that may be requested by AFS. If the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the marriage license must also be attached. Upon re
	the exemption to the application for a license or examination to serve as notice of payment. Proposed §14.2015(e) contains provisions related to renewals of licenses. Alternative licenses and out-of-state recognitions are still required to submit renewals pursuant to Chapter 14 and are required to pay renewal fees. However, a military service mem-ber who fails to renew a license because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed by AFS. Additionally, a military ser
	the exemption to the application for a license or examination to serve as notice of payment. Proposed §14.2015(e) contains provisions related to renewals of licenses. Alternative licenses and out-of-state recognitions are still required to submit renewals pursuant to Chapter 14 and are required to pay renewal fees. However, a military service mem-ber who fails to renew a license because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed by AFS. Additionally, a military ser


	The Commission has determined that the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments do not meet the statutory definition of a major environmental rule as set forth in Texas Government Code §2001.0225(a); therefore, a regulatory analysis conducted pursuant to that section is not required. During the first five years that the repeal, new rule, and amend-ments would be in effect, the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would not: create or eliminate a government pro-gram; create new employee positions or el
	The Commission has determined that the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments do not meet the statutory definition of a major environmental rule as set forth in Texas Government Code §2001.0225(a); therefore, a regulatory analysis conducted pursuant to that section is not required. During the first five years that the repeal, new rule, and amend-ments would be in effect, the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would not: create or eliminate a government pro-gram; create new employee positions or el
	The Commission has determined that the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments do not meet the statutory definition of a major environmental rule as set forth in Texas Government Code §2001.0225(a); therefore, a regulatory analysis conducted pursuant to that section is not required. During the first five years that the repeal, new rule, and amend-ments would be in effect, the proposed repeal, new rule, and amendments would not: create or eliminate a government pro-gram; create new employee positions or el
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	(a) -(b) (No change.) (c) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the original license fee specified in sub-section (b) of this section pursuant to the requirements in §14.2015 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An in-dividual who receives a military fee exemption is not exempt from re-newal or transport registration fees specified in §14.2014 and §14.2704 of this title (relating to Application for License or Manufacturer Reg-istra
	(a) -(b) (No change.) (c) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the original license fee specified in sub-section (b) of this section pursuant to the requirements in §14.2015 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An in-dividual who receives a military fee exemption is not exempt from re-newal or transport registration fees specified in §14.2014 and §14.2704 of this title (relating to Application for License or Manufacturer Reg-istra
	(a) -(b) (No change.) (c) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse shall be exempt from the original license fee specified in sub-section (b) of this section pursuant to the requirements in §14.2015 of this title (relating to Military Licensing and Fee Exemption). [An in-dividual who receives a military fee exemption is not exempt from re-newal or transport registration fees specified in §14.2014 and §14.2704 of this title (relating to Application for License or Manufacturer Reg-istra

	(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-eran; and (C) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the military spouse's marriage license; and (D) any other information that may be required by AFS. (3) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with required attachments, AFS shall: (A) confirm with the other state that the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse is currently licensed and in good standing f
	(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-eran; and (C) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the military spouse's marriage license; and (D) any other information that may be required by AFS. (3) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with required attachments, AFS shall: (A) confirm with the other state that the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse is currently licensed and in good standing f
	(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-eran; and (C) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the military spouse's marriage license; and (D) any other information that may be required by AFS. (3) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with required attachments, AFS shall: (A) confirm with the other state that the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse is currently licensed and in good standing f
	(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-eran; and (C) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the military spouse's marriage license; and (D) any other information that may be required by AFS. (3) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with required attachments, AFS shall: (A) confirm with the other state that the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse is currently licensed and in good standing f
	(B) a copy of military documentation showing the ap-plicant's military status as a military service member or military vet-eran; and (C) if the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of the military spouse's marriage license; and (D) any other information that may be required by AFS. (3) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16V with required attachments, AFS shall: (A) confirm with the other state that the military service member, military veteran, or military spouse is currently licensed and in good standing f



	(4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. (5) Not later than the 10th business day after AFS receives a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS will notify the applicant that: (A) AFS recognizes the applicant's out-of-state license and will provide a written recognition document; 
	(4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. (5) Not later than the 10th business day after AFS receives a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS will notify the applicant that: (A) AFS recognizes the applicant's out-of-state license and will provide a written recognition document; 
	(4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. (5) Not later than the 10th business day after AFS receives a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS will notify the applicant that: (A) AFS recognizes the applicant's out-of-state license and will provide a written recognition document; 
	(4) Upon receipt of a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS shall conduct a comparison of the other state's license requirements, statutes, and rules with AFS's licensing requirements to determine if the requirements are similar in scope of practice. (5) Not later than the 10th business day after AFS receives a completed Form 16M with required attachments, AFS will notify the applicant that: (A) AFS recognizes the applicant's out-of-state license and will provide a written recognition document; 




	(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an out-of-state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing education courses. (2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed by AFS. (3) A military service member who holds a license is enti
	(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an out-of-state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing education courses. (2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed by AFS. (3) A military service member who holds a license is enti
	(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an out-of-state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing education courses. (2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed by AFS. (3) A military service member who holds a license is enti
	(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an out-of-state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing education courses. (2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed by AFS. (3) A military service member who holds a license is enti
	(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an out-of-state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing education courses. (2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed by AFS. (3) A military service member who holds a license is enti
	(1) A military service member, military veteran, or military spouse who receives an alternative license or recognition by AFS of an out-of-state license remains subject to all other renewal requirements in this chapter, including all applicable fees and training or continuing education courses. (2) A service member who fails to timely renew a license because the individual was on active duty is exempt from any increased fee or penalty imposed by AFS. (3) A military service member who holds a license is enti



	Natalie Dubiel Assistant General Counsel Railroad Commission of Texas Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 ♦ ♦ ♦ 16 TAC §14.2015 The Commission proposes the repeal under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which authorizes the Commission to promul-gate rules pertaining to the issuance of occupational licenses to military service members, military veterans, and military spouses. Statutory authority: Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and Te
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	new rule is §22.162, relating to Enforcement of Subpoenas or Commissions for Deposition. Rule Review Stakeholder Recommendations On May 3, 2025, commission staff filed a preliminary notice and request for comments which was published in the Texas Register on May 17, 2024, at 49 TexReg 3635. Comments were received from the Alliance for Retail Markets (ARM) and the Texas Energy Association for Marketers (TEAM), collectively (REP Coalition); Entergy Texas, Inc. (Entergy); the Lower Colorado River Au-thority an
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	There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-nesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities as a result of implementing the proposed rules. Accordingly, no economic im-pact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis is required under Texas Government Code §2006.002(c). Takings Impact Analysis The commission has determined that the proposed rules will not be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the Texas Government Code. Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government Da
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	(4) Responses. Any response to an appeal must be filed within five working days of the filing of the appeal. (5) Motion for stay. Pending a ruling by the commission-ers, the presiding officer may, upon motion, grant a stay of the interim order if good cause is shown. A motion for a stay must specify the basis for a stay. [Good cause must be shown for granting a stay.] The mere filing of an appeal does not stay the interim order or any applica-ble procedural schedule. (6) -(7) (No change.) (8) Reconsideratio
	(4) Responses. Any response to an appeal must be filed within five working days of the filing of the appeal. (5) Motion for stay. Pending a ruling by the commission-ers, the presiding officer may, upon motion, grant a stay of the interim order if good cause is shown. A motion for a stay must specify the basis for a stay. [Good cause must be shown for granting a stay.] The mere filing of an appeal does not stay the interim order or any applica-ble procedural schedule. (6) -(7) (No change.) (8) Reconsideratio
	(4) Responses. Any response to an appeal must be filed within five working days of the filing of the appeal. (5) Motion for stay. Pending a ruling by the commission-ers, the presiding officer may, upon motion, grant a stay of the interim order if good cause is shown. A motion for a stay must specify the basis for a stay. [Good cause must be shown for granting a stay.] The mere filing of an appeal does not stay the interim order or any applica-ble procedural schedule. (6) -(7) (No change.) (8) Reconsideratio
	(4) Responses. Any response to an appeal must be filed within five working days of the filing of the appeal. (5) Motion for stay. Pending a ruling by the commission-ers, the presiding officer may, upon motion, grant a stay of the interim order if good cause is shown. A motion for a stay must specify the basis for a stay. [Good cause must be shown for granting a stay.] The mere filing of an appeal does not stay the interim order or any applica-ble procedural schedule. (6) -(7) (No change.) (8) Reconsideratio
	(4) Responses. Any response to an appeal must be filed within five working days of the filing of the appeal. (5) Motion for stay. Pending a ruling by the commission-ers, the presiding officer may, upon motion, grant a stay of the interim order if good cause is shown. A motion for a stay must specify the basis for a stay. [Good cause must be shown for granting a stay.] The mere filing of an appeal does not stay the interim order or any applica-ble procedural schedule. (6) -(7) (No change.) (8) Reconsideratio


	(b) Requests for interim relief. A request for interim relief must [shall] be filed no later than 30 days before the interim relief is proposed to take effect, unless all parties agree to a later filing date. (c) Consideration of request for interim relief. Interim relief may be granted based on the agreement of all parties. The presiding officer may, after notice and opportunity for hearing, grant a contested request for interim relief only on a showing of good cause. In determin-ing whether good cause exi
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	(c) Procedure for certification in commission proceedings. A party may request the presiding officer to certify an issue to the com-mission or the presiding officer may certify an issue at his or her dis-cretion. The presiding officer must submit a certified issue to the com-mission by issuing a written order. (1) If a party requests an issue to be certified, the presiding officer will either certify the requested issue or file an order denying the motion at the earliest time practicable. (2) The Office of 
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	usage of and procedures for evidence, witnesses and discovery for contested cases held at agencies of the State of Texas. Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act §§14.001, 14.002, 14.052 and Texas Water Code §13.041(b); PURA §§15.024, and 36.110 and §53.110; and Texas Govern-ment Code, Subchapter D §2001.081-103. §22.141. Forms and Scope of Discovery. (a) Scope. Parties may obtain discovery regarding any matter not privileged or exempted under the Texas Rules of Evidence, the Texas Rules o
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	(c) Stipulations regarding discovery procedure. The parties may, by written agreement: (1) provide that depositions may be taken at any time or place, upon any notice, and in any manner and when so taken may be used in accordance with the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, subject to any other ruling or procedure established by the presiding officer [like other depositions]; (2) -(3) (No change.) §22.142. Limitations on Discovery and Protective Orders. (a) Limitation of discovery requests. The presiding office
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	(b) Making requests for information. (1) Contents. A request under this section must [shall] identify with reasonable particularity the information, documents or material sought. A request seeking inspection of documents or prop-erty must [shall] describe with reasonable particularity the documents to be produced or the property to which access is requested, and must [shall] set forth the items to be inspected by individual item or by category. (2) Service. A copy of each request for information must [shall
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	(F) Responses to requests for information must [shall] be filed under oath, unless the responding party stipulates in writing that responses to requests for information can be treated by all parties as if the answers were filed under oath. (d) Objections to requests for information. Parties must [shall] negotiate diligently and in good faith concerning any discovery dispute prior to filing an objection. The objections must [shall] include a state-ment that negotiations were conducted diligently and in good 
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	argument. Unless otherwise ordered by the presiding officer, a party seeking discovery in connection with an unanswered discovery request or an incomplete discovery response must file a motion to compel no later than five working days from the date the incomplete discovery response was received or the unanswered discovery request was due. (f) Responses to motions to compel. Responses to a motion to compel must [shall] be filed within five working days after receipt of the motion[,] and must [shall] include 


	(4) A party providing materials that individually are 100 pages or greater must include with its response a detailed index of the material responsive to a particular question and must organize the re-sponses and material to enable parties to efficiently review the material. The index must include: (A) information sufficient to locate each individual doc-ument by page or file number; (B) the date each document was created; (C) the title of the document, or, if none exists, a de-scription of the document; (D)
	(4) A party providing materials that individually are 100 pages or greater must include with its response a detailed index of the material responsive to a particular question and must organize the re-sponses and material to enable parties to efficiently review the material. The index must include: (A) information sufficient to locate each individual doc-ument by page or file number; (B) the date each document was created; (C) the title of the document, or, if none exists, a de-scription of the document; (D)
	(4) A party providing materials that individually are 100 pages or greater must include with its response a detailed index of the material responsive to a particular question and must organize the re-sponses and material to enable parties to efficiently review the material. The index must include: (A) information sufficient to locate each individual doc-ument by page or file number; (B) the date each document was created; (C) the title of the document, or, if none exists, a de-scription of the document; (D)
	(4) A party providing materials that individually are 100 pages or greater must include with its response a detailed index of the material responsive to a particular question and must organize the re-sponses and material to enable parties to efficiently review the material. The index must include: (A) information sufficient to locate each individual doc-ument by page or file number; (B) the date each document was created; (C) the title of the document, or, if none exists, a de-scription of the document; (D)
	(4) A party providing materials that individually are 100 pages or greater must include with its response a detailed index of the material responsive to a particular question and must organize the re-sponses and material to enable parties to efficiently review the material. The index must include: (A) information sufficient to locate each individual doc-ument by page or file number; (B) the date each document was created; (C) the title of the document, or, if none exists, a de-scription of the document; (D)



	The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority to adopt. Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. TRD-202503083 Andrea Gonzalez Rules Coordinator Public Utility Commission of Texas Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 ♦ ♦ ♦ SUBCHAPTER I. SANCTIONS 16 TAC §22.161, §22.162 Statutory Authority The amendments are proposed for publication 


	(1) disallowing further discovery of any kind or a particular kind by the offending [disobedient] party; (2) -(5) (No change) [(6) punishing the offending party or its representative for contempt to the same extent as a district court;] (6) [(7)] requiring the offending party or its representative to pay, at the time ordered by the administrative law judge, the rea-sonable expenses, including attorney's fees, incurred by other parties because of the sanctionable behavior; (7) [(8)] striking pleadings or tes
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	(b) Filing and contents of motion. Any party to a proceeding may move for summary decision on any or all of the issues. The mo-tion must be filed before the close of the hearing on the merits or before the issuance of a proposal for decision or proposed order if no hearing is held, unless the time to file is extended by order of the presiding officer. The party filing the motion must [shall] demonstrate that the issue or issues may be resolved by summary decision in accordance with the standard set forth in
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	The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes amendments to 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §24.101, relating to Appeal of Rate-making Decision, Pursuant to the Texas Water Code §13.043; §24.239, relating to Sale, Transfer, Merger, Consolidation, Acquisition, Lease, or Rental; §24.240, relating to Water and Sewer Utility Rates After Acquisition; §24.243, relating to Purchase of Voting Stock or Acquisition of a Controlling Interest in a Utility; §24.357, relating to Operation of a Utility b

	transaction and cannot be located or otherwise does not respond to the expedited application. Deferral of enforcement proceedings for expedited STMs The recent legislation also requires the commission to provide a "reasonable period" for the applicant, upon acquisition of the utility through the expedited process, to bring the acquired utility into compliance with commission rules before imposing a penalty for violations of the acquired utility for enforcement actions that are ongoing at the time of the acq
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	each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-fect, the following statements will apply: (1) the proposed rule will not create a government program and will not eliminate a government program; (2) implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-tion of existing employee positions; (3) implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-propr
	each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-fect, the following statements will apply: (1) the proposed rule will not create a government program and will not eliminate a government program; (2) implementation of the proposed rule will not require the cre-ation of new employee positions and will not require the elimina-tion of existing employee positions; (3) implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-propr


	The commission will conduct a public hearing on this rulemak-ing if requested in accordance with Texas Government Code §2001.029. The request for a public hearing must be received by October 2, 2025. If a request for public hearing is received, commission staff will file in this project a notice of hearing. Public Comments Interested persons may file comments electronically through the interchange on the commission's website. Comments must be filed by October 2, 2025. Comments should be organized in a manne

	SUBCHAPTER D. RATE-MAKING APPEALS 16 TAC §24.101 Statutory Authority The amendments are proposed under Texas Water Code §13.041(a), which provides the commission the general power to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated or implied by the Texas Water Code that is necessary and convenient to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; Texas Water Code §13.041(b), which provides the commission with the authority to adopt 
	SUBCHAPTER D. RATE-MAKING APPEALS 16 TAC §24.101 Statutory Authority The amendments are proposed under Texas Water Code §13.041(a), which provides the commission the general power to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated or implied by the Texas Water Code that is necessary and convenient to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; Texas Water Code §13.041(b), which provides the commission with the authority to adopt 
	SUBCHAPTER H. CERTIFICATES OF CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY 16 TAC §§24.239, 24.240, 24.243 Statutory Authority The amendments are proposed under Texas Water Code §13.041(a), which provides the commission the general power to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility within its jurisdiction and to do anything specifically designated or implied by the Texas Water Code that is necessary and convenient to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; Texas Water Code §13.041(b), which provides the 
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	does not relieve an applicant from any requirements to obtain financial assurance to satisfy another state agency's rules.] (g) A retail public utility or person that files an application un-der this section to purchase, transfer, merge, acquire, lease, rent, or consolidate a utility or system must demonstrate adequate financial, managerial, and technical capability for providing continuous and ade-quate service to the requested area and the transferee's certificated ser-vice area as required by §24.227(a) 
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	[(D) the ability of the transferee to provide adequate service;] [(E) the feasibility of obtaining service from an adjacent retail public utility;] [(F) the financial stability of the transferee, including, if applicable, the adequacy of the debt-equity ratio of the transferee if the transaction is approved;] [(G) environmental integrity;] [(H) the probable improvement of service or lowering of cost to consumers in the requested area resulting from approving the transaction; and] [(I) whether the transferor
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	[(D) the ability of the transferee to provide adequate service;] [(E) the feasibility of obtaining service from an adjacent retail public utility;] [(F) the financial stability of the transferee, including, if applicable, the adequacy of the debt-equity ratio of the transferee if the transaction is approved;] [(G) environmental integrity;] [(H) the probable improvement of service or lowering of cost to consumers in the requested area resulting from approving the transaction; and] [(I) whether the transferor
	(4) the transferee cannot demonstrate the financial ability to provide the necessary capital investment to ensure the provision of continuous and adequate service to the requested area; or (5) there are concerns that the transaction does not serve the public interest based on consideration of the following factors: (A) the adequacy of service currently provided to the requested area; (B) the need for additional service in the requested area; (C) the effect of approving the transaction on the trans-feree, th
	(4) the transferee cannot demonstrate the financial ability to provide the necessary capital investment to ensure the provision of continuous and adequate service to the requested area; or (5) there are concerns that the transaction does not serve the public interest based on consideration of the following factors: (A) the adequacy of service currently provided to the requested area; (B) the need for additional service in the requested area; (C) the effect of approving the transaction on the trans-feree, th




	the transaction has closed as proposed. The signed contract, bill of sale, or other documents, must be signed by both the transferor and the transferee. If there were outstanding customer deposits, the transferor and the transferee must also file documentation that customer deposits have been transferred or refunded to the customers with interest as re-quired by this section.] (m) If there are outstanding customer deposits, within 30 days of the actual effective date of the transaction, the transferor and t
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	tory authority over and above revenues required for normal operating expenses and return, the utility may not sell or transfer any of its assets, its CCN, or a controlling interest in an incorporated utility, unless the utility provides a written disclosure relating to the contributions to both the transferee and the commission before the date of the sale or transfer. The disclosure must contain, at a minimum, the total dollar amount of the contributions and a statement that the contributed property or cap-
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	(1) Eligibility. To be eligible for expedited acquisition un-der this subsection, an applicant must meet the criteria in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph. (A) Prior to filing an application for expedited acqui-sition, an applicant must, for the utility subject to the acquisition, be either: (i) a person appointed by the commission or TCEQ as a temporary manager; or (ii) appointed as a receiver at the request of the com-mission or TCEQ. (B) In addition to meeting one of the criteria under sub-para
	(1) Eligibility. To be eligible for expedited acquisition un-der this subsection, an applicant must meet the criteria in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph. (A) Prior to filing an application for expedited acqui-sition, an applicant must, for the utility subject to the acquisition, be either: (i) a person appointed by the commission or TCEQ as a temporary manager; or (ii) appointed as a receiver at the request of the com-mission or TCEQ. (B) In addition to meeting one of the criteria under sub-para
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	(1) Eligibility. To be eligible for expedited acquisition un-der this subsection, an applicant must meet the criteria in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph. (A) Prior to filing an application for expedited acqui-sition, an applicant must, for the utility subject to the acquisition, be either: (i) a person appointed by the commission or TCEQ as a temporary manager; or (ii) appointed as a receiver at the request of the com-mission or TCEQ. (B) In addition to meeting one of the criteria under sub-para



	(C) Unless otherwise specified by §24.363 of this title (relating to Temporary Rates for Services Provided for a Nonfunction-ing System), the applicant acquiring the utility may seek recovery of all used and useful invested capital and just and reasonable operations and maintenance costs incurred during the applicant's appointment term as a regulatory asset in the applicant's next comprehensive rate proceed-ing under §24.41 of this title (relating to Cost of Service) or system improvement charge application
	(C) Unless otherwise specified by §24.363 of this title (relating to Temporary Rates for Services Provided for a Nonfunction-ing System), the applicant acquiring the utility may seek recovery of all used and useful invested capital and just and reasonable operations and maintenance costs incurred during the applicant's appointment term as a regulatory asset in the applicant's next comprehensive rate proceed-ing under §24.41 of this title (relating to Cost of Service) or system improvement charge application


	the acquired customers and the transferee. That a regulatory authority has determined that the requested rates are just and reasonable for a water or sewer system to which the rates already apply is not, in itself, sufficient to conclude that the requested rates are just and reasonable for the acquired water or sewer system. (1) Public hearing. As part of its determination on whether to require a public hearing on the proposed transaction under §24.239[(h)] of this title, the commission will also consider w
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	(iii) a municipally owned utility; (iv) a county; (v) a water supply or sewer service corporation; (vi) a public utility agency; or (vii) a district or river authority. (C) For purposes of determining eligibility under this paragraph, an applicant's appointment as a temporary manager or re-ceiver of the utility subject to the application is sufficient to demon-strate adequate financial, managerial, and technical capability for: (i) providing continuous and adequate service to the service area to be acquired
	(iii) a municipally owned utility; (iv) a county; (v) a water supply or sewer service corporation; (vi) a public utility agency; or (vii) a district or river authority. (C) For purposes of determining eligibility under this paragraph, an applicant's appointment as a temporary manager or re-ceiver of the utility subject to the application is sufficient to demon-strate adequate financial, managerial, and technical capability for: (i) providing continuous and adequate service to the service area to be acquired
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	(2) Temporary manager --a willing person appointed by the commission or the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality to temporarily manage and operate a utility. (b) The commission may appoint a willing person to temporar-ily manage and operate a utility that has discontinued or abandoned operations or the provision of service, or which has been or is being referred to the attorney general for the appointment of a receiver un-der TWC §13.412. [A person, municipality, or political subdivision appointed unde
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	[(3) the temporary manager is discharged from his respon-sibilities by the commission; or,] [(4) a superseding action is taken by an appropriate court on the appointment of a receiver at the request of the attorney general.] (e) The temporary manager must serve a term of 180 days, unless: [Within 60 days after appointment, a temporary manager shall return to the commission an inventory of all property received.] (1) specified otherwise by the commission; (2) an extension is requested by the commission staff
	[(3) the temporary manager is discharged from his respon-sibilities by the commission; or,] [(4) a superseding action is taken by an appropriate court on the appointment of a receiver at the request of the attorney general.] (e) The temporary manager must serve a term of 180 days, unless: [Within 60 days after appointment, a temporary manager shall return to the commission an inventory of all property received.] (1) specified otherwise by the commission; (2) an extension is requested by the commission staff
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	[(3) the temporary manager is discharged from his respon-sibilities by the commission; or,] [(4) a superseding action is taken by an appropriate court on the appointment of a receiver at the request of the attorney general.] (e) The temporary manager must serve a term of 180 days, unless: [Within 60 days after appointment, a temporary manager shall return to the commission an inventory of all property received.] (1) specified otherwise by the commission; (2) an extension is requested by the commission staff

	remain in the name of the utility owner; however, the temporary man-ager assumes the obligations for operating within all legal require-ments. §24.363. Temporary Rates for Services Provided for a Nonfunction-ing System. (a) -(d) (No change.) (e) Regulatory asset. This section applies only to an expedited sale, transfer, or merger application under §24.239 of this title (relat-ing to Sale, Transfer, Merger, Consolidation, Acquisition, Lease, or Rental) or §24.243 of this title (relating to Purchase of Voting
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	changes are related to definitions. Specifically, two definitions have been moved from §25.181 to §25.5, one new definition has been added to §25.5, one definition in §25.5 has been amended, 14 definitions in §25.181 have been deleted because they are superfluous or already existing in §25.5, one definition has been added to §25.181 (low-income), and three definitions in §25.181 have been substantively edited. Finally, other minor changes bring these rules into conformity with agency guidelines for rule lan
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	ipated as a result of enforcing the sections will be lower costs as-sessed to consumers to fund utility energy efficiency programs. There will not be any probable economic costs to persons re-quired to comply with the rules under Texas Government Code §2001.024(a)(5). Local Employment Impact Statement For each year of the first five years the proposed sections are in effect, there should be no effect on a local economy; therefore, no local employment impact statement is required under Texas Government Code 
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	In this chapter, the following definitions apply unless the context indi-cates otherwise: (1) -(24) (No change.) (25) Deemed savings--A pre-determined, validated es-timate of energy savings and [peak] demand reduction [savings] attributable to an energy efficiency measure in a particular type of application that a utility may use instead of energy savings and [peak] demand reduction [savings] determined through measurement and verification activities. (26) -(76) (No change.) (77) Net-to-gross--A factor that
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	(87) [(86)] Premises--A tract of land or real estate or related commonly used tracts including buildings and other appurte-nances thereon. (88) [(87)] Price to beat (PTB)--A price for electricity, as determined under PURA §39.202, charged by an affiliated retail elec-tric provider to eligible residential and small commercial customers in its service area. (89) [(88)] Proceeding--A hearing, investigation, inquiry, or other procedure for finding facts or making a decision, including adopting, amending, or rep
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	(99) [(98)] Qualifying small power producer--As defined by 16 U.S.C. §796(17)(D). (100) [(99)] Rate--A compensation, tariff, charge, fare, toll, rental, or classification that is directly or indirectly demanded, observed, charged, or collected by an electric utility for a service, product, or commodity described in the definition of electric utility in this section and a rule, practice, or contract affecting the compensation, tariff, charge, fare, toll, rental, or classification that must be approved by a r
	(99) [(98)] Qualifying small power producer--As defined by 16 U.S.C. §796(17)(D). (100) [(99)] Rate--A compensation, tariff, charge, fare, toll, rental, or classification that is directly or indirectly demanded, observed, charged, or collected by an electric utility for a service, product, or commodity described in the definition of electric utility in this section and a rule, practice, or contract affecting the compensation, tariff, charge, fare, toll, rental, or classification that must be approved by a r

	(113) [(112)] Residential customer--Retail customers clas-sified as residential by the applicable bundled utility tariff, unbundled transmission and distribution utility tariff or, in the absence of classi-fication under a residential rate class, those retail customers that are primarily end users consuming electricity at the customer's place of residence for personal, family or household purposes and who are not resellers of electricity. (114) [(113)] Retail customer--The separately metered end-use custome
	(113) [(112)] Residential customer--Retail customers clas-sified as residential by the applicable bundled utility tariff, unbundled transmission and distribution utility tariff or, in the absence of classi-fication under a residential rate class, those retail customers that are primarily end users consuming electricity at the customer's place of residence for personal, family or household purposes and who are not resellers of electricity. (114) [(113)] Retail customer--The separately metered end-use custome


	(125) [(122)] Spanish-speaking person--A person who speaks any dialect of the Spanish language exclusively or as their primary language. (126) [(123)] Standard meter--The minimum metering de-vice necessary to obtain the billing determinants required by the trans-mission and distribution utility's tariff schedule to determine an end-use customer's charges for transmission and distribution service. (127) [(124)] Stranded cost--The positive excess of the net book value of generation assets over the market valu
	(125) [(122)] Spanish-speaking person--A person who speaks any dialect of the Spanish language exclusively or as their primary language. (126) [(123)] Standard meter--The minimum metering de-vice necessary to obtain the billing determinants required by the trans-mission and distribution utility's tariff schedule to determine an end-use customer's charges for transmission and distribution service. (127) [(124)] Stranded cost--The positive excess of the net book value of generation assets over the market valu
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	(125) [(122)] Spanish-speaking person--A person who speaks any dialect of the Spanish language exclusively or as their primary language. (126) [(123)] Standard meter--The minimum metering de-vice necessary to obtain the billing determinants required by the trans-mission and distribution utility's tariff schedule to determine an end-use customer's charges for transmission and distribution service. (127) [(124)] Stranded cost--The positive excess of the net book value of generation assets over the market valu

	of indebtedness or ownership that are issued by an electric utility, its successors, or an assignee under a financing order, that have a term not longer than 15 years, and that are secured or payable from transition property. (138) [(135)] Transition charges--Non-bypassable amounts to be charged for the use or availability of electric services, approved by the commission under a financing order to recover quali-fied costs, that shall be collected by an electric utility, its successors, an assignee, or other
	of indebtedness or ownership that are issued by an electric utility, its successors, or an assignee under a financing order, that have a term not longer than 15 years, and that are secured or payable from transition property. (138) [(135)] Transition charges--Non-bypassable amounts to be charged for the use or availability of electric services, approved by the commission under a financing order to recover quali-fied costs, that shall be collected by an electric utility, its successors, an assignee, or other



	(144) [(141)] Transmission service provider (TSP)--An electric utility, municipally-owned utility, or electric cooperative that owns or operates facilities used for the transmission of electricity. (145) [(142)] Transmission system--The transmission fa-cilities at or above 60 kilovolts (kV) owned, controlled, operated, or supported by a transmission service provider or transmission service customer that are used to provide transmission service. The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-po
	(144) [(141)] Transmission service provider (TSP)--An electric utility, municipally-owned utility, or electric cooperative that owns or operates facilities used for the transmission of electricity. (145) [(142)] Transmission system--The transmission fa-cilities at or above 60 kilovolts (kV) owned, controlled, operated, or supported by a transmission service provider or transmission service customer that are used to provide transmission service. The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-po
	(144) [(141)] Transmission service provider (TSP)--An electric utility, municipally-owned utility, or electric cooperative that owns or operates facilities used for the transmission of electricity. (145) [(142)] Transmission system--The transmission fa-cilities at or above 60 kilovolts (kV) owned, controlled, operated, or supported by a transmission service provider or transmission service customer that are used to provide transmission service. The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-po



	(c) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this section and in §25.182 of this title, [shall] have the following meanings unless the context indicates otherwise: (1) -(2) (No change.) (3) Claimed savings--Values reported by an electric utility after the energy efficiency activities have been completed, but prior to the time an independent, third-party evaluation of the savings is per-formed. As with projected savings estimates, these values may utilize results of prior evaluations or [and/or] values
	(c) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this section and in §25.182 of this title, [shall] have the following meanings unless the context indicates otherwise: (1) -(2) (No change.) (3) Claimed savings--Values reported by an electric utility after the energy efficiency activities have been completed, but prior to the time an independent, third-party evaluation of the savings is per-formed. As with projected savings estimates, these values may utilize results of prior evaluations or [and/or] values
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	(c) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this section and in §25.182 of this title, [shall] have the following meanings unless the context indicates otherwise: (1) -(2) (No change.) (3) Claimed savings--Values reported by an electric utility after the energy efficiency activities have been completed, but prior to the time an independent, third-party evaluation of the savings is per-formed. As with projected savings estimates, these values may utilize results of prior evaluations or [and/or] values



	[(12) Energy efficiency--Improvements in the use of elec-tricity that are achieved through customer facility or customer equip-ment improvements, devices, processes, or behavioral or operational changes that produce reductions in demand or energy consumption with the same or higher level of end-use service and that do not materi-ally degrade existing levels of comfort, convenience, and productivity.] [(13) Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Factor (EECRF)--An electric tariff provision, compliant with §25.182 o
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	[(12) Energy efficiency--Improvements in the use of elec-tricity that are achieved through customer facility or customer equip-ment improvements, devices, processes, or behavioral or operational changes that produce reductions in demand or energy consumption with the same or higher level of end-use service and that do not materi-ally degrade existing levels of comfort, convenience, and productivity.] [(13) Energy Efficiency Cost Recovery Factor (EECRF)--An electric tariff provision, compliant with §25.182 o

	performance, program or program-related markets and market opera-tions, program-induced changes in energy efficiency markets, levels of demand or energy savings, or program cost-effectiveness. Market assessment, monitoring, and evaluation, and measurement and verifi-cation (M&V) are aspects of evaluation. [(22) Evaluation, measurement, and verification (EM&V) contractor--One or more independent, third-party contractors selected and retained by the commission to plan, conduct, and report on energy efficiency

	(22) [(32)] Installation rate--The percentage of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an energy efficiency program that are actually installed in a defined period of time. The installation rate is calculated by dividing the number of measures in-stalled by the number of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an efficiency program in a defined period of time. [(33) International performance measurement and verifica-tion protocol (IPMVP)--A guidance document issue
	(22) [(32)] Installation rate--The percentage of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an energy efficiency program that are actually installed in a defined period of time. The installation rate is calculated by dividing the number of measures in-stalled by the number of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an efficiency program in a defined period of time. [(33) International performance measurement and verifica-tion protocol (IPMVP)--A guidance document issue
	(22) [(32)] Installation rate--The percentage of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an energy efficiency program that are actually installed in a defined period of time. The installation rate is calculated by dividing the number of measures in-stalled by the number of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an efficiency program in a defined period of time. [(33) International performance measurement and verifica-tion protocol (IPMVP)--A guidance document issue
	(22) [(32)] Installation rate--The percentage of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an energy efficiency program that are actually installed in a defined period of time. The installation rate is calculated by dividing the number of measures in-stalled by the number of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an efficiency program in a defined period of time. [(33) International performance measurement and verifica-tion protocol (IPMVP)--A guidance document issue
	(22) [(32)] Installation rate--The percentage of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an energy efficiency program that are actually installed in a defined period of time. The installation rate is calculated by dividing the number of measures in-stalled by the number of measures that receive a program incentive [incentives] under an efficiency program in a defined period of time. [(33) International performance measurement and verifica-tion protocol (IPMVP)--A guidance document issue




	(29) [(41)] Non-participant spillover--Energy savings that occur when a program non-participant installs energy efficiency mea-sures or applies energy savings practices as a result of a program's in-fluence. (30) [(42)] Off-peak period--Period during which the de-mand on an electric utility system is not at or near its maximum. For the purpose of this section, the off-peak period includes all hours that are not in the peak period. (31) [(43)] Participant spillover--The additional energy savings that occur w
	(29) [(41)] Non-participant spillover--Energy savings that occur when a program non-participant installs energy efficiency mea-sures or applies energy savings practices as a result of a program's in-fluence. (30) [(42)] Off-peak period--Period during which the de-mand on an electric utility system is not at or near its maximum. For the purpose of this section, the off-peak period includes all hours that are not in the peak period. (31) [(43)] Participant spillover--The additional energy savings that occur w
	(29) [(41)] Non-participant spillover--Energy savings that occur when a program non-participant installs energy efficiency mea-sures or applies energy savings practices as a result of a program's in-fluence. (30) [(42)] Off-peak period--Period during which the de-mand on an electric utility system is not at or near its maximum. For the purpose of this section, the off-peak period includes all hours that are not in the peak period. (31) [(43)] Participant spillover--The additional energy savings that occur w
	(29) [(41)] Non-participant spillover--Energy savings that occur when a program non-participant installs energy efficiency mea-sures or applies energy savings practices as a result of a program's in-fluence. (30) [(42)] Off-peak period--Period during which the de-mand on an electric utility system is not at or near its maximum. For the purpose of this section, the off-peak period includes all hours that are not in the peak period. (31) [(43)] Participant spillover--The additional energy savings that occur w




	(37) [(52)] Spillover--Reductions in energy consumption or [and/or] demand caused by the presence of an energy efficiency pro-gram, beyond the program-related gross savings of the participants and without financial or technical assistance from the program. There can be participant or [and/or] non-participant spillover. (38) [(53)] Spillover rate--Estimate of energy savings at-tributable to spillover expressed as a percent of savings installed by participants through an energy efficiency program. (39) [(54)]
	(37) [(52)] Spillover--Reductions in energy consumption or [and/or] demand caused by the presence of an energy efficiency pro-gram, beyond the program-related gross savings of the participants and without financial or technical assistance from the program. There can be participant or [and/or] non-participant spillover. (38) [(53)] Spillover rate--Estimate of energy savings at-tributable to spillover expressed as a percent of savings installed by participants through an energy efficiency program. (39) [(54)]
	(37) [(52)] Spillover--Reductions in energy consumption or [and/or] demand caused by the presence of an energy efficiency pro-gram, beyond the program-related gross savings of the participants and without financial or technical assistance from the program. There can be participant or [and/or] non-participant spillover. (38) [(53)] Spillover rate--Estimate of energy savings at-tributable to spillover expressed as a percent of savings installed by participants through an energy efficiency program. (39) [(54)]
	(37) [(52)] Spillover--Reductions in energy consumption or [and/or] demand caused by the presence of an energy efficiency pro-gram, beyond the program-related gross savings of the participants and without financial or technical assistance from the program. There can be participant or [and/or] non-participant spillover. (38) [(53)] Spillover rate--Estimate of energy savings at-tributable to spillover expressed as a percent of savings installed by participants through an energy efficiency program. (39) [(54)]
	(37) [(52)] Spillover--Reductions in energy consumption or [and/or] demand caused by the presence of an energy efficiency pro-gram, beyond the program-related gross savings of the participants and without financial or technical assistance from the program. There can be participant or [and/or] non-participant spillover. (38) [(53)] Spillover rate--Estimate of energy savings at-tributable to spillover expressed as a percent of savings installed by participants through an energy efficiency program. (39) [(54)]
	(37) [(52)] Spillover--Reductions in energy consumption or [and/or] demand caused by the presence of an energy efficiency pro-gram, beyond the program-related gross savings of the participants and without financial or technical assistance from the program. There can be participant or [and/or] non-participant spillover. (38) [(53)] Spillover rate--Estimate of energy savings at-tributable to spillover expressed as a percent of savings installed by participants through an energy efficiency program. (39) [(54)]



	(i) Staff must [shall] calculate the avoided cost of capacity from the base overnight cost using the lower of a new con-ventional combustion turbine or a new advanced combustion turbine, as reported by the United States Department of Energy's Energy Infor-mation Administration's (EIA) Cost and Performance Characteristics of New Central Station Electricity Generating Technologies associated with EIA's Annual Energy Outlook. If EIA cost data that reflects cur-rent conditions in the industry does not exist, st
	(i) Staff must [shall] calculate the avoided cost of capacity from the base overnight cost using the lower of a new con-ventional combustion turbine or a new advanced combustion turbine, as reported by the United States Department of Energy's Energy Infor-mation Administration's (EIA) Cost and Performance Characteristics of New Central Station Electricity Generating Technologies associated with EIA's Annual Energy Outlook. If EIA cost data that reflects cur-rent conditions in the industry does not exist, st
	(i) Staff must [shall] calculate the avoided cost of capacity from the base overnight cost using the lower of a new con-ventional combustion turbine or a new advanced combustion turbine, as reported by the United States Department of Energy's Energy Infor-mation Administration's (EIA) Cost and Performance Characteristics of New Central Station Electricity Generating Technologies associated with EIA's Annual Energy Outlook. If EIA cost data that reflects cur-rent conditions in the industry does not exist, st



	(B) If the demand reduction goal to be acquired by a utility under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph is equivalent to at least four-tenths of 1% of its summer weather-adjusted peak demand for the combined residential and commercial customers for the previous program year, the utility must [shall] meet the energy efficiency goal described in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph for each subsequent program year. (C) Once the trigger described in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph is reached, the utility must [
	(B) If the demand reduction goal to be acquired by a utility under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph is equivalent to at least four-tenths of 1% of its summer weather-adjusted peak demand for the combined residential and commercial customers for the previous program year, the utility must [shall] meet the energy efficiency goal described in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph for each subsequent program year. (C) Once the trigger described in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph is reached, the utility must [
	(B) If the demand reduction goal to be acquired by a utility under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph is equivalent to at least four-tenths of 1% of its summer weather-adjusted peak demand for the combined residential and commercial customers for the previous program year, the utility must [shall] meet the energy efficiency goal described in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph for each subsequent program year. (C) Once the trigger described in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph is reached, the utility must [


	mand reductions. Each electric utility must [shall] establish standard program incentive payments to achieve the objectives of this section. (B) Projects or measures under a standard offer, market transformation, or self-delivered program are not eligible for program incentive payments or compensation if: (i) -(iii) (No change.) (C) (No change.) (D) A utility in an area in which customer choice is not offered may achieve the goals of paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsec-tion by: (i) providing rebate or pro

	commission at least 60 days prior to its use. In filing such materials, the utility must[shall] provide an explanation of changes from the ver-sion of the materials that was previously used. For standard offer, mar-ket transformation, and self-delivered programs, the utility must [shall] provide relevant documents to retail electric providers and energy ef-ficiency service providers and work collaboratively with them when it changes program documents, to the extent that such changes are not considered in th
	commission at least 60 days prior to its use. In filing such materials, the utility must[shall] provide an explanation of changes from the ver-sion of the materials that was previously used. For standard offer, mar-ket transformation, and self-delivered programs, the utility must [shall] provide relevant documents to retail electric providers and energy ef-ficiency service providers and work collaboratively with them when it changes program documents, to the extent that such changes are not considered in th
	commission at least 60 days prior to its use. In filing such materials, the utility must[shall] provide an explanation of changes from the ver-sion of the materials that was previously used. For standard offer, mar-ket transformation, and self-delivered programs, the utility must [shall] provide relevant documents to retail electric providers and energy ef-ficiency service providers and work collaboratively with them when it changes program documents, to the extent that such changes are not considered in th
	mation, and self-delivered programs must [shall] meet the requirements of this subsection. A utility may conduct information and advertising campaigns to foster participation in standard offer, market transforma-tion, and self-delivered programs. (1) Standard offer, market transformation, and self-deliv-ered programs: (A) must [shall] describe the eligible customer classes and allocate funding among the classes on an equitable basis; (B) may offer standard program incentive payments and specify a schedule o

	sider the level of regional implementation and enforcement of any ap-plicable energy code; (F) -(H) (No change.) (I) the period over which savings must [shall] be con-sidered to accrue, including a projected date by which the market will be sufficiently transformed so that the program should be discontinued. (4) A market transformation program must [shall] be de-signed to achieve energy or peak demand savings, or both, and lasting changes in the way energy efficient goods or services are distributed, purcha
	service providers, and other major administrative costs, and the basis for estimating the proposed expenditures; (J) -(N) (No change.) (O) expenditures for the prior five years for energy and demand program incentive payments and program administration, by program and customer class; (P) -(U) (No change.) (V) a description of new or discontinued programs, in-cluding pilot programs that are planned to be continued as full pro-grams. For programs that are to be introduced or pilot programs that are to be cont

	process that allows for accurate estimation of energy and demand impacts. (1) -(2) (No change.) (3) The commission must [shall] select an entity to act as the commission's EM&V contractor and conduct evaluation activities. The EM&V contractor must [shall] operate under the commission's su-pervision and oversight, and the EM&V contractor must [shall] offer independent analysis to the commission in order to assist in making decisions in the public interest. (A) (No change.) (B) The EM&V contractor must [shall
	process that allows for accurate estimation of energy and demand impacts. (1) -(2) (No change.) (3) The commission must [shall] select an entity to act as the commission's EM&V contractor and conduct evaluation activities. The EM&V contractor must [shall] operate under the commission's su-pervision and oversight, and the EM&V contractor must [shall] offer independent analysis to the commission in order to assist in making decisions in the public interest. (A) (No change.) (B) The EM&V contractor must [shall
	process that allows for accurate estimation of energy and demand impacts. (1) -(2) (No change.) (3) The commission must [shall] select an entity to act as the commission's EM&V contractor and conduct evaluation activities. The EM&V contractor must [shall] operate under the commission's su-pervision and oversight, and the EM&V contractor must [shall] offer independent analysis to the commission in order to assist in making decisions in the public interest. (A) (No change.) (B) The EM&V contractor must [shall
	(D) Any changes to the TRM must [shall] be applied prospectively to programs offered in the appropriate program year. (E) The TRM must [shall] be publicly available. (F) Utilities must [shall] utilize the values contained in the TRM, unless the commission indicates otherwise. (7) The utilities must [shall] prepare projected savings es-timates and claimed savings estimates. The utilities must [shall] con-duct their own EM&V activities for purposes such as confirming any program incentive payments to customer
	(D) Any changes to the TRM must [shall] be applied prospectively to programs offered in the appropriate program year. (E) The TRM must [shall] be publicly available. (F) Utilities must [shall] utilize the values contained in the TRM, unless the commission indicates otherwise. (7) The utilities must [shall] prepare projected savings es-timates and claimed savings estimates. The utilities must [shall] con-duct their own EM&V activities for purposes such as confirming any program incentive payments to customer
	(D) Any changes to the TRM must [shall] be applied prospectively to programs offered in the appropriate program year. (E) The TRM must [shall] be publicly available. (F) Utilities must [shall] utilize the values contained in the TRM, unless the commission indicates otherwise. (7) The utilities must [shall] prepare projected savings es-timates and claimed savings estimates. The utilities must [shall] con-duct their own EM&V activities for purposes such as confirming any program incentive payments to customer
	(D) Any changes to the TRM must [shall] be applied prospectively to programs offered in the appropriate program year. (E) The TRM must [shall] be publicly available. (F) Utilities must [shall] utilize the values contained in the TRM, unless the commission indicates otherwise. (7) The utilities must [shall] prepare projected savings es-timates and claimed savings estimates. The utilities must [shall] con-duct their own EM&V activities for purposes such as confirming any program incentive payments to customer




	(D) The EM&V contractor providing services under this section must [shall] not release any information it receives related to the work performed unless directed to do so by the commission. (p) Targeted low-income energy efficiency program. Each un-bundled transmission and distribution utility must [shall] include in its energy efficiency plan a targeted low-income energy efficiency pro-gram. A utility in an area in which customer choice is not offered may include in its energy efficiency plan a targeted low
	(D) The EM&V contractor providing services under this section must [shall] not release any information it receives related to the work performed unless directed to do so by the commission. (p) Targeted low-income energy efficiency program. Each un-bundled transmission and distribution utility must [shall] include in its energy efficiency plan a targeted low-income energy efficiency pro-gram. A utility in an area in which customer choice is not offered may include in its energy efficiency plan a targeted low
	(D) The EM&V contractor providing services under this section must [shall] not release any information it receives related to the work performed unless directed to do so by the commission. (p) Targeted low-income energy efficiency program. Each un-bundled transmission and distribution utility must [shall] include in its energy efficiency plan a targeted low-income energy efficiency pro-gram. A utility in an area in which customer choice is not offered may include in its energy efficiency plan a targeted low


	the commission by November 1 in a particular year, the first time that the changes must [shall] be available for use is the second EEPR and EECRF filings made after commission approval. (6) Any interested entity that participates in the EEIP may file a petition to the commission for consideration regarding changes to programs. (r) Retail providers. Each utility in an area in which customer choice is offered must [shall] conduct outreach and information pro-grams and otherwise use its best efforts to encoura

	The identification notice is limited solely to the metered point of de-livery of the industrial process taking place at the consuming facilities. The account number(s) or ESID number(s) identified by the industrial customer under this section must [shall] not be charged for any costs associated with programs provided under this section, including any shareholder bonus awarded; nor must [shall] the identified facilities be eligible to participate in utility-administered energy efficiency pro-grams during the
	The identification notice is limited solely to the metered point of de-livery of the industrial process taking place at the consuming facilities. The account number(s) or ESID number(s) identified by the industrial customer under this section must [shall] not be charged for any costs associated with programs provided under this section, including any shareholder bonus awarded; nor must [shall] the identified facilities be eligible to participate in utility-administered energy efficiency pro-grams during the
	The identification notice is limited solely to the metered point of de-livery of the industrial process taking place at the consuming facilities. The account number(s) or ESID number(s) identified by the industrial customer under this section must [shall] not be charged for any costs associated with programs provided under this section, including any shareholder bonus awarded; nor must [shall] the identified facilities be eligible to participate in utility-administered energy efficiency pro-grams during the
	a utility collects energy efficiency costs in its base rates, actual energy efficiency revenues collected from base rates consist of the amount of energy efficiency costs expressly included in base rates, adjusted to account for changes in billing determinants from the test year billing determinants used to set rates in the last base rate proceeding. (3) A proceeding conducted under this subsection is a ratemaking proceeding for purposes of PURA §33.023 and §36.061. EECRF proceeding expenses must [shall] be

	year, with the EECRF effective January 1 in the parts of its service area in which customer choice is not offered and March 1 in the parts of its service area in which customer choice is offered. (9) Upon a utility's filing of an application to establish a new EECRF or adjust an EECRF, the presiding officer must [shall] set a procedural schedule that will enable the commission to issue a final order in the proceeding required by subparagraphs (A), (B), and (C) of this paragraph as follows: (A) For a utility
	cause, but [in no event shall] the effective date of any new or adjusted EECRF must occur at least [less than] 45 days after the utility files a compliance tariff consistent with a final order approving the new or ad-justed EECRF.[, and in no event shall] The [the] utility may not serve notice of the approved rates and the effective date of the approved rates to retail electric providers that are authorized by the registration agent to provide service in the utility's service area more than one working day 
	cause, but [in no event shall] the effective date of any new or adjusted EECRF must occur at least [less than] 45 days after the utility files a compliance tariff consistent with a final order approving the new or ad-justed EECRF.[, and in no event shall] The [the] utility may not serve notice of the approved rates and the effective date of the approved rates to retail electric providers that are authorized by the registration agent to provide service in the utility's service area more than one working day 


	(14) The utility must [shall] file an affidavit attesting to the completion of notice within 14 days after the application is filed. (15) (No change.) (e) Utility incentive [Energy efficiency performance bonus]. To receive a utility incentive, a [A] utility must exceed [that exceeds] its demand and energy reduction goals established in §25.181 of this title at a cost that does not exceed the cost caps established in sub-section (d)(7) of this section [shall be awarded a performance bonus calculated in accor
	(14) The utility must [shall] file an affidavit attesting to the completion of notice within 14 days after the application is filed. (15) (No change.) (e) Utility incentive [Energy efficiency performance bonus]. To receive a utility incentive, a [A] utility must exceed [that exceeds] its demand and energy reduction goals established in §25.181 of this title at a cost that does not exceed the cost caps established in sub-section (d)(7) of this section [shall be awarded a performance bonus calculated in accor
	(14) The utility must [shall] file an affidavit attesting to the completion of notice within 14 days after the application is filed. (15) (No change.) (e) Utility incentive [Energy efficiency performance bonus]. To receive a utility incentive, a [A] utility must exceed [that exceeds] its demand and energy reduction goals established in §25.181 of this title at a cost that does not exceed the cost caps established in sub-section (d)(7) of this section [shall be awarded a performance bonus calculated in accor
	(14) The utility must [shall] file an affidavit attesting to the completion of notice within 14 days after the application is filed. (15) (No change.) (e) Utility incentive [Energy efficiency performance bonus]. To receive a utility incentive, a [A] utility must exceed [that exceeds] its demand and energy reduction goals established in §25.181 of this title at a cost that does not exceed the cost caps established in sub-section (d)(7) of this section [shall be awarded a performance bonus calculated in accor
	(14) The utility must [shall] file an affidavit attesting to the completion of notice within 14 days after the application is filed. (15) (No change.) (e) Utility incentive [Energy efficiency performance bonus]. To receive a utility incentive, a [A] utility must exceed [that exceeds] its demand and energy reduction goals established in §25.181 of this title at a cost that does not exceed the cost caps established in sub-section (d)(7) of this section [shall be awarded a performance bonus calculated in accor
	(14) The utility must [shall] file an affidavit attesting to the completion of notice within 14 days after the application is filed. (15) (No change.) (e) Utility incentive [Energy efficiency performance bonus]. To receive a utility incentive, a [A] utility must exceed [that exceeds] its demand and energy reduction goals established in §25.181 of this title at a cost that does not exceed the cost caps established in sub-section (d)(7) of this section [shall be awarded a performance bonus calculated in accor



	TRD-202503057 Andrea Gonzalez Rules Coordinator Public Utility Commission of Texas Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 ♦ ♦ ♦ SUBCHAPTER C. INFRASTRUCTURE AND RELIABILITY 16 TAC §25.53 The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes amendments to 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.53, relating to Electric Service Emergency Operations Plans. The scope of this rulemaking proceeding is limited to the amend-ments included in th

	pact statement or regulatory flexibility analysis is required under Texas Government Code §2006.002(c). Takings Impact Analysis The commission has determined that the proposed rule will not be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the Texas Government Code. Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government Sherryhan Ghanem, Engineering Specialist, Infrastructure, has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed rule is in effect, there will be no fiscal implications for the sta
	1. What, if any, changes should the commission make to align this rule with proposed §25.60, Transmission and Distribution Wildfire Mitigation Plans, currently under consideration in Project No. 56789. Each set of comments should include a standalone executive summary as the last page of the filing. This executive summary must be clearly labeled with the submitting entity's name and should include a bulleted list covering each substantive recom-mendation made in the comments. Statutory Authority The amendme

	(VI) follows the executive summary template posted on PUCT website. (ii) a complete copy of the EOP with all confidential portions removed. (B) For an entity with operations within the ERCOT [power] region, the entity must submit its unredacted EOP in its en-tirety to ERCOT. (C) ERCOT must designate an unredacted EOP submit-ted by an entity as Protected Information under the ERCOT Protocols. (D) An entity must make its unredacted EOP available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encryp
	(VI) follows the executive summary template posted on PUCT website. (ii) a complete copy of the EOP with all confidential portions removed. (B) For an entity with operations within the ERCOT [power] region, the entity must submit its unredacted EOP in its en-tirety to ERCOT. (C) ERCOT must designate an unredacted EOP submit-ted by an entity as Protected Information under the ERCOT Protocols. (D) An entity must make its unredacted EOP available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encryp
	(VI) follows the executive summary template posted on PUCT website. (ii) a complete copy of the EOP with all confidential portions removed. (B) For an entity with operations within the ERCOT [power] region, the entity must submit its unredacted EOP in its en-tirety to ERCOT. (C) ERCOT must designate an unredacted EOP submit-ted by an entity as Protected Information under the ERCOT Protocols. (D) An entity must make its unredacted EOP available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encryp
	(VI) follows the executive summary template posted on PUCT website. (ii) a complete copy of the EOP with all confidential portions removed. (B) For an entity with operations within the ERCOT [power] region, the entity must submit its unredacted EOP in its en-tirety to ERCOT. (C) ERCOT must designate an unredacted EOP submit-ted by an entity as Protected Information under the ERCOT Protocols. (D) An entity must make its unredacted EOP available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encryp
	(VI) follows the executive summary template posted on PUCT website. (ii) a complete copy of the EOP with all confidential portions removed. (B) For an entity with operations within the ERCOT [power] region, the entity must submit its unredacted EOP in its en-tirety to ERCOT. (C) ERCOT must designate an unredacted EOP submit-ted by an entity as Protected Information under the ERCOT Protocols. (D) An entity must make its unredacted EOP available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encryp
	(VI) follows the executive summary template posted on PUCT website. (ii) a complete copy of the EOP with all confidential portions removed. (B) For an entity with operations within the ERCOT [power] region, the entity must submit its unredacted EOP in its en-tirety to ERCOT. (C) ERCOT must designate an unredacted EOP submit-ted by an entity as Protected Information under the ERCOT Protocols. (D) An entity must make its unredacted EOP available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encryp



	file its revised EOP or other documentation, or a portion thereof, with the commission and, for entities with operations in the ERCOT [power] region, with ERCOT. (D) (No change.) (E) An entity must make a revised unredacted EOP available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encrypted electronic method [at a location] designated by commission staff. (F) The requirements for joint and combined filings un-der paragraph (1) of this subsection apply to revised joint and revised combined fili
	file its revised EOP or other documentation, or a portion thereof, with the commission and, for entities with operations in the ERCOT [power] region, with ERCOT. (D) (No change.) (E) An entity must make a revised unredacted EOP available in its entirety to commission staff on request through an encrypted electronic method [at a location] designated by commission staff. (F) The requirements for joint and combined filings un-der paragraph (1) of this subsection apply to revised joint and revised combined fili


	[(iii) a checklist for generation resource personnel to use during a cold or hot weather emergency response that includes lessons learned from past weather emergencies to ensure necessary supplies and personnel are available through the weather emergency;] [(B) A water shortage annex that addresses supply shortages of water used in the generation of electricity;] [(C) A restoration of service annex that identifies plans intended to restore to service a generation resource that failed to start or that trippe
	[(iii) a checklist for generation resource personnel to use during a cold or hot weather emergency response that includes lessons learned from past weather emergencies to ensure necessary supplies and personnel are available through the weather emergency;] [(B) A water shortage annex that addresses supply shortages of water used in the generation of electricity;] [(C) A restoration of service annex that identifies plans intended to restore to service a generation resource that failed to start or that trippe

	[(E) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to the entity's particular circumstances.] (4) A REP must include in its EOP the following annexes: (A) A pandemic and epidemic annex; (B) A hurricane annex that includes evacuation and re-entry procedures if facilities are located within a hurricane evacu-ation zone, as defined by TDEM; (C) A cyber security annex; (D) A physical security incident annex; and (E) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to the entity's particular circumstances. [(4)
	[(E) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to the entity's particular circumstances.] (4) A REP must include in its EOP the following annexes: (A) A pandemic and epidemic annex; (B) A hurricane annex that includes evacuation and re-entry procedures if facilities are located within a hurricane evacu-ation zone, as defined by TDEM; (C) A cyber security annex; (D) A physical security incident annex; and (E) Any additional annexes as needed or appropriate to the entity's particular circumstances. [(4)


	CHAPTER 25. SUBSTANTIVE RULES APPLICABLE TO ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDERS The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes new 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.60, relating to Transmission and Distribution Wildfire Mitigation Plans, and amendments to 16 TAC §25.231, relating to Cost of Service, to implement Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) §§38.080 and 36.064 as established and revised, respectively, by House Bill 145 during the 89th Regular Texas Legislative Session. New §25.60 will requ
	CHAPTER 25. SUBSTANTIVE RULES APPLICABLE TO ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDERS The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes new 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.60, relating to Transmission and Distribution Wildfire Mitigation Plans, and amendments to 16 TAC §25.231, relating to Cost of Service, to implement Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) §§38.080 and 36.064 as established and revised, respectively, by House Bill 145 during the 89th Regular Texas Legislative Session. New §25.60 will requ
	CHAPTER 25. SUBSTANTIVE RULES APPLICABLE TO ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDERS The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes new 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.60, relating to Transmission and Distribution Wildfire Mitigation Plans, and amendments to 16 TAC §25.231, relating to Cost of Service, to implement Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) §§38.080 and 36.064 as established and revised, respectively, by House Bill 145 during the 89th Regular Texas Legislative Session. New §25.60 will requ
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	The new rule and amendment are proposed under Public Util-ity Regulatory Act (PURA) §§ 14.001, which grants the commis-sion the general power to regulate and supervise the business of each public utility within its jurisdiction and to do anything specif-ically designated or implied by this title that is necessary and convenient to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; 14.002, which authorizes the commission to adopt and enforce rules rea-sonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction
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	its plan as required by this paragraph by filing an application in accor-dance with subsection (e) of this section. (A) Initial wildfire mitigation plan. An entity must file an application for approval of a wildfire mitigation plan after an area in which the entity owns transmission or distribution facilities is deter-mined to be a wildfire risk area. (B) Changes to an approved plan. (i) An entity with a plan approved by the commis-sion must continuously maintain and improve its plan in between re-quired fi
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	However, the commission may schedule individual filings prior to this initial filing schedule, if practicable. (B) The commission may establish, at the recommen-dation of commission staff or commission counsel, subsequent filing schedules for multiple applications or scheduled filing dates for indi-vidual applications. (5) Annual report. An entity with an approved wildfire mit-igation plan must file an annual status update on its plan by May 1 of each year. The annual status update must include information 
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	(ii) A reference to specific sections and page num-bers of the entity's application that correspond with the requirements of this paragraph; (iii) A description and map of each area of this state to which the entity provides transmission or distribution service that is in a wildfire risk area and a description of how the entity identified each wildfire risk area. (iv) A description of the entity's history with wildfire in its service territory for the preceding 15 years, including the date, im-plicated TDEM
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	(i) a description of the independent expert's qualifi-cations and expertise relative to fire risk mitigation; (ii) a description of the independent expert's methodology for analyzing the contents of the entity's plan; and (iii) a detailed assessment of adequacy and appro-priateness of the contents of the entity's plan, relative to the risks in the entity's wildfire risk area(s), industry standards and best practices, and any available alternative wildfire mitigation measures. (D) A description of how the en
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	(A) Commission staff must review each application for sufficiency and file a recommendation on sufficiency within 28 calen-dar days after the application is filed. If commission staff recommends the application plan be found deficient, commission staff must identify the deficiencies in its recommendation. An entity will have seven cal-endar days to file a response. (B) If the presiding officer concludes the application is deficient, the presiding officer will file a notice of deficiency and cite the particu
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	(B) Commission approval of an entity's application un-der this subsection is effective until the earlier of: (i) the fifth anniversary of the date the application was approved; or (ii) the date the entity receives commission approval of a subsequent application under this subsection. (g) Pro forma plan. Commission staff may initiate a proceed-ing to develop one or more pro forma wildfire mitigation plans. Com-mission staff may designate the size or characteristics of the entities or systems for which each p
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	mitigation plans filed by electric utilities, municipally owned utili-ties, or electric cooperatives that own transmission or distribution facilities in a wildfire risk area of this state. Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Act §§ 14.001; 14.002; 36.064; and 38.080. §25.231. Cost of Service. (a) (No change.) (b) Allowable expenses. Only those expenses which are rea-sonable and necessary to provide service to the public will be included in allowable expenses. In computing an electric utili
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	The commission has determined that the proposed rule will not be a taking of private property as defined in chapter 2007 of the Texas Government Code. Fiscal Impact on State and Local Government Rizwaan Lakhani, Regulatory Analyst, Rules and Projects, has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed rule is in effect, there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local government under Texas Government Code §2001.024(a)(4) as a result of enforcing or administering the sec
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	to the exercise of that power and jurisdiction; §14.002, which authorizes the commission to adopt and enforce rules rea-sonably required in the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; and §39.157, which authorizes the commission to monitor and address market power associated with the generation, transmission, distribution, and sale of electricity in this state. Cross Reference to Statute: Public Utility Regulatory Acts §§ 14.001; 14.002; and 39.157. §25.504. Wholesale Market Power in the Electric Reliabili
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	in which the plan was approved at least three working days prior to the effective date of the termination. The executive director or the execu-tive director's designee may withdraw the notice of termination at any point prior to the effective date of the termination. (iii) The commission must affirm or set aside the ex-ecutive director or the executive director's designee's termination of a voluntary mitigation plan as soon as practicable after the effective date of the termination. (B) A generation entity 
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	(3) If the commission determines that all or a part of the plan is no longer in the public interest, the commission will terminate any part of the plan that it determines is no longer in the public interest. The generation entity may propose an amended plan for the commis-sion's consideration. [(e) Voluntary mitigation plan. Any generation entity may submit to the commission a voluntary mitigation plan relating to compliance with §25.503(g)(7) of this title or with the Public Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) §
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	[(A) In determining whether a change in a commission or ERCOT regulation constitutes a wholesale market design change for purposes of this subsection, commission staff and the independent market monitor must consider whether the change could materially in-crease the ability of a generation entity with an existing voluntary mit-igation plan to exercise market power.] [(B) If, at the time a proposed change in a commission or ERCOT regulation is being considered for approval by the commis-sion, commission staf
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	SUBCHAPTER K. DETERMINATION OF RESIDENT STATUS 19 TAC §§13.191 -13.203 The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating Board) proposes new rules in Texas Administrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter K, §§13.191 -13.203, con-cerning Determination of Resident Status. Specifically, this new section will consolidate existing rules relating to tuition and fees with the rules determining resident status, as the two concepts are inextricably linked, provide greater clarity to rules rel
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	present in the United States, in addition to meeting the other requirements set forth in the new rule. As to the separate re-quirement of domicile, subsection (b) captures the presumption stated in TEC, §54.052(b), that the domicile of a dependent's parent is presumed to be the domicile of the dependent. This presumption of domicile is reiterated in rule to specifically cor-relate to a person who seeks to establish resident status under TEC, §54.052(a)(2). Rule 13.195, Core Residency Questions, reconstitute
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	considered to have been domiciled in Texas for that period of time. The rule also details the documents a person must provide to demonstrate the person has maintained a residence as one con-dition of eligibility for resident status under TEC, §54.052(a)(3). The documentation, which must be at least one of the eight options (utility bills, Texas high school transcripts, Texas voter registration card, Texas vehicle registration that was issued at least twelve months immediately preceding the census date, vali
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	Rule 13.197, Continuing Resident Status, reconstitutes §21.26, to reflect TEC, §54.054. Once an institution classifies a person as a resident of Texas, the person is entitled to continue to be classified as a resident without submitting additional information, unless information is identified that would lead to a reclassifica-tion or the correction of an error, or if a person is not enrolled in a Texas institution for two or more consecutive regular semesters. The rule clarifies that both the person and the
	Rule 13.203, Required Notification Regarding Permanent Res-idency, reconstitutes rule §21.30(b). An institution must notify students who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and who demonstrated lawful presence, of their duty to apply for per-manent resident status as soon as they are able. Institutions must notify such students upon admission, annually while the student is enrolled, and upon graduation or separation from the institution. Dr. Charles Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Student
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	(a) Authority. Texas Education Code, §54.075, authorizes the Board to adopt rules to carry out the purposes of Texas Education Code, chapter 54, subchapter B, concerning the determination of resident sta-tus. (b) Applicability. Each institution of higher education or pri-vate or independent institution of higher education shall use the pro-visions of this subchapter for the determination of the entitlement to resident status under any provision of the Texas Education Code. §13.192. Definitions. In addition 
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	(10) Residence--A person's home or other dwelling unit, as defined in Texas Education Code, §54.0501(6). (11) Resident Tuition--The amount of tuition paid by a per-son who is a resident of Texas, as defined in Texas Education Code, §54.0501(7). (12) Residential Real Property--Land and improvements on it, such as a dwelling intended for long-term human habitation. (13) Temporary Absence--When a person who has previ-ously met the criteria for resident status but is absent only for a short duration (i.e., less
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	cile of the dependent, except when the person establishes eligibility of resident status under subsection (a)(3) of this section. (c) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, an in-stitution may not require a person to provide evidence of resident status beyond what is included in this subchapter. (d) A person seeking resident tuition has the burden of proof to show by clear and convincing evidence that the person is a U.S. citizen or a lawfully present alien and has established and maintained 
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	service agencies located in Texas that attest to the provision of services to the person for at least the twelve consecutive months immediately preceding the census date of the academic term in which the person enrolls. (C) For a person who is self-employed, federal tax doc-uments showing significant gainful employment and domicile in Texas (beginning and current or ending dates) that encompass at least the twelve consecutive months immediately preceding the census date of the academic term in which the per
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	(7) any other documentation used by the student to estab-lish eligibility to enroll in the school district where the student attended high school. (g) A person whose initial purpose for moving to Texas is to attend an institution as a full-time student will be presumed not to have the required intent to make Texas his or her domicile; however, the presumption may be overruled by clear and convincing evidence. (h) A person shall not be able to establish domicile by perform-ing acts which are directly related
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	is made on or after the census date of that academic term. If the change is made prior to the census date, it will apply to the academic term in which the change was made. §13.199. Errors in Classification for Nonresident Tuition. (a) If an institution erroneously classified a person as a Texas resident and the person is not entitled or permitted to pay resident tu-ition, liability for payment of nonresident tuition is as outlined in this subchapter: (1) the institution shall charge nonresident tuition to t
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	or increases in revenue to the state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rule. There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-ployment. Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner for Stu-dent Financial Aid Programs, has also determined that for each year of the first five years the section is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of administering the section will be elimi-n
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	PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES CHAPTER 1. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS SUBCHAPTER D. LOW-THC CANNABIS FOR COMPASSIONATE USE 25 TAC §1.61, §1.63 The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), on behalf of the Texas Depart-ment of State Health Services (DSHS), proposes an amendment to §1.61, concerning Incurable Neurodegenerative Diseases, and new §1.63, concerning Pulmonary Inhalation Devices for Low-THC Cannabis. BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE The purpose of the propos
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	(5) the proposed rules will create a new regulation; (6) the proposed rules will expand existing regulation; (7) the proposed rules will increase the number of individuals subject to the rules; and (8) DSHS has insufficient information to determine the proposed rules' effect on the state's economy. SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS Christy Havel-Burton has also determined there will be no ad-verse economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities.
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	The amendment and new section are authorized by Texas Occupations Code Chapter 169 and Texas Government Code §524.0151, which provide that the executive commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the health and human services system, and Texas Health and Safety Code §1001.075 which authorizes the exec-utive commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules necessary for the operation and provision of health and human services by DSHS and for the administration of Texas Occupatio
	The amendment and new section are authorized by Texas Occupations Code Chapter 169 and Texas Government Code §524.0151, which provide that the executive commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the health and human services system, and Texas Health and Safety Code §1001.075 which authorizes the exec-utive commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules necessary for the operation and provision of health and human services by DSHS and for the administration of Texas Occupatio
	The amendment and new section are authorized by Texas Occupations Code Chapter 169 and Texas Government Code §524.0151, which provide that the executive commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the health and human services system, and Texas Health and Safety Code §1001.075 which authorizes the exec-utive commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules necessary for the operation and provision of health and human services by DSHS and for the administration of Texas Occupatio
	(K) Tauopathies. (i) Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy: (ii) Pick Disease; (iii) Globular Glial Tauopathy; (iv) Corticobasal Degeneration; (v) Progressive Supranuclear Palsy; (vi) Argyrophilic Grain Disease; (vii) Neurofibrillary Tangle dementia, also known as Primary Age-related Tauopathy; and (viii) Frontotemporal dementia and parkinsonism linked to chromosome 17 caused by mutations in MAPT gene. (L) Synucleinopathies: (i) Lewy Body Disorders: (I) Dementia with Lewy Bodies; and (II) Parkinson's Disease; an

	(II) SUCLG1-related mitochondrial DNA de-pletion syndrome, encephalomyopathic form with methylmalonic aciduria; and (III) RRM2B-related mitochondrial disease. (B) Creatine Disorders: (i) Guanidinoacetate methytransferase deficiency; (ii) L-Arginine/glycine amidinotransferase defi-ciency; and (iii) Creatine Transporter Defect, also known as SLC 6A8. (C) Neurotransmitter defects: (i) Segawa Disease [Diease], also known as Dopamine Responsive Dystonia; (ii) Guanosine triphosphate cyclohydrolase defi-ciency; (i
	(II) SUCLG1-related mitochondrial DNA de-pletion syndrome, encephalomyopathic form with methylmalonic aciduria; and (III) RRM2B-related mitochondrial disease. (B) Creatine Disorders: (i) Guanidinoacetate methytransferase deficiency; (ii) L-Arginine/glycine amidinotransferase defi-ciency; and (iii) Creatine Transporter Defect, also known as SLC 6A8. (C) Neurotransmitter defects: (i) Segawa Disease [Diease], also known as Dopamine Responsive Dystonia; (ii) Guanosine triphosphate cyclohydrolase defi-ciency; (i
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	(II) SUCLG1-related mitochondrial DNA de-pletion syndrome, encephalomyopathic form with methylmalonic aciduria; and (III) RRM2B-related mitochondrial disease. (B) Creatine Disorders: (i) Guanidinoacetate methytransferase deficiency; (ii) L-Arginine/glycine amidinotransferase defi-ciency; and (iii) Creatine Transporter Defect, also known as SLC 6A8. (C) Neurotransmitter defects: (i) Segawa Disease [Diease], also known as Dopamine Responsive Dystonia; (ii) Guanosine triphosphate cyclohydrolase defi-ciency; (i



	(iv) Sphingolipidoses: (I) Gaucher Type 2 and Type 3; (II) Neimann Pick Type A and B; (III) Neimann Pick Type C; (IV) Krabbe; (V) GM1 gangliosidosis; (VI) GM2 gangliosidosis also known as Tay-sachs and Sandhoff Disease; (VII) Metachromatic leukodystrophy; (VIII) Neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis types 1-10 including Batten Disease; and (IX) Farber Disease; and (v) Glycogen Storage-Lysosomal: Pompe Disease. (F) Peroxisomal Disorders: (i) X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy; (ii) Peroxisomal biosynthesis defects: (I) 
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	(i) Trifunctional protein deficiency; and (ii) Long-chain L-3 hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydroge-nase deficiency. (I) Metal Metabolism: (i) Wilson Disease; (ii) Pantothenate Kinase Associated Neurodegener-ation; and (iii) Neurodegeneration with brain iron accumula-tion. (J) Purine and Pyrimidine Defects: (i) Adenylosuccinate synthase Deficiency; (ii) 5-aminoimidazole-4-carboxamide ribonu-cleotide transformylase deficiency; (iii) Hypoxanthine-guanine phosophoribosyltrans-ferase Deficiency also known as Lesch-Nyhan di
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	(d) A qualifying physician under Texas Occupations Code Chapter 169 may submit a form to DSHS to request adding a pul-monary inhalation device to the list from which a physician may choose when prescribing a pulmonary inhalation device for low-THC cannabis. (e) A request under subsection (d) of this section must be sub-mitted using the form, Request to Add Medical Conditions for Which a Physician May Prescribe Low-THC Cannabis or Add Pulmonary In-halation Devices for Low-THC Cannabis, located on the DSHS we
	(d) A qualifying physician under Texas Occupations Code Chapter 169 may submit a form to DSHS to request adding a pul-monary inhalation device to the list from which a physician may choose when prescribing a pulmonary inhalation device for low-THC cannabis. (e) A request under subsection (d) of this section must be sub-mitted using the form, Request to Add Medical Conditions for Which a Physician May Prescribe Low-THC Cannabis or Add Pulmonary In-halation Devices for Low-THC Cannabis, located on the DSHS we
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	(d) A qualifying physician under Texas Occupations Code Chapter 169 may submit a form to DSHS to request adding a pul-monary inhalation device to the list from which a physician may choose when prescribing a pulmonary inhalation device for low-THC cannabis. (e) A request under subsection (d) of this section must be sub-mitted using the form, Request to Add Medical Conditions for Which a Physician May Prescribe Low-THC Cannabis or Add Pulmonary In-halation Devices for Low-THC Cannabis, located on the DSHS we







	the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee (committee), established under TTC, §11.31(n), make clarifying changes to existing items on the Tier I Table, and provide other updates as discussed in the Section by Section Discussion. This rulemaking would also fulfill the requirement of TTC, §11.31(l) that the commission, by rule, update the list adopted under TTC, §11.31(k), the Expedited Review List (ERL), at least once every three years and fulfills the requirement of 30 TAC §17.14(b) t
	the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee (committee), established under TTC, §11.31(n), make clarifying changes to existing items on the Tier I Table, and provide other updates as discussed in the Section by Section Discussion. This rulemaking would also fulfill the requirement of TTC, §11.31(l) that the commission, by rule, update the list adopted under TTC, §11.31(k), the Expedited Review List (ERL), at least once every three years and fulfills the requirement of 30 TAC §17.14(b) t
	the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee (committee), established under TTC, §11.31(n), make clarifying changes to existing items on the Tier I Table, and provide other updates as discussed in the Section by Section Discussion. This rulemaking would also fulfill the requirement of TTC, §11.31(l) that the commission, by rule, update the list adopted under TTC, §11.31(k), the Expedited Review List (ERL), at least once every three years and fulfills the requirement of 30 TAC §17.14(b) t
	the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee (committee), established under TTC, §11.31(n), make clarifying changes to existing items on the Tier I Table, and provide other updates as discussed in the Section by Section Discussion. This rulemaking would also fulfill the requirement of TTC, §11.31(l) that the commission, by rule, update the list adopted under TTC, §11.31(k), the Expedited Review List (ERL), at least once every three years and fulfills the requirement of 30 TAC §17.14(b) t
	quirements in any way and may not be specifically discussed in this preamble. §17.2 Definitions The commission proposes to update references included in cer-tain definitions in §17.2 to reflect revisions to other sections of the chapter. The proposed relocation of the ERL from §17.17(b) to a new section, §17.18, would make the reference to §17.17(b)(1) obsolete; therefore, the reference to 17.17(b)(1) of this title re-lating to Partial Determinations will be replaced with a reference to §17.18 of this title
	quirements in any way and may not be specifically discussed in this preamble. §17.2 Definitions The commission proposes to update references included in cer-tain definitions in §17.2 to reflect revisions to other sections of the chapter. The proposed relocation of the ERL from §17.17(b) to a new section, §17.18, would make the reference to §17.17(b)(1) obsolete; therefore, the reference to 17.17(b)(1) of this title re-lating to Partial Determinations will be replaced with a reference to §17.18 of this title

	The committee recommended adding amine treating systems as an item number beginning with letter "A," to designate it as air pollution control equipment. However, the commission pro-poses to designate this as miscellaneous pollution equipment, using the letter "M" because this property could be used to con-trol pollution from the air, water, or land. Similarly, the commis-sion proposes to list Amine Treating Systems with the media Air/Land/Water. The commission proposes to add the item us-ing the property na
	The committee recommended adding amine treating systems as an item number beginning with letter "A," to designate it as air pollution control equipment. However, the commission pro-poses to designate this as miscellaneous pollution equipment, using the letter "M" because this property could be used to con-trol pollution from the air, water, or land. Similarly, the commis-sion proposes to list Amine Treating Systems with the media Air/Land/Water. The commission proposes to add the item us-ing the property na
	The committee recommended adding amine treating systems as an item number beginning with letter "A," to designate it as air pollution control equipment. However, the commission pro-poses to designate this as miscellaneous pollution equipment, using the letter "M" because this property could be used to con-trol pollution from the air, water, or land. Similarly, the commis-sion proposes to list Amine Treating Systems with the media Air/Land/Water. The commission proposes to add the item us-ing the property na
	to reflect reference to the renumbering of §17.14 would also be made. §17.17. Partial Determinations The proposed rulemaking would move §17.17(b) concerning and including the ERL to proposed new §17.18. The rule provisions for applications for partial use determinations and applications for property on the ERL are different and should be addressed in separate sections. No changes are proposed to the ERL in the figure in existing 30 TAC §17.17(b). Subsections (c) and (d) and figures in 30 TAC §17.17(c)(1) an
	to reflect reference to the renumbering of §17.14 would also be made. §17.17. Partial Determinations The proposed rulemaking would move §17.17(b) concerning and including the ERL to proposed new §17.18. The rule provisions for applications for partial use determinations and applications for property on the ERL are different and should be addressed in separate sections. No changes are proposed to the ERL in the figure in existing 30 TAC §17.17(b). Subsections (c) and (d) and figures in 30 TAC §17.17(c)(1) an


	systems from $1,000 (Tier II fee amount) to $150. However, only four Tier II applications received since 2020 would have been affected by these revisions. The rulemaking is not anticipated to result in any fiscal implica-tions for other state or local government entities. Public Benefits and Costs Mr. Girten determined that the public benefit of this rulemak-ing is that the agency will be compliant with state law, specifi-cally the requirement in TTC, §11.31(l), that TCEQ update the list of pollution contro
	During the first five years, the proposed rule should not impact positively or negatively the state's economy. Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination The commission reviewed the proposed amendments in light of the regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government Code (TGC), §2001.0225, and determined the rules do not meet the definition of "a Major environmental rule." Under TGC, §2001.0225, "a major environmental rule" means a rule, the specific intent of which is to protect the environment or 

	Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the Submittal of Comments section of this preamble. Effect on Sites Subject to the Federal Operating Permits Pro-gram Participation in the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Pro-gram is voluntary, but sites subject to the Federal Operating Per-mits Program could choose to file an application for a use deter-mination. If the proposed rules are adopted, owners or operators of affect
	Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the Submittal of Comments section of this preamble. Effect on Sites Subject to the Federal Operating Permits Pro-gram Participation in the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Pro-gram is voluntary, but sites subject to the Federal Operating Per-mits Program could choose to file an application for a use deter-mination. If the proposed rules are adopted, owners or operators of affect
	Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the Submittal of Comments section of this preamble. Effect on Sites Subject to the Federal Operating Permits Pro-gram Participation in the Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Pro-gram is voluntary, but sites subject to the Federal Operating Per-mits Program could choose to file an application for a use deter-mination. If the proposed rules are adopted, owners or operators of affect
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	Statutory Authority The new and amended rules are proposed under Texas Wa-ter Code (TWC), §5.102, which authorizes the commission to perform any acts authorized by the TWC or other laws that are necessary and convenient to the exercise of its jurisdiction and powers; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the commission to adopt rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under the TWC. The rules are also proposed under Texas Tax Code (TTC), §11.31, which authorizes the commission to adopt rules to implem

	tion Control Property) or that is necessary for the installation or opera-tion of property located on the Tier I Table. (9) Tier II--An application for property that is used wholly for the control of air, water, and/or land pollution, but is not located on the Tier I Table in §17.14 [§17.14(a)] of this title. (10) Tier III--An application for property used partially for the control of air, water, and/or land pollution and that does not corre-spond exactly to an item on the Tier I Table in §17.14 [§17.14(a)]
	(7) if the property for which a use determination is sought has been purchased from another owner who previously used the prop-erty as pollution control property, a copy of the bill of sale or other in-formation submitted by the person or political subdivision that demon-strates, to the satisfaction of the executive director, that the transaction involves a bona fide change in ownership of the property and is not a sham transaction for the purpose of avoiding tax liability; and (8) the name of the appraisal
	(7) if the property for which a use determination is sought has been purchased from another owner who previously used the prop-erty as pollution control property, a copy of the bill of sale or other in-formation submitted by the person or political subdivision that demon-strates, to the satisfaction of the executive director, that the transaction involves a bona fide change in ownership of the property and is not a sham transaction for the purpose of avoiding tax liability; and (8) the name of the appraisal
	(7) if the property for which a use determination is sought has been purchased from another owner who previously used the prop-erty as pollution control property, a copy of the bill of sale or other in-formation submitted by the person or political subdivision that demon-strates, to the satisfaction of the executive director, that the transaction involves a bona fide change in ownership of the property and is not a sham transaction for the purpose of avoiding tax liability; and (8) the name of the appraisal



	may be refiled by the applicant. In such cases, the applicant shall pay the appropriate fee as required by §17.20 of this title. (3) For applications covering property listed in the table in §17.18 [§17.17(b)] of this title (relating to Expedited Review List [Partial Determinations]), the executive director will complete the tech-nical review of the application within 30 days of receipt of the required application information without regard to whether the information re-quired by §17.10(d)(1) of this title 
	may be refiled by the applicant. In such cases, the applicant shall pay the appropriate fee as required by §17.20 of this title. (3) For applications covering property listed in the table in §17.18 [§17.17(b)] of this title (relating to Expedited Review List [Partial Determinations]), the executive director will complete the tech-nical review of the application within 30 days of receipt of the required application information without regard to whether the information re-quired by §17.10(d)(1) of this title 
	may be refiled by the applicant. In such cases, the applicant shall pay the appropriate fee as required by §17.20 of this title. (3) For applications covering property listed in the table in §17.18 [§17.17(b)] of this title (relating to Expedited Review List [Partial Determinations]), the executive director will complete the tech-nical review of the application within 30 days of receipt of the required application information without regard to whether the information re-quired by §17.10(d)(1) of this title 
	conclusion that the item provides pollution control benefits. The com-mission may remove an item from this table only if there is compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item does not render pollu-tion control benefits.] [Figure: 30 TAC §17.17(b)] (b) [(c)] Consistent with subsection (a) of this section, the fol-lowing calculation (cost analysis procedure) must be used to determine the creditable partial percentage for a property that is filed on a Tier III application: (1) If no marketable p
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	§17.12(2) of this title (relating to Application Review Schedule). An applicant who submits an insufficient fee will receive a deficiency no-tice in accordance with the procedures in §17.12(2) of this title. The fee must be remitted with the response to the deficiency notice before the application will be deemed administratively complete. If it is deter-mined [during a technical review] that an application was submitted at the wrong tier level, the executive director will notify the applicant of the amount 
	(c) Appeal processing. The chief clerk shall: (1) deliver, e-mail, or mail to the executive director a copy of the appeal; (2) deliver, e-mail, or mail a copy of the appeal to the ap-plicant if the appeal was filed by the chief appraiser or to the chief appraiser if the appeal was filed by the applicant; and (3) schedule the appeal for consideration at the next regu-larly scheduled commission meeting for which adequate notice can be given. (d) Action by the general counsel. The general counsel may remand a 
	(c) Appeal processing. The chief clerk shall: (1) deliver, e-mail, or mail to the executive director a copy of the appeal; (2) deliver, e-mail, or mail a copy of the appeal to the ap-plicant if the appeal was filed by the chief appraiser or to the chief appraiser if the appeal was filed by the applicant; and (3) schedule the appeal for consideration at the next regu-larly scheduled commission meeting for which adequate notice can be given. (d) Action by the general counsel. The general counsel may remand a 


	CHAPTER 18. VOTER-APPROVAL TAX RELIEF FOR POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIREMENTS 30 TAC §§18.2, 18.10, 18.15, 18.25, 18.26, 18.30, 18.35 (Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is "cumbersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient," the figures in 30 TAC §18.25 and §18.26 are not included in the print version of the Texas Register. The figures are available in the on-line version of the September 5, 2025, issue of the Texas Register.) The Texas
	CHAPTER 18. VOTER-APPROVAL TAX RELIEF FOR POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIREMENTS 30 TAC §§18.2, 18.10, 18.15, 18.25, 18.26, 18.30, 18.35 (Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is "cumbersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient," the figures in 30 TAC §18.25 and §18.26 are not included in the print version of the Texas Register. The figures are available in the on-line version of the September 5, 2025, issue of the Texas Register.) The Texas
	CHAPTER 18. VOTER-APPROVAL TAX RELIEF FOR POLLUTION CONTROL REQUIREMENTS 30 TAC §§18.2, 18.10, 18.15, 18.25, 18.26, 18.30, 18.35 (Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is "cumbersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient," the figures in 30 TAC §18.25 and §18.26 are not included in the print version of the Texas Register. The figures are available in the on-line version of the September 5, 2025, issue of the Texas Register.) The Texas
	in Chapter 18, except when deviation from these recommenda-tions is needed to ensure the rule appropriately and consistently describes pollution control property eligible for a positive use de-termination (PUD) under Chapter 18. Because Chapter 18 is not in the committee's purview, it did not consider the ERL in TTC, §26.045(f), codified in §18.26, or the Tier I Table in §18.25(a). The ERL and Tier I table in Chapter 18 are identical to the ERL in existing §17.17(b) and the Tier I Table in existing §17.14(a
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	in the Tier I Table would need to continue to adhere to these ex-isting requirements. §18.10 Application for Use Determination The commission proposes amendments to §18.10 to provide that the executive director specifies the form of applications sub-mitted to the program. This would allow for the executive direc-tor to require electronic submittal of applications, which is more efficient for the program to administer than processing paper ap-plications. The commission proposes revision to §18.10(c)(5) to sp
	in the Tier I Table would need to continue to adhere to these ex-isting requirements. §18.10 Application for Use Determination The commission proposes amendments to §18.10 to provide that the executive director specifies the form of applications sub-mitted to the program. This would allow for the executive direc-tor to require electronic submittal of applications, which is more efficient for the program to administer than processing paper ap-plications. The commission proposes revision to §18.10(c)(5) to sp
	The committee recommended that amine treating systems be added to the Tier I Table based on a review and analysis of Tier II applications submitted under Chapter 17 from April 1, 2018, through April 30, 2021. The property type consistently received a PUD of 100% each time an applicant requested a use de-termination for such property, demonstrating the property was consistently used wholly for pollution control. Although the pro-posed item number is added to the Tier I Table as 100% for pollu-tion control pu
	plication. This change would clarify that property included on the Tier I Table and ERL may be included on a Tier I application when used as described on the Tier I Table. A Tier II application would still be required if the property is not used wholly for pol-lution control purposes or as described on the Tier I Table. §18.35 Application Fees Revisions are proposed to remove the provision in existing §18.35(a)(2) that a Tier II application is required for items listed on the ERL. Removal of this provision 
	plication. This change would clarify that property included on the Tier I Table and ERL may be included on a Tier I application when used as described on the Tier I Table. A Tier II application would still be required if the property is not used wholly for pol-lution control purposes or as described on the Tier I Table. §18.35 Application Fees Revisions are proposed to remove the provision in existing §18.35(a)(2) that a Tier II application is required for items listed on the ERL. Removal of this provision 
	plication. This change would clarify that property included on the Tier I Table and ERL may be included on a Tier I application when used as described on the Tier I Table. A Tier II application would still be required if the property is not used wholly for pol-lution control purposes or as described on the Tier I Table. §18.35 Application Fees Revisions are proposed to remove the provision in existing §18.35(a)(2) that a Tier II application is required for items listed on the ERL. Removal of this provision 
	rural communities in a material way for the first five years that the proposed rules are in effect. The amendments would apply statewide and have the same effect in rural communities as in urban communities. Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or micro-businesses due to the implementation or administration of the proposed rules for the first five-year period the proposed rules are in effect. Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis The 
	rural communities in a material way for the first five years that the proposed rules are in effect. The amendments would apply statewide and have the same effect in rural communities as in urban communities. Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or micro-businesses due to the implementation or administration of the proposed rules for the first five-year period the proposed rules are in effect. Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis The 


	to implement a tax rate adjustment program, this rulemaking is not a major environmental rule and does not meet any of the four applicability requirements. These rules do not result in any new environmental requirements and should not adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the economy, productiv-ity, competition, or jobs. The commission invites public comment regarding this draft regulatory impact analysis determination. Written comments on the Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis may be su
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	For the public who do not wish to provide oral comments but would like to view the hearing may do so at no cost at: https://events.teams.microsoft.com/event/2a564f09-897c-468b-a887-20536f00caa5@871a83a4-a1ce-4b7a-8156-3bcd93a08fba Persons who have special communication or other accommoda-tion needs who are planning to attend the hearing should con-tact Sandy Wong, Office of Legal Services at (512) 239-1802 or 1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD). Requests should be made as far in ad-vance as possible. Submittal of Comments
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	method for control of air, water, or land pollution as defined by TTC, §26.045(b). (3) Pollution control property--A facility, device, or method for control of air, water, or land pollution as defined by TTC, §26.045(b). (4) Tier I--An application containing only property that is on the Tier I Table in §18.25 [§18.25(a)] of this title (relating to Tier I Eligible Equipment) or that is necessary for the installation or operation of property located on the Tier I Table. (5) Tier II--An application containing 
	method for control of air, water, or land pollution as defined by TTC, §26.045(b). (3) Pollution control property--A facility, device, or method for control of air, water, or land pollution as defined by TTC, §26.045(b). (4) Tier I--An application containing only property that is on the Tier I Table in §18.25 [§18.25(a)] of this title (relating to Tier I Eligible Equipment) or that is necessary for the installation or operation of property located on the Tier I Table. (5) Tier II--An application containing 
	method for control of air, water, or land pollution as defined by TTC, §26.045(b). (3) Pollution control property--A facility, device, or method for control of air, water, or land pollution as defined by TTC, §26.045(b). (4) Tier I--An application containing only property that is on the Tier I Table in §18.25 [§18.25(a)] of this title (relating to Tier I Eligible Equipment) or that is necessary for the installation or operation of property located on the Tier I Table. (5) Tier II--An application containing 
	If the determination is that the property is used partly for pollution control, the executive director shall determine the proportion of the property used for pollution control. (1) As soon as practicable, the executive director shall send [mail] written notification informing the applicant that the application has been received and if the application is considered to be administra-tively complete or deficient. (A) If the application is not administratively complete, the notification shall specify the defic



	Figure 30 TAC §18.25 [Figure 30 TAC §18.25(a)] [(b) The commission shall review and update the Tier I Table in subsection (a) of this section at least once every three years.] [(1) An item may be added to the list only if there is com-pelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item provides pol-lution control benefits and a justifiable pollution control percentage is calculable.] [(2) An item may be removed from the list only if there is compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item d
	Figure 30 TAC §18.25 [Figure 30 TAC §18.25(a)] [(b) The commission shall review and update the Tier I Table in subsection (a) of this section at least once every three years.] [(1) An item may be added to the list only if there is com-pelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item provides pol-lution control benefits and a justifiable pollution control percentage is calculable.] [(2) An item may be removed from the list only if there is compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item d
	Figure 30 TAC §18.25 [Figure 30 TAC §18.25(a)] [(b) The commission shall review and update the Tier I Table in subsection (a) of this section at least once every three years.] [(1) An item may be added to the list only if there is com-pelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item provides pol-lution control benefits and a justifiable pollution control percentage is calculable.] [(2) An item may be removed from the list only if there is compelling evidence to support the conclusion that the item d

	determined that an application was submitted at an inappropriate tier level, the executive director will notify the applicant of the amount in which the fees are deficient or in excess, and if there are deficient fees, the applicant shall remit the appropriate fee described under §18.35(a) before review of the application proceeds. If the deficient fees are not paid in full within 30 days of the applicant being notified of the defi-ciency, the executive director will take no further action on the applica-ti
	determined that an application was submitted at an inappropriate tier level, the executive director will notify the applicant of the amount in which the fees are deficient or in excess, and if there are deficient fees, the applicant shall remit the appropriate fee described under §18.35(a) before review of the application proceeds. If the deficient fees are not paid in full within 30 days of the applicant being notified of the defi-ciency, the executive director will take no further action on the applica-ti


	no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to comply with proposed amendment. The agency provides the following government growth impact statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-fect, the following statements will apply: 1. The proposed rule will not create a government program and will not eliminate a government program; 2. Implementation of the propos
	no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to comply with proposed amendment. The agency provides the following government growth impact statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-fect, the following statements will apply: 1. The proposed rule will not create a government program and will not eliminate a government program; 2. Implementation of the propos
	no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to comply with proposed amendment. The agency provides the following government growth impact statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-fect, the following statements will apply: 1. The proposed rule will not create a government program and will not eliminate a government program; 2. Implementation of the propos
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	Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. TRD-202503061 Brandon Wood Director Wood Texas Commission on Jail Standards Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 For further information, please call: (512) 850-9668 ♦ ♦ ♦ SUBCHAPTER E. LIFE SAFETY AND EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT 37 TAC §263.53 The Texas Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) proposes an amendment to rule §263.53, concerning life safety and portable fire extinguishers in county jails. The proposed rule adds lan-guage to


	Comments on the proposal may be submitted in writing to Richard Morgan, Research Specialist, at P.O. Box 12985, Austin, Texas 78711-2985, or by email at richard.mor-gan@tcjs.state.tx.us. This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-tion of county jails. This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. §263.5
	Comments on the proposal may be submitted in writing to Richard Morgan, Research Specialist, at P.O. Box 12985, Austin, Texas 78711-2985, or by email at richard.mor-gan@tcjs.state.tx.us. This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-tion of county jails. This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. §263.5
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	3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-propriations to the agency; 4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; 7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-ject to the rules applicability; and 8. The proposed ru
	3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-propriations to the agency; 4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; 7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-ject to the rules applicability; and 8. The proposed ru
	3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-propriations to the agency; 4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; 7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-ject to the rules applicability; and 8. The proposed ru
	3. Implementation of the proposed rule will not require an in-crease and will not require a decrease in future legislative ap-propriations to the agency; 4. The proposed rule will not require an increase and will not require a decrease in fees paid to the agency; 5. The proposed rule will not create a new regulation; 6. The proposed rule will expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; 7. The proposed rule will change the number of individuals sub-ject to the rules applicability; and 8. The proposed ru
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	enhanced sanitation in county jail holding cells. There will not be an effect on small businesses, microbusinesses, rural com-munities, and/or individuals. There is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the proposed amendment. The agency provides the following government growth impact statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-fect, th
	enhanced sanitation in county jail holding cells. There will not be an effect on small businesses, microbusinesses, rural com-munities, and/or individuals. There is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the proposed amendment. The agency provides the following government growth impact statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-fect, th
	enhanced sanitation in county jail holding cells. There will not be an effect on small businesses, microbusinesses, rural com-munities, and/or individuals. There is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the proposed amendment. The agency provides the following government growth impact statement for the proposed rule, as required by Texas Govern-ment code §2001.0221. The agency has determined that for each year of the first five years that the proposed rule is in ef-fect, th
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	The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority to adopt. Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 25, 2025. TRD-202503064 Brandon Wood Executive Director Texas Commission on Jail Standards Earliest possible date of adoption: October 5, 2025 For further information, please call: (512) 850-9668 ♦ ♦ ♦ CHAPTER 291. SERVICES AND ACTIVITIES 37 TAC §291.4 The Texas Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) proposes an amend
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	This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-tion of county jails. This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. §291.4. Visitation Plan. Each facility shall have and implement a written plan, approved by the commission, governing inmate visitation. The plan shall: (1) indicate frequency of visitation per
	This amended rule is proposed under the authority of Govern-ment Code, Chapter 511, which authorizes the TCJS to adopt reasonable rules and procedures establishing minimum stan-dards for the construction, equipment, maintenance, and opera-tion of county jails. This rule change does not affect other rules or statutes. §291.4. Visitation Plan. Each facility shall have and implement a written plan, approved by the commission, governing inmate visitation. The plan shall: (1) indicate frequency of visitation per
	PART 20. TEXAS WORKFORCE COMMISSION CHAPTER 809. CHILD CARE SERVICES The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) proposes amend-ments to the following sections of Chapter 809, relating to Child Care Services: Subchapter A. General Provisions, §809.1 and §809.2 Subchapter C. Eligibility for Child Care Services, §809.43 PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY The purpose of the proposed amendments to Chapter 809 is to improve the efficiency and delivery of child care services and al-low TWC's three-member Commiss

	mission meetings, and when the initiative or special project is approved by the Commission. The amended rule requires that the Commission must determine that the suspension does not violate federal or state statutes or regulations. Section 809.2. Definitions Section 809.2 is amended to add a definition of a child care worker for purposes of the waiting list priority in §809.43. The definition is identical to the definition provided in Texas Labor Code, §302.0064(a) and states that a child care worker is an 
	mission meetings, and when the initiative or special project is approved by the Commission. The amended rule requires that the Commission must determine that the suspension does not violate federal or state statutes or regulations. Section 809.2. Definitions Section 809.2 is amended to add a definition of a child care worker for purposes of the waiting list priority in §809.43. The definition is identical to the definition provided in Texas Labor Code, §302.0064(a) and states that a child care worker is an 
	mission meetings, and when the initiative or special project is approved by the Commission. The amended rule requires that the Commission must determine that the suspension does not violate federal or state statutes or regulations. Section 809.2. Definitions Section 809.2 is amended to add a definition of a child care worker for purposes of the waiting list priority in §809.43. The definition is identical to the definition provided in Texas Labor Code, §302.0064(a) and states that a child care worker is an 
	peal or amend a rule, as required by Texas Government Code, §2001.0045, does not apply to this rulemaking. Takings Impact Assessment Under Texas Government Code, §2007.002(5), "taking" means a governmental action that affects private real property, in whole or in part or temporarily or permanently, in a manner that requires the governmental entity to compensate the private real property owner as provided by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the US Constitution or the Texas Constitution, §17 or §19, Art
	peal or amend a rule, as required by Texas Government Code, §2001.0045, does not apply to this rulemaking. Takings Impact Assessment Under Texas Government Code, §2007.002(5), "taking" means a governmental action that affects private real property, in whole or in part or temporarily or permanently, in a manner that requires the governmental entity to compensate the private real property owner as provided by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the US Constitution or the Texas Constitution, §17 or §19, Art



	proposed rules will be to improve the efficiency and delivery of child care services, statewide initiatives, or special projects and implement state requirements regarding waiting list priority for children of child care workers. PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES The proposed amendments clarify the Commission's authority to suspend provisions of Chapter 809 rules for certain purposes as specified in the proposed rule language and implement child care waiting list priority requirements enacted by SB 462. Inte
	proposed rules will be to improve the efficiency and delivery of child care services, statewide initiatives, or special projects and implement state requirements regarding waiting list priority for children of child care workers. PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES The proposed amendments clarify the Commission's authority to suspend provisions of Chapter 809 rules for certain purposes as specified in the proposed rule language and implement child care waiting list priority requirements enacted by SB 462. Inte
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	(1) Funds used for quality improvement activities de-scribed in §809.16 of this chapter; (2) Assessing the parent share of cost described in §809.19 of this chapter; and (3) Subchapter C of this chapter [(relating to Eligibility for Child Care Services)]. (d) The rules contained in this chapter shall apply to the Agency [Commission], Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards), their child care contractors, child care providers, [and] parents applying for or eligible to receive child care services, and othe
	(1) Funds used for quality improvement activities de-scribed in §809.16 of this chapter; (2) Assessing the parent share of cost described in §809.19 of this chapter; and (3) Subchapter C of this chapter [(relating to Eligibility for Child Care Services)]. (d) The rules contained in this chapter shall apply to the Agency [Commission], Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards), their child care contractors, child care providers, [and] parents applying for or eligible to receive child care services, and othe
	(1) Funds used for quality improvement activities de-scribed in §809.16 of this chapter; (2) Assessing the parent share of cost described in §809.19 of this chapter; and (3) Subchapter C of this chapter [(relating to Eligibility for Child Care Services)]. (d) The rules contained in this chapter shall apply to the Agency [Commission], Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards), their child care contractors, child care providers, [and] parents applying for or eligible to receive child care services, and othe
	(1) Funds used for quality improvement activities de-scribed in §809.16 of this chapter; (2) Assessing the parent share of cost described in §809.19 of this chapter; and (3) Subchapter C of this chapter [(relating to Eligibility for Child Care Services)]. (d) The rules contained in this chapter shall apply to the Agency [Commission], Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards), their child care contractors, child care providers, [and] parents applying for or eligible to receive child care services, and othe
	(1) Funds used for quality improvement activities de-scribed in §809.16 of this chapter; (2) Assessing the parent share of cost described in §809.19 of this chapter; and (3) Subchapter C of this chapter [(relating to Eligibility for Child Care Services)]. (d) The rules contained in this chapter shall apply to the Agency [Commission], Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards), their child care contractors, child care providers, [and] parents applying for or eligible to receive child care services, and othe



	(8) Child care worker--for purposes of the waiting list pri-ority described in §809.43 of this chapter, and pursuant to Texas Labor Code, §302.0064, a child care worker is an individual employed by and working in a child care facility licensed under Texas Human Re-sources Code, Chapter 42 for a minimum of 25 hours per week. The term does not include the owner or director of a child care facility un-less the owner's or director's child is served in a program other than a program directly supervised by the ow
	(8) Child care worker--for purposes of the waiting list pri-ority described in §809.43 of this chapter, and pursuant to Texas Labor Code, §302.0064, a child care worker is an individual employed by and working in a child care facility licensed under Texas Human Re-sources Code, Chapter 42 for a minimum of 25 hours per week. The term does not include the owner or director of a child care facility un-less the owner's or director's child is served in a program other than a program directly supervised by the ow
	(8) Child care worker--for purposes of the waiting list pri-ority described in §809.43 of this chapter, and pursuant to Texas Labor Code, §302.0064, a child care worker is an individual employed by and working in a child care facility licensed under Texas Human Re-sources Code, Chapter 42 for a minimum of 25 hours per week. The term does not include the owner or director of a child care facility un-less the owner's or director's child is served in a program other than a program directly supervised by the ow
	(8) Child care worker--for purposes of the waiting list pri-ority described in §809.43 of this chapter, and pursuant to Texas Labor Code, §302.0064, a child care worker is an individual employed by and working in a child care facility licensed under Texas Human Re-sources Code, Chapter 42 for a minimum of 25 hours per week. The term does not include the owner or director of a child care facility un-less the owner's or director's child is served in a program other than a program directly supervised by the ow
	(8) Child care worker--for purposes of the waiting list pri-ority described in §809.43 of this chapter, and pursuant to Texas Labor Code, §302.0064, a child care worker is an individual employed by and working in a child care facility licensed under Texas Human Re-sources Code, Chapter 42 for a minimum of 25 hours per week. The term does not include the owner or director of a child care facility un-less the owner's or director's child is served in a program other than a program directly supervised by the ow
	(8) Child care worker--for purposes of the waiting list pri-ority described in §809.43 of this chapter, and pursuant to Texas Labor Code, §302.0064, a child care worker is an individual employed by and working in a child care facility licensed under Texas Human Re-sources Code, Chapter 42 for a minimum of 25 hours per week. The term does not include the owner or director of a child care facility un-less the owner's or director's child is served in a program other than a program directly supervised by the ow





	(C) an occupational or professional certification or li-cense; or (D) the acquisition of technical skills, knowledge, and abilities specific to an occupation. (17) [(16)] Listed family home--A family home, other than the eligible child's own residence, that is listed, but not licensed or registered with, CCR pursuant to Texas Human Resources Code, §42.052(c). (18) [(17)] Military deployment--The temporary duty as-signment away from the permanent military installation or place of res-idence for reserve compo
	(C) an occupational or professional certification or li-cense; or (D) the acquisition of technical skills, knowledge, and abilities specific to an occupation. (17) [(16)] Listed family home--A family home, other than the eligible child's own residence, that is listed, but not licensed or registered with, CCR pursuant to Texas Human Resources Code, §42.052(c). (18) [(17)] Military deployment--The temporary duty as-signment away from the permanent military installation or place of res-idence for reserve compo
	the child is living with, and physically present with, the parent during the time period for which child care services are being requested or received. (25) [(24)] Teen parent--A teen parent (teen) is an individ-ual 18 years of age or younger, or 19 years of age and attending high school or the equivalent, who has a child. (26) [(25)] Texas Rising Star program--A quality-based rating system of child care providers participating in Commission-sub-sidized child care. (27) [(26)] Texas Rising Star provider--A 
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