EMERGENCY.

‘RULE

Emergency Rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and the repeals of existing
rules. A state agency may adopt an emergency rule without prior notice or hearing if the agency
finds that an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare, or a requirement of state or

federal law, requires adoption of a rule on fewer than 30 days' notice. An emergency rule may be effective for not longer than
120 days and may be renewed once for not longer than 60 days (Government Code, §2001.034).

TITLE 43. TRANSPORTATION

PART 10. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
MOTOR VEHICLES

CHAPTER 224. ADJUDICATIVE PRACTICE
AND PROCEDURE

SUBCHAPTER D. MOTOR CARRIER AND

OVERSIZE OR OVERWEIGHT VEHICLE OR
LOAD ENFORCEMENT

43 TAC §§224.116, 224.121, 224.124

INTRODUCTION. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
(department) adopts, on an emergency basis, revisions to 43
Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 224, Subchapter
D, Motor Carrier and Oversize or Overweight Vehicle or Load
Enforcement, by amending §224.116 and §224.124, and adding
new §224.121, regarding the requirements and procedures
under Transportation Code, §643.2526. The amendments and
new section are necessary to implement House Bill (HB) 1672,
89th Legislature, Regular Session (2025). Adopted amend-
ments are also necessary to clean up the rule text.

Government Code, §2001.034 authorizes a state agency to
adopt an emergency rule without prior notice or hearing if the
agency finds that a requirement of state law requires adoption of
a rule on fewer than 30 days' notice. Emergency rules adopted
under Government Code, §2001.034 may not be effective for
longer than 120 days and may not be renewed for longer than
60 days.

EXPLANATION.

This emergency rulemaking is necessary because HB 1672 be-
came effective on May 24, 2025, and requires the department to
adopt rules to create the requirements and procedures for the fol-
lowing under Transportation Code, §643.2526: 1) the revocation
or suspension of a motor carrier's registration; 2) the placement
of a motor carrier on probation whose registration is suspended;
and 3) the motor carrier's appeal of the revocation, suspension
or probation. The board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehi-
cles (board) did not meet in May or June of 2025 to approve the
adoption of these emergency rules. The board met on July 10,
2025, and approved the adoption of these emergency rules.

Adopted amendments to §224.116 implement HB 1672 by
modifying the title of the section and adding new subsection (h)
to clarify that these administrative procedures do not apply to
a proceeding under Transportation Code, §643.2526. Section
224 116 provides the administrative procedures for a proceed-
ing under laws that require the department to provide written
notice to the person and an opportunity for the person to request
a hearing before the department takes an administrative action

against the person. Because Transportation Code, §643.2526
states that a department action under §643.2526 is not required
to be preceded by notice and an opportunity for hearing, the
department adopts amendments to §224.116 to clarify that
this section does not apply to a proceeding under §643.2526.
Adopted amendments to §224.116(a) are also necessary to
clean up the rule text by adding a hyphen to the term "first class
mail" to read "first-class mail."

Adopted new §224.121 and amendments to §224.124 are
necessary to implement amendments made by HB 1672
to Transportation Code, §643.2526. Sections 224.121 and
224.124 govern the requirements and procedures under Trans-
portation Code, §643.2526, which authorizes the department to
deny an application for registration, renewal of registration, or
reregistration under Transportation Code, Chapter 643 (Motor
Carrier Registration) prior to providing the person with notice
and an opportunity for hearing. Upon request by the Texas
Department of Public Safety (DPS) under Transportation Code,
§643.252(b), and prior to providing the person with notice and
an opportunity for hearing, the department is also authorized
under Transportation Code, §643.2526 to revoke or suspend
the registration of a motor carrier or to place a motor carrier on
probation whose registration is suspended, if the motor carrier
has an unsatisfactory safety rating under 49 C.F.R. Part 385
(Safety Fitness Procedures), which is determined by the Fed-
eral Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA); or multiple
violations of Transportation Code, Chapter 644 (Commercial
Motor Vehicle Safety Standards), a rule adopted under Chapter
644, or Subtitle C (Rules of the Road) of Transportation Code,
Title 7 (Vehicles and Traffic), which is determined by DPS. The
references to registration under Transportation Code, Chapter
643 are references to operating authority to operate as a motor
carrier, rather than vehicle registration under Transportation
Code, Chapter 502.

Adopted new §224.121 is necessary to provide the requirements
and procedures regarding the department's action under Trans-
portation Code, §643.2526. Adopted new §224.121(a) states
that the department will only revoke a motor carrier's registration
under Transportation Code, §643.2526 pursuant to a request
from DPS under Transportation Code, §643.252(b). Although
Transportation Code, §643.252(b) authorizes DPS to request the
department to suspend or revoke a registration issued to a mo-
tor carrier under Transportation Code, Chapter 643, or to place
on probation a motor carrier whose registration is suspended,
the department will only revoke the registration of a motor car-
rier under Transportation Code, §643.252(b). The department's
current system is not programmed to suspend a motor carrier's
registration, so revocation is the only option.

Also, the DPS rule regarding DPS's request to the depart-
ment under Transportation Code, §643.252(b) only refers to
a revocation of the motor carrier's registration. See 37 TAC
§4.19(a). Transportation Code, §644.051(b) states that a DPS
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rule adopted under Transportation Code, Chapter 644 must be
consistent with federal regulations. Section 4.19(a), which was
adopted under the DPS rulemaking authority in Transportation
Code, §644.051, is consistent with 49 C.F.R. §385.13(e), which
states that if an interstate motor carrier has a final unsatisfactory
safety rating, FMCSA will provide notice to the motor carrier
and issue an order revoking the motor carrier's interstate regis-
tration, which is also known as operating authority to operate as
a motor carrier in interstate transportation. Because DPS does
not administer Transportation Code, Chapter 643, DPS must
request the department to revoke a motor carrier's registration
for intrastate transportation.

Adopted new §224.121(a) also states that the department will
not take action under Transportation Code, §643.252(b) until
FMCSA or DPS, as applicable, issues an order regarding the
laws referenced in §643.252(b). This requirement is necessary
to help protect the person's due process rights because Trans-
portation Code, §643.2526 authorizes the department to take
action against the person prior to providing notice and an op-
portunity for a hearing. FMCSA and DPS are required to comply
with the due process requirements under the laws that govern
their actions when issuing an order under the laws referenced
in Transportation Code, §643.252(b). The process set out in
adopted new §224.121(a) ensures that while a motor carrier may
not receive notice and an opportunity for a hearing from the de-
partment before the department revokes the motor carrier's reg-
istration, the motor carrier should have received full due process
on the same factual and legal allegations from either FMCSA or
DPS.

The FMCSA order under 49 C.F.R. §385.13(d)(1) is called an
out-of-service order, which prohibits the motor carrier from en-
gaging in interstate transportation. See 49 U.S.C. §31144(c) and
49 C.F.R. §385.1(a) and §385.13(d)(1). The FMCSA procedures
and proceedings regarding an out-of-service order are governed
by 49 U.S.C. §31144, 49 C.F.R. Part 385 (Safety Fitness Proce-
dures), and 49 C.F.R. Part 386 (Rules of Practice for FMCSA
Proceedings).

The DPS order under Transportation Code, §644.155 and 37
TAC §4.15 is called an order to cease, which prohibits the motor
carrier from operating a commercial motor vehicle in intrastate
transportation. The DPS proceedings regarding an order to
cease are governed by 37 TAC §4.15 and §4.18. The DPS order
to cease tells the motor carrier that it must immediately cease
all intrastate transportation until such time as DPS determines
the motor carrier's safety rating is no longer unsatisfactory.

Adopted new §224.121(b) states that the department will issue
notice of the department's action under Transportation Code,
§643.2526 to the person by email and first-class mail using the
person's last known address in the department's records. The
notice requirements under Government Code, §2001.054(c) do
not apply to the department's notice regarding the department's
action under Transportation Code, §643.2526 because Trans-
portation Code, §643.2526(a) says that the department's action
under Transportation Code, §643.252(b) is not required to be
preceded by notice and an opportunity for hearing, notwithstand-
ing other law. Also, the motor carrier should have already re-
ceived due process under the DPS or FMCSA proceeding that
resulted in an order to cease or out-of-service order, respectively.

Adopted amendments to §224.124 implement HB 1672 by mod-
ifying the title of the section to refer to an appeal of a depart-
ment action. Adopted amendments to §224.124 delete subsec-
tion (a), and amend existing subsections (b) and (c) to expand

the scope of the rule to be consistent with the expanded scope of
Transportation Code, §643.2526, as amended by HB 1672. An
adopted amendment to existing subsection (b) clarifies that Sub-
chapter E of Chapter 224 of this title is not the only subchapter
in Chapter 224 that would apply to an appeal to the department
under Transportation Code, §643.2526. Adopted amendments
re-letter existing subsections (b), (c), and (d) due to the deletion
of subsection (a).

Adopted new §224.124(d) states that on appeal under Trans-
portation Code, §643.2526, the department will not rescind a re-
vocation under Transportation Code, §643.252(b), based on the
motor carrier taking corrective action that results in an upgrade to
its unsatisfactory safety rating after the department issued notice
to the motor carrier that it revoked the motor carrier's registration.
DPS wants the department to immediately revoke a motor car-
rier's registration under Transportation Code, Chapter 643 once
DPS requests the department to revoke under Transportation
Code, §643.252(b). The department will not wait to see if the
motor carrier takes either of the following actions prior to revok-
ing the motor carrier's registration: 1) requests DPS or FMCSA,
as applicable, to change the final safety rating or to conduct a
review regarding the final safety rating; or 2) appeals their final
safety rating to a court under the laws that govern the DPS or
FMCSA order, as applicable.

FMCSA's regulation states that a motor carrier that has taken
action to correct the deficiencies that resulted in a final rating of
"unsatisfactory" may request a rating change at any time. See 49
C.F.R. §385.17(a). Another FMCSA regulation states as follows:
1) that a motor carrier may request FMCSA to conduct an admin-
istrative review if it believes that FMCSA committed an error in
assigning the final safety rating; 2) that FMCSA's decision un-
der the administrative review constitutes the final agency action;
and 3) that a motor carrier may request a rating change under the
provisions of 49 C.F.R. §385.17. See 49 C.F.R. §385.15. In addi-
tion, federal law authorizes the motor carrier to appeal FMCSA's
final order to the applicable United States Court of Appeals un-
der 49 U.S.C. §521(b)(9) and 49 C.F.R. §386.67. Therefore, it
is possible that FMCSA could change a motor carrier's safety
rating from unsatisfactory to satisfactory or conditional after FM-
CSA issued the out-of-service order to the motor carrier and after
the department revoked the motor carrier's registration pursuant
to DPS's request under Transportation Code, §643.252(b).

The DPS administrative rule states that a motor carrier that has
taken action to correct the deficiencies that resulted in a final rat-
ing of "unsatisfactory" may request a rating change at any time.
See 37 TAC §4.15(b)(3)(G). The DPS rule also states that the
motor carrier may request DPS to conduct a departmental re-
view if the motor carrier believes that DPS has committed er-
ror in assigning the final safety rating, that the final safety rating
under the DPS departmental review constitutes a final agency
decision, and that any judicial review of the DPS final agency
decision is subject to Government Code, Chapter 2001. See 37
TAC §4.15(b)(3)(H) and (l). Therefore, it is possible that DPS
could change a motor carrier's safety rating from unsatisfactory
to satisfactory or conditional after DPS issued the order to cease
to the motor carrier and after the department revoked the mo-
tor carrier's registration pursuant to DPS's request under Trans-
portation Code, §643.252(b).

Once the department issues a revocation under Transportation
Code, §643.2526, the revocation is effective and cannot be re-
scinded unless the motor carrier submits a timely appeal un-
der §643.2526. If the motor carrier timely submits an appeal
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under Transportation Code, §643.2526, if the underlying order
from DPS or FMCSA was issued in compliance with the mo-
tor carrier's due process rights, and if the requirements under
Transportation Code, §643.252(b) were met at the time DPS re-
quested the department to revoke the motor carrier's registration,
the department's revocation will not be rescinded on appeal to
the department. If the motor carrier resolves its unsatisfactory
safety rating and is no longer subject to the order to cease or
out-of-service order after the department revokes the motor car-
rier's registration, the evidence on appeal will not show any error
regarding the department's revocation. However, an appeal of a
revocation under Transportation Code, §643.2526 may result in
a rescission of the revocation if the underlying order from DPS
or FMCSA, as applicable, was issued in violation of the motor
carrier's due process rights or was issued to the motor carrier in
error.

When determining whether to request the department to revoke
the motor carrier's registration under Transportation Code,
§643.252(b), it is within DPS's discretion to consider whether
the motor carrier's unsatisfactory safety rating might change
to a satisfactory or conditional safety rating after the issuance
of an order to cease or an out-of-service order. Once the
department receives the request from DPS to revoke the motor
carrier's registration under Transportation Code, §643.252(b),
the department will immediately revoke the registration. If the
department revoked a motor carrier's registration pursuant to
DPS's request under Transportation Code, §643.252(b), and
the motor carrier later improves its safety rating and is no longer
subject to an out-of-service order or an order to cease, the
department will take this fact into consideration when reviewing
the motor carrier's application for reregistration under Trans-
portation Code, §643.0585 or the motor carrier's application for
registration under Transportation Code, §643.052.

Adopted new §224.124(e) requires the person who submits
an appeal to the department under Transportation Code,
§643.2526 to state why the person claims the department's
action is erroneous, as well as the legal and factual basis for the
claimed error. This information is necessary to enable the de-
partment to comply with a requirement to docket the contested
case with the State Office of Administrative Hearings under
1 TAC §155.53(a)(1), which requires the Request to Docket
Case form to be submitted together with the complaint or other
pertinent documents describing the agency action giving rise to
the contested case.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The department adopts the amend-
ments under Transportation Code, §643.2526(d), which requires
the department to adopt rules as necessary to implement
§643.2526, including rules governing the requirements and
procedures under §643.2526; Government Code, §2001.004,
which requires state agencies to adopt rules of practice stating
the nature and requirements of all available formal and informal
procedures; Transportation Code, §643.003, which authorizes
the department to adopt rules to administer Transportation
Code, Chapter 643; Transportation Code, §643.252, which
authorizes the department to suspend, revoke, or deny a regis-
tration issued under Transportation Code, Chapter 643 or place
on probation a motor carrier whose registration is suspended;
Transportation Code, §1002.001, which authorizes the board to
adopt rules that are necessary and appropriate to implement the
powers and duties of the department; and the statutory authority
referenced throughout this preamble and in the rule text, which
is incorporated herein by reference.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The adopted amendments
implement Government Code, Chapter 2001; and Transporta-
tion Code, §§643.252(b), 643.2526, and 1002.001.

$§224.116.  Administrative Proceedings, Excluding Proceedings Un-
der Transportation Code, §643.2526.

(a) Ifthe department decides to take an enforcement action un-
der §218.16 of this title (relating to Insurance Requirements) for the re-
vocation of self-insured status, §218.64 of this title (relating to Rates),
§218.71 of this title (relating to Administrative Penalties), §219.121
of this title (relating to Administrative Penalties and Sanctions under
Transportation Code, §623.271), §218.72 of this title (relating to Ad-
ministrative Sanctions), or §219.126 of this title (relating to Adminis-
trative Penalty for False Information on Certificate by a Shipper), the
department shall mail a Notice of Department Decision to the person
by first-class [first elass] mail to the last known address as shown in
department records. If the enforcement action falls under the Memo-
randum of Agreement with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Adminis-
tration (FMCSA) under §218.71, the department shall mail the Notice
of Department Decision to the person by first-class [first elass]| mail to
the last known address as shown in FMCSA's records.

(b) The Notice of Department Decision shall include:

(1) abrief summary of the alleged violation or enforcement
action being proposed;

(2) a statement describing each sanction, penalty, or en-
forcement action proposed;

(3) astatement informing the person of the right to request
a hearing;

(4) a statement of the procedure a person must use to re-
quest a hearing, including the deadline for filing a request with the de-
partment and the acceptable methods to request a hearing; and

(5) a statement that a proposed penalty, sanction, or en-
forcement action will become final and take effect on a specific date
if the person fails to request a hearing.

(c) A person must submit to the department a written request
for a hearing to the address provided in the Notice of Department Deci-
sion not later than the 26th day after the date the notice is mailed by the
department; however, this requirement does not apply to a contested
case that falls under §218.64 and Transportation Code, §643.154.

(d) If a person submits a timely written request for a hearing
or the contested case that falls under §218.64 and Transportation Code,
§643.154, the department will contact the person and attempt to infor-
mally resolve the contested case. If the person and the department can-
not informally resolve the contested case, the department will refer the
contested case to SOAH to set a hearing date and will give notice of
the time and place of the hearing to the person.

(e) Except as provided by Transportation Code, §643.154, if
the person does not make a timely request for a hearing or agree to settle
a contested case within 26 days of the date the Notice of Department
Decision was mailed, the allegations are deemed admitted on the 27th
day and a final order including sanctions and penalties may be issued
by the final order authority.

(f) Except as provided by statute and the applicable provisions
of this chapter, any SOAH proceeding is governed by Government
Code, Chapter 2001 and 1 TAC Chapter 155, including the authority of
the department to informally dispose of the contested case by stipula-
tion, agreed settlement, consent order, or default. The department will
follow the process set forth in Transportation Code, §643.2525 and the
applicable provisions of this chapter when enforcing the federal laws
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and regulations cited in §218.71 to the extent authorized by applicable
federal laws and regulations.

(g) The department and the person may informally resolve the
contested case by entering into a settlement agreement or agreeing to
stipulations at any time before the director issues a final order. How-
ever, the person must pay any penalty in full prior to the execution of
a settlement agreement.

(h) This section does not apply to a department action under
Transportation Code, §643.2526.

§224.121.
§643.2526.

(a) The department will only revoke the registration of a mo-
tor carrier under Transportation Code, §643.2526 pursuant to a re-
quest from the Texas Department of Public Safety under Transporta-
tion Code, §643.252(b) after the issuance of an order by the following,
as applicable:

(1) the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
regarding an unsatisfactory safety rating under 49 C.F.R. Part 385; or

Administrative Proceedings under Transportation Code,

(2) the Texas Department of Public Safety regarding mul-
tiple violations of the following:

(A) Transportation Code, Chapter 644;

(B) arule adopted under Transportation Code, Chapter

644; or
(C) Subtitle C of Title 7 of the Transportation Code.

(b) The department will issue notice of the department's action
under Transportation Code, §643.2526 to the person by email and first-
class mail using the person's last known address in the department's
records.

$224.124.  Appeal of Department Action [ef Denial] Under Trans-
portation Code, §643.2526.

Ha) Pursuant to Transpertation Code; §643-2526; an applicant

registration; or reregistration under Transpertation Code; Chapter 643}

(a) [(b)] An [The] appeal to the department under Transporta-
tion Code, §643.2526 will be governed by Chapter 224[; Subehap-
ter E] of this title (relating to Adjudicative Practice and Procedure).
[Contested Cases Referred to SOAH):]

(b) [€e)] An [The applicant's] appeal will be considered un-
timely if it is not filed with the department by the 26th day after the
date of the department's issuance of notice of the department's action.
[denial of the application:] The department will not consider an un-
timely appeal.

(c) [€)] Anapplication that is withdrawn under Transportation
Code, §643.055 is not a denial of an application for the purposes of an
appeal under Transportation Code, §643.2526.

(d) On appeal, the department will not rescind a revocation un-
der Transportation Code, §643.252(b) based on the motor carrier taking
corrective action that results in an upgrade to its unsatisfactory safety
rating after the department issued notice to the motor carrier that the
department revoked the motor carrier's registration.

(e) An appeal under Transportation Code, §643.2526 must
state why the person claims the department's action is erroneous, as
well as the legal and factual basis for the claimed error.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 10, 2025.

TRD-202502323

Laura Moriaty

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: July 10, 2025

Expiration date: November 6, 2025

For further information, please call: (512) 465-4160
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