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Proclamation 41-4068 

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME: 

WHEREAS, the 88th Regular Session of the Texas Legislature con-
vened in January 2023 in accordance with Article III, Section 5, of 
the Texas Constitution and Section 301.001 of the Texas Government 
Code; and 

WHEREAS, during that session, the Legislature approved thirteen joint 
resolutions proposing thirteen particular constitutional amendments by 
a vote of two-thirds of all members of each house, pursuant to Article 
XVII, Section 1, of the Texas Constitution; and 

WHEREAS, the 88th Texas Legislature, Second Special Session, con-
vened in June 2023 in accordance with Article III, Sections 5 and 40, 
and Article IV, Section 8, of the Texas Constitution; and 

WHEREAS, during that special session, the Legislature approved one 
joint resolution proposing one particular constitutional amendment by 
a vote of two-thirds of all members of each house, pursuant to Article 
XVII, Section 1, of the Texas Constitution; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the terms of those resolutions and in accor-
dance with the Texas Constitution, the Legislature has set the date of 
the election for voting on the fourteen proposed constitutional amend-
ments to be November 7, 2023; and 

WHEREAS, Section 3.003 of the Texas Election Code requires the 
election to be ordered by proclamation of the governor; 

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GREG ABBOTT, Governor of the State of 
Texas, by the authority vested in me by the Constitution and Statutes 
of the State of Texas, do hereby order a special election to be held 
throughout the State of Texas on the FIRST TUESDAY AFTER THE 
FIRST MONDAY IN NOVEMBER, the same being the SEVENTH 
day of NOVEMBER, 2023. 

NOTICE THEREOF IS HEREBY GIVEN to the COUNTY JUDGE 
of each county, who is directed to cause said election to be held in the 
county on such date for the purpose of adopting or rejecting the fourteen 
constitutional amendments proposed by fourteen joint resolutions, as 
submitted by the 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, and the 88th 
Texas Legislature, Second Called Session, of the State of Texas. 

Pursuant to Sections 52.095, 274.001, and 274.002 of the Texas Elec-
tion Code, the propositions for the joint resolutions will appear as fol-
lows: 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 1 

"The constitutional amendment protecting the right to engage in farm-
ing, ranching, timber production, horticulture, and wildlife manage-
ment." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 2 

"The constitutional amendment authorizing a local option exemption 
from ad valorem taxation by a county or municipality of all or part of 
the appraised value of real property used to operate a child-care facil-
ity." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 3 

"The constitutional amendment prohibiting the imposition of an indi-
vidual wealth or net worth tax, including a tax on the difference be-
tween the assets and liabilities of an individual or family." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 4 

"The constitutional amendment to authorize the legislature to estab-
lish a temporary limit on the maximum appraised value of real prop-
erty other than a residence homestead for ad valorem tax purposes; to 
increase the amount of the exemption from ad valorem taxation by 
a school district applicable to residence homesteads from $40,000 to 
$100,000; to adjust the amount of the limitation on school district ad 
valorem taxes imposed on the residence homesteads of the elderly or 
disabled to reflect increases in certain exemption amounts; to except 
certain appropriations to pay for ad valorem tax relief from the con-
stitutional limitation on the rate of growth of appropriations; and to 
authorize the legislature to provide for a four-year term of office for a 
member of the board of directors of certain appraisal districts." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 5 

"The constitutional amendment relating to the Texas University Fund, 
which provides funding to certain institutions of higher education to 
achieve national prominence as major research universities and drive 
the state economy." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 6 

"The constitutional amendment creating the Texas water fund to assist 
in financing water projects in this state." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 7 

"The constitutional amendment providing for the creation of the Texas 
energy fund to support the construction, maintenance, modernization, 
and operation of electric generating facilities." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 8 

"The constitutional amendment creating the broadband infrastructure 
fund to expand high-speed broadband access and assist in the financing 
of connectivity projects." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 9 

"The constitutional amendment authorizing the 88th Legislature to pro-
vide a cost-of-living adjustment to certain annuitants of the Teacher 
Retirement System of Texas." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 10 

"The constitutional amendment to authorize the legislature to exempt 
from ad valorem taxation equipment or inventory held by a manufac-
turer of medical or biomedical products to protect the Texas healthcare 
network and strengthen our medical supply chain." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 11 

"The constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to permit 
conservation and reclamation districts in El Paso County to issue bonds 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

supported by ad valorem taxes to fund the development and mainte-
nance of parks and recreational facilities." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 12 

"The constitutional amendment providing for the abolition of the office 
of county treasurer in Galveston County." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 13 

"The constitutional amendment to increase the mandatory age of retire-
ment for state justices and judges." 

STATE OF TEXAS PROPOSITION NO. 14 

"The constitutional amendment providing for the creation of the cen-
tennial parks conservation fund to be used for the creation and improve-
ment of state parks." 

The secretary of state shall take notice of this proclamation and shall 
immediately mail a copy of this order to every county judge of this 
state, and all appropriate writs will be issued, and all proper proceed-
ings will be followed, to the end that said election may be held and its 
result proclaimed in accordance with law. 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereto signed my name and have 
officially caused the Seal of State to be affixed at my office in the City 
of Austin, Texas, this the 9th day of August, 2023. 

Greg Abbott, Governor 
TRD-202302936 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Proclamation 41-4069 

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME: 

WHEREAS, I, GREG ABBOTT, Governor of the State of Texas, 
do hereby certify that wildfires that began on July 24, 2023, pose 
an imminent threat of widespread or severe damage, injury, or 
loss of life or property in Anderson, Andrews, Angelina, Aransas, 
Archer, Atascosa, Austin, Bailey, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bell, 
Bexar, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Brazos, Brewster, Briscoe, Brooks, 
Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Callahan, Cameron, 
Cass, Castro, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, 
Colorado, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Cooke, Coryell, Crockett, 
Crosby, Culberson, Dallas, Denton, DeWitt, Dimmit, Duval, Eastland, 
Ector, Edwards, El Paso, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Fayette, Fort 
Bend, Freestone, Frio, Gaines, Galveston, Garza, Gillespie, Glass-
cock, Goliad, Gonzales, Gregg, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hale, Hamilton, 
Hardeman, Hardin, Harris, Harrison, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hill, 

Hood, Houston, Howard, Hudspeth, Hunt, Jack, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff 
Davis, Jefferson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Johnson, Karnes, Kaufman, 
Kendall, Kenedy, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kleberg, Knox, La Salle, 
Lamb, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Llano, 
Madison, Marion, Martin, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McCulloch, 
McLennan, Medina, Menard, Midland, Milam, Mills, Mitchell, Mon-
tague, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Navarro, Newton, Nolan, Nueces, 
Orange, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Polk, Potter, Presidio, Randall, 
Reagan, Real, Red River, Reeves, Refugio, Robertson, Rockwall, 
Runnels, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, 
San Saba, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Shelby, Smith, Somervell, 
Starr, Stephens, Tarrant, Taylor, Terrell, Throckmorton, Tom Green, 
Travis, Trinity, Tyler, Upshur, Upton, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Victoria, 
Walker, Waller, Ward, Washington, Wharton, Wichita, Wilbarger, 
Williamson, Wilson, Winkler, Wise, Yoakum, Young, Zapata, and 
Zavala Counties; 

NOW, THEREFORE, in accordance with the authority vested in me by 
Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code, I do hereby declare a 
state of disaster in the previously listed counties based on the existence 
of such threat. 

Pursuant to Section 418.017 of the Texas Government Code, I authorize 
the use of all available resources of state government and of political 
subdivisions that are reasonably necessary to cope with this disaster. 

Pursuant to Section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, any reg-
ulatory statute prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business 
or any order or rule of a state agency that would in any way prevent, 
hinder, or delay necessary action in coping with this disaster shall be 
suspended upon written approval of the Office of the Governor. How-
ever, to the extent that the enforcement of any state statute or admin-
istrative rule regarding contracting or procurement would impede any 
state agency's emergency response that is necessary to protect life or 
property threatened by this declared disaster, I hereby authorize the 
suspension of such statutes and rules for the duration of this declared 
disaster. 

In accordance with the statutory requirements, copies of this proclama-
tion shall be filed with the applicable authorities. 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and 
have officially caused the Seal of State to be affixed at my office in the 
City of Austin, Texas, this the 11th day of August, 2023. 

Greg Abbott, Governor 
TRD-202302952 
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TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 23. TEXAS REAL ESTATE 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 531. CANONS OF PROFESSIONAL 
ETHICS AND CONDUCT 
22 TAC §531.18 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) adopts on an emer-
gency basis amendments to 22 TAC §531.18, Consumer Infor-
mation, in Chapter 531, Canons of Professional Ethics and Con-
duct. 
The amendments are adopted on an emergency basis to imple-
ment statutory changes enacted by the 88th Legislature in HB 
1363, which becomes effective September 1, 2023, and which 
eliminates the real estate inspection recovery fund. As a result, 
references to that fund are removed from the Consumer Protec-
tion Notice form adopted by reference and the version number 
in the rule is updated. 
The identical rule is also being proposed under §2001.023 and 
§2001.029, Texas Government Code. 
The amendments are adopted on an emergency basis under 
Texas Occupations Code, §1101.151, which authorizes the 
Texas Real Estate Commission to adopt and enforce rules 
necessary to administer Chapters 1101 and 1102; and to es-
tablish standards of conduct and ethics for its license holders 
to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 1102 and ensure 
compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. The amendments 
are also adopted on an emergency basis under §1101.202, 
which requires the Commission to prescribe a notice contain-
ing the name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 
Commission for the purpose of directing a complaint to the 
commission; and establish methods by which consumers and 
service recipients are provided the notice by a person regulated 
under Chapter 1101 or 1102. 
The statutes affected by these amendments adopted on an 
emergency basis are Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 1101 
and 1102. No other statute, code or article is affected by the 
emergency amendments. 
§531.18. Consumer Information. 

(a) The Commission adopts by reference the Consumer Pro-
tection Notice, TREC No. CN 1-5 [CN 1-4]. This document is pub-
lished by and available from the Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. 
Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, www.trec.texas.gov. 

(b) Each license holder shall provide the notice adopted under 
subsection (a) by: 

(1) displaying it in a readily noticeable location in each 
place of business the broker maintains; and 

(2) providing a link to it in a readily noticeable place on the 
homepage of each business website, labeled: 

(A) "Texas Real Estate Commission Consumer Protec-
tion Notice", in at least 10 point font; or 

(B) "TREC Consumer Protection Notice", in at least 12 
point font. 

(c) For purposes of this section, business website means a 
website on the internet that: 

(1) is accessible to the public; 

(2) contains information about a license holder's real estate 
brokerage services; and 

(3) the content of the website is controlled by the license 
holder. 

(d) For purposes of providing the link required under subsec-
tion (b)(2) on a social media platform, the link may be located on: 

(1) the account holder profile; or 

(2) a separate page or website through a direct link from 
the social media platform or account holder profile. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal 
authority to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302885 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Expiration date: December 29, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 535. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
SUBCHAPTER E. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
LICENSURE 
22 TAC §535.58 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) adopts on an emer-
gency basis amendments to 22 TAC §535.58, License for Mili-
tary Service Members, Veterans, or Military Spouses, in Chapter 
535, General Provisions. 
The amendments are adopted on an emergency basis, in part, 
to implement statutory changes enacted by the 88th Legislature 
in SB 422, becomes effective September 1, 2023, and which 
modifies the time period within which issuance of a license after 
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certain conditions are satisfied, from "as soon as practicable" to 
no later than 30 days. The amendments reflect this statutory 
change. 
Section 535.58 is also being proposed under §2001.023 and 
§2001.029, Texas Government Code, with some additional 
changes. 
The amendments are adopted on an emergency basis under 
Texas Occupations Code, §1101.151, which authorizes the 
Texas Real Estate Commission to adopt and enforce rules 
necessary to administer Chapters 1101 and 1102; and to es-
tablish standards of conduct and ethics for its license holders 
to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 1102 and ensure 
compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. The amendments 
are also adopted on an emergency basis under §55.005, which 
requires expedited licenses for military service members, mili-
tary veterans, and military spouse. 
The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapters 1101 and 1102. No other statute, code or article 
is affected by the proposed amendments. 
§535.58. License for Military Service Members, Veterans, or Military 
Spouses. 

(a) Definitions. 

(1) "Military service member" means a person who is on 
current full-time military service in the armed forces of the United 
States or active duty military service as a member of the Texas military 
forces, as defined by §437.001, Government Code, or similar military 
service of another state. 

(2) "Military spouse" means a person who is married to a 
military service member. 

(3) "Veteran" means a person who has served as a military 
service member and who was discharged or released from active duty. 

(b) Except as otherwise provide by this section: 

(1) a person applying for a sales agent or broker license 
under this chapter must comply with all requirements of §535.51 of this 
chapter (relating to General Requirements for a Real Estate License); 
and 

(2) a person applying for an inspector license under this 
chapter must comply with all requirements of §535.208 of this chapter 
(relating to Application for a License). 

(c) Expedited application. 

(1) The Commission shall process a license for an applicant 
who is a military service member, military veteran, or military spouse 
on an expedited basis. 

(2) If the applicant holds a current certificate or license is-
sued by a country, territory, or state other than Texas that has licensing 
requirements that are substantially equivalent to the requirements for 
the certificate or license issued in Texas, the Commission shall issue 
the license not later than the 30th day [as soon as practicable] after re-
ceipt of the application. 

(d) Waiver of fees and requirements. 

(1) The Commission shall waive application and examina-
tion fees for an applicant who is a: 

(A) military service member or veteran whose military 
service, training, or education substantially meets all of the require-
ments for a license; or 

(B) military service member, veteran, or military 
spouse who holds a current license issued by another jurisdiction that 
has licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to the 
requirements for the same license in this state. 

(2) The Executive Director may waive any other require-
ments for obtaining a license for an applicant who: 

(A) meets the requirements of subsection (c)(2) of this 
section; or 

(B) held a license in Texas within the five years preced-
ing the date the application is filed with the Commission. 

(e) Credit for military service. 

(1) For an applicant who is a military service member or 
veteran, the Commission shall credit any verifiable military service, 
training or education obtained by an applicant that is relevant to a li-
cense toward the requirements of a license. 

(2) This subsection does not apply to an applicant who 
holds a restricted license issued by another jurisdiction. 

(f) Alternate methods of competency. The Commission may 
accept alternative methods for demonstrating an applicant's compe-
tency in the place of passing the specific licensing examination, or 
completing education and/or experience required to obtain a particular 
license. Based on the applicant's circumstances and the requirements 
of a particular license, the Commission may consider any combination 
of the following as alternative methods of demonstrating competency: 

(1) education; 

(2) continuing education; 

(3) examinations (written and/or practical); 

(4) letters of good standing; 

(5) letters of recommendation; 

(6) work experience; or 

(7) other methods required by the Executive Director. 

(g) Limited reciprocity for military spouses. 

(1) A person who is a military spouse who holds a current 
certificate or license issued by a country, territory, or state other than 
Texas that has licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent 
to the requirements for the certificate or license issued in Texas who 
wants to practice in Texas in accordance with §55.0041, Occupations 
Code, must: 

(A) notify the Commission of the person's intent to 
practice in Texas on a form approved by the Commission; and 

(B) submit a copy of the military identification card is-
sued to the person; and 

(2) Upon receipt of the documents required under para-
graph (1) of this subsection, the Commission will: 

(A) verify that the person is currently licensed and in 
good standing by another jurisdiction with substantially equivalent li-
censing requirements to Texas; and 

(B) upon confirmation from the other jurisdiction that 
the person is currently licensed and in good standing with that juris-
diction, issue a license to the person for the same period in which the 
person is licensed or certified by the other jurisdiction. 

(3) A person may not practice in Texas in accordance with 
this subsection without receiving confirmation from the Commission 
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that the Commission has verified that the person is currently licensed 
and in good standing with another jurisdiction. Confirmation is pro-
vided by the Commission when the person is issued a license as pro-
vided for in paragraph (2) of this subsection. 

(4) A license issued under this subsection may not be re-
newed. 

(5) After expiration of the initial license, if a person wants 
to continue to practice in accordance with this subsection, it is the re-
sponsibility of the person to seek confirmation from Commission that 
the person continues to meet the requirements to practice under this 
subsection by submitting a form approved by the Commission certify-
ing that: 

(A) the person is still currently licensed and in good 
standing with another jurisdiction with substantially equivalent licens-
ing requirements to Texas; and 

(B) the person's spouse is still stationed at a military in-
stallation in this state. 

(6) Upon verification by Commission that the person still 
meets the requirements under this subsection, the Commission will is-
sue another license for the same period in which the person is currently 
licensed or certified by the other jurisdiction. 

(7) The time period for which a person may practice under 
this subsection without meeting the requirements for licensure in Texas 
is limited to the lesser of: 

(A) the period during which the person's spouse is sta-
tioned at a military installation in this state; or 

(B) three years. 

(8) A person authorized to practice in this state under this 
subsection must comply will all other laws and regulations applicable 
to the license, including any sponsorship requirements. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal 
authority to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302886 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Expiration date: December 29, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER R. REAL ESTATE 
INSPECTORS 
22 TAC §535.210, §535.219 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) adopts on an 
emergency basis amendments to 22 TAC §535.210, Fees, and 
§535.219, Schedule of Administrative Penalties, in Chapter 
535, General Provisions. 
The amendments are adopted on an emergency basis to imple-
ment statutory changes enacted by the 88th Legislature in HB 
1363, which becomes effective September 1, 2023, and which 
eliminates the real estate inspection recovery fund. The changes 

to 535.210 reflect the fact that for applications submitted as of 
September 1, 2023, the $10 fee will no longer be required. The 
changes to §535.219 replace a repealed statutory section with 
a related rule 22 TAC §535.220(g) (although related, this rule is 
authorized by another statutory provision). 
The identical rules are also being proposed under §2001.023 
and §2001.029, Texas Government Code. 
The amendments are adopted on an emergency basis under 
Texas Occupations Code, §1101.151, which authorizes the 
Texas Real Estate Commission to adopt and enforce rules 
necessary to administer Chapters 1101 and 1102; and to es-
tablish standards of conduct and ethics for its license holders 
to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 1102 and ensure 
compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. The amendments are 
also adopted on an emergency basis under Texas Occupations 
Code, §1102.403, which allows the Commission to impose an 
administrative penalty as provided by Subchapter O, Chapter 
1101 pursuant to that section. 
The statute affected by these amendments adopted on an emer-
gency basis is Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1102. No other 
statute, code or article is affected by the emergency amend-
ments. 
§535.210. Fees. 

(a) The Commission shall charge and collect the following 
fees: 

(1) a fee of $60 for filing an original or reinstatement ap-
plication for a license as an apprentice inspector; 

(2) a fee of $100 for filing an original or reinstatement ap-
plication for a license as a real estate inspector, which includes a fee 
for transcript evaluation; 

(3) a fee of $120 for filing an original or reinstatement ap-
plication for a license as a professional inspector, which includes a fee 
for transcript evaluation; 

(4) a fee of $30 for the timely renewal of the license of an 
apprentice inspector; 

(5) a fee of $50 for the timely renewal of the license of a 
real estate inspector; 

(6) a fee of $60 for the timely renewal of the license of a 
professional inspector; 

(7) a fee equal to 1-1/2 times the timely renewal fee for the 
late renewal of a license within 90 days of expiration; 

(8) a fee equal to two times the timely renewal fee for the 
late renewal of a license more than 90 days but less than six months 
after expiration; 

(9) a fee for taking a license examination consisting of a 
national portion and a state portion or retaking the national part of the 
license examination; 

(10) a fee for taking a license examination without a na-
tional portion or retaking the state part of the license examination; 

(11) a fee of $50 to request an inactive professional inspec-
tor license be returned to active status; 

(12) a fee of $50 for the filing of a fitness determination; 

(13) the fee required by the Department of Information Re-
sources as a subscription or convenience fee for use of an online pay-
ment system; 
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(14) a fee of $400 for filing an application for accreditation 
of a qualifying inspector education program for a period of four years; 

(15) after initial approval of accreditation, a fee of $200 a 
year for operation of a qualifying inspector education program; 

(16) a fee of $50 plus the following fees per classroom hour 
approved by the Commission for each qualifying inspector education 
course for a period of four years: 

(A) $5 for content and examination review; 

(B) $5 for classroom delivery design and presentation 
review; and 

(C) $10 for distance education delivery design and pre-
sentation review. 

(17) a fee of $400 for filing an application for accreditation 
as a continuing inspector education provider for a period of two years; 

(18) a fee of $50 plus the following fees per classroom hour 
approved by the Commission for each continuing inspector education 
course for a period of two years: 

(A) $2.50 for content and examination review; 

(B) $2.50 for classroom delivery design and presenta-
tion review; and 

(C) $5 for distance education delivery design and pre-
sentation review. 

(19) the fee required under paragraphs (16)(C) and (18)(C) 
of this subsection will be waived if the course has already been certi-
fied by a distance learning certification center acceptable to the Com-
mission;[.] 

(20) for an applicant who submits an application prior to 
September 1, 2023, a fee of $10 for deposit in the Real Estate Inspec-
tion Recovery Fund upon an applicant's successful completion of an 
examination; and 

(21) the fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
and Texas Department of Public Safety for fingerprinting or other ser-
vice for a national or state criminal history check in connection with a 
license application. 

(b) Fees established by this section must be paid when an ap-
plication is filed and are not refundable once an application has been 
accepted for filing. 

(c) If the Commission receives an application that requires 
payment of a fee, and a sufficient fee was not submitted with the 
application, the Commission will return the application and notify the 
person filing the application that the person must pay the fee before 
the application will be processed. 

(d) If a payment to the Commission by or on behalf of a li-
cense holder or applicant is dishonored or reversed by a bank or other 
financial institution, the Commission shall send a request for payment 
of the dishonored or reversed payment by certified mail to the last 
known mailing address of the license holder or applicant as shown in 
the records of the Commission. If the Commission has sent a request 
for payment in accordance with the provisions of this section, and the 
license holder or applicant fails to make good on the payment in the 
form of a cashier's check, money order, or credit card payment within 
30 days after the Commission has mailed the request, the license will 
be placed on inactive status. 

(e) Placing a license on inactive status under this section does 
not preclude the Commission from proceeding under §1101.652(a)(3), 
Texas Occupations Code, against a license holder who has failed to 

make good a payment issued to the Commission within a reasonable 
time. 

§535.219. Schedule of Administrative Penalties. 

(a) The Commission may suspend or revoke a license or take 
other disciplinary action authorized by Chapter 1102 in addition to or 
instead of assessing the administrative penalties set forth in this section. 

(b) The administrative penalties set forth in this section con-
sider the criteria listed in §1101.702(b) of the Act. 

(c) An administrative penalty range of $100 - $1,500 per vio-
lation per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections 
of Chapter 1101, Chapter 1102 and this subchapter: 

(1) §1101.652(a)(8); 

(2) §1102.118; 

(3) §1102.305; 

[(4) §1102.364; ] 

(4) [(5)] 22 TAC §535.216(c); 

(5) [(6)] 22 TAC §535.217; 

(6) [(7)] 22 TAC §535.220(a) - (d) and (g); 

(7) [(8)] 22 TAC §535.221; and 

(8) [(9)] 22 TAC §535.223. 

(d) An administrative penalty range of $500 - $3,000 per vio-
lation per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections 
of Chapter 1101, Chapter 1102 and this subchapter: 

(1) §§1101.652(a)(3) - (4); 

(2) §1102.301; 

(3) 22 TAC §535.222; 

(4) 22 TAC §535.226(d) - (e); and 

(5) 22 TAC §§535.227 - 535.233. 

(e) An administrative penalty of $1,000 - $5,000 per violation 
per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections of 
Chapter 1101, Chapter 1102 and this subchapter: 

(1) §§1101.652(a)(2), (5) - (6); 

(2) §1102.101; 

(3) §1102.102; 

(4) §1102.103; 

(5) §1102.302; 

(6) §1102.303; 

(7) §1102.304; 

(8) 22 TAC §535.208(e)(2); 

(9) 22 TAC §535.211; 

(10) 22 TAC §535.215; 

(11) 22 TAC §535.220(e)(1), (3) - (7); and 

(12) 22 TAC §535.224(b)(1) - (2). 

(f) The Commission may assess an administrative penalty 
of up to two times that outlined under subsections (c), (d), and (e) 
of this section, subject to the maximum penalties authorized under 
§1101.702(a) of the Act, if a person has a history of previous viola-
tions. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal 
authority to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302887 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Expiration date: December 29, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 537. PROFESSIONAL 
AGREEMENTS AND STANDARD CONTRACTS 
22 TAC §537.62 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) adopts on an emer-
gency basis amendments to 22 TAC §537.62, Standard Contract 
Form TREC No. OP-H, Seller's Disclosure Notice; in Chapter 
537, Professional Agreements and Standard Contracts. Texas 
real estate license holders are generally required to use forms 
promulgated by TREC when negotiating contacts for the sale of 
real property, although some forms--like the Seller's Disclosure 
Notice--are adopted by the Commission for voluntary use by li-
cense holders. Contract forms are drafted and recommended for 
proposal by the Texas Real Estate Broker-Lawyer Committee, an 
advisory body consisting of six attorneys appointed by the Pres-
ident of the State Bar of Texas, six brokers appointed by TREC, 
and one public member appointed by the governor. The Texas 
Real Estate Broker-Lawyer Committee recommended revisions 
to the contract forms adopted by reference under the amend-
ments adopted on an emergency basis to Chapter 537 to com-
ply with statutory changes enacted by the 88th Legislature in HB 
697. 
The Seller's Disclosure Notice is updated to comply with the re-
quirements of HB 697, which becomes effective September 1, 
2023, and which add a disclosure related to fuel gas piping to 
the statutorily-required notice. 

The identical rule is also being proposed under §2001.023 and 
§2001.029, Texas Government Code. 
The amendments are adopted on an emergency basis under 
Texas Occupations Code, §1101.151, which authorizes the 
Texas Real Estate Commission to adopt and enforce rules 
necessary to administer Chapters 1101 and 1102; and to es-
tablish standards of conduct and ethics for its license holders 
to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 1102 and ensure 
compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. The amendments are 
also adopted on an emergency basis under Texas Occupations 
Code §1101.155, which allows the Commission to adopt rules 
in the public's best interest that require license holders to use 
contract forms prepared by the Broker-Lawyer Committee and 
adopted by the Commission. 
The statute affected by these amendments adopted on an emer-
gency basis is Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1101. No other 
statute, code or article is affected by the emergency amend-
ments. 
§537.62. Standard Contract Form TREC No. 55-0 [OP-H], Seller's 
Disclosure Notice. 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (Commission) adopts by reference 
standard contract form TREC No. 55-0 [OP-H] approved by the Com-
mission in 2023 [2019] for voluntary use to fulfill the disclosure re-
quirements of Texas Property Code § 5.008. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal 
authority to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302888 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Expiration date: December 29, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 
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TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 23. TEXAS REAL ESTATE 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 531. CANONS OF PROFESSIONAL 
ETHICS AND CONDUCT 
22 TAC §531.18 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §531.18, Consumer Information, in Chapter 
531, Canons of Professional Ethics and Conduct. 
The amendments to 22 TAC §531.18 are proposed to reflect 
statutory changes enacted by the 88th Legislature in HB 1363, 
which eliminated the real estate inspection recovery fund. As a 
result, references to that fund are removed from the Consumer 
Protection Notice form adopted by reference and the version 
number in the rule is updated. 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in ef-
fect there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units 
of local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for 
small businesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or lo-
cal or state employment as a result of implementing the pro-
posed amendments. There is no significant economic cost antic-
ipated for persons who are required to comply with the proposed 
amendments. Accordingly, no Economic Impact Statement or 
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is required. 
Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
clarity in the rules and consistency with the applicable statutory 
requirements. 
For each year of the first five years the proposed amendments 
are in effect the amendments will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 
-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 

-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa E. Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151 and §1101.202. Section 1101.151 authorizes the 
Texas Real Estate Commission to adopt and enforce rules nec-
essary to administer Chapters 1101 and 1102; and to establish 
standards of conduct and ethics for its license holders to fulfill 
the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 1102 and ensure compli-
ance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. Section 1101.202 requires 
the Commission to prescribe a notice containing the name, 
mailing address, and telephone number of the Commission for 
the purpose of directing a complaint to the commission; and 
establish methods by which consumers and service recipients 
are provided the notice by a person regulated under Chapter 
1101 or 1102. 
The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapters 1101 and 1102. No other statute, code or article 
is affected by the proposed amendments. 
§531.18. Consumer Information. 

(a) The Commission adopts by reference the Consumer Pro-
tection Notice, TREC No. CN 1-5 [CN 1-4]. This document is pub-
lished by and available from the Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. 
Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, www.trec.texas.gov. 

(b) Each license holder shall provide the notice adopted under 
subsection (a) by: 

(1) displaying it in a readily noticeable location in each 
place of business the broker maintains; and 

(2) providing a link to it in a readily noticeable place on the 
homepage of each business website, labeled: 

(A) "Texas Real Estate Commission Consumer Protec-
tion Notice", in at least 10 point font; or 

(B) "TREC Consumer Protection Notice", in at least 12 
point font. 

(c) For purposes of this section, business website means a 
website on the internet that: 

(1) is accessible to the public; 
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(2) contains information about a license holder's real estate 
brokerage services; and 

(3) the content of the website is controlled by the license 
holder. 

(d) For purposes of providing the link required under subsec-
tion (b)(2) on a social media platform, the link may be located on: 

(1) the account holder profile; or 

(2) a separate page or website through a direct link from 
the social media platform or account holder profile. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302891 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 535. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
SUBCHAPTER B. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
RELATING TO THE REQUIREMENTS OF 
LICENSURE 
22 TAC §535.4, §535.5 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.4, License Required, and §535.5, License 
Not Required, in Chapter 535, General Provisions. 
The amendments are proposed to implement statutory changes 
enacted by the 88th Legislature in SB 1577, which become ef-
fective January 1, 2024. Currently, Chapter 1101, Occupations 
Code, requires business entities who receive compensation on 
behalf of a license holder to be licensed as a broker. SB 1577 
allows certain entities-limited liability companies and s-corpora-
tions (as that term is defined by federal law)-to register with the 
Commission in lieu of obtaining a license. In order to be eligi-
ble for registration, these exempted entities must: (i) perform no 
acts of a broker, other than receiving said compensation on be-
half of a license holder; and (ii) be at least 51 percent owned by 
the license holder on whose behalf the business entity receives 
compensation. The proposed rule changes reflect this statutory 
change. 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of 
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. 
There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or local or state 
employment as a result of implementing the proposed amend-
ments. There is no significant economic cost anticipated for 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed amend-
ments. Accordingly, no Economic Impact Statement or Regula-
tory Flexibility Analysis is required. 

Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed are in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
clarity in the rules and consistency with the applicable statutory 
requirements. 
Except as noted below, for each year of the first five years the 
proposed amendments are in effect, the amendments will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 
-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 
-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
SB 1577 limits an existing regulation by exempting certain busi-
ness entities from licensure requirements as detailed above. By 
doing so, it decreases the number of individual license holders 
who must obtain licenses on behalf of these entities. However, 
the licensure requirement is replaced with a registration require-
ment. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations 
Code, §1101.151 and §1101.355, as that section is amended by 
SB 1577. Section 1101.151 authorizes the Texas Real Estate 
Commission to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer 
Chapters 1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct 
and ethics for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chap-
ters 1101 and 1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 
and 1102. Section 1101.355, as amended by SB 1577, requires 
the Commission to adopt rules providing for the registration of 
an exempted business entity. 
The statute affected by this proposal is Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected by the 
proposed amendments. 
§535.4. License Required. 

(a) The Act applies to any person acting as a real estate broker 
or sales agent while physically within Texas, regardless of the location 
of the real estate involved or the residence of the person's customers 
or clients. For the purposes of the Act, a person conducting brokerage 
business from another state by mail, telephone, the Internet, email, or 
other medium is acting within Texas if the real property concerned is 
located wholly or partly in Texas. 

(b) This section does not prohibit cooperative arrange-
ments between foreign brokers and Texas brokers pursuant to 
§1101.651(a)(2) of the Act and §535.131 of this chapter (relating to 
Unlawful Conduct; Splitting Fees). 
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(c) Unless otherwise exempted by the Act, a person must be 
licensed as a broker or sales agent to show a property. For purposes 
of this section, to "show" a property includes causing or permitting 
the property to be viewed by a prospective buyer or tenant, unlocking 
or providing access onto or into a property for a prospective buyer or 
tenant, and hosting an open house at the property. 

(d) A license holder may permit a prospective tenant un-
escorted access to view a property available for rent or lease only if: 

(1) the property is vacant, meaning no person lives at, and 
no personal property except property intended to remain or convey is 
stored at, the property; 

(2) the license holder employs a method to control access 
and verify the identity of the prospective tenant; and 

(3) the property owner has signed a written consent that 
sets out in bold print in at least 12-point font that: 

(A) the property owner is aware that unescorted access 
may occur; and 

(B) specifies whether the broker enabling unescorted 
access or the property owner will be responsible for any damage that 
results from such unescorted access. 

(e) The employees, agents, or associates of a licensed broker 
must be licensed as brokers or sales agents if they direct or supervise 
other persons who perform acts for which a license is required. 

(f) A real estate license is required for a person to solicit list-
ings or to negotiate in Texas for listings. 

(g) Unless otherwise exempted by §535.5 of this chapter (re-
lating to License Not Required) and §1101.355(d) of the Act, a [A] 
business entity owned by a broker or sales agent which receives com-
pensation on behalf of the license holder must be licensed as a broker 
under the Act. 

(h) A person controls the acceptance or deposit of rent from 
a resident of a single-family residential real property unit and must be 
licensed under the Act if the person has the authority to: 

(1) use the rent to pay for services related to management 
of the property; 

(2) determine where to deposit the rent; or 

(3) sign checks or withdraw money from a trust account. 

(i) For purposes of subsection (h) of this section, a single-fam-
ily residential real property unit includes a single-family home or a 
unit in a condominium, co-operative, row-home, or townhome. The 
term does not include a duplex, triplex, or four-plex unless the units 
are owned as a condominium, cooperative, row-home, or townhome. 

(j) A person must be licensed as a broker to operate a rental 
agency. 

(k) A real estate license is required of a subsidiary corporation, 
which, for compensation, negotiates in Texas for the sale, purchase, 
rent, or lease of its parent corporation's real property. 

(l) A person who arranges for a tenant to occupy a residential 
property must have a real estate license if the person: 

(1) does not own the property or lease the property from its 
owner; 

(2) receives valuable consideration; and 

(3) is not exempt under the Act. 

(m) A real estate license is required for a person to receive a 
fee or other consideration for assisting another person to locate real 
property for sale, purchase, rent, or lease, including the operation of a 
service which finds apartments or homes. 

(n) The compilation and distribution of information relating to 
rental vacancies or property for sale, purchase, rent, or lease is activity 
for which a real estate license is required if payment of any fee or other 
consideration received by the person who compiles and distributes the 
information is contingent upon the sale, purchase, rental, or lease of the 
property. An advance fee is a contingent fee if the fee must be returned 
if the property is not sold, purchased, rented, or leased. 

(o) A person must be licensed as a broker or sales agent if, for 
compensation, the person: 

(1) advertises for others regarding the sale, purchase, rent, 
or lease of real property; 

(2) accepts inquiries received in response to such advertise-
ments; and 

(3) refers the inquiry to the owner of the property. 

§535.5. License Not Required. 

(a) Acting as a principal, a person may purchase, sell, lease, 
or sublease real estate for profit without being licensed as a broker or 
sales agent. 

(b) A person who owns property jointly may sell and convey 
title to his or her interest in the property, but to act for compensation or 
with the expectation of compensation as an agent for the other owner, 
the person must be licensed unless otherwise exempted by the Act. 

(c) A real estate license is not required for an individual em-
ployed by a business entity for the purpose of buying, selling, or leasing 
real property for the entity. An entity is considered to be an owner if 
it holds record title to the property or has an equitable title or right ac-
quired by contract with the record title holder. An individual employed 
by a business entity means a person employed and directly compen-
sated by the business entity. An independent contractor is not an em-
ployee. 

(d) Trade associations or other organizations that provide an 
electronic listing service for their members, but do not receive com-
pensation when the real estate is sold, are not required to be licensed 
under the Act. 

(e) Auctioneers are not required to be licensed under the Act 
when auctioning real property for sale. However, a licensed auctioneer 
may not show the real property, prepare offers, or negotiate contracts 
unless the auctioneer is also licensed under the Act. 

(f) An answering service or clerical or administrative employ-
ees identified to callers as such to confirm information concerning the 
size, price, and terms of property advertised are not required to be li-
censed under the Act. 

(g) A business entity which receives compensation on behalf 
of a license holder that is earned by the license holder while engaged in 
real estate brokerage is not required to be licensed by the Commission 
if the business entity: 

(1) performs no other acts of a broker; 

(2) is: 

(A) a limited liability company as defined by §101.001, 
Business Organizations Code; or 

(B) an S corporation as defined by 26 U.S.C. Section 
1361; 
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(3) is at least 51 percent owned by the license holder on 
whose behalf the business entity receives compensation; and 

(4) is registered with the Commission as provided by 
§535.35 of this chapter (relating to Registration of Certain Business 
Entities). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302892 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §535.6 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.6, Equitable Interests in Real Property, in 
Chapter 535, General Provisions. 
Currently, a person may engage in "wholesaling"--that is, the 
practice of acquiring an option or entering into a contract to pur-
chase real property and then selling or assigning the interest in 
the contract to another--without a real estate license, as long as 
certain disclosures are made to the buyer of the interest. 
The amendments are proposed to implement statutory changes 
enacted by the 88th Legislature in SB 1577, which requires first, 
that disclosure also be made to the original seller, and second, 
that the disclosures be in writing. Subsection (c) is being re-
moved to more closely align with the statutory language. Finally, 
a non-substantive change is made for consistency throughout 
the chapter. 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of 
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. 
There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or local or state 
employment as a result of implementing the proposed amend-
ments. There is no significant economic cost anticipated for 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed amend-
ments. Accordingly, no Economic Impact Statement or Regula-
tory Flexibility Analysis is required. 
Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed are in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
clarity in the rules and consistency with the applicable statutory 
requirements. 
Except as noted below, for each year of the first five years the 
proposed amendments are in effect the amendments will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 

-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 
-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 
-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule’s applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state’s economy. 
SB 1577 expands an existing regulation by requiring disclosure 
to sellers and that the disclosure be in writing. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. The 
amendments are also proposed under §1101.0045, Texas Occu-
pations Code, which establishes the statutory basis for the rule. 
The statute affected by this proposal is Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected by the 
proposed amendments. 
§535.6. Equitable Interests in Real Property. 

(a) A person may acquire an option or enter into a contract to 
purchase real property and then sell or offer to sell the option or assign 
or offer to assign the interest in the contract without having a real estate 
license if the person: 

(1) does not use the option or contract to purchase to en-
gage in real estate brokerage; and 

(2) discloses in writing the nature of the [their] equitable 
interest to any seller or potential buyer. 

(b) A person selling or offering to sell an option or assigning 
or offering to assign an interest in a contract to purchase real property 
without disclosing the nature of that interest as provided by subsection 
(a) of this section [to a potential buyer] is engaging in real estate bro-
kerage. 

[(c) A license holder who is engaging in real estate brokerage 
by selling or buying or offering to sell or buy an option or assigning 
or offering to assign an interest in a contract to purchase real property 
must disclose to any potential seller or buyer that the principal is selling 
or buying an option or assigning an interest in a contract and does not 
have legal title to the real property.] 

(c) [(d)] A license holder acting on his or her own behalf or in 
a capacity described by §535.144(a) of this chapter (relating to When 
Acquiring or Disposing of Own Property or Property of Spouse, Parent 
or Child) who is selling an option or assigning an interest in a contract to 
purchase real property must disclose in writing to any seller or potential 
buyer that the license holder is selling an option or assigning an interest 
in a contract and that the license holder does not have legal title to the 
real property. 
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302896 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. EXEMPTIONS TO 
REQUIREMENTS OF LICENSURE 
22 TAC §535.35 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes new 22 
TAC §535.35, Registration of Certain Business Entities, in Chap-
ter 535, General Provisions. 
New §535.35 is proposed to implement statutory changes en-
acted by the 88th Legislature in SB 1577, which becomes ef-
fective January 1, 2024. Currently, §1101.355(c), Occupations 
Code, requires business entities who receive compensation on 
behalf of a license holder to be licensed as a broker. Licensure 
requires certain conditions be satisfied, including, for instance, 
that the entity have a designated broker and payment of an ini-
tial license application fee of $150 and a subsequent $72 appli-
cation fee to renew. SB 1577 amends §1101.355 by allowing 
certain entities-limited liability companies and s-corporations (as 
that term is defined by federal law)-to register with the Commis-
sion in lieu of obtaining a license and requires the Commission 
to adopt rules providing for this registration. The proposed new 
rule outlines the requirements these exempt business entities 
must follow to register the business entity with the Commission. 
The proposed changes also provide a term for the registration 
once issued, as well as an obligation to certify continuing com-
pliance. Additionally, SB 1577 also amends §1101.152, Occupa-
tions Code, which specifically directs the Commission to adopt a 
rule to charge and collect fees in amounts reasonable and nec-
essary to cover the costs of registering a business entity. There-
fore, the changes set forth the fee obligations for such registra-
tion and certification of continued compliance. Finally, under the 
proposal, a license holder must also notify the Commission in 
writing not later than the 10th day after the date the business en-
tity no longer qualifies for the exemption. 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed new rule is in effect there 
will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local gov-
ernment as a result of enforcing or administering the sections. 
There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or local or state 
employment as a result of implementing the proposed new rule. 
There is no significant economic cost anticipated for persons 
who are required to comply with the proposed new rule. Accord-
ingly, no Economic Impact Statement or Regulatory Flexibility 
Analysis is required. 
Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit 

anticipated as a result of enforcing the new rule will be greater 
clarity in the rules and consistency with the applicable statutory 
requirements. 
Except as noted below, for each year of the first five years the 
proposed new rule is in effect the new rule will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 
-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 
-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
The proposed changes limit an existing regulation by exempt-
ing certain business entities from licensure requirements as de-
tailed above. By doing so, it decreases the number of individ-
ual license holders who must obtain licenses on behalf of these 
entities. However, the licensure requirement is replaced with a 
registration requirement and decreased associated fees paid to 
the agency. Section 1101.152, as amended by SB 1577, also 
requires the Commission to charge and collect reasonable and 
necessary fees to cover the costs of the registration of certain 
business entities. However, entities that will ultimately be eligible 
for registration as of January 1, 2024, must currently be licensed 
and pay the fees for such licensure, including a $150 initial ap-
plication fee. Licensure also requires renewal and with that, a 
new set of fees, including a $72 renewal fee. Therefore, while 
this creates new fees associated with registration and certifica-
tion of compliance, these fees are lower than what individuals 
would be required to pay to obtain an original license and renew 
that license. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa E. Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The new rule is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151 and §1101.355, as that section is amended by SB 
1577. Section 1101.151 authorizes the Texas Real Estate 
Commission to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer 
Chapters 1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct 
and ethics for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chap-
ters 1101 and 1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 
and 1102. Section 1101.355, as amended by SB 1577, requires 
the Commission to adopt rules providing for the registration of 
an exempted business entity. 
The statutes affected by this proposal is Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapters 1101. No other statute, code or article is 
affected by the proposed new rule. 
§535.35. Registration of Certain Business Entities. 
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(a) For purposes of this section, an "exempt business entity" 
means a business entity which is exempt from the requirements of be-
ing licensed under §535.5(g) of this chapter (relating to License Not 
Required) and §1101.355(d) of the Act. 

(b) Before an exempt business entity may receive compensa-
tion on behalf of a license holder, the license holder must: 

(1) register the business entity with the Commission on a 
form approved by the Commission; 

(2) pay a $140 fee to the Commission; and 

(3) provide supporting documentation satisfactory to the 
Commission demonstrating the entity meets the requirements for ex-
emption. 

(c) Term of Registration; Certification. 

(1) A registration issued under this section is valid for two 
years from the date of issuance. 

(2) The Commission will deliver a notice regarding expi-
ration of the registration to the license holder three months before the 
expiration of the registration. 

(3) Failure to receive the notice from the Commission does 
not relieve a license holder from the requirements of this subsection. 

(4) Prior to the expiration of the registration, a license 
holder must: 

(A) certify on a form approved by the Commission that 
the exempt business entity continues to meet the requirements under 
this section; 

(B) pay a $70 fee to the Commission; and 

(C) provide supporting documentation as provided in 
subsection (b)(3) of this section, if determined necessary by the Com-
mission. 

(5) Failure to timely certify will result in expiration of the 
registration and loss of the exemption under §535.5(g) of this chapter 
and §1101.355(d) of the Act. 

(d) A license holder must notify the Commission not later than 
the 10th day after the date the business entity no longer satisfies the 
requirements of §535.5(g)(1)-(3) of this chapter and §1101.355(d) of 
the Act. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302893 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER E. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
LICENSURE 
22 TAC §535.58 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.58, License for Military Service Members, 

Veterans, or Military Spouses, in Chapter 535, General Provi-
sions. 
The amendments are proposed, in part, to implement statutory 
changes enacted by the 88th Legislature in SB 422, which first, 
expands out-of-state occupational license recognition to include 
military service members, as long as certain criteria are met. 
SB 422 also modifies the time period within which verification 
of good standing occurs, as well as issuance of a license after 
certain conditions are satisfied, from "as soon as practicable" 
to no later than 30 days. The bill also addresses the term of 
the license in situations of divorce or other events impacting the 
military spouse's status. The proposed rule amendments reflect 
these statutory changes. 
In addition, as a result of education requirements being added for 
easement and right-of-way agents (ERWs) during the 87th Leg-
islative Session, language is added making clear that ERW ap-
plicants must otherwise comply with the requirements in 22 TAC 
§535.400, unless excepted by §535.58. Additionally, language 
is being struck from the rule to better reflect the statutory frame-
work under Chapter 55, Occupations Code. Finally, a statement 
of purpose is being added to the rule to make clear that this rule 
addresses the requirements provided under Chapter 55, Occu-
pations Code, and not federal law. 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in ef-
fect there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units 
of local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for 
small businesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or lo-
cal or state employment as a result of implementing the pro-
posed amendments. There is no significant economic cost antic-
ipated for persons who are required to comply with the proposed 
amendments. Accordingly, no Economic Impact Statement or 
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is required. 
Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed are in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
clarity in the rules and consistency with the applicable statutory 
requirements. 
Except as noted below, for each year of the first five years the 
proposed amendments are in effect the amendments will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 
-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 
-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
The proposed changes will expand an existing regulation and 
will increase the number of individuals subject to the rule's ap-
plicability, as required by SB 422. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
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and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commis-
sion to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chap-
ters 1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and 
ethics for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 
1101 and 1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 
1102. The amendments are also proposed under §55.0041, as 
amended by SB 422, which requires agencies to adopt rules for 
the recognition of out-of-state licenses for military service mem-
bers and military spouses, and §55.005, which requires expe-
dited licenses for military service members, military veterans, 
and military spouse. 
The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapters 1101 and 1102. No other statute, code or article 
is affected by the proposed amendments. 
§535.58. License for Military Service Members, Veterans, or Military 
Spouses. 

(a) Definitions. 

(1) "Military service member" means a person who is on 
current full-time military service in the armed forces of the United 
States or active duty military service as a member of the Texas military 
forces, as defined by §437.001, Government Code, or similar military 
service of another state. 

(2) "Military spouse" means a person who is married to a 
military service member. 

(3) "Veteran" means a person who has served as a military 
service member and who was discharged or released from active duty. 

(b) Except as otherwise provide by this section: 

(1) a person applying for a sales agent or broker license 
under this chapter must comply with all requirements of §535.51 of this 
chapter (relating to General Requirements for a Real Estate License); 
[and] 

(2) a person applying for an inspector license under this 
chapter must comply with all requirements of §535.208 of this chapter 
(relating to Application for a License); and 

(3) a person applying for a certificate of registration un-
der this chapter must comply with all requirements of §535.400 of this 
chapter (relating to Registration of Easement or Right-of-Way Agents). 

(c) Expedited application. 

(1) The Commission shall process a license for an applicant 
who is a military service member, military veteran, or military spouse 
on an expedited basis. 

(2) If the applicant holds a current certificate or license is-
sued by a country, territory, or state other than Texas that has licensing 
requirements that are substantially equivalent to the requirements for 
the certificate or license issued in Texas, the Commission shall issue 
the license not later than the 30th day [as soon as practicable] after re-
ceipt of the application. 

(d) Waiver of fees and requirements. 

(1) The Commission shall waive application and examina-
tion fees for an applicant who is a: 

(A) military service member or veteran whose military 
service, training, or education substantially meets all of the require-
ments for a license; or 

(B) military service member, veteran, or military 
spouse who holds a current license issued by another jurisdiction that 
has licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to the 
requirements for the same license in this state. 

(2) The Executive Director may waive any other require-
ments for obtaining a license for an applicant who: 

(A) meets the requirements of subsection (c)(2) of this 
section; or 

(B) held a license in Texas within the five years preced-
ing the date the application is filed with the Commission. 

(e) Credit for military service. 

(1) For an applicant who is a military service member or 
veteran, the Commission shall credit any verifiable military service, 
training or education obtained by an applicant that is relevant to a li-
cense toward the requirements of a license. 

(2) This subsection does not apply to an applicant who 
holds a restricted license issued by another jurisdiction. 

(f) Alternate methods of competency. The Commission may 
accept alternative methods for demonstrating an applicant's compe-
tency in the place of passing the specific licensing examination, or 
completing education and/or experience required to obtain a particular 
license. Based on the applicant's circumstances and the requirements 
of a particular license, the Commission may consider any combination 
of the following as alternative methods of demonstrating competency: 

(1) education; 

(2) continuing education; 

(3) examinations (written and/or practical); 

(4) letters of good standing; 

(5) letters of recommendation; 

(6) work experience; or 

(7) other methods required by the Executive Director. 

(g) Limited reciprocity for military service members and mil-
itary spouses. 

(1) A person who is a military service member or military 
spouse who holds a current certificate or license issued by a country, 
territory, or state other than Texas that has licensing requirements that 
are substantially equivalent to the requirements for the certificate or 
license issued in Texas who wants to practice in Texas in accordance 
with §55.0041, Occupations Code, must: 

(A) notify the Commission of the person's intent to 
practice in Texas on a form approved by the Commission; and 

(B) submit a copy of the military identification card is-
sued to the person; and 

(2) Upon receipt of the documents required under para-
graph (1) of this subsection, the Commission will: 

(A) no later than 30 days, verify that the person is cur-
rently licensed and in good standing by another jurisdiction with sub-
stantially equivalent licensing requirements to Texas; and 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(B) upon confirmation from the other jurisdiction that 
the person is currently licensed and in good standing with that juris-
diction, issue a license to the person for the same period in which the 
person is licensed or certified by the other jurisdiction. 

(3) A person may not practice in Texas in accordance with 
this subsection without receiving confirmation from the Commission 
that the Commission has verified that the person is currently licensed 
and in good standing with another jurisdiction. Confirmation is pro-
vided by the Commission when the person is issued a license as pro-
vided for in paragraph (2) of this subsection. 

(4) A license issued under this subsection may not be re-
newed. 

[(5) After expiration of the initial license, if a person wants 
to continue to practice in accordance with this subsection, it is the re-
sponsibility of the person to seek confirmation from Commission that 
the person continues to meet the requirements to practice under this 
subsection by submitting a form approved by the Commission certify-
ing that:] 

[(A) the person is still currently licensed and in good 
standing with another jurisdiction with substantially equivalent licens-
ing requirements to Texas; and] 

[(B) the person's spouse is still stationed at a military 
installation in this state.] 

[(6) Upon verification by Commission that the person still 
meets the requirements under this subsection, the Commission will is-
sue another license for the same period in which the person is currently 
licensed or certified by the other jurisdiction.] 

(5) [(7)] The time period for which a person may practice 
under this subsection without meeting the requirements for licensure 
in Texas is limited to the lesser of: 

(A) the period during which the person or person's 
spouse is stationed at a military installation in this state; or 

(B) three years. 

(6) [(8)] A person authorized to practice in this state under 
this subsection must comply will all other laws and regulations appli-
cable to the license, including any sponsorship requirements. 

(7) Notwithstanding paragraph (5) of this subsection, in the 
event of a divorce or similar event that affects a person’s status as a 
military spouse, the spouse may continue to practice for three years 
from the date of the issuance of the license under this subsection. 

(h) The purpose of this section is to establish procedures au-
thorized or required by Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, and is not 
intended to modify or alter rights that may be provided under federal 
law. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302897 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

SUBCHAPTER N. SUSPENSION AND 
REVOCATION OF LICENSURE 
22 TAC §535.147 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.147, Splitting Fee with Unlicensed Per-
son, in Chapter 535, General Provisions. 
The amendments are proposed to implement statutory changes 
enacted by the 88th Legislature in SB 1577, which become ef-
fective January 1, 2024. Currently, Chapter 1101, Occupations 
Code, requires business entities who receive compensation on 
behalf of a license holder to be licensed as a broker. SB 1577 
allows certain entities--limited liability companies and s-corpora-
tions (as that term is defined by federal law)--to register with the 
Commission in lieu of obtaining a license. In order to be eligi-
ble for registration, these exempted entities must: (i) perform no 
acts of a broker, other than receiving said compensation on be-
half of a license holder; and (ii) be at least 51 percent owned by 
the license holder on whose behalf the business entity receives 
compensation. The proposed rule changes reflect this statutory 
change. 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of 
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. 
There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or local or state 
employment as a result of implementing the proposed amend-
ments. There is no significant economic cost anticipated for 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed amend-
ments. Accordingly, no Economic Impact Statement or Regula-
tory Flexibility Analysis is required. 
Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed are in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
clarity in the rules and consistency with the applicable statutory 
requirements. 
Excepted as noted below, for each year of the first five years the 
proposed amendments are in effect the amendments will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 
-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 
-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
SB 1577 limits an existing regulation by exempting certain busi-
ness entities from licensure requirements as detailed above. By 
doing so, it decreases the number of individual license holders 
who must obtain licenses on behalf of these entities. However, 
the licensure requirement is replaced with a registration require-
ment. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations 
Code, §1101.151 and §1101.355, as that section is amended by 
SB 1577. Section 1101.151 authorizes the Texas Real Estate 
Commission to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer 
Chapters 1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct 
and ethics for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chap-
ters 1101 and 1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 
and 1102. Section 1101.355, as amended by SB 1577, requires 
the Commission to adopt rules providing for the registration of 
an exempted business entity. 
The statute affected by this proposal is Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected by the 
proposed amendments. 
§535.147. Splitting Fee with Unlicensed Person. 

(a) Except as otherwise provided by the Act or Commission 
rules, a broker or sales agent may not share a commission or fees with 
any person who engages in acts for which a license is required and is 
not actively licensed as a broker or sales agent. 

(b) An unlicensed person may share in the income earned by 
a business entity licensed as a broker or exempted from the licensing 
requirements under the Act if the person engages in no acts for which 
a license is required and does not lead the public to believe that the 
person is in the real estate brokerage business. 

(c) A broker or sales agent may not share a commission or fees 
with an unlicensed business entity created by a license holder for the 
purpose of collecting a commission or fees on behalf of the license 
holder, unless the entity is exempted from the requirements of licensure 
as provided by §535.5 of this chapter (relating to License Not Required) 
and §1101.355(d) of the Act. 

(d) A license holder may rebate or pay a portion of the license 
holder's fee or commission to a party in the transaction when the sales 
agent has the written consent of the sales agent's sponsoring broker and 
the party represented by the license holder. A commission or fee may 
not be paid to any party to the transaction in a manner that misleads 
a broker, lender, title company, or governmental agency regarding the 
real estate transaction or the financial resources or obligations of the 
buyer. A license holder who intends to pay a portion of the license 
holder's fee or commission to a party the license holder does not rep-
resent must obtain the written consent of the party represented by the 
license holder before making the payment. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302894 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

SUBCHAPTER Q. ADMINISTRATIVE 
PENALTIES 
22 TAC §535.191 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.191, Schedule of Administrative Penal-
ties, in Chapter 535, General Provisions. 
The amendments are proposed to address a violation of 22 TAC 
§535.157 (relating to Obligation to Respond Timely), which was 
recently adopted by the Commission. Current rule 535.157 obli-
gates a broker and sales agent to respond to his or her principal, 
a broker or sales agent representing another party to a real es-
tate transaction, or an unrepresented party of a real estate trans-
action within two calendar days. Under the proposed changes 
to §535.191, a violation of §535.157 could result in an adminis-
trative penalty of $100 - $1,500 per violation per day. 
This proposed change is recommended by the Commission's 
Enforcement Committee. 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of 
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. 
There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or local or state 
employment as a result of implementing the proposed amend-
ments. There is no significant economic cost anticipated for 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed amend-
ments. Accordingly, no Economic Impact Statement or Regula-
tory Flexibility Analysis is required. 
Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed are in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
clarity and consistency in the rules, as well as greater consumer 
protection. 
For each year of the first five years the proposed amendments 
are in effect the amendments will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 
-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 
-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule's applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commis-
sion to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chap-
ters 1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and 
ethics for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 
1101 and 1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 
1102. The amendments are also proposed under Texas Occu-
pations Code, §1101.702, which requires the Commission adopt 
by rule a schedule of administrative penalties. 
The statute affected by this proposal is Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected by the 
proposed amendments. 
§535.191. Schedule of Administrative Penalties. 

(a) The Commission may suspend or revoke a license or take 
other disciplinary action authorized by the Act in addition to or instead 
of assessing the administrative penalties set forth in this section. 

(b) The administrative penalties set forth in this section take 
into consideration all of the criteria listed in §1101.702(b) of the Act. 

(c) An administrative penalty range of $100 - $1,500 per vio-
lation per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections 
of the Act and Rules: 

(1) §1101.552; 

(2) §1101.652(a)(3); 

(3) §1101.652(a)(8); 

(4) §1101.652(a-1)(3); 

(5) §1101.652(b)(23); 

(6) §1101.652(b)(29); 

(7) §1101.652(b)(33); 

(8) 22 TAC §535.21(a); 

(9) 22 TAC §535.53; 

(10) 22 TAC §535.65; 

(11) 22 TAC §535.91(d); 

(12) 22 TAC §535.121; 

(13) 22 TAC §535.154; 

(14) 22 TAC §535.155; [and] 

(15) 22 TAC §535.157; and 

(16) [(15)] 22 TAC §535.300. 

(d) An administrative penalty range of $500 - $3,000 per vio-
lation per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections 
of the Act and Rules: 

(1) §§1101.652(a)(4) - (7); 

(2) §1101.652(a-1)(2); 

(3) §1101.652(b)(1); 

(4) §§1101.652(b)(7) - (8); 

(5) §1101.652(b)(12); 

(6) §1101.652(b)(14); 

(7) §1101.652(b)(22); 

(8) §1101.652(b)(28); 

(9) §§1101.652(b)(30) - (31); 

(10) §1101.654(a); 

(11) 22 TAC §531.18; 

(12) 22 TAC §531.20; 

(13) 22 TAC §535.2; 

(14) 22 TAC §535.6(c) - (d); 

(15) 22 TAC §535.16; 

(16) 22 TAC §535.17; and 

(17) 22 TAC §535.144. 

(e) An administrative penalty range of $1,000 - $5,000 per vi-
olation per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections 
of the Act and Rules: 

(1) §1101.351; 

(2) §1101.366(d); 

(3) §1101.557(b); 

(4) §1101.558; 

(5) §§1101.559(a) and (c); 

(6) §1101.560; 

(7) §1101.561(b); 

(8) §1101.615; 

(9) §1101.651; 

(10) §1101.652(a)(2); 

(11) §1101.652(a-1)(1); 

(12) §§1101.652(b)(2) - (6); 

(13) §§1101.652(b)(9) - (11); 

(14) §1101.652(b)(13); 

(15) §§1101.652(b)(15) - (21); 

(16) §§1101.652(b)(24) - (27); 

(17) §1101.652(b)(32); 

(18) 22 TAC §535.141(f); 

(19) 22 TAC §§535.145 - 535.148; and 

(20) 22 TAC §535.156. 

(f) The Commission may assess an additional administrative 
penalty of up to two times that assessed under subsections (c), (d) and 
(e) of this section, subject to the maximum penalties authorized under 
§1101.702(a) of the Act, if a person has a history of previous violations. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302898 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 
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SUBCHAPTER R. REAL ESTATE 
INSPECTORS 
22 TAC §535.210, §535.219 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.210, Fees and §535.219, Schedule of 
Administrative Penalties, in Chapter 535, General Provisions. 
The amendments are being proposed to reflect statutory 
changes enacted by the 88th Legislature in HB 1363, which 
eliminated the real estate inspection recovery fund. The pro-
posed changes to 535.210 reflect the fact that for applications 
submitted as of September 1, 2023, the $10 fee will no longer 
be required. The proposed changes to §535.219 replace a re-
pealed statutory section with a related rule--22 TAC §535.220(g) 
(although related, this rule is authorized by another statutory 
provision). 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of 
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. 
There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or local or state 
employment as a result of implementing the proposed amend-
ments. There is no significant economic cost anticipated for 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed amend-
ments. Accordingly, no Economic Impact Statement or Regula-
tory Flexibility Analysis is required. 
Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed are in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
clarity in the rules and consistency with the applicable statutory 
requirements. 
Except as noted below, for each year of the first five years the 
proposed amendments are in effect the amendments will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 
-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 
-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule’s applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state’s economy. 
By eliminating the real estate inspection recovery fund, for 
those inspector applicants submitting an application on or after 
September 1, 2023, they will no longer be required to pay the 
$10 fee upon successful completion of the exam. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-

sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commis-
sion to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chap-
ters 1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and 
ethics for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 
1101 and 1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 
1102. The amendments are also proposed under Texas Occupa-
tions Code, §1102.403, which allows the Commission to impose 
an administrative penalty as provided by Subchapter O, Chapter 
1101 pursuant to that section. 
The statute affected by this proposal is Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 1102. No other statute, code or article is affected by the 
proposed amendments. 
§535.210. Fees. 

(a) The Commission shall charge and collect the following 
fees: 

(1) a fee of $60 for filing an original or reinstatement ap-
plication for a license as an apprentice inspector; 

(2) a fee of $100 for filing an original or reinstatement ap-
plication for a license as a real estate inspector, which includes a fee 
for transcript evaluation; 

(3) a fee of $120 for filing an original or reinstatement ap-
plication for a license as a professional inspector, which includes a fee 
for transcript evaluation; 

(4) a fee of $30 for the timely renewal of the license of an 
apprentice inspector; 

(5) a fee of $50 for the timely renewal of the license of a 
real estate inspector; 

(6) a fee of $60 for the timely renewal of the license of a 
professional inspector; 

(7) a fee equal to 1-1/2 times the timely renewal fee for the 
late renewal of a license within 90 days of expiration; 

(8) a fee equal to two times the timely renewal fee for the 
late renewal of a license more than 90 days but less than six months 
after expiration; 

(9) a fee for taking a license examination consisting of a 
national portion and a state portion or retaking the national part of the 
license examination; 

(10) a fee for taking a license examination without a na-
tional portion or retaking the state part of the license examination; 

(11) a fee of $50 to request an inactive professional inspec-
tor license be returned to active status; 

(12) a fee of $50 for the filing of a fitness determination; 

(13) the fee required by the Department of Information Re-
sources as a subscription or convenience fee for use of an online pay-
ment system; 

(14) a fee of $400 for filing an application for accreditation 
of a qualifying inspector education program for a period of four years; 

(15) after initial approval of accreditation, a fee of $200 a 
year for operation of a qualifying inspector education program; 

(16) a fee of $50 plus the following fees per classroom hour 
approved by the Commission for each qualifying inspector education 
course for a period of four years: 
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(A) $5 for content and examination review; 

(B) $5 for classroom delivery design and presentation 
review; and 

(C) $10 for distance education delivery design and pre-
sentation review. 

(17) a fee of $400 for filing an application for accreditation 
as a continuing inspector education provider for a period of two years; 

(18) a fee of $50 plus the following fees per classroom hour 
approved by the Commission for each continuing inspector education 
course for a period of two years: 

(A) $2.50 for content and examination review; 

(B) $2.50 for classroom delivery design and presenta-
tion review; and 

(C) $5 for distance education delivery design and pre-
sentation review. 

(19) the fee required under paragraphs (16)(C) and (18)(C) 
of this subsection will be waived if the course has already been certi-
fied by a distance learning certification center acceptable to the Com-
mission;[.] 

(20) for an applicant who submits an application prior to 
September 1, 2023, a fee of $10 for deposit in the Real Estate Inspec-
tion Recovery Fund upon an applicant's successful completion of an 
examination; and 

(21) the fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
and Texas Department of Public Safety for fingerprinting or other ser-
vice for a national or state criminal history check in connection with a 
license application. 

(b) Fees established by this section must be paid when an ap-
plication is filed and are not refundable once an application has been 
accepted for filing. 

(c) If the Commission receives an application that requires 
payment of a fee, and a sufficient fee was not submitted with the 
application, the Commission will return the application and notify the 
person filing the application that the person must pay the fee before 
the application will be processed. 

(d) If a payment to the Commission by or on behalf of a li-
cense holder or applicant is dishonored or reversed by a bank or other 
financial institution, the Commission shall send a request for payment 
of the dishonored or reversed payment by certified mail to the last 
known mailing address of the license holder or applicant as shown in 
the records of the Commission. If the Commission has sent a request 
for payment in accordance with the provisions of this section, and the 
license holder or applicant fails to make good on the payment in the 
form of a cashier's check, money order, or credit card payment within 
30 days after the Commission has mailed the request, the license will 
be placed on inactive status. 

(e) Placing a license on inactive status under this section does 
not preclude the Commission from proceeding under §1101.652(a)(3), 
Texas Occupations Code, against a license holder who has failed to 
make good a payment issued to the Commission within a reasonable 
time. 

§535.219. Schedule of Administrative Penalties. 

(a) The Commission may suspend or revoke a license or take 
other disciplinary action authorized by Chapter 1102 in addition to or 
instead of assessing the administrative penalties set forth in this section. 

(b) The administrative penalties set forth in this section con-
sider the criteria listed in §1101.702(b) of the Act. 

(c) An administrative penalty range of $100 - $1,500 per vio-
lation per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections 
of Chapter 1101, Chapter 1102 and this subchapter: 

(1) §1101.652(a)(8); 

(2) §1102.118; 

(3) §1102.305; 

[(4) §1102.364]; 

(4) [(5)] 22 TAC §535.216(c); 

(5) [(6)] 22 TAC §535.217; 

(6) [(7)] 22 TAC §535.220(a) - (d) and (g); 

(7) [(8)] 22 TAC §535.221; and 

(8) [(9)] 22 TAC §535.223. 

(d) An administrative penalty range of $500 - $3,000 per vio-
lation per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections 
of Chapter 1101, Chapter 1102 and this subchapter: 

(1) §§1101.652(a)(3) - (4); 

(2) §1102.301; 

(3) 22 TAC §535.222; 

(4) 22 TAC §535.226(d) - (e); and 

(5) 22 TAC §§535.227 - 535.233. 

(e) An administrative penalty of $1,000 - $5,000 per violation 
per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections of 
Chapter 1101, Chapter 1102 and this subchapter: 

(1) §§1101.652(a)(2), (5) - (6); 

(2) §1102.101; 

(3) §1102.102; 

(4) §1102.103; 

(5) §1102.302; 

(6) §1102.303; 

(7) §1102.304; 

(8) 22 TAC §535.208(e)(2); 

(9) 22 TAC §535.211; 

(10) 22 TAC §535.215; 

(11) 22 TAC §535.220(e)(1), (3) - (7); and 

(12) 22 TAC §535.224(b)(1) - (2). 

(f) The Commission may assess an administrative penalty 
of up to two times that outlined under subsections (c), (d), and (e) 
of this section, subject to the maximum penalties authorized under 
§1101.702(a) of the Act, if a person has a history of previous viola-
tions. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302899 
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Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 537. PROFESSIONAL 
AGREEMENTS AND STANDARD CONTRACTS 
22 TAC §537.62 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §537.62, Standard Contract Form TREC No. 
OP-H, Seller’s Disclosure Notice; in Chapter 537, Professional 
Agreements and Standard Contracts. Texas real estate license 
holders are generally required to use forms promulgated by 
TREC when negotiating contacts for the sale of real property, 
although some forms--like the Seller’s Disclosure Notice--are 
adopted by the Commission for voluntary use by license holders. 
Contract forms are drafted and recommended for proposal by 
the Texas Real Estate Broker-Lawyer Committee, an advisory 
body consisting of six attorneys appointed by the President of 
the State Bar of Texas, six brokers appointed by TREC, and 
one public member appointed by the governor. The Texas Real 
Estate Broker-Lawyer Committee recommended revisions to 
the contract forms adopted by reference under the proposed 
amendments to Chapter 537 to comply with statutory changes 
enacted by the 88th Legislature in HB 697. 
The Seller’s Disclosure Notice is updated to comply with the re-
quirements of HB 697, which add a disclosure related to fuel gas 
piping to the statutorily-required notice. 
Vanessa E. Burgess, General Counsel, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of 
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. 
There is no adverse economic effect anticipated for small busi-
nesses, micro-businesses, rural communities, or local or state 
employment as a result of implementing the proposed amend-
ments. There is no significant economic cost anticipated for 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed amend-
ments. Accordingly, no Economic Impact Statement or Regula-
tory Flexibility Analysis is required. 
Ms. Burgess also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the sections as proposed are in effect, the public ben-
efits anticipated as a result of enforcing the sections as proposed 
will be improved clarity and requirements that are consistent with 
the statute. 
For each year of the first five years the proposed amendments 
are in effect the amendments will not: 
-create or eliminate a government program; 
-require the creation of new employee positions or the elimina-
tion of existing employee positions; 
-require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; 
-require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the agency; 
-create a new regulation; 

-expand, limit or repeal an existing regulation; 
-increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to the 
rule’s applicability; or 
-positively or adversely affect the state’s economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted through the online 
comment submission form at https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules-
and-laws/comment-on-proposed-rules, to Vanessa E. Burgess, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. The 
amendments are also proposed under Texas Occupations Code 
§1101.155, which allows the Commission to adopt rules in the 
public’s best interest that require license holders to use contract 
forms prepared by the Broker-Lawyer Committee and adopted 
by the Commission. 
The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected 
by the amendments. 
§537.62. Standard Contract Form TREC No. 55-0 [OP-H], Seller's 
Disclosure Notice. 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (Commission) adopts by reference 
standard contract form TREC No. 55-0 [OP-H] approved by the Com-
mission in 2023 [2019] for voluntary use to fulfill the disclosure re-
quirements of Texas Property Code §5.008. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302900 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 15. TEXAS VETERANS 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 460. FUND FOR VETERANS' 
ASSISTANCE 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
REGARDING THE FUND FOR VETERANS' 
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
40 TAC §460.2 

PROPOSED RULES August 25, 2023 48 TexReg 4605 

mailto:sel@trec.texas.gov
https://www.trec.texas.gov/rules


The Texas Veterans Commission (Commission) proposes 
amendments to Administrative Rules Chapter 460, Subchapter 
A, §460.2, Definitions. 
PART I. PURPOSE AND BACKGROUND 

The proposed amendments are made following a comprehen-
sive review of the chapter. Staff determined the need to update 
the rule language to ensure the agency's administrative rules are 
current and accurately reflect the Commission policies and pro-
cedures. Additionally, the changes will provide the Commission 
with more flexibility in awarding grant funds under the Veterans' 
Assistance Grant Program. 
PART II. EXPLANATION OF SECTIONS 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS REGARDING THE 
FUND FOR VETERANS' ASSISTANCE GRANT PROGRAM 

§460.2. Definitions. 
Paragraph (5) deletes expenditure benchmarks from the defini-
tions section and subsequent paragraphs are renumbered. 
Paragraph (7) changes the name of the definition from "Perfor-
mance Benchmarks" to "Performance Measures" and adds a 
definition for "Performance Measures." 
PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS 

FISCAL NOTE 

Coretta Briscoe, Chief Financial Officer of the Texas Veterans 
Commission, has determined for each year of the first five years 
the proposed rule amendment will be in effect, there will not be 
an increase in expenditures or revenue for state and local gov-
ernment as a result of administering the proposed rule. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

Ms. Briscoe has also determined there will not be anticipated 
economic costs to persons required to comply with the proposed 
rule. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

Anna Baker, Director, Veterans Employment Services of the 
Texas Veterans Commission, has determined that there will not 
be a significant impact upon employment conditions in the state 
from the proposed rule. 
SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO BUSINESS AND RURAL COMMU-
NITIES IMPACT 

Megan Tamez, Veterans Entrepreneur Program of the Texas Vet-
erans Commission, has determined that the proposed rule will 
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses, mi-
cro businesses or rural communities as defined in Texas Govern-
ment Code §2006.001. As a result, an Economic Impact State-
ment and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT 

Shawn Deabay, Deputy Executive Director of the Texas Veterans 
Commission, has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated 
as a result of administering the amended rule will increase par-
ticipation within each of the agency's three remaining advisory 
committees. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENTS 

Mr. Deabay has also determined that for each year of the first five 
years that the proposed rule amendment is in effect, the following 
statements will apply: 
(1) The proposed rule amendment will not create or eliminate a 
government program. 
(2) Implementation of the proposed rule amendment will not re-
quire creation of new employee positions or elimination of exist-
ing employee positions. 
(3) Implementation of the proposed rule amendment will not re-
quire an increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations 
to the agency. 
(4) No fees will be created by the proposed rule amendment. 
(5) The proposed rule amendment will not require new regula-
tions. 
(6) The proposed rule amendment has no effect on existing reg-
ulations. 
(7) The proposed rule amendment has no effect on the number 
of individuals subject to the rule's applicability. 
(8) The proposed rule amendment has no effect on this state's 
economy. 
PART IV. COMMENTS 

Comments on the proposed new rules may be submitted to 
Attention: General Counsel, Texas Veterans Commission, P.O. 
Box 12277, Austin, Texas 78711 or by fax to (512) 475-2395. 
Comments may also be submitted electronically to rulemak-
ing@tvc.texas.gov. For comments submitted electronically, 
please include "Chapter 460, Subchapter A, §460.2, Definitions" 
in the subject line. The deadline for submission of comments is 
twenty days from the date of publication of the proposed new 
section in the Texas Register. Comments should be organized 
in a manner consistent with the organization of the rule under 
consideration. 
PART V. STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The proposed amendments are authorized under Texas Govern-
ment Code §434.010, granting the Commission the authority to 
establish rules, and Texas Government Code §434.017, grant-
ing the Commission the authority to establish rules governing the 
award of grants by the Commission. 
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this proposal. 
§460.2. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Advisory Committee--The committee formed under 
§452.2(c) of this title (relating to Fund for Veterans' Assistance 
Advisory Committee). 

(2) Agency--The Texas Veterans Commission. 

(3) Commission--The members of the Texas Veterans 
Commission. 

(4) Disallowed Cost--A questioned cost that the Agency 
has determined, violates the conditions of the Grant Agreement, or 
other law, regulation, or other document governing the expenditures 
of funds. 

[(5) Expenditure Benchmark--The percent of the total 
grant award that must be expended and reported by designated time-
frames within the grant period. The specific timeframes are:] 

48 TexReg 4606 August 25, 2023 Texas Register 

mailto:ing@tvc.texas.gov


♦ ♦ ♦ 

[(A) If 25% of the grant period has elapsed, at least 15% 
of the total award amount must have been expended;] 

[(B) If 50% of the grant period has elapsed, at least 40% 
of the total award must have been expended; and] 

[(C) If 75% of the grant period has elapsed, at least 70% 
of the total award must have been expended.] 

(5) [(6)] Grantee--An organization that receives a grant 
award under this chapter. 

(6) [(7)] Performance Measures [Benchmark]--The bench-
marks the Texas Veterans Commission establishes and must be met 
within the grant period. These approved benchmarks will be included 
in the Fund for Veterans Assistance Request for Application. [The per-
cent of each minimum required performance measure that must be met 
and reported by designated timeframes within the grant period. The 
specific timeframes are:] 

[(A) If 25% of the grant period has elapsed, at least 15% 
of minimum required performance measure targets must have been 
met;] 

[(B) If 50% of the grant period has elapsed, at least 40% 
of minimum required performance measure targets must have been 
met; and] 

[(C) If 75% of the grant period has elapsed, at least 70% 
of minimum required performance measure targets must have been 
met.] 

(7) [(8)] Questioned Cost--A cost that has been identified 
to be: 

(A) an alleged violation of a provision of the Grant 
Agreement, law, regulation, or other agreement or document govern-
ing the expenditure of funds; 

(B) a cost that is not supported by adequate documen-
tation; or 

(C) a cost that is unnecessary or unreasonable. 

(8) [(9)] Received by the Agency--Documents may be sent 
electronically or by U.S. Mail, overnight delivery, hand delivery, or 
courier service. 

(9) [(10)] Reimbursement Grant--The Texas Veterans 
Commission Fund for Veterans' Assistance awards grants on a cost 
reimbursement basis. Under the cost reimbursement method of 
funding, a Grantee is required to finance its operations, beyond any 
authorized initial costs or payments, with its own working capital 
with Grant payments made to reimburse the Grantee for actual cash 
disbursements supported by adequate documentation. 

(10) [(11)] Units of Local Government--A county, munic-
ipality, special district, school district, junior college district, a local 
workforce development board created under §2308.253, Texas Gov-
ernment Code, or other legally constituted political subdivision of the 
state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302956 
Kathleen Cordova 
General Counsel 
Texas Veterans Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (737) 320-4167 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION 

PART 4. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
LICENSING AND REGULATION 

CHAPTER 97. MOTOR FUEL METERING 
AND QUALITY 
SUBCHAPTER B. MOTOR FUEL METERING 
DEVICES 
16 TAC §§97.20 - 97.22, 97.27 

The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation withdraws 
proposed amendment §§97.20 - 97.22, 97.27 which appeared 
in the March 24, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 
1612). 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302930 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 10, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
16 TAC §97.32, §97.33 

The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation withdraws 
proposed new §97.32 and §97.33, which appeared in the March 
24, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 1612). 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302931 

Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 10, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS 

PART 13. TEXAS COMMISSION ON 
FIRE PROTECTION 

CHAPTER 463. ADVISORY COMMITTEES, 
PRACTICE AND PROCEDURES 
37 TAC §§463.1, 463.3, 463.5, 463.7, 463.9, 463.11, 463.13,
463.15, 463.17 

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection withdraws proposed 
new §§463.1, 463.3, 463.5, 463.7, 463.9, 463.11, 463.13, 
463.15, 463.17, which appeared in the May 26, 2023, issue of 
the Texas Register (48 TexReg 2679). 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302939 
Mike Wisko 
Agency Chief 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: August 11, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3841 

WITHDRAWN RULES August 25, 2023 48 TexReg 4609 





TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND 
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 355. REIMBURSEMENT RATES 
SUBCHAPTER A. COST DETERMINATION 
PROCESS 
1 TAC §355.112 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts an amendment to §355.112, concerning Attendant Com-
pensation Rate Enhancement. Section 355.112 is adopted with 
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 7, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3565). This rule will be 
republished. 
BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

Title 42, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) §441.301(c)(4)(i) 
- (v) requires home and community-based settings in programs 
authorized by §1915(c) of the Social Security Act to have cer-
tain qualities, including being integrated into and supporting full 
access of individuals to the greater community. HHSC adopted 
rules to implement individualized skills and socialization in the 
December 23, 2022, issue of the Texas Register. 

The 2022-2023 General Appropriations Act (GAA), Senate Bill 
(S.B.) 1, 87th Legislature, Regular Session, 2021 (Article II, 
Health and Human Services Commission, Rider 23) authorized 
funding for the provision of individualized skills and socialization 
in the Home and Community-based Services (HCS), Texas 
Home Living (TxHmL), and Deaf-Blind with Multiple Disabilities 
(DBMD) programs. HHSC adopted rates for individualized 
skills and socialization based on the available appropriations, 
effective January 1, 2023. The amendment replaces day habili-
tation with individualized skills and socialization services for the 
Attendant Compensation Rate Enhancement Program. 
The amendment clarifies that providers contracted with a 
managed care organization to provide attendant care services 
may participate in the Attendant Compensation Rate Enhance-
ment Program through their managed care organizations. The 
amendment removes references to Community Based Alter-
natives (CBA)--Assisted Living/Residential Care (AL/RC) and 
CBA--Home and Community Support Services (HCSS). These 
programs were carved into managed care in 2015, and HHSC 
neither enrolls these providers in the Attendant Compensation 
Rate Enhancement Program nor determines spending require-
ments associated with the program. 
The amendment modifies several aspects of the Attendant 
Compensation Rate Enhancement Program. The amendment 

changes the requirements for participating providers to submit 
an attendant compensation report for determining spending re-
quirements in the Attendant Compensation Rate Enhancement 
Program. The amendment clarifies that if providers are required 
to submit a cost report for a rate year, HHSC will use the cost 
report as an attendant compensation report. For rate years in 
which participating providers are not required to submit a cost 
report, HHSC will require a subset of participating providers to 
submit an accountability report to serve as an attendant com-
pensation report. These providers will be selected at random 
from the total number of participating contracts that are not 
required to submit a cost report for a rate year. The number 
selected will represent a statistically valid sample of participating 
providers. The amendment modifies report submission require-
ments for contracts participating in the Attendant Compensation 
Rate Enhancement Program undergoing a change of ownership 
or a contract termination by relaxing the requirement that these 
providers must submit a report to HHSC. The amendment 
removes provisions allowing limited providers to submit the 
request for revision report or request for recalculation while 
modifying parameters regarding limitations. 
The amendment implements some recommendations in HHSC's 
legislative report, Rates: Intermediate Care Facilities and Cer-
tain Waiver Providers,required by the 2022-2023 GAA, S.B. 1, 
87th Legislature, Regular Session, 2021 (Article II, Health and 
Human Services Commission, Rider 30). The amendment re-
peals the requirement that an attendant must perform attendant 
functions at least 80 percent of his or her total time worked to be 
considered an attendant for determining spending requirements 
in the Attendant Compensation Rate Enhancement Program or 
for calculating the attendant compensation rate component. The 
amendment provides that any staff who performs attendant func-
tions to prevent a break in service will be considered an atten-
dant. 
The amendment modifies the methodology HHSC uses to calcu-
late the attendant compensation rate component for each atten-
dant service. HHSC will calculate the attendant compensation 
rate component by calculating a median of attendant compen-
sation cost center data weighted by each attendant service units 
of service from the most recent Medicaid cost report database. 
The attendant compensation cost component will be inflated us-
ing HHSC's inflation methodology from the cost reporting period 
to the prospective rate period and limited to available levels of 
state and federal appropriations. 
COMMENTS 

The 21-day comment period ended July 28, 2023. 
During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the 
proposed rule from four commenters, including the following 
organizations: the Providers Alliance for Community Services 
of Texas (PACSTX), Private Providers Association of Texas 
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(PPAT), Texas Association for Home Care & Hospice (TAHC&H), 
and the Texas Council of Community Centers (Texas Council). 
A summary of comments relating to §355.112 and HHSC's re-
sponses follow: 
Comment: Several commenters expressed support for the defi-
nition of attendant in §355.112(c). 
Response: HHSC appreciates the supportive comment regard-
ing this proposed change and will adopt this section without 
changes. No changes were made in response to this comment. 
Comment: Several commenters expressed opposition to the 
amendment to §355.112(m) to limit the attendant compensation 
rate component to available levels of appropriated state and 
federal funds as specified in §355.201 of this chapter (relating 
to Establishment and Adjustment of Reimbursement Rates for 
Medicaid). Commenters are concerned that the amendment 
changes the rate methodology allowing HHSC to bypass the 
true costs in the most recent provider cost report to what is 
adopted by the Legislature. Commenters contend the amend-
ment would give HHSC the ability to abdicate its responsibility 
as the state's Medicaid agency to inform the Legislature when 
appropriations fall short in supporting rates that ensure access 
to care. 
Response: HHSC will revise §355.112(m)(4) as it was not the 
agency's intention to limit the methodological rate component to 
appropriated levels but rather to emphasize that adopted rates 
are limited to available appropriations as already specified in 
§355.201. 
Comment: One commenter expressed concerns that the ser-
vice support portion of the attendant rate has not been upwardly 
adjusted since 2007, over 16 years. The rate methodology as 
proposed will prevent adjustment beyond the appropriation al-
lowing the continuation of insufficient funding of service supports 
and impacting every aspect of operations for community care. 
Response: HHSC disagrees, as the methodology related to the 
service support or administration and operations rate compo-
nents are outside the scope of the amendment to §355.112. No 
changes were made in response to this comment. 
Comment: Several commenters expressed opposition to remov-
ing recoupment recalculations from §355.112(n). 
Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to modify the rule be-
cause recalculations were a process affiliated with a retired cost 
report collection system and are no longer used under HHSC's 
current practices. A provider will still be able to request that 
HHSC reevaluate recoupment determinations if the provider be-
lieves there was an error in the original calculations. Further-
more, a provider can still seek an informal review and provide 
additional supporting information if the provider believes any re-
visions made during HHSC's financial examination process were 
made in error. 
Comment: Several commenters expressed opposition to elim-
inating a limited provider's opportunity to submit a request for 
revision during the annual open enrollment period for the atten-
dant compensation rate enhancement program. 
Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to make any change 
in response to this comment. The request for revision process 
allows a provider to overturn the provider's limitation by using 
unverified data, which could include unallowable costs. The rate 
enhancement program relies on a limited funding pool. There-
fore, the request for revision process may enable a provider who 

regularly misses the provider's spending requirements to remain 
in the program at a higher level and prevents a provider who 
meets program requirements from the opportunity to obtain a 
higher enhancement level. 
Comment: Several commenters expressed support for new sub-
section (i)(2), which specifies HHSC will require a subset of par-
ticipating contracted providers at random to submit an annual 
attendant compensation report on years a provider does not sub-
mit a cost report. It would be helpful for provider associations to 
know how HHSC plans to implement this provision, including the 
estimated number of providers HHSC plans to use to establish a 
statistically valid sample and how HHSC will define a statistically 
valid sample. 
Response: HHSC appreciates the supportive comments. HHSC 
will engage with stakeholders, including provider associations, 
regarding how §355.112(i)(2) will be implemented. No changes 
were made in response to this comment. 
Comment: Several commenters expressed support for new sub-
section (m)(3)(B), which clarifies which services in HCS are sub-
ject to the 1.07 inflator. Providers had expressed concerns about 
the application of a lower inflator for individualized skills and so-
cialization while still maintaining a facility. The proposed subsec-
tion appears to remedy those concerns. 
Response: HHSC appreciates the supportive comments. 
HHSC's intention with the amendment to §355.112(m)(3)(B) 
was to revise the rate methodology for individualized skills and 
socialization so that the 1.07 factor is applied to both on-site 
and off-site service rates. No changes were made in response 
to this comment. 
Editorial revisions were made to correct spelling and grammar. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner 
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies; Texas 
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive 
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; Texas 
Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code 
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to adminis-
ter the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas; 
and Texas Government Code §531.021(b-1), which establishes 
HHSC as the agency responsible for adopting reasonable 
rules governing the determination of fees, charges, and rates 
for Medicaid payments under Texas Human Resources Code 
Chapter 32. 
§355.112. Attendant Compensation Rate Enhancement. 

(a) Eligible programs. Providers contracted in the following 
programs are eligible to participate in the attendant compensation rate 
enhancement: 

(1) Community Living Assistance and Support Services 
(CLASS)--Direct Service Agency (DSA); 

(2) Day Activity and Health Services (DAHS); 

(3) Deaf-Blind with Multiple Disabilities Waiver 
(DBMD); 

(4) Home and Community-based Services (HCS); 

(5) Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intel-
lectual Disability or Related Conditions (ICF/IID) ("Related Condi-
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tions" has the same meaning as in 26 TAC §261.203 (relating to Defi-
nitions)); 

(6) Primary Home Care (PHC); 

(7) Residential Care (RC); and 

(8) Texas Home Living (TxHmL). 

(b) Managed Care Providers. A provider contracted with a 
managed care organization (MCO) to provide attendant care services 
may participate in any Attendant Compensation Rate Enhancement 
Program through the MCO with whom it is contracted, as provided by 
the MCO's managed care contract with HHSC. Each MCO is responsi-
ble for managing any Attendant Compensation Rate Enhancement Pro-
gram for its contracted providers, including provider enrollment and 
compliance with the program's spending requirements or any spending 
requirements imposed under state or federal law. 

(c) Definition of attendant. For the purposes of the Attendant 
Compensation Rate Enhancement Program under this section, an atten-
dant is an unlicensed caregiver providing direct assistance to individu-
als with Activities of Daily Living (ADL) and Instrumental Activities 
of Daily Living (IADL). 

(1) Attendants do not include the director, administrator, 
assistant director, assistant administrator, clerical and secretarial staff, 
professional staff, other administrative staff, licensed staff, attendant 
supervisors, cooks and kitchen staff, maintenance and groundskeeping 
staff, activity director, DBMD Interveners I, II or III, Qualified Intel-
lectual Disability Professionals (QIDPs) or assistant QIDPs, direct care 
worker supervisors, direct care trainer supervisors, job coach supervi-
sors, foster care providers, and laundry and housekeeping staff. Staff 
other than attendants may deliver attendant services and be considered 
an attendant if they must perform attendant services that cannot be de-
livered by another attendant to prevent a break in service. 

(2) An attendant also includes the following: 

(A) a driver who is transporting individuals in the 
DAHS, ICF/IID, and RC programs and the HCS SL/RSS and HCS 
and TxHmL individualized skills and socialization settings; 

(B) a medication aide in the HCS SL/RSS setting, 
ICF/IID, and RC programs; and 

(C) direct care workers, direct care trainers, job 
coaches, employment assistance direct care workers, and supported 
employment direct care workers. 

(d) Attendant compensation cost center. This cost center will 
include employee compensation, contract labor costs, and personal ve-
hicle mileage reimbursement for attendants as defined in subsection (c) 
of this section. 

(1) Attendant compensation is the allowable compensation 
for attendants defined in §355.103(b)(1) of this title (relating to Spec-
ifications for Allowable and Unallowable Costs) and required to be 
reported as either salaries and/or wages, including payroll taxes and 
workers' compensation, or employee benefits. Benefits required by 
§355.103(b)(1)(A)(iii) of this title to be reported as costs applicable 
to specific cost report line items, except as noted in paragraph (3) of 
this subsection, are not to be included in this cost center. For ICF/IID, 
attendant compensation is also subject to the requirements detailed in 
§355.457 of this title (relating to Cost Finding Methodology). For HCS 
and TxHmL, attendant compensation is also subject to the require-
ments detailed in §355.722 of this title (relating to Reporting Costs by 
Home and Community-based Services (HCS) and Texas Home Living 
(TxHmL) Providers). 

(2) Contract labor refers to personnel for whom the con-
tracted provider is not responsible for the payment of payroll taxes, 
such as FICA, Medicare, and federal and state unemployment insur-
ance, and who perform tasks routinely performed by employees where 
allowed by program rules. 

(3) Mileage reimbursement paid to the attendant for the use 
of his or her personal vehicle and which is not subject to payroll taxes 
is considered compensation for this cost center. 

(e) Rate year. The rate year begins on the first day of Septem-
ber and ends on the last day of August of the following year. 

(f) Open enrollment. Open enrollment begins on the first day 
of July and ends on the last day of that same July preceding the rate 
year for which payments are being determined. The Texas Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC) notifies providers of open en-
rollment via email sent to an authorized representative per the signa-
ture authority designation form applicable to the provider's contract or 
ownership type. Requests to modify a provider's enrollment status dur-
ing an open enrollment period must be received by HHSC by the last 
day of the open enrollment period through HHSC's enrollment portal 
or another method designated by HHSC. If the last day of open enroll-
ment is on a weekend day, state holiday, or national holiday, the next 
business day will be considered the last day requests will be accepted. 
If open enrollment has been postponed or canceled, HHSC will notify 
providers by email before the first day of July. Should conditions war-
rant, HHSC may conduct additional enrollment periods during a rate 
year. 

(g) Enrollment contract amendment. 

(1) For CLASS--DSA, DBMD, DAHS, RC and PHC, an 
initial enrollment contract amendment is required from each provider 
choosing to participate in the attendant compensation rate enhance-
ment. On the initial enrollment contract amendment, the provider must 
specify for each contract a desire to participate or not to participate and 
a preferred participation level. 

(2) For ICF/IID, HCS and TxHmL, an initial enrollment 
contract amendment is required from each provider choosing to par-
ticipate in the attendant compensation rate enhancement. On the ini-
tial enrollment contract amendment, the provider must specify for each 
component code a desire to participate or not to participate and a pre-
ferred participation level. All contracts of a component code within a 
specific program must either participate at the same level or not partic-
ipate. 

(A) For the ICF/IID program, the participating provider 
must also specify the services the provider wishes to participate in 
the attendant compensation rate enhancement. Eligible services are 
residential services and day habilitation services. The participating 
provider must specify whether the provider wishes to participate for 
residential services only, day habilitation services only or both resi-
dential services and day habilitation services. 

(B) For the HCS and TxHmL programs, eligible ser-
vices are divided into three categories. The three categories of services 
eligible for rate enhancement are the following: 

(i) non-individualized skills and socialization ser-
vices: 

(I) SHL/CFC PAS HAB/CSS; 

(II) in-home respite (IHR) and out-of-home 
respite (OHR); 

(III) supported employment (SE); and 

(IV) employment assistance (EA); 
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(ii) individualized skills and socialization services; 
and 

(iii) residential services: 

(I) SL; and 

(II) RSS. 

(C) The participating provider must specify which com-
bination of the three categories of services the attendant compensation 
rate enhancement will apply to. For providers delivering services in 
both the HCS and TxHmL programs, the selected categories must be 
the same for their HCS and TxHmL programs, except for residential 
services which are only available in the HCS program. 

(3) After initial enrollment, participating and nonpartici-
pating providers may request to modify their enrollment status during 
any open enrollment period as follows: 

(A) a nonparticipant can request to become a partici-
pant; 

(B) a participant can request to become a nonpartici-
pant; or 

(C) a participant can request to change its participation 
level. 

(4) Providers whose prior year enrollment was limited by 
subsection (v) of this section who request to increase their enrollment 
levels will be limited to increases of three or fewer enhancement levels 
during the first open enrollment period after the limitation. Providers 
that were subject to an enrollment limitation may request to participate 
at any level during open enrollment beginning two years after limita-
tion. 

(5) Requests to modify a provider's enrollment status dur-
ing an open enrollment period must be received by HHSC by the last 
day of the open enrollment period as per subsection (f) of this section. 
If the last day of open enrollment is on a weekend day, state holiday, or 
national holiday, the next business day will be considered the last day 
requests will be accepted. 

(6) For PHC, DAHS, RC, and CLASS--DSA providers 
from which HHSC has not received an acceptable request to modify 
their enrollment by the last day of the open enrollment period will 
continue at the level of participation in effect during the open enroll-
ment period within available funds until the provider notifies HHSC 
in accordance with subsection (y) of this section that it no longer 
wishes to participate or until the provider's enrollment is limited in 
accordance with subsection (v) of this section. 

(7) To be acceptable, an enrollment contract amendment 
must be completed according to instructions, signed by an authorized 
representative as per HHSC's signature authority designation form ap-
plicable to the provider's contract or ownership type, and legible. 

(h) Enrollment of new contracts. For the purposes of this sec-
tion, for each rate year a new contract is defined as a contract or compo-
nent code whose effective date is on or after the first day of the open en-
rollment period, as defined in subsection (f) of this section, for that rate 
year. Contracts that underwent a contract assignment or change of own-
ership and new contracts that are part of an existing component code are 
not considered new contracts. For purposes of this subsection, an ac-
ceptable contract amendment is defined as a legible enrollment contract 
amendment that has been completed according to instructions, signed 
by an authorized representative as per HHSC's signature authority des-
ignation form applicable to the provider's contract or ownership type, 
and received by HHSC within 30 days of notification to the provider 
that such an enrollment contract amendment must be submitted. If the 

30th day is on a weekend day, state holiday, or national holiday, the next 
business day will be considered the last day requests will be accepted. 
New contracts will receive the nonparticipant attendant compensation 
rate as specified in subsection (m) of this section with no enhancements. 
For new contracts specifying their desire to participate in the attendant 
compensation rate enhancement on an acceptable enrollment contract 
amendment, the attendant compensation rate is adjusted as specified in 
subsection (s) of this section, effective on the first day of the month fol-
lowing receipt by HHSC of an acceptable enrollment contract amend-
ment. If the granting of newly requested enhancements was limited by 
subsection (q)(2)(B) of this section during the most recent enrollment, 
enrollment for new contracts will be subject to that same limitation. If 
the most recent enrollment was canceled by subsection (f) of this sec-
tion, new contracts will not be permitted to be enrolled. 

(i) Attendant Compensation Report. 

(1) Definition of Attendant Compensation Report. An at-
tendant compensation report is a report reflecting the provider's activ-
ities while delivering contracted services from the first day of the rate 
year through the last day of the rate year or provider's cost report year 
while participating in the attendant compensation rate enhancement 
program. This report is used as the basis for determining compliance 
with the spending requirements as described in subsection (t) of this 
section. Cost and accountability reports requested by HHSC are con-
sidered attendant compensation reports, and preparers must complete 
mandatory training requirements per §355.102(d) of this subchapter 
(relating to General Principles of Allowable and Unallowable Costs). 

(2) Providers must file Attendant Compensation Reports 
as follows. HHSC will require a subset of participating contracted 
providers to submit an annual Attendant Compensation Report to 
HHSC in a method specified by HHSC. 

(A) Cost reports serving as Attendant Compensation 
Reports. If HHSC requires a participating provider to file a cost report 
for a rate year, HHSC will use that provider's cost report as an Atten-
dant Compensation Report as the basis for determining compliance 
with the spending requirements as described in subsection (t) of this 
section. 

(B) Accountability reports serving as Attendant Com-
pensation Reports. HHSC will require a select number of participating 
providers who are not required to submit a cost report for a rate year 
to submit an accountability report, which will serve as an Attendant 
Compensation Report as the basis for determining compliance with 
the spending requirements as described in subsection (t) of this sec-
tion. These providers will be selected at random from the total number 
of participating contracts that are not required to submit a cost report 
for a rate year. The number selected must represent a statistically valid 
sample of participating providers. 

(C) The Attendant Compensation Report must be sub-
mitted for each participating contract if the provider requested partici-
pation individually for each contract; or, if the provider requested par-
ticipation as a group, the report must be submitted as a single aggre-
gate report covering all contracts participating at the end of the rate 
year within one program of the provider. A participating contract that 
has been terminated in accordance with subsection (w) of this section 
or that has undergone a contract assignment in accordance with sub-
section (x) of this section will be considered to have participated on 
an individual basis for compliance with reporting requirements for the 
owner prior to the termination or contract assignment. 

(D) If required to submit a report by HHSC, contracted 
providers failing to submit an acceptable annual Attendant Compensa-
tion Report within 60 days of the end of the rate year will be placed 
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on vendor hold until such time as an acceptable report is received and 
processed by HHSC. 

(E) When a participating provider changes ownership 
through a contract assignment, the prior owner may be required to sub-
mit an Attendant Compensation Report covering the period from the 
beginning of the rate year to the effective date of the contract assign-
ment as determined by HHSC, or its designee. If required, this report 
will be used as the basis for determining any recoupment amounts as 
described in subsection (t) of this section. The new owner may be re-
quired to submit an Attendant Compensation Report covering the pe-
riod from the day after the date recognized by HHSC, or its designee, 
as the contract-assignment effective date to the end of the rate year. 

(F) Participating providers whose contracts are termi-
nated voluntarily or involuntarily may be required to submit an Atten-
dant Compensation Report covering the period from the beginning of 
the rate year to the date recognized by HHSC or its designee as the 
contract termination date. If required, this report will be used as the 
basis for determining recoupment as described in subsection (t) of this 
section. 

(G) Participating providers who voluntarily withdraw 
from participation, as described in subsection (y) of this section, may 
be required to submit an Attendant Compensation Report within 60 
days from the date of withdrawal as determined by HHSC. If required, 
this report must cover the period from the beginning of the rate year 
through the date of withdrawal as determined by HHSC and will be 
used as the basis for determining any recoupment amounts as described 
in subsection (t) of this section. 

(H) Participating providers whose cost report year, as 
defined in §355.105(b)(5) of this subchapter (relating to General Re-
porting and Documentation Requirements, Methods, and Procedures), 
coincides with the state of Texas fiscal year, are exempt from the re-
quirement to submit a separate Attendant Compensation Report. For 
these contracts, their cost report will be considered their Attendant 
Compensation Report. 

(3) Cost Reports. Cost reports as described in §355.105(b) 
- (c) of this subchapter will serve as the Attendant Compensation Re-
port with the following exceptions. 

(A) When a participating provider changes ownership 
through a contract assignment or change of ownership, the previous 
owner may be required to submit an Attendant Compensation Report 
covering the period from the beginning of the provider's cost reporting 
period to the date recognized by HHSC, or its designee, as the contract-
assignment or ownership-change effective date. If required, this report 
will be used as the basis for determining any recoupment amounts as 
described in subsection (t) of this section. The new owner may be 
required to submit a cost report covering the period from the day after 
the date recognized by HHSC or its designee as the contract-assignment 
or ownership-change effective date to the end of the provider's fiscal 
year. 

(B) When one or more contracts or, for the ICF/IID, 
HCS, and TxHmL programs, component codes of a participating 
provider are terminated, either voluntarily or involuntarily, the 
provider may be required to submit an Attendant Compensation 
Report for the terminated contract(s) or component code(s) covering 
the period from the beginning of the provider's cost reporting period 
to the date recognized by HHSC, or its designee, as the contract or 
component code termination date. This report will be used as the basis 
for determining any recoupment amounts as described in subsection 
(t) of this section. 

(C) When one or more contracts or, for the ICF/IID, 
HCS and TxHmL programs, component codes of a participating 
provider are voluntarily withdrawn from participation as per sub-
section (y) of this section, the provider may be required to submit 
an Attendant Compensation Report within 60 days of the date of 
withdrawal as determined by HHSC, covering the period from the 
beginning of the provider's cost reporting period to the date of with-
drawal as determined by HHSC. If required, this report will be used 
as the basis for determining any recoupment amounts as described in 
subsection (t) of this section. These providers may still be required to 
submit a cost report covering the entire cost reporting period. The cost 
report will be used for determining any recoupment amounts. 

(D) For new contracts as defined in subsection (h) of 
this section, the cost reporting period will begin with the effective date 
of participation in the enhancement. 

(E) Existing providers who become participants in the 
enhancement as a result of the open enrollment process described in 
subsection (f) of this section on any day other than the first day of their 
fiscal year may be required to submit an Attendant Compensation Re-
port with a reporting period that begins on their first day of participa-
tion in the enhancement and ends on the last day of the provider's fiscal 
year. If required, this report will be used as the basis for determining 
any recoupment amounts as described in subsection (t) of this section. 
These providers may still be required to submit a cost report covering 
the entire cost reporting period. The cost report will be used for deter-
mining any recoupment amounts. 

(F) A participating provider that is required to submit 
a cost report or Attendant Compensation Report under this paragraph 
will be excused from the requirement to submit a report if the provider 
did not provide any billable attendant services to HHSC recipients dur-
ing the reporting period. 

(4) Other reports. HHSC may require other reports from 
all contracts as needed. 

(5) Vendor hold. HHSC, or its designee, will place on hold 
the vendor payments for any participating provider who does not sub-
mit a timely report as described in paragraph (2) of this subsection com-
pleted in accordance with all applicable rules and instructions. This 
vendor hold will remain in effect until HHSC receives an acceptable 
report. 

(A) Participating contracts or, for the ICF/IID, HCS and 
TxHmL programs, component codes may be required to submit an At-
tendant and Compensation Report. Participating facilities required to 
submit an Attendant and Compensation Report that do not submit an 
acceptable report completed in accordance with all applicable rules and 
instructions within 60 days of the due dates described in this subsec-
tion or, for cost reports, the due dates described in §355.105(b) of this 
subchapter will become nonparticipants retroactive to the first day of 
the reporting period in question and will be subject to an immediate 
recoupment of funds related to participation paid to the contractor for 
services provided during the reporting period in question. These con-
tracts or component codes will remain nonparticipants and recouped 
funds will not be restored until they submit an acceptable report and 
repay to HHSC, or its designee, funds identified for recoupment from 
subsection (t) of this section. If an acceptable report is not received 
within 365 days of the due date, the recoupment will become perma-
nent and, if all funds associated with participation during the reporting 
period in question have been recouped by HHSC, or its designee, the 
vendor hold associated with the report will be released. 

(B) Participating contracts or, for the ICF/IID, HCS, 
and TxHmL programs, component codes that have terminated or under-
gone a contract assignment or ownership-change from one legal entity 

ADOPTED RULES August 25, 2023 48 TexReg 4615 



to a different legal entity may be required to submit an Attendant and 
Compensation Report. Participating facilities required to submit an At-
tendant and Compensation Report that do not submit an acceptable re-
port completed in accordance with all applicable rules and instructions 
within 60 days of the contract assignment, ownership-change, or ter-
mination effective date will become nonparticipants retroactive to the 
first day of the reporting period in question. These contracts or com-
ponent codes will remain nonparticipants, and recouped funds will not 
be restored until they submit an acceptable report and repay to HHSC, 
or its designee, funds identified for recoupment under subsection (t) of 
this section. If an acceptable report is not received within 365 days 
of the contract assignment, ownership-change, or termination effective 
date, the recoupment will become permanent and, if all funds asso-
ciated with participation during the reporting period in question have 
been recouped by HHSC, or its designee, the vendor hold associated 
with the report will be released. 

(6) Provider-initiated amended Attendant Compensation 
Reports and cost reports functioning as Attendant Compensation 
Reports. Reports must be received before the date the provider is 
notified of compliance with spending requirements for the report in 
question in accordance with subsection (t) of this section. 

(j) Report contents. Each Attendant Compensation Report and 
cost report functioning as an Attendant Compensation Report will in-
clude any information required by HHSC to implement this attendant 
compensation rate enhancement. 

(k) Completion of compensation reports. All Attendant Com-
pensation Reports and cost reports functioning as Attendant Compen-
sation Reports must be completed in accordance with the provisions 
of §§355.102 - 355.105 of this subchapter (relating to General Princi-
ples of Allowable and Unallowable Costs; Specifications for Allow-
able and Unallowable Costs; Revenues; and General Reporting and 
Documentation Requirements, Methods, and Procedures) and may be 
reviewed or audited in accordance with §355.106 of this subchapter 
(relating to Basic Objectives and Criteria for Audit and Desk Review 
of Cost Reports). All Attendant Compensation Reports and cost re-
ports functioning as Attendant Compensation Reports must be com-
pleted by preparers who have attended the required cost report training 
for the applicable program under §355.102(d) of this subchapter. For 
the ICF/IID program, cost reports functioning as Attendant Compensa-
tion Reports must also be completed in accordance with the provisions 
of §355.456 of this chapter (relating to Reimbursement Methodology). 
For the HCS and TxHmL programs, cost reports functioning as Atten-
dant Compensation Reports must also be completed in accordance with 
the provisions of §355.722 of this chapter (relating to Reporting Costs 
by Home and Community-based Services (HCS) and Texas Home Liv-
ing (TxHmL) Providers). 

(l) Enrollment. Providers choosing to participate in the atten-
dant compensation rate enhancement must submit to HHSC a signed 
enrollment contract amendment as described in subsection (g) of this 
section. Participation is determined separately for each program speci-
fied in subsection (a) of this section, except that for providers delivering 
both HCS and TxHmL services, participation includes both the HCS 
and TxHmL programs. For PHC, participation is also determined sep-
arately for priority and nonpriority services. For ICF/IID, participation 
is also determined separately for residential services and day habilita-
tion services. For HCS and TxHmL, participation is also determined 
separately for the non-individualized skills and socialization services, 
individualized skills and socialization services, and residential services 
categories as defined in subsection (g)(2)(B) of this section. Partici-
pation will remain in effect, subject to availability of funds, until the 
provider notifies HHSC, in accordance with subsection (y) of this sec-
tion, that it no longer wishes to participate or until HHSC excludes the 

contract from participation for reasons outlined in subsection (v) of this 
section. Contracts or component codes voluntarily withdrawing from 
participation will have their participation end effective with the date of 
withdrawal as determined by HHSC. Contracts or components codes 
excluded from participation will have their participation end effective 
on the date determined by HHSC. 

(m) Determination of attendant compensation rate component 
for nonparticipating contracts. 

(1) For CLASS--DSA; DAHS; DBMD; PHC; RC; 
STAR+PLUS AL; STAR+PLUS HCBS and Non-HCBS programs, 
HHSC will calculate an attendant compensation rate component for 
nonparticipating contracts by calculating a median of attendant com-
pensation cost center data as defined in subsection (d) of this section 
for each applicable attendant service, weighted by the applicable 
attendant service's units of service from the most recently examined 
cost report database for each program, and adjusted for inflation from 
the cost reporting period to the prospective rate period as specified in 
§355.108 (related to Determination of Inflation Indices). 

(A) The weighted median cost component is multiplied 
by 1.044 for CLASS--DSA, DBMD, PHC, STAR+PLUS HCBS, and 
Non-HCBS; and by 1.07 for DAHS, RC and STAR+PLUS AL. The re-
sult is the attendant compensation rate component for nonparticipating 
contracts. 

(B) If HHSC has insufficient cost data, the attendant 
compensation rate component will be established through a pro forma 
costing approach as defined in §355.105(h) of this subchapter. 

(2) For ICF/IID DH, ICF/IID residential services, HHSC 
will calculate an attendant compensation rate component for nonpartic-
ipating contracts for each service by calculating a median of attendant 
compensation cost center data as defined in subsection (d) of this sec-
tion for each DH and Residential services, weighted by ICF/IID units 
of service from the most recently examined ICF/IID cost report data-
base, and adjusted for inflation from the cost reporting period to the 
prospective rate period as specified in §355.108 (related to Determina-
tion of Inflation Indices). 

(A) The weighted median attendant cost component is 
adjusted by modeled direct care hours to unit ratios to determine atten-
dant compensation rate components for each level of need (LON). 

(B) The weighted median cost component is multiplied 
by 1.07 for both ICF/IID DH and residential services. 

(C) If HHSC has insufficient cost data, the attendant 
compensation rate component will be established through a pro forma 
costing analysis as defined in §355.105(h) of this subchapter. 

(3) For HCS and TxHmL programs, HHSC will calculate 
an attendant compensation rate component for nonparticipating con-
tracts for each service by calculating a median of attendant compensa-
tion cost center data as defined in subsection (d) of this section for each 
applicable attendant service, weighted by the applicable attendant ser-
vice's units of service from the most recently examined HCS/TxHmL 
cost report database, and adjusted for inflation from the cost reporting 
period to the prospective rate period as specified in §355.108 (related 
to Determination of Inflation Indices). 

(A) The weighted median cost component is multiplied 
by 1.044 for the following services: 

(i) EA; 

(ii) IHR; 

(iii) OHR in a camp; 
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(iv) OHR in a respite facility; 

(v) OHR in a setting where host home / companion 
care (HH/CC) is provided; 

(vi) OHR in a setting that is not listed; and 

(vii) SE; 

(B) The weighted median cost component is multiplied 
by 1.07 for the following services: 

(i) individualized skills and socialization services; 

(ii) OHR in an individualized skills and socializa-
tion facility; 

(iii) OHR in a setting with SL or RSS is provided; 

(vi) RSS; and 

(v) SL. 

(C) For services with rates that are variable by LON as 
specified in §355.723(b) of this chapter (relating to Reimbursement 
Methodology for Home and Community-based Services and Texas 
Home Living Programs), the weighted median attendant cost com-
ponent is adjusted by modeled direct care hours to unit or direct care 
staff to individual ratios to determine attendant compensation rate 
components for each LON. 

(D) If HHSC has insufficient cost data, the attendant 
compensation rate component will be established through a pro forma 
costing analysis as defined in §355.105(h) of this subchapter. 

(4) The adopted attendant compensation rate component 
for nonparticipating contracts will be limited to available levels of ap-
propriated state and federal funds as specified in §355.201 of this chap-
ter (relating to Establishment and Adjustment of Reimbursement Rates 
for Medicaid). 

(n) Determination of attendant compensation base rate for par-
ticipating contracts. For each of the programs identified in subsection 
(a) of this section, the attendant compensation base rate is equal to the 
attendant compensation rate component for nonparticipating contracts 
from subsection (m) of this section. 

(o) Determination of attendant compensation rate enhance-
ments. HHSC will determine a per diem add-on payment for each 
enhanced attendant compensation level using data from sources such 
as cost reports, surveys, and/or other relevant sources and taking 
into consideration quality of care, labor market conditions, economic 
factors, and budget constraints. The attendant compensation rate 
enhancement add-ons will be determined on a per-unit-of-service 
basis applicable to each program or service. Add-on payments may 
vary by enhancement level. 

(p) Enhanced attendant compensation. Contracts or compo-
nent codes desiring to participate in the enhanced attendant compensa-
tion rate may request attendant compensation levels from an array of 
enhanced attendant compensation options and associated add-on pay-
ments determined in subsection (o) of this section during open enroll-
ment. 

(1) ICF/IID providers must select a single attendant com-
pensation level for all contracts within a component code for the day 
habilitation and/or residential services they have selected for participa-
tion. 

(2) HCS and TxHmL must select a single attendant com-
pensation level for all contracts within a component code for the non-
individualized skills and socialization services and/or individualized 

skills and socialization services and/or residential services they have 
selected for participation. 

(q) Granting attendant compensation rate enhancements. Eli-
gible programs are divided into two populations for purposes of grant-
ing attendant compensation rate enhancements. The first population 
includes the PHC; DAHS; RC; CLASS--DSA; and DBMD programs, 
and the second population includes the ICF/IID; HCS; and TxHmL 
programs. Enhancements for the two populations are funded sepa-
rately; funds intended for enhancements for the first population of pro-
grams will never be used for enhancements for the second popula-
tion, and funds intended for enhancements for the second population 
of programs will never be used for enhancements for the first popu-
lation. For each population of programs, HHSC divides all requested 
enhancements, after applying any enrollment limitations from subsec-
tion (v) of this section, into two groups: pre-existing enhancements, 
which providers request to carry over from the prior year, and newly-re-
quested enhancements. Newly-requested enhancements may be en-
hancements requested by providers who were nonparticipants in the 
prior year or by providers who were participants in the prior year who 
seek additional enhancements. Using the process described herein sep-
arately for each population of programs, HHSC first determines the dis-
tribution of carry-over enhancements. If funds are available after the 
distribution of carry-over enhancements, HHSC determines the distri-
bution of newly-requested enhancements. HHSC may not distribute 
newly-requested enhancements to providers owing funds identified for 
recoupment under subsection (t) of this section. 

(1) For all programs and levels, HHSC determines pro-
jected units of service for contracts and/or component codes requesting 
each enhancement level and multiplies this number by the enhancement 
rate add-on amount associated with that enhancement level as deter-
mined in subsection (o) of this section. 

(2) HHSC compares the sum of the products from para-
graph (1) of this subsection to available funds. 

(A) If the sum of the products is less than or equal to 
available funds, all requested enhancements are granted. 

(B) If the sum of the products is greater than available 
funds, enhancements are granted beginning with the lowest level of 
enhancement and granting each successive level of enhancement un-
til requested enhancements are granted within available funds. Based 
upon an examination of existing compensation levels and compensa-
tion needs, HHSC may grant certain enhancement options priority for 
distribution. 

(r) Notification of granting of enhancements. Participating 
contracts and component codes are notified, in a manner determined 
by HHSC, as to the disposition of their request for attendant compen-
sation rate enhancements. 

(s) Total attendant compensation rate for participating 
providers. Each participating provider's total attendant compensation 
rate will be equal to the attendant compensation base rate from sub-
section (n) of this section plus any add-on payments associated with 
enhanced attendant compensation levels selected by and awarded to 
the provider during open enrollment. 

(t) Spending requirements for participating contracts and com-
ponent codes. HHSC will determine from the Attendant Compensa-
tion Report or cost report functioning as an Attendant Compensation 
Report, as specified in subsection (i) of this section and other appropri-
ate data sources, the amount of attendant compensation spending per 
unit of service delivered. The provider's compliance with the spending 
requirement is determined based on the total attendant compensation 
spending as reported on the Attendant Compensation Report or cost 
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report functioning as an Attendant Compensation Report for each par-
ticipating contract or component code. Compliance with the spending 
requirement is determined separately for each program specified in sub-
section (a) of this section, except for providers delivering services in 
both the HCS and TxHmL programs whose compliance is determined 
by combining both programs. HHSC will calculate recoupment, if any, 
as follows. 

(1) The accrued attendant compensation revenue per unit 
of service is multiplied by 0.90 to determine the spending requirement 
per unit of service. The accrued attendant compensation spending per 
unit of service will be subtracted from the spending requirement per 
unit of service to determine the amount to be recouped. If the accrued 
attendant compensation spending per unit of service is greater than or 
equal to the spending requirement per unit of service, there is no re-
coupment. 

(2) The amount paid for attendant compensation per unit 
of service after adjustments for recoupment must not be less than the 
amount determined for nonparticipating contracts or component codes 
in subsection (k) of this section. 

(3) In cases where more than one enhancement level is in 
effect during the reporting period, the spending requirement will be 
based on the weighted average enhancement level in effect during the 
reporting period calculated as follows. 

(A) Multiply the first enhancement level in effect dur-
ing the reporting period by the most recently available, reliable Med-
icaid units of service utilization data for the time period the first en-
hancement level was in effect. 

(B) Multiply the second enhancement level in effect 
during the reporting period by the most recently available, reliable 
Medicaid units of service utilization data for the time period the second 
enhancement level was in effect. 

(C) Sum the products from subparagraphs (A) and (B) 
of this paragraph. 

(D) Divide the sum from subparagraph (C) of this para-
graph by the sum of the most recently available, reliable Medicaid units 
of service utilization data for the entire reporting period used in sub-
paragraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph. 

(u) Notification of recoupment. The estimated amount to be 
recouped is indicated in the State of Texas Automated Information Re-
porting System (STAIRS), the online application for submitting cost 
reports and Attendant Compensation reports. STAIRS will generate an 
email to the entity contact, indicating that the provider's estimated re-
coupment is available for review. The entity contact is the provider's 
authorized representative per the signature authority designation form 
applicable to the provider's contract or ownership type. If a subsequent 
review by HHSC or audit results in adjustments to the Attendant Com-
pensation Report or cost reporting, as described in subsection (i) of this 
section, that change the amount to be repaid, the provider will be noti-
fied by email to the entity contact that the adjustments and the adjusted 
amount to be repaid are available in STAIRS for review. HHSC, or its 
designee, will recoup any amount owed from a provider's vendor pay-
ment(s) following the date of the initial or subsequent notification. For 
the HCS and TxHmL programs, if HHSC, or its designee, is unable to 
recoup owed funds in an automated fashion, the requirements detailed 
under subsection (dd) of this section apply. 

(v) Enrollment limitations. A provider will not be enrolled in 
the attendant compensation rate enhancement at a level higher than the 
level it achieved on its most recently available audited Attendant Com-
pensation Report or cost report functioning as an Attendant Compensa-
tion Report. HHSC will notify a provider of its enrollment limitations 

after HHSC has completed a financial examination of the report in ac-
cordance with §355.106 of this title (concerning Basic Objectives and 
Criteria for Audit and Desk Review of Cost Reports). 

(1) Notification of enrollment limitations. The enrollment 
limitation level is indicated in STAIRS. STAIRS will generate an 
e-mail to the entity contact, indicating that the provider's enrollment 
limitation level is available for review. 

(2) Informal reviews and formal appeals. The filing of a 
request for an informal review or formal appeal relating to a provider's 
most recently available audited Attendant Compensation Report or 
cost report functioning as an Attendant Compensation Report under 
§355.110 of this title (relating to Informal Reviews and Formal 
Appeals) does not stay or delay implementation of an enrollment limi-
tation applied in accordance with the requirements of this subsection. 
If an informal review or formal appeal relating to a provider's most 
recently available audited Attendant Compensation Report or cost 
report functioning as an Attendant Compensation Report is pending at 
the time the enrollment limitation is applied, the result of the informal 
review or formal appeal shall be applied to the provider's enrollment 
retroactively to the beginning of the rate year to which the enrollment 
limitation was originally applied. 

(3) New owners after a contract assignment or change of 
ownership that is an ownership change from one legal entity to a dif-
ferent legal entity. Enhancement levels for a new owner after a contract 
assignment or change of ownership that is an ownership change from 
one legal entity to a different legal entity will be determined in accor-
dance with subsection (i) of this section. A new owner after a contract 
assignment or change of ownership that is an ownership-change from 
one legal entity to a different legal entity will not be subject to enroll-
ment limitations based upon the prior owner's performance. 

(4) New providers. A new provider's enrollment will be 
determined in accordance with subsection (h) of this section. 

(w) Contract terminations. For contracted providers or com-
ponent codes required to submit an Attendant Compensation Report 
due to a termination as described in subsection (i) of this section, 
HHSC, or its designee, will place a vendor hold on the payments of 
the contracted provider until HHSC receives an acceptable Attendant 
Compensation Report, as specified in subsection (i) of this section, 
and funds identified for recoupment from subsection (t) of this section 
are repaid to HHSC or its designee. Informal reviews and formal 
appeals relating to these reports are governed by §355.110 of this 
title. HHSC, or its designee, will recoup any amount owed from 
the provider's vendor payments that are being held. In cases where 
funds identified for recoupment cannot be repaid from the held vendor 
payments, the responsible entity from subsection (dd) of this section 
will be jointly and severally liable for any additional payment due 
to HHSC or its designee. Failure to repay the amount due or submit 
an acceptable payment plan within 60 days of notification will result 
in the recoupment of the owed funds from other HHSC contracts 
controlled by the responsible entity, placement of a vendor hold on 
all HHSC contracts controlled by the responsible entity, and will bar 
the responsible entity from enacting new contracts with HHSC until 
repayment is made in full. The responsible entity for these contracts 
will be notified as described in subsection (u) of this section prior to 
the recoupment of owed funds, placement of vendor hold on additional 
contracts, and barring of new contracts. 

(x) Contract assignments. The following applies to contract 
assignments. 

(1) Definitions. The following words and terms have the 
following meanings when used in this subsection. 
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(A) Assignee--A legal entity that assumes a Commu-
nity Care contract through a legal assignment of the contract from the 
contracting entity as provided in 40 TAC §49.210 (relating to Contrac-
tor Change of Ownership or Legal Entity). 

(B) Assignor--A legal entity that assigns its Community 
Care contract to another legal entity as provided in 40 TAC §49.210. 

(C) Contract assignment--The transfer of a contract by 
one legal entity to another legal entity as provided in 40 TAC §49.210. 

(i) Type One Contract Assignment--A contract as-
signment by which the assignee is an existing Community Care con-
tract. 

(ii) Type Two Contract Assignment--A contract as-
signment by which the assignee is a new Community Care contract. 

(2) Participation after a contract assignment. Participation 
after a contract assignment is determined as follows: 

(A) Type One Contract Assignments. For Type One 
contract assignments, the assignee's level of participation remains 
the same while the assignor's level of participation changes to the 
assignee's. 

(B) Type Two Contract Assignments. For Type Two 
contract assignments, the level of participation of the assignor con-
tract(s) will continue unchanged under the assignee contract(s). 

(3) Reporting requirements. The assignee is responsible 
for the reporting requirements in subsection (i) of this section for any 
reporting period days occurring after the contract assignment effective 
date. If the contract assignment occurs during an open enrollment pe-
riod as defined in subsection (f) of this section, the owner recognized 
by HHSC, or its designee, on the last day of the enrollment period may 
request to modify the enrollment status of the contract in accordance 
with subsection (g) of this section. 

(4) Vendor holds. For contracted providers required to sub-
mit an Attendant Compensation Report due to contract assignment, as 
described in subsection (i) of this section, HHSC, or its designee, will 
place a vendor hold on the payments of the existing contracted provider 
until HHSC receives an acceptable Attendant Compensation Report, as 
specified in subsection (i) of this section, and until funds identified for 
recoupment from subsection (t) of this section are repaid to HHSC or its 
designee. HHSC, or its designee, will recoup any amount owed from 
the provider's vendor payments that are being held. In cases where 
funds identified for recoupment cannot be repaid from the held vendor 
payments, the responsible entity from subsection (dd) of this section 
will be jointly and severally liable for any additional payment due to 
HHSC or its designee. Failure to repay the amount due within 60 days 
of notification will result in the recoupment of the owed funds from 
other HHSC contracts controlled by the responsible entity, placement 
of a vendor hold on all HHSC contracts controlled by the responsible 
entity, and will bar the responsible entity from enacting new contracts 
with HHSC until repayment is made in full. The responsible entity for 
these contracts will be notified, as described in subsection (u) of this 
section, prior to the recoupment of owed funds, placement of vendor 
hold on additional contracts, and barring of new contract. 

(y) Voluntary withdrawal. Participating contracts or compo-
nent codes wishing to withdraw from the attendant compensation rate 
enhancement must notify HHSC in writing by certified mail and the 
request must be signed by an authorized representative as designated 
per the HHSC signature authority designation form applicable to the 
provider's contract or ownership type. The requests will be effective 
the first of the month following the receipt of the request. Contracts 
or component codes voluntarily withdrawing must remain nonpartici-

pants for the remainder of the rate year. Providers whose contracts are 
participating as part of a component code must request withdrawal of 
all the contracts in the component code. 

(z) Adjusting attendant compensation requirements. 
Providers that determine that they will not be able to meet their atten-
dant compensation requirements may request to reduce their attendant 
compensation requirements and associated enhancement payment to 
a lower participation level by submitting a written request to HHSC 
by certified mail, and the request must be signed by an authorized 
representative as designated per the HHSC signature authority desig-
nation form applicable to the provider's contract or ownership type. 
These requests will be effective the first of the month following the 
receipt of the request. Providers whose contracts are participating as 
part of a component code must request the same reduction for all of 
the contracts in the component code. 

(aa) All other rate components. All other rate components will 
continue to be calculated as specified in the program-specific reim-
bursement methodology and will be uniform for all providers. 

(bb) Failure to document spending. Undocumented attendant 
compensation expenses will be disallowed and will not be used in the 
determination of the attendant compensation spending per unit of ser-
vice in subsection (t) of this section. 

(cc) Appeals. Subject matter of informal reviews and formal 
appeals is limited as per §355.110 of this title. 

(dd) Responsible entities. The contracted provider, owner, or 
legal entity which received the attendant compensation rate enhance-
ment is responsible for the repayment of the recoupment amount. 

(1) HCS and TxHmL providers required to repay enhance-
ment funds will be jointly and severally liable for any repayment. 

(2) Failure to repay the amount due or submit an acceptable 
payment plan within 60 days of notification will result in placement of a 
vendor hold on all HHSC contracts controlled by the responsible entity. 

(ee) Manual Repayment. For the HCS and TxHmL programs, 
if HHSC, or its designee, is unable to recoup owed funds using an au-
tomated system, providers will be required to repay some or all of the 
enhancement funds to be recouped through a check, money order, or 
other non-automated method. Providers will be required to submit the 
required repayment amount within 60 days of notification. 

(ff) Determination of compliance with spending requirements 
in the aggregate. 

(1) Definitions. The following words and terms have the 
following meanings when used in this subsection. 

(A) Commonly owned corporations--two or more cor-
porations where five or fewer identical persons who are individuals, 
estates, or trusts own greater than 50 percent of the total voting power 
in each corporation. 

(B) Entity--a parent company, sole member, individual, 
limited partnership, or group of limited partnerships controlled by the 
same general partner. 

(C) Combined entity--one or more commonly owned 
corporations and one or more limited partnerships where the general 
partner is controlled by the same identical persons as the commonly 
owned corporation(s). 

(D) Control--greater than 50 percent ownership by the 
entity. 

(2) Aggregation. For an entity, for two or more commonly 
owned corporations, or for a combined entity that controls more than 
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one participating contract or component code in a program (with HCS 
and TxHmL considered a single program), compliance with the spend-
ing requirements detailed in subsection (t) of this section can be de-
termined in the aggregate for all participating contracts or component 
codes in the program controlled by the entity, commonly owned corpo-
rations, or combined entity at the end of the rate year, the effective date 
of the change of ownership of its last participating contract or compo-
nent code in the program, or the effective date of the termination of 
its last participating contract or component code in the program rather 
than requiring each contract or component code to meet its spending 
requirement individually. Corporations that do not meet the definitions 
under paragraph (1)(A) - (C) of this subsection are not eligible for ag-
gregation to meet spending requirements. 

(A) Aggregation Request. To exercise aggregation, the 
entity, combined entity, or commonly owned corporations must submit 
an aggregation request in a manner prescribed by HHSC at the time 
each Attendant Compensation Report or cost report is submitted. In 
limited partnerships in which the same single general partner controls 
all the limited partnerships, the single general partner must make this 
request. Other such aggregation requests will be reviewed on a case-
by-case basis. 

(B) Frequency of Aggregation Requests. The entity, 
combined entity, or commonly owned corporations must submit a sep-
arate request for aggregation for each reporting period. 

(C) Ownership changes or terminations. For the 
ICF/IID, HCS, TxHmL, DAHS, RC, and DBMD programs, contracts 
or component codes that change ownership or terminate effective 
after the end of the applicable reporting period, but prior to the 
determination of compliance with spending requirements as per sub-
section (t) of this section, are excluded from all aggregate spending 
calculations. These contracts' or component codes' compliance with 
spending requirements will be determined on an individual basis, and 
the costs and revenues will not be included in the aggregate spending 
calculation. 

(gg) Conditions of participation for ICF/IID day habilitation 
and HCS/TxHmL individualized skills and socialization services. The 
following conditions of participation apply to each ICF/IID, HCS, and 
TxHmL provider specifying its wish to have day habilitation services 
or individualized skills and socialization services participate in the at-
tendant compensation rate enhancement. 

(1) A provider who provides day habilitation or individu-
alized skills and socialization services in-house or who contracts with a 
related party to provide day habilitation or individualized skills and so-
cialization services will report job trainer and job coach compensation 
and hours on the required cost report items (e.g., hours, salaries and 
wages, payroll taxes, employee benefits/insurance/workers' compen-
sation, contract labor costs, and personal vehicle mileage reimburse-
ment). Day habilitation costs cannot be combined and reported in one 
cost report item. 

(2) A provider who contracts with a non-related party to 
provide day habilitation or individualized skills and socialization ser-
vices will report its payments to the contractor in a single cost report 
item as directed in the instructions for the cost report or Attendant Com-
pensation Report as described in subsection (i)(3) and (4) of this sec-
tion. HHSC will allocate 50 percent of reported payments to the at-
tendant compensation cost area for inclusion with other allowable day 
habilitation or individualized skills and socialization services attendant 
costs in order to determine the total attendant compensation spending 
for day habilitation or individualized skills and socialization services 
as described in subsection (t) of this section. 

(3) The provider must ensure access to any and all records 
necessary to verify information submitted to HHSC on Attendant Com-
pensation Reports and cost reports functioning as an Attendant Com-
pensation Report. 

(4) HHSC will require each ICF/IID, HCS, and TxHmL 
provider specifying their wish to have day habilitation or individual-
ized skills and socialization services participate in the attendant com-
pensation rate enhancement to certify during the enrollment process 
that it will comply with the requirements of paragraphs (1) - (3) of this 
subsection. 

(hh) New contracts within existing component codes. For 
ICF/IID, HCS, and TxHmL, new contracts within existing component 
codes will be assigned a level of participation equal to the existing 
component code's level of participation effective on the start date of 
the contract as recognized by HHSC or its designee. 

(ii) Disclaimer. Nothing in these rules should be construed as 
preventing providers from compensating attendants at a level above 
that funded by the enhanced attendant compensation rate. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302910 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 867-7817 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. REIMBURSEMENT 
METHODOLOGY FOR NURSING FACILITIES 
1 TAC §355.304, §355.308 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts new rule §355.304, concerning Direct Care Staff Spend-
ing Requirement on or after September 1, 2023, and an amend-
ment to §355.308, concerning Direct Care Staff Rate Compo-
nent. Section 355.304 and §355.308 are adopted with changes 
to the proposed text as published in the July 7, 2023, issue of 
the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3577). These rules will be re-
published. 
BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

The purpose of the adoption is to implement the 2024-25 Gen-
eral Appropriations Act (GAA), House Bill 1, 88th Legislature, 
Regular Session, 2023 (Article II, Health and Human Services 
Commission, Rider 24). Rider 24 provides appropriations for 
rate increases for nursing facilities. Nursing facilities must re-
port to HHSC on their biennial cost report information regarding 
the use of these funds, including information related to efforts 
to improve or maintain client care and quality of services, and 
to demonstrate that at least 90 percent of the funds were ex-
pended for the purpose of direct care staff wages or benefits. 
This new rule operationalizes the rider requirements to enable 
nursing facilities to receive increased reimbursement rates. The 
adoption also amends §355.308, related to the Direct Care Staff 
Rate Component. 
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HHSC is modifying the adopted amendments to lower the bench-
mark for the base rate calculation as described in detail in the 
comments and response summary section below. HHSC is mod-
ifying the adopted rule to reflect a 70 percent threshold for the 
direct care base rate spending floor instead of the 90 percent in 
the original proposal. Furthermore, HHSC is lowering the spend-
ing requirement in the direct care staff enhancement program by 
changing the direct care spending floor to 70 percent of direct 
care revenues from the current 85 percent requirement. HHSC 
is making this change upon adoption to align spending require-
ments related to the direct care rate increases in new §355.304 
and the direct care staff enhancement program in §355.308. 
The amendment to §355.308 maintains the deleted provisions 
related to request for revision report, the request for recalcula-
tion, and references to reinvestment. 
COMMENTS 

The 21-day comment period ended July 28, 2023. 
During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the 
proposed rules from approximately 400 commenters from 
the following organizations: Amarillo Center for Skilled Care; 
Amistad Nursing & Rehabilitation Center; Arbor Hills Rehabili-
tation and Healthcare Center; Beaumont Nursing and Rehab; 
Beaumont Nursing and Rehabilitation; Belterra Health & Re-
habilitation Center; Bertram Nursing Home & Rehabilitation 
Center; Big Spring Center For Skilled Care; Bluebonnet Nurs-
ing and Rehabilitation; Brazos Healthcare Center; Bremond 
Nursing & Rehab Center; Brenham Nursing & Rehabilitation 
Center; Brentwood Terrace Nursing and Rehabilitation Center; 
Briarcliff Skilled Nursing Facility; Bridgecrest Rehabilitation 
Suites; Broadmoor Medical Lodge; Brodie Ranch Nursing 
& Rehabilitation Center; Brownfield Rehabilitation and Care 
Center; Brownwood Nursing & Rehabilitation; Buena Vida 
Nursing and Rehabilitation Center; Canton Oaks; Caprock 
Healthcare; Care Inn of La Grange; Castle Pines Health and 
Rehabilitation; Cedar Creek Nursing and Rehabilitation Center; 
Cherokee Rose Nursing and Rehabilitation; Christian Care 
Center; Cityview Nursing & Rehabilitation Center; Coalition 
of Independent Nursing Home Providers; Concho Health & 
Rehabilitation Center; Country View Nursing and Rehabilitation; 
Crestview Healthcare Residence; Crimson Heights Health and 
Wellness; Cross Timbers Rehabilitation & Healthcare Center; 
Crossroads Nursing and Rehabilitation; De Leon Nursing and 
Rehabilitation Center; Decatur Medical Lodge; Devine Health 
and Rehabilitation; Diamond Care Health Services; Duncanville 
Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center; Eagle Pass Nursing & 
Rehabilitation; Emerald Hills Rehabilitation and Healthcare 
Center; Ensign Services, Inc.; Five Points Nursing and Rehabili-
tation; Five Points-DeSoto; Flatonia Healthcare Center; Fortress 
Nursing and Rehabilitation; Franklin Nursing Home; Georgia 
Manor Nursing and Rehabilitation; Graham Oaks Care Center; 
Granbury Care Center; Grapevine Medical Lodge; Greenbrier 
Healthcare Center; Greenbrier Nursing & Rehabilitation Center; 
Greenhill Villas; Groveton Nursing Home; Hays Nursing and 
Rehabilitation Center; Health Services Management; Heritage 
at Longview; Heritage at Turner Park Nursing & Rehab; Her-
itage House Nursing and Rehabilitation; Heritage Place; Hillside 
Heights Rehabilitation; HMG Healthcare, LLC; Holiday Nursing 
& Rehab; Homestead of Sherman Nursing & Rehab; Huebner 
Creek Health and Rehabilitation Center; Human Resource Coor-
dinator; Human Resource of River City Care Center; Keeneland 
Nursing & Rehabilitation; Kemp Care Center; Kerens Care 
Center; Kingsland Hills Care Center; Leading Age of Texas, La 

Hacienda de Paz Rehab & Care Center; La Vida Serena Nurs-
ing & Rehabilitation; Labahia Nursing and Rehabilitation Center; 
Lake Hills Healthcare; Lake Lodge Nursing & Rehabilitation; 
Lakeview Rehab & Healthcare Center; Lampstand Nursing 
and Rehabilitation; Las Ventanas de Socorro; Leading Age of 
Texas; Longmeadow Healthcare Center; Lubbock Health Care 
Center; M Chest Pharmacies; Madisonville Care Center; Mans-
field Medical Lodge; Marbridge Villa; Marine Creek Nursing & 
Rehabilitation; Matagorda Nursing and Rehabilitation Center; 
McLean Care Center; Memphis Convalescent Center; Mesa 
Vista Health; Mission Ridge Rehabilitation & Nursing Center; 
Mission Valley Nursing and Transitional Care; Mountain View 
Health and Rehabilitation; Navasota Nursing and Rehabilitation; 
Nexion Health; Normandy Terrace Healthcare & Rehabilita-
tion; North Las Vegas Care Center; North Park Health and 
Rehabilitation Center; Northeast Rehabilitation and Healthcare 
Center; Northgate Health and Rehabilitation Center; NorthStar 
Ranch; Oakmont Healthcare & Rehabilitation; Oasis Nursing 
& Rehabilitation Center; Paradigm at Kountze; Paradigm at 
the Prairies; Paradigm Health Care Services; Park Highlands 
Nursing & Rehabilitation; Peach Tree Place; Pecan Creek 
Healthcare; Pecan Manor Nursing & Rehabilitation; Pine Tree 
Lodge; Pleasant Springs Healthcare; Port Lavaca Nursing & 
Rehabilitation Center; Priority Management Group; Providence 
Park Rehabilitation and Skilled Nursing; Regency Integrated 
Health Services; Regency Integrated Healthcare; Renaissance 
Rehabilitation and Healthcare Center; Reunion Plaza Skilled 
Nursing; Ridgmar Medical Lodge; River City Care Center; 
Robstown Nursing & Rehabilitation; Rock Creek Health and 
Rehabilitation; San Pedro Manor; San Saba Rehabilitation and 
Nursing; Sandy Lake Rehabilitation & Care Center; Seven Oaks; 
Shady Oak Nursing and Rehabilitation Center; Shiner Nursing 
and Rehabilitation Center; Sienna Nursing and Rehabilitation; 
Skilled Care of Mexia; Slaton Care Center; Solidago Health & 
Rehabilitation; South Place Rehabilitation & Skilled Nursing; 
Spanish Hills Wellness Suites; Sterling Oaks Rehabilitation; 
Stonegate Senior Living; Summit LTC Management; Summit 
Nursing & Rehab of San Augustine; Sunflower Park Health-
care; Sunrise Nursing & Rehab Center; Terra Bella Health and 
Wellness; Texas Healthcare Association; Texoma Healthcare 
Center; The Arbors Healthcare and Rehabilitation; The Atrium 
of Bellmead; The Brazos of Waco; The Courtyards at Pasadena; 
The Hills Nursing and Rehabilitation; The Meadows Health & 
Rehabilitation Center; The Park in Plano; The Pavilion at Creek-
wood; The Rehabilitation & Wellness Centre of Dallas, LLC; 
The Rio at Mission Trails; Touchstone Communities; Treemont 
Healthcare; Trinity Healthcare, LLC; Twilight Home Nursing 
& Rehabilitation; Twin Oaks Nursing & Rehabilitation Center; 
Twin Pines North Nursing and Rehabilitation; Vidor Health and 
Rehabilitation; Villa Haven Health and Rehabilitation; Villa Resi-
dential Care of Wolfforth; Village Creek Rehabilitation & Nursing 
Center; Walnut Springs Health & Rehabilitation; Weatherford 
Healthcare Center; Wellington Care Center; Westward Trails 
Nursing and Rehabilitation; Whispering Pines Lodge; Willow 
Springs Health & Rehabilitation; Windsor Arbor View; Windsor 
Calallen; Windsor Nursing and Rehabilitation Center. 
A summary of comments relating to §355.304 and HHSC's re-
sponses follows: 
Comment: Several commenters expressed opposition to the 
direct care staff base rate spending floor as proposed in the rule. 
Commenters expressed concerns about setting a spending 
threshold on the direct care component of the rate, as none 
exists today nor is required, but recognized the need for a 
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benchmark to compare the rate increase to ensure that 90 
percent is spent on wages. Commenters said this benchmark 
should be noted as only a measurement tool, and no higher 
than 70 percent. One commenter suggested a benchmark of 
65 percent. 
Response: HHSC agrees to modify the spending requirement 
such that the direct care staff base rate spending floor in 
§355.304(e)(1) will be calculated as 70 percent of the Medicaid 
fee-for-service and managed care revenues proportional to the 
direct care base rates in effect on August 31, 2023. HHSC made 
a clarifying modification to §355.304(e)(3) so that it clarifies a 
provider will be held to 90 percent of revenues proportional to 
the direct care rate increases effective on September 1, 2023. 
Comment: Several commenters asked to modify the definition 
of responsible entity in §355.304(b)(4) to not include "new owner 
following a change of ownership." 
Response: HHSC agrees and made the change. HHSC's cur-
rent processes ensures the responsible entity (the contracted 
provider, owner, or legal entity that received the revenue) is re-
quired to submit a report to "demonstrate that at least 90 percent 
of the funds were expended for the purpose of direct care staff 
wages or benefits" and the funds will be recouped from the re-
sponsible entity who does not utilize the funds in accordance 
with Rider 24. 
Comment: Multiple commenters expressed that the spending 
requirement in the proposed rule is beyond the scope of Rider 
24 and has no legislative basis. 
Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to make the change. 
Holding providers to a base rate spending floor is necessary 
to meet the Rider's intention that HHSC "shall only expend 
funds...to provider reimbursement rate increases in a manner 
that will increase the wages and benefits of direct care staff" 
and that "at least 90 percent of the funds are expended for the 
benefit of direct care staff wages." A base rate spending floor 
establishes a baseline comparison of direct care expenditures 
and revenue that allows HHSC to understand the proportion of 
expenditures spent on direct care using the revenue associated 
with the direct care rate component in effect on August 31, 
2023. Calculation of the direct care spending floor allows HHSC 
to evaluate whether providers increased their direct spending 
using the revenue associated with the direct care rate increases 
implemented on September 1, 2023, relative to the expenditures 
already being spent on direct care using the revenue from the 
direct care rate component prior to the increase. 
Comment: Multiple commenters stated the rule contemplates a 
recoupment process, but Rider 24 simply has a biennial report-
ing requirement for facilities. Commenters say the recoupment 
process described in §355.304(e) was not contemplated by the 
Legislature. 
Response: Rider 24 directs HHSC to "implement the rate in-
creases in a manner that will enable HHSC to ensure that at least 
90 percent of the funds are expended for the benefit of direct 
care staff wages and benefits and shall return to the Comptroller 
of Public Accounts any amount recouped from a provider who 
does not utilize the funds in accordance with that purpose." The 
Rider also provides that the providers will submit biennial cost re-
ports "to demonstrate that at least 90 percent of the funds were 
expended for the purpose of direct care staff wages or benefits." 
From these two sentences in the Rider, HHSC understands the 
legislature's intent to be that HHSC shall recoup funds from any 

provider who fails to meet spending to support direct care staff. 
No changes were made in response to this comment. 
Comment: One commenter encourages HHSC to clarify require-
ments in §355.304(h) regarding the responsibilities of the prior 
and new owners when a facility undergoes a change of owner-
ship. 
Response: HHSC agrees and modified §355.304(h) to clarify 
the prior owner must submit a report covering the period from 
the beginning of the rate year to the date recognized by HHSC 
or its designee as the ownership-change effective date to meet 
reporting requirements under subsection (f) of this section, and 
the new owner is responsible for the reporting requirements for 
any reporting period days after the change of ownership effective 
date to the end of the rate year. 
Comment: One commenter appreciates the inclusion of an ag-
gregation component under §355.304(j) but is concerned that 
the spending requirement does not take into account regional 
cost variation and will require providers to shift spending to di-
rect care from non-direct care costs. The commenter encour-
ages HHSC to provide facility-specific individual detail spending 
performance to providers to allow them to make adjustments at 
the facility level if requirements are not met. 
Response: Each combined entity or corporation owning multiple 
facilities may choose to aggregate their spending across multi-
ple facilities within an entity for the purpose of meeting spend-
ing requirements in §355.304. HHSC will provide worksheets 
that allow a provider to calculate anticipated expenditures and 
revenue so the provider can ensure compliance with the spend-
ing requirements in the rule. HHSC acknowledges that some 
providers may need to adjust their spending to meet the rule re-
quirements but believes these requirements are necessary to 
ensure Rider 24 appropriations are spent for the benefit of direct 
care staff compensation. No changes were made in response to 
this comment. 
Comment: One commenter reiterated concerns provided during 
the public rate hearing on July 11, 2023, regarding the allocation 
of the appropriations provided under Rider 24 to the direct care 
rate component for each RUG group will result in a loss of total 
base rate reimbursement for certain facilities compared to the 
total base rate for each RUG group in effect on August 31, 2023, 
plus the $19.63 add-on. 
Response: HHSC appreciates the comment related to the pro-
posed rate increase. However, the rate adoption process for 
nursing facility rates proposed to be effective on September 1, 
2023, is outside the scope of this rule proposal. No changes 
were made in response to this comment. 
Comment: One commenter encourages HHSC to amend the 
rule to clarify that there is no requirement to meet the direct 
care base rate spending floor in subsection §355.304(e)(2), and 
that there is no penalty for not meeting the direct care base rate 
spending floor. Rather, the comments contends the direct care 
base rate spending floor is only established to calculate the di-
rect care spending floor as described in §355.304(e)(3). 
Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to make the change. 
The language in §355.304(e)(2) specifies there will be no re-
coupment associated with failure to meet the direct care base 
rate spending floor. Moreover, §355.304(e)(5) reiterates that at 
no time will HHSC recoup more than the rate increases estab-
lished under this section. 
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Comment: One commenter encouraged HHSC to mitigate 
administrative burden when developing new reporting require-
ments and expressed appreciation for using existing reports to 
evaluate compliance. 
Response: HHSC will seek to mitigate the administrative burden 
on providers as much as feasible in the implementation of this 
rule. No changes were made in response to this comment. 
Comment: One commenter indicated references in 
§355.304(g)(1) incorrectly reference subsection (d) and 
subsection (e) instead of subsection (e) and subsection (f). 
Response: HHSC agrees and will make the change. 
A summary of comments relating to §355.308 and HHSC's re-
sponses follows: 
Comment: Several commenters expressed opposition to 
increasing the direct care staff spending requirements in 
§355.308(o) to 90 percent as proposed but are supportive of 
a threshold of no higher than 70 percent. One commenter 
encourages HHSC to maintain the requirement at 85 percent. 
Response: HHSC agrees to reduce the spending requirement 
in the Direct Care Staff Enhancement Program as specified in 
355.308(o) from 85 percent to 70 percent to align the spend-
ing requirements in both §355.304 and §355.308 and reduce 
provider confusion and enhance compliance. 
Comment: Several commenters oppose calculating the direct 
care base rate for staff enhancement using the most recent cost 
reports. Commenters say calculating the direct care base rate 
for staff enhancement using the most recent cost reports, and in-
flating by 1.07, will create a misalignment with the direct care rate 
used for staff enhancement versus the direct care rate compo-
nent to be paid. If this is used for each new cost report without in-
creased appropriations, commenters say the spending required 
to qualify for staff enhancement will become more and more dif-
ficult to meet. 
Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to make a change. 
Section 355.308(k) provides the methodology for the method-
ological base rate and does not impact current rates being paid 
or appropriation levels to support the program. The current 
methodology references an initial database from the 2000 cost 
report. The proposed language replaces the reference from 
the 2000 cost report to the most recently audited database 
to better reflect providers' current costs when rebasing the 
methodological rate. 
Comment: Several commenters expressed opposition to elim-
inating a limited provider's opportunity to submit a request for 
revision during the annual open enrollment period for the direct 
care staff enhancement program. 
Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to make the change. 
The request for revision process allows a provider to overturn 
the provider's limitations by using unverified data, which could 
include unallowable costs. Because the rate enhancement pro-
gram relies on a limited funding pool, the request for revision 
process enables a provider who regularly misses the provider's 
spending requirements to remain in the program and prevents a 
provider who meets program requirements from the opportunity 
to obtain a higher enhancement level. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment and new section are adopted under Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.033, which authorizes the Executive Com-

missioner of HHSC to adopt rules necessary to carry out HHSC's 
duties; Texas Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the au-
thority to administer the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) 
program in Texas; and Texas Government Code §531.021(b-1), 
which establishes HHSC as the agency responsible for adopting 
reasonable rules governing the determination of fees, charges, 
and rates for medical assistance payments under the Texas Hu-
man Resources Code Chapter 32. 
§355.304. Direct Care Staff Spending Requirement on or after 
September 1, 2023. 

(a) Introduction. The Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission (HHSC) uses the methodology described in this section to es-
tablish rate increases to the direct care staff component base rate for 
nursing facility services while limiting the use of funds received by the 
provider through these increases. This section describes the spending 
requirements associated with receiving the rate increases and circum-
stances in which recoupments will be necessary for a provider's failure 
to meet those requirements. 

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in 
this section, have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

(1) Direct care staff base rate--The direct care staff base 
rate is calculated in accordance with §355.308(k) of this chapter (relat-
ing to Direct Care Staff Rate Component. 

(2) Direct care staff cost center--This cost center will in-
clude compensation for employee and contract labor Registered Nurses 
(RNs), including Directors of Nursing (DONs) and Assistant Direc-
tors of Nursing (ADONs); Licensed Vocational Nurses (LVNs), includ-
ing DONs and ADONs; medication aides; and nurse aides performing 
nursing-related duties for Medicaid contracted beds. 

(3) Rate year--The standard rate year begins on the first day 
of September and ends on the last day of August of the following year. 

(4) Responsible entity--The contracted provider, owner, or 
legal entity that received the revenue to be recouped is responsible for 
the repayment of any recoupment amount. 

(c) Eligibility. To receive and retain rate increases under this 
section, the provider must be contracted with HHSC or a managed care 
organization (MCO) to provide nursing facility services through the 
Medicaid program. 

(d) Direct Care Staff Base Rate Increase. Effective September 
1, 2023, HHSC will increase the direct care staff base rate for nursing 
facility services for each Resource Utilization Group (RUG), Version 
III (RUG-III) case-mix group by an amount that is proportional to the 
level of the direct care staff base rate for each RUG-III case-mix group 
in effect on August 31, 2023. The direct care staff base rate increases 
will be limited to available state and federal appropriated amounts pro-
vided for the direct care base rate increase. The direct care rate increase 
will be applied proportionally to the level of each nursing component 
payer group under the Texas-specific patient driven payment method-
ology once that methodology is implemented. 

(e) Spending Requirements for providers. Providers are sub-
ject to a direct care staff cost center spending requirement with recoup-
ment calculated as follows. 

(1) At the end of the rate year, HHSC will calculate a direct 
care staff base rate spending floor by multiplying accrued Medicaid fee-
for-service and managed care direct care staff revenues proportional to 
the direct care base rates effective on August 31, 2023 by 0.70, for each 
provider. 
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(2) Accrued allowable Medicaid direct care staff expenses 
for the rate year will be compared to the base rate spending floor from 
paragraph (1) of this subsection. If the base rate spending floor is less 
than the accrued allowable Medicaid direct care staff expenses, HHSC 
or its designee will notify the provider as specified in subsection (g) of 
this section. There will be no recoupment associated with a provider's 
failure to meet the direct care base rate spending floor specified in this 
paragraph. 

(3) At the end of the rate year, HHSC will calculate the 
direct care spending floor by multiplying accrued Medicaid fee-for-
service and managed care direct care staff revenues proportional to the 
direct care staff rate increases specified under subsection (d) of this 
section by 0.90 and the direct care staff base rate spending floor as 
specified in paragraph (1) of this subsection. 

(4) Accrued allowable Medicaid direct care staff expenses 
for the rate year will be compared to the total direct care staff spending 
floor from paragraph (3) of this subsection. If the direct care spending 
floor is less than the accrued allowable Medicaid direct care staff ex-
penses, HHSC or its designee will recoup the difference between the 
direct care spending floor and the accrued allowable Medicaid direct 
care staff expenses from providers whose Medicaid direct care staff 
spending is less than their direct care spending floor. 

(5) At no time will a provider's direct care rates after re-
coupment be less than the direct care base rates in effect prior to the 
direct care staff base rate increase established under this section. 

(6) For participants in the direct care staff enhancement 
program. HHSC will calculate spending requirement as specified un-
der §355.308 of this subchapter. 

(f) Reporting Requirements. Providers receiving the direct 
care rate increases established under this section must report their 
direct care revenues and spending to HHSC or its designee in a manner 
and frequency prescribed by HHSC. HHSC will use cost reports or 
staffing and compensation reports (accountability reports) requested to 
comply with the direct care staff enhancement program as specified in 
§355.308 of this subchapter to meet the requirements of this section if 
applicable. Providers must also report information related to the use of 
funds, including information related to efforts to improve or maintain 
client care and quality of services on their biennial cost reports, as 
specified by HHSC. All reports must be completed in accordance 
with the provisions of §355.102 of this chapter (relating to General 
Principles of Allowable and Unallowable Costs), §355.103 of this 
chapter (relating to Specifications for Allowable and Unallowable 
Costs), §355.104 of this chapter (relating to Revenues), and §355.105 
of this chapter (relating to General Reporting and Documentation 
Requirements, Methods, and Procedures) and may be reviewed or 
audited in accordance with §355.106 of this chapter (relating to Basic 
Objectives and Criteria for Audit and Desk Review of Cost Reports). 
All reports must be completed by preparers who have attended the 
required nursing facility cost report training, as per §355.102(d) of 
this chapter. 

(g) Notification of recoupment, appeals, and repayment 
requirements. 

(1) The estimated amount to be recouped for a provider's 
failure to meet spending requirements as specified under subsection (e) 
of this section will be indicated in the State of Texas Automated Infor-
mation and Reporting System (STAIRS) or successor system. STAIRS 
will generate an email to the entity contact, indicating that the facility's 
estimated recoupment is available for review. If a subsequent review 
by HHSC results in additional adjustments to the report, as described 
in subsection (f) of this section, that results in a revised recoupment 
amount, HHSC will notify the provider's entity contact via email of 

both the report adjustments and revised recoupment amount are avail-
able in STAIRS for review. 

(2) Informal reviews and formal appeals relating to these 
reporting requirements in subsection (f) of this section are governed 
by §355.110 of this chapter (relating to Informal Reviews and Formal 
Appeals). 

(3) HHSC or its designee will recoup any amount owed 
from the facility's vendor payments that are being held following the 
initial or subsequent notification date. In cases where funds identified 
for recoupment cannot be repaid from the held vendor payments, the 
responsible entity from subsection (b) of this section will be jointly 
and severally liable for any additional payment due to HHSC or its de-
signee. Failure to repay the amount due or submit an acceptable pay-
ment plan within 60 days of notification will result in the recoupment 
of the owed funds from other Medicaid contracts controlled by the re-
sponsible entity, placement of a vendor hold on all Medicaid contracts 
controlled by the responsible entity, and barring of new contracts. The 
vendor hold will bar the responsible entity from receiving any new con-
tracts with HHSC or its designees until repayment is made in full. The 
responsible entity for these contracts will be notified as described in 
paragraph (1) of this subsection prior to the recoupment of owed funds, 
placement of vendor hold, and barring of new contracts. 

(h) Change of ownership. When there is a change of owner-
ship before the end of a rate year, the prior owner must submit a report 
covering the period from the beginning of the rate year to the date rec-
ognized by HHSC or its designee as the ownership-change effective 
date to meet reporting requirements under subsection (f) of this sec-
tion. The new owner may be responsible for the reporting requirements 
in subsection (f) of this section for any reporting period days after the 
change of ownership effective date to the end of the rate year as speci-
fied by HHSC or its designee. 

(i) Vendor hold. HHSC or its designee will place on hold the 
vendor payments for any participating facility that does not submit a 
timely report as described in subsection (f) of this section in accordance 
with §355.403 of this subchapter (relating to Vendor Hold). 

(j) Aggregation. For an entity, commonly owned corporation, 
or combined entity that controls more than one participating nursing 
facility contract, compliance with the spending requirements detailed 
in subsection (e) of this section can be determined in the aggregate for 
all nursing facility contracts controlled by the entity, commonly owned 
corporations, or combined entity in accordance with aggregation re-
quirements specified in §355.308(aa) of this subchapter. 

§355.308. Direct Care Staff Rate Component. 

(a) Direct care staff cost center. This cost center will include 
compensation for employee and contract labor Registered Nurses 
(RNs), including Directors of Nursing (DONs) and Assistant Directors 
of Nursing (ADONs); Licensed Vocational Nurses (LVNs), including 
DONs and ADONs; medication aides; and nurse aides performing 
nursing-related duties for Medicaid contracted beds. 

(1) Compensation to be included for these employee staff 
types is the allowable compensation defined in §355.103(b)(1) of this 
title (relating to Specifications for Allowable and Unallowable Costs) 
that is reported as either salaries and/or wages (including payroll taxes 
and workers' compensation) or employee benefits. Benefits required by 
§355.103(b)(1)(A)(iii) of this title to be reported as costs applicable to 
specific cost report line items are not to be included in this cost center. 

(2) Direct care staff who also have administrative duties 
not related to nursing must properly direct charge their compensation 
to each type of function performed based upon daily time sheets main-
tained throughout the entire reporting period. 
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(3) Nurse aides must meet the qualifications enumerated 
under 26 TAC §556.3 (relating to Nurse Aide Training and Competency 
Evaluation Program (NATCEP) Requirements) to be included in this 
cost center. Nurse aides include certified nurse aides and nurse aides 
in training. 

(4) Contract labor refers to personnel for whom the con-
tracted provider is not responsible for the payment of payroll taxes 
(such as FICA, Medicare, and federal and state unemployment insur-
ance) and who perform tasks routinely performed by employees. Al-
lowable contract labor costs are defined in §355.103(b)(3) of this title. 

(5) For facilities receiving supplemental reimbursement 
for children with tracheostomies requiring daily care as described 
in §355.307(b)(3)(F) of this title (relating to Reimbursement Setting 
Methodology), staff required by 26 TAC §554.901(15)(C)(iii) (relating 
to Quality of Care) performing nursing-related duties for Medicaid 
contracted beds are included in the direct care staff cost center. 

(6) For facilities receiving supplemental reimburse-
ment for qualifying ventilator-dependent residents as described in 
§355.307(b)(3)(E) of this title, Registered Respiratory Therapists and 
Certified Respiratory Therapy Technicians are included in the direct 
care staff cost center. 

(7) Nursing facility administrators and assistant adminis-
trators are not included in the direct care staff cost center. 

(8) Staff members performing more than one function in a 
facility without a differential in pay between functions are categorized 
at the highest level of licensure or certification they possess. If this 
highest level of licensure or certification is not that of an RN, LVN, 
medication aide, or certified nurse aide, the staff member is not to be 
included in the direct care staff cost center but rather in the cost center 
where staff members with that licensure or certification status are typ-
ically reported. 

(9) Paid feeding assistants are not included in the direct 
care staff cost center and are not to be counted toward the staffing re-
quirements described in subsection (j) of this section. Paid feeding 
assistants are intended to supplement certified nurse aides, not to be a 
substitute for certified or licensed nursing staff. 

(b) Rate year. The standard rate year begins on the first day of 
September and ends on the last day of August of the following year. 

(c) Open enrollment. Open enrollment for the enhanced di-
rect care staff rates will begin on the first day of July and end on the 
last day of that same July preceding the rate year for which payments 
are being determined. HHSC notifies providers of open enrollment by 
electronic mail (e-mail) to an authorized representative per the signa-
ture authority designation form applicable to the provider's contract or 
ownership type. If open enrollment has been postponed or cancelled, 
the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) will no-
tify providers by e-mail prior to the first day of July. Should conditions 
warrant, HHSC may conduct additional enrollment periods during a 
rate year. 

(d) Enrollment contract amendment. An initial enrollment 
contract amendment is required from each facility choosing to par-
ticipate in the enhanced direct care staff rate. Participating and 
nonparticipating facilities may request to modify their enrollment 
status (i.e., a nonparticipant can request to become a participant, a 
participant can request to become a nonparticipant, a participant can 
request to change its enhancement level) during any open enrollment 
period. Nonparticipants and participants requesting to increase their 
enrollment levels will be limited to requesting increases of three or 
fewer enhancement levels during any single open enrollment period 
unless such limits are waived by HHSC. Requests to modify a facility's 

enrollment status during an open enrollment period must be received 
by HHSC by the last day of the open enrollment period as per subsec-
tion (c) of this section. If the last day of the open enrollment period 
falls on a weekend, a national holiday, or a state holiday, then the first 
business day following the last day of the open enrollment period is 
the final day the receipt of the enrollment contract amendment will be 
accepted. An enrollment contract amendment that is not received by 
the stated deadline will not be accepted. A facility from which HHSC 
has not received an acceptable request to modify their enrollment by 
the last day of the open enrollment period will continue at the level 
of participation in effect during the open enrollment period within 
available funds until the facility notifies HHSC in accordance with 
subsection (r) of this section that it no longer wishes to participate or 
until the facility's enrollment is limited in accordance with subsection 
(i) of this section. If HHSC determines that funds are not available to 
continue participation at the level of participation in effect during the 
open enrollment period, facilities will be notified as per subsection (dd) 
of this section. To be acceptable, an enrollment contract amendment 
must be completed according to instructions, signed by an authorized 
representative as per the HHSC signature authority designation form 
applicable to the provider's contract or ownership type, and be legible. 

(e) New facilities. For purposes of this section, for each rate 
year a new facility is defined as a facility delivering its first day of ser-
vice to a Medicaid recipient after the first day of the open enrollment 
period, as defined in subsection (c) of this section, for that rate year. 
Facilities that underwent an ownership change are not considered new 
facilities. For purposes of this subsection, an acceptable enrollment 
contract amendment is defined as a legible enrollment contract amend-
ment that has been completed according to instructions, signed by an 
authorized representative as per the HHSC signature authority designa-
tion form applicable to the provider's contract or ownership type, and 
received by HHSC within 30 days of the notification to the facility by 
HHSC that such an enrollment contract amendment must be submitted. 
New facilities will receive the direct care staff base rate as determined 
in subsection (k) of this section with no enhancements. For new facil-
ities specifying their desire to participate on an acceptable enrollment 
contract amendment, the direct care staff rate is adjusted as specified in 
subsection (l) of this section, effective on the first day of the month fol-
lowing receipt by HHSC of the acceptable enrollment contract amend-
ment. If the granting of newly requested enhancements was limited as 
per subsection (j)(3) of this section during the most recent enrollment, 
enrollment for new facilities will be subject to that same limitation. 

(f) Staffing and Compensation Report submittal requirements. 

(1) Annual Staffing and Compensation Report. For ser-
vices delivered on or before August 31, 2009, providers must file 
Staffing and Compensation Reports as follows. All participating 
facilities will provide HHSC, in a method specified by HHSC, an 
Annual Staffing and Compensation Report reflecting the activities of 
the facility while delivering contracted services from the first day of 
the rate year through the last day of the rate year. This report will be 
used as the basis for determining compliance with the staffing require-
ments and recoupment amounts as described in subsection (n) of this 
section, and as the basis for determining the spending requirements 
and recoupment amounts as described in subsection (o) of this section. 
Participating facilities failing to submit an acceptable Annual Staffing 
and Compensation Report within 60 days of the end of the rate year 
will be placed on vendor hold until such time as an acceptable report 
is received and processed by HHSC. 

(A) When a participating facility changes ownership, 
the prior owner must submit a Staffing and Compensation Report cov-
ering the period from the beginning of the rate year to the date recog-
nized by HHSC or its designee as the ownership-change effective date. 
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This report will be used as the basis for determining any recoupment 
amounts as described in subsections (n) and (o) of this section. The new 
owner will be required to submit a Staffing and Compensation Report 
covering the period from the day after the date recognized by HHSC 
or its designee as the ownership-change effective date to the end of the 
rate year. 

(B) Participating facilities whose contracts are termi-
nated either voluntarily or involuntarily must submit a Staffing and 
Compensation Report covering the period from the beginning of the 
rate year to the date recognized by HHSC or its designee as the contract 
termination date. This report will be used as the basis for determining 
any recoupment amounts as described in subsections (n) and (o) of this 
section. 

(C) Participating facilities who voluntarily withdraw 
from participation as per subsection (r) of this section must submit 
a Staffing and Compensation Report within 60 days of the date of 
withdrawal as determined by HHSC, covering the period from the 
beginning of the rate year to the date of withdrawal as determined 
by HHSC. This report will be used as the basis for determining any 
recoupment amounts as described in subsections (n) and (o) of this 
section. 

(D) Participating facilities whose cost report year coin-
cides with the state of Texas fiscal year as per §355.105(b)(5) of this 
title (relating to General Reporting and Documentation Requirements, 
Methods, and Procedures) are exempt from the requirement to submit 
a separate Annual Staffing and Compensation Report. For these fa-
cilities, their cost report will be considered their Annual Staffing and 
Compensation Report. 

(2) For services delivered on September 1, 2009, and there-
after, cost reports as described in §355.105(b) of this title will replace 
the Staffing and Compensation Report with the following exceptions: 

(A) For services delivered from September 1, 2009, to 
August 31, 2010, participating facilities may be required to submit 
Transition Staffing and Compensation Reports in addition to required 
cost reports. The Transition Staffing and Compensation Report report-
ing period will include those days in calendar years 2009 and 2010 not 
included in either the 2009 Staffing and Compensation report or the fa-
cility's 2010 cost report. 

(B) When a participating facility changes ownership, 
the prior owner must submit a Staffing and Compensation Report cov-
ering the period from the beginning of the facility's cost reporting pe-
riod to the date recognized by HHSC or its designee as the owner-
ship-change effective date. This report will be used as the basis for 
determining any recoupment amounts as described in subsections (n) 
and (o) of this section. The new owner will be required to submit a 
cost report covering the period from the day after the date recognized 
by HHSC or its designee as the ownership-change effective date to the 
end of the facility's fiscal year. 

(C) Participating facilities whose contracts are termi-
nated either voluntarily or involuntarily must submit a Staffing and 
Compensation Report covering the period from the beginning of the 
facility's cost reporting period to the date recognized by HHSC or its 
designee as the contract termination date. This report will be used as 
the basis for determining any recoupment amounts as described in sub-
sections (n) and (o) of this section. 

(D) Participating facilities who voluntarily withdraw 
from participation as per subsection (r) of this section must submit 
a Staffing and Compensation Report within 60 days of the date of 
withdrawal as determined by HHSC, covering the period from the be-
ginning of the facility's cost reporting period to the date of withdrawal 

as determined by HHSC. This report will be used as the basis for 
determining any recoupment amounts as described in subsections (n) 
and (o) of this section. These facilities must still submit a cost report 
covering the entire cost reporting period. The cost report will not be 
used for determining any recoupment amounts. 

(E) For new facilities as defined in subsection (e) of this 
section, the cost reporting period will begin with the effective date of 
participation in enhancement. 

(F) Existing facilities which become participants in the 
enhancement as a result of the open enrollment process described in 
subsection (c) of this section on any day other than the first day of their 
fiscal year are required to submit a Staffing and Compensation Report 
with a reporting period that begins on their first day of participation in 
the enhancement and ends on the last day of the facility's fiscal year. 
This report will be used as the basis for determining any recoupment 
amounts as described in subsections (n) and (o) of this section. These 
facilities must still submit a cost report covering the entire cost report-
ing period. The cost report will not be used for determining any re-
coupment amounts. 

(G) A participating provider that is required to submit 
a cost report or Attendant Compensation Report under this paragraph 
will be excused from the requirement to submit a report if the provider 
did not provide any billable services to DADS recipients during the 
reporting period. 

(3) Other reports. HHSC may require other Staffing and 
Compensation Reports from all facilities as needed. 

(4) Vendor hold. HHSC or its designee will place on hold 
the vendor payments for any participating facility that does not submit 
a timely report as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection, or for 
services delivered on or after September 1, 2009, a timely report as 
described in paragraph (2) of this subsection completed in accordance 
with all applicable rules and instructions. This vendor hold will remain 
in effect until HHSC receives an acceptable report. 

(A) Participating facilities that do not submit an accept-
able report completed in accordance with all applicable rules and in-
structions within 60 days of the due dates described in this subsection 
or, for cost reports, the due dates described in §355.105(b) of this title, 
will become nonparticipants retroactive to the first day of the reporting 
period in question and will be subject to an immediate recoupment of 
funds related to participation paid to the facility for services provided 
during the reporting period in question. These facilities will remain 
nonparticipants and recouped funds will not be restored until they sub-
mit an acceptable report and repay to HHSC, or its designee, funds 
identified for recoupment from subsections (n) and/or (o) of this sec-
tion. If an acceptable report is not received within 365 days of the due 
date, the recoupment will become permanent and, if all funds asso-
ciated with participation during the reporting period in question have 
been recouped by HHSC or its designee, the vendor hold associated 
with the report will be released. 

(B) Participating facilities with an ownership change or 
contract termination that do not submit an acceptable report completed 
in accordance with all applicable rules and instructions within 60 days 
of the change in ownership or contract termination will become non-
participants retroactive to the first day of the reporting period in ques-
tion and will be subject to an immediate recoupment of funds related 
to participation paid to the facility for services provided during the re-
porting period in question. These facilities will remain nonparticipants 
and recouped funds will not be restored until they submit an acceptable 
report and repay to HHSC or its designee funds identified for recoup-
ment from subsections (n) and/or (o) of this section. If an acceptable 
report is not received within 365 days of the change of ownership or 
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contract termination date, the recoupment will become permanent and 
if all funds associated with participation during the reporting period in 
question have been recouped by HHSC or its designee, the vendor hold 
associated with the report will be released. 

(5) Provider-initiated amended accountability reports and 
cost reports functioning as Staffing and Compensation Reports. Re-
ports must be received prior to the date the provider is notified of com-
pliance with spending and/or staffing requirements for the report in 
question as per subsections (n) and/or (o) of this section. 

(g) Report contents. Annual Staffing and Compensation Re-
ports and cost reports functioning as Staffing and Compensation Re-
ports will include any information required by HHSC to implement 
this enhanced direct care staff rate. 

(h) Completion of Reports. All Staffing and Compensation 
Reports and cost reports functioning as Staffing and Compensation 
Reports must be completed in accordance with the provisions of 
§§355.102 - 355.105 of this title (relating to General Principles of 
Allowable and Unallowable Costs; Specifications for Allowable and 
Unallowable Costs; Revenues; and General Reporting and Docu-
mentation Requirements, Methods, and Procedures) and may be 
reviewed or audited in accordance with §355.106 of this title (relating 
to Basic Objectives and Criteria for Audit and Desk Review of Cost 
Reports). Beginning with the state fiscal year 2002 report, all Staffing 
and Compensation Reports and cost reports functioning as Staffing 
and Compensation Reports must be completed by preparers who 
have attended the required nursing facility cost report training as per 
§355.102(d) of this title. 

(i) Enrollment limitations. A facility will not be enrolled in the 
enhanced direct care staff rate at a level higher than the level it achieved 
on its most recently available, audited Staffing and Compensation Re-
port or cost report functioning as its Staffing and Compensation Report. 
HHSC will notify a facility of its enrollment limitations (if any) prior 
to the first day of the open enrollment period. 

(1) Notification of enrollment limitations. The enrollment 
limitation level is indicated in the State of Texas Automated Informa-
tion Reporting System (STAIRS), the online application for submit-
ting cost reports and accountability reports. STAIRS will generate an 
e-mail to the entity contact, indicating that the facility's enrollment lim-
itation level is available for review. The entity contact is the provider's 
authorized representative per the signature authority designation form 
applicable to the provider's contract or ownership type. 

(2) At no time will a facility be allowed to enroll in the en-
hancement program at a level higher than its current level of enrollment 
plus three additional levels unless otherwise instructed by HHSC. 

(3) New owners after a change of ownership. Enhance-
ment levels for a new owner after a change of ownership will be de-
termined in accordance with subsection (y) of this section. A new 
owner will not be subject to enrollment limitations based upon the 
prior owner's performance. This exemption from enrollment limita-
tions does not apply in cases where HHSC or its designee has approved 
a successor-liability-agreement that transfers responsibility from the 
former owner to the new owner. 

(4) New facilities. A new facility's enrollment will be de-
termined in accordance with subsection (e) of this section. 

(j) Determination of staffing requirements for participants. Fa-
cilities choosing to participate in the enhanced direct care staff rate 
agree to maintain certain direct care staffing levels above the minimum 
staffing levels described in paragraph (1) of this subsection. In order to 
permit facilities the flexibility to substitute RN, LVN and aide (Medica-
tion Aide and nurse aide) staff resources and, at the same time, comply 

with an overall nursing staff requirement, total nursing staff require-
ments are expressed in terms of LVN equivalent minutes. Conversion 
factors to convert RN and aide minutes into LVN equivalent minutes 
are based upon most recently available, reliable relative compensation 
levels for the different staff types. 

(1) Minimum staffing levels. HHSC determines, for each 
participating facility, minimum LVN equivalent staffing levels as fol-
lows. 

(A) Determine minimum required LVN equivalent min-
utes per resident day of service for various types of residents using time 
study data, cost report information, and other appropriate data sources. 

(i) Determine LVN equivalent minutes associated 
with Medicare residents based on the data sources from this subpara-
graph adjusted for estimated acuity differences between Medicare and 
Medicaid residents. 

(ii) Determine minimum required LVN equivalent 
minutes per resident day of service associated with each Resource Uti-
lization Group (RUG-III) case mix group and additional minimum re-
quired minutes for Medicaid residents reimbursed under the RUG-III 
system who also qualify for supplemental reimbursement for ventilator 
care or pediatric tracheostomy care as described in §355.307 of this ti-
tle (relating to Reimbursement Setting Methodology) based on the data 
sources from this subparagraph adjusted for acuity differences between 
Medicare and Medicaid residents and other factors. 

(B) Based on most recently available, reliable utiliza-
tion data, determine for each facility the total days of service by RUG-
III group, days of service provided to Medicaid residents qualifying for 
Medicaid supplemental reimbursement for ventilator or tracheostomy 
care, total days of service for Medicare Part A residents in Medic-
aid-contracted beds, and total days of service for all other residents in 
Medicaid-contracted beds. 

(C) Multiply the minimum required LVN equivalent 
minutes for each RUG-III group and supplemental reimbursement 
group from subparagraph (A) of this paragraph by the facility's 
Medicaid days of service in each RUG-III group and supplemental 
reimbursement group from subparagraph (B) of this paragraph and 
sum the products. 

(D) Multiply the minimum required LVN equivalent 
minutes for Medicare residents by the facility's Medicare Part A days 
of service in Medicaid-contracted beds. 

(E) Divide the sum from subparagraph (C) of this para-
graph by the facility's total Medicaid days of service, with a day of 
service for a Medicaid RUG-III recipient who also qualifies for a sup-
plemental reimbursement counted as one day of service, compare this 
result to the minimum required LVN-equivalent minutes for a RUG-III 
PD1 and multiply the lower of the two figures by the facility's other 
resident days of service in Medicaid-contracted beds. 

(F) Sum the results of subparagraphs (C), (D) and (E) 
of this paragraph, divide the sum by the facility's total days of service 
in Medicaid-contracted beds, with a day of service for a Medicaid re-
cipient who also qualifies for a supplemental reimbursement counted 
as one day of service. The results of these calculations are the mini-
mum LVN equivalent minutes per resident day a participating facility 
must provide. 

(G) In cases where the minimum required LVN-equiva-
lent minutes per resident day of service associated with a RUG-III case 
mix group or supplemental reimbursement group change during the re-
porting period, the minimum required LVN-equivalent minutes for the 
RUG-III case mix group or supplemental reimbursement group for the 
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reporting period will be equal to the weighted average LVN-equivalent 
minutes in effect during the reporting period for that group calculated 
as follows: 

(i) Multiply the first minimum required LVN equiv-
alent minutes per resident day of service associated with the RUG-III 
case mix group or supplemental reimbursement group in effect during 
the reporting period by the most recently available, reliable Medicaid 
days of service utilization data for the time period the first minimum 
required LVN equivalent minutes were in effect. 

(ii) Multiply the second minimum required LVN 
equivalent minutes per resident day of service associated with the 
RUG-III case mix group or supplemental reimbursement group in 
effect during the reporting period by the most recently available, 
reliable Medicaid days of service utilization data for the time period 
the second minimum required LVN equivalent minutes were in effect. 

(iii) Sum the products from clauses (i) and (ii) of this 
subparagraph. 

(iv) Divide the sum from clause (iii) of this subpara-
graph by the sum of the most recently available, reliable Medicaid days 
of service utilization data for the entire reporting period used in clauses 
(i) and (ii) of this subparagraph. 

(2) Enhanced staffing levels. Facilities desiring to partici-
pate in the enhanced direct care staff rate are required to staff above the 
minimum requirements from paragraph (1) of this subsection. These 
facilities may request LVN-equivalent staffing enhancements from 
an array of LVN-equivalent enhanced staffing options and associated 
add-on payments during open enrollment under subsection (d) of this 
section. 

(3) Granting of staffing enhancements. HHSC divides all 
requested enhancements, after applying any enrollment limitations 
from subsection (i) of this section, into two groups: pre-existing 
enhancements that facilities request to carry over from the prior year 
and newly-requested enhancements. Newly-requested enhancements 
may be enhancements requested by facilities that were nonparticipants 
in the prior year or by facilities that were participants in the prior year 
desiring to be granted additional enhancements. Using the process 
described herein, HHSC first determines the distribution of carry-over 
enhancements. If HHSC determines that funds are not available to 
carry over some or all pre-existing enhancements, facilities will be 
notified as per subsection (dd) of this section. If funds are available 
after the distribution of carry-over enhancements, HHSC then de-
termines the distribution of newly requested enhancements. HHSC 
may not distribute newly requested enhancements to facilities owing 
funds identified for recoupment from subsections (n) and/or (o) of this 
section. 

(A) HHSC determines projected Medicaid units of ser-
vice for facilities requesting each enhancement option and multiplies 
this number by the rate add-on associated with that enhancement op-
tion as determined in subsection (l) of this section. 

(B) HHSC compares the sum of the products from sub-
paragraph (A) of this paragraph to available funds. 

(i) If the product is less than or equal to available 
funds, all requested enhancements are granted. 

(ii) If the product is greater than available funds, 
enhancements are granted beginning with the lowest level of en-
hancement and granting each successive level of enhancement until 
requested enhancements are granted within available funds. Based 
upon an examination of existing staffing levels and staffing needs, 
HHSC may grant certain enhancement options priority for distribution. 

(4) Notification of granting of enhancements. Participating 
facilities are notified, in a manner determined by HHSC, as to the dis-
position of their request for staffing enhancements. 

(5) In cases where more than one enhanced staffing level 
is in effect during the reporting period, the staffing requirement will be 
based on the weighted average enhanced staffing level in effect during 
the reporting period calculated as follows: 

(A) Multiply the first enhanced staffing level in effect 
during the reporting period by the most recently available, reliable 
Medicaid days of service utilization data for the time period the first 
enhanced staffing level was in effect. 

(B) Multiply the second enhanced staffing level in ef-
fect during the reporting period by the most recently available, reliable 
Medicaid days of service utilization data for the time period the second 
enhanced staffing level was in effect. 

(C) Sum the products from subparagraphs (A) and (B) 
of this paragraph. 

(D) Divide the sum from subparagraph (C) of this para-
graph by the sum of the most recently available, reliable Medicaid days 
of service utilization data for the entire reporting period used in sub-
paragraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph. 

(k) Determination of direct care staff base rate. 

(1) Determine the sum of recipient care costs from the di-
rect care staff cost center in subsection (a) of this section in all nursing 
facilities included in the most recently available Texas Nursing Facility 
Cost Report database (hereinafter referred to as the initial database). 

(2) Adjust the sum from paragraph (1) of this subsection as 
specified in §355.108 of this title (relating to Determination of Inflation 
Indices) to inflate the costs to the prospective rate year. 

(3) Divide the result from paragraph (2) of this subsection 
by the sum of recipient days of service in all facilities in the initial 
database and multiply the result by 1.07. The result is the average direct 
care staff base rate component for all facilities. 

(4) For rates effective September 1, 2009 and thereafter, 
to calculate the direct care staff per diem base rate component for all 
facilities for each of the RUG-III case mix groups and for the default 
groups, divide each RUG-III index from §355.307(b)(3)(C) of this title 
(relating to Reimbursement Setting Methodology) by 0.9908, which is 
the weighted average Texas Index for Level of Effort (TILE) case mix 
index associated with the initial database, and then multiply each of the 
resulting quotients by the average direct care staff base rate component 
from paragraph (3) of this subsection. 

(5) The direct care staff per diem base rates will be limited 
to available levels of appropriated state and federal funds as specified 
in §355.201 of this chapter. HHSC may also recommend adjustments 
to the rates in accordance with §355.109 of this title (relating to Adjust-
ing Reimbursement When New Legislation, Regulations, or Economic 
Factors Affect Costs). 

(l) Determine each participating facility's total direct care staff 
rate. Each participating facility's total direct care staff rate will be equal 
to the direct care staff base rate from subsection (k) of this section plus 
any add-on payments associated with enhanced staffing levels selected 
by and awarded to the facility during open enrollment. HHSC will de-
termine a per diem add-on payment for each enhanced staffing level 
taking into consideration the most recently available, reliable data re-
lating to LVN equivalent compensation levels. 

(m) Staffing requirements for participating facilities. Each 
participating facility will be required to maintain adjusted LVN-equiv-
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alent minutes equal to those determined in subsection (j) of this 
section. Each participating facility's adjusted LVN-equivalent minutes 
maintained during the reporting period will be determined as follows. 

(1) Determine unadjusted LVN-equivalent minutes main-
tained. Upon receipt of the staffing and spending information described 
in subsection (f) of this section, HHSC will determine the unadjusted 
LVN-equivalent minutes maintained by each facility during the report-
ing period. 

(2) Determine adjusted LVN-equivalent minutes main-
tained. Compare the unadjusted LVN-equivalent minutes maintained 
by the facility during the reporting period from paragraph (1) of this 
subsection to the LVN-equivalent minutes required of the facility as 
determined in subsection (j) of this section. The adjusted LVN-equiv-
alent minutes are determined as follows: 

(A) If the number of unadjusted LVN-equivalent min-
utes maintained by the facility during the reporting period is greater 
than or equal to the number of LVN-equivalent minutes required for 
the facility or less than the minimum LVN-equivalent minutes required 
for participation as determined in subsection (j)(1) of this section; the 
facility's adjusted LVN-equivalent minutes maintained is equal to its 
unadjusted LVN-equivalent minutes; or 

(B) If the number of unadjusted LVN-equivalent min-
utes maintained by the facility during the reporting period is less than 
the number of LVN-equivalent minutes required of the facility, but 
greater than or equal to the minimum LVN-equivalent minutes required 
for participation as determined in subsection (j)(1) of this section, the 
following steps are performed. 

(i) Determine what the facility's accrued Medicaid 
fee-for-service direct care revenue for the reporting period would have 
been if their staffing requirement had been set at a level consistent with 
the highest LVN-equivalent minutes that the facility actually main-
tained, as defined in subsection (j) of this section. 

(ii) Determine the facility's adjusted accrued direct 
care revenue by multiplying the accrued direct care revenue from 
clause (i) of this subparagraph by 0.85. 

(iii) Determine the facility's accrued allowable Med-
icaid fee-for-service direct care staff expenses for the rate year. 

(iv) Determine the facility's direct care spending sur-
plus for the reporting period by subtracting the facility's adjusted ac-
crued direct care revenue from clause (ii) of this subparagraph from 
the facility's accrued allowable direct care expenses from clause (iii) 
of this subparagraph. 

(v) If the facility's direct care spending surplus from 
clause (iv) of this subparagraph is less than or equal to zero, the facil-
ity's adjusted LVN-equivalent minutes maintained is equal to the unad-
justed LVN-equivalent minutes maintained as calculated in paragraph 
(1) of this subsection. 

(vi) If the facility's direct care spending surplus from 
clause (iv) of this subparagraph is greater than zero, the adjusted LVN-
equivalent minutes maintained by the facility during the reporting pe-
riod is set equal to the facility's direct care spending surplus from clause 
(iv) of this subparagraph divided by the per diem enhancement add-on 
as determined in subsection (l) of this section plus the unadjusted LVN-
equivalent minutes maintained by the facility during the reporting pe-
riod from paragraph (1) of this subsection according to the follow-
ing formula: (Direct Care Spending Surplus/Per Diem Enhancement 
Add-on for One LVN-equivalent Minute) + Unadjusted LVN-equiva-
lent Minutes. 

(C) For adjusted LVN-equivalent minutes calculated on 
or after March 1, 2004, requirements relating to the minimum LVN-
equivalent minutes required for participation in subparagraphs (A) and 
(B) of this paragraph do not apply. 

(n) Staffing accountability. Participating facilities will be re-
sponsible for maintaining the staffing levels determined in subsection 
(j) of this section. HHSC will determine the adjusted LVN-equivalent 
minutes maintained by each facility during the reporting period by the 
method described in subsection (m) of this section. HHSC or its de-
signee will recoup all direct care staff revenues associated with unmet 
staffing goals from participating facilities that fail to meet their staffing 
requirements during the reporting period. 

(o) Spending requirements for participants. Participating fa-
cilities are subject to a direct care staff spending requirement with re-
coupment calculated as follows. 

(1) Effective September 1, 2023, HHSC will complete cal-
culations associated with the direct care rate increases and spending 
requirements in accordance with §355.304 of this subchapter (relating 
to Direct Care Staff Spending Requirement on or after September 1, 
2023). 

(2) At the end of the rate year, a spending floor will be cal-
culated by multiplying accrued Medicaid fee-for-service and managed 
care direct care staff revenues by 0.70. 

(3) Accrued allowable Medicaid direct care staff fee-for-
service expenses for the rate year will be compared to the spending 
floor from paragraph (2) of this subsection. HHSC or its designee will 
recoup the difference between the spending floor and accrued allow-
able Medicaid direct care staff fee-for-service expenses from facilities 
whose Medicaid direct care staff spending is less than their spending 
floor. 

(4) At no time will a participating facility's direct care rates 
after spending recoupment be less than the direct care base rates. 

(p) Dietary and Fixed Capital Mitigation. Recoupment of 
funds described in subsection (o) of this section may be mitigated by 
high dietary and/or fixed capital expenses as follows. 

(1) Calculate dietary cost deficit. At the end of the facility's 
rate year, accrued Medicaid dietary per diem revenues will be com-
pared to accrued, allowable Medicaid dietary per diem costs. If costs 
are greater than revenues, the dietary per diem cost deficit will be equal 
to the difference between accrued, allowable Medicaid dietary per diem 
costs and accrued Medicaid dietary per diem revenues. If costs are less 
than revenues, the dietary cost deficit will be equal to zero. 

(2) Calculate dietary revenue surplus. At the end of the fa-
cility's rate, accrued Medicaid dietary per diem revenues will be com-
pared to accrued, allowable Medicaid dietary per diem costs. If rev-
enues are greater than costs, the dietary per diem revenue surplus will 
be equal to the difference between accrued Medicaid dietary per diem 
revenues and accrued, allowable Medicaid dietary per diem costs. If 
revenues are less than costs, the dietary revenue surplus will be equal 
to zero. 

(3) Calculate fixed capital cost deficit. At the end of the 
facility's rate year, accrued Medicaid fixed capital per diem revenues 
will be compared to accrued, allowable Medicaid fixed capital per diem 
costs as defined in §355.306(b)(2)(A) of this title (relating to Cost Find-
ing Methodology). If costs are greater than revenues, the fixed capital 
cost per diem deficit will be equal to the difference between accrued, 
allowable Medicaid fixed capital per diem costs and accrued Medic-
aid fixed capital per diem revenues. If costs are less than revenues, the 
fixed capital cost deficit will be equal to zero. For purposes of this para-
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graph, fixed capital per diem costs of facilities with occupancy rates 
below 85% are adjusted to the cost per diem the facility would have 
accrued had it maintained an 85% occupancy rate throughout the rate 
year. 

(4) Calculate fixed capital revenue surplus. At the end of 
the facility's rate year, accrued Medicaid fixed capital per diem rev-
enues will be compared to accrued, allowable Medicaid fixed capital 
per diem costs as defined in §355.306(b)(2)(A) of this title. If revenues 
are greater than costs, the fixed capital revenue per diem surplus will 
be equal to the difference between accrued Medicaid fixed capital per 
diem revenues and accrued, allowable Medicaid fixed capital per diem 
costs. If revenues are less than costs, the fixed capital revenue surplus 
will be equal to zero. For purposes of this paragraph, fixed capital per 
diem costs of facilities with occupancy rates below 85% are adjusted 
to the cost per diem the facility would have accrued had it maintained 
an 85% occupancy rate throughout the rate year. 

(5) Facilities with a dietary per diem cost deficit will have 
their dietary per diem cost deficit reduced by their fixed capital per diem 
revenue surplus, if any. Any remaining dietary per diem cost deficit 
will be capped at $2.00 per diem. 

(6) Facilities with a fixed capital cost per diem deficit will 
have their fixed capital cost per diem deficit reduced by their dietary 
revenue per diem surplus, if any. Any remaining fixed capital per diem 
cost deficit will be capped at $2.00 per diem. 

(7) Each facility's recoupment, as calculated in subsection 
(o) of this section, will be reduced by the sum of that facility's dietary 
per diem cost deficit as calculated in paragraph (5) of this subsection 
and its fixed capital per diem cost deficit as calculated in paragraph (6) 
of this subsection. 

(q) Adjusting staffing requirements. Facilities that determine 
that they will not be able to meet their staffing requirements from sub-
section (m) of this section may request a reduction in their staffing re-
quirements and associated rate add-on. These requests will be effective 
on the first day of the month following approval of the request. 

(r) Voluntary withdrawal. Facilities wishing to withdraw from 
participation must notify HHSC in writing by certified mail and the 
request must be signed by an authorized representative as designated 
per the HHSC signature authority designation form applicable to the 
provider's contract or ownership type. Facilities voluntarily withdraw-
ing must remain nonparticipants for the remainder of the rate year. Fa-
cilities that voluntarily withdraw from participation will have their par-
ticipation end effective on the date of the withdrawal, as determined by 
HHSC. 

(s) Notification of recoupment based on Annual Staffing and 
Compensation Report or cost report. The estimated amount to be re-
couped is indicated in STAIRS. STAIRS will generate an e-mail to 
the entity contact, indicating that the facility's estimated recoupment 
is available for review. If a subsequent review by HHSC or audit re-
sults in adjustments to the Annual Staffing and Compensation Report 
or cost report as described in subsection (f) of this section that changes 
the amount to be repaid to HHSC or its designee, the facility will be 
notified by e-mail to the entity contact that the adjustments and the ad-
justed amount to be repaid are available in STAIRS for review. HHSC 
or its designee will recoup any amount owed from a facility's vendor 
payment(s) following the date of the initial or subsequent notification. 

(t) Change of ownership and contract terminations. Facilities 
required to submit a Staffing and Compensation Report due to a change 
of ownership or contract termination as described in subsection (f) of 
this section will have funds held as per 26 TAC §554.210 (relating 
to Change of Ownership and Notice of Changes) until an acceptable 

Staffing and Compensation Report is received by HHSC and funds 
identified for recoupment from subsections (n) and/or (o) of this section 
are repaid to HHSC or its designee. Informal reviews and formal ap-
peals relating to these reports are governed by §355.110 of this title (re-
lating to Informal Reviews and Formal Appeals). HHSC or its designee 
will recoup any amount owed from the facility's vendor payments that 
are being held. In cases where funds identified for recoupment cannot 
be repaid from the held vendor payments, the responsible entity from 
subsection (x) of this section will be jointly and severally liable for any 
additional payment due to HHSC or its designee. Failure to repay the 
amount due or submit an acceptable payment plan within 60 days of 
notification will result in the recoupment of the owed funds from other 
Medicaid contracts controlled by the responsible entity, placement of 
a vendor hold on all Medicaid contracts controlled by the responsible 
entity and will bar the responsible entity from receiving any new con-
tracts with HHSC or its designees until repayment is made in full. The 
responsible entity for these contracts will be notified as described in 
subsection (s) of this section prior to the recoupment of owed funds, 
placement of vendor hold and barring of new contracts. 

(u) Failure to document staff time and spending. Undocu-
mented direct care staff and contract labor time and compensation costs 
will be disallowed and will not be used in the determination of direct 
care staff time and costs per unit of service. 

(v) All other rate components. All other rate components will 
be calculated as specified in §355.307 of this title (relating to Reim-
bursement Setting Methodology) and will be uniform for all providers. 

(w) Appeals. Subject matter of informal reviews and formal 
appeals is limited as per §355.110(a)(3) of this title (relating to Informal 
Reviews and Formal Appeals). 

(x) Responsible entities. The contracted provider, owner, or 
legal entity that received the revenue to be recouped upon is responsible 
for the repayment of any recoupment amount. 

(y) Change of ownership. Participation in the enhanced direct 
care staff rate confers to the new owner as defined in 26 TAC §554.210 
(relating to Change of Ownership and Notice of Changes) when there is 
a change of ownership. The new owner is responsible for the reporting 
requirements in subsection (f) of this section for any reporting period 
days occurring after the change. If the change of ownership occurs 
during an open enrollment period as defined in subsection (c) of this 
section, then the owner recognized by HHSC or its designee on the 
last day of the enrollment period may request to modify the enrollment 
status of the facility in accordance with subsection (d) of this section. 

(z) Contract cancellations. If a facility's Medicaid contract is 
cancelled before the first day of an open enrollment period as defined in 
subsection (c) of this section and the facility is not granted a new con-
tract until after the last day of the open enrollment period, participation 
in the enhanced direct care staff rate as it existed prior to the date when 
the facility's contract was cancelled will be reinstated when the facil-
ity is granted a new contract, if it remains under the same ownership, 
subject to the availability of funding. Any enrollment limitations from 
subsection (i) of this section that would have applied to the cancelled 
contract will apply to the new contract. 

(aa) Determination of compliance with spending requirements 
in the aggregate. 

(1) Definitions. The following words and terms have the 
following meanings when used in this subsection. 

(A) Commonly owned corporations--two or more cor-
porations where five or fewer identical persons who are individuals, es-
tates, or trusts control greater than 50 percent of the total voting power 
in each corporation. 
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(B) Entity--a parent company, sole member, individual, 
limited partnership, or group of limited partnerships controlled by the 
same general partner. 

(C) Combined entity--one or more commonly owned 
corporations and one or more limited partnerships where the general 
partner is controlled by the same person(s) as the commonly owned 
corporation(s). 

(D) Control--greater than 50 percent ownership by the 
entity. 

(2) Aggregation. For an entity, commonly owned corpo-
ration, or combined entity that controls more than one participating 
nursing facility contract, compliance with the spending requirements 
detailed in subsection (o) of this section can be determined in the ag-
gregate for all participating nursing facility contracts controlled by the 
entity, commonly owned corporations, or combined entity at the end of 
the rate year, the effective date of the change of ownership of its last 
participating NF contract, or the effective date of the termination of 
its last participating NF contract rather than requiring each contract to 
meet its spending requirement individually. Corporations that do not 
meet the definitions under paragraph (1)(A) - (C) of this subsection are 
not eligible for aggregation to meet spending requirements. 

(A) Aggregation Request. To exercise aggregation, the 
entity, combined entity, or commonly owned corporations must submit 
an aggregation request, in a manner prescribed by HHSC, at the time 
each Staffing and Compensation Report or cost report is submitted. In 
limited partnerships in which the same single general partner controls 
all the limited partnerships, the single general partner must make this 
request. Other such aggregation requests will be reviewed on a case-
by-case basis. 

(B) Frequency of Aggregation Requests. The entity, 
combined entity, or commonly owned corporations must submit a sep-
arate request for aggregation for each reporting period. 

(C) Ownership changes or terminations. Nursing facil-
ity contracts that change ownership or terminate effective after the end 
of the applicable reporting period, but prior to the determination of 
compliance with spending requirements as per subsection (o) of this 
section, are excluded from all aggregate spending calculations. These 
contracts' compliance with spending requirements will be determined 
on an individual basis and the costs and revenues will not be included 
in the aggregate spending calculation. 

(bb) Medicaid Swing Bed Program for Rural Hospitals. 
When a rural hospital participating in the Medicaid swing bed pro-
gram furnishes NF nursing care to a Medicaid recipient under 26 
TAC §554.2326 (relating to Medicaid Swing Bed Program for Rural 
Hospitals), HHSC or its designee makes payment to the hospital using 
the same procedures, the same case-mix methodology, and the same 
RUG-III rates that HHSC authorizes for reimbursing NFs receiving 
the direct care staff base rate with no enhancement levels. These 
hospitals are not subject to the staffing and spending requirements 
detailed in this section. 

(cc) Disclaimer. Nothing in these rules should be construed as 
preventing facilities from adding direct care staff in addition to those 
funded by the enhanced direct care staff rate. 

(dd) Notification of lack of available funds. If HHSC deter-
mines that funds are not available to continue participation for facilities 
from which it has not received an acceptable request to modify their en-
rollment by the last day of an enrollment period as per subsection (d) of 
this section or to fund carry-over enhancements as per subsection (j)(3) 
of this section, HHSC will notify providers in a manner determined by 
HHSC that such funds are not available. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302937 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 867-7817 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER E. COMMUNITY CARE FOR 
AGED AND DISABLED 
1 TAC §355.513 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts an amendment to §355.513, concerning Reimbursement 
Methodology for the Deaf-Blind with Multiple Disabilities Waiver 
Program. Section 355.513 is adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the July 7, 2023, issue of the Texas 
Register (48 TexReg 3588). This rule will not be republished. 
BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

Title 42 Code of Federal Regulations §441.301(c)(4)(i) - (v), re-
quires home and community-based settings in programs autho-
rized by §1915(c) of the Social Security Act to have certain qual-
ities, including being integrated into and supporting full access 
of individuals to the greater community. HHSC adopted rules in 
Title 26 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 260 to imple-
ment individualized skills and socialization effective January 1, 
2023. 
The 2022-2023 General Appropriations Act (GAA), Senate Bill 
1, 87th Legislature, Regular Session, 2021 (Article II, HHSC, 
Rider 23) authorized funding for the provision of individualized 
skills and socialization in the Home and Community-based Ser-
vices (HCS), Texas Home Living (TxHmL), and Deaf-Blind with 
Multiple Disabilities (DBMD) programs. HHSC adopted rates for 
individualized skills and socialization based on the available ap-
propriations, effective January 1, 2023. 
The purpose of the adoption is to amend the reimbursement 
methodology for the DBMD Program to remove day habilita-
tion services and establish rate methodologies for individualized 
skills and socialization services. The adopted amendment also 
clarifies the rate methodology for residential habilitation trans-
portation, chore, and intervener services by replacing the "other 
direct care" cost area with an administration and facility cost area 
to align waiver rate methodology with other similar services. 
COMMENTS 

The 21-day comment period ended July 28, 2023. 
During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the pro-
posed rule from one commenter. A summary of comments re-
lating to §355.513 and HHSC's responses follow: 
Comment: One commenter asked HHSC to only consider 
amendments that will support and enhance the method by which 
these affected citizens receive reimbursement and not add to 
the difficulties this population faces. 
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Response: HHSC appreciates the comment received. HHSC 
believes these amendments ensure that an appropriate reim-
bursement rate methodology is used in the DBMD waiver pro-
gram by establishing rate methodologies for individualized skills 
and socialization services and aligning the waiver rate method-
ology with other similar services. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner 
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies; Texas 
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive 
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; Texas 
Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code 
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to adminis-
ter the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas; 
and Texas Government Code §531.021(b-1), which establishes 
HHSC as the agency responsible for adopting reasonable 
rules governing the determination of fees, charges, and rates 
for Medicaid payments under Texas Human Resources Code 
Chapter 32. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 8, 2023. 
TRD-202302820 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 867-7817 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER F. REIMBURSEMENT 
METHODOLOGY FOR PROGRAMS SERVING 
PERSONS WITH MENTAL ILLNESS OR 
INTELLECTUAL OR DEVELOPMENTAL 
DISABILITY 
1 TAC §355.723 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts an amendment to §355.723, concerning Reimbursement 
Methodology for Home and Community-Based Services and 
Texas Home Living Programs. Section 355.723 is adopted with 
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 7, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3591). This rule will be 
republished. 
BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

Title 42, Code of Federal Regulations, §441.301(c)(4)(i) - (v), 
requires home and community-based settings in programs au-
thorized by §1915(c) of the Social Security Act to have certain 
qualities, including being integrated into and supporting full ac-
cess of individuals to the greater community. HHSC adopted 
rules in Title 26 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapters 262 
and 263 to implement individualized skills and socialization ef-
fective January 1, 2023. 

The 2022 - 2023 General Appropriations Act (GAA), Senate 
Bill (S.B.) 1, 87th Legislature, Regular Session, 2021 (Article II, 
Health and Human Services Commission, Rider 23) authorized 
funding for the provision of individualized skills and socialization 
in the Home and Community-Based Services (HCS), Texas 
Home Living (TxHmL), and Deaf-Blind with Multiple Disabilities 
Programs. HHSC adopted rates for individualized skills and 
socialization based on the available appropriations, effective 
January 1, 2023. 
The purpose of the adoption is to amend the reimbursement 
methodology for the HCS and TxHmL Programs to remove day 
habilitation and establish rate methodologies for individualized 
skills and socialization. The adopted amendment also clarifies 
the rate methodology for each HCS and TxHmL waiver service 
and implements some recommendations in HHSC's legislative 
report, Rates: Intermediate Care Facilities and Certain Waiver 
Providers, required by the 2022 - 2023 GAA, S.B. 1, 87th Leg-
islature, Regular Session, 2021 (Article II, Health and Human 
Services Commission, Rider 30). 
COMMENTS 

The 21-day comment period ended July 28, 2023. 
During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the pro-
posed rule from three commenters: Providers Alliance for Com-
munity Services of Texas (PACSTX), Private Providers Associa-
tion of Texas (PPAT), and Texas Council of Community Centers 
(Texas Council). 
A summary of comments relating to §355.723 and HHSC's re-
sponses follow. 
Comment: Multiple commenters expressed support for using a 
pro forma costing analysis when HHSC has insufficient cost data 
to establish the attendant compensation rate component. Due to 
current economic drivers, the commenters asked HHSC to use 
a pro forma costing analysis for HCS/TxHmL attendant compen-
sation. 
Response: The methodology for the attendant compensation 
rate component is outside the scope of this rule packet, as that 
component is established under §355.112. However, HHSC can 
rely on pro forma costing if it deems that available cost data is 
insufficient under §355.101(g); therefore no changes were made 
in response to these comments. 
Comment: Multiple commenters shared concerns with modifica-
tions to subsection (f), Refinement and adjustment. The com-
menters said HHSC should not refine or adjust rates without 
consideration of the actual costs to deliver services. The com-
menters also said HHSC should not recategorize costs into other 
rate components simply because there is insufficient funding for 
certain components. Otherwise, the collection of data from cost 
reports will have no relationship to the rates and paint an inac-
curate picture of the actual costs to deliver services. 
Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to make a change in 
response to these comments. The amendment to §355.723(f) 
allows HHSC to modify and adjust modeled assumptions if new 
data or more accurate assumptions become available, particu-
larly during HHSC's regular biennial fee review process. HHSC 
seeks to ensure that cost reports accurately reflect the provider's 
costs to deliver waiver services and that the rate methodology, 
modeled assumptions, and associated calculations accurately 
capture an economic and efficient provider's allowable costs. No 
changes were made in response to these comments. 
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A minor editorial change was made to §355.723(d)(3) replacing 
"subparagraph" with "subsection" to correctly reference subsec-
tion (c)(5)(A) of the section. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is authorized by Texas Government Code 
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner 
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies; Texas 
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive 
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; Texas 
Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code 
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to adminis-
ter the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas; 
and Texas Government Code §531.021(b-1), which establishes 
HHSC as the agency responsible for adopting reasonable 
rules governing the determination of fees, charges, and rates 
for Medicaid payments under Texas Human Resources Code 
Chapter 32. 
§355.723. Reimbursement Methodology for Home and Community-
Based Services and Texas Home Living Programs. 

(a) Prospective payment rates. The Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission (HHSC) sets payment rates to be paid prospec-
tively to Home and Community-based Services (HCS) and Texas 
Home Living (TxHmL) providers. 

(b) Levels of need. 

(1) Variable rates. Rates vary by level of need (LON) for 
the following services: 

(A) host home/companion care (HH/CC); 

(B) individualized skills and socialization; 

(C) residential support services (RSS); and 

(D) supervised living (SL). 

(2) Non-variable rates. Rates do not vary by LON for the 
following services: 

(A) audiology; 

(B) behavioral support; 

(C) cognitive rehabilitative therapy (CRT); 

(D) community first choice personal assistance ser-
vices/habilitation (CFC PAS/HAB); 

(E) community support services transportation (CSS); 

(F) dietary; 

(G) employment assistance (EA); 

(H) in-home respite; 

(I) licensed vocational nurse (LVN); 

(J) occupational therapy (OT); 

(K) out-of-home respite (OHR); 

(L) physical therapy (PT); 

(M) registered nurse (RN); 

(N) social work; 

(O) speech therapy; 

(P) supported employment (SE); and 

(Q) supported home living transportation (SHL). 

(c) Recommended rates. The recommended payment rates are 
determined for each HCS and TxHmL service listed in subsections 
(b)(1) and (2) of this section by type and, for services listed in subsec-
tion (b)(1) of this section, by LON to include the following cost areas. 

(1) Attendant compensation cost area. The determination 
of the attendant compensation cost area is calculated as specified in 
§355.112 of this chapter (relating to Attendant Compensation Rate En-
hancement). The attendant compensation cost area includes personal 
attendant staffing costs (wages, benefits, modeled staffing ratios for at-
tendant staff, direct care trainers, and job coaches). 

(2) Other direct care cost area. The other direct care cost 
area includes other direct service staffing costs (wages and benefits for 
direct care and attendant supervisors). The other direct care cost area 
is determined by calculating a median from allowable other direct care 
costs for each service, weighed by units of service for the applicable 
service from the most recently examined HCS/TxHmL cost report ad-
justed for inflation from the cost reporting period to the prospective rate 
period as specified in §355.108 of this chapter (relating to Determina-
tion of Inflation Indices). 

(A) For the following services, multiply the other direct 
care cost area as specified in this paragraph by 1.044: 

(i) EA; 

(ii) in-home respite; 

(iii) OHR in a camp; 

(iv) OHR in a respite facility; 

(v) OHR in a setting where HH/CC is provided; 

(vi) OHR in a setting that is not listed; and 

(vii) SE. 

(B) For the following services, multiply the other direct 
care cost area as specified in this paragraph by 1.07: 

(i) individualized skills and socialization; 

(ii) in-home and out-of-home individualized skills 
and socialization; 

(iii) OHR in an individualized skills and socializa-
tion facility; 

(iv) OHR in a setting with SL or RSS is provided; 

(v) RSS; and 

(vi) SL. 

(3) Administration and operations cost area. The adminis-
tration and operation cost area includes: 

(A) administration and operation costs; and 

(B) professional consultation and program support 
costs, including: 

(i) allowable costs for required case management 
and service coordination activities; and 

(ii) service-specific transportation costs. 

(4) Projected costs. Projected costs are determined by al-
lowable administrative and operations costs from the most recently au-
dited cost report adjusted for inflation from the cost reporting period 
to the prospective rate period as specified in §355.108 of this chapter. 
The steps to determine projected costs are as follows. 
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(A) Step 1. Determine total projected administration 
and operation costs and projected units of service by service type us-
ing cost reports submitted by HCS and TxHmL providers in accor-
dance with §355.722 of this subchapter (relating to Reporting Costs by 
Home and Community-based Services (HCS) and Texas Home Living 
(TxHmL) Providers). 

(B) Step 2. Determine the HH/CC coordinator compo-
nent of the HH/CC rate as follows: This component is determined by 
summing total reported HH/CC coordinator wages and allocated pay-
roll taxes and benefits from the most recently available audited HCS 
cost report, inflating those costs to the rate period, and dividing the 
resulting product by the total number of host home units of service re-
ported on that cost report. 

(C) Step 3. Determine total HH/CC coordinator dollars 
as follows. Multiply the HH/CC coordinator component of the HH/CC 
rate from subparagraph (B) of this paragraph by the total number of 
HH/CC units of service reported on the most recently available, reliable 
audited HCS cost report database. 

(D) Step 4. Determine total projected administration 
and operation costs after offsetting total HH/CC coordinator dollars as 
follows. Subtract the total HH/CC coordinator dollars from subpara-
graph (C) of this paragraph from the total projected administration and 
operation costs from subparagraph (A) of this paragraph. 

(E) Step 5. Determine projected weighted units of ser-
vice for each HCS and TxHmL service type as follows. 

(i) SL and RSS in HCS. Projected weighted units of 
service for SL and RSS equal projected SL and RSS units of service 
times a weight of 1.00. 

(ii) Individualized skills and socialization in HCS 
and TxHmL. Projected weighted units of service for individualized 
skills and socialization equal projected individualized skills and social-
ization units of service times a weight of 0.25. 

(iii) HH/CC in HCS. Projected weighted units of 
service for HH/CC equal projected HH/CC units of service times a 
weight of 0.50. 

(iv) SHL in HCS, high medical needs support in 
HCS, and CSS in TxHmL. For each service, projected weighted units 
of service equal projected units of service times a weight of 0.30. 

(v) Respite in HCS and TxHmL. Projected weighted 
units of service for respite equal projected respite units of service times 
a weight of 0.20. 

(vi) SE in HCS and TxHmL. Projected weighted 
units of service for SE equal projected units of service times a weight 
of 0.25. 

(vii) Behavioral support in HCS and TxHmL. Pro-
jected weighted units of service for behavioral support equal projected 
behavioral support units of service times a weight of 0.18. 

(viii) Audiology, CRT, OT, PT, and speech therapy 
in HCS and TxHmL. Projected weighted units of service for audiology, 
CRT, OT, PT, and speech therapy equal projected audiology, CRT, OT, 
PT, and speech therapy units of service times a weight of 0.18. 

(ix) Social work in HCS. Projected weighted units 
of service for social work equal projected social work units of service 
times a weight of 0.18. 

(x) Nursing in HCS and TxHmL and high medical 
needs nursing in HCS. Projected weighted units of service for nursing 

and high medical needs nursing equal projected nursing and high med-
ical needs nursing units of service times a weight of 0.25. 

(xi) EA in HCS and TxHmL. Projected weighted 
units of service for EA equal projected EA units of service times a 
weight of 0.25. 

(xii) Dietary in HCS and TxHmL. Projected 
weighted units of service for dietary equal projected dietary units of 
service times a weight of 0.18. 

(F) Step 6. Calculate the total projected weighted units 
of service by summing the projected weighted units of service from 
subparagraph (E) of this paragraph. 

(G) Step 7. Calculate the percent of total administration 
and operation costs to be allocated to the service type by dividing the 
projected weighted units for the service type from subparagraph (E) 
of this paragraph by the total projected weighted units of service from 
subparagraph (F) of this paragraph. 

(H) Step 8. Calculate the total administration and oper-
ation cost to be allocated to the service type by multiplying the percent 
of total administration and operation costs allocated to the service type 
from subparagraph (G) of this paragraph by the total administration and 
operation costs after offsetting total HH/CC coordinator dollars from 
subparagraph (D) of this paragraph. 

(I) Step 9. Calculate the administration and operation 
cost component per unit of service for each HCS and TxHmL service 
type by dividing the total administration and operation cost to be allo-
cated to that service type from subparagraph (H) of this paragraph by 
the projected units of service for that service type from subparagraph 
(A) of this paragraph. 

(J) Step 10. The final recommended administration and 
operation cost area per unit of service for each HCS and TxHmL service 
type is calculated as follows. 

(i) For the following services, multiply the adminis-
tration and operation cost area from this subparagraph by 1.044: 

(I) CFC PAS/HAB; 

(II) CSS; 

(III) EA; 

(IV) in-home individualized skills and socializa-
tion; 

(V) in-home respite; 

(VI) OHR in a camp; 

(VII) OHR in a respite facility; 

(VIII) OHR in a setting where HH/CC is pro-
vided; 

(IX) OHR in a setting that is not listed; 

(X) SE; and 

(XI) SHL. 

(ii) For the following services, multiply the admin-
istration and operation cost area from this subparagraph by 1.07: 

(I) individualized skills and socialization; 

(II) in-home and out-of-home individualized 
skills and socialization; 

(III) OHR in an individualized skills and social-
ization facility; 
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(IV) RSS; and 

(V) SL. 

(5) The facility cost area. The facility cost area includes 
the following: 

(A) room and board costs, including rent, mortgage in-
terest, depreciation expenses, property taxes, property insurance, and 
food costs as defined in §355.103 of this chapter (relating to Specifica-
tions for Allowable and Unallowable Costs), unless excluded if unal-
lowable under Federal Medicaid rules; and 

(B) non-room and board costs not already reimbursed 
through the monthly amount collected from the individual receiving 
services as defined in 26 TAC §565.27(a). 

(6) The facility cost area is determined by calculating a me-
dian cost for each service using allowable facility costs, weighted by 
units of service for the applicable service from the most recently au-
dited cost report, adjusted for inflation from the cost reporting period 
to the prospective rate period as specified in §355.108. 

(A) For the following services, multiply the facility cost 
component by 1.044: 

(i) HH/CC; 

(ii) OHR in a camp; 

(iii) OHR in a respite facility; and 

(iv) OHR in a setting where HH/CC is provided. 

(B) For the following services, multiply the facility cost 
component by 1.07: 

(i) individualized skills and socialization; 

(ii) in-home and out-of-home DH; 

(iii) OHR in a DH or individualized skills and so-
cialization facility; 

(iv) OHR in a setting where SL or RSS are provided; 

(v) RSS; and 

(vi) SL. 

(d) Recommended payment rates are determined for each ser-
vice by the following. 

(1) CFC PAS/HAB. The recommended payment rate is cal-
culated by summing the attendant compensation cost area and the ad-
ministration and operations cost area as defined in subsection (c) of this 
section. The recommended rate for CFC PAS/HAB does not include a 
cost component for other direct care staffing costs. 

(2) CRT. The recommended payment rate is developed 
based on payment rates determined for other programs that provide 
similar services. If payment rates are not available from other pro-
grams that provide similar services, payment rates are determined 
using a pro forma analysis in accordance with §355.105(h) of this 
chapter (relating to General Reporting and Documentation Require-
ments, Methods, and Procedures). 

(3) HH/CC. The recommended payment rate is determined 
by summing the direct care worker component, HH/CC coordinator 
cost area, administration and operations component, and facility cost 
area. The direct care worker component is calculated using the median 
of allowable direct care worker costs, weighted by HH/CC units of ser-
vice from the most recently examined cost report database. The result 
is adjusted for each LON. The HH/CC coordinator cost area and ad-
ministration and operations components are calculated as determined 

in subsection (c) of this section. The facility cost area is calculated as 
determined in subsection (c) of this section but does not include room 
and board costs as defined in subsection (c)(5)(A) of this section. If 
HHSC lacks reliable cost report data, the rate is developed based on 
payment rates determined for other programs that provide similar ser-
vices. If payment rates are not available from other programs that pro-
vide similar services, payment rates are determined using a pro forma 
analysis in accordance with §355.105(h) of this chapter. 

(4) In-home respite. The recommended payment rate is 
calculated by summing the attendant compensation cost area and the 
administration and operations component as defined in subsection (c) 
of this section. 

(5) Individualized skills and socialization. The recom-
mended payment cost areas are adjusted using modeled staffing ratios 
to establish recommended rates for on-site and off-site rates by LON. 
The recommended rates are calculated by summing the attendant com-
pensation cost area, other direct care cost area, the administration and 
operations component, and the facility cost component as defined in 
subsection (c) of this section. Transportation costs are calculated as a 
standalone component separate from the administration and operations 
component for off-site services. The enhanced staffing level one rate 
is equal to the LON 8 individualized skills and socialization off-site 
recommended rate. The enhanced staffing level two rate is modeled 
and assumes a one-staff-to-one-individual staffing ratio. 

(6) Nursing services provided by an RN, nursing ser-
vices provided by an LVN, physical therapy, occupational therapy, 
speech/language therapy, behavioral support services, audiology 
services, dietary services, EA, SE, and transition assistance services 
are determined based on §355.725 of this subchapter (relating to 
Reimbursement Methodology for Common Waiver Services in Home 
and Community-based Services (HCS) and Texas Home Living 
(TxHmL)). 

(7) OHR. The recommended payment cost areas may be 
adjusted using modeled direct care worker hour-per-unit ratios for sim-
ilar services to calculate OHR rates that vary by setting where the ser-
vice is provided. The recommended payment rates are calculated by 
summing the attendant compensation cost area, other direct care cost 
area, the administration and operations component, and the facility cost 
component as defined in subsection (c) of this section. 

(8) SHL and CSS. The recommended payment rates for 
SHL and CSS are calculated by summing the attendant compensation 
cost area and the administration and operations cost area as defined in 
subsection (c) of this section. 

(9) SL and RSS. The recommended payment cost areas are 
adjusted using modeled direct care worker hour-per-unit ratios updated 
by actual hours reported on the most recently audited cost report to 
calculate variable rates by LON. The recommended rates are calculated 
by summing the attendant compensation cost area, other direct care 
cost area, and the administration and operations component as defined 
in subsection (c) of this section. The facility cost area is calculated as 
determined in subsection (c) of this section but does not include room 
and board costs defined in subsection (c)(5)(A) of this section. 

(10) Social work. The recommended payment rate is cal-
culated using the weighted median social worker hourly cost from the 
most recently audited cost report, and the administration and opera-
tions cost component as determined in subsection (c) of this section. 
If HHSC lacks reliable cost report data, the rate is developed based on 
payment rates determined for other programs that provide similar ser-
vices. If payment rates are not available from other programs that pro-
vide similar services, payment rates are determined using a pro forma 
analysis in accordance with §355.105(h) of this chapter. 
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(e) Other sources of cost information. If HHSC has deter-
mined that there is not sufficient reliable cost report data from which to 
set reimbursements and reimbursement ceilings for waiver services, re-
imbursements and reimbursement ceilings will be developed by using 
rates for similar services from other Medicaid programs, data from sur-
veys, cost report data from other similar programs, consultation with 
other service providers or professionals experienced in delivering con-
tracted services, and similar sources. If HHSC has insufficient cost 
data, the recommended payment rate for each service is developed 
based on payment rates determined for other programs that provide 
similar services. If payment rates are not available from other programs 
that provide similar services, payment rates are determined using a pro 
forma analysis in accordance with §355.105(h) of this chapter. 

(f) Refinement and adjustment. Refinement and adjustment 
of the rate components and model assumptions will be considered, as 
appropriate, by HHSC. All adopted rates are limited to available levels 
of appropriated state and federal funds as defined in §355.201 of this 
chapter (relating to Establishment and Adjustment of Reimbursement 
Rates for Medicaid). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302912 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 867-7817 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER H. BASE WAGE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR PERSONAL 
ATTENDANTS 
1 TAC §355.7051 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts an amendment to §355.7051, concerning Base Wage 
for a Personal Attendant. Section 355.7051 is adopted with 
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 7, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3598). This rule will be 
republished. 
BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

The amendment implements Rider 30(a) of the 2024-25 Gen-
eral Appropriations Act, House Bill 1, 88th Legislature, Regular 
Session, 2023 (Article II, HHSC, Rider 30(a)). Rider 30(a) ap-
propriates funds to HHSC to increase the minimum base wage 
paid to "personal attendants" from $8.11 to $10.60 per hour. 
In response to Rider 30(a), HHSC must update its program re-
quirements to require service providers to pay this updated mini-
mum base wage. To ensure consistency and clarity, the amend-
ment also adds additional services to the definition of "personal 
attendant," including assisted living and in-home respite, in the 
Home and Community-based Services - Adult Mental Health 
program. In addition, the amendment replaces day habilitation 
with individualized skills and socialization services. 
COMMENTS 

The 21-day comment period ended July 28, 2023. 
During this period, HHSC received two comments regarding the 
proposed rule from three commenters. HHSC received com-
ments from the following organizations: the Providers Alliance 
for Community Services of Texas (PACSTX), Private Providers 
Association of Texas (PPAT), and the Texas Council of Commu-
nity Centers. 
A summary of comments relating to §355.7051 and HHSC's re-
sponses follows: 
Comment: Multiple commenters expressed opposition to includ-
ing supervised living and residential support services to the def-
inition of a personal attendant subject to the $10.60 per hour 
base wage in §355.7051(a) because a direct care worker's pay 
includes room and board for live-in staff. 
Response: HHSC agrees and revised the rule to exclude super-
vised living and residential support services (SL/RSS). HHSC 
acknowledges that reimbursement of attendants within a resi-
dential setting may combine payment for their room and board 
and wages; therefore, holding providers to a base wage for per-
sonal attendants would not be appropriate. HHSC assumes that 
attendants' reimbursement in these residential settings is equiv-
alent to $10.60 per hour, as supported with the intention of Rider 
30(a) and adopted rate increases. 
Comment: Multiple commenters expressed opposition to in-
cluding individualized skills and socialization in the definition of 
personal attendant in 355.7051(a)(3)(A)(vii)(VI), (viii)(IV), and 
(ix)(IV) as the individualized skills and socialization services 
were not previously subject to the attendant base wage nor was 
there an appropriation for this service. 
Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to exclude individual-
ized skills and socialization from a personal attendant definition 
because attendants providing individualized skills and socializa-
tion are reimbursed based on an hourly wage. Rate actions were 
not proposed at this time since current reimbursement rates for 
the individualized skills and socialization services assume that 
attendants' base wages exceed $10.60 per hour. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is authorized by Texas Government Code 
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner 
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies; Texas 
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive 
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; Texas 
Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code 
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to adminis-
ter the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas; 
and Texas Government Code §531.021(b-1), which establishes 
HHSC as the agency responsible for adopting reasonable 
rules governing the determination of fees, charges, and rates 
for Medicaid payments under Texas Human Resources Code 
Chapter 32. 
§355.7051. Base Wage for a Personal Attendant. 

(a) The following words and terms, when used in this subchap-
ter, have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise. 

(1) HHSC contractor--A person who has a written agree-
ment with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
to provide a service to an individual in exchange for payment from 
HHSC. 
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(2) Managed care organization or MCO--Has the meaning 
assigned in §353.2 of this title (relating to Definitions). 

(3) Personal attendant--

(A) An employee or subcontractor of an HHSC contrac-
tor, or an employee of an employer in the consumer directed services 
(CDS) option, who provides the following services, as described in 40 
TAC §49.101 (relating to Application): 

(i) services in the Community Attendant Services 
program; 

(ii) services in the Family Care program; 

(iii) services in the Primary Home Care program; 

(iv) day activity and health services; 

(v) residential care; 

(vi) in the Community Living Assistance and Sup-
port Services Program: 

(I) community first choice personal assistance 
services/habilitation (CFC PAS/HAB); 

(II) habilitation (transportation); or 

(III) in-home respite; 

(vii) in the Deaf-Blind Multiple Disabilities Pro-
gram: 

(I) CFC PAS/HAB; 

(II) residential habilitation (transportation); 

(III) in-home respite; 

(IV) licensed assisted living; 

(V) licensed home health assisted living; or 

(VI) individualized skills and socialization ser-
vices; 

(viii) in the Home and Community-based Services 
Program: 

(I) CFC PAS/HAB; 

(II) supported home living (transportation); 

(III) in-home respite; and 

(IV) individualized skills and socialization ser-
vices; 

(ix) in the Texas Home Living Program: 

(I) CFC PAS/HAB; 

(II) community support services (transporta-
tion); 

(III) in-home respite; or 

(IV) individualized skills and socialization ser-
vices. 

(B) An employee or subcontractor of an HHSC con-
tractor who provides the following services in the Home and Commu-
nity-Based Services--Adult Mental Health program, as described in 26 
TAC §307.51 (relating to Purpose and Application): 

(i) assisted living services; 

(ii) in-home respite; and 

(iii) supported home living services. 

(C) An employee or subcontractor of an HHSC contrac-
tor or an employee of an employer in the CDS option who provides: 

(i) personal care services, as described in Chapter 
363, Subchapter F of this title (relating to Personal Care Services); or 

(ii) CFC habilitation (CFC HAB) or CFC personal 
assistance services (CFC PAS), as described in Chapter 354, Subchap-
ter A, Division 27 (relating to Community First Choice). 

(D) An employee or subcontractor of an HHSC contrac-
tor, or an employee of an employer in the CDS option or in the block 
grant option, who provides consumer managed personal attendant ser-
vices as described in 26 TAC Chapter 275 (relating to Consumer Man-
aged Personal Attendant Services (CMPAS) Program). 

(E) A provider or an employee of an employer in the 
CDS option who provides: 

(i) in the STAR+PLUS program and STAR+PLUS 
Home and Community-based Services (HCBS) program: 

(I) assisted living; 

(II) CFC PAS; 

(III) CFC HAB; 

(IV) day activity and health services; 

(V) in-home respite care; 

(VI) personal assistance services; or 

(VII) protective supervision; 

(ii) in the STAR Health program and Medically De-
pendent Children Program (MDCP): 

(I) day activity and health services; 

(II) CFC PAS; 

(III) CFC HAB; 

(IV) flexible family support; 

(V) in-home respite; or 

(VI) personal care services; or 

(iii) in the STAR Kids program and MDCP: 

(I) CFC PAS; 

(II) CFC HAB; 

(III) personal care services; 

(IV) day activity and health services; 

(V) flexible family support services; or 

(VI) in-home respite. 

(4) Provider--Has the meaning assigned in §353.2 of this 
title. 

(b) An HHSC contractor, other than an HHSC contractor de-
scribed in subsection (c) or (d) of this section, must pay a personal 
attendant a base wage of at least $10.60 per hour. 

(c) An HHSC contractor that has a contract for financial man-
agement services (FMS) must ensure that an employer in the CDS 
option, or designated representative, pays a personal attendant a base 
wage of at least $10.60 per hour. 

(d) An HHSC contractor that has a CMPAS contract must: 
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(1) pay a personal attendant who is an employee or subcon-
tractor of the contractor in the traditional service option or block grant 
option a base wage of at least $10.60 per hour; and 

(2) ensure that an individual employer of a personal atten-
dant under the block grant option or CDS option, or the individual's 
representative, pays a personal attendant a base wage of at least $10.60 
per hour. 

(e) An MCO must require an MCO contractor, other than an 
MCO contractor described in subsection (f) of this section, to pay a 
personal attendant a base wage of at least $10.60 per hour. 

(f) An MCO must require that an MCO contractor that has a 
contract for FMS ensures that an employer in the CDS option or des-
ignated representative pays a personal attendant a base wage of at least 
$10.60 per hour. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302938 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 867-7817 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER J. PURCHASED HEALTH 
SERVICES 
DIVISION 4. MEDICAID HOSPITAL 
SERVICES 
1 TAC §355.8052 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts amendments to §355.8052, concerning Inpatient Hos-
pital Reimbursement. The amendment is adopted without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 7, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3601). The rule will not 
be republished. 
BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

This amendment complies with the 2024-2025 General Appro-
priations Act, House Bill (H.B.) 1, 88th Legislature, Regular Ses-
sion, 2023 (Article II, Health and Human Services Commission, 
Rider 8 and Rider 16). HHSC is required by H.B. 1, to the extent 
allowed by law, to increase Medicaid inpatient rural hospital la-
bor and delivery rates. Additionally, the rural hospital definition 
is modified to reflect the population updates in the 2020 U.S. 
Census. In compliance with Senate Bill 170 (S.B. 170), 86th 
Legislature, Regular Session 2019, to the extent allowed by law, 
HHSC will calculate Medicaid rural hospital inpatient rates using 
a cost-based prospective reimbursement methodology. HHSC 
must calculate rates for rural hospitals once every two years us-
ing the most recent cost information available. HHSC previously 
published proposed rates to be effective September 1, 2023, 
and, with this legislative direction, will account for the updates 
in this rule and republish rates. 
COMMENTS 

The 21-day comment period ended July 28, 2023. 
During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the pro-
posed rule from one commenter. 
A summary of comments relating to §355.8052 and HHSC's re-
sponses follow: 
Comment: The Texas Hospital Association (THA) was strongly 
in support of the rule as proposed. 
Response: HHSC appreciates the support for the proposed 
amendment. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.033, which authorizes the Executive Commissioner of 
HHSC to adopt rules necessary to carry out HHSC's duties; 
Texas Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government 
Code §531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to 
administer the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program 
in Texas; and Texas Government Code §531.021(b), which 
establishes HHSC as the agency responsible for adopting 
reasonable rules governing the determination of fees, charges, 
and rates for medical assistance payments under the Texas 
Human Resources Code Chapter 32; and Texas Government 
Code §531.02194, which requires adoption of a prospective 
reimbursement methodology for the payment of rural hospitals. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302911 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 867-7817 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 13. CULTURAL RESOURCES 

PART 1. TEXAS STATE LIBRARY AND 
ARCHIVES COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 3. STATE PUBLICATIONS 
DEPOSITORY PROGRAM 
13 TAC §3.5, §3.6 

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (commis-
sion) adopts amendments to §3.5, Standard Exemptions for 
State Publications in All Formats, and §3.6, Special Exemptions. 
The commission adopts the amendments without changes to 
the proposed text as published in the June 16, 2023, issue of 
the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3017). The rules will not be 
republished. 
The adopted amendments are necessary to exempt additional 
types of publications not appropriate for retention in the State 
Publications Depository Program (program). Exempting these 
types of publications will ensure the program includes the types 
of publications that document the operations of state agencies 
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while easing state agencies' duties by reducing the number of 
publications they are required to submit to the program. In addi-
tion, exempting items that are not appropriate for inclusion in the 
program will allow the commission to maximize its use of record 
storage space. 
The amendment to §3.5(11) adds course materials to the existing 
exemption for course schedules. This exemption covers univer-
sity course schedules and courses offered by state agencies. 
The amendment to §3.5(26) adds non-fiction university press 
publications not aligned with the commission's collection devel-
opment policy to the list of exempted publications. One of the 
primary goals of the program is to capture all publications doc-
umenting the operation of a state agency. Non-fiction university 
press publications take up a considerable amount of space. If the 
commission were to accept all non-fiction publications, additional 
offsite storage would likely be necessary. Further, these titles 
are typically widely available at other libraries, particularly at the 
universities whose presses produce them. Exempting non-fic-
tion university press publications that are not aligned with the 
commission's collection development priorities will ensure con-
sistent application of the policy and that the program documents 
the university press function focusing on publications relating to 
Texas-related history and government. 
The amendment to §3.5(37) adds a clarifying date to the exemp-
tion for rules and regulations. The new exemption will read "rules 
and regulations after 1976 (as compendia)." The State Law Li-
brary holds the complete collection of historic Texas Administra-
tive Code (TAC) publications. The TAC from 1999 to present 
is available on the Secretary of State's website. Researching 
rules and regulations prior to 1976 can be more challenging as 
centralized resources such as the Texas Register and the TAC 
do not exist. Locating rules prior to 1976 may require archival 
research in the minutes or other records of a particular agency 
if published compendia are not available. If an agency did not 
include rule language in minutes or did not maintain or transfer 
records containing the text of adopted rules, there may be no 
other way to locate this information. For this reason, published 
collections of rules predating 1976 are important to the program 
to provide greater access to this information. However, rules and 
regulations after 1976 are not appropriate for the program. 
The amendment to §3.5(42) adds training materials to the list of 
exempted publications. As with course materials, training ma-
terials that are distributed publicly do not typically document the 
operation of a state agency. For example, the State Bar of Texas 
produces course materials as part of their Continuing Legal Ed-
ucation programming. While these publications have historically 
been provided to the commission under the program, less than 
1% of these publications have been requested since at least 
the year 2000. According to the commission's research, several 
other libraries maintain these materials, including the State Law 
Library, Legislative Reference Library, and at least five Texas 
law school libraries. Because these types of materials are read-
ily available from multiple other sources and are not necessary 
for the program, the commission proposes to add "training ma-
terials" to the list of exempted items as §3.5(42). 
Finally, amendments to §3.5 renumber the paragraphs to main-
tain the list in alphabetical order. 
The amendments to §3.6 clarify that special exemptions are for 
types of publications not listed in §3.5. 

The commission did not receive any comments on the proposed 
amendments. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments are adopted 
under Government Code, §441.102, which requires the com-
mission by rule to establish procedures for the distribution of 
state publications to depository libraries and for the retention 
of those publications; Government Code, §441.103, which 
requires a state agency to furnish copies of its state publications 
that exist in a physical format to the Texas State Library in the 
number specified by commission rules; Government Code, 
§441.104, which directs the commission to establish a program 
for the preservation and management of state publications; and 
Government Code, §441.105, which authorizes the commission 
to specifically exempt a publication or a distribution format from 
this subchapter. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302914 
Sarah Swanson 
General Counsel 
Texas State Library and Archives Commission 
Effective date: August 29, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 16, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-5460 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 9. TALKING BOOK PROGRAM 
13 TAC §9.1 

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (commission) 
adopts the repeal of 13 TAC §9.1, Definitions. The repeal is 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the May 5, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 2308). 
The rule will not be republished. 
The repeal is necessary because the commission identified sev-
eral needed amendments to update and clarify the definitions. 
The commission is adopting new §9.1 to reflect these amend-
ments in a separate notice also in this issue of the Texas Regis-
ter. 

No comments were received regarding the proposed repeal. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is adopted under 
§441.006, which directs the commission to govern the state 
library; and Government Code, §2001.004, which requires 
state agencies to adopt rules of practice stating the nature and 
requirements of all available formal and informal procedures. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. Government Code, Chap-
ter 441. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302915 
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Sarah Swanson 
General Counsel 
Texas State Library and Archives Commission 
Effective date: August 29, 2023 
Proposal publication date: May 5, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-5460 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
13 TAC §§9.1 - 9.9, 9.11 - 9.18 

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (commission) 
adopts new §9.1, Definitions and amendments to §9.2, Admin-
istration; §9.3, Eligibility; §9.4, Application for Service; §9.5, Pri-
ority Service to Veterans; §9.6, Status of Users; §9.7, Playback 
Equipment; §9.8, Books and Magazines; §9.9, Availability of Ma-
terials; §9.11, Misuse of Service; §9.12, Notification of Potential 
Suspension; §9.13, Correction of Problem; §9.14, Suspension 
of Service; §9.15, Reinstatement of Service; §9.16, Termination 
of Service; §9.17, Transfer of Service; and §9.18, Reactivation 
of Accounts. The new section and amendments are adopted 
without changes to the proposed text as published in the May 5, 
2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 2309). The rules 
will not be republished. 
The new section and amendments are necessary to update, 
modernize, and clarify the rules, improve grammar and readabil-
ity, and align the rules with best practices. 
New §9.1 updates the overall structure of the rule and makes 
non-substantive grammar edits throughout. Several definitions 
in the new rule are essentially the same as previously defined, 
with the only changes being minor and non-substantive. Other 
changes simplify and clarify the rule language, consolidating 
terms when appropriate, and eliminating defined terms that 
are not used. Finally, some of the changes reflect language 
updates, including updating the name of the National Library 
Service for the Blind and Print Disabled. 
Amendments to §9.2 update and improve the language and a 
citation to the United States Code provision regarding mailing 
free matter for blind and other handicapped persons. Amend-
ments to §9.3 update language based on the updated defini-
tions, delete text that is no longer necessary, and explain how 
an account may be maintained in good standing. Amendments 
to §9.4 make general language and readability improvements, 
update language based on the updated definitions, and delete 
text that is no longer necessary. Amendments to §9.5 update 
the section title to "Priority for Veterans" and delete language 
that is no longer necessary. Amendments to §9.6 update the 
section title to "Status of Borrowers" and delete unnecessary 
language. Amendments to §9.7 update language based on the 
updated definitions and clarify what constitutes misuse of equip-
ment in subparagraph (a)(10). Amendments to §9.8 update lan-
guage based on the updated definitions and delete duplicative 
language found in other sections within the chapter. Amend-
ments to §9.9 update language based on the updated definitions. 
Amendments to §9.11 update language based on the updated 
definitions. Amendments to §9.12 update language based on 
the updated definitions, improve readability, and add a citation to 
another section within the chapter. Amendments to §9.13 make 
minor wording changes and update language based on the up-
dated definitions. Amendments to §9.14 update language based 
on the updated definitions and improve grammar and readability. 
Amendments to §9.15 update language based on the updated 
definitions and improve readability. Amendments to §9.16 up-

date and clarify language and clarify that a borrower who wishes 
to reinstate service after five years must file a new application. 
Amendments to §9.17 update language based on the updated 
definitions. Amendments to §9.18 update language based on 
the updated definitions and improve readability. 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS. The commission did not receive 
any comments on the proposed new section or proposed amend-
ments. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments and new rule are 
adopted under Government Code, §441.006, which directs the 
commission to govern the state library; and Government Code, 
§2001.004, which requires state agencies to adopt rules of prac-
tice stating the nature and requirements of all available formal 
and informal procedures. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302916 
Sarah Swanson 
General Counsel 
Texas State Library and Archives Commission 
Effective date: August 29, 2023 
Proposal publication date: May 5, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-5460 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 10. ARCHIVES AND HISTORICAL 
RESOURCES 
13 TAC §10.1, §10.5 

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (commission) 
adopts an amendment to §10.1, Definitions, and new §10.5, 
Transfer of State Agency Records to the State Archives. The 
commission adopts §10.1 with one correction to update the ref-
erence from subchapter to chapter. These rules will be repub-
lished. The commission adopts new rule §10.5 without changes 
to the proposed text as published in the June 16, 2023, issue of 
the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3019). These rules will not be 
republished. 
The adopted amendment and new rule are necessary to facilitate 
and streamline state agency transfers of archival state records 
to the commission and ensure the state archivist has the infor-
mation necessary to properly identify, arrange, describe, cata-
log, preserve, and provide access to the archival state records 
in accordance with state statutes. The new rule will benefit state 
agencies by establishing a systemic approach with key require-
ments clearly specified to improve state agencies' ability to ver-
ify they are transferring only those records that should be trans-
ferred to the state archives. The new rule will also ensure more 
efficient use of the commission's resources needed for managing 
the appraisal, accession, processing, and cataloging of incom-
ing state agency records. 
The amendment to §10.1 adds a definition for "state archives" to 
ensure clarity in new §10.5. 
New §10.5 (a) restates the purpose of the new rule as authorized 
by statute. New §10.5(b) and (c) provide that a state agency 
must use the forms and procedures available on the commis-
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sion's website or on request to initiate a transfer of archival state 
records. Subsection (b) applies to archival state records in the 
physical possession of the agency and subsection (c) applies 
to archival state records stored in the State Records Center. 
Both subsections clarify that submission of the forms constitutes 
a formal request to transfer archival state records to the state 
archives. New §10.5(d) requires that archival state records be 
appropriately identified, packaged, and transferred according to 
the procedures available on the commission's website. New 
§10.5(e) requires that all transfers be accompanied by an in-
ventory. New §10.5(f) provides that records storage equipment 
received with transfers of records will be retained or disposed 
of at the discretion of the State Archives unless the transferring 
agency requests the equipment's return. 
The commission did not receive any comments on the proposed 
amendment or new rule. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment and new rule are 
adopted under Government Code, §441.190, which authorizes 
the commission to adopt rules establishing standards and pro-
cedures for the protection, maintenance, and storage of state 
records. The statute further directs the commission to pay partic-
ular attention to the maintenance and storage of archival and vi-
tal state records and authorizes the commission to adopt rules as 
it considers necessary to protect those records. In addition, the 
amendment and new rule are adopted under Government Code, 
§441.199, which authorizes the commission to adopt rules it de-
termines necessary for cost reduction and efficiency of record-
keeping by state agencies and for the state's management and 
preservation of records. 
§10.1. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) Accession--means the formal acceptance of an item or 
collection into the holdings of the State Archives and generally includes 
a transfer of title. 

(2) Agency--means the Texas State Library and Archives 
Commission as an agency of the state of Texas, including the staff, 
collections, archives, operations, programs, and property of the Texas 
State Library and Archives Commission. 

(3) Commission--means the seven-member governing 
body of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. 

(4) Deaccession--means the permanent removal of an item 
or collection of items from the holdings of the State Archives. 

(5) Disposal--means the final disposition of an item or col-
lection of items from the State Archives which may include transfer to 
another repository, sale, or destruction of the item or collection. 

(6) Item--means archival material, historical item, artifact, 
or museum piece in the custody of the State Archives, including the 
Sam Houston Regional Library and Research Center. 

(7) Reappraisal--means the review of items that have been 
previously appraised, which may result in the identification of materials 
that no longer merit permanent preservation and that are candidates for 
deaccessioning. 

(8) State archives--means the program of the Archives and 
Information Services Division of the Texas State Library and Archives 
Commission for the continued preservation of archival state records 
and historical resources. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302913 
Sarah Swanson 
General Counsel 
Texas State Library and Archives Commission 
Effective date: August 29, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 16, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-5460 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION 

PART 4. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
LICENSING AND REGULATION 

CHAPTER 59. CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS 
16 TAC §59.3 

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commis-
sion) adopts amendments to an existing rule at 16 Texas Admin-
istrative Code (TAC), Chapter 59, §59.3, regarding the Continu-
ing Education Requirements, without changes to the proposed 
text as published in the April 7, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 1795). These rules will not be republished. 
EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION FOR THE RULES 

The rules under 16 TAC, Chapter 59, implement Texas Occu-
pations Code, Chapter 51, Texas Department of Licensing and 
Regulation. 
The adopted rule is necessary to implement rules being concur-
rently adopted which removed the requirement for registered ac-
cessibility specialists to meet continuing education requirements 
with an approved course provider. The adopted rules modify the 
list of occupations which are subject to the continuing education 
requirements of 16 TAC, Chapter 59, by removing registered ac-
cessibility specialists. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The adopted rule amends §59.3, to remove registered accessi-
bility specialists from the list of licensees that must comply with 
continuing education provider requirements. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS 

The Department drafted and distributed the proposed rules to 
persons internal and external to the agency. The proposed rules 
were published in the April 7, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 1795). The public comment period closed on May 
8, 2023. The Department did not receive any comments from 
interested parties on the proposed rules. 
COMMISSION ACTION 

At its meeting on August 1, 2023, the Commission adopted the 
proposed rules as published in the Texas Register. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
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The adopted rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51, and Texas Government Code, Chapter 469, which 
authorize the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, 
the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary 
to implement these chapters and any other law establishing a 
program regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rule are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51, and Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 469. No other statutes, articles, or 
codes are affected by the adopted rule. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302944 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 68. ELIMINATION OF 
ARCHITECTURAL BARRIERS 
The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commis-
sion) adopts amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas Adminis-
trative Code (TAC), Chapter 68, Subchapter H, §68.90; adopts 
new rules at Subchapter A, §68.11 and §68.12; Subchapter B, 
§68.22 and §68.31; and Subchapter C, §68.40; and adopts the 
repeal of existing rules at §§68.31, 68.51 - 68.54, 68.73, 68.74, 
68.79, 68.100, and 68.101, regarding the Elimination of Archi-
tectural Barriers program; and the addition of subchapter titles 
to the existing chapter, without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the April 7, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 
TexReg 1797). These rules will not be republished. 
The Commission also adopts amendments to existing rules 
at 16 TAC Chapter 68, Subchapter A, §68.10; Subchapter B, 
§68.20 and §60.30; Subchapter D, §68.50; and Subchapter 
F, §§68.70, 68.75 and 68.76; and Subchapter H, §68.93; and 
adopts new rules at Subchapter B, §68.21; Subchapter C, 
§68.41 and §68.42; Subchapter D, §§68.51 - 68.53; and Sub-
chapter F, §§68.73, 68.74 and 68.77, regarding the Elimination 
of Architectural Barriers program, with changes to the proposed 
text as published in the April 7, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 1797). These rules will be republished. 
EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION FOR THE RULES 

The rules under 16 TAC, Chapter 68, implement Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 469. 
The adopted rules implement changes suggested during the in-
ternal four-year rule review, incorporate department procedures 
for registered accessibility specialists, amend outdated rule lan-
guage, and restructure the existing rules for better organization 
for the reader. The adopted rules also update the topics required 
and allowed for continuing education hours to provide additional 
options for licensees. 

The adopted rules are necessary to establish requirements re-
garding accessibility to the public, registered accessibility spe-
cialists, building and facility owners, and design professionals. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The adopted rules create new Subchapter A, General Provi-
sions, which includes §68.1 and §§68.10 - 68.12. 
The adopted rules amend §68.10, Definitions. The adopted 
rules add the definitions "day," "Department," "person," "project 
file," and "Texas Architectural Barriers Online System (TABS);" 
and amend the definitions of "owner" and "public entity" for clar-
ity. The adopted rules also remove definitions that are not used 
in the chapter or otherwise have common meanings, including 
"commerce," "contract provider," "registered building or facility," 
"rules," "state agency," and "variance application." The adopted 
rules include Advisory Committee recommended changes to 
the published rule text at paragraph (5); the Committee recom-
mended that the proposed changes to the term "completion of 
construction" not be adopted. The adopted rules also include 
Advisory Committee recommended changes to the published 
rule text at paragraphs (28) and (29) to correct numbering. 
The adopted rules add new §68.11, Technical Standards and 
Technical Memoranda. The adopted rules adopt by reference 
the 2012 Edition of the Texas Accessibility Standards and au-
thorize the department to publish memoranda for clarification of 
technical matters. The adopted rule was previously in §68.100, 
"Technical Standards and Technical Memoranda," which is 
adopted for repeal. 
The adopted rules add new §68.12, Forms. The adopted rules 
provide that only forms issued by the department and submitted 
as prescribed will be accepted. The adopted rules also provide 
the limitations and penalties for use of non-authorized forms sub-
mitted to the department. 
The adopted rules create new Subchapter B, Registration Re-
quirements; Exemptions, which includes §§68.20 - 68.22, 68.30 
and 68.31. 
The adopted rules amend §68.20, Buildings and Facilities Sub-
ject to Compliance with the Texas Accessibility Standards (TAS). 
The adopted rules retitle the section to "Buildings and Facilities 
Subject to Compliance," update the language to reflect current 
terminology and also adds (c)(13) related to residential amenity 
spaces open to the public and (c)(14) related to temporary and 
emergency construction. The adopted rules add subsection (a) 
to clarify that all buildings or facilities listed in §68.20 are sub-
ject to compliance; move the exemption for establishments oc-
cupied as a related to primary residences to §68.30, Exemptions; 
and move the option to registration and review of projects with 
an estimated cost of less than $50,000 to adopted new §68.21, 
Registration of Project or Lease Required. The adopted rules 
include Advisory Committee recommended changes to the pub-
lished rule text at former proposed subsection (c)(14) to remove 
provisions related to pedestrian elements. 
The adopted rules add new §68.21, Registration of Project or 
Lease Required. The adopted rules centralize the registration 
requirements for all projects and state leases subject to the Act. 
As discussed above, the adopted rules provide the option to reg-
ister projects with an estimated construction cost of less than 
$50,000. 
The adopted rules add new §68.22, State Leases. The adopted 
rules relocate the requirements from §68.101, which is adopted 
for repeal. The adopted rules include subsection (a) to pro-
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vide that state leased buildings or facilities with annual lease ex-
penses of $12,000 or more must be registered with the Depart-
ment; subsection (b) to indicate the requirements that a leased 
building must comply with; and subsection (c) to prohibit a regis-
tered accessibility specialist from performing inspection services 
on a building subject to a state lease. 
The adopted rules amend §68.30, Exemptions. The adopted 
rules add paragraph (5) to create an exemption for establish-
ments that serve as the primary residence of the proprietor. 
The adopted rules repeal current §68.31, Variance Procedures, 
and add new §68.31, with the same section title. The adopted 
rules clarify the process an owner or owner's designated must 
follow to apply for a variance or appeal the denial of a variance 
request. 
The adopted rules create new Subchapter C, Owner Responsi-
bilities, which include §§68.40 - 68.42. 
The adopted rules add new §68.40, Owner Responsibilities. The 
adopted rules include section (a) which requires an owner to 
comply with the Act, TAS, and the chapter, if the owner has a con-
struction project with an estimated construction cost of $50,000 
or more; (b) centralize the responsibilities of an owner in sub-
section to notify the department of changes; (c) report a change 
in the estimated date of completion; (d) submit a response to an 
inspection report when corrective modifications are required and 
complete them in a prescribed time; and (e) submit construction 
documents, if applicable. 
The adopted rules add new §68.41, Inspection Required. The 
adopted rules require an owner to (a) have a project inspected 
by a registered accessibility specialist no later than a year from 
completion of construction; (b) request an inspection in writing; 
and (c) be present or have an agent or representative onsite 
during the inspection. 
The adopted rules add new §68.42, Designated Agent. The 
adopted rules (a) specify the process an owner must follow to 
designate an agent and (b) clarify the role of a designated agent 
who is authorized to act on behalf of the owner. The adopted 
rules include Advisory Committee recommended changes to the 
published rule text at subsections (a) and (b) to combine the sub-
sections; the remaining subsections have been re-lettered. 
The adopted rules create new Subchapter D, Construction Doc-
uments; Inspections; and Compliance, which includes §§68.50 
- 68.53. 
The adopted rules amend §68.50, Submission of Construction 
Documents. The adopted rules amend the rules for clarity; elim-
inate requirements which are now unnecessary due to the on-
line registration system; and add subsection (d) to provide no-
tice that construction documents submitted to the department 
are department property. The adopted rules also include Ad-
visory Committee recommended changes to the published rule 
text at subsection (b) to clarify that an owner must submit con-
struction documents to a registered accessibility specialist prior 
to commencement of construction in unincorporated areas (ex-
traterritorial jurisdictions) that don't issue building permits. 
The adopted rules repeal §68.51, Review of Construction Doc-
uments, and add new §68.51, Plan Review Requirements. The 
new adopted rules (a) establish the requirements for a regis-
tered accessibility specialist to perform a review; (b) specify the 
process for review of revised or supplemental documents sub-
mitted by an owner; (c) set the timeline for providing plan review 
findings; and (d) outline the items that must be in a plan review or 

plan revision review report. The adopted rules include Advisory 
Committee recommended changes to the published rule text at 
subsections (a), (b), and (d), to correct the term "plan revision 
review." The adopted rules also include Advisory Committee rec-
ommended changes to the published rule text at subsection (b) 
to require an owner to verify the date of construction completion 
in writing at the time of submission of revised or supplemental 
documents. 
The adopted rules repeal §68.52, Inspections, and add new 
§68.52, Inspections and Corrective Modifications. The adopted 
rules (a) set requirements a registered accessibility specialist 
must comply with prior to an inspection, (b) specify requirements 
for an inspection to be valid, (c) set the items that must be 
included in an inspection report, (d) outline steps an owner 
must take if corrective modifications are required, and (e) set 
the time a response must be submitted in TABS. The adopted 
rules include Department recommended changes to published 
rule text at subsection (d) to clarify that the owner must submit 
the response to the inspection report directly to the registered 
accessibility specialist. 
The adopted rules repeal §68.53, Corrective Modifications Fol-
lowing Inspection, and add new §68.53, Transmittal Letters. The 
adopted rules (a) set the timeline for providing a transmittal letter 
to an owner and (b) specify the items that must be included in a 
transmittal letter. 
The adopted rules repeal §68.54, as the text is duplicative to 
provisions in adopted new §68.52, Inspections and Corrective 
Modifications. 
The adopted rules create new Subchapter E, Advisory Commit-
tee, which includes §68.65. 
The adopted rules create new Subchapter F, Registered Acces-
sibility Specialists, which includes §68.70 and §§68.73 - 68.77. 
The adopted rules include Advisory Committee recommended 
changes to the published rule text to make a clerical correction 
to the title of the new Subchapter F. 
The adopted rules amend §68.70, Registered Accessibility Spe-
cialists--Qualifications for Certification, with a change to the ti-
tle of the section to Registered Accessibility Specialist Certifi-
cation--Eligibility Qualifications, and Application Requirements. 
The adopted rules standardize the language and form for certi-
fication with other department rules. 
The adopted rules repeal §68.73, Registration Require-
ments-Renewal, and replace it with new §68.73, Registered 
Accessibility Specialist Certification--Renewal Requirements. 
The adopted rules prescribe the process for renewal of a cer-
tification and standardize language and form for renewals with 
other department rules. The adopted rules include Advisory 
Committee recommended changes to the published rule text at 
subsection (a)(3) to correct a clerical error. 
The adopted rules repeal §68.74, Continuing Education, and 
add new §68.74, with the same section title. The adopted rules 
provide (a) that a registered accessibility specialist must com-
plete four hours of continuing education prior to license renewal, 
(b) the list of topics that meet eligibility requirements for con-
tinuing education, (c) that a registered accessibility specialist 
must certify completion of hours at the time of renewal, and (d) 
the timeline for completion of continuing education hours prior. 
The adopted rules also (e) limit credit for continuing education 
to completion of a course once per one-year period, (f) require 
a registered accessibility specialist to maintain a copy of their 
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records of completion, and (g) set an effective date for applica-
tion of the rule. The adopted rules also include Department rec-
ommended changes to the published text at subsections (c)-(g) 
to correct numbering. 
The adopted rules amend §68.75, Responsibilities of the Reg-
istered Accessibility Specialist. The adopted rules (a) set the 
deadline for a registered accessibility specialist to submit re-
ceived fees to the department, (b) require a registered acces-
sibility specialist to secure written authorization prior to perform-
ing services, (c) set records retention timelines, and (d) prescribe 
timelines for uploading a change to the estimated date of com-
pletion of construction. The adopted rules include Department 
recommended changes to the published rule text at subsection 
(e) to clarify the registered accessibility specialist's duty. 
The adopted rules amend §68.76, Standards of Conduct. The 
adopted rules update language throughout the section, and clar-
ify the requirements in subsections (b) and (c). The adopted 
rules also include Advisory Committee recommended changes 
to the published rule text at subsection (c)(3) which provide that 
non-design related review services are not consulting or profes-
sional services. 
The adopted rules add new §68.77, Shared Services. The 
adopted rules (a) authorize a registered accessibility specialist 
to engage another registered accessibility specialist to assist in 
providing services to an owner and (b) outline the requirements 
each much comply with under the section. 
The adopted rules repeal §68.79, Contract Providers, as this li-
cense type is not issued by the department. 
The adopted rules create new Subchapter G, Fees, which in-
cludes §68.80. 
The adopted rules create new Subchapter H, Enforcement, 
which includes §68.90 and §68.93. 
The adopted rules amend §68.90, Administrative Sanctions or 
Penalties. The adopted rules remove the term "procedures" from 
subsection (a); and remove the terms "contract provider" and 
"department employee" in subsection (b). 
The adopted rules amend §68.93, Complaints, Investigations, 
and Audits. The adopted rules amend subsection (b) by remov-
ing the term "contract providers," and adding that owners are 
also subject to the Act and chapter 68. The adopted rules up-
date subsection (c) to reflect technological changes related to 
TABS and provide that records may be submitted in a time pre-
scribed by the department. 
The adopted rules repeal §68.100, Technical Standards and 
Technical Memoranda, which has been reproposed and renum-
bered as discussed above. 
The adopted rules create new Subchapter I, General Technical 
Requirements, which includes §§68.102-68.104. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS 

The Department drafted and distributed the proposed rules to 
persons internal and external to the agency. The proposed rules 
were published in the April 7, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 1797). The public comment period closed on May 
8, 2023. The Department received comments from eight inter-
ested parties on the proposed rules. The public comments are 
summarized below. 
Comment: The Department received a comment submitted by 
an individual opposed to §68.52 but was otherwise in support of 

the proposed rules. The individual submitted a question regard-
ing a definition in §68.52(b) regarding the presence of a repre-
sentative of an owner. Specifically, the individual opposed the 
requirement in §68.52(d) for the owner to submit a response to 
the inspection report to the registered accessibility specialist as 
it may cause issues with monitoring if an owner fails to comply. 
Department Response: The Department thanks the individual 
for their support and comments. The Department will not 
respond to the question presented by the individual regarding 
§68.52(b) but is available to provide technical assistance. The 
Department has updated the language in §68.52(d) to reflect 
that the responsibility of submitting the form is on the owner. 
The Department will continue to maintain discussions with the 
industry and owners to ensure that the intent of the rule is met. 
Comment: The Department received a comment submitted by 
an individual regarding §68.76(c), conflict of interest provisions. 
The individual expressed concerns about the fact that a regis-
tered accessibility specialist is often engaged by multiple parties 
at different stages of a project and subsection (2) would require 
disclosure to each party. Additionally, the individual proposed 
that subsection (3) should be clarified or removed from the pro-
posed changes due to the potential limitations it may place on 
a registered accessibility specialist who reviews reports for a 
project. 
Department Response: The Department appreciates the indi-
vidual's concerns and suggestions. Subsection 68.76(c)(3) has 
been changed to clarify that non-design related review services 
are not consulting or professional services for purposes of this 
section. 
Comment: The Department received a submission an individual 
that was non-responsive to the substance of the proposal. 
Department Response: The Department notes that the individ-
ual's comment is unrelated to the proposal and will not be ad-
dressed in this preamble. The Department did not make any 
changes to the proposed rules in response to this submission. 
Comment: The Department received three comments from an 
individual regarding §§68.20, 68.73, and 68.76. 
The individual submitted comments regarding §68.20(c)(14), 
pedestrian elements. The individual suggested requiring com-
pliance with TAS for all rights of ways and easements for public 
use, regardless of when they become public property, which 
can be unclear. 
The individual submitted comments regarding the number of 
hours required for continuing education in §68.73(a)(3). 
The individual submitted comments regarding §68.76(c)(3) re-
lated to the prohibition on independent third-party consulting. 
The individual suggested that consulting enhances public safety 
and should not be prohibited. 
Department Response: The Department thanks the individual 
for their comments. The Department will address each comment 
in order, separately. 
The Department appreciates the industry insight on the applica-
tion of the addition of pedestrian elements of the proposed rules. 
The Department has withdrawn former proposed §68.20(c)(14), 
related to pedestrian elements, from the proposed rules to allow 
further discussion with industry stakeholders and the Advisory 
Committee. 
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The Department appreciates the comment regarding the hours 
required for continuing education and has made an administra-
tive correction to the proposed rules to change the number of 
hours required from eight to four to ensure consistency with new 
proposed §68.74. 
The Department appreciates the insight on the application of 
§68.76(c)(3) and the use of third-party consultants as they apply 
to the proposed rules. As noted above, §68.76(c)(3) has been 
changed to clarify that non-design related review services are 
not consulting or professional services for purposes of this sec-
tion. 
Comment: The Department received five comments from an in-
dividual regarding §§68.10, 68.42, 68.50, 68.51, and 68.76. The 
individual also commented regarding the misspelling of the title 
of "Subchapter F. Registered Accessibility Specialists." 
The individual submitted a comment regarding the term of "com-
pletion of construction" as defined in §68.10(5). Specifically, the 
individual notes that the proposed language will limit options and 
recourse in the event violations are discovered after a contractor 
has been paid. 
The individual submitted non-substantive formatting suggestions 
regarding §68.42. 
The individual submitted comments regarding §68.50(b), Sub-
mission of Construction Documents. The individual notes that 
clarification is needed in the event there is not a design profes-
sional and there is no authority with jurisdiction that issues build-
ing permits. 
The individual submitted comments regarding §68.51, Plan Re-
view Requirements, related to the use of the term "review" in 
conjunction with "plan revision." 
The individual noted that the title of Subchapter F is misspelled. 
Department Response: The Department thanks the individual 
for their comments. The Department will address each comment 
in order, separately. 
The Department appreciates insight on the application of the pro-
posed change to the definition of "completion of construction." 
The Department has withdrawn proposed changes to §68.10(5) 
to allow further discussion with industry stakeholders and the Ad-
visory Committee. 
The Department appreciates the comments regarding §68.42 
and has changed the proposed rule to reflect the formatting sug-
gestions and renumbered the rule accordingly. 
The Department appreciates insight on the application of the pro-
posed rule text at §68.50(b) and has made changes to address 
situations when there is an unincorporated portion of a county 
that does not issue building permits. 
The Department appreciates the suggestion regarding the use 
of the term "plan revision review" and has made non-substan-
tive changes throughout §68.51 to correct references to the pro-
posed term "plan revision." 
The Department thanks the commenter for their observation and 
has made the correction to the title of Subchapter F. 
Comment: The Department received a comment from the 
Accessibility Professionals Association (APA). The APA's com-
ment included multiple subparts regarding §§68.10, 68.11, 
68.20, 68.40, 68.52, 68.73, 68.74, and 68.76. Additionally, the 
APA commented regarding the Department's local employment 

impact statement; public benefit statement; and fiscal impact on 
small businesses, micro-businesses, and rural communities, all 
of which are contained in the preamble of the proposed rules. 
The APA states that reducing continuing education units (CEUs) 
will have a financial impact on companies providing continuing 
education. 
The APA states that reducing the number of hours will result in 
persons who perform at a lower quality and removing the re-
quirement for approval of CEUs will open the door to fraud and 
eliminate quality control. 
The APA states that reducing CEUs will impact the economy of 
continuing education providers. 
The APA submitted comments regarding the term of "completion 
of construction" in §68.10(5), noting that the time of final payment 
may be hard to track and is not publicly available to all parties. 
The APA submitted comments regarding §68.11, recommending 
that all technical memorandums be reviewed by the Advisory 
Committee prior to issuance. 
The APA submitted comments regarding §68.20(14) related to 
pedestrian elements. Specifically, the APA points out that it is 
difficult to ascertain future ownership at the time of registration 
making compliance problematic. 
The APA submitted questions seeking clarification regarding 
§68.40, related to an owner's responsibilities. 
The APA submitted a comment regarding §68.52, Inspections 
and Corrective Modifications, specifically recommending that a 
contractor, tenant, or other individual who may not represent the 
owner but is onsite be authorized to sign as a witness during an 
inspection. 
The APA submitted comments regarding the number of hours 
required for continuing education in §68.73(a)(3). 
The APA submitted a comment on §68.74 recommended that the 
number of required continuing education hours in the proposed 
rule text be increased to eight hours. 
The APA submitted a comment regarding §68.76(c)(2). The APA 
expressed concerns about the fact that a registered accessibility 
specialist is often engaged by multiple parties at different stages 
of a project and subsection (2) would require disclosure to each 
party. 
The APA submitted multiple observations and questions regard-
ing §68.76(c)(3) relating to conflict of interest. 
Department Response: The Department thanks APA for its ex-
tensive review and comments. The Department will address 
each comment in order, separately. 
The Department appreciates industry input and understands that 
companies may be impacted but disagrees with this comment; 
however, this number cannot be quantified and registered ac-
cessibility specialists will still be required to obtain four hours of 
continuing education credits. The Department did not make any 
changes to the proposed rules in response to this submission. 
The Department appreciates industry input but disagrees with 
this comment. Registered accessibility specialists will have the 
opportunity to seek training from a broader number of providers 
based on the selected topics listed in §68.74. The Department 
did not make any changes to the proposed rules in response to 
this submission. 
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The Department appreciates the contribution that continuing ed-
ucation providers have on the EAB community, however it dis-
agrees with the comment based on its analysis. The Department 
did not make any changes to the proposed rules in response to 
this submission. 
The Department appreciates insight on the application of the pro-
posed change to the definition of "completion of construction." As 
noted above, the Department has withdrawn proposed changes 
to §68.10(5) to allow further discussion with industry stakehold-
ers and the Advisory Committee. 
The Department recognizes the need for industry input when 
drafting guidance, rules, and other technical documents. The 
Department works closely with workgroups and consults with its 
Advisory Committee members, as needed. The Department did 
not make any changes to the proposed rules in response to this 
submission. 
The Department appreciates the industry insight on the applica-
tion of the addition of pedestrian elements of the proposed rules. 
As stated above, Department has withdrawn former proposed 
§68.20(c)(14), related to pedestrian elements, to allow further 
discussion with industry stakeholders and the Advisory Commit-
tee. 
The Department notes that the APA's submission regarding 
§68.40 is not a comment on the proposal but a request for clar-
ification. Technical guidance will be provided by program staff. 
The Department did not make any changes to the proposed 
rules in response to this submission. 
The Department appreciates the comment regarding §68.52 re-
lated to persons authorized to sign a Proof of Inspection Form 
but disagrees with the suggested change. The Department did 
not make any changes to the proposed rules in response to this 
submission. 
The Department appreciates the comment regarding the hours 
required for continuing education and as noted above, has made 
an administrative correction to the proposed rules to change the 
number of hours required from eight to four to ensure consis-
tency with new proposed §68.74. 
The Department appreciates the recommendation submitted by 
the APA regarding the number of continuing education hours in 
§68.74, however it disagrees with this change. The technical 
workgroup and Advisory Committee discussed and approved of 
the recommendation to reduce the required CEU hours. The 
Department did not make any changes to the proposed rules in 
response to this submission. 
The Department appreciates the APA's concerns regarding 
§68.76(c)(2). The Advisory Board's recommended changes to 
proposed text at §68.76(c)(3) to clarify that non-design related 
review services are not consulting or professional services for 
purposes of this section incorporate the concerns of the APA. 
The Department appreciates the analysis and review of the 
APA regarding §68.76. As noted above §68.76(c)(3) has been 
changed to clarify that non-design related review services are 
not consulting or professional services for purposes of this 
section. 
Comment: The Department received a comment an individual 
which included multiple subparts regarding §§68.10, 68.52, 
68.73, 68.75, and 68.76. 
The individual submitted comments regarding the term of 
"completion of construction" in §68.10(5). The individual rec-

ommended the use of the definition of "substantial completion" 
used by the AIA when defining completion of construction. 
The individual submitted a question regarding application of 
§68.52(d). 
The individual submitted comments regarding the number of 
hours required for continuing education in §68.73(a)(3). 
The individual submitted a question regarding §68.75(c). 
The individual submitted a question regarding §68.75(e). 
The individual submitted a comment regarding §68.76(c)(2). 
The individual expressed concerns that a registered accessi-
bility specialist is often engaged by multiple parties at different 
stages of a project and subsection (2) would require disclosure 
to each party. 
The individual submitted comments regarding §68.76(c)(3) re-
lated to the prohibition on independent third-party consulting. 
Department response: The Department thanks the individual for 
their review and comments. The Department will address each 
comment in order, separately. 
The Department appreciates the individual's suggestion regard-
ing the definition of "completion of construction." As noted above, 
the Department has withdrawn proposed changes to §68.10(5) 
to allow further discussion with industry stakeholders and the Ad-
visory Committee. 
The Department notes that the individual's submission is not a 
comment on the proposal but a request for clarification regarding 
§68.52. Technical guidance will be provided by program staff. 
The Department did not make any changes to the proposed rules 
in response to this submission. 
The Department appreciates the comment regarding the hours 
required for continuing education and as noted above, has made 
an administrative correction to the proposed rules to change the 
number of hours required from eight to four to ensure consis-
tency with new proposed §68.74. 
The Department notes that the individual's submission is not a 
comment on the proposal but a request for clarification regarding 
§68.75(c). Technical guidance will be provided by program staff. 
The Department did not make any changes to the proposed rules 
in response to this submission. 
The Department notes that the individual's submission is not a 
comment on the proposal but a request for clarification regarding 
§68.75(e). However, the Department appreciates the request 
and did make an administrative change to the rule to clarify the 
responsibility of the registered accessibility specialist to update 
their own contact information. 
The Department appreciates the individual's concerns regarding 
§68.76(c)(2). As noted above, proposed text at §68.76(c)(3) has 
been changed in the adopted rules to clarify that non-design re-
lated review services are not consulting or professional services 
for purposes of this section. 
The Department appreciates the insight on the application of 
§68.76(c)(3) and the use of third-party consultants as they apply 
to the proposed rules. As noted above, §68.76(c)(3) has been 
changed in the adopted rules to clarify that non-design related 
review services are not consulting or professional services for 
purposes of this section. 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS AND COM-
MISSION ACTION 
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The Elimination of Architectural Barriers Advisory Committee 
met on June 7, 2023, to discuss the proposed rules and the pub-
lic comments received. The Advisory Committee recommended 
that the Commission adopt the proposed rules as published in 
the Texas Register with changes to existing rules at 16 TAC 
Chapter 68, Subchapter A, §68.10; Subchapter B, §68.20; 
Subchapter D, §68.50; and Subchapter F, §68.75 and §68.76; 
and adopts new rules at Subchapter C, §68.41 and §68.42; 
Subchapter D, §68.51 and §68.52; and Subchapter F, §68.73 
and §68.74 made in response to public comment, Advisory 
Committee, and Department recommendations. At its meeting 
on August 1, 2023, the Commission adopted the proposed rules 
with changes as recommended by the Advisory Committee. 

16 TAC §§68.31, 68.51 - 68.54, 68.73, 68.74, 68.79, 68.100, 
68.101 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted repeals are adopted under Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 51, and Government Code, Chapter 469, which 
authorizes the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, 
the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary 
to implement these chapters and any other law establishing a 
program regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted repeals are 
those set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, and 
Texas Government Code, Chapter 469. No other statutes, arti-
cles, or codes are affected by the adopted repeals. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302951 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
16 TAC §§68.10 - 68.12 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51, and Government Code, Chapter 469, which autho-
rizes the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the 
Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to 
implement these chapters and any other law establishing a pro-
gram regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, and Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 469. No other statutes, articles, or 
codes are affected by the adopted rules. 
§68.10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Act--Texas Government Code, Chapter 469, Elimina-
tion of Architectural Barriers. 

(2) Alteration-- A renovation, modification, or change to a 
building or facility that affects or could affect the usability of the build-
ing or facility or portion thereof. Re-roofing, painting, or wallpapering, 
or changes to mechanical and electrical systems are not alterations un-
less they affect the usability of the building or facility. 

(3) Building--Any structure located in the State of Texas 
used or intended for supporting or sheltering any use or occupancy. 

(4) Commencement of Construction--The date of place-
ment of engineering stakes, delivery of lumber or other construction 
materials to the job site, erection of batter boards, formwork, or other 
construction related work. 

(5) Completion of Construction--The date when a con-
struction project results in occupancy or the issuance of a certificate of 
occupancy. For public roadway projects, completion of construction 
occurs upon final payment and release of the contractor performing 
the work or, if the work is performed by public employees, removal of 
barricades and opening of all traffic lanes for use. 

(6) Construction Documents--Drawings, specifications, 
addenda, change orders, construction change directives and other sup-
plemental documents prepared for the purpose of regulatory approval, 
permitting, or construction. 

(7) Crosswalk--That part of a roadway where motorists are 
required to yield to pedestrians crossing, as defined by state and local 
regulations, whether marked or unmarked. 

(8) Curb Line--A line that represents the extension of the 
face of the curb and marks the transition between the sidewalk and the 
gutter or roadway at a curb ramp or flush landing. 

(9) Day--A calendar day. 

(10) Department--The Texas Department of Licensing and 
Regulation. 

(11) Designated Agent--An individual designated in writ-
ing by the owner to act on the owner's behalf. 

(12) Element--An architectural or mechanical component 
of a building, facility, space, or site, e.g., telephone, curb ramp, door, 
drinking fountain, seating, water closet, or public right-of-way. 

(13) Estimated Construction Cost--Includes all costs 
for construction of a project except site acquisition, architectural, 
engineering and consulting fees, furniture, and equipment unless the 
equipment is part of the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing systems. 

(14) Facility--All or any portion of buildings, structures, 
site improvements, elements, and pedestrian routes or vehicular ways 
located on a site e.g. complexes, equipment, roads, walks, passage-
ways, parking lots, or other real property subject to the Act. 

(15) Housing at a Place of Education--Public or privately 
funded housing operated by or on behalf of an elementary, secondary, 
undergraduate, or postgraduate school, or other place of education, in-
cluding dormitories, suites, apartments, or other places of residence. 

(16) Issue--To mail, deliver, transmit, or otherwise release 
plans or specifications to an owner, lessee, contractor, subcontractor, 
or any other person acting for an owner or lessee for the purpose of 
construction, applying for a building permit, or obtaining regulatory 
approval after such plans have been sealed by an architect, registered 
interior designer, landscape architect, or engineer. In the case of a 
state-funded or other public works project, it is the time at which plans 
or specifications are publicly posted for bids, after such plans or speci-
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

fications have been sealed by an architect, registered interior designer, 
landscape architect, or engineer. 

(17) Overall Responsibility--The level of responsibility 
held by an architect, registered interior designer, landscape architect 
or engineer who prepares construction documents and coordinates the 
various aspects of the design of a building or facility. 

(18) Owner--The person(s) that hold(s) title to the building 
or facility subject to compliance with the Act, TAS, and this chapter. 

(19) Pedestrian Access Route--A continuous and unob-
structed path of travel provided for pedestrians with disabilities within 
or coinciding with a pedestrian circulation path. 

(20) Pedestrian Elements--Components that make up a 
pedestrian access route including, but not limited to walking surfaces, 
ramps, curb ramps, crosswalks, pedestrian overpasses and under-
passes, automated pedestrian signals, elevators, and platform lifts. 

(21) Person--An individual, corporation, partnership, or 
other legal entity, including a state agency or governmental subdivi-
sion. 

(22) Project File--Records retained, uploaded, or submitted 
to TABS. 

(23) Public Entity--Any state government agency or unit of 
local government or special purposes district. 

(24) Public Right-of-Way--Public land or property, usually 
in interconnected corridors, that is acquired for or dedicated to trans-
portation purposes. 

(25) Registered Accessibility Specialist--An individual 
who is certified by the department to perform review and inspection 
functions of the department. 

(26) Religious Organization--An organization that quali-
fies for an exemption from taxation, as a religious organization as pro-
vided in Texas Tax Code, Chapter 11, §11.20(c). 

(27) Sidewalk--That portion of an exterior circulation path 
that is improved for use by pedestrians and usually paved. 

(28) Texas Accessibility Standards (TAS)--The collection 
of scoping and technical requirements for accessibility to sites, facili-
ties, buildings, and elements by individuals with disabilities, periodi-
cally adopted by the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation. 

(29) Texas Architectural Barriers Online System (TABS)-
-The online database for the registration of projects subject to the TAS 
and maintenance of project records. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302945 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

SUBCHAPTER B. REGISTRATION 
REQUIREMENTS; EXEMPTIONS 
16 TAC §§68.20 - 68.22, 68.30, 68.31 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51, and Government Code, Chapter 469, which autho-
rizes the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the 
Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to 
implement these chapters and any other law establishing a pro-
gram regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, and Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 469. No other statutes, articles, or 
codes are affected by the adopted rules. 
§68.20. Buildings and Facilities Subject to Compliance. 

(a) All buildings or facilities listed under this section are sub-
ject to compliance with the Act, TAS, and this chapter, regardless of 
the estimated cost of construction, unless exempted under §68.30. 

(b) The following buildings and facilities are subject to com-
pliance with the Act, TAS, and this chapter: 

(1) A building or facility used by a public entity if it is con-
structed, renovated, or modified, in whole or in part, on or after January 
1, 1970, using funds from the state or a county, municipality, or other 
political subdivision of the state. 

(2) A building or facility leased for use or occupied, in 
whole or in part, by the state under a lease or rental agreement entered 
into on or after January 1, 1972, except as modified under §68.22. 

(c) The following private buildings and facilities constructed, 
renovated, or modified on or after January 1, 1992, and defined as a 
"public accommodation" by Section 301, Americans with Disabilities 
Act of 1990 (42 U.S.C. Section 12181), and its subsequent amendments 
are subject to the Act, TAS, and this chapter: 

(1) A place of lodging that includes guest rooms for short-
term stays of 30 days or less where the occupant does not have the right 
to return to a specific room or unit after the conclusion of their stay, and 
under conditions and with amenities similar to a hotel, motel, or inn. 

(A) Amenities include: 

(i) on or off-site management and reservations ser-
vice; 

(ii) rooms available on a walk-up or call-in basis; 

(iii) available housekeeping or linen service; and 

(iv) acceptance of reservations for a guest room type 
without guaranteeing a particular unit or room until checking in, and 
without prior lease or security deposit. 

(B) A place of transient lodging with no more than five 
rooms for rent or hire that is occupied by the proprietor as the propri-
etor's primary residence as provided under §68.30 is not subject to this 
section. 

(2) an establishment that serves food or drinks, including a 
restaurant or bar; 

(3) a sports or entertainment venue, including a movie the-
ater, concert hall, stadium, or other place of exhibition or entertain-
ment; 
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(4) a public gathering venue, including an auditorium, con-
vention center, or lecture hall; 

(5) a retail establishment or shopping center; 

(6) a service establishment, including a laundromat, dry-
cleaner, bank, barber shop, salon, gas station, professional office, med-
ical facility, health care provider, or hospital; 

(7) a public transportation station, including a terminal or 
depot; 

(8) a place of recreation, including a park, zoo, or amuse-
ment park; 

(9) a place of public display or collection, including a mu-
seum, library or gallery; 

(10) a place of education, including a day care center, ele-
mentary, secondary, undergraduate, or postgraduate private school; 

(11) a social service center establishment, including a se-
nior citizen center, homeless shelter, food bank, or adoption agency; 

(12) a place of exercise or recreation, including a gymna-
sium, health spa, bowling alley, or golf course; 

(13) a residential amenity space open to the public which 
is used, leased, or rented to residents, members, non-residents, or non-
members; and 

(14) a building or facility that is constructed, renovated, 
or modified on a temporary or emergency basis including workforce 
housing, man camps, fixed furniture systems, wall systems, and exhibit 
areas. 

(d) A commercial facility is subject to the Act, this chapter, 
and compliance with TAS if it is intended for non-residential use by a 
private entity and its operations will affect commerce, except for rail-
road locomotives, railroad freight cars, railroad cabooses, commuter 
or intercity passenger rail cars or any other railroad cars described in 
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) §242, or covered under the 
ADA, Title III, railroad rights-of-way, or facilities that are covered or 
expressly exempted from coverage under the federal Fair Housing Act 
of 1968. 

(e) A building or facility of a religious organization is subject 
to the Act, this chapter, and compliance with TAS except for areas as 
provided under §68.30. 

§68.21. Registration of Project or Lease Required. 
(a) Projects registration required. A building or facility being 

constructed, renovated, or modified with an estimated construction cost 
of $50,000 or more that is subject to compliance with the Act, the TAS, 
and this chapter must be registered with the department. To register a 
construction project, an owner must submit: 

(1) an application on a form as prescribed by the depart-
ment; and 

(2) the required fee in §68.80. 

(b) State lease registration required. A new or renewal lease 
agreement for an agency of the state of Texas with annual lease expense 
$12,000 or more must be registered with the department. To register a 
lease, a state agency must submit: 

(1) an application on a form as prescribed by the depart-
ment; and 

(2) the required fee in §68.80. 

(c) Project registration optional. A building or facility being 
constructed, renovated, or modified with an estimated construction cost 

of less than $50,000 or that is not subject to the Act may be registered 
with the department and reviewed and/or inspected by a registered ac-
cessibility specialist. 

§68.30. Exemptions. 

The following buildings, facilities, spaces, or elements are exempt from 
the provisions of the Act: 

(1) Federal Property. Buildings or facilities owned, oper-
ated, or leased by the federal government; 

(2) Places Used Primarily for Religious Rituals. An area 
within a building or facility of a religious organization used primar-
ily for religious ritual as determined by the owner or occupant. To 
facilitate the plan review, the owner or occupant shall include a clear 
designation of such areas with the plans submitted for review. This 
exemption does not apply to the following: parking facilities, accessi-
ble routes, walkways, hallways, toilet facilities, entrances, public tele-
phones, drinking fountains, and exits; 

(3) Van Accessible Parking at Garages Constructed Prior 
to April 1994. Parking garages where construction was started before 
April 1, 1994, and the existing vertical clearance of the garage is less 
than 98", are exempted from requirements to have van-accessible park-
ing spaces located within the garage. If additional surface parking is 
provided, the required van accessible parking spaces shall be located 
on a surface lot in closest proximity to the accessible public entrance 
serving the facility; 

(4) Residential Facilities. Those portions of public or pri-
vately funded apartments, condominiums, townhomes, and single-fam-
ily dwellings used exclusively by residents and their guests; and 

(5) Places of Primary Residence. An establishment or 
place of lodging that does not have more than five rooms for rent or 
hire and that is occupied by the proprietor as their primary residence. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302946 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. OWNER RESPONSIBILI-
TIES 
16 TAC §§68.40 - 68.42 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51, and Government Code, Chapter 469, which autho-
rizes the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the 
Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to 
implement these chapters and any other law establishing a pro-
gram regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, and Texas 

ADOPTED RULES August 25, 2023 48 TexReg 4649 



Government Code, Chapter 469. No other statutes, articles, or 
codes are affected by the adopted rules. 
§68.41. Inspection Required. 

(a) The owner of a building or facility with a project required 
to be registered under §68.21 must obtain an inspection by a registered 
accessibility specialist no later than one year from the date of the com-
pletion of construction. 

(b) A request for inspection must be in writing and submitted 
to a registered accessibility specialist. 

(c) The owner, the owner's designated agent, or an individ-
ual representing the owner is required to be physically onsite with the 
registered accessibility specialist during the inspection. A physical or 
electronic signature must be provided by the owner or designated agent 
who was present during the inspection on a form prescribed by the de-
partment. 

§68.42. Designated Agent. 

(a) An owner may designate an agent to act on their behalf by 
submitting a form prescribed by the department. To be valid, the form 
must be complete and signed by the owner or an individual employed 
by the owner. A parent or other person associated with the owner is not 
authorized to submit or sign the form on behalf of the owner. 

(b) A designated agent is authorized to: 

(1) submit project information changes; 

(2) request a waiver or variance; 

(3) make a request for inspection; 

(4) communicate with the department on behalf of the 
owner about the registered project; 

(5) receive communications from a registered accessibility 
specialist; and 

(6) submit verification of corrections to a registered acces-
sibility specialist and the department. 

(c) A designated agent's failure to comply with the require-
ments of this chapter on behalf of an owner does not excuse the owner 
from compliance with the Act, this chapter, and the TAS. 

(d) A form must be submitted for each project registered to 
designate the agent, regardless of whether all the projects are in the 
same building. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302947 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER D. CONSTRUCTION 
DOCUMENTS; INSPECTIONS; COMPLIANCE 
16 TAC §§68.50 - 68.53 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51, and Government Code, Chapter 469, which autho-
rizes the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the 
Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to 
implement these chapters and any other law establishing a pro-
gram regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, and Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 469. No other statutes, articles, or 
codes are affected by the adopted rules. 
§68.50. Submission of Construction Documents. 

(a) If the estimated construction cost is $50,000 or more, all 
plans and specifications for the construction of or alteration to a build-
ing or facility subject to §469.101 of the Act must be submitted by a 
design professional along with a form prescribed by the department to 
a registered accessibility specialist not later than the twentieth day af-
ter the plans and specifications are issued. In computing time under 
this section, Saturday, Sunday, and legal holidays are not included. All 
plans may be submitted in electronic format. 

(b) When there is not a design professional with overall re-
sponsibility, the owner of a building or facility must submit the con-
struction documents to a registered accessibility specialist prior to filing 
an application for building permit or commencement of construction in 
an unincorporated portion of a county that does not issue building per-
mits. 

(c) An owner or design professional may submit revised con-
struction documents to a registered accessibility specialist to review, 
including change orders, addenda, or letters. 

(d) Construction documents provided to the department be-
come the property of the department and will not be returned. 

§68.51. Plan Review Requirements. 
(a) Prior to performing a plan review or plan revision review, 

a registered accessibility specialist must have project construction doc-
uments for the building or facility. 

(b) An owner may submit revised or supplemental construc-
tion documents for review. Upon receipt, a registered accessibility spe-
cialist must verify the date of construction completion in writing with 
the owner. Revised or supplemental construction documents submitted 
to the registered accessibility specialist: 

(1) prior to the recorded estimated completion of construc-
tion must be reviewed as part of a plan revision; or 

(2) after completion of construction based on the estimated 
completion of construction are not required to be reviewed but must be 
uploaded in the TABS project file. 

(c) After review of construction documents, the registered ac-
cessibility specialist must provide the owner or the owner's designated 
agent and the design professional making the submission the plan re-
view findings no later than 30 days from the date of the report. All plan 
review findings must be uploaded in TABS. 

(d) A plan review or plan revision review report must be type-
written and include, at a minimum: 

(1) a title indicating whether the report is a "Plan Review 
Report" or "Plan Revision Review Report;" 

(2) the name and certification number of the registered ac-
cessibility preparing the report; 

(3) date of the report; 
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(4) TABS project number issued by the department; 

(5) facility name; 

(6) project name and address; and 

(7) a detailed list of each deficiency, including a reference 
to the TAS section number, if applicable. 

§68.52. Inspections and Corrective Modifications. 
(a) Prior to performing an inspection, a registered accessibility 

specialist must have access to the project in TABS and a written request 
for inspection from the owner or the owner's designated agent. 

(b) To be valid, the owner, the owner's designated agent, or an 
individual representing the owner is required to be present during the 
inspection. The individual onsite during the inspection must provide a 
physical or electronic signature on the inspection form prescribed by 
the department. 

(c) A registered accessibility specialist must complete an in-
spection report no later than 30 days from the date of the inspection. 
An inspection report must be: 

(1) provided to the owner within 30 days of the date of the 
report; 

(2) uploaded in TABS; 

(3) typewritten and include, at a minimum: 

(A) heading titled "Inspection Report;" 

(B) the name and certification number of the registered 
accessibility preparing the report; 

(C) date of the report; 

(D) date of the inspection; 

(E) TABS project number issued by the department; 

(F) facility name; 

(G) project name and address; and 

(H) violations cited in detailed, followed by the TAS 
section number, including specific information identifying the location 
of each violation. 

(d) If corrective modifications are required to achieve compli-
ance the owner must: 

(1) respond to the inspection report by submitting a form 
prescribed by the department to the registered accessibility specialist 
not later than the 30th day of the date of the inspection report; and 

(2) complete corrective modifications by the 270th day af-
ter the date of the inspection report. 

(e) The owner's corrective modification response must be up-
loaded in TABS not later than the 30th calendar day after receipt. 

§68.53. Transmittal Letters. 
(a) A transmittal letter must be provided to an owner no later 

than the 30th day after the completion of a plan review, plan revision, 
or inspection and uploaded in TABS. 

(b) A transmittal letter must be typewritten and include, at a 
minimum: 

(1) date of the report; 

(2) the name and certification number of the registered ac-
cessibility preparing the letter; 

(3) owner name and address; 

(4) TABS project number issued by the department; 

(5) project name, facility name, and address; 

(6) results paragraph, as applicable; 

(7) owner action paragraph, as applicable; and 

(8) disclaimer paragraph, as applicable. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302948 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER F. REGISTERED 
ACCESSIBILITY SPECIALISTS 
16 TAC §§68.70, 68.73 - 68.77 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51, and Government Code, Chapter 469, which autho-
rizes the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the 
Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to 
implement these chapters and any other law establishing a pro-
gram regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, and Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 469. No other statutes, articles, or 
codes are affected by the adopted rules. 
§68.70. Registered Accessibility Specialist Certification--Eligibility, 
Qualifications, and Application Requirements. 

(a) A person may not perform or offer to provide plan review 
or inspection services unless the person is a certified registered acces-
sibility specialist. To be certified, an individual must: 

(1) meet one of the following qualifications: 

(A) hold a degree in architecture, engineering, interior 
design, landscape architecture, or equivalent, and at least one year ex-
perience related to building inspection, building planning, accessibility 
design or review, accessibility inspection, or equivalent; 

(B) have at least eight years of experience related to 
building inspection, building planning, accessibility design or review, 
accessibility inspection, or equivalent; or 

(C) have at least four years of experience related to 
building inspection, building planning, accessibility design or review, 
accessibility inspection, or equivalent, and certification by a model 
building code organization as an accessibility inspector or plans 
examiner; 

(2) pass an examination approved by the department; 

(3) successfully pass a criminal history background check; 
and 
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(4) submit the required fee under §68.80. 

(b) An applicant must submit the following required documen-
tation in a manner prescribed by the department: 

(1) a complete application on a department approved form; 
and 

(2) verifiable evidence that the applicant meets the require-
ments in subsection (a)(1). 

(c) Each applicant who satisfies all requirements will be pro-
vided a wallet card and a wall certificate. The wallet card is the actual 
certificate of registration. 

(d) An applicant must complete all requirements, including 
passing the examination in subsection (a)(2), no later than one year 
from the date the application is submitted. After that year the applicant 
will be required to submit a new application and all required materials 
in addition to paying a new application fee. 

§68.73. Registered Accessibility Specialist Certification--Renewal 
Requirements. 

(a) To renew a certification, a registered accessibility specialist 
must: 

(1) submit a complete renewal application in a manner pre-
scribed by the department; 

(2) successfully pass a criminal history background check; 

(3) complete four hours of continuing education as re-
quired under §68.74; and 

(4) submit the required fee under §68.80. 

(b) A registered accessibility specialist with an expired certi-
fication shall not perform work requiring registration under the Act. 

(c) A certification will not be renewed until continuing educa-
tion requirements have been met. 

§68.74. Continuing Education. 
(a) To renew a certification, a registered accessibility specialist 

must complete four hours of continuing education as provided in this 
section. 

(b) To meet the requirements of this section, continuing edu-
cation hours must include instruction in one or more of the following 
topics: 

(1) Texas Government Code, Chapter 469, Elimination of 
Architectural Barriers; 

(2) 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 68 - Adminis-
trative Rules; 

(3) 2012 Texas Accessibility Standards; 

(4) technical memoranda published by the department; 

(5) 2010 Standards for Accessible Design or other accessi-
bility guidelines proposed or adopted by the Access Board or United 
States Department of Justice; 

(6) Americans with Disabilities Act; 

(7) International Code Council/American National Stan-
dards Institute (ANSI) A117.1 Standard on Accessible and Usable 
Buildings and Facilities; or 

(8) life safety codes related to egress. 

(c) A registered accessibility specialist must certify comple-
tion of continuing education hours at the time of renewal in a manner 
prescribed by the department. 

(d) Continuing education hours must have been completed 
within the term of the current certification, in the case of a timely 
renewal. For a late renewal, the continuing education hours must have 
been completed within the one-year period immediately prior to the 
date of renewal. 

(e) A registered accessibility specialist will not receive con-
tinuing education credit for attending the same course more than once 
during the one-year period in which the course is offered. 

(f) A registered accessibility specialist must retain a copy of 
the certificate of completion for a course for three years after the date 
of completion. In conducting an inspection or investigation of a reg-
istered accessibility specialist, the department may examine the reg-
istered accessibility specialist's records to determine compliance with 
this section. 

(g) This section applies to certifications that expire on or after 
September 1, 2023. 

§68.75. Responsibilities of the Registered Accessibility Specialist. 
(a) A registered accessibility specialist may set and collect fees 

for services rendered but must submit to the department fees received 
on behalf of the department no later than 30 days after receipt. 

(b) A registered accessibility specialist must secure written au-
thorization: 

(1) from an owner prior to performing a plan review, in-
spection, or related activity of a building or facility with an estimated 
construction cost of less than $50,000 or that is not subject to the Act; 
and 

(2) from the department prior to performing a plan review, 
inspection, or related activity for a building or facility that will be 
leased or occupied by an agency of the State of Texas. 

(c) A registered accessibility specialist must maintain project 
files for a period of one year following the closure of the project in 
TABS. 

(d) A registered accessibility specialist is required to upload a 
change in the estimated date of completion of construction within 30 
days of receipt from the owner. 

(e) A registered accessibility specialist must provide written 
notification to the department of changes to their contact information 
within 30 calendar days of a change occurring. 

§68.76. Standards of Conduct. 
(a) Competency. A registered accessibility specialist shall en-

sure compliance, be knowledgeable of, and adhere to the Act, the TAS, 
and this chapter. A registered accessibility specialist shall exercise rea-
sonable judgment and skill in the performance of plan reviews, inspec-
tions, and related activities. 

(b) Integrity. A registered accessibility specialist shall not: 

(1) be deceitful or make misrepresentations, whether by 
acts of commission or omission, in the performance of plan review, 
inspection, and related activities; or 

(2) commit acts or practices that constitute threats, coer-
cion, or extortion. 

(c) Conflict of Interest. 

(1) If a registered accessibility specialist has any business 
association or financial interest which might reasonably appear to in-
fluence the individual's judgment in connection with the performance 
of a professional service and thereby jeopardize an interest of the regis-
tered accessibility specialist's current or prospective client or employer, 
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the registered accessibility specialist shall promptly inform the client 
or employer in writing of the circumstances of the business association 
or financial interest. 

(2) A registered accessibility specialist shall not solicit or 
accept, directly or indirectly, any financial or other valuable considera-
tion, material favor, or other benefit of any substantial nature, financial 
or otherwise, from more than one party in connection with a single 
project or assignment unless the circumstances are fully disclosed in 
writing to all parties. 

(3) A registered accessibility specialist shall not perform 
plan reviews, inspections, or related activities, such as preliminary plan 
reviews or pre-construction site assessments, while also providing con-
sulting or other professional services on the same registered project. 
Non-design related review services are not consulting or professional 
services for the purposes of this section. 

(d) Specific Rules of Conduct. A registered accessibility spe-
cialist shall not: 

(1) participate, whether individually or in concert with oth-
ers, in any plan, scheme, or arrangement attempting or having as its 
purpose the evasion of any provision of the Act, the rules, or the TAS; 

(2) knowingly furnish inaccurate, deceitful, or misleading 
information to the department, a building owner, or other person in-
volved in a plan review, inspection, or related activity; 

(3) state or imply that the department will approve a vari-
ance; 

(4) engage in any activity that constitutes dishonesty, mis-
representation, or fraud while performing a plan review, inspection, or 
related activity; 

(5) perform a plan review, inspection, or related activity in 
a negligent or incompetent manner; 

(6) perform a plan review, inspection, or related activity on 
a building or facility in which the registered accessibility specialist is 
an owner, either in whole or in part, or an employee of a full or partial 
owner; 

(7) perform a plan review, inspection, or a related activity 
on a building or facility that is or will be leased or occupied by an 
agency of the State of Texas, when the registered accessibility specialist 
is an employee of the state agency that will occupy the facility; 

(8) perform a plan review, inspection, or related activity 
on a building or facility wherein the registered accessibility specialist 
participated in creating the overall design of the current project; or 

(9) represent himself or herself as an employee of the de-
partment or as a person hired by the department. 

§68.77. Shared Services. 

(a) A registered accessibility specialist may engage the ser-
vices of another registered accessibility specialist to perform services 
on their behalf. 

(b) Each registered accessibility specialist engaged in shared 
services must: 

(1) be actively certified with the department; 

(2) complete the assigned plan review or inspection within 
30 days of accepting the project in TABS; and 

(3) not alter the work product of the other registered acces-
sibility specialist, which includes making amendments to a plan review, 
inspection report, or corrective modification letter. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302949 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER H. ENFORCEMENT 
16 TAC §68.90, §68.93 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51, and Government Code, Chapter 469, which autho-
rizes the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the 
Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to 
implement these chapters and any other law establishing a pro-
gram regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, and Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 469. No other statutes, articles, or 
codes are affected by the adopted rules. 
§68.93. Complaints, Investigations, and Audits. 

(a) Complaints. A complaint may be filed against an owner if 
there is reason to believe that a building or facility is not in compliance 
with the Act, the rules, or the TAS. A complaint may be filed against 
a registered accessibility specialist if there is reason to believe that the 
registered accessibility specialist has violated the Act, the rules, proce-
dures, or the TAS. 

(b) Investigations and Audits. Owners of buildings and facili-
ties subject to compliance with the Act, TAS, and this chapter, are sub-
ject to investigation by the department. Registered accessibility spe-
cialists are subject to investigation and audit by the department. 

(c) Inspection of Records. Records pertaining to a project for 
which plan review, inspection, or related activities have been or will 
be performed, must be made available by the registered accessibility 
specialist for inspection upon request. Records must be uploaded in 
TABS within 14 calendar days of receiving a written request from the 
department, or within a time prescribed by the department. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302950 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 
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CHAPTER 73. ELECTRICIANS 
16 TAC §73.100 

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commis-
sion) adopts amendments to an existing rule at 16 Texas Ad-
ministrative Code (TAC), Chapter 73, §73.100, regarding the 
Electricians program, without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the April 28, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 
TexReg 2172). These rules will not be republished. 
EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION FOR THE RULES 

The rules under 16 TAC, Chapter 73, implement Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapter 1305, Electricians. 
The adopted rule is necessary to adopt the 2023 National Elec-
trical Code (NEC) as required by statute. Texas Occupations 
Code §1305.101(a) requires the Commission to adopt, every 
three years, the revised NEC as the electrical code for the state. 
The current rule references the 2020 edition of the NEC. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The adopted rule amends §73.100, Technical Requirements, by 
adopting the 2023 edition of the NEC effective September 1, 
2023, and repealing subsection (b) of the current rule. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS 

The Department drafted and distributed the proposed rules to 
persons internal and external to the agency. The proposed rules 
were published in the April 28, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 2172). The public comment period closed on May 
30, 2023. The Department received comments from four inter-
ested parties on the proposed rules. The public comments are 
summarized below. 
Comment: One commenter stated support for the proposed re-
peal of §73.100(b). 
Department Response: The department appreciates the com-
ment. The Department did not make any changes to the pro-
posed rules based on this comment. 
Comment: One commenter had a question about examination 
procedures. 
Department Response: The comment was forwarded to the Cus-
tomer Service division for response. The Department did not 
make any changes to the proposed rules based on this com-
ment. 
Comment: One commenter had a question about the status of 
an application. 
Department Response: The comment was forwarded to the Cus-
tomer Service division for response. The Department did not 
make any changes to the proposed rules based on this com-
ment. 
Comment: One commenter submitted a certificate showing com-
pletion of a continuing education course. 
Department Response: The comment was forwarded to the Cus-
tomer Service division for response. The Department did not 
make any changes to the proposed rules based on this com-
ment. 
ADVISORY BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS AND COMMIS-
SION ACTION 

The Electrical Safety and Licensing Advisory Board met on June 
26, 2023, to discuss the proposed rules and the public comments 

received. The Advisory Board recommended that the Commis-
sion adopt the proposed rules as published in the Texas Regis-
ter. At its meeting on August 1, 2023, the Commission adopted 
the proposed rules as recommended by the Advisory Board. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 51 and 1305, which authorize the Texas Commission 
of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's governing body, 
to adopt rules as necessary to implement these chapters and any 
other law establishing a program regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rule are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 1305. No 
other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adopted rule. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302941 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 28, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 75. AIR CONDITIONING AND 
REFRIGERATION 
16 TAC §75.100 

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commis-
sion) adopts amendments to an existing rule at 16 Texas Ad-
ministrative Code (TAC), Chapter 75, §75.100, regarding the 
Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors (ACR) program, 
without changes to the proposed text as published in the April 
28, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 2173). These 
rules will not be republished. 
EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION FOR THE RULES 

The rules under 16 TAC, Chapter 75, implement Texas Occu-
pations Code, Chapter 1302, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration 
Contractors. 
The adopted rule is necessary to remove outdated language re-
lated to the 2020 National Electrical Code (NEC) that was in-
cluded in the ACR program rules. Texas Occupations Code 
§1305.101(a) requires the Commission to adopt, every three 
years, the revised NEC as the electrical code for the state. The 
Department proposed rules under the Electricians program to 
adopt the 2023 NEC (see separate rulemaking). The language 
related to the 2020 NEC is no longer necessary to be included 
in the ACR program rules. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The adopted rule amends §75.100, Technical Requirements, by 
repealing subsection (a)(5). 
PUBLIC COMMENTS 

The Department drafted and distributed the proposed rules to 
persons internal and external to the agency. The proposed rules 
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were published in the April 28, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 2173). The public comment period closed on May 
30, 2023. The Department received comments from two inter-
ested parties on the proposed rules. The public comments are 
summarized below. 
Comment: One commenter expressed confusion about the rule 
and sought clarification regarding whether the proposed rule 
would require licensees to take additional continuing education 
courses. 
Department Response: The Department appreciates the com-
ment. The proposed rule will not require licensees to take any 
additional continuing education courses. The Department did 
not make any changes to the proposed rules based on this com-
ment. 
Comment: One commenter stated that all electrical work should 
be completed by a licensed and qualified professional electri-
cian. 
Department Response: The Department appreciates the com-
ment. The Department did not make any changes to the pro-
posed rules based on this comment. 
COMMISSION ACTION 

At its meeting on August 1, 2023, the Commission adopted the 
proposed rules as published in the Texas Register. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 51 and 1302, which authorize the Texas Commission 
of Licensing and Regulation, the Department’s governing body, 
to adopt rules as necessary to implement these chapters and any 
other law establishing a program regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rule are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 1302. No 
other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adopted rule. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302943 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 28, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4879 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 97. MOTOR FUEL METERING 
AND QUALITY 
The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commis-
sion) adopts amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas Adminis-
trative Code (TAC), Chapter 97, Subchapter A, §97.3; Subchap-
ter B, §97.23; Subchapter D, §97.56; Subchapter E, §97.70 and 
§97.74; and the repeal of Subchapter G, §§97.90 - 97.95, re-
garding the Motor Fuel Metering and Quality program, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the March 24, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 1612). These rules will 
not be republished. 

The Commission also adopts amendments to existing rules at 16 
TAC, Chapter 97, Subchapter A, §97.2; Subchapter B, §97.25, 
and §97.29; Subchapter D, §97.59; and adopts new rules at Sub-
chapter B, §97.30 and §97.31, regarding the Motor Fuel Meter-
ing and Quality program, with changes to the proposed text as 
published in the March 24, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 
TexReg 1612). These rules will be republished. 
Included elsewhere in this issue of the Texas Register, the Com-
mission also withdraws proposed amendments to existing rules 
at 16 TAC, Chapter 97, Subchapter B, §§97.20 - 97.22, and 
§97.27; and withdraws proposed new rules at Subchapter B, 
§97.32 and §97.33 as published in the March 24, 2023, issue 
of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 1612). 
EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION FOR THE RULES 

The rules under 16 TAC, Chapter 97, implement Texas Occupa-
tions, Chapter 2310, Motor Fuel Metering and Quality. 
The adopted rules update definitions applicable to the program, 
clarify the standards applicable to fuel quality, and add merchant 
and consumer protections from card fraud. The adopted rules 
are necessary to implement legislative changes from House Bill 
(HB) 2106, 87th Legislature, Regular Session (2021), related to 
payment card skimmers on motor fuel devices. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The adopted rules amend §97.2, Definitions. The adopted rules 
add a definition for "tamper- evident security label." The adopted 
rules include Advisory Board recommended changes to the pub-
lished rule text at paragraphs (11) and (14) to remove proposed 
amendments to the definition of "merchant," and removal of the 
proposed term "operator," respectively. The rules have been 
renumbered accordingly. 
The adopted rules amend §97.3, Adoption by Reference. The 
adopted rules update and clarify the standards applicable to mo-
tor fuel. 
The adopted rules amend §97.23, Device Performance Review 
Requirements. The adopted rules clarify that a device perfor-
mance review may only be performed by a licensed service com-
pany and removes references to the September 1, 2020, the ef-
fective date of the section included when the rules were adopted 
after the program was transferred to the department. 
The adopted rules amend §97.25, Consumer Information 
Sticker. The adopted rules remove the reference to the Decem-
ber 1, 2020, effective date for implementation of the section that 
was originally included when the rules were adopted following 
the program transfer. The adopted rules include Department 
recommended changes to the published rule text at subsection 
(b) to replace the proposed term "merchant" with the original 
phrase "owner or operator." 
The adopted rules amend §97.29, Discovery of Payment Card 
Skimmers. The adopted rules retitle the section to "Detection 
and Reporting of Payment Card Skimmers," and prescribe the 
timeline and process a merchant must follow for reporting the 
discovery of a skimmer to law enforcement and the department 
after the discovery. The adopted rules include Department rec-
ommended changes to the published rule text at subsections (a), 
(b), and (c) to replace the proposed term "merchant" with the 
original phrase "owner or operator." The adopted rules also in-
clude Advisory Board recommended changes to the published 
rule text at subsection (a)(3) to clarify the process for submitting 
law enforcement report case numbers to the department; and 
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(a)(4) to specify how to place a device out of order pending re-
moval of a skimmer. 
The adopted rules add new §97.30, Unauthorized Removal of 
Skimmers Prohibited. The adopted rules prohibit the removal 
of a skimmer unless instructed to do so by law enforcement or 
the department and include requirements for how the skimmer 
must be removed. The adopted rules include Department rec-
ommended changes to the published rule text at subsections (a), 
(b), and 

(d) to replace the proposed term "merchant" with the phrase 
"owner or operator." The adopted rules include further changes 
to the published rule text at subsection (b) to simplify the pro-
posed language and provide that a skimmer may be removed 
48 hours after notifying the Department. 
The adopted rules add new §97.31, Device Security for Motor 
Fuel Devices. The adopted rules require an owner or opera-
tor to take measures to protect each device using at least two 
preventative measures. The adopted rules include Department 
recommended changes to the published rule text to replace the 
proposed term "merchant" with the phrase "owner or operator." 
The adopted rules also include Advisory Board recommended 
changes to the published rule text at paragraph (2)(C) to remove 
the requirement to document and maintain inspection logs, and 
at paragraph (6)(A) to require an owner or operator utilizing video 
camera systems to record video of the forecourt at all times. 
The adopted rules amend §97.56, Service Technician License 
Requirements-Renewal. The adopted rules standardize the ter-
minology for license holders with other department rules. 
The adopted rules amend §97.59, Inspection for Payment Card 
Skimmers. The adopted rules prohibit the removal of a skimmer 
unless instructed to do so by law enforcement or the department 
and include requirements for how the skimmer must be removed. 
The adopted rules include Department recommended changes 
to the published rule text which replace the terms "merchant," 
and "dealer" from subsection (b)(1), and the term "merchant" 
from subsection (d) with the phrase "owner or operator." This 
change was made throughout the chapter for consistency. The 
adopted rules also include Department recommended changes 
to the published rule text at subsection (e) which replaces the 
term "individual" with "service technician" to clarify who is subject 
to the section. 
The adopted rules also include Advisory Board recommended 
changes to the published rule text at subsection (d) to simplify 
proposed language and provide that a skimmer may be removed 
48 hours after notifying the Department. 
The adopted rules amend §97.70, Device Fees, to correct a cler-
ical error. 
The adopted rules amend §97.74, Fee Policy, to standardize for-
matting for consistency with other department rules. 
The adopted rules repeal §97.90, Definitions, by removing com-
mon definitions not used in the chapter and relocates applicable 
definitions into §97.2, Definitions. 
The adopted rules repeal §97.91, Policies, Procedures, and 
Training, which have been incorporated into §97.33, Fraud 
Awareness Training, as discussed above. 
The adopted rules repeal §97.92, Minimum Practices for Preven-
tion of Skimmers, which have been incorporated into §97.29, De-
tection and Reporting of Payment Card Skimmers, and §97.31, 
Device Security for Motor Fuel Devices, §97.32, Inspection and 

Maintenance Logs, and §97.33, Fraud Awareness Training, as 
discussed above. 
The adopted rules repeal §97.93, Additional Practices for the 
Prevention of Skimmers at Medium- risk Places of Business, 
which removes requirements that add practices for medium-risk 
places of business as well as punitive and onerous tasks, creat-
ing a financial burden, for example by requiring the installation 
of electronic monitoring devices by merchants who are victims 
of skimmer fraud, instead shifting efforts proactively to prevent 
unauthorized device access and installation of skimmers. 
The adopted rules repeal §97.94, Additional Practices for the 
Prevention of Skimmers at High-risk Places of Business, which 
removes requirements that add practices for high-risk places of 
business as well as punitive and onerous tasks, creating a fi-
nancial burden by requiring the installation of video cameras and 
lights around each device for merchants who are victims of skim-
mer fraud, instead shifting efforts proactively to prevent unautho-
rized device access and installation of skimmers. 
The adopted rules repeal §97.95, which has been incorporated 
into §97.29, Detection and Reporting of Payment Card Skim-
mers, as discussed above. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS 

The Department drafted and distributed the proposed rules to 
persons internal and external to the agency. The proposed rules 
were published in the March 24, 2023, issue of the Texas Reg-
ister (48 TexReg 1612). The public comment period closed on 
April 24, 2023. The Department received comments from three 
interested parties on the proposed rules. 
Comment: The Department received two comments submitted 
by the same individual regarding options for compliance with the 
fraud awareness training requirements in the proposed rules. 
Specifically, one of the submitted comments inquired whether 
the Department would authorize an organization to conduct its 
own training and maintain its own documentation. 
Department Response: The Department thanks the individual 
for their questions regarding the proposed rules. The Depart-
ment notes that it has withdrawn the proposed rule. 
Comment: The Department received a question from an individ-
ual that was non-responsive to the substance of the proposal. 
Department Response: The Department notes that the individ-
ual's question is issue-specific and will not be addressed in this 
preamble. The Department did not make any changes to the 
proposed rules in response to this comment. 
Comment: The Department received comments from the Texas 
Food and Fuel Association (TFFA). TFFA submitted comments 
regarding §§97.2, 97.29, 97.30, and §§97.32 - 97.33. 
TFFA submitted comments regarding proposed §97.2, stating 
that the removal of the term "operator" could be detrimental to 
regulation due to the complexity of relationships between owners 
and operators. TFFA requested that the rule be withdrawn. 
TFFA submitted comments regarding the use of the amended 
definition of "merchant" throughout proposed §97.29 in relation 
to the responsibility for compliance with detection and reporting 
of skimmers. TFFA noted that a skimmer may only be removed 
by a "licensed technician" hired by the "merchant." Finally, TFFA 
commented that the 72-hour timeline that a pump must remain 
out of service could be a deterrent for compliance with the rule. 
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TFFA submitted comments regarding §97.30 which align with 
their concerns presented regarding §97.29. TFFA states that of-
ten law enforcement agencies are unable or unwilling to respond 
to reports of skimmers, leaving them out of business for up to 72 
hours prior to the skimmer being removed. 
TFFA commented that §97.32 regarding Inspection and Main-
tenance Logs is unnecessary as many owners currently have 
technology in place to detect and notify in the event that a breach 
occurs. 
TFFA submitted its comment in opposition of §97.33, relating to 
Fraud Awareness Training. While they are not opposed to the 
training overall, TFFA's is opposed to the rule based on the lack 
of detail regarding what will be required as part of the training 
program. 
Department Response: The Department thanks the TFFA for 
their comments. The Department will address each comment in 
order, separately. 
The Department agrees with the comments and appreciates the 
insight on the fuel industry's use of the terms "owner" and "opera-
tor" as they apply to the proposed rules. The Department agrees 
with the suggestion to withdraw the proposed amendment to 
the definition of "merchant" in §97.2(11), to allow further discus-
sion with industry stakeholders and the Advisory Board. The 
Department has withdrawn proposed changes to §97.2(11) and 
§97.2(14), which would have amended the definition of "mer-
chant" and removed the term "operator," respectively. 
The Department has withdrawn proposed amendments to §97.2 
regarding the term "merchant." No additional changes have 
been made to §97.29, Detection and Reporting of Payment 
Card Skimmers, in response to TFFA's comment regarding 
responsibility for merchants. To ensure consistency throughout 
the chapter, the Department has removed the requirement 
limiting removal of a skimmer to a "licensed service technician." 
The Department appreciates the insight regarding the timeline 
prior to removal of a skimmer after reporting to the Department 
and law enforcement. To ensure compliance with the rule and 
the spirit of the law to preserve the chain of custody to the 
extent possible, the timeline for an owner or operator to remove 
a skimmer has been reduced to 48-hours to allow sufficient 
time for the Department or law enforcement to respond while 
ensuring they can resume business operations in a reasonable 
amount of time. 
The Department appreciates the TFFA's concern regarding the 
timeline prior to removal of a skimmer presented in §97.30. To 
ensure compliance with the rule and the spirit of the law to pre-
serve the chain of custody to the extent possible, the timeline for 
an owner or operator to remove a skimmer has been reduced to 
48-hours to allow sufficient time for the Department or law en-
forcement to respond while ensuring they can resume business 
operations in a reasonable amount of time. 
The Department agrees with TFFA's suggestion regarding 
§97.32, Inspection and Maintenance Logs, and will work with 
the Advisory Board and stakeholders to continue the dialogue 
regarding this issue and has withdrawn the rule. 
The Department agrees with TFFA's suggestion regarding 
§97.33, relating to Fraud Awareness Training, and will work with 
the Advisory Board and stakeholders to continue the dialogue 
regarding this issue and has withdrawn the rule. 
ADVISORY BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS 

The Motor Fuel Metering and Quality Advisory Board met on 
May 16, 2023, to discuss the proposed rules and the public com-
ments received. The Motor Fuel Metering and Quality Advisory 
Board recommended that the Commission adopt the proposed 
rules as published in the Texas Register with changes to §§97.2, 
97.25, 97.29, 97.30, 97.31, and 97.59, made in response to pub-
lic comment and Department recommendations as explained in 
the Section-by-Section Summary. 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
16 TAC §97.2, §97.3 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 51 and 2310, which authorize the Texas Commission 
of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's governing body, 
to adopt rules as necessary to implement these chapters and any 
other law establishing a program regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 2310. 
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adopted 
rules. 
§97.2. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter must have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) ASTM--ASTM International; the national voluntary 
consensus standards organization formed for the development of 
standards on characteristics and performance of materials, products, 
systems and services and the promotion of related knowledge. 

(2) Code--The Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 2310, 
"Motor Fuel Metering and Quality." 

(3) Commission--Texas Commission of Licensing and 
Regulation. 

(4) Controlling person--an individual who: 

(A) is a sole proprietor; 

(B) is a general partner of a partnership; 

(C) is a controlling person of a business entity that is a 
general partner of a partnership; 

(D) possesses direct or indirect control of at least 25 
percent of the voting securities of a corporation; 

(E) is the president, the secretary, or a director of a cor-
poration; or 

(F) possesses the authority to set policy or direct the 
management of a business entity. 

(5) Department--Texas Department of Licensing and Reg-
ulation. 

(6) Device--A commercial weighing or measuring device 
used for motor fuel sales, also defined as a motor fuel metering device 
by §2310.001(7) of the Code. 

(7) Device performance review (DPR)--The comprehen-
sive inspection and testing of a motor fuel metering device to ensure it 
is calibrated and operating according to NIST and Manufacturer spec-
ifications. 

(8) Gasoline--A liquid or combination of liquids blended 
together, offered for sale, sold, used, or capable of use as fuel for a 
gasoline-powered engine. The term includes gasohol, aviation gaso-
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line, and blending agents, but does not include compressed natural gas, 
liquefied natural gas, racing gasoline, diesel fuel, aviation jet fuel, or 
liquefied gas, as defined in §162.001(29) of the Texas Tax Code. 

(9) GPM--Gallons per minute. 

(10) ISO--International Organization for Standardization; 
an independent, non-governmental organization that develops volun-
tary international standards to facilitate world trade by providing com-
mon standards among nations. 

(11) Merchant--A person whose business includes the 
sale of motor fuel through motor fuel metering devices, as defined by 
§607.001(4) of the Texas Business and Commerce Code. 

(12) Motor fuel--Gasoline, diesel fuel, gasoline blended 
fuel, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, and other products 
that are offered for sale, sold, used, or capable of use as fuel for a 
gasoline-powered engine or a diesel-powered engine, as defined in 
§162.001(42) of the Texas Tax Code. 

(13) NIST--The National Institute of Standards and Tech-
nology; a non-regulatory federal agency under the United States De-
partment of Commerce, which certifies and provides standard reference 
materials used to perform instrument calibrations, verifies the accuracy 
of specific measurements and supports the development of new mea-
surement methods. 

(14) Operator--A person in possession or control of a 
weighing or measuring device, as defined in 2310.001(8) of the Code. 

(15) Skimmer--A wire or electronic device that is capable 
of unlawfully intercepting electronic communications or data to perpe-
trate fraud, as defined by §607.001(8) of the Texas Business and Com-
merce Code. 

(16) Tamper-evident security label""A label or tape that, 
once applied to a surface, cannot be removed without self-destructing, 
or otherwise leaving a clear indication that the label or tape has been 
removed. 

(17) Test standard--A certified weight or measure used to 
test a device for accuracy. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302926 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: March 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER B. MOTOR FUEL METERING 
DEVICES 
16 TAC §§97.23, 97.25, 97.29 - 97.31 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 51 and 2310, which authorize the Texas Commission 

of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's governing body, 
to adopt rules as necessary to implement these chapters and any 
other law establishing a program regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 2310. 
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adopted 
rules. 
§97.25. Consumer Information Sticker. 

(a) A consumer information sticker with the department's con-
tact information and current motor fuel tax rates, must be placed on 
each face of all motor fuel dispensers. 

(b) If any part of the information on the sticker is no longer 
fully legible and in plain sight of the consumer, it must be replaced 
within 30 days of the date the owner or operator discovers the condition. 

(c) A consumer information sticker must not be placed in a 
manner that affects the accuracy, readability, or lawful operation of a 
device. 

(d) This section does not apply to a device on a transport ve-
hicle. 

§97.29. Detection and Reporting of Payment Card Skimmers. 
(a) An owner or operator who discovers or is notified of the 

presence of a skimmer by a service technician or employee must: 

(1) immediately make a report to local law enforcement 
that a skimmer has been discovered and is still installed in the device; 

(2) notify the department within 24 hours of the discovery 
on a form prescribed by the department; 

(3) request the law enforcement report or case number and 
submit it in a manner prescribed by the department; and 

(4) place each affected device out of service and block ac-
cess to the dispenser to prevent tampering with evidence until the skim-
mer has been removed as authorized under this chapter. 

(b) The owner or operator must cooperate with law enforce-
ment, the department, and the Center in the investigation of a suspected 
or discovered skimmer. 

(c) The owner or operator must provide a copy of available 
photographic and/or video surveillance of the retail facility to law en-
forcement. 

§97.30. Unauthorized Removal of Skimmers Prohibited. 
(a) In order to preserve evidence and the chain of custody, an 

owner or operator, retail facility employee, or unlicensed service tech-
nician is prohibited from removing a skimmer unless instructed to do 
so by law enforcement or the department. 

(b) If neither law enforcement nor the department has arrived 
to remove a skimmer within 48 hours after the owner or operator has 
notified the department as required by §97.29(a)(2), the skimmer may 
be removed in accordance with subsection (c). 

(c) When removing a skimmer under this section, an individ-
ual must: 

(1) wear sterile gloves while removing the skimmer(s); 

(2) place each skimmer in a clear plastic bag, seal the bag, 
and label the sealed bag with the date and time the skimmer was re-
moved and bagged, along with the initials of the person removing the 
skimmer; and 

48 TexReg 4658 August 25, 2023 Texas Register 



♦ ♦ ♦ (3) transfer the skimmer(s) to local law enforcement and 
request the law enforcement case or report number. 

(d) The owner or operator must provide the law enforcement 
case or report number to the department in a manner prescribed by the 
department following transfer of the skimmer to law enforcement. 

§97.31. Device Security for Motor Fuel Devices. 

By January 1, 2024, an owner or operator is required to take two or 
more of these measures to protect each device: 

(1) replace each factory installed universal locking mech-
anism with a locking device that utilizes a unique device-specific or 
site-specific key code or combination; 

(2) utilize tamper-evident security labels. Tamper-evident 
security labels must: 

(A) be placed over each panel opening that provides ac-
cess to an interior portion of the device from which the payment termi-
nal or the device can be accessed; 

(B) have a unique serial number or unique custom label 
or easily identifiable custom label or graphic; and 

(C) be replaced if damaged, perforated, or peeled; 

(3) install a physical barrier, lock, or other physical secur-
ing device that restricts access to the electronic financial transaction 
compartment of the device; 

(4) install and maintain monitoring devices or sensors on 
all doors or panels providing access to an interior portion of the device 
and associated payment terminal components which emit an audible 
alarm and/or disable the device when unauthorized access is attempted; 

(5) retrofit, upgrade, or replace each device with an enabled 
EMV-compliant payment terminal that meets the security, interoper-
ability, and functionality specifications issued by EMVCo, LLC; or 

(6) install and maintain a high-resolution video camera sys-
tem and forecourt lighting. To meet the requirements of this section: 

(A) the video camera system must record the forecourt 
area at all times, and the system must retain all videos for 30 days or 
more. Cameras must be positioned to record: 

(i) each device; 

(ii) the license plates of vehicles approaching or de-
parting the immediate area around each device; and 

(iii) any person interacting with each device at a 
pixel density of at least 50 pixels per foot; and 

(B) lighting must be bright enough to ensure a mini-
mum illumination of 10 lumens per square foot at grade. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302927 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: March 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

SUBCHAPTER D. SERVICE COMPANIES 
AND SERVICE TECHNICIANS 
16 TAC §97.56, §97.59 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 51 and 2310, which authorize the Texas Commission 
of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's governing body, 
to adopt rules as necessary to implement these chapters and any 
other law establishing a program regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 2310. 
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adopted 
rules. 
§97.59. Inspection for Payment Card Skimmers. 

(a) A service technician must inspect for the presence of a 
skimmer: 

(1) during a device performance review; and 

(2) each time a motor fuel dispenser is opened to perform 
device maintenance activities. 

(b) A service technician or the service company that employs 
the technician must report the finding of a skimmer: 

(1) immediately to the owner or operator; and 

(2) within 24 hours to the department on a form prescribed 
by the department. 

(c) In order to preserve evidence and the chain of custody, a 
service technician must not remove a skimmer unless instructed by law 
enforcement or the department. 

(d) If neither law enforcement nor the department has arrived 
to remove a skimmer within 48 hours after the owner or operator has 
notified the department as required by §97.29, the skimmer may be 
removed in accordance with subsection (e). 

(e) When removing a skimmer under this section, an individ-
ual must: 

(1) wear sterile gloves while removing the skimmer(s); 

(2) place each skimmer in a clear plastic bag, seal the bag, 
and label the sealed bag with the date and time the skimmer was re-
moved and bagged, along with the initials of the person removing the 
skimmer; and 

(3) transfer the skimmer(s) to local law enforcement and 
request the law enforcement case or report number. 

(f) The service technician must provide the law enforcement 
case or report number to the department in a manner prescribed by the 
department following transfer of the skimmer to law enforcement. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302928 
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Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: March 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER E. FEES 
16 TAC §97.70, §97.74 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 51 and 2310, which authorize the Texas Commission 
of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's governing body, 
to adopt rules as necessary to implement these chapters and any 
other law establishing a program regulated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 2310. 
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adopted 
rules. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302925 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: March 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER G. SKIMMERS 
16 TAC §§97.90 - 97.95 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted repeals are adopted under Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapters 51 and 2310, which authorize the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's 
governing body, to adopt repeals as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted repeals are 
those set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 
2310. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the 
adopted repeals. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302921 

Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: March 24, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 115. MIDWIVES 
The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Com-
mission) adopts amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas 
Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 115, §§115.1, 115.4, 115.5, 
115.13 - 115.15, 115.20, 115.21, 115.23, 115.25, 115.70, 115.80, 
115.100, and 115.120; new rules at §§115.2, 115.12, 115.16, 
and 115.121; and the repeal of existing rules at §§115.2, 115.16, 
and 115.121; regarding the Midwives program, without changes 
to the proposed text as published in the April 14, 2023, issue of 
the Texas Register (48 TexReg 1936). These rules will not be 
republished. 
The Commission also adopts a new rule at §115.22, with 
changes to the proposed text as published in the April 14, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 1936). This rule will be 
republished. 
EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION FOR THE RULES 

The rules under 16 TAC Chapter 115 implement Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapter 203, Midwives. 
The adopted rules implement changes recommended by Depart-
ment staff as a result of the four-year rule review conducted un-
der Texas Government Code §2001.039. The adopted rules up-
date requirements relating to approval of basic midwifery edu-
cation courses, preceptor supervision of student clinical expe-
rience, informed client choice and disclosure statements, and 
retired midwife licenses. The adopted rules also make updates 
to reflect current Department procedures and remove obsolete 
or unnecessary language. 
The Notice of Intent to Review for Chapter 115 was published 
in the October 9, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 
7281). The public comment period closed on November 9, 2020. 
At its meeting on March 3, 2021, the Texas Commission of Li-
censing and Regulation (Commission) readopted Chapter 115 
in its entirety without changes. The readoption notice was pub-
lished in the March 26, 2021, issue of the Texas Register (46 
TexReg 2050). In response to the Notice of Intent to Review for 
Chapter 115 that was published, the Department received com-
ments from one interested party requesting rule changes that 
would not be possible without statutory changes. Therefore, the 
adopted rules do not include any changes in response to public 
comments, and all the changes are based on recommendations 
by Department staff. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The adopted rules amend §115.1, Definitions, by changing the 
term "approved midwifery education courses" to "basic midwifery 
education course" and updating its definition to provide clarity 
and consistency with Occupations Code §203.151; removing the 
definition for "Code" because the term is not used elsewhere in 
the rule chapter; adding a definition for "compensation" to pro-
vide clarity; adding a definition for "CPR certification" to stream-
line multiple references throughout the chapter; adding a defi-
nition for "direct supervision" to provide clarity; adding a defini-
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tion for the acronym "MANA" to streamline multiple references 
to the Midwives Alliance of North America; adding a definition 
for the acronym "MEAC" to streamline multiple references to 
the Midwifery Education Accreditation Council; adding a defini-
tion for the acronym "NARM" to streamline multiple references 
to the North American Registry of Midwives; adding a definition 
for "preceptor" to provide clarity; removing the definition of "Pro-
gram" because the term is not used elsewhere in the rule chap-
ter; updating the definition of "retired midwife" to provide clarity 
and remove the age requirement; correcting a rule reference in 
the definition of "standing delegation orders"; adding a definition 
for "student" to provide clarity; and renumbering the remaining 
definitions accordingly. 
The adopted rules repeal current §115.2 and replace it with new 
§115.2, License Required, to prohibit the unlicensed practice of 
midwifery. 
The adopted rules amend §115.4, Advisory Board Membership, 
by amending paragraph (1) to provide consistency with Occupa-
tions Code §203.052. 
The adopted rules amend §115.5, "Terms; Vacancies", by 
amending subsections (a) and (b) to provide consistency with 
Occupations Code §203.055. 
The adopted rules add new §115.12, General Application Re-
quirements, to streamline requirements for all applications sub-
mitted to the Department; add new subsection (a) consisting of 
language relocated from current §115.13(a) and (a)(1); and add 
new subsection (b) to require that original or certified copies of 
documents must be provided upon request by the Department. 
The adopted rules amend §115.13, Initial Application for Licen-
sure, by relocating language from subsections (a) and (a)(1) 
to new §115.12(a); removing subsections (a)(1)(A) through 
(a)(1)(E), which consist of application details that can instead 
be addressed in the application forms approved by the Depart-
ment; updating subsection (a)(2) to provide clarity and correct 
grammar; relocating and reorganizing the language in current 
subsection (a)(2) to become new subsection (a)(3); relabeling 
current subsection (a)(3) to become new subsection (a)(4) and 
removing the language that repeats the new definition for "CPR 
certification" in §115.1; relabeling current subsection (a)(4) to 
become new subsection (a)(5) and adding language to allow 
the Department to approve a certification that is equivalent to 
the certification in neonatal resuscitation from the American 
Academy of Pediatrics; relabeling current subsection (a)(5) to 
become new subsection (a)(6) and reorganizing its language for 
clarity; relabeling current subsection (a)(6) to become new sub-
section (a)(7) and removing unnecessary language; relabeling 
current subsection (a)(7) to become new subsection (a)(8) and 
rephrasing its language for clarity and consistency; rephrasing 
subsection (b) for clarity and consistency; and creating new 
subsection (f) consisting of language relocated from current 
§115.2(b). The Advisory Board made a change to subsection 
(a)(3)(B) by adding "and passing" to clarify that the course and 
exam must be passed. 
The adopted rules amend §115.14, License Renewal, by adding 
to subsection (a) the word "midwife" to clarify the section's ap-
plicability to renewal of a midwife license; removing from sub-
section (a)(3) language that repeats the new definition for "CPR 
certification" in §115.1; and adding new subsection (e) to pro-
vide that each applicant for renewal of a midwife license must 
successfully pass a criminal history background check. 

The adopted rules amend §115.15, Late Renewal, by rephras-
ing for clarity and adding references to other Department rules 
applicable to late renewals. 
The adopted rules repeal current §115.16 and replace it with new 
§115.16, Retired Voluntary Charity Care Status License, consist-
ing of subsection (a) to explain the applicability of the section; 
subsection (b) to provide the eligibility requirements for a retired 
voluntary charity care status license; subsection (c) to provide 
the requirements for an initial application for a voluntary char-
ity care status license; subsection (d) to provide the limitations 
on the practice of a person holding a retired voluntary charity 
care status license; subsection (e) to detail the actions for which 
a person holding a retired voluntary charity care status license 
will be subject to disciplinary action; subsection (f) to provide for 
the two-year license term of a retired voluntary charity care sta-
tus license; subsection (g) to provide the renewal application re-
quirements, the procedures for late renewal, and the prohibition 
on unlicensed activity for a voluntary charity care status license; 
and subsection (h) to provide the requirements for a person who 
holds a retired voluntary charity care status license and wants to 
return to active status. 
The adopted rules amend §115.20, Basic Midwifery Education, 
by amending the section title for clarity; rephrasing and restruc-
turing the rule language to remove the need for subsection la-
bels; relocating from current subsection (a) to new paragraph 
(1) the requirement for a course to have a course administra-
tor and site in Texas; relabeling current subsection (b)(2) to be-
come new paragraph (2) and rephrasing its language for clarity; 
relabeling current subsection (b)(3) to become new paragraph 
(3) and replacing the names of entities with their corresponding 
acronyms defined in §115.1; relabeling current subsection (b)(4) 
to become new paragraph (4) and rephrasing its language for 
clarity; relabeling current subsection (b)(5) to become new para-
graph (5) and rephrasing its language for clarity; relabeling cur-
rent subsection (b)(6) to become new paragraph (6) and amend-
ing its language to provide consistency with the clinical experi-
ence requirements for certification by the North American Reg-
istry of Midwives (NARM); relabeling current subsection (b)(7) 
to become new paragraph (7) and removing unnecessary lan-
guage that repeats the new definition for "preceptor" in §115.1; 
relabeling current subsection (c) to become new paragraph (8), 
rephrasing its language for clarity, and removing the language 
that repeats the new definition for "CPR certification" in §115.1. 
The adopted rules amend §115.21, Education Course Approval, 
by amending the section title for clarity and consistency; rephras-
ing subsection (a)(1) for clarity and consistency; modifying sub-
section (a)(1)(D) to require that the financial statement or bal-
ance sheet must demonstrate the ability to provide refunds to 
any students who enroll and removing the requirement to dis-
close any bankruptcy within the last five years; in subsection 
(a)(1)(E), adding the requirement for written policies to include 
entrance requirements, a list of all fees, and the notice required 
by Occupations Code §53.152 and removing requirements for 
language and accessibility covered by other state and federal 
laws; in subsection (a)(2), changing the time period for retention 
of student files from five years to "three years after the student is 
no longer enrolled in the course" to provide a more definite time 
period, clarifying that student files must include CPR certification 
and progression of course work; amending subsection (a)(3) to 
clarify the process for initial course approval; rephrasing subsec-
tions (a)(4) through (a)(6) for clarity; amending subsection (b) to 
clarify the approval of courses accredited by MEAC; amending 
subsection (c) to clarify the duration of course approval and the 
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process for obtaining a new approval period; amending subsec-
tion (d) to require a substantive change in a course to be ap-
proved before the change is implemented; and adding new sub-
section (e) to allow courses to accept transfer hours from other 
courses and clinical hours earned under a NARM-certified pre-
ceptor. 
The adopted rules add new §115.22, Preceptor Supervisory Re-
sponsibilities, consisting of new subsection (a) to provide the 
requirements relating to clinical experience activities performed 
by a student, including direct supervision by a preceptor and in-
formed consent by the client; new subsection (b) to clarify that 
the student is not practicing midwifery; and new subsection (c) to 
provide that a licensed midwife acting as a preceptor is responsi-
ble for the actions of the student. In response to a recommenda-
tion by its Education and Examination workgroup, the Midwives 
Advisory Board recommended adding language to subsection 
(a) to clarify that students must always be directly supervised re-
gardless of whether the activities performed are being counted 
toward the student's education. 
The adopted rules amend §115.23, Jurisprudence Examination, 
by adding new subsection (d) to address administration of 
the examination, examination fees, reexamination, and no-
tice of examination results, as required by Occupations Code 
§203.2555(b). 
The adopted rules amend §115.25, Continuing Education, by 
rephrasing and reorganizing for clarity and removing accessibil-
ity requirements covered by other state and federal laws. 
The adopted rules amend §115.70, Standards of Conduct, by re-
moving the language in current paragraph (1)(L), which autho-
rizes administrative action due to "a lack of personal or profes-
sional character in the practice of midwifery" because the stan-
dard is vague and subjective; renumbering the remaining provi-
sions in paragraph (1) accordingly; and updating paragraph (3) 
to clarify that course approval may be suspended or revoked, 
add loss of MEAC accreditation as a reason for course suspen-
sion or revocation, and make cleanup changes for clarity. 
The adopted rules amend §115.80, Fees, by updating the names 
of fees for clarity and consistency and reducing the retired vol-
untary charity care status license fees in paragraphs (4) and (5) 
from $275 to $0. 
The adopted rules amend §115.100, Standards for the Practice 
of Midwifery in Texas, by making cleanup changes to subsec-
tions (a) and (c) for clarity and consistency. 
The adopted rules amend §115.120, Newborn Screening, to clar-
ify the requirements relating to a midwife who chooses to collect 
blood specimens for newborn screening tests, including the re-
quired training and submission of the appropriate form to the De-
partment, and removing unnecessary language. 
The adopted rules repeal current §115.121 and replace it with 
new §115.121, Informed Choice and Disclosure Statement, 
which adds new subsection (a) to require a midwife to use the 
form prescribed by the Department; adds new subsection (b) 
to require a midwife to provide the content of the form to a 
prospective client in both oral and written form before providing 
any midwifery service; and adds new subsection (c) to require 
a student performing clinical experience activities to first obtain 
the informed consent required by new §115.22. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS 

The Department drafted and distributed the proposed rules to 
persons internal and external to the agency. The proposed rules 
were published in the April 14, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 1936). The public comment period closed on May 
15, 2023. The Department did not receive any comments from 
interested parties on the proposed rules. 
ADVISORY BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS 

The Midwives Advisory Board met on June 12, 2023, to discuss 
the proposed rules and the public comments received. The Ad-
visory Board recommended that the Commission adopt the pro-
posed rules as published in the Texas Register with changes 
to §115.22, made in response to a recommendation by the Ed-
ucation and Examination workgroup of the Advisory Board, as 
explained in the Section-by-Section Summary. 

16 TAC §§115.1, 115.2, 115.4, 115.5, 115.12 - 115.16, 115.20 -
115.23, 115.25, 115.70, 115.80, 115.100, 115.120, 115.121 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 51 and 203, which authorize the Texas Commission of 
Licensing and Regulation, the Department's governing body, to 
adopt rules as necessary to implement these chapters and any 
other law establishing a program regulated by the Department. 
The adopted rules are also adopted under Texas Government 
Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter F, and Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapters 51 and 53, which establish the Department's statutory 
authority to conduct criminal history background checks on an 
applicant for or a holder of a license, certificate, registration, title, 
or permit issued by the Department. The adopted rules are also 
adopted under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 112, which re-
quires the adoption of rules providing for reduced fees and con-
tinuing education requirements for a retired health care practi-
tioner whose only practice is voluntary charity care. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 203, and 
Texas Government Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter F. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adopted rules. 
§115.22. Preceptor Supervisory Responsibilities. 

(a) All clinical experience activities performed by a student 
must be under the direct supervision of a preceptor in accordance with 
this section. 

(1) The student must always be directly supervised regard-
less of whether the activities are being counted toward the student's 
education. 

(2) The student must perform only the activities authorized 
by the preceptor. 

(3) The student must not advertise, or represent to the pub-
lic in any way, that the student is a midwife. 

(4) The student must not receive compensation from a 
client for performing supervised activities. 

(5) Before any service involving a student is provided to a 
client: 

(A) the client must be informed in writing of: 

(i) the requirements of this section; 

(ii) the identity and license status of the preceptor 
and the student; 
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♦ ♦ ♦ (iii) the services that will be provided under direct 
supervision to the client; and 

(B) the client must consent in writing to the services 
being provided under direct supervision. 

(b) A student acting under direct supervision in accordance 
with this section is not practicing midwifery in violation of the require-
ment to hold a license. 

(c) A licensed midwife providing direct supervision of a stu-
dent is responsible for all actions and liabilities of the student. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302919 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 14, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
16 TAC §§115.2, 115.16, 115.121 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The adopted repeals are adopted under Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapters 51 and 203, which authorize the Texas Commis-
sion of Licensing and Regulation, the Department's governing 
body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these chapters 
and any other law establishing a program regulated by the 
Department. The adopted repeals are also adopted under 
Texas Government Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter F, and 
Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 53, which establish 
the Department's statutory authority to conduct criminal history 
background checks on an applicant for or a holder of a license, 
certificate, registration, title, or permit issued by the Depart-
ment. The adopted repeals are also adopted under Texas 
Occupations Code, Chapter 112, which requires the adoption 
of rules providing for reduced fees and continuing education 
requirements for a retired health care practitioner whose only 
practice is voluntary charity care. 
The statutory provisions affected by the adopted repeals are 
those set forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 
203, and Texas Government Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter F. 
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adopted 
repeals. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 10, 2023. 
TRD-202302918 
Doug Jennings 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: September 1, 2023 
Proposal publication date: April 14, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7750 

TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 3. TEXAS BOARD OF 
CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 80. COMPLAINTS 
22 TAC §80.5 

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) adopts 
the repeal of 22 TAC §80.5 (Expert Review Process) without 
changes as published in the July 7, 2023, issue of the Texas 
Register (48 TexReg 3615), and thus will not be republished. 
The Board will adopt a new §80.5 (Peer Review Process) 
in a separate rulemaking. This rulemaking action will clarify 
language relating to the Board's authority to conduct standard 
of care reviews during complaint investigations. 
The Board received no comments from the public concerning the 
repeal. 
The repeal is adopted under Texas Occupations Code §201.152, 
which authorizes the Board to adopt rules necessary to perform 
the Board's duties and to regulate the practice of chiropractic, 
and Texas Occupations Code and §201.210, which authorizes 
the Board to adopt rules to develop a review process for com-
plaints requiring additional chiropractic expertise. 
No other statutes or rules are affected by this repeal. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302932 
Christopher Burnett 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6700 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §80.5 

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) adopts new 
22 TAC §80.5 (Peer Review Process) without changes to the 
text as published in the July 7, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 3616), and thus will not be republished. The current 
§80.5 is being repealed in a separate rulemaking. 
Texas Occupations Code §201.210 requires the Board to set 
up a system where the Board may draw on outside chiroprac-
tic expertise (an "expert" reviewer of patient records) to help in 
investigations involving standard of care allegations. The Board 
adopted such a system through §80.5. 
However, the use of the term "expert" in both the statute and 
the Board's current rule has caused confusion for some com-
plainants as to the exact role and authority of the reviewer. Some 
complainants have thought that the reviewer's job is to assign le-
gal liability for any injury the complainant may have suffered as 
the result of a licensee's failure to meet the profession's standard 
of care; in effect, some complainants believe that the reviewer 
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is the same as an expert witness in a trial court who is called 
upon to render an opinion as to causation (and thus assign legal 
liability). That is not the case with the Board's reviewers. 
Unlike an expert witness, a Board reviewer does not examine 
any patient; the reviewer only performs a review of records. Also, 
a Board reviewer is not statutorily authorized to render an opin-
ion as to causation, only whether the standard of care for chi-
ropractic was met; those are different standards. An opinion on 
causation is within the purview of the courts, not the Board. 
The adopted §80.5 keeps the Board's current system of outside 
standard of care review, but clarifies to both reviewers hired by 
the Board and complainants that the reviewer is not authorized 
to make a legal opinion as to any violation of statutes or rules 
under the Board's jurisdiction, nor authorized to make a legal 
opinion as to the liability for any injury possibly sustained by the 
complainant. To that end, the rule has been retitled as "Peer Re-
view Process" to eliminate the perception that a Board reviewer 
is the same as an expert witness. 
The Board received no comments regarding the new rule. 
The rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code §201.152 
(which authorizes the Board to adopt rules necessary to perform 
the Board's duties and to regulate the practice of chiropractic), 
and §201.210 (which requires the Board to develop a review 
process of complaints filed with the Board that require additional 
chiropractic expertise). 
No other statutes or rules are affected by this adopted rule. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302933 
Christopher Burnett 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6700 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §80.8 

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) adopts new 
22 TAC §80.8 (Board Member and Staff Initiated Complaints) 
without changes to the text as published in the July 7, 2023, issue 
of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3618), and thus will not be 
republished. This action puts into rule the Board's current policy 
for processing complaints initiated by Board members and staff. 
As practicing chiropractors, Board members interact with other 
licensees. On occasion, a Board (or staff) member may become 
aware of facts that indicate that another licensee may be in vio-
lation of the statutes and rules under the Board's jurisdiction and 
thus need to file a formal complaint. The adopted rule formalizes 
the Board's procedures for processing those complaints. 
The intent is transparency: the licensee who is the subject of 
a complaint under this rule will know the identity of the Board 
or staff member making the complaint; know that the allegations 
were considered independently by the Board's executive director 
before the complaint is forwarded to the Board's enforcement 

director; and know that any Board member filing a complaint will 
be prohibited from voting on or considering the results of any 
investigation or subsequent administrative action taken by the 
Board on the complaint. 
The Board received no comments regarding this rulemaking. 
The rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code §201.152 
(which authorizes the Board to adopt rules necessary to perform 
the Board's duties and to regulate the practice of chiropractic), 
§201.2205 (which requires the Board to adopt rules concerning 
the investigation of a complaint), and §201.2065 (which prohibits 
the Board from accepting anonymous complaints). 
No other statutes or rules are affected by this adopted rule. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302934 
Christopher Burnett 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6700 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 82. INTERNAL BOARD 
PROCEDURES 
22 TAC §82.7 

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) adopts new 
22 TAC §82.7 (Employee Equity Salary Adjustments) without 
changes to the text as published in the July 7, 2023, issue of 
the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3619), and thus will not be re-
published. The General Appropriations Act (GAA) authorizes an 
agency executive director to make employee equity salary ad-
justments only if the agency has adopted a rule permitting that 
action. The adopted rule, which is compliant with the terms of 
the GAA (Article IX, §3.07, 87th Legislature - Regular Session, 
2021 (or successor provisions)), permits the agency executive 
director to make such adjustments if necessary. 
The Board received no comments regarding this rule. 
The rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code §201.152 
(which authorizes the Board to adopt rules necessary to perform 
the Board's duties and to regulate the practice of chiropractic) 
and the General Appropriations Act, Article IX, §3.07 (87th Leg-
islature - Regular Session, 2021) or successor provisions (which 
authorizes the Board to adopt rules concerning employee equity 
salary adjustments). 
No other statutes or rules are affected by this adopted rule. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302935 
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Christopher Burnett 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: July 7, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6700 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 14. TEXAS OPTOMETRY BOARD 

CHAPTER 271. EXAMINATIONS 
22 TAC §§271.2, 271.3, 271.5, 271.6 

The Texas Optometry Board (Board) adopts amendments to 
22 TAC Chapter 271, Examinations. The specific rules being 
amended include: §271.2 Applications; §271.3 Jurisprudence 
Examination Administration; §271.5 Licensure without Exam-
ination; and §271.6 National Board Examination. The Board 
adopts these rules without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the May 26, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 
TexReg 2651). The amended rules will not be republished. 
BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

The rules in Chapter 271 were reviewed by the Board's Adminis-
tration and Licensing Committee in January 2023 to ensure the 
licensing and renewal process was efficient and effective. By 
updating rules relating to licensing, the Board can provide better 
customer service to its licensees. 
The adopted amendments include non-substantive changes to 
all references from "board" to "Board" and from "executive di-
rector" to "Executive Director." Substantive changes to specific 
rules are outlined as follows. 
In §271.2 Applications, the Board amends the title of the rule to 
read "Applications for Licensure as Therapeutic Optometrist"; 
updates the documents required for licensure; updates the 
statutory reference to Texas Occupations Code Chapter 53 as 
it relates to convictions that must be reported upon application; 
states that applications must be approved within one year of 
application submission or applicants will have to reapply; sets 
out requirements for applicants who are licensed in other states; 
and removes language related to scheduling the jurisprudence 
exam as the Board will allow an applicant to take the exam at 
any point. 
In §271.3 Jurisprudence Examination Administration, the 
amends the title of the rule to read "Jurisprudence Examination"; 
clarifies the jurisprudence exam is an "open book" exam; re-
moves language related to scheduling the jurisprudence exam 
as the Board will allow an applicant to take the exam at any 
point; states that jurisprudence exam scores are only valid for 
one year and if an applicant fails to get licensed in that year, 
applicants will have to retake the exam; and removes language 
related to the administration of the exam as the Board has 
outsourced the exam administration to another entity. 
In §271.5 Licensure without Examination, the Board clarifies that 
the rule only applies to those applicants who have not taken Part 
III of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry and makes 
other non-substantive grammatical changes and references to 
statute. 
In §271.6 National Board Examination, the Board removes lan-
guage regarding the jurisprudence exam as it is referenced in 

a separate rule; and makes other non-substantive grammatical 
changes and references to statute. 
COMMENTS: 
The 30-day comment period ended on June 25, 2023. The 
Board did not receive any comments. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

These rules are adopted under the Texas Optometry Act, Texas 
Occupations Code, §351.151 and Texas Occupations Code 
Chapter 351, Subchapter F - License Requirements. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2023. 
TRD-202302788 
Janice McCoy 
Executive Director 
Texas Optometry Board 
Effective date: August 27, 2023 
Proposal publication date: May 26, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8500 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 273. GENERAL RULES 
22 TAC §§273.7, 273.8, 273.12, 273.14, 273.15 

The Texas Optometry Board (Board) adopts amendments to 
22 TAC Chapter 273, General Rules. The specific rules being 
amended include: §273.7 - Inactive Licenses and Retired 
License for Volunteer Charity Care (to include splitting one 
rule into two separate rules for clarification purposes), §273.8 -
Renewal of License, §273.12 - Profile Information, and §273.14 
- License Applications for Military Service Member, Military 
Veteran, and Military Spouse. The Board adopts a new rule 
titled §273.15 - Retired License for Volunteer Charity Care. The 
Board adopts these rules with changes to the proposed text as 
published in the June 2, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 
TexReg 2813). The amended rules will be republished. 
BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

The rules in Chapter 273 were reviewed by the Board's Adminis-
tration and Licensing Committee in January 2023 to ensure the 
licensing and renewal process was efficient and effective. By 
updating rules relating to licensing, the Board can provide better 
customer service to its licensees. 
The adopted amendments include non-substantive changes to 
all references from "board" to "Board" and from "executive di-
rector" to "Executive Director." Substantive changes to specific 
rules are outlined as follows. 
In §273.7 - Inactive Licenses and Retired License for Volunteer 
Charity Care, the Board split the rule into two separate rules - one 
related to Inactive Licenses and one related to Retired License 
for Volunteer Charity Care. Splitting the rule provides ease of 
understanding the differences between inactive and retired li-
censes. In the new §273.7 - Inactive Licenses, the rule elimi-
nates the ability to place a license on inactive status at any time 
and instead allows it only at renewal. 
In the new §273.15 - Retired License for Volunteer Charity Care, 
the rule moves language previously outlined in §273.7 and also 
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ensures only therapeutic optometrists can update an expired li-
cense to a retired license. 
In §273.8 - Renewal of License, the Board updates the process 
to reflect the full transition to the biennial renewal system, clari-
fies the process for expired licenses to be reinstated under cer-
tain circumstances. It ensures the Board's consideration of con-
victions are in compliance with Chapter 53 of the Occupations 
Code, and makes other clarifying corrections to ensure the re-
newal process is both efficient and effective for licensees and 
Board staff. 
In §273.12 - Profile Information, the Board removes the require-
ment that licensees provide certain information to the Board 
upon renewal as the Board no longer collects and disseminates 
this information. It adds the requirement that a licensee provide 
a personal email address at renewal. 
In §273.14 - License Applications for Military Service Member, 
Military Veteran, and Military Spouse, the Board updates the def-
inition of "Armed Forces of the United States" to update statutory 
language, to update the application requirements to ensure mil-
itary applicants provide the same information as a regular appli-
cant, and changes the initial expiration date of a military license 
to be the same as a regular applicant. Finally, with the changes 
to the jurisprudence exam occurring in Chapter 271 - Examina-
tion, the Board is requiring military applicants to take the jurispru-
dence exam prior to licensure instead of prior to the first renewal 
as waiting to take the jurisprudence exam no longer creates a 
barrier to expedited licensure. 
COMMENTS 

The 30-day comment period ended on July 3, 2023. The Board 
did not receive any comments. 
CHANGES TO TEXT AS PROPOSED 

In §273.14(e), the Board adds the term "military service mem-
ber" or "service member's" in front of every mention of "military 
spouse" or "spouse's." This change is a direct result of legisla-
tion that passed during the 88th Legislative Session (SB422 by 
Senator Angela Paxton) that extended the authority of the Board 
to issue a license under Texas Occupations Code §55.0041 from 
just military spouses to include military service members. 
Section (e) now reads: "(e) Alternate licensing procedure for mil-
itary service member or military spouse..." 
Section (e)(1)(A) now reads: "(A) The military service member 
or military spouse applicant..." 
Section (e)(1)(B) now reads: "The military service member or 
military spouse..." 
Section (e)(1))(B)(i) now reads: "proof of the service member's 
or spouse's..." 
Section (e)(2)(A)(ii) now reads: "the date when the military ser-
vice member or military spouse..." 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

These rules are adopted under the Texas Optometry Act, Texas 
Occupations Code, §351.151, Texas Occupations Code Chapter 
351, Subchapter F - License Requirements and Subchapter G -
License Renewal, and Texas Occupations Code Chapter 55. 
§273.7. Inactive Licenses. 

(a) Placing a license on inactive status. A person who is li-
censed by the Board to practice optometry but who is not engaged in 

the practice of optometry in this state may place the license on inactive 
status at the time of license renewal as follows. The licensee shall: 

(1) complete and submit before the expiration date a li-
cense renewal application provided by the Board; 

(2) state on the renewal application that the license is to be 
placed on inactive status and that the licensee shall not practice optom-
etry in Texas while the license is inactive; and 

(3) pay the fee for renewal of license as specified in §273.4 
of this title (relating to Fees (Not Refundable)). Penalty fees as pro-
vided by Section 351.304 of the Act, will apply to those received after 
December 31 of the applicable renewal period. 

(b) Reactivation of an Inactive License. A holder of a license 
that is on inactive status may return the license to active status by: 

(1) applying for active status on a form prescribed by the 
Board; 

(2) providing proof of completion certificates from ap-
proved continuing education programs as specified in Chapter 275 
of this title (relating to Continuing Education Requirements) for the 
number of hours that would otherwise have been required for the 
renewal of the license. Approved continuing education earned within 
the two years prior to the licensee applying for the return to active 
status may be applied toward the continuing education requirement; 
and 

(3) paying the license renewal fee specified in §273.4 of 
this chapter (relating to Fees (Not Refundable)). 

(c) Prohibition against practicing optometry in Texas. A 
holder of a license that is on inactive status shall not practice optometry 
in this state. The practice of optometry by a holder of a license that 
is on inactive status constitutes the practice of optometry without a 
license. 

§273.8. Renewal of License. 

(a) Expired license. 

(1) If a license is not renewed on or before the expiration 
date, it becomes expired. All licenses renew on a biennial basis. Initial 
licenses expire on the second January 1 after the date the license is first 
issued. 

(2) If a person's license has been expired for 90 days or less, 
the person may renew the license by paying to the Board the amount 
of one and one-half times the renewal fee. 

(3) If a person's license has been expired for longer than 90 
days but less than one year, the person may renew the license by paying 
to the Board the amount of two times the renewal fee. 

(4) If a person's license has been expired for one year or 
longer, the person may not renew the license but may obtain a new 
license by reapplying and passing the jurisprudence exam and com-
plying with the requirements and procedures for obtaining an initial 
license. However, the Board may reinstate a license without requir-
ing reapplication and reexamination of the jurisprudence examination 
an expired license of a person who was previously licensed in Texas, 
is currently licensed in another state, and has been in practice for two 
years immediately preceding application for reinstatement. The person 
shall be required to furnish documentation of continuous practice for 
the two-year period and pay the renewal fee as established by subsec-
tion (a)(3) of this section. The person must furnish license verifications 
from each state in which the person is currently or previously licensed. 
A license renewal under this section is subject to the same requirements 
of §351.501 of the Act as a license applicant. 
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(5) For licenses expired for more than one year, if the per-
son was not licensed as a therapeutic optometrist when the license ex-
pired, the person must also complete the requirements for therapeutic 
license in §§280.1 - 280.3 of this title (relating to Application for Cer-
tification Required; Education; Certified Therapeutic Optometrist Ex-
amination, respectively) prior to obtaining a new license. 

(6) A licensee receiving a felony or misdemeanor criminal 
conviction as outlined under Occupations Code Chapter 53 shall re-
port the conviction on the next license renewal. This requirement is in 
addition to the 30 day reporting requirement in §277.5 of this title (re-
lating to Convictions). This paragraph does not require the reporting 
of a Class C Misdemeanor traffic violation. The failure of a licensee 
to report a criminal conviction is deceit, dishonesty and misrepresen-
tation in the practice of optometry and authorizes the Board to take 
disciplinary action under §351.501 of the Act. The licensee shall fur-
nish any document relating to the criminal conviction as requested by 
the Board. 

(7) Only an active licensee who has provided a complete 
fingerprint criminal history report to the Board is eligible to renew a 
license. 

(b) Mandatory Continuing Education for Renewal of License. 

(1) The Board may not issue a renewal license to a licensee 
who has not complied with the mandatory continuing education re-
quirements unless an exemption provided by §275.1 of this title (re-
lating to General Requirements) is applicable. 

(2) If a licensee has not fulfilled the required continuing ed-
ucation requirements prior to the license renewal date, the license shall 
expire. To renew that expired license, the licensee may obtain and pro-
vide the Board with certified records that the licensee has, since the 
expiration of the license, completed sufficient hours of approved con-
tinuing education courses to satisfy any deficiency. Education obtained 
for renewal of an expired license cannot be applied toward subsequent 
renewal of license. 

(3) The licensee cannot practice optometry until such time 
as education is obtained and the expired license has been renewed. 

(4) The licensee must pay to the Board the license renewal 
fee with a late penalty fee authorized by §351.304 of the Act, plus a 
penalty authorized by §351.308 of the Act. 

(5) The Executive Director shall determine if all require-
ments for renewal of license have been fulfilled, and will notify the 
licensee when the practice of optometry can resume. 

(6) To practice optometry with an expired license shall con-
stitute the practice of optometry without a license. 

(c) Outstanding Administrative Penalty or Failure to Comply 
with Board Condition. 

(1) The Board may refuse to renew a license to a person 
who has: 

(A) not paid an administrative penalty owed to the 
Board at the time of renewal; or 

(B) not complied with a term or condition of a disci-
plinary order or agreement issued by the Board. 

(2) The Board may refuse to renew a license, until such 
time as: 

(A) every administrative penalty payable on or before 
the time of renewal is paid; or 

(B) all terms or conditions of a disciplinary order or 
agreement issued by the Board are satisfied. 

§273.12. Profile Information. 
(a) All licensees shall provide, on each application for renewal 

of license, the information listed in subsection (b). New licensees shall 
provide the information listed in subsection (b) prior to receiving a 
license. 

(b) Each license holder is required to furnish: 

(1) the name of the license holder and the address and tele-
phone number of the license holder's primary practice location; and 

(2) a personal email address. 

§273.14. License Applications for Military Service Member, Military 
Veteran, and Military Spouse. 

(a) Definitions. 

(1) "Military service member" means a person who is on 
active duty. 

(2) "Military spouse" means a person who is married to a 
military service member. 

(3) "Military veteran" means a person who has served on 
active duty, who was discharged or released from active duty, and who 
was not dishonorably discharged. 

(4) "Active duty" means current full-time military service 
in the armed forces of the United States or active duty military service 
as a member of the Texas military forces, as defined by §437.001, Gov-
ernment Code, or similar military service of another state. 

(5) "Armed forces of the United States" means the army, 
navy, air force, space force, coast guard, or marine corps of the United 
States or a reserve unit of one of those branches of the armed forces. 

(b) License eligibility requirements for applicants with mili-
tary experience. 

(1) Verified military service, training, or education will be 
credited toward the licensing requirements, other than an examination 
requirement, of an applicant who is a military service member or mili-
tary veteran. 

(2) This subsection does not apply if the applicant holds a 
restricted license issued by another jurisdiction or has an unacceptable 
criminal history. 

(c) Alternate licensing procedure authorized by Texas Occu-
pations Code §55.004 and §55.005. 

(1) Applicants currently licensed in another state. 

(A) Application. 

(i) The military service member, military veteran or 
military spouse applicant must be licensed in good standing as a ther-
apeutic optometrist or the equivalent in another state, the District of 
Columbia, or a territory of the United States that has licensing require-
ments that are substantially equivalent to the requirements of the Act. 

(ii) The military service member, military veteran or 
military spouse applicant shall submit a completed Military applica-
tion, including the submission of proof of the applicant's status as a 
military service member, military veteran or military spouse along with 
all documents required under §271.2 of this title. 

(iii) A military service member, military veteran, or 
military spouse licensed in another state is exempt from the applica-
tion fee in §273.4 of this chapter (relating to Fees (Not Refundable)). 
Such an applicant is not exempt from exam administration fees charged 
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for an exam administered by an organization or person other than the 
Board. 

(iv) A license issued under this subsection shall be a 
license to practice therapeutic optometry with the same obligations and 
duties required of a licensed therapeutic optometrist and subject to the 
same disciplinary requirements for that license. 

(B) License Renewal. 

(i) Initial military licenses expire on the second Jan-
uary 1 after the date the license is first issued. If the initial license is 
timely renewed, the licensee may thereafter renew the license by pay-
ing the renewal fee prior to the expiration date set in §273.8 of this 
chapter. 

(ii) The requirements for renewing the license are 
the same as the requirements for renewing an active license. 

(2) Requirements for license for military requirements for 
renewing an active service member, military veteran or military spouse 
applicant not currently licensed to practice optometry who was licensed 
in Texas within five years of the application submission. 

(A) Application. 

(i) The military service member, military veteran or 
military spouse applicant shall submit a completed Military applica-
tion, including the submission of proof of the applicant's status as a 
military service member, military veteran or military spouse along with 
all documents required under §271.2 of this title. 

(ii) An application fee in the same amount as the ap-
plication fee set out in §273.4 of this chapter must be submitted with 
the application. 

(iii) A license issued under this subsection shall be 
a license to practice therapeutic optometry with the same obligations 
and duties required of a licensed therapeutic optometrist and subject to 
the same disciplinary requirements for that license. 

(B) License Renewal. 

(i) Initial military licenses expire on the second Jan-
uary 1 after the date the license is first issued. If the initial license is 
timely renewed, the licensee may thereafter renew the license by pay-
ing the renewal fee prior to the expiration date set in §273.8 of this 
chapter. 

(ii) The requirements for renewing the license are 
the same as the requirements for renewing an active license. 

(d) Alternative method to demonstrate competency. To protect 
the health and safety of the citizens of this state, a license to practice 
optometry requires the licensee to obtain a doctorate degree in optom-
etry and passing scores on lengthy and complex nationally accepted 
examinations. An alternative method to demonstrate competency is 
not available at this time. 

(e) Alternate licensing procedure for military service member 
or military spouse authorized by Texas Occupations Code §55.0041. 

(1) Application. 

(A) The military service member or military spouse ap-
plicant must be licensed in good standing as a therapeutic optometrist or 
the equivalent in another state, the District of Columbia, or a territory 
of the United States that has licensing requirements that are substan-
tially equivalent to the requirements of the Act. For purposes of this 
subsection, the Board finds that every state and territory that issues a 
therapeutic license to a graduate of an accredited optometry school has 

licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to the require-
ments of the Act. 

(B) The military service member or military spouse ap-
plicant shall submit: 

(i) proof of the service member's or spouse's resi-
dency in this state and a copy of the service member's or spouse's mil-
itary identification card; 

(ii) a completed Federal Bureau of Investigation fin-
gerprint card provided by the Board; 

(iii) an official license verification from the state in 
which the applicant is licensed that has licensing requirements substan-
tially equivalent to the Act; and 

(iv) application form. 

(2) License. 

(A) A license issued under this subsection: 

(i) shall be a license to practice therapeutic optom-
etry with the same obligations and duties required of a licensed ther-
apeutic optometrist and subject to the same disciplinary requirements 
for that license, 

(ii) will expire three years after the license is issued, 
or if occurring prior to the expiration of the three-year period, the date 
when the military service member or military spouse is no longer sta-
tioned at a military installation in this state, and 

(iii) may not be renewed. 

(B) The application and license is exempt from the 
Texas Jurisprudence Examination and the application fee and initial 
license fee in §273.4 of this chapter. 

§273.15. Retired License for Volunteer Charity Care. 
(a) Retired License. The Board may issue a Retired License 

to optometrists or therapeutic optometrists whose only practice is vol-
unteer charity care pursuant to this section. 

(b) Application. An optometrist holding a current license may 
apply for a Retired License by submitting to the Board a completed ap-
plication with the license fee required by §273.4 of this chapter (relat-
ing to Fees (Not Refundable)). There is no charge to apply. A Retired 
License will not be issued to applicants subject to current or pending 
disciplinary action. In determining whether to grant retired status, the 
board shall consider the age, years of practice, and status of the license 
holder at the time of the application. Applicants must supply proof that 
the continuing education requirements for a Retired License have been 
met in §275.1(g)(1) of this title (relating to General Requirements). 

(c) Application by Expired Licensee. A former therapeutic op-
tometrist whose license has expired for one year or more may apply 
for a Retired License by submitting to the Board a completed appli-
cation with the license fee required by §273.4 of this chapter. There 
is no charge to apply. A Retired License will not be issued to appli-
cants subject to current or pending disciplinary action. Applicants must 
supply proof of having met the continuing education requirements of 
§275.1(g)(2) of this title. An applicant for a Retired License whose li-
cense has been expired for five years or more must supply proof of a 
passing score on the jurisprudence examination taken within the one 
year period prior to the submission of the application. In determining 
whether to grant retired status, the Board shall consider the age, years 
of practice, and status of the license holder at the time of the applica-
tion. 

(d) Scope of License. The holder of a Retired License may 
practice optometry or therapeutic optometry in the same manner as an 
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active licensee of the Board, subject to the restrictions contained in this 
section. A holder of a Retired License may only practice optometry or 
therapeutic optometry when such practice is without compensation or 
expectation of compensation (except for the reimbursement of travel 
and supply expenses) as a direct service volunteer of a charitable or-
ganization. 

(e) Charitable Organization. A charitable organization in-
cludes any bona fide charitable, religious, prevention of cruelty to 
children or animals, youth sports and youth recreational, neighborhood 
crime prevention or patrol, or educational organization (excluding 
fraternities, sororities, and secret societies), or other organization 
organized and operated exclusively for the promotion of social welfare 
by being primarily engaged in promoting the common good and 
general welfare of the people in a community, including these types of 
organizations with a §501(c)(3) or (4) exemption from federal income 
tax, some chambers of commerce, and volunteer centers certified by 
the Department of Public Safety. 

(f) Renewal. A Retired License expires on the same date as a 
regular license. Prior to renewing the license, the licensee must supply 
proof that the continuing education requirements for a Retired License 
have been met. The license renewal fee is set in §273.4 of this chapter. 

(g) Penalty. The holder of a Retired License shall not receive 
compensation for the practice of optometry. To do so constitutes the 
practice of optometry without a license and subjects the optometrist or 
therapeutic optometrist to the penalties imposed for this violation. 

(h) Reinstatement of an Active License by a Holder of a Re-
tired License. Retired licensees may apply for reinstatement by sub-
mitting to the Board a completed application with the application fee 
required by §273.4 of this chapter. Applicants must supply proof that 
the continuing education requirements for an active license have been 
met. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2023. 
TRD-202302789 
Janice McCoy 
Executive Director 
Texas Optometry Board 
Effective date: August 27, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 2, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8500 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 15. TEXAS STATE BOARD OF 
PHARMACY 

CHAPTER 283. LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 
FOR PHARMACISTS 
22 TAC §283.4 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy adopts amendments to 
§283.4, concerning Internship Requirements. These amend-
ments are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the June 16, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 
TexReg 3033). The rule will not be republished. 

The amendments extend the period that internship hours may be 
used for licensure from two years to three years from the date 
the internship is completed. 
No comments were received. 
The amendments are adopted under §§551.002 and 554.051 
of the Texas Pharmacy Act (Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occu-
pations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as authorizing 
the agency to protect the public through the effective control 
and regulation of the practice of pharmacy. The Board inter-
prets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules for 
the proper administration and enforcement of the Act. 
The statutes affected by this adoption: Texas Pharmacy Act, 
Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occupations Code. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2023. 
TRD-202302786 
Julie Spier, R.Ph. 
President 
Texas State Board of Pharmacy 
Effective date: August 27, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 16, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8026 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §283.6 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy adopts amendments to 
§283.6, concerning Preceptor Requirements and Ratio of Pre-
ceptors to Pharmacist-Interns. These amendments are adopted 
without changes to the proposed text as published in the June 
16, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3035). The 
rule will not be republished. 
The amendments remove the condition that a pharmacist pre-
ceptor must have six months of residency training if the phar-
macist-intern's residency program is accredited by the American 
Society of Health System Pharmacists. 
No comments were received. 
The amendments are adopted under §§551.002 and 554.051 
of the Texas Pharmacy Act (Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occu-
pations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as authorizing 
the agency to protect the public through the effective control 
and regulation of the practice of pharmacy. The Board inter-
prets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules for 
the proper administration and enforcement of the Act. 
The statutes affected by this adoption: Texas Pharmacy Act, 
Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occupations Code. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2023. 
TRD-202302787 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

Julie Spier, R.Ph. 
President 
Texas State Board of Pharmacy 
Effective date: August 27, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 16, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8026 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 291. PHARMACIES 
SUBCHAPTER A. ALL CLASSES OF 
PHARMACIES 
22 TAC §291.24 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy adopts the repeal of 
§291.24, concerning Pharmacy Residency Programs. The 
repeal is adopted without changes to the proposed repeal as 
published in the June 16, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 
TexReg 3038). The rule will not be republished. 
The repeal of §291.24 removes standards for a statutory pro-
gram that no longer exists. 
No comments were received. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The repeal is adopted under §§551.002 and 554.051 of the 
Texas Pharmacy Act (Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occupations 
Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as authorizing the 
agency to protect the public through the effective control and 
regulation of the practice of pharmacy. The Board interprets 
§554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules for the 
proper administration and enforcement of the Act. 
The statutes affected by the adopted repeal: Texas Pharmacy 
Act, Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occupations Code. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2023. 
TRD-202302790 
Julie Spier, R.Ph. 
President 
Texas State Board of Pharmacy 
Effective date: August 27, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 16, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8026 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §291.27 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy adopts amendments to 
§291.27, concerning Confidentiality. These amendments are 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the June 16, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 
3039). The rule will not be republished. 
The amendments correct a misspelled word. 
No comments were received. 
The amendments are adopted under §§551.002 and 554.051 
of the Texas Pharmacy Act (Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occu-
pations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as authorizing 

the agency to protect the public through the effective control 
and regulation of the practice of pharmacy. The Board inter-
prets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules for 
the proper administration and enforcement of the Act. 
The statutes affected by this adoption: Texas Pharmacy Act, 
Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occupations Code. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2023. 
TRD-202302791 
Julie Spier, R.Ph. 
President 
Texas State Board of Pharmacy 
Effective date: August 27, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 16, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8026 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER G. SERVICES PROVIDED BY 
PHARMACIES 
22 TAC §291.121 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy adopts amendments to 
§291.121, concerning Remote Pharmacy Services. These 
amendments are adopted without changes to the proposed text 
as published in the June 16, 2023, issue of the Texas Register 
(48 TexReg 3040). The rule will not be republished. 
The amendments allow remote pharmacy services to be pro-
vided using an automated pharmacy system to be provided at 
healthcare facilities regulated under Chapter 534, Health and 
Safety Code. 
The Board received comments from Angela Babin, BSPharm, 
MBA, with The Harris Center, in support of the amendments. 
The amendments are adopted under §§551.002 and 554.051 
of the Texas Pharmacy Act (Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occu-
pations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as authorizing 
the agency to protect the public through the effective control 
and regulation of the practice of pharmacy. The Board inter-
prets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules for 
the proper administration and enforcement of the Act. 
The statutes affected by this adoption: Texas Pharmacy Act, 
Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occupations Code. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2023. 
TRD-202302792 
Julie Spier, R.Ph. 
President 
Texas State Board of Pharmacy 
Effective date: August 27, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 16, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8026 
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SUBCHAPTER H. OTHER CLASSES OF 
PHARMACY 
22 TAC §291.151 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy adopts amendments to 
§291.151, concerning Freestanding Emergency Medical Care 
Facility (Class F). These amendments are adopted without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the June 16, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 3051). The rule will not 
be republished. 
The amendments clarify that a pharmacist must verify the com-
pleteness and reconciliation of the perpetual inventory of con-
trolled substances for an FEMCF pharmacy. 
No comments were received. 
The amendments are adopted under §§551.002 and 554.051 
of the Texas Pharmacy Act (Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occu-
pations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as authorizing 
the agency to protect the public through the effective control 
and regulation of the practice of pharmacy. The Board inter-
prets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules for 
the proper administration and enforcement of the Act. 
The statutes affected by this adoption: Texas Pharmacy Act, 
Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occupations Code. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2023. 
TRD-202302793 
Julie Spier, R.Ph. 
President 
Texas State Board of Pharmacy 
Effective date: August 27, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 16, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8026 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 23. TEXAS REAL ESTATE 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 535. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
SUBCHAPTER D. THE COMMISSION 
22 TAC §535.46 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) adopts new 22 TAC 
§535.46, Broker Responsibility Advisory Committee, in Chapter 
535, General Provisions, without changes, as published in the 
June 9, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 2925) and 
will not be republished. 
The new rule establishes an advisory committee called the Bro-
ker Responsibility Advisory Committee (BRAC), which is tasked 
with advising TREC as to issues surrounding broker responsi-
bility within the real estate industry. This committee will also 
make recommendations to TREC regarding possible legislative 
and rule changes associated with broker responsibility issues 
impacting both the real estate industry and the consumer. 

Nine comments were received. Two comments were unrelated 
to the proposed new rule. Five comments were in favor of the 
new rule and the creation of BRAC. Some commenters noted the 
importance of a diverse group of members that represent all bro-
kers. One commenter believed the new committee should also 
include sales agents, which the Executive Committee did not 
think necessary in light of the BRAC's stated objective of exam-
ining broker responsibility. Another commenter asked what cri-
teria would be used to select members and whether the position 
would be paid. The Executive Committee noted the criteria for 
membership is listed in the rule and that considerations related 
to geographic region would be made by the selection committee. 
The Executive Committee also noted that a committee member 
would not be paid for serving. After reviewing the comments, 
the Executive Committee declined to recommend any changes 
to the rule as published. 
The new rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 
and 1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 
The statute affected by this adoption is Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 1101, specifically section 1101.158. No other statute, 
code or article is affected by the new rule. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302890 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Effective date: August 29, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 9, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER I. LICENSE RENEWAL 
22 TAC §535.92 

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) adopts amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.92, Continuing Education Requirements, 
in Chapter 535, General Provisions, without changes, as pub-
lished in the June 9, 2023, issue of the Texas Register (48 
TexReg 2926) and will not be republished. 
The amendments to §535.92 include expand a real estate li-
cense holder's opportunity to earn up to four hours of continuing 
education elective credit for attendance at a single Commission 
meeting and clarify that such credit may only be awarded for at-
tendance at one Commission meeting per renewal cycle. The 
remainder of the changes are either updates to terminology or 
form for consistency throughout the chapter or are made to re-
flect updated processes. 
Thirteen comments were received. One comment asked for clar-
ification regarding credit for meetings attended remotely, which 
the Executive Committee noted the rule language specifically 
prohibits. Another commenter supported the change but made 
other suggestions related to course work for license holders. 
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One commenter requested clarification regarding the number of 
hours that can be earned, which the Executive Committee also 
noted was detailed in the rule language itself. One commenter 
misunderstood that this rule change does not increase the num-
ber of continuing education hours a license holder must take. 
Some commenters expressed concern that continuing educa-
tion should be classroom based only. Other commenters thought 
the change to allow license holders more opportunity to obtain 
continuing education credit was very beneficial because Com-
mission meetings are very informative. After reviewing the com-
ments, the Executive Committee declined to recommend any 
changes to the rule as published. 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 
The statute affected by this adoption is Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected by the 
adopted amendments. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 9, 2023. 
TRD-202302889 
Vanessa E. Burgess 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Effective date: August 29, 2023 
Proposal publication date: June 9, 2023 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 15. TEXAS VETERANS 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 450. VETERANS COUNTY 
SERVICE OFFICERS CERTIFICATE OF 
TRAINING 
40 TAC §450.1, §450.3 

The Texas Veterans Commission (Commission) adopts amend-
ments to Chapter 450, §450.1 and §450.3, of Title 40, Part 
15, Chapter 450 of the Texas Administrative Code concerning 
Veterans County Service Officers Certificate of Training without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the May 26, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 2688) and will not be 
republished. 
The amended rules are adopted to change the definitions in ex-
isting language to reflect the language in Title 38 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR) and to correct grammatical errors. 
No comments were received regarding the proposed rule 
amendments. 

The amended rules are adopted under Texas Government Code 
§434.010, which authorizes the Commission to establish rules it 
considers necessary for its administration, and Texas Govern-
ment Code §434.038, which authorizes the Commission to es-
tablish rules governing the training and certification for Veteran 
County Service Officers and Assistant Veterans County Service 
Officers. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302954 
Kathleen Cordova 
General Counsel 
Texas Veterans Commission 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: May 26, 2023 
For further information, please call: (737) 320-4167 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 451. VETERANS COUNTY 
SERVICE OFFICERS ACCREDITATION 
40 TAC §451.1, §451.3 

The Texas Veterans Commission (Commission) adopts amend-
ments to Chapter 451, §451.1 and §451.3, Veterans County Ser-
vice Officers Accreditation with nonsubstantive changes to the 
proposed text as published in the May 26, 2023, issue of the 
Texas Register (48 TexReg 2689) and will be republished. 
The amended rules are adopted to change existing language 
to be consistent with the terms found in Title 38 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR). 
No comments were received regarding the proposed rule 
amendments. 
The amended rules are adopted under Texas Government Code 
§434.010, which authorizes the Commission to establish rules it 
considers necessary for its administration, and Texas Govern-
ment Code §434.039, which authorizes the Commission to de-
velop a plan for encouraging service officers to become accred-
ited by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. 
§451.1. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Accreditation--Recognition by the United States De-
partment of Veterans Affairs (VA) of representatives, attorneys, and 
agents to represent claimants. 

(2) Accredited representative of the Texas Veterans Com-
mission--A representative of the Texas Veterans Commission approved 
by the secretary for the preparation, presentation, and prosecution of 
claims under laws administered by the secretary. 

(3) Certificate of training--Documentation that an officer 
has met the requirements of §450.3 of this title (relating to General 
Provisions). 

(4) Commission--The Texas Veterans Commission which 
is a "Recognized Veterans Service Organization" by the United States 
Department of Veterans Affairs. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(5) Credit hour--Unit of measuring credit earned for attend-
ing a classroom or virtual training courses provided by the commission 
or other commission approved training. 

(6) Initial training--Introductory training completed by 
newly appointed officers as defined in Chapter 450 of this title (relating 
to Certificate of Training). 

(7) Officer--Veterans County Service Officer or assistant 
veterans county service officer appointed by a county commissioners 
court. 

(8) Recognized Veterans Service Organization--An organ-
ization accredited by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs 
to represent claimants. 

(9) Recommendation-- the procedure by which the com-
mission indicates to the secretary that it desires an officer to become an 
accredited representative of the Texas Veterans Commission and certi-
fies that the officer meets the requirements of 38 C.F.R. § 14.629(a). 

(10) Representative--Person who has been recommended 
by a Recognized Veterans Service Organization and accredited by the 
United States Department of Veterans Affairs. 

(11) Secretary--The secretary of the United States Depart-
ment of Veterans Affairs. 

(12) Training event -- Training or testing conducted by the 
commission. 

§451.3. General Provisions. 

(a) The commission shall provide all officers information con-
cerning accreditation when the commission receives information is re-
ceived indicating notice that an officer has been appointed by a county 
commissioners court. 

(b) Officers must meet the following minimum standards as set 
forth in 38 Code of Federal Regulations §14.629 for recommendation: 

(1) is a paid employee of the county working for it not less 
than 1,000 hours annually; 

(2) has successfully completed a course of training and an 
examination which have been approved by the appropriate VA district 
counsel within the state; and 

(3) will receive annual training to ensure continued quali-
fication as a representative in the claims’ process. 

(c) To receive recommendation, the officer must hold a cur-
rent certificate of training from the commission under the provisions 
of §450.3 of this title (relating to General Provisions), have attained at 
least 24 credit hours after completion of initial training requirements, 
and pass a proficiency exam. 

(d) All officers must submit a formal written application for 
recommendation to the commission, which shall review the application 
for eligibility and approval. 

(e) Credit hours may be earned by attending training spon-
sored or conducted by organizations other than the commission in ac-
cordance with §450.3 of this title. 

(f) The commission may pay for an officer's attendance to one 
commission conducted training event per fiscal year to meet the offi-

cer's annual training requirement. However, if an officer has met the 
12 hours required annually, then the commission shall not pay for the 
officer to attend subsequent training events. 

(g) Examinations for the initial recommendation and exami-
nations to maintain recommendation will be administered by the com-
mission at a location and time designated by the commission. 

(h) Officers must agree to follow procedures promulgated by 
the commission. 

(i) When all criteria have been met by the officer, the commis-
sion will request accreditation from the United States Department of 
Veterans Affairs via VA Form 21. 

(j) To maintain the recommendation of the commission, an of-
ficer must successfully pass, at least annually, a proficiency exam and 
hold a current certificate of training under the provisions of §450.3 of 
this title. 

(k) Inquiries concerning accreditation shall be directed to and 
answered by the commission Claims Department Director. Disputes 
shall be reviewed and a decision rendered by the commission Claims 
Department Director or designee. Disputes which remain unresolved 
shall be referred to the executive director of the commission or the 
executive director's designee. The decision of the executive director 
or the executive director's designee shall be final. 

(l) The executive director of the commission or the executive 
director's designee will request that the secretary: 

(1) revoke the accreditation of the officer upon termination 
of the officer; 

(2) suspend or revoke the accreditation of an officer for the 
officer's failure to: 

(A) maintain commission annual training requirements; 

(B) maintain the commission annual testing require-
ments; 

(C) maintain the VA's annual training requirements; or 

(D) maintain active use of the VA's database systems; 
and 

(3) suspend or revoke the accreditation of the officer for 
any situation in which the action is deemed appropriate. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2023. 
TRD-202302955 
Kathleen Cordova 
General Counsel 
Texas Veterans Commission 
Effective date: August 31, 2023 
Proposal publication date: May 26, 2023 
For further information, please call: (737) 320-4167 
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Proposed Rule Reviews 
Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' 
Compensation 

Title 28, Part 2 

The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensa-
tion (DWC) will review all sections in 28 Texas Administrative Code: 

-Chapter 102 (Practices and Procedures--General Provisions); 

-Chapter 104 (General Provisions--Rule-Making); 

-Chapter 109 (Workers' Compensation Coverage for State Employees); 

-Chapter 110 (Required Notices of Coverage); 

-Chapter 112 (Scope of Liability for Compensation); 

-Chapter 114 (Self-Insurance); and 

-Chapter 116 (General Provisions--Subsequent Injury Fund). 

This review complies with the requirements for periodic rule review 
under Texas Government Code §2001.039. 

DWC will consider whether the reasons for initially adopting these 
rules continue to exist, and whether these rules should be repealed, 
readopted, or readopted with amendments. 

Comments 

To comment on this review, you must: 

-Submit your written comments by 5:00 p.m., Central time, on October 
3, 2023. 

-Specify the rule to which your comment applies. 

-Include any proposed alternative language. 

Send your written comments or hearing request to RuleCom-
ments@tdi.texas.gov or to: 

Legal Services, MC-LS 

Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 

P.O. Box 12050 

Austin, Texas 78711-2050 

DWC may consider any suggested repeals or amendments identified 
during this rule review in future rulemaking under Texas Government 
Code Chapter 2001 (Administrative Procedure). 
TRD-202302977 

Kara Mace 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 

Title 30, Part 1 

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) files 
this Notice of Intention to Review 30 Texas Administrative Code Chap-
ter 111, Control of Air Pollution from Visible Emissions and Particulate 
Matter. 

This proposal is limited to the review in accordance with the require-
ments of Texas Government Code, §2001.039, which requires a state 
agency to review and consider its rules for readoption, readoption with 
amendments, or repeal every four years. During this review, the com-
mission will assess whether the reasons for initially adopting the rules 
in Chapter 111 continue to exist. 

Comments regarding suggested changes to the rules in Chapter 111 
may be submitted but will not be considered for rule amendments as 
part of this review. Any such comments may be considered in a future 
rulemaking action by the commission. 

Submittal of Comments 

The commission invites public comment on this preliminary review 
of the rules in Chapter 111. Written comments may be submitted to 
Gwen Ricco, MC 205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, 
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be submitted 
at https://tceq.commentinput.com/. File size restrictions may apply to 
comments being submitted via the TCEQ Public Comment system. All 
comments should reference Non-Rule Project Number 2023-077-111-
AI. Comments must be received by September 26, 2023. For further 
information, please contact Elizabeth Sartain, Air Quality Division, at 
(512) 239-3933. 
TRD-202302993 
Charmaine Backens 
Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) files 
this Notice of Intention to Review 30 Texas Administrative Code Chap-
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ter 214, Secondary Containment Requirements for Underground Stor-
age Tank Systems Located Over Certain Aquifers. 

This proposal is limited to the review in accordance with the require-
ments of Texas Government Code, §2001.039, which requires a state 
agency to review and consider its rules for readoption, readoption with 
amendments, or repeal every four years. During this review, the com-
mission will assess whether the reasons for initially adopting the rules 
in Chapter 214 continue to exist. 

Comments regarding suggested changes to the rules in Chapter 214 
may be submitted but will not be considered for rule amendments as 
part of this review. Any such comments may be considered in a future 
rulemaking action by the commission. 

Submittal of Comments 

The commission invites public comment on this preliminary review 
of the rules in Chapter 214. Written comments may be submitted to 
Gwen Ricco, MC 205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, 
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be submitted 
at: https://tceq.commentinput.com/. File size restrictions may apply to 
comments being submitted via the TCEQ Public Comment system. All 
comments should reference Non-Rule Project Number 2023-091-214-
CE. Comments must be received by September 26, 2023. For further 
information, please contact Zachary King, Program Support and Envi-
ronmental Assistance Division, at (512) 239-1931. 
TRD-202302991 
Charmaine Backens 
Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) files 
this Notice of Intention to Review 30 Texas Administrative Code 
(TAC) Chapter 295, Water Rights, Procedural. 

This proposal is limited to the review in accordance with the require-
ments of Texas Government Code, §2001.039, which requires a state 
agency to review and consider its rules for readoption, readoption with 
amendments, or repeal every four years. During this review, the com-
mission will assess whether the reasons for initially adopting the rules 
in 30 TAC Chapter 295 continue to exist. 

Comments regarding suggested changes to the rules in 30 TAC Chapter 
295 may be submitted but will not be considered for rule amendments 
as part of this review. Any such comments may be considered in a 
future rulemaking action by the commission. 

Submittal of Comments 

The commission invites public comment on this preliminary review of 
the rules in 30 TAC Chapter 295. Written comments may be submitted 
to Gwen Ricco, MC 205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, 
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be submitted 
at: https://tceq.commentinput.com/. File size restrictions may apply to 
comments being submitted via the TCEQ Public Comment system. All 
comments should reference Non-Rule Project Number 2023-092-295-
OW. Comments must be received by September 26, 2023. For further 
information, please contact Jade Rutledge, Water Availability Division, 
at (512) 239-4559. 
TRD-202302992 

Charmaine Backens 
Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) files 
this Notice of Intention to Review 30 Texas Administrative Code Chap-
ter 309, Domestic Wastewater Effluent Limitation and Plant Siting. 

This proposal is limited to the review in accordance with the require-
ments of Texas Government Code, §2001.039, which requires a state 
agency to review and consider its rules for readoption, readoption with 
amendments, or repeal every four years. During this review, the com-
mission will assess whether the reasons for initially adopting the rules 
in Chapter 309 continue to exist. 

Comments regarding suggested changes to the rules in Chapter 309 
may be submitted but will not be considered for rule amendments as 
part of this review. Any such comments may be considered in a future 
rulemaking action by the commission. 

Submittal of Comments 

The commission invites public comment on this preliminary review 
of the rules in Chapter 309. Written comments may be submitted to 
Gwen Ricco, MC 205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, 
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be submitted 
at: https://tceq.commentinput.com/. File size restrictions may apply to 
comments being submitted via the TCEQ Public Comment system. All 
comments should reference Non-Rule Project Number 2023-094-309-
OW. Comments must be received by September 26, 2023. For further 
information, please contact Shannon Gibson, Water Quality Division, 
at (512) 239-4284. 
TRD-202302994 
Charmaine Backens 
Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) files 
this Notice of Intention to Review 30 Texas Administrative Code Chap-
ter 350, Texas Risk Reduction Program. 

This proposal is limited to the review in accordance with the require-
ments of Texas Government Code, §2001.039, which requires a state 
agency to review and consider its rules for readoption, readoption with 
amendments, or repeal every four years. During this review, the com-
mission will assess whether the reasons for initially adopting the rules 
in Chapter 350 continue to exist. 

Comments regarding suggested changes to the rules in Chapter 350 
may be submitted but will not be considered for rule amendments as 
part of this review. Any such comments may be considered in a future 
rulemaking action by the commission. 

Submittal of Comments 

The commission invites public comment on this preliminary review 
of the rules in Chapter 350. Written comments may be submitted to 
Gwen Ricco, MC 205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, 
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be submitted 
at: https://tceq.commentinput.com/. File size restrictions may apply to 
comments being submitted via the TCEQ Public Comment system. All 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

comments should reference Non-Rule Project Number 2023-095-350-
WS. Comments must be received by September 26, 2023. For further 
information, please contact Anna R. Brulloths, Remediation Division, 
at (512) 239-5052. 
TRD-202302995 
Charmaine Backens 
Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Juvenile Justice Department 
Title 37, Part 11 

The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) proposes the review 
of Title 37, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 380, Subchapter A, 
Admission, Placement, Release, and Discharge, in accordance with 
§2001.039, Texas Government Code. 

An assessment will be made by TJJD to determine whether the reasons 
for adopting or readopting the rules in the subchapter continue to exist 
and whether the rules reflect current legal and policy considerations 
and current TJJD procedure. 

Comments on the review may be submitted within 30 days after pub-
lication of this notice to Texas Juvenile Justice Department, Central 
Services Building, Attention: Policy and Standards Section, 1711 San 
Jacinto Blvd, Austin, Texas 78701. Comments may also be sent via 
email to policy.proposals@tjjd.texas.gov. 
TRD-202302962 
Christian von Wupperfeld 
General Counsel 
Texas Juvenile Justice Department 
Filed: August 14, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Adopted Rule Reviews 
Credit Union Department 
Title 7, Part 6 

The Credit Union Commission (Commission) has completed its review 
of Chapter 91 Subchapter C (relating to Members); Subchapter P (re-
lating to Other Forms of Equity Capital); and Subchapter Q (relating 
to Access to Confidential Information). 

The rules were reviewed as a result of the Department's general rule 
review under Texas Government Code Section 2001.039. 

Notice of the review of 7 TAC, Part 6, Chapter 91, Subchapters A, P 
and Q were published in the Texas Register as required on March 10, 
2023, (48 TexReg 1453). The Department received no formal comment 
on the notice of intention to review. 

The Department hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed 
by legal counsel and found to be within the agency's legal authority to 
readopt. 
TRD-202302960 
Michael S. Riepen 
Commissioner 
Credit Union Department 
Filed: August 14, 2023 

Texas Education Agency 

Title 19, Part 2 

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) adopts the review of 19 TAC 
Chapter 53, Subchapter AA, Commissioner's Rules, pursuant to Texas 
Government Code, §2001.039. TEA proposed the review of 19 TAC 
Chapter 53 in the May 19, 2023 issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 
2581). 

Relating to the review of 19 TAC Chapter 53, Subchapter AA, TEA 
finds that the reasons for adopting the rules continue to exist and read-
opts the rules. TEA received no comments related to the review. In the 
future, TEA anticipates updating §53.1002 to reflect the most current 
application dates and methods and revising §53.1021 to reflect the cur-
rent nature of education service center partnerships. 

This concludes the review of 19 TAC Chapter 53. 
TRD-202302929 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Filed: August 10, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Veterans Commission 

Title 40, Part 15 

The Texas Veterans Commission (Commission) has completed its re-
view of 40 TAC Chapters 450, 451, 452, and 453. 

The notice of proposed rule review was published in the May 26, 2023, 
issue of the Texas Register (48 TexReg 2733). The Commission re-
ceived no comments regarding the proposed rule review. 

After completing the review of 40 TAC Chapter 450, concerning Vet-
erans County Service Officers Certificate of Training; Chapter 451, 
concerning Veterans County Service Officers Accreditation; Chapter 
452, concerning Administration General Provisions; and Chapter 453, 
concerning Historically Underutilized Business Program, the Commis-
sion determined that the reasons for initially adopting these rules con-
tinue to exist. The Commission, pursuant to Texas Government Code 
§2001.039, readopts these rules with no changes, except for §§450.1, 
450.3, 451.1 and 451.3, which are readopted with amendments. As a 
result, the Commission proposes amendments to these rules, which can 
be found in the Adopted Rules section of this issue. 

This notice concludes the Commission's review of the Texas Adminis-
trative Code, Title 40 Part 15 Chapters 450, 451, 452 and 453. 
TRD-202302953 
Kathleen Cordova 
General Counsel 
Texas Veterans Commission 
Filed: August 11, 2023 
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Alamo Area Metropolitan Planning Organization 
RFP - On-Call Travel Demand Modeling Services 
The Alamo Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (AAMPO) is 
seeking proposals from qualified firms to provide On-Call Travel De-
mand Modeling Services. 

The Request for Proposals (RFP) may be obtained by down-
loading the RFP and attachments from AAMPO's website at 
www.alamoareampo.org or calling Sonia Jiménez, Deputy Director, 
at (210) 668-3614. Anyone wishing to submit a proposal must email 
it by 12:00 p.m. (CDT), Friday, September 29, 2023 to the AAMPO 
office at aampo@alamoareampo.org. 

Reimbursable funding for this study, in the amount of $450,000, is con-
tingent upon the availability of federal transportation planning funds. 
TRD-202302979 
Sonia Jimenez 
Deputy Director 
Alamo Area Metropolitan Planning Organization 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
RFP - Regional Freight Study 

The Alamo Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (AAMPO) is 
seeking proposals from qualified firms to conduct a Regional Freight 
Study. 

The Request for Proposals (RFP) may be obtained by down-
loading the RFP and attachments from AAMPO's website at 
www.alamoareampo.org or calling Clifton Hall, Transportation Plan-
ning Program Manager, at (210) 230-6929. Anyone wishing to submit 
a proposal must email it by 12:00 p.m. (CDT), Friday, September 29, 
2023 to the AAMPO office at aampo@alamoareampo.org. 

Reimbursable funding for this study, in the amount of $350,000, is con-
tingent upon the availability of federal transportation planning funds. 
TRD-202302978 
Sonia Jimenez 
Deputy Director 
Alamo Area Metropolitan Planning Organization 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner 
Notice of Rate Ceilings 
The Consumer Credit Commissioner of Texas has ascertained the fol-
lowing rate ceilings by use of the formulas and methods described in 
§§ 303.003, 303.009, and 304.003, Texas Finance Code. 

The weekly ceiling as prescribed by §303.003 and §303.009 for the 
period of 08/21/23 - 08/27/23 is 18% for consumer1 credit. 

The weekly ceiling as prescribed by §303.003 and §303.009 for the 
period of 08/21/23 - 08/27/23 is 18% for commercial2 credit. 

The postjudgment interest rate as prescribed by §304.003 for the period 
of 09/01/23 - 09/30/23 is 8.50%. 
1 Credit for personal, family, or household use. 
2 Credit for business, commercial, investment, or other similar purpose. 
TRD-202302990 
Leslie L. Pettijohn 
Commissioner 
Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Credit Union Department 
Application for a Merger or Consolidation 

Notice is given that the following application has been filed with the 
Credit Union Department (Department) and is under consideration. 

An application was received from The Electric Utilities Credit Union 
(Big Spring) seeking approval to merge with ALLIANCE Credit Union 
(Lubbock), with the latter being the surviving credit union. 

Comments or a request for a meeting by any interested party relating 
to an application must be submitted in writing within 30 days from the 
date of this publication. Any written comments must provide all infor-
mation that the interested party wishes the Department to consider in 
evaluating the application. All information received will be weighed 
during consideration of the merits of an application. Comments or a 
request for a meeting should be addressed to the Credit Union Depart-
ment, 914 East Anderson Lane, Austin, Texas 78752-1699. 
TRD-202303000 
Michael S. Riepen 
Commissioner 
Credit Union Department 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Final Action Taken 

In accordance with the provisions of 7 TAC §91.103, the Credit Union 
Department provides notice of the final actions taken on the following 
application: 

Field of Membership - Approved 

First Service Credit Union (Houston) - See Texas Register dated on 
March 24, 2023. 
TRD-202302996 
Michael S. Riepen 
Commissioner 
Credit Union Department 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Final Action Taken 
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In accordance with the provisions of 7 TAC §91.103, the Credit Union 
Department provides notice of the final actions taken on the following 
applications: 

Merger or Consolidation - Approved 

Chevron Federal Credit Union (California) and CTECU (Houston) -
See Texas Register dated on December 30, 2022. 
TRD-202302998 
Michael S. Riepen 
Commissioner 
Credit Union Department 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Final Action Taken 

In accordance with the provisions of 7 TAC §91.103, the Credit Union 
Department provides notice of the final actions taken on the following 
applications: 

Articles of Incorporation Change - Approved 

American Baptist Association Credit Union (Angleton) - See Texas 
Register dated on June 30, 2023. 
TRD-202302999 
Michael S. Riepen 
Commissioner 
Credit Union Department 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Agreed Orders 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commis-
sion) staff is providing an opportunity for written public comment on 
the listed Agreed Orders (AOs) in accordance with Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §7.075. TWC, §7.075, requires that before the commission 
may approve the AOs, the commission shall allow the public an op-
portunity to submit written comments on the proposed AOs. TWC, 
§7.075, requires that notice of the proposed orders and the opportunity 
to comment must be published in the Texas Register no later than the 
30th day before the date on which the public comment period closes, 
which in this case is September 26, 2023. TWC, §7.075, also requires 
that the commission promptly consider any written comments received 
and that the commission may withdraw or withhold approval of an AO 
if a comment discloses facts or considerations that indicate that con-
sent is inappropriate, improper, inadequate, or inconsistent with the re-
quirements of the statutes and rules within the commission's jurisdic-
tion or the commission's orders and permits issued in accordance with 
the commission's regulatory authority. Additional notice of changes 
to a proposed AO is not required to be published if those changes are 
made in response to written comments. 

A copy of each proposed AO is available for public inspection at both 
the commission's central office, located at 12100 Park 35 Circle, Build-
ing C, 1st Floor, Austin, Texas 78753, (512) 239-2545 and at the ap-
plicable regional office listed as follows. Written comments about 
an AO should be sent to the enforcement coordinator designated for 
each AO at the commission's central office at P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711-3087 and must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Septem-
ber 26, 2023. Written comments may also be sent by facsimile ma-
chine to the enforcement coordinator at (512) 239-2550. The commis-
sion's enforcement coordinators are available to discuss the AOs and/or 

the comment procedure at the listed phone numbers; however, TWC, 
§7.075, provides that comments on the AOs shall be submitted to the 
commission in writing. 

(1) COMPANY: C.V.W.S., Incorporated; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2023-0403-PWS-E; IDENTIFIER: RN102691219; LOCATION: 
Uncertain, Harrison County; TYPE OF FACILITY: public water 
supply; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §290.115(f)(1) and Texas 
Health and Safety Code, §341.0315(c), by failing to comply with the 
maximum contaminant level of 0.080 milligrams per liter for total 
trihalomethanes, based on the locational running annual average; 
PENALTY: $1,750; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Christiana 
McCrimmon, (512) 239-2811; REGIONAL OFFICE: 2916 Teague 
Drive, Tyler, Texas 75701-3734, (903) 535-5100. 

(2) COMPANY: City of Bridge City; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2021-1536-MLM-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101199966; LOCATION: 
Bridge City, Orange County; TYPE OF FACILITY: public water 
supply; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §290.39(l)(5), by failing to 
meet the conditions for an issued exception; 30 TAC §290.41(c)(3)(K), 
by failing to seal the wellhead by a gasket or sealing compound 
and provide a well casing vent for Well Number 4 that is covered 
with a 16-mesh or finer corrosion-resistant screen, facing downward, 
elevated and located so as to minimize the drawing of contaminants 
into the well; 30 TAC §290.42(b)(2)(C), by failing to ensure that 
all openings to the atmosphere are covered with a 16-mesh or finer 
corrosion-resistant screening material or an acceptable equivalent; 30 
TAC §290.42(d)(2)(F), by failing to provide the air release devices 
with a 16-mesh or finer corrosion-resistant screening material so as 
to preclude the possibility of submergence or possible entrance of 
contaminants; 30 TAC §290.42(f)(1)(E)(ii)(I), by failing to provide 
adequate containment for all liquid chemical storage tanks; 30 TAC 
§290.42(f)(1)(E)(ii)(IV), by failing to provide separate containment 
structures for chemicals that are incompatible; 30 TAC §290.42(l), by 
failing to maintain a thorough and up-to-date plant operations manual 
for operator review and reference; 30 TAC §290.42(m), by failing to 
provide an intruder-resistant fence around each water treatment plant 
and all related appurtenances that remains locked during periods of 
darkness and when the facility is unattended; 30 TAC §290.44(h)(4), 
by failing to have all backflow prevention assembles tested upon 
installation and on an annual basis by a recognized backflow assembly 
tester and certified that they are operating within specifications; 30 
TAC §290.45(b)(1)(D)(i) and Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), 
§341.0315(c), by failing to provide a well capacity of 0.6 gallons 
per minute per connection; 30 TAC §290.45(b)(1)(D)(ii) and THSC, 
§341.0315(c), by failing to provide a total storage capacity of 200 
gallons per connection; 30 TAC §290.46(f)(2) and (3)(C)(i), by failing 
to maintain water works operation and maintenance records and 
make them readily available for review by the Executive Director 
upon request; 30 TAC §290.46(m), by failing to initiate maintenance 
and housekeeping practices to ensure the good working condition 
and general appearance of the system's facilities and equipment; 30 
TAC §290.46(n)(2), by failing to make available an accurate and 
up-to-date map of the distribution system so that valves and mains 
can be easily located during emergencies; and 30 TAC §305.42(a) and 
TWC, §26.121(a)(1), by failing to obtain authorization to discharge 
municipal waste into or adjacent to any water in the state; PENALTY: 
$41,741; SUPPLEMENTAL ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECT OFF-
SET AMOUNT: $33,394; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: 
Epifanio Villarreal, (361) 881-6991; REGIONAL OFFICE: 3870 
Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, Texas 77703-1830, (409) 898-3838. 

(3) COMPANY: City of West Tawakoni; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2023-0232-UTL-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101423671; LOCATION: 
West Tawakoni, Hunt County; TYPE OF FACILITY: retail public 
utility, exempt utility, or provider or conveyor of potable or raw 
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water service that furnishes water service; RULE VIOLATED: 
TWC, §13.1394(b)(2), by failing to adopt and submit to the TCEQ 
for approval an emergency preparedness plan that demonstrates 
the facility's ability to provide emergency operations; PENALTY: 
$530; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Mason DeMasi, (512) 
239-2093; REGIONAL OFFICE: 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, 
Texas 76118-6951, (817) 588-5800. 

(4) COMPANY: HARRIS COUNTY WCID 21; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2023-0965-WQ-E; IDENTIFIER: RN102077807; LOCATION: Chan-
nelview, Harris County; TYPE OF FACILITY: operator; RULE VI-
OLATED: 30 TAC §281.25(a)(4), by failing to obtain a multi-sec-
tor general permit for stormwater discharges; PENALTY: $875; EN-
FORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Mark Gamble, (512) 239-2587; RE-
GIONAL OFFICE: 5425 Polk Street, Suite H, Houston, Texas 77023-
1452, (713) 767-3500. 

(5) COMPANY: HPA Texas Sub 2016 ML LLC; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2022-0964-OSS-E; IDENTIFIER: RN111135547; LOCATION: Mid-
lothian, Ellis County; TYPE OF FACILITY: rental property; RULES 
VIOLATED: 30 TAC §285.3(a) and (b)(1) and Texas Health and 
Safety Code, §366.004 and §366.051(a), by failing to obtain authoriza-
tion prior to constructing, altering, repairing, extending, or operating 
an on-site sewage facility (OSSF); 30 TAC §285.33(d)(2)(A), by 
failing to maintain an acceptable surface application area; and 30 TAC 
§285.91(10), by failing to provide the minimum required separation 
distance for an OSSF irrigation field of at least 50 feet from edge of 
the surface application spray area to the creek and at least ten feet 
from the edge of the surface application spray area to the property line; 
PENALTY: $8,500; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Cheryl 
Thompson, (817) 588-5865; REGIONAL OFFICE: 2309 Gravel 
Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76118-6951, (817) 588-5800. 

(6) COMPANY: Joseph Gaber dba Cody's Market; DOCKET NUM-
BER: 2020-1500-PST-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101230654; LOCATION: 
Weatherford, Parker County; TYPE OF FACILITY: convenience 
store with retail sales of gasoline; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC 
§334.50(b)(1)(A) and TWC, §26.3475(c)(1), by failing to monitor 
the underground storage tanks (USTs) for releases in a manner which 
will detect a release at a frequency of at least once every 30 days; 
§334.50(d)(9)(A)(v) by failing to report a suspected release to the 
TCEQ within 72 hours of discovery; 30 TAC §334.72, by failing to 
report a suspected release to the TCEQ within 24 hours of discovery; 
and 30 TAC §334.74, by failing to investigate and confirm all sus-
pected releases of regulated substances requiring reporting under 30 
TAC §334.72 within 30 days; PENALTY: $14,677; ENFORCEMENT 
COORDINATOR: Karolyn Kent, (512) 239-2536; REGIONAL 
OFFICE: 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76118-6951, (817) 
588-5800. 

(7) COMPANY: PAK NEPAL LLC dba Kwik Stop 1; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2023-0182-PST-E; IDENTIFIER: RN105636476; LO-
CATION: Frankston, Anderson County; TYPE OF FACILITY: 
convenience store with retail sales of gasoline; RULES VIOLATED: 
30 TAC §334.50(b)(1)(A) and (2) and TWC, §26.3475(a) and (c)(1), 
by failing to monitor the underground storage tanks (USTs) for 
releases in a manner which will detect a release at a frequency of at 
least once every 30 days, and failing to provide release detection for 
the pressurized piping associated with the UST system; PENALTY: 
$4,651; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Karolyn Kent, (512) 
239-2536; REGIONAL OFFICE: 2916 Teague Drive, Tyler, Texas 
75701-3734, (903) 535-5100. 

(8) COMPANY: PARMER/SPECTRUM EAST, L.P.; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2022-1431-EAQ-E; IDENTIFIER: RN110275971; 
LOCATION: Austin, Williamson County; TYPE OF FACILITY: com-
mercial construction site; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §213.4(a)(1), 

by failing to obtain approval of an Edwards Aquifer Protection Plan 
prior to commencing a regulated activity over the Edwards Aquifer 
Recharge Zone; PENALTY: $3,750; ENFORCEMENT COORDINA-
TOR: Cheryl Thompson, (817) 588-5865; REGIONAL OFFICE: P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, (512) 339-2929. 

(9) COMPANY: Sheldon Road Municipal Utility District; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2021-0775-MWD-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101701209; 
LOCATION: Houston, Harris County; TYPE OF FACILITY: waste-
water treatment facility; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §217.33 
and §305.125(1) and Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(TPDES) Permit Number WQ0010541002, Monitoring and Report-
ing Requirements Number 5, by failing to accurately calibrate the 
totalizing meter for effluent flow measurement on an annual basis; 30 
TAC §305.125(1) and (5), TWC, §26.121(a)(1), and TPDES Permit 
Number WQ0010541002, Operational Requirements Number 1, by 
failing to ensure the facility and all of its systems of collection, treat-
ment, and disposal are properly operated and maintained, resulting 
in an unauthorized discharge; and 30 TAC §305.125(1) and (5) and 
TPDES Permit Number WQ0010541002, Operational Requirements 
Number 1, by failing to ensure the facility and all of its systems of 
collection, treatment, and disposal are properly operated and main-
tained; PENALTY: $11,251; SUPPLEMENTAL ENVIRONMENTAL 
PROJECT OFFSET AMOUNT: $11,251; ENFORCEMENT CO-
ORDINATOR: Cheryl Thompson, (817) 588-5865; REGIONAL 
OFFICE: 5425 Polk Street, Suite H, Houston, Texas 77023-1452, 
(713) 767-3500. 

(10) COMPANY: SOUTHWEST SHIPYARD, L.P. and MSJ 
HOLDINGS, L.P. dba Southwest Shipyard; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2020-1613-MLM-E; IDENTIFIER: RN100248749; LOCATION: 
Channelview, Harris County; TYPE OF FACILITY: barge cleaning 
and repair facility; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §324.4(2)(C)(ii) 
and 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) §279.10(d)(1) and (g), 
by failing to process, recycle, and market used oil within the state in 
violation of rules for the management of used oil; 30 TAC §335.2(a), 
by failing to obtain authorization prior to storing, processing, or 
disposing of hazardous waste (HW); 30 TAC §335.2(b), by failing 
to not cause, suffer, allow, or permit its wastes to be processed at an 
unauthorized facility; 30 TAC §335.6(c), by failing to immediately 
document any changes or additional information on the facility's 
Notice of Registration within 90 days of the occurrence of such 
change or of becoming aware of such additional information; 30 
TAC §335.9(a)(2), by failing to report complete and correct Annual 
Waste Summaries (AWSs); 30 TAC §335.9(a)(2)(B), by failing to 
submit an AWS before the annual deadline; 30 TAC §335.10(a)(1) 
and 40 CFR §262.20(a)(1), by failing to have complete and correct 
manifests for shipments of HW and to include a Texas Waste Code 
for each HW itemized on a manifest; 30 TAC §335.12(a) and 40 CFR 
§265.72(f), by failing to prepare a new manifest for a rejected waste; 
30 TAC §§335.62, 335.504(a)(2), and 335.511(a), by failing to have 
complete HW determination process knowledge documentation; 30 
TAC §335.69(a)(1)(A) and §335.112(a)(8), and 40 CFR §265.174, by 
failing to conduct weekly container storage area inspections; and 30 
TAC §335.69(a)(4)(A) and §335.112(a)(3), and 40 CFR §265.53(b), 
by failing to submit a copy of the contingency plan to all local 
emergency response entities; PENALTY: $113,365; SUPPLEMEN-
TAL ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECT OFFSET AMOUNT: $45,346; 
ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Ken Moller, (512) 534-7550; 
REGIONAL OFFICE: 5425 Polk Street, Suite H, Houston, Texas 
77023-1452, (713) 767-3500. 
TRD-202302967 
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Gitanjali Yadav 
Deputy Director, Litigation 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Enforcement Orders 
An agreed order was adopted regarding EliteCurb & Concrete, LLC, 
Docket No. 2021-1603-AIR-E, on August 15, 2023 assessing $1,875 
in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this 
order may be obtained by contacting Jennifer Peltier, Staff Attorney 
at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
TRD-202303001 
Laurie Gharis 
Chief Clerk 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Enforcement Orders 
An agreed order was adopted regarding KB MARINE INDUSTRY, 
LLC and Khang Trong Bui, Docket No. 2019‑1159‑MLM‑E on 
August 16, 2023 assessing $45,233 in administrative penalties with 
$8,174 deferred. Information concerning any aspect of this order may 
be obtained by contacting Ken Moller, Enforcement Coordinator at 
(512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Ashton Holdings, Inc., Docket 
No. 2020‑0218‑WQ‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $8,362 in ad-
ministrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this or-
der may be obtained by contacting David Keagle, Staff Attorney at 
(512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
A default order was adopted regarding Advanced Powder Solutions 
Inc., Docket No. 2020‑0565‑MLM‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$88,325 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect 
of this order may be obtained by contacting Casey Kurnath, Staff Attor-
ney at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Equistar Chemicals, LP, 
Docket No. 2020‑0911‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $58,350 
in administrative penalties with $11,670 deferred. Information con-
cerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Yuliya 
Dunaway, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Com-
mission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding SI Group, Inc., Docket No. 
2020‑1255‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $155,159 in admin-
istrative penalties with $31,031 deferred. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Danielle Porras, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding OXY USA WTP LP, Docket 
No. 2020‑1460‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $52,650 in ad-
ministrative penalties with $10,530 deferred. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Johnnie Wu, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 

An agreed order was adopted regarding Busy B Septic Services, LLC, 
Docket No. 2020‑1497‑SLG‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $25,938 
in administrative penalties with $6,986 deferred. Information concern-
ing any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Cheryl 
Thompson, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Com-
mission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding The Dow Chemical Company, 
Docket No. 2021‑0089‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $61,250 
in administrative penalties with $7,875 deferred. Information concern-
ing any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Johnnie 
Wu, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Duran Gravel Company, Inc, 
Docket No. 2021‑0175‑WQ‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $20,000 
in administrative penalties with $4,000 deferred. Information concern-
ing any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Ellen Ojeda, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding ONEOK Hydrocarbon, L.P., 
Docket No. 2021‑0463‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $25,000 
in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this 
order may be obtained by contacting Yuliya Dunaway, Enforcement 
Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Western International Gas & 
Cylinders, Inc., Docket No. 2021‑0481‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 
assessing $6,913 in administrative penalties. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Yuliya Dun-
away, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Flint Hills Resources Corpus 
Christi, LLC, Docket No. 2021‑0730‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 as-
sessing $25,000 in administrative penalties. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Johnnie Wu, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding City of Mason, Docket No. 
2021‑0836‑MWD‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $19,250 in admin-
istrative penalties with $3,850 deferred. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Ellen Ojeda, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Energy Transfer Nederland 
Terminal LLC f/k/a Sunoco Partners Marketing & Terminals L.P., 
Docket No. 2021‑0879‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $18,750 
in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this 
order may be obtained by contacting Yuliya Dunaway, Enforcement 
Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Phillips 66 Company, Docket 
No. 2021‑0897‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $45,850 in ad-
ministrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order 
may be obtained by contacting Johnnie Wu, Enforcement Coordinator 
at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding City of Austin, Docket No. 
2021‑0900‑MWD‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $8,250 in admin-
istrative penalties with $1,650 deferred. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Cheryl Thompson, 
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Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Enterprise Products Operat-
ing LLC, Docket No. 2021‑0915‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$57,850 in administrative penalties with $11,570 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Yuliya Dunaway, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding G Square Ventures LLC dba 
Fast Trip, Docket No. 2021‑0929‑PST‑E on August 16, 2023 assess-
ing $24,188 in administrative penalties with $4,837 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contact-
ing Karolyn Kent, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Cypress Valley Water Supply 
Corporation, Docket No. 2021‑0968‑PWS‑E on August 16, 2023 as-
sessing $3,510 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Samantha Salas, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Lake LBJ Boutique Resort & 
Marina, LLC dba Sunrise Beach Marina and Georg Pengg dba Sunrise 
Beach Marina, Docket No. 2021‑1037‑MLM‑E on August 16, 2023 
assessing $10,242 in administrative penalties with $2,048 deferred. 
Information concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by 
contacting Karolyn Kent, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Occidental Chemical Corpo-
ration, Docket No. 2021‑1067‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$13,125 in administrative penalties with $2,625 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Yuliya Dunaway, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding City of La Feria dba La Feria 
City Shop, Docket No. 2021‑1204‑PST‑E on August 16, 2023 assess-
ing $12,000 in administrative penalties with $2,400 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contact-
ing Karolyn Kent, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
A default order was adopted regarding Village Creek Church of Christ, 
Inc., Docket No. 2021‑1209‑PWS‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$2,500 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect 
of this order may be obtained by contacting Megan L. Grace, Staff At-
torney at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Qual-
ity, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Fairway Methanol LLC, 
Docket No. 2021‑1251‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $21,225 
in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this 
order may be obtained by contacting Danielle Porras, Enforcement 
Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding William F. Gilpin dba Aero, 
Docket No. 2021‑1313‑MLM‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $31,363 
in administrative penalties with $6,272 deferred. Information concern-
ing any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Karolyn 

Kent, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Exxon Mobil Corporation, 
Docket No. 2021‑1379‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $8,325 
in administrative penalties with $1,665 deferred. Information concern-
ing any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Johnnie 
Wu, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Braskem America, Inc., Docket 
No. 2021‑1450‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $8,175 in admin-
istrative penalties with $1,635 deferred. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Yuliya Dunaway, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding City of Laredo, Docket No. 
2021‑1455‑PWS‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $69,980 in admin-
istrative penalties with $13,996 deferred. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Ryan Byer, Enforce-
ment Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environ-
mental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding INEOS US Chemicals Com-
pany, Docket No. 2021‑1563‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$150,000 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any as-
pect of this order may be obtained by contacting Danielle Porras, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Camo Chemical LLC, Docket 
No. 2022‑0024‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $12,875 in ad-
ministrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order 
may be obtained by contacting Yuliya Dunaway, Enforcement Coordi-
nator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Enterprise Products Operating 
LLC, Docket No. 2022‑0080‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$8,625 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect 
of this order may be obtained by contacting Johnnie Wu, Enforcement 
Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Braskem America, Inc., Docket 
No. 2022‑0102‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $28,050 in ad-
ministrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order 
may be obtained by contacting Danielle Porras, Enforcement Coordi-
nator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding San Diego Municipal Utility 
District No. 1, Docket No. 2022‑0162‑MWD‑E on August 16, 2023 
assessing $17,387 in administrative penalties. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Mark Gamble, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Kinder Morgan Texas Pipeline 
LLC, Docket No. 2022‑0300‑AIR‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$18,750 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect 
of this order may be obtained by contacting Mackenzie Mehlmann, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding TotalEnergies Petrochemicals 
& Refining USA, Inc., Docket No. 2022‑0380‑AIR‑E on August 
16, 2023 assessing $14,250 in administrative penalties with $2,850 
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deferred. Information concerning any aspect of this order may be 
obtained by contacting Johnnie Wu, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 
239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Texas Department of Criminal 
Justice, Docket No. 2022‑0383‑MWD‑E on August 16, 2023 assess-
ing $27,000 in administrative penalties with $5,400 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contact-
ing Laura Draper, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Verner Middleton, Docket No. 
2022‑0554‑MLM‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $8,250 in admin-
istrative penalties with $1,650 deferred. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Karolyn Kent, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding MO-VAC SERVICE COM-
PANY, Docket No. 2022‑0644‑WQ‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$21,231 in administrative penalties with $4,246 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
John Thibodeaux, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Michael Burris and Christine 
Taylor, Docket No. 2022‑0759‑MSW‑E on August 16, 2023 assess-
ing $7,875 in administrative penalties with $1,575 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contact-
ing Johnnie Wu, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Cross Timbers Water Supply 
Corporation, Docket No. 2022‑0980‑PWS‑E on August 16, 2023 
assessing $11,230 in administrative penalties with $2,246 deferred. 
Information concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained 
by contacting Epifanio Villarreal, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 
239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
A default order was adopted regarding SAM RAYBURN WATER, 
INC., Docket No. 2022‑1351‑UTL‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$895 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of 
this order may be obtained by contacting Megan L. Grace, Staff Attor-
ney at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
A default order was adopted regarding SAM RAYBURN WATER, 
INC., Docket No. 2022‑1352‑UTL‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing 
$510 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of 
this order may be obtained by contacting Megan L. Grace, Staff Attor-
ney at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Undine Texas, LLC, Docket 
No. 2022‑1480‑PWS‑E on August 16, 2023 assessing $3,525 in ad-
ministrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order 
may be obtained by contacting Miles Wehner, Enforcement Coordina-
tor at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Treasure Island Municipal Util-
ity District, Docket No. 2022‑1664‑PWS‑E on August 16, 2023 assess-
ing $4,210 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any as-
pect of this order may be obtained by contacting Epifanio Villarreal, 

Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Trinity Rural Water Supply 
Corporation, Docket No. 2023‑0399‑PWS‑E on August 16, 2023 as-
sessing $5,750 in administrative penalties with $5,750 deferred. Infor-
mation concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contact-
ing Ilia Perez-Ramirez, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
TRD-202303005 
Laurie Gharis 
Chief Clerk 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of a Public Meeting and a Proposed Renewal with 
Amendment of General Permit TXR040000 Authorizing the 
Discharge of Stormwater 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commis-
sion) proposes to renew and amend Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimi-
nation System General Permit TXR040000. This general permit autho-
rizes the discharge of stormwater and certain types of non-stormwater 
to surface water in the state from small (Phase II) municipal separate 
storm sewer systems (MS4s). The proposed general permit applies to 
the entire state of Texas. General permits are authorized by Texas Wa-
ter Code, §26.040. 

PROPOSED GENERAL PERMIT. The executive director has pre-
pared a draft general permit renewal with amendments of the existing 
general permit that authorizes the discharge of stormwater and certain 
types of non-stormwater from small MS4s. The proposed changes to 
the general permit include but are not limited to changing the permit-
ting approach from a "two-step general permit" to a "comprehensive 
general permit" as described under the federal 2017 National Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) MS4 General Permit Remand 
Rule (81 FR 89320, Dec. 9, 2016). All the proposed changes to the 
general permit are described in the fact sheet. 

The general permit specifies which small MS4s must obtain permit 
coverage, which are eligible for a waiver from permit coverage based 
on population, and which must obtain individual permit coverage. 
Discharges from small MS4s of stormwater and certain types of 
non-stormwater are eligible for authorization under the general permit 
only if the small MS4 is located within an urban area with a population 
of at least 50,000 people, as defined by the United States Census 
Bureau for the 2000, 2010, or 2020 Decennial Censuses. Small MS4s 
located outside of an urban area with a population of at least 50,000 
people may be designated by the TCEQ as requiring authorization 
and may also be permitted under the general permit. Non-stormwater 
discharges that are not specifically listed in the general permit are 
not authorized. No significant degradation of high-quality waters is 
expected and existing water uses will be maintained and protected. 

Operators of small MS4s seeking authorization under this general per-
mit would be required to submit a Notice of Intent within 180 days fol-
lowing the effective date of this general permit. A Stormwater Man-
agement Program must be developed according to the conditions of 
the comprehensive general permit to reduce the discharge of pollutants 
from the small MS4 to the maximum extent practicable. 

The executive director has reviewed this action for consistency with the 
goals and policies of the Texas Coastal Management Program (CMP) 
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according to General Land Office regulations and has determined that 
the action is consistent with applicable CMP goals and policies. 

A copy of the proposed general permit and fact sheet will be avail-
able for a minimum of 30 days for viewing and copying at the 
TCEQ Office of the Chief Clerk located at the TCEQ Austin of-
fice, at 12100 Park 35 Circle, Building F. These documents will 
also be available at the TCEQ's 16 regional offices and on the 
TCEQ website at https://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/stormwa-
ter/ms4/WQ_ms4_small_TXRO4.html. 

PUBLIC COMMENT AND PUBLIC MEETING. You may submit 
public comments on this proposed general permit in writing or orally at 
the public meeting held by the TCEQ. The purpose of a public meeting 
is to provide the opportunity to submit written or oral comment or to 
ask questions about the proposed general permit. A public meeting is 
not a contested case hearing. 

The hybrid in-person and virtual public meeting will be held at 
1:30 p.m., September 18, 2023, in TCEQ's complex at 12100 Park
35 Circle, Building E, Room 201S, Austin, Texas 78753. 

Information for registering and attending the public meeting vir-
tually is available at https://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/stormwa-
ter/stormwater_stakeholders_group.html. 

Written public comments must be received by the Office of the
Chief Clerk, MC 105, TCEQ, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, TX 78711-
3087 or electronically at https://www14.tceq.texas.gov/epic/eCom-
ment/ by the end of this comment period on September 18, 2023. 

ALTERNATIVE LANGUAGE NOTICE. Alternative language 
notice in Spanish is available at https://www.tceq.texas.gov/per-
mitting/stormwater/ms4/WQ_ms4_small_TXRO4.html. El 
aviso de idioma alternativo en español está disponible 
en https://www.tceq.texas.gov/permitting/stormwa-
ter/ms4/WQ_ms4_small_TXRO4.html. 

MAILING LISTS. In addition to submitting public comments, you 
may ask to be placed on a mailing list to receive future public notices 
mailed by the TCEQ Office of the Chief Clerk. You may request to be 
added to: 1) the mailing list for this specific general permit; 2) the per-
manent mailing list for a specific county; or 3) both. Clearly specify 
the mailing lists to which you wish to be added and send your request 
to the TCEQ Office of the Chief Clerk at the address previously men-
tioned. Unless you otherwise specify, you will be included only on the 
mailing list for this specific general permit. 

INFORMATION. If you need more information about this general 
permit or the permitting process, please call the TCEQ Public Educa-
tion Program, toll free, at 1-800-687-4040. General information about 
the TCEQ can be found at our website at https://www.tceq.texas.gov. 

Persons with disabilities who need special accommodations at the pub-
lic meeting should call the Office of the Chief Clerk at (512) 239-3300 
or (800) RELAY-TX (TDD) at least one week prior to the meeting. 

Further information may also be obtained by calling TCEQ's Water 
Quality Division, Stormwater Team, at (512) 239-4671. 

Si desea información en español, puede llamar al 1-800-687-4040. 
TRD-202303004 
Charmaine Backens 
Deputy Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

Notice of Correction to Agreed Order Number 5 

In the December 2, 2022, issue of the Texas Register (47 TexReg 8061), 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) pub-
lished notice of Agreed Orders, specifically Item Number 5, for COW-
BOY STAR INCORPORATED dba Smith Corner; Docket Number 
2021-1447-PST-E. The error is as submitted by the commission. 

The reference to the penalty should be corrected to read: "$10,025." 

For questions concerning the error, please contact Michael Parrish at 
(512) 239-2548. 
TRD-202302968 
Gitanjali Yadav 
Deputy Director, Litigation 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Costs to Administer the Voluntary Cleanup Program 
and the Innocent Owner/Operator Program 

In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code, §361.613 (pertain-
ing to the Voluntary Cleanup Program (VCP)) and 30 Texas Adminis-
trative Code §333.43 (pertaining to the Innocent Owner/Operator Pro-
gram (IOP)), the executive director of the Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality (TCEQ or commission) annually shall calculate 
the commission's costs to administer the VCP and the IOP, and shall 
publish in the Texas Register the rates established for the purpose of 
identifying the costs recoverable by the commission. The TCEQ has 
calculated and is publishing the bill rate for both the VCP and the IOP 
as $115 per hour for the commission's Fiscal Year 2024. 

The VCP and the IOP are implemented by the same TCEQ staff. There-
fore, a single hourly bill rate for both programs is appropriate. The 
hourly bill rate is determined based upon current projections for staff 
salaries for the Fiscal Year 2024, including the fringe benefit rate and 
the indirect cost rate, minus anticipated federal funding that the com-
mission will receive, and then divided by the estimated number of staff 
hours necessary to complete the program tasks. Fringe benefits include 
retirement, social security, and insurance expenses and are calculated at 
a set rate for the entire agency. The current fringe benefit rate is 38.93% 
of the budgeted salaries. Indirect costs include allowable overhead ex-
penses and also are calculated at a set rate for the entire agency. The 
current indirect cost rate is 34.33% of the budgeted salary. The hourly 
bill rate was calculated and then rounded to the nearest whole dollar 
amount. The commission will use an hourly bill rate of $115 for both 
the VCP and the IOP for the Fiscal Year 2024. After an applicant's ini-
tial $1,000 application fee has been depleted for the VCP or the IOP 
review and oversight costs, invoices will be sent monthly to the appli-
cant, or designee, for payment. 

The commission anticipates receiving federal funding during Fiscal 
Year 2024 for the continued development and enhancement of the VCP 
and the IOP. If the federal funding anticipated for Fiscal Year 2024 does 
not become available, the commission may calculate and publish a new 
hourly bill rate. Federal funding of the VCP and the IOP should occur 
prior to October 1, 2023. 

For more information, please contact Ms. Merrie Smith, P.G., VCP-CA 
Section, Remediation Division, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, MC 221, 12100 Park 35 Circle, Austin, Texas 78753, or call 
(512) 239-5051, or email merrie.smith@tceq.texas.gov. 
TRD-202302976 
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Gitanjali Yadav 
Deputy Director, Litigation 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of District Petition 

Notice issued August 16, 2023 

TCEQ Internal Control No. D-06162023-034; Peacock Capital Hold-
ings, LLC, a Texas Limited Liability Company, (Petitioner) filed a 
petition for creation of Travis County Municipal Utility District No. 
28 (District) with the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
(TCEQ). The petition was filed pursuant to Article XVI, Section 59 
of the Constitution of the State of Texas; Chapters 49 and 54 of the 
Texas Water Code; 30 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 293; and 
the procedural rules of the TCEQ. The petition states that: (1) the Pe-
titioner holds title to a majority in value of the land to be included in 
the proposed District; (2) there is one lienholder, Capital Farm Credit, 
ACA, on the property to be included in the proposed District and the 
aforementioned entity has consented to the creation of the District; (3) 
the proposed District will contain approximately 1,386.774 acres of 
land located within Travis County, Texas; and (4) the land to be in-
cluded in the proposed District is not within the corporate boundaries 
or extraterritorial jurisdiction of any municipality. The petition fur-
ther states that the proposed District will purchase, design, construct, 
acquire, maintain, own, operate, repair, improve and extend a water-
works and sanitary sewer system for residential and commercial pur-
poses, and will perform the construction, acquisition, improvement, ex-
tension, maintenance and operation of works, improvements, facilities, 
plants, equipment and appliances helpful or necessary to provide more 
adequate drainage for the District, and to control, abate and amend local 
storm waters or other harmful excesses of waters, all as more partic-
ularly described in an engineer's report filed simultaneously with the 
filing of this petition, to which reference is hereby made for more de-
tailed description, and such other purchase, construction, acquisition, 
maintenance, ownership, operation, repair, improvement and extension 
of such additional facilities, including roads, park and recreational fa-
cilities, systems, plants and enterprises as shall be consistent with all 
of the purposes for which the District is created. According to the pe-
tition, a preliminary investigation has been made to determine the cost 
of the project, and it is estimated by the Petitioner, from the informa-
tion available at this time, that the cost of said project will be approxi-
mately $35,250,000 (including $24,500,000 for water, wastewater, and 
drainage, $2,750,000 for recreation, and $8,000,000 for roads). 

INFORMATION SECTION 

To view the complete issued notice, view the notice on our web site 
at www.tceq.texas.gov/agency/cc/pub_notice.html or call the Office of 
the Chief Clerk at (512) 239-3300 to obtain a copy of the complete no-
tice. When searching the web site, type in the issued date range shown 
at the top of this document to obtain search results. The TCEQ may 
grant a contested case hearing on the petition if a written hearing re-
quest is filed within 30 days after the newspaper publication of the no-
tice. To request a contested case hearing, you must submit the follow-
ing: (1) your name (or for a group or association, an official representa-
tive), mailing address, daytime phone number, and fax number, if any; 
(2) the name of the Petitioner and the TCEQ Internal Control Number; 
(3) the statement "I/we request a contested case hearing"; (4) a brief 
description of how you would be affected by the petition in a way not 
common to the general public; and (5) the location of your property rel-
ative to the proposed District's boundaries. You may also submit your 
proposed adjustments to the petition. Requests for a contested case 
hearing must be submitted in writing to the Office of the Chief Clerk at 

the address provided in the information section below. The Executive 
Director may approve the petition unless a written request for a con-
tested case hearing is filed within 30 days after the newspaper publica-
tion of this notice. If a hearing request is filed, the Executive Director 
will not approve the petition and will forward the petition and hearing 
request to the TCEQ Commissioners for their consideration at a sched-
uled Commission meeting. If a contested case hearing is held, it will be 
a legal proceeding similar to a civil trial in state district court. Written 
hearing requests should be submitted to the Office of the Chief Clerk, 
MC 105, TCEQ, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087. For in-
formation concerning the hearing process, please contact the Public 
Interest Counsel, MC 103, at the same address. For additional infor-
mation, individual members of the general public may contact the Dis-
tricts Review Team, at (512) 239-4691. Si desea información en es-
pañol, puede llamar al (512) 239-0200. General information regarding 
TCEQ can be found at our web site at www.tceq.texas.gov. 
TRD-202303002 
Laurie Gharis 
Chief Clerk 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of District Petition 

Notice issued August 16, 2023 

TCEQ Internal Control No. D-06132023-022; Terrell Timmermann 
Farms, LP, a Texas limited partnership, (Petitioner) filed a petition for 
creation of Coupland Municipal Utility District No. 1 of Williamson 
County (District) with the Texas Commission on Environmental Qual-
ity (TCEQ). The petition was filed pursuant to Article XVI, §59 of the 
Constitution of the State of Texas; Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas 
Water Code; 30 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 293; and the pro-
cedural rules of the TCEQ. 

The petition states that: (1) the Petitioner holds title to a majority in 
value of the land to be included in the proposed District; (2) there are 
no lienholders on the property to be included in the proposed District; 
(3) the proposed District will contain approximately 281.371 acres lo-
cated within Williamson County, Texas; and (4) all of the land within 
the proposed District is entirely within the extraterritorial jurisdiction 
of the City of Coupland. By Resolution No. 2022-12-8-01, passed and 
approved on January 25, 2023, the City of Coupland, Texas, gave its 
consent to the creation of the proposed District, pursuant to Texas Wa-
ter Code §54.016. The petition further states that the proposed District 
will: (1) purchase, construct, acquire, provide, operate, maintain, re-
pair, improve, or extend, inside or outside of its boundaries, any and all 
works, improvements, facilities, systems, plants, equipment, and appli-
ances necessary or helpful to supply and distribute water for municipal, 
domestic, industrial, and commercial purposes; (2) collect, transport, 
process, dispose of, and control domestic, industrial, and commercial 
wastes; (3) gather, conduct, divert, abate, amend, and control local 
storm water or other local harmful excesses of water or provide ad-
equate drainage in the proposed District; and (4) purchase, construct, 
acquire, provide, operate, maintain, repair, improve, or extend, inside 
or outside of its boundaries, such additional facilities, systems, plants, 
equipment, appliances, and enterprises as shall be consonant with all 
of the purposes for which the proposed District is created. Additional 
work and services which may be performed by the proposed District 
include the purchase, construction, acquisition, provision, operation, 
maintenance, repair, improvement, extension, and development of a 
roadway system and park and recreational facilities for the inhabitants 
of the proposed District. According to the petition, a preliminary in-
vestigation has been made to determine the cost of the project, and it is 
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estimated by the Petitioners that the cost of said project will be approxi-
mately $37,050,000 ($29,000,000 for water, wastewater, and drainage, 
$5,600,000 for roads, and $2,450,000 for recreation). 

INFORMATION SECTION 

To view the complete issued notice, view the notice on our web site 
at www.tceq.texas.gov/agency/cc/pub_notice.html or call the Office of 
the Chief Clerk at (512) 239-3300 to obtain a copy of the complete 
notice. When searching the web site, type in the issued date range 
shown at the top of this document to obtain search results. 

The TCEQ may grant a contested case hearing on the petition if a writ-
ten hearing request is filed within 30 days after the newspaper pub-
lication of the notice. To request a contested case hearing, you must 
submit the following: (1) your name (or for a group or association, an 
official representative), mailing address, daytime phone number, and 
fax number, if any; (2) the name of the Petitioner and the TCEQ Inter-
nal Control Number; (3) the statement "I/we request a contested case 
hearing"; (4) a brief description of how you would be affected by the 
petition in a way not common to the general public; and (5) the lo-
cation of your property relative to the proposed District's boundaries. 
You may also submit your proposed adjustments to the petition. Re-
quests for a contested case hearing must be submitted in writing to the 
Office of the Chief Clerk at the address provided in the information 
section below. The Executive Director may approve the petition un-
less a written request for a contested case hearing is filed within 30 
days after the newspaper publication of this notice. If a hearing re-
quest is filed, the Executive Director will not approve the petition and 
will forward the petition and hearing request to the TCEQ Commis-
sioners for their consideration at a scheduled Commission meeting. If 
a contested case hearing is held, it will be a legal proceeding similar 
to a civil trial in state district court. Written hearing requests should 
be submitted to the Office of the Chief Clerk, MC 105, TCEQ, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087. For information concerning 
the hearing process, please contact the Public Interest Counsel, MC 
103, at the same address. For additional information, individual mem-
bers of the general public may contact the Districts Review Team, at 
(512) 239-4691. Si desea información en español, puede llamar al 
(512) 239-0200. General information regarding TCEQ can be found 
at our web site at www.tceq.texas.gov. 
TRD-202303003 
Laurie Gharis 
Chief Clerk 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Opportunity to Comment on a Shutdown/Default 
Order of an Administrative Enforcement Action 

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commis-
sion) staff is providing an opportunity for written public comment on 
the listed Shutdown/Default Order (S/DO). Texas Water Code (TWC), 
§26.3475, authorizes the commission to order the shutdown of any un-
derground storage tank (UST) system found to be noncompliant with 
release detection, spill and overfill prevention, and/or, after December 
22, 1998, cathodic protection regulations of the commission, until such 
time as the owner/operator brings the UST system into compliance with 
those regulations. The commission proposes a Shutdown Order after 
the owner or operator of a UST facility fails to perform required cor-
rective actions within 30 days after receiving notice of the release de-
tection, spill, and overfill prevention, and/or after December 22, 1998, 
cathodic protection violations documented at the facility. The com-
mission proposes a Default Order when the staff has sent an Executive 

Director's Preliminary Report and Petition (EDPRP) to an entity outlin-
ing the alleged violations, the proposed penalty, the proposed technical 
requirements necessary to bring the entity back into compliance, and 
the entity fails to request a hearing on the matter within 20 days of its 
receipt of the EDPRP or requests a hearing and fails to participate at 
the hearing. In accordance with TWC, §7.075, this notice of the pro-
posed order and the opportunity to comment is published in the Texas 
Register no later than the 30th day before the date on which the pub-
lic comment period closes, which in this case is September 26, 2023. 
The commission will consider any written comments received and the 
commission may withdraw or withhold approval of an S/DO if a com-
ment discloses facts or considerations that indicate that consent to the 
proposed S/DO is inappropriate, improper, inadequate, or inconsistent 
with the requirements of the statutes and rules within the commission's 
jurisdiction, or the commission's orders and permits issued in accor-
dance with the commission's regulatory authority. Additional notice of 
changes to a proposed S/DO is not required to be published if those 
changes are made in response to written comments. 

A copy of the proposed S/DO is available for public inspection at 
both the commission's central office, located at 12100 Park 35 Cir-
cle, Building A, 3rd Floor, Austin, Texas 78753, (512) 239‑3400 and 
at the applicable regional office listed as follows. Written comments 
about the S/DO shall be sent to the attorney designated for the S/DO 
at the commission's central office at P.O. Box 13087, MC 175, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087 and must be received by 5:00 p.m. on September 
26, 2023. The commission's attorney is available to discuss the S/DO 
and/or the comment procedure at the listed phone number; however, 
comments on the S/DO shall be submitted to the commission in writ-
ing. 

(1) COMPANY: Samad Brothers LLC dba Kingsley One Stop Food-
mart; DOCKET NUMBER: 2021-1182-PST-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: 
RN100525195; LOCATION: 2518 West Kingsley Road, Garland, Dal-
las County; TYPE OF FACILITY: UST system and a convenience store 
with retail sales of gasoline; RULES VIOLATED: TWC, §26.3475(a) 
and 30 TAC §334.8(c)(5)(A)(i), by failing to make available to a com-
mon carrier a valid, current TCEQ delivery certificate before accepting 
deliveries of regulated substances into the USTs; TWC, §26.3475(c)(1) 
and 30 TAC §334.50(b)(1)(A), by failing to monitor the USTs for re-
leases in a manner which will detect a release at a frequency of at least 
once every 30 days; 30 TAC §334.51(a)(6), by failing to assure that all 
spill and overfill prevention devices are maintained in good operating 
condition; and 30 TAC §334.605(d), by failing to retrain Class A and B 
operators by January 1, 2020, with a course submitted to and approved 
by TCEQ after April 1, 2018, regardless of the three-year re-training 
requirement; PENALTY: $57,414; STAFF ATTORNEY: Marilyn Nor-
rod, Litigation, MC 175, (512) 239-5916; REGIONAL OFFICE: Dal-
las-Fort Worth Regional Office, 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 
76118-6951, (817) 588-5800. 
TRD-202302970 
Gitanjali Yadav 
Deputy Director, Litigation 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Opportunity to Comment on Agreed Orders of 
Administrative Enforcement Actions 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commis-
sion) staff is providing an opportunity for written public comment on 
the listed Agreed Orders (AOs) in accordance with Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §7.075. TWC, §7.075, requires that before the commission 
may approve the AOs, the commission shall allow the public an op-
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portunity to submit written comments on the proposed AOs. TWC, 
§7.075, requires that notice of the opportunity to comment must be 
published in the Texas Register no later than the 30th day before the 
date on which the public comment period closes, which in this case is 
September 26, 2023. TWC, §7.075, also requires that the commission 
promptly consider any written comments received and that the com-
mission may withdraw or withhold approval of an AO if a comment 
discloses facts or considerations that indicate that consent is inappropri-
ate, improper, inadequate, or inconsistent with the requirements of the 
statutes and rules within the commission's jurisdiction or the commis-
sion's orders and permits issued in accordance with the commission's 
regulatory authority. Additional notice of changes to a proposed AO is 
not required to be published if those changes are made in response to 
written comments. 

A copy of each proposed AO is available for public inspection at both 
the commission's central office, located at 12100 Park 35 Circle, Build-
ing A, 3rd Floor, Austin, Texas 78753, (512) 239‑3400 and at the appli-
cable regional office listed as follows. Written comments about an AO 
should be sent to the attorney designated for the AO at the commission's 
central office at P.O. Box 13087, MC 175, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087 
and must be received by 5:00 p.m. on September 26, 2023. The des-
ignated attorneys are available to discuss the AOs and/or the comment 
procedure at the listed phone numbers; however, TWC, §7.075, pro-
vides that comments on an AO shall be submitted to the commission 
in writing. 

(1) COMPANY: Grand Harbor Water Supply Corporation; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2022-1311-UTL-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: RN104497946; 
LOCATION: south side of County Road 1705, approximately 1,000 
feet west of the intersection of Boy Scout Road and County Road 1705 
near Bridgeport, Wise County; TYPE OF FACILITY: retail public util-
ity, exempt utility, or provider or conveyor of potable or raw water ser-
vice; RULE VIOLATED: TWC, §13.1394(b)(2), by failing to adopt 
and submit to TCEQ for approval an emergency preparedness plan 
that demonstrates the Utility's ability to provide emergency operations; 
PENALTY: $950; STAFF ATTORNEY: Megan L. Grace, Litigation, 
MC 175, (512) 239-3334; REGIONAL OFFICE: Dallas-Fort Worth 
Regional Office, 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76118-6951, 
(817) 588-5800. 

(2) COMPANY: Jeffrey H. Brennan dba P & B Water; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2021-0629-PWS-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: RN102953718; 
LOCATION: 14271 Natalie Street, Houston, Harris County; TYPE OF 
FACILITY: public water system; RULES VIOLATED: TWC, §5.702 
and 30 TAC §291.76, by failing to pay regulatory assessment fees for 
the TCEQ Public Utility Account regarding Certificate of Convenience 
and Necessity Number 12021 for calendar years 2018 - 2020; TWC, 
§5.702 and 30 TAC §290.51(a)(6), by failing to pay annual Public 
Health Service fees and any associated late fees for TCEQ Financial 
Administration Account Number 91010681 for Fiscal Year 2021; 30 
TAC §§290.106(e), 290.107(e), and 290.115(e), by failing to provide 
the results of nitrate, volatile organic chemical contaminants, and 
Stage 2 Disinfection Byproducts sampling to the executive director 
(ED) for the January 1, 2020 - December 31, 2020 monitoring period; 
30 TAC §290.271(b) and §290.274(a) and (c) and TCEQ Agreed Order 
Docket Number 2018-1217-PWS-E, Ordering Provision Numbers 
2.a.ii and 2.b.ii, by failing to mail or directly deliver one copy of the 
Consumer Confidence Report (CCR) to each bill paying customer by 
July 1st of each year, and failing to submit to TCEQ by July 1st of each 
year a copy of the annual CCR and certification that the CCR has been 
distributed to the customers of the facility and that the information in 
the CCR is correct and consistent with compliance monitoring data 
for calendar year 2019; and 30 TAC §290.108(e), by failing to provide 
the results of radionuclides sampling to the ED for the January 1, 2013 
- December 31, 2018 monitoring period; PENALTY: $2,625; STAFF 

ATTORNEY: Clayton Smith, Litigation, MC 175, (512) 239-6224; 
REGIONAL OFFICE: Houston Regional Office, 5425 Polk Street, 
Suite H, Houston, Texas 77023-1452, (713) 767-3500. 

(3) COMPANY: Jonathan Dodd; DOCKET NUMBER: 2021-1193-
WQ-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: RN111130613; LOCATION: east of 
County Road 3451, south of the intersection of County Road 3440 and 
County Road 3451 near Paradise, Wise County; TYPE OF FACILITY: 
construction site; RULES VIOLATED: TWC, §26.121, 40 Code 
of Federal Regulations §122.26(c), and 30 TAC §281.25(a)(4), by 
failing to obtain authorization to discharge stormwater associated with 
construction activities; PENALTY: $4,500; STAFF ATTORNEY: 
Casey Kurnath, Litigation, MC 175, (512) 239-5932; REGIONAL 
OFFICE: Dallas-Fort Worth Regional Office, 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort 
Worth, Texas 76118-6951, (817) 588-5800. 

(4) COMPANY: Michael Ruff dba Premium Sandstone, LLC and 
Premium Sandstone, LLC; DOCKET NUMBER: 2020-1302-WQ-E; 
TCEQ ID NUMBER: RN106222235; LOCATION: northside of 
Interstate Highway 20, two miles east of the intersection of Interstate 
Highway 20 and State Highway 193, Gordon, Palo Pinto County; 
TYPE OF FACILITY: aggregate production operation (APO); RULES 
VIOLATED: 30 TAC §342.25(d), by failing to renew the APO 
registration annually as regulated activities continued; and TWC, 
§26.121(c) and §26.556, and 30 TAC §331.74(a) and §331.75, by fail-
ing to maintain authorization to discharge water associated with quarry 
activities to water in the State located in a water quality protection area 
in the John Graves Scenic Riverway; PENALTY: $21,250; STAFF 
ATTORNEY: David Keagle, Litigation, MC 175, (512) 239-3923; 
REGIONAL OFFICE: Dallas-Fort Worth Regional Office, 2309 
Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76118-6951, (817) 588-5800. 
TRD-202302971 
Gitanjali Yadav 
Deputy Director, Litigation 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Opportunity to Comment on Default Orders of 
Administrative Enforcement Actions 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commis-
sion) staff is providing an opportunity for written public comment on 
the listed Default Orders (DOs). The commission staff proposes a DO 
when the staff has sent the Executive Director's Preliminary Report and 
Petition (EDPRP) to an entity outlining the alleged violations; the pro-
posed penalty; the proposed technical requirements necessary to bring 
the entity back into compliance; and the entity fails to request a hear-
ing on the matter within 20 days of its receipt of the EDPRP or requests 
a hearing and fails to participate at the hearing. Similar to the proce-
dure followed with respect to Agreed Orders entered into by the execu-
tive director of the commission, in accordance with Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §7.075, this notice of the proposed order and the opportunity 
to comment is published in the Texas Register no later than the 30th 
day before the date on which the public comment period closes, which 
in this case is September 26, 2023. The commission will consider 
any written comments received, and the commission may withdraw 
or withhold approval of a DO if a comment discloses facts or consid-
erations that indicate that consent to the proposed DO is inappropri-
ate, improper, inadequate, or inconsistent with the requirements of the 
statutes and rules within the commission's jurisdiction, or the commis-
sion's orders and permits issued in accordance with the commission's 
regulatory authority. Additional notice of changes to a proposed DO is 
not required to be published if those changes are made in response to 
written comments. 
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A copy of each proposed DO is available for public inspection at both 
the commission's central office, located at 12100 Park 35 Circle, Build-
ing A, 3rd Floor, Austin, Texas 78753, (512) 239‑3400 and at the appli-
cable regional office listed as follows. Written comments about the DO 
should be sent to the attorney designated for the DO at the commission's 
central office at P.O. Box 13087, MC 175, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087 
and must be received by 5:00 p.m. on September 26, 2023. The com-
mission's attorneys are available to discuss the DOs and/or the com-
ment procedure at the listed phone numbers; however, TWC, §7.075, 
provides that comments on the DO shall be submitted to the commis-
sion in writing. 

(1) COMPANY: James E. Boyd; DOCKET NUMBER: 2021-0799-
PST-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: RN102059292; LOCATION: Highway 
171 and Farm-to-Market Road 308, Malone, Hill County; TYPE OF 
FACILITY: underground storage tank (UST) system; RULES VIO-
LATED: 30 TAC §334.7(d)(1)(B) and (3), by failing to update the 
UST registration within 30 days from the date of the occurrence of the 
change; and 30 TAC §334.47(a)(2), by failing to permanently remove 
from service, no later than 60 days after the prescribed upgrade im-
plementation date, a UST system for which any applicable component 
of the system is not brought into timely compliance with the upgrade 
requirements; and 30 TAC §334.54(b)(2), by failing to maintain all pip-
ing, pumps, manways, tank access points, and ancillary equipment in a 
capped, plugged, locked, and/or otherwise secured manner to prevent 
access, tampering, or vandalism by unauthorized persons; PENALTY: 
$6,562; STAFF ATTORNEY: Erandi Ratnayake, Litigation, MC 175, 
(512) 239-6515; REGIONAL OFFICE: Waco Regional Office, 6801 
Sanger Avenue, Suite 2500, Waco, Texas 76710-7826, (254) 751-0335. 

(2) COMPANY: Laredo Holdings Investments, LLC; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2021-1637-PWS-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: RN110827730; 
LOCATION: 23183 Interstate Highway 35 near Encinal, Webb 
County; TYPE OF FACILITY: public water system; RULES VIO-
LATED: Texas Health and Safety Code, §341.035(a) and 30 TAC 
§290.39(e)(1) and (h)(1), by failing to submit plans and specifications 
to the executive director for review and approval prior to the con-
struction of a new public water supply; and 30 TAC §290.41(c)(3)(A), 
by failing to submit well completion data for review and approval 
prior to placing the facility's public drinking water well into ser-
vice; PENALTY: $1,020; STAFF ATTORNEY: Erandi Ratnayake, 
Litigation, MC 175, (512) 239-6515; REGIONAL OFFICE: Laredo 
Regional Office, 707 East Calton Road, Suite 304, Laredo, Texas 
78041-3887, (956) 791-6611. 

(3) COMPANY: SRC Water Supply Inc; DOCKET NUMBER: 2022-
1163-UTL-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: RN101174894; LOCATION: 22 
Christi Lane, Krum, Denton County; TYPE OF FACILITY: retail pub-
lic utility, exempt utility, or provider or conveyor of potable or raw 
water service; RULE VIOLATED: TWC, §13.1394(b)(2), by failing 
to adopt and submit to TCEQ for approval an emergency preparedness 
plan that demonstrates the utility's ability to provide emergency oper-
ations; PENALTY: $500; STAFF ATTORNEY: Megan L. Grace, Lit-
igation, MC 175, (512) 239-3334; REGIONAL OFFICE: Dallas-Fort 
Worth Regional Office, 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76118-
6951, (817) 588-5800. 
TRD-202302972 
Gitanjali Yadav 
Deputy Director, Litigation 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Public Meeting Proposed Air Quality Permit Number 
172972 

APPLICATION. Texas Aggregates, LLC., has applied to the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) for: 

Issuance of Permit 172972 

This application would authorize construction of the Rock Crush-
ing Plant located at 301 Farm-to-Market 153, Smithville, Bastrop 
County, Texas 78957. This link to an electronic map of the 
site or facility's general location is provided as a public cour-
tesy and not part of the application or notice. For exact location, 
refer to application. https://gisweb.tceq.texas.gov/LocationMap-
per/?marker=-97.146972,30.027198&level=13. The facility will emit 
the following contaminants: particulate matter including particulate 
matter with diameters of 10 microns or less and 2.5 microns or less. 

This application was submitted to the TCEQ on June 2, 2023. The 
executive director has determined the application is administratively 
complete and will conduct a technical review of the application. 

PUBLIC COMMENT/PUBLIC MEETING. You may submit pub-
lic comments to the Office of the Chief Clerk at the address below. 
The TCEQ will consider all public comments in developing a final de-
cision on the application. A public meeting will be held and will con-
sist of two parts, an Informal Discussion Period and a Formal Com-
ment Period. A public meeting is not a contested case hearing under 
the Administrative Procedure Act. During the Informal Discussion Pe-
riod, the public will be encouraged to ask questions of the applicant 
and TCEQ staff concerning the permit application. The comments and 
questions submitted orally during the Informal Discussion Period will 
not be considered before a decision is reached on the permit applica-
tion, and no formal response will be made. Responses will be provided 
orally during the Informal Discussion Period. During the Formal Com-
ment Period on the permit application, members of the public may state 
their formal comments orally into the official record. At the conclusion 
of the comment period, all formal comments will be considered before 
a decision is reached on the permit application. A written response 
to all formal comments will be prepared by the executive director and 
will be sent to each person who submits a formal comment or who re-
quested to be on the mailing list for this permit application and provides 
a mailing address. Only relevant and material issues raised during the 
Formal Comment Period can be considered if a contested case hearing 
is granted on this permit application. 

The Public Meeting is to be held: 

Monday, September 18, 2023 at 7:00 p.m. 

VFW Post 1309 

557 NW Loop 230 

Smithville, Texas 78957 

INFORMATION. Members of the public are encouraged to 
submit written comments anytime during the public meeting 
or by mail before the close of the public comment period to 
the Office of the Chief Clerk, TCEQ, Mail Code MC-105, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087 or electronically at 
https://www14.tceq.texas.gov/epic/eComment/. If you need more 
information about the permit application or the permitting process, 
please call the TCEQ Public Education Program, toll free, at (800) 
687-4040. General information can be found at our Web site at 
www.tceq.texas.gov. Si desea información en español, puede llamar 
al (800) 687-4040. 

INFORMATION AVAILABLE ONLINE. For details about the sta-
tus of the application, visit the Commissioners' Integrated Database 
(CID) at www.tceq.texas.gov/goto/cid. Once you have access to the 
CID using the link, enter the permit number at the top of this form. 
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The application will be available for viewing and copying at the TCEQ 
central office, the TCEQ Austin regional office, and the Bastrop County 
Clerk's Office, 803 Pine Street, Room 112, Bastrop, Bastrop County. 
The facility's compliance file, if any exists, is available for public re-
view in the Austin regional office of the TCEQ. Further information 
may also be obtained from Texas Aggregates, LLC., P.O. Box MM, 
Bastrop, Texas 78602-1984 or by calling Mr. Paul W. Henry, P.E., En-
gineer, Henry Environmental Services, at (512) 281-6555. 

Persons with disabilities who need special accommodations at the 
meeting should call the Office of the Chief Clerk at (512) 239-3300 
or (800) RELAY-TX (TDD) at least five business days prior to the 
meeting. 

Notice Issuance Date: August 15, 2023 

TRD-202302981 
Laurie Gharis 
Chief Clerk 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Proposal for Decision 

The State Office of Administrative Hearings issued a Proposal for De-
cision and Order to the Texas Commission on Environmental Qual-
ity on August 11, 2023, in the matter of the Executive Director of 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Petitioner v. Ranch 
Hand Apartments, LLC; SOAH Docket No. 582-23-05477; TCEQ 
Docket No. 2022-0063-PWS-E. The commission will consider the Ad-
ministrative Law Judge's Proposal for Decision and Order regarding the 
enforcement action against Ranch Hand Apartments, LLC on a date 
and time to be determined by the Office of the Chief Clerk in Room 
201S of Building E, 12100 N. Interstate 35, Austin, Texas. This post-
ing is Notice of Opportunity to Comment on the Proposal for Decision 
and Order. The comment period will end 30 days from date of this 
publication. Written public comments should be submitted to the Of-
fice of the Chief Clerk, MC-105, TCEQ, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711-3087. If you have any questions or need assistance, please con-
tact Mehgan Taack, Office of the Chief Clerk, (512) 239-3300. 
TRD-202302980 
Laurie Gharis 
Chief Clerk 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
General Land Office 
Notice and Opportunity to Comment on Requests for 
Consistency Agreement/Concurrence Under the Texas Coastal 
Management Program 

On January 10, 1997, the State of Texas received federal approval of the 
Coastal Management Program (CMP) (62 Federal Register pp. 1439 -
1440). Under federal law, federal agency activities and actions affect-
ing the Texas coastal zone must be consistent with the CMP goals and 
policies identified in 31 TAC Chapter 26. Requests for federal consis-
tency review were deemed administratively complete for the following 
project(s) during the period of August 7, 2023 to August 11, 2023. As 
required by federal law, the public is given an opportunity to comment 
on the consistency of proposed activities in the coastal zone undertaken 
or authorized by federal agencies. Pursuant to 31 TAC §§30.20(f), 

30.30(h), and 30.40(e), the public comment period extends 30 days 
from the date published on the Texas General Land Office web site. 
The notice was published on the web site on Friday, August 18, 2023. 
The public comment period for this project will close at 5:00 p.m. on 
Sunday, September 17, 2023. 

Federal License and Permit Activities: 

Applicant: Pasadena Refining Systems, Inc. 

Location: The project site is located in Buffalo Bayou/Houston Ship 
Channel at 111 Red Bluff Road, in Pasadena, Harris County, Texas. 

Latitude and Longitude: 29.726247, -95.210496 

Project Description: The applicant proposes to modify Department 
of the Army (DA) Permit SWG-2023-00226 (formerly 8225-02) by 
adding structural components to improve operational efficiencies of 
the existing terminal dock infrastructure. The project components in-
clude construction of a proposed 19.5-foot by 18.5-foot by 7.5-foot 
ship-gangway platform with one 54-inch-diameter and two 30-inch-di-
ameter pile supports, as well as installation of four proposed catwalks 
as follows: 

- One catwalk extension with six legs connecting to two existing breast-
ing dolphins, the existing dock, and an existing fire monitor on the 
southwest side of the project, supported by a total of fifteen 12-inch-di-
ameter pipe piles, 

- One catwalk to an existing breasting dolphin positioned from north-
east to southeast on the northeast side of the project, which requires a 
36-inch-diameter pile, 

- One catwalk to the proposed gangway positioned northwest to north-
east on the northeast side of the project, and 

- One catwalk positioned from southwest to northeast on the northeast 
side of the project. 

The applicant stated that the purpose of the project is to add to the 
required improvements to the existing infrastructure for the continued 
use of the applicant's existing facility. The modifications would help to 
aid the applicant in operational efficiencies and their strategic corporate 
initiatives. 

The applicant has stated that they have avoided and minimized the en-
vironmental impacts by utilizing existing infrastructure while minimiz-
ing the required construction activity at the project site. The applicant 
also stated that they designed the project to avoid and/or minimize im-
pacts to wetlands and water bottoms to the maximum extent practica-
ble. Additionally, there are no special aquatic sites identified within 
the project boundary. The applicant has not proposed to mitigate for 
the proposed impacts because the project involves the installation of 
structures and there are no impacts to special aquatic sites. 

Type of Application: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers permit applica-
tion # SWG- 2023-00226. This application will be reviewed pursuant 
to Section 10 of the Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899. 

CMP Project No: 23-1355-F1 

Further information on the applications listed above, including a copy 
of the consistency certifications or consistency determinations for in-
spection, may be obtained from the Texas General Land Office Public 
Information Officer at 1700 N. Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas 78701, 
or via email at pialegal@glo.texas.gov. Comments should be sent to the 
Texas General Land Office Coastal Management Program Coordinator 
at the above address or via email at federal.consistency@glo.texas.gov. 
TRD-202302969 
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Mark Havens 
Chief Clerk 
General Land Office 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Notice of Stakeholder Engagement Meetings for Medicaid 
Payment Rates 
MEETINGS. 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) will con-
duct stakeholder engagement meetings on September 14, 2023, to re-
ceive comments on Medicaid payment rate topics that may potentially 
be addressed at the upcoming November 2023 rate hearings. Commen-
tary will be collected solely on the topics listed in this notice. Proposed 
rates will not be published at this time. 

The meetings will be held online only at the following times according 
to topic areas: 

Acute Care Services: September 14, 2023, 9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. 

Long-term Services & Supports: September 14, 2023, 11:30 a.m. -
1:30 p.m. 

To attend online: The meetings will be held online via GoToWebinar. 
Visit the following GoToWebinar link to register to attend one or both 
of the online meetings. After registering, you will receive a confirma-
tion email containing information about joining the webinar. 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7882207977242442838 

Webinar ID: 290-857-683 

HHSC will record the meetings. The recording will be archived and 
can be accessed on-demand at: https://hhs.texas.gov/about-hhs/com-
munications-events/live-archived-meetings. 

HHSC may limit speakers' time to ensure all attendees wishing to 
present public comment are afforded an opportunity to do so. HHSC 
reserves the right to end an engagement meeting if no participants 
have registered to present public comments within the first 30 minutes 
of the meeting. 

TOPICS. 

Below is a list of topics that HHSC will collect commentary for during 
the stakeholder engagement meetings. These topics may potentially be 
presented at the subsequent rate hearing in November 2023. The final 
list of topics to be presented at the November 2023 rate hearing is at 
the discretion of HHSC. 

Acute Care Services - Calendar Fee Review: 

- Allergy Tests; 

- Auditory System Surgery; 

- Autism Services; 

- Blood Products; 

- Cardiovascular Services incl. Cardiography & Echocardiography; 

- Clinical Lab; 

- Dialysis Services; 

- Durable Medical Equipment; 

- Ear, Nose and Throat; 

- Gastroenterology; 

- Intravenous Treatment including Chemotherapy; 

- "K" Codes; 

- Male Genital System Surgery; 

- Medicine (Other); 

- Musculoskeletal System Surgery; 

- Noninvasive Vascular Diagnostic Studies; 

- Nuclear Medicine; 

- Outpatient Behavioral Health Services; 

- Physician Administered Drugs - NDCX; 

- Physician Administered Drugs - Non-Oncology; 

- Physician Administered Drugs - Oncology; 

- Physician Administered Drugs - Vaccines & Toxoids; 

- Pulmonary Services; 

- Radiation Oncology; and 

- Substance Use Disorder Services. 

Acute Care Services - Medical Policy Review: 

- Certified Family Partners; and 

- Vendor Drug Program (VDP) Drug Cleanup. 

Acute Care Services - Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS): 

- Quarterly Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) 
Updates. 

Long-term Services & Supports: 

- Emergency Response Services; and 

- Adult Foster Care 

WRITTEN COMMENTS. 

Written comments regarding the proposed topics may be submitted in 
lieu of, or in addition to, oral comments until 5:00 p.m. the day follow-
ing the meetings, September 15, 2023. Written comments may be sent 
by U.S. mail, overnight mail, fax, or email. 

U.S. Mail: 

Texas Health and Human Services Commission 

Attention: Provider Finance Department 

Mail Code H-400 

P.O. Box 149030 

Austin, Texas 78714-9030 

Overnight mail or special delivery mail: 

Texas Health and Human Services Commission 

Attn: Provider Finance Department 

North Austin Complex 

Mail Code H-400 

4601 Guadalupe St 

Austin, Texas 78751 

Fax: Attention: Provider Finance at (512) 730-7475 

Email: ProviderFinanceDept@hhs.texas.gov 
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PREFERRED COMMUNICATION. 

Email or telephone communication is preferred. 

Persons with disabilities who wish to participate in the hearing and re-
quire auxiliary aids or services should contact Provider Finance at (512) 
730-7401 at least 72 hours before the hearing so appropriate arrange-
ments can be made. 
TRD-202302965 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Company Licensing 

Application for Farmers Mutual Aid Association of Washington 
County, a domestic fire and/or casualty company, to change its name 
to Farmers Mutual Insurance of Washington County. The home office 
is in Brenham, Texas. 

Application for incorporation in the state of Texas for TEXiCARE 
Health Insurance Company, a domestic life, accident and/or health 
company. The home office is in Austin, Texas. 

Application to do business in the state of Texas for CopperPoint Pre-
mier Insurance Company, a foreign fire and/or casualty company. The 
home office is in Phoenix, Arizona. 

Any objections must be filed with the Texas Department of Insurance, 
within twenty (20) calendar days from the date of the Texas Register 
publication, addressed to the attention of John Carter, 1601 Congress 
Ave., Suite 6.900, Austin, Texas 78711. 
TRD-202302997 
Justin Beam 
Chief Clerk 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Notice of Vacancies on Mold Assessment and Remediation 
Advisory Board 

The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Department) 
announces eleven vacancies on the Mold Assessment and Reme-
diation Advisory Board (Board) established by Occupations Code, 
Section 1958.001. The purpose of the Board is to provide advice 
and recommendations to the Texas Commission of Licensing and 
Regulation (Commission) and the Department on technical matters 
relevant to the administration of this chapter, standards or performance 
and work practices for mold assessment or remediation; qualifications 
for the issuance or renewal of a license, including any training or 
continuing education; and other issues affecting mold assessment 
and remediation; rules and educational matters. The Board meets at 
the call of the Executive Director of the Department or the presiding 
officer of the Commission. Service as a Board member is voluntary, 
and compensation is not authorized by law. This announcement is 
for: 

- three members who are licensed and engaged in mold assessment 
as consultants 

- three members who are licensed and engaged in mold remediation 
as contractors 

- two members who are building contractors and principally en-
gaged in home construction and who are members of a statewide 
building trade association 

- one member who is a representative of an insurance industry 

- one member who is a representative of an accredited mold train-
ing provider; and 

- one member who represents the public 

The Board consists of eleven members appointed for staggered six-year 
terms, with the terms of three or four members expiring on February 
1 of each odd-numbered year. by the presiding officer of the Commis-
sion, with the approval of the Commission. The Board is composed of 
the following members: 

- three members who are licensed and engaged in mold assessment 
as consultants 

- three members who are licensed and engaged in mold remediation 
as contractors 

- two members who are building contractors and principally en-
gaged in home construction and who are members of a statewide 
building trade association 

- one member who is a representative of an insurance industry 

- one member who is a representative of an accredited mold train-
ing provider; and 

- one member who represents the public 

Interested persons should complete an application on the Department 
website at: https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/AdvisoryBoard/login.aspx. Ap-
plicants can also request an application from the Department by tele-
phone (800) 803-9202 or e-mail advisory.boards@tdlr.texas.gov. 

These are not paid positions and there is no compensation or reim-
bursement for serving on the committee. 
TRD-202302988 
Mike Arismendez 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Filed: August 16, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Lottery Commission 
Scratch Ticket Game Number 2527 "PINK DIAMONDS" 
1.0 Name and Style of Scratch Ticket Game. 

A. The name of Scratch Ticket Game No. 2527 is "PINK DIA-
MONDS". The play style is "key number match". 

1.1 Price of Scratch Ticket Game. 

A. The price for Scratch Ticket Game No. 2527 shall be $10.00 per 
Scratch Ticket. 

1.2 Definitions in Scratch Ticket Game No. 2527. 

A. Display Printing - That area of the Scratch Ticket outside of the area 
where the overprint and Play Symbols appear. 

B. Latex Overprint - The removable scratch-off covering over the Play 
Symbols on the front of the Scratch Ticket. 
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C. Play Symbol - The printed data under the latex on the front of the 
Scratch Ticket that is used to determine eligibility for a prize. Each 
Play Symbol is printed in Symbol font in black ink in positive except 
for dual-image games. The possible black Play Symbols are: 01, 03, 
04, 06, 07, 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 
24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 
43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 2X SYMBOL, 5X 
SYMBOL, DIAMOND SYMBOL, $10.00, $20.00, $30.00, $50.00, 
$100, $300, $1,000, $10,000 and $250,000. 

D.  Play  Symbol  Caption  - The  printed  material  appearing  below  each  
Play  Symbol  which  explains  the  Play  Symbol.  One  caption  appears  
under  each  Play  Symbol  and  is  printed  in  caption  font  in  black  ink  
in  positive.  The  Play  Symbol  Caption  which  corresponds  with  and  
verifies  each  Play  Symbol  is  as  follows: 
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E. Serial Number - A unique thirteen (13) digit number appearing under 
the latex scratch-off covering on the front of the Scratch Ticket. The 
Serial Number is for validation purposes and cannot be used to play the 
game. The format will be: 0000000000000. 

F. Bar Code - A twenty-four (24) character interleaved two (2) of five 
(5) Bar Code which will include a four (4) digit game ID, the seven 
(7) digit Pack number, the three (3) digit Ticket number and the ten 
(10) digit Validation Number. The Bar Code appears on the back of the 
Scratch Ticket. 

G. Game-Pack-Ticket Number - A fourteen (14) digit number consist-
ing of the four (4) digit game number (2527), a seven (7) digit Pack 
number, and a three (3) digit Ticket number. Ticket numbers start 
with 001 and end with 050 within each Pack. The format will be: 
2527-0000001-001. 

H. Pack - A Pack of the "PINK DIAMONDS" Scratch Ticket Game 
contains 050 Tickets, packed in plastic shrink-wrapping and fanfolded 
in pages of one (1). The back of Ticket 001 will be shown on the front 
of the Pack; the back of Ticket 050 will be revealed on the back of 
the Pack. All Packs will be tightly shrink-wrapped. There will be no 
breaks between the Tickets in a Pack. 

I. Non-Winning Scratch Ticket - A Scratch Ticket which is not pro-
grammed to be a winning Scratch Ticket or a Scratch Ticket that does 
not meet all of the requirements of these Game Procedures, the State 
Lottery Act (Texas Government Code, Chapter 466), and applicable 
rules adopted by the Texas Lottery pursuant to the State Lottery Act 
and referenced in 16 TAC, Chapter 401. 

J. Scratch Ticket Game, Scratch Ticket or Ticket - Texas Lottery "PINK 
DIAMONDS" Scratch Ticket Game No. 2527. 

2.0 Determination of Prize Winners. The determination of prize win-
ners is subject to the general Scratch Ticket validation requirements set 
forth in Texas Lottery Rule 401.302, Scratch Ticket Game Rules, these 
Game Procedures, and the requirements set out on the back of each 
Scratch Ticket. A prize winner in the "PINK DIAMONDS" Scratch 
Ticket Game is determined once the latex on the Scratch Ticket is 
scratched off to expose sixty-six (66) Play Symbols. If a player matches 
any of the YOUR NUMBERS Play Symbols to any of the WINNING 
NUMBERS Play Symbols, the player wins the prize for that number. 
If the player reveals a "DIAMOND" Play Symbol, the player wins the 

prize for that symbol instantly. If the player reveals a "2X" Play Sym-
bol, the player wins DOUBLE the prize for that symbol. If the player 
reveals a "5X" Play Symbol, the player wins 5 TIMES the prize for that 
symbol. No portion of the Display Printing nor any extraneous matter 
whatsoever shall be usable or playable as a part of the Scratch Ticket. 

2.1 Scratch Ticket Validation Requirements. 

A. To be a valid Scratch Ticket, all of the following requirements must 
be met: 

1. Exactly sixty-six (66) Play Symbols must appear under the Latex 
Overprint on the front portion of the Scratch Ticket; 

2. Each of the Play Symbols must have a Play Symbol Caption under-
neath, unless specified, and each Play Symbol must agree with its Play 
Symbol Caption; 

3. Each of the Play Symbols must be present in its entirety and be fully 
legible; 

4. Each of the Play Symbols must be printed in black ink except for 
dual image games; 

5. The Scratch Ticket shall be intact; 

6. The Serial Number and Game-Pack-Ticket Number must be present 
in their entirety and be fully legible; 

7. The Serial Number must correspond, using the Texas Lottery's 
codes, to the Play Symbols on the Scratch Ticket; 

8. The Scratch Ticket must not have a hole punched through it, be 
mutilated, altered, unreadable, reconstituted or tampered with in any 
manner; 

9. The Scratch Ticket must not be counterfeit in whole or in part; 

10. The Scratch Ticket must have been issued by the Texas Lottery in 
an authorized manner; 

11. The Scratch Ticket must not have been stolen, nor appear on any 
list of omitted Scratch Tickets or non-activated Scratch Tickets on file 
at the Texas Lottery; 

12. The Play Symbols, Serial Number and Game-Pack-Ticket Number 
must be right side up and not reversed in any manner; 
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13. The Scratch Ticket must be complete and not miscut, and have 
exactly sixty-six (66) Play Symbols under the Latex Overprint on the 
front portion of the Scratch Ticket, exactly one Serial Number and ex-
actly one Game-Pack-Ticket Number on the Scratch Ticket; 

14. The Serial Number of an apparent winning Scratch Ticket shall cor-
respond with the Texas Lottery's Serial Numbers for winning Scratch 
Tickets, and a Scratch Ticket with that Serial Number shall not have 
been paid previously; 

15. The Scratch Ticket must not be blank or partially blank, misregis-
tered, defective or printed or produced in error; 

16. Each of the sixty-six (66) Play Symbols must be exactly one of 
those described in Section 1.2.C of these Game Procedures; 

17. Each of the sixty-six (66) Play Symbols on the Scratch Ticket must 
be printed in the Symbol font and must correspond precisely to the 
artwork on file at the Texas Lottery; the Scratch Ticket Serial Numbers 
must be printed in the Serial font and must correspond precisely to 
the artwork on file at the Texas Lottery; and the Game-Pack-Ticket 
Number must be printed in the Game-Pack-Ticket Number font and 
must correspond precisely to the artwork on file at the Texas Lottery; 

18. The Display Printing on the Scratch Ticket must be regular in every 
respect and correspond precisely to the artwork on file at the Texas 
Lottery; and 

19. The Scratch Ticket must have been received by the Texas Lottery 
by applicable deadlines. 

B. The Scratch Ticket must pass all additional validation tests provided 
for in these Game Procedures, the Texas Lottery's Rules governing the 
award of prizes of the amount to be validated, and any confidential 
validation and security tests of the Texas Lottery. 

C. Any Scratch Ticket not passing all of the validation requirements is 
void and ineligible for any prize and shall not be paid. However, the 
Executive Director may, solely at the Executive Director's discretion, 
refund the retail sales price of the Scratch Ticket. In the event a de-
fective Scratch Ticket is purchased, the only responsibility or liability 
of the Texas Lottery shall be to replace the defective Scratch Ticket 
with another unplayed Scratch Ticket in that Scratch Ticket Game (or 
a Scratch Ticket of equivalent sales price from any other current Texas 
Lottery Scratch Ticket Game) or refund the retail sales price of the 
Scratch Ticket, solely at the Executive Director's discretion. 

2.2 Programmed Game Parameters. 

A. Consecutive Non-Winning Tickets within a Pack will not have 
matching patterns, in the same order, of Play Symbols or Prize Sym-
bols. 

B. A Ticket can win as indicated by the prize structure. 

C. A Ticket can win up to thirty (30) times. 

D. On winning and Non-Winning Tickets, the top cash prizes of $1,000, 
$10,000 and $250,000 will each appear at least once, except on Tickets 
winning thirty (30) times and with respect to other parameters, play 
action or prize structure. 

E. Non-winning Prize Symbols will not match a winning Prize Symbol 
on a Ticket. 

F. No matching non-winning YOUR NUMBERS Play Symbols will 
appear on a Ticket. 

G. No matching WINNING NUMBERS Play Symbols will appear on 
a Ticket. 

H. Tickets winning more than one (1) time will use as many WIN-
NING NUMBERS Play Symbols as possible to create matches, unless 
restricted by other parameters, play action or prize structure. 

I. On Non-Winning Tickets, a WINNING NUMBERS Play Symbol 
will never match a YOUR NUMBERS Play Symbol. 

J. All YOUR NUMBERS Play Symbols will never equal the corre-
sponding Prize Symbols (i.e., 10 and $10, 20 and $20, 30 and $30 and 
50 and $50). 

K. On all Tickets, a Prize Symbol will not appear more than five (5) 
times, except as required by the prize structure to create multiple wins. 

L. The "DIAMOND" (WIN$) Play Symbol will never appear on the 
same Ticket as the "2X" (DBL) or "5X" (WINX5) Play Symbols. 

M. The "DIAMOND" (WIN$) Play Symbol will win the prize for that 
Play Symbol. 

N. The "DIAMOND" (WIN$) Play Symbol will never appear more 
than once on a Ticket. 

O. The "DIAMOND" (WIN$) Play Symbol will never appear on a Non-
Winning Ticket. 

P. The "DIAMOND" (WIN$) Play Symbol will never appear as a WIN-
NING NUMBERS Play Symbol. 

Q. The "2X" (DBL) Play Symbol will never appear as a WINNING 
NUMBERS Play Symbol. 

R. The "2X" (DBL) Play Symbol will win DOUBLE the prize for that 
Play Symbol and will win as per the prize structure. 

S. The "2X" (DBL) Play Symbol will never appear more than once on 
a Ticket. 

T. The "2X" (DBL) Play Symbol will never appear on a Non-Winning 
Ticket. 

U. The "5X" (WINX5) Play Symbol will never appear as a WINNING 
NUMBERS Play Symbol. 

V. The "5X" (WINX5) Play Symbol will win 5 TIMES the prize for 
that Play Symbol and will win as per the prize structure. 

W. The "5X" (WINX5) Play Symbol will never appear more than once 
on a Ticket. 

X. The "5X" (WINX5) Play Symbol will never appear on a Non-Win-
ning Ticket. 

Y. The "2X" (DBL) and "5X" (WINX5) Play Symbols can appear on 
the same winning Ticket, as per the prize structure. 

2.3 Procedure for Claiming Prizes. 

A. To claim a "PINK DIAMONDS" Scratch Ticket Game prize of 
$10.00, $20.00, $30.00, $50.00, $100 or $300, a claimant shall sign 
the back of the Scratch Ticket in the space designated on the Scratch 
Ticket and may present the winning Scratch Ticket to any Texas Lot-
tery Retailer. The Texas Lottery Retailer shall verify the claim and, 
if valid, and upon presentation of proper identification, if appropriate, 
make payment of the amount due the claimant and physically void the 
Scratch Ticket; provided that the Texas Lottery Retailer may, but is 
not required, to pay a $30.00, $50.00, $100 or $300 Scratch Ticket 
Game. In the event the Texas Lottery Retailer cannot verify the claim, 
the Texas Lottery Retailer shall provide the claimant with a claim form 
and instruct the claimant on how to file a claim with the Texas Lottery. 
If the claim is validated by the Texas Lottery, a check shall be for-
warded to the claimant in the amount due. In the event the claim is not 
validated, the claim shall be denied and the claimant shall be notified 
promptly. A claimant may also claim any of the above prizes under the 
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procedure described in Section 2.3.B and Section 2.3.C of these Game 
Procedures. 

B. To claim a "PINK DIAMONDS" Scratch Ticket Game prize of 
$1,000, $10,000 or $250,000, the claimant must sign the winning 
Scratch Ticket and may present it at one of the Texas Lottery's Claim 
Centers. If the claim is validated by the Texas Lottery, payment will 
be made to the bearer of the validated winning Scratch Ticket for that 
prize upon presentation of proper identification. When paying a prize 
of $600 or more, the Texas Lottery shall file the appropriate income 
reporting form with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and shall 
withhold federal income tax at a rate set by the IRS if required. In the 
event that the claim is not validated by the Texas Lottery, the claim 
shall be denied and the claimant shall be notified promptly. 

C. As an alternative method of claiming a "PINK DIAMONDS" 
Scratch Ticket Game prize the claimant may submit the signed win-
ning Scratch Ticket and a thoroughly completed claim form via mail. 
If a prize value is $1,000,000 or more, the claimant must also provide 
proof of Social Security number or Tax Payer Identification (for U.S. 
Citizens or Resident Aliens). Mail all to: Texas Lottery Commission, 
P.O. Box 16600, Austin, Texas 78761-6600. The Texas Lottery is not 
responsible for Scratch Tickets lost in the mail. In the event that the 
claim is not validated by the Texas Lottery, the claim shall be denied 
and the claimant shall be notified promptly. 

D. Prior to payment by the Texas Lottery of any prize, the Texas Lottery 
shall deduct the amount of a delinquent tax or other money from the 
winnings of a prize winner who has been finally determined to be: 

1. delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money to a state agency 
and that delinquency is reported to the Comptroller under Government 
Code §403.055; 

2. in default on a loan made under Chapter 52, Education Code; 

3. in default on a loan guaranteed under Chapter 57, Education Code; 
or 

4. delinquent in child support payments in the amount determined by 
a court or a Title IV-D agency under Chapter 231, Family Code. 

E. If a person is indebted or owes delinquent taxes to the State, other 
than those specified in the preceding paragraph, the winnings of a per-
son shall be withheld until the debt or taxes are paid. 

2.4 Allowance for Delay of Payment. The Texas Lottery may delay 
payment of the prize pending a final determination by the Executive 
Director, under any of the following circumstances: 

A. if a dispute occurs, or it appears likely that a dispute may occur, 
regarding the prize; 

B. if there is any question regarding the identity of the claimant; 

C. if there is any question regarding the validity of the Scratch Ticket 
presented for payment; or 

D. if the claim is subject to any deduction from the payment otherwise 
due, as described in Section 2.3.D of these Game Procedures. No lia-
bility for interest for any delay shall accrue to the benefit of the claimant 
pending payment of the claim. 

2.5 Payment of Prizes to Persons Under 18. If a person under the age 
of 18 years is entitled to a cash prize under $600 from the "PINK DI-
AMONDS" Scratch Ticket Game, the Texas Lottery shall deliver to an 
adult member of the minor's family or the minor's guardian a check or 
warrant in the amount of the prize payable to the order of the minor. 

2.6 If a person under the age of 18 years is entitled to a cash prize of 
$600 or more from the "PINK DIAMONDS" Scratch Ticket Game, the 
Texas Lottery shall deposit the amount of the prize in a custodial bank 
account, with an adult member of the minor's family or the minor's 
guardian serving as custodian for the minor. 

2.7 Scratch Ticket Claim Period. All Scratch Ticket prizes must be 
claimed within 180 days following the end of the Scratch Ticket Game 
or within the applicable time period for certain eligible military person-
nel as set forth in Texas Government Code §466.408. Any rights to a 
prize that is not claimed within that period, and in the manner specified 
in these Game Procedures and on the back of each Scratch Ticket, shall 
be forfeited. 

2.8 Disclaimer. The number of prizes in a game is approximate based 
on the number of Scratch Tickets ordered. The number of actual prizes 
available in a game may vary based on number of Scratch Tickets man-
ufactured, testing, distribution, sales and number of prizes claimed. A 
Scratch Ticket Game may continue to be sold even when all the top 
prizes have been claimed. 

3.0 Scratch Ticket Ownership. 

A. Until such time as a signature is placed upon the back portion of a 
Scratch Ticket in the space designated, a Scratch Ticket shall be owned 
by the physical possessor of said Scratch Ticket. When a signature is 
placed on the back of the Scratch Ticket in the space designated, the 
player whose signature appears in that area shall be the owner of the 
Scratch Ticket and shall be entitled to any prize attributable thereto. 
Notwithstanding any name or names submitted on a claim form, the 
Executive Director shall make payment to the player whose signature 
appears on the back of the Scratch Ticket in the space designated. If 
more than one name appears on the back of the Scratch Ticket, the 
Executive Director will require that one of those players whose name 
appears thereon be designated by such players to receive payment. 

B. The Texas Lottery shall not be responsible for lost or stolen Scratch 
Tickets and shall not be required to pay on a lost or stolen Scratch 
Ticket. 

4.0  Number  and  Value  of  Scratch  Prizes.  There  will  be  approximately  
8,040,000  Scratch  Tickets  in  Scratch  Ticket  Game  No.  2527.  The  ap-
proximate  number  and  value  of  prizes  in  the  game  are  as  follows: 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

A. The actual number of Scratch Tickets in the game may be increased 
or decreased at the sole discretion of the Texas Lottery Commission. 

5.0 End of the Scratch Ticket Game. The Executive Director may, at 
any time, announce a closing date (end date) for the Scratch Ticket 
Game No. 2527 without advance notice, at which point no further 
Scratch Tickets in that game may be sold. The determination of the 
closing date and reasons for closing will be made in accordance with the 
Scratch Ticket closing procedures and the Scratch Ticket Game Rules. 
See 16 TAC §401.302(j). 

6.0 Governing Law. In purchasing a Scratch Ticket, the player agrees to 
comply with, and abide by, these Game Procedures for Scratch Ticket 
Game No. 2527, the State Lottery Act (Texas Government Code, Chap-
ter 466), applicable rules adopted by the Texas Lottery pursuant to the 
State Lottery Act and referenced in 16 TAC, Chapter 401, and all final 
decisions of the Executive Director. 
TRD-202302966 
Bob Biard 
General Counsel 
Texas Lottery Commission 
Filed: August 15, 2023 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Workforce Solutions North Texas 
RFP 2023-010 WSNT Program Monitoring Services 

Workforce Resource, Inc. dba Workforce Solutions North Texas Board 
(WSNT) is soliciting proposals from qualified entities to perform pro-
gram monitoring services of its contractors to satisfy Board's contract 
obligations with the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) and the 
U.S. Department of Labor (DOL). Monitoring shall be consistent with 
the requirements set forth in the TWC Financial Manual for Grants 
and Contracts and Texas Administrative Code Chapter 802. Specif-
ically, the RFP is soliciting entities who will monitor the following 
programs: Child Care, WIOA programs, TANF/Choices, SNAP and 
Trade Adjustment Act (TAA). The Respondent must be willing to 
monitor other applicable programs. If programs are added additional 
costs will be negotiated. The Board's case file system is completely 
paperless. Nearly all, if not all, monitoring could be accomplished 
remotely. WSNT serves the Texas Counties of Archer, Baylor, Clay, 
Cottle, Foard, Hardeman, Jack, Montague, Wichita, Wilbarger, and 
Young. The RFP can be found on website at https://ntxworksolu-
tions.org/business-opportunities/. Deadline for questions is August 25, 
2023, by 5:00 p.m. Proposals are due no later than 4:00 p.m. (CDT) 
Friday, September 8, 2023, to email wsb@ntxworksolutions.org. 
TRD-202302917 
Sharon Hulcy 
Contract Manager 
Workforce Solutions North Texas 
Filed: August 10, 2023 
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How to Use the  Texas Register 
 Information  Available: The sections of the Texas Register  
represent various facets of state government. Documents contained  
within them include:  
 Governor - Appointments, executive orders, and  
proclamations. 
 Attorney  General - summaries of requests f or opinions, 
opinions, and open  records decisions. 
 Texas Ethics Commission  - summaries of requests for 
opinions and opinions.  
 Emergency   Rules  - sections adopted by  state agencies on an  
emergency basis.  
 Proposed Rules - sections proposed for  adoption.  
 Withdrawn Rules - sections  withdrawn by state agencies  
from consideration for adop tion,  or automatically withdrawn by   
the Texas  Register six months  after the proposal publication date.  
 Adopted Rules - sections adopted following public comment 
period. 
 Texas Department  of Insurance Exempt  Filings   - notices of  
actions taken by the Texas Department of Insurance pursuant to 
Chapter 5, Subchapter L of  the Insurance Code. 
 Review  of Agency  Rules - notices  of state  agency  rules 
review. 
 Tables  and Graphics  - graphic material from the proposed, 
emergency  and adopted sections. 
 Transferred Rules  - notice that the Legislature has  
transferred rules within the  Texas Administrative Code from one 
state agency to another, or directed the Secretary  of State to  
remove the rules of an abolished  agency.  
 In Addition  - miscellaneous  information required to be 
published by statute or provided  as a public service. 
 Specific explanation  on the contents of each section can be  
found on the beginning page of the section. The division also  
publishes cumulative quarterly and annual indexes to aid in  
researching material published.  
 
How  to Cite:  Material published  in the Texas Register  is 
referenced by  citing the volume in which the document appears, 
the words “TexReg” and the beginning page number on which that 
document was published. For example, a document published  on  
page 2402 of Volume 48  (2023) is cited as follows: 48  TexReg 
2402. 
 
In order that  readers may cite material more easily, page numbers  
are  now  written  as  citations.  Example:  on  page  2  in  the  lower- 
left hand corner of the page, would be written “48  TexReg  2 
issue  date,”  while  on  the  opposite  page,  page  3,  in  the  lower 
right-hand corner, would be written “issue date 4 8 TexReg 3.” 
 
How  to Research: The public is invited to research  rules and 
information of interest between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays  at the  
Texas Register  office, James Earl Rudder Building, 1019 Brazos, 
Austin. Material can be found using Texas Register  indexes, the 
Texas Administrative Code section numbers, or  TRD number.  
 
Both the Texas Register  and the Texas Administrative Code  are 
available online at: http://www.sos.state.tx.us.  The Texas  Register  
is available in an .html version as  well as a .pdf  version through 
the internet. For website information, call the Texas Register at  
(512)  463-5561. 

Texas Administrative Code 
The Texas Administrative Code  (TAC) is the compilation of  

all final state  agency rules published in the  Texas Register. 
Following its effective date, a rule is entered into the Texas  
Administrative Code. Emergency rules, which may be adopted by  
an agency  on an interim basis,  are not codified within the TAC. 
 

The TAC volumes are arranged into Titles and Parts (using 
Arabic numerals). The Titles  are broad subject categories into 
which the agencies are grouped as a matter of convenience. Each  
Part represents  an individual state agency. 
 
 The complete  TAC is available through the Secretary of  
State’s website at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac.   
 
 The Titles of the  TAC, and their  respective Title  numbers  are:  
 

1. Administration  
4. Agriculture  
7. Banking and Securities  
10. Community  Development 
13. Cultural Resources  
16. Economic Regulation  
19.  Education 
22. Examining Boards 
25. Health  Services  

  26. Health and  Human Services  
28. Insurance 
30. Environmental Quality 

  31. Natural Resources and Conservation  
34. Public Finance 

  37. Public Safety and Corr ections  
  40. Social Services and Assistance  

43. Transportation 
 
How to Cite: Under the TAC scheme, each section is designated  
by a  TAC number. For example in the citation  1 TAC §27.15: 1  
indicates the title under which the  agency appears in the Texas  
Administrative Code; TAC stands for the Texas Administrative  
Code; §27.15 is the section number of the rule (27 indicates that 
the section is under Chapter 27 of Title 1; 15 represents the 
individual section within the chapter).  
 
How to Update: To find out if a rule has changed since the 
publication of the current supplement to the Texas Administrative  
Code, please look at the Index of  Rules. 
 
The Index of Rules is published cumulatively  in the blue-cover 
quarterly indexes to the Texas Register. 
 
If a rule has changed during the time period covered by the table, 
the rule’s TAC number will be printed with the Texas Register 
page number and a notation indicating the type of filing 
(emergency, proposed, withdrawn, or adopted) as shown in the 
following example.  
 
 TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 
 Part 4. Office of the Secretary of State 
 Chapter 91. Texas Register 
 1 TAC §91.1……..........................................950 (P)  

http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac
http:http://www.sos.state.tx.us


  

             
   

        
 

  
             

 

SALES AND CUSTOMER SUPPORT 

Sales - To purchase subscriptions or back issues, you may contact LexisNexis Sales at 
1-800-223-1940 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Central Time, Monday through Friday. Subscription 
cost is $502 annually for first-class mail delivery and $340 annually for second-class 
mail delivery. 

Customer Support - For questions concerning your subscription or account information, 
you may contact LexisNexis Matthew Bender Customer Support from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., 
Central Time, Monday through Friday. 

Phone: (800) 833-9844 
Fax: (518) 487-3584 
E-mail: customer.support@lexisnexis.com 
Website: www.lexisnexis.com/printcdsc 

www.lexisnexis.com/printcdsc
mailto:customer.support@lexisnexis.com
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