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TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 9. TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD 

CHAPTER 174. TELEMEDICINE 
SUBCHAPTER A. TELEMEDICINE 
22 TAC §174.5 

The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts, on an emergency ba-
sis, amendments to 22 TAC §174.5, effective June 5, 2020. 
On March 13, the Governor of Texas certified COVID-19 as pos-
ing an imminent threat of disaster to the public health and safety 
and declared a state of disaster in all counties of Texas. On 
March 19, 2020, the Texas Governor issued a waiver suspend-
ing the strict enforcement of §174.5(e)(2)(A) which generally pro-
hibits the utilization of telemedicine to prescribe scheduled drugs 
for the treatment of chronic pain. The waiver was issued in or-
der to protect public health and curb the spread of COVID-19 by 
providing patients access to schedule drugs needed to ensure 
on-going treatment of chronic pain and avoid potential adverse 
consequences associated with the abrupt cessation of pain med-
ication. The waiver was extended on April 9, 2020, and again on 
May 8, 2020. The waiver expires at 11:59 pm on June 5, 2020. 
Therefore, the emergency amendment to §174.5(e) is immedi-
ately necessary to help the state's physicians, physician assis-
tants and other health care professionals continue to mitigate the 
risk of exposure to COVID-19 and provide necessary medical 
services to related to chronic pain management with controlled 
substances for patients. Pursuant to the Governor's declara-
tion of disaster issued on March 13, 2020, related to COVID-19, 
physicians determining whether to utilize telemedicine medical 
services for the treatment of chronic pain with scheduled medi-
cations, must give due consideration to additional important pa-
rameters to ensure the safety of the patient. 
The emergency amendment would allow physicians to utilize 
telemedicine to issue refill prescriptions for scheduled medica-
tions to established chronic pain patients if the physician de-
termines that such telemedicine treatment is needed due to the 
COVID-19 pandemic. 
Pursuant to Section 2001.034 and 2001.036(a)(2) of the Texas 
Government Code, the amendment is adopted on an emergency 
basis and with an expedited effective date because an imminent 
peril to the public health, safety, or welfare requires adoption on 
fewer than 30 days' notice. The emergency amendment shall 
be in effect for only 30 days or the duration of the time period 
that the Governor's disaster declaration of March 13, 2020 in 
response to the COVID-19 pandemic is in effect, whichever is 
shorter, pursuant to Section 2001.034 of the Texas Government 
Code. 

The emergency rule amendments are adopted under the author-
ity of the Texas Occupations Code, §153.001, which provides 
authority for the Board to recommend and adopt rules and by-
laws as necessary to: govern its own proceedings; perform its 
duties; regulate the practice of medicine; and enforce this subti-
tle. 
Another statute affected by this rule is Chapter 111 of the Texas 
Occupations Code. 
§174.5. Issuance of Prescriptions. 

(a) The validity of a prescription issued as a result of a 
telemedicine medical service is determined by the same standards that 
would apply to the issuance of the prescription in an in-person setting. 

(b) This rule does not limit the professional judgment, discre-
tion or decision-making authority of a licensed practitioner. A licensed 
practitioner is expected to meet the standard of care and demonstrate 
professional practice standards and judgment, consistent with all appli-
cable statutes and rules when issuing, dispensing, delivering, or admin-
istering a prescription medication as a result of a telemedicine medical 
service. 

(c) A valid prescription must be: 

(1) issued for a legitimate medical purpose by a practitioner 
as part of patient-practitioner relationship as set out in §111.005, of 
Texas Occupations Code; and 

(2) meet all other applicable laws before prescribing, dis-
pensing, delivering or administering a dangerous drug or controlled 
substance. 

(d) Any prescription drug orders issued as the result of a 
telemedicine medical service, are subject to all regulations, limitations, 
and prohibitions set out in the federal and Texas Controlled Substances 
Act, Texas Dangerous Drug Act and any other applicable federal and 
state law. 

(e) Limitation on Treatment of Chronic Pain. Chronic pain 
is a legitimate medical condition that needs to be treated but must be 
balanced with concerns over patient safety and the public health crisis 
involving overdose deaths. The Legislature has already put into place 
laws regarding the treatment of pain and requirements for registration 
and inspection of pain management clinics. Therefore, the Board has 
determined clear legislative intent exists for the limitation of chronic 
pain treatment through a telemedicine medical service. 

(1) Treatment for Chronic Pain. For purposes of this rule, 
chronic pain has the same definition as used in §170.2(4) of this title 
(relating to Definitions). 

(A) Treatment of chronic pain with scheduled drugs 
through use of telemedicine medical services is prohibited, unless: 

(i) a patient is an established chronic pain patient of 
the physician and is seeking telephone refill of an existing prescrip-
tion, and the physician determines that such telemedicine treatment is 
needed due to the COVID-19 pandemic; or 
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(ii) the treatment is otherwise allowed under federal 
and state law. 

(B) If a patient is treated for chronic pain with sched-
uled drugs through the use of telemedicine medical services as per-
mitted by subsection (A)(i) or (ii), the patient's medical records must 
document the exception and the reason that a telemedicine visit was 
conducted instead of an in-person visit. 

(C) A physician, when determining whether to utilize 
telemedicine medical services for the treatment of chronic pain with 
scheduled drugs as permitted by subsection (A)(i) or (ii), shall give due 
consideration to factors that include: date of the patient's last in-person 
visit, patient co-morbidities, and occupational-related COVID risks. 
These are not the sole, exclusive, or exhaustive factors a physician 
should consider under this rule. 

(D) The emergency amendment of this rule effective 
June 5, 2020 shall be in effect for only 30 days or the duration of 
the time period that the Governor's disaster declaration of March 13, 
2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic is in effect, whichever is 
shorter. 

(2) Treatment for Acute Pain. For purposes of this rule, 
acute pain has the same definition as used in §170.2(2) of this ti-
tle. Treatment of acute pain with scheduled drugs through use of 
telemedicine medical services is allowed, unless otherwise prohibited 
under federal and state law. 

[(A) Treatment of chronic pain with scheduled drugs 
through use of telemedicine medical services is prohibited, unless oth-
erwise allowed under federal and state law.] 

[(B) Treatment of acute pain with scheduled drugs 
through use of telemedicine medical services is allowed, unless 
otherwise prohibited under federal and state law.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal 
authority to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002297 
Scott Freshour 
General Counsel 
Texas Medical Board 
Effective date: June 5, 2020 
Expiration date: July 4, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 11. TEXAS BOARD OF NURSING 

CHAPTER 217. LICENSURE, PEER 
ASSISTANCE AND PRACTICE 
22 TAC §217.24 

Introduction 

The Texas Board of Nursing adopts emergency amendments to 
Texas Administrative Code §217.24 pursuant to a finding of im-
minent peril to the public health, safety, and welfare which re-
quires adoption in fewer than thirty (30) days' notice as autho-
rized by Tex. Gov't. Code §2001.034. 

Background 

On March 23, 2020, the Office of the Governor granted a waiver 
of the Texas Board of Nursing Rule 217.24(e)(1) that limits the 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurses' ability to issue prescrip-
tions for controlled substances for chronic pain via telemedicine. 
A waiver from this prohibition for refilling controlled substances 
for chronic pain patients evaluated via telemedicine was in effect 
until June 6, 2020, when the waiver expired. 
Accordingly, emergency amendments to §217.24 are necessary 
to help the Advanced Practice Registered Nurses to continue to 
mitigate the risk of exposure to COVID-19 and provide neces-
sary medical services related to chronic pain management with 
controlled substances for patients. This action will avoid a gap 
in care for chronic pain patients. The emergency amendment 
is only be applicable to those Advanced Practice Registered 
Nurses whose delegating physicians agree to permit them to is-
sue refills for these patients via telemedicine. The Advanced 
Practice Registered Nurse must continue to exercise appropri-
ate professional judgment and all documentation requirements 
must be met. The services provided are limited to refills of con-
trolled substances in schedules III through V. 
Statutory Authority 

This emergency rule is adopted pursuant to Section 301.151 au-
thorizes the Board to adopt and enforce rules consistent with 
Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform its duties and con-
duct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regulate the practice of 
professional nursing and vocational nursing; (iii) establish stan-
dards of professional conduct for license holders Chapter 301; 
and (iv) determine whether an act constitutes the practice of pro-
fessional nursing or vocational nursing. The emergency rule is 
also adopted pursuant to Tex. Gov't. Code §2001.034 authoriz-
ing the adoption of an emergency rule. 
This emergency adoption does not affect any other statutes or 
rules. 
§217.24. Telemedicine Medical Service Prescriptions. 

(a) - (d) (No change.) 

(e) Limitation on Treatment of Chronic Pain. Chronic pain is 
a legitimate medical condition that needs to be treated, but must be 
balanced with concerns over patient safety and the public health crisis 
involving overdose deaths. The Legislature has already put into place 
laws regarding the treatment of pain and requirements for registration 
and inspection of pain management clinics. Therefore, the Board has 
determined clear legislative intent exists for the limitation of chronic 
pain treatment through a telemedicine medical service. 

(1) Treatment of chronic pain with scheduled drugs 
through use of telemedicine medical services is prohibited, unless 
otherwise allowed under federal and state law. For purposes of this 
section, "chronic pain" means a state in which pain persists beyond 
the usual course of an acute disease or healing of an injury. Chronic 
pain may be associated with a chronic pathological process that causes 
continuous or intermittent pain over months or years. 

(A) Notwithstanding paragraph (e)(1), treatment of 
chronic pain with scheduled drugs through use of telemedicine medical 
services is not prohibited by this rule if the patient is an established 
chronic pain patient of the APRN and is seeking telephone refill of an 
existing prescription, and the APRN determines that such telemedicine 
treatment is needed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 
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(B) If a patient is treated for chronic pain with sched-
uled drugs through the use of telemedicine medical services as permit-
ted by (e)(1)(A), the medical records must document the exception and 
the reason that a telemedicine visit was conducted instead of an in-per-
son visit. 

(C) An APRN, when determining whether to utilize 
telemedicine medical services for the treatment of chronic pain with 
controlled substances as permitted by (e)(1)(A) above, shall give 
due consideration to factors that include, at a minimum, date of the 
patient's last in-person visit, patient co-morbidities, and occupational 
related COVID risks. These are not the sole, exclusive, or exhaustive 
factors an APRN should consider under this rule. 

(D) The emergency amendment of this rule effective 
June 8, 2020, shall be in effect for only 30 days or the duration of 
the time period that the Governor's disaster declaration of March 13, 
2020, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic is in effect, whichever 
is shorter. 

(2) Treatment of acute pain with scheduled drugs through 
use of telemedicine medical services is allowed, unless otherwise pro-

hibited under federal and state law. For purposes of this section, "acute 
pain" means the normal, predicted, physiological response to a stimu-
lus, such as trauma, disease, and operative procedures. Acute pain is 
time limited. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal 
authority to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002316 
Dusty Johnston 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Nursing 
Effective date: June 8, 2020 
Expiration date: July 7, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6821 
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TITLE 19. EDUCATION 

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION 
COORDINATING BOARD 

CHAPTER 1. AGENCY ADMINISTRATION 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
19 TAC §1.18 

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) pro-
poses amendments to Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 1, Subchapter A, 
§1.18 Operation of Education Research Centers. 
Specifically, this amendment will allow for improved access to 
data for education researchers while maintaining controls for 
data security. By law, up to three Education Research Centers 
(ERCs) are authorized to operate in Texas. The ERCs are under 
the oversight of the THECB and are governed by an Advisory 
Board which meets at least quarterly and includes representa-
tion from the Texas Education Agency and the Texas Workforce 
Commission and each ERC, among others. Researcher pro-
posals are reviewed and acted upon by the Advisory Board, and 
research must be of benefit to the state of Texas. The ERCs are 
self-funded. 
Currently, researchers must access the P-16/Workforce Data 
Repository available through the ERCs by physically accessing 
special terminals at the ERC locations. The rule amendments 
would allow a researcher or researchers, when approved by the 
Advisory Board, to access the de-identified data approved for 
their project via remote access. Security guidelines for this ac-
cess, including required Virtual Private Network (VPN) and multi-
factor authentication have been developed and approved by the 
ERC Advisory Board. All FERPA and other federal and state ed-
ucation privacy law requirements must be met, as stipulated by 
existing ERC law and rule. 
There would be minimal costs to public institutions of higher edu-
cation to adjust to the revised rules given the security measures 
that the authorized ERCs already have in place and the self-sup-
porting nature of the Education Research Centers. 
Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner for Strategic Planning, 
has determined that for each year of the first five years the sec-
tion is in effect, there will not be any fiscal implications to state 
or local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
rules. 
Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner for Strategic Planning, 
has also determined that for each year of the first five years the 
section is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of 
administering the section will be improved access to data for re-
search related to Texas education and the workforce. There is no 

effect on small businesses. There are no anticipated economic 
costs to persons who are required to comply with the section as 
proposed. There is no impact on local employment. There is no 
impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and rural com-
munities. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Julie Eklund, 
Assistant Commissioner, Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas, 78711 or via email at 
julie.eklund@highered.texas.gov. Comments will be accepted 
for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the Texas 
Register. 

Government Growth Impact Statement 
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or 
elimination of employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or 
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rules will not create a new rule; 
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule; and 

(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to 
the rule. 
The amendment is proposed under the Texas Education Code, 
Title 1, Chapter 1, Sections 1.005 and 1.006. Section 1.005(b) 
authorizes the Coordinating Board to establish up to three Edu-
cation Research Centers. Section 1.006 requires the establish-
ment of an Advisory Board for the purpose of reviewing study or 
evaluation proposals and ensuring appropriate data use. 
The amendments affect Texas Education Code, Sections 1.005 
and 1.006. 
§1.18. Operation of Education Research Centers. 

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used 
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) P-20/Workforce Data Repository refers to the collec-
tion of data from each Cooperating Agency. The cooperating agen-
cies shall execute agreements for the sharing of data for the purpose 
of facilitating the studies or evaluations at Education Research Centers 
(ERCs). In accordance with the agreements, each cooperating agency 
shall make available all appropriate data, including to the extent pos-
sible data collected by the cooperating agency for at least the preced-
ing 20 years. A cooperating agency shall periodically update the data 
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as additional data is collected, but not less than once each year. The 
repository shall be operated by the CB. 

(4) - (5) (No change.) 

(b) Purpose. 

(1) ERCs shall be established by the CB. An ERC may only 
be established at a sponsoring public institution of higher education in 
Texas but may be awarded to a consortium of such institutions. An 
ERC must be physically located within Texas and must retain all data 
at that location except for secure off-site data back-up in accordance 
with written procedures approved by the Advisory Board. Individual 
level data from the ERC P-20/Workforce Data Repository may not be 
provided to a researcher except in the following ways: 

(A) individual [Individual] level data may [not] be pro-
vided to a researcher at a [location other than a] Research Center or the 
CB or a public institution of higher education located in Texas that is 
an acknowledged consortium member of the ERC; or[.] 

(B) individual level data may be accessed by approved 
researchers via secure, restricted, VPN remote access provided all other 
provisions of this chapter are met and established policies are followed 
regarding additional controls. 

(2) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) The ERCs may provide researchers access to shared 
data only through secure methods and require each researcher to ex-
ecute an agreement regarding compliance with the Family Educational 
Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (20 U.S.C. §1232g) and rules and reg-
ulations adopted under that Act. Each ERC shall adopt rules or policies 
to protect the confidentiality of information used or stored at the cen-
ter in accordance with applicable state and federal law, including rules 
or policies establishing procedures to ensure that confidential informa-
tion is not duplicated or removed from an Education Research Center 
[a center] or from a remote access interface in an unauthorized manner. 

(c) (No change.) 

(d) Operation. 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) All research at an ERC involving access to confiden-
tial information shall be conducted with the approval of the Advisory 
Board or by request of the Texas Workforce Commission, Commis-
sioner of Higher Education or the Commissioner of Education if the 
requesting agency provides sufficient funds to the ERC to finance the 
project. All remote access research at an ERC involving access to con-
fidential information shall be conducted with the approval of the Ad-
visory Board. 

(4) - (9) (No change.) 

(e) - (f) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002312 
William Franz 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6533 

TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 3. TEXAS BOARD OF 
CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 78. SCOPE OF PRACTICE 
22 TAC §78.14 

The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) proposes 
amendments to 22 TAC §78.14 (Acupuncture). The purpose of 
the amendments is to clarify the qualifications a licensee must 
demonstrate to obtain a Board-issued acupuncture permit. 
Since the beginning of 2020, numerous licensees have ex-
pressed dissatisfaction with the qualification provisions of 
subsection (e). Licensees specifically complained that the 
period of time (from December 5, 2018, to September 1, 2019) 
in which a licensee could obtain an acupuncture permit from 
the Board by demonstrating substantial prior experience and 
training was too short. Licensees also said that the legisla-
tively-mandated change in the time when a license must be 
renewed from one year to two years also created confusion as 
to when a licensee had to apply for a permit. The Board agrees 
with the licensees' criticism of the current rule. 
The Board's intent (when it adopted the provisions of subsec-
tion (e) on December 5, 2018) in providing alternative methods 
for licensees to obtain an acupuncture permit was to not bur-
den licensees who had been safely practicing acupuncture for 
many years with unnecessary regulatory costs by making them 
repeat previously completed training and testing. At the time, 
the Board believed a September 1, 2019, deadline for applying 
for an acupuncture permit under the alternative methods in cur-
rent subsection (e) was sufficient. The Board agrees that it is in 
the best interest of its licensees and the patients they serve to 
modify those methods. 
Under the proposed amendments of subsection (e), a li-
censee seeking an acupuncture permit may qualify under three 
methods. For recent licensees (and all future licensees), the 
requirement remains the completion of a 100 hour acupuncture 
course and passing the National Board of Chiropractic Exam-
iners' acupuncture exam. For those licensees who have been 
safely practicing acupuncture for several years, they have the 
option (depending on the length of time they have been prac-
ticing acupuncture) of demonstrating they held a chiropractic 
license and passed an exam in a 100 hour acupuncture course 
before January 1, 2010, or that they completed substantial 
acupuncture training before January 1, 2000, and can attest 
to having practiced acupuncture for at least ten years before 
January 1, 2010. 
The amendments also remove redundant language in subsec-
tions (c) and (k) stating that a licensee may not practice or adver-
tise acupuncture without first obtaining a Board permit; violations 
of those requirements are already subject to disciplinary action 
under subsection (b) of this rule and in the Board's advertising 
rules in 22 TAC §77.1 (Advertising and Public Communications). 
The amendments also add clarifying language to subsection (g) 
to make clear that a licensee may apply for an acupuncture per-
mit by simply making a written request to the Board. The Board 
is also amending the language in subsection (d), which prohibits 
the delegation of acupuncture, from "cannot" to "may not" to con-
form to rule drafting conventions. 
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The Board's Executive Director, Patrick Fortner, has determined 
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendments are 
in effect there will be no fiscal implications for state or local gov-
ernment. There will be no adverse effect on small businesses or 
rural communities, micro-businesses, or local or state employ-
ment. There will be no additional economic costs to persons 
required to comply with the amendments as proposed. An Eco-
nomic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is 
not required because the proposed amendments will not have 
an adverse economic effect on small businesses or rural com-
munities as defined in Texas Government Code §2006.001(1-a) 
and (2). 
Mr. Fortner has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed amendments will be in effect the public ben-
efit is to clarify the qualifications a licensee must demonstrate to 
obtain a Board-issued acupuncture permit. 
The Board provides this Government Growth Impact Statement, 
pursuant to Texas Government Code §2001.0221, for the pro-
posed amendments of 22 TAC §78.14. For each year of the first 
five years the proposed amendments are in effect, Mr. Fortner 
has determined: 
(1) The proposed amendments do not create or eliminate a gov-
ernment program. 
(2) Implementation of the proposed amendments does not re-
quire the creation of new employee positions or the elimination 
of existing employee positions. 
(3) Implementation of the proposed amendments does not re-
quire an increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations 
to the Board. 
(4) The proposed amendments do not require a decrease or in-
crease in fees paid to the Board. 
(5) The proposed amendments do not create a new regulation. 
(6) The proposal does repeal existing Board rules for an admin-
istrative process. 
(7) The proposed amendments do not decrease the number of 
individuals subject to the rule's applicability. 
(8) The proposed amendments do not positively or adversely 
affect the state economy. 
Comments on the proposed amendments or a request for 
a public hearing may be submitted to Christopher Burnett, 
General Counsel, Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 
333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-825, Austin, Texas 78701, via email: 
rules@tbce.state.tx.us; or fax: (512) 305-6705, no later than 
30 days from the date that these proposed amendments are 
published in the Texas Register. Please include the rule name 
and number in the subject line of any comments submitted by 
email. 
These amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations 
Code §§201.152, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules 
necessary to perform the Board's duties and to regulate the 
practice of chiropractic, and under 201.1525, which authorize 
the Board to adopt rules clarifying the scope of practice of 
chiropractic 

No other statutes or rules are affected by these proposed amend-
ments. 
§78.14. Acupuncture. 

(a) Acupuncture, and the related practices of acupressure and 
meridian therapy, includes methods for diagnosing and treating a pa-
tient by stimulating specific points on or within the musculoskeletal 
system by various means, including manipulation, heat, cold, pressure, 
vibration, laser, ultrasound, light electrocurrent, and the insertion of 
acupuncture needles or solid filiform needles for the purpose of obtain-
ing a bio-positive reflex response by nerve stimulation. 

(b) A licensee shall practice acupuncture only after obtaining 
a permit from the Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board). 

(c) The Board shall place on each renewal license to practice 
chiropractic a statement that a licensee who has met all Board require-
ments is permitted to practice acupuncture. [A licensee whose license 
does not contain the statement permitting the practice of acupuncture 
shall not practice or advertise the practice of acupuncture.] 

(d) A licensee with an acupuncture permit [cannot] may not 
delegate the performance of acupuncture. 

(e) A licensee in good standing with the Board may obtain an 
acupuncture permit by: 

(1) completing at least 100 hours of acupuncture training 
and passing the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' acupunc-
ture exam; 

(2) demonstrating that the licensee had a chiropractic li-
cense and passed an exam in a 100 hour acupuncture course before 
January 1, 2010; or 

(3) demonstrating that the licensee completed substantial 
acupuncture training before January 1, 2000, and practiced acupunc-
ture for at least ten years before January 1, 2010. 

[(e) Requirements for an acupuncture permit:] 

[(1) On or after the effective date of this rule, a licensee 
may receive an acupuncture permit from the Board by completing at 
least one hundred (100) hours of training in acupuncture and passing 
the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' examination. The train-
ing must be provided by an accredited chiropractic college, or post-sec-
ondary university, or other educational or testing institution approved 
by the Board. Such training shall include didactic, clinical, and practi-
cal training in the practice of acupuncture, clean needle techniques, ex-
amination, and protocols that meet the blood-borne pathogen standard 
established by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.] 

[(2) A person who became a licensee after January 1, 
2010, and before the effective date of this rule, who has been practicing 
acupuncture in compliance with previous Board rules, shall have until 
September 1, 2019, to obtain an acupuncture permit from the Board by 
passing the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' standardized 
certification examination in acupuncture and completing 100 hours of 
acupuncture training.] 

[(3) A person who became a licensee before January 1, 
2010, and has been practicing acupuncture in compliance with previous 
Board rules, shall have until September 1, 2019, to obtain an acupunc-
ture permit from the Board by having:] 

[(A) successfully completed and passed an examination 
in a one hundred (100) hour training course in acupuncture before Jan-
uary 1, 2010; or] 

[(B) successfully completed and passed either the Na-
tional Board of Chiropractic Examiners' standardized certification ex-
amination in acupuncture or the examination offered by the National 
Certification Commission of Acupuncture before the effective date of 
this rule; or] 
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[(C) successfully completed formal training along with 
providing a statement to the Board of having practiced acupuncture in 
clinical practice for at least ten years before January 1, 2010, and is in 
good standing with the Board and the regulatory entities of the other 
jurisdictions in which the licensee is licensed. The Board may audit 
any statement for accuracy.] 

[(4) Documentation of acupuncture training shall be in the 
form of signed certificates of attendance or completion, or diplomas 
from course sponsors or instructors.] 

(f) A licensee permitted to practice acupuncture must com-
plete a minimum of eight (8) hours in Board-approved acupuncture 
courses every biennium. 

(g) A licensee may apply for an acupuncture permit by sub-
mitting a written request to the Board. [A licensee shall not practice 
acupuncture until the licensee has submitted proof of compliance with 
subsection (e) and has received a permit from the Board.] 

(h) A licensee practicing acupuncture shall not advertise in 
a manner that suggests the licensee possesses a license to practice 
acupuncture issued by the Texas State Board of Acupuncture Ex-
aminers, including using any of the terms "acupuncturist," "licensed 
acupuncturist," "L.Ac.," "Traditional Chinese Medicine," or "degreed 
in acupuncture." 

(i) A licensee's advertising may include the terms "Board 
Certified" or "Board Certified in Chiropractic Acupuncture" if it 
also clearly identifies the nationally recognized certifying board and 
credentials. 

(j) Approved programs in clinical acupuncture or meridian 
therapy offered by accredited chiropractic colleges or universities 
are designed for doctors of chiropractic and other disciplines. These 
courses are not intended as a substitute for a full curriculum teaching 
traditional Chinese medicine; rather they focus on the principle, theory, 
scientific findings, and practical modern application of acupuncture as 
currently practiced by doctors of chiropractic. 

(k) The practice of acupuncture by a licensee who has not com-
plied with the requirements of this section constitutes unprofessional 
conduct and subjects the licensee to disciplinary action. [A licensee 
who advertises acupuncture without first obtaining a permit also has 
engaged in unprofessional conduct.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 2, 2020. 
TRD-202002259 
Christopher Burnett 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6700 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 16. TEXAS BOARD OF 
PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 341. LICENSE RENEWAL 
22 TAC §§341.1, 341.6, 341.8, 341.9 

The Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners proposes 
amending 22 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 341, 
License Renewal, specifically the following sections: §341.1. 
Requirements for Renewal, §341.6. License Restoration, 
§341.8. Inactive Status, and §341.9. Retired Status; Perform-
ing Voluntary Charity Care. The amendments are proposed 
pursuant to the provisions in HB 2059 during the 86th Legisla-
tive Session that mandates the addition of human trafficking 
prevention training for health care practitioners as a condition of 
license renewal. 
Fiscal Note 

Ralph A. Harper, Executive Director of the Executive Council 
of Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy Examiners (ECP-
TOTE), has determined that for the first five-year period these 
amendments are in effect there would be no increase or loss of 
revenue to the state. No fiscal implication to units of local gov-
ernment is anticipated as a result of enforcing or administering 
the rules. 
Public Benefits and Costs 

Mr. Harper has also determined that for the first five-year period 
these amendments are in effect the public benefit anticipated 
will be to increase and enhance physical therapy practitioners' 
knowledge of human trafficking prevention and to help combat 
human trafficking; thus offering better protection of the public. 
Local Employment Economic Impact Statement 
The amendments are not anticipated to impact a local econ-
omy, so a local employment economic impact statement is not 
required. 
Small and Micro-Businesses and Rural Communities Impact 
Mr. Harper has determined that there will be no costs or adverse 
economic effects to small or micro-businesses or rural communi-
ties; therefore, an economic impact statement or regulatory flex-
ibility analysis is not required. 
Government Growth Impact Statement 
Pursuant to Government Code §2001.0221, the agency provides 
the following Government Growth Impact Statement for the pro-
posed rule amendments. For each year of the first five years 
the proposed amendment will be in effect, Mr. Harper has deter-
mined the following: 
(1) The proposed rule amendments will neither create nor elimi-
nate a government program. 
(2) The proposed rule amendments will neither create new em-
ployee positions nor eliminate existing employee positions. 
(3) The proposed rule amendments will neither increase nor de-
crease future legislative appropriations to the agency. 
(4) The proposed rule amendments will neither require an in-
crease nor a decrease in fees paid to the agency. 
(5) The proposed rule amendments expand existing regulations 
with a new condition for license renewal. 
(6) The proposed rule amendments will neither repeal nor limit 
an existing regulation. 
(7) The proposed rule amendments will neither increase nor de-
crease the number of individuals subject to the rule's applicabil-
ity. 

45 TexReg 4136 June 19, 2020 Texas Register 



(8) The proposed rule amendments will neither positively nor ad-
versely affect this state's economy. 
Takings Impact Assessment 
The proposed rule amendments will not impact private real prop-
erty as defined by Tex. Gov't Code §2007.003, so a takings im-
pact assessment under Tex. Gov't Code §2001.043 is not re-
quired. 
Requirement for Rule Increasing Costs to Regulated Persons 

Tex. Gov't Code §2001.0045, Requirement for Rule Increasing 
Costs to Regulated Persons, does not apply to this proposed 
rule amendment. 
Public Comment 
Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted 
to Karen Gordon, PT Coordinator, Texas Board of Physical 
Therapy Examiners, 333 Guadalupe, Suite 2-510, Austin, 
Texas 78701; email: karen@ptot.texas.gov. Comments must 
be received no later than 30 days from the date this proposed 
amendment is published in the Texas Register. 

Statutory Authority 

The amended sections are proposed under Texas Occupation 
Code §453.102, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules nec-
essary to implement chapter 453. Additionally, the amendments 
to §341.1, §341.6, and §341.8 are proposed under Texas Oc-
cupation Code §453.254, which authorizes the Board to require 
licenses holders to complete continuing competence activities 
specified by the Board. 
Cross-reference to Statute 

The proposed amendments implement Texas Occupations Code 
§116.002 and §116.003 as mandated in House Bill 2059 (86th 
Texas Legislature, R.S.) which requires a health care practitioner 
to complete human trafficking prevention training as a condition 
of license renewal. No other statutes, articles, or codes are af-
fected by these amendments. 
§341.1. Requirements for Renewal. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) General requirements. The renewal application is not com-
plete until all required items are received by the board. The components 
required for license renewal are: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) a passing score on the jurisprudence examination; [and] 

(4) successful completion of a human trafficking preven-
tion course approved by the executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC). The course must be a minimum 
of one contact hour in order to claim CCU credit; and 

(5) [(4)] a criminal history record report from the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation obtained 
through fingerprinting. A licensee is not required to submit fingerprints 
for the renewal of the license if the licensee has previously submitted 
fingerprints under: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(d) - (f) (No change.) 

§341.6. License Restoration. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) Persons who are currently licensed in good standing in an-
other state, district, or territory of the U.S. The requirements for restora-
tion are: 

(1) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) the restoration fee; [and] 

(5) successful completion of a human trafficking preven-
tion course approved by the executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC). The course must be a minimum 
of one contact hour in order to claim CCU credit; and 

(6) [(5)] a criminal history record report from the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation obtained 
through fingerprinting. A licensee is not required to submit fingerprints 
for the renewal of the license if the licensee has previously submitted 
fingerprints under: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(d) Persons who are not currently licensed in another state or 
territory of the U.S. 

(1) A licensee whose Texas license is expired for one to 
five years. The requirements for restoration are: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) the restoration fee; 

(D) (No change.) 

(E) successful completion of a human trafficking pre-
vention course approved by the executive commissioner of the Health 
and Human Services Commission (HHSC). The course must be a min-
imum of one contact hour in order to claim CCU credit; and 

(F) [(E)] a criminal history record report from the De-
partment of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation ob-
tained through fingerprinting. A licensee is not required to submit fin-
gerprints for the renewal of the license if the licensee has previously 
submitted fingerprints under: 

(i) - (ii) (No change.) 

(G) [(F)] demonstration of competency. Competency 
may be demonstrated in one of the following ways: 

(i) - (iii) (No change.) 

(2) (No change.) 

(e) Military Service Members, Military Veterans, and Military 
spouses. The board will expedite the restoration of a license to a mili-
tary service member, a military veteran or a spouse of a member of the 
U.S. armed forces on active duty. The applicant must provide official 
documentation of active duty status, military veteran status, or the ac-
tive duty status of the spouse. 

(f) Renewal of a restored license. To renew a license that has 
been restored, a licensee must comply with all requirements in §341.1 
of this title (relating to Requirements for Renewal). 

§341.8. Inactive Status. 

(a) - (c) (No change.) 

(d) Requirements for reinstatement of active status. A licensee 
on inactive status may request a return to active status at any time. The 
components required to return to active status are: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) a passing score on the jurisprudence exam; [and] 
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(4) successful completion of a human trafficking preven-
tion course approved by the executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC). The course must be a minimum 
of one contact hour in order to claim CCU credit; and 

(5) [(4)] a criminal history record report from the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation obtained 
through fingerprinting. A licensee is not required to submit fingerprints 
for the renewal of the license if the licensee has previously submitted 
fingerprints under: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(e) (No change.) 

§341.9. Retired Status; Performing Volunteer Charity Care. 
(a) - (c) (No change.) 

(d) Requirements for initiation of retired status. The compo-
nents required to put a license on retired status are: 

(1) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) a passing score on the jurisprudence exam; [and] 

(5) successful completion of a human trafficking preven-
tion course approved by the executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC). The course must be a minimum 
of one contact hour in order to claim CCU credit; and 

(6) [(5)] a criminal history record report from the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation obtained 
through fingerprinting. A licensee is not required to submit fingerprints 
for the renewal of the license if the licensee has previously submitted 
fingerprints under: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(e) Requirements for renewal of retired status. A licensee on 
retired status must renew the retired status every two years on his/her 
license renewal date. The components required to renew the retired 
status are: 

(1) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) a passing score on the jurisprudence exam; [and] 

(5) successful completion of a human trafficking preven-
tion course approved by the executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC). The course must be a minimum 
of one contact hour in order to claim CCU credit; and 

(6) [(5)] a criminal history record report from the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation obtained 
through fingerprinting. A licensee is not required to submit fingerprints 
for the renewal of the license if the licensee has previously submitted 
fingerprints under: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(f) Requirements for reinstatement of active status. A licensee 
on retired status may request a return to active status at any time. The 
components required to return to active status are: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) a passing score on the jurisprudence exam; [and] 

(4) successful completion of a human trafficking preven-
tion course approved by the executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission (HHSC). The course must be a minimum 
of one contact hour in order to claim CCU credit; and 

(5) [(4)] a criminal history record report from the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation obtained 

through fingerprinting. A licensee is not required to submit fingerprints 
for the renewal of the license if the licensee has previously submitted 
fingerprints under: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(g) - (j) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002303 
Ralph A. Harper 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 28. INSURANCE 

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
INSURANCE 

CHAPTER 5. PROPERTY AND CASUALTY 
INSURANCE 
SUBCHAPTER E. TEXAS WINDSTORM 
INSURANCE ASSOCIATION 
DIVISION 3. LOSS FUNDING, INCLUDING 
CATASTROPHE RESERVE TRUST FUND, 
FINANCING ARRANGEMENTS, AND PUBLIC 
SECURITIES 
28 TAC §§5.4102, 5.4114, 5.4133, 5.4134, 5.4141, 5.4142,
5.4160 - 5.4162, 5.164, 5.4167, 5.4171 

The Texas Department of Insurance proposes to amend 28 TAC 
§§5.4102, 5.4114, 5.4133, 5.4134, 5.4141, 5.4142, 5.4161, 
5.4162, 5.4164, 5.4167, and 5.4171 and to adopt new 28 TAC 
§5.4160. The proposed amendments and new section concern 
Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (association) loss 
funding. The proposed changes implement certain provisions in 
House Bill 1900, 86th Legislature, Regular Session (2019). 
EXPLANATION. The association is the insurer of last resort for 
windstorm and hail insurance in a designated area along the 
Texas coast. The association provides windstorm and hail in-
surance coverage to those who are unable to get that coverage 
in the private market. 
By statute, the association must pay its losses (policyholder 
claims) and operating expenses from net premium and other 
revenue. If net premium and other revenue are not enough, 
the association must pay losses and operating expenses from 
the catastrophe reserve trust fund (CRTF), which is an account 
maintained by the Texas Comptroller. The CRTF is funded 
mainly from the association's yearly profits. Losses and oper-
ating expenses for a catastrophe year that are greater than the 
association's net premium and other revenue for that year and 
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amounts in the CRTF must be paid with proceeds of alternating 
classes of public securities and member insurer assessments. 
Amending §§5.4102, 5.4114, 5.4133, 5.4134, 5.4141, 5.4142, 
5.4161, 5.4162, 5.4164, 5.4167, and 5.4171 and adopting new 
§5.4160 is necessary to implement the loss funding provisions 
in HB 1900, 86th Legislature, Regular Session (2019). HB 1900 
amended Insurance Code §2210.453, which addresses the as-
sociation's reinsurance funding, and Insurance Code §2210.071 
and §2210.0715, which address excess loss payment and pay-
ment from reserves and the CRTF. 
The amendments to Insurance Code §2210.453 require that the 
association, with Commissioner approval, assess its member 
insurers to pay for any reinsurance it purchases in excess of 
the association's statutory minimum funding level. By statute, 
the association must maintain total available loss funding in an 
amount not less than the association's probable maximum loss 
for a catastrophe year with a one in 100-year probability. Mem-
ber assessments to pay for reinsurance under HB 1900 are dis-
tinct from member assessments to pay losses and would not af-
fect the association's ability to make loss assessments. 
Current 28 TAC §5.4114(e) allows a CRTF disbursement to allow 
the association to buy reinsurance in an amount that enables the 
association to exceed its statutory minimum funding level. Be-
cause Insurance Code §2210.453 now requires members to pay 
this amount, TDI proposes repealing this provision and adopting 
rules establishing the process for determining member insurers' 
responsibility. 
Proposed §5.4160 requires the association to discuss determin-
ing its one in 100-year probable maximum loss for the year at the 
year's first regular board meeting. Following the discussion at 
this meeting, the association must determine its one in 100-year 
probable maximum loss for the year and disclose it to the Com-
missioner not later than April 1. The association must disclose its 
method for determining its one in 100-year probable maximum 
loss at the same time. 
HB 1900 does not specify how the association must determine 
its one in 100-year probable maximum loss or how transparent 
its method must be. Proposed 5.4160 requires the association 
to have a public discussion at its board meeting and to disclose 
information about its method so that anyone interested can see 
how the association determined its one in 100-year probable 
maximum loss. The determination and information must be dis-
closed each year, regardless of whether the association requests 
a reinsurance assessment. 
Under proposed §5.4160 if the association decides to buy rein-
surance that exceeds its one in 100-year probable maximum 
loss, it must get a quote for reinsurance that equals the one 
in 100-year probable maximum loss. The association must dis-
close this quote to the board along with the total deposit pre-
miums for all reinsurance for the year. The quote and the total 
deposit premiums must be disclosed not later than the board's 
second regular meeting of the year, which is usually in early May. 
Members will be able to estimate the amount of reinsurance pre-
mium applicable to coverage that exceeds the one in 100-year 
probable maximum loss and for which they will be assessed. The 
association typically begins to negotiate for reinsurance in April, 
with contracts typically running from June 1 to May 31 of the fol-
lowing year. The deadlines for the association to provide its one 
in 100-year probable maximum loss and the quote and the total 
deposit premiums are proposed based on this schedule. 

Under existing §5.4162 the association notifies each member of 
the amounts of net direct premiums the member wrote in Texas 
during the preceding calendar year and of net direct premiums 
of wind and hail insurance the member voluntarily wrote in the 
catastrophe area during the preceding calendar year. The asso-
ciation typically sends this notice to members in the late summer. 
Members have 30 days to appeal the amounts in the notice. 
The association also notifies each member what its percentage 
of participation in an assessment will be, if there is an assess-
ment during the current calendar year. The association typically 
sends the percentage of participation notice to members in the 
fall. Members have 30 days to appeal the percentage of partici-
pation in the notice. 
Proposed 5.4162 requires that the notice of net direct premiums 
and voluntary wind and hail premiums and the notice of participa-
tion percentage inform members that the participation percent-
age will be used for reinsurance assessments, if there are any 
during the current calendar year. 
Proposed §5.4160 requires the association to issue any reinsur-
ance assessment by no later than December 1. This date is 
based on when the association's total reinsurance costs for the 
year become known. The association pays an initial deposit pre-
mium in periodic installments. The deposit premium is based on 
the association's estimated exposure for that year's hurricane 
season. The association's final premium, based on its actual 
exposure during hurricane season, is not known until the end of 
October. Proposed §5.4160 requires the association to make 
the request within a reasonable time after its reinsurance costs 
for the year are known. 
There are three reasons for requiring the association to issue 
any reinsurance assessment by no later than December 1. 
First, issuing a reinsurance assessment only after the final pre-
mium is known avoids the risk that the association will need to 
adjust it or issue refunds to members. 
Second, it allows time for any appeal of the association's deter-
mination of its one in 100-year probable maximum loss. 
Third, it ensures that the association will be able to deduct the 
assessed amount from its reinsurance premium and include it 
in the net gain from operations from the same year. Under In-
surance Code §2210.452 and 28 TAC §5.4111, the association 
must deposit its net gain from operations for each calendar year 
in the CRTF. The association typically makes the deposit in May 
of the following year. 
The proposed rules also implement HB 1900's amendments to 
Insurance Code §2210.071, on payment of excess losses, and 
§2210.0715, on payment from reserves and the CRTF. 
To ensure that it is clear that net premium earned in one catas-
trophe year can be pledged to repay public securities issued in 
prior catastrophe years, TDI proposes amending the rules on 
the class 1 public security trust fund and the class 2 and class 
3 public security trust funds, in Section 5.4141 and Section 
5.4142, respectively. More specifically, amended Insurance 
Code §2210.071 prohibits the association from paying one 
catastrophe year's losses with premium earned in a later year. 
The proposed amendments clarify that net premium can be 
pledged to repay class 1, class 2, and class 3 payment obliga-
tions, even if those obligations are for public securities issued or 
disbursed to pay for losses resulting from an event that occurred 
in a prior year. 
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To harmonize the amendments to Insurance Code §2210.0715 
with §2210.608, on use of public security proceeds, TDI pro-
poses amending the rules on public security proceeds. 
Finally, TDI proposes removing the requirement that each mem-
ber insurer give the association a copy of its Exhibit of Premiums 
and Losses ("Statutory Page 14") from its Texas Property and 
Casualty Annual Statement. The information on Statutory Page 
14 is accessible through the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners (NAIC) and is published annually on TDI's web-
site. 
Section 5.4102. Definitions. Section 5.4102 is the definition sec-
tion for Division 3. 
An amendment to §5.4102(4), defining "association surcharge 
percentage," corrects a reference to the Administrative Code, 
changing §5.4127 to §5.4126. 
An amendment to §5.4102(10), defining "catastrophic 
event," conforms the rule with definitions in Insurance Code 
§2210.602(1-b). The proposed amendment adds the qualifier 
"during a calendar year" to the definition. 
An amendment to §5.4102(32), defining "net gain from opera-
tions," implements amendments to Insurance Code §2210.071 
and §2210.453. The proposed amendments clarify that the 
association cannot include losses incurred in prior catastrophe 
years in its calculation of net gain from operations. Additionally, 
the amendments conform the rule to Insurance Code §2210.453, 
requiring members to pay reinsurance premiums applicable to 
the reinsurance coverage that exceeds the association's one in 
100-year probable maximum loss. 
The proposed amendment to §5.4102(34), defining "net pre-
mium," implements amendments to Insurance Code §2210.071. 
The proposed amendment to §5.4102(34) works in conjunction 
with the proposed amendments to §5.4141 and §5.4142, which 
contain the rules on the class 1 public security trust fund and 
the class 2 and class 3 public security trust funds. The sentence 
"following the issuance of public securities, net premium may 
be pledged for the payment of class 1, class 2, and class 3 
payment obligations" is removed from the definition and an 
equivalent sentence is added to §5.4141 and §5.4142. Because 
it is a substantive rule, the sentence is more appropriate in those 
sections than in a definition, and will be more visible there. 
A proposed amendment adds new §5.4102(37) to define "one in 
100-year probable maximum loss" as the minimum funding level 
required by Insurance Code §2210.453(b). Defining the term im-
plements the amendments to Insurance Code §2210.453. Sub-
sequent paragraphs in §5.4102 are renumbered as appropriate 
to reflect the new paragraph. 
The proposed amendments to the definition of "other revenue" 
(currently §5.4102(38), renumbered as §5.4102(39)) implement 
the amendments to Insurance Code §2210.453 by excluding 
reinsurance assessments from other revenue. The proposed 
amendments implement the amendments to Insurance Code 
§2210.071 by excluding income on funds held by the Texas 
Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company from other revenue. 
These proposed amendments are designed to clarify what funds 
the association can pledge to repay public securities. 
Section 5.4114. Disbursements from the Catastrophe Reserve 
Trust Fund. Section 5.4114 describes the procedures for dis-
bursing funds from the CRTF. Current §5.4114(e) allows a CRTF 
disbursement to buy reinsurance in an amount that enables the 

association to exceed its one in 100-year probable maximum 
loss. Because Insurance Code §2210.453 now requires mem-
bers to pay for reinsurance coverage that exceeds this amount, 
TDI proposes repealing subsection (e). The subsections that fol-
low subsection (e) are redesignated as appropriate to reflect this 
change, and a reference to current subsection (g) in subsection 
(a)(4) is changed to reference redesignated subsection (f). 
Section 5.4133. Public Security Proceeds. Amendments to 
§5.4133 clarify how HB 1900's amendments to Insurance Code 
§2210.0715 harmonize with Insurance Code §2210.608(b). The 
amendments to §2210.0715 prohibit including the proceeds 
of public securities issued for one catastrophe year with re-
serves available for a subsequent catastrophe year. Section 
2210.608(b) allows "proceeds remaining after the purposes 
for which the public securities were issued are satisfied" to be 
used to pay for outstanding public securities or administrative 
expenses. Then, any remaining proceeds must be put in the 
CRTF. 
The proposed amendments to §5.4133 add new subsections 
(e) and (f). These subsections describe how public security 
proceeds may be used during the catastrophe year for which 
they are issued or disbursed and during subsequent years. 
The proposed amendments ensure that the proceeds put in the 
CRTF (which may be used for to pay for losses in later catas-
trophe years) are not confused with the reserves referenced in 
§2210.0715 (which may not be used to pay for losses in later 
catastrophe years). 
Section 5.4134. Excess Public Security Proceeds. Amend-
ments to §5.4134 clarify that Insurance Code §2210.608(b) 
describes the permissive uses of excess public security 
proceeds remaining after the purposes for which the public 
securities were issued or disbursed are satisfied. The amend-
ments add subsection (b) to the Insurance Code citation and 
insert the words "or disbursed." 
Section 5.4141. Class 1 Public Security Trust Fund. The amend-
ment to §5.4141 implements amendments to Insurance Code 
§2210.071(b). This proposed amendment works in conjunction 
with the proposed amendment to §5.4102(34), which defines 
"net premium." The sentence "following the issuance of public 
securities, net premium may be pledged for the payment of class 
1, class 2, and class 3 payment obligations" is removed from the 
definition and an equivalent sentence is added to §5.4141 and 
§5.4142. The proposed amendment is added to §5.4141 as new 
subsection (e). It clarifies that net premium can be pledged to 
repay class 1 payment obligations, even if those obligations are 
for public securities issued to pay for losses from a catastrophic 
event that occurred in a prior year. 
Section 5.4142. Class 2 and Class 3 Public Security Trust 
Funds. The amendment to §5.4142 implements amendments 
to Insurance Code §2210.071(b). This proposed amend-
ment works in conjunction with the proposed amendment 
to §5.4102(34), which defines "net premium." The sentence 
"following the issuance of public securities, net premium may 
be pledged for the payment of class 1, class 2, and class 3 
payment obligations" is removed from the definition and an 
equivalent sentence is added to §5.4141 and §5.4142. The 
proposed amendment is added to §5.4142 as new subsection 
(e). It clarifies that net premium can be pledged to repay class 
2 and class 3 payment obligations, even if those obligations are 
for public securities issued to pay for losses from a catastrophic 
event that occurred in a prior year. 
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Section 5.4160. Member Assessments to Pay for Reinsurance. 
New §5.4160 describes the procedures for assessing members 
for reinsurance or alternative risk financing mechanisms. New 
§5.4160 implements new subsections (d) and (e) in Insurance 
Code §2210.453, requiring members to pay for any reinsurance 
coverage that exceeds the association's one in 100-year proba-
ble maximum loss. 
This section also describes the deadlines the association must 
meet during each year. 
The association must discuss with the board its methodology for 
determining its one in 100-year probable maximum loss for the 
calendar year at the first regular board meeting in the calendar 
year but before April 1. The association must also disclose to the 
Commissioner its one in 100-year probable maximum loss for the 
calendar year and the association's method for determining that 
probable maximum loss on the day after the effective date of this 
rule and no later than April 1 during each subsequent year. 
If the association elects to purchase reinsurance or alternative 
risk financing mechanisms that provide coverage in excess of 
its one in 100-year probable maximum loss, then the association 
must also get a quote for coverage that provides funding equal 
to its one in 100-year probable maximum loss. The association 
must provide the quote to the board by the second regular board 
meeting in the calendar year, which is typically in early May. The 
purpose of this requirement is to allow members to estimate the 
amount of reinsurance premium for coverage that exceeds the 
association's one in 100-year probable maximum loss and for 
which they will be assessed 

The association must issue any assessment no later than De-
cember 1 of the calendar year for which the assessment is is-
sued. 
Proposed §5.4160 also requires that the association include, in 
any request to the Commissioner to approve an assessment, 
the portion of the reinsurance premium that provides coverage 
above its one in 100-year probable maximum loss. In other 
words, the association's request must provide the amount of the 
reinsurance assessment it wants to make. The association must 
also provide the methodology it used to calculate that amount. 
Proposed §5.4160 requires the association to make the request 
within a reasonable time after its reinsurance costs for the year 
are known. This requirement is intended to ensure that the re-
quest can be approved in time for the association to issue the 
assessment no later than December 1. 
Additionally, proposed §5.4160 uses the term "alternative risk fi-
nancing mechanisms" as used in Insurance Code §2210.453(a) 
and §2210.453(d) rather than "other financial arrangements" as 
used in Insurance Code §2210.612(e) and §2210.072(d), be-
cause alternative risk financing mechanisms are used in the con-
text of reinsurance and are alternative ways for the association 
to transfer risk out of the association. Conversely, other financial 
arrangements include other types of borrowing "including public 
securities"which do not transfer risk out of the association. 
Section 5.4161. Member Assessments to Pay Claims. The 
amendment to Section 5.4161 deletes the current text of sub-
section (j). A provision similar to current subsection (j) is incor-
porated in new §5.4160 as subsection (f). Current subsection (j) 
lists sections on member assessments that are part of the asso-
ciation's plan of operation and that control over any conflicting 
provisions in §5.4001 of this title (relating to Plan of Operation). 
Because proposed new §5.4160 will be the first section on mem-

ber assessments, the provision included in current subsection 
5.4161(j) is more appropriate in §5.4160. 
Section 5.4161's heading, "Member Assessments," is also 
amended to add the words "to Pay Claims." This amendment 
clarifies that §5.4161 specifies the requirements for assess-
ments for claims, while §5.4160 specifies requirements for 
assessments to pay for reinsurance coverage. 
In addition, current subsections (f) - (i) are redesignated as (e) -
(h) to correct an error in the current rule text; the current rule text 
does not contain a subsection (e). 
Finally, new subsection (i) is added stating "The association 
may use the proceeds from assessments only for losses and 
expenses resulting from the catastrophe year for which the 
assessments were made." This provision conforms the rule to 
HB 1900's amendments to Insurance Code §2210.0715. 
Section 5.4162. Member Assessments to Pay Claims. Section 
5.4162 addresses the procedure for determining the amount a 
member is required to pay when participating in an assessment. 
Section 5.4162(a) is amended to add a citation to new §5.4160. 
Section 5.4162(a)(1) is amended to conform with HB 3496, 85th 
Legislature, Regular Session (2017). The proposed amendment 
removes the paragraph's last sentence, which states that the 
anniversary date of an insurer's membership in the association 
is the date the insurer became an authorized property insurer in 
Texas. 
Section 5.4162(b) contains nonsubstantive stylistic edits and the 
citation to 28 TAC §5.4001 is amended to be more specific by 
revising it to include a reference to "(a)(2)(N)." 
Subsection (c) is amended to separate it into subsection (c) and 
a new subsection (d), to aid in readability. The subsections that 
follow it are redesignated as appropriate. 
Current subsection (d), redesignated as subsection (e), is sub-
divided into paragraphs, to aid in readability. 
Current subsection (e) is broken into three subsections which 
are designated as subsections (f), (g), and (h). Additionally, new 
subsubsection (g) is divided into paragraphs with non-substan-
tive rewording. These changes are made to aid in readability. 
Text is added to new subsection (h) to specify that the associa-
tion must take action under the subsection "[w]ithin a reasonable 
period of time after sending the notice described in subsection 
(g)." Additional changes to the text of the subsection consist of 
non-substantive rewording to aid in readability. 
An amendment adds new subsection (i), which requires that the 
association's notice of net direct premiums and voluntary wind 
and hail premiums and notice of participation percentage must 
inform members that the participation percentage will be used 
for reinsurance assessments, if there are any during the current 
calendar year. The association typically sends the notice of net 
direct premiums and voluntary wind and hail premiums in late 
summer. The notice of participation percentage is typically sent 
in the fall. 
The proposed amendment removes current subsection (f), which 
requires that each member insurer give the association a copy of 
its Exhibit of Premiums and Losses (Statutory Page 14) from its 
Texas Property and Casualty Annual Statement. This require-
ment is no longer necessary, as members already file their an-
nual statements electronically with the NAIC. TDI has access 
to the information through the NAIC and in practice already pro-
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vides it to the association and publishes it annually on TDI's web-
site. Removing this requirement reduces the burden on mem-
bers and the association. 
Section 5.4164. Payment of Assessment. Section 5.4164 re-
quires members to pay their share of any assessment not later 
than the 30th day after receiving their notice of assessment. Sec-
tion 5.4164 is amended to remove exceptions to the requirement, 
because they are no longer relevant. The exceptions cite other 
association rules that were repealed to implement Senate Bill 
900, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which changed 
the association's funding structure. 
Section 5.4167. Inability to Pay Assessment by Reason of In-
solvency. Amendments to §5.4167 conform the section to the 
amendments to Insurance Code §2210.071 and §2210.0715. 
The language "in the event it is necessary to obtain additional 
funds to provide for operating expenses and losses in the year 
the insurer is declared impaired," is replaced with "in the event 
an assessment is necessary in the year the insurer is declared 
impaired." An assessment may be necessary to cover operating 
expenses and losses from a year other than the year in which 
the assessment is made. 
Section 5.4171. Premium Surcharge Requirements. Amend-
ments to §5.4171 conform the rule to Insurance Code 
§221.001(c), in accordance with HB 3496. The proposed 
amendment revises subsection (e) to clarify that §5.4171 and 
other sections apply to farm mutual insurance companies that 
are acting as fronting insurers. 
In addition to the specific amendments previously noted, the pro-
posed amendments include nonsubstantive editorial and format-
ting changes to conform the sections to the agency's current 
style and to improve the rules' clarity. These changes include 
the following: Punctuation has been revised in places for clar-
ity and grammatical accuracy. The word "Commissioner" has 
been capitalized whenever it appears lower case, and the word 
"association" has been made lowercase where it is capitalized, 
unless it begins a sentence. The word "division" is changed to "ti-
tle" where the word appears in citations to Texas Administrative 
Code sections. The word "shall" has been replaced with "must" 
or "will" as appropriate give the context of the provision, to add 
clarity. 
TDI received comments on an informal working draft posted on 
TDI's website on July 18, 2019. TDI considered those comments 
when drafting this proposal. 
FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. Mark Worman, deputy commissioner of the Property and 
Casualty Division, has determined that during each year of the 
first five years the proposed rules are in effect, there will be no 
measurable fiscal impact on state and local governments as a re-
sult of enforcing or administering them, other than that imposed 
by the statute. This determination was made because the pro-
posed rules do not add to or decrease state revenues or expen-
ditures, and because local governments are not involved in en-
forcing or complying with the proposed rules. 
Mr. Worman does not anticipate any measurable effect on local 
employment or the local economy as a result of this proposal. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. For each year of the first 
five years the proposed rules are in effect, Mr. Worman expects 
that enforcing or administering the proposed rules will have the 
public benefits of ensuring that TDI's rules conform to Insurance 
Code §§221.001, 2210.006, 2210.071, 2210.0715, 2210.453, 

and 2210.608. The proposed rules provide clarity on what the 
association may pledge to repay public security obligations. 
They also ensure that the association determines its one in 
100-year probable maximum loss with public input and provides 
time for the appeal of that determination before any reinsurance 
assessment is made. 
Finally, the proposed rules relieve members of having to provide 
the association with Statutory Page 14 from their annual state-
ments. 
Mr. Worman expects that the proposed amendments will impose 
an economic cost on the association. The association estimates 
that it will cost $4,540 to discuss determining its one in 100-year 
probable maximum loss for the year at the year's first regular 
board meeting, $1,530 to get the required reinsurance quotes 
and provide them at the year's second regular board meeting, 
and $530 to request a reinsurance assessment. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS. TDI has determined that the proposed 
amendments will not have an adverse economic effect or a 
disproportionate economic impact on small or micro businesses, 
or on rural communities. As specified in the Public Benefit and 
Cost Note section of this proposal, the proposed amendments 
will have a small economic impact on the association. The 
association is not a small or micro business or a rural community 
as defined in Government Code §2006.001. As a result, and 
in accordance with Government Code §2006.002(c), TDI is not 
required to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis. 
EXAMINATION OF COSTS UNDER GOVERNMENT CODE 
§2001.0045. TDI has determined that this proposal does im-
pose a possible cost on a regulated person, the association. 
However, no additional rule amendments are required under 
Government Code §2001.0045 because the proposed rules are 
necessary to implement legislation. The proposed rules imple-
ment Insurance Code §§2210.071, 2210.0715, and 2210.453, 
as amended by HB 1900. All the costs in the proposal will be 
incurred implementing §2210.453. The costs will be borne by 
the association, which estimates a total cost of approximately 
$6,000. As described in the Public Benefit and Cost Note and 
elsewhere in this proposal, the costs result from requirements 
that are designed to implement §2210.453 transparently and 
effectively. 
The exception in Government Code §2001.0045(c) applies. The 
proposed rules reduce the burden or responsibilities the rule im-
poses on regulated persons, by relieving members of having to 
provide the association with Statutory Page 14 from their annual 
statements. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT. TDI has de-
termined that for each year of the first five years that the pro-
posed amendments are in effect the proposed rule: 
- will not create or eliminate a government program; 
- will not require the creation of new employee positions or the 
elimination of existing employee positions; 
- will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative 
appropriations to the agency; 
- will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the 
agency; 
- will create a new regulation; 
- will limit an existing regulation; 
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- will not increase or decrease the number of individuals subject 
to the rule's applicability; and 

- will not positively or adversely affect the Texas economy. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. TDI has determined that no 
private real property interests are affected by this proposal and 
that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right to 
property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government 
action. As a result, this proposal does not constitute a taking or 
require a takings impact assessment under Government Code 
§2007.043. 
REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. TDI will consider any writ-
ten comments on the proposal that are received by TDI no later 
than 5 p.m. Central time on July 20, 2020. Send your comments 
to ChiefClerk@tdi.texas.gov; or to the Office of the Chief Clerk, 
MC 112-2A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, 
Austin, Texas 78714-9104. 
The Commissioner will also consider written and oral comments 
on the proposal in a public hearing under Docket No. 2822 at 1 
p.m. central time, on July 14, 2020. To avoid the risk of trans-
mission of COVID-19, TDI will hold the public hearing remotely 
using online resources. Details of how to view and how to par-
ticipate in the hearing will be made available on TDI's website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov/alert/event/2020/07/docket-2822. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. TDI proposes new §5.4160 and 
amended TAC §§5.4102, 5.4114, 5.4133, 5.4134, 5.4141, 
5,4142, 5.4161, 5.4162, 5.4164, 5.4167, and 5.4171 under 
Insurance Code §§2210.008, 2210.151, 2210.152, 2210.452, 
and Insurance Code §36.001. 
Insurance Code §2210.008 provides that the Commissioner may 
adopt rules as reasonable and necessary to implement Chapter 
2210. 
Insurance Code §2210.151 provides that the Commissioner 
adopt the association's plan of operation by rule. 
Insurance Code §2210.152 provides that the plan of operation 
must include a plan for the equitable assessment of association 
members, procedures for obtaining and repaying amounts under 
any financial instruments authorized under Chapter 2210, and 
other provisions considered necessary by TDI to implement the 
purposes of Chapter 2210. 
Insurance Code §2210.452 requires the Commissioner to adopt 
rules governing association payments to the catastrophe reserve 
trust fund and disbursements from the catastrophe reserve trust 
fund. 
Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may 
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code and other 
laws of this state. 
CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE. 
The amendments to §5.4102 implement Insurance Code 
§§2210.071, 2210.453, and 2210.602. 
The amendments to §5.4114 implement Insurance Code 
§2210.453. 
The amendments to §5.4133 implement Insurance Code 
§2210.0715. 
The amendments to §5.4134 implement Insurance Code 
§2210.0715. 

The amendments to §5.4141 implement Insurance Code 
§2210.071. 
The amendments to §5.4142 implement Insurance Code 
§2210.071. 
New §5.4160 implements Insurance Code §2210.453. 
The amendments to §5.4161 implement Insurance Code 
§2210.0715 and §2210.453. 
The amendments to §5.4162 implement Insurance Code 
§2210.006 and §2210.453. 
The amendments to §5.4164 implement Insurance Code 
§§2210.0725, 2210.074, and 2210.0742. 
The amendments to §5.4167 implement Insurance Code 
§2210.071 and §2210.0715. 
The amendments to §5.4171 implement Insurance Code 
§221.001. 
§5.4102. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this division will have 
the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) Association--Texas Windstorm Insurance Association. 

(2) Association program--The funding of any or all of the 
purposes authorized to be funded with the public securities under In-
surance Code Chapter 2210, Subchapter M. 

(3) Association surcharge--Premium surcharges on poli-
cyholders of association policies under Insurance Code §§2210.612, 
2210.613, or 2210.6131. 

(4) Association surcharge percentage--The percentage 
amount determined by the Commissioner [commissioner] under 
§5.4126(c) [§5.4127(c)] or (d) of this title [division] (relating to 
Determination of the Association Surcharge Percentage). 

(5) Authorized representative of the department--Any offi-
cer or employee of the department, empowered to execute instructions 
and take other necessary actions on behalf of the department as desig-
nated in writing by the Commissioner [commissioner]. 

(6) Authorized representative of the trust company--Any 
officer or employee of the comptroller or the trust company who is des-
ignated in writing by the comptroller as an authorized representative. 

(7) Budgeted operating expenses--All operating expenses 
as budgeted for and approved by the association's board of directors, 
excluding expenses related to catastrophic losses. 

(8) Catastrophe area--A municipality, a part of a munici-
pality, a county, or a part of a county designated by the Commissioner 
[commissioner] under Insurance Code §2210.005. 

(9) CRTF--Catastrophe Reserve Trust Fund. A statutorily 
created trust fund established with the trust company under Insurance 
Code Chapter 2210, Subchapter J. 

(10) Catastrophic event--An occurrence or a series of oc-
currences in a catastrophe area during a calendar year resulting in in-
sured losses and operating expenses of the association in excess of pre-
mium and other revenue of the association. 

(11) Catastrophic losses--Losses resulting from a cata-
strophic event. 

(12) Class 1 payment obligation--The contractual amount 
of net premium and other revenue and association surcharges that the 
association must deposit in the class 1 public security trust fund at spec-
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ified periods for the payment of class 1 public security obligations, pub-
lic security administrative expenses, and contractual coverage amount 
as required by class 1 public security agreements. 

(13) Class 2 payment obligation--The contractual amount 
of net premium and other revenue and either association surcharges or 
contingent surcharges that the association must deposit in the class 2 
public security trust fund, or in the case of contingent surcharges, the 
premium surcharge trust fund, at specified periods for the payment of 
class 2 public security obligations, public security administrative ex-
penses, and contractual coverage amount as required by class 2 public 
security agreements. 

(14) Class 3 payment obligation--The contractual amount 
of net premium and other revenue and either association surcharges or 
contingent surcharges that the association must deposit in the class 3 
public security trust fund, or in the case of contingent surcharges, the 
premium surcharge trust fund, at specified periods for the payment of 
class 3 public security obligations, public security administrative ex-
penses, and contractual coverage amount as required by class 3 public 
security agreements. 

(15) Class 1 public securities--A debt instrument or other 
public security that TPFA may issue as authorized under Insurance 
Code §2210.072 and Insurance Code Chapter 2210, Subchapter M. 

(16) Class 2 public securities--A debt instrument or other 
public security that TPFA may issue as authorized under Insurance 
Code §2210.073 and Insurance Code Chapter 2210, Subchapter M. 

(17) Class 3 public securities--A debt instrument or other 
public security that TPFA may issue as authorized under Insurance 
Code §2210.0741 and Insurance Code Chapter 2210, Subchapter M. 

(18) Commercial paper notes--A debt instrument that the 
association may issue as a financing arrangement or that TPFA may 
issue as any class of public security. 

(19) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Insurance. 

(20) Comptroller--The Comptroller of the State of Texas. 

(21) Contingent surcharge--Premium surcharges on poli-
cyholders of policies that cover insured property that is located in a 
catastrophe area and which may be necessary as provided under Insur-
ance Code §2210.6132. 

(22) Contractual coverage amount--Minimum amount 
over scheduled debt service that the association is required to deposit 
in the applicable public security trust fund or premium surcharge trust 
fund, as security for the payment of debt service on the public securi-
ties, administrative expenses on public securities, or other payments 
the association must pay in connection with public securities. 

(23) Credit agreement--An agreement described by Gov-
ernment Code Chapter 1371 that TPFA may enter into as authorized 
under Insurance Code Chapter 2210, Subchapter M. 

(24) Department--The Texas Department of Insurance. 

(25) Earned premium--That portion of gross premium that 
the association has earned because of the portion of time during which 
the insurance policy has been in effect. 

(26) Financing arrangement--An agreement between the 
association and any market source under which the market source 
makes interest-bearing loans or provides other financial instruments to 
the association to enable the association to pay losses or obtain public 
securities under Insurance Code §2210.072. 

(27) Gross premium--The amount of premium the associ-
ation receives, less premium returned to policyholders for canceled or 
reduced policies. 

(28) Insured property--Real property, or tangible or intan-
gible personal property including automobiles, covered under an insur-
ance policy issued by an insurer. Insured property includes motorcy-
cles, recreational vehicles, and all other vehicles eligible for coverage 
under a private passenger automobile or commercial automobile pol-
icy. 

(29) Investment income--Income from the investment of 
funds. 

(30) Letter of instruction--The Commissioner's 
[commissioner's] or authorized department representative's signed 
written authorization and direction to an authorized representative 
of the trust company. 

(31) Losses--Amounts paid or expected to be paid on as-
sociation insurance policy claims, including adjustment expenses, lit-
igation expenses, other claims expenses, and other amounts that are 
incurred in resolving a claim for indemnification under an association 
insurance policy. 

(32) Net gain from operations--Net income reported dur-
ing a calendar year equal to the amount of all earned premium, other 
revenue of the association, and distributions of excess net premium 
and other revenue from the class 1, class 2, and class 3 public secu-
rity trust funds that are in excess of: current catastrophe year incurred 
losses; operating expenses; reinsurance premium not paid or payable 
from member assessments; current year financial arrangement obliga-
tions; current year net premium payment obligations; and current year 
public security administrative expenses. 

(33) Net investment income--Investment income less asso-
ciated fees and expenses charged by the trust company, or others, for 
managing or investing the assets. 

(34) Net premium--Gross premium less unearned pre-
mium. [Following the issuance of public securities, net premium may 
be pledged for the payment of class 1, class 2, and class 3 payment 
obligations.] 

(35) Net premium payment obligations--Public security 
obligations that are paid in whole or in part from net premium and 
other revenue for public securities repayable under Insurance Code 
§§2210.612, 2210.613, and 2210.6131. The term does not include 
public security obligations[,] or the portion of public security obliga-
tions that are paid from association surcharges. 

(36) Net revenues--Net premium plus other revenue, less 
scheduled policy claims, less budgeted operating expenses, less net 
premium payment obligations for that calendar year, less amounts nec-
essary to fund or replenish any reserve fund required by a public secu-
rity agreement. 

(37) One in 100-year probable maximum loss--The mini-
mum funding level required by Insurance Code §2210.453(b). 

(38) [(37)] Operating reserve fund--Association or trust 
company held fund for the payment of budgeted scheduled policy 
claims and budgeted operating expenses. 

(39) [(38)] Other revenue--Revenue of the association 
from any source other than premium. Other revenue includes net in-
vestment income on association assets. Other revenue does not include 
premium surcharges collected under Insurance Code §§2210.259, 
2210.612, 2210.613, 2210.6131, or 2210.6132 or member assess-
ments collected under Insurance Code §§2210.0725, 2210.074, [or] 
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2210.0742, or 2210.453 and interest income on those amounts. Other 
revenue does not include income on funds held by the trust company. 

(40) [(39)] Plan of operation--The association's plan of op-
eration as adopted by the Commissioner [commissioner] under Insur-
ance Code §2210.151 and §2210.152. 

(41) [(40)] Premium--Amounts received in consideration 
for the issuance of association insurance coverage. The term does 
not include premium surcharges collected by the association under In-
surance Code §§2210.259, 2210.612, 2210.613, 2210.6131, or [and] 
2210.6132. 

(42) [(41)] Premium surcharge trust fund(s)--The dedi-
cated trust fund or funds established by TPFA and held by the trust 
company in which the association or insurers must deposit contingent 
surcharges. TPFA may establish separate trust funds or separate 
accounts for class 2 and class 3 contingent surcharges. 

(43) [(42)] Public securities--Collective reference to class 
1 public securities, class 2 public securities, and class 3 public securi-
ties. 

(44) [(43)] Public security administrative expenses--Ex-
penses incurred by the association, TPFA, or TPFA consultants to 
administer public securities issued under Insurance Code Chapter 
2210, including fees for credit enhancement, paying agents, trustees, 
attorneys, and other professional services. 

(45) [(44)] Public security obligations--The principal of a 
public security and any premium and interest on a public security issued 
under Insurance Code Chapter 2210, Subchapter M, together with any 
amount owed under a related credit agreement. 

(46) [(45)] Scheduled policy claims--That portion of the 
association's earned premium and other revenue expected to be paid 
in connection with the disposition of losses that do not result from a 
catastrophic event. 

(47) [(46)] Trust company--The Texas Treasury Safekeep-
ing Trust Company managed by the comptroller under Government 
Code §404.101, et seq. 

(48) [(47)] Trust company representative--Any individual 
employed by the trust company who is designated by the trust company 
as its authorized representative for purposes of any agreement related 
to the CRTF or the public securities. 

(49) [(48)] TPFA--The Texas Public Finance Authority. 

(50) [(49)] Unearned premium--That portion of gross pre-
mium that has been collected in advance for insurance that the associ-
ation has not yet earned because of the unexpired portion of the time 
for which the insurance policy has been in effect. 

§5.4114. Disbursements from the Catastrophe Reserve Trust Fund. 
(a) Disbursements in response to a catastrophic event require 

the following: 

(1) In the event that the association reasonably estimates 
that a catastrophic event has occurred, the general manager of the as-
sociation must provide the Commissioner and the comptroller a defini-
tive written statement containing the total amount of the estimated cata-
strophic losses, potential reinsurance recoveries related to those losses, 
and the estimated portion of the catastrophic losses that exceeds the 
catastrophe year's premium and other revenue of the association; 

(2) The Commissioner or an authorized representative of 
the department, on receiving the statement described in paragraph (1) 
of this subsection [(a)(1)], must have determined that a catastrophic 
event has occurred; 

(3) The Commissioner or an authorized representative of 
the department must provide the trust company with a letter of instruc-
tion to pay the association or any third-party payee an amount from the 
CRTF that is equal to the lesser of either: 

(A) the portion of the catastrophic loss that exceeds the 
catastrophe year's premium and other revenue of the association, or 

(B) the balance of the CRTF; and 

(4) The association must report to the Commissioner and 
the comptroller any subsequent change in the amount of catastrophic 
losses. If the change results in an increase in the amount of catastrophic 
losses, the association may request additional disbursements under this 
subsection. If the change results in a decrease in the amount of cata-
strophic losses, subsection (f) [(g)] of this section applies. 

(b) To disburse funds to pay for costs associated with main-
taining or managing the CRTF, the Commissioner or an authorized rep-
resentative of the department must issue a letter of instruction to the 
trust company specifying the amount of money to be paid and specify-
ing any third-party payee. 

(c) To request a disbursement to pay for operating expenses, 
including reinsurance or alternative risk financing mechanisms under 
Insurance Code §2210.453, the association must submit a written re-
quest to the Commissioner, copied to the comptroller, that includes: 

(1) an itemized list of operating expenses; 

(2) the total amount of funds the association is requesting 
under this subsection; and 

(3) a description of the event or events that caused the as-
sociation to lack sufficient premium and other revenue to pay for the 
listed operating expenses. 

(d) With the exception of disbursements to pay for reinsur-
ance or alternative risk financing mechanisms under Insurance Code 
§2210.453, the Commissioner may only authorize the release of funds 
under subsection (c) of this section for operating expenses the Com-
missioner deems essential on a short-term basis. 

[(e) The Commissioner may authorize a disbursement under 
subsection (c) of this section in an amount that enables the association 
to exceed the minimum funding level required under Insurance Code 
§2210.453.] 

(e) [(f)] In authorizing the release of CRTF funds, the Com-
missioner may rely on any statements or notifications of definitive or 
estimated losses, association revenue, reinsurance proceeds, or any 
other related or supporting information, from any source, including the 
general manager of the association. 

(f) [(g)] The association must remit to the CRTF any funds 
remaining after the purpose for which the funds were disbursed from 
the CRTF has been met. 

§5.4133. Public Security Proceeds. 

(a) As necessary, the association must make written requests 
to TPFA for the disbursement of public security proceeds for the asso-
ciation program, including[:] 

(1) for the payment of incurred claims and operating ex-
penses of the association,[;] or 

(2) other amounts as authorized in Insurance Code 
§2210.608. 

(b) The association's written request must specify: 

(1) the amount of the request; and 
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(2) the purpose of the request. 

(c) To facilitate timely payment of losses, the association may 
request funds to be disbursed to the association before the settlement 
of incurred claims. 

(d) The association must account for the receipt and use of 
public security proceeds separately from all other sources of funds. The 
association may hold public security proceeds in the manner authorized 
by the association's plan of operation or as required by agreement with 
TPFA. 

(e) When public securities are issued after a catastrophic event, 
the association may use the proceeds as follows: 

(1) for any purpose authorized in Insurance Code 
§2210.608(a), during the catastrophe year for which the public secu-
rities were issued; 

(2) only to pay for losses and expenses resulting from the 
catastrophe year for which the public securities were issued, after that 
catastrophe year has ended; and 

(3) after all losses and expenses resulting from the catas-
trophe year for which the public securities were issued are paid, the 
association may only use excess proceeds in accordance with Insur-
ance Code §2210.608(b) and §5.4134 of this title (relating to Excess 
Public Security Proceeds). 

(f) When public securities are issued before a catastrophic 
event, the association may use the proceeds as follows: 

(1) for any purpose authorized in Insurance Code 
§2210.608(a) and (c), during the catastrophe year for which the 
proceeds were disbursed; 

(2) only to pay for losses and expenses resulting from the 
catastrophe year for which the proceeds were disbursed, after that 
catastrophe year has ended; and 

(3) after all losses and expenses resulting from the catas-
trophe year for which the proceeds were disbursed are paid, the associ-
ation may only use excess proceeds in accordance with Insurance Code 
§2210.608(b) and §5.4134 of this title. 

§5.4134. Excess Public Security Proceeds. 

(a) The association may use any excess public security pro-
ceeds remaining after the purposes for which the public securities were 
issued or disbursed are satisfied in accordance with Insurance Code 
§2210.608(b) [§2210.608]. 

(b) As specified in Insurance Code §§2210.072(a), 
2210.073(a), and 2210.0741(a), public securities may be repaid before 
their full term if the association's board of directors elects to do so and 
the Commissioner [commissioner] approves. 

§5.4141. Class 1 Public Security Trust Fund. 

(a) While class 1 public securities are outstanding, the associ-
ation must deposit net premium and other revenue in the class 1 public 
security trust fund at periods and in amounts as required by the class 
1 public security agreements to fund the class 1 payment obligation. 
As required by Insurance Code §2210.609(c), the association must de-
posit association surcharges collected under Insurance Code §2210.612 
in the class 1 public security trust fund. 

(b) Without limiting other options, the class 1 public security 
agreements may include an operating reserve fund. If the class 1 pub-
lic security trust fund does not contain sufficient money to pay debt 
service on the class 1 public securities, administrative expenses on the 
class 1 public securities, or other class 1 public security obligations, the 

association must transfer sufficient money from any operating reserve 
fund or other association-held funds to the class 1 public security trust 
fund to make the payment. 

(c) The association may not directly or indirectly use, borrow, 
or in any manner pledge or encumber association surcharges collected 
or to be collected, except for the payment of class 1 public security 
obligations and as otherwise authorized in this title. 

(d) The trust company must deposit any net investment income 
earned on net premium and other revenue and on the association sur-
charges into the class 1 public security trust fund while these amounts 
are on deposit. 

(e) Following the issuance of public securities, net premium 
may be pledged for the payment of class 1 payment obligations. Net 
premium earned in one catastrophe year may be pledged for the repay-
ment of public securities issued in prior catastrophe years. 

§5.4142. Class 2 and Class 3 Public Security Trust Funds. 
(a) While class 2 or class 3 public securities payable under In-

surance Code §2210.613 and §2210.6131, respectively, are outstand-
ing, the association must deposit net premium and other revenue in the 
class 2 public security trust fund and the class 3 public security trust 
fund, respectively, at periods and in amounts as required by the class 
2 and class 3 public security agreements to fund the class 2 and class 
3 payment obligations. As required by Insurance Code §2210.609(c), 
the association must deposit association surcharges collected under In-
surance Code §2210.613 and §2210.6131 in the class 2 public security 
trust fund and the class 3 public security trust fund, respectively. 

(b) Without limiting other options, for public securities 
payable under Insurance Code §2210.613 and §2210.6131, the class 
2 and class 3 public security agreements may include an operating 
reserve fund. If the class 2 or class 3 public security trust funds do 
not contain sufficient money to pay debt service on the class 2 or class 
3 public securities, administrative expenses on the class 2 or class 3 
public securities, or other class 2 or class 3 public security obligations, 
the association must transfer sufficient money from any operating 
reserve fund or other association-held funds to the class 2 or class 3 
public security trust fund, as applicable, to make the payment. 

(c) The association may not directly or indirectly use, borrow, 
or in any manner pledge or encumber association surcharges collected 
or to be collected, except for the payment of the applicable public se-
curity obligations and as otherwise authorized in this title. 

(d) The trust company must deposit any net investment income 
earned on net premium and other revenue and on the association sur-
charges into the appropriate trust fund accounts while these amounts 
are on deposit. 

(e) Following the issuance of public securities, net premium 
may be pledged for the payment of class 2 and class 3 payment obliga-
tions. Net premium earned in one catastrophe year may be pledged for 
the repayment of public securities issued in prior catastrophe years. 

§5.4160. Member Assessments to Pay for Reinsurance. 
(a) The association, with the Commissioner's approval, must 

assess members as provided by Insurance Code §2210.453. If, in a 
calendar year, the association must assess its members under Insurance 
Code §2210.453, 

(1) then the association must request the Commissioner's 
approval within a reasonable time after it knows its total reinsurance 
costs for that calendar year, and 

(2) must issue the assessment no later than December 1 of 
that year. 
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(b) At the first regular board meeting in each calendar year, but 
before April 1, the association must discuss with the board its method-
ology for determining its one in 100-year probable maximum loss for 
the calendar year. In discussing its methodology, the association must 
provide the information described in subsection (d) of this section and 
make that information available to its members and the public. 

(c) On the day after the effective date of this section, and not 
later than April 1 of each subsequent year, the association must dis-
close to the Commissioner its one in 100-year probable maximum loss 
for the calendar year and the association's method for determining that 
probable maximum loss. 

(d) In disclosing its method for determining its one in 100-year 
probable maximum loss, the association must include: 

(1) the hurricane model or models it relied on, including 
the model vendors, the model names, and the versions of each model; 

(2) the in-force date and the total amount of direct expo-
sures in force for the policy data used as the input for each hurricane 
model the association relied on; 

(3) all user-selected hurricane model input assumptions 
used with each hurricane model the association relied on; 

(4) the one in 100-year probable maximum loss model out-
put produced by each hurricane model the association relied on; 

(5) if the association relied on more than one hurricane 
model, the methodology the association used to blend or average the 
hurricane model outputs, including all weighting factors used; and 

(6) any adjustments the association or another party made 
to the one in 100-year probable maximum loss model outputs or the 
blended or averaged output, including any adjustments to include loss 
adjustment expenses. 

(e) The department will post the information disclosed under 
subsections (c) and (d) of this section on its website. 

(f) If, in a year, the association elects to purchase coverage 
for reinsurance or alternative risk transfer mechanisms in excess of the 
one in 100-year probable maximum loss, then the association must also 
obtain a quote for coverage that provides funding equal to the one in 
100-year probable maximum loss. The premium quote must assume 
the minimum required attachment point described in Insurance Code 
§2251.453(c). 

(g) No later than the second regular board meeting of the cal-
endar year, the association must provide each of the following to its 
board and make this information available to its members and the pub-
lic: 

(1) the reinsurance or alternative risk transfer mechanism 
premium quote required under subsection (f) of this section; and 

(2) the total deposit premiums for all reinsurance or alter-
native risk transfer mechanism coverage for the year. 

(h) If, at the time of the second regular board meeting of the 
calendar year, deposit premiums described in subsection (g) of this sec-
tion are not known, then the association must provide its best estimate 
of those premiums to the board and make the estimate available to its 
members. As soon as the association knows the deposit premiums de-
scribed in subsection (g) of this section, the association must provide 
them to the board and make them available to its members. 

(i) In its request to the Commissioner to approve an assessment 
under Insurance Code §2210.453, the association must submit the fol-
lowing information: 

(1) the portion of the association's reinsurance premium 
that provides coverage for losses or loss adjustment expenses above 
the association's one in 100-year probable maximum loss; and 

(2) the methodology the association used to calculate the 
amount described in paragraph (1) of this subsection. 

(j) This section and §§5.4161 - 5.4167 of this title (relating to 
Member Assessment to Pay Claims; Amount of Assessment; Notice 
of Assessment; Payment of Assessment; Failure to Pay Assessment; 
Contest After Payment of Assessment; and Inability to Pay Assessment 
by Reason of Insolvency, respectively) are a part of the association's 
plan of operation and will control over any conflicting provision in 
§5.4001 of this title (relating to Plan of Operation). 

(k) Sections 5.4162 - 5.4167 of this title apply both to member 
assessments to pay for reinsurance and to §5.4161 of this title. 

§5.4161. Member Assessments to Pay Claims. 
(a) The association, with the approval of the Commissioner 

[commissioner], must assess members as provided by Insurance Code 
Chapter 2210. 

(b) The association must provide, in the aggregate for the 
catastrophe year, the following information when requesting the 
Commissioner [commissioner] to approve a class 1, class 2, or class 
3 assessment under Insurance Code §§2210.0725, 2210.074, or [and] 
2210.0742, as applicable: 

(1) the association's best estimate of the amount of losses 
expected to be paid as a result of the event, or series of events, that 
caused the need for the assessment requested; 

(2) the amount of losses paid, or expected to be paid, from 
premium and other revenue of the association; 

(3) the amount of losses paid, or expected to be paid, from 
available reserves of the association and available amounts in the 
CRTF; 

(4) the amount of losses paid, or expected to be paid, from 
the proceeds of class 1 public securities issued, or expected to be issued; 

(5) the amount of class 1 assessments previously approved 
and the amount of class 1 assessments now requested; 

(6) in the case of a request to approve a class 2 or class 3 
assessment, the amount of losses paid, or expected to be paid, from the 
proceeds of class 2 public securities issued, or expected to be issued; 

(7) in the case of a request to approve a class 2 or class 3 
assessment, the amount of class 2 assessments previously approved and 
the amount of class 2 assessments now requested; 

(8) in the case of a request to approve a class 3 assessment, 
the amount of losses paid, or expected to be paid, from the proceeds of 
class 3 public securities issued, or expected to be issued; 

(9) in the case of a request to approve a class 3 assessment, 
the amount of class 3 assessments previously approved and the amount 
of class 3 assessments now requested. 

(c) If all or any portion of the authorized principal amount of 
class 1 public securities requested under §5.4124 or §5.4125 of this 
title [division] (relating to Issuance of Class 1 Public Securities be-
fore a Catastrophic Event and [or] Issuance of Public Securities after 
a Catastrophic Event [, respectively]) cannot be issued based on the 
factors described in §5.4135 of this title [division] (relating to Mar-
ketable Public Securities; the Amount of Class 1 Public Securities that 
Cannot be Issued; Market Conditions and Requirements; and Cost-
Benefit Analysis), the association may request and the Commissioner 
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[commissioner] may approve the imposition of class 1 assessments as 
provided in this section. 

(d) In its request to the Commissioner [commissioner] to ap-
prove the imposition of assessments under subsection (c) of this sec-
tion, the association must submit the following information: 

(1) the information required by subsection (b) of this sec-
tion; 

(2) information based on the analyses described in §5.4135 
of this title [division]; 

(3) the amount of class 1 public securities that can be is-
sued; 

(4) the amount of class 1 public securities that cannot be 
issued; and 

(5) the specific reasons, market conditions, and require-
ments that prevent TPFA from issuing all or any portion of the au-
thorized principal amount of class 1 public securities. The association 
may rely on information and advice provided by TPFA, TPFA consul-
tants, TPFA legal counsel, and third parties retained by the association 
for this purpose. 

(e) [(f)] The association must request the issuance of the statu-
torily authorized principal amount of class 1 public securities before the 
association may request the Commissioner [commissioner] approve a 
class 1 assessment under Insurance Code §2210.0725. 

(f) [(g)] The association must request the issuance of the statu-
torily authorized principal amount of class 2 public securities before the 
association may request the Commissioner [commissioner] approve a 
class 2 assessment under Insurance Code §2210.074. 

(g) [(h)] The association must request the issuance of the statu-
torily authorized principal amount of class 3 public securities before the 
association may request the Commissioner [commissioner] approve a 
class 3 assessment under Insurance Code §2210.0742. 

(h) [(i)] If the Commissioner [commissioner] approves the im-
position of assessments under subsection (c) of this section, any class 
2 and class 3 public securities must be issued as provided by Insurance 
Code Chapter 2210 and these rules. 

(i) The association may use the proceeds from assessments 
only for losses and expenses resulting from the catastrophe year for 
which the assessments were made. 

[(j) This section and §§5.4162 - 5.4167 of this division (re-
lating to Amount of Assessment; Notice of Assessment; Payment of 
Assessment; Failure to Pay Assessment; Contest After Payment of As-
sessment; and Inability to Pay Assessment by Reason of Insolvency, 
respectively) are a part of the association's plan of operation and will 
control over any conflicting provision in §5.4001 of this subchapter (re-
lating to Plan of Operation).] 

§5.4162. Amount of Assessment. 

(a) The association [Association] must [shall] determine 
which members of the association must [Association shall] participate 
in any assessment [to provide for the Association's required obliga-
tions as determined] under §5.4160 and §5.4161 of this title [division] 
(relating to Member Assessments to Pay for Reinsurance and Member 
Assessments to Pay Claims). 

(1) The association [Association] may not include in 
the assessment an insurer that became a member of the association 
[Association] after September 1, 2009, and that had not previously 
been a member of the association [Association], until after the second 
anniversary of the date on which the insurer first becomes a member of 

the association [Association]. [The anniversary date shall be the date 
the insurer is authorized by the department to engage in the business 
of property insurance in this state.] 

(2) The association must [Association shall] include in the 
assessment an insurer described under paragraph (1) of this subsection 
after the second anniversary of the date on which the insurer first 
becomes a member of the association [Association] without regard 
as to whether the catastrophic event that gave rise to the class of 
assessments [public securities] occurred prior to the second anniver-
sary of the date on which the insurer first became a member of the 
association [Association]. 

(3) The association [Association] may not include in the 
assessment formula[,] the net direct premium of an affiliate insurer en-
gaged in the business of surplus lines insurance as described in the In-
surance Code §2210.052(c)[,] that a federal agency or court of compe-
tent jurisdiction determines to be exempt from the assessment formula 
under [the] Insurance Code Chapter 2210. 

(b) Each member company's percentage of participation must 
[This determination shall] be computed on a calendar year basis for the 
year in which the assessment is made. The percentage of participation 
is not [This determination shall not be] based on the year in which 
the catastrophic event occurred, except for an assessment made during 
that year. Net direct premiums must [shall] be determined as provided 
under §5.4001(a)(2)(N) [§5.4001] of this title [subchapter] (relating to 
Plan of Operation). 

(c) The participating members of the association must partic-
ipate in insured losses and operating expenses of the association, in 
excess of premium and other revenue, in the proportions required by 
Insurance Code §2210.052 and as depicted in subsection (e) of this sec-
tion. A participating member is entitled to receive credit for insurance 
voluntarily written in the catastrophe area, as provided in Insurance 
Code §2210.052. [The designated members of the Association shall 
participate in any assessment levied in the proportion that the net di-
rect premiums of such member written in this state during the preceding 
calendar year bears to the aggregate net direct premiums written in this 
state by all members of the Association as furnished to the Association 
by the department after review of annual statements, other reports, and 
required statistics; provided, however, that if at the time of such assess-
ment the department has not furnished to the Association information 
necessary to compute a member's participation during the preceding 
calendar year, then each member's participation shall be based upon 
information furnished to the Association from the last calendar year in 
which such information is available and, upon obtaining the necessary 
information from the department, the Association shall reassess or re-
fund to each member such amounts as are necessary to properly reflect 
such member's participation; provided, further, that a member shall be 
entitled to receive the following credit for insurance, similar to catas-
trophe insurance, written in such catastrophe areas.] 

(d) If at the time of an assessment the department has not fur-
nished to the association information necessary to compute a member's 
participation during the preceding calendar year, then each member's 
participation must be based upon information furnished to the associa-
tion from the last calendar year for which such information is available. 
When the association receives the necessary information from the de-
partment, the association must reassess or refund to each participating 
member the amounts necessary to properly reflect the member's partic-
ipation. 

(e) [(d)] The Figure: 28 TAC §5.4162(e) [ §5.4162(d)] graph-
ically depicts the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association Procedure 
For Calculating Member Assessment Percentages Including Credit For 
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Voluntary Writings. All premiums are for the most recent preceding 
calendar year ending December 31, as furnished by the department. 
Figure: 28 TAC §5.4162(e) 
[Figure: 28 TAC §5.4162(d)] 

(1) Column 1(a): Statewide net direct premiums for ex-
tended coverage and other allied lines. Column 1(b): Statewide net 
direct premiums for extended coverage and other allied lines portion 
of the multiple peril line. Column 1(c): Statewide net direct premiums 
for homeowners and farm and ranch owners. 

(2) Column 2: The sum of the statewide net direct premi-
ums at 90% of the extended coverage and other allied lines, and 50% 
of the homeowners and farm and ranch owner's, or such percentage as 
may be determined in accordance with §5.4001(a)(2)(N)(i)(III) of this 
chapter (90% of Column 1(a) plus 90% of Column 1(b) plus 50% of 
Column 1(c)). 

(3) Column 3: Each company's percentage of the net direct 
premiums as described in Column 2, which is the basis for indicating 
normal required participation in the association [Association] prior to 
credits for voluntary writings in the designated areas. 

(4) Column 4: Total windstorm and hail premiums in the 
designated areas (association [Association] premiums plus voluntary 
premiums). 

(5) Column 5: Normal company quota of total windstorm 
and hail premiums (Column 3 x Column 4). 

(6) Column 6: Each company's voluntary writings in the 
designated areas multiplied by the same percentages as shown in Col-
umn 2. Note: Maximum credit must [shall] be limited to company's 
normal quota. 

(7) Column 7: Each company's maximum possible alloca-
tion after applying credits for voluntary writings (Column 5 minus Col-
umn 6). Negative allocation to be shown as zero. 

(8) Column 8: Percentage participation of each member 
company in the association [Association], prior to application of offset. 
Note: The offset figure measures the excess premiums developed by 
the maximum credit in Column 6. 

(9) Column 9: Percentage participation of each member 
company in the association [Association]. 

(f) [(e)] The department will [shall] furnish to the association 
[Association] the amount of net direct premiums of each member com-
pany written on property in this state and the aggregate net direct premi-
ums written on property in this state by all member companies during 
the preceding calendar year as reported by member companies to the 
department. 

(g) Within a reasonable time after receiving the information 
described in subsection (f) of this section [the receipt of same] from 
the department, the association must [Association shall] notify each 
member company, in writing, [sent] by certified mail, of the following: 

(1) the amount of net direct premiums the member com-
pany wrote on property in this state during the preceding calendar year; 
[the amount of the net direct premiums written on property in this state 
during the preceding calendar year by the member company to whom 
notice is given, including] 

(2) the amount of net direct premiums of similar insurance 
the member company voluntarily wrote in the catastrophe area during 
the preceding calendar year; and [written in the catastrophe areas, upon 
which such company's percentage of participation will be determined.] 

(3) that the notice and contents are [Such notice shall state 
that such notification, and the content thereof, is] an act, ruling, or de-
cision of the association [Association] and that the member company 
to whom the [such] notice is given is [shall be] entitled to appeal it not 
later than the 30th day after [such act, ruling, or decision within 30 days 
from] the date shown on the notice in accordance with [the] Insurance 
Code §2210.551. 

(h) Within a reasonable period of time after sending the notice 
described in subsection (g) of this section, [Thereafter,] the association 
must [Association shall] determine the percentage of participation for 
each member company in the manner provided in this section and must 
[shall] notify each member company of its percentage of participation 
[thereof], in writing, [sent] by certified mail. The notice must state 
that the notice and contents are [Such notice shall state that such no-
tification, and the content thereof, is] an act, ruling, or decision of the 
association [Association] insofar as the mathematical determination of 
the percentage of participation is concerned and that the member com-
pany to whom the [such] notice is given is [shall be] entitled to appeal 
not later than the 30th day after the date shown on the [therefrom within 
30 days from the date of such act, ruling, or decision as shown on said] 
notice in accordance with [the] Insurance Code §2210.551. 

(i) In the notices required under subsections (g) and (h) of this 
section, the association must disclose to its members that the result-
ing participation percentages will be used for any reinsurance assess-
ments for the calendar year that may be required under Insurance Code 
§2210.453(d). 

[(f) To assist the Association in determining each member in-
surer's percentage of participation as soon as possible in the calendar 
year, each member insurer shall furnish to the Association on or before 
March 1 of each year a copy of its Exhibit of Premiums and Losses 
(Statutory Page 14) for the State of Texas that is filed annually with the 
department as part of the insurer's Texas Property and Casualty Annual 
Statement.] 

§5.4164. Payment of Assessment. 
Each [Except as provided by §5.4143 of this division (relating to Trust 
Funds for the Payment of Class 2 Public Securities) and §5.4146 of this 
division (relating to Member Assessment Trust Fund for the Payment of 
Class 3 Public Securities), each] member must remit to the association 
payment in full of its assessed amount of any assessment levied by the 
association within 30 days of receipt of notice of assessment. 

§5.4167. Inability to Pay Assessment by Reason of Insolvency. 
In the event a member of the association [Association] is placed in 
temporary or permanent receivership under order of a court of com-
petent jurisdiction based on [upon] a finding of insolvency, and such 
member has been designated an impaired insurer by the commissioner, 
and in the event an assessment is necessary [it is necessary to obtain 
additional funds to provide for operating expenses and losses] in the 
year the insurer is declared impaired, the aggregate net amount not re-
covered from such insolvent insurer must [shall] be reallocated among 
the remaining members of the association [Association] in accordance 
with the method of determining participation as determined in the plan 
of operation. 

§5.4171. Premium Surcharge Requirements. 
(a) The association may be required to assess a premium sur-

charge under Insurance Code §§2210.612, 2210.613, or 2210.6131 on 
all policyholders of policies that cover association-insured property. 

(b) Following a catastrophic event, insurers may be required 
to assess a premium surcharge under Insurance Code §2210.6132 on 
all policyholders of policies that cover insured property that is located 
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in a catastrophe area, including automobiles principally garaged in the 
catastrophe area. This requirement applies to property and casualty in-
surers, the association, the Texas FAIR Plan Association, Texas Auto-
mobile Insurance Plan Association policies, affiliated surplus lines in-
surers, and includes property and casualty policies independently pro-
cured from affiliated insurers. 

(c) For premium surcharges described in subsection (a) of this 
section, this section and §§5.4172, 5.4173, 5.4181, 5.4182, and 5.4184 
- 5.4192 of this title [division] (relating to Premium Surcharge Defi-
nitions, Determination of the Contingent Surcharge Percentage, Pre-
miums to be Surcharged, Method for Determining the Premium Sur-
charge, Application of Premium Surcharges, Mandatory Premium Sur-
charge Collection, Remittance of Contingent Surcharges, Offsets, As-
sociation Surcharges Not Subject to Commissions or Premium Taxes; 
Contingent Surcharges not Subject to Commissions, Notification Re-
quirements, Annual Premium Surcharge Report, Premium Surcharge 
Reconciliation Report, and Data Collection, respectively) apply to all 
policies written by the association. 

(d) Contingent surcharges described in subsection (b) of this 
section and §§5.4172, 5.4173, 5.4181, 5.4182, and 5.4184 - 5.4192 
of this title [division] only apply to policies written for the follow-
ing types of insurance: commercial fire; commercial allied lines; farm 
and ranch owners; residential property insurance; commercial multi-
ple peril (nonliability portion); private passenger automobile no fault 
(personal injury protection (PIP)), other private passenger automobile 
liability, private passenger automobile physical damage; commercial 
automobile no fault (PIP), other commercial automobile liability, and 
commercial automobile physical damage. 

(e) This section and §§5.4172, 5.4173, 5.4181, 5.4182, and 
5.4184 - 5.4192 of this title [division] do not apply to: 

(1) a farm mutual insurance company operating under In-
surance Code Chapter 911, unless the company is acting as a fronting 
insurer, as defined by Insurance Code §221.001(c); 

(2) a nonaffiliated county mutual fire insurance company 
described by Insurance Code §912.310 that is writing exclusively 
industrial fire insurance policies as described by Insurance Code 
§912.310(a)(2); 

(3) a mutual insurance company or a statewide mutual as-
sessment company engaged in business under Chapter 12 or 13, Title 
78, Revised Statutes, respectively, before those chapters' repeal by §18, 
Chapter 40, Acts of the 41st Legislature, First Called Session (1929), 
as amended by Section 1, Chapter 60, General Laws, Acts of the 41st 
Legislature, Second Called Session (1929), that retains the rights and 
privileges under the repealed law to the extent provided by those sec-
tions; and 

(4) premium and policies issued by an affiliated surplus 
lines insurer that a federal agency or court of competent jurisdiction 
determines to be exempt from a premium surcharge under Insurance 
Code Chapter 2210. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002311 

James Person 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

DIVISION 7. INSPECTIONS FOR 
WINDSTORM AND HAIL INSURANCE 
The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) proposes to amend 
28 TAC §§5.4603, 5.4604, 5.4609, 5.4640, and 5.4642; and to 
repeal 28 TAC §5.4606 and replace it with new §5.4606. These 
proposed changes concern the process for certifying that struc-
tures comply with windstorm building codes for both ongoing and 
completed improvements. The proposed rules will apply to ap-
plications for certificates of compliance submitted on or after the 
effective date of the rules. The proposed rules are necessary 
to implement Senate Bill 615, 86th Legislature, Regular Session 
(2019), and House Bill 1900, 86th Legislature, Regular Session 
(2019), and important to maintain uniformity within TDI's regula-
tions. 
EXPLANATION. Amending §§5.4603, 5.4604, 5.4609, 5.4640, 
and 5.4642, and repealing existing §5.4606 and replacing it with 
new §5.4606 are necessary to implement SB 615 and HB 1900, 
which amended Insurance Code §2210.251 and §2210.2515. 
TDI must fulfill its new statutory charge, effective June 1, 2020, to 
regulate the application process for certificates of compliance for 
completed improvements. While the application process for cer-
tificates of compliance for completed improvements moved from 
the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA) to TDI effec-
tive June 1, 2020, the proposed rules will apply to applications 
for certificates of compliance submitted on or after the effective 
date of the rules. TDI also proposes nonsubstantive changes to 
the rule text to maintain stylistic uniformity in TDI's regulations 
and remove provisions that are no longer applicable. 
SB 615 and HB 1900, 86th Legislature. SB 615 and HB 1900 
amend Insurance Code §2210.251 and §2210.2515. These 
amendments require TDI to regulate the application process 
for certificates of compliance for completed improvements and 
provide additional disciplinary authority and remedies for TDI to 
use to address noncompliant applications or structures. 
Insurance Code §2210.251 and §2210.2515 govern certificates 
of compliance that provide evidence of a structure's insurability 
by TWIA. In 2015, the Legislature passed HB 2439, 84th Legis-
lature, Regular Session (2015), which divided the certificate of 
compliance process between TWIA and TDI. As required by HB 
2439, TWIA oversaw the certificate of compliance process for 
completed improvements, while TDI oversaw the certificate of 
compliance process for ongoing improvements. 
Under HB 2439, TWIA was required to issue a certificate of com-
pliance for a completed improvement if it received specific statu-
torily-required affirmations from a Texas-licensed professional 
engineer and a completed TDI-prescribed form. If TDI denied 
an application for an ongoing improvement for noncompliance, 
an applicant could apply to TWIA when the improvement was 
completed. For completed improvements, neither TDI nor TWIA 
had authority to inspect or verify the application's accuracy or en-
forcement authority. While HB 2439 was in effect, TDI received 
complaints about structures that were certified under TWIA's cer-
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tificate application process but that did not meet the required 
windstorm building code standards. 
The Sunset Advisory Commission reviewed TWIA in 2018-2019. 
Following the review, the Sunset Advisory Commission is-
sued a report examining six issues, including windstorm 
certificates of compliance. The Sunset Review Commis-
sion's report recommended statutory changes to require 
that a certificate of compliance for a completed improve-
ment be based on some inspection of the improvement. 
Texas Sunset Advisory Commission, Staff Report with Fi-
nal Results, 46 (2019), www.sunset.texas.gov/public/up-
loads/files/reports/Texas%20Winstorm%20Insurance%20Asso-
ciation%20Staff%20Report%20with%20Final%20Results.pdf. 
With SB 615 and HB 1900, the Legislature put certificates of 
compliance for completed improvements under TDI regulation. 
TDI now has authority to deny applications for and rescind cer-
tificates of compliance for completed improvements. The bills 
also authorize TDI to submit a formal complaint on a licensed 
engineer to the Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land 
Surveyors (TBPELS) related to the engineering work in an appli-
cation for a completed improvement. SB 615, however, prohibits 
TDI from prescribing a form that requires an engineer to assume 
liability for the construction of the improvement. 
Under SB 615 and HB 1900, TDI continues to regulate certifi-
cates of compliance for ongoing improvements. HB 1900 gives 
TDI authority to impose reasonable penalties on appointed qual-
ified inspectors (AQIs) for failing to provide complete and accu-
rate information in connection with the inspection of an ongoing 
improvement. The bill states that these reasonable penalties in-
clude prohibiting the inspector from applying for certificates of 
compliance under Insurance Code §2210.2515. 
The following paragraphs explain how the proposed rules imple-
ment SB 615 and HB 1900. 
Section 5.4603. Windstorm Inspection Forms. Section 5.4603 
addresses windstorm inspection forms. Amending §5.4603 is 
necessary because amended Insurance Code §2210.2515 re-
quires TDI to prescribe forms for applying for a certificate of com-
pliance for a completed improvement. TDI will make available on 
its website new Certification Form for Completed Improvement, 
WPI-2E, and new Certificate of Compliance for Completed Im-
provement (Engineered), WPI-8E, both effective June 1, 2020. 
Proposed §5.4604 and §5.4606 specify the supporting evidence 
the WPI-2E will require. 
Section 5.4604. Certification Form for Completed Improvement. 
Section 5.4604 addresses the application process for certificates 
of compliance for completed improvements. Amending §5.4604 
is necessary to describe the new application process for com-
pleted improvements, including adding new forms prescribed by 
TDI as required in amended Insurance Code §2210.2515. The 
changes also implement TDI's authority to deny an application 
for a certificate of compliance for a completed improvement and 
to submit a formal complaint to the TBPELS. In addition, the pro-
posed changes include nonsubstantive amendments to improve 
consistency and readability of TDI's regulations. 
To keep TDI's regulations up-to-date and organized, the follow-
ing changes are also proposed. 
Current §5.4606. Requirements for Temporary Appointment of 
Qualified Inspectors. Existing §5.4606 addresses requirements 
for temporary appointment of qualified inspectors. TDI proposes 
repealing the section because it is no longer needed. TDI im-

plemented requirements for temporary appointment of qualified 
inspectors in 2006 in response to Hurricane Rita in §5.4606, but 
the response to Hurricane Rita is complete, and temporary ap-
pointment of qualified inspectors to respond to Hurricane Rita is 
no longer needed. 
New §5.4606. Supporting Evidence for Sealed Postconstruction 
Evaluation Report for Certificate of Compliance for Completed 
Improvement. TDI proposes replacing repealed §5.4606 with a 
new section that will address supporting evidence requirements 
as required by amended Insurance Code §2210.2515. Appli-
cants must submit supporting evidence with an application for a 
completed-improvement certificate. In addition to the evidence 
provided with the application, TDI may require additional sup-
porting evidence as identified in this section. 
Section 5.4609. Application for Qualified Inspector Appointment. 
Section 5.4609 addresses the application for a qualified-inspec-
tor appointment. TDI proposes deleting §5.4609(d) and (f). This 
revision is important because subsections (d) and (f) no longer 
apply. The subsections address engineers appointed as AQIs 
as of the effective date of §5.4606 under the previous version 
of Insurance Code §2210.254(a)(2) (Acts 2005, 79th Leg., Ch. 
727, §2, 2005 Tex. Gen. Laws 1941 (amended 2011)). 
Section 5.4640. Oversight. Amendments to §5.4640 implement 
TDI's new oversight authority for completed-improvement-certifi-
cate applications and issued certificates. This includes adding 
authority for TDI to deny an application, rescind an issued cer-
tificate, or report an engineer to the TBPELS. 
Section 5.4642. Disciplinary Action. Section 5.4642 addresses 
disciplinary actions that TDI may take. Amending §5.4642 is 
necessary to describe the penalties TDI is authorized to impose 
on a person acting as an AQI under Insurance Code §2210.254 
who has failed to provide complete and accurate information in 
connection with an inspection for a certificate of compliance. 
FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. Donny Cox, director of the Inspections Section, has de-
termined that during each year of the first five years the proposed 
amendments, new section, and repeal are in effect, there will be 
no measurable fiscal impact on state or local governments as a 
result of enforcing or administering the sections, other than that 
imposed by the statute. This determination was made because 
the proposed amendments do not add to or decrease state rev-
enues or expenditures, and because local governments are not 
involved in enforcing or complying with the proposed amend-
ments. 
Mr. Cox does not anticipate any measurable effect on local em-
ployment or the local economy as a result of this proposal. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. For each year of the first 
five years the proposed amendments, new section, and repeal 
are in effect, Mr. Cox expects that administering and enforcing 
the proposed changes will have the public benefit of ensuring 
that TDI's rules conform to amended Insurance Code §2210.251 
and §2210.2515. By implementing amended §2210.251 and 
§2210.2515, these rules will also streamline and standardize the 
certificate of compliance application process by making TDI the 
sole regulator. In addition, the proposed rules give TDI enforce-
ment authority to effectively regulate the application process and 
better protect consumers. 
Mr. Cox expects that the proposed amendments, repeal, and 
new section will impose an economic cost on persons required 
to comply. Under the proposed rules, as required by amended 
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Insurance Code §2210.2515, applicants are required to provide 
supporting evidence with their application to TDI for a certificate 
of completed improvement. Applicants, however, should already 
have had this supporting evidence to complete TWIA's com-
pleted-improvement-certificate application. Costs arise from ad-
ditional expenses related to making hard copies, scanning doc-
uments, or mailing documents to TDI. Because the supporting 
evidence and submission method will vary per application, TDI 
cannot predict the cost amounts but expects the cost to be min-
imal. 
Postage for a First-Class Mail Letter (1 oz.) is $.55. Mailing 
& Shipping Prices, USPS.com (March 9, 2020 9:52 a.m.), 
www.usps.com/business/prices.htm. The total mailing cost will 
depend on the number of documents mailed. The cost to print 
supporting evidence is approximately $.05 to $.08 per page, 
with the total cost dependent on the amount of information 
printed. These costs will vary with each application. 
Scanners range from $50 to $1200, and the price will depend on 
the scanner's quality, speed, and if it is a portable or self-loading 
model. If the applicant submits the documents electronically, 
there will be no postage or printing cost to do so. 
TDI estimates individual employee compensation for an admin-
istrative assistant at $17.61 an hour for one to ten hours of work 
to mail or scan and email documents to TDI. This wage is based 
on the national median hourly wage for each classification 
as reported in the May 2018 National Industry Specific Occu-
pational Employment and Wage Estimates. Bureau of Labor 
Statistics, Occupational Employment Statistics, United States 
Dep't of Labor (March 9, 2020 9:53 a.m.), www.bls.gov/oes/cur-
rent/oes436014.htm. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS. TDI has determined that the proposed 
amendments, repeal, and new section may have an adverse 
economic effect or a disproportionate economic impact on 7,687 
small or micro businesses. The cost analysis in the Public 
Benefit and Cost Note section of this proposal applies to these 
small and micro businesses. 
According to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, there 
are 7,687 small engineering businesses in Texas. However, TDI 
cannot predict how many small engineering businesses will ap-
ply for a certificate for completed improvement under the pro-
posed rules. In addition, TDI anticipates that the number of engi-
neers who would apply for a completed-improvement certificate 
is small. Most certificates issued are for ongoing improvements. 
The proposed rules will not affect rural communities. 
As stated in the Public Benefit and Cost Note section of this pro-
posal, TDI anticipates that each person applying for a certificate 
of completed improvement may incur some costs because of 
the proposed rule changes. The primary objective of this pro-
posal is to implement amended Insurance Code §2210.251 and 
§2210.2515. TDI considered the following alternatives to mini-
mize any adverse impact on small and micro businesses while 
accomplishing the proposal's objectives: 
(1) not proposing the amendments, repeal, and new section; 
(2) proposing a different requirement for small and micro busi-
nesses; and 

(3) exempting small or micro businesses from the proposed re-
quirement that could create the adverse impact. 

Not proposing the amendments, repeal, and new section. Not 
proposing the amendments, repeal, and new section would not 
prevent small and micro businesses from incurring the costs de-
scribed above. The rules implement amended Insurance Code 
§2210.251 and §2210.2515, which require applicants to pro-
vide supporting evidence to apply for a certificate of completed 
improvement. Even if TDI does not make the proposed rule 
changes, applicants will still incur costs associated with provid-
ing supporting evidence to TDI under amended §2210.251 and 
§2210.2515. For these reasons, TDI rejected this option. 
Proposing a different requirement for small and micro busi-
nesses. Proposing a different requirement would not alleviate 
any potential costs described above. The costs are imposed 
as a result of amended Insurance Code §2210.251 and 
§2210.2515. Although TDI has discretion to determine the 
submission method for and types of supporting evidence, TDI 
does not have discretion to not require it. For this reason, TDI 
rejected this option. 
Exempting small or micro businesses and rural communities 
from the proposed requirement that could create the adverse 
impact. Adding an exemption would also not alleviate the poten-
tial costs associated with the proposed changes because these 
costs are a result of amended Insurance Code §2210.251 and 
§2210.2515. Even if TDI adds an exemption to the proposed 
rules, applicants would still be statutorily required to provide 
supporting evidence to TDI. For these reasons, TDI rejected 
this option. 
EXAMINATION OF COSTS UNDER GOVERNMENT CODE 
§2001.0045. TDI has determined that this proposal does impose 
a possible cost on regulated persons. However, Government 
Code §2001.0045 does not require additional rule amendments 
because the proposed changes are necessary to implement 
legislation. The proposed rule implements Insurance Code 
§2210.251 and §2210.2515 as added by SB 615 and HB 1900. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT. TDI has de-
termined that for each year of the first five years that the pro-
posed amendments are in effect the proposed rule: 
- will not create or eliminate a government program; 
- will not require the creation of new employee positions or the 
elimination of existing employee positions; 
- will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative 
appropriations to the agency; 
- will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the 
agency; 
- will create a new regulation; 
- will expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; 
- will increase the number of individuals subject to the rule's ap-
plicability; and 

- will positively affect the Texas economy by verifying the insur-
ability of homes in at-risk areas. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. TDI has determined that no 
private real property interests are affected by this proposal and 
that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right to 
property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government 
action. As a result, this proposal does not constitute a taking or 
require a takings impact assessment under Government Code 
§2007.043. 

45 TexReg 4152 June 19, 2020 Texas Register 

www.bls.gov/oes/cur
www.usps.com/business/prices.htm
https://USPS.com


REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. TDI will consider any writ-
ten comments on the proposal that are received by TDI no later 
than 5 p.m. Central time on July 20, 2020. Send your comments 
to ChiefClerk@tdi.texas.gov; or to the Office of the Chief Clerk, 
MC 112-2A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, 
Austin, Texas 78714-9104. 
The Commissioner will also consider written and oral comments 
on the proposal in a public hearing under Docket No. 2820 at 
1:00 p.m. central time on July 10, 2020. To avoid the risk of 
transmission of COVID-19, TDI will hold the public hearing re-
motely using online resources. Details of how to view and how 
to participate in the hearing will be made available on TDI's web-
site at www.tdi.texas.gov/alert/event/2020/07/docket-2820. 

28 TAC §§5.4603, 5.4604, 5.4606, 5.4609, 5.4640, 5.4642 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. TDI proposes amendments to 
28 TAC §§5.4603, 5.4604, 5.4609, 5.4640, 5.4642, and new 
§5.4606 under Insurance Code §§2210.251, 2210.2515, and 
36.001. 
Insurance Code §2210.251 provides that TDI's issuance of a cer-
tificate of compliance demonstrates compliance with the applica-
ble building code under the TWIA plan of operation. 
Insurance Code §2210.2515 provides that TDI oversees the cer-
tification-of-compliance application process for both ongoing and 
completed improvements and authorizes the Commissioner to 
adopt rules as necessary to impose reasonable penalties on 
qualified inspectors that fail to provide complete and accurate 
information in connection with an inspection for a certificate of 
compliance and rescind certificates of compliance. 
Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may 
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code and other 
laws of this state. 
CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE. Amendments to 
§§5.4603, 5.4604, 5.4609, 5.4640, and 5.4642, and 
new §5.4606 implement Insurance Code §2210.251 and 
§2210.2515. 
§5.4603. Windstorm Inspection Forms. 

(a) Inspection Verification, Form WPI-2-BC-6. TDI adopts 
by reference the Inspection Verification, Form WPI-2-BC-6, effective 
January 1, 2017, for use in windstorm inspection, for structures con-
structed, repaired, or to which additions are made on and after January 
1, 2008, and before April 1, 2020. 

(b) Application, inspection, and renewal forms. TDI will 
make available the following forms on its website: 

(1) Application for Appointment as a Qualified Inspector, 
Form AQI-1, effective January 1, 2017; 

(2) Renewal Application for Appointment as a Qualified 
Inspector, Form AQI-R, effective January 1, 2017; 

(3) Application for Certificate of Compliance for Ongoing 
Improvement, Form WPI-1, January 1, 2017; 

(4) Certification Form for Completed Improvement, Form 
WPI-2E, effective June 1, 2020 [Application Form for Certificate of 
Compliance (WPI-8) for Completed Improvement, effective April 1, 
2020]; and 

(5) Inspection Verification, Form WPI-2, effective April 1, 
2020, for structures constructed, repaired, or to which additions are 
made on and after April 1, 2020. 

(c) TDI inspection and certification forms. When appropriate, 
TDI will issue the following forms: 

(1) Field Form, Form WPI-7, effective April 1, 2020; and 

(2) Certificate of Compliance for Ongoing Improvement, 
Form WPI-8, effective January 1, 2017; and[.] 

(3) Certificate of Compliance for Completed Improvement 
(Engineered), Form WPI-8E. 

§5.4604. Certification Form for Completed Improvement 

(a) Persons must submit the following information when 
applying to TDI [the association] for a certificate of compliance 
[Certificate of Compliance] for a completed improvement on a struc-
ture: 

(1) a statement from a professional engineer licensed by the 
Texas Board of Professional Engineer and Land Surveyors that affirms 
that the engineer has: 

(A) designed the improvement, 

(B) affixed the engineer's seal on the design, and 

(C) affirmed the design complies with the applicable 
building code under the plan of operation, and that the improvement 
was constructed in accordance with the design; or 

(2) a sealed postconstruction evaluation report completed 
and submitted by a professional engineer licensed by the Texas Board 
of Professional Engineer and Land Surveyors that: 

(A) confirms the improvement's compliance with the 
applicable building code under the plan of operation; 

(B) includes supporting evidence found in §5.4606 of 
this title (relating to Supporting Evidence for Sealed Postconstruction 
Evaluation Report for Certificate of Compliance for Completed Im-
provement) for the engineer's postconstruction evaluation report; and 

(C) contains the engineer's seal. 

(b) The following information must also be provided: 

(1) the physical address (including street, street number, 
city, county, and ZIP code); 

(2) whether the original transfer of title from the builder to 
the initial owner of the improvement has occurred or is expected to 
occur in the future; 

(3) whether the improvement is substantially completed; 

(4) the wind zone location; 

(5) whether the structure is in a Coastal Barrier Resource 
System Unit [Zone]; 

(6) the property owner's name and contact information, or 
the name and contact information of the builder or contractor that made 
the completed improvement; 

[(7) the name and contact information of the builder or con-
tractor that made the completed improvement;] 

(7) [(8)] the name and contact information of the engineer 
certifying the completed improvement; 

(8) [(9)] the date construction of the completed improve-
ment began; 

(9) [(10)] the date of application for the certificate of com-
pliance for the completed improvement; 
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(10) [(11)] the name of the person submitting the applica-
tion for the certificate of compliance for the completed improvement; 

(11) [(12)] the type of structure to which the completed im-
provement was [is being] made, including the structure's name or num-
ber and number of units, if applicable; 

(12) [(13)] the subject of the inspection (for example, entire 
structure, addition, alteration, or repair); 

(13) [(14)] the building code standard and applicable wind 
load standard under which the completed improvement was designed 
or inspected; 

[(15) either of the following from a Texas-licensed profes-
sional engineer:] 

[(A) the plan or drawing number for the engineer's 
sealed design of the completed improvement and the engineer's affir-
mation of compliance with the applicable windstorm building code; 
or] 

[(B) the title, date, and number of the engineer's sealed 
postconstruction evaluation report on the completed improvement and 
the engineer's confirmation that the completed improvement complies 
with the applicable windstorm building code;] 

(14) [(16)] the wind-speed conditions that the completed 
improvement is designed to withstand; 

(15) [(17)] the importance factor or risk category of the 
structure; 

(16) [(18)] the exposure category of the structure; 

(17) [(19)] information on the protection of exterior open-
ings from windborne debris; 

(18) [(20)] the dates the completed improvement was in-
spected; [and] 

(19) [(21)] the signature and Texas Board of Professional 
Engineers and Land Surveyors registration number of the engineer cer-
tifying the completed improvement; and[.] 

(20) supporting evidence under §5.4606 of this title. 

(c) [(b)] TDI [The association] will make available the 
Certification Form for Completed Improvement, Form WPI-2E 
[Application for Certificate of Compliance (WPI-8) for Completed 
Improvement] on which the information in subsections [subsection] 
(a) and (b) of this section may be provided. 

[(c) The association must issue a Certificate of Compliance for 
a completed improvement on an improvement if the applicant for the 
certificate has complied with Insurance Code §2210.2515(c) and with 
this section.] 

§5.4606. Supporting Evidence for Sealed Postconstruction Evalua-
tion Report for Certificate of Compliance for Completed Improvement. 

(a) "Supporting evidence" includes but is not limited to: 

(1) Product evaluations; 

(2) Installation instructions from the manufacturer for the 
product; 

(3) Test data; 

(4) Written evidence from inspections--for example, an in-
spection report; 

(5) Photographs; 

(6) Video recording; 

(7) Plans, either as-built plans (plans that demonstrate 
compliance with the applicable building code for the design of the 
structure), design drawings, shop drawings, or sketches; or 

(8) Any other documentation or other form of evidence that 
supports statements made in the application, design, or postconstruc-
tion evaluation report submitted to TDI. 

(b) To verify that an engineer's affirmed design or postcon-
struction evaluation report confirms the completed improvement's 
compliance with the applicable building code under the plan of 
operation, as required under §5.4604 of this title (relating to Certifi-
cation Form for Completed Improvement), it must include supporting 
evidence, when applicable, such as the following: 

(1) Roof covering certifications. 

(A) Supporting evidence identifying all products and 
components included in the scope of the certification, including roof 
covering, fasteners, underlayment, roof deck, roof vents, skylights, and 
all other parts of the roof-covering assembly. 

(B) Manufacturer's installation instructions, product 
evaluation reports, or test laboratory reports, and code-required in-
stallation requirements for all components included in the scope of 
certification (for example see subparagraph (A) of this paragraph). 

(C) Supporting evidence that the components of the in-
stalled building products meet or exceed the code-required design pres-
sures. 

(D) Supporting evidence verifying that the roof cover-
ing, roof vents, and skylights are installed according to the manufac-
turer installation instructions, product test reports, and specifications in 
the applicable windstorm building code. 

(E) Applicable information listed in §5.4626 of this title 
(relating to Substantiating Information). 

(2) Building product certifications. 

(A) Supporting evidence identifying all products in-
cluded in the scope of the certification, including windows, side-hinged 
doors, sliding doors, overhead doors (sectional or rolling), exterior 
wall coverings, and other applicable building products. 

(B) Manufacturer's installation instructions; product 
evaluation, reports, or test laboratory reports; product certifications; 
and code-required installation requirements for the building products 
included in the scope of the certification. 

(C) Supporting evidence verifying that design-pressure 
ratings for all building products meet or exceed the required design 
pressures as specified in the applicable windstorm building code for 
the installation. 

(D) Supporting evidence verifying that the building 
products that are required by the applicable windstorm building code 
were certified by a certification agency, such as the Window and Door 
Manufacturers Association or the American Architectural Manufac-
turers Association; are properly labeled; and have valid certifications. 

(E) Supporting evidence recording all information on 
certification labels and verifying that the product test pressure exceeds 
code-required design pressure, and that building products are within the 
maximum size tested on each label and are installed exactly as tested. 

(F) Supporting evidence specifying the minimum de-
sign pressures required by the applicable windstorm building code. 

(G) Applicable information listed in §5.4626 of this ti-
tle. 
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(H) Where the applicable windstorm building code re-
quires windborne debris protection, supporting evidence either verify-
ing the product is impact-resistant or protected with a windborne de-
bris protection system. Where the applicable code requires windborne 
debris protection, the protection must be installed according to manu-
facturers' instructions and product test reports. 

(3) Entire new building, existing building, or a new addi-
tion to an existing structure. 

(A) Supporting evidence verifying complete load path 
as specified by the applicable windstorm building code, including con-
nections between roof, walls, floor, and foundation. 

(B) Supporting evidence verifying roof coverings as 
specified under paragraph (1) of this subsection. 

(C) Supporting evidence verifying building products as 
specified under paragraph (2) of this subsection. 

(D) Building plans, such as structural drawings from 
the engineer of record or as-built plans that demonstrate compliance 
with the applicable windstorm building code. The plans must show 
items such as lateral resisting elements, wall framing, roof framing, 
floor framing, and other pertinent elements of the structure that are in-
cluded in the scope of work for the certification. 

(E) Supporting evidence verifying the foundation sys-
tem, such as existing plans or as-built plans. The plans must show the 
location of anchors, ties, or straps; pile locations; or other pertinent el-
ements of the structural system that are included in the scope of work 
for the certification. 

(F) For additions, supporting evidence verifying 
whether the addition is attached or detached from main structure. If 
the addition is attached, the supporting evidence must specify the 
load on the existing structure, the load imposed by the addition on 
the existing structure, and if the existing structure and the connection 
will satisfy the combined loading. Attached additions rely on the 
existing structure for stability and strength. Detached additions are 
independent of the existing structure. Supporting evidence must also 
verify load path from addition to existing structure, if applicable. 

(G) Applicable information listed in §5.4626 of this ti-
tle. 

(c) The engineer or applicant for the certificate of compliance 
for completed improvement may provide the applicable supporting ev-
idence listed in subsection (b) of this section with the application, Form 
WPI-2E. In addition, the engineer or applicant may be required to pro-
vide additional information as listed in subsection (b) of this section 
if TDI requires more information to verify the application, design, or 
postconstruction evaluation report. Failure to provide the documents 
requested by TDI could result in a denial of a Certificate of Compliance 
for Completed Improvement (Engineered), Form WPI-8E, or other ac-
tion taken by TDI as stated in §5.4640 of this title (relating to Over-
sight) or §5.4642 of this title (relating to Disciplinary Action). 

(d) For each component inspected, including roof, window, 
door, garage door, or exterior cladding, the engineer listed on the cer-
tificate of compliance for completed improvement must retain the sup-
porting evidence and applicable information described in this section 
for that component for five years from the date of the most recent cer-
tification application submitted on the structure or until the component 
is replaced and recertified, whichever is longer. 

§5.4609. Application for Qualified Inspector Appointment. 
(a) Experience and education. An appointed qualified inspec-

tor must display demonstrable experience and education related to 
windstorm design. 

(b) Appointed qualified inspector application. To apply for ap-
pointment as a qualified inspector, an applicant must provide TDI with: 

(1) the applicant's name and contact information; 

(2) the applicant's Texas Board of Professional Engineers 
and Land Surveyors registration number; 

(3) a summary of the applicant's education and experience 
related to windstorm design; and 

(4) a statement addressing whether the applicant has at-
tended an orientation program as described in subsection (d) [(e)] of 
this section [or is an engineer described in subsection (d) of this sec-
tion]. 

(c) Form AQI-1. TDI will make available the Qualified In-
spector Appointment Application Form, Form AQI-1, on which appli-
cants can provide the information required by subsection (b) of this 
section. 

[(d) Engineers appointed as of the effective date of this sec-
tion. Texas-licensed professional engineers who, as of the effective 
date of this section, are appointed as qualified inspectors under the im-
mediate prior version of Insurance Code §2210.254(a)(2) (Acts 2005, 
79th Leg., Ch. 727, §2, 2005 Tex. Gen. Laws 1941 (amended 2011)), 
must submit the information required by subsection (b) of this section 
to be appointed as qualified inspectors under current Insurance Code 
§2210.254(a)(2).] 

(d) [(e)] Orientation program. Within the 180-day period im-
mediately preceding the date TDI receives the application, an applicant 
must have attended or viewed a TDI-sponsored orientation program on 
TDI procedures and rules relating to windstorm and hail inspections. 

[(f) Orientation program for engineers appointed as of the 
effective date of this section. Texas-licensed professional engineers 
who, as of the effective date of this section, are appointed as qualified 
inspectors under the immediate prior version of Insurance Code 
§2210.254(a)(2), must have attended or viewed the TDI-sponsored 
orientation program on TDI procedures and rules relating to windstorm 
and hail inspections within the 90-day period immediately following 
December 31, 2016.] 

§5.4640. Oversight. 
(a) Inspection oversight. An appointed qualified inspector is 

subject to TDI's regulatory authority, which includes oversight inspec-
tions conducted by TDI. TDI oversees all aspects of the inspection and 
notification of compliance of ongoing improvements by an appointed 
qualified inspector under Insurance Code Chapter 2210 and this chap-
ter. 

(b) Certificate of compliance oversight. 

(1) Ongoing Improvements. As part of TDI's oversight, 
TDI may audit the inspections on structures for which it has received an 
Application for Windstorm Inspection Certificate of Compliance, Form 
WPI-1, or an Inspection Verification, Form WPI-2, including structures 
for which TDI has issued a Certificate of Compliance, Form WPI-8. If 
TDI determines that a structure does not meet the windstorm building 
code standards, TDI will not issue a Form WPI-8; or if TDI has issued 
a Form WPI-8 on a structure that is subsequently found not to be in 
compliance with the windstorm building code standards, TDI may re-
scind the Form WPI-8. 

(2) Completed Improvements. 

(A) TDI may deny an application for certificate of com-
pliance if the postconstruction evaluation report or Certification Form 
for Completed Improvement, Form WPI-2E, is not fully documented 
as required under §5.4604 of this title (relating to Certification Form for 
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Completed Improvement) or §5.4606 of this title (relating to Support-
ing Evidence for Sealed Postconstruction Evaluation Report for Cer-
tificate of Compliance for Completed Improvement). 

(B) TDI may submit a formal complaint to the Texas 
Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors related to the en-
gineering work of a professional engineer, as reflected in the sealed 
postconstruction evaluation report or other materials submitted by an 
engineer under §5.4604 and §5.4606 of this title. 

(C) TDI may rescind a Certificate of Compliance for 
Completed Improvement (Engineered), Form WPI-8E, if TDI finds that 
the improvement does not comply with the applicable building code 
under the plan of operation. 

(c) Types of oversight audits. TDI may conduct an oversight 
audit of an appointed qualified inspector by any one, or a combination, 
of the following methods: 

(1) TDI may conduct an audit of an appointed qualified in-
spector based on documents and other information submitted to TDI; 
or 

(2) TDI may conduct an on-site audit at the appointed 
qualified inspector's place of employment or ongoing improvement 
for which TDI has received a Form WPI-1[,] or a Form WPI-2. 

(d) Notification of audits. 

(1) In all audits in which TDI asks the appointed qualified 
inspector to bring substantiating information to the audit, TDI will ex-
pect the audit to take place no less than 15 days after the appointed 
qualified inspectors receives notice of the audit. 

(2) The appointed qualified inspector may request a shorter 
time frame if a notice period in this subsection would cause a delay in 
the construction schedule. 

(e) Information for oversight audits. In the process of con-
ducting an oversight audit, TDI may require the appointed qualified 
inspector to provide: 

(1) documentation described in §5.4626 of this title (relat-
ing to Substantiating Information); and 

(2) any other information maintained by the appointed 
qualified inspector that will demonstrate that the ongoing improvement 
complies with the appropriate windstorm building code standards, and 
that the ongoing improvement is eligible for association insurance. 

(f) Burden of verification. For [With respect to] oversight au-
dits, the appointed qualified inspector bears the burden of verifying, 
under [as set forth in] §5.4622 of this title (relating to Inspection Ver-
ification), that the ongoing improvement complies with the wind load 
requirements of the applicable building code. 

(g) Requirement to provide information. The appointed quali-
fied inspector must provide information related to an audit in the same 
manner and time frame as required in §5.4615(5) of this title (relating 
to General Responsibilities of Appointed Qualified Inspectors). Fail-
ure to provide the information requested by TDI under this section may 
result in the nonissuance or rescission of a Certificate of Compliance, 
Form WPI-8 for the ongoing improvement, and the appointed qualified 
inspector may be subject to disciplinary action by TDI, as described in 
§5.4642 of this title (relating to Disciplinary Action). 

§5.4642. Disciplinary Action. 

(a) Revocation or denial of appointment. After notice and 
opportunity for hearing, the Commissioner may revoke an appointed 
qualified inspector's appointment or deny an appointed qualified 
inspector's application for appointment if: 

(1) the applicant or appointed qualified inspector violates 
or fails to comply with the Insurance Code or any rule in this chapter; 

(2) the applicant has made a material misrepresentation in 
the appointment application; 

(3) the applicant has attempted to obtain an appointment by 
fraud or misrepresentation; or 

(4) the applicant or appointed qualified inspector has 
made a material misrepresentation in any form, [or] report, or other 
information required to be submitted to [filed with] TDI, including an 
Application for Certificate of Compliance for Ongoing Improvement 
[Application for Windstorm Inspection Certificate of Compliance], 
Form WPI-1; a construction inspection report; [or] an Inspection Veri-
fication, Form WPI-2; an Inspection Verification, Form WPI-2-BC-6; 
or a Certification Form for Completed Improvement, form WPI-2E. 

(b) Cease and desist order. The Commissioner ex parte, may 
enter an emergency cease and desist order under Insurance Code Chap-
ter 83 against an appointed qualified inspector, or a person acting as an 
appointed qualified inspector, if: 

(1) the Commissioner believes that: 

(A) the appointed qualified inspector has: 

(i) failed to demonstrate, through submitting or 
failing to submit to TDI, substantiating information as described in 
§5.4626 of this title (relating to Substantiating Information), that an 
ongoing improvement or a portion of an ongoing improvement subject 
to inspection meets the requirements of Insurance Code Chapter 2210 
and TDI rules; or 

(ii) refused to comply with requirements imposed 
under this chapter or TDI rules; or 

(B) a person acting as an appointed qualified inspec-
tor is acting without appointment under Insurance Code §2210.254 or 
§2210.255; and 

(2) the Commissioner determines that the conduct de-
scribed by paragraph (1) of this subsection is fraudulent, hazardous, 
or creates an immediate danger to the public. 

(c) Alternative sanctions. Under Insurance Code 
§2210.2551(b) and §2210.256(b), the Commissioner, instead of 
revocation or denial, may impose one or more of the following 
sanctions if the Commissioner determines from the facts that the 
alternative sanction would be fair, reasonable, or equitable: 

(1) suspension of the appointment for a specific period, not 
to exceed one year; or 

(2) issuance of an order directing the appointed qualified 
inspector to cease and desist from the specified activity or failure to act 
determined to be in violation of Insurance Code Chapter 2210, Sub-
chapter F, or rules of the Commissioner adopted under Insurance Code 
Chapter 2210, Subchapter F. 

(d) Failure to comply with order. Under Insurance Code 
§2210.2551(b) and §2210.256(d), if the Commissioner finds, after 
notice and a hearing, that an appointed qualified inspector has failed 
to comply with an order issued under subsections (a), (b), or (c) 
of this section, the Commissioner will, unless the Commissioner's 
order is lawfully stayed, revoke the appointed qualified inspector's 
appointment. 

(e) Informal disposition. The Commissioner may informally 
dispose of any matter under this section or under §5.4612 of this title 
(relating to Appointment as Qualified Inspector) by consent order or 
default. 
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(f) Automatic cancellation. If the Texas Board of Professional 
Engineers and Land Surveyors revokes or suspends an engineer's li-
cense, the engineer's appointment as an appointed qualified inspector 
is automatically canceled. 

(g) Reasonable penalty. If TDI finds that a person acting as 
an appointed qualified inspector under Insurance Code §2210.254 
has failed to provide complete and accurate information regarding 
an inspection for a certificate of compliance under Insurance Code 
§2210.2515, then TDI may impose a reasonable penalty on the inspec-
tor, including prohibiting the inspector from applying for certificates 
of compliance under Insurance Code §2210.2515. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002288 
James Person 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
28 TAC §5.4606 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. TDI proposes to repeal 28 TAC 
§5.4606 under Insurance Code §2210.008(b) and §36.001. 
Insurance Code §2210.008(b) authorizes the Commissioner to 
adopt rules as reasonable and necessary to implement Insur-
ance Code Chapter 2210. 
Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may 
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code and other 
laws of this state. 
CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE. Section 5.4606 is re-
pealed under TDI's rulemaking authority in Insurance Code 
§2210.008(b) and Insurance Code §36.001. 
§5.4606. Requirements for Temporary Appointment of Qualified In-
spectors 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002286 
James Person 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER O. STATISTICAL PLANS 
[TEXAS COMMERCIAL LINES STATISTICAL 
PLAN] 
28 TAC §5.9502 

The Texas Department of Insurance proposes new 28 TAC 
§5.9502, relating to the Texas Catastrophe Event Statistical 
Plan for Personal and Commercial Risks (statistical plan). The 
proposed rule is necessary to effectively implement Insurance 
Code Chapter 38, Subchapter E for statistical data collection 
in response to a catastrophe; standardize and streamline the 
catastrophe data reporting requirements to enhance efficiency 
and predictability for insurers and TDI; allow for better experi-
ence comparisons by TDI and the industry in general; ensure 
TDI has consistent, reliable information to evaluate the insur-
ance market's health after a catastrophe; assist TDI in swiftly 
compiling complex data; allow for more timely analysis by TDI; 
and provide information about the impact of catastrophe events 
to policymakers. 
The proposed rule adopts by reference a new statistical plan that 
will apply to reporting dates beginning on or after the effective 
date of the rule. TDI also proposes changing the title of Sub-
chapter O of 28 TAC Chapter 5 from "Texas Commercial Lines 
Statistical Plan" to "Statistical Plans." 
TDI previously proposed this section and the adoption by ref-
erence of a new statistical plan on November 8, 2019. TDI 
withdrew that proposal in order to allow for a data call to cap-
ture catastrophe events that happened on or after September 
1, 2019, instead of on or after January 1, 2020. The department 
received comments based on the previous proposal, and has up-
dated the current proposal based on those comments and now 
re-proposes the section with minor changes to the text and the 
statistical plan. The following changes were made to the statis-
tical plan since the original proposal: 
- new page numbers in the table of contents; 
- the edition date changed from January 2020 to May 2020; 
- a reporting requirement for farm mutual companies changed to 
provide the TDI license number instead of company number, as 
TDI no longer supports the PCCI company look-up tool; and 

- the link for alien surplus lines companies changed to enable 
them to find their TDI company number and use that number in 
reporting under the statistical plan. 
EXPLANATION. Replacing numerous, distinct data calls with a 
single statistical plan for catastrophe data collection will ensure 
consistent, predictable, efficient data collection in the wake of 
a catastrophe. Implementing a single statistical plan for catas-
trophe data collection allows insurers to predict what data will 
be necessary and make business decisions about the most effi-
cient way to report that data to avoid having to scramble during 
a catastrophe. 
The statistical plan describes the information responding insur-
ers will provide to TDI following a catastrophe event. The pro-
posed rule largely adopts the elements of the TDI Catastrophe 
Data Call Guidelines issued in April 2019. 
New 28 TAC §5.9502 is essential to ensure that insurers use 
the new statistical plan beginning on the effective date of the 
rule. Previously, TDI would determine the data elements for each 
specific catastrophe event, which made requirements less pre-
dictable for insurers and meant that insurers had to program their 
systems to report the data after the event occurred. This also 
meant that TDI received varying qualities of data that required 
significant staff resources and time to clean up and organize. 
A statistical plan will simplify the reporting process, making re-
porting easier for insurers and analysis easier for TDI, which will 
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produce more timely responses by TDI to assess the insurance
market's health. 
Insurance Code §38.204 and §38.207 give the Commissioner
authority to adopt such a statistical plan. Additionally, under In-
surance Code §38.001, TDI may address a reasonable inquiry
to any insurance company or other holder of an authorization,
such as a surplus lines or farm mutual insurer, about the busi-
ness condition or matters TDI considers necessary for the public
good or for the proper discharge of TDI's duties. 
The rule proposal adopts the statistical plan by reference. The
statistical plan will apply to catastrophes that occur on or after
September 1, 2019, and will be published on TDI's website at
www.tdi.texas.gov. 
This information is important to TDI's ability to evaluate the fi-
nancial condition of insurers after a catastrophe and to ensure
consumers are protected. Standardized, high-quality, consistent
data will result in better decision making and more efficient solu-
tions to determine the insurance market's health after a catas-
trophe. This proposed rule will also decrease industry costs
over time because it allows insurers to implement a predictable
and streamlined catastrophe statistical plan and data reporting
process. 
This proposed rule will assist TDI in timely collecting vital data
about the financial condition of insurers after a catastrophe. It
will also simplify and standardize the catastrophe-data-reporting
process for insurers. 
Insurers, including surplus lines and farm mutual insurers, that
write property or automobile insurance in Texas will report data
under §38.001 under the statistical plan. Whether an insurer
is required to report data for a catastrophe in a given year de-
pends on the amount of Texas direct written premiums the in-
surer reported in the prior calendar year. This is different from
previous data calls that required all insurers to report. TDI will
use premiums the insurer reported on its Annual Statement to
determine whether the insurer is required to report. For an alien
surplus lines insurer, TDI will use premiums provided by the Sur-
plus Lines Stamping Office of Texas to make the determination.
Insurers that are not licensed to write business in Texas or not
eligible to do business in Texas on a surplus lines basis should
not report data, even if the insurer has claims in Texas resulting
from the catastrophe. 
TDI will activate the statistical plan data reporting after a catas-
trophe in Texas. Insurers are not required to report data under
the statistical plan until TDI has activated data reporting. TDI
will activate reporting under Insurance Code §38.001 through a
bulletin on TDI's website at www.tdi.texas.gov. The bulletin and
statistical plan will provide instructions for responding insurers.
These reports will be used to determine the financial impact of a
catastrophe on insurers. A response made under §38.001 that
is otherwise privileged or confidential by law remains privileged
or confidential until introduced into evidence at an administrative
hearing or in a court. Insurers should identify what documents
are privileged or confidential in their responses. 
The content of the proposed new section is described in the fol-
lowing paragraphs. 
Section 5.9502(a) provides information about the section's pur-
pose and applicability. Subsection (a) identifies which insurers
must report under the statistical plan. This subsection also spec-
ifies that insurers are required to report their premium and loss
experience after each catastrophe. 

Section 5.9502(b) provides information about notice to insurers 
if reporting under the statistical plan is activated for a specific 
catastrophe event. TDI will post notice under §38.001 through 
a bulletin on its website at www.tdi.texas.gov. Subsection (b) is 
essential to notify insurers about the statistical plan activation 
process. 
Section 5.9502(c) states that a response under §5.9502 must 
comply with the statistical plan. This subsection is essential to 
ensure that all responses comply with the statistical plan. 
Section 5.9502(d) clarifies that if submitted reports are otherwise 
confidential by law, they will remain confidential as provided by 
Insurance Code §38.001(d). Subsection (d) specifies that insur-
ers should identify what documents are privileged or confidential. 
This subsection is important to clarify that a response made un-
der Insurance Code §38.001 that is otherwise privileged or con-
fidential by law remains privileged or confidential until introduced 
into evidence at an administrative hearing or in a court. 
Section 5.9502(e) adopts the statistical plan by reference. Sub-
section (e) is essential to adopt the statistical plan for insurers. 
FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. Brian Ryder, senior actuary and team lead, Property and 
Casualty Division, has determined that during each year of the 
first five years the proposed rule is in effect, there will be no mea-
surable fiscal impact on state and local governments as a result 
of enforcing or administering the section, other than that imposed 
by the statute. This determination was made because the pro-
posed rule does not add to or decrease state revenues or ex-
penditures, and because local governments are not involved in 
enforcing or complying with the proposed rule. Mr. Ryder does 
not anticipate any measurable effect on local employment or the 
local economy as a result of this proposal. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. Standardized, high-qual-
ity, and consistent data will result in better decision making, more 
efficient solutions, and accurate identification of the insurance 
market's health after a catastrophe. This proposed rule will also 
decrease industry costs over time due to the implementation of a 
streamlined, standardized reporting process after a catastrophe. 
The statistical plan is limited in scope but serves an important 
purpose. The information collected under it is essential to en-
sure that vulnerable consumers are protected and to provide TDI 
with the necessary data to evaluate market health, activity, and 
access. 
Associated costs represent mostly upfront costs to the insurer. 
Once the internal procedures are revised, an insurer will have a 
process in place making future catastrophe data responses cost 
effective and efficient. Compared to the current one-time data 
call system, TDI anticipates that costs associated with catastro-
phe data reporting will decrease for insurers and TDI over time 
and will likely result in an overall reduction in costs. 
For each year of the first five years the proposed rule is in effect, 
Mr. Ryder expects that administering the proposed rule will have 
the public benefit of ensuring that TDI's rules conform to Insur-
ance Code §§38.001, 38.204, and 38.207. This proposed rule 
will assist TDI in collecting vital data about the financial condition 
of insurers after a catastrophe to allow the proper discharge of 
TDI's duties under Insurance Code §31.002. 
Mr. Ryder expects that the proposed section will impose an eco-
nomic cost on persons who must implement the statistical plan 
requirements and comply with the proposed rule. 
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Because TDI has issued catastrophe data calls in the past, insur-
ers already have a foundation in place for responding, including 
staff, internal processes, and forms or applications. Thus, for 
insurers the potential additional costs arise from revising an in-
surer's internal processes to comply with the proposed new sta-
tistical plan. The extent to which those internal processes and 
documents will need to be revised will depend on each insurer's 
past and future business decisions, but the data to be collected 
under the statistical plan will be substantially the same whether 
TDI collects the data through one-time data calls or through this 
statistical plan. Any change in the process results mainly from 
implementing the new reporting procedure under the statistical 
plan. Importantly, however, adopting these reporting require-
ments as a statistical plan provides predictability to insurers with 
respect to which companies will be required to report and what 
information those companies must report. It also provides pre-
dictability to TDI in the form of standardized, organized data. 
Insurers only need to implement the new statistical plan proce-
dures once. And they will be able to use those revised proce-
dures multiple times without change. This will result in lower 
costs over time for both TDI and the industry, higher quality data, 
and increased efficiency. In addition, TDI will receive consistent 
data over time allowing for accurate experience comparisons. 
This will lead to better decision making, improved responses 
to the market after a catastrophe, and improved internal proce-
dures for TDI. This will also assist TDI in swiftly compiling com-
plex data; allow for more timely analysis by TDI; and provide in-
formation about the impact of catastrophe events to policymak-
ers. 
It is not feasible for TDI to determine the actual cost of employ-
ees needed to comply with the proposed rule considering that 
each insurer occupies a different market share and will only pro-
vide data to the extent its business is affected by the identified 
catastrophe in the specified regions. Further, every insurer has 
unique internal processes, resources, and technical capabilities 
that are not feasible for TDI to evaluate. The method of com-
pliance is a business decision, including the decision to employ 
staff or contract for some of these services. 
Though costs to each insurer will depend heavily on the method 
of compliance the insurer chooses, TDI projects the following 
possible requirements. These estimates are conservative (high) 
so costs may be less than what is estimated here. 
TDI estimates individual employee compensation for an ad-
ministrative assistant at $17.61 an hour, computer operator 
at $22.04 an hour, and a computer and information sys-
tems manager at $68.53 an hour for one to twenty hours 
of work to revise an insurer's internal procedures. TDI also 
estimates individual employee compensation for an adminis-
trative assistant at $17.61 an hour and a computer operator 
at $22.04 an hour for one to twenty hours of work to gather 
and submit the data. These wages are based on the na-
tional median hourly wage for each classification as reported 
in the May 2018 National Industry-Specific Occupational 
Employment and Wage Estimates at: www.bls.gov/oes/cur-
rent/oes436014.htm; www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes113021.htm; 
and www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes439011.htm. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS. The primary objectives of this proposal are 
to gather essential data to determine the insurance market's 
health after a catastrophe and to implement a streamlined, 
standardized process to reduce costs over time and increase 
reporting efficiency. 

To implement this rule, TDI has determined that the proposed 
rule may have an adverse economic effect or a disproportionate 
economic impact on one to 100 small or micro businesses. The 
cost analysis in the Public Benefit and Cost Note section of this 
proposal also applies to these small and micro businesses. The 
new statistical plan will only apply to insurers meeting a mon-
etary threshold of at least $5 million in Texas written premium. 
Therefore, TDI estimates that the proposed rule will only affect 
a minimal number of small or micro businesses, if any. TDI con-
sidered the following alternatives to minimize any adverse im-
pact on small and micro businesses while accomplishing the pro-
posal's objectives: 
(1) not proposing the proposed section and instead collecting the 
needed data through one-time data calls; 
(2) proposing a different requirement for small and micro busi-
nesses; and 

(3) exempting small or micro businesses from the proposed re-
quirement that could create the adverse impact. 
TDI examined each of these alternatives and explains them be-
low: 
Not proposing the proposed section. Not adopting the proposed 
section would result in continuing the data-call approach. There 
would be no streamlined, anticipated process for collecting this 
important data for any insurer, regardless of size. This would 
mean no cost-savings result over time due to increased effi-
ciency, and no statistical plan to ensure consistent data is col-
lected that would allow an examination of experience compar-
isons over time. For these reasons, this option has been re-
jected. 
Proposing a different requirement for small and micro busi-
nesses. Proposing a different requirement for small and micro 
businesses would not alleviate the adverse economic impact 
from compliance with this proposal because small and micro 
businesses would still be required to report data in response to 
a catastrophe data call issued by TDI. For these reasons, this 
option has been rejected. 
Exempting small and micro businesses from the proposed re-
quirement that could create the adverse impact. If small and mi-
cro businesses were exempted from the new proposed section, 
it would not alleviate the adverse economic impact from com-
pliance with this proposal because small and micro businesses 
would still be required to report data in response to a catastro-
phe data request issued by TDI. In addition, there would be no 
streamlined, anticipated process for small and micro businesses 
for collecting this important data. This would mean no cost-sav-
ings would result for them over time due to increased efficiency. 
For these reasons, this option has been rejected. 
TDI has determined that the proposal will not have an adverse 
economic effect on rural communities because the statistical 
plan will only apply to insurers meeting a monetary threshold of 
at least $5 million in Texas written premium. As a result, and 
in accordance with Government Code §2006.002(c), it is not 
necessary for TDI to address rural communities in its regulatory 
flexibility analysis. 
EXAMINATION OF COSTS UNDER GOVERNMENT CODE 
§2001.0045. TDI has determined that this proposal does im-
pose a cost on regulated persons. However, no additional rule 
amendments or repeals are required under Government Code 
§2001.0045 because the rule is being proposed in response 
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to past natural disasters and in anticipation of future natural 
disasters. 
After issuing individual, separate data calls for past natural dis-
asters, TDI determined that a new process was required to col-
lect data concerning the financial health of the insurance market 
after a natural disaster""it needed a more efficient, standardized 
way to assess the financial health of the market. Because time 
is critical when responding to a catastrophe, spending extra time 
and resources drafting and issuing unique, incident-specific data 
calls, and sorting through variously formatted and delivered re-
sponses, inhibits TDI's ability to collect and analyze catastrophe 
statistical data efficiently. In addition, requiring insurers to re-
spond to unique, incident-specific data calls diverts insurers' time 
and resources during a catastrophe. Therefore, this rule is be-
ing proposed in response to TDI's experience after past natural 
disasters and in response to future anticipated natural disasters. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT. TDI has de-
termined that for each year of the first five years that the pro-
posed rule is in effect the proposed rule: 
- will not create or eliminate a government program; 
- will not require the creation of new employee positions or the 
elimination of existing employee positions; 
- will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative 
appropriations to the agency; 
- will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to the 
agency; 
- will create a new regulation to implement the new statistical 
plan; 
- will not expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; 
- will increase the number of individuals subject to the rule's ap-
plicability, as this is a new rule; and 

- will positively affect the Texas economy as it will provide impor-
tant, cost-effective information to TDI to assess the insurance 
market's health after a catastrophe. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. TDI has determined that no 
private real property interests are affected by this proposal and 
that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right to 
property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government 
action. As a result, this proposal does not constitute a taking or 
require a takings impact assessment under Government Code 
§2007.043. 
REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. TDI will consider any writ-
ten comments on the proposal that are received by TDI no later 
than 5:00 p.m., central time, July 20, 2020. Send your comments 
to ChiefClerk@tdi.texas.gov; or to the Office of the Chief Clerk, 
MC 112-2A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, 
Austin, Texas 78714-9104. 
To request a public hearing on the proposal, submit a request 
before the end of the comment period, and separate from any 
comments, to ChiefClerk@tdi.texas.gov; or to the Office of the 
Chief Clerk, MC 112-2A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. 
Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104. The request for public 
hearing must be received by the department no later than 5:00 
p.m., central time, on July 20, 2020. If the department holds 
a public hearing, the department will consider written and oral 
comments presented at the hearing. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. TDI proposes 28 TAC §5.9502 un-
der Insurance Code §§38.001, 38.202, 38.204 - 38.207, and 
36.001. 
Insurance Code §38.001 authorizes TDI to address a reasonable 
inquiry to any insurance company or other holder of an authoriza-
tion, such as a surplus lines or farm mutual insurer, relating to 
the business condition or any matter TDI considers necessary 
for the public good or for the proper discharge of TDI's duties. 
This section also specifies that a response made under this sec-
tion that is otherwise privileged or confidential by law remains 
privileged or confidential until introduced into evidence at an ad-
ministrative hearing or in a court. 
Insurance Code §38.202 allows the Commissioner to designate 
a statistical agent to gather data for relevant regulatory purposes 
or as otherwise provided by the Insurance Code. 
Insurance Code §38.204 requires a designated statistical agent 
to collect data from reporting insurers and authorizes the Com-
missioner to adopt a statistical plan. 
Insurance Code §38.205 provides that insurers must provide all 
premium and loss cost data to the Commissioner or designated 
statistical agent. 
Insurance Code §38.206 authorizes the statistical agent to col-
lect from reporting insurers any fees necessary for the agent to 
recover the necessary and reasonable costs of collecting data 
from that reporting insurer. 
Insurance Code §38.207 authorizes the Commissioner to adopt 
rules necessary to accomplish the purposes of Insurance Code 
Chapter 38, Subchapter E. 
Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may 
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code and other 
laws of this state. 
CROSS-REFERENCE TO STATUTE. Section 5.9502 imple-
ments Insurance Code Chapter 38, Subchapter E. 
§5.9502. Texas Catastrophe Event Statistical Plan for Personal and 
Commercial Risks. 

(a) Purpose and applicability. 

(1) The purpose of this section is to establish requirements 
for the reporting of catastrophe-related data by insurers under Insurance 
Code Chapter 38, Subchapter E and Insurance Code §38.001. 

(2) This section applies to all reports required to be filed un-
der the Texas Catastrophe Event Statistical Plan for Personal and Com-
mercial Risks for reporting dates beginning on or after the effective date 
of the plan. Insurers must report their claim and loss experience af-
ter each specified catastrophe event. Insurers are not required to report 
data under the statistical plan until TDI has activated the statistical plan 
for a specific event and requested information under Insurance Code 
§38.001 through a bulletin on TDI's website at www.tdi.texas.gov. 

(b) Data reporting notice. TDI will notify insurers, includ-
ing surplus lines and farm mutual insurers, of data reporting under the 
Texas Catastrophe Event Statistical Plan for Personal and Commercial 
Risks by posting a data request under Insurance Code §38.001 through 
a bulletin on TDI's website at www.tdi.texas.gov. 

(c) Response requirements. A response must comply with the 
reporting requirements and instructions specified in the Texas Catastro-
phe Event Statistical Plan for Personal and Commercial Risks adopted 
by reference in subsection (e) of this section. 
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(d) Confidential information. Under Insurance Code 
§38.001(d), a response made under this section, whether to a statistical 
agent or to TDI, that is otherwise privileged or confidential by law 
remains privileged or confidential until introduced into evidence at 
an administrative hearing or in a court. Insurers should identify what 
documents are privileged or confidential in their responses. 

(e) Adoption by reference. The Commissioner adopts by ref-
erence the Texas Catastrophe Event Statistical Plan for Personal and 
Commercial Risks, First Edition, May 2020. This document is pub-
lished by TDI and is available on TDI's website at www.tdi.texas.gov. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002282 
James Person 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 2. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 
COMPENSATION 

CHAPTER 132. DEATH BENEFITS--DEATH 
AND BURIAL BENEFITS 
28 TAC §132.7 

INTRODUCTION. The Texas Department of Insurance, Division 
of Workers' Compensation (DWC) proposes an amendment to 
§132.7, Duration of Death Benefits for Eligible Spouse. The 
purpose of this amendment is to align the rule with Labor Code 
§408.183, as amended by House Bill (HB) 2503, 86th Legisla-
ture, Regular Session (2019), effective September 1, 2019. The 
Legislature amended §408.183 to expand eligibility of spouses 
who may receive death benefits for life, regardless of remar-
riage, to spouses of peace officers as described in Texas Code 
of Criminal Procedures Article 2.12 and intrastate fire mutual aid 
system team members or regional incident management team 
members. 
EXPLANATION. Amended §132.7(f) deletes the words "eligible 
spouses" in §132.7(f)(1)(B) and adds the words "or an indi-
vidual described by Government Code §615.003(1) or Labor 
Code §501.001(5)(F)." The amendment also adds the words 
in §132.7(f)(1) "of first responders, as defined by Labor Code 
§504.055" to include those eligible spouses. New subsection 
§132.7(f)(2) is added, which states the amendment applies 
to "Eligible spouses of individuals, as defined by Government 
Code §615.003(1) or Labor Code §501.001(5)(F), who remarry 
on or after September 1, 2019." 
The amendment does not alter the distribution of death bene-
fits under §132.11 or the redistribution of death benefits under 
§132.12. If there is an eligible child or grandchild and an eligi-
ble spouse, death benefits continue to be divided between the 
beneficiaries, with half paid to the eligible spouse and half paid 
in equal shares to the eligible children. 

FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. Deputy Commissioner of Hearings, Kerry Sullivan, has 
determined that, for each year of the first five years the amended 
rules will be in effect, there will be no measurable fiscal impact to 
state and local governments as a result of enforcement or admin-
istration of the amendment. The fiscal note for HB 2503 states, 
"based on information provided by the Texas Department of In-
surance, State Office of Risk Management, Commission on Law 
Enforcement, The University of Texas System Administration, 
and Texas A&M University System Administration, this analy-
sis assumes that the duties and responsibilities associated with 
implementing the provisions of this bill could be accomplished 
by utilizing existing resources." There will be no measurable ef-
fect on local employment or the local economy because of the 
amendment. 
The amendment to §132.7 reflects the statutory changes HB 
2503 made to Labor Code §408.183 and does not impose any 
additional requirements that could produce a fiscal impact. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. For each year of the first 
five years the proposed amendment is in effect, Deputy Com-
missioner Sullivan expects that it will have the public benefit of 
aligning the division's rules regarding the duration of death ben-
efits with the statutory changes made by HB 2503 and continued 
death benefits for remarried eligible spouses under amended 
§132.7(f). 
ANTICIPATED COSTS TO COMPLY WITH THE PROPOSAL. 
Deputy Commissioner Sullivan anticipates that, for each of the 
first five years the proposed amendment is in effect, there will 
be indeterminate costs to those required to comply with the pro-
posal. Any costs resulting from the proposed amendment would 
be a direct result of the statutory change. 
Government Code §2001.0045 requires a state agency to offset 
any costs on regulated individuals associated with a proposed 
rule. However, DWC has determined that this proposed rule will 
impose indeterminate costs on system participants as a result of 
the statutory change. Under §2001.045(c)(9), this requirement 
does not apply to a rule necessary to implement legislation. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL AND MICRO BUSINESSES. 
Under Government Code §2006.002(c), if a proposed rule may 
have an adverse economic effect on small businesses, micro 
businesses, or rural communities, state agencies must prepare, 
as part of the rulemaking process, an economic impact state-
ment that assesses the potential impact of the proposed rule and 
a regulatory flexibility analysis that considers alternative meth-
ods of achieving the purpose of the rule. DWC has determined 
that the proposed amendment will not have an adverse eco-
nomic effect on small or micro businesses or rural communities 
because it simply implements statutory requirements. There-
fore, DWC is not required to prepare a regulatory flexibility anal-
ysis. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT. DWC has 
determined that for each of the first five years that the proposed 
amendment is in effect, the proposed rule: 
will not create or eliminate a government program; 
will not require the creation of new employee positions or the 
elimination of existing employee positions; 
will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to DWC; 
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will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to DWC; 
will not create a new regulation; 
will not limit or repeal an existing regulation; or 
will not positively or adversely affect the Texas economy. 
The proposed amendment will align the division's rules regarding 
the duration of death benefits with the statutory changes made 
by HB 2503. The proposed amendment will provide that eligi-
ble spouses of deceased first responders, as defined in Labor 
Code §504.055, who remarried on or after September 1, 2017, 
as well as eligible spouses who remarried between September 1, 
2015, and August 31, 2017, and their claim was based on a com-
pensable injury that occurred on or after September 1, 2015, will 
remain eligible for death benefits. Eligible spouses of individu-
als, as defined in Government Code §615.003(1) or Labor Code 
§501.001(5)(F), who remarry on or after September 1, 2019, will 
remain eligible for death benefits. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. DWC has determined that 
no private real property interests are affected by this proposal. 
As a result, this proposal does not constitute a taking or require a 
takings impact assessment under Government Code §2007.043. 
REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. If you would like to com-
ment on the proposal or request a public hearing, you must sub-
mit your comments or hearing request by 5:00 p.m., Central time, 
on Monday, July 20, 2020. Email your comments or hearing re-
quests to Rulecomments@tdi.texas.gov or mail them to Cynthia 
Guillen, Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' 
Compensation, DWC Legal Services, MS-4D, 7551 Metro Cen-
ter Drive, Suite 100, Austin, Texas 78744-1645. If DWC holds 
a hearing, DWC will consider written comments and public tes-
timony presented at the hearing. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. DWC proposes §132.7 under the fol-
lowing statutory authority: 
Labor Code §401.011 provides general definitions of the Texas 
Workers' Compensation Act. 
Labor Code §402.00111 provides that the commissioner of work-
ers' compensation shall exercise all executive authority, includ-
ing rulemaking authority under Title 5 of the Labor Code. 
Labor Code §402.00116 provides that the commissioner will ad-
minister and enforce this title, other workers' compensation laws 
of this state, and other laws granting jurisdiction to or applicable 
to DWC or the commissioner. 
Labor Code §402.061 provides that the commissioner of work-
ers' compensation will adopt rules as necessary to implement 
and enforce the Texas Workers' Compensation Act. 
Labor Code §408.181 provides the obligation an insurance car-
rier must satisfy in paying death and burial benefits. 
Labor Code §408.182 provides how the insurance carrier should 
distribute the death benefits and defines eligible beneficiaries. 
Labor Code §408.183 outlines the duration of death benefits for 
legal beneficiaries. 
Labor Code §408.184 provides for the redistribution of death 
benefits if necessary. 
Labor Code §415.002 outlines insurance carrier administrative 
violations. 
Labor Code §501.001 defines a peace officer employed by a po-
litical subdivision, while the peace officer is exercising authority 

granted under: (i) Code of Criminal Procedure Article 2.12; or (ii) 
Code of Criminal Procedure Articles 14.03(d) and (g). 
Government Code §615.003 lists the various eligible survivors 
and the applicability of Chapter 615 to eligible individuals. 
§132.7. Duration of Death Benefits for Eligible Spouse. 

(a) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, a 
spouse who is determined eligible for death benefits is entitled to 
receive benefits until the date of the spouse's death or until remar-
riage. The insurance carrier shall notify the eligible spouse of the 
requirements of this section within 60 days of initiating benefits to 
that spouse. 

(b) An eligible spouse who enters into a ceremonial or infor-
mal marriage is entitled to receive a lump-sum payment of 104 weeks 
of death benefits. 

(c) An eligible spouse shall notify the division and the insur-
ance carrier in writing within 30 days of the date of remarriage. The 
notice shall include the name and social security number of the de-
ceased employee, the date of death, the workers' compensation claim 
file number, and the date of remarriage. 

(d) The amount of the lump-sum payment shall be calculated 
by multiplying the amount paid to the spouse the week prior to the re-
marriage by 104. If the insurance carrier paid any weekly benefits to 
the eligible spouse after the remarriage, the total amount of such pay-
ments shall be deducted from the amount of the commuted payment. 

(e) An eligible spouse who knowingly accepts death benefits 
after remarriage in excess of the amount allowed by this section, and 
who does not notify the division or the insurance carrier of remarriage, 
may be subject to administrative penalties. 

(f) An eligible spouse who remarries is eligible for death ben-
efits for life if the employee was a first responder, as defined by La-
bor Code §504.055, or an individual described by Government Code 
§615.003(1) or Labor Code §501.001(5)(F), who died as a result of an 
injury in the course and scope of employment or while providing ser-
vices as a volunteer. Subsections (b) - (e) of this section do not apply 
to an eligible spouse under this subsection. This subsection applies to: 

(1) Eligible [eligible] spouses of first responders, as de-
fined by Labor Code §504.055: 

(A) who remarry on or after September 1, 2017; and 

(B) [(2) eligible spouses] who remarried between 
September 1, 2015, and August 31, 2017, if the claim is based on a 
compensable injury that occurred on or after September 1, 2015; and[.] 

(2) Eligible spouses of individuals, as defined by Govern-
ment Code §615.003(1) or Labor Code §501.001(5)(F), who remarry 
on or after September 1, 2019. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 3, 2020. 
TRD-202002275 
Kara Mace 
Deputy Commissioner of Legal Services 
Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 804-4703 
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TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 12. TEXAS BOARD OF 
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 
EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 364. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
LICENSURE 
40 TAC §§364.1 - 364.4 

The Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners proposes 
amendments to 40 Texas Administrative Code §364.1, Require-
ments for Licensure; §364.2, Initial License by Examination; 
§364.3, Temporary License; and §364.4, Licensure by En-
dorsement. The amendments to the sections are proposed to 
streamline and increase the efficiency of the Board's licensing 
processes, including through the use of digital technology, and 
to reduce potential burdens for applicants. 
The proposed amendments to §§364.1, 364.2, and 364.4 con-
cern the application submission criteria required for the issuance 
of a license. An amendment to §364.1 would allow an applicant 
to submit the photograph required for initial licensure in elec-
tronic form. Amendments to §364.2 and §364.4 include adding 
provisions that would allow the Board to verify an applicant's his-
tory of licensure in occupational therapy, rather than routinely 
requiring that an applicant submit a verification of license from 
each state or territory of the U.S. in which the applicant is cur-
rently licensed or previously held a license. The amendments 
include that if the Board cannot verify the applicant's history of li-
censure, the applicant must submit a verification of license. The 
amendments concerning license verification will, therefore, re-
sult in applicants only being required to submit verifications for 
licenses that the Board cannot verify. Proposed amendments 
concerning similar requirements for the restoration of a license 
will also be submitted to the Texas Register for publication. 
Additional amendments to §364.1, Requirements for Licensure, 
would remove redundant language that already appears in an-
other section of the Occupational Therapy Rules and includes a 
further cleanup for consistency. 
The proposed amendments, in addition, include amendments to 
§364.3, Temporary License. Applicants for a temporary license 
must submit a Confirmation of Examination Registration and Eli-
gibility to Examine form from the National Board for Certification 
in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT), which must be sent directly 
to the Board by NBCOT and which reflects the eligibility win-
dow in which the applicant will take the examination. Related 
provisions in the section include that this is a 90-day window. 
This examination eligibility window is set by NBCOT, which is the 
national testing entity recognized by the Board. The proposed 
amendments would remove the reference to 90 days with regard 
to that window and replace such with "eligibility." This change will 
ensure that the section will not specify a number of days that are 
determined by another entity, NBCOT, prior to sending the form 
to the Board. 
The proposed amendments to the section also include the re-
moval of language regarding licensure in another country from 
§364.3(b). Board rule §364.3 requires that to be issued a tempo-
rary license, the applicant must meet all the provisions in §364.1, 
concerning requirements for licensure, and §364.2, concerning 

initial license by examination, and licensure in another country 
is not addressed in the sections with regard to an applicant's el-
igibility for licensure. To bring greater uniformity to the Occupa-
tional Therapy Rules and remove potential barriers to licensure 
for an applicant who would otherwise be eligible for a tempo-
rary license, the amendments include the removal of language 
from the provision that would prevent an applicant from obtain-
ing a temporary license in Texas if the applicant has received a 
license in another country. 
The current §364.3(b) also allows for temporary licensure as an 
occupational therapist to be available to an applicant for an oc-
cupational therapist license who has had a history of licensure 
or employment as an occupational therapy assistant; proposed 
amendments to the section would, similarly, make temporary li-
censure as an occupational therapy assistant available to an ap-
plicant for an occupational therapy assistant license who has had 
a history of licensure or employment as an occupational thera-
pist. The changes, likewise, are proposed to bring greater uni-
formity to the Occupational Therapy Rules and remove a poten-
tial barrier to temporary licensure for an applicant who otherwise 
would be eligible for such. 
The amendments include additional cleanups to the sections. 
FISCAL NOTE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Ralph A. Harper, Executive Director of the Executive Council 
of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners, 
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed 
amendments are in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to state 
or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering 
these amendments as proposed under Texas Government 
Code §2001.024(a)(4) because the amendments do not impose 
a cost on state or local governments. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

Mr. Harper has determined that the proposed amendments 
would not impact a local economy. Therefore, a local employ-
ment impact statement is not required under Texas Government 
Code §2001.022 and §2001.024(a)(6). 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE 

Mr. Harper has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(5) that for each of the first five years the proposed 
amendments would be in effect, the public benefit of the amend-
ments will be the cleanup, clarification, and reduction of certain 
requirements concerning initial licensure. There would not be 
an additional anticipated economic cost to persons required to 
comply with the proposed amendments. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

Mr. Harper has determined there would be no costs or adverse 
economic effects on small businesses, micro-businesses, or ru-
ral communities. Therefore, no economic impact statement or 
regulatory flexibility analysis is required under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2006.002. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The Board has determined that no private real property inter-
ests are affected by these proposed amendments and that these 
amendments do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an 
owner's rights to his or her private real property that would oth-
erwise exist in the absence of government action. As a result, 
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these amendments do not constitute a taking under Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2007.043. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

The Board has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.0221 that during the first five years the rules would be in 
effect: 
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) the rules will not require the creation of new employee posi-
tions or the elimination of existing employee positions; 
(3) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in future 
legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rules will not create a new regulation; 
(6) the rules will not repeal or expand an existing regulation; the 
rules will limit existing regulations by removing the requirements 
that applicants may only submit a photograph in paper form and 
must routinely submit a license verification and by allowing appli-
cants who have received a license in another country to obtain a 
temporary license and allowing applicants for an occupational 
therapy assistant license who have received an occupational 
therapist license or have had employment as an occupational 
therapist to obtain a temporary occupational therapy assistant li-
cense if eligible for such; 
(7) the rules will not increase or decrease the number of individ-
uals subject to the rules' applicability; and 

(8) the rules will neither positively nor adversely affect this state's 
economy. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

The agency determined that the rules are not subject to Texas 
Government Code §2001.0045 as the rules do not impose a cost 
on regulated persons. In addition, the rules do not impose a cost 
on another state agency, a special district, or a local government. 
ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT 

The Board has determined that the proposed amendments 
do not require an environmental impact analysis because the 
amendments are not major environmental rules under Texas 
Government Code §2001.0225. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted 
in writing to Lea Weiss, Occupational Therapy Coordina-
tor, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, 333 
Guadalupe Street, Suite 2-510, Austin, Texas 78701-3942 or to 
lea@ptot.texas.gov within 30 days following the publication of 
this notice in the Texas Register. It is requested when sending 
a comment that individuals include the rule section to which 
the comment refers and that comments sent by email include 
"Public Comment" in the email's subject line. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code 
§454.102, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules to carry out 
its duties under chapter 454. Specifically, the amendments to 
§364.1 and §364.2 are proposed under Texas Occupations Code 
§454.201, which requires a license under chapter 454 in order to 

practice occupational therapy, and proposed under Texas Occu-
pations Code §454.202, which requires that the applicant for a 
license submit a written application to the Board in the form pre-
scribed by the Board. The amendments to §364.3 are proposed 
under Texas Occupations Code §454.211, which authorizes the 
Board to provide for the issuance of a temporary license. The 
amendments to §364.4 are proposed under Texas Occupations 
Code §454.216, which authorizes the Board to issue a license 
by endorsement, requires that the applicant provide to the Board 
information regarding the status of any professional license that 
the applicant holds or has held in another jurisdiction, and re-
quires the applicant to submit a current photograph that meets 
requirements for a United States passport. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these 
amendments. 
§364.1. Requirements for Licensure. 

(a) All applicants for initial Texas licensure shall: 

(1) submit a complete application form [as prescribed by 
the Board] and non-refundable application fee as set by the Executive 
Council; 

(2) submit in paper or electronic form a current color pho-
tograph that meets the requirements for a U.S. passport. A photograph 
in electronic form must be of a high-quality resolution comparable to 
that of a passport photograph in paper form; 

[(2) submit a current photograph that meets the require-
ments for a U.S. passport;] 

(3) submit a successfully completed Board jurisprudence 
examination on the Act and Rules; 

(4) have completed academic and supervised field work re-
quirements of an accredited educational program in occupational ther-
apy as per §454.203 of the Act (relating to Qualifications for Occu-
pational Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant License) or if 
foreign-trained, have met substantially equivalent academic and super-
vised field work requirements as per §454.205 of the Act (relating to 
Foreign-Trained Applicants); 

(5) submit a complete and legible set of fingerprints in the 
manner prescribed by the Board for the purpose of obtaining criminal 
history record information from the Department of Public Safety and 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and 

(6) either meet the requirements in §364.2 of this title (re-
lating to Initial License by Examination) and apply by examination or 
meet the requirements in §364.4 of this title (relating to Licensure by 
Endorsement) and apply by endorsement. 

(b) The applicant must also meet the requirements in §364.2 
of this title and apply by examination if the applicant: 

(1) has not passed the NBCOT certification examination; 
or 

(2) has passed the NBCOT certification examination and 

(A) is not currently licensed as an occupational thera-
pist or occupational therapy assistant in another state or territory of the 
U.S.; or 

(B) if not currently licensed in another state or territory 
of the U.S., is applying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state 
or territory of the U.S. and cannot substantiate occupational therapy 
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employment for at least two years immediately preceding application 
for a Texas license. 

(c) The applicant must also meet the requirements in §364.4 
of this title and apply by endorsement if the applicant has passed the 
NBCOT certification examination and: 

(1) is currently licensed as an occupational therapist or oc-
cupational therapy assistant in another state or territory of the U.S.; or 

(2) if not currently licensed in another state or territory of 
the U.S., is applying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state 
or territory of the U.S. and can substantiate occupational therapy em-
ployment for at least two years immediately preceding application for 
a Texas license. 

(d) Applicants who are military service members, military vet-
erans, and military spouses: 

(1) The Board shall credit verified military service, train-
ing, or education toward the licensing requirements, other than an ex-
amination requirement, with respect to an applicant who is a military 
service member or military veteran. 

(2) The Board shall waive the application fees for a mili-
tary service member or military veteran who is applying for a license 
by examination as per §364.2 of this title [(relating to Initial License 
by Examination)]. In order to request a waiver of application fees, the 
military service member or military veteran must submit a copy of the 
Uniformed Services Military ID card or other appropriate official doc-
umentation evidencing current or former military affiliation and notify 
the Board of his or her military affiliation. 

(3) The Board shall waive the application fees and will ex-
pedite the issuance of a license for a military service member, military 
veteran, or military spouse who is applying for licensure by endorse-
ment as per §364.4 of this title [(relating to Initial Licensure by En-
dorsement)]. In order to request a waiver of application fees and expe-
dited services, the military service member, military veteran, or mili-
tary spouse must submit a copy of the Uniformed Services Military ID 
card or other appropriate official documentation evidencing current or 
former military affiliation and notify the Board of his or her military 
affiliation. 

(4) In this section, "military service member," "military 
veteran," and "military spouse" have the meaning as defined in Chapter 
55, Occupations Code, §55.001. 

(e) An application for license is valid for one year after the date 
it is received by the Board. At the end of the year, the application fee 
must be paid to continue the application process for the second year. 

(f) An applicant who submits an application containing false 
information may be denied a license by the Board. 

(g) Should the Board reject an application for license, the rea-
sons for the rejection will be communicated in writing to the applicant. 
The applicant may submit additional information and request recon-
sideration by the Board. If the applicant remains dissatisfied, a hearing 
may be requested as specified in the Act. 

(h) Applicants and new licensees shall refer to Chapter 369 of 
this title for provisions regarding information changes and verification 
of temporary or regular license issuance and current licensure. 

[(i) The address of record is the information provided to the 
public. Until applicants and licensees select an address of record, the 
work address will be used as the default. If no work address is available, 
the mailing address will be used. If no alternate address is available, 
the home address will be used. Applicants and licensees may update 
this information at any time.] 

(i) [(j)] The first regular license is valid from the date of is-
suance until the last day of the applicant's birth month, with a duration 
of at least two years. 

§364.2. Initial License by Examination. 

(a) An applicant applying for license by examination must: 

(1) meet all provisions of §364.1 of this title (relating to 
Requirements for a License); and 

(2) pass the NBCOT certification examination for occupa-
tional therapists or occupational therapy assistants with a score set by 
NBCOT. Score reports must be sent directly to the Board by NBCOT. 

(b) The application for license must be received no later than 
two years following the date of the passing examination. If the appli-
cation is received after this time, the applicant must take and pass the 
NBCOT examination for licensure purposes only. The applicant must 
request Board approval to take this examination. The score report must 
be sent directly to the Board by NBCOT. 

(c) An applicant who fails an examination may take additional 
examinations by sending in the appropriate, non-refundable fee as set 
by the Executive Council with the Board's re-exam form. 

(d) Applicants with a history of licensure in occupational ther-
apy in a state or territory of the U.S. If the Board cannot verify the ap-
plicant's history of licensure in occupational therapy, including disci-
plinary action, the applicant must submit a verification of license. The 
verification must be an original verification sent directly to the Board 
by the licensing board of the state or territory. Disciplinary action must 
be reported to the Board.[An applicant with a history of licensure in oc-
cupational therapy must submit a verification of license from each state 
or territory of the U.S. in which the applicant is currently licensed or 
previously held a license. This must be an original verification sent di-
rectly to the Board by the licensing board in that state or territory. Any 
disciplinary actions must be reported to the Board.] 

(e) Previous Texas licensees are not eligible for Initial License 
by Examination. 

§364.3. Temporary License. 

(a) The Board may only issue a temporary license to an appli-
cant who is taking the NBCOT certification examination for the first 
time. 

(b) Temporary Licensure is not available to applicants who 
have received a license in any state or territory of the U.S. [or another 
country] as an occupational therapy practitioner or to applicants ap-
plying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state or territory of 
the U.S. who have had occupational therapy employment for at least 
two years preceding application for a Texas license, unless it was as 
an occupational therapy assistant [(OTA)], and they now meet the re-
quirements for a temporary license as an occupational therapist [(OT)], 
or it was as an occupational therapist, and they now meet the require-
ments for a temporary license as an occupational therapy assistant. In 
this section, "occupational therapy practitioner" means an individual 
licensed as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant 
in any state or territory of the U.S. [or another country.] 

(c) To be issued a temporary license, the applicant must: 

(1) meet all provisions of §364.1 of this title (relating to 
Requirements for a License); 

(2) meet all provisions of §364.2 of this title (relating to 
License by Examination); 

(3) submit the Confirmation of Examination Registration 
and Eligibility to Examine form from NBCOT, which must be sent 
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directly to the Board by NBCOT and which reflects the eligibility [90 
day] window in which the applicant will take the examination; 

(4) submit a copy of the receipt showing that an NBCOT 
score report has been ordered for the Board; 

(5) submit a signed verification of supervision on a form 
prescribed by the Board; and 

(6) send the Board the non-refundable temporary license 
fee as set by the Executive Council. 

(d) If the applicant fails the examination, fails to take the ex-
amination during the eligibility [90-day] window as stated on the Con-
firmation of Examination Registration and Eligibility to Examine form 
from NBCOT, or fails to have the score reported, the temporary license 
is void and must be returned to the Board. [An additional temporary 
license will not be issued.] 

(e) An additional temporary license will not be issued. 

(f) [(e)] A temporary license shall be valid no longer than 180 
days. 

§364.4. Licensure by Endorsement. 

(a) The Board may issue a license by endorsement to appli-
cants who have passed the NBCOT certification examination and are 
either currently licensed in another state or territory of the U.S. that 
[United States which] has licensing requirements substantially equiv-
alent to this state or, if not currently licensed in a state or territory of 
the U.S., are applying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state 
or territory of the U.S. and can substantiate occupational therapy em-
ployment for at least two years immediately preceding application for 
a Texas license. Previous Texas licensees are not eligible for Licensure 
by Endorsement. An applicant seeking licensure by endorsement must: 

(1) meet all provisions of §364.1 of this title (relating to 
Requirements for Licensure); 

(2) arrange to have NBCOT send directly to the Board the 
applicant's NBCOT certification examination score report (or for ap-
plicants examined prior to 1986, a Verification of Certification form); 
and 

(3) submit a verification of license if the Board cannot ver-
ify the applicant's history of licensure in occupational therapy, includ-
ing disciplinary action. The verification must be an original verifica-
tion sent directly to the Board by the licensing board of the state or 
territory. Disciplinary action must be reported to the Board. [submit a 
verification of license from each state or territory of the U.S. in which 
the applicant is currently licensed or previously held a license. This 
must be an original verification sent directly to the Board by the li-
censing board in that state or territory. Any disciplinary actions must 
be reported to the Board.] If the applicant is not currently licensed in 
a state or territory of the U.S. and is applying from the U.S. military 
or a non-licensing state or territory of the U.S., a Verification of Em-
ployment form must be submitted substantiating occupational therapy 
employment for at least two years immediately preceding application 
for a Texas license. 

(b) Provisional License: The Board may grant a Provisional 
License to an applicant who is applying for licensure by endorsement 
if there is an unwarranted delay in the submission of required docu-
mentation outside the applicant's control. All other requirements for 
licensure by endorsement must be met. The applicant must also submit 
the Provisional License fee as set by the Executive Council. The Board 
may not grant a provisional license to applicants with disciplinary ac-
tion in their license history or to applicants with pending disciplinary 
action. The Provisional License will have a duration of 180 days. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002304 
Ralph A. Harper 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 367. CONTINUING EDUCATION 
40 TAC §367.1 

The Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners proposes 
amendments to 40 Texas Administrative Code §367.1, Continu-
ing Education. The amendments are proposed to add require-
ments concerning training on the prevention of human trafficking 
pursuant to House Bill 2059 of the 86th Regular Legislative Ses-
sion in 2019. 
House Bill 2059 requires that a health care practitioner success-
fully complete a training course on human trafficking prevention 
approved by the executive commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission as a condition for license renewal. 
The Bill defines "health care practitioner" as an individual who 
provides direct patient care. The proposed amendments to 
§367.1 and proposed amendments to other chapters of the 
Board rules will require the completion of human trafficking 
prevention training as condition for license renewal for all oc-
cupational therapy licensees. The proposed amendments also 
pre-approve up to two contact hours for a human trafficking 
prevention training course and would allow a specific training 
course to be repeated for credit during a subsequent renewal 
period. 
FISCAL NOTE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Ralph A. Harper, Executive Director of the Executive Council 
of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners, 
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed 
amendments are in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to state 
or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering 
these amendments as proposed under Texas Government 
Code §2001.024(a)(4) because the amendments do not impose 
a cost on state or local governments. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

Mr. Harper has determined that the proposed amendments 
would not impact a local economy. Therefore, a local employ-
ment impact statement is not required under Texas Government 
Code §2001.022 and §2001.024(a)(6). 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE 

Mr. Harper has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(5) that for each of the first five years the proposed 
amendments would be in effect, the public benefit will be an in-
crease in training completed by occupational therapy licensees 
on the prevention of human trafficking. There would not be 
an additional anticipated economic cost to persons required to 
comply with the proposed amendments. HB 2059 requires that 
at least one approved course is available without charge, and 
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the amendments do not prevent the licensee from repeating a 
course. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

Mr. Harper has determined there would be no costs or adverse 
economic effects on small businesses, micro-businesses, or ru-
ral communities. Therefore, no economic impact statement or 
regulatory flexibility analysis is required under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2006.002. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The Board has determined that no private real property inter-
ests are affected by these proposed amendments and that these 
amendments do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an 
owner's rights to his or her private real property that would oth-
erwise exist in the absence of government action. As a result, 
these amendments do not constitute a taking under Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2007.043. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

The Board has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.0221 that during the first five years the rule would be in 
effect: 
(1) the rule will not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) the rule will not require the creation of new employee posi-
tions or the elimination of existing employee positions; 
(3) the rule will not require an increase or decrease in future 
legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rule will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rule will create a new regulation in the Occupational Ther-
apy Rules concerning training on human trafficking as a required 
component of license renewal pursuant to HB 2059; 
(6) the rule will not repeal or expand an existing regulation; the 
rule will limit an existing regulation by adding that up to a max-
imum of two contact hours from a repeated training course on 
the prevention of human trafficking are exempt from subsection 
(c) of §367.1 of the Occupational Therapy Rules, which requires 
that each continuing education activity may be counted only one 
time in two renewal cycles; 
(7) the rule will not increase or decrease the number of individ-
uals subject to the rule's applicability; and 

(8) the rule will neither positively nor adversely affect this state's 
economy. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

The agency determined that the rule is not subject to Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2001.0045 as the rule does not impose a cost 
on regulated persons as HB 2059 requires that at least one ap-
proved course is available without charge, and the amendments 
do not prevent a licensee from repeating a course. In addition, 
the rule does not impose a cost on another state agency, a spe-
cial district, or a local government. 
ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT 

The Board has determined that the proposed amendments 
do not require an environmental impact analysis because the 
amendments are not major environmental rules under Texas 
Government Code §2001.0225. 

PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted 
in writing to Lea Weiss, Occupational Therapy Coordina-
tor, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, 333 
Guadalupe Street, Suite 2-510, Austin, Texas 78701-3942 or to 
lea@ptot.texas.gov within 30 days following the publication of 
this notice in the Texas Register. It is requested when sending 
a comment that individuals include the rule section to which 
the comment refers and that comments sent by email include 
"Public Comment" in the email's subject line. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments to §367.1 are proposed under Texas Occupa-
tions Code §454.102, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules 
to carry out its duties under chapter 454, and proposed under 
Texas Occupations Code §454.254, which authorizes the Board 
to require license holders to attend continuing education courses 
specified by the Board. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

The proposed amendments implement Texas Occupations Code 
§116.002 and §116.003, which require a health care practitioner 
to complete human trafficking prevention training as a condition 
of license renewal. No other statutes, articles, or codes are af-
fected by these amendments. 
§367.1. Continuing Education. 

(a) The Act mandates licensee participation in a continuing ed-
ucation program for license renewal. All activities taken to complete 
this requirement must meet the definition of continuing education as 
outlined in this section. The licensee is solely responsible for keeping 
accurate documentation of all continuing education activities and for 
selecting continuing education as per the requirements in this chapter. 

(1) Definition of Continuing Education; also known as CE. 
Continuing Education - Professional development activities that meet 
the requirements in this chapter and directly concern one or more of 
the following: 

(A) occupational therapy practice as defined in §362.1 
of this title (relating to Definitions); 

(B) health conditions treated by occupational therapy; 

(C) ethical or regulatory matters in occupational ther-
apy; or 

(D) occupational therapy documentation or reimburse-
ment for occupational therapy services. 

(2) Unacceptable Activities. Unacceptable professional 
development activities not eligible for continuing education include 
but are not limited to: 

(A) Any non-instructional time frames such as breaks, 
meals, introductions, and pre/post testing. 

(B) Business meetings. 

(C) Exhibit hall attendance. 

(D) Reading journals. 

(E) Courses that provide information about the work 
setting's philosophy, policies, or procedures or designed to educate em-
ployees about a specific work setting. 

(F) Courses in topics concerning professionalism or 
customer service. 
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(G) Courses such as: social work; defensive driving; 
water safety; team building; GRE, GMAT, MCAT preparation; general 
foreign languages; disposal of hazardous waste; patient privacy; CPR; 
First Aid; HIPAA; and FERPA. 

(b) Required Continuing Education Hours. 

(1) Unless otherwise specified in this chapter, 1 hour of 
continuing education is equal to 1 contact hour. 

(2) All licensees must complete a minimum of 24 contact 
hours every two years during the period of time the license is current in 
order to renew the license. Licensees must provide proof of completion 
of contact hours at the Board's request. 

(3) Training on Human Trafficking. As part of the min-
imum hours of required continuing education for each renewal, 
licensees must complete a training course on human trafficking that is 
approved by the Health and Human Services Commission. Documen-
tation of completion of a training course is a certificate of completion 
or letter of verification indicating credit awarded. 

(A) Pre-Approved Credit and Additional Credit. The 
completion of one training course per renewal period to meet the train-
ing requirement is pre-approved for continuing education credit up to 
a maximum of 2 contact hours. Additional continuing education credit 
may be earned for a training course exceeding 2 hours if the additional 
hours meet the requirements of this chapter. 

(B) Repeated Course. A specific training course com-
pleted during one renewal period to meet the training requirement may 
be completed again during the next renewal period to meet the train-
ing requirement for that next renewal. Up to a maximum of 2 contact 
hours from the repeated course are exempt from subsection (c) of this 
section and may be applied toward license renewal. 

(4) [(3)] Licensees who submit their renewal with all re-
quired items prior to the month when their license expires may count 
CE completed during their license's expiration month for their next re-
newal period. 

(c) Each continuing education activity may be counted only 
one time in two renewal cycles. 

(d) Activities approved or offered by the American Occupa-
tional Therapy Association or the Texas Occupational Therapy Asso-
ciation are pre-approved for CE credit for license renewal. The Board 
will review its approval process and continuation thereof for educa-
tional activities at least every five years. 

(e) Program providers are prohibited from self-promotion of 
programs, products, and/or services during the presentation of the pro-
gram. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002305 
Ralph A. Harper 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 370. LICENSE RENEWAL 

40 TAC §370.2, §370.3 

The Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners proposes 
amendments to 40 Texas Administrative Code §370.2, Late 
Renewal, and §370.3, Restoration of a Texas License. The 
amendments are proposed to support the Board in streamlining 
and increasing the efficiency of its licensing processes, includ-
ing through the use of digital technology, and reduce potential 
burdens for applicants. The amendments also cleanup and 
modify requirements for the renewal of an expired license and 
add human trafficking prevention training requirements pursuant 
to House Bill 2059 of the 86th Regular Legislative Session in 
2019. 
Amendments to §370.2 include as a cleanup the replacement 
of the current §370.2(a) with the simplified "A renewal applica-
tion is late if all the required renewal materials do not bear a 
postmark or electronic time-stamp showing a date prior to the 
expiration of the license." An additional amendment to the sec-
tion concerns removing the requirement that to renew a license 
expired for more than 90 days, but less than one year, the indi-
vidual must submit copies of the continuing education documen-
tation. This change will reduce requirements for a late renewal 
and streamline the late renewal process. 
Amendments to §370.3 concern the renewal of a license expired 
one year or more, which, in the Occupational Therapy Rules, is 
referred to as the restoration of a license. Amendments to the 
section would allow an applicant to submit the photograph re-
quired for the restoration of a license in electronic form and would 
allow the Board to verify an applicant's history of licensure in oc-
cupational therapy, rather than routinely requiring that an appli-
cant submit a verification of license from each state or territory of 
the U.S. in which the applicant is currently licensed or previously 
held a license. The amendments include that if the Board can-
not verify the applicant's history of licensure, the applicant must 
submit a verification of license. The amendments concerning li-
cense verification will, therefore, result in applicants only being 
required to submit verifications for licenses that the Board can-
not verify. Proposed amendments in other sections concerning 
similar requirements for initial licensure will also be submitted to 
the Texas Register for publication. 
A further amendment to §370.3 concerns reducing the number 
of continuing education hours required for the restoration of a 
license expired at least one year, but less than two years. Previ-
ously, the Occupational Therapy Rules required that to renew a 
license expired less than one year, the individual must complete 
thirty hours of continuing education. Recent amendments to 
other rule sections changed that amount to twenty-four hours. 
The proposed changes to §370.3 are a cleanup to coincide with 
such changes by reducing the required continuing education 
hours for restoration from forty-five to thirty-six hours. The 
amendments include further cleanups. 
An additional modification to the section would include that cer-
tain restoration requirements for an individual whose license is 
expired two years or more must be completed no more than two 
years prior to the submission of the application. The amendment 
is proposed to specify a time frame during which the require-
ments must be met in the corresponding subsection. 
Further amendments to §370.3 concern adding provisions re-
quiring that individuals complete training on the prevention of hu-
man trafficking as a requirement for license restoration. House 
Bill 2059 of the 86th Regular Legislative Session in 2019 requires 
that a health care practitioner successfully complete a training 
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course on human trafficking approved by the executive commis-
sioner of the Health and Human Services Commission as a con-
dition for license renewal, and in the bill, "health care practitioner" 
refers to an individual who provides direct patient care. The 
proposed amendments to §370.3 and further proposed amend-
ments to the Occupational Therapy Rules submitted for publi-
cation in the Texas Register would add the completion of this 
training as a requirement for license renewal for all occupational 
therapy licensees. 
FISCAL NOTE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Ralph A. Harper, Executive Director of the Executive Council 
of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners, 
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed 
amendments are in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to state 
or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering 
these amendments as proposed under Texas Government 
Code §2001.024(a)(4) because the amendments do not impose 
a cost on state or local governments. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

Mr. Harper has determined that the proposed amendments 
would not impact a local economy. Therefore, a local employ-
ment impact statement is not required under Texas Government 
Code §2001.022 and §2001.024(a)(6). 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE 

Mr. Harper has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(5) that for each of the first five years the proposed 
amendments would be in effect, the public benefit of the amend-
ments will be the cleanup, clarification, and reduction of certain 
requirements concerning the late renewal and restoration of a 
license and for the amendments concerning training on human 
trafficking, an increase in training completed by occupational 
therapy licensees on the prevention of human trafficking. There 
would not be an additional anticipated economic cost to per-
sons required to comply with the proposed amendments. The 
proposed cleanups and modifications do not add costs and HB 
2059 requires that at least one approved training course on 
human trafficking is available without charge. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

Mr. Harper has determined there would be no costs or adverse 
economic effects on small businesses, micro-businesses, or ru-
ral communities. Therefore, no economic impact statement or 
regulatory flexibility analysis is required under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2006.002. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The Board has determined that no private real property inter-
ests are affected by these proposed amendments and that these 
amendments do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an 
owner's rights to his or her private real property that would oth-
erwise exist in the absence of government action. As a result, 
these amendments do not constitute a taking under Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2007.043. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

The Board has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.0221 that during the first five years the rules would be in 
effect: 
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program; 

(2) the rules will not require the creation of new employee posi-
tions or the elimination of existing employee positions; 
(3) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in future 
legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rules will create a new regulation in the Occupational 
Therapy Rules concerning training on human trafficking as a re-
quired component of license renewal pursuant to HB 2059; 
(6) the rules will not repeal or expand an existing regulation; the 
rules will limit existing regulations by removing the requirement 
that to renew a license expired for more than 90 days, but less 
than one year, the individual must submit copies of the continu-
ing education documentation, by removing the requirements that 
applicants for restoration must routinely submit a license verifi-
cation and may only submit a photograph in paper form, and by 
reducing the number of continuing education hours required for 
the restoration of a license expired at least one year, but less 
than two years; 
(7) the rules will not increase or decrease the number of individ-
uals subject to the rules' applicability; and 

(8) the rules will neither positively nor adversely affect this state's 
economy. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

The agency determined that the rules are not subject to Texas 
Government Code §2001.0045 as the rules do not impose a cost 
on regulated persons as HB 2059 requires that at least one ap-
proved course is available without charge and additional pro-
posed amendments do not impose a cost. In addition, the rules 
do not impose a cost on another state agency, a special district, 
or a local government. 
ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT 

The Board has determined that the proposed amendments 
do not require an environmental impact analysis because the 
amendments are not major environmental rules under Texas 
Government Code §2001.0225. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted 
in writing to Lea Weiss, Occupational Therapy Coordina-
tor, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, 333 
Guadalupe Street, Suite 2-510, Austin, Texas 78701-3942 or to 
lea@ptot.texas.gov within 30 days following the publication of 
this notice in the Texas Register. It is requested when sending 
a comment that individuals include the rule section to which 
the comment refers and that comments sent by email include 
"Public Comment" in the email's subject line. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code 
§454.102, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules to carry out 
its duties under chapter 454. Specifically, the amendments to 
§370.2 and §370.3 are proposed under Texas Occupations Code 
§454.252, which requires that a person whose license has been 
expired less than one year may renew the license by paying the 
renewal fee and late fee set by the Executive Council of Physical 
Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners and which autho-
rizes the Board to reinstate a license expired one year or more. 
The amendments to §370.3 are proposed under Texas Occupa-
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tions Code §454.253, which authorizes the Board to renew the 
expired license of an individual licensed in another state and the 
amendments to §370.3 are proposed under Texas Occupations 
Code §454.254, which authorizes the Board to require license 
holders to attend continuing education courses specified by the 
Board. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

The proposed amendments to §370.3 implement Texas Occupa-
tions Code §116.002 and §116.003, which require a health care 
practitioner to complete human trafficking prevention training as 
a condition of license renewal. No other statutes, articles, or 
codes are affected by these amendments. 
§370.2. Late Renewal. 

(a) A renewal application is late if all the required renewal ma-
terials do not bear a postmark or electronic time-stamp showing a date 
prior to the expiration of the license. [A renewal application is late if 
all required materials are not postmarked prior to the expiration date of 
the license. Licensees who do not complete the renewal process prior 
to the expiration date are subject to late fees as described. Likewise, a 
renewal completed online must be electronically date and time stamped 
prior to the expiration date or it is late and subject to late fees as de-
scribed.] 

(b) [(1)] If the license has been expired for [90 days or] less 
than one year, the person may renew the license by completing all re-
newal requirements and submitting the renewal fee and the appropriate 
late fee. 

[(2) If the license has been expired for more than 90 days, 
but less than one year, the person may renew the license by completing 
all renewal requirements and: 

(A) submitting the renewal fee and the appropriate late 
fee; and 

(B) submitting copies of the continuing education doc-
umentation as per Chapter 367.] 

(c) [(b)] Military Service: 

(1) A licensee will be exempt from late fees and penalty for 
failure to timely renew a license if the licensee establishes to the satis-
faction of the Board that failure to renew the license in a timely manner 
was because the licensee was serving as a military service member. 

(2) A licensee who is a military service member is entitled 
to two years of additional time after the expiration of the license to 
complete: 

(A) any continuing education requirements; and 

(B) any other requirements related to the renewal of the 
license. 

(3) In this section, "military service member" has the mean-
ing as defined in Chapter 55, Occupations Code, §55.001. 

§370.3. Restoration of a Texas License. 
(a) Restoration of a license expired one year or more to a per-

son with a current license or occupational therapy employment: 

(1) The Board may restore a license to a person whose 
Texas license has been expired one year or more if the person: 

(A) is currently licensed in another state or territory of 
the U.S. and that license has not been suspended, revoked, cancelled, 
surrendered or otherwise restricted for any reason; or 

(B) if not currently licensed in another state or territory 
of the U.S., is applying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state 

or territory of the U.S. and can substantiate occupational therapy em-
ployment for at least two years immediately preceding application for 
a Texas license. 

(2) The person shall meet the following requirements: 

(A) submit a completed restoration application form 
[as prescribed by the Board, which includes a current photograph that 
meets the requirements for a U.S. passport]; 

(B) submit in paper or electronic form a current color 
photograph that meets the requirements for a U.S. passport. A photo-
graph in electronic form must be of a high-quality resolution compara-
ble to that of a passport photograph in paper form; 

(C) submit documentation of the completion of training 
on human trafficking as described in §367.1 of this title (relating to 
Continuing Education) that meets documentation requirements as per 
§367.3 of this title (relating to Continuing Education Audit); 

(D) submit a verification of license if the Board cannot 
verify the applicant's history of licensure in occupational therapy, in-
cluding disciplinary action. The verification must be an original ver-
ification sent directly to the Board by the licensing board of the state 
or territory. Disciplinary action must be reported to the Board. If the 
applicant is not currently licensed in a state or territory of the U.S. and 
is applying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state or territory 
of the U.S., a Verification of Employment form must be submitted sub-
stantiating occupational therapy employment for at least two years im-
mediately preceding application for a Texas license; 

[(B) submit to the Board a verification of license from 
each state or territory of the U.S. in which the applicant is currently 
licensed or previously held a license. This must be an original veri-
fication sent directly to the Board by the licensing board in that state 
or territory. Any disciplinary actions must be reported to the Board. 
If not currently licensed in another state or territory of the U.S. and 
applying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state or territory of 
the U.S., the person must submit a Verification of Employment form 
substantiating occupational therapy employment for at least two years 
immediately preceding application for a Texas license;] 

(E) [(C)] pass the jurisprudence examination; 

(F) [(D)] pay the restoration fee; and 

(G) [(E)] submit a complete and legible set of finger-
prints in the manner prescribed by the Board for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information from the Department of Public 
Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The licensee is not re-
quired to submit fingerprints under this section if the license holder has 
previously submitted fingerprints under: 

(i) Chapter 364 of this title (relating to Requirements 
for Licensure) for the initial issuance of the license; 

(ii) Chapter 370 of this title (relating to License Re-
newal) as part of a prior license renewal; or 

(iii) Chapter 371 of this title (relating to Inactive and 
Retired Status) as part of a prior license renewal or change of license 
status. 

(b) Restoration of a license expired at least one year but less 
than two years to a person without a current license or occupational 
therapy employment: 

(1) The Board may restore a license expired at least one 
year but less than two years to a person who was licensed in Texas and: 

(A) is not currently licensed in another state or territory 
of the U.S.; or 
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(B) if not currently licensed in another state or territory 
of the U.S., is applying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state 
or territory of the U.S. and cannot substantiate occupational therapy 
employment for at least two years immediately preceding application 
for a Texas license. 

(2) The person shall meet the following requirements: 

(A) submit a completed restoration application form 
[as prescribed by the Board, which includes a current photograph that 
meets the requirements for a U.S. passport]; 

(B) submit in paper or electronic form a current color 
photograph that meets the requirements for a U.S. passport. A photo-
graph in electronic form must be of a high-quality resolution compara-
ble to that of a passport photograph in paper form; 

(C) [(B)] submit copies of the completed continuing ed-
ucation showing 36 [45] hours of continuing education as per Chapter 
367 of this title (relating to Continuing Education) that includes train-
ing on human trafficking as described in that chapter; 

(D) submit a verification of license if the Board cannot 
verify the applicant's history of licensure in occupational therapy, in-
cluding disciplinary action. The verification must be an original veri-
fication sent directly to the Board by the licensing board of the state or 
territory. Disciplinary action must be reported to the Board; 

[(C) submit to the Board a verification of license from 
each state or territory of the U.S. in which the applicant is currently 
licensed or previously held a license. This must be an original verifi-
cation sent directly to the Board by the licensing board in that state or 
territory. Any disciplinary actions must be reported to the Board;] 

(E) [(D)] pass the jurisprudence examination; 

(F) [(E)] pay the restoration fee; and 

(G) [(F)] submit a complete and legible set of finger-
prints in the manner prescribed by the Board for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information from the Department of Public 
Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The licensee is not re-
quired to submit fingerprints under this section if the license holder has 
previously submitted fingerprints under: 

(i) Chapter 364 of this title (relating to Requirements 
for Licensure) for the initial issuance of the license; 

(ii) Chapter 370 of this title (relating to License Re-
newal) as part of a prior license renewal; or 

(iii) Chapter 371 of this title (relating to Inactive and 
Retired Status) as part of a prior license renewal or change of license 
status. 

(c) Restoration of a license expired two years or more to a per-
son without a current license or occupational therapy employment: 

(1) The Board may restore a license expired two years or 
more to a person who was licensed in Texas and: 

(A) is not currently licensed in another state or territory 
of the U.S.; or 

(B) if not currently licensed in another state or territory 
of the U.S., is applying from the U.S. military or a non-licensing state 
or territory of the U.S. and cannot substantiate occupational therapy 
employment for at least two years immediately preceding application 
for a Texas license. 

(2) The person shall meet the following requirements: 

(A) submit a completed restoration application form 
[as prescribed by the Board, which includes a current photograph that 
meets the requirements for a U.S. passport]; 

(B) submit in paper or electronic form a current color 
photograph that meets the requirements for a U.S. passport. A photo-
graph in electronic form must be of a high-quality resolution compara-
ble to that of a passport photograph in paper form; 

(C) submit documentation of the completion of training 
on human trafficking as described in §367.1 of this title (relating to 
Continuing Education) that meets documentation requirements as per 
§367.3 of this title (relating to Continuing Education Audit); 

(D) submit a verification of license if the Board cannot 
verify the applicant's history of licensure in occupational therapy, in-
cluding disciplinary action. The verification must be an original veri-
fication sent directly to the Board by the licensing board of the state or 
territory. Disciplinary action must be reported to the Board; 

[(B) submit to the Board a verification of license from 
each state or territory of the U.S. in which the applicant is currently 
licensed or previously held a license. This must be an original verifi-
cation sent directly to the Board by the licensing board in that state or 
territory. Any disciplinary actions must be reported to the Board;] 

(E) [(C)] pass the jurisprudence examination; 

(F) [(D)] pay the restoration fee; 

(G) [(E)] submit a complete and legible set of finger-
prints in the manner prescribed by the Board for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information from the Department of Public 
Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The licensee is not re-
quired to submit fingerprints under this section if the license holder has 
previously submitted fingerprints under: 

(i) Chapter 364 of this title (relating to Requirements 
for Licensure) for the initial issuance of the license; 

(ii) Chapter 370 of this title (relating to License Re-
newal) as part of a prior license renewal; or 

(iii) Chapter 371 of this title (relating to Inactive and 
Retired Status) as part of a prior license renewal or change of license 
status; and 

(H) [(F)] satisfy one of the following no more than two 
years prior to the submission of the application: 

(i) complete a re-entry course through an accredited 
college or university and submit the certificate of completion or tran-
script to the Board; 

(ii) obtain an advanced or post-professional occupa-
tional therapy degree, with an official transcript sent to the Board; or 

(iii) take and pass the NBCOT examination for li-
censure purposes only (after requesting Board approval to take the ex-
amination) and have the passing score reported to the Board directly 
by NBCOT. 

(d) The Board shall expedite the restoration of a license to a 
military service member, military veteran, or military spouse. To re-
quest expedited services, the military service member, military veteran, 
or military spouse must submit a copy of the Uniformed Services Mil-
itary ID card or other appropriate official documentation evidencing 
current or former military affiliation and notify the Board of his or her 
military affiliation. In this section, "military service member," "mil-
itary veteran," and "military spouse" have the meaning as defined in 
Chapter 55, Occupations Code, §55.001. 
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(e) The licensee whose license has been restored shall refer to 
Chapter 369 of this title for provisions regarding verification of current 
licensure. 

(f) The restoration fee as set by the Executive Council is non-
refundable. 

(g) Restoration requirements must be met within one year of 
the Board's receipt of the application. Restoration requirements are 
based on the length of time the license has been expired and whether the 
individual has a current license or occupational therapy employment as 
specified in this section at the time of the license's restoration. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002307 
Ralph A. Harper 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 371. INACTIVE AND RETIRED 
STATUS 
40 TAC §371.1, §371.2 

The Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners proposes 
amendments to 40 Texas Administrative Code §371.1, Inactive 
Status, and §371.2, Retired Status. The amendments to the 
sections are proposed to cleanup and clarify the sections and 
to reduce the requirements to initiate retired status. In addition, 
amendments to §371.2 are proposed to add requirements con-
cerning training on the prevention of human trafficking pursuant 
to House Bill 2059 of the 86th Regular Legislative Session in 
2019. Cleanups and clarifications to the sections include amend-
ments to provisions concerning fees to add greater uniformity 
and clarity to the manner in which such are referenced. 
Amendments to §371.2 include changes concerning reducing 
the number of hours of continuing education required to initiate 
retired status. Rather than requiring that the individual complete 
the same number of continuing education hours required to re-
new an active or inactive status license, the amendments will 
instead require that to initiate retired status, the individual must 
complete six hours of continuing education, which is the num-
ber of hours required to renew a license already on retired sta-
tus. This change will reduce potential barriers for licensees con-
cerning the initiation of retired status. Concomitant with these 
changes, requirements to return a license to active status have 
been revised so that a licensee who has been on retired status 
less than one year must complete the remainder of continuing 
education hours required for the renewal of a license on active 
status. 
Further amendments to §371.2 concern the addition of require-
ments concerning training on human trafficking. House Bill 
2059 of the 86th Regular Legislative Session requires that a 
health care practitioner successfully complete a training course 
on human trafficking approved by the executive commissioner 
of the Health and Human Services Commission as a condition 
for license renewal, and in the bill, "health care practitioner" 

refers to an individual who provides direct patient care. The 
proposed amendments to §371.2 and proposed amendments 
to other chapters of the Occupational Therapy Rules submitted 
for publication in the Texas Register would add the completion 
of this training as a requirement for license renewal for all 
occupational therapy licensees. 
FISCAL NOTE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Ralph A. Harper, Executive Director of the Executive Council 
of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners, 
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed 
amendments are in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to state 
or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering 
these amendments as proposed under Texas Government 
Code §2001.024(a)(4) because the amendments do not impose 
a cost on state or local governments. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

Mr. Harper has determined that the proposed amendments 
would not impact a local economy. Therefore, a local employ-
ment impact statement is not required under Texas Government 
Code §2001.022 and §2001.024(a)(6). 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE 

Mr. Harper has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(5) that for each of the first five years the pro-
posed amendments would be in effect, the public benefit of the 
amendments will be the cleanup, clarification, and reduction of 
certain requirements concerning inactive and retired status, and 
for the amendments concerning training on human trafficking, 
an increase in training completed by occupational therapy 
licensees on the prevention of human trafficking. There would 
not be an additional anticipated economic cost to persons re-
quired to comply with the proposed amendments. The proposed 
cleanups, modifications, and clarifications do not add a cost and 
HB 2059 requires that at least one approved training course on 
human trafficking is available without charge. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

Mr. Harper has determined there would be no costs or adverse 
economic effects on small businesses, micro-businesses, or ru-
ral communities. Therefore, no economic impact statement or 
regulatory flexibility analysis is required under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2006.002. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The Board has determined that no private real property inter-
ests are affected by these proposed amendments and that these 
amendments do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an 
owner's rights to his or her private real property that would oth-
erwise exist in the absence of government action. As a result, 
these amendments do not constitute a taking under Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2007.043. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

The Board has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.0221 that during the first five years the rules would be in 
effect: 
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) the rules will not require the creation of new employee posi-
tions or the elimination of existing employee positions; 
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(3) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in future 
legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rules will create a new regulation in the Occupational 
Therapy Rules concerning training on human trafficking as a re-
quired component of license renewal pursuant to HB 2059; 
(6) the rules will not repeal or expand an existing regulation; the 
rules will limit an existing regulation by reducing the number of 
continuing education hours required for the initiation of retired 
status; 
(7) the rules will not increase or decrease the number of individ-
uals subject to the rules' applicability; and 

(8) the rules will neither positively nor adversely affect this state's 
economy. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

The agency determined that the rules are not subject to Texas 
Government Code §2001.0045 as the rules do not impose a cost 
on regulated persons as HB 2059 requires that at least one ap-
proved course is available without charge and additional pro-
posed amendments do not impose a cost. In addition, the rules 
do not impose a cost on another state agency, a special district, 
or a local government. 
ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT 

The Board has determined that the proposed amendments 
do not require an environmental impact analysis because the 
amendments are not major environmental rules under Texas 
Government Code §2001.0225. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted 
in writing to Lea Weiss, Occupational Therapy Coordina-
tor, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, 333 
Guadalupe Street, Suite 2-510, Austin, Texas 78701-3942 or to 
lea@ptot.texas.gov within 30 days following the publication of 
this notice in the Texas Register. It is requested when sending 
a comment that individuals include the rule section to which 
the comment refers and that comments sent by email include 
"Public Comment" in the email's subject line. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code 
§454.102, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules to carry out 
its duties under chapter 454. Specifically, the amendments to 
§371.1 are proposed under Texas Occupations Code §454.212, 
which allows for the Board to provide for a license holder to place 
the holder's license on inactive status. Amendments to §371.2 
are proposed under Texas Occupations Code §454.254, which 
authorizes the Board to require license holders to attend contin-
uing education courses specified by the Board. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

The proposed amendments to §371.2 implement Texas Occu-
pations Code §116.002 and §116.003, which require a health 
care practitioner to complete human trafficking prevention train-
ing as a condition of license renewal. The proposed amend-
ments to §371.2 implement Texas Occupations Code §112.051, 
which requires each licensing entity to adopt rules providing for 
reduced fees and continuing education requirements for a retired 
health care practitioner whose only practice is voluntary charity 

care. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these 
amendments. 
§371.1. Inactive Status. 

(a) Inactive status indicates the voluntary termination of the 
right to practice occupational therapy by a licensee in good standing 
with the Board. The Board may allow an individual who is not actively 
engaged in the practice of occupational therapy to put an active license 
on inactive status at the time of renewal. A licensee may remain on 
inactive status for no more than three renewals or six consecutive years 
and may not represent himself or herself as an occupational therapist 
or occupational therapy assistant. 

(b) Required components to put a license on inactive status 
are: 

(1) a completed renewal application form [as prescribed by 
the Board] documenting completion of the required continuing educa-
tion as described in Chapter 367 of this title (relating to Continuing 
Education); 

(2) the inactive status fee and any late fees that may be due; 
and 

(3) a passing score on the jurisprudence examination. 

(c) Requirements for renewal of inactive status. An inactive 
licensee must renew the inactive status every 2 years. The components 
required to maintain the inactive status are: 

(1) a completed renewal application form [as prescribed by 
the Board] documenting completion of the required continuing educa-
tion as described in Chapter 367 of this title (relating to Continuing 
Education); 

(2) the inactive status [renewal] fee and any late fees that 
may be due; and 

(3) a passing score on the jurisprudence examination. 

(d) Requirements for reinstatement to active status. A licensee 
on inactive status may request to return to active status at any time. The 
components required to return to active status are: 

(1) a completed renewal application form [as prescribed by 
the Board]; 

(2) the active status renewal fee and any late fees that may 
be due; 

(3) a passing score on the jurisprudence examination; 

(4) proof of the required continuing education, if required; 
and 

(5) a complete and legible set of fingerprints submitted in 
the manner prescribed by the Board for the purpose of obtaining crim-
inal history record information from the Department of Public Safety 
and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The licensee is not required 
to submit fingerprints under this section if the license holder has previ-
ously submitted fingerprints under: 

(A) Chapter 364 of this title (relating to Requirements 
for Licensure) for the initial issuance of the license; 

(B) Chapter 370 of this title (relating to License Re-
newal) as part of a prior license renewal; or 

(C) Chapter 371 of this title (relating to Inactive and 
Retired Status) as part of a prior license renewal or change of license 
status. 

(e) If the inactive status license has been expired one year or 
more, in order to return to active status, the individual must follow 
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the procedures to restore the license according to §370.3 of this title 
(relating to Restoration of a Texas License). 

(f) The inactive status fees and any late fees as set by the Ex-
ecutive Council are nonrefundable. 

(g) Licensees on inactive status are subject to the audit of con-
tinuing education as described in §367.3 of this title (relating to Con-
tinuing Education Audit). 

§371.2. Retired Status. 

(a) The Retired Status is available for an occupational therapy 
practitioner whose only practice is the provision of voluntary charity 
care without monetary compensation. 

(1) "Voluntary charity care" means occupational therapy 
services provided as a volunteer with no compensation, for a charita-
ble organization as defined in §84.003 of the Texas Civil Practice and 
Remedies Code. This includes any bona fide charitable, religious, pre-
vention of cruelty to children or animals, youth sports and youth recre-
ational, neighborhood crime prevention or patrol, or educational organ-
ization (excluding fraternities, sororities, and secret societies), or other 
organization organized and operated exclusively for the promotion of 
social welfare by being primarily engaged in promoting the common 
good and general welfare of the people in the community, including 
these type of organizations with a Section 501(c)(3) or (4) exemption 
from federal income tax, some chambers of commerce, and volunteer 
centers certified by the Department of Public Safety. 

(2) "Compensation" means direct or indirect payment of 
anything of monetary value. 

(3) The designation used by the retired status licensee is 
Occupational Therapist Registered, Retired (OTR, Ret) or Occupa-
tional Therapist, Retired (OT, Ret), or Certified Occupational Ther-
apy Assistant, Retired (COTA, Ret) or Occupational Therapy Assis-
tant, Retired (OTA, Ret). 

(b) To be eligible for retired status, a licensee must hold a cur-
rent license on active or inactive status or an active or inactive license 
that has been expired less than one year. The license may only be put 
on retired status at the time of renewal. 

(c) Requirements for initial retired status are: 

(1) a completed retired status [application] form [as pre-
scribed by the Board]; 

(2) a passing score on the jurisprudence examination; 

(3) completion of 6 hours of continuing education as de-
scribed in Chapter 367 of this title (relating to Continuing Education) 
that includes training on human trafficking as described in that chapter; 
[the completed continuing education for the current renewal period;] 

(4) the retired status [application] fee and any late fees that 
may be due; and 

(5) a complete and legible set of fingerprints submitted in 
the manner prescribed by the Board for the purpose of obtaining crim-
inal history record information from the Department of Public Safety 
and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The licensee is not required 
to submit fingerprints under this section if the license holder has previ-
ously submitted fingerprints under: 

(A) Chapter 364 of this title (relating to Requirements 
for Licensure) for the initial issuance of the license; 

(B) Chapter 370 of this title (relating to License Re-
newal) as part of a prior license renewal; or 

(C) Chapter 371 of this title (relating to Inactive and 
Retired Status) as part of a prior license renewal or change of license 
status. 

(d) Requirements for renewal of retired status. A licensee on 
retired status must renew every two years before the expiration date. 
The retired occupational therapy practitioner shall submit: 

(1) a completed retired status [renewal] form [as prescribed 
by the Board]; 

(2) a passing score on the jurisprudence examination; 

(3) the retired status [renewal] fee and any late fees that 
may be due; 

(4) completion of 6 hours of continuing education each li-
cense renewal period[,] as described in Chapter 367 of this title (relat-
ing to Continuing Education) that includes training on human traffick-
ing as described in that chapter; and 

(5) a complete and legible set of fingerprints submitted in 
the manner prescribed by the Board for the purpose of obtaining crim-
inal history record information from the Department of Public Safety 
and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The licensee is not required 
to submit fingerprints under this section if the license holder has previ-
ously submitted fingerprints under: 

(A) Chapter 364 of this title (relating to Requirements 
for Licensure) for the initial issuance of the license; 

(B) Chapter 370 of this title (relating to License Re-
newal) as part of a prior license renewal; or 

(C) Chapter 371 of this title (relating to Inactive and 
Retired Status) as part of a prior license renewal or change of license 
status. 

(e) Requirements for return to active status. A licensee who 
has been on retired status less than one year must submit the active sta-
tus [regular license] renewal fee and the late fee as described in §370.1 
of this title (relating to License Renewal) and 18 additional hours of 
continuing education as described in Chapter 367 of this title (relating 
to Continuing Education). A licensee who has been on retired status 
for one year or more must follow the procedures for §370.3 of this title 
(relating to Restoration of Texas License). 

(f) The occupational therapy practitioner may continue to re-
new the retired status license indefinitely. 

(g) Licensees on retired status are subject to the audit of con-
tinuing education as described in §367.3 of this title (relating to Con-
tinuing Education Audit). 

(h) A retired occupational therapy practitioner is subject to dis-
ciplinary action under the OT Practice Act. 

(i) The retired status fees and any late fees as set by the Exec-
utive Council are nonrefundable. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002308 
Ralph A. Harper 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

TITLE 28. INSURANCE 

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
INSURANCE 

CHAPTER 21. TRADE PRACTICES 
SUBCHAPTER OO. DISCLOSURES BY 
OUT-OF-NETWORK PROVIDERS 
28 TAC §§21.4901 - 21.4904 

The Texas Department of Insurance withdraws the emergency 
adoption of new 28 TAC §§21.4901 - 21.4904 which appeared 

in the January 3, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 
13). 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002283 
James Person 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584 
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TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND 
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 355. REIMBURSEMENT RATES 
SUBCHAPTER A. COST DETERMINATION 
PROCESS 
1 TAC §355.112 

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) adopts an amendment to 
§355.112, concerning Attendant Compensation Rate Enhance-
ment. The amendment to §355.112 is adopted without changes 
to the proposed text as published in the March 20, 2020, issue 
of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1915). The rule will not be 
republished. 
BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

The purpose of the amendment to §355.112 is to implement 
Rider 44 of the 2020-21 General Appropriations Act, Article II, 
House Bill 1, 86th Legislature, Regular Session, 2019 (Rider 
44). Rider 44(a)(4) appropriated funds for the creation of sep-
arate categories in the Attendant Compensation Rate Enhance-
ment (rate enhancement) programs which serve individuals with 
intellectual and developmental disabilities in order to increase 
participation in those rate enhancement programs. The rider di-
rected that the categories be based on the number of attendant 
hours included in the billing unit. The amendment to §355.112 
creates separate rate enhancement categories for day habili-
tation (DH) services and non-DH services for Home and Com-
munity-Based Services (HCS) and Texas Home Living (TxHmL) 
programs and for services in a residential setting for the HCS 
program. The change allows flexibility in the rate enhancement 
program for HCS and TxHmL providers of services that do not 
utilize an hourly unit of service. 
COMMENTS 

The 31-day comment period ended on April 20, 2020. 
During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the 
amendment from two entities: Texas Parent to Parent (TxP2P) 
and Providers Alliance for Community Services of Texas (PAC-
STX). A summary of comments relating to the rule and HHSC's 
responses follow. 
Comment: All commenters expressed support for the proposed 
rule amendment. 
Response: HHSC appreciates the commenters' support of the 
rule. 

Comment: One commenter pointed out a potential discrepancy 
between the appropriated funding in Rider 44(a)(4) and the fiscal 
estimate associated with the proposed rule amendment. 
Response: Rider 44(a)(4) provided $6,317,103 in General Rev-
enue and $10,298,107 in Federal Funds in fiscal year 2021 in 
Strategy A.3.1, HCS for an All Funds Amount of $16,615,210. 
The fiscal estimate provided for the proposed amendment ap-
plied updated growth trends for the HCS waiver program and 
revised the Federal match percentage applied to the amounts 
appropriated in Rider 44(a)(4). No changes were made in re-
sponse to this comment. 
Comment: One commenter stated that Rider 44(a)(4) also ap-
propriated additional funding for HHSC to address the daily unit 
of billing in Intermediate Care Facilities with an Intellectual Dis-
ability or Related Condition (ICF/IID) and noted that HHSC did 
not propose a similar rule amendment for that purpose. This 
commenter also asked if a September 1, 2020, implementation 
date for any changes applicable to ICF/IID would be feasible. 
Response: HHSC believes that the Attendant Compensation 
Rate Enhancement Program for ICF/IID providers already ac-
counts for separate billing categories based on the number of 
direct care hours in the billing unit. The ICF/IID program provides 
Residential and DH services, and there are already separate rate 
enhancement categories for both of those services. Therefore, 
no rule amendments are necessary. No changes were made in 
response to this comment. 
Comment: One commenter stated that language needs to be 
added to §355.112(f)(7) to ensure that currently-participating 
providers who enroll for 2021 are able to maintain at least their 
2020 participation level. 
Response: HHSC is requesting that all HCS and ICF/IID 
providers who participate in the Attendant Compensation 
Rate Enhancement program complete a revised enrollment as 
specified in §355.112(f)(7). Since the program is undergoing 
substantial revision, including higher add-ons for DH and Resi-
dential Services, HHSC believes that all participating providers 
should request to enroll at a new level to ensure that they 
are able to meet the associated spending requirements. No 
changes were made in response to this comment. 
Comment: One commenter stated that language should be 
added to §355.112 to allow currently-participating providers 
to request an increase of more than three levels if funds are 
available to do so. 
Response: HHSC does not think adding language to the rule 
is necessary. Section 355.112(f)(1)(3) allows participating and 
nonparticipating providers to request to modify their enrollment 
status during any open enrollment period. The rule does not 
prevent non-limited providers from requesting an increase 
of more than three levels during open enrollment. However, 
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§355.112(f)(1)(4) prevents providers whose prior year enroll-
ment was limited from requesting an increase of their enrollment 
levels to three or fewer levels during the first open enrollment 
period after their limitation. HHSC believes it would be inappro-
priate to enforce limitations on HCS and ICF/IID providers during 
the 2021 enrollment period due to the significant revisions to the 
program. No changes were made in response to this comment. 
Comment: One commenter requested that HHSC provide the 
number of levels and add-on amounts for HCS and ICF/IID 
providers. 
Response: HHSC will issue guidance through an information 
letter regarding the number of levels and add-on amounts for 
HCS and ICF/IID providers. No changes were made in response 
to this comment. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner 
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, Texas 
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive 
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; Texas 
Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code 
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to adminis-
ter the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas; 
and Texas Government Code §531.021(b-1), which establishes 
HHSC as the agency responsible for adopting reasonable 
rules governing the determination of fees, charges, and rates 
for Medicaid payments under Texas Human Resources Code 
Chapter 32. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002279 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6637 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 19. EDUCATION 

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY 

CHAPTER 74. CURRICULUM REQUIRE-
MENTS 
SUBCHAPTER B. GRADUATION 
REQUIREMENTS 
19 TAC §§74.11 - 74.13 

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts amendments 
to §§74.11-74.13, concerning curriculum requirements. The 
amendments are adopted without changes to the proposed text 
as published in the March 6, 2020 issue of the Texas Register 
(45 TexReg 1531) and will not be republished. The adopted 
amendments update the rules to align with the requirements 

of House Bill (HB) 678, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, and 
revisions to career and technical education (CTE) programs of 
study. 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION: The 83rd Texas Legislature, 
Regular Session, 2013, passed HB 5, amending Texas Educa-
tion Code (TEC), §28.025, to transition from three high school 
graduation programs to one foundation high school program 
with endorsement options to increase flexibility for students. HB 
5 gave the SBOE the authority to identify advanced courses 
related to the new graduation program, identify the curricu-
lum requirements for the endorsements, and determine the 
requirements for performance acknowledgments related to the 
graduation program. 
The 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, passed HB 678, which 
amended TEC, §28.025(b-21), to allow elementary school stu-
dents to earn one high school credit toward the languages other 
than English (LOTE) graduation requirement by successfully 
completing a course in American Sign Language (ASL). 
The 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, also passed HB 963, which 
requires the SBOE, not later than March 1, 2020, to conduct a 
review of the TEKS for CTE and technology applications courses 
for Grades 9-12 and amend the board's rules to consolidate 
courses and eliminate duplicative courses. The SBOE is re-
quired to implement this provision only if the legislature appro-
priated money specifically for that purpose. If the legislature did 
not appropriate money specifically for that purpose, the SBOE 
may, but is not required to, implement a requirement using other 
appropriations available for that purpose. The legislature did not 
appropriate money specifically for the purpose of implementing 
this requirement. 
Texas is redesigning state-level programs of study to include 
coherent and rigorous content with challenging academic stan-
dards and relevant career and technical content. Programs of 
study will be aligned with state and regional labor market in-
formation, including high-wage, high-skill, and in-demand oc-
cupations. As a part of the program of study revision process, 
Texas conducted a statewide labor market analysis that discov-
ered several instances where occupations and postsecondary 
training overlap. 
The adopted amendments update the graduation requirements 
to reflect changes to the rules on endorsements to reflect the 
revised programs of study and to ensure that a student who 
completed a program of study could earn one of the endorse-
ments. Additionally, the amendments update the rules to align 
with the consolidation of the high school technology applications 
and CTE TEKS, allow students who completed an ASL course 
in elementary school to earn one high school credit toward the 
LOTE graduation requirement, and clarify language regarding 
the requirements for satisfying a LOTE graduation requirement 
by completing a dual language immersion program while in ele-
mentary school. 
The SBOE approved the proposed amendments for first reading 
and filing authorization at its January 31, 2020 meeting and for 
second reading and final adoption at its April 17, 2020 meeting. 
In accordance with TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the 
amendments for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its members 
to specify an effective date earlier than the beginning of the 
2020-2021 school year. The earlier effective date will allow 
districts of innovation that begin school prior to the statutorily 
required start date to implement the rules when they begin their 
school year. The effective date is August 1, 2020. 
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SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES: The public 
comment period on the proposal began March 6, 2020, and 
ended April 10, 2020. The SBOE also provided an opportunity 
for registered oral and written comments at its April 2020 meet-
ing in accordance with the SBOE board operating policies and 
procedures. No comments were received. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments are adopted un-
der Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires 
the State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which re-
quires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge and 
skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all students 
should be able to demonstrate and that will be used in evaluating 
instructional materials and addressed on the state assessment 
instruments; TEC, §28.025(a), which requires the SBOE to by 
rule determine the curriculum requirements for the foundation 
high school program that are consistent with the required cur-
riculum and to designate the specific courses in the foundation 
curriculum that are required under the foundation high school 
program; and TEC, §28.025(c-1), which requires the SBOE to 
by rule provide students with multiple options for earning each 
endorsement, including, to the greatest extent possible, coher-
ent sequences of courses. The SBOE by rule must permit a 
student to enroll in courses under more than one endorsement 
curriculum before the student's junior year. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendments imple-
ment Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); 
and 28.025(a) and (c-1). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002227 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 105. FOUNDATION SCHOOL 
PROGRAM 
SUBCHAPTER B. USE OF STATE FUNDS 
19 TAC §105.11, §105.12 

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts the repeal of 
§105.11 and §105.12, concerning use of state funds. The 
repeals are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the March 6, 2020 issue of the Texas Register 
(45 TexReg 1536) and will not be republished. The adopted 
repeals implement House Bill (HB) 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 
2019, which removed the SBOE's rulemaking authority related 
to maximum allowable indirect costs and the basic allotment for 
the Foundation School Program (FSP). 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION: Section 105.11 establishes the 
limits that may be expended from special allotments on indirect 

costs related to compensatory education, bilingual education, 
special language programs, and special education. 
Section 105.12 explains the authorized use of state aid for ac-
quisitions, renovation, repairs, and maintenance of facilities. 
HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, renumbered Texas Educa-
tion Code (TEC), §42.004, to §48.004. The renumbered statute 
was amended to remove the SBOE's rulemaking authority re-
lated to maximum allowable indirect costs and the basic allot-
ment for the FSP. The repeal of the rules is necessary since 
statutory authority no longer exists. 
The SBOE approved the proposed repeals for first reading and 
filing authorization at its January 31, 2020 meeting and for sec-
ond reading and final adoption at its April 17, 2020 meeting. 
In accordance with TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the re-
peals for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its members to spec-
ify an effective date earlier than the beginning of the 2020-2021 
school year. The earlier effective date will implement legislation 
in a timely manner by removing provisions for which statutory 
authority no longer exists. The effective date is 20 days after fil-
ing as adopted with the Texas Register. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES: The public 
comment period on the proposal began March 6, 2020, and 
ended April 10, 2020. The SBOE also provided an opportunity 
for registered oral and written comments at its April 2020 meet-
ing in accordance with the SBOE board operating policies and 
procedures. No comments were received. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under 
Texas Education Code, §48.004, as transferred, redesignated, 
and amended by House Bill 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, 
which requires the commissioner to adopt rules, take actions, 
and require reports necessary to implement and administer the 
Foundation School Program. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement 
Texas Education Code, §48.004, as transferred, redesignated, 
and amended by House Bill 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002228 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: June 21, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 110. TEXAS ESSENTIAL 
KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS FOR ENGLISH 
LANGUAGE ARTS AND READING 
The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts the repeal of 
§§110.30-110.34 and 110.85, concerning Texas Essential 
Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) for English language arts and 
reading. The repeals are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the March 6, 2020 issue of the 

ADOPTED RULES June 19, 2020 45 TexReg 4179 

https://110.30-110.34


Texas Register (45 TexReg 1537) and will not be republished. 
The adopted repeals remove the TEKS adopted to be effective 
in 2009 for high school English language arts and reading and 
related implementation language that will be superseded by 
new 19 TAC §§110.35-110.39 beginning with the 2020-2021 
school year. 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION: In 2017, the SBOE adopted re-
visions to the English language arts and reading TEKS. The re-
vised TEKS for high school are scheduled to be implemented 
beginning with the 2020-2021 school year. 
With the implementation of the revised English language arts 
and reading TEKS for high school scheduled for the 2020-2021 
school year, the current TEKS in 19 TAC §§110.30-110.34 and 
110.85 are no longer needed and may now be repealed. 
The SBOE approved the proposed repeals for first reading and 
filing authorization at its January 31, 2020 meeting and for sec-
ond reading and final adoption at its April 17, 2020 meeting. 
In accordance with Texas Education Code, §7.102(f), the SBOE 
approved the repeals for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its 
members to specify an effective date earlier than the beginning of 
the 2020-2021 school year. The earlier effective date will allow 
districts of innovation that begin school prior to the statutorily 
required start date to implement the proposed rulemaking when 
they begin their school year. The effective date is August 1, 
2020. 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES: The public 
comment period on the proposal began March 6, 2020, and 
ended April 10, 2020. The SBOE also provided an opportunity 
for registered oral and written comments at its April 2020 meet-
ing in accordance with the SBOE board operating policies and 
procedures. No comments were received. 
SUBCHAPTER C. HIGH SCHOOL 
19 TAC §§110.30 - 110.34 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the 
State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which 
requires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge 
and skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all 
students should be able to demonstrate and that will be used 
in evaluating instructional materials and addressed on the state 
assessment instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires 
the SBOE to by rule determine the curriculum requirements 
for the foundation high school graduation program that are 
consistent with the required curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement 
Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); and 
28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002229 

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER D. OTHER HIGH SCHOOL 
ENGLISH LANGUAGE ARTS AND READING 
COURSES 
19 TAC §110.85 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is adopted under Texas 
Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the State 
Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and gradua-
tion requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the subjects 
of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which requires the 
SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge and skills of 
each subject in the required curriculum that all students should 
be able to demonstrate and that will be used in evaluating in-
structional materials and addressed on the state assessment in-
struments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires the SBOE to 
by rule determine the curriculum requirements for the founda-
tion high school graduation program that are consistent with the 
required curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeal implements 
Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); and 
28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002230 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 113. TEXAS ESSENTIAL 
KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS FOR SOCIAL 
STUDIES 
The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts an amendment 
to §113.30, the repeal of §§113.51-113.68 and 113.71-113.80, 
and new §§113.51, 113.60, 113.61, and 113.101-113.126, con-
cerning Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) for social 
studies. New §113.51 is adopted with changes to the proposed 
text as published in the March 6, 2020 issue of the Texas Regis-
ter (45 TexReg 1538) and will be republished. The amendment 
to §113.30, the repeal of §§113.51-113.68 and 113.71-113.80, 
and new §§113.60, 113.61, and 113.101-113.126 are adopted 
without changes to the proposed text as published in the March 
6, 2020 issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1538) and will 
not be republished. The adopted rule actions add TEKS for a 
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new African American studies ethnic studies course, renumber 
sections, and update references to course numbers and titles to 
reflect recent revisions to the social studies TEKS. 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION: The 83rd Texas Legislature, 
2013, passed House Bill (HB) 5, amending Texas Education 
Code, §28.025, to transition from three high school gradu-
ation programs to one foundation high school program with 
endorsements to increase flexibility in graduation requirements 
for students. In August 2013, the SBOE held a work session 
to discuss changes to the graduation requirements in order to 
align with the requirements of HB 5, including discussion of 
courses required by HB 5. 
There are currently state-approved TEKS for general social stud-
ies elective courses that allow educators to select specific his-
torical, cultural, or research topics in social studies to address 
in greater depth. In social studies, these courses include Spe-
cial Topics in Social Studies, Social Studies Research Methods, 
Social Studies Advanced Studies, and Ethnic Studies: Mexican 
American Studies. 
In June 2019, a new African American Studies innovative course 
was approved by the commissioner of education for use be-
ginning with the 2019-2020 school year. School districts and 
open-enrollment charter schools may offer any state-approved 
innovative course for elective credit with the approval of the lo-
cal board of trustees. 
New §113.51 adds TEKS for a new ethnic studies course in 
African American studies. Existing §§113.51-113.68 and 113.71-
113.80 were repealed and adopted with new section numbers in 
order to move Social Studies Advanced Studies and Economics 
Advanced Studies from Subchapter D to the high school courses 
in Subchapter C and to group the ethnic studies courses to-
gether. The content of the renumbered sections did not change 
except to update references to course numbers and titles in new 
§§113.102, 113.104-113.106, 113.111, 113.114, and 113.115 to 
reflect recent revisions to the social studies TEKS. In addition, 
the implementation language in §113.30 and new §113.101 was 
updated to remove outdated references to section numbers and 
school years. 
The following changes to §113.51 were made since the rules 
were published as proposed. 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(2)(A) was amended 
to delete the phrase "the economic, political, and social reasons 
for." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(3)(A) was amended 
to delete the phrase "and evaluate" and to add the word "some" 
before the word "Americans." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(3)(E) was amended to 
replace the word "including" with the phrase "such as." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(3)(F) was amended to 
add the phrase "the gradual emancipation of enslaved people in 
the North (1777-1804)" after the word "including" and to delete 
the word "and" before the phrase "the abolition of slavery in Mex-
ico (1829)." 
A new student expectation in subsection (c)(4)(E) was added 
that states, "explain the impact of the convict leasing system on 
African Americans such as the Sugar Land 95." Subsequent stu-
dent expectations in subsection (c)(4) were relettered appropri-
ately. 

The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(4)(E), relet-
tered as (c)(4)(F) at adoption, was amended to replace the word 
"analyze" with the word "explain." 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(4)(I), relet-
tered as (c)(4)(J) at adoption, was amended to replace the word 
"evaluate" with the word "describe." 
A new student expectation in subsection (c)(5)(B) was added 
that states, "describe the impact of U.S. Supreme Court deci-
sions Sweatt v. Painter (1950) and Brown v. Board of Education 
(1954)." Subsequent student expectations in subsection (c)(5) 
were relettered appropriately. 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(5)(B), relet-
tered as (c)(5)(C) at adoption, was amended to replace the word 
"including" with the phrase "such as" and to add the individual 
Rosa Parks and the organization Student Non-Violent Coordi-
nating Committee. 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(5)(F), relet-
tered as (c)(5)(G) at adoption, was amended to replace the word 
"including" with the phrase "such as." 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(5)(G), relet-
tered as (c)(5)(H) at adoption, was amended to delete the word 
"and" before the word "failures" and to insert the phrase "and on-
going impact" before the phrase "of the Civil Rights Movement." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(6)(A) was amended to 
replace the phrase "quest for" with the phrase "effort to achieve." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(6)(B) was amended to 
replace the word "contributions" with the word "achievements" 
and to add the individual Fannie Lou Hamer. 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(7)(B) was 
replaced by a new student expectations that reads, "identify and 
explain the physical and human geographic factors that con-
tributed to the Atlantic Slave Trade, the rise of the plantation 
system in the South, the development of textile mills in the North, 
and economic interdependence between the North and South." 
The student expectations in proposed subsection (c)(8)(A) and 
(B) were deleted. Subsequent student expectations in subsec-
tion (c)(8) were relettered appropriately. 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(8)(C), relet-
tered as (c)(8)(A) at adoption, was amended to add the phrase 
"and the roles of 'King Cotton' after the phrase "analyze the ef-
fects of the Industrial Revolution" and to replace the word "on" 
with the word "in" before the phrase "the economies of the United 
States and the world." 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(8)(D), 
relettered as (c)(8)(B) at adoption, was amended to delete the 
phrases "economic policies such as" and "Jim Crow economies" 
and to replace the phrase "impacted the standard of living of" 
with the phrase "limited economic opportunities for." 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(8)(E), relet-
tered as (c)(8)(C) at adoption, was amended to delete the word 
"unsatisfactory" and to replace the phrase "opportunities in the 
South and increased economic opportunities in cities of the North 
and West caused" with the phrase "conditions and racism con-
tributed to." 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(8)(J), relet-
tered as (c)(8)(H) at adoption, was amended to replace the indi-
vidual Fannie Lou Hamer with the individual Maggie L. Walker. 
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The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(9)(A) was 
replaced by a new student expectation that reads, "compare and 
contrast how political perspectives of free and enslaved African 
Americans in the late 1700s and early 1800s were influenced by 
the unalienable rights expressed in the Declaration of Indepen-
dence and civil rights in the Bill of Rights." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(9)(E) was amended 
to add the phrase "the War on Crime, the War on Drugs, mass 
incarceration" after the phrase "affirmative action." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(10)(C) was amended 
to delete the phrase "and analyze," to replace the phrase "lead-
ership roles" with the word "leaders," and to delete the phrase 
"including Supreme Court cases." 
A new student expectation in subsection (c)(11)(E) was added 
that reads, "identify and describe the diversity of peoples of 
African ancestry such as Afro-Latinos, Afro-Caribbeans, and 
recent African immigrants." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(14)(A) was amended 
to replace the phrase "of blues, ragtime, and jazz music" with 
"and influence of blues, ragtime, jazz, and hip hop music," to 
replace the phrase "including the achievements" with the phrase 
"such as the achievements," and to delete the phrase "such as" 
before Scott Joplin. 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(14)(C) was amended 
to replace the word "including" with the phrase "such as" and to 
delete the phrase "individuals such as." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(14)(D) was amended 
to add the novel "Beloved by Toni Morrison" after the novel "Their 
Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston." 
The student expectation in subsection (c)(14)(E) was amended 
to add the individual James Baldwin after the individual John T. 
Biggers. 
A new subsection (c)(15) on African American culture was added 
that reads: 
"(15) Culture. The student understands African American edu-
cational developments, achievements, and opportunities before 
and after the U.S. Supreme Court decision of Brown v. Board of 
Education (1954). The student is expected to: 
(A) describe the efforts to prevent the education of enslaved peo-
ple and free African Americans, including anti-literacy laws; 
(B) analyze the expansion of educational opportunities for 
African Americans, including the Freedman's Bureau, Rosen-
wald Schools, the Second Morrill Act (1890), the establishment 
of Historically Black Colleges and Universities, and the role of 
the National Pan-Hellenic Council (Divine 9); and 

(C) describe contemporary issues in education for African Amer-
ican students such as the school-to-prison pipeline, opportunity 
gaps, overrepresentation in special education, and underrepre-
sentation in gifted and talented opportunities." 
Subsequent paragraphs in subsection (c) were renumbered ap-
propriately. 
The student expectation in proposed subsection (c)(15)(C), 
renumbered as (c)(16)(C) at adoption, was amended to replace 
the word "including" with the phrase "such as." 
In addition, technical edits were made throughout the section. 

The SBOE approved the proposed rule actions for first reading 
and filing authorization at its January 31, 2020 meeting and for 
second reading and final adoption at its April 17, 2020 meeting. 
In accordance with TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the rule 
actions for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its members to 
specify an effective date earlier than the beginning of the 2020-
2021 school year. The earlier effective date will allow districts of 
innovation that begin school prior to the statutorily required start 
date to implement the rulemaking when they begin their school 
year. The effective date is August 1, 2020. 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES: The public 
comment period on the proposal began March 6, 2020, and 
ended April 10, 2020. The SBOE also provided an opportunity 
for registered oral and written comments at its April 2020 meet-
ing in accordance with the SBOE board operating policies and 
procedures. Following is a summary of the comments received 
and corresponding responses. 
Comment. One parent stated that African American historians 
such as Dr. John Hope Franklin and Dr. Henry Louis Gates 
should be considered for inclusion the TEKS for the proposed 
new Ethnic Studies: African American Studies course. 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested additions were not necessary. 
Comment. One parent recommended adding student expecta-
tions focusing on the Black Lives Matter movement in the citi-
zenship strand of the proposed new course. 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested addition was not necessary. 
Comment. One parent recommended that the truth about the 
Confederacy as it pertains to African Americans should be in-
cluded in the TEKS for the proposed new course. 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
topic is sufficiently addressed in the course as proposed. In re-
sponse to other comments, the SBOE took action to approve 
additional changes to the proposed new course. 
Comment. One parent recommended adding student expecta-
tions focusing on systematic racism, or certain policies that have 
harmed African Americans, in the government strand of the pro-
posed new course. 
Response. The SBOE agrees that a student expectation on 
racial and social injustices was warranted in the proposed new 
course. In response to this and other comments, the SBOE took 
action to amend §113.51(c)(9)(E) to read: "analyze the causes 
and effects of government actions and legislation addressing 
racial and social injustices from 1960 to the present day such 
as the issues of voting rights, civil rights, fair housing, education, 
employment, affirmative action, the War on Crime, the War on 
Drugs, mass incarceration, and health and nutrition." 
Comment. One parent expressed support for the addition of stu-
dent expectations focusing on structural, institutional, and sys-
temic racism and the adverse effects these policies and actions 
had on African Americans, including the distrust and suspicion 
of the government that resulted. 
Response. The SBOE agrees that a student expectation on 
racial and social injustices was warranted in the proposed new 
course. In response to this and other comments, the SBOE took 
action to amend §113.51(c)(9)(E) to read: "analyze the causes 
and effects of government actions and legislation addressing 
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racial and social injustices from 1960 to the present day such 
as the issues of voting rights, civil rights, fair housing, education, 
employment, affirmative action, the War on Crime, the War on 
Drugs, mass incarceration, and health and nutrition." 
Comment. One community member recommended replacing 
the word "slavery" with the word "enslavement" and the word 
"slaves" with "enslaved people" throughout the proposed TEKS 
for the new Ethnic Studies: African American Studies course. 
The commenter stated that enslavement implies an external op-
position. 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
terms "slavery" and "slaves" were appropriate as proposed as 
they align with language throughout the social studies TEKS. 
Comment. One parent stated that it is important to include state 
or local components in the course and requested that the SBOE 
consider adding Texas-specific African American history topics. 
Response. The SBOE agrees that it is important to address lo-
cal examples when teaching the proposed course. However, the 
SBOE disagrees that local examples should be added to the pro-
posed TEKS. The SBOE has determined that teachers may add 
more content than what is required in the standards. 
Comment. One community member expressed support for the 
adoption of TEKS for the Ethnic Studies: African American Stud-
ies course. 
Response. The SBOE agrees and took action to adopt the pro-
posed new course as amended. 
Comment. One community member proposed amending the 
student expectation in §113.51(c)(3)(F) by adding the Haitian 
Revolution of 1791-1804 because it was an important starting 
point of anti-slavery movements in the Americas. 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested language was not necessary. In response to other 
comments, the SBOE took action to amend §113.51(c)(3)(F) to 
read, "analyze national and international abolition efforts, includ-
ing the gradual emancipation of enslaved people in the North 
(1777-1804), the U.S. ban on the slave trade (1808), the aboli-
tion of slavery in Mexico (1829) and Great Britain (1833), and the 
significance of the Guerrero Decree in the Texas Revolution." 
Comment. One community member recommended that civil 
rights should be referenced within the broader context of 
the Black Freedom Movement in the student expectations in 
§113.51(c)(5). 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that civil 
rights are appropriately referenced in the student expectation 
in §113.51(c)(5). In response to other comments, the SBOE 
took action to amend the student expectation in proposed 
§113.51(c)(5). 
Comment. One community member recommended adding Mal-
com X to the student expectation in §113.51(c)(5)(B). 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested change was not necessary. In response to other com-
ments, the SBOE took action to amend the student expectation 
in proposed §113.51(c)(5)(B), adopted as (c)(5)(C), to read, "de-
scribe the continued struggle for civil rights in America during this 
time in history such as the notable works of the NAACP, National 
Urban League, Jackie Robinson, Rosa Parks, Martin Luther King 
Jr., Daisy Bates and the Little Rock Nine, the Student Non-Vio-
lent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and local leaders." 

Comment. One community member recommended adding Ben-
jamin O. Davis, Sr. and Benjamin O. Davis, Jr. to the student 
expectation in §113.51(c)(5)(E). 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested additions were not necessary. 
Comment. Texas Environmental Justice Advocacy Services 
proposed amending the student expectation in §113.51(c)(7)(D) 
by adding the phrase "and environmental protections" after the 
phrase "urban development." 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested addition was not necessary. 
Comment. One community member proposed amending the 
student expectation in §113.51(c)(14)(D) by adding Notes of a 
Native Son by James Baldwin to the list of selected works by 
African American authors. 
Response. The SBOE disagrees with the recommendation to 
add Notes of a Native Son to §113.51(c)(14)(D). However, in 
response to this and other comments, the SBOE amended the 
student expectation in §113.51(c)(14)(E) at adoption by adding 
James Baldwin. Additionally, the SBOE amended the student 
expectation in §113.51(c)(14)(D) by adding "Beloved by Toni 
Morrison." 
Comment. One community member proposed amending the 
student expectation in §113.51(c)(14)(E) by adding Audre Lorde 
and Toni Morrison to the list of artists who have contributed works 
to African American self-identity. 
Response. The SBOE disagrees with the recommendation 
to add Audre Lorde and has determined that the addition 
was not necessary. However, in response in this and other 
comments, the SBOE amended the student expectation in 
§113.51(c)(14)(D) at adoption by adding "Beloved by Toni 
Morrison." 
Comment. Texas Environmental Justice Advocacy Services 
proposed amending the student expectations in §113.51(c)(15) 
by adding a new student expectation that reads, "identify how 
African American communities have used science and com-
munity-based participatory research or youth-led participatory 
action research methods to study disproportionate public health 
impacts among African American communities." 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested addition to student expectations in §113.51(c)(15) 
was not necessary. 
Comment. Texas Environmental Justice Advocacy Services pro-
posed amending the student expectation in §113.51(c)(15)(B) 
by adding the phrase "and how industrialization has impacted 
African America communities and quality of life." 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested addition was not necessary. 
Comment. Texas Environmental Justice Advocacy Services pro-
posed amending the student expectation in §113.51(c)(15)(C) 
by adding Emelda J. West to the list of contributions of African 
American individuals. 
Response. The SBOE disagrees and has determined that the 
suggested addition was not necessary. 
SUBCHAPTER C. HIGH SCHOOL 
19 TAC §§113.30, 113.51, 113.60, 113.61 
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STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment and new sections 
are adopted under Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), 
which requires the State Board of Education (SBOE) to estab-
lish curriculum and graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), 
which identifies the subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, 
§28.002(c), which requires the SBOE to by rule identify the 
essential knowledge and skills of each subject in the required 
curriculum that all students should be able to demonstrate 
and that will be used in evaluating instructional materials and 
addressed on the state assessment instruments; and TEC, 
§28.025(a), which requires the SBOE to by rule determine the 
curriculum requirements for the foundation high school gradu-
ation program that are consistent with the required curriculum 
under TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment and 
new sections implement Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 
28.002(a) and (c); and 28.025(a). 
§113.51. Ethnic Studies: African American Studies (One Credit). 

(a) General requirements. Students shall be awarded one 
credit for successful completion of this course. This course is recom-
mended for students in Grades 10-12. 

(b) Introduction. 

(1) In Ethnic Studies: African American Studies, an elec-
tive course, students learn about the history and cultural contributions 
of African Americans. This course is designed to assist students in un-
derstanding issues and events from multiple perspectives. This course 
develops an understanding of the historical roots of African American 
culture, especially as it pertains to social, economic, and political inter-
actions within the broader context of United States history. It requires 
an analysis of important ideas, social and cultural values, beliefs, and 
traditions. Knowledge of past achievements provides citizens of the 
21st century with a broader context within which to address the many 
issues facing the United States. 

(2) To support the teaching of the essential knowledge and 
skills, the use of a variety of rich primary and secondary source mate-
rial such as biographies, autobiographies, landmark cases of the U.S. 
Supreme Court, novels, speeches, letters, diaries, poetry, songs, and 
artwork is encouraged. Resources are available from museums, histor-
ical sites, presidential libraries, and local and state preservation soci-
eties. 

(3) The eight strands of the essential knowledge and skills 
for social studies are intended to be integrated for instructional pur-
poses. Skills listed in the social studies skills strand in subsection (c) 
of this section should be incorporated into the teaching of all essential 
knowledge and skills for social studies. A greater depth of understand-
ing of complex content material can be attained when integrated social 
studies content from the various disciplines and critical-thinking skills 
are taught together. 

(4) Students identify the role of the U.S. free enterprise sys-
tem within the parameters of this course and understand that this system 
may also be referenced as capitalism or the free market system. 

(5) Throughout social studies in Kindergarten-Grade 12, 
students build a foundation in history; geography; economics; govern-
ment; citizenship; culture; science, technology, and society; and social 
studies skills. The content, as appropriate for the grade level or course, 
enables students to understand the importance of patriotism, function 
in a free enterprise society, and appreciate the basic democratic val-
ues of our state and nation as referenced in the Texas Education Code 
(TEC), §28.002(h). 

(6) Students understand that a constitutional republic is a 
representative form of government whose representatives derive their 
authority from the consent of the governed, serve for an established 
tenure, and are sworn to uphold the constitution. 

(7) State and federal laws mandate a variety of celebrations 
and observances, including Celebrate Freedom Week. 

(A) Each social studies class shall include, during Cele-
brate Freedom Week as provided under the TEC, §29.907, or during an-
other full school week as determined by the board of trustees of a school 
district, appropriate instruction concerning the intent, meaning, and im-
portance of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution, 
including the Bill of Rights, in their historical contexts. The study of 
the Declaration of Independence must include the study of the relation-
ship of the ideas expressed in that document to subsequent American 
history, including the relationship of its ideas to the rich diversity of 
our people as a nation of immigrants, the American Revolution, the 
formulation of the U.S. Constitution, and the abolitionist movement, 
which led to the Emancipation Proclamation and the women's suffrage 
movement. 

(B) Each school district shall require that, during Cel-
ebrate Freedom Week or other week of instruction prescribed under 
subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, students in Grades 3-12 study and 
recite the following text: "We hold these Truths to be self-evident, that 
all Men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with 
certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the 
Pursuit of Happiness--That to secure these Rights, Governments are 
instituted among Men, deriving their just Powers from the Consent of 
the Governed." 

(8) Students identify and discuss how the actions of U.S. 
citizens and the local, state, and federal governments have either met 
or failed to meet the ideals espoused in the founding documents. 

(9) Statements that contain the word "including" reference 
content that must be mastered, while those containing the phrase "such 
as" are intended as possible illustrative examples. 

(c) Knowledge and skills. 

(1) History. The student understands the influential histor-
ical points of reference in African history prior to 1619. The student is 
expected to: 

(A) identify the major eras, civilizations, and contribu-
tions of African history that are foundational to humanity and predate 
American slavery; 

(B) describe and compare the various pre-colonial, in-
digenous, and ancestral roots of African Americans such as educational 
systems, social and political developments, family structures, global 
trade, and exchange; and 

(C) analyze the effects of dehumanization through the 
capture, trade, and enslavement of Africans, within a regional and 
global context, including the Atlantic Slave Trade. 

(2) History. The student understands the economic, polit-
ical, and social development of slavery during the American colonial 
period, 1619 to 1775. The student is expected to: 

(A) analyze the African diaspora, including the role of 
Africans and Europeans; 

(B) compare and contrast the colonization of North, 
Central, and South America and the West Indies and neighboring 
islands and analyze the interactions among enslaved Africans and 
Native Americans; 
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(C) describe and explain the impact of the Middle Pas-
sage on African American culture; and 

(D) explain the causes for the growth and development 
of slavery, primarily in the Southern colonies. 

(3) History. The student understands the rationalization 
and ramifications for the continuation and growth of slavery and the 
anti-slavery movement in the United States from independence (1776) 
through the Emancipation Proclamation (1863). The student is ex-
pected to: 

(A) analyze the economic, social, religious, and legal 
rationalization used by some Americans to continue and expand slavery 
after declaring independence from Great Britain; 

(B) describe the impact of the Three-Fifths Compro-
mise and the Fugitive Slave Act; 

(C) analyze the role that slavery played in the develop-
ment of nationalism and sectionalism during the early 19th century; 

(D) analyze and evaluate various forms of individual 
and group resistance against the enslavement of African Americans; 

(E) analyze the influence of significant individuals and 
groups prior to and during the abolitionist movement to determine their 
impact on ending slavery such as the work of David Walker, Elijah P. 
Lovejoy, John Brown, Sojourner Truth, Frederick Douglass, the Amer-
ican Anti-Slavery Society, and the Underground Railroad; and 

(F) analyze national and international abolition efforts, 
including the gradual emancipation of enslaved people in the North 
(1777-1804), the U.S. ban on the slave trade (1808), the abolition of 
slavery in Mexico (1829) and Great Britain (1833), and the significance 
of the Guerrero Decree in the Texas Revolution. 

(4) History. The student understands African American 
life from the Civil War through World War I. The student is expected 
to: 

(A) summarize the roles and experiences of African 
American soldiers and spies in both the North and South during the 
Civil War; 

(B) describe and analyze the successes and failures of 
Reconstruction; 

(C) compare the opportunities and challenges faced by 
African Americans from post-Reconstruction to the early 20th century 
and viewpoints and actions of African Americans, including Ida B. 
Wells, W.E.B. Du Bois, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, the Na-
tional Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), 
Freedmen's Towns, and the Exodusters; 

(D) explain the circumstances surrounding increased 
violence and extremism such as the Ku Klux Klan (KKK), the Colfax 
Massacre, lynchings, race riots, and the Camp Logan Mutiny (The 
Houston Riot of 1917); 

(E) explain the impact of the convict leasing system on 
African Americans such as the Sugar Land 95; 

(F) explain how the rise of Jim Crow laws affected the 
life experiences of African Americans in the late 19th and early 20th 
centuries; 

(G) describe the impact of the U.S. Supreme Court de-
cision Plessy v. Ferguson (1896); 

(H) analyze the social, economic, and political actions 
of African Americans in response to the Jim Crow era during the early 

20th century such as the Great Migration, civil rights organizations, so-
cial organizations, political organizations, and organized labor unions; 

(I) examine the experiences of African American sol-
diers during and after World War I; and 

(J) describe the impact of African American military 
service from Reconstruction through World War I, including the role 
of the Buffalo Soldiers. 

(5) History. The student understands change and continu-
ity in the African American cultural identity during the Great Depres-
sion, World War II, and the Civil Rights Movement. The student is 
expected to: 

(A) compare the positive and negative effects of the 
Great Depression and New Deal on the social and economic status of 
African Americans in various geographic regions; 

(B) describe the impact of U.S. Supreme Court deci-
sions Sweatt v. Painter (1950) and Brown v. Board of Education 
(1954); 

(C) describe the continued struggle for civil rights in 
America during this time in history such as the notable works of the 
NAACP, National Urban League, Jackie Robinson, Rosa Parks, Martin 
Luther King Jr., Daisy Bates and the Little Rock Nine, the Student 
Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and local leaders; 

(D) describe the interactions of the people of the dias-
pora relative to the struggle for civil rights; 

(E) describe the impact of racism during World War II; 

(F) explain the contributions of significant African 
American individuals and groups during World War II, including Doris 
"Dorie" Miller, the Tuskegee Airmen, and the 761st Tank Battalion; 

(G) analyze how the effects of World War II laid the 
groundwork for the Civil Rights Movement such as Harry S. Truman's 
Executive Order 9981 and the contributions of A. Phillip Randolph, 
Mary McLeod Bethune, and Thurgood Marshall; 

(H) analyze the successes, failures, and ongoing impact 
of the Civil Rights Movement, including methods such as sit-ins, boy-
cotts, marches, speeches, music, and organizations; and 

(I) evaluate the extent to which the Civil Rights Move-
ment transformed American politics and society. 

(6) History. The student understands the progress made 
and challenges faced by African Americans from the post-Civil Rights 
Era to contemporary times. The student is expected to: 

(A) identify and explain the issues confronting African 
Americans in the continuing effort to achieve equality; 

(B) describe the major achievements of contemporary 
African Americans and how their contributions have shaped the Amer-
ican experience such as John H. Johnson, Muhammad Ali, Fannie Lou 
Hamer, Shirley Chisholm, Earl G. Graves, Barbara Jordan, Colin Pow-
ell, Condoleezza Rice, and Barack Obama; and 

(C) analyze the progress and challenges for African 
American men and women socially, economically, and politically 
from 1970 to the present such as the evolving role of education in the 
African American community. 

(7) Geography. The student understands the impact of ge-
ographic factors on major events related to African Americans over 
time. The student is expected to: 
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(A) explain the causes and effects of forced and volun-
tary migration on individuals, groups, and societies throughout African 
American history; 

(B) identify and explain the physical and human geo-
graphic factors that contributed to the Atlantic Slave Trade, the rise 
of the plantation system in the South, the development of textile mills 
in the North, and economic interdependence between the North and 
South; 

(C) explain the westward movement and the Great Mi-
gration and summarize their impact on African Americans; and 

(D) analyze how environmental changes impacted 
African American communities such as land use, settlement patterns, 
and urban development. 

(8) Economics. The student understands ways in which 
African Americans have addressed opportunities, challenges, and 
strategies concerning economic well-being over time. The student is 
expected to: 

(A) analyze the effects of the Industrial Revolution and 
the roles of "King Cotton" and the cotton gin in the economies of the 
United States and the world; 

(B) explain how sharecropping and redlining limited 
economic opportunities for African Americans; 

(C) explain how economic conditions and racism con-
tributed to the Great Migration; 

(D) evaluate the economic impact of the American la-
bor movement and unionism on African Americans from the late nine-
teenth century to today; 

(E) analyze how various geographic, cultural, social, 
political, and financial factors influenced the economic mobility 
of African Americans such as skin color, wealth, and educational 
background; 

(F) evaluate the effectiveness of various approaches 
African Americans have used to solve economic issues; 

(G) trace the rise and development African American 
businesses and entrepreneurship from the late 19th century to today; 
and 

(H) examine the contributions of African American and 
Black American Business entrepreneurship such as Black Wall Street, 
black inventors, and the black experience in business and the economic 
contributions of individuals such as Madame C. J. Walker and Maggie 
L. Walker. 

(9) Government. The student understands the significant 
impact of political decisions on African Americans throughout history. 
The student is expected to: 

(A) compare and contrast how political perspectives of 
free and enslaved African Americans in the late 1700s and early 1800s 
were influenced by the unalienable rights expressed in the Declaration 
of Independence and civil rights in the Bill of Rights; 

(B) explain the regional perspectives toward political 
rights of African American men and women from the early years of 
the republic through 1877; 

(C) analyze the construction, interpretation, and imple-
mentation of the 13th, 14th, and 15th Amendments to the U.S. Consti-
tution and the effects on African American men and women between 
1877 and 1920; 

(D) analyze how government policies, court actions, 
and legislation impacted African Americans from the 1920s through 
the 1950s; 

(E) analyze the causes and effects of government ac-
tions and legislation addressing racial and social injustices from 1960 
to the present day such as the issues of voting rights, civil rights, fair 
housing, education, employment, affirmative action, the War on Crime, 
the War on Drugs, mass incarceration, and health and nutrition; and 

(F) analyze how the changing political environment has 
impacted civil rights from the late 20th century to the present. 

(10) Government. The student understands the impact 
of political interactions on the African American struggle for human 
rights over time. The student is expected to: 

(A) analyze examples of conflict and cooperation be-
tween African Americans and other groups in the pursuit of individual 
freedoms and civil rights such as the Freedom Riders and the Memphis 
Sanitation Workers Strike; 

(B) explain how various philosophies and ideologies in-
fluenced the African American experience for social, political, and le-
gal equality such as fair housing, equal opportunity, affirmative action, 
and voting rights; and 

(C) identify the contributions of African American 
leaders at local, state, and national levels of government. 

(11) Citizenship. The student understands the importance 
of multiple and changing points of view regarding citizenship of 
African Americans. The student is expected to: 

(A) trace how perceptions of the rights and civic re-
sponsibilities of African Americans have changed over time, including 
the idea of being considered property with no rights under slavery; 

(B) analyze how regional differences influenced politi-
cal perspectives of African American communities; 

(C) analyze the significance and associations of identity 
nomenclature relevant to African Americans such as Negro and Black; 

(D) analyze selected contemporary African American 
issues that have led to diverse points of view in public discourse, in-
cluding rights and activism; and 

(E) identify and describe the diversity of peoples of 
African ancestry such as Afro-Latinos, Afro-Caribbeans, and recent 
African immigrants. 

(12) Culture. The student understands the development of 
African American culture and society and the impact of shared identi-
ties and differing experiences. The student is expected to: 

(A) analyze the impact of assimilation, stereotypes, de 
facto practices, and oppression on the lives of African Americans; 

(B) analyze ways in which African Americans have re-
tained cultural identity over time while adapting to and contributing to 
mainstream American culture; and 

(C) analyze the various cultural practices that have 
shaped the individual and collective identity of African Americans 
over time to understand shared and differing experiences. 

(13) Culture. The student understands the cultural tradi-
tions and contributions of African Americans from the colonial era 
through Reconstruction. The student is expected to: 
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(A) identify and describe the influence of African oral 
traditions, visual art, literary art, theater, music, and dance on African 
American culture; 

(B) describe the influence of enslavement on African 
American culture; 

(C) identify the contributions of early African Amer-
ican literature, including the works of Jupiter Hammon and Phillis 
Wheatley; 

(D) explain the origins and characteristics of different 
musical genres and traditions of African Americans; and 

(E) describe the expanding influence of African Amer-
ican music through the work of performers such as the Fisk Jubilee 
Singers. 

(14) Culture. The student understands the influence of 
artistic expression on the African American experience and American 
culture from Reconstruction to the present. The student is expected to: 

(A) describe the development and influence of blues, 
ragtime, jazz, and hip hop music such as the achievements of com-
posers Scott Joplin and James Reese Europe; 

(B) describe how various African American expres-
sions of dance forms such as tap dance, step dance, hip hop, and 
modern dance and the contributions of African American dancers such 
as the Dance Theater of Harlem, Katherine Dunham, Bill "Bojangles" 
Robinson, Alvin Ailey, and Misty Copeland have contributed to the 
shared identity of various groups; 

(C) explain the lasting impact of the Harlem Renais-
sance on American culture and society such as the achievements of 
Louis Armstrong, Josephine Baker, Duke Ellington, Langston Hughes, 
Sargent Johnson, Jules Bledsoe, Paul Robeson, Augusta Savage, and 
James VanDerZee; 

(D) describe the reactions to and the influence of se-
lected works by African American authors such as The Souls of Black 
Folk by W.E.B. Du Bois, Native Son by Richard Wright, Their Eyes 
Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston, Beloved by Toni Morri-
son, and Eyes on the Prize by Henry Hampton; 

(E) describe storytelling, literary, filmmaking, and vi-
sual arts contributions related to self-identity made by African Amer-
icans such as Oscar Micheaux, John T. Biggers, James Baldwin, Lor-
raine Hansberry, Amiri Baraka, Sidney Poitier, Maya Angelou, Faith 
Ringgold, August Wilson, bell hooks, Spike Lee, John Singleton, and 
Oprah Winfrey; 

(F) describe how characteristics of African American 
history and culture have been reflected in various genres of art, music, 
film, theatre, visual arts, and dance; and 

(G) analyze the impact of popular culture on African 
Americans during significant eras. 

(15) Culture. The student understands African American 
educational developments, achievements, and opportunities before and 
after the U.S. Supreme Court decision of Brown v. Board of Education 
(1954). The student is expected to: 

(A) describe the efforts to prevent the education of en-
slaved people and free African Americans, including anti-literacy laws; 

(B) analyze the expansion of educational opportunities 
for African Americans, including the Freedman's Bureau, Rosenwald 
Schools, the Second Morrill Act (1890), the establishment of Histor-
ically Black Colleges and Universities, and the role of the National 
Pan-Hellenic Council (Divine 9); and 

(C) describe contemporary issues in education for 
African American students such as the school-to-prison pipeline, 
opportunity gaps, overrepresentation in special education, and under-
representation in gifted and talented opportunities. 

(16) Science, technology, and society. The student under-
stands how African American achievements in science and technology 
have contributed to economic and social development in the United 
States. The student is expected to: 

(A) identify examples of how advances made by 
African civilizations in areas such as astronomy, mathematics, archi-
tecture, and engineering have contributed to science and technology 
in the United States; 

(B) identify examples of how industrialization was in-
fluenced by African Americans over time; and 

(C) describe the contributions of significant African 
American individuals to science, philosophy, mathematics, and 
technology such as Benjamin Banneker, George Washington Carver, 
Granville Woods, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson, Henrietta Lacks, 
Dorothy Vaughan, Mae Jemison, and Neil deGrasse Tyson. 

(17) Social studies skills. The student understands how 
historians use historiography to interpret the past and applies criti-
cal-thinking skills to organize and use information acquired from a va-
riety of valid sources, including technology. The student is expected 
to: 

(A) analyze primary and secondary sources such as 
maps, graphs, speeches, political cartoons, and artifacts to acquire 
information to answer historical questions; 

(B) analyze information by applying absolute and rel-
ative chronology through sequencing, categorizing, identifying cause-
and-effect relationships, comparing and contrasting, finding the main 
idea, summarizing, making generalizations, making predictions, draw-
ing inferences, and drawing conclusions; 

(C) apply the process of historical inquiry to research, 
interpret, and use multiple types of sources of evidence; 

(D) evaluate the validity of a source based on corrobo-
ration with other sources and information about the author, including 
points of view, frames of reference, and historical context; and 

(E) identify bias and support with historical evidence a 
point of view on a social studies issue or event. 

(18) Social studies skills. The student communicates in 
written, oral, and visual forms. The student is expected to: 

(A) create written, oral, and visual presentations of so-
cial studies information using effective communication skills, includ-
ing proper citations and avoiding plagiarism; and 

(B) use social studies terminology correctly. 

(19) Social studies skills. The student uses geographic 
tools to collect, analyze, and interpret data. The student is expected to: 

(A) create a visual representation of historical informa-
tion such as thematic maps, graphs, and charts; and 

(B) pose and answer questions about geographic dis-
tributions and patterns shown on maps, graphs, charts, and available 
databases. 

(20) Social studies skills. The student uses problem-solv-
ing and decision-making skills, working independently and with oth-
ers. The student is expected to use problem-solving and decision-mak-
ing processes to identify a problem, gather information, list and con-
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sider options, consider advantages and disadvantages, choose and im-
plement a solution, and evaluate the effectiveness of the solution. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002231 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER D. OTHER SOCIAL STUDIES 
COURSES 
19 TAC §§113.51 - 113.68, 113.71 - 113.80 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the 
State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which 
requires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge 
and skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all 
students should be able to demonstrate and that will be used 
in evaluating instructional materials and addressed on the state 
assessment instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires 
the SBOE to by rule determine the curriculum requirements 
for the foundation high school graduation program that are 
consistent with the required curriculum under TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement 
Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); and 
28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002232 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
19 TAC §§113.101 - 113.126 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted un-
der Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires 
the State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which re-
quires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge and 
skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all students 
should be able to demonstrate and that will be used in evaluating 

instructional materials and addressed on the state assessment 
instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires the SBOE to 
by rule determine the curriculum requirements for the foundation 
high school graduation program that are consistent with the re-
quired curriculum under TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new sections imple-
ment Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); 
and 28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002233 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 126. TEXAS ESSENTIAL 
KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS FOR 
TECHNOLOGY APPLICATIONS 
SUBCHAPTER C. HIGH SCHOOL 
19 TAC §§126.31 - 126.52 

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts the repeal of 
§§126.31-126.52 and 126.61-126.67, concerning Texas Essen-
tial Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) for technology applications. 
The repeals are adopted without changes to the proposed text 
as published in the March 6, 2020 issue of the Texas Register 
(45 TexReg 1548) and will not be republished. The adopted re-
peals update the TEKS to align with recent legislation requiring 
the board to consolidate high school technology applications 
TEKS into career and technical education (CTE) TEKS and 
eliminate TEKS for duplicative courses. 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION: The 86th Texas Legislature, 
2019, passed House Bill 963, which required the SBOE, not 
later than March 1, 2020, to conduct a review of the TEKS for 
CTE and technology applications courses for Grades 9-12 and 
amend the board's rules to consolidate courses and eliminate 
duplicative courses. The SBOE is only required to implement 
this provision if the legislature appropriated money specifically 
for that purpose. If the legislature did not appropriate money 
specifically for that purpose, the SBOE may, but is not required 
to, implement a requirement using other appropriations avail-
able for that purpose. The legislature did not appropriate money 
specifically for the purpose of implementing this requirement. 
All but two of the courses in Chapter 126, Subchapters C and D, 
were repealed and adopted as new courses in 19 TAC Chapter 
130. Section 126.40 and §126.45, relating to robotics program-
ming and digital video and audio design, are duplicative of other 
courses in Chapter 130 and were not adopted as new courses 
in Chapter 130. 
The SBOE approved the proposed repeals for first reading and 
filing authorization at its January 31, 2020 meeting and for sec-
ond reading and final adoption at its April 17, 2020 meeting. 
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In accordance with TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the re-
peals for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its members to spec-
ify an effective date earlier than the beginning of the 2020-2021 
school year. The earlier effective date will allow districts of inno-
vation that begin school prior to the statutorily required start date 
to implement the rulemaking when they begin their school year. 
The effective date is August 1, 2020. 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES: The public 
comment period on the proposal began March 6, 2020, and 
ended April 10, 2020. The SBOE also provided an opportunity 
for registered oral and written comments at its April 2020 meet-
ing in accordance with the SBOE board operating policies and 
procedures. Following is a summary of the public comment re-
ceived and the corresponding response. 
Comment. An administrator expressed support for eliminating 
courses duplicated in 19 TAC Chapter 126, Texas Essential 
Knowledge and Skills for Technology Applications, and 19 TAC 
Chapter 130, Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Career 
and Technical Education. 
Response. The SBOE agrees that the elimination of duplicative 
courses is appropriate. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the 
State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which 
requires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge 
and skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all 
students should be able to demonstrate and that will be used 
in evaluating instructional materials and addressed on the state 
assessment instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires 
the SBOE to by rule determine the curriculum requirements 
for the foundation high school graduation program that are 
consistent with the required curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement 
Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); and 
28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002236 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER D. OTHER TECHNOLOGY 
APPLICATIONS COURSES 
19 TAC §§126.61 - 126.67 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the 
State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 

subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which 
requires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge 
and skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all 
students should be able to demonstrate and that will be used 
in evaluating instructional materials and addressed on the state 
assessment instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires 
the SBOE to by rule determine the curriculum requirements 
for the foundation high school graduation program that are 
consistent with the required curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement 
Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); and 
28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002237 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 128. TEXAS ESSENTIAL 
KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS FOR SPANISH 
LANGUAGE ARTS AND READING AND 
ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE 
SUBCHAPTER C. HIGH SCHOOL 
19 TAC §§128.30 - 128.32 

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts the repeal of 
§§128.30-128.32, concerning Texas Essential Knowledge and 
Skills (TEKS) for Spanish language arts and reading and Eng-
lish as a second language. The repeals are adopted without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the March 6, 2020 
issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1550) and will not be 
republished. The adopted repeals remove the TEKS adopted 
to be effective in 2009 for high school Spanish language arts 
and reading and English as a second language and related 
implementation language that will be superseded by new 19 
TAC §§128.33-128.35 beginning with the 2020-2021 school 
year. 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION: In 2017, the SBOE adopted re-
visions to the Spanish language arts and reading and English 
as a second language TEKS. The revised TEKS for high school 
are scheduled to be implemented beginning with the 2020-2021 
school year. 
With the implementation of the revised Spanish language arts 
and reading TEKS for high school scheduled for the 2020-2021 
school year, the current TEKS in 19 TAC §§128.30-128.32 are 
no longer needed and may now be repealed. 
The SBOE approved the proposed repeals for first reading and 
filing authorization at its January 31, 2020 meeting and for sec-
ond reading and final adoption at its April 17, 2020 meeting. 
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In accordance with Texas Education Code, §7.102(f), the SBOE 
approved the repeals for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its 
members to specify an effective date earlier than the beginning of 
the 2020-2021 school year. The earlier effective date will allow 
districts of innovation that begin school prior to the statutorily 
required start date to implement the proposed rulemaking when 
they begin their school year. The effective date is August 1, 
2020. 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES: The public 
comment period on the proposal began March 6, 2020, and 
ended April 10, 2020. The SBOE also provided an opportunity 
for registered oral and written comments at its April 2020 meet-
ing in accordance with the SBOE board operating policies and 
procedures. No comments were received. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the 
State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which 
requires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge 
and skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all 
students should be able to demonstrate and that will be used 
in evaluating instructional materials and addressed on the state 
assessment instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires 
the SBOE to by rule determine the curriculum requirements 
for the foundation high school graduation program that are 
consistent with the required curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement 
Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); and 
28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002238 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 130. TEXAS ESSENTIAL 
KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS FOR CAREER 
AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION 
The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts the re-
peal of §§130.13, 130.14, and 130.308-130.310 and new 
§§130.123-130.127, 130.315-130.318, 130.420-130.435, and 
130.485-130.491, concerning Texas Essential Knowledge and 
Skills (TEKS) for career and technical education (CTE). The 
repeals and new sections are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the March 6, 2020 issue of the 
Texas Register (45 TexReg 1551) and will not be republished. 
The adopted repeals and new sections update the TEKS to 
align with recent legislation requiring the board to consolidate 
high school technology applications TEKS into CTE TEKS and 
eliminate TEKS for duplicative courses. The new sections also 

update the TEKS for CTE to add a new career cluster in energy 
to align with revised programs of study. 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION: The 86th Texas Legislature, 
2019, passed House Bill 963, which required the SBOE, not 
later than March 1, 2020, to conduct a review of the TEKS for 
CTE and technology applications courses for Grades 9-12 and 
amend the board's rules to consolidate courses and eliminate 
duplicative courses. The SBOE is only required to implement 
this provision if the legislature appropriated money specifically 
for that purpose. If the legislature did not appropriate money 
specifically for that purpose, the SBOE may, but is not required 
to, implement a requirement using other appropriations avail-
able for that purpose. The legislature did not appropriate money 
specifically for the purpose of implementing this requirement. 
Texas is redesigning state-level programs of study to include 
coherent and rigorous content with challenging academic stan-
dards and relevant career and technical content. Programs of 
study will be aligned with state and regional labor market infor-
mation, including high-wage, high-skill, and in-demand occupa-
tions. As a part of the program of study revision process, Texas 
conducted a statewide labor market analysis that discovered 
several instances where occupations and postsecondary train-
ing overlap. As part of this process, it was recommended that a 
new career cluster in energy be added to address programs of 
study in the energy industry. 
In Chapter 130, repealed courses from 19 TAC Chapter 126 
were adopted as new courses in Subchapters C, K, and O. Sub-
chapter K also includes the repeal of duplicative courses in web 
technologies and computer programming. New Subchapter Q 
includes two courses formerly contained in Subchapter A as well 
as five new courses. 
The SBOE approved the proposed repeals and new sections 
for first reading and filing authorization at its January 31, 2020 
meeting and for second reading and final adoption at its April 17, 
2020 meeting. 
In accordance with TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the re-
peals and new sections for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its 
members to specify an effective date earlier than the beginning 
of the 2020-2021 school year. The earlier effective date will al-
low districts of innovation that begin school prior to the statutorily 
required start date to implement the rulemaking when they begin 
their school year. The effective date is August 1, 2020. 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES: The public 
comment period on the proposal began March 6, 2020, and 
ended April 10, 2020. The SBOE also provided an opportunity 
for registered oral and written comments at its April 2020 meet-
ing in accordance with the SBOE board operating policies and 
procedures. Following is a summary of the comments received 
and corresponding responses. 
Comment. An administrator expressed support for eliminating 
courses duplicated in Chapter 126, Texas Essential Knowledge 
and Skills for Technology Applications, and Chapter 130, Texas 
Essential Knowledge and Skills for Career and Technical Edu-
cation. 
Response. The SBOE agrees that the elimination of duplicative 
courses is appropriate. 
Comment. An administrator stated that it is not clear whether 
teachers with technology applications certifications will be per-
mitted to teach computer science courses and expressed con-
cern that eliminating Computer Programming I and II, which tech-
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nology applications teachers are currently certified to teach, with-
out a provision that would allow them to teach the alternative 
computer science courses would create a burden for school dis-
tricts that already struggle with hiring computer science teachers. 
Response. This comment is outside the scope of the proposed 
rulemaking. 
Comment. An administrator stated that certification require-
ments for teaching computer science courses from 19 TAC 
Chapter 126 and CTE computer programming courses from 
19 TAC Chapter 130 vary and that while teachers need cer-
tification in computer science to teach Computer Science I, 
the certification for the CTE course Practicum in Information 
Technology requires certification in technology applications. 
The commenter stated that computer science teachers should 
be able to teach courses listed in both the programming and the 
software development pathways. 
Response. This comment is outside the scope of the proposed 
rulemaking. 
SUBCHAPTER A. AGRICULTURE, FOOD, 
AND NATURAL RESOURCES 
19 TAC §130.13, §130.14 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the 
State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which 
requires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge 
and skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all 
students should be able to demonstrate and that will be used 
in evaluating instructional materials and addressed on the state 
assessment instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires 
the SBOE to by rule determine the curriculum requirements 
for the foundation high school graduation program that are 
consistent with the required curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement 
Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); and 
28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002239 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. ARTS, AUDIO/VIDEO 
TECHNOLOGY, AND COMMUNICATIONS 
19 TAC §§130.123 - 130.127 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted un-
der Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires 
the State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which re-
quires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge and 
skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all students 
should be able to demonstrate and that will be used in evaluating 
instructional materials and addressed on the state assessment 
instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires the SBOE to 
by rule determine the curriculum requirements for the foundation 
high school graduation program that are consistent with the re-
quired curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new sections imple-
ment Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); 
and 28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002240 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER K. INFORMATION 
TECHNOLOGY 
19 TAC §§130.308 - 130.310 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeals are adopted under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the 
State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which 
requires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge 
and skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all 
students should be able to demonstrate and that will be used 
in evaluating instructional materials and addressed on the state 
assessment instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires 
the SBOE to by rule determine the curriculum requirements 
for the foundation high school graduation program that are 
consistent with the required curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeals implement 
Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); and 
28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002241 
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Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
19 TAC §§130.315 - 130.318 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted un-
der Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires 
the State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which re-
quires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge and 
skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all students 
should be able to demonstrate and that will be used in evaluating 
instructional materials and addressed on the state assessment 
instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires the SBOE to 
by rule determine the curriculum requirements for the foundation 
high school graduation program that are consistent with the re-
quired curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new sections imple-
ment Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); 
and 28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002242 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER O. SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, 
ENGINEERING, AND MATHEMATICS 
19 TAC §§130.420 - 130.435 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted un-
der Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires 
the State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which re-
quires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge and 
skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all students 
should be able to demonstrate and that will be used in evaluating 
instructional materials and addressed on the state assessment 
instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires the SBOE to 
by rule determine the curriculum requirements for the foundation 
high school graduation program that are consistent with the re-
quired curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new sections imple-
ment Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); 
and 28.025(a). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002243 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER Q. ENERGY 
19 TAC §§130.485 - 130.491 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted un-
der Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires 
the State Board of Education (SBOE) to establish curriculum and 
graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002(a), which identifies the 
subjects of the required curriculum; TEC, §28.002(c), which re-
quires the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge and 
skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all students 
should be able to demonstrate and that will be used in evaluating 
instructional materials and addressed on the state assessment 
instruments; and TEC, §28.025(a), which requires the SBOE to 
by rule determine the curriculum requirements for the foundation 
high school graduation program that are consistent with the re-
quired curriculum under the TEC, §28.002. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new sections imple-
ment Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4); 28.002(a) and (c); 
and 28.025(a). 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 1, 2020. 
TRD-202002244 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: August 1, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 6, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 153. SCHOOL DISTRICT 
PERSONNEL 
SUBCHAPTER BB. COMMISSIONER'S 
RULES CONCERNING PROFESSIONAL 
DEVELOPMENT 
The Texas Education Agency (TEA) adopts the repeal of 
§153.1011 and new §153.1011, concerning commissioner's 
rules on professional development. The repeal is adopted with-
out changes to the proposed text as published in the March 20, 
2020 issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1922) and will not 
be republished. The new section is adopted with changes to the 
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proposed text as published in the March 20, 2020 issue of the 
Texas Register (45 TexReg 1922) and will be republished. The 
adopted rule actions repeal the existing teacher mentorship rule 
and add a new rule to implement the mentor program allotment 
enacted by House Bill (HB) 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019. 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION: Section 153.1011 currently de-
scribes the program requirements for the Beginning Teacher In-
duction and Mentoring Program, an optional, grant-funded pro-
gram to support mentorship that has been inactive due to lack of 
funding. 
HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, amended state law on 
mentorship requirements in Texas Education Code (TEC), 
§21.458, and created an optional mentor program allotment in 
TEC, §48.114. The new allotment is for eligible districts that 
implement a mentor training program in accordance with TEC, 
§21.458. 
Because of these statutory changes, it is necessary to repeal 
§153.1011 as it relates to the Beginning Teacher Induction and 
Mentoring Program and replace it with a new rule related to the 
mentor program allotment for district mentor training programs. 
The adopted new rule clarifies aspects of law related to mentor 
training programs for new teachers, as follows. 
Adopted new subsection (a) establishes definitions related to the 
new rule. In response to public comment, subsection (a)(1) has 
been modified at adoption to clarify that a beginning teacher is 
a classroom teacher with less than two years of teaching expe-
rience in the subject or grade level to which the teacher is as-
signed. 
Adopted new subsection (b) specifies how many beginning 
teachers a mentor teacher may be assigned, specific district-
and school-based staff who must complete mentor training, and 
the timelines related to mentor training. Subsection (b) also 
clarifies the appropriate times of day and frequency with which 
meetings between mentors and beginning teachers should oc-
cur and the topics that mentor teachers and beginning teachers 
must cover. In response to public comment, modifications were 
made to subsection (b) at adoption. Subsection (b)(4) has 
been modified at adoption to indicate the responsibilities of a 
district, not a mentor teacher, and to specify that the district 
must designate at least 12 hours per semester for mentoring 
activities to occur between the mentor and beginning teacher. 
Subsection (b)(5)(A) has been modified at adoption to remove 
the option for 2 of the 12 required hours of mentoring activity 
between the mentor and beginning teacher per semester to 
occur outside the regularly contracted school day. 
Adopted new subsection (c) addresses the application approval 
process for mentor program allotment funding. 
Adopted new subsection (d) specifies compliance requirements 
for participating districts. In response to public comment, sub-
section (d)(1) has been modified at adoption to clarify the type 
of information collected through compliance reporting. The data 
will include an annual compliance report submitted by the dis-
trict and an annual survey of the district's beginning teachers and 
mentor teachers for whom funds were used under TEC, §48.114. 
Adopted new subsection (e) addresses permissible uses of men-
tor program allotment funds. 
Adopted new subsection (f) outlines program review require-
ments. 

Adopted new subsection (g) specifies the finality of commis-
sioner decisions regarding mentor program allotment funds. In 
response to public comment, subsection (g) has been modified 
at adoption to clarify that the limitation on appeals addresses 
appeals to the commissioner, which reflects the promotion of 
efficient administration of the mentor allotment program. 
Changes have been made to the assessment of data and report-
ing impact since published as proposed. 
As proposed, the new rule required school districts to submit an 
application to be approved for mentor program allotment funds. 
In addition, school districts that receive mentor program allot-
ment funds are required to submit information annually to verify 
program compliance and submit any information requested by 
TEA through activity/progress reports. At adoption, new sub-
section (d)(1)(B) was added to require beginning teachers and 
mentor teachers for whom funds were used under TEC, §48.114, 
to complete an annual survey as part of the verification of com-
pliance. 
Changes have been made to the assessment of principal and 
classroom teacher paperwork requirements since published as 
proposed. 
At proposal, TEA determined that the proposed new rule would 
require a written report or other paperwork but that the rule did 
not specifically require a principal or classroom teacher to com-
plete the report or paperwork. However, at adoption, new sub-
section (d)(1)(B) was added to require beginning teachers and 
mentor teachers for whom funds were used under TEC, §48.114, 
to complete an annual survey as part of the verification of com-
pliance. Therefore, TEA has updated this assessment of paper-
work requirements. The TEA has determined that the adopted 
new rule requires a written report or other paperwork to be com-
pleted by a principal or classroom teacher. However, the rule 
imposes the least burdensome requirement possible to achieve 
the objective of the rule. 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES: The 
public comment period on the proposal began March 20, 2020, 
and ended April 20, 2020. Following is a summary of the com-
ments received and corresponding responses. 
Comment: The Texas Classroom Teachers Association (TCTA) 
commented that the definition of a beginning teacher should in-
clude one who has less than two years of experience in the sub-
ject or grade level to which the teacher is assigned, consistent 
with statutory language in TEC, §21.458(a). 
Agency Response: The agency agrees. Subsection (a)(1) has 
been modified at adoption to clarify that a beginning teacher is a 
teacher who has less than two years of teaching experience in 
the grade level or subject to which the teacher is assigned. 
Comment: TCTA commented that the definition of a men-
tor teacher should include statutory language from TEC, 
§21.458(a)(1) and (2), indicating that mentors must, to the extent 
practicable, teach in the same school and subject or grade level 
as the beginning teacher. TCTA commented this addition would 
emphasize best practices on selecting and assigning mentors. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees. Since TEC, §21.458, 
explicitly states that mentors must, to the extent practicable, 
teach in the same school and subject or grade level as the be-
ginning teacher, those requirements do not need to be included 
in rule. 
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Comment: TCTA commented that subsection (b)(2) regarding 
mentor assignment should include the requirements in TEC, 
§21.458(a)(1) and (2), because it would outline the timelines 
and required level of commitment from districts and mentors to 
implement mentor programs with fidelity. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees. TEC, §21.458(b), re-
quires the commissioner to include in rule the number of class-
room teachers that may be assigned to a mentor, which is the 
intent of subsection (b)(2). Since TEC, §21.458(a)(1) and (2), 
state that, to the extent practicable, the mentor teacher must 
teach in the same grade or subject level and school as the be-
ginning teacher, those requirements do not need to be included 
in rule. 
Comment: TCTA expressed appreciation for subsection (b)(4), 
which requires districts to abide by TEC, §21.404, when des-
ignating a specific time for mentoring activities to occur. TCTA 
commented that its members have expressed concerns regard-
ing campus and district attempts to use a teacher's planning and 
preparation time in ways inconsistent with TEC, §21.404. 
Agency Response: The agency agrees that districts must abide 
by TEC, §21.404, when designating a specific time for mentoring 
meetings to occur. 
Comment: TCTA commented that subsection (b)(4) should be 
renamed because the substance of the paragraph relates to dis-
trict, not mentor, roles and responsibilities. 
Agency Response: The agency agrees. Subsection (b)(4) has 
been modified at adoption to clarify that the paragraph addresses 
the district roles and responsibilities. 
Comment: TCTA commented that subsection (b)(4) should in-
clude language from TEC, §21.458(g)(2), indicating that a district 
must provide release time or a reduced teaching load to mentor 
and beginning teachers, because it would indicate ways in which 
districts can facilitate time for mentoring activities to occur. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees. The purpose of sub-
section (b)(4) is to clarify that districts must abide by the require-
ments in TEC, §21.404, when specifying a time during which 
mentoring activities can occur. Since TEC, §21.458(g)(2), ex-
plicitly states that districts must schedule release time or a re-
duced teacher load for mentor teachers and beginning teachers 
to facilitate mentoring activities, those requirements do not need 
to be included in this rule. 
Comment: TCTA commented that the 2 of the 12 required hours 
of mentoring activities should not be allowed to occur outside the 
regularly contracted school day because it conflicts with statutory 
requirements of TEC, §21.458(g). 
Agency Response: The agency agrees. Subsection (b)(4) and 
(5)(A) have been modified at adoption to clarify that a district 
must designate at least 12 hours of time during the regularly 
contracted school day for mentoring activities to occur between 
mentor and beginning teachers. 
Comment: Texas State Teachers Association (TSTA) com-
mented it was unnecessary to state that districts may use 
teacher designations under TEC, §21.3521, to meet mentor 
selection requirements because district participation in the 
teacher incentive allotment is optional and other districts are 
equally capable of identifying highly effective teachers. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees. Subsection (b)(1)(C) 
provides further clarity in how a district may identify teachers who 

have a superior record of improving student achievement, and 
no district is required to use these designations. 
Comment: TSTA commented that the provisions in subsection 
(b)(5)(B)(i)(I)-(IV) exceed the parameters outlined in TEC, 
§21.458, and are unnecessary because they are too pre-
scriptive, and mentor teachers, who are selected for their 
effectiveness, would know how to orient beginning teachers to 
the context, policies, and practices of the district. Additionally, 
TSTA commented that subsection (b)(5)(B)(ii)-(iv) sufficiently 
cover the intent of subsection (b)(5)(B)(i)(I)-(IV). 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees. The provisions of 
subsection (b)(5)(B)(i)(I)-(IV) further clarify high-leverage best 
practices related to district context, policies, and practices with 
which beginning teachers interact daily. 
Comment: TSTA commented that all districts that have imple-
mented a mentoring program in accordance with TEC, §21.458, 
are entitled to an allotment as determined by a commissioner 
formula. TSTA referenced language in TEC, §48.114, stating 
that the commissioner formula is to determine "the amount to 
which" each district is entitled, and not base it on the availabil-
ity of funds. TSTA also commented that annual adjustments to 
the funding formula may obscure the application process for dis-
tricts. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees. The Texas Legisla-
ture appropriated $3 million in funding for the mentor program 
allotment for the current biennium, and, should it decline to ap-
propriate funds for a future biennium, no allotment funding would 
be available. Furthermore, a school district may not receive an 
allotment if its mentoring program does not meet the require-
ments of TEC, §21.458. Finally, there is no limitation in TEC, 
§48.114, on the ability of the commissioner to revise the allot-
ment funding formula. 
Comment: Texas Public Charter School Association (TPCSA) 
noted its support for the proposed new rule. Specifically, TPCSA 
supported the fact that charter school teachers do not need 
to be certified to serve as mentors, that mentor teachers must 
have three years of experience and a proven impact on student 
achievement, and that districts may use teacher designation 
under TEC, §21.3521, to fulfill some of the mentor selection 
requirements. 
Agency Response: The agency agrees that mentor teachers 
serving in charter schools do not need to be certified classroom 
teachers and that districts may use designations through the 
teacher incentive allotment to fulfill some of the mentor selec-
tion requirements. 
Comment: TPCSA expressed concern that without proper con-
text for subsection (a)(2)(B), it may seem the agency is waiving 
a certification requirement for charter teachers to serve as men-
tors when most charter teachers do not require certification un-
der TAC. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees that additional context 
is required in subsection (a)(2)(B) because the intent is to clarify 
mentor teacher certification requirements. 
Comment: TPCSA commented that subsection (b)(1)(C) does 
not include the reason mentor teachers must have three years of 
teaching experience. TPCSA noted that three years of teaching 
experience suffices for establishing a superior record of student 
achievement. 
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Agency Response: The agency disagrees. While three years 
of teaching experience may be sufficient for some teachers 
to demonstrate a superior impact on student achievement, 
this is not necessarily true for all teachers. Additionally, the 
intent of subsection (b)(1)(C) is to clarify that districts may use 
teacher designations under TEC, §21.3521, as a way to identify 
highly effective teachers and includes language from TEC, 
§21.458(b)(3), for context. 
Comment: Educate Texas commented that it would benefit dis-
tricts and teachers if the approval for the "Mentor School Pro-
gram" would allow for an appeal. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees. However, subsec-
tion (g) has been modified at adoption to clarify that the limita-
tion on appeals addresses appeals to the commissioner, which 
reflects the promotion of efficient administration of the mentor 
program allotment. 
Comment: Educate Texas commented that funding is based on 
the availability of funds, and the commissioner will have control 
over which districts receive funding. Educate Texas suggested 
the agency may consider this arbitrary decision-making related 
to which districts, teachers, and students may benefit. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees that the process 
for district funding will be arbitrary. The agency has posted a 
transparent application process to its website, which is based 
on statutory requirements. The agency has also posted to its 
website how funding will prioritize districts based on need with 
a transparent process for assigning priority points. 
Comment: Educate Texas commented that the agency's re-
ported fiscal impact to districts is zero, which is not the case if 
districts want to implement meaningful mentor programs. 
Agency Response: The agency disagrees. Districts across the 
state vary greatly in terms of the infrastructure and programmatic 
elements already in place for mentor programs. Additionally, it is 
assumed there will be great variability among districts regarding 
how they choose to implement mentor programs, creating differ-
ences in programmatic spending. 
Comment: Educate Texas commented that the agency may want 
to clarify how charter school teachers who do not need to be 
certified to teach may be eligible for state funding for the mentor 
program and offer funding proportional to traditional schools. 
Agency Response: The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. Charter school teachers who do not need to be certified to 
serve as mentors may be eligible for state funding through the 
mentor program allotment. 
Comment: Educate Texas commented that the agency may want 
to specify the types of data that will be collected from districts so 
that they can make informed decisions when applying. 
Agency Response: The agency agrees. Subsection (d)(1) has 
been modified at adoption to clarify the type of information that 
will be collected through annual compliance reporting. The data 
will include an annual compliance report submitted by the district 
and an annual survey of the district's beginning teachers and 
mentor teachers for whom funds were used under TEC, §48.114. 
Comment: Educate Texas commented that the agency should 
consider sharing information about the most comprehensive 
mentorship training programs to help inform districts in devel-
oping their programs. 

Agency Response: The comment is outside the scope of the 
proposed rule. The agency agrees that providing information on 
comprehensive mentorship training programs would be helpful 
and will post information to its website. 

19 TAC §153.1011 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is adopted under Texas 
Education Code (TEC), §21.458, which allows districts to as-
sign mentor teachers to work with new teachers and provides 
requirements for mentor selection, assignment, and training 
and topics to be covered between the mentor teacher and the 
classroom teacher being mentored. TEC, §21.458(b), requires 
the commissioner to adopt rules necessary to administer this 
statute; and TEC, §48.114, which establishes a mentor program 
allotment to be used for funding eligible district mentor training 
programs; outlines permissible use of mentor program allotment 
funds, which include mentor teacher stipends, scheduled re-
lease time for mentoring activities, and mentor support through 
providers of mentor training; and requires the commissioner 
to adopt a formula to determine the amount to which eligible 
school districts are entitled. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The repeal implements 
Texas Education Code, §21.458 and §48.114. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002309 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: June 28, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
19 TAC §153.1011 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new section is adopted under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §21.458, which allows districts 
to assign mentor teachers to work with new teachers and pro-
vides requirements for mentor selection, assignment, and train-
ing and topics to be covered between the mentor teacher and 
the classroom teacher being mentored. TEC, §21.458(b), re-
quires the commissioner to adopt rules necessary to adminis-
ter this statute; and TEC, §48.114, which establishes a mentor 
program allotment to be used for funding eligible district mentor 
training programs; outlines permissible use of mentor program 
allotment funds, which include mentor teacher stipends, sched-
uled release time for mentoring activities, and mentor support 
through providers of mentor training; and requires the commis-
sioner to adopt a formula to determine the amount to which eli-
gible school districts are entitled. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new section imple-
ments Texas Education Code, §21.458 and §48.114. 
§153.1011. Mentor Program Allotment. 

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used 
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 
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(1) Beginning teacher--A classroom teacher in Texas who 
has less than two years of teaching experience in the subject or grade 
level to which the teacher is assigned. 

(2) Classroom teacher--An educator who is employed by a 
school district in Texas and who, not less than an average of four hours 
each day, teaches in an academic instructional setting or a career and 
technical instructional setting. The term does not include a teacher's 
aide or a full-time administrator. 

(A) For a school district, a classroom teacher, as defined 
in this paragraph, must hold an appropriate certificate issued by the 
State Board for Educator Certification and must meet the specifications 
regarding instructional duties defined in this paragraph. 

(B) For an open-enrollment charter school, a classroom 
teacher is not required to be certified but must meet the qualifications of 
the employing charter school and the specifications regarding instruc-
tional duties defined in this paragraph. 

(3) Mentor teacher--A classroom teacher in Texas who pro-
vides effective support to help beginning teachers successfully transi-
tion into the teaching assignment. 

(4) School district--For the purposes of this section, the 
definition of school district includes open-enrollment charter schools. 

(5) Teacher of record--An educator who is employed by a 
school or district and who teaches in an academic instructional setting 
or a career and technical instructional setting and is responsible for 
evaluating student achievement and assigning grades. 

(b) Program requirements. In order for a district mentor pro-
gram to receive funds through the mentor program allotment, as de-
scribed in Texas Education Code (TEC), §48.114, the program must 
be approved by the commissioner of education using the application 
and approval process described in subsection (c) of this section. To be 
approved by the commissioner, district mentor programs must comply 
with TEC, §21.458, and commit to meet the following requirements. 

(1) Mentor selection. To qualify as a mentor teacher, a 
classroom teacher must: 

(A) complete a research-based mentor and induction 
training program approved by the commissioner; 

(B) complete a mentor training program provided by 
the district; 

(C) have at least three complete years of teaching ex-
perience with a superior record of assisting students, as a whole, in 
achieving improvement in student performance. Districts may use the 
master, exemplary, or recognized designations under TEC, §21.3521, 
to fulfill this requirement; and 

(D) demonstrate interpersonal skills, instructional 
effectiveness, and leadership skills. 

(2) Mentor assignment. School districts must agree to as-
sign no more than: 

(A) two beginning teachers to a mentor who serves as a 
teacher of record for, on average, six hours per instructional day; or 

(B) four beginning teachers to a mentor who serves as 
a teacher of record for, on average, less than six hours per instructional 
day. 

(3) District mentor training program. A school district 
must: 

(A) provide training to mentor teachers and any appro-
priate district and campus employees, such as principals, assistant prin-

cipals, and instructional coaches, who work with a beginning teacher 
or supervise a beginning teacher; 

(B) ensure that mentor teachers and any appropriate dis-
trict and campus employees are trained before the beginning of the 
school year; 

(C) provide supplemental training that includes best 
mentorship practices to mentor teachers and any appropriate district 
and campus employees throughout the school year, minimally once 
per semester; and 

(D) provide training for a mentor assigned to a begin-
ning teacher who is hired after the beginning of the school year by the 
45th day of employment of the beginning teacher. 

(4) District roles and responsibilities. A school district 
must designate a specific time during the regularly contracted school 
day for meetings between mentor teachers and the beginning teachers 
they mentor, which must abide by the mentor and beginning teachers' 
entitled planning and preparation requirements in TEC, §21.404, and 
the provisions of paragraph (5)(A) of this subsection. 

(5) Meetings between mentors and beginning teachers. A 
mentor teacher must: 

(A) meet with each beginning teacher assigned to the 
mentor not less than 12 hours each semester, with observations of the 
mentor teacher by the beginning teacher being mentored or observa-
tions of the beginning teacher being mentored by the mentor teacher 
counting toward the 12 hours each semester; and 

(B) address the following topics in mentoring sessions 
with the beginning teacher being mentored: 

(i) orientation to the context, policies, and practices 
of the school district, including: 

(I) campus-wide student culture routines; 

(II) district and campus teacher evaluation sys-
tems; 

(III) campus curriculum and curricular re-
sources, including formative and summative assessments; and 

(IV) campus policies and practices related to les-
son planning; 

(ii) data-driven instructional practices; 

(iii) specific instructional coaching cycles, includ-
ing coaching regarding conferences between parents and the beginning 
teacher; 

(iv) professional development; and 

(v) professional expectations. 

(c) Application approval process. Each year, TEA will pro-
vide an application and approval process for school districts to apply 
for mentor program allotment funding. Funding will be limited based 
on availability of funds, and, annually, the commissioner shall adopt a 
formula to determine the amount to which approved districts are enti-
tled. The application shall address the requirements of TEC, §21.458, 
and include: 

(1) the timeline for application and approval; 

(2) approval criteria, including the minimum requirements 
necessary for an application to be eligible for approval; and 

(3) criteria used to determine which districts would be eli-
gible for funding. 
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(d) Ongoing verification of compliance with program require-
ments. 

(1) Each year, participating districts will be required to sub-
mit or participate in a verification of compliance with program require-
ments through a process to be described in the application form. The 
verification of compliance will include: 

(A) an annual compliance report, submitted by the dis-
trict, attesting to compliance with authorizing statute and commissioner 
rule. The report is to include the number of beginning teachers for 
whom the district used funds received under TEC, §48.114; and 

(B) an annual survey of the district's beginning teachers 
and mentor teachers for whom funds were used under TEC, §48.114. 
The survey will be used to gather data on program implementation and 
teacher perceptions. 

(2) Failure to comply with TEC, §21.458, and this section 
after receiving an allotment may result in negative impact on a district's 
future mentor program allotment funding. 

(e) Allowable expenditures. Mentor program allotment funds 
may only be used for the following: 

(1) mentor teacher stipends; 

(2) release time for mentor teachers and beginning teachers 
limited to activities in accordance with this section; and 

(3) mentoring support through providers of mentor train-
ing. 

(f) District mentor program review. School districts awarded 
mentor program allotment funds must agree to submit all information 
requested by TEA through periodic activity/progress reports, which 
will occur not more than once yearly. Reports will be due no later 
than 45 calendar days after receipt of the information request and must 
contain all requested information in the format prescribed by the com-
missioner. 

(g) Final decisions. Commissioner decisions regarding eligi-
bility for mentor program allotment funds are final and appeals to the 
commissioner regarding such decisions will not be considered. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002310 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: June 28, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 5. STATE BOARD OF DENTAL 
EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 101. DENTAL LICENSURE 
22 TAC §101.3 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) adopts the amend-
ment to 22 TAC §101.3, concerning the requirements for licen-
sure by credentials. This amendment will remove the require-
ment that an applicant must submit an application to the Pro-
fessional Background Information Services (PBIS), a third party 
vendor, for determination of a successful background verifica-
tion. This rulemaking resulted from Board staff’s effort to reduce 
licensure costs and streamline the application process for appli-
cants. Board staff is equipped to complete Level II background 
verification. This amendment is adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the May 1, 2020, issue of the Texas 
Register (45 TexReg 2812), and will not be republished. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 1, 
2020, the Texas Dental Association provided a written comment 
in support of adoption of the rule amendment as proposed. The 
Board agrees with this comment and no changes to the proposed 
rule amendment were made as a result of the comment. 
This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 
state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002287 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §101.4 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) adopts this 
amendment to 22 TAC §101.4, concerning the requirements for 
temporary licensure by credentials. This amendment removes 
the requirement that an applicant must submit an application 
to the Professional Background Information Services (PBIS), a 
third party vendor, for determination of a successful background 
verification. The amendment also clarifies that biennual, not 
annual, renewals are required. This rulemaking resulted from 
Board staff's effort to reduce licensure costs and streamline the 
application process for applicants. Board staff is equipped to 
complete Level II background verification. This amendment is 
adopted with changes to the proposed text as published in the 
May 1, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 2814), 
and will be republished. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 
1, 2020, the Texas Dental Association (TDA) provided a written 
comment in support of adoption of the rule amendment as pro-
posed. TDA noted that language intended to be stricken through 
to denote deletion had been published in the Texas Register 
without the strikethrough. The language has been removed as 
per the proposed amendment’s original intent. 
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This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 
state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
§101.4. Temporary Licensure by Credentials. 

(a) In addition to the general qualifications for licensure con-
tained in §101.1 of this chapter (relating to General Qualifications for 
Licensure), an applicant for temporary licensure by credentials must 
present proof that the applicant: 

(1) Has graduated and received either the "DDS" or 
"DMD" degree from a dental school accredited by the Commission on 
Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association (CODA); 

(2) Has taken and passed the examination for dentists given 
by the American Dental Association Joint Commission on National 
Dental Examinations; 

(3) Is currently licensed in good standing in another state, 
the District of Columbia, or territory of the United States, provided that 
such licensure followed successful completion of a general dentistry 
clinical examination administered by another state or regional examin-
ing board; 

(4) Is endorsed by the state board of dentistry in the juris-
diction in which the applicant practices at the time of the application. 
Such endorsement is established by providing a copy under seal of the 
applicant's current license, and by a certified statement that the appli-
cant has current good standing in said jurisdiction; 

(5) Has successfully passed background checks for crimi-
nal or fraudulent activities, to include information from: the National 
Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data 
Bank and/or the American Association of Dental Boards (AADB) 
Clearinghouse for Disciplinary Action; 

(6) Is currently employed by a nonprofit corporation that is 
organized under the Texas Non Profit Corporation Act, and that accepts 
Medicaid reimbursement; and 

(7) Has completed 12 hours of continuing education taken 
within the 12 months preceding the date the licensure application is 
received by the Board. All hours shall be taken in accordance with the 
requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104 of 
this title (relating to Continuing Education). 

(b) A license granted under this section is valid only for prac-
tice as an employee of a non-profit corporation. If a dentist holding a 
temporary license under this section becomes employed by a non-profit 
corporation other than the non-profit corporation named in the applica-
tion, the licensee must notify the Board of the change in employment 
within fifteen days of such change. 

(c) A dentist holding a temporary license issued under this sec-
tion may renew the license by submitting an application and paying all 
required fees. 

(d) A dentist holding a temporary license may obtain a license 
under the provision of §101.3 of this chapter (relating to Licensure by 
Credentials) when the dentist meets the practice requirements set forth 
in that section, by requesting in writing that the Board issue such license 
and by paying a fee equal to the difference between the application fee 
charged under §101.3 of this chapter and the application fee charged 
under this section. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002289 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §101.14 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) adopts new 22 
TAC §101.14, concerning Exemption from Licensure for Certain 
Military Spouses. The adopted new rule is mandated by the pas-
sage of SB 1200 (86th Regular Legislative Session) and relates 
to exemption from licensure for certain military spouses. This 
rule allows qualified military spouses to practice dentistry with-
out obtaining a license to practice dentistry during the time the 
military service member to whom the military spouse is married 
is stationed at a military installation in Texas. This new rule is 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the May 1, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 2815), 
and will not be republished. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 1, 
2020, the Texas Dental Association provided a written comment 
in support of adoption of the rule amendment as proposed. The 
Board agrees with this comment and no changes to the proposed 
rule amendment were made as a result of the comment. 
This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 
state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002290 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §101.15 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) adopts new 22 
TAC §101.15 concerning Reinstatement of a Cancelled License. 
This rule will clarify the Board's considerations when reviewing 
an application for licensure for an applicant who previously held 
a Texas license that expired and was subsequently cancelled. 
This new rule is adopted with changes to the proposed text as 
published in the May 1, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 
TexReg 2816), and will be republished. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

After publication in the Texas Register, Board staff changed the 
proposed text of the rule in subsection (a)(1), Board staff substi-
tuted the phrase "and has practiced" to replace the existing "or 
had practiced." No other changes were made to the proposed 
text. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 1, 
2020, the Texas Dental Association provided a written comment 
in support of adoption of the rule amendment as proposed. The 
Board agrees with this comment and no changes to the proposed 
rule amendment were made as a result of the comment. 
This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 
state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
§101.15. Reinstatement of a Cancelled License. 
The Board may reinstate a cancelled Texas dental license to active sta-
tus, provided the license holder submits an application for reinstate-
ment on a form prescribed by the Board, pays the appropriate fees due 
at the time application is made, and meets the requirements of this sub-
section. 

(1) An applicant who, at the time of application for rein-
statement, is practicing dentistry in another state, or territory outside of 
the United States, and has practiced dentistry actively within the two 
years immediately preceding the date of application, shall provide: 

(A) verification of licensure and disciplinary history 
from all state board(s) of dentistry where the licensee has held a 
license; 

(B) proof of active practice within the two years pre-
ceding the application; 

(C) proof that the licensee has taken and passed the 
Texas jurisprudence assessment administered by the Board or an 
entity designated by the Board within one year immediately prior to 
application; 

(D) proof of successful completion of a current course 
in basic life support; 

(E) proof of completion of 12 hours of continuing edu-
cation, taken within the 12 months preceding the date the application is 
received by the Board. All hours shall be taken in accordance with the 
requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104 of 
this title (relating to Continuing Education); and 

(F) proof of submission of fingerprints for the retrieval 
of criminal history record information. 

(2) An applicant who has not actively practiced for at least 
two years immediately preceding the request for reinstatement of a can-
celled license must submit proof that the applicant has taken and passed 
the appropriate general dentistry clinical examination administered by 
a regional examining board designated by the Board as required by 
§101.2 of this chapter (relating to Licensure by Examination) pursuant 
to §257.002(d) of the Dental Practice Act. 

(3) An applicant who applies to reinstate a cancelled li-
cense must comply with all other applicable provisions of the Dental 
Practice Act and Board rules. 

(4) An applicant who applies to reinstate a cancelled li-
cense must have been in compliance or satisfied all conditions of any 
Board order that may have been in effect at the time the license was 
cancelled. 

(5) The Board may, in its discretion as necessary to safe-
guard public health and safety, require compliance with other reason-
able conditions in considering a request to reinstate a cancelled license. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002291 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 103. DENTAL HYGIENE 
LICENSURE 
22 TAC §103.3 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) adopts this 
amendment to 22 TAC §103.3, concerning the requirements 
for licensure by credentials. This amendment removes the 
requirement that an applicant must submit an application to 
the Professional Background Information Services (PBIS), a 
third party vendor, for determination of a successful background 
verification. This rulemaking resulted from Board staff's effort to 
reduce licensure costs and streamline the application process 
for applicants. Board staff is equipped to complete Level II 
background verification. This amendment is adopted without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the May 1, 2020, 
issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 2817). The rule will not 
be republished. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 1, 
2020, the Texas Dental Association provided a written comment 
in support of adoption of the rule amendment as proposed. The 
Board agrees with this comment and no changes to the proposed 
rule amendment were made as a result of the comment. 
This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 
state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002292 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 
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22 TAC §103.4 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) adopts this 
amendment to 22 TAC §103.4, concerning the requirements for 
temporary licensure by credentials. This amendment removes 
the requirement that an applicant must submit an application 
to the Professional Background Information Services (PBIS), a 
third party vendor, for determination of a successful background 
verification. The amendment also clarifies that biannual, not 
annual, renewals are required. This rulemaking resulted from 
Board staff's effort to reduce licensure costs and streamline the 
application process for applicants. Board staff is equipped to 
complete Level II background verification. This amendment is 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the May 1, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 2818). 
The rule will not be republished. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 1, 
2020, the Texas Dental Association provided a written comment 
in support of adoption of the rule amendment as proposed. The 
Board agrees with this comment and no changes to the proposed 
rule amendment were made as a result of the comment. 
This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 
state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002293 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §103.10 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) adopts new 22 
TAC §103.10 concerning Exemption from Licensure for Certain 
Military Spouses. The adopted new rule is mandated by the pas-
sage of SB 1200 (86th Regular Legislative Session) and relates 
to exemption from licensure for certain military spouses. This 
new rule is adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the May 1, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 
TexReg 2819), and will not be republished. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 1, 
2020, the Texas Dental Association provided a written comment 
in support of adoption of the rule amendment as proposed. The 
Board agrees with this comment and no changes to the proposed 
rule amendment were made as a result of the comment. 
This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 

state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002294 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §103.11 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) adopts new rule 
22 TAC §103.11, concerning Reinstatement of a Cancelled Li-
cense. This rule clarifies the Board's considerations when re-
viewing an application for licensure for an applicant who previ-
ously held a Texas license that expired and was subsequently 
cancelled. This new rule is adopted with changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the May 1, 2020, issue of the Texas 
Register (45 TexReg 2820). The rule will be republished. 
After publication in the Texas Register, Board staff changed the 
proposed text of the rule in paragraph (1). Board staff substituted 
the phrase "and has practiced" to replace the existing "or had 
practiced." No other changes were made to the proposed text. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 1, 
2020, the Texas Dental Association provided a written comment 
in support of adoption of the rule amendment as proposed. The 
Board agrees with this comment and no changes to the proposed 
rule amendment were made as a result of the comment. 
This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 
state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
§103.11 Reinstatement of a Cancelled License. 
The Board may reinstate a cancelled Texas dental hygiene license to 
active status, provided the license holder submits an application for 
reinstatement on a form prescribed by the Board, pays the appropriate 
fees due at the time application is made, and meets the requirements of 
this subsection. 

(1) An applicant who, at the time of application for rein-
statement, is practicing dental hygiene in another state, or territory out-
side of the United States, and has practiced dental hygiene actively 
within the two years immediately preceding the date of application, 
shall provide: 

(A) verification of licensure and disciplinary history 
from all state board(s) of dentistry where the licensee has held a 
license; 

(B) proof of active practice within the two years pre-
ceding the application; 

(C) proof that the licensee has taken and passed the 
Texas jurisprudence assessment administered by the Board or an 
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entity designated by the Board within one year immediately prior to 
application; 

(D) proof of successful completion of a current course 
in basic life support; 

(E) proof of completion of 12 hours of continuing edu-
cation, taken within the 12 months preceding the date the application is 
received by the Board. All hours shall be taken in accordance with the 
requirements for continuing education as mandated by Chapter 104 of 
this title (relating to Continuing Education); and 

(F) proof of submission of fingerprints for the retrieval 
of criminal history record information. 

(2) An applicant whose license has been expired for one 
year or more, who has not actively practiced for at least two years 
immediately preceding the request for reinstatement of a cancelled li-
cense, must submit proof that the applicant has taken and passed the 
appropriate clinical examination administered by a regional examining 
board designated by the Board as required by §103.2 of this chapter 
(relating to Licensure by Examination) pursuant to §257.002(d) of the 
Dental Practice Act. 

(3) An applicant who applies to reinstate a cancelled li-
cense must comply with all other applicable provisions of the Dental 
Practice Act and Board rules. 

(4) An applicant who applies to reinstate a cancelled li-
cense must have been in compliance or satisfied all conditions of any 
Board order that may have been in effect at the time the license was 
cancelled. 

(5) The Board may, in its discretion as necessary to safe-
guard public health and safety, require compliance with other reason-
able conditions in considering a request to reinstate a cancelled license. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002295 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 114. EXTENSION OF DUTIES 
OF AUXILIARY PERSONNEL--DENTAL 
ASSISTANTS 
22 TAC §114.7 

The State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) proposes new rule 
22 TAC §114.7 concerning Exemption from Licensure for Cer-
tain Military Spouses. The proposed new rule is mandated by 
the passage of SB 1200 (86th Regular Legislative Session) and 
relates to exemption from licensure for certain military spouses. 
This new rule is adopted with changes to the proposed text as 
published in the May 1, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 
TexReg 2821), and will be republished. 

At the June 5, 2020 Board meeting, the Board voted to replace 
the phrase "practice" with "perform delegated permitted duties," 
in an effort to align the language with the Dental Practice Act and 
Chapter 114. No other changes were made to the proposed text. 
One comment was received after publication of the proposed 
rule amendment during the official comment period. On June 1, 
2020, the Texas Dental Association provided a written comment 
in support of adoption of the rule amendment as proposed. The 
Board agrees with this comment and no changes to the proposed 
rule amendment were made as a result of the comment. 
This rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a), which gives the Board authority to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its duties and ensure compliance with 
state laws relating to the practice of dentistry to protect the 
public health and safety. 
§114.7 Exemption from Licensure for Certain Military Spouses. 

(a) The executive director of the Texas State Board of Dental 
Examiners must authorize a qualified military spouse to perform dele-
gated permitted duties as a dental assistant in Texas without obtaining a 
registration in accordance with §55.0041(a), Texas Occupations Code. 
This authorization to perform delegated permitted duties is valid dur-
ing the time the military service member to whom the military spouse 
is married is stationed at a military installation in Texas, but is not to 
exceed three years. 

(b) In order to receive authorization to perform delegated per-
mitted duties the military spouse must: 

(1) hold an active registration to perform delegated per-
mitted duties as a dental assistant in another state, territory, Canadian 
province, or country that: 

(A) has registration requirements that are determined 
by the board to be substantially equivalent to the requirements for reg-
istration in Texas; and 

(B) is not subject to any restriction, disciplinary order, 
probation, or investigation; 

(2) notify the board of the military spouse's intent to per-
form delegated permitted duties in Texas on a form prescribed by the 
board; and 

(3) submit proof of the military spouse's residency in this 
state, a copy of the spouse's military identification card, and proof of 
the military member's status as an active duty military service member 
as defined by §437.001(1), Texas Government Code (relating to Defi-
nitions). 

(c) While authorized to perform delegated permitted duties as 
a dental assistant in Texas, the military spouse shall comply with all 
other laws and regulations applicable to the practice of dentistry in 
Texas. 

(d) Once the board receives the form containing notice of a 
military spouse's intent to perform delegated permitted duties in Texas, 
the board shall verify whether the military spouse's dental assistant reg-
istration in another state, territory, Canadian province, or country is 
active and in good standing. Additionally, the board shall determine 
whether the registration requirements in that jurisdiction are substan-
tially equivalent to the requirements for registration in Texas. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
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TRD-202002296 
Casey Nichols 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: May 1, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-9380 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES 

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
HEALTH SERVICES 

CHAPTER 265. GENERAL SANITATION 
SUBCHAPTER B. TEXAS YOUTH CAMPS 
SAFETY AND HEALTH 
25 TAC §§265.11 - 265.13, 265.15, 265.16, 265.23, 265.24, 
265.27, 265.28 

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission (HHSC), on behalf of the Department of 
State Health Services (DSHS), adopts amendments to §265.11, 
concerning Definitions; §265.12, concerning Directors, Supervi-
sors, and Staff; §265.13, concerning Site and Physical Facili-
ties; §265.15, concerning Medical and Nursing Care; §265.16, 
concerning Waterfront Safety; §265.23, concerning Application 
and Denial of a New License; Non-transferable; §265.24, con-
cerning Application and Denial of a Renewal License; §265.27, 
concerning Revocation, Administrative Penalties, and Hearings; 
and §265.28, concerning Fees. 
The amendment to §265.11 is adopted with changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the March 20, 2020, issue of the Texas 
Register (45 TexReg 1952) and will be republished. The amend-
ments to §§265.12, 265.13, 265.15, 265.16, 265.23, 265.24, 
265.27, and 265.28 are adopted without changes to the pro-
posed text, and therefore will not be republished. 
BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

Texas Health and Safety Code, §141.006 establishes DSHS as 
the principal authority on matters relating to health and safety 
conditions at youth camps. Texas Health and Safety Code, 
§141.008 authorizes the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to 
adopt rules to implement the Texas Youth Camp Safety and 
Health Act. 
The adoption amends §265.12 and §265.15 to address the re-
quirements in House Bill (H.B.) 4372, 86th Legislature, Regular 
Session, 2019, which amended Texas Health and Safety Code, 
Chapter 141. H.B. 4372 requires that DSHS consider whether a 
youth camp employs an individual who was convicted of an act of 
sexual abuse in making a determination on issuance, renewal, or 
revocation of a youth camp operator's license and requires that 
DSHS forward a report of alleged abuse of a camper received 
by DSHS to the Department of Family and Protective Services 
or another appropriate agency. H.B. 4372 also creates a new re-
tention period for camp staff records related to an investigation 
of, or conviction of, an act of sexual abuse and requires a written 
policy for youth camps reporting suspected abuse. 
The amendments revise definitions and clarify the requirements 
for a criminal background check and completion of a sexual 

abuse and child molestation awareness training and examina-
tion program for an individual having unsupervised contact with 
campers. The amendments update the requirements concern-
ing preclusion of persons at a youth camp by excluding Class C 
assault misdemeanors under Texas Penal Code, §22.01 from 
the types of criminal convictions and deferred adjudications 
requiring preclusion and allow for the employment of persons 
with Class C assault misdemeanors under Texas Penal Code, 
§22.01 committed within the past ten years at the discretion 
of the youth camp. The amendments also update license 
application sections to reflect changes to youth camp definitions 
and simplify the rule language. The amendments update the 
references to Texas statutes throughout the subchapter to 
include the word "Texas." 
COMMENTS 

The 31-day comment period ended April 20, 2020. 
During this period, DSHS received one comment from an individ-
ual in HHSC Child Care Regulation. A summary of the comment 
and DSHS's response follows. 
Comment: The commenter pointed out that the childcare licens-
ing agency listed as the "Department of Family and Protective 
Services" in §265.11(6) and (25) is incorrect and should be re-
placed with the current childcare licensing agency "Health and 
Human Services Commission." 
Response: DSHS agrees and revises the rule as suggested. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are authorized by Texas Health and Safety 
Code, §141.008,which authorizes the Executive Commissioner 
of HHSC to adopt rules to implement the Youth Camp Safety 
and Health Act; and by Texas Government Code §531.0055, and 
Texas Health and Safety Code §1001.075, which authorizes the 
Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules and policies 
necessary for the operation and provision of health and human 
services by DSHS and for the administration of Texas Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 1001. 
§265.11. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings, unless the content clearly indicates oth-
erwise. 

(1) Act--Texas Youth Camp Safety and Health Act, Texas 
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 141. 

(2) Adult--A person at least 18 years of age or older. 

(3) Camper--A minor child, under 18 years of age, who is 
attending a youth camp on either a day or boarding basis. 

(4) Challenge course--Activity designed for educational 
purposes or team building, which may offer a variety of challenges, in-
cluding zip lines, high and low rope courses, rappelling, and climbing 
walls. 

(5) Commissioner--The Commissioner of the Department 
of State Health Services. 

(6) Day camp--A camp that operates during the day or any 
portion of the day between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. for four or more 
consecutive days and that offers no more than two overnight stays dur-
ing each camp session. To be eligible to be licensed as a youth camp, 
the camp's schedule shall be structured so that each camper attends for 
four hours or more per day for four consecutive days. The term does 
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not include a facility that is required to be licensed with the Health and 
Human Services Commission. 

(7) Department--Department of State Health Services. 

(8) Executive Commissioner--Executive Commissioner of 
the Health and Human Services Commission. 

(9) Firearm--Any device designed, made, or adapted to ex-
pel a projectile through a barrel by using the energy generated by an 
explosion or a burning substance, or any device readily convertible to 
that use. 

(10) Municipal water supply--A public water supply 
owned or operated by or for a city or a corporation having the right of 
administering local government. 

(11) Pellet gun--Any device designed, made, or adapted to 
expel a projectile through a barrel by using compressed air or carbon 
dioxide. This definition includes air guns, air rifles, BB guns, and paint-
ball guns. 

(12) Permanent structure--Man-made buildings such as 
dining halls, dormitories, cabins, or other buildings that are constructed 
to remain stationary. 

(13) Person--An individual, partnership, corporation, asso-
ciation, or organization. In rules for this subchapter, a person does not 
include a government or governmental subdivision. 

(14) Playground--A designated area designed for campers 
to play freely on equipment as defined in the U.S. Consumer Product 
Safety Commission Publication Number 325, "Handbook for Public 
Playground Safety," December 2015 as amended. 

(15) Primitive camp--A youth camp that does not provide 
either permanent structures or utilities for camper use. 

(16) Public water system--A public water system, as de-
fined in 30 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §290.38(71) is a system 
for the provision to the public of water for human consumption through 
pipes or other constructed conveyances, which includes all uses de-
scribed under the definition for drinking water (30 TAC §290.38(23)). 
Such a system shall have at least 15 service connections or serve at 
least 25 individuals at least 60 days out of the year. This term includes 
any collection, treatment, storage, and distribution facilities under the 
control of the operator of such system and used primarily in connec-
tion with such system, and any collection or pretreatment storage fa-
cilities not under such control which are used primarily in connection 
with such system. Two or more systems with each having a potential 
to serve less than 15 connections or less than 25 individuals but owned 
by the same person, firm, or corporation and located on adjacent land 
will be considered a public water system when the total potential ser-
vice connections in the combined systems are 15 or greater or if the 
total number of individuals served by the combined systems total 25 
or greater at least 60 days out of the year. Without excluding other 
meanings of the terms "individual" or "served," an individual shall be 
deemed to be served by a water system if he lives in, uses as his place 
of employment, or works in a place to which drinking water is supplied 
from the system. 

(17) Resident camp--A camp that for a period of four or 
more consecutive days continuously provides residential services to 
each camper, including overnight accommodations for at least three 
consecutive nights. 

(18) Supervised--A person is supervised if the person is 
within sight, except for infrequent momentary periods such as restroom 
breaks, and within reasonable hearing distance of a camper's outcry, of 
an adult with an obligation to report inappropriate or dangerous activ-

ities or behavior who has been made aware that the obligation is in 
effect at that time and who has willingly accepted the obligation. This 
definition is applicable only to rules relating to unsupervised contact 
with campers. 

(19) Supervisor/counselor--A person, at least 18 years 
of age or older, who is responsible for the immediate supervision of 
campers. 

(20) Swim test--A formalized test, specific to the body of 
water utilized, to determine each child's swimming ability. A swim test 
includes a skill evaluation, or some equivalent method of determining 
swimming ability, such as: 

(A) Non-swimmer: Get into the shallow water, sit 
down, stand up, and exit the water. 

(B) Intermediate swimmer: Jump feet first into water at 
least twelve inches deeper than the height of the child. Level off, swim 
25 feet, turn around and swim back. Exit the water. 

(C) Swimmer: Jump feet-first into water at least twelve 
inches deeper than the height of the child and swim 75 yards in a strong 
stroke on your stomach or side (breaststroke, sidestroke, crawl, trud-
gen, or any combination). Then swim 25 yards on your back (elemen-
tary back stroke), then float and rest on your back for one minute. Exit 
the water. 

(21) TCEQ--Texas Commission on Environmental Qual-
ity. 

(22) Travel camp--A day or resident camp, lasting for four 
or more consecutive days, that begins and ends at a fixed location, but 
may move from location to location on a daily basis. 

(23) Waterfront--A natural or artificial body of water that 
includes a lake, ocean, bay, pond, river, swimming pool, or spa, which 
is the site of any water activity. 

(24) Waterfront activity--A recreational or instructional ac-
tivity, occurring in, on, or near a waterfront. Waterfront activity in-
cludes swimming, boating, water skiing, scuba diving, rafting, tubing, 
synchronized swimming or sailing. 

(25) Youth camp--A facility or property, other than a facil-
ity required to be licensed by the Health and Human Services Commis-
sion that: 

(A) has the general characteristics of a day camp, resi-
dent camp, or travel camp; 

(B) provides supervision, and instruction in recre-
ational, athletic, religious, or educational activities; 

(C) during a camp session, offers at least two youth 
camp specialized activities in an outdoor setting; 

(D) accommodates at least five minors during each 
camp session who attend or temporarily reside at the camp, apart from 
parents or guardians, for all or part of at least four consecutive days; 

(E) operates as a youth camp for four consecutive hours 
or more per day; 

(F) operates as a youth camp only during school vaca-
tion periods; 

(G) operates as a youth camp for no more than 120 days 
each calendar year; and 

(H) is not a facility or program operated by or on the 
campus of an institution of higher education or a private or indepen-
dent institution of higher education as those terms are defined by the 
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Texas Education Code, §61.003, that is regularly inspected by one or 
more local governmental entities for compliance with health and safety 
standards. 

(26) Youth camp specialized activity--A camp activity 
such as waterfront activities, archery, horseback riding, challenge 
courses, or riflery that requires special technical skills, equipment, or 
safety regulations, and a high level of adult supervision at all times. 

(27) Youth camp operator--Any person who owns, oper-
ates, controls, or supervises a youth camp, whether or not for profit. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002281 
Barbara L. Klein 
General Counsel 
Department of State Health Services 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 231-5753 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 28. INSURANCE 

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
INSURANCE 

CHAPTER 21. TRADE PRACTICES 
SUBCHAPTER OO. DISCLOSURES BY 
OUT-OF-NETWORK PROVIDERS 
28 TAC §§21.4901 - 21.4904 

The Commissioner of Insurance adopts new 28 Texas Adminis-
trative Code (TAC) §§21.4901 - 21.4904, concerning disclosures 
by out-of-network providers. The new sections are adopted with 
changes to the proposed text as published in the January 10, 
2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 268). The de-
partment adopts §21.4902 and §21.4904 without changes to the 
proposed text. The department revises §21.4901 and §21.4903 
to correct punctuation for consistency with agency style, and the 
department also revises §21.4903 in response to public com-
ments. Sections 21.4901 and 21.4903 will be republished. 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The new sections are neces-
sary to implement exceptions to balance billing prohibitions in 
Insurance Code §§1271.157, 1271.158, 1301.164, 1301.165, 
1551.229, 1551.230, 1575.172, 1575.173, 1579.110, and 
1579.111, as enacted by Senate Bill 1264, 86th Legislature, 
Regular Session (2019). 
A hearing was held on February 4, 2020. 
The new rules interpret and implement SB 1264, which prohibits 
balance billing for certain health benefit claims under certain 
health benefit plans; provides exceptions to balance billing 
prohibitions; and authorizes an independent dispute resolution 
process for claim disputes between certain out-of-network 
providers and health benefit plan issuers and administrators. 
SB 1264's balance billing protections generally apply to enrollees 
of health benefit plans offered by insurers and health mainte-

nance organizations that the department regulates, as well as to 
the Texas Employees Group, the Texas Public School Employ-
ees Group, and the Texas School Employees Uniform Group. 
The changes to law made by the bill apply to health care and 
medical services or supplies provided on or after January 1, 
2020. 
The new rules implement the exceptions to balance billing 
prohibitions found in Insurance Code §§1271.157, 1271.158, 
1301.164, 1301.165, 1551.229, 1551.230, 1575.172, 1575.173, 
1579.110, and 1579.111. The exceptions to balance billing pro-
hibitions are only applicable in nonemergencies when a health 
benefit plan enrollee elects to receive covered health care or 
medical services or supplies from a facility-based provider that 
is not a participating provider for a health benefit plan, if the 
service or supply is provided at a health care facility that is a 
participating provider; or from a diagnostic imaging provider or 
laboratory service provider that is not a participating provider 
for a health benefit plan, if the service or supply is provided 
in connection with a health care or medical service or supply 
provided by a participating provider. 
For many consumers, a surprise balance bill can be financially 
ruinous, which could dissuade some consumers from seeking 
necessary or advisable medical care. To protect consumers, 
SB 1264 prohibits many out-of-network providers from balance 
billing patients except in a very narrow set of circumstances. The 
proposed rules are necessary to prevent unscrupulous providers 
from exploiting the law's narrow exceptions to the balance billing 
prohibition, which would negatively affect the health and finan-
cial welfare of consumers. Without the new rules, a provider 
could demand that a patient sign away his or her balance billing 
protections mere moments before the patient receives surgery 
or some other medical care. Furthermore, without the new rule, 
the provider could slip an inconspicuous SB 1264 notice among 
a number of other forms that the enrollee must review before the 
procedure. Patients could be forced to make tough financial and 
health-related decisions in a vulnerable state, potentially with-
out even knowing the balance billing protections they would be 
waiving. And if a patient hesitates or refuses to waive their bal-
ance billing protections shortly before the procedure, there could 
be significant health consequences if treatment is delayed or re-
fused because of arguments over billing between patient and 
provider. 
On December 18, 2019, the department adopted 28 TAC 
§§21.4901 - 21.4904 under emergency rulemaking procedures, 
to be effective on January 1, 2020. The emergency rules will be 
withdrawn at the time these rules become effective. 
New §21.4901 addresses the purpose and applicability of new 
Subchapter OO. The department makes a change to §21.4901 
as proposed to remove the hyphen from the word "non-emer-
gency," for consistency with agency style. 
New §21.4902 provides that words and terms defined in Insur-
ance Code Chapter 1467 have the same meaning when used in 
Subchapter OO, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
New §21.4903 clarifies that, for purposes of the exceptions to 
the balance billing prohibitions, an enrollee's election is only valid 
if the enrollee has a meaningful choice between an in-network 
provider and an out-of-network provider, the enrollee was not 
coerced by another provider or their health benefit plan into se-
lecting the out-of-network provider, and the enrollee signs a no-
tice and disclosure statement at least 10 business days before 
the service or supply is provided acknowledging that the enrollee 
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may be liable for a balance bill and chooses to proceed with the 
service or supply anyway. Only an out-of-network provider that 
chooses to balance bill an enrollee is required to provide a no-
tice and disclosure statement to the enrollee. The out-of-network 
provider may choose to participate in SB 1264's claim dispute 
resolution process instead of balance billing an enrollee. 
New §21.4903 also adopts by reference the notice and dis-
closure statement that must be filled out by the out-of-network 
provider and given to the enrollee if the provider chooses to 
balance bill. 
The proposed text in §21.4903 was changed in the adoption or-
der in response to comments. 
A change is made to §21.4903(a) to refer to an enrollee's "health 
benefit plan" instead of "health care plan." The department notes 
that SB 1264 uses both "health care plan" and "health benefit 
plan" in its provisions. Nevertheless, the department agrees to 
make the suggested change. However, this change in terms is 
not substantive and does not alter the scope or application of the 
rule. 
The department makes a change to §21.4903(b). The depart-
ment clarifies that legal representatives or guardians may make 
an election on behalf of an enrollee. The department adds "An 
enrollee's legal representative or guardian may elect on behalf 
of an enrollee" to the text of subsection (b). 
The department also makes changes to §21.4903(d). The 
changes are made in part to allow for a provider's agent or 
assignee to maintain a copy of the notice and disclosure state-
ment. This flexibility will help providers comply with the rule, for 
those providers that would rather delegate that responsibility. In 
addition, the department clarifies that the copy of the notice and 
disclosure statement must only be maintained if the medical 
service or supply is provided and a balance bill is sent. There 
is no need to maintain records when the underlying purpose is 
no longer necessary. The department also makes a change to 
state that the provider must provide the enrollee with a copy of 
the signed notice and disclosure statement on the same date 
the statement is received by the provider. 
The department makes a change to §21.4903(f). The change 
clarifies when the dispute resolution procedures under Insurance 
Code Chapter 1467 and 28 TAC Chapter 21, Subchapter PP 
apply. The change provides an exception to the subsection's 
prohibition on participating in the dispute resolution processes if 
the election is defective or rescinded. 
The department also makes changes to §21.4903(b) and (c) to 
remove the hyphen from the word "non-emergency," for consis-
tency with agency style. 
New §21.4904 requires health benefit plans to help their en-
rollees determine their financial responsibility for a service or 
supply for which a notice and disclosure statement has been pro-
vided, consistent with Insurance Code §1661.002. 
SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSE. 
Commenters: The department received 103 written comments 
and six oral comments. Commenters in support of the proposal 
were: AARP, Center for Public Policy Priorities, and Office of 
Public Insurance Counsel. Commenters in support of the pro-
posal with changes were: Texas Association of Health Plans, 
Texas Hospital Association, and Texas Public Policy Founda-
tion. Commenters against the proposal were: 94 individuals; 
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, District 

XI; American College of Physicians Services, Texas Chapter; 
Association of American Physicians and Surgeons, Inc.; Texas 
Medical Association; Texas Society for Gastroenterology and 
Endoscopy; and Texas Society of Pathologists. 
Comments on the rule generally 

Comment: Two commenters state that they strongly support pro-
posed 28 TAC §§21.4901 - 21.4904 and state that it is consistent 
with the language and intent of SB 1264 and is necessary to pro-
tect Texas consumers. 
One commenter states that it strongly supports the consumer 
protections in the proposed rules. 
One commenter extends its support to the department's efforts 
and states that the rules are necessary to clarify that the non-
emergency exception from the balance billing protections in SB 
1264 is only permitted when the consumer has a choice be-
tween in-network and out-of-network providers and is afforded 
adequate time to understand the financial implications of their 
decision. 
Agency Response: The department appreciates the support. 
Comment: Many commenters state that the proposed rules con-
tradict the principles of limited government and protection of in-
dividual rights in the Texas and U.S. Constitutions. One com-
menter states that the proposed rules protect third-party interests 
and are not in the best interests of the good practice of medicine 
or quality patient care. 
Agency Response: The department notes that the commenters 
failed to specify which provisions of the U.S. or Texas Constitu-
tions they believe are inconsistent with the proposed rules. Nev-
ertheless, the department does not agree that the proposed rules 
violate either the federal or state constitutions. The department 
proposed the rule to interpret and implement SB 1264, including 
its limited exceptions to the balance billing prohibition. SB 1264 
and the proposed rules serve an important consumer protection 
function, as surprise balance bills can be financially ruinous for 
many consumers. The proposed rules do not unreasonably in-
trude on the doctor-patient relationship, because the rules only 
apply when an out-of-network provider chooses to balance bill 
a patient. An out-of-network provider that chooses to participate 
in SB 1264's claim dispute resolution process instead of balance 
billing a patient is not subject to the proposed rule requirements. 
Comment on §21.4901. 
Comment: Several commenters state that the department has 
insufficient statutory authority to adopt the proposed rules. The 
commenters state that Insurance Code §§36.001, 752.0003(c), 
and 1467.003 do not authorize the department to adopt the rule 
proposal. The commenters also assert that the department's lim-
ited jurisdiction does not include prohibitions on balance billing 
and the disclosure exceptions. 
Agency Response: The department disagrees that it lacks statu-
tory authority to adopt the proposed rules or that it has exceeded 
its jurisdiction. 
Insurance Code §36.001 provides authority for the Com-
missioner to adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to 
implement the powers and duties of the department under the 
Insurance Code and other laws of this state. Insurance Code 
§31.002(3) imposes a duty on the department to "ensure that 
the Insurance Code and other laws regarding insurance and 
insurance companies are executed...." Therefore, for purposes 
of determining the department's authority, it is significant that all 
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provisions of SB 1264, including the balance billing prohibitions, 
were codified in the Insurance Code. 
Enforcement of the balance billing prohibition is governed by 
Chapter 752 of the Insurance Code. Section 752.0003(c) states 
that an appropriate regulatory agency "or the commissioner may 
adopt rules as necessary to implement this section." The depart-
ment has exercised its rulemaking authority to interpret and im-
plement SB 1264. 
Insurance Code §1467.003 mandates that the department adopt 
rules as necessary to implement its powers and duties under 
Chapter 1467, which governs out-of-network claim dispute res-
olution. The proposed rules are related to the dispute resolution 
processes created by Chapter 1467. The proposed written no-
tice and disclosure procedure and form are inextricably linked 
to the application of the dispute resolution processes in Chapter 
1467 and the rules that implement that chapter in 28 TAC Chap-
ter 21, Subchapter PP. Though the proposed rules and Subchap-
ter PP are in different subchapters, they are part of a coherent 
regulatory framework of balance billing consumer protections. 
Proposed section 21.4903(f) relates to Insurance Code Chapter 
1467 and makes explicit the connection between the subchap-
ters. 
Comment: One commenter requests that the purpose and ap-
plicability of the proposed rules be clarified to not include di-
rect care models of providing health care because a direct care 
provider or facility does not submit out-of-network claims to a 
health benefit plan. Another commenter asks whether the pro-
posed rules would apply to providers that offer patients up-front 
pricing for health care services. The commenter notes that these 
patients already have an understanding that they will be pay-
ing out-of-network costs but want the procedure performed at 
an in-network facility that is covered by their plan. 
Agency Response: The department declines to make a change. 
The applicability of the proposed rules is based on and is con-
sistent with the applicability of SB 1264's balance billing prohibi-
tions to out-of-network facility-based providers, diagnostic imag-
ing providers, and laboratory service providers. SB 1264 clearly 
defines "facility-based provider," "diagnostic imaging provider," 
and "laboratory service provider." 
Consistent with Insurance Code §752.0003, regulatory agencies 
that license, certify, or otherwise authorize providers have au-
thority to discipline their respective providers for violating a law 
that prohibits the provider from billing an insured, participant, or 
enrollee in an amount greater than an applicable copayment, 
coinsurance, or deductible. The department will coordinate with 
other regulatory agencies and will refer complaints about bal-
ance billing appropriately. The appropriate regulatory agency 
will determine the appropriate sanctions, if any, for a violation of 
the statute or the rules. The department has communicated with 
other state agencies and will continue to work with them to imple-
ment SB 1264. The department will closely monitor implemen-
tation and be ready to provide additional guidance, as needed. 
Comments on §21.4903. 
Comment: Several commenters note that the term "enrollee" is 
used throughout proposed §21.4903 and the form. The com-
menters suggest that the notice and disclosure form be revised 
to permit a guardian or legal representative of the patient to sign 
the form. 
Agency Response: The department agrees with the com-
menters and has revised the proposed text by amending 

§21.4903(b) to clarify that an enrollee's legal representative or 
guardian may elect on behalf of an enrollee. 
Comment: Several commenters recommend that the term 
"health care plan" be replaced with "health benefit plan." 
Agency Response: The department notes that SB 1264 uses 
both "health care plan" and "health benefit plan" in its provisions. 
Nevertheless, the department agrees to make the suggested 
change. However, this change in terms is not substantive and 
does not alter the scope or application of the rule. 
Comment on: Several commenters recommend deleting 
§21.4903(b)(1). The commenters state that the proposed re-
quirement limits the exception to the balance billing prohibition 
beyond what the Legislature intended. The commenters also 
oppose §21.4903(b)(1) because it would make satisfaction 
of the requirement dependent on a third party that is out of 
the provider's control. In addition, commenters state that the 
requirement is vague, overbroad, too subjective, and does not 
provide enough guidance. Further, the commenters state that if 
an enrollee is assigned an out-of-network provider, but is offered 
a choice, the assigned out-of-network provider should be able 
to use the waiver. 
One commenter states that it supports the provisions of pro-
posed §21.4903(b), and states that the provisions ensure that 
an actual election by the patient, within the meaning of SB 1264, 
has taken place. 
One commenter supports the proposed rule because it allows 
providers to avoid the consumer protections of SB 1264 and bal-
ance bill only in the limited situation where they have given their 
patient all the information needed to make an informed decision 
and the patient has actively chosen to see that out-of-network 
provider. 
Agency Response: The department disagrees that proposed 
§21.4903(b)(1) is inconsistent with SB 1264 and exceeds the 
department's statutory authority. The proposed rule interprets 
and implements the consumer protections imbedded in SB 1264 
and is consistent with the statute. As stated in the Author's/Spon-
sor's Statement of Intent, SB 1264 "prevents consumers from re-
ceiving surprise medical bills so that in situations where the con-
sumer has no choice over who provides their care, they cannot 
be surprise-billed." Senate Research Center, Bill Analysis, Tex. 
S.B. 1264, 86th Leg., R.S. (2019). Proposed §21.4903(b)(1) im-
plements SB 1264 by clarifying that if an out-of-network provider 
wants to balance bill a consumer, that consumer must have a 
meaningful choice between an in-network provider and the out-
of-network provider. As other commenters recognize, proposed 
§21.4903(b)(1) ensures that an election occurs, not merely an 
assignment. 
The department acknowledges that individual providers may not 
have control over the assignment of providers to a particular en-
rollee. However, in circumstances where enrollee election is not 
feasible, providers are still entitled to payment under SB 1264's 
default arrangement. This includes payment at the usual and 
customary rate or at an agreed-on rate and an option to utilize 
alternate dispute resolution processes under Insurance Code 
Chapter 1467 and the rules adopted in 28 TAC Chapter 21, Sub-
chapter PP. The statutory and regulatory framework operates to 
make the exceptions to the balance billing prohibition not the pre-
sumed operation, but the narrowly available option. 
Comment: Several commenters state that the term "coerced," 
as used in proposed §21.4903(b)(2), is vague and overbroad. 
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The commenters also object to the proposed language because 
it provides that an out-of-network provider's use of the exception 
can be invalidated by someone else's coercive conduct--and po-
tentially subjecting a provider to discipline because of someone 
else's conduct is unfair and exceeds the department's author-
ity. The commenters state that the provision is a new condition 
that was not authorized by the Legislature. In addition, the com-
menters state that the language could put a provider in the posi-
tion of being unable to either balance bill or access the dispute 
resolution procedures established under Insurance Code Chap-
ter 1467. 
Agency Response: The department disagrees that the text of 
proposed §21.4903(b)(2) is impermissibly vague or overbroad. 
See CISPES (Comm. in Solidarity with People of El Salvador) 
v. FBI, 77 F.2d 468, 475-76 (5th Cir. 1985) (addressing whether 
the term "coerce," as used in a federal statute, is vague or over-
broad). An administrative rule need not define all the terms used 
in the rule, particularly when the term in question has a com-
monly understood definition. See Tex. Mut. Ins. Co. v. Vista 
Cmty. Med. Ctr., 275 S.W.3d 538, 554 (Tex. App.-Austin 2008, 
pet. denied). In this context, to "'coerce' means to 'persuade 
(an unwilling person) to do something by using force or threats.'" 
Tex. Att'y Gen. Op. No. GA-949 (2012) (quoting New Oxford 
American Dictionary). Furthermore, the rule provides additional 
clarity as to the usage of the term, stating that "[a] provider en-
gages in coercion if the provider charges or attempts to charge a 
nonrefundable fee, deposit, or cancellation fee for the service or 
supply prior to the enrollee's election." Both the plain meaning of 
the term and its usage in the context of §21.4903(b)(2) demon-
strate that it is not impermissibly vague or overbroad. 
The department also disagrees that proposed §21.4903(b)(2) is 
inconsistent with SB 1264 and exceeds the department's statu-
tory authority. The proposed rule interprets and implements the 
consumer protections imbedded in SB 1264 and is consistent 
with the statute. The rule simply recognizes that a valid election 
or choice must be free of coercion. That principal is recognized 
in other settings involving elections. See, e.g., Union Mfg. Co. v. 
NLRB, 221 F.2d 532, 540 (D.C. Cir. 1955) (Under the National 
Labor Relations Act, a "'valid' election is one free from fraud, 
from restraint or from coercion of employees in the exercise of 
their rights."). 
The commenters are also concerned that, due to the proposed 
rule, a provider could be put in the position of being unable to 
either balance bill a patient or participate in SB 1264's dispute 
resolution process. The proffered scenario assumes that the 
enrollee can successfully demonstrate that the notice and dis-
closure was entered into coercively. This would be a question 
of fact that the provider could rebut, as with other contractual 
disputes. In response to other comments, the department made 
changes to §21.4903(f) to clarify that in instances where coercion 
took place, voiding the election, then the claim may be eligible 
to participate in dispute resolution under Insurance Code Chap-
ter 1467 and 28 TAC Chapter 21, Subchapter PP. Therefore, the 
department does not believe a change to the proposed rule is 
warranted in response to the commenters' concern. 
Comment: Several commenters oppose the language in 
§21.4903(b)(3) that requires the provider to obtain the enrollee's 
written consent. The commenters state that the provision is a 
new condition that was not authorized by the Legislature. The 
commenters also recommend that proposed §21.4903(b)(3) be 
amended to allow the enrollee's legal representative or guardian 
to provide the required consent. 

Agency Response: The department agrees that an enrollee's le-
gal representative or guardian should be permitted to provide the 
written consent required by the rule. In response to comment, 
the department amends §21.4903(b) accordingly. 
The department does not agree that proposed §21.4903(b)(3) is 
inconsistent with SB 1264 and exceeds the department's statu-
tory authority. The proposed rule interprets and implements the 
consumer protections imbedded in SB 1264 and is consistent 
with the statute. SB 1264 requires that an enrollee make an elec-
tion in writing, and the proposed rule simply clarifies that such an 
election is manifested through the enrollee's written consent. 
Comment: Several commenters have concerns with the require-
ment that out-of-network providers provide the notice and disclo-
sure statement before scheduling a medical service or supply. 
The commenters believe that this requirement is not authorized 
by statute, and state that the requirement imposes operational 
challenges that make the use of the exception almost impossi-
ble for certain provider types. If the department moves forward 
with the scheduling requirement, the commenters recommend 
that it be substituted with language that the notice and disclosure 
statement must be provided to the enrollee or the enrollee's le-
gal representative or guardian no later than three business days 
after the scheduling of the nonemergency service or supply. Ac-
cording to the commenters, this shorter time frame would better 
reflect how services are delivered by indirect access providers. 
Two commenters support each of the provisions in §21.4903(c) 
and state that they work together to ensure that patients can 
freely make an election without feeling coerced. 
Agency Response: The department does not agree that pro-
posed §21.4903(c) is inconsistent with SB 1264 and exceeds 
the department's statutory authority. The proposed rule inter-
prets and implements the consumer protections imbedded in SB 
1264 and is consistent with the statute. SB 1264 requires cer-
tain out-of-network providers to provide a complete written dis-
closure about a medical service or supply in order to balance bill 
the patient for that service or supply. The department believes 
that, for the written disclosure requirement to be an effective con-
sumer protection tool, the disclosure must be provided to the pa-
tient before scheduling the service or supply. Nevertheless, the 
proposed rule does not require the notice and disclosure state-
ment to be provided at a separate office visit from the schedul-
ing. The provision simply requires that the notice and disclosure 
statement, and the important consumer information and cost es-
timate, be provided before scheduling the service or supply. Pro-
vision of the notice and disclosure statement and scheduling of 
the service or supply could occur consecutively at the same of-
fice visit. 
The department recognizes that indirect access providers may 
have more difficulties providing the notice and disclosure state-
ment in the timeframes required by the rule. However, SB 1264 
requires an enrollee election, and it does not provide lesser con-
sumer protections because those protections may be inconve-
nient. In circumstances where an enrollee election fails to sat-
isfy the requirements of the rule, providers are still entitled to 
payment under the default statutory arrangement. This includes 
payment at the usual and customary rate or at an agreed rate. 
Additionally, the provider may be able to seek alternate dispute 
resolution processes under Insurance Code Chapter 1467 and 
the rules adopted in 28 TAC Chapter 21, Subchapter PP. The 
statutory framework operates to make the use of the notice and 
disclosure statement not the presumed operation, but the nar-
rowly available option. 
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Comment: Many commenters state that requiring a patient to 
wait at least 10 business days to receive care from an out-of-net-
work provider--on mutually agreeable terms--is potentially dan-
gerous and contrary to the wording and intent of SB 1264. One 
commenter states that requiring a patient to wait 10 business 
days to receive assistance for medical problems will magnify 
those problems. 
Several commenters state that requiring delay of treatment is not 
just inconvenient, but is also potentially dangerous and discrimi-
nates against patients who might prefer a provider who does not 
contract with a third-party payer. 
Agency Response: The department recognizes these concerns 
but does not agree that changes to the proposed rule text are 
necessary and declines to revise the proposed rule. The depart-
ment notes that the proposed rule does not require an out-of-net-
work provider to wait 10 business days before providing a med-
ical service or supply. Rather, the signed the notice and disclo-
sure statement are required at least 10 business days before the 
date of the service or supply only if the provider chooses to bal-
ance bill the patient. If the provider is willing to accept a reason-
able payment for the service or supply through SB 1264's inde-
pendent dispute resolution process instead of balance billing the 
patient, the service or supply can be scheduled at any time that 
is agreeable to the patient and provider. Any delays in care will 
be the result of providers' billing choices and not the proposed 
rule. 
The department also does not agree that proposed §21.4903(c) 
is inconsistent with SB 1264 and exceeds the department's 
statutory authority. The proposed rule interprets and implements 
the consumer protections imbedded in SB 1264 and is consis-
tent with the statute. To protect consumers, SB 1264 prohibits 
many out-of-network providers from balance billing patients 
except in a very narrow set of circumstances. The new rules 
are necessary to prevent providers from exploiting the law's 
narrow exceptions to the balance billing prohibition, which, if 
allowed, would exacerbate the balance billing concerns that led 
to the passage of SB 1264. Without the new rules, particularly 
proposed §21.4903(c), a provider could demand that a patient 
sign away his or her balance billing protections mere moments 
before the patient receives surgery or some other medical care. 
Furthermore, without the new rules, the provider could slip an 
inconspicuous SB 1264 notice amongst several other forms 
that the enrollee must review prior to the procedure. Patients 
could be forced to make tough financial and health-related 
decisions in an extremely vulnerable state, potentially without 
even knowing the balance billing protections they would be 
waiving. And if a patient hesitates or refuses to waive their 
balance billing protections shortly before the procedure, there 
could be significant health consequences if treatment is delayed 
or refused because of arguments over billing between patient 
and provider. 
Comment: One commenter asks who bears the liability in the 
event a nonemergent medical issue becomes life-threatening 
during a 10-business day wait. 
Agency Response: The department does not determine tortious 
liability. Liability is set by law and the application of that law is fact 
specific. The department notes, however, that the proposed rule 
does not require an out-of-network provider to wait 10 business 
days before providing a medical service or supply. Rather, the 
signed notice and disclosure statement are required at least 10 
business days before the date of the service or supply only if 
the provider chooses to balance bill the patient. Any delays in 

care will be the result of the providers' billing choices and not the 
proposed rule. Furthermore, under SB 1264 the disclosure and 
notice requirements imposed by these rules are not applicable 
to emergency care or supplies. 
Comment: One commenter asks for the department's rationale 
for choosing a 10-business day timeframe. 
Agency Response: The department's reason for choosing 10 
business days is so that the enrollee has adequate time to con-
sider the potential financial impact of his or her decision. In addi-
tion, the timeframe provides an enrollee the opportunity to con-
tact their health benefit plan or administrator and request assis-
tance to improve the accuracy of the cost estimate. The time also 
may allow an enrollee to consider alternatives to the out-of-net-
work provider. 
Comment: Several commenters express concern about the 
10-business day requirement in proposed §21.4903(c). The 
commenters state that the one-size-fits-all timeframe is arbi-
trary, contrary to the plain language of the statute, and presents 
challenges to patients and providers alike. The commenters 
note that the delay is not required for consent to the procedure 
itself and is longer than timeframes advocated by stakeholders 
in the context of the department's stakeholder process. The 
commenters highlight certain scenarios where the 10-day 
requirement may affect health-care practices. For example, 
where a patient wants to pick an out-of-network provider but 
have the service performed at an in-network facility and wants 
to have the service performed sooner than 10 business days. 
Another scenario the commenters discuss is for urgent care 
issues, where the rule would apply even if the patient would 
like to be treated and be willing to pay the balance bill without 
waiting for the requisite time period. 
The commenters state that if the department is unwilling to re-
move the time requirement, they recommend lowering it to three 
business days with one business day for rescission. Addition-
ally, the commenters recommend that if the department moves 
forward that it add the option to waive the 10-business day re-
quirement, and another possible exception for urgent care sce-
narios. 
Two commenters support the 10-business-day timeframe and 
state that it is reasonable and necessary to protect patients. 
First, it ensures that patients who need medical care urgently will 
not be placed under duress by a waiver. Second, it affords the 
patient time needed to make an informed election. They state 
that the timeframe needs to accommodate the ability of a patient 
to explore alternatives, including in-network alternatives, after 
learning through the notice and disclosure statement that some 
of their care will be out-of-network and cost more. The patient 
will need time to contact their health plan to both get firm costs 
for care outlined in the disclosure as well as to identify alternate 
in-network providers. The patient also may need to reach out to 
alternative providers to learn more or get an appointment. The 
timeframe also needs to accommodate a reasonable period dur-
ing which a patient can rescind acceptance of the waiver, in the 
event that they are able to find alternate in-network providers. 
One commenter recommends that the department not adopt a 
specific timeframe, because an excessive notice period could 
result in unnecessary delays in nonemergent care. 
One commenter states that the form be provided in time for the 
consumer to make an informed decision on whether to proceed 
in getting out-of-network care. They state that the rule addresses 
this concern. 
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Agency Response: The department recognizes these concerns 
but does not agree that changes to the proposed rule text are 
necessary and declines to revise the proposed rule. The depart-
ment notes that requesting a waiver is entirely optional on the 
part of the provider or facility. 
As other commenters recognize, the 10-business day timeframe 
provides an enrollee the opportunity to contact their health ben-
efit plan or administrator and request assistance to improve the 
accuracy of the cost estimate. The time also may allow an en-
rollee to consider alternatives to the out-of-network provider. 
The 10-business day requirement provides strong balance 
billing protection, consistent with the intent of SB 1264. A 
shorter timeframe or an enrollee waiver exception would erode 
the strong balance billing prohibitions created by the Legisla-
ture. SB 1264 prohibits many out-of-network providers from 
balance billing patients except in a very narrow set of circum-
stances. The statute provides new payment regulations to 
benefit out-of-network providers, including the possibility of dis-
pute resolution. The department acknowledges the notice and 
disclosure procedures are not as simple or expedient as medical 
informed consent, but the framework of SB 1264 assumes that 
these waivers will not be the default billing scenario. There is a 
tradeoff between enrollee balance billing protection and status 
quo disruption, but SB 1264 requires a strong consideration of 
consumer protection. 
Comment: Several commenters express concerns with the 
record retention requirement in proposed §21.4903(d). Some 
commenters state that the record retention requirement is not 
authorized by statute and that the department has no author-
ity to impose it. Some commenters suggest that the rule be 
amended to allow the provider's agent or assignee to maintain 
and provide a copy of a signed and dated notice and disclosure 
statement. The commenters also suggest that the proposed 
rule is overbroad because it could require a provider to maintain 
the record even if the provider does not perform the service or 
balance ball the enrollee. The commenters also have concerns 
that the proposed rule would require a provider to provide a 
copy of the signed notice and disclosure statement on the same 
date the statement is signed, even if the enrollee signs the 
statement but does not immediately provide it to the provider. 
The commenters also recommend language that clarifies that a 
provider's failure to maintain a copy of the notice and disclosure 
statement or to provide a copy to the enrollee does not disqualify 
a provider from eligibility for the balance billing exception. 
Two commenters support §21.4903(d) and state that it is impor-
tant that the provider both give a copy of the signed statement 
to the patient and retain a copy for long enough that all billing, 
payments, and any disputes would have been resolved. 
Agency Response: The department agrees to revise the pro-
posed rule in response to some of the comments. The depart-
ment believes it is reasonable to permit a provider's agent or 
assignee to maintain a signed notice and disclosure statement, 
and the proposed language is amended accordingly. 
The department also agrees with the commenters that a provider 
need not maintain a signed statement if the provider ultimately 
does not perform the medical service or supply or balance bill 
the enrollee. The proposed language is amended accordingly. 
The department also agrees with the commenters to amend the 
proposed language to clarify that a provider must give the en-
rollee a copy of the signed statement on the same date the 
signed statement is provided to the provider by the enrollee. 

The department does not agree that proposed §21.4903(d) ex-
ceeds the department's statutory authority. The proposed rule 
interprets and implements the consumer protections imbedded 
in SB 1264 and is consistent with the statute. The existence of 
a signed statement is key to determining whether the balance 
billing prohibition was properly waived, thus it is proper to re-
quire providers to maintain that document for a reasonable pe-
riod of time. The department further notes that the cost to main-
tain these documents is expected to be negligible. Providers al-
ready maintain patients' health and billings records, and the new 
notice and disclosure statement form may be stored with other 
documents commonly used by providers. 
The department also declines to amend the proposed language 
to clarify the consequences to a provider for failing to maintain a 
copy of the notice and disclosure statement or provide a copy of 
the signed statement to the enrollee. The regulatory agency that 
licenses the provider is responsible for enforcing the proposed 
rules and determining sanctions or penalties where appropriate. 
Comment on §21.4903(f): Several commenters note that a 
provider should be permitted to participate in SB 1264's dispute 
resolution process if the provider decides not to balance bill, 
receives an enrollee rescission, reschedules for a later date 
and does not balance bill, or realizes the form is defective. The 
commenters suggest revised language to amend §21.4903(f) 
and a new related §21.4903(g). 
Two commenters state that they support §21.4903(f). They state 
that it ensures out-of-network providers use just one of the two 
available paths for payment in SB 1264. 
Agency Response: The department agrees to revise the pro-
posed rule in response to some of the comments. The depart-
ment believes it is reasonable to permit a provider to participate 
in the dispute resolution processes described in Insurance Code 
Chapter 1467 if an enrollee rescinds a waiver or if the elec-
tion was invalid because it does not meet the requirements of 
§21.4903(b). Changes to §21.4903(f) are made to provide clar-
ification. 
The department declines to allow a provider to receive a valid 
election under §21.4903 and then later unilaterally put it aside 
and pursue statutory dispute resolution. Once a waiver is agreed 
to, the enrollee has certain expectations. Allowing the retrospec-
tive unilateral waiver on the part of the provider might encour-
age providers to seek such waivers as a matter of routine prac-
tice. Additionally, existence of a waiver is a threshold question in 
the department's portal. The department anticipates contested 
waivers to be infrequent events. Allowing provider cancellation 
of a waiver already sought and obtained impedes the efficient 
implementation of the portal. 
Comments on §21.4904. Two commenters state that proposed 
§21.4904 ensures health plans will help patients understand 
their costs outlined in the waiver. 
Several commenters recommend that the adopted rule include 
an additional subsection to ensure that health benefit plan is-
suers and administrators are required to provide information sim-
ilar to the Insurance Code §1661.002 requirement to provide in-
formation to enrollees in order to assist providers. 
Agency Response: The department does not agree that 
changes to the proposed rule text are necessary and declines to 
revise the proposed rule. SB 1264 requires providers to provide 
a complete written disclosure to the enrollee, including specific 
mandates to disclose projected amounts for which the enrollee 
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may be responsible and the circumstances under which the 
enrollee would be responsible for those amounts. The depart-
ment recognizes that out-of-network providers may lack the 
ability to make precise predictions as to an enrollee's financial 
responsibility. However, the provider should be able to provide 
the likely billed charges. The department and other regulatory 
agencies enforcing SB 1264 have the discretion to consider the 
full context of what information an out-of-network has access 
to. The department anticipates that out-of-network providers 
will make their best efforts to provide as much information as 
possible so that the enrollees may make an informed decision. 
SB 1264 does not create a specific requirement for health bene-
fit plans to provide out-of-network enrollee financial responsibility 
information to out-of-network providers, but the department ex-
pects that health benefit plans will coordinate with out-of-network 
providers in the interest of their enrollees. 
Comments on the form 

Comment: One commenter states that the form should be writ-
ten in plain language for the consumer to make an informed de-
cision on whether to proceed with out-of-network care despite 
the potential for balance billing. 
Agency Response: The department agrees that plain language 
is important for the enrollee to make an informed decision, and 
it believes the proposed form uses plain language. 
Comment: Several commenters recommend that the "you may 
need to pay" column be eliminated and replaced with a direction 
to seek an estimate of the health benefit plan issuer's or admin-
istrator's payment and coverage information. The commenters 
state that the requirement is neither appropriate nor feasible and 
could cause delays in care. In addition, the commenters ask the 
department to add an exception to the rules for a provider's good 
faith attempt if the department adopts the form as proposed. 
One commenter also has concerns over the ability of an out-of-
network provider to obtain information necessary for the form. 
The commenter urges an exemption for out-of-network physi-
cians and their patients from the requirements to provide cost 
sharing information in situations where patients and physicians 
already have been making mutually agreeable and mutually ben-
eficial arrangements without the oversight of this new rule. 
Agency Response: The department does not agree that 
changes to the proposed form are necessary and declines to 
revise the form. SB 1264 requires a complete written disclo-
sure to the enrollee, including specific mandates to disclose 
projected amounts for which the enrollee may be responsible 
and the circumstances under which the enrollee would be 
responsible for those amounts. The department recognizes that 
out-of-network providers may lack the ability to make precise 
predictions as to an enrollee's financial responsibility. However, 
the provider should be able to provide the likely billed charges. 
The department and other regulatory agencies enforcing SB 
1264 have the discretion to consider the full context of what 
information an out-of-network provider has access to. The 
department anticipates that out-of-network providers will make 
their best efforts to provide as much information as possible so 
that the enrollees may make an informed decision. 
Comment: Several commenters recommend striking or modi-
fying many portions of the notice and disclosure form. These 
changes include amending the form title, headings, and content. 
Alternative language is suggested. 

Agency Response: The department does not agree that 
changes to the proposed form are necessary and declines to 
revise the form. As previously noted, the form was written in 
plain language so that it is easy to understand. The department 
believes that the potential financial consequences of an enrollee 
signing the form are substantial, and the form was drafted so 
that enrollees would know the legal protections they are waiving. 
The department believes that the changes proposed by the 
commenters would undercut the intent of the form. 
The department does note that the proposed rules do not prohibit 
a provider from manually entering the required information in the 
form, provided that it is legible. 
Comment: One commenter asks the department to remove 
the CPT code requirement in the waiver form. The commenter 
states that a clear description of the service should suffice. 
Agency Response: The department declines to modify this por-
tion of the form. However, the department acknowledges that 
CPT codes are the intellectual property of the American Med-
ical Association, and that not every provider uses CPT codes, 
or they may use them only selectively. The department encour-
ages supplying CPT codes where the provider can provide them 
so that the enrollee can provide the code to their health benefit 
plan for an explanation of potential costs. The regulatory agen-
cies charged with enforcing the proposed rules can determine 
whether a provider has substantially complied with the rule re-
quirements and SB 1264. 
Other comments: 
Comment: One commenter recommends that the proposed 
rules address submission of claims subject to SB 1264 to re-
quire an indication of whether or not a waiver has been obtained 
and to clarify that such information may constitute "information 
necessary for" the health plan to pay the claim for purposes of 
the timely payment provisions of SB 1264. 
One commenter asks the department to consider how insurers 
could be better held accountable for providing enrollees seeking 
out-of-network care and their physicians timely access to the in-
formation they need to make informed choices. 
Agency Response: The department declines to make a change. 
These concerns are outside the scope of the proposed rules 
because the proposed rules implement what is required by SB 
1264. Submission of claims is regulated by other provisions not 
amended by SB 1264. The department encourages health ben-
efit plans to assist providers with supplying accurate cost esti-
mates to enrollees. 
Comment: One commenter suggested that the state pass a law 
to stop insurance companies from having network policies at all 
in Texas. 
Agency Response: The department declines to make a change 
as the comment is outside the scope of the proposed rules and 
the department's authority. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The department adopts the 
new §§21.4901 - 21.4904 under Insurance Code §§36.001, 
752.003(c), and 1467.003. 
Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may 
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of the department under the Insurance Code 
and other laws of this state. 
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Insurance Code §752.0003(c) authorizes the Commissioner to 
adopt rules as necessary to implement balance billing prohibi-
tions and exceptions to those prohibitions outlined in Insurance 
Code §§1271.157, 1271.158, 1301.164, 1301.165, 1551.229, 
1551.230, 1575.172, 1575.173, 1579.110, and 1579.111. 
Insurance Code §1467.003 provides that the Commissioner may 
adopt rules as necessary to implement the Commissioner's pow-
ers and duties under Insurance Code Chapter 1467. 
§21.4901. Purpose and Applicability. 

(a) The purpose of this subchapter is to interpret and imple-
ment Insurance Code §§1271.157, 1271.158, 1301.164, 1301.165, 
1551.229, 1551.230, 1575.172, 1575.173, 1579.110, and 1579.111; 
and Insurance Code Chapter 1467. 

(b) Section 21.4903 of this title is only applicable to a covered 
nonemergency health care or medical service or supply provided by: 

(1) a facility-based provider that is not a participating 
provider for a health benefit plan, if the service or supply is provided 
at a health care facility that is a participating provider; or 

(2) a diagnostic imaging provider or laboratory service 
provider that is not a participating provider for a health benefit plan, if 
the service or supply is provided in connection with a health care or 
medical service or supply provided by a participating provider. 

§21.4903. Out-of-Network Notice and Disclosure Requirements. 

(a) For purposes of this section a "balance bill" is a bill for 
an amount greater than an applicable copayment, coinsurance, and 
deductible under an enrollee's health benefit plan, as specified in In-
surance Code §§1271.157(c), 1271.158(c), 1301.164(c), 1301.165(c), 
1551.229(c), 1551.230(c), 1575.172(c), 1575.173(c), 1579.110(c), or 
1579.111(c). 

(b) An out-of-network provider may not balance bill an en-
rollee receiving a nonemergency health care or medical service or sup-
ply, and the enrollee does not have financial responsibility for a balance 
bill, unless the enrollee elects to obtain the service or supply from the 
out-of-network provider knowing that the provider is out-of-network 
and the enrollee may be financially responsible for a balance bill. An 
enrollee's legal representative or guardian may elect on behalf of an 
enrollee. For purposes of this subsection, an enrollee elects to obtain a 
service or supply only if: 

(1) the enrollee has a meaningful choice between a partici-
pating provider for a health benefit plan issuer or administrator and an 
out-of-network provider. No meaningful choice exists if an out-of-net-
work provider was selected for or assigned to an enrollee by another 
provider or health benefit plan issuer or administrator; 

(2) the enrollee is not coerced by a provider or health ben-
efit plan issuer or administrator when making the election. A provider 
engages in coercion if the provider charges or attempts to charge a non-
refundable fee, deposit, or cancellation fee for the service or supply 
prior to the enrollee's election; and 

(3) the out-of-network provider or the agent or assignee of 
the provider provides written notice and disclosure to the enrollee and 
obtains the enrollee's written consent, as specified in subsection (c) of 
this section. 

(c) If an out-of-network provider elects to balance bill an en-
rollee, rather than participate in claim dispute resolution under Insur-
ance Code Chapter 1467 and Subchapter PP of this title, the out-of-net-
work provider or agent or assignee of the provider must provide the en-
rollee with the notice and disclosure statement specified in subsection 
(e) of this section prior to scheduling the nonemergency health care 

or medical service or supply. To be effective, the notice and disclo-
sure statement must be signed and dated by the enrollee no less than 
10 business days before the date the service or supply is performed or 
provided. The enrollee may rescind acceptance within five business 
days from the date the notice and disclosure statement was signed, as 
explained in the notice and disclosure statement form. 

(d) Each out-of-network provider, or the provider's agent or 
assignee, must maintain a copy of the notice and disclosure statement, 
signed and dated by the enrollee, for four years if the medical service 
or supply is provided and a balance bill is sent to the enrollee. The 
provider must provide the enrollee with a copy of the signed notice 
and disclosure statement on the same date the statement is received by 
the provider. 

(e) The department adopts by reference Form AH025 as 
the notice and disclosure statement to be used under this section. 
The notice and disclosure statement may not be modified, including 
its format or font size, and must be presented to an enrollee as a 
stand-alone document and not incorporated into any other document. 
The form is available from the department by accessing its website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov/forms. 

(f) A provider who seeks and obtains an enrollee's signature 
on a notice and disclosure statement under this section is not eligible to 
participate in claim dispute resolution under Insurance Code Chapter 
1467 and Subchapter PP of this title. This subsection does not apply if 
the election is defective as described by subsection (b) of this section 
or rescinded by the enrollee under subsection (c) of this section. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002284 
James Person 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: January 10, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 31. NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
CONSERVATION 

PART 10. TEXAS WATER 
DEVELOPMENT BOARD 

CHAPTER 357. REGIONAL WATER 
PLANNING 
The Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) adopts amend-
ments to §§357.10, 357.21, 357.31, 357.33, 357.34, 357.42, 
and 357.43, relating to regional water planning, without changes. 
These rules will not be republished. Sections 357.11 and 357.45 
are adopted with changes to the text as published in the Febru-
ary 28, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1317), and 
therefore, will be republished. 
BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF THE FACTUAL BASIS 
FOR THE ADOPTED AMENDMENT. 

ADOPTED RULES June 19, 2020 45 TexReg 4211 

www.tdi.texas.gov/forms


The purpose of the amendments is to implement changes from 
House Bill (HB) 807, 86th (R) Legislative Session, and to clarify 
rules to make them more understandable and uniformly applied 
by regional water planning groups (RWPGs). The specific provi-
sions being amended or added and the reasons for the amend-
ments are addressed in more detail below. 
SECTION BY SECTION DISCUSSION OF ADOPTED AMEND-
MENTS. 
Subchapter A. General Information. 

Section 357.10. Definitions and Acronyms. 

The definition of Regional Water Planning Gallons Per Capita 
Per Day is added to clarify the term as used in regional water 
planning. This definition aligns with the Texas Water Develop-
ment Board and Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
guidance document Guidance and Methodology for Reporting 
on Water Conservation and Water Use. 

The remaining sections in §357.10 are renumbered to accom-
modate the addition of §357.10(25). 
Section 357.11. Designations. 

Section 357.11(d)(7) is revised to expand the eligible partici-
pation of the small businesses interest category. The updated 
ranges are based on information collected by the U.S. Small 
Business Administration. 
Section 357.11(d)(9) is revised to remove Palo Duro River Au-
thority from the required river authority interest category. The 
authority of the Palo Duro River Authority was revised by HB 
1920 during the 85th Legislative Session by the reclassification 
of the river authority to a local water district. 
New section 357.11(k) is added to implement a change to Texas 
Water Code (TWC) §16.052 made by HB 807, 86th Legisla-
tive Session (relating to an Interregional Planning Council). The 
change requires that the Board appoint an Interregional Plan-
ning Council during each state water planning cycle. The In-
terregional Planning Council is to be considered a Governmen-
tal Body in accordance with Texas Government Code §551.001 
and must conduct business in accordance with the Texas Open 
Meetings Act. The Interregional Planning Council is also con-
sidered a Governmental Body under Texas Government Code 
§552.003 and must follow the Texas Public Information Act. 
Due to the timing of the current planning cycle, the deliverable 
date for the Council's report will be determined by the EA and will 
be no later than adoption of the 2022 State Water Plan. For state 
water plan cycles beginning with the 2027 State Water Plan, a 
deliverable date for the Council's report will occur in advance of 
the Initially Prepared Plans to allow for consideration of recom-
mendations by the RWPGs during development of their plans. 
In future planning cycles, each RWPG will be required to sub-
mit an alternate along with their nomination(s). Alternates may 
assume all responsibilities of the appointed Council member, 
should the Council member not be able to serve during their 
term, without additional Board action. Interregional Planning 
Council nominees and their alternates must be current voting 
members of the RWPG. 
The TWDB Board is required by statute to appoint the Council 
and, per statute, council members will only serve until the adop-
tion of the next state water plan. Appointed Council(s) will have 
discretion in their voting procedures. Only current voting plan-
ning group members are eligible to be appointed to the Council 

and future nominations must include alternates when submitted 
to the TWDB. It is up to each RWPG how many nominations they 
wish to submit. The TWDB does not have geographic residen-
tial requirements pertaining to regional water planning group or 
Council membership. 
Subchapter B. Guidance Principles and Notice Requirements. 

Section 357.21. Notice and Public Participation. 

Section 357.21(a) is revised to specify that the collection of cer-
tain information related to existing major water infrastructure fa-
cilities is excepted from the Public Information Act, Texas Gov-
ernment Code, Chapter 552. 
Subchapter C. Planning Activities For Needs Analysis And Strat-
egy Recommendations. 

Section 357.31. Projected Population and Water Demands. 

Section 357.31(f) is revised to clarify that Population and Wa-
ter Demand projections shall be presented for each Planning 
Decade for Water User Groups (WUG) and that Water Demand 
projections associated with Major Water Providers will be pre-
sented for each Planning Decade by category of water use. 
Section 357.33. Needs Analysis: Comparison of Water Supplies 
and Demands. 

Section 357.33(d) is revised to clarify that the reporting require-
ments for the social and economic impacts of not meeting Water 
Needs are only required for WUGs. 
Section 357.34. Identification and Evaluation of Potentially Fea-
sible Water Management Strategies and Water Management 
Strategy Projects. 

Section 357.34(e)(3)(A) is revised to correct a typographical er-
ror. 
Section 357.34(g) is added to specify the RWPGs must docu-
ment in their RWP why certain water management strategies 
were not recommended, a task that is already required of RW-
PGs by the contract scopes of work. These strategies include 
aquifer storage and recovery, seawater desalination, and brack-
ish groundwater desalination. 
Section 357.34(h) is added to implement a change to TWC 
§16.053(e)(10) made by HB 807 (relating to Aquifer Storage 
and Recovery). The change requires that RWPGs assess the 
potential for aquifer storage and recovery to meet significant 
water needs in the planning area, as identified by the RWPG. 
RWPGs are to determine the threshold of significant needs, as it 
is critical to allow for a level of flexibility in planning approaches 
to maintain the bottoms up approach to planning. Each region 
has its unique circumstances that would contribute to what 
constitutes significant needs. Requiring the RWPGs to at a 
minimum provide their methodology for determining significant 
water needs allows for appropriate discussion in the state water 
plan. 
Previous sections (g) and (h) are renumbered to (i) and (j), re-
spectively. 
Section 357.34(i)(3) is added to implement a change to TWC 
§16.053(e)(11) made by HB 807 (relating to Gallons Per Capita 
Per Day Goals). The change requires that RWPGs set specific 
gallons per capita per day goals for municipal WUGs in the plan-
ning region. The use of a drought water use condition (rather 
than an average water use condition) is adopted to align with 
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the drought condition requirements under which RWPs are de-
veloped. 
Subchapter D. Impacts, Drought Response, Policy Recommen-
dations, and Implementation. 

Section 357.42. Drought Response Information, Activities, and 
Recommendations. 

Section 357.42(b) is revised to clarify language of drought as-
sessments. 
A new section 357.42(b)(1) is added to clarify considerations 
drought assessments should include. 
A new section 357.42(b)(2) is added to implement a change to 
TWC §16.053(e)(3)(E) made by HB 807 (relating to Drought Re-
sponse Strategies). The change requires that RWPGs iden-
tify unnecessary or counterproductive variations in drought re-
sponse strategies in the planning region that may confuse the 
public or impede drought response efforts. Additional informa-
tion will be provided in guidance. 
Section 357.42(d) is revised to remove the requirement that the 
collection of information related to existing major water infra-
structure facilities be collected in a closed meeting, to comply 
with Texas Open Meeting Act requirements and to clarify the min-
imum content required to be presented in the RWPs. 
Section 357.43. Regulatory, Administrative, or Legislative Rec-
ommendations. 

Section 357.43(b)(2) is revised to clarify that the RWPG shall 
assess the impact of the RWP on unique stream segments that 
have been designated by the legislature during a session that 
ends not less than one year before the required date of submittal 
of an adopted RWP to the Board, by any previous legislative 
session, or recommended as a unique river or stream segment 
in the RWP. 
Section 357.43(d) is revised to implement a change to TWC 
§16.053(i) made by HB 807 (relating to Recommendations to Im-
prove the Water Planning Process). The change specifies that 
RWPs may include recommendations the RWPG believes would 
improve the planning process. 
Section 357.45. Implementation and Comparison to Previous 
Regional Water Plan. 

Section 357.45(b) is added to implement a change to TWC 
§16.053(e)(12) made by HB 807 (relating to Regionalization). 
The change requires that the RWPGs assess the progress of 
regionalization in the planning area. 
Previous section 357.34(b) is renumbered to (c). 
REGULATORY IMPACT ANALYSIS DETERMINATION 

The board reviewed the rulemaking in light of the regulatory anal-
ysis requirements of Texas Government Code §2001.0225, and 
determined that the rulemaking is not subject to Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2001.0225, because it does not meet the definition 
of a "major environmental rule" as defined in the Administrative 
Procedure Act. A "major environmental rule" is defined as a rule 
with the specific intent to protect the environment or reduce risks 
to human health from environmental exposure, a rule that may 
adversely affect in amaterial way the economy or a sector of the 
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the 
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The 
intent of the rulemaking is to implement legislative changes and 

provide greater clarity regarding the TWDB's rules related to re-
gional water planning. 
Even if the rule were a major environmental rule, Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2001.0225 still would not apply to this rulemaking 
because Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 only applies to 
a major environmental rule, the result of which is to: (1) exceed 
a standard set by federal law, unless the rule is specifically re-
quired by state law; (2) exceed an express requirement of state 
law, unless the rule is specifically required by federal law; (3) 
exceed a requirement of a delegation agreement or contract be-
tween the state and an agency or representative of the federal 
government to implement a state and federal program; or (4) 
adopt a rule solely under the general powers of the agency in-
stead of under a specific state law. This rulemaking does not 
meet any of these four applicability criteria because it: (1) does 
not exceed any federal law; (2) does not exceed an express re-
quirement of state law; (3) does not exceed a requirement of 
a delegation agreement or contract between the state and an 
agency or representative of the federal government to implement 
a state and federal program; and (4) is not adopted solely under 
the general powers of the agency, but rather Texas Water Code 
§16.053. Therefore, this rule does not fall under any of the ap-
plicability criteria in Texas Government Code, §2001.0225. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The board evaluated this adopted rule and performed an anal-
ysis of whether it constitutes a taking under Texas Government 
Code, Chapter 2007. The specific purpose of this rule is to im-
plement legislative changes and clarify existing rules to make 
them more understandable. The rule substantially advances 
this stated purpose by adding language related to legislative 
changes and clarifying existing language related to regional wa-
ter planning. 
The board's analysis indicates that Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2007 does not apply to this rule because this is an ac-
tion that is reasonably taken to fulfill an obligation mandated 
by state law, which is exempt under Texas Government Code, 
§2007.003(b)(4). The board is the agency that administers the 
regional water planning process in order to develop a state water 
plan. 
Nevertheless, the board further evaluated this rule and per-
formed an assessment of whether it constitutes a taking under 
Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. Promulgation and 
enforcement of this adopted rule would be neither a statutory 
nor a constitutional taking of private real property. Specifically, 
the subject adopted regulation does not affect a landowner's 
rights in private real property because this rulemaking does 
not burden nor restrict or limit the owner's right to property 
and reduce its value by 25% or more beyond that which would 
otherwise exist in the absence of the regulation. In other words, 
this rule requires compliance with state law regarding the state 
water planning process. Therefore, the rule does not constitute 
a taking under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS 

The following written comments were received from the Central 
Texas Water Coalition (CTWC), Freese and Nichols, Inc. (FNI), 
and HDR Engineering, Inc. (HDR). 
Comment 

The CTWC commented that TWDB rules should provide ad-
ditional guidance and structure on membership and operation 
of RWPGs. The CTWC provided recommendations on term 
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limits, residency requirements, interest category requirements, 
teleconference allowances for committee meetings, and require-
ments for procurement of technical consultants. 
Response 

The TWDB notes that these comments are not in response to 
any specific proposed rule change, but rather the comment is 
requesting the addition of a new rules. No change has been 
made in response to this comment. 
Regarding 

Section 357.10. Definitions and Acronyms. 
Comment 

FNI commented that a formal definition of Regional Water Plan-
ning Gallons Per Capita Per Day is a welcome addition to Chap-
ter 357. FNI recommends revising the proposed definition to in-
clude reclaimed water and seawater desalination used to meet 
municipal water demands in the calculation of Regional Water 
Planning Gallons Per Capita Per Day since the current planning 
cycle includes demands for reclaimed water and that interest in 
innovative supply approaches such as desalination has contin-
ued to grow. 
Response 

Municipal water demands developed by the TWDB do not in-
clude reuse or brackish groundwater sources. The proposed 
definition maintains consistency with the existing definition es-
tablished by the TWDB and Texas Commission on Environmen-
tal Quality in consultation with the Texas Water Conservation Ad-
visory Council. If guidance on definitions are updated in the fu-
ture, stakeholder input will be solicited. No change has been 
made in response to this comment. 
Regarding 

Section 357.11. Designations. 
Comment 

CTWC commented that the proposed addition to §357.11(k) re-
garding the Interregional Planning Council lacks specificity on 
membership and nominations. 
Response 

Further clarification on membership and nominations for the In-
terregional Planning Council is provided in the "Section by Sec-
tion Analysis." No changes have been made to the rule in re-
sponse to this comment. 
Comment 

The CTWC questioned the timing feasibility of the first Interre-
gional Planning Council to deliver their report to the TWDB by 
October 14, 2020. HDR commented that the proposed deadline 
for the Interregional Planning Council to submit its recommenda-
tion report to the TWDB six months prior to the Initially Prepared 
Plan deadline appears reasonable, however if the RWPGs are 
expected to evaluate and respond to the report, more time may 
be necessary. 
Response 

The Board agrees that additional time may be warranted for the 
Council to submit a report to the TWDB this cycle, and that addi-
tional time may be warranted for RWPGs to consider and re-
spond to recommendations from the Council in future cycles. 
The adopted rule language for Section 357.11(k)(5) is revised to: 

For the planning cycle of the 2022 State Water Plan, the Coun-
cil's report shall be delivered to the Board by a date established 
by the EA, which will be no later than adoption of the 2022 State 
Water Plan. Beginning with the planning cycle for the 2027 State 
Water Plan and each planning cycle thereafter, the report shall 
be delivered to the Board no later than one year prior to the IPP 
deliverable date for the corresponding State Water Plan cycle, 
as set in regional water planning contracts. 

Comment 

CTWC encouraged the TWDB to facilitate the Interregional Plan-
ning Council and identify and discuss issues to be addressed by 
the Interregional Planning Council. 
Response 

The Board acknowledges and appreciates this comment. No 
changes have been made in response to this comment. 
Comment 

FNI commented that it supports the proposed addition of Sec-
tion 357.11(k) regarding the Interregional Planning Council. FNI 
commented that the new language clearly defines primary re-
quirements while allowing the Council necessary flexibility in de-
termining meeting schedules and report contents, which may 
vary within and among planning cycles. 
Response 

The Board acknowledges and appreciates this comment. No 
changes have been made in response to this comment. 
Regarding 

Section 357.34. Identification and Evaluation of Potentially Fea-
sible Water Management Strategies and Water Management 
Strategy Projects. 
Comment 

CTWC requested the TWDB to explain why the proposed 
§357.34(g) allows each RWPG to set the threshold for signifi-
cant identified water needs in the planning area and questioned 
how information that is not uniformly consistent be presented in 
the state water plan. 
Response 

Further clarification on significant identified water needs is pro-
vided in the "Section by Section Analysis." No changes have 
been made to the rule in response to this comment. 
Comment 

FNI commented that it supports the proposed addition to 
§357.34(g) and (h) regarding aquifer storage and recovery. FNI 
provided recommendations for future contract guidance and 
future grant funding. 
Response 

The Board acknowledges this comment. No changes have been 
made in response to this comment. 
Comment 

FNI commented that it supports the proposed addition to 
§357.34(i)(3) regarding gallons per capita per day goals. 
Response 

The Board acknowledges this comment. No changes have been 
made in response to this comment. 
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Regarding 

Section 357.42. Drought Response Information, Activities, and 
Recommendations. 
Comment 

CTWC commented that they support the proposed addition to 
§357.42(b) regarding the identification of unnecessary or coun-
terproductive variations in drought response strategies. CTWC 
commented that the proposed rule as written appears to apply 
only to municipal water user groups and requested that the pro-
posed revisions are clarified to encompass all water user groups. 
Response 

The proposed rule does not limit RWPGs from identifying 
drought response strategies from non-municipal water user 
groups. No changes have been made in response to this 
comment. 
Comment 

FNI commented that the proposed addition to §357.42(b) regard-
ing the identification of unnecessary or counterproductive varia-
tions in drought response strategies appears to set a reasonable 
minimum requirement and allows for RWPG flexibility. 
Response 

The Board acknowledges this comment. No changes have been 
made in response to this comment. 
Regarding 

Section 357.45. Implementation and Comparison to Previous 
Regional Water Plan. 
Comment 

FNI commented that it supports the proposed addition to 
§357.45(b) regarding an assessment of regionalization. 
Response 

The Board acknowledges this comment. No changes have been 
made in response to this comment. 
Comment 

HDR provided the following suggested revision to the proposed 
language in §357.45(b)(2) regarding an assessment of region-
alization: "The number of implemented WMSs recommended in 
the previous RWP that have been implemented since the previ-
ously adopted RWP that serve more than one WUG,". 
Response 

The Board agrees that clarification on this rule is warranted. 
The rule is revised in response to this comment to clarify that 
the regionalization assessment of implemented water manage-
ment strategies (WMS) in the previously adopted plan is spe-
cific to recommended WMS in the previous plan. In response to 
this, the adopted rule language for Section 357.45(b)(2)) is re-
vised to: The number of recommended WMSs in the previously 
adopted RWP that serve more than one WUG and have been 
implemented since the previously adopted RWP; and. 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL INFORMATION 
31 TAC §357.10, §357.11 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under the authority of §6.101, which 
provides the TWDB with the authority to adopt rules necessary 

to carry out the powers and duties in the Water Code and other 
laws of the State, and also under the authority of Water Code 
§§16.052 and 16.053. 
This rulemaking affects Water Code, Chapter 16. 
§357.11. Designations. 

(a) The Board shall review and update the designations of RW-
PAs as necessary but at least every five years, on its own initiative or 
upon recommendation of the EA. The Board shall provide 30 days no-
tice of its intent to amend the designations of RWPAs by publication 
of the proposed change in the Texas Register and by mailing the notice 
to each mayor of a municipality with a population of 1,000 or more or 
which is a county seat that is located in whole or in part in the RW-
PAs proposed to be impacted, to each water district or river authority 
located in whole or in part in the RWPA based upon lists of such wa-
ter districts and river authorities obtained from the Commission, and to 
each county judge of a county located in whole or in part in the RW-
PAs proposed to be impacted. After the 30 day notice period, the Board 
shall hold a public hearing at a location to be determined by the Board 
before making any changes to the designation of an RWPA. 

(b) If upon boundary review the Board determines that revi-
sions to the boundaries are necessary, the Board shall designate areas 
for which RWPs shall be developed, taking into consideration factors 
such as: 

(1) River basin and aquifer delineations; 

(2) Water utility development patterns; 

(3) Socioeconomic characteristics; 

(4) Existing RWPAs; 

(5) Political Subdivision boundaries; 

(6) Public comment; and 

(7) Other factors the Board deems relevant. 

(c) After an initial coordinating body for a RWPG is named 
by the Board, the RWPGs shall adopt, by two-thirds vote, bylaws that 
are consistent with provisions of this chapter. Within 30 days after the 
Board names members of the initial coordinating body, the EA shall 
provide to each member of the initial coordinating body a set of model 
bylaws which the RWPG shall consider. The RWPG shall provide 
copies of its bylaws and any revisions thereto to the EA. The bylaws 
adopted by the RWPG shall at a minimum address the following ele-
ments: 

(1) definition of a quorum necessary to conduct business; 

(2) method to be used to approve items of business includ-
ing adoption of RWPs or amendments thereto; 

(3) methods to be used to name additional members; 

(4) terms and conditions of membership; 

(5) methods to record minutes and where minutes will be 
archived as part of the public record; and 

(6) methods to resolve disputes between RWPG members 
on matters coming before the RWPG. 

(d) RWPGs shall maintain at least one representative of each 
of the following interest categories as voting members of the RWPG. 
However, if an RWPA does not have an interest category below, then 
the RWPG shall so advise the EA and no membership designation is 
required. 
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(1) Public, defined as those persons or entities having no 
economic interest in the interests represented by paragraphs (2) - (12) 
of this subsection other than as a normal consumer; 

(2) Counties, defined as the county governments for the 
254 counties in Texas; 

(3) Municipalities, defined as governments of cities created 
or organized under the general, home-rule, or special laws of the state; 

(4) Industries, defined as corporations, partnerships, sole 
proprietorships, or other legal entities that are formed for the purpose 
of making a profit and which produce or manufacture goods or services 
and which are not small businesses; 

(5) Agricultural interests, defined as those persons or enti-
ties associated with production or processing of plant or animal prod-
ucts; 

(6) Environmental interests, defined as those persons or 
groups advocating the conservation of the state's natural resources, 
including but not limited to soil, water, air, and living resources; 

(7) Small businesses, defined as corporations, partnerships, 
sole proprietorships, or other legal entities that are formed for the pur-
pose of making a profit, are independently owned and operated, and 
have fewer than 500 employees or less than $10 million in gross an-
nual receipts; 

(8) Electric generating utilities, defined as any persons, 
corporations, cooperative corporations, or any combination thereof, 
meeting each of the following three criteria: own or operate for 
compensation equipment or facilities which produce or generate 
electricity; produce or generate electricity for either wholesale or retail 
sale to others; and are neither a municipal corporation nor a river 
authority; 

(9) River authorities, defined as any districts or authorities 
created by the legislature which contain areas within their boundaries 
of one or more counties and which are governed by boards of directors 
appointed or designated in whole or part by the governor or board, 
including, without limitation, San Antonio River Authority; 

(10) Water districts, defined as any districts or authorities, 
created under authority of either Texas Constitution, Article III, 
§52(b)(1) and (2), or Article XVI, §59 including districts having the 
authority to regulate the spacing of or production from water wells, 
but not including river authorities; 

(11) Water utilities, defined as any persons, corporations, 
cooperative corporations, or any combination thereof that provide wa-
ter supplies for compensation except for municipalities, river authori-
ties, or water districts; and 

(12) Groundwater management areas, defined as a single 
representative for each groundwater management area that is at least 
partially located within an RWPA. Defined as a representative from a 
groundwater conservation district that is appointed by the groundwater 
conservation districts within the associated groundwater management 
area. 

(e) The RWPGs shall add the following non-voting members, 
who shall receive meeting notifications and information in the same 
manner as voting members: 

(1) Staff member of the Board to be designated by the EA; 

(2) Staff member of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Depart-
ment designated by its executive director; 

(3) Member designated by each adjacent RWPG to serve 
as a liaison; 

(4) One or more persons to represent those entities with 
headquarters located in another RWPA and which holds surface water 
rights authorizing a diversion of 1,000 acre-feet a year or more in the 
RWPA, which supplies water under contract in the amount of 1,000 
acre-feet a year or more to entities in the RWPA, or which receives 
water under contract in the amount of 1,000 acre-feet a year or more 
from the RWPA; 

(5) Staff member of the Texas Department of Agriculture 
designated by its commissioner; and 

(6) Staff member of the State Soil and Water Conservation 
Board designated by its executive director. 

(f) Each RWPG shall provide a current list of its members to 
the EA; the list shall identify the interest represented by each member 
including interests required in subsection (d) of this section. 

(g) Each RWPG, at its discretion, may at any time add addi-
tional voting and non-voting representatives to serve on the RWPG for 
any new interest category, including additional representatives of those 
interests already listed in subsection (d) of this section that the RWPG 
considers appropriate for water planning. 

(h) Each RWPG, at its discretion, may remove individual vot-
ing or non-voting members or eliminate RWPG representative posi-
tions in accordance with the RWPG bylaws as long as minimum re-
quirements of RWPG membership are maintained in accordance with 
subsection (d) of this section. 

(i) RWPGs may enter into formal and informal agreements 
to coordinate, avoid conflicts, and share information with other RW-
PGs or any other interests within any RWPA for any purpose the RW-
PGs consider appropriate including expediting or making more effi-
cient water planning efforts. These efforts may involve any portion of 
the RWPG membership. Any plans or information developed through 
these efforts by RWPGs or by committees may be included in an RWP 
only upon approval of the RWPG. 

(j) Upon request, the EA will provide technical assistance to 
RWPGs, including on water supply and demand analysis, methods to 
evaluate the social and economic impacts of not meeting needs, and re-
garding Drought Management Measures and water conservation prac-
tices. 

(k) The Board shall appoint an Interregional Planning Council 
during each state water planning cycle. The Interregional Planning 
Council will be subject to the following provisions: 

(1) The Interregional Planning Council consists of one vot-
ing member from each RWPG, as appointed by the Board. 

(2) Upon request by the EA, each RWPG shall submit at 
least one nomination for appointment, including a designated alternate 
for each nomination. 

(3) Interregional Planning Council members will serve un-
til adoption of the State Water Plan. 

(4) The Interregional Planning Council, during each plan-
ning cycle to develop the State Water Plan, shall hold at least one public 
meeting and deliver a report to the Board. The report format may be 
determined by the Council. The report at a minimum shall include a 
summary of the dates the Council convened, the actions taken, minutes 
of the meetings, and any recommendations for the Board's considera-
tion, based on the Council's work. Meeting frequency, location, and 
additional report content shall be determined by the Council. 

(5) For the planning cycle of the 2022 State Water Plan, the 
Council's report shall be delivered to the Board by a date established 
by the EA, which will be no later than adoption of the 2022 State Water 
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Plan. Beginning with the planning cycle for the 2027 State Water Plan 
and each planning cycle thereafter, the report shall be delivered to the 
Board no later than one year prior to the IPP deliverable date for the 
corresponding State Water Plan cycle, as set in regional water planning 
contracts. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002298 
Ashley Harden 
General Counsel 
Texas Water Development Board 
Effective date: June 28, 2020 
Proposal publication date: February 28, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7686 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER B. GUIDANCE PRINCIPLES 
AND NOTICE REQUIREMENTS 
31 TAC §357.21 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under the authority of §6.101, which 
provides the TWDB with the authority to adopt rules necessary 
to carry out the powers and duties in the Water Code and other 
laws of the State, and also under the authority of Water Code 
§§16.052 and 16.053. 
This rulemaking affects Water Code, Chapter 16. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002299 
Ashley Harden 
General Counsel 
Texas Water Development Board 
Effective date: June 28, 2020 
Proposal publication date: February 28, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7686 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. PLANNING ACTIVITIES 
FOR NEEDS ANALYSIS AND STRATEGY 
31 TAC §§357.31, 357.33, 357.34 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under the authority of §6.101, which 
provides the TWDB with the authority to adopt rules necessary 
to carry out the powers and duties in the Water Code and other 
laws of the State, and also under the authority of Water Code 
§§16.052 and 16.053. 
This rulemaking affects Water Code, Chapter 16. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002301 
Ashley Harden 
General Counsel 
Texas Water Development Board 
Effective date: June 28, 2020 
Proposal publication date: February 28, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7686 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER D. IMPACTS, DROUGHT 
RESPONSE, POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS, 
AND IMPLEMENTATION 
31 TAC §§357.42, 357.43, 357.45 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under the authority of §6.101, which 
provides the TWDB with the authority to adopt rules necessary 
to carry out the powers and duties in the Water Code and other 
laws of the State, and also under the authority of Water Code 
§§16.052 and 16.053. 
This rulemaking affects Water Code, Chapter 16. 
§357.45. Implementation and Comparison to Previous Regional Wa-
ter Plan. 

(a) RWPGs shall describe the level of implementation of pre-
viously recommended WMSs and associated impediments to imple-
mentation in accordance with guidance provided by the board. Infor-
mation on the progress of implementation of all WMSs that were rec-
ommended in the previous RWP, including conservation and Drought 
Management WMSs; and the implementation of WMSPs that have af-
fected progress in meeting the state's future water needs. 

(b) RWPGs shall assess the progress of the RWPA in en-
couraging cooperation between WUGs for the purpose of achieving 
economies of scale and otherwise incentivizing WMSs that benefit the 
entire RWPA. This assessment of regionalization shall include: 

(1) The number of recommended WMSs in the previously 
adopted and current RWPs that serve more than one WUG; 

(2) The number of recommended WMSs in the previously 
adopted RWP that serve more than one WUG and have been imple-
mented since the previously adopted RWP; and. 

(3) A description of efforts the RWPG has made to encour-
age WMSs and WMSPs that serve more than one WUG, and that ben-
efit the entire region. 

(c) RWPGs shall provide a brief summary of how the RWP 
differs from the previously adopted RWP with regards to: 

(1) Water Demand projections; 

(2) Drought of Record and hydrologic and modeling as-
sumptions used in planning for the region; 

(3) Groundwater and surface water Availability, Existing 
Water Supplies, and identified Water Needs for WUGs and WWPs; and 

(4) Recommended and Alternative WMSs and WMSPs. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 8, 2020. 
TRD-202002302 
Ashley Harden 
General Counsel 
Texas Water Development Board 
Effective date: June 28, 2020 
Proposal publication date: February 28, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-7686 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE 

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC 
ACCOUNTS 

CHAPTER 5. FUNDS MANAGEMENT 
(FISCAL AFFAIRS) 
SUBCHAPTER C. CLAIMS PROCESSING--
TRAVEL VOUCHERS 
34 TAC §5.22 

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to 
§5.22 concerning state of Texas travel guidance, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the April 24, 2020, 
issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 2689). The rule will not 
be republished. 
The amendment to subsection (a) changes "Web site" to "web-
site" to conform with current spelling of the term and to be con-
sistent with the way the term is spelled in Chapter 5. 
The amendments to subsection (b)(3) clarify that a state agency 
may not reimburse a state employee for any costs or expenses 
in excess of those incurred for official travel that result from a 
state employee's personal preference or convenience. 

The amendments to subsection (b)(4) clarify that a state agency 
may not reimburse a state employee for a travel expense in-
curred by or on behalf of another state employee, except under 
the circumstances specified in this subsection. 
The amendments to subsection (g)(2)(B) and (C) require point-
to-point mileage to be documented by an employee's vehicle 
odometer reading or by the single, readily available electronic 
mapping service selected by the employee's agency, institution 
of higher education, or other entity required to comply with Gov-
ernment Code, Chapter 660, and adopted by internal policy of 
the agency, institution, or entity. 
The amendments to subsection (j)(1)(C) change "Texas Procure-
ment and Support Services" to "comptroller's Statewide Procure-
ment Division" because the name of that division has changed. 
The comptroller did not receive any comments regarding adop-
tion of the amendments. 
The amendments are adopted under Government Code, 
§660.021, which authorizes the comptroller to adopt rules 
relating to the administration of Government Code, Chapter 
660, concerning travel expenses, and the travel provisions of 
the General Appropriations Act. 
The amendments implement Government Code, Chapter 660, 
concerning travel expenses. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 5, 2020. 
TRD-202002280 
Victoria North 
General Counsel for Fiscal and Agency Affairs 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Effective date: June 25, 2020 
Proposal publication date: April 24, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-2220 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

Adopted Rule Reviews 
Office of the Governor 
Title 1, Part 1 

The Texas Crime Stoppers Council (Council) has completed the rule 
review of Texas Administrative Code Title 1, Part 1, Chapter 3, Sub-
chapter H, Texas Crime Stoppers Program, in its entirety. The rule 
review was conducted under Texas Government Code §2001.039. 

Notice of this review of Subchapter H was published in the January 
3, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 161). The Council 
received no comments in response to that notice. 

As a result of the rule review, the Council finds that the reasons for 
initially adopting Subchapter H continue to exist and therefore read-

opts Subchapter H as amended in the March 20, 2020, issue of the 
Texas Register (45 TexReg 1975), in accordance with Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.039. 

This concludes the review of Subchapter H. 
TRD-202002333 
Margie Fernandez-Prew 
Director, Texas Crime Stoppers Council 
Office of the Governor 
Filed: June 10, 2020 
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Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Local Sales Tax Rate Changes Effective July 1, 2020 
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TRD-202002278 
William Hamner 
Special Counsel for Tax Administration 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Filed: June 4, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner 
Notice of Rate Ceilings 
The Consumer Credit Commissioner of Texas has ascertained the fol-
lowing rate ceilings by use of the formulas and methods described in 
§303.003 and §303.009, Texas Finance Code. 

The weekly ceiling as prescribed by §303.003 and §303.009 
for the period of 06/15/20 - 06/21/20 is 18% for Con-
sumer1/Agricultural/Commercial2 credit through $250,000. 

The weekly ceiling as prescribed by §303.003 and §303.009 for the 
period of 06/15/20 - 06/21/20 is 18% for Commercial over $250,000. 
1 Credit for personal, family or household use. 
2 Credit for business, commercial, investment or other similar purpose. 
TRD-202002326 
Leslie L. Pettijohn 
Commissioner 
Officer of Consumer Credit Commissioner 
Filed: June 9, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Agreed Orders 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commis-
sion) staff is providing an opportunity for written public comment on 
the listed Agreed Orders (AOs) in accordance with Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §7.075. TWC, §7.075, requires that before the commission 
may approve the AOs, the commission shall allow the public an op-
portunity to submit written comments on the proposed AOs. TWC, 
§7.075, requires that notice of the proposed orders and the opportunity 
to comment must be published in the Texas Register no later than the 
30th day before the date on which the public comment period closes, 
which in this case is July 20, 2020. TWC, §7.075, also requires that 
the commission promptly consider any written comments received and 
that the commission may withdraw or withhold approval of an AO if a 
comment discloses facts or considerations that indicate that consent is 
inappropriate, improper, inadequate, or inconsistent with the require-
ments of the statutes and rules within the commissions jurisdiction or 
the commissions orders and permits issued in accordance with the com-
missions regulatory authority. Additional notice of changes to a pro-
posed AO is not required to be published if those changes are made in 
response to written comments. 

A copy of each proposed AO is available for public inspection at both 
the commissions central office, located at 12100 Park 35 Circle, Build-
ing C, 1st Floor, Austin, Texas 78753, (512) 239-2545 and at the ap-
plicable regional office listed as follows. Written comments about an 
AO should be sent to the enforcement coordinator designated for each 
AO at the commission's central office at P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711-3087 and must be received by 5:00 p.m. on July 20, 2020. Writ-
ten comments may also be sent by facsimile machine to the enforce-
ment coordinator at (512) 239-2550. The commission's enforcement 
coordinators are available to discuss the AOs and/or the comment pro-
cedure at the listed phone numbers; however, TWC, §7.075, provides 

that comments on the AOs shall be submitted to the commission in 
writing. 

(1) COMPANY: All Paws Go To Heaven, LLC; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2019-1444-MLM-E; IDENTIFIER: RN104271523; LOCATION: 
McKinney, Collin County; TYPE OF FACILITY: pet crematory; 
RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §116.115(c), New Source Review 
(NSR) Permit Number 152484, Special Conditions (SC) Number 4, 
and Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), §382.085(b), by failing to 
post the manufacturers recommended operating instructions at each 
incinerator; 30 TAC §116.115(c), NSR Permit Number 152484, SC 
Number 6, and THSC, §382.085(b), by failing to incinerate carcasses 
within two hours of receipt, unless stored at or below a temperature 
of 29 degrees Fahrenheit; 30 TAC §116.115(c), NSR Permit Num-
ber 152484, SC Number 9.C, and THSC, §382.085(b), by failing 
to weigh each batch load by a scale prior to incineration; 30 TAC 
§116.115(c), NSR Permit No. 152484, SC Number 10, and THSC, 
§382.085(b), by failing to maintain a minimum secondary chamber 
temperature of 1,600 degrees Fahrenheit for the incinerators; 30 TAC 
§116.115(c), NSR Permit Number 152484, SC Number 10.A, and 
THSC, §382.085(b), by failing to maintain equipment to continuously 
record the secondary chamber temperature for each incinerator at the 
exit of the secondary chamber whenever the incinerator is operating; 
30 TAC §116.115(c), NSR Permit Number 152484, SC Number 10.B, 
and THSC, §382.085(b), by failing to maintain the exit temperature 
of the secondary chamber for the incinerator at or above 1,600 de-
grees Fahrenheit before the first charge of carcasses is fired; 30 TAC 
§116.115(c), NSR Permit Number 152484, SC Number 13.A, and 
THSC, §382.085(b), by failing to equip each incinerator with a contin-
uous opacity monitoring system to monitor and record any opacity in 
excess of the opacity limits; 30 TAC §116.115(c), NSR Permit Number 
152484, SC Number 14, and THSC, §382.085(b), by failing to store 
ash from the unit in a closed container until transported and disposed 
of; 30 TAC §116.115(c), NSR Permit Number 152484, SC Numbers 
19.A, 19.B, and 19.E, and THSC, §382.085(b), by failing to maintain 
records; and 30 TAC §330.7(a), by failing to obtain a permit or other 
authorization prior to conducting storage, processing, or disposal 
of municipal solid waste; PENALTY: $22,750; ENFORCEMENT 
COORDINATOR: Richard Garza, (512) 239-2697; REGIONAL 
OFFICE: 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76118-6951, (817) 
588-5800. 

(2) COMPANY: Aqua Texas, Incorporated; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2020-0260-MWD-E; IDENTIFIER: RN102179363; LOCATION: 
Houston, Harris County; TYPE OF FACILITY: wastewater treat-
ment facility; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §305.125(1), TWC, 
§26.121(a)(1), and Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
Permit Number WQ0012222001, Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 
Requirements Number 1., by failing to comply with permitted effluent 
limitations; PENALTY: $1,437; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: 
Stephanie Frederick, (512) 239-1001; REGIONAL OFFICE: 5425 
Polk Street, Suite H, Houston, Texas 77023-1452, (713) 767-3500. 

(3) COMPANY: Aqua Utilities, Incorporated; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2019-1696-PWS-E; IDENTIFIER: RN102693215; LOCATION: 
Joshua, Johnson County; TYPE OF FACILITY: public water sys-
tem; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §290.45(b)(1)(C)(i) and Texas 
Health and Safety Code, §341.0315(c), by failing to provide a well 
capacity of 0.6 gallons per minute per connection; PENALTY: 
$157; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Ronica Rodriguez, (361) 
825-3425; REGIONAL OFFICE: 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, 
Texas 76118-6951, (817) 588-5800. 

(4) COMPANY: Ashley and Fagan Investments Co. Incorporated dba 
Rio Brazos Water System; DOCKET NUMBER: 2020-0265-PWS-E; 
IDENTIFIER: RN103105805; LOCATION: Snyder, Kent County; 
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TYPE OF FACILITY: public water supply; RULES VIOLATED: 30 
TAC §290.41(c)(3)(K), by failing to provide a well casing vent with 
an opening that is covered with a 16-mesh or finer corrosion-resistant 
screen, facing downward, elevated, and located so as to minimize the 
drawing of contaminants into the well; 30 TAC §290.41(c)(3)(M), 
by failing to provide a suitable sampling cock on the discharge pipe 
of the facility's well pump prior to treatment at Well Number 2; 30 
TAC §290.46(e) and Texas Health and Safety Code, §341.033(a), by 
failing to use a water works operator who holds an applicable, valid 
license issued by the executive director (ED); 30 TAC §290.46(f)(2) 
and (3)(A)(iv), by failing to maintain water works operation and 
maintenance records and make them readily available for review by 
the ED upon request; 30 TAC §290.46(m)(4), by failing to maintain 
all water treatment units, storage and pressure maintenance facilities, 
distribution system lines, and related appurtenances in a watertight 
condition; 30 TAC §290.46(m)(6), by failing to maintain all pumps, 
motors, valves, and other mechanical devices in good working con-
dition; and 30 TAC §290.46(n)(2), by failing to make available an 
accurate and up-to-date map of the distribution system so that valves 
and mains can be easily located during emergencies; PENALTY: 
$1,431; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Ryan Byer, (512) 
239-2571; REGIONAL OFFICE: 1977 Industrial Boulevard, Abilene, 
Texas 79602-7833, (325) 698-9674. 

(5) COMPANY: Blanchard Refining Company LLC; DOCKET NUM-
BER: 2018-1308-AIR-E; IDENTIFIER: RN102535077; LOCATION: 
Texas City, Galveston County; TYPE OF FACILITY: petroleum 
refinery; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §§101.20(3), 116.115(c), 
116.715(a), and 122.143(4), Flexible Permit Numbers 47256 and 
PSDTX402M3, Special Conditions (SC) Number 1, New Source 
Review Permit Number 2612, SC Number 1, Federal Operating 
Permit Number O1541, General Terms and Conditions and Special 
Terms and Conditions Number 27, and Texas Health and Safety Code, 
§382.085(b), by failing to prevent unauthorized emissions; PENALTY: 
$14,250; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Carol McGrath, (210) 
403-4063; REGIONAL OFFICE: 5425 Polk Street, Suite H, Houston, 
Texas 77023-1452, (713) 767-3500. 

(6) COMPANY: Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2019-1069-AIR-E; IDENTIFIER: RN100209857; LOCA-
TION: Port Arthur, Jefferson County; TYPE OF FACILITY: chemi-
cal manufacturing plant; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §§101.20(3), 
116.115(b)(2)(F) and (c), and 122.143(4), New Source Review Per-
mit Numbers 21101 and PSDTX1248, Special Conditions Number 1, 
Federal Operating Permit Number O1235, General Terms and Condi-
tions and Special Terms and Conditions Number 23, and Texas Health 
and Safety Code, §382.085(b), by failing to comply with the maxi-
mum allowable emissions rate; PENALTY: $71,250; SUPPLEMEN-
TAL ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECT OFFSET AMOUNT: $28,500; 
ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Amanda Diaz, (512) 239-2601; 
REGIONAL OFFICE: 3870 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, Texas 77703-
1830, (409) 898-3838. 

(7) COMPANY: City of Austin; DOCKET NUMBER: 2020-0068-
MWD-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101607901; LOCATION: Austin, Travis 
County; TYPE OF FACILITY: wastewater treatment plant; RULES 
VIOLATED: 30 TAC §305.125(1) and (5), TWC, §26.121(a)(1), 
and Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit Number 
WQ0010543011, Permit Conditions Number 2.g, by failing to prevent 
an unauthorized discharge of untreated wastewater into or adjacent 
to any water in the state; PENALTY: $6,150; SUPPLEMENTAL 
ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECT OFFSET AMOUNT: $6,150; EN-
FORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Katelyn Tubbs, (512) 239-2512; 
REGIONAL OFFICE: P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, 
(512) 339-2929. 

(8) COMPANY: City of Crosbyton; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2019-0339-MWD-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101918142; LOCATION: 
Crosbyton, Crosby County; TYPE OF FACILITY: wastewater treat-
ment facility; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §305.125(1) and TCEQ 
Permit Number WQ0010097001, Operational Requirements Number 
3(b), by failing to submit a closure plan for review and approval to the 
TCEQ Municipal Permits Team for any closure activity at least 90 days 
prior to conducting such activities; 30 TAC §305.125(1) and TCEQ 
Permit Number WQ0010097001, Special Provision Number 7, by 
failing to obtain representative soil samples from the root zones of the 
land application area receiving wastewater; 30 TAC §305.125(1) and 
TCEQ Permit Number WQ0010097001, Special Provision Number 
13, by failing to submit certification by a Texas Licensed Professional 
Engineer that the completed pond lining meets the appropriate criteria 
within 60 days of permit issuance; 30 TAC §305.125(1) and (17) and 
TCEQ Permit Number WQ0010097001, Sludge Provisions, Section 
III(G), by failing to submit a complete annual sludge report to the 
TCEQ by September 30th of each year; 30 TAC §309.13(c)(1), by 
failing to maintain a minimum horizontal distance of 150 feet from the 
land application area from private water wells; and 30 TAC §317.7(e), 
by failing to provide the required plant protection; PENALTY: 
$15,000; SUPPLEMENTAL ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECT OFF-
SET AMOUNT: $12,000; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Had 
Darling, (512) 239-2520; REGIONAL OFFICE: 5012 50th Street, 
Suite 100, Lubbock, Texas 79414-3426, (806) 796-7092. 

(9) COMPANY: D.R. Horton - Texas, Ltd.; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2020-0295-WQ-E; IDENTIFIER: RN108365420; LOCATION: 
Conroe, Montgomery County; TYPE OF FACILITY: construction 
site; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §305.125(1), TWC, §26.121(a), 
and Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General Permit 
Number TXR15441L, Part III, Section F(6)(a), by failing to install 
and maintain best management practices at the site which resulted in 
an unauthorized discharge; PENALTY: $45,000; ENFORCEMENT 
COORDINATOR: Alejandro Laje, (512) 239-2547; REGIONAL 
OFFICE: 5425 Polk Street, Suite H, Houston, Texas 77023-1452, 
(713) 767-3500. 

(10) COMPANY: DCP Operating Company, LP; DOCKET NUM-
BER: 2020-0311-AIR-E; IDENTIFIER: RN102550167; LOCATION: 
Big Spring, Howard County; TYPE OF FACILITY: natural gas 
compressor station; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §101.201(a)(1)(B) 
and Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), §382.085(b), by failing 
to submit an initial notification for a reportable emissions event no 
later than 24 hours after the discovery of an emissions event; and 
30 TAC §106.6(b), Permit by Rule Registration Number 49167, and 
THSC, §382.085(b), by failing to prevent unauthorized emissions; 
PENALTY: $1,438; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Johnnie 
Wu, (512) 239-2524; REGIONAL OFFICE: 9900 West IH-20, Suite 
100, Midland, Texas 79706, (432) 570-1359. 

(11) COMPANY: KOTT LIVEOAKS INCORPORATED; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2020-0017-PWS-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101274850; LO-
CATION: Fredericksburg, Gillespie County; TYPE OF FACILITY: 
public water supply; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §290.41(c)(3)(K), 
by failing to seal the wellhead by a gasket or sealing compound 
and provide a well casing vent for Well Number 3 that is covered 
with 16-mesh or finer corrosion-resistant screen, facing downward, 
elevated and located so as to minimize the drawing contaminants 
into the well; 30 TAC §290.46(d)(2)(A) and §290.110(b)(4) and 
Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), §341.0315(c), by failing to 
maintain a disinfectant residual of at least 0.2 milligrams per liter 
(mg/L) of free chlorine throughout the distribution system at all times; 
30 TAC §290.46(f)(2) and (3)(D)(ii), by failing to maintain water 
works operation and maintenance records and make them readily 
available for review by the executive director upon request; 30 TAC 
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§290.46(m)(4), by failing to maintain all water treatment units, storage 
and pressure maintenance facilities, distribution system lines, and 
related appurtenances in a watertight condition and free of excessive 
solids; 30 TAC §290.46(t), by failing to post a legible sign at the 
facility's production, treatment, and storage facilities that contains 
the name of the facility and an emergency telephone number where a 
responsible official can be contacted; and 30 TAC §290.46(s)(1), by 
failing to calibrate the facility's two well meters at least once every 
three years; PENALTY: $1,773; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: 
Samantha Duncan, (512) 239-2511; REGIONAL OFFICE: 14250 
Judson Road, San Antonio, Texas 78233-4480, (210) 490-3096. 

(12) COMPANY: Liberty Utilities (Woodmark Sewer) Corp.; 
DOCKET NUMBER: 2019-1800-MWD-E; IDENTIFIER: 
RN101511400; LOCATION: Flint, Smith County; TYPE OF 
FACILITY: wastewater treatment facility; RULES VIOLATED: 
30 TAC §305.125(1), TWC, §26.121(a)(1), and Texas Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System Permit Number WQ0013168001, 
Final Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Requirements Number 1, 
by failing to comply with permitted effluent limitations; PENALTY: 
$5,000; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Harley Hobson, (512) 
239-1337; REGIONAL OFFICE: 2916 Teague Drive, Tyler, Texas 
75701-3734, (903) 535-5100. 

(13) COMPANY: Lilbert-Looneyville Water Supply Corpora-
tion; DOCKET NUMBER: 2020-0122-PWS-E; IDENTIFIER: 
RN101187433; LOCATION: Cushing, Nacogdoches County; TYPE 
OF FACILITY: public water supply; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC 
§290.39(j), Texas Health and Safety Code, §341.0351, and TCEQ 
Agreed Order Docket Number 2016-0182-PWS-E, Ordering Provision 
Numbers 2.c and 2.e, by failing to notify the executive director (ED) 
prior to making any significant change or addition to the systems 
production, treatment, storage, pressure maintenance, or distribution 
facilities; 30 TAC §290.46(f)(2) and (3)(B)(ii) and TCEQ Agreed Or-
der Docket Number 2016-0182-PWS-E, Ordering Provision Number 
2.a.i, by failing to maintain water works operation and maintenance 
records and make them available for review to the ED during the 
investigation; and 30 TAC §290.46(n)(2) and TCEQ Agreed Order 
Docket Number 2016-0182-PWS-E, Ordering Provision Number 
2.a.ii, by failing to maintain an accurate and up-to-date map of the dis-
tribution system so that valves and mains can be easily located during 
emergencies; PENALTY: $197; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: 
Yuliya Dunaway, (210) 403-4077; REGIONAL OFFICE: 3870 Eastex 
Freeway, Beaumont, Texas 77703-1830, (409) 898-3838. 

(14) COMPANY: LMMM Houston #67, Ltd. dba La Michoacana 
Meat Market; DOCKET NUMBER: 2019-1701-PST-E; IDENTI-
FIER: RN101754323; LOCATION: Conroe, Montgomery County; 
TYPE OF FACILITY: convenience store with retail sales of gasoline; 
RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §334.10(b)(2), by failing to assure 
that all underground storage tank (UST) recordkeeping requirements 
are met; 30 TAC §334.42(i) and TWC, §26.3475(c)(2), by failing 
to inspect all sumps, manways, overspill containers, or catchment 
basins associated with a UST system at least once every 60 days 
to ensure that their sides, bottoms, and any penetration points are 
maintained liquid-tight; 30 TAC §334.50(b)(1)(A) and (2) and TWC, 
§26.3475(a) and (c)(1), by failing to monitor the USTs in a manner 
which will detect a release at a frequency of at least once every 30 
days, and failing to provide release detection for the pressurized 
piping associated with the UST system; 30 TAC §334.602(a), by 
failing to designate, train, and certify at least one named individual for 
each class of operator, Class A, Class B, and Class C for the facility; 
PENALTY: $13,541; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Berenice 
Munoz, (915) 834-4976; REGIONAL OFFICE: 5425 Polk Street, 
Suite H, Houston, Texas 77023-1452, (713) 767-3500. 

(15) COMPANY: Marion J. Smith dba Town North Village Water Sys-
tem and Cox Addition Water System; DOCKET NUMBER: 2019-
1791-PWS-E; IDENTIFIERS: RN101272060 and RN101221117; LO-
CATION: Shallowater, Lubbock County; TYPE OF FACILITY: pub-
lic water supply; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §290.39(j) and Texas 
Health and Safety Code (THSC), §341.0351, by failing to notify the 
executive director prior to making any significant change or addition 
to the systems production, treatment, storage, pressure maintenance, 
or distribution facilities; 30 TAC §290.41(c)(1)(F), by failing to ob-
tain a sanitary control easement covering land within 150 feet of Well 
Numbers 1 and 2; 30 TAC §290.41(c)(3)(K), by failing to provide a 
well casing vent for Well Number 1 that is covered with a 16-mesh 
or finer corrosion-resistant screen, facing downward, elevated and lo-
cated so as to minimize the drawing of contaminants into the well; 30 
TAC 290.45(b)(1)(C)(i) and THSC, §341.0315(c), by failing to pro-
vide a well capacity of 0.6 gallons per minute per connection; 30 TAC 
§290.46(m), by failing to initiate maintenance and housekeeping prac-
tices to ensure the good working condition and general appearance of 
the systems facilities and equipment; 30 TAC §290.46(u), by failing to 
plug an abandoned public water supply well with cement in accordance 
with 16 TAC Chapter 76 or submit the test results proving that the well 
is in a non-deteriorated condition; and 30 TAC §290.46(v), by failing to 
ensure that all electrical wiring is securely installed in compliance with 
a local or national electrical code; PENALTY: $791; ENFORCEMENT 
COORDINATOR: Epifanio Villarreal, (361) 825-3421; REGIONAL 
OFFICE: 5012 50th Street, Suite 100, Lubbock, Texas 79414-3426, 
(806) 796-7092. 

(16) COMPANY: McClelland Water Supply Corporation; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2020-0323-MLM-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101458297; 
LOCATION: Shelbyville, Shelby County; TYPE OF FACILITY: 
public water supply; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §288.20(a) and 
§288.30(5)(B), and TWC, §11.1272(c), by failing to adopt a drought 
contingency plan which includes all elements for municipal use by a 
retail public water supplier; 30 TAC §290.42(e)(4)(A), by failing to 
provide a full-face self-contained breathing apparatus or supplied air 
respirator that meets Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
standards and is readily accessible outside the chlorinator room and 
immediately available to the operator in the event of an emergency; 
30 TAC §290.42(e)(4)(C), by failing to provide forced air ventilation, 
which includes both high level and floor level screened and louvered 
vents, a fan which is located at and draws air in through the top 
vent and discharges to the outside atmosphere through the floor level 
vent, and a fan switch located outside, for enclosures containing 
more than one operating 150-pound cylinder of chlorine; 30 TAC 
§290.42(f)(1)(E)(ii), by failing to provide adequate containment 
facilities for all liquid chemical storage tanks; 30 TAC §290.46(e) and 
Texas Health and Safety Code, §341.033(a), by failing to use a water 
works operator who holds an applicable, valid license issued by the 
executive director (ED); 30 TAC §290.46(f)(2) and (3)(A)(i)(II) and 
(ii)(II), (B)(iii)(iv) and (v), and (D)(i) and (ii), by failing to maintain 
water works operation and maintenance records and make them readily 
available for review by the ED upon request; 30 TAC §290.46(i), by 
failing to adopt an adequate plumbing ordinance, regulations, or ser-
vice agreement with provisions for proper enforcement to ensure that 
neither cross-connections nor other unacceptable plumbing practices 
are permitted; 30 TAC §290.46(m), by failing to initiate maintenance 
and housekeeping practices to ensure the good working condition 
and general appearance of the systems facilities and equipment; 30 
TAC §290.46(p)(2), by failing to provide the ED with a list of all the 
operators and operating companies that the public water system uses 
on an annual basis; 30 TAC §290.110(c)(5), by failing to conduct 
chloramine effectiveness sampling to ensure that monochloramine 
is the prevailing chloramine species and that nitrification is con-
trolled; and 30 TAC §290.121(a), by failing to maintain an up-to-date 
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chemical and microbiological monitoring plan that is subject to the 
review and approval of the ED, and a copy of which is maintained 
at each water treatment plant and at a central location; PENALTY: 
$8,550; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Marla Waters, (512) 
239-4712; REGIONAL OFFICE: 3870 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, 
Texas 77703-1830, (409) 898-3838. 

(17) COMPANY: Mobile Home Management, LLC; DOCKET 
NUMBER: 2020-0142-PWS-E; IDENTIFIER: RN102654977; LO-
CATION: Lubbock, Lubbock County; TYPE OF FACILITY: public 
water supply; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §290.45(b)(1)(A)(ii) and 
Texas Health and Safety Code, §341.0315(c), by failing to provide 
a pressure tank capacity of 50 gallons per connection; and 30 TAC 
§290.51(a)(6) and TWC, §5.702, by failing to pay annual Public 
Health Service fees and/or any associated late fees for TCEQ Financial 
Administration Account Number 91520232 for Fiscal Years 2005 
through 2020; PENALTY: $2,250; ENFORCEMENT COORDINA-
TOR: Samantha Duncan, (512) 239-2511; REGIONAL OFFICE: 5012 
50th Street, Suite 100, Lubbock, Texas 79414-3426, (806) 796-7092. 

(18) COMPANY: OXY USA WTP LP; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2019-1725-AIR-E; IDENTIFIER: RN101222602; LOCATION: 
Clairemont, Kent County; TYPE OF FACILITY: natural gas process-
ing plant; RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §§101.20(3), 116.115(b)(2)(F) 
and (c), and 122.143(4), New Source Review Permit Numbers 
20660 and PSDTX795M2, Special Conditions Number 1, Federal 
Operating Permit Number O550, General Terms and Conditions 
and Special Terms and Conditions Number 6, and Texas Health and 
Safety Code, §382.085(b), by failing to comply with the maximum 
allowable emissions rates; PENALTY: $121,875; SUPPLEMENTAL 
ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECT OFFSET AMOUNT: $48,750; EN-
FORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Richard Garza, (512) 239-2697; 
REGIONAL OFFICE: 1977 Industrial Boulevard, Abilene, Texas 
79602-7833, (325) 698-9674. 

(19) COMPANY: Sunnyside RV LLC; DOCKET NUMBER: 
2020-0198-PWS-E; IDENTIFIER: RN102319688; LOCATION: 
Granbury, Hood County; TYPE OF FACILITY: public water supply; 
RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §290.41(c)(3)(B), by failing to provide a 
well casing a minimum of 18 inches above the elevation of the finished 
floor of the pump house or natural ground surface; 30 TAC §290.42(l), 
by failing to maintain a thorough and up-to-date plant operations 
manual for operator review and reference; 30 TAC §290.46(f)(2) and 
(3)(B)(iv) and (D)(ii) and (iii), by failing to maintain water works op-
eration and maintenance records and make them readily available for 
review by the executive director upon request; 30 TAC §290.46(m), 
by failing to initiate maintenance and housekeeping practices to ensure 
the good working condition and general appearance of the systems 
facilities and equipment; 30 TAC §290.46(n)(1), by failing to maintain 
at the facility accurate and up-to-date detailed as-built plans or record 
drawings and specifications for each treatment plant, pump station, 
and storage tank until the facility is decommissioned; and 30 TAC 
§290.46(n)(3), by failing to keep on file copies of well completion data 
as defined in 30 TAC §290.41(c)(3)(A) for as long as the well remains 
in service; PENALTY: $310; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: 
Samantha Duncan, (512) 239-2511; REGIONAL OFFICE: 2309 
Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76118-6951, (817) 588-5800. 

(20) COMPANY: T.F.R. ENTERPRISES, INCORPORATED; 
DOCKET NUMBER: 2020-0234-MLM-E; IDENTIFIER: 
RN106043144; LOCATION: Leander, Williamson County; TYPE 
OF FACILITY: recycling facility of vegetative materials; RULES 
VIOLATED: 30 TAC §281.25(a)(4), 40 Code of Federal Regulations 
§122.26(c), and TWC, §26.121, by failing to obtain authorization to 
discharge stormwater associated with industrial activities under Texas 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General Permit Number 

TXR050000; and 30 TAC §328.4(b)(3)(B)(i), by failing to protect 
recyclable material from degradation, contamination, or loss of value 
as recyclable material; PENALTY: $11,688; ENFORCEMENT 
COORDINATOR: Berenice Munoz, (915) 834-4976; REGIONAL 
OFFICE: P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087, (512) 339-2929. 

(21) COMPANY: Tracy L. Taylor; DOCKET NUMBER: 2019-1779-
PWS-E; IDENTIFIER: RN110868809; LOCATION: Nacogdoches, 
Nacogdoches County; TYPE OF FACILITY: public water supply; 
RULES VIOLATED: 30 TAC §290.42(b)(1) and (e)(3), by failing to 
provide disinfection facilities for the groundwater supply for the pur-
pose of microbiological control and distribution protection; 30 TAC 
§290.46(e)(4)(A) and Texas Health and Safety Code, §341.033(a), 
by failing to operate the water system under the direct supervision 
of a water works operator who holds a Class D or higher license; 30 
TAC §290.46(n)(1), by failing to maintain at the public water system 
accurate and up-to-date detailed as-built plans or record drawings 
and specifications for each treatment plant, pump station, and storage 
tank until the facility is decommissioned; and 30 TAC §290.46(u), 
by failing to plug an abandoned public water supply well with ce-
ment in accordance with 16 TAC Chapter 76 or submit test results 
proving that the well is in a non-deteriorated condition; PENALTY: 
$7,986; ENFORCEMENT COORDINATOR: Julianne Dewar, (817) 
588-5861; REGIONAL OFFICE: 3870 Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, 
Texas 77703-1830, (409) 898-3838. 
TRD-202002317 
Charmaine Backens 
Director, Litigation Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: June 9, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Correction of Error 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality adopted an amend-
ment to 30 TAC §335.112 in the June 5, 2020, issue of the Texas Reg-
ister (45 TexReg 3789). Due to an error by the Texas Register, the 
incorrect effective date was published for the adoption. The correct ef-
fective date for the adoption is June 11, 2020. 
TRD-202002306 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Enforcement Orders 
An agreed order was adopted regarding NARAYANSWARUP, INC., 
Docket No. 2017‑0549‑PST‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $9,688 in 
administrative penalties with $1,937 deferred. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Danielle Porras, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding TPLUBB, LLC, Docket No. 
2018‑0591‑MLM‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $12,472 in admin-
istrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order 
may be obtained by contacting Ryan Byer, Enforcement Coordinator 
at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Pitts Oilfield Products & Ser-
vices, LLC, Docket No. 2018‑0798‑IHW‑E on June 10, 2020, assess-
ing $58,537 in administrative penalties with $11,707 deferred. Infor-
mation concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by con-
tacting John Paul Fennell, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 

IN ADDITION June 19, 2020 45 TexReg 4227 



An agreed order was adopted regarding the City of Liberty Hill, Docket 
No. 2018‑1024‑MLM‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $114,563 in ad-
ministrative penalties with $22,912 deferred. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Caleb Olson, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding SAI JBA INC dba Tijuana 
Grocery, Docket No. 2018‑1272‑PST‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$10,751 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect 
of this order may be obtained by contacting Taylor Pearson, Staff Attor-
ney at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
A default order was adopted regarding Glendale Water Supply Cor-
poration, Docket No. 2018‑1399‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$1,110 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect 
of this order may be obtained by contacting Kevin R. Bartz, Staff Attor-
ney at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
A default order was adopted regarding Felipe Guajardo, Docket No. 
2018‑1449‑MSW‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $2,625 in administra-
tive penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order may be 
obtained by contacting Ian Groetsch, Staff Attorney at (512) 239‑3400, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Braman Ranches LLC dba 
Mellon Creek Ranch, Docket No. 2018‑1537‑PST‑E on June 10, 2020, 
assessing $7,950 in administrative penalties with $1,590 deferred. In-
formation concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by con-
tacting Marla Waters, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
A default order was adopted regarding TANK WORKS, INC. dba Bra-
zos Bend Home & Ranch, Docket No. 2018‑1611‑PWS‑E on June 10, 
2020, assessing $1,659 in administrative penalties. Information con-
cerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Clayton 
Smith, Staff Attorney at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Envi-
ronmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding TX LFG Energy, LP, Docket 
No. 2018‑1688‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $17,325 in admin-
istrative penalties with $3,465 deferred. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Carol McGrath, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Mo Pham dba 24th Discount 
Store, Docket No. 2018‑1734‑PST‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$7,699 in administrative penalties with $4,099 deferred. Information 
concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Berenice Munoz, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Rainbow Rider Enterprises, 
Inc., Docket No. 2018‑1751‑WQ‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$10,724 in administrative penalties with $2,144 deferred. Information 
concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Alejandro Laje, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding the City of Strawn, Docket 
No. 2019‑0050‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $675 in admin-
istrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order 

may be obtained by contacting Ryan Byer, Enforcement Coordinator 
at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Luciano Trevino, Docket No. 
2019‑0250‑WQ‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $20,250 in administra-
tive penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order may 
be obtained by contacting Caleb Olson, Enforcement Coordinator at 
(512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding D.N.D. Corporation dba Quick 
Stop Food Mart, Docket No. 2019‑0315‑PST‑E on June 10, 2020, 
assessing $34,243 in administrative penalties with $6,848 deferred. 
Information concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by 
contacting Tyler Smith, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding the City of Roma, Docket No. 
2019‑0335‑PST‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $16,500 in administra-
tive penalties with $3,300 deferred. Information concerning any aspect 
of this order may be obtained by contacting John Fennell, Enforcement 
Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding BASF TOTAL Petrochemi-
cals LLC, Docket No. 2019‑0356‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assess-
ing $29,125 in administrative penalties with $5,825 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contact-
ing Richard Garza, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding QUIKTRIP CORPORA-
TION dba QUIKTRIP 4045, Docket No. 2019‑0423‑PST‑E on June 
10, 2020, assessing $8,250 in administrative penalties with $1,650 
deferred. Information concerning any aspect of this order may be 
obtained by contacting Hailey Johnson, Enforcement Coordinator at 
(512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding the City of Winona, Docket 
No. 2019‑0485‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $905 in adminis-
trative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order may 
be obtained by contacting Yuliya Dunaway, Enforcement Coordinator 
at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding HOBCO, Incorporated, Docket 
No. 2019‑0509‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $1,117 in adminis-
trative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order may 
be obtained by contacting Samantha Duncan, Enforcement Coordina-
tor at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Harris County Municipal Util-
ity District No. 238, Docket No. 2019‑0725‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, 
assessing $315 in administrative penalties with $315 deferred. Infor-
mation concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contact-
ing Ronica Rodriguez, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Corix Utilities (Texas) Inc., 
Docket No. 2019‑0758‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $1,380 in 
administrative penalties with $345 deferred. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Miles Wehner, 
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Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
A default order was adopted regarding Serapio Lara and Lydia Lara, 
Docket No. 2019‑0828‑MSW‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $1,312 
in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this 
order may be obtained by contacting Taylor Pearson, Staff Attorney 
at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
A default and shutdown order was adopted regarding IDRIS INVEST-
MENTS, INC. dba AFG Food Mart, Docket No. 2019‑0844‑PST‑E on 
June 10, 2020, assessing $5,650 in administrative penalties. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Kevin R. Bartz, Staff Attorney at (512) 239‑3400, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Rohm and Haas Texas Incor-
porated, Docket No. 2019‑0874‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$33,038 in administrative penalties with $6,607 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contact-
ing Johnnie Wu, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding the City of Baytown, Docket 
No. 2019‑0894‑MWD‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $18,000 in ad-
ministrative penalties with $3,600 deferred. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Aaron Vin-
cent, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Ball Metal Beverage Con-
tainer Corp., Docket No. 2019‑0976‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assess-
ing $7,623 in administrative penalties with $1,524 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Margarita Dennis, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Air Liquide Large Industries 
U.S. LP, Docket No. 2019‑1006‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$31,875 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any as-
pect of this order may be obtained by contacting Amanda Diaz, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Owens Corning Insulating Sys-
tems, LLC, Docket No. 2019‑1021‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assess-
ing $16,000 in administrative penalties with $3,200 deferred. Informa-
tion concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Mackenzie Mehlmann, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding ELR Land Investments, LLC, 
Docket No. 2019‑1026‑MLM‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $12,188 
in administrative penalties with $2,437 deferred. Information concern-
ing any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Alejandro 
Laje, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Archer‑Daniels‑Midland 
Company, Docket No. 2019‑1070‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$20,625 in administrative penalties with $4,125 deferred. Information 
concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Carol McGrath, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, 
Texas 78711‑3087. 

An agreed order was adopted regarding the City of Dumas, Docket 
No. 2019‑1075‑MWD‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $17,100 in ad-
ministrative penalties with $3,420 deferred. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Harley Hob-
son, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding the City of Hurst, Docket No. 
2019‑1117‑WQ‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $4,875 in administra-
tive penalties. Information concerning any aspect of this order may 
be obtained by contacting Caleb Olson, Enforcement Coordinator at 
(512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Lilbert-Looneyville Water 
Supply Corporation, Docket No. 2019‑1133‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, 
assessing $417 in administrative penalties. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Julianne Dewar, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding RT 29 Development LLC, 
Docket No. 2019‑1172‑EAQ‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $33,750 
in administrative penalties with $6,750 deferred. Information concern-
ing any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Caleb Ol-
son, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission 
on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Gulf South Pipeline Company, 
LP, Docket No. 2019‑1202‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $13,500 
in administrative penalties with $2,700 deferred. Information concern-
ing any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Mackenzie 
Mehlmann, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Com-
mission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 
78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding George Oberdorf dba Boyd 
Acres Water System, Docket No. 2019‑1243‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, 
assessing $868 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Julianne Dewar, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Montesino Developments, 
LLC dba Cash Register Services, Docket No. 2019‑1263‑PWS‑E on 
June 10, 2020, assessing $854 in administrative penalties. Information 
concerning any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting 
Epifanio Villarreal, Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, 
Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding CALS'S CONVE-
NIENCE, INC. dba Stripes 268 and dba Stripes 5043, Docket No. 
2019‑1283‑PST‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $20,581 in adminis-
trative penalties with $4,116 deferred. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Hailey Johnson, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Equistar Chemicals, LP, 
Docket No. 2019‑1360‑AIR‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing $9,626 in 
administrative penalties with $1,925 deferred. Information concerning 
any aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Richard Garza, 
Enforcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding ROUND MOUNTAIN EX-
PRESS INC. dba Bigs 108, Docket No. 2019‑1391‑PST‑E on June 
10, 2020, assessing $16,125 in administrative penalties with $3,225 
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deferred. Information concerning any aspect of this order may be 
obtained by contacting Carlos Molina, Enforcement Coordinator at 
(512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Callahan County Water Sup-
ply Corporation, Docket No. 2019‑1424‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, as-
sessing $232 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any 
aspect of this order may be obtained by contacting Miles Wehner, En-
forcement Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on En-
vironmental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Elderville Water Supply Cor-
poration, Docket No. 2019‑1652‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$1,725 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect 
of this order may be obtained by contacting Amanda Conner, Enforce-
ment Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environ-
mental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
An agreed order was adopted regarding Rainbow Ranch of Texas, 
L.L.C., Docket No. 2019‑1660‑PWS‑E on June 10, 2020, assessing 
$60 in administrative penalties. Information concerning any aspect of 
this order may be obtained by contacting Steven Hall, Enforcement 
Coordinator at (512) 239‑2545, Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087. 
TRD-202002331 
Bridget C. Bohac 

Chief Clerk 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: June 10, 2020, 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Correction to 30 TAC Chapter 319 Proposed 
Amendments 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) pub-
lished proposed amendments to 30 TAC Chapter 319 in the June 5, 
2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 3732). Errors are as sub-
mitted by the commission and should be corrected as follows: 

On page 3735, in the proposed amendment to 30 TAC §319.2, the title 
should be underlined to read as follows: 

§319.2. Exclusions for Land Application or Evaporation. 

On page 3736, the proposed amendment to 30 TAC §319.9(b) is miss-
ing proposed rule text language, which was published in Table 2 of 
Figure: 30 TAC §319.9(b) (45 TexReg 3885) as underlined language. 
This language should be removed from under Table 2 and should be 
included under subsection (b) to read as follows: 

(b) The following table sets forth the bacteria self-monitoring sched-
ules applicable to treated domestic sewage effluent that is discharged 
to water in the state. 
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(1) Sampling must be spaced across the time period at approximately 
equal intervals, with the exception of the five times per week sampling 
schedule. Five samples per week must be taken one on each of five 
days during a seven-day period. 

(2) A permittee that has at least 12 months of uninterrupted compliance 
with its bacteria limit may notify the commission of its compliance and 
request a less frequent measurement schedule. 

(A) If the commission finds that a less frequent measurement schedule 
is protective of human health and the environment, the permittee will 
be given a less frequent measurement schedule. Daily will drop to 
five/week, five/week to three/week, three/week to one/week, one/week 
to two/month, two/month to one/month, one/month to one/quarter, and 
one/quarter to one/six months. 

(B) A violation of the bacteria limit by a facility that has been granted a 
less frequent measurement schedule will require the permittee to return 
to the standard frequency schedule. 

(C) A permittee that has had a violation while on a less frequent mea-
surement schedule may not apply for another reduction in measurement 
frequency for at least 24 months from the last violation. 

(3) A chemical system other than chlorine will be required to comply 
with the ultraviolet frequency schedule. 

(4) The executive director may establish a more frequent measurement 
schedule if necessary to protect human health or the environment. 
TRD-202002325 
Patricia Duron 
Program Supervisor, General Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: June 9, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Opportunity to Comment on an Agreed Order of 
Administrative Enforcement Actions 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commis-
sion) staff is providing an opportunity for written public comment on 
the listed Agreed Order (AO) in accordance with Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §7.075. TWC, §7.075, requires that before the commission 
may approve the AO, the commission shall allow the public an oppor-
tunity to submit written comments on the proposed AO. TWC, §7.075, 
requires that notice of the opportunity to comment must be published in 
the Texas Register no later than the 30th day before the date on which 
the public comment period closes, which in this case is July 20, 2020. 
TWC, §7.075, also requires that the commission promptly consider any 
written comments received and that the commission may withdraw or 
withhold approval of an AO if a comment discloses facts or considera-
tions that indicate that consent is inappropriate, improper, inadequate, 
or inconsistent with the requirements of the statutes and rules within 
the commission's jurisdiction or the commission's orders and permits 
issued in accordance with the commission's regulatory authority. Ad-
ditional notice of changes to a proposed AO is not required to be pub-
lished if those changes are made in response to written comments. 

A copy of the proposed AO is available for public inspection at both the 
commission's central office, located at 12100 Park 35 Circle, Building 
A, 3rd Floor, Austin, Texas 78753, (512) 239‑3400 and at the applica-
ble regional office listed as follows. Written comments about the AO 
should be sent to the attorney designated for the AO at the commission's 
central office at P.O. Box 13087, MC 175, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087 
and must be received by 5:00 p.m. on July 20, 2020. Comments may 
also be sent by facsimile machine to the attorney at (512) 239‑3434. 
The designated attorney is available to discuss the AO and/or the com-

ment procedure at the listed phone number; however, TWC, §7.075, 
provides that comments on an AO shall be submitted to the commis-
sion in writing. 

(1) COMPANY: J.P. GAS & MEGAMART, INC. dba J P Truckstop; 
DOCKET NUMBER: 2018-1071-PST-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: 
RN102041225; LOCATION: 45950 Interstate 10 West, Winnie, 
Chambers County; TYPE OF FACILITY: underground storage 
tank (UST) system and a convenience store with retail sales of 
gasoline; RULES VIOLATED: TWC, §26.3475(c)(1) and 30 TAC 
§334.50(b)(1)(A), by failing to monitor the USTs for releases at a 
frequency of at least once every month (not to exceed 35 days between 
each monitoring); TWC, §26.3475(a) and 30 TAC §334.50(b)(2), 
by failing to provide release detection for the pressurized piping 
associated with the UST system; 30 TAC §334.74(3), by failing to file 
a release determination report with the commission within 45 days 
after a suspected release occurred. Specifically, monthly inventory 
control records for the USTs, Tank 1 and Tank 2 from March 2018 -
May 2018, indicated suspected releases and the respondent did not 
file a release determination report with the commission within the 
required 45-day time frame; and 30 TAC §334.72, by failing to report a 
suspected release to TCEQ within 24 hours of discovery. Specifically, 
monthly inventory control records for the USTs, Tank 1 and Tank 2 
from March 2018 - May 2018, indicated suspected releases that were 
not reported; PENALTY: $18,924; STAFF ATTORNEY: Jake Marx, 
Litigation Division, MC 175, (512) 239-5111; REGIONAL OFFICE: 
Houston Regional Office, 5425 Polk Street, Suite H, Houston, Texas 
77023-1452, (713) 767-3500. 
TRD-202002318 
Charmaine Backens 
Director, Litigation Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: June 9, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Notice of Opportunity to Comment on Default Orders of 
Administrative Enforcement Actions 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ or commis-
sion) staff is providing an opportunity for written public comment on 
the listed Default Orders (DOs). The commission staff proposes a DO 
when the staff has sent the Executive Director's Preliminary Report and 
Petition (EDPRP) to an entity outlining the alleged violations; the pro-
posed penalty; the proposed technical requirements necessary to bring 
the entity back into compliance; and the entity fails to request a hear-
ing on the matter within 20 days of its receipt of the EDPRP or requests 
a hearing and fails to participate at the hearing. Similar to the proce-
dure followed with respect to Agreed Orders entered into by the execu-
tive director of the commission, in accordance with Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §7.075, this notice of the proposed order and the opportunity 
to comment is published in the Texas Register no later than the 30th 
day before the date on which the public comment period closes, which 
in this case is July 20, 2020. The commission will consider any writ-
ten comments received, and the commission may withdraw or withhold 
approval of a DO if a comment discloses facts or considerations that 
indicate that consent to the proposed DO is inappropriate, improper, 
inadequate, or inconsistent with the requirements of the statutes and 
rules within the commission's jurisdiction, or the commission's orders 
and permits issued in accordance with the commission's regulatory au-
thority. Additional notice of changes to a proposed DO is not required 
to be published if those changes are made in response to written com-
ments. 

A copy of each proposed DO is available for public inspection at both 
the commission's central office, located at 12100 Park 35 Circle, Build-
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ing A, 3rd Floor, Austin, Texas 78753, (512) 239‑3400 and at the appli-
cable regional office listed as follows. Written comments about the DO 
should be sent to the attorney designated for the DO at the commission's 
central office at P.O. Box 13087, MC 175, Austin, Texas 78711‑3087 
and must be received by 5:00 p.m. on July 20, 2020. Comments may 
also be sent by facsimile machine to the attorney at (512) 239‑3434. 
The commission's attorneys are available to discuss the DOs and/or 
the comment procedure at the listed phone numbers; however, TWC, 
§7.075, provides that comments on the DOs shall be submitted to the 
commission in writing. 

(1) COMPANY: Brian Smith; DOCKET NUMBER: 2018-0843-
PST-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: RN106597966; LOCATION: 3650 
Lawn Oak Drive, Orange, Orange County; TYPE OF FACILITY: 
an out-of-service underground storage tank (UST) system; RULES 
VIOLATED: TWC, §26.3475(d) and 30 TAC §334.49(a)(1), by 
failing to adequately protect from corrosion an out-of-service UST 
system; 30 TAC §334.54(b)(2), by failing to maintain all piping, 
pumps, manways, tank access points, and ancillary equipment in 
a capped, plugged, locked, and/or otherwise secured manner to 
prevent access, tampering, or vandalism by unauthorized persons 
while temporarily out of service; and TWC, §26.3475(c)(1) and 30 
TAC §334.50(b)(1)(A) and §334.54(c)(1), by failing to monitor an 
out-of-service UST system for releases; PENALTY: $15,187; STAFF 
ATTORNEY: Taylor Pearson, Litigation Division, MC 175, (512) 
239-5937; REGIONAL OFFICE: Beaumont Regional Office, 3870 
Eastex Freeway, Beaumont, Texas 77703-1830, (409) 898-3838. 

(2) COMPANY: Greenville USA Investments Inc dba Prime Stop 
USA; DOCKET NUMBER: 2018-1634-PST-E; TCEQ ID NUMBER: 
RN102049202; LOCATION: 4414 Wesley Street, Greenville, Hunt 
County; TYPE OF FACILITY: underground storage tank (UST) 
system and a convenience store with retail sales of gasoline; RULES 
VIOLATED: TWC, §26.3475(c)(1) and 30 TAC §334.50(b)(1)(A), 
by failing to monitor the UST for releases at a frequency of at least 
once every 30 days; TWC, §26.3475(a) and 30 TAC §334.50(b)(2), 
by failing to provide release detection for the pressurized piping 
associated with the UST system; and TWC, §26.3475(c)(2) and 30 
TAC §334.51(a)(6), by failing to ensure that all installed spill contain-
ment devices are maintained in good operating condition; PENALTY: 
$5,124; STAFF ATTORNEY: Kevin Bartz, Litigation Division, 
MC 175, (512) 239-6225; REGIONAL OFFICE: Dallas-Fort Worth 
Regional Office, 2309 Gravel Drive, Fort Worth, Texas 76118-6951, 
(817) 588-5800. 
TRD-202002319 
Charmaine Backens 
Director, Litigation Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Filed: June 9, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Ethics Commission 
List of Late Filers 
Below is a list from the Texas Ethics Commission naming the filers who 
failed to pay the penalty fine for failure to file the report in reference 
to the specified filing deadline. If you have any questions, you may 
contact Sue Edwards at (512) 463-5800. 

Deadline: 30 Day Pre-Election Report due February 3, 2020 

Jorge Artalejo, 2914 Lebanon, El Paso, Texas 79930 

Margarita Ruiz Johnson, P.O. Box 1073, Pearland, Texas 77588 

Carey F. Lashley Jr., 7810 Candle Ln., Houston, Texas 77071 

Jenifer Rene Pool, P.O. Box 572211, Houston, Texas 77257 

Deadline: 8 Day Pre-Election Report due February 24, 2020 

Lawrence A. Allen, 3717 Cork, Houston, Texas 77047 

James A. Armstrong III, 1839 Leath St., Dallas, Texas 75212 

Evan A. Bohl, 6206 Checkrein St. , San Antonio, Texas 78240 

Richard A. Bonton, 12680 West Lake Houston Pkwy., Ste. 510 PMB 
180, Houston, Texas 77044 

William J. Booher, 8127 Weeping Willow Pl, Missouri City, Texas 
77459 

Talbert T. Brimage, 24 Fisher St, Freeport, Texas 77541 

Jasmine F. Crockett Esq., P.O. Box 152868, Dallas, Texas 75315 

Jerry V. Davis, 5517 Pickfair, Houston, Texas 77026 

Undrai Fizer, P.O. Box 682242, Houston, Texas 77268 

Nicole H. Garza, 435 W. Nakoma St., Ste. 101, San Antonio, Texas 
78216-2627 

Robert Garza, 2116 Veterans Blvd., Ste. 5, Del Rio, Texas 78840 

Christopher L. Graham, P.O. Box 625, DeSoto, Texas 75123 

Michelle D. Hammel, 6340 N. Eldridge Pkwy. Ste. N107, Houston, 
Texas 77041 

Teresa J. Hawthorne, P.O. Box 670844, Dallas, Texas 75367 

Claver T. Kamau-Imani, 11839 Moss Branch Rd., Houston, Texas 
77043 

Robert Stanley Litoff, 7026 Forest Crest North, San Antonio, Texas 
78240-3314 

Marilynn S. Mayse, 2201 Main St. Ste. 1220, Dallas, Texas 75201 

Kimberly R. McLeod, 4201 FM 1960, Ste. #503, Houston, Texas 
77068 

Bill Metzger (only email on file) 

Melissa M. Morris, 7650 Springhill St Unit 704, Houston, Texas 77021 

Fernando Jesus Padron, P.O. Box 40216, San Antonio, Texas 78229 

Gocha Allen Ramirez, 886 Coyote Dr., Rio Grande City, Texas 78582 

Jacorion X. Randle, P.O. Box 622, Beaumont, Texas 77704 

Steve Riddell, 1308 Shady Creek Drive, Euless, Texas 76040 

Byron K. Ross, 3223 North Park Dr., Missouri City, Texas 77459 

Alexandra Smoots-Thomas, 5619 Feagan, Houston, Texas 77077 

TRD-202002327 
Anne Peters 
Executive Director 
Texas Ethics Commission 
Filed: June 9, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
General Land Office 
Notice and Opportunity to Comment on Requests for 
Consistency Agreement/Concurrence Under the Texas Coastal 
Management Program 

On January 10, 1997, the State of Texas received federal approval of the 
Coastal Management Program (CMP) (62 Federal Register pp. 1439 -
1440). Under federal law, federal agency activities and actions affect-
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

ing the Texas coastal zone must be consistent with the CMP goals and 
policies identified in 31 TAC Chapter 501. Requests for federal consis-
tency review were deemed administratively complete for the following 
project(s) during the period of June 1, 2020 to June 5, 2020. As re-
quired by federal law, the public is given an opportunity to comment on 
the consistency of proposed activities in the coastal zone undertaken or 
authorized by federal agencies. Pursuant to 31 TAC §§506.25, 506.32, 
and 506.41, the public comment period extends 30 days from the date 
published on the Texas General Land Office web site. The notice was 
published on the web site on Friday, June 12, 2020. The public com-
ment period for this project will close at 5:00 p.m. on Sunday, July 12, 
2020. 

FEDERAL AGENCY ACTIONS: 

Applicant: Freeport LNG Development, L.P. 

Location: The project site is located on the Freeport Harbor Ship 
Channel, near the City of Freeport, in Brazoria County, Texas. 
The Freeport Maintenance Offshore Dredge Material Disposal Site 
(ODMDS) is located approximately 3 miles offshore and about 1,000 
feet southwest of the centerline of the Outer Bar Channel. 

Latitude & Longitude (NAD 83): 28.982761, -95.309178 

Project Description: Freeport LNG Development (FLNG) have 
requested a Department of the Army maintenance dredge permit to 
include the use of mechanical, hydraulic and hopper dredges and to 
dispose of the dredged material in the Freeport Harbor Maintenance 
Offshore Dredge Material Disposal Site (ODMDS). The maintenance 
dredge permit authorizes dredging of the entire FLNG Basin (both 
Dock 1 and Dock 2). Dredging conducted via a hydraulic cutter head 
dredge and/or mechanical clamshell will utilize to a dump scow barge. 
The barge will be transported to the Freeport Harbor Maintenance 
ODMDS where the material will be dumped. 

Maintenance dredge cycles utilizing a hopper dredge will not require 
a barge for transportation of the dredged material. Each maintenance 
dredging cycle is expected to take 3 months to complete. Submittals 
to evaluate effects of dredging and disposal of dredge material will 
be conducted, as required by Section 103 of the MPRSA. FLNG has 
estimated that maintenance dredge cycles will occur annually and are 
estimated to remove approximately 250,000 cubic yards. 

Type of Application: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) permit 
application #SWG-2013-000147. This application will be reviewed 
pursuant to Section 10 of the Rivers and Harbor Act and Section 103 of 
the Marine Protection, Research and Sanctuaries Act of 1972. The con-
sistency review for this project may be conducted by the Texas Com-
mission on Environmental Quality as part of its certification under §401 
of the Clean Water Act. 

CMP Project No: 20-1270-F1 

Further information on the applications listed above, including a copy 
of the consistency certifications or consistency determinations for in-
spection, may be obtained from the Texas General Land Office Public 
Information Officer at 1700 N. Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas 78701, 
or via email at pialegal@glo.texas.gov. Comments should be sent to the 
Texas General Land Office Coastal Management Program Coordinator 
at the above address or via email at federal.consistency@glo.texas.gov. 
TRD-202002330 
Mark A. Havens 
Chief Clerk and Deputy Land Commissioner 
General Land Office 
Filed: June 10, 2020 

Department of State Health Services 
Correction of Error 
The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services 
Commission (HHSC) adopted amendments to 25 TAC §421.78 in the 
June 12, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 4044). 

Due to an error by the Texas Register, the text in 25 TAC 
§421.78(d)(10)(V) - (Z) was published incorrectly. The text should 
read as follows: 

(V) APG Code (Obtained from 3M™ APG Grouper) if applicable (Up 
to 10); 

(W) APG Category Code (Obtained from 3M™ APG Grouper) if ap-
plicable (Up to 10); 

(X) APG Type Code (Obtained from 3M™ APG Grouper) if applicable 
(Up to 10); 

(Y) Final APG Assignment Code (Obtained from 3M™ APG Grouper) 
if applicable (Up to 10); 

(Z) Final APG Category Code (Obtained from 3M™ APG Grouper) if 
applicable (Up to 10); 
TRD-202002328 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Company Licensing 

Application to do business in the state of Texas for Dairyland National 
Insurance Company, a foreign fire and/or casualty company. The home 
office is in Stevens Point, Wisconsin. 

Any objections must be filed with the Texas Department of Insur-
ance, within twenty (20) calendar days from the date of the Texas 
Register publication, addressed to the attention of Robert Rudnai, 333 
Guadalupe Street, MC 103-CL, Austin, Texas 78701. 
TRD-202002332 
James Person 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance 
Filed: June 10, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Public Notice of Staff Strawman for New 16 Texas 
Administrative Code (TAC) §25.226 Request For Comments 
The staff of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) has 
prepared a strawman for new 16 TAC §25.226. The strawman ad-
dresses the transfer of load into or out of the Electric Reliability Council 
of Texas (ERCOT) power region. The strawman applies to electric co-
operatives, electric utilities, municipally owned utilities, and ERCOT. 
The section does not apply to a utility interconnecting load to its sys-
tem for the first time. 

The staff's strawman rule can be found on the commission's interchange 
filer system under Project No. 48249, Rulemaking Relating to the 
Transfer of Load into or out of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas 
Power Region. Written comments on the strawman rule may be filed 
through the Interchange on the commission's website as long as the 
Commission's Order filed in Docket No. 50664, Issues Related to the 
State of Disaster for Coronavirus Disease 2019, is in effect. A copy 
of all comments received may be viewed by accessing the Interchange 
at: https://interchange.puc.texas.gov. Should the Commission's Order 
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entered in Docket No. 50664 no longer be in effect, then parties may 
file written comments by submitting 16 copies to the commission's fil-
ing clerk, Public Utility Commission of Texas, 1701 North Congress 
Avenue, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, Texas 78711-3326. Initial comments 
are due by July 20, 2020. Reply comments are due August 4, 2020. 
All responses should reference Project Number 48249. 

Questions concerning this notice should be referred to Alicia Maloy, 
Senior Infrastructure Analyst, Infrastructure Division, (512) 936-7387. 
Hearing and speech-impaired individuals with text telephones (TTY) 
may contact the commission through Relay Texas by dialing 7-1-1. 
TRD-202002329 
Andrea Gonzalez 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Filed: (512) 936-7244 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Texas Water Development Board 
Applications for May 2020 

Pursuant to Texas Water Code §6.195, the Texas Water Development 
Board provides notice of the following applications: 

Project ID #51052, a request from the City of Corpus Christi, 1201 
Leopard Street, Corpus Christi, Texas 78469-9277, received on May 
8, 2020, for $222,475,000 in financial assistance from the State Water 
Implementation Fund for seawater desalination project. 

Project ID #51044, a request from Alliance Regional Water Authority, 
1040 State Highway 123, San Marcos, Texas 78666-7739, received on 
May 11, 2020, for $65,000,000 in financial assistance from the State 
Water Implementation Fund for second phase of the project to develop 
a Carrizo aquifer wellfield with an initial capacity of 5,500 acre-feet 
per year, and an ultimate capacity of 35,690 acre-feet per year. 

Project ID #51066, a request from Brazosport Water Authority, 
1251 Farm-to-Market Road 2004, Lake Jackson, Texas 77566-4096, 
received on May 11, 2020, for $15,000,000 in financial assistance 
from the State Water Implementation Fund for the Dow Reservoir and 
Pump Station Expansion project. Project would provide additional 
water storage capacity and would include construction of an upland, 
off-channel reservoir, intake and pump station, outlet and emergency 
spillway, and floodplain enhancements that provide floodplain mitiga-
tion and stream restoration. 

Project ID #51067, a request from Gulf Coast Water Authority, 3630 
Farm-to-Market Road, Texas City, Texas 77591-4824, received on 
May 11, 2020, for $45,000,000 in financial assistance from the State 
Water Implementation Fund for the southeast transmission line, Old 
Galveston line replacement project. 

Project ID #62893, a request from Port O'Connor Improvement Dis-
trict, P.O. Box 375, Port O'Connor, Texas 77982-0375, received on 
May 12, 2020, for $6,000,000 in financial assistance from the Drinking 
Water State Revolving Fund for new water wells and reverse osmosis 
development project. 

Project ID #51021, a request from the City of Houston, P.O. Box 1562, 
Houston, Texas 77251-1562, received on May 12, 2020, for $38,000,00 
in financial assistance from the State Water Implementation Fund for 
the northeast water treatment plant project. 

Project ID #51001, a request from Upper Trinity Regional Water Dis-
trict, 900 North Kealy Street, Lewisville, Texas 75057, received on 

May 12, 2020, for $413,000,000 in financial assistance from the State 
Water Implementation Fund for the continued development of the Lake 
Ralph Hall project. 

Project ID #51055, a request from Guadalupe Blanco River Authority 
on behalf of the City of Carrizo Springs, 933 East Court Street, Seguin, 
Texas 78155-5819, received on May 12, 2020, for $47,100,000 in fi-
nancial assistance from the State Water Implementation Fund for the 
Carrizo groundwater supply project. 

Project ID #73887, a request from the City of Pearland, 3519 Liberty 
Drive, Pearland, Texas 77581-5416, received on May 12, 2020, for 
$75,000,000 in financing from the Clean Water State Revolving Fund 
for the John Hargrove water reclamation facility's expansion project. 

Project ID #73888, a request from the City of Diboll, 400 Kenley Street, 
Diboll, Texas 75947, received on May 12, 2020 for $4,000,000 in fi-
nancial assistance from the Clean Water State Revolving Fund for a 
wastewater treatment plant improvement project. 
TRD-202002315 
Ashley Harden 
General Counsel 
Texas Water Development Board 
Filed: June 8, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
Workforce Solutions Deep East Texas 
RFQ 20-399 Legal Services 
The Deep East Texas Local Workforce Development Board dba 
Workforce Solutions Deep East Texas is issuing a Request for Pro-
posals for the FOR THE OPERATION AND MANAGEMENT OF 
WORKFORCE SOLUTIONS DEEP EAST TEXAS CHILD CARE 
SERVICES (CCS) SYSTEM 

A copy of the RFP # 20-395 is available on the Board's website at 
www.detwork.org. 

Deadline for Submission of Proposals: 11:00 p.m. CST, Monday, 
April 6, 2020. 

Proposals will ONLY be accepted via email and must be submitted 
to kmoulder@detwork.org. Proposals submitted via private or public 
mail carrier, courier service, fax, or hand delivery will not be accepted. 

Requests for copies of the RFP and questions regarding the RFP can 
be made to: 

Kim Moulder, Staff Services Officer 

Workforce Solutions - Deep East Texas 

415 South First Street, Suite 110B 

Lufkin, Texas 75901 

Phone: (936) 639-8898 Fax: (936) 633-7491 

Email: kmoulder@detwork.org 

The Deep East Texas Local Workforce Development Board plans, 
oversees, and evaluates employment and training services to Angelina, 
Jasper, Newton, Nacogdoches, Houston, Trinity, Shelby, Polk, San 
Augustine, San Jacinto, Sabine, and Tyler Counties. Bidders will 
provide services throughout the entire region and will coordinate with 
other workforce service providers. 
TRD-202002313 
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Kim Moulder 
Staff Service Specialist 
Workforce Solutions Deep East Texas 
Filed: June 8, 2020 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
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How to Use the Texas Register 
Information Available: The sections of the Texas Register  

represent various facets of state government. Documents contained  
within them include: 
 Governor - Appointments, executive orders, and  
proclamations. 
 Attorney General - summaries of requests for opinions, 
opinions, and open records decisions. 
 Texas Ethics Commission - summaries of requests for 
opinions and opinions. 
 Emergency  Rules - sections adopted by state agencies on an 
emergency basis. 
 Proposed Rules - sections proposed for adoption. 
 Withdrawn Rules - sections withdrawn by state agencies  
from consideration for adoption, or automatically withdrawn by  
the Texas Register six months after the proposal publication date. 
 Adopted Rules - sections adopted following public comment 
period. 
 Texas Department of Insurance Exempt  Filings  - notices of  
actions taken by the Texas Department of Insurance pursuant to 
Chapter 5, Subchapter L of the Insurance Code. 
 Review of Agency Rules - notices of state  agency  rules 
review. 
 Tables and Graphics  - graphic material from the proposed, 
emergency and  adopted sections. 
 Transferred Rules  - notice that the Legislature has  
transferred rules within the  Texas Administrative Code from one 
state agency to another, or directed the Secretary of State to  
remove the rules of an abolished  agency. 
 In Addition  - miscellaneous information required to be 
published by statute or provided as a public service. 
 Specific explanation on the contents of each section can be  
found on the beginning page of the section. The division also 
publishes cumulative quarterly and annual indexes to aid in  
researching material published.  
 
How to Cite: Material published in the Texas Register  is 
referenced by  citing the volume in which the document appears, 
the words “TexReg” and the beginning page number on which that 
document was published. For example, a document published on  
page 2402 of Volume 43 (2018) is cited as follows: 43 TexReg 
2402. 
 
In order that readers may cite material more easily, page numbers  
are now written as citations. Example: on page 2 in the lower-left  
hand corner of the page, would be written “43 TexReg 2 issue 
date,” while on the opposite page, page 3, in the lower right-hand 
corner, would be written “issue date 43 TexReg 3.” 
 
How to Research: The public is invited to research rules and 
information of interest between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays  at the  
Texas Register  office, James Earl Rudder Building, 1019 Brazos, 
Austin. Material can be found using Texas Register  indexes, the 
Texas Administrative Code section numbers, or  TRD number. 
 
Both the Texas Register  and the Texas Administrative Code  are 
available online at: http://www.sos.state.tx.us. The Texas Register  
is available in an .html version as well as a .pdf  version through 
the internet. For website information, call the Texas Register at  
(512) 463-5561. 

Texas Administrative Code 
The Texas Administrative Code  (TAC) is the compilation of  

all final state  agency rules published in the  Texas Register. 
Following its effective date, a rule is entered into the Texas  
Administrative Code. Emergency rules, which may be adopted by  
an agency  on an interim basis,  are not codified within the TAC. 
 

The TAC volumes are arranged into Titles and Parts (using 
Arabic numerals). The Titles  are broad subject categories into 
which the agencies are grouped as a matter of convenience. Each  
Part represents  an individual state agency. 
 
 The complete  TAC is available through the Secretary of  
State’s website at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac.   
 
 The Titles of the  TAC, and their  respective Title  numbers  are: 
 

 1. Administration 
 4. Agriculture 
 7. Banking and Securities 
 10. Community  Development 

13. Cultural Resources 
 16. Economic Regulation 

  19.  Education 
22. Examining Boards 
25. Health  Services  

  26. Health and  Human Services 
 28. Insurance 

30. Environmental Quality 
  31. Natural Resources and Conservation 

 34. Public Finance 
  37. Public Safety and Corr ections  
  40. Social Services and Assistance 

 43. Transportation 
 
How to Cite: Under the TAC scheme, each section is designated  
by a  TAC number. For example in the citation  1 TAC §27.15: 1  
indicates the title under which the  agency appears in the Texas  
Administrative Code; TAC stands for the Texas Administrative  
Code; §27.15 is the section number of the rule (27 indicates that 
the section is under Chapter 27 of Title 1; 15 represents the 
individual section within the chapter).  
 
How to Update: To find out if a rule has changed since the 
publication of the current supplement to the Texas Administrative  
Code, please look at the Index of  Rules. 
 
The Index of Rules is published cumulatively  in the blue-cover 
quarterly indexes to the Texas Register. 
 
If a rule has changed during the time period covered by the table, 
the rule’s TAC number will be printed with the Texas Register 
page number and a notation indicating the type of filing 
(emergency, proposed, withdrawn, or adopted) as shown in the 
following example.  
 
 TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 
 Part 4. Office of the Secretary of State 
 Chapter 91. Texas Register 
 1 TAC §91.1……..........................................950 (P)  

http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac
http:http://www.sos.state.tx.us


  

             
     

         
 

  
             

 

SALES AND CUSTOMER SUPPORT 

Sales - To purchase subscriptions or back issues, you may contact LexisNexis Sales at 
1-800-223-1940 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Central Time, Monday through Friday. Subscription 
cost is $502 annually for first-class mail delivery and $340 annually for second-class 
mail delivery. 

Customer Support - For questions concerning your subscription or account information, 
you may contact LexisNexis Matthew Bender Customer Support from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., 
Central Time, Monday through Friday. 

Phone: (800) 833-9844 
Fax: (518) 487-3584 
E-mail: customer.support@lexisnexis.com 
Website: www.lexisnexis.com/printcdsc 

www.lexisnexis.com/printcdsc
mailto:customer.support@lexisnexis.com
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