EMERGENCY.

‘RULE

Emergency Rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and the repeals of existing
rules. A state agency may adopt an emergency rule without prior notice or hearing if the agency
finds that an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare, or a requirement of state or

federal law, requires adoption of a rule on fewer than 30 days' notice. An emergency rule may be effective for not longer than
120 days and may be renewed once for not longer than 60 days (Government Code, §2001.034).

TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 448. STANDARD OF CARE
SUBCHAPTER F. PERSONNEL PRACTICES
AND DEVELOPMENT

25 TAC §448.603

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC) adopts on an emergency basis
in Title 25 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 448 Standard of
Care, an amendment to §448.603, concerning an emergency
rule in response to COVID-19 in order to expand a licensed
Chemical Dependency Treatment Facility's (CDTF) ability to pro-
vide abuse, neglect, and exploitation training and Nonviolent Cri-
sis Intervention training to staff through live, interactive, instruc-
tor-led, electronic means, performed using synchronous audio-
visual interaction, to reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission.

As authorized by Texas Government Code §2001.034, the
Commission may adopt an emergency rule without prior notice
or hearing upon finding that an imminent peril to the public
health, safety, or welfare requires adoption on fewer than 30
days' notice. Emergency rules adopted under Government
Code §2001.034 may be effective for not longer than 120 days
and may be renewed for not longer than 60 days.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The purpose of the emergency rulemaking is to support the
Governor's March 13, 2020, proclamation certifying that the
COVID-19 virus poses an imminent threat of disaster in the state
and declaring a state of disaster for all counties in Texas. In this
proclamation, the Governor authorized the use of all available
resources of state government and of political subdivisions that
are reasonably necessary to cope with this disaster and di-
rected that government entities and businesses would continue
providing essential services. The Commission accordingly finds
that an imminent peril to the public health, safety, and welfare
of the state requires immediate adoption of this amendment to
§448.603, Training.

To protect patients and the public health, safety, and welfare
of the state during the COVID-19 pandemic, HHSC is adopting
an emergency rule amendment to §448.603(d)(1) to temporarily
permit a licensed CDTF to provide abuse, neglect, and exploita-
tion training to staff through live, interactive, instructor-led, elec-
tronic means, performed using a synchronous audiovisual inter-
action, to reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission. HHSC is
also adopting an emergency rule amendment to §448.603(d)(4)

to temporarily permit a licensed CDTF to provide Nonviolent Cri-
sis Intervention training to staff through live, interactive, instruc-
tor-led, electronic means, performed using a synchronous audio-
visual interaction, to reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission.
There are no other changes to §448.603.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The emergency rulemaking is adopted under Government
Code §2001.034 and §531.0055 and Health and Safety Code
§464.009. Texas Government Code §2001.034 authorizes the
adoption of emergency rules without prior notice and hearing,
if an agency finds that an imminent peril to the public health,
safety, or welfare requires adoption of a rule on fewer than 30
days' notice. Texas Government Code §531.0055 authorizes
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules and
policies necessary for the operation and provision of health
and human services by the health and human services system.
Health and Safety Code §464.009, authorizes the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules governing organization
and structure, policies and procedures, staffing requirements,
services, client rights, records, physical plant requirements, and
standards for licensed CDTFs.

This emergency rule amendment implements Government Code
§531.0055 and Health and Safety Code §464.009.

§448.603.
(a) - (¢) (No change.)

(d) The following initial training(s) must be received within
the first 90 days of employment and must be completed before the em-
ployee can perform a function to which the specific training is applica-
ble. Subsequent training must be completed as specified.

Training.

(1) Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation. All residential
program personnel with any direct client contact shall receive eight
hours of live, interactive, instructor-led, electronic or face-to-face
abuse, neglect, and exploitation training [as deseribed in Figure:
herein as if set forth at length]. All outpatient program personnel with
any direct client contact shall receive [reeeived] two hours of live,
interactive, instructor-led, electronic or face-to-face abuse, neglect,
and exploitation training.

Figure: 25 TAC §448.603(d)(1) (No change.)

(2)-(3) (No change.)

(4) Nonviolent Crisis Intervention. All direct care staff
in residential programs and outpatient programs shall receive this
training. The live, interactive, instructor-led, electronic or face-to-face
training shall teach staff how to use verbal and other non-physical
methods for prevention, early intervention, and crisis management.
The instructor shall have documented successful completion of a
course for crisis intervention instructors or have equivalent docu-
mented training and experience.
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(A) The initial training shall be four hours in length.

(B) Staff shall complete two hours of annual training
thereafter.

(5) - (7) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 31, 2020.

TRD-202003118

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: July 31, 2020

Expiration date: November 27, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 834-4591
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