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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 371. MEDICAID AND OTHER
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FRAUD
AND ABUSE PROGRAM INTEGRITY
SUBCHAPTER G. ADMINISTRATIVE
ACTIONS AND SANCTIONS

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) adopts amendments to
§371.1603, concerning Legal Basis and Scope; and §371.1715,
concerning Damages and Penalties.

The amendments to §371.1603 and §371.1715 are adopted
without changes to the proposed text as published in the
December 13, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg
7576). These rules will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The purpose of the amendments is to clarify the factors that the
agency considers when imposing and scaling enforcement ac-
tions as required by Texas Government Code §531.102(x), in-
cluding appropriate mitigating factors, as well as to clarify that
the agency assesses penalties in accordance with relevant law,
particularly Texas Human Resource Code §32.039.

During its last review of the HHSC-Office of Inspector General
(OIG), the Sunset Advisory Commission recommended that the
agency revise its rules to provide direction for determining which
sanction to apply to each violation committed by a person sub-
ject to agency regulation. After consulting with stakeholders, the
Executive Commissioner proposed amendments to §371.1603
to provide that direction while also affirming that each matter is
evaluated on a case-by-case basis. The amended rule clarifies
those factors that the agency applies when determining the se-
riousness, prevalence of error, harm, or potential harm of a vio-
lation, as required by statute. The amendments add examples
of mitigating factors that the agency may consider when evalu-
ating a violation and scaling resulting enforcement actions. The
amendments also clarify that a person potentially subject to an
enforcement action may introduce such mitigating factors in any
contested case, as well as during the agency's informal resolu-
tion process.

The amendments to §371.1715 clarify that OIG has the authority
to impose administrative penalties on behalf of HHSC or other
health and human service agencies, if such penalties are autho-
rized by law, and that penalties for violations concerning Med-
icaid and other medical assistance programs will be imposed in

accordance with §32.039, Texas Human Resources Code, which
provides ranges of penalties for specific violations. The amend-
ments also clarify that OIG will, when imposing penalties, apply
the factors in accordance with §371.1603.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended January 13, 2020. During
this period, HHSC received comments regarding the proposed
rules from the Texas Medical Association, the Texas Dental
Association, the Texas Health Care Association, Superior
HealthPlan, BakerHostetler, LLP, and In-Home Attendant Ser-
vices. A summary of comments relating to the rules, and HHSC
responses, follows.

Comment: One commenter agrees that the amended rule lan-
guage in §371.1603 protects the due process of a person sub-
ject to agency regulation. The commenter also agrees with OIG
that each case must be evaluated individually, allowing the per-
son potentially subject to an enforcement action to submit miti-
gating factors for the agency's consideration during a contested
case and during the agency's informal resolution process, as the
agency evaluates violations, and scales resulting enforcement
actions.

Response: OIG appreciates the supportive comment. No
change was made in response to the comment.

Comment: Two commenters suggest changing the phrase "sole
discretion" in §371.1603(c) to "reasonable discretion." One com-
menter believes this change is necessary to ensure that recipient
and community needs are considered in connection with the de-
termination of whether to grant an installment agreement. Fur-
ther, one commenter suggests this change should occur to en-
sure that similarly situated providers are treated in a reasonably
consistent manner.

Response: OIG regularly offers installment agreements when
warranted by the facts. However, OIG considers this comment
to be beyond the scope of the amendment. The language "[a]t
OIG's sole discretion, overpayments may be collected in a lump
sum or through installments" is an existing provision in the rule.
OIG added the sentence to which the commenter referred as
an accommodation to an informal commenter seeking to ensure
that providers are aware of their opportunity to request install-
ment agreements. The phrase "sole discretion" in the added
sentence reiterates the existing provision in the first sentence of
§371.1603(c). No change was made in response to this com-
ment.

Comment: Two commenters recommend that the phrase "ad-
ministrative penalties or both" in §371.1603(c) should be deleted.
One commenter states that it is incongruous to subject a per-
son to an administrative penalty for paying under the terms of
an installment agreement when an installment agreement is not
a basis for the imposition of an administrative penalty under the
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Texas Administrative Code (TAC) rules that provide grounds for
enforcement. The commenter further states that the imposition
of administrative penalties for utilization of an installment agree-
ment would result in the stacking of administrative penalties.

Response: The administrative penalties referenced in the rule
are default penalties for failing to comply with the terms of an in-
stallment agreement. OIG reserves the right to use installment
agreements and reserves the right to include default penalty pro-
visions in the installment agreements in case a person fails to
comply with the agreement. Default penalties only come into
effect if the provider fails to comply with the terms of the install-
ment agreement. Additionally, a provider is not required to ac-
cept an installment agreement that includes a provision for the
assessment of penalties. OIG has authority, under Texas Hu-
man Resources Code §32.039(b)(3) and 1 TAC §371.1655(3)
and (9), to assess a penalty for failing to repay overpayments
after receiving notice of a delinquency or failing to comply with
a settlement agreement. A provider's delinquency in making a
payment required by a settlement agreement is a new ground
for enforcement that exposes the provider to the risk of addi-
tional penalties. This is not stacking of penalties, but penalties
assessed as a result of contract non-compliance. No change
was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter suggests establishing a specified
rate of interest in connection with installment agreements, includ-
ing using a provision similar to that set forth in 1 TAC §357.643,
updated to refer to Texas Finance Code §304.102.

Response: OIG uses, in its current settlement agreement forms,
the judgment rate referenced in Texas Finance Code §304.003
to calculate interest in connection with installment agreements.
No change was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter requests that OIG provide a citation
for the underlying statutory authority that serves as the basis for
the proposed amendment language regarding authorization of
interest and/or penalties in §371.1603(c).

Response: OIG has authority under Texas Human Resources
Code §32.039(b)(3) and 1 TAC §371.1655(3) and (9) to assess a
penalty for failing to repay overpayments after receiving notice of
a delinquency or failing to comply with a settlement agreement.
Furthermore, a provider is not required to accept an installment
agreement that includes a provision for the assessment of in-
terest and/or administrative penalties. Unless prohibited by law,
parties to a contract may mutually agree on remedies for de-
fault. A provider's delinquency in making a payment required by
a settlement agreement is a new ground for enforcement that ex-
poses the provider to the risk of additional penalties. No change
was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter requests that if the proposed
amendment language in §371.1603(c) is adopted, the language
should be amended to state that (1) the interest and/or penalties
referenced are only for late or missed payments and (2) a good
cause exception must be included in the settlement agreement.

Response: OIG routinely considers evidence of good cause
submitted by a provider who is delinquent in making payments
required by a settlement agreement. Every settlement agree-
ment contains an amendment clause allowing amendment by
mutual agreement. When warranted by the facts, OIG considers
amendment of the settlement agreement to adjust the payment
schedule. No change was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter suggests that OIG adopt an
approach similar to that used in federal regulation 42 CFR
§405.371(b)(3), which addresses suspension of Medicare
payments to providers and suppliers of services. Specifically,
HHSC would establish an outside period of time at which point
a case would be deemed to be closed under §371.1603(e),
unless OIG took affirmative action to keep the case open.

Response: OIG did not propose any amendments to
§371.1603(e), the subsection this comment concerns. The
purpose of the amendments is to clarify the factors the agency
considers when imposing and scaling enforcement actions as
required under Texas Government Code §531.102(x), including
appropriate mitigating factors, as well as to clarify that the
agency assesses penalties in accordance with relevant law,
particularly Texas Human Resources Code §32.039. HHSC did
not propose to amend how long an OIG case remains open.
Therefore, the commenter's suggested amendment is outside
the scope of the proposed amendments. No change was made
in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter recommends that other factors be
included in §371.1603(f) for determining the severity of a sanc-
tion, including (1) the presence or absence of a direct benefit to
the person, (2) whether complicity in the violation is widespread
throughout the provider organization, (3) the level of intent or
culpability of the parties, (4) the degree of difficulty in detecting
the particular type of offense, and (5) the lack of remedial steps
taken by the person.

Response: The factors listed in §371.1603(f)(1) - (3) and (g) al-
ready allow OIG to consider factors such as those proposed by
the commenter. No change was made in response to this com-
ment.

Comment: One commenter asserts that the phrase "except as
provided in other statute, rule, or regulation" in §371.1603(f)
is vague and fails to give physicians and providers fair notice
of when the listed factors will be considered versus when they
will not. The commenter further recommends that the proposed
rules specifically describe whether and when OIG will consider
the factors listed in the proposed rules and that OIG clearly
specify any exceptions in the rule proposal (preferably with
applicable statutory/regulatory citations).

Response: The introductory phrase --"[e]xcept as provided in
other statute, rule, or regulation"-- is included in the rule be-
cause other law exists that does not allow OIG to use discretion
in determining the appropriate administrative action or sanction.
For example, federal law (42 USC §1396a(a)(39)) and 1 TAC
§371.1705 require OIG to exclude from Medicaid persons con-
victed of certain crimes. Federal regulation (42 CFR §455.416)
requires the State Medicaid agency to terminate the enroliment
of a provider under certain circumstances, such as being ter-
minated from Medicare or Medicaid in another state. Further,
because federal and state law is so expansive, it would be im-
practicable to list all laws that may restrict OIG's discretion in
determining the appropriate sanction. No change was made in
response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter requests that OIG clarify the mean-
ing of the phrase "prevalence of errors" in §371.1603(f)(2) to
make clear the context, what type of errors are being considered
(clerical or medical), and whether the errors must be related to
the alleged violation.

Response: The rule language was taken directly from Texas
Government Code §531.102(x), which requires the adoption
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of rules establishing criteria that include consideration of "the
prevalence of errors by the provider." The statute does not
limit the type of error that may be considered; therefore, OIG
reserves the right to consider the prevalence of all types of
errors committed by the provider in determining an appropriate
administrative action or sanction. No change was made in
response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that, with respect to harm "po-
tentially resulting from [the] errors" as used in §371.1603(f)(3),
OIG should establish a noncompliance matrix, based on the
Severity Matrix used by CMS, to help assure that the potential
errors are evaluated consistently. The commenter suggests
that the matrix should focus on whether the harm potentially
resulting from the noncompliance is isolated, part of a pattern,
or a widespread occurrence, and on the severity of the harm.

Response: Texas Government Code §531.102(x) requires the
adoption of rules establishing criteria that include consideration
of "the financial or other harm to the state or recipients result-
ing or potentially resulting from those errors." A case-by-case
approach in which OIG may consider all of the factors listed in
§371.1603(f)(1) - (6), (g)(1) - (10), and (h)(1) - (7) allows for the
most flexibility to consider all available facts. Additionally, the
factors listed in §371.1603(f)(1) - (3) and (g) already allow OIG
to consider factors such as those proposed by the commenter.
The Severity Matrix used by CMS is a graphical representation
of the assessment factors used to determine the severity and
scope of the violations. Both of those concepts are factored into
this rule along with many other factors prescribed by statute, rec-
ommended by stakeholders, and required to ensure appropriate
actions under the circumstances. No change was made in re-
sponse to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that "potential harm" refer-
enced in §371.1603(f)(3) is an unmeasurable standard, there is
insufficient notice in the amended rule as to what type of actions
would create potential harm, and that the inclusion of "potential
harm" could have significant financial consequences to health
plans and providers. The commenter urges HHSC to remove
"potential" from the rule.

Response: Texas Government Code §531.102(x) requires the
adoption of rules establishing criteria that include consideration
of "the financial or other harm to the state or recipients resulting
or potentially resulting from those errors" (emphasis added). No
change was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that the language
"whether the person had previously committed a violation" in
§371.1603(f)(4) could be interpreted as any violation within
any given time, known or unknown and, therefore, should be
changed to "whether the HHSC has made a prior finding of this
violation."

Response: The language in §371.1603(f)(4) is identical to the
language in Texas Human Resource Code §32.039(e)(2) that
requires OIG to consider "whether the person had previously
committed a violation" when OIG is determining the amount of
penalty to be assessed for a violation of §32.039(b). No change
was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that the language in
§371.1603(f)(4) and (6) is based on Texas Human Resource
Code §32.039(e) and is specific to determining an amount of
an administrative penalty for certain types of violations, but the
proposed rule language would permit consideration of these
factors in a broader context. The commenter further states that

it is unaware of specific statutory authority that broadens the
scope of the application of §32.039(e). Finally, the commenter
recommends replacing §371.1603(f)(4) and (6) with the follow-
ing language:

(f)() in determining the amount of a penalty to be assessed, if
any, for a violation falling under Tex. Hum. Res. Code, Section
32.039(c)(2) and (e), the OIG shall consider:

(i) the seriousness of the violation;
(i) whether the person had previously committed a violation; and

(iii) the amount necessary to deter the person from future viola-
tions.

Response: A state agency has authority expressly provided
by statute or necessarily implied to carry out the express pow-
ers. Texas Government Code §531.102(x) requires the HHSC
Executive Commissioner to "adopt rules establishing criteria
for determining enforcement and punitive actions with regard
to a provider who has violated state law, program rules, or
the provider's Medicaid agreement," and the statute does not
limit the factors HHSC may consider. Additionally, proposed
§371.1603(f)(6) is limited to the application of administrative
penalties. Finally, OIG increases transparency by including in
rule the factors OIG considers in determining the appropriate
administrative action or sanction. No change was made in
response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter recommends that proposed
§371.1603(f)(6) should include appropriate objective factors
guiding OIG on how to calculate this form of administrative
penalty, and that penalties should conform to actual harm and
other factors and not solely OIG's view of a deterrent amount.
The commenter is also concerned about the application of an
administrative penalty for an action that causes no harm but is
subject to a fine under the sole guidance that OIG believes that
a penalty of that size would be required to deter the person from
committing a future violation.

Response: OIG does not calculate an administrative penalty
solely on OIG's view of a deterrent amount. When making a
preliminary determination regarding the appropriate amount
of administrative penalties, OIG, as set out in §371.1603(f),
must consider the six factors listed in §371.1603(f) and may
consider any other relevant factors, including the twenty-one
factors in §371.1603(g) and (h). Texas Human Resource Code
§32.039(e)(2) requires, in determining the amount of penalty to
pursue under subsection (c)(2), that OIG consider "the amount
necessary to deter the person from committing future viola-
tions." Because the Legislature has required consideration of
this factor, no change was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that Texas Government Code
§531.102(x) only mentions mitigating factors, not "aggravating"
ones and so there is no authorization for the list of aggravating
factors in §371.1603(g). The commenter recommends that the
proposed §371.1603(g) (and the current aggravating factor list)
be removed from the rule and that OIG should only rely on con-
sideration of those factors listed under §371.1603(f). The com-
menter further states that many of the additional factors listed
in §371.1603(g) are redundant with the considerations listed in
§371.1603(f). The commenter states that the first five aggravat-
ing factors listed in §371.1603(g) relate to harm to patients and
the public; but "financial or other harm to the state or recipients"
is already listed as a main consideration under §371.1603(f).
The commenter recommends that if OIG continues to list con-
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sideration of additional factors in §371.1603(g), OIG should (i)
remove criteria (g)(1) through (5) (since criteria (1) - (5) mention
the type of harm caused by providers, which is already captured
in the general consideration of "financial or other harm to the
state or recipients" under §371.1603(f)(3)); and (ii) limit the con-
sideration of previous disciplinary actions or violations to those
related to the present violation (as reflected by OIG's proposed
amendment language in proposed §371.1603(g)(9) and (g)(10)).

Response: The fact that Texas Government Code §531.102(x)
does not contain the word "aggravating" does not mean that
there is no authorization for consideration of a list of factors that
are aggravating. Section 531.102(x) requires HHSC to adopt
rules establishing criteria that include taking into consideration
the three factors listed in (x)(1)(A) - (C). Those factors (serious-
ness of the violation, prevalence of errors, and harm resulting or
potentially resulting), by their very nature, represent aggravating
factors when present, or mitigating factors when absent. Ad-
ditionally, the primary mandate in §531.102(x) is to adopt rules
"establishing criteria for determining enforcement and punitive
actions with regard to a provider who has violated state law,
program rules, or the provider's Medicaid provider agreement."
Because the statute requires the adoption of rules establishing
criteria that "include" consideration of certain factors, the crite-
ria listed in the rule is not limited to the specific factors listed
in §531.102(x)(1)(A) - (C) and not limited to mitigating factors.
Several of the factors listed in §371.1603(g) are not amended
by the proposed rule changes (e.g. (g)(2), (5) - (7)). Other fac-
tors listed in §371.1603(g) are more specific than those listed in
(f) (e.g- (9)(1), (8), (9)). OIG has, in response to informal stake-
holder comments, limited - as described in amended (g)(8) and
(9) - consideration of previous disciplinary action or violations of
board orders to those relevant to the violation(s) under consider-
ation by OIG. No change was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that the potential for harm is
a standard that covers all conduct, whether appropriate or other-
wise, that such a standard cannot be uniformly applied, and that
an unknown amount of potential harm does not provide appro-
priate notice for persons to identify what level or type of potential
harm would be a factor in assessing the amount of administra-
tive damage or penalty.

Response: Texas Government Code §531.102(x) requires the
adoption of rules establishing criteria that include consideration
of "[t]he financial or other harm to the state or recipients resulting
or potentially resulting from those errors" (emphasis added). No
change was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that striking severity of eco-
nomic harm done to a patient essentially leaves an ambiguous
measurement of economic harm and leaves an abundance of
discretion on behalf of OIG to assess harm to a patient. The
commenter suggests that the word severity remain in the rule.

Response: Pursuant to §371.1603(g), when determining the se-
riousness, harm or potential harm of the violation, OIG may con-
sider the physical, emotional, or economic harm to one or more
patients/individuals. In OIG's view, considering the degree of the
harm includes considering the severity of the harm. No change
was made in response to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that the use of the term "rele-
vant" in §371.1603(g)(8) and (9) is confusing and should be re-
placed with "substantially the same as." The commenter states
further that the previous licensure action should be final action
of any board review.

Response: In response to informal stakeholder comments, OIG
added language to §371.1603(g)(8) and (9) to narrow OIG's con-
sideration of previous disciplinary action and violation of previous
orders. OIG disagrees that the term "relevant” is confusing. The
language "previous disciplinary action by a licensing board" is
an existing provision in the current rule and is outside the scope
of the proposed amendments. Additionally, licensing board dis-
ciplinary actions are often resolved through informal processes
such as warning letters or settlement agreements. OIG reserves
the right to consider a licensing board's previous disciplinary ac-
tion in whatever form the various licensing boards utilize and
agrees that mere allegations filed with a licensing board would
not be sufficient. If a person disagrees with the finality of the li-
censing board's action or the weight OIG should give the action,
a party may address these matters in discussions with OIG or
in a contested case, if necessary. No change was made in re-
sponse to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that §371.1603(g)(8) and (9)
are redundant in that licensing board disciplinary actions in (g)(8)
are imposed for licensing board violations in (g)(9). The com-
menter states that these two sections should be combined to
avoid unreasonable stacking or amplification of penalties.

Response: A disciplinary action taken by a licensing board may
result in a board order imposing certain affirmative conditions or
restrictions. As such, a violation of the board's order may consti-
tute a new act or omission-- that may or may not result in board
disciplinary action-- worthy of consideration when determining
the appropriate sanction or penalty. No change was made in re-
sponse to this comment.

Comment: One commenter states that the phrase "may con-
sider" in §371.1603(h) should be changed to "shall consider."
The commenter states that if OIG is aware of a mitigating factor,
it should be considered. Another commenter requests that OIG
clarify that it will consider all applicable mitigating evidence, re-
gardless of its source, and will notify physicians and providers of
the opportunity to present mitigating evidence.

Response: As provided in §371.1603(f), OIG must take into con-
sideration any mitigating factors --regardless of source-- when
making a preliminary determination of the appropriate adminis-
trative action or sanction. Section 371.1603(h) lists items that
may be considered as mitigating factors. If the facts of a partic-
ular case support any of the items listed in (h), and OIG deter-
mines that such facts are mitigating, OIG must take such facts
into consideration as required in (f). OIG notes that if a person
disagrees with or wishes to dispute the proposed administrative
action or sanction, the person may decline to sign a settlement
agreement offered by OIG and has a right to request and have
a hearing. OIG considers the rule language to be the vehicle
by which OIG provides notice that providers have the burden to
present mitigating evidence to OIG. No change was made in re-
sponse to this comment.

Comment: One commenter recommends that OIG add two mit-
igating factors to §371.1603(h): (1) whether the physician or
provider had implemented procedures or safeguards to prevent
the violation; and (2) the provider's lack of prior record.

Response: OIG believes the factors listed in §371.1603(h), as
amended, particularly (h)(2), (6), and (7), and (f)(4), provide suf-
ficient opportunity for OIG to consider the mitigating factors pro-
posed by the commenter. No change was made in response to
this comment.
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Comment: One commenter agrees that the amended rule lan-
guage protects the due process of a person subject to agency
regulation and agrees with OIG that each case must be evalu-
ated individually.

Response: OIG appreciates the supportive comment. No
change was made in response to the comment.

Comment: One commenter states that Texas Human Resource
Code §32.039 is limited in its application to certain viola-
tions specifically listed in that statutory provision (e.g., certain
anti-kickback violations, false claims violations, and managed
care organization violations). The commenter further states that
OIG's proposed amendment language in §371.1715 appears
to extend the application of Texas Human Resource Code
§32.039 to other types of violations. The commenter requested
more information on the statutory language authorizing the
amendments proposed in §371.1715.

Response: The language added to §371.1715(a) is taken di-
rectly from Texas Government Code §531.102(h)(1). No change
was made in response to the comment.

Comment: One commenter states that the proposed change in
§371.1715(a) greatly expands the scope clearly identified by the
Legislature as it relates to OIG and would permit OIG to take
any administrative penalty that has been granted to any health
and human services agency, rather than the prescribed penalties
authorized by Texas Human Resource Code §32.039.

Response: The language added to subsection (a) is taken di-
rectly from Texas Government Code §531.102(h)(1). No change
was made in response to the comment.

Comment: One commenter submits questions, comments, con-
cerns and suggested solutions related to Financial Management
Services Agencies.

Response: This comment does not specifically address any par-
ticular proposed amendment to §371.1603 or §371.1715, there-
fore, OIG considers this comment to be beyond the scope of the
proposed amendments. No change was made in response to
this comment.

DIVISION 1.
1 TAC §371.1603
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are authorized under Texas Government
Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commis-
sioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision
of services by the health and human services agencies; Texas
Government Code §531.102(a), which provides OIG with the
authority to obtain any information or technology necessary to
enable it to meet its responsibilities; Texas Government Code
§531.102(a-2), which requires the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC to work in consultation with OIG to adopt rules necessary
to implement a power or duty of the office; Texas Government
Code §531.102(x), which requires the HHSC Executive Com-
missioner, in consultation with OIG, to adopt rules establishing
criteria for determining enforcement and punitive actions with
regard to a provider who has violated state law, program
rules, or the provider's Medicaid provider agreement; Texas
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; Texas
Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to adminis-
ter the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas,

GENERAL PROVISIONS

to administer Medicaid funds, and to adopt rules necessary for
the proper and efficient regulations of the Medicaid program;
Texas Government Code §531.1131(e), which provides HHSC
with the authority to adopt rules necessary to implement that
section; and Texas Human Resources Code §32.039, which
provides HHSC with the authority to assess administrative
penalties and damages and provides due process for persons
potentially subject to more damages and penalties.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001720

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: December 13, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 491-4058
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DIVISION 3. ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS
AND SANCTIONS

1 TAC §371.1715

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are authorized under Texas Government
Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commis-
sioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision
of services by the health and human services agencies; Texas
Government Code §531.102(a), which provides OIG with the
authority to obtain any information or technology necessary to
enable it to meet its responsibilities; Texas Government Code
§531.102(a-2), which requires the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC to work in consultation with OIG to adopt rules necessary
to implement a power or duty of the office; Texas Government
Code §531.102(x), which requires the HHSC Executive Com-
missioner, in consultation with OIG, to adopt rules establishing
criteria for determining enforcement and punitive actions with
regard to a provider who has violated state law, program
rules, or the provider's Medicaid provider agreement; Texas
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; Texas
Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to adminis-
ter the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas,
to administer Medicaid funds, and to adopt rules necessary for
the proper and efficient regulations of the Medicaid program;
Texas Government Code §531.1131(e), which provides HHSC
with the authority to adopt rules necessary to implement that
section; and Texas Human Resources Code §32.039, which
provides HHSC with the authority to assess administrative
penalties and damages and provides due process for persons
potentially subject to more damages and penalties.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.
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TRD-202001721

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: December 13, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 491-4058

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 2. PUBLIC UTILITY
COMMISSION OF TEXAS

CHAPTER 25. SUBSTANTIVE RULES
APPLICABLE TO ELECTRIC SERVICE
PROVIDERS

The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) adopts
new 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §25.112, relating to
registration of brokers, and new 16 TAC §25.486, relating to
customer protections for brokerage services with changes to the
proposed text as published in the November 29, 2019 issue of
the Texas Register (44 TexReg 7274). The rules will be repub-
lished. These rules will implement the requirements of Public
Utility Regulatory Act (PURA) §39.3555 enacted as Senate Bill
1497 by the 86th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, and ef-
fective on September 1, 2019. These new sections are adopted
under Project Number 49794.

The commission received comments on the proposed new sec-
tions from John Turala; Bottom Line Energy; Electricity Ratings,
LLC; Oncor Electric Delivery Company LLC; Office of Public Util-
ity Counsel (OPUC); Energy Ogre; RES Nation LLC; Alliance
for Retail Markets (ARM); J. Pollock, Inc; Power Wizard, LLC;
Texas Energy Association for Marketers (TEAM); Calpine Retail;
The Energy Professionals Association (TEPA); and Brasovan
Group LLC. The commission received reply comments on the
proposed new sections from Energy Ogre; Enel X North Amer-
ica Inc; Power Wizard; CenterPoint Energy, Inc.; ARM; TEAM,;
AEP Energy, Inc.; OPUC; Calpine Retail; TEPA, and Patriot En-
ergy Group, Inc and EMEX, LLC (collectively, EMEX/Patriot).

General Application of Aggregator Requirements to Brokers

OPUC, ARM, and Calpine each argued that the legislative in-
tent behind PURA §39.3555 (for consistency, commenter refer-
ences to Senate Bill 1497 are summarized as referencing PURA
§39.3555) is for the commission to regulate brokers in a sim-
ilar fashion as it regulates aggregators. Each of these three
commenters pointed to the 2019 Scope of Competition Report
in Electric Markets in Texas: Report to the 86th Legislature, in
which the commission recommended that "the Legislature re-
quire retail electric brokers to register with the Commission in a
manner similar to retail electric aggregators to ensure that cus-
tomers who use a retail electric broker have adequate customer
protections." ARM and OPUC each also referenced versions of
the author's statement of intent for PURA §39.3555, which each
described the bill as creating the same registration standard for
brokers as currently applies to aggregators.

With regard to broker registration requirements, OPUC argued
that the legislative history indicates that the commission should
apply the same registration requirements to brokers as currently

apply to aggregators. ARM, on the other hand, pointed to ad-
ditional legislative intent that was read into the record by State
Representatives Tan Parker and Jim Murphy that indicated that
registration should require only basic information about brokers
and not require disclosure of any of their "secret sauce" with re-
gard to how they operate their business. ARM interpreted the
legislative history of PURA §39.3555 as evidencing the Legisla-
ture's intent to treat "brokers 'the same' as aggregators for cus-
tomer protection purposes while minimizing any administrative
or financial burden associated with registration.”

In reply comments, TEPA argued that the application of aggre-
gator requirements to brokers is not provided for by the preex-
isting provisions of PURA or the new provisions contained in
PURA §39.3555. TEPA further argues that PURA §39.001 pro-
vides the commission with specific directives including that "elec-
tric services and their prices should be determined by customer
choices and the normal forces of competition" as provided by
PURA §39.001(a); that regulatory authorities may not make rules
or issue orders regulating competitive electric services, prices,
or competitors or restricting or conditioning competition" as pro-
vided by PURA §39.001(c); and that regulatory authorities must
"order competitive rather than regulatory methods...to the great-
est extent feasible" as provided by PURA §39.001(d).

TEPA argued that PURA clearly intends that brokers be regu-
lated differently than aggregators. TEPA points to a number of
differences between PURA §39.3555 and the "more extensive
provisions for aggregators enacted in the original provisions of
Chapter 39." TEPA also noted that PURA §§39.353 (a), (b), (d),
(e), (9), (h); and 39.3535, 39.354, 39.3545, 39.356, and 39.357
all apply to aggregators and not brokers, providing more evi-
dence in support of treating the two entity types differently.

Commission Response

The adopted rules are intended to provide a straightforward
registration process together with the customer protec-
tions that are appropriate for brokers. The adopted rules
are necessarily informed by the commission's experience
with other competitive entities, such as aggregators, but
the provisions in these rules are tailored to the provision
of brokerage services and the requirements of PURA
§39.3555. The commission declines to make changes
based upon these general comments. The commission will
respond to specific requests to adopt rules for brokers that
are similar to rules that currently apply to aggregators in
the appropriate sections below.

General Comments on 16 TAC §25.112
Comments Addressing Interim Registration

Beginning August 8, 2019, the commission accepted interim reg-
istrations from brokers to implement the new registration require-
ment pending development of a new rule. Brokers that submit-
ted completed interim registration forms were assigned an in-
terim registration number. ARM and TEAM each recommended
that the commission require brokers with interim registrations to
reregister using the commission's new registration form by July
1, 2020. TEAM and ARM further recommended that brokers
with interim registrations be allowed to continue providing bro-
kerage services until September 1, 2020, with the caveat that op-
erating under an interim registration during this period does not
constitute an exemption from the commission's customer protec-
tion rules. OPUC agreed that brokers with interim registrations
should be required to reregister.
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Commission Response

The commission declines to require brokers with interim
registrations to reregister because doing so would impose
an unnecessary burden on brokers and commission staff.
The registration requirements included in new 16 TAC
§25.112 are not materially different from the requirements
that were in place when the interim registrations occurred.
Upon final adoption of new 16 TAC §25.112, all brokers with
interim registrations will be considered fully registered,
and commission staff will update commission records to
indicate such. Accordingly, the commission also declines
to add language clarifying that the commission's customer
protection rules apply to brokers with interim registrations,
because these brokers will be fully registered upon final
adoption of this rule. Moreover, the commission's cus-
tomer protection rules apply to all brokers, regardless of
their registration status.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(a)
Reliance on Broker Registration Number

ARM requested that retail electric providers (REPs) be allowed
to rely upon a broker's provision of its broker registration number
as evidence of registration. ARM argued such a process would
be less burdensome than requiring the REP to check the list
on the commission's website to confirm a broker's registration
status. TEAM and Calpine Retail supported this request in reply
comments.

OPUC opposed this request in reply comments. OPUC argued
the broker registration number alone would not allow the REP
to determine if the registration has been suspended, withdrawn,
or expired. OPUC suggested, as an alternative to maintaining
the proposed language, that if the commission decided to allow
REPs to rely upon the registration number provided by the bro-
ker to verify the broker's registration status, that the commission
require REPs to rely upon the publicly available list of registered
brokers posted on the commission's website and the broker reg-
istration number provided to the REP by the broker.

In reply comments, TEPA argued that REPs are permitted to re-
quire broker registrations numbers in their agreements with bro-
kers. Italso asserted that it could not cite any possible prohibition
of this practice, finding no provision in PURA §39.3555 that pro-
vides the commission a statutory basis to regulate discretionary
competitive agreements between REPs and brokers.

Commission Response

The commission declines to modify the rule to allow REPs
to rely solely upon a registration number provided by a bro-
ker to determine that broker's registration status. While re-
lying on the broker's representation might be less burden-
some on REPs, the commission agrees with OPUC that this
approach would not ensure that the broker's registration is
valid. REPs are not required to use the list provided by the
commission. The list is intended to assist REPs in com-
plying with the statutory prohibition against knowingly pro-
viding bids and offers to unregistered brokers. The com-
mission also agrees with TEPA that nothing in this rule pro-
hibits a REP from requiring a broker to provide its registra-
tion number before agreeing to provide that broker with bids
or offers.

Replace "bids and offers” with "prices for retail electric
products or services"

Under 16 TAC §25.112(a), a REP must not knowingly provide
bids or offers to a person who provides brokerage services in this
state for compensation or other consideration and is not regis-
tered as a broker. Power Wizard suggested that the words "bids
and offers" be replaced with "prices for retail electric products or
services" to more accurately reflect interactions between REPs
and retail electric brokers. TEAM opposed Power Wizard's pro-
posal, stating that existing language tracks the statute. TEAM
also noted that the use of those terms would introduce confu-
sion because 16 TAC §§25.474 (relating to Selection of Retail
Electric Provider) and 25.475 (relating to General Retail Electric
Provider Requirements and Information Disclosures to Residen-
tial and Small Commercial Customers) already impose obliga-
tions on REPs regarding retail electric products and services.

Commission Response

The commission declines to replace "bids and offers"
with "prices for retail electric products or services," as
suggested by Power Wizard. The commission agrees with
TEAM that "bids and offers" tracks the language of the
statute. PURA §39.3555 defines brokerage services very
broadly, which reflects the diverse array of interactions
among brokers, clients, and REPs. Power Wizard's pro-
posed change would narrow the scope of REP and broker
interactions that are subject to the statutory requirement
for REPs to do business only with registered brokers.

Brasovan asserted that some registered brokers might attempt
to contract with unregistered third-party contractors to skirt the
requirements of this section. Brasovan suggested that either the
commission require any individual that is not an employee of a
registered company or sole proprietor to register, or the commis-
sion require the registered entity through which the pricing was
obtained be fully liable for any agents that work through them.

Commission Response

The commission agrees with Brasovan that a registered
broker cannot avoid the commission's rules by contracting
with a third party. If a registered broker outsources any
component of the provision of brokerage services to a sub-
contractor, agent, or any other entity, the broker remains
accountable under applicable laws and commission rules
for any activity conducted on its behalf by the third-party
entity. The commission adds language to clarify this point.

Broker responsibility for subcontractors or agents

Comments made regarding broker responsibility for subcontrac-
tor or agents were raised in response to rule sections other than
16 TAC §25.112. Specifically, ARM recommended adding a pro-
vision to proposed 16 TAC §25.486(d) holding a broker respon-
sible for its representations to customers and applicants by em-
ployees or other agents of the broker concerning brokerage or
retail electric service that are made through advertising, mar-
keting, or other means. TEAM supported this proposal in reply
comments.

Commission Response

The commission generally agrees with ARM's comments
but finds that the recommended provision is more appro-
priately added to 16 TAC §25.112(a) and has amended that
rule accordingly.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(b)

J. Pollock requested that the commission adopt a definition of
"consulting services" and clarify that consulting services are not
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brokerage services. J. Pollock argued that there is a fundamen-
tal difference between brokers and consultants. A broker, ac-
cording to J. Pollock, is a person or firm who arranges transac-
tions between a buyer and a seller for a commission paid when
the deal is executed. By contrast, a consultant focuses on meet-
ing the client's needs and collects a fee that is independent of
the client's electricity usage or the details of the client's retail
electric contract. J. Pollock further argued that defining brokers
to include consultants would have the unintended consequence
of requiring legal counsel that reviews contract terms and con-
ditions to register as a broker. J. Pollock requested that if the
commission adopts the proposal for publication, it clarify that le-
gal advisors must register as brokers.

In reply comments, Calpine Retail agreed that the commission
should consider adopting a definition of consulting services and
stated that consulting services are clearly different from broker-
age services.

TEAM, TEPA, ARM, and Power Wizard opposed adding a
definition of consulting services. These parties argued that
excluding consulting services from the definition of brokerage
services would be inconsistent with the plain language of PURA
§39.3555, which defines brokerage services broadly to include
persons who provide "advice or procurement services to...a
retail electric customer regarding the selection of a [REP], or the
products or services offered by a [REP]". ARM indicated that
J. Pollock's proposal would create a loophole, allowing persons
providing brokerage services to avoid registering as brokers and
complying with the customer protection requirements of PURA
and the commission's rules. Power Wizard explained that legal
advice related to the terms and conditions of a contract for
the purchase of retail electric service is easily distinguishable
from providing advice or procurement services regarding the
selection of a REP.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include a definition of "consult-
ing services." The commission agrees that adopting a defi-
nition of consulting services would exclude from the regis-
tration requirement consultants who are engaging in activ-
ities within the statutory definition of "brokerage services."
Doing so would be inconsistent with the plain language of
PURA §39.3555. The Legislature's inclusion of the term "ad-
vice" makes it clear that brokers are not limited to persons
or firms who arrange transactions between buyers and sell-
ers for acommission when a deal is executed, as suggested
by J. Pollock. The commission agrees with Power Wizard
that other types of advice, such as legal, financial, regula-
tory, or energy management, are distinguishable from ad-
vice regarding the selection of a retail electric product, ser-
vice, or provider.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(b)(2)

TEPA suggested that the definition of brokerage services specify
that the services must be offered for compensation or other con-
sideration to prevent friendly advice from neighbors being con-
strued as brokerage services. TEAM opposed this suggestion
in reply comments. TEAM argued that this was not in line with
the statutory definition of brokerage services and could create
unintended regulatory gaps.

Commission Response

The commission declines to change the definition of broker-
age services in response to these comments. The commis-

sion agrees with TEAM that deviating from the statutory def-
inition of brokerage services could create unintended reg-
ulatory gaps. The requirement to register with the commis-
sion and many of the other provisions of 16 TAC §§25.112
and 25.486 do not apply unless the broker is receiving some
form of compensation or is entering into a written agree-
ment with a client. To address the few remaining scenarios
in which an interaction between neighbors could be con-
strued under the statute as the provision of brokerage ser-
vices, the commission will rely on enforcement discretion
to avoid unintended enforcement outcomes.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(c)
Type of Customer Registration Requirement

ARM commented that registrants should be required to state the
types of customers to whom they intend to provide brokerage
services. ARM argued this is required to achieve consistency
with the interim form. In reply comments, ARM noted that this
information would assist commission staff in their review of a
registration application from a potential broker. TEAM supported
this in its reply because it is not overly burdensome, is required of
other market participants, and may be helpful to the commission
in better understanding each broker's role in the marketplace.

TEPA opposed requiring registrants to specify the types of cus-
tomers to whom the registrant intends to provide brokerage ser-
vices. TEPA argued that the type of customers a broker serves
may change after its initial registration, requiring frequent up-
dates.

Commission Response

The commission declines to require a registrant to specify
the types of customers to whom it intends to provide broker-
age services. Doing so is not necessary to evaluate broker
registration applications. The commission will update the
registration form, as necessary, to resolve any inconsisten-
cies with the rules.

Affiliate Disclosure Registration Requirement

TEAM, ARM, TEPA and OPUC each proposed a requirement
that brokers disclose certain affiliates as part of the registration
process. Power Wizard also indicated, in reply comments, that
it supported affiliate disclosure when potentially useful or bene-
ficial to customers.

TEPA recommended that affiliate relationships between brokers
and REPs should be required to be disclosed as part of the bro-
ker registration process. TEPA argued that the premise of broker
registration is that consumers need transparent, reliable informa-
tion about various market participants to make an informed de-
cision about competitive choices for electricity. TEPA continued
that if the consumer is not provided accurate and complete infor-
mation, consumer confidence will be undermined, and the value
of brokerage services will be diminished in the marketplace.

TEAM suggested requiring brokers to provide the names of both
the affiliates and subsidiaries of the registering party who are reg-
istered or certified by the commission. ARM suggested a similar
disclosure requirement, advocating for the disclosure of relation-
ships with all customer-facing competitive entities. ARM asked
that the name of any REP, aggregator, electric utility, or other
broker that is an affiliate of the broker be included.

Power Wizard opposed TEAM's initial suggestion in reply com-
ments, arguing that many entities that must register with the
commission, such as registered power generators or certified re-
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newable energy credit generators, are unlikely to be relevant to
retail electric consumers. Power Wizard suggested limiting dis-
closure to those affiliates that are public facing entities. Calpine
Retail supported ARM's proposal in reply comments. In reply
comments, ARM and TEAM submitted a harmonized proposal
requiring disclosure of the name of any REP, aggregator, elec-
tric utility, or other broker that is an affiliate or subsidiary of the
registrant.

OPUC proposed adding affiliate disclosure requirements by ap-
plying the aggregator affiliate disclosure requirements of 16 TAC
§8§25.111(f)(1)(J)-(L) (relating to Registration of Aggregators) to
brokers. Under these provisions, a registrant would be required
to disclose: the names of the affiliates and subsidiaries, if any, of
the registering party that provide utility-related services (such as
telecommunications, electric, gas, water, or cable service); any
affiliate or agency relationships and the nature of any affiliate or
agency agreements with REPs or transmission and distribution
utilities, and an explanation of plans to disclose its agency rela-
tionships with REPs to customers and REPs with whom it does
business; and, a list of other states, if any, in which the register-
ing party and registering party's affiliates and subsidiaries that
provide utility-related services currently conduct or previously
conducted business. In reply comments, OPUC indicated that
it preferred broader disclosure requirements but also supported
the proposals of TEAM and ARM.

TEAM noted in reply comments that requiring disclosure of some
items recommended by OPUC would impose additional burdens
on brokers with limited benefit toward achieving transparency
and preventing customer confusion. Specifically, TEAM ques-
tioned the value of requiring the disclosure of affiliates that pro-
vide utility-related services like cable service or requiring expla-
nations of a broker's plans to disclose its affiliate relationships to
customers. TEAM also noted, however, that OPUC's proposed
subsections would not impose an anomalous burden on brokers,
as they replicate existing registration requirements for aggrega-
tors. ARM opposed OPUC's recommendation regarding the dis-
closure of agency relationships with REPs, arguing that brokers
are never agents of REPs and so a disclosure of agency agree-
ments would always yield a null result.

Commission Response

The commission declines to require affiliate disclosure as
part of the registration process, as requested by TEAM,
ARM, TEPA, and OPUC. Commission staff does not need
information about a registrant's affiliates to process its
registration application because there are no prohibitions
against these affiliations. If commission staff needs this
information as part of an investigation or complaint pro-
ceeding, commission staff can request it at that time.

The commission intends for broker registration to be a sim-
ple process. While clients may benefit from transparency
regarding potential conflicts of interest between brokers
and other regulated entities, this can be accomplished
without requiring disclosure at the time of registration.

Clients will have access to some affiliate information as part
of the mandatory disclosures a broker must make prior to
the initiation of brokerage services under 16 TAC §25.486,
the specifics of which are described as part of the commis-
sion's response to comments filed concerning that section.
This access provides clients with relevant affiliate informa-
tion that is up to date when the client is faced with the deci-
sion of whether to work with a particular broker. Moreover,

if a client is interested in a broker's other affiliates, or any
other information, it can request that information from the
broker.

OPUC's Requested Registration Disclosures

OPUC described the registration requirements in the proposed
rule as collecting only the names and contact information of
entities providing brokerage services to residential and small
commercial customers. OPUC urged that more information
should be required in the broker registration process, be-
cause these entities will directly engage with consumers in
offering their brokerage services. OPUC recommended that
the commission strengthen the customer protections in the
proposed rule to conform with the intent of PURA §39.3555.
OPUC continued that applying the same registration require-
ments as currently apply to aggregators would be appropriate.
Specifically, OPUC advocated for the application of 16 TAC
§825.111(f)(1)(H)-(Q) to brokers. OPUC's suggestions regard-
ing 16 TAC §§25.111(f)(1)(J)-(L) are addressed separately
above in the context of adding affiliate disclosure requirements
to the registration requirements.

The specific requirements recommended by OPUC address
delinquency with taxing authorities; prior retail electric expe-
rience; anticipated sources of compensation and the broker's
plan for disclosing that compensation to customers; history of
bankruptcy; prior convictions of an officer, director or principal;
known active customer protection investigations; and complaint
history.

In reply comments, TEAM stated generally that it was not op-
posed to OPUC's proposed additions, which would require sev-
eral disclosures related to protecting customers and protecting
against fraud. TEAM also generally supported the concept of
compensation disclosure requirements. It argued that any com-
pensation disclosure required during registration should comple-
ment the compensation disclosure required to a broker's clients
in 16 TAC §25.486(f).

TEPA, Enel X, and Power Wizard each opposed OPUC's broad
application of aggregator rules to the broker registration process.
TEPA argued that no provisions of law have been identified to
support these suggestions. Enel X submitted that the proposed
rule strikes a good balance on the amount of information bro-
kers are required to submit with their applications. Enel X op-
posed suggestions by OPUC and others to increase the regula-
tory burden of the application process, finding OPUC's sugges-
tions more in line with full licensing, rather than mere registra-
tion. Power Wizard argued that the fact that consumers engage
directly with brokers does not alone necessitate the additional
disclosures, as OPUC argued. The disclosure requirements in
the proposed rule demonstrate the commission's recognition of
the different levels of risk that consumers face when engaging
the services of a REP, an aggregator, or a broker, and the pro-
posed rule provides an appropriate level of disclosure in light of
the lower level of consumer risk associated with the use of bro-
kerage services by consumers.

Commission Response

The commission declines to adopt disclosure require-
ments for brokers similar to those found in 16 TAC
§§25.111(f)(1)(H), (1), and (M)-(Q). The commission agrees
with Enel X and Power Wizard that the additional disclo-
sures requested by OPUC would be overly burdensome
for registrants. None of the information that any of the
suggested provisions would produce is required for com-
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mission staff to evaluate a broker registration application.
If the commission staff needs any of this information in the
future to assess whether a broker has violated a commis-
sion rule, it can request the information at that time.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(c)(1)
Increased Database Functionality

TEPA requested the commission expand the search function of
the database to allow for "doing business as" (commonly referred
to as "dba") searches. Alternatively, it suggested the commission
could require a streamlined registration or sub-registration for all
allowable names used by the broker to market or offer brokerage
services.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include language related to
the search function of the broker database. Putting specific
database requirements into rules may limit commission
staff's ability to make improvements or necessary modifi-
cations to the database in the future without amending the
rule.

With regard to the suggestion that the commission require
sub-registration for all allowable names used by the bro-
ker to market or offer brokerage services, registrants are
required to provide all business names of the registrant,
limited to five business names. The commission interprets
business names to include any assumed names that a bro-
ker uses when conducting its business.

Broker Naming Restrictions; Utility Cobranding

TEAM, ARM, OPUC, and Power Wizard argued that the rules
should prohibit cobranding with a transmission and distribution
utility (TDU), including its affiliates. TEAM highlighted that the
commission has prevented REPs from cobranding with a TDU
and that this prohibition has been upheld by the Third Circuit
Court of Appeals. TEAM was concerned that cobranding would
suggest a broker can improve the service a client receives from
its TDU affiliate and lead to the subsidization of a competitive
affiliate by a regulated entity. ARM recommended language pro-
hibiting broker names from being, among other things, contrary
to 16 TAC §25.272 (relating to Code of Conduct for Electric Utili-
ties and Their Affiliates). TEAM and ARM harmonized their pro-
posals in reply comments and suggested that business names
may not be duplicative in whole or in part of the brand or busi-
ness name of a TDU.

In reply comments, OPUC and Power Wizard both agreed with
preventing TDU cobranding on the grounds that such a prac-
tice would be confusing or misleading, deceptive, or duplicative.
Enel X requested a clarification be made that only TDUs located
"in this state" are of concern. Enel X argued that it does not raise
the same policy concerns when a broker is part of a corporate
family that owns transmission assets outside of Texas.

CenterPoint Energy and AEP Energy opposed including a pro-
hibition on brokers cobranding with TDUs. CenterPoint Energy
argued that utility affiliate branding restrictions do not apply to
aggregators and, moreover, go beyond the language of PURA
§39.3555. These naming restrictions would significantly disrupt
the lawful business activities of competitive entities that have
provided brokerage services for years. CenterPoint Energy
used the example of TrueCost, a web-based platform, which
has been associated with the CenterPoint Energy name and
brand since 2012. CenterPoint Energy argued that cobranding

does not harm customers, undermine customer confidence in
shopping for electricity, or cause undue customer confusion.
Additionally, CenterPoint Energy cited Docket No. 40636,
Petition for Declaratory Ruling Regarding CenterPoint Energy
Houston Electric, LLC Joint Advertising With a Competitive
Affiliate, as evidence the issue has already been litigated. In that
matter, the commission found insufficient evidentiary support for
the claims made by TEAM or ARM.

AEP Energy argued that a prohibition on cobranding was un-
necessary, citing numerous statutory protections that apply to
broker registrants and their use of names. PURA §39.157(d)(6)
prohibits a utility from conducting joint advertising or promotional
activities with a competitive affiliate (such as a broker) that may
favor the competitive affiliate. AEP Energy highlighted that ARM
acknowledged in initial comments that this language had already
been used by the commission to deny a utility-affiliated REP cer-
tification to sell electric service to residential customers in Docket
No. 39509, Application of AEP Texas Commercial & Industrial
Retail Limited Partnership for Amendment to a Retail Electric
Provider Cettification. AEP Energy noted that though this was
a fact-specific decision, the commission pointed out that neither
PURA nor commission rules categorically prohibited a utility and
its competitive affiliates from sharing the same or similar names.
The broker rule should, similarly, not set out a blanket restriction.
AEP Energy argued that there is nothing about the nature of bro-
kerage services to distinguish them from these other affiliates.
Additionally, AEP Energy pointed to PURA §§17.004(a)(1) and
39.101(b)(6), which already protect customers from unfair, mis-
leading, or deceptive practices. AEP Energy further argued that
the proposed rules 16 TAC §§25.486(d)(1) and 25.112(g)(2) also
protect customers from fraudulent communications and make
these offenses significant violations.

AEP Energy also made policy arguments against the limitation
of business names in this context. AEP Energy believes that a
customer using brokerage services is more sophisticated, better
understands how the market works, and is unlikely to be misled
or confused about who is providing the service. Further, AEP
Energy stated its intention to offer brokerage services only to
commercial and industrial customers. In these contexts, AEP
Energy believed the concerns raised by TEAM and ARM are
inapplicable, and that the commission implicitly recognized this
difference when it denied certification to a utility-affiliated REP to
sell electric service to residential customers based on this pur-
ported confusion but continued to allow the REP to sell electric
service to commercial and industrial customers.

Commission Response

The commission declines to add a provision prohibiting
a broker from cobranding with a TDU, as requested by
ARM and TEAM. The commission agrees with AEP Energy
that neither PURA nor commission rules prohibit a utility
and its competitive affiliates from sharing the same or
similar names. The relationship between brokers and TDUs
does not justify adopting a different approach. Power
Wizard's and OPUC's concern about customer confusion
is addressed by the prohibition on misleading, fraudulent,
unfair, deceptive, or anti-competitive communications
in 16 TAC §25.486(d). TEAM's concern that cobranding
would lead to cross-subsidization between a TDU and a
competitive affiliate is addressed by the restrictions on
joint marketing contained in 16 TAC §25.272. Ultimately,
a blanket prohibition on cobranding between a utility and
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a broker is not necessary to provide adequate customer
protections for clients receiving brokerage services.

Broker Naming Restrictions; Deceptive, Misleading, Vague,
or Duplicative

TEAM and ARM supported a prohibition on branding that is mis-
leading, deceptive or duplicative with an existing REP, broker, or
aggregator. The risk of confusion regarding the business name
or brand of a broker is greater because brokers will now be able
to identify themselves as officially registered with the commis-
sion. TEAM argued that secretary of state review is insufficient
and only verifies whether names are distinguishable from other
registered names.

TEAM suggested language prohibiting business names that are
deceptive, misleading, vague, or duplicative of a name previ-
ously approved for use by another broker, aggregator, or REP
not affiliated with the registrant. ARM presented similar lan-
guage, and in reply, the two groups harmonized their proposals
and suggested language limiting the registrant to five business
names that are not deceptive, misleading, vague, or otherwise
contrary to 16 TAC §25.272 or duplicative of a name previously
approved for use by a REP, aggregator, or another broker that is
not affiliated with the registrant.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include a provision in the
adopted rule that expressly prohibits broker names that
are misleading, deceptive or duplicative of other registered
entities because it is unnecessary. The broker industry has
been functioning for more than a decade and the commis-
sion is aware of only a few anecdotal examples of brokers
attempting to use misleading names.

Brokers and consultants exist in many industries that do
not have naming restrictions beyond secretary of state reg-
istration. REPs that are concerned with their intellectual
property being violated have other remedies available. Sim-
ilarly, if a broker is misleading customers through the use
of branding, the prohibited communications provisions of
16 TAC §25.486 would apply.

Broker Naming Restrictions; PowerToChoose.org

TEAM commented that the rules should prevent broker names or
web addresses from being duplicative with PowerToChoose.org.
It suggested language requiring that business names and web
addresses may not be deceptive, misleading, vague, or duplica-
tive of the PowerToChoose.org website.

ARM replied that some of TEAM's language is duplicative of
the general prohibition in the proposed rule against mislead-
ing, fraudulent, unfair, deceptive, or anti-competitive communi-
cations. Further, PURA protects customers from misleading and
deceptive conduct and the REP and aggregator rules include
this.

Commission Response

The commission declines to add language prohibiting
names that are duplicative of PowerToChoose.org. The
commission agrees with ARM's observations that mislead-
ing branding is already prohibited under 16 TAC §25.486.
Further, the commission maintains an active trademark
on the phrase "Power to Choose" and will defend it as
necessary.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(c)(2)

ARM suggested that the registrant should be also required to
provide its website address on its registration application. ARM
argued that this would be of practical value and not overly bur-
densome. TEAM agreed with this recommendation in reply com-
ments. TEAM pointed out that a requirement to provide a web-
site address would align with its proposal that websites should
not be deceptive, misleading, or largely duplicative of PowerTo-
Choose.org.

Commission Response

The commission declines to require a registrant to provide
its website address as part of its application. The commis-
sion does not agree with TEAM and ARM that the practical
value of requiring a registrant to provide, and subsequently
keep up to date, a website is enough to justify the require-
ment.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(c)(7)

ARM recommended that, for clarity, the commission should mod-
ify the required elements of the affidavit to specify that the regis-
trant will comply with "all applicable laws and the commission's
rules."

Commission Response

The commission declines to modify the affidavit, as re-
quested by ARM. To receive a broker registration, a broker
must affirm that it understands and will comply with all
applicable laws and rules. Applicants must affirm their
intent to follow all applicable law and rules, not just those
within the jurisdiction of the commission to enforce.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(d)(2)

TEPA and TEAM each filed comments arguing that the basic
information on the registration form does not warrant treatment
as proprietary or confidential and recommended removing pro-
posed §25.112(d)(2), which allowed a registrant to designate in-
formation on its registration as proprietary or confidential.

Commission Response

The commission agrees that the basic information required
on the broker registration form does not warrant treat-
ment as proprietary or confidential and removes proposed
§25.112(d)(2) from the adopted rule.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(d)(4)(A)

TEPA suggested that the number of days that a registrant has to
cure deficiencies in its application be increased from ten to 15,
as it is possible that the notification would not reach the regis-
trant within ten days by regular mail. In the alternative, TEPA
recommended that the commission be required to provide the
notification using email or registered mail. TEPA argues that a
short cure window could be harmful to small brokers who are not
technically savvy.

TEAM and ARM opposed TEPA's proposed change in reply com-
ments. TEAM argued that affording registrants ten days to cure
deficiencies is consistent with the commission's registration re-
quirements for other entities. ARM pointed out that the rule pro-
vides ten working days, giving registrants more time to cure de-
ficiencies than suggested by TEPA.

Commission Response

The commission declines to increase the number of days
a registrant has to cure deficiencies in its application or
change the notification requirements. The broker registra-
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tion requirements do not necessitate that registrants be al-
lowed more time to cure deficiencies than is afforded other
commission-registered entities. Moreover, the rule clarifies
that a deficient application is rejected without prejudice, al-
lowing the registrant to reapply without penalty.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(e)

OPUC supported the three-year expiration and renewal provi-
sions to ensure customers have access to an accurate broker
list.

TEAM and ARM each argued in favor of replacing the renewal
requirement with an update requirement. TEAM recommended
that a broker should be required to submit an online update to
its registration information or verify that the information on file
remains current every three years. TEAM further recommended
that if a broker fails to update or affirm its registration at least
every three years, the commission may remove the broker from
the list on the commission's website. In reply comments, ARM
argued that failure to timely update or verify the information on
file with the commission should result in revocation of the bro-
ker's registration in addition to removal from the list posted on
the commission's website. ARM argues that a mandatory revo-
cation would best incentivize brokers to keep their registrations
up to date. ARM also argued that because PURA §39.3555(g)
requires that a determination on an application for registration as
a broker be made within 60 days, that a registrant be required to
submit the update or renewal information no earlier than 60 days
prior to the expiration of its registration rather than 90. In reply
comments, TEAM and ARM each suggested language synchro-
nizing these proposals.

TEPA, J. Pollock and EMEX/Patriot argued that the commission
should remove the registration renewal requirement. These par-
ties argued that PURA §39.3555 does not provide a renewal re-
quirement and that there is no precedent for requiring a retail
market entity to re-register with the commission. EMEX/Patriot
contended in reply comments that the legislative intent of PURA
§39.3555 was not to impose new or more restrictive require-
ments on brokers than are present for aggregators. J. Pollock
argued that there was no compelling policy reason to require reg-
istration renewals and that it would be a drain on staff resources
to process these renewal applications. J. Pollock also pointed
out that the commission has the authority to revoke registrations
if necessary. TEPA suggested that if this requirement remained
in the rule, brokers receive a notification prior to the deadline for
registration renewal, that a broker be allowed to renew at any
point prior to the expiration of its registration, and the commis-
sion sunset this provision after the first three-year renewal pe-
riod. TEPA further requested that the commission address what
happens if a broker renews its registration after the 90-day win-
dow.

Commission Response

The commission agrees with OPUC it is important to ensure
that the commission’s broker list remains up to date. While
PURA §39.3555 does not expressly authorize registration
requirements beyond an initial registration, as EMEX/Patriot
argued, it does instruct the commission to adopt rules as
necessary to implement its provisions. Maintaining an ac-
curate list of brokers currently doing business in the state
is a sufficient reason to require periodic registration up-
dates. Moreover, J. Pollock's arguments that processing
registration renewals would overburden the commission's
resources and that the commission can always revoke a

broker's registration do not accurately reflect the relative
burdens these two activities put on the commission's re-
sources. A full revocation proceeding is significantly more
involved and time consuming than processing a registra-
tion renewal or update.

The commission has replaced the registration renewal re-
quirement with a requirement that a broker update its reg-
istration information at least once every three years. The
commission has also added language to the registration
amendment requirement of 16 TAC §25.112(f) to consider a
registration amendment to be a registration update. These
changes will ensure that the commission's records remain
up to date while reducing the frequency with which a broker
is required to update its registration.

The commission declines to add specific notification
requirements, as requested by TEPA. It is a broker's re-
sponsibility to keep its registration up to date. The adopted
rule requires a broker to update its registration at least 90
days prior to expiration. This 90-day window will provide
commission staff an opportunity to contact brokers who
have failed to timely update their registrations, as commis-
sion resources allow.

The commission also declines to sunset this provision, as
requested by TEPA, as there is no future date at which the
commission's list of registered brokers will no longer need
to be up to date.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(g)

ARM and Calpine Retail requested three additions to the list of
significant violations in proposed 16 TAC §25.112(g) based on
the significant violations applicable to REPs [16 TAC §§25.107
(related to Certification of Retail Electric Providers)] and aggre-
gators in (§25.111). These violations would include bankruptcy
orinsolvency, or failure to meet its financial obligations in a timely
manner; suspension or revocation of a registration, certification,
or license by any state or federal authority; and conviction of a
felony by the registrant or a principal or officer employed by the
registrant, of any crime involving fraud, theft or deceit related to
the registrant's brokerage service. ARM argued that these addi-
tions would align with the statutory guidance to apply the same
customer protections to brokers as aggregators. Calpine Retail
argued that it could see no reason why these provisions would
apply to REPs and aggregators, but not brokers. In reply com-
ments, TEAM supported the addition of these provisions, but
noted that even if they were not included in the final rule, the
commission could still enforce based on them, because it is a
nonexclusive list.

In reply comments, OPUC characterizes ARM's and Calpine Re-
tail's suggestion as a requirement to disclose the conviction of a
felony, and then goes on to argue that this requirement does not
go far enough. OPUC contended that the commission should
require the disclosure of felonies, fraud and other serious viola-
tions, regardless of whether these violations relate to the broker's
brokerage services. The commission should require ample and
necessary information to determine whether a person should be
deemed qualified to enter a customer's home or business to pro-
vide brokerage services. Furthermore, OPUC concludes, cus-
tomers have the right to this information when deciding whether
to do business with a broker.

Commission Response
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The commission declines to add significant violations to
the list, as requested by ARM and Calpine Retail. The sug-
gested additions do not align with requirements included in
the customer protection rules that apply to brokers, so they
are inappropriate for inclusion on a list of significant viola-
tions. The commission does, however, agree with TEAM's
observation that this is a nonexclusive list. Moreover, the
absence of a violation from this list should not be inter-
preted as evidence that it is not a significant violation or that
it cannot serve as grounds for revocation or suspension.
The purpose of this list is to highlight examples of signifi-
cant violations that the commission views as clear cut and
instructive for the type of entity involved.

The commission does not agree with ARM's assertion that
there is no difference between brokers and other competi-
tive entities with regard to these significant violations. Bro-
kers are not essential for obtaining electric service. More-
over, a broker does not have the same financial responsibil-
ities as a REP or an aggregator that collects deposits, and
it does not have the ability to apply switch holds or request
disconnections. Ultimately, the commission will determine
if a rule violation is significant based upon the facts and cir-
cumstances involved.

The commission interprets OPUC's reply comments on this
section as a reassertion of its position regarding the disclo-
sures required under 16 TAC §25.112(c). The commission
has already addressed this position.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(g)(6)
Authorizing Broker Fees on Retail Electric Bills

Calpine Retail requested clarification as to whether a broker can
authorize the amount of the broker fee that will be embedded in
the energy charge billed by the REP to the customer. Calpine
Retail further developed this request in its reply, explaining that
the typical arrangement between a REP and a broker is for the
REP to bill all charges to the customer, including the broker fee.
Because it is a violation for REPs to bill unauthorized charges,
Calpine Retail believes it is important for REPs to know whether
a broker is allowed to authorize these charges.

Commission Response

The commission finds that no changes are necessary based
upon Calpine Retail's comments. The person who can au-
thorize a broker's fee to be included on a retail electric cus-
tomer's bill depends upon the fee arrangement. If the bro-
ker compensation is included as part of the energy charge
to which the customer agreed, then no explicit customer au-
thorization is required. In this regard, the broker fee is no
different than marketing or any other cost that is embed-
ded into the price of electric service offered by the REP. If,
however, the broker's fee appears as a separate charge on
a REP's bill, 16 TAC §25.481(b)(2) (relating to Unauthorized
Charges) applies. Under this provision, a customer must
clearly and explicitly consent to obtaining a product or ser-
vice offered and to having the associated charges appear
on the customer's electric bill.

Significant Violations; Unauthorized Charges

TEPA and RES Nation argued that billing an unauthorized
charge or causing an unauthorized charge to be billed to a
customer's retail electric service bill should be removed from
the list of significant violations. TEPA stated that brokers do not
have control over what charges are contained on the bill the

customer receives from the REP so brokers should not be held
accountable for a REP billing mistake. TEPA appreciated that
unauthorized charges are possible but is not aware of a specific
circumstance where brokers, in the normal course of business,
would be responsible for this activity. TEPA is concerned that
this provision may make brokers de facto parties to REP billing
errors and disputes. RES Nation noted that it could have its
registration suspended or revoked for "unauthorized billing"
despite not billing customers in the first place.

TEAM disagreed with TEPA's and RES Nation's concerns over
paragraph (g)(6) and advocated for it to remain intact. TEAM
found the concerns misplaced because brokers have control
over the violations set forth in the rule through directly billing
clients (or non-clients) brokerage service fees, and by causing
unauthorized charges to be billed by the REP. As proposed
by the commission, the rule captures only "causing" behavior.
TEAM provided the examples of when a broker misrepresents
to a REP the amount of fee that the broker is entitled to receive
from a client, or when a broker fails to make required disclo-
sures about compensation to a client who then files a complaint
concerning unexpected increases in their retail electric service
bill. TEAM also commented that although RES Nation may not
directly bill its clients, direct billing scenarios do exist. Sub-
section (g)(6) could capture a direct billing situation where a
client agrees to a flat fee with a broker who subsequently sends
the client a bill for a higher fee than agreed. Subsection (g)(6)
remains relevant and necessary for such scenarios.

Commission Response

The commission declines to remove "billing an unautho-
rized charge or causing an unauthorized charge to be billed
to a customer's retail electric service bill" from the list of
significant violations as requested by TEPA and RES Na-
tion. PURA §17.004(a)(1) provides all buyers of retail elec-
tric services protection from being billed for services that
were not authorized. The commission considers billing an
unauthorized charge or causing an unauthorized charge to
be billed to a customer's retail electric account a significant
violation, regardless of the type of entity responsible.

With regard to the concerns addressed by TEPA and RES
Nation, the commission agrees that a broker should not be
held accountable for a REP billing mistake or a charge for
which it was not responsible. Whether a broker is the cause
of an unauthorized charge appearing on a customer's retail
electric bill will, in many instances, be a fact specific inquiry.
The commission does not agree that this provision should
not apply to brokers. The commission agrees with TEAM
that this provision covers scenarios where a broker directly
bills a client for the provision of brokerage services. The
commission also recognizes that the broker industry em-
ploys a wide array of business models, some of which may
allow a broker to cause a charge to appear on a customer's
bill. The commission's intent is to make it clear that if a
broker causes an unauthorized charge to appear on a cus-
tomer's bill, it risks revocation or suspension, in addition to
an administrative penalty.

General Comments on 16 TAC §25.486
Replacing "on paper or electronically” with "in writing"

TEAM suggested that references to "on paper or electronically"
should be replaced with "in writing" as defined in 16 TAC §25.471
(relating to General Provisions of Customer Protection Rules) to

ADOPTED RULES May 15, 2020 45 TexReg 3271



provide consistency across the commission's customer protec-
tion rules.

Commission Response:

The commission agrees that using the defined term "in writ-
ing" would provide consistency across the commission's
customer protection rules and makes the recommended
change.

Replacing "client" with "customer"

ARM recommended striking the definition of "client" and replac-
ing "client" with "customer" throughout 16 TAC §25.486 to main-
tain consistency with other sections of the commission's cus-
tomer protection rules. Calpine Retail and OPUC supported this
proposal in reply comments. In reply comments, ARM further
argued that the term "client" would create a subcategory of cus-
tomer that is specific to brokers, and such a subcategory is not
necessary because a customer of a broker fits within the exist-
ing definition as a person currently receiving electric service from
a REP. ARM also suggested amending the definitions of "cus-
tomer" and "applicant" in 16 TAC §25.471 to include brokers in
Project No. 50406.

Commission Response

The commission declines to strike the definition of "client"
and replace all instances of "client" throughout this sec-
tion with "customer,” as requested by ARM. Under 16 TAC
§25.471(d)(4), a customer is a person who is currently re-
ceiving retail electric service from a REP. The commission
disagrees with ARM that "client,"” as defined in this section,
would be a subcategory of "customer." While there is some
overlap, neither of these terms subsumes the other. Not
all customers are receiving or soliciting brokerage services
from a broker, nor are all clients currently receiving retail
electric service from a REP.

Because ARM applied its suggestion to replace "client"
with "customer” to each of its recommended changes, the
commission considered the merits of each recommended
change in the context of the related comment.

The commission also declines to make changes in response
to ARM's recommendations regarding amendments to 16
TAC §25.471 because changes to that rule are not included
in the scope of this project.

Prohibitions on Unauthorized Charges and Unauthorized
Changes in REP

ARM, TEAM, and OPUC supported the addition of a new
subsection in 16 TAC §25.486 to align with the slamming
and cramming violations that are included on the significant
violations list contained in 16 TAC §25.112. Specifically, ARM
recommended language requiring that a broker must not bill an
unauthorized charge or cause an unauthorized charge to be
billed to a customer's retail electric service bill and that a broker
must not switch or cause to be switched the REP of a customer
without first obtaining the customer's authorization. OPUC and
TEAM supported ARM's recommendations in reply comments.

Commission Response

The commission agrees with ARM that the prohibitions
against unauthorized charges and unauthorized changes
in provider listed on the significant violation list of 16 TAC
§25.112(g) should have corresponding provisions in the
customer protection rules. The commission has added

16 TAC §25.486(h), which contains ARM's recommended
language.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(a)

ARM recommended the addition of a disclaimer sentence to clar-
ify that nothing in this section is intended to supersede, infringe
upon, limit, or otherwise reduce customer protections, disclosure
requirements, and marketing guidelines otherwise established
by PURA Chapters 17 and 39 or by the commission's rules. In
reply comments, TEAM stated that this proposal would promote
clarity and customer protections.

Commission Response

The commission declines to add the disclaimer language
recommended by ARM. As a matter of law, commission
rules cannot supersede, infringe upon, limit, or otherwise
reduce the customer protections established by statute. If
an issue arises with conflicting sections of the commis-
sion's rules, it will be resolved using the appropriate rules
of construction.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(b)
Proposed Definition of "REP agent"

TEPA suggested adding a definition of "REP agent." TEPA ar-
gued that this would help customers understand the differences
between a broker or agent that represents the consumer and an
agent of the REP that is part of the sales force employed by a
REP to exclusively market and sell the product and services of
that REP. Calpine Retail supported this suggestion in reply com-
ments. Calpine Retail submits that REP agents are subcontrac-
tors of the REP that have entered into an agreement to sell or
promote the REP's products and services. In this subcontracting
relationship, the REP is responsible for the REP agent's compli-
ance with the commission's customer protection rules.

In reply comments, ARM opposed the addition of a definition
of REP agent. ARM argued that it might cause confusion to
have different types of agents defined in this portion of the rule.
ARM further argued that defining REP agent here is outside
of the scope of a rulemaking that is focused on brokers. ARM
continued that the definition would not be helpful, because REP
agents are already governed by 16 TAC §§25.107(a)(3) and
25.472(b)(1)(B)(i) (relating to Privacy of Customer Information).
Finally, ARM contended that brokers are not acting as agents of
a REP, because REPs do not exercise control over brokers.

Commission Response

The commission declines to add a definition of "REP agent”
as recommended by TEPA. Under 16 TAC §25.107(a)(3), a
REP remains accountable under applicable laws and com-
mission rules for all activities conducted on its behalf by
any subcontractor, agent, or any other entity. The REP's
accountability is not limited to agents or subcontractors.
Introducing a definition of REP agent in this project could
have the unintended consequence of narrowing or creating
confusion as to the scope of a REP's responsibility for the
activities conducted on its behalf. Any proposals that would
alter a REP's responsibilities, except as they relate to bro-
kers and brokerage services, is outside of the scope of this
project.

Proposed Definition of "transaction broker™

Power Wizard suggested the commission include a definition of
"transaction broker," referring to brokers that are not an agent
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of either party in a transaction. Power Wizard argued that cus-
tomers would benefit from disclosure and transparency regard-
ing agency obligations of brokers that are not client agents. In
reply comments, ARM argued that this definition is not neces-
sary and is a tautology because it is duplicative of the definition
of "broker" already included in the proposed rule. ARM contin-
ued that this term is not referenced anywhere else in the pro-
posed rule.

Commission Response

The commission agrees with ARM that Power Wizard's rec-
ommendation to adopt a definition of "transaction broker" is
unnecessary. The term transaction broker is not used any-
where in this rule, and the commission is not imposing any
unique requirements on the group Power Wizard describes
as transaction brokers.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(b)(3)
Definition of "client"

ARM recommended modifying the definition of "client" by re-
placing "person" with "retail customer" as an alternative to its
prior recommendation of striking the term client from this section.
ARM argued that if one broker solicits services from another bro-
ker on behalf of a customer, the first broker could then be consid-
ered a "client." In reply comments, TEAM and ARM presented a
synchronized proposal, recommending replacing "person" with
"applicant or customer."

Commission Response

The commission declines to modify the definition of client
by replacing "person™ with "retail customer" or "applicant
or customer,” because these proposals would narrow the
definition. A person who is not receiving retail electric ser-
vice and has not yet applied for retail electric service can
still be a client. For example, a young adult who is establish-
ing electric service for the first time or a business planning
to open its first location in this state are neither applicants
nor customers.

With regard to the hypothetical presented by ARM of one
broker soliciting brokerage services from another broker on
behalf of a client, the commission agrees that the first bro-
ker would be a client of the second broker for purposes of
this rule. However, because the second broker would not
be collecting the proprietary client information of the first
broker or providing the first broker with brokerage services,
only a limited number of the provisions of this section would
apply.

Soliciting Brokerage Services

Energy Ogre asked for clarification on what constitutes "solic-
iting" services. It questions whether an individual who visits a
broker's website and submits their name and email for further
information but never proceeds any further be considered one
who solicits services and therefore falls under the category of a
client. Energy Ogre recommended that a residential customer
becomes a "client" when one enters into a contract with a bro-
ker.

Commission Response

The commission declines to modify the definition of
"client," as requested by Energy Ogre, such that a resi-
dential customer becomes a client only upon entering into
a contract with a broker. Brokers employ a diverse array

of business models, many of which do not require a client
to enter into a contract or provide the broker with any
compensation. The commission defines "client" broadly
to ensure that the customer protection provisions apply
across all brokerage service models.

With regard to what constitutes soliciting brokerage ser-
vices, the commission interprets this phrase broadly and
according to its common usage. A person is soliciting bro-
kerage services from a broker if it is interacting with a bro-
ker, either directly or indirectly through the broker's web-
site or marketing materials, in an attempt to obtain broker-
age services or to evaluate whether to obtain brokerage ser-
vices from that broker. In Energy Ogre's hypothetical, the
individual who submits their name and email on a broker's
website is a client of that broker for the purposes of this
section. This designation triggers the proprietary client in-
formation requirements of 16 TAC §25.486(j) and requires
the broker to treat the information provided by the client ac-
cordingly. It does not, however, trigger many of the other
provisions of this section, because the broker has not yet
initiated the provision of brokerage services.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(b)(4)
Client Agent Entities

Bottom Line Energy asked for clarification on what type of en-
tities "client agent" referenced. Bottom Line Energy requested
clarity on whether this was intended to refer to an authorized
agent within an organization or a broker who charges a fee and
sets up a contract to shop for REP services on behalf of the or-
ganization.

Commission Response

A client agent is a broker that, as part of the brokerage ser-
vices it provides, is authorized to act as the client's agent
for the purpose of selection of, enroliment for, or contract
execution of a product or service offered by a retail elec-
tric provider. The precise level of authority that a client
agent is granted is determined by the terms of the written
agreement between the broker and the client. An authorized
agent within a client's organization, as described by Bottom
Line Energy, is not a client agent.

Account Maintenance

Energy Ogre argued that the definition of "client agent" should be
expanded to include the ongoing maintenance of the residential
client's electric account as that is a much needed and desired
service the client agent provides to residential customers. ARM
opposed this expansion in reply comments. ARM argued that the
maintenance and administration of a customer's account is the
REP's responsibility. ARM further argued that a similar proposal
was included in House Bill 2212, which was not voted out of the
State Affairs committee.

Commission Response

The commission declines to expand the definition of "client
agent” to include account maintenance as requested by
Energy Ogre. The ongoing maintenance of a residential
client's electric account is not a brokerage service as
that term is defined in this section. If a broker provides
additional services other than brokerage services to a
client, such as bill payment services or energy efficiency
consulting, those services are not addressed by this rule
unless the provision of those services is intermingled with
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brokerage services such that a broker's compliance with
these rules cannot be determined without evaluating those
services as well.

Non-Broker Client Agents

Calpine Retail requested that the definition of "client agent" in-
clude entities other than brokers that have the legal right and
authority to act on behalf of a client regarding the selection of,
enrollment for, or contract execution of a product or service of-
fered by a REP, including electric service.

Commission Response

The commission declines to expand the definition of "client
agent" to include entities other than brokers as requested
by Calpine Retail. If an entity other than a broker has the
legal right and authority to act on behalf of a retail elec-
tric customer or applicant, the rights and responsibilities
of that entity regarding that customer or applicant are gov-
erned by the laws that created the applicable agency rela-
tionship. Agency relationships that do not involve brokers
are outside of the scope of this rule.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(b)(5)

In response to the proposed definition of "proprietary client in-
formation," TEPA argued that electricity brokers, in the normal
course of business, do not disclose client information to third
parties without authorization from their client. TEPA stated that
they oppose "unnecessary disclosure requirements," particularly
when the potential exists for such information to be released pub-
licly through the Open Records Act, to which state agencies are
subject.

Commission Response

The commission declines to make changes based on
TEPA's comments. The definition of "proprietary client
information" does not create any disclosure requirements.

ARM reasserted its general suggestion that "client" be replaced
with "customer" for consistency throughout the commission's
customer protection rules. In reply comments, TEAM recom-
mended expanding the section to refer to a "client or retail
electric customer" to protect more information and make it clear
that the specified information is proprietary even if it concerns
retail electric customers that are not the broker's client.

Commission Response

The commission also declines to replace "client" with "cus-
tomer," as recommended by ARM, because this would re-
move protections from clients that are not yet customers.
The commission agrees with TEAM that including the term
"retail electric customer” in addition to "client" will protect
more proprietary information and makes the recommended
change.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(c)

Under proposed 16 TAC §25.486(c), a client other than a res-
idential or small commercial class customer or applicant, or a
non-residential customer or applicant whose load is part of an
aggregation in excess of 50 kilowatts, may agree, in writing, to
a different level of protections than is required by this section.
This agreement must be provided to the customer and provided
to commission staff upon request.

TEAM suggested that proposed 16 TAC §25.486(c) should be
modified to match 16 TAC §25.471, which applies to the en-

tire subchapter and allows certain customers and applicants to
agree to terms of service that, subject to certain listed excep-
tions, reflect either a higher or lower level of customer protec-
tions than would otherwise apply under 16 TAC Subchapter R
(relating to Customer Protection Rules for Retail Electric Ser-
vice). TEAM also recommended that REPs should be provided a
copy of the written agreement between the broker and the client
in which the client agrees to receive a lower level of customer
protections from the broker. In reply comments, Calpine Retail
agreed that a copy of the agreement should also be provided
to the customer's REP. ARM found this subsection duplicative
of the waiver provisions in 16 TAC §25.471. Furthermore, ARM
argued, repetition in 16 TAC §25.486 may imply that the remain-
ing provisions of 16 TAC §25.471(a)(3) do not apply generally
to 16 TAC Subchapter R, which could result in unintended reg-
ulatory uncertainty. Accordingly, ARM recommended deletion
of this section or alternatively replacing "client" with "customer."
In reply comments, TEAM agreed with ARM's initial comment
that subsection (c) could be deleted with modification to 16 TAC
§25.471 to include brokers in the scope of some aspects of that
rule.

EMEX/Patriot disagreed that proposed 16 TAC §25.486(c) is du-
plicative of 16 TAC §25.471 on the grounds that 16 TAC §25.471
applies to REPs, not brokers.

EMEX/Patriot also disagreed that the customer protection
agreements required under this subsection should be provided
to REPSs, stating that no rationale has been provided for why
brokers should have to reveal provisions of their business
relationships regarding customer protections with REPs. Enel
X also opposed requiring brokers to share customer protection
agreements with REPs, who are not regulators. Enel X argued
that only the commission has that authority. Sharing market
sensitive and proprietary information with REPs would violate
the customer's right to confidentiality of its arrangement with the
broker. Finally, Enel X noted that there is no need to share this
agreement with the REP because the customer's agreement
with their broker has no bearing on the relationship between the
REP and the customer.

TEPA recommended clarifying that brokers need to disclose
only the relevant portions of contracts that contain voluntary
alternation of customer protection provisions. To require disclo-
sure of the full agreement would be violative of the requirements
to protect "proprietary client information" as defined in 16 TAC
§25.486(b)(5) of the proposed rule. The rule should not re-
quire a broker to provide entire contract agreements or other
information unnecessary for a specific identified purpose or not
authorized by the broker's client. In reply comments, TEAM
agreed with TEPA that the disclosure could be limited to the
relevant portions of the contract.

In reply comments, ARM reiterated its belief that this subsection
is duplicative of 16 TAC §25.471 and should be struck. ARM ar-
gued that if it is not struck, the agreement at issue is inherently
relevant in its entirety and the commission should require disclo-
sure of the full contract to the REP.

Commission Response

The commission does not agree that 16 TAC §25.486(c) is
duplicative of the waiver provisions contained in 16 TAC
§25.471(a)(3), which provide certain customers with the abil-
ity to waive, with certain exceptions, the customer protec-
tions in Subchapter R. The language in 16 TAC §25.486(c)
has a much narrower focus, in that it allows certain clients
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of brokers to agree to a different level of customer protec-
tions related to the provision of brokerage services than is
provided in 16 TAC §25.486. A client that agrees to a differ-
ent level of customer protections related to the provision of
brokerage services does not, by virtue of that agreement,
waive any other customer protections they are entitled to
under Subchapter R. The commission has added language
to clarify this point.

The commission declines to add language requiring a bro-
ker to provide to a client's REP a copy of a written agree-
ment, or a relevant portion of an agreement, entered into
under this subsection. The commission agrees with Enel X
that such agreements might contain sensitive or proprietary
information a REP is not entitled to, and that the agreements
do not necessarily have any bearing on the relationship be-
tween the client and their REP. If a REP believes that it needs
access to such agreements, it can obtain them through pri-
vate agreement with the parties involved.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(d)

ARM recommended including a provision holding a broker re-
sponsible for its representations to customers and applicants by
employees or other agents of the broker concerning brokerage
or retail electric service that are made through advertising, mar-
keting, or other means. TEAM supported this proposal in reply
comments.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include a requirement holding
a broker responsible for its representations as requested by
ARM, as it is unnecessary. All broker communications are
required to be clear and not misleading, fraudulent, unfair,
deceptive, or anti-competitive under 16 TAC §25.486. How-
ever, the commission agrees with ARM that a broker is re-
sponsible for the actions of its employees or other agents.
As previously noted, the commission added language to 16
TAC §25.112(a) to clarify this responsibility.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(d)(1)

ARM, TEAM, and OPUC recommended adding three additional
prohibited communications to the nonexclusive list in 16 TAC
§25.486(d)(1). First, ARM recommended prohibiting the use
of the term "fixed" to market a product that does not meet
the definition of a fixed rate product. ARM argued that this
prohibition already applies to REPs and aggregators under 16
TAC §25.475(c)(1)(A). ARM also noted that the commission has
already received a formal complaint involving this topic (see
Docket No. 43337, Complaint of Syed Enterprises Inc. Against
AP Gas & Electric LLC). Second, ARM recommended prohibit-
ing falsely stating or suggesting that pricing or contract terms
are offered by a REP if they are not so offered. ARM pointed
to a pending formal complaint involving this issue as well (see
Docket No. 46951, Complaint of Romtex Enterprises, Inc). Last,
ARM recommended prohibiting falsely suggesting, implying,
or otherwise leading someone to believe that a contract has
benefits for a period of time longer than the initial contract term,
which is also applicable to REPs and aggregators under 16 TAC
§25.475(c)(1)(A). TEAM supported ARM's recommendations
in reply comments. OPUC also supported ARM's recommen-
dations and stated that it is very important and necessary that
customers understand the terms of the agreement that they are
entering into and it is unacceptable for customers to be given
false or misleading information about contract terms.

Commission Response

The commission declines to add additional items to the list
of examples of prohibited communications, because these
additions are unnecessary on a nonexclusive list. The core
requirement of this subsection is that broker communica-
tions must be clear and not misleading, fraudulent, unfair,
deceptive, or anti-competitive. Each of the activities de-
scribed by ARM are unambiguous violations of the general
prohibition.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(d)(1)(A)

ARM and TEAM suggested changes to the prohibition against
leading a client to believe that receiving brokerage services will
provide a customer with more reliable service from a TDU. First,
these parties argued that "better quality service" should be used
instead of "more reliable service" because reliability has a narrow
meaning in the electric industry and this change would align this
provision with 16 TAC §25.475(c)(1)(A)(iii), applicable to REPs
and aggregators. Second, they argued that brokers should also
be prohibited from representing that receiving brokerage ser-
vices will provide a customer with better quality service from a
REP, because REPs provide the same quality of service to all
similarly situated customers.

ARM further recommended replacing "client" with "someone" in
this provision to ensure that brokers are not permitted to mislead
potential as well as current customers.

Commission Response

The commission declines to replace "more reliable service"
with "better quality service" as requested by ARM and
TEAM. The commission agrees that more reliable service
has a specific meaning in the utility industry, and this mean-
ing aligns with the commission’'s intended prohibition. A
broker cannot represent to a client that brokerage services
can provide the client with fewer outages or otherwise
affect the continuity or adequacy of that client's electric
service, because these claims are necessarily false. A retail
electric customer's choice of REP or broker has no effect
on the reliability of electric service. A broker may offer
a wide array of consulting services and expanding this
provision with a broad phrase such as "quality of service"
might prevent a broker from engaging in otherwise legiti-
mate business activities. The general prohibition against
misleading, fraudulent, unfair, deceptive, or anti-competi-
tive representations is sufficient to prevent brokers from
making false representations in this area.

The commission also declines to expand the language of
this prohibition to representations about the quality of ser-
vice provided by REPs. REPs and brokers are each cus-
tomer-facing entities that employ widely different practices
in areas such as pricing, customer service, and complaint
handling. Unlike with a TDU, it is not inherently misleading
for a broker to represent that it can help pair a client with a
REP that best suits its particular preferences or that it has
the ability to work with certain REPs to obtain better quality
of service for a client. However, to the extent that a broker is
making false claims about the quality of service provided by
a particular REP, the general prohibition against misleading,
fraudulent, unfair, deceptive, or anti-competitive communi-
cations applies.

The commission also declines to replace "client" with
"someone" in this section as requested by ARM, because
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it is unnecessary. Client is defined to include a person that
solicits brokerage services. This ensures that a person that
ARM describes as a potential customer is also protected
by the language of this section.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(d)(1)(C)

Regarding the prohibition against a broker falsely suggesting
that brokerage services are being provided without compensa-
tion, TEPA noted that its code of conduct already prohibits this
conduct. Brasovan supported retaining this requirement but sug-
gested that it be reframed as a prohibition against falsely stating
or suggesting that the brokerage services are being provided at
no cost to the customer, whether paid for directly or indirectly by
the customer.

Commission Response

The commission declines to make changes based upon
these comments. TEPA's code of conduct is not a sufficient
substitute for a commission rule. The commission cannot
rely upon an individual organization to fulfill the commis-
sion's statutory obligation to provide customer protections
to the recipients of brokerage services in Texas.

The commission also declines to reframe the prohibition
against falsely stating or suggesting that brokerage ser-
vices are being provided without compensation in terms
of costs, directly or indirectly, borne by the customer as
suggested by Brasovan. Whether a broker is receiving
compensation is a much more straightforward and en-
forceable standard than whether those services are being
provided at no cost to the client. In many instances, a retail
electric customer represented by a broker is offered the
same rate as a retail electric customer who is not repre-
sented by a broker. If the broker in this scenario receives
compensation from the REP when the client enrolled, it
is not clear if the client incurred any indirect costs. It
is, however, clear the broker received compensation for
providing brokerage services.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(d)(1)(D)

Brasovan requested clarification on whether "falsely claiming to
be the client agent of a customer"” refers to a broker falsely claim-
ing to the REP that it is working as an agent of the customer or
falsely claiming to the customer that it is working as an agent to
the customer and, therefore, only in the customer's best inter-
est. Brasovan suggested that both of these activities should be
prohibited.

Commission Response

As proposed, this prohibition referred to a broker falsely
claiming to be a client agent of a customer as that term is
defined in 16 TAC §25.486(b)(4). This communication is pro-
hibited whether the communication is directed at the cus-
tomer, a REP, or any other person. No changes are required
to address Brasovan's suggestion.

However, the commission does expand 16 TAC
§25.486(d)(1)(D) to prohibit falsely claiming to be a
client agent of a "customer or applicant.” Under 16 TAC
§25.471(d)(1), a person who is applying for retail electric
service is defined as an applicant. Brokers are also
prohibited from falsely claiming to be the client agent of a
person who is applying for retail electric service.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(d)(2)

This section requires a broker to include its registered name
on all printed advertisements, electronic advertising over the In-
ternet, and websites. ARM and Power Wizard recommended
that brokers also be required to include their registration num-
ber on these communications. ARM argued that this would not
be burdensome, would help customers verify a broker's registra-
tion status, and is consistent with the aggregator requirements.
TEAM supported this addition in reply comments.

Commission Response

The commission declines to require brokers to include their
registration number on all marketing materials. The com-
mission does not agree that a customer will be unable to
verify a broker's registration status with the broker's reg-
istered name. Moreover, many brokers have been in opera-
tion for many years, and requiring the inclusion of arecently
assigned registration number would require a broker to re-
place all of its existing marketing materials to comply with
the rule.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(e)

ARM argued that PURA §39.3555 specifically invokes the ap-
plicability of Chapter 17 of PURA to brokers and that PURA
§17.004(a)(3) requires certain information to be made available
in English, Spanish, and other languages as determined by the
commission. ARM continued that the broker rules should include
provisions similar to those in effect for aggregators to give effect
to this provision. Specifically, ARM recommended that brokers
be required to provide the terms of service documents required
by this subchapter and information concerning the availability
of electric discount programs to the client in English, Spanish,
or the language used to market the broker's products and ser-
vices, as designated by the customer. TEAM and OPUC sup-
ported this recommendation in their respective reply comments.
OPUC agreed with ARM's statutory analysis and explained that
this would provide additional and necessary customer protection
safeguards that will enable customers to understand all aspects
of the terms of services being offered by the broker.

ARM also requested the inclusion of a provision stating that if a
broker markets a REP's services in a language that the REP is
unable to support, the broker will be responsible for assisting the
customer with translation services and the REP will not be held
responsible for supporting that language under this subchapter.
TEAM supported this request in reply.

TEPA replied generally to the comments filed by ARM and OPUC
that the services for which a broker may be held accountable
must necessarily be services that a broker offers and may legally
offer retail electric customers rather than for services for which a
broker is not legally authorized to provide under new and existing
laws.

Commission Response

The commission declines to expand the requirements of
this subsection, as requested by ARM, TEAM, and OPUC.
Terms of service documents are REP-created documents
that are relevant to the relationship between REPs and cus-
tomers. As such, requirements related to these documents
fall outside of the scope of this rulemaking.

The commission also declines to require brokers to pro-
vide translation services if they market a REP's services to a
client in a language that the REP cannot support. Requiring
a broker to provide ongoing translation services is overly
burdensome.

45 TexReg 3276 May 15, 2020 Texas Register



The commission modifies the language of 16 TAC §25.486(e)
by replacing the word "provide" with "offer." This modifica-
tion is intended to allow brokers and clients to agree to a dif-
ferent language for communications, so long as the client
has the option of receiving information in the language that
was used to market the broker's services to the client.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f)

Regarding the disclosures a broker is required to provide a client
prior to the initiation of brokerage services, TEPA noted that its
members have strong policy objections to "this type of business
practice regulation" being applied to the fully competitive discre-
tionary services offered by brokers.

Commission Response

PURA §39.3555(e) explicitly requires a person that regis-
ters as a broker with the commission to comply with dis-
closure requirements established by the commission and
PURA, Chapters 17 and 39. The disclosure requirements
the commission is applying to the broker community are
not overly burdensome and are necessary to provide clients
with enough information to make informed decisions re-
garding the selection of a broker.

Grandfathering Clause for Existing Clients

TEPA requested that the commission include a grandfathering
clause to allow brokers to provide the required disclosures to
existing clients at the renewal of an existing broker-client agree-
ment. TEAM supported TEPA's proposal in reply comments and
recommended the commission also require brokers to provide
the required disclosures concurrently with the client's renewal of
brokerage services.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include a grandfathering
clause as none is necessary. These disclosures are re-
quired prior to the initiation of brokerage services, but the
requirement does not apply to brokerage services that were
initiated prior to the adoption of these rules. However, the
commission agrees that these customers should receive
these disclosures upon the renewal of those services. The
commission adds language to clarify this requirement and
to require the broker to provide these disclosures when
there is a material change in the services provided or in the
terms and conditions of the services provided.

Disclosure of Broker Type

Power Wizard suggested that the commission require a broker
to disclose whether the broker is acting as a client agent, a trans-
action broker, or as an agent of the REP. Power Wizard argued
that broker clients would benefit from a direct disclosure of which
parties to the retail electric transaction, if any, the broker owes a
duty of loyalty, or other fiduciary responsibility.

Commission Response

The commission declines to add language requiring a bro-
ker to disclose whether they are acting as a client agent,
a transaction broker, or as an agent of the REP as none is
necessary. A broker acting as a client agent is subject to
specific disclosure requirements under 16 TAC §25.486(g),
and the commission is not adopting "transaction broker" or
"REP agent" as defined terms.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f)(3)

TEPA supported the proposed requirement that brokers must
disclose their relationships with REPs to individual customers.
It argued this would provide customers with the transparent and
reliable information needed to make informed decisions about
market participants. TEPA contended that customer confidence
is necessary to preserve the value of brokers in the marketplace.

ARM, TEAM, and Calpine Retail advocated for expanding the
affiliate disclosure requirement beyond REP affiliations. ARM
recommended disclosure of all customer-facing affiliated entities
and suggested language adding aggregators or other brokers
that are affiliates of the broker. Calpine Retail supported ARM's
position, arguing that the commission should require disclosure
of these affiliate relationships, establish a code of conduct for
REP-affiliated brokers, or both. Calpine Retail asserted that over
the past year, several REPs have either started or purchased
brokers, which presents a clear conflict of interest. Calpine Re-
tail viewed this disclosure as especially important because there
are no requirements for REP-affiliated brokers to provide written
contracts to customers with a description of services provided or
other relevant information. TEAM also supported ARM's posi-
tion in reply but thought the language should capture other mar-
ket-related affiliations by adding wording to include any affiliate
of the broker who is registered or certified by the commission.

Commission Response

The commission declines to expand the affiliate disclosure
requirements to include entities other than REPs. The
role of a broker in the market is to assist its clients in the
selection of a REP or product. A broker affiliated with a
REP could present a conflict of interest, because the broker
would have a direct financial incentive to persuade its
clients to enroll with its affiliate. Brokers' relationships with
other market entities do not present the same inherent risk
so a mandatory disclosure requirement is not necessary.
However, if an interested client requests information on a
broker's other affiliates, a broker is prohibited from mis-
leading or deceiving the client under 16 TAC §25.486(d). If
the broker elects not to disclose the requested information,
the client can choose not to make use of its services.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f)(5)

ARM suggested removing the modifier "if applicable" from the
requirement to disclose the duration of the agreement to pro-
vide brokerage services. ARM stated that all agreements, even
one-time agreements, will have a duration, and the customer will
benefit from having clarity regarding the duration of the agree-
ment.

Commission Response

The commission declines to remove "if applicable,” as re-
quested by ARM. Brokerage services can include elements
that do not have a meaningful duration. For instance, the
service offered by an online shopping site that allows a
client to generate a list of retail products that meet certain
criteria does not have a meaningful duration.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f)(6)

TEPA opposed the inclusion of any broker compensation re-
quirements. It also argued that the method and amount of com-
pensation is proprietary, and requiring disclosure is anti-compet-
itive and will force the commoditization of brokerage services.
TEPA further asserted that requiring compensation disclosure
goes beyond the oversight extended to the commission by PURA
§39.3555 and requested that the commission refrain from assert-
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ing any form of regulatory oversight or restrictions on the rates or
prices of brokers. In reply comments, TEPA noted that the TEPA
code of conduct requires brokers to disclose their fee upon re-
quest by the customer and stated that TEPA does not oppose
that type of requirement.

Energy Ogre, Power Wizard, John Turala, ARM, and Braso-
van supported the compensation disclosure requirement as pro-
posed. Energy Ogre argued that the requirement is both rea-
sonable and consistent with other types of required disclosures
in the industry. Energy Ogre further argued that the compen-
sation a broker receives, and from whom, is vital information to
a residential customer. However, Energy Ogre indicated that a
distinction could be made on the need for disclosure of com-
pensation in a commercial setting versus a residential setting.
John Turala argued that disclosure is important for transparency
purposes. Brasovan suggested that brokers should also have
to disclose how much compensation they receive from a REP.
Brasovan further recommended that REPs should have to guar-
antee this compensation in their contracts. ARM specified that
it valued transparency and that it is not asking for the rates of
brokers to be regulated beyond disclosure requirements.

Electricity Ratings and RES Nation supported fee disclosure only
in circumstances where the broker is directly compensated by
the client. Electricity Ratings argued this approach would avoid
confusion as to whether compensation received by brokers from
third party sources relates to brokerage services or other unre-
lated services the broker provides. RES Nation also argued that
this will maintain the privacy of business relationships in the com-
petitive marketplace.

In reply comments, TEAM argued that the position taken by RES
Nation and Electricity Ratings opens the door to manipulation
and circumvention of the rule. TEAM asserts that a broker seek-
ing to avoid disclosure obligations may argue that a fee charged
to a client as part of the energy charge on the customer bill pro-
vided by the REP is indirect, alleviating the broker's disclosure
obligation. TEAM recommended that the details to be disclosed
include the amount the client will pay or how the compensation
will be calculated, and how the compensation will be billed to the
client. TEAM argued that brokers bill a number of different ways,
and customers need to know where to look to evaluate whether
they are being appropriately billed for brokerage services.

Commission Response

The commission disagrees with TEPA that compensation
disclosure is inherently anti-competitive and would force
the commoditization of brokerage services. Nearly every
competitive industry has transparent pricing. The commis-
sion also disagrees with TEPA's contention that compen-
sation disclosure goes beyond the oversight extended to
the commission by PURA §39.3555. The plain text of PURA
§39.3555 requires a broker to "comply with...disclosure re-
quirements...established by the commission."

Prior to the initiation of brokerage services, a broker is re-
quired to provide its client a description of how the bro-
ker will be compensated for providing brokerage services
and by whom. This level of mandatory disclosure coupled
with the prohibition against unauthorized charges of 16 TAC
§25.486(h) provides clients with adequate customer protec-
tions in this area. Accordingly, the commission removes the
language from proposed 16 TAC §25.486(f)(6) that required
a broker to disclose the details of compensation provided
directly by the client.

The commission declines to adopt the recommendation of
Brasovan that brokers be required to disclose the amount of
compensation that they receive from REPs. The knowledge
that a broker is being compensated by a REP is enough to
alert a client to possible conflicts of interest while respect-
ing the proprietary practices of brokers. The commission
notes that there is no rule against a broker disclosing the
full details of its compensation, nor is there a rule against a
client requesting those details.

The commission also declines to require REPs to guaran-
tee a broker's compensation in their contracts, as requested
by Brasovan. If a broker desires to have its compensation
guaranteed by a REP, it can negotiate for that term with the
REP.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f)(7)

TEPA argued that requiring a broker to disclose how a client can
terminate the agreement to provide brokerage services is overly
prescriptive and asserted that the matter of contract termination
by the client should be left to the representation agreement be-
tween the broker and client. It further argued that termination is
covered in such agreements and should not be subject to addi-
tional disclosure requirements. OPUC disagreed, arguing that
customers should have the right to know how to terminate a bro-
kerage services agreement. ARM also opposed TEPA's posi-
tion, arguing that this requirement is relevant and not overly bur-
densome.

Commission Response

The commission declines to make changes in response to
these comments as none are necessary. The commission
agrees with OPUC and ARM that requiring a broker to dis-
close how a client can terminate an agreement to provide
brokerage services is essential information for the client
and not overly burdensome for the broker. The required
disclosures can be provided to the client as a part of the
representation agreement, prior to the initiation of broker-
age services.

Calpine Retail commented that generally there is no agreement
between a broker and a customer unless the broker directly bills
the customer via a separate invoice. They explained that bro-
ker fees are typically included in the REP bill, so the commission
needs to provide guidance on how REPs should respond to re-
quests by customers wanting to terminate their arrangement with
the broker. Calpine Retail also noted that the commission should
revise the rule to require brokers to notify REPs how to handle
such termination.

Commission Response

With regard to Calpine Retail's request for clarity on how a
REP should proceed if a customer who wishes to terminate
its relationship with the broker contacts the REP, it is the
commission's intent that this situation be addressed by the
parties through private agreement.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f)(8)

TEPA argued that requiring a broker to disclose early termination
fees is overly prescriptive and should be left to the representation
agreement between the broker and its client. ARM argued in
reply comments that this requirement is relevant and not overly
burdensome so should be included in the final rule.

Commission Response
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The commission declines to make changes in response to
these comments as none are necessary. The existence of a
termination fee is a critical piece of information. The com-
mission agrees with ARM that this requirement is not overly
burdensome. The required disclosures can be provided to
the client as a part of the representation agreement, prior to
the initiation of brokerage services.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(g)

Comments related to whether REPs are required to accept
client agent submitted enroliments

Energy Ogre and Power Wizard argued that REPs should be
required to accept customer enroliments submitted by client
agents on behalf of their clients. Energy Ogre argued that REPs
use a variety of tactics, such as enroliment delays and Internet
Protocol address blocking, to delay or prevent enrollments by
client agents. Energy Ogre represented that it is always upfront
with the terms of agent authorization with its clients and its
clients knowingly and willing enter into an agreement with En-
ergy Ogre. Energy Ogre continued that as the market evolves
and becomes more complicated, it will be increasingly important
for a broker like Energy Ogre to have the authority to act on
behalf of its residential customers. Energy Ogre advocated for
a commission review and approval process for broker agency
agreements.

Power Wizard proposed, in reply comments, that "the Commis-
sion require REPs to accept all customer enroliments that are
complete, including all customer information that is required to
process the enrollment, and are accompanied by a simple con-
firmation from the enrolling client agent that they have obtained
authority from the retail electric customer using the Commission
approved form text." The combination of a completed enroliment,
which includes information that can only be obtained with the as-
sistance of the retail electric customer, and verification of agent
authority on a commission-approved form text, which the com-
mission can request from the broker at any time, should be all
that is necessary for a customer to utilize the services of a client
agent and enroll with a REP.

In reply comments, EMEX/Patriot argued that any disputes
between individual client agents and REPs regarding agency
agreements should be resolved commercially or through agency
law. EMEX/Patriot asserted that it has used agency agreements
for nearly 20 years in almost every restructured electric market
and has not experienced even one instance of a REP refusing
to accept its agreement, which it provides to REPs with all its
executed client contracts. EMEX/Patriot argued that if specific
brokers have encountered problems with REPs accepting their
agreements, "it is not likely because REPs are being arbitrary
in their standards." EMEX/Patriot argued that the value that
brokers bring to the table is that they have strong relationships
with their clients and are trusted by REPs.

TEAM and ARM each argued that REPs should not be required
to accept a broker's representation that it has legal authority to
execute an enrollment for a customer. ARM argued that this
violates a bedrock principle of a free and competitive market
that buyers and sellers come together willingly. Similarly,
TEAM argued that in the competitive marketplace a service
provider should not be forced to be in the position of accepting
another company's determinations of who the service provider's
customers might be, or the terms of the contract with those cus-
tomers. TEAM recommended the commission include language
that a REP is only required to accept a broker's representation

of agency authority if the broker has a statutorily-recognized
durable power of attorney.

ARM, EMEX/Patriot, Energy Ogre, and Power Wizard filed reply
comments opposing TEAM's proposed durable power of attor-
ney language. ARM argued that REPs should be able to de-
cide what evidence of agency authority they will accept because
REPs are liable under the customer protection rules for unau-
thorized enrolliments. ARM also worried that requiring "a REP to
accept certain types of purported evidence may put a REP in a
position where it is required by one rule to violate another rule."

EMEX/Patriot, Energy Ogre, and Power Wizard each argued
that a durable power of attorney is unnecessary. EMEX/Patriot
asserted that the requirement would be unique to this jurisdic-
tion. Energy Ogre and Power Wizard contended that requiring
a durable power of attorney would set an impractical standard
and goes against the goals of bolstering customer protections
and maintaining a healthy and robust marketplace. These par-
ties also pointed out that a durable power of attorney is used to
convey broad and sweeping power to an agent. A client agent is
not making potentially lifesaving medical decisions or executing
an estate for a deceased or incapacitated person. Other agents,
such as insurance and real estate agents, are not required to
have a durable power of attorney.

In reply comments, ARM and TEAM suggested language clarify-
ing that a REP is not obligated to accept a third-party's represen-
tation or evidence that it has legal authority to execute enroliment
for the customer.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include language governing
under what circumstances a REP must accept a broker's
representation that it has agency authority to act on a
client's behalf or that requires a REP to accept an enroll-
ment submitted by a client agent. The commission agrees
with EMEX/Patriot that these issues should be resolved
commercially and through agency law. The commission
does not intend to alter or adjudicate any claims of agency
authority that may exist under areas of law that are not
within the commission's jurisdiction.

With regard to Energy Ogre's arguments about the tactics
that REPs use to prevent the enroliment of applicants that
are represented by client agents, the commission agrees
with ARM and TEAM that a fundamental principle of com-
petitive markets is that buyers and sellers come together
willingly. As long as it abides by the discrimination prohibi-
tions of PURA and 16 TAC §25.471(c), and any other appli-
cable laws, a REP is not prohibited from refusing to provide
electric service to the clients of client agents.

While the commission will not prohibit REPs from verify-
ing the agency authority of client agents before enrolling a
client as a customer, the commission adopts the following
language to reduce the compliance risk for REPs and fa-
cilitate quicker enrollments of this type: "For purposes of
complying with the requirements §25.474, a REP may rely
upon the representations made by a client agent provided
that the client agent is registered with the commission and
provides evidence of agency authority."

Comments Related to a Standardized Agency Authorization
Process

Energy Ogre proposed that each broker create its own version
of the client agent agreement to allow for individuality and cre-
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ativity. After being submitted to and approved by the commis-
sion, the form could contain the words "this form approved by
the PUC." Energy Ogre argued that having over one thousand
different forms would lead to confusion for all parties involved,
but that commission approval would mitigate that confusion.

Bottom Line Energy and Energy Ogre each requested that the
commission adopt a standard client agency agreement. Bot-
tom Line Energy argued that a standard one-page form would
be simple and give a client a general understanding of how the
agency relationship would work. Energy Ogre supported a stan-
dard form as an alternative to its proposal of commission-ap-
proved forms. In reply comments, Power Wizard supported the
commission adopting standardized form text.

TEAM argued in reply that the commission does not need to be-
come involved in the private party contractual matters between
competitive market entities and opposed all of the standardized
form proposals.

TEPA, ARM, and EMEX/Patriot all filed reply comments op-
posing the adoption of a standard form. TEPA argued that a
standardized form is not provided for by PURA §39.3555 and
the legislature did not adopt other legislation with similar lan-
guage. TEPA also requested that if the commission did adopt
a standardized form, that it only apply to residential customers.
EMEX/Patriot asserted that no other jurisdiction requires a
specific form for such agreements for client agents and that
disagreements between competitive entities should be resolved
commercially or under agency law.

Commission Response

The commission declines to add a provision creating
a commission review and approval process for broker
agency agreements. The commission also declines to
create a standard agency authorization form. The commis-
sion agrees that it should not interfere with contractual
matters of private parties more than is necessary to provide
recipients of brokerage services with adequate customer
protections.  Additionally, individually preapproving a
separate broker agency agreement for each broker would
be a drain on the commission's resources. Conversely, a
standardized form would limit the ability of brokers and
clients to negotiate specific terms tailored to the intended
relationship between the two parties. The commission
also notes that mandatory REP contract documents, such
as the Terms of Service document, the Your Rights as a
Customer document, and the Electricity Facts Label, do not
have commission-approved forms, despite the commission
having a greater level of authority over REPs than brokers.

Comments Related to Mandatory Indemnification

TEAM proposed that client agents be required to indemnify the
REP against any future complaints, actions, and harm resulting
from any and all claims that the enrollment was not authorized
or verified or that the broker did not have authority to act as the
client's agent. In reply comments, TEAM and ARM each submit-
ted a modified version of this proposal that would allow REPs to
require a broker that acts as a client agent to provide the indem-
nification described above.

In reply comments, EMEX/Patriot and Power Wizard opposed
the proposal that client agents be required to indemnify REPs.
EMEX/Patriot argued that REPs and brokers are sophisticated
commercial actors and are equipped to establish fair terms for
dealing with such situations in the commercial agreements be-

tween one another, as is the practice today. Power Wizard added
that if brokers falsely claim to have agency authority, the com-
mission has authority to pursue enforcement actions against the
person responsible for the unauthorized enrolliment. The com-
mission will not pursue an enforcement action against a REP if
the broker is solely responsible.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include language requiring that
client agents provide REPs with indemnity as suggested by
TEAM. The commission agrees with EMEX/Patriot that REPs
and brokers can establish fair terms through private con-
tract. For purposes of complying with the requirements of
16 TAC §25.474, 16 TAC §25.486(g)(4) allows a REP to rely
upon the representations made by a client agent provided
that the client agent is registered with the commission and
provides evidence of agency authority. If desired, REPs and
brokers may negotiate for further indemnification by private
agreement.

Comments of 16 TAC §25.486(g)(2)(E)

ARM suggested that the commission specify that the customer
data referenced in this provision includes the customer's pro-
prietary customer information. This will require a client agent
to inform the client how its proprietary customer information will
be used, protected, and retained by the broker and disposed of
at the conclusion of the agency relationship. TEAM and ARM
included language that incorporated this suggestion in the syn-
chronized language in reply comments.

Commission Response

The commission agrees with ARM that this is a useful clar-
ification. The commission adds language to this provision
clarifying that the customer data referenced in this provi-
sion includes the client's proprietary client information.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(g)(3)

ARM supported language in the proposal that requires a client
agent to provide evidence of its agency authority upon the re-
quest of a REP with which the broker seeks to enroll its client.
ARM requested that the commission also require a client agent
to provide notice to the customer's REP of record when a bro-
ker's agency authority changes or is revoked by the customer.
TEAM and ARM presented synchronized language in reply com-
ments that incorporated this recommendation.

Power Wizard requested the commission strike the requirement
that brokers provide evidence of agency authority to a REP with
which the broker seeks to enroll the client. Power Wizard ar-
gued that delegating the verification of the client agent to REPs
is unnecessary and opens the door to potential anti-competi-
tive abuses and discrimination by REPs against customers who
use concierge services and other shopping tools to make bet-
ter shopping decisions. Power Wizard noted that the proposed
rule was silent with regard to both the reasons such evidence is
required and the rules that govern the actions a REP must take
after evidence of agent authority has been provided.

In reply comments, Power Wizard argued that 16 TAC §§25.112
and 25.486 provide the commission with sufficient oversight au-
thority to distinguish rule violations by brokers from rule violations
by REPs, as well as providing enforcement authority to hold bro-
kers accountable for rule violations. If a broker misrepresented
its client agent authority, the broker would be subject to a pos-
sible enforcement action by the commission. Power Wizard fur-
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ther argues that these new powers eliminate the need for REPs
to police broker representations regarding client agent authority,
thereby also eliminating any need for REPs to receive notice re-
garding changes to a client agent's authority.

ARM filed reply comments opposing Power Wizard's proposal.
ARM noted that although brokers will now have some respon-
sibility related to customer complaints, the REP has financial
and regulatory responsibility for the unauthorized enrollment of
a customer. ARM asserted that a party dealing with an agent
has an obligation to ascertain not only the validity of the agent's
authority but also the extent. As applied here, a REP needs to
know whether a broker has agency authority with respect to a
customer and the scope of that authority. In the context of a
broker, ARM argued, apparent authority is not sufficient. ARM
distinguished this from a situation where a REP may reasonably
assume that an officer of a company is authorized to execute a
retail electric contract on behalf of the company. If the broker
did not have the agency to bind a customer to a contract, that
contract would be invalid, but the REP would likely have already
incurred costs (such as hedging, TDU charges, and wholesale
settlements) that may not be recoupable.

Commission Response

The commission declines to require client agents to notify a
client's REP of record when their agency authority changes
or is terminated. The rule requires brokers to provide ev-
idence of their agency authority to a REP at the time the
broker seeks to enroll the client so that the REP can avoid
fraudulent enroliments. However, the rule does not prohibit
REPs and brokers from agreeing to additional notifications.

The commission also declines to strike the requirement that
brokers provide evidence of agency authority upon the re-
quest of REPs with which the broker seeks to enroll a client.
The commission does not agree with Power Wizard's con-
tention that the commission'’s ability to pursue enforcement
actions against fraudulent claims of agency authority elimi-
nates the role that a REP plays in protecting the integrity of
its enrollment process. The commission agrees with ARM
that REPs have financial and regulatory responsibility for
unauthorized enroliments and need to have the ability to
verify the authority of agents with which they do business.
REPs are also in the best position to prevent unauthorized
switches before they occur.

The commission disagrees with Power Wizard's assertion
that allowing REPs to verify the agency authority of a client
agent opens the door to anti-competitive abuses by REPs.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(h)

Proposed 16 TAC §25.486(h) authorized a broker to enter into
an agreement with a REP to assume all or part of the REP's en-
rollment responsibilities without creating an agency relationship
with that REP. TEPA, ARM, and Power Wizard each filed com-
ments indicating that the roles of the different entities envisioned
by this section needed to be clarified. ARM believed that the
phrasing of proposed subsection (h) may lead to confusion over
which entities can enroll customers and act as an agent. ARM
also expressed concerns with any proposal that would mandate
that REPs enroll customers represented by a broker or client
agent.

TEAM argued that performing actions on behalf of a REP does
not comport with the definition of brokerage services, and entities
that are doing so currently are already under the commission's

jurisdiction as an agent of the REP. ARM and Power Wizard ar-
gued that brokers are not REP agents. TEAM, ARM, and Power
Wizard agreed that REPs should not be held accountable for
broker actions outside of an agency relationship. ARM argued
that while REPs may enter into agreements with brokers to ac-
cept customers enrolled by the brokers, the existence of such
an agreement does not create an agency relationship between
the REP and broker, and therefore, brokers should be required
to comply with 16 TAC §25.474 both as a matter of practice and
as a means to give effect to the text and written legislative intent
of PURA §39.3555. Power Wizard agreed that brokers are not
REP agents, but clarified that brokers were not necessarily client
agents either. To avoid confusion regarding liability and fiduciary
responsibilities, Power Wizard argued these brokers should be
recognized as independent agents who represent their own in-
terests, and the commission should hold them, and not REPs
accountable for any violation of the commission's customer pro-
tection rules.

TEPA argued that the proposed "broker enrollment" provisions
are unnecessary, because commission rules already provide au-
thority for entities such as brokers to provide "retail electric func-
tions" without specific authorization in the commission's rules or
a contract with a REP. In making this claim, TEPA relied upon 16
TAC §25.107(a)(2), which establishes that a person "who does
not purchase, take title to, or resell electricity in order to pro-
vide electric service to a retail customer is not a REP and may
perform a service for a REP without obtaining a certificate pur-
suant to this section," and 16 TAC §25.107(a)(3), which clarifies
that when a REP contractually outsources a service for which a
REP certificate is not required (i.e. services referred to in the
rule as "retail electric functions"), it remains responsible "under
Commission rules for those functions and remains accountable
to applicable laws and Commission rules for all activities con-
ducted on its behalf by any subcontractor, agent, or any other
entity." TEPA also noted that no provisions identified in statute
orin 16 TAC §25.107 require an outsourced retail electric func-
tion be provided through a contract with the REP.

TEAM, ARM, and TEPA each requested that the commission
strike proposed subsection (h) entirely, but each also recom-
mended language as an alternative. TEAM proposed clarify-
ing that a broker in this situation must also comply with 16 TAC
§25.474 and all its advertising claims must comply with 16 TAC
§25.475(i). In reply, ARM indicated that TEAM's clarification
would be helpful, but preferred its recommendation to incorpo-
rate 16 TAC §25.475(i) into proposed 16 TAC §25.486(d) to be
more consistent with the rule provisions that apply to aggregators
and REPs. In initial comments, ARM recommended modifying
this subsection to allow brokers to conduct customer enroliments
under 16 TAC §25.474 and to require that an agreement between
a REP and a broker under this subsection must be memorialized
on paper or electronically and provided to the commission upon
request. In reply comments, ARM and TEAM each presented a
synchronized proposal that required a broker that is not an agent
of a REP under 16 TAC §25.471(d)(10) that conducts all or part
of a customer enroliment must do so in compliance with the re-
quirements of 16 TAC §25.474. They further recommended that
a REP may, but is not required to, accept such enrollments, and
any agreement between a REP and a broker under this subsec-
tion must be memorialized on paper or electronically and pro-
vided to the commission upon request.

TEPA recommended the commission adopt a definition of "en-
roliment services" as the process of obtaining authorization and
verification for a request for service that is a move-in or switch
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in accordance with 16 TAC §25.471. TEPA also recommended
a definition for a "client enroliment agent" be referenced in this
section, and added to the definitions section of the rule to help
consumers distinguish between: (a) brokers who may simply be
"brokers"; (b) brokers who act in an agency relationship with a
customer; and (c) and brokers who have entered into an agree-
ment with a REP to enroll customers or applicants under the
terms specified in this new proposed section.

Commission Response

Proposed 16 TAC §25.486(h) was intended to provide
requirements for ongoing businesses that perform enroli-
ment services without an express agency relationship with
a REP. However, the commission agrees with comments
suggesting that the proposed language would further
confuse the role of different entities with regard to cus-
tomer enrollments. The commission also agrees with
TEPA that 16 TAC §25.107(a)(2) allows a broker to conduct
enrollment activities as a "service for a REP." Moreover,
16 TAC §25.107(a)(3) makes it clear that under current law
a REP can outsource retail electric functions to a "sub-
contractor, agent, or any other entity." Accordingly, the
commission agrees that brokers that conduct enroliment
activities are not required to have an agency relationship
with a REP. Because the commission's intended purpose
for this section is already provided for under current law,
the commission removes proposed 16 TAC §25.486(h) from
the rule. The commission also declines to adopt any of the
alternate language recommended by the commenters as it
is unnecessary.

However, the commission disagrees that REPs are not ac-
countable for enroliment activities conducted by brokers
on their behalf. Under 16 TAC §25.107(a)(3), "[a] REP that
outsources retail electric functions...remains accountable
to applicable law and commission rules for all activities con-
ducted on its behalf by any subcontractor, agent or any
other entity." To the extent that a broker assumes any of
the duties of a REP with regard to the enroliment process,
the REP will be accountable under the rules for all activities
conducted on its behalf by that broker.

With regard to the concerns of TEAM and ARM, a REP is not
required to accept an enroliment conducted by a broker. Itis
the intention of the commission that REPs remain account-
able for enrollments under 16 TAC §25.474, and REPs and
brokers continue to address these issues through private
agreement, as necessary.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(i)

TEPA argued it would be appropriate to include the modifier "un-
duly" in this section to conform the broker discrimination prohi-
bitions to those applicable to REPs and aggregators. TEAM in-
dicated that it maintains its support of this section, unmodified,
but does not oppose the addition of "unduly."

Commission Response

The commission agrees that inclusion of the term "unduly”
is appropriate and would align 16 TAC §25.486(i) with the
discrimination prohibitions that apply to REPs and aggre-
gators. The commission makes the recommended change.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(j)(1)

Oncor recommended that the commission include an additional
provision in this subsection modeled after 16 TAC §25.472(b)(3),

which allows a REP to request a customer or applicant's monthly
usage from a TDU. This would require that, upon receiving au-
thorization from a client, a broker must request from the TDU
the monthly usage of the client's premise for the previous 12
months, and the TDU, upon receipt of a written request or other
proof of authorization, must provide the requested information to
the requesting broker no later than three business days after the
request for proof of authorization is submitted.

Oncor explained that all four TDUs in Texas's competitive re-
tail market have implemented automated historical usage por-
tals. Using Oncor's REP portal, a REP that affirms it has au-
thorization from its customers may request up to 250 ESI IDs
at a time and receive the historical usage within minutes. How-
ever, because brokers are not subject to the provisions of 16 TAC
§25.472(b)(3), the portal used by brokers requires them to attach
a copy of the customers' signed letter of authorization rather than
allow the broker to simply affirm they have authorization, as the
REPs are allowed to do. Oncor also explained that in 2018, On-
cor fulfilled requests for more than 360,000 ESI IDs through their
automated portals, and at that volume, all process improvements
are meaningful. Power Wizard supported Oncor's proposal in re-
ply comments.

ARM filed reply comments opposing Oncor's proposed lan-
guage. ARM noted that no commission rule governs how Oncor
manages its portal and PURA §39.3555 does not address
TDUs' provision of historical usage data to brokers. For these
reasons, ARM argued that this proposal is outside the scope
of this rulemaking. ARM further argued that, if anything, this
should be a permissive requirement, not mandatory as Oncor
proposed. ARM also argued that even though brokers are now
within commission's jurisdiction, broker comments throughout
this rulemaking indicate that they do not wish to be included
within the full scope of the commission's customer protection
rules related to retail electric service. This runs contrary to On-
cor's argument in support of not requiring evidence of authority.
ARM recommended that it is appropriate to continue to require
that brokers submit proof of authorization from a customer to
obtain that customer's historical usage data.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include a provision modeled
after 16 TAC §25.472(b)(3) as requested by Oncor. The com-
mission agrees with ARM that broker registration applica-
tions are not subject to the same level of review as REP
licensing applications, nor are brokers subject to the au-
thorization and verification requirements of 16 TAC §25.474
when enlisting clients. The commission will not mandate
the release of proprietary client information by a public util-
ity to brokers because it is not clear that the utility has the
ability to verify whether the customer has authorized the re-
lease of the information.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(j)(1)
Verifiable Authorization to Release Customer Information

ARM requested that the commission require a broker to obtain
the customer's verifiable authorization by means of one of the
methods authorized in 16 TAC §25.474 prior to releasing cus-
tomer information. ARM argued that this would track the lan-
guage of 16 TAC §25.472(b)(1) and prevent a double standard
with REPs and aggregators. TEAM supported this recommen-
dation in reply comments.

Commission Response
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The commission declines to modify 16 TAC §25.486(j) to re-
quire brokers to obtain verifiable authorization by means
of one of the methods authorized in 16 TAC §25.474 prior
to releasing proprietary client information. Brokers are not
otherwise required to use these methods when obtaining
client authorization, and it would be burdensome to require
such use in this context. The commission retains the re-
quirement that brokers obtain authorization to release pro-
prietary client information in writing. The commission notes
that under 16 TAC §25.486(k)(1)(A), brokers must maintain
records to verify compliance with this requirement.

Release of Customer Information to Agents, Vendors, Part-
ners, or Affiliates

ARM recommended adding language that would track the re-
quirements of 16 TAC §25.472(b)(1)(B), which would provide an
additional exception to the prohibition against releasing propri-
etary client information to agents, vendors partners, or affiliates
of the broker and impose requirements related to that exception.
TEAM supported ARM's suggested additions in reply comments.

Commission Response

The commission declines to adopt the additional provisions
suggested by ARM related to the release of proprietary
client information to an agent, vendor, partner, or affiliate of
the broker. Brokers and their clients can, by private agree-
ment and consistent with the requirements of this section,
determine for what purposes the broker may release the
client's proprietary client information and to whom.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(j)(1)(B)

TEPA urged the commission to remove proposed 16 TAC
§25.486(j)(1)(B), which would allow brokers to release propri-
etary client information to OPUC, upon request under PURA
§39.101(d). This provision of PURA requires a REP, power gen-
eration company, aggregator, or other entity that provides retail
electric service to submit reports to the commission and OPUC
annually and on request relating to the person's compliance with
PURA §39.101. TEPA objected to granting OPUC the right to re-
quire brokers to provide confidential and proprietary information
about retail electric services without customer approval. TEPA
continued that brokers are not subject to the statutory provisions
that establish these reporting requirements, and that using this
mechanism to assert this authority for OPUC is inappropriate
and inconsistent with the competitive, discretionary nature of the
services offered by brokers to retail electric customers. TEPA
requested that if this provision remains, it should apply only to
services for residential and small commercial customers. TEPA
also opposed requiring brokers to file annual reports with the
commission.

In reply, OPUC argued that under PURA Chapter 13, OPUC is
the independent office responsible for representing the interests
of residential and small commercial consumers and is statutorily
responsible for maintaining a system to promptly and efficiently
act on complaints that are filed with OPUC that it has the au-
thority to resolve. OPUC contends that it should have access to
all information that is necessary to protect residential and small
commercial customer interests, including proprietary customer
information possessed by brokers. ARM argued in reply com-
ments that brokers should be required to file these annual re-
ports. ARM stated that while brokers are not specifically included
on the list of entities that are statutorily required to file these re-
ports, PURA §39.3555 specifically invokes the customer protec-
tions found in Chapters 17 and 39.

Commission Response

The commission strikes proposed 16 TAC §25.486(j)(1)(B)
in response to TEPA's comments. The commission agrees
with ARM that the broad language of PURA §39.3555 would
allow the commission to require brokers to file annual re-
ports and disclose proprietary customer information con-
tained in those reports to OPUC. However, at the current
time, the commission believes that requiring brokers to file
an annual report would be overly burdensome to a market
segment that has just come under the commission's juris-
diction.

The commission agrees that OPUC should have all the infor-
mation that it needs to address residential and small com-
mercial complaints. However, OPUC can obtain authoriza-
tion from a complainant to obtain that complainant's propri-
etary client information as needed.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(j)(1)(C)

TEAM recommended that the commission modify proposed 16
TAC §25.486(j)(1)(C) to clarify that brokers can also release pro-
prietary client information to REPs or TDUs as necessary to so-
licit bids under terms approved by the commission.

Commission Response

The commission declines to permit brokers to release pro-
prietary client information to REPs or TDUs for purposes
of soliciting bids without the express authorization of the
client, as suggested by TEAM. Instead, the commission re-
moves proposed 16 TAC §25.486(j)(1)(C) from the rule. It
is the intent of the commission that clients authorize any
release of their proprietary client information by a broker.
The removal of this provision should not place an additional
burden on brokers, because a broker is not prohibited from
obtaining client authorization through a general release that
describes, with precision, the circumstances in which a bro-
ker can release the client's proprietary client information.
The commission also notes that 16 TAC 25.486(d) applies to
any communications describing how a client's proprietary
client information will be used must be clear and not mis-
leading, fraudulent, unfair, deceptive, or anti-competitive.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(j)(2)
Sale of Client-Specific Information

TEAM, ARM, and OPUC recommended that the commission
prohibit the sale of client-specific information under any circum-
stances. TEAM argued that REPs are not allowed to sell cus-
tomer-specific information and recommended language prohibit-
ing the sale of proprietary client information. ARM recommended
language prohibiting the sale of customer-specific information.
In addition to recommending the prohibition on the sale of client
information in reply comments, OPUC also supported the pro-
posed rule language prohibiting the sale of customer-specific in-
formation without a customer's permission.

Commission Response

The commission declines to include a prohibition on the
sale of client-specific information as requested by TEAM,
ARM, and OPUC. Retail electric customers in deregulated
areas of the state must interact with a REP to receive electric
service. If REPs were permitted to sell customer-specific
information, there would be a risk that requesting autho-
rization to allow this sale would become an industry stan-
dard, preventing a customer from obtaining electric service
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without agreeing to allow the sale of their information. Con-
versely, customers are not required to use brokers to obtain
retail electric service. If a client elects to engage a broker
and authorize the broker to sell their information, the com-
mission will not prevent the client from doing so.

Sale of Clients Upon Broker Market Exit

RES Nation requested clarification that, when exiting the mar-
ket, selling clients to another broker is not a violation of this rule.
In reply comments, TEAM and ARM each opposed this sugges-
tion. TEAM argued that this is unnecessary in the context of
brokers. Because customers are not required to obtain broker-
age services, there is no need for the commission to facilitate the
transfer of clients to another broker and no reason why a broker
should be able to sell customer-specific information to another
broker under any circumstance. ARM argued that if a broker is
exiting the market, it would make sense to sell the broker en-
tity, not the individual customer's proprietary data. Furthermore,
ARM continued, no such exception exists for aggregators exiting
the market.

Commission Response

In response to RES Nation's request for clarification on
whether, when exiting the market, selling clients to another
broker is a violation of the rule, the commission clarifies
that the same requirements apply in the context of a market
exit as would apply otherwise. With regard to the sale of
proprietary client information, a broker must first obtain
consent from the client in writing. The commission also
notes that any transfer of a client to a different broker
would trigger the required disclosure requirements of 16
TAC §25.486(f) and the requirements of 16 TAC §25.486(g)
if the broker is a client agent.

The commission agrees with TEAM that brokerage services
are not essential, and the commission does not need to pro-
vide a process for the transfer of clients upon a broker mar-
ket exit. However, the commission will not prohibit brokers
and clients from including terms in their private agreements
that provide for this outcome, so long as the terms are con-
sistent with PURA and the commission's rules.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(k)

ARM recommended restyling this subsection from "customer
service" to "customer access" for consistency with 16 TAC
§25.485.

Commission Response

The commission agrees that ARM's proposed edit would
provide consistency with 16 TAC §25.485. The commission
restyles this subsection "Client Access and Complaint Han-
dling."

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(k)(1)
Access to Customer Service Representatives

Electricity Ratings argued that brokers generally do not have ac-
cess to client bills or the ability to terminate REP services unless
the broker is a client agent. Accordingly, Electricity Ratings re-
quested that the commission modify this provision to only require
client agents to provide customer access to customer service
representatives to discuss bills and the termination of REP ser-
vice. Electricity Ratings also requested the commission clarify
that brokers who are not client agents are only required to pro-

vide client access to customer service representatives to discuss
termination of service agreements with the broker.

TEPA filed reply comments in support of Electricity Ratings's pro-
posed modifications regarding the termination of brokerage ser-
vice agreements. However, in reference to Electricity Ratings's
proposal that only client agents must provide client access to
discuss bills and the termination of REP service, TEPA pointed
out that no provisions exist in PURA §39.3555 that provide the
basis for distinguishing treatment for different types of registered
brokers. Accordingly, TEPA opposed the suggested addition of
new language intended to authorize limited and specific actions
for which a broker not need a grant of authority in the rules.

Commission Response

The commission agrees with Electricity Ratings that bro-
kers should be required to provide clients access to cus-
tomer service representatives to discuss the termination of
agreements to provide brokerage services. The commis-
sion makes the recommended change.

The commission declines to adopt the client agent related
language that Electricity Ratings recommends. Instead, the
commission adds broader language requiring a broker to
provide reasonable access to its service representatives to
discuss charges on bills or any other aspect of the broker-
age services provided to the client by the broker.

Complaints Submitted to Broker

TEAM stated that it is unclear when the broker must inform
the client of the commission's complaint process. It suggested
adding it to the initial disclosures to the client and to any com-
munication regarding an unresolved complaint brought to the
broker by a client.

Commission Response

The commission declines to adopt TEAM's recommen-
dation that a broker be required to provide information
regarding the commission's informal complaint resolution
process as part of the initial disclosures and as a part of ev-
ery communication with a client with a pending complaint,
as this could be burdensome if the broker and client have
multiple communications regarding a complaint. Instead,
the commission adds a requirement that the broker pro-
vide information to the client regarding the commission's
informal complaint resolution process within 21 days of
receiving the complaint.

ARM recommended adding a deadline of 21 days for a broker to
investigate client complaints and advise the complainant of the
results.

Commission Response

The commission declines to require a broker to complete
its own internal complaint investigation process within 21
days, as recommended by ARM. The requirement for bro-
kers to provide the complainant with information regarding
the commission's informal complaint resolution process
within 14 days provides sufficient customer protections.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(k)(3)

ARM recommends that the commission replace "may not" with
"must not" to clarify that a broker must not use a written or verbal
agreement with a client to impair the right of a residential or small
commercial customer to file a complaint.
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Commission Response

The commission agrees with ARM that a broker must not
use a written or verbal agreement with a client to impair the
right of a residential or small commercial customer to file a
complaint and makes the recommended change.

Debt Collection During Pendency of an Informal Complaint

ARM suggested adding an additional provision prohibiting debt
collection or reporting to a credit agency during the pendency
of an informal complaint. TEAM supported this proposal in reply
comments and argued that this proposal complements proposed
16 TAC §25.112(g), which lists unauthorized charges as a sig-
nificant violation.

Commission Response

The commission has added a provision prohibiting the ini-
tiation of collection activities, including a report of a cus-
tomer's delinquency to a credit reporting agency, with re-
spect to the disputed portion of the bill, during the pendency
of an informal complaint. Under 16 TAC §22.272(d), commis-
sion staff must attempt to informally resolve all complaints
within 35 days, making this a sensible customer protection
relative to the minor burden it imposes on brokers.

Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(k)(3)(B)

ARM pointed out that some of the information required by this
subsection may not be available if a complaint is initiated against
an unregistered broker or before a customer receives an electric
service identifier. ARM recommended the commission add "if
any" to 16 TAC §§25.486(k)(3)(B)(iii) and (v).

Commission Response

The commission declines to make changes based upon
this comment. Under 16 TAC §25.486(k)(3)(B), a complaint
should include the listed information as applicable. If a
broker does not have a registration number or a customer
does not yet have an electric service identifier, then these
pieces of information are not applicable. Moreover, the pur-
pose of this list is to assist commission staff in processing
complaints as efficiently as possible. Commission staff
endeavors to process each informal complaint it receives,
even if the complainant cannot provide each of the listed
items.

All comments, including any not specifically referenced herein,
were fully considered by the commission. In adopting these sec-
tions, the commission makes other minor modifications for the
purpose of clarifying its intent.

SUBCHAPTER E. CERTIFICATION,
LICENSING AND REGISTRATION

16 TAC §25.112

Statutory Authority

These new sections are adopted under §14.002 of the Public
Utility Regulatory Act, Tex. Util. Code §14.002 (PURA) which
provides the commission with the authority to make and enforce
rules reasonably required in the exercise of its powers and juris-
diction; and §39.3555, which requires entities that provide bro-
kerage services in this state to register as brokers with the com-
mission and to comply with customer protection provisions es-
tablished by the commission and Chapters 17 and 39 of PURA
and which requires the commission to adopt rules as necessary
to implement the section.

Cross reference to statutes:
§14.002 and §39.3555.

$§25.112  Registration of Brokers.

Public Utility Regulatory Act

(a) Registration required. A person must not provide broker-
age services, including brokerage services offered online, in this state
for compensation or other consideration unless the person is registered
with the commission as a broker. A broker is responsible for all ac-
tivities conducted on its behalf by any subcontractor or agent. A retail
electric provider (REP) is not permitted to register as a broker and must
not knowingly provide bids or offers to a person who provides broker-
age services in this state for compensation or other consideration and
is not registered as a broker. A REP may rely on the publicly available
list of registered brokers posted on the commission's website to deter-
mine whether a broker is registered with the commission.

(b) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this sec-
tion, have the following meanings unless the context indicates other-
wise:

(1) Broker--A person that provides brokerage services.

(2) Brokerage services--Providing advice or procurement
services to, or acting on behalf of, a retail electric customer regarding
the selection of a REP, or a product or service offered by a REP.

(¢) Requirements for a person seeking to register as a broker.
A person seeking to register under this section must provide the infor-
mation listed in this subsection.

(1) All business names of the registrant limited to five busi-
ness names;

(2) The mailing address, telephone number, and email ad-
dress of the principal place of business of the registrant;

(3) The name, title, business mailing address, telephone
number, and email address for the registrant's commission contact per-
son;

(4) The name, title, business mailing address, telephone
number, and email address of the registrant's customer service contact
person;

(5) The name, title, business mailing address, telephone
number, and email address of the registrant's commission complaint
contact person;

(6) The form of business being registered (e.g., corpora-
tion, partnership, or sole proprietor); and

(7) An affidavit from the owner, partner, or officer of the
registrant affirming that the registrant is authorized to do business in
Texas under all applicable laws and is in good standing with the Texas
Secretary of State; that all statements made in the application are true,
correct, and complete; that any material changes in the information will
be provided in a timely manner; and that the registrant understands and
will comply with all applicable law and rules.

(d) Registration procedures. The following procedures apply
to a person seeking to register as a broker:

(1) A registration application must be made on the form
approved by the commission, verified by notarized oath or affirmation,
and signed by an owner, partner, or officer of the registrant. The form
may be obtained from the central records division of the commission
or from the commission's Internet site. Each registrant must file its
registration application form with the commission's filing clerk in ac-
cordance with the commission's procedural rules.
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(2) The registrant must promptly inform the commission
of any material change in the information provided in the registration
application while the application is being processed.

(3) An application will be processed as follows:

(A) Commission staff will review the submitted form
for completeness. Within 20 working days of receipt of an application,
the commission staff will notify the registrant by mail or e-mail of any
deficiencies in the application. The registrant will have ten working
days from the issuance of the notification to cure the deficiencies. If
the deficiencies are not cured within ten working days, commission
staff will notify the registrant that the registration application is rejected
without prejudice.

(B) Commission staff will determine whether to accept
or reject the application within 60 days of the receipt of a complete
application.

(C) An applicant may contest commission staff's rejec-
tion of its application by filing a petition for formal review of the reg-
istration application in accordance with the commission's procedural
rules. The registrant has the burden of proof to establish that its appli-
cation meets the requirements of PURA and commission rules.

(e) Registration Update. Unless updated, a broker registration
expires three years after the date of the assignment of a broker regis-
tration number or the registration's most recent update. Each registrant
must submit the information required to update its registration with the
commission not less than 90 days prior to the expiration date of the
current registration. An expired registration is no longer valid, and the
broker will be removed from the broker list on the commission's web-
site.

(f) Registration Amendment. A broker must amend its regis-
tration to reflect any changes in the information previously submitted,
including business name, mailing address, email address, or telephone
number within 30 calendar days from the date of the change. This
amendment is an update under (e) of this section.

(g) Suspension and Revocation of Registration and Adminis-
trative Penalty. The commission may impose an administrative penalty
for violations of PURA or commission rules. The commission may
also suspend or revoke a broker's registration for significant violations
of PURA or commission rules. Significant violations include, but are
not limited to, the following:

(1) providing false or misleading information to the com-
mission;

(2) engaging in fraudulent, unfair, misleading, deceptive or
anti-competitive practices;

(3) apattern of failure to meet the requirements of PURA,
commission rules, or commission orders;

(4) failure to respond to commission inquiries or customer
complaints in a timely fashion;

(5) switching or causing to be switched the REP of a cus-
tomer without first obtaining the customer's authorization; or

(6) billing an unauthorized charge or causing an unautho-
rized charge to be billed to a customer's retail electric service bill.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.
TRD-202001768

Andrea Gonzalez

Rules Coordinator

Public Utility Commission of Texas

Effective date: May 24, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244
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SUBCHAPTER R. CUSTOMER PROTECTION
RULES FOR RETAIL ELECTRIC SERVICE
PROVIDERS

16 TAC §25.486

Statutory Authority

These new sections are adopted under §14.002 of the Public
Utility Regulatory Act, Tex. Util. Code §14.002 (PURA) which
provides the commission with the authority to make and enforce
rules reasonably required in the exercise of its powers and juris-
diction; and §39.3555, which requires entities that provide bro-
kerage services in this state to register as brokers with the com-
mission and to comply with customer protection provisions es-
tablished by the commission and Chapters 17 and 39 of PURA
and which requires the commission to adopt rules as necessary
to implement the section.

Cross reference to statutes:
§14.002 and §39.3555.

$§25.486. Customer Protections for Brokerage Services.

Public Utility Regulatory Act

(a) Applicability. This section applies to all brokers.

(b) Definitions. The following terms, when used in this sec-
tion, have the following meanings unless the context indicates other-
wise:

(1) Broker--As defined in §25.112 of this title (relating to
Registration of Brokers).

(2) Brokerage services--As defined in §25.112 of this title.

(3) Client--A person who receives or solicits brokerage ser-
vices from a broker.

(4) Client agent--A broker who has the legal right and au-
thority to act on behalf of a client regarding the selection of, enrollment
for, or contract execution of a product or service offered by a retail elec-
tric provider (REP), including electric service.

(5) Proprietary client information--Any information that is
compiled by a broker on a client or retail electric customer that makes
possible the identification of any individual client or retail electric cus-
tomer by matching such information with the client's or customer's
name, address, retail electric account number, type or classification of
retail electric service, historical electricity usage, expected patterns of
use, types of facilities used in providing service, individual retail elec-
tric or brokerage services contract terms and conditions, price, current
charges, billing records, or any information that the client or customer
has expressly requested not be disclosed. Information that is redacted
or organized in such a way as to make it impossible to identify the client
or customer to whom the information relates does not constitute pro-
prietary client information.

(c) Voluntary Alteration of Customer Protections. A client
other than a residential or small commercial class customer or appli-
cant, or a non-residential customer or applicant whose load is part of
an aggregation in excess of 50 kilowatts, may agree to a different level
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of customer protections related to the provision of brokerage services
than is required by this section. Any such agreements do not change
the level of customer protections a client is entitled to relating to the
provision of retail electric service. Any agreements containing a dif-
ferent level of protections from those required by this section must be
in writing and provided to the client. Copies of such agreements must
be provided to commission staff upon request.

(d) Broker Communications.

(1) All written, electronic, and oral communications, in-
cluding advertising, websites, direct marketing materials, and billing
statements produced by a broker must be clear and not misleading,
fraudulent, unfair, deceptive, or anti-competitive. Prohibited commu-
nications include, but are not limited to:

(A) Stating, suggesting, implying or otherwise leading
a client to believe that receiving brokerage services will provide a cus-
tomer with more reliable service from a transmission and distribution
utility (TDU);

(B) Falsely suggesting, implying or otherwise leading
a client to believe that a person is a representative of a TDU, REP,
aggregator, or another broker;

(C) Falsely stating or suggesting that brokerage ser-
vices are being provided without compensation; and

(D) Falsely claiming to be the client agent of a customer
or applicant.

(2) All printed advertisements, electronic advertising over
the Internet, and websites must include the broker's registered name.

(e) Language Requirements. A broker must offer customer
service and any information required by this section to a client in the
language used to market the broker's products and services to that
client.

(f) Required Disclosures. A broker must inform a client of the
following prior to the initiation of brokerage services, the renewal of
those services, or a material change in the services provided, or the
terms and conditions of those services:

(1) The broker's registered name, business mailing address,
and contact information;

(2) The broker's commission registration number;

(3) The registered name of any REP that is an affiliate of
the broker;

(4) A clear description of the services the broker will pro-
vide for the client;

(5) The duration of the agreement to provide brokerage ser-
vices, if applicable;

(6) A description of how the broker will be compensated
for providing brokerage services and by whom;

(7) How the client can terminate the agreement to provide
brokerage services, if applicable;

(8) The amount of any fee or other cost the client will incur
for terminating the agreement to provide brokerage services, if appli-
cable; and

(9) The commission's telephone number and email address
for complaints and inquiries.

(g) Client Agent Requirements.

(1) Anagreement between a broker and a client that autho-
rizes the broker to act as a client agent for the client must be in writing.

(2) In addition to the requirements of subsection (f) of this
section, a broker that acts as a client agent for the client must inform
the client of the following:

(A) A clear description of the actions the broker is au-
thorized to take on the client's behalf;

(B) The duration of the agency relationship;
(C) How the client can terminate the agency agreement;

(D) The amount of any fee or other cost the client will
incur for terminating the agency agreement; and

(E) How the client's customer data, including propri-
etary client information, and account access information will be used,
protected, and retained by the broker and disposed of at the conclusion
of the agency relationship.

(3) A broker that is authorized to act as a client agent for
the client must provide evidence of that authority upon request of the
client, commission staff, or a REP with which the broker seeks to enroll
the client.

(4) For purposes of §25.474 of this title (relating to Selec-
tion of Retail Electric Provider), a REP may rely upon the representa-
tions made by a client agent provided that the client agent is registered
with the commission and provides evidence of agency authority.

(h) Unauthorized Charges and Unauthorized Changes of Re-
tail Electric Provider.

(1) Unauthorized charges. A broker must not bill an unau-
thorized charge or cause an unauthorized charge to be billed to a cus-
tomer's retail electric service bill.

(2) Unauthorized service changes. A broker must not
switch or cause to be switched the REP of a customer without first
obtaining the customer's authorization.

(1) Discrimination Prohibited. A broker must not unduly
refuse to provide brokerage services or otherwise unduly discriminate
in the provision of brokerage services to any client because of race,
creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex, marital status, source or
level of income, disability, or familial status; or refuse to provide
brokerage services to a client because the client is located in an
economically distressed geographic area or qualifies for low-income
affordability or energy efficiency services; or otherwise unreasonably
discriminate on the basis of the geographic location of a client.

(j) Proprietary Client Information.

(1) A broker must not release proprietary client informa-
tion to any person unless the client authorizes the release in writing.
This prohibition does not apply to the release of such information to
the commission.

(2) A broker is not permitted to sell, make available for
sale, or authorize the sale of any client-specific information or data
obtained unless the client authorizes the sale in writing.

(k) Client Access and Complaint Handling.

(1) Client Access. Each broker must ensure that clients
have reasonable access to its service representatives to make inquiries
and complaints, discuss charges on bills or any other aspect of the
brokerage services provided to the client by the broker, terminate an
agreement to provide services, and transact any other pertinent busi-
ness. A broker must promptly investigate client complaints and ad-
vise the complainant of the results. A broker must inform the com-
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plainant of the commission's informal complaint resolution process
and the following contact information for the commission within 21
days of receiving the complaint: Public Utility Commission of Texas,
Customer Protection Division, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, Texas 78711-
3326; (512) 936-7120 or in Texas (toll-free) 1-888-782-8477, fax (512)
936-7003, e-mail address: customer@puc.texas.gov, Internet website
address: www.puc.texas.gov, TTY (512) 936-7136, and Relay Texas
(toll-free) 1-800-735-2989.

(2) Complaint Handling. A client has the right to make a
formal or informal complaint to the commission. A broker may not
use a written or verbal agreement with a client to impair this right for a
client that is a residential or small commercial customer. A broker must
not require a client that is a residential or small commercial customer to
engage in alternative dispute resolution, including requiring complaints
to be submitted to arbitration or mediation by third parties.

(3) Informal Complaints.

(A) A person may file an informal complaint with the
commission by contacting the commission at: Public Utility Commis-
sion of Texas, Customer Protection Division, P.O. Box 13326, Austin,
Texas 78711-3326; (512) 936-7120 or in Texas (toll-free) 1-888-782-
8477, fax (512) 936-7003, e-mail address: customer@puc.texas.gov,
Internet website address: www.puc.texas.gov, TTY (512) 936-7136,
and Relay Texas (toll-free) 1-800-735-2989.

(B) A complaint should include the following informa-
tion, as applicable:

(i) The complainant's name, billing and service ad-
dress, telephone number and email address, if any;

(i) The name of the broker;
(iii)  The broker's registration number;
(iv) The name of any relevant REP;

(v) The customer account number or electric service

identifier;

(vi)  An explanation of the facts relevant to the com-
plaint;

(vii) The complainant's requested resolution; and

(viii) Any documentation that supports the com-
plaint.

(C) The commission will forward the informal com-
plaint to the broker.

(D) The broker must investigate each informal com-
plaint forwarded to the broker by the commission and advise the
commission in writing of the results of the investigation within 21
days after the complaint is forwarded to the broker by the commission.

(E) The commission will review the complaint informa-
tion and the broker's response and notify the complainant of the results
of the commission's investigation.

(F) The broker must keep a record for two years after
receiving notification by the commission that the complaint has been
closed. This record must show the name and address of the com-
plainant, the date, nature, and outcome of the complaint.

(G) While an informal complaint process is pending,
the broker must not initiate collection activities, including a report of
the customer's delinquency to a credit reporting agency, with respect to
the disputed portion of the bill.

(4) Formal Complaints. If the complainant is not satisfied
with the results of the informal complaint process, the complainant may
file a formal complaint with the commission within two years of the
date on which the commission closes the informal complaint. Formal
complaints will be docketed as provided in the commission's proce-
dural rules.

(1) Record Retention.

(1) A broker must establish and maintain records and data
that are sufficient to:

(A) Verify its compliance with the requirements of any
applicable commission rules; and

(B) Support any investigation of customer complaints.

(2) Allrecords required by this section must be retained for
no less than two years, unless otherwise specified.

(3) Unless otherwise prescribed by the commission or its
authorized representative, all records required by this subchapter must
be provided to the commission within 15 calendar days of its request.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001769

Andrea Gonzalez

Rules Coordinator

Public Utility Commission of Texas

Effective date: May 24, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244
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TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 7. STATE BOARD FOR
EDUCATOR CERTIFICATION

CHAPTER 230. PROFESSIONAL EDUCATOR
PREPARATION AND CERTIFICATION

The State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) adopts
amendments to 19 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §§230.21,
230.33, 230.36, 230.55, 230.104, and 230.105, concerning
professional educator preparation and certification. The amend-
ment to §230.21 is adopted with changes to the proposed text
as published in the January 3, 2020 issue of the Texas Register
(45 TexReg 58) and will be republished. The amendments to
§8§230.33, 230.36, 230.55, 230.104, and 230.105 are adopted
without changes to the proposed text as published in the Jan-
uary 3, 2020 issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 58) and will
not be republished. The amendments implement the statutory
requirements of Senate Bill (SB) 1839 and House Bills (HBs)
2039 and 3349, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017,
and HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019. The amendment to
Subchapter C, Assessment of Educators, reduces the amount of
time for computer- and paper-based examination retakes from
45 to 30 days and updates the figure specifying the required
test for issuance of the standard certification, including the
removal of the master teacher certification class and the Prin-
cipal: Early Childhood-Grade 12 certificate and the addition of
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Early Childhood-Grade 3 (EC-3), Science of Teaching Reading,
and Trade and Industrial Workforce Training. The amendment
to Subchapter D, Types and Classes of Certificates Issued,
requires the English as a Second Language Supplemental as-
sessment for issuance of an intern certificate obtained through
the intensive pre-service route. The amendment to Subchapter
E, Educational Aide Certificate, allows the Educational Aide
| certificate to be issued to high school students who have
completed certain career and technical education courses.
Changes to Subchapter G, Certificate Issuance Procedures,
clarify that requests for certificate corrections be submitted
to the Texas Education Agency (TEA) within six weeks from
the original date of issuance. The changes also implement
the requirement specified in statute that certified classroom
teachers must complete training prior to receiving test approval
for the Early Childhood: Prekindergarten-Grade 3 certificate.
The SBEC made changes to the proposed text in Figure: 19
TAC §230.21(e) in response to public comment and to revert
text for future rulemaking.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION: The SBEC rules in 19 TAC Chap-
ter 230 specify the testing requirements for certification and the
additional certificates based on examination. These require-
ments ensure educators are qualified and professionally pre-
pared to instruct the schoolchildren of Texas. The following pro-
vides a description of changes to Chapter 230, Subchapters C,
D, E, and G.

Subchapter C, §230.21. Assessment of Educators

The adopted amendment to §230.21(a)(1)(D) reduces the
amount of time between computer- and paper-based retakes
from 45 days to 30 days. The adopted amendment is in
response to stakeholder feedback from the July 2019 SBEC
meeting and allows candidates an additional testing window in
the summer to meet certification requirements.

Additionally, the adopted amendment to §230.21(e) amends Fig-
ure: 19 TAC §230.21(e) to remove §241.60, Principal: Early
Childhood-Grade 12, as new principal certifications were cre-
ated, effective December 23, 2018; to comply with HB 3 by re-
moving all master teacher certificates from the current list of ac-
tive certifications; to comply with HB 3 by adding 293 Science of
Teaching Reading TEXES as a required content pedagogy test
for the §233.2, Early Childhood: Prekindergarten-Grade 3 certi-
fication; to comply with SB 1839 and HB 2039 to create the re-
quired assessments for the §233.2, Early Childhood: Prekinder-
garten-Grade 3 certification; and to comply with HB 3349 to cre-
ate the required assessments for the new §233.14, Trade and
Industrial Workforce Training: Grades 6-12 certification, along
with providing for a transition from the current content tests to
the anticipated content pedagogy tests as follows:

Figure 1: 19 TAC Chapter 230 - Preamble

At the February 21, 2020 meeting, the SBEC took action to re-
vert the following proposed amendments to §230.21(e) to allow
staff more time to work through transition dates to bring back for
the SBEC's consideration at the May 1, 2020 meeting. To com-
ply with HB 3, requiring educators who teach any grade level
from Prekindergarten-Grade 6 to demonstrate proficiency in the
science of teaching reading on a certification examination begin-
ning January 1, 2021, the proposed amendments would have
added 293 Science of Teaching Reading TEXES as a required
content pedagogy test for the following certifications: §233.2,
Core Subjects: Early Childhood-Grade 6; §233.2, Core Sub-
jects: Grades 4-8; §233.3, English Language Arts and Reading:

Grades 4-8; §233.3, English Language Arts and Reading/Social
Studies: Grades 4-8.

Further, the proposed amendments to Figure §230.21(e) would
have phased out retired assessments by removing the retired
183 Braille TEXES assessment for the §233.8, Teacher of Stu-
dents with Visual Impairments Supplemental: Early Childhood-
Grade 12 certification and would have provided for a transition
from the current content tests to the anticipated content peda-
gogy tests for §233.12, Physical Education: Early Childhood-
Grade 12; §233.3, English Language Arts and Reading: Grades
4-8; and §233.2, Core Subjects: Early Childhood-Grade 6, as
follows:

Figure 2: 19 TAC Chapter 230 - Preamble

Subchapter D, §230.33, Classes of Certificates, and §230.36,
Intern Certificates

The adopted amendment to §230.33(b)(5) aligns with the man-
date in HB 3 to repeal the master teacher certificate class, giving
those certificates contained therein a "legacy" designation for ed-
ucator assignment purposes until they expire.

The adopted amendment to §230.36(f)(2)(C) adds the require-
ment of the English as Second Language (ESL) Supplemental
assessment for issuance of the intern certificate through the in-
tensive pre-service route. This will ensure teachers are ready to
serve students in their classroom.

Subchapter E, §230.55. Certification Requirements for Educa-
tional Aide |

TEA staff in the divisions of Educator Certification, Instructional
Support, and Career and Technical Education are working col-
laboratively to support the work associated with industry-based
certifications. Industry certifications were designed to prepare
students for success in postsecondary endeavors and are used
for public school accountability.

The adopted amendment to §230.55 adds the word "either" to
provide two possible paths to qualify for an Educational Aide |
certificate: a path for conventional high school graduates and an
alternate path for high school students 18 years of age or older to
attain educational industry experience while still in school. The
alternate path to certification in adopted new §230.55(3) and
(4) allows students to earn Educational Aide | credentials after
completing career and technical education courses and allows
schools to accurately reflect these students as "career ready" in
their accountability measures.

Subchapter G, §230.104. Correcting a Certificate or Permit Is-
sued in Error and §230.105. Issuance of Additional Certificates
Based on Examination

The adopted amendment to §230.104(b) adds the requirement
that if an entity incorrectly issues a certificate, TEA must receive
a request to correct the error from the entity within six weeks.
The adopted change also requires educators to inform the rec-
ommending educator preparation program (EPP) of any assign-
ment change that would require the educator to be certified in a
different certification area. This will ensure teachers are teach-
ing in their correct assignments. The adopted amendment also
applies to supplemental certifications, such as the Early Child-
hood-Grade 12 ESL certification, to ensure candidates are pre-
pared to teach the students they serve.

The adopted amendment to §230.105(3) complies with SB 1839
and HB 2039 to mandate all candidates complete training re-
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quirements for issuance of an Early Childhood: Prekindergarten-
Grade 3 certification. Remaining paragraphs are renumbered.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES. The public
comment period on the proposal began January 3, 2020, and
ended February 3, 2020. The SBEC also provided an oppor-
tunity for registered oral and written comments on the proposal
at the February 21, 2020 meeting in accordance with the SBEC
board operating policies and procedures. The following is a sum-
mary of the public comments received on the proposal and the
responses.

Comment: Nine individuals commented in support of proposed
§230.55(3) and (4), which would allow students to earn Educa-
tional Aide | credentials after completing career and technical
education courses. The commenters cited the benefit to stu-
dents of being able to work while furthering their education and
the benefit to school districts in staffing and for accountability
purposes.

Board Response: The SBEC agrees. The SBEC believes the
amendment would provide high school students the opportunity
to attain educational industry experience while still in school and
would allow school districts to accurately reflect these students
as "career ready" in their accountability measures.

Comment: The Association of Texas Professional Educators and
the Texas Association of Future Educators suggested lowering
the age requirement for the Educational Aide | certificate from
18 years old to 17 years old, citing students who graduate and
are not 18 years old until after the end of their senior year of high
school.

Board Response: The SBEC disagrees. The SBEC rule in
§230.11(b)(1) requires that all applicants for a Texas educator
certificate be at least 18 years of age to ensure that only those
legally considered adults are held accountable for the oversight
of children. The rule would allow high school students to obtain
the required training while taking high school classes, thereby
allowing the students to receive certification as soon as they
turn 18 years old.

Comment: Three Texas administrators commented in support of
the proposed amendment to §230.21(a)(1)(D) that would reduce
the time a candidate must wait between examination re-tests
from 45 to 30 days.

Board Response: The SBEC agrees. The amendment is re-
sponsive to stakeholder input requesting the reduction of time
between re-tests and would allow candidates an additional test-
ing window to meet certification requirements.

Comment: One Texas administrator commented in opposition to
the proposed amendment that would add the assessments for
the Early Childhood-Grade 3 certification, stating that this would
cause staffing issues, potential additional costs to the district,
and potential disruption to the classrooms. Additionally, the com-
menter stated that a test does not determine a good teacher or
expert in the field.

Response: The SBEC disagrees. The Texas Legislature man-
dated the creation of a new certificate for Early Childhood:
Prekindergarten-Grade 3. Additionally, the current certificate
for Core Subjects: Early Childhood-Grade 6 is still in place to
provide certification and employment flexibility for candidates
and districts.

Regarding the comment on utility of certification examinations for
certification purposes, the SBEC disagrees. In §230.11(b)(6), all

applicants for Texas certification must pass the appropriate certi-
fication examination that reflects the appropriate SBEC educator
standards and the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills. Certifi-
cation examinations, along with pre-service training, field-based
experiences, and clinical experiences, play a role in determining
a candidate's readiness to serve as a Texas educator.

Comment: One Texas administrator commented that the Perfor-
mance Assessment for School Leaders (PASL) examination be
offered more often.

Response: The comment is outside the scope of the proposed
rulemaking. The TEA staff will consider this feedback for testing
options with the testing vendor.

Comment: One Texas teacher commented in opposition of
removing Early Childhood-Grade 12 (EC-12) certifications
because it would deny excellent teachers with opportunities to
teach in multiple grade levels.

Response: The comment is outside the scope of the proposed
rulemaking. The only EC-12 certificates being removed as part
of this rulemaking are the Principal: Early Childhood-Grade
12 certificate, due to a new EC-12 certificate, and the master
teacher certificates, due to HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019,
that requires the SBEC to no longer issue master teacher
certificates. The TEA staff will consider this feedback for future
rulemaking under the jurisdiction of the SBEC.

Comment: One individual requested clarification on the transi-
tion plan for some of the changing exams, such as the Physical
Education (PE) EC-12 content exam, which will no longer be of-
fered after August 31, 2021. The commenter asked if the old
exam will still allow candidates to become certified for one year
after the exam change occurs to prevent candidates from having
to take both the old and new exams. The commenter suggested
that candidates who previously passed the expiring PE EC-12
content exam be given until August 31, 2022, to complete all
certification requirements and become standard certified.

Response: The comment is outside the scope of the proposed
rulemaking. The TEA staff will consider this feedback for future
rulemaking under the jurisdiction of the SBEC.

Comment: One individual requested clarification regarding the
appropriate Braille examination(s) in the proposed amendment
to Figure §230.21(e) that are required for issuance of the
Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments Supplemental:
Early Childhood-Grade 12 certificate. The commenter pointed
out that the current reference is confusing as to which examina-
tion(s) are appropriate for issuance.

Response: The SBEC agrees. The language in the proposed
amendment to Figure §230.21(e) regarding the appropriate
examinations for the Visually Impaired Supplemental certificate
was confusing. The SBEC took action to revert the language
in the amendment to allow TEA staff the opportunity to correct
the technical errors and bring back the correct references to the
Braille examination at the May 1, 2020 SBEC meeting.

Comment: One individual commented that the content certifi-
cation examination no longer meets the requirements of TEC,
§21.048, as of January 2020.

Response: The comment is outside the scope of the proposed
rulemaking, but the SBEC offers the following clarification. The
content certification examination, Pre-Admission Content Test
(TX PACT), governed by TEC, §21.0441, is used to measure
the content readiness of potential teacher candidates for the pur-
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pose of admission to an EPP. The content pedagogy examina-
tion, Texas Examination of Educator Standards (TEXES), gov-
erned by TEC, §21.048, is used to measure teacher candidate
readiness for certification issuance.

The State Board of Education (SBOE) took no action on the
review of amendments to §§230.21, 230.33, 230.36, 230.55,
230.104, and 230.105 at the April 17, 2020 SBOE meeting.

SUBCHAPTER C. ASSESSMENT OF
EDUCATORS
19 TAC §230.21

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted under
Texas Education Code (TEC) §21.041(b)(1), (2), and (4), which
requires the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) to
propose rules that provide for the regulation of educators and
the general administration of the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter
B, in a manner consistent with the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter
B; requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the classes
of educator certificates to be issued, including emergency certifi-
cates; and requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the
requirements for the issuance and renewal of an educator certifi-
cate; TEC, §21.044(a) as amended by Senate Bills (SB) 7, 1839,
and 1963, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017, which
requires the SBEC to propose rules establishing training require-
ments a person must accomplish to obtain a certificate, enter an
internship, or enter an induction-year program; TEC, §21.048,
as amended by House Bill (HB) 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019,
which states that the SBEC shall propose rules prescribing com-
prehensive examinations for each class of certificate issued by
the board that includes not requiring more than 45 days elapsing
between examination retakes and that starting January 1, 2021,
all candidates teaching prekindergarten through grade six must
demonstrate proficiency in the science of teaching reading on
a certification examination; TEC, §21.050(a), which states that
a person who applies for a teaching certificate must possess a
bachelor's degree; TEC, §21.050(b), as amended by House Bill
(HB) 3217, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, which states that the
SBEC shall provide for a minimum number of semester credit
hours for field-based experience or internship; TEC, §21.050(c),
which states that a person who receives a bachelor's degree re-
quired for a teaching certificate on the basis of higher educa-
tion coursework completed while receiving an exemption from
tuition and fees under the TEC, §54.363, may not be required
to participate in any field experience or internship consisting of
student teaching to receive a teaching certificate; TEC, §21.051,
as amended by SB 1839, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Ses-
sion, 2017, which provides a requirement that before a school
may employ a certification candidate as a teacher of record,
the candidate must have completed at least 15 hours of field-
based experience in which the candidate was actively engaged
at an approved school in instructional or educational activities
under supervision; TEC, §22.064, as amended by HB 3, 86th
Texas Legislature, 2019, which requires the SBEC to designate
all Master Teacher certificates as Legacy Master Teacher; TEC,
§22.082, which requires the SBEC to subscribe to the criminal
history clearinghouse as provided by Texas Government Code,
§411.0845, and may obtain any law enforcement or criminal his-
tory records that relate to a specific applicant for or holder of
a certificate issued under TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter B; and
Texas Occupations Code, §54.003, which states that a licensing
authority shall provide accommodations and eligibility criteria for
examinees diagnosed as having dyslexia.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments Texas Education Code (TEC), §§21.041(b)(1), (2), and
(4); 21.044(a), as amended by Senate Bills (SB) 7, 1839, and
1963, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017; 21.048,
as amended by HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019; 21.050(a);
21.050(b), as amended by House Bill (HB) 3217, 86th Texas
Legislature, 2019; 21.050(c); 21.051, as amended by SB 1839,
85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017; 22.064, as
amended by HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019; 22.082; and
Texas Occupation Code, §54.003.

$230.21. Educator Assessment.

(a) A candidate seeking certification as an educator must pass
the examination(s) required by the Texas Education Code (TEC),
§21.048, and the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) in
§233.1(e) of this title (relating to General Authority) and shall not
retake an examination more than four times, unless the limitation
is waived for good cause. The burden of proof shall be upon the
candidate to demonstrate good cause.

(1) For the purposes of the retake limitation described by
the TEC, §21.048, an examination retake is defined as a second or sub-
sequent attempt to pass any examination required for the issuance of a
certificate, including an individual core subject examination that is part
of the overall examination required for the issuance of a Core Subjects
certificate as described in §233.2 of this title (relating to Early Child-
hood; Core Subjects).

(A) A canceled examination score is not considered an
examination retake.

(B) An examination taken by an educator during a pi-
lot period is not considered part of an educator's five-time test attempt
limit.

(C) Pursuant to TEC, §21.0491(d), the limit on number
of test attempts does not apply to the trade and industrial workforce
training certificate examination prescribed by the SBEC.

(D) A candidate who fails a computer- or paper-based
examination cannot retake the examination before 30 days have elapsed
following the candidate's last attempt to pass the examination.

(2) Good cause is:

(A) the candidate's highest score on an examination is
within one conditional standard error of measurement (CSEM) of pass-
ing, and the candidate has completed 50 clock-hours of educational ac-
tivities. CSEMs will be published annually on the Texas Education
Agency (TEA) website;

(B) the candidate's highest score on an examination is
within two CSEMs of passing, and the candidate has completed 100
clock-hours of educational activities;

(C) the candidate's highest score on an examination is
within three CSEMs of passing, and the candidate has completed 150
clock-hours of educational activities;

(D) the candidate's highest score on an examination is
not within three CSEMs of passing, and the candidate has completed
200 clock-hours of educational activities;

(E) if the candidate needs a waiver for more than one
of the individual core subject examinations that are part of the over-
all examination required for the issuance of a Core Subjects certificate,
the candidate has completed the number of clock-hours of educational
activities required for each individual core subject examination as de-
scribed in subparagraphs (A)-(D) of this paragraph up to a maximum
of 300 clock-hours. The number of clock-hours for each examination
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may be divided equally based on the number of examinations in the
waiver request, but the number of clock-hours for an examination shall
not be less than 50; or

(F) ifaCSEM is not appropriate for an examination, the
TEA staff will identify individuals who are familiar and knowledgeable
with the examination content to review the candidate's performance on
the five most recent examinations, identify the deficit competency or
competencies, and determine the number of clock-hours of educational
activities required.

(3) Educational activities are defined as:

(A) institutes, workshops, seminars, conferences, inter-
active distance learning, video conferencing, online activities, under-
graduate courses, graduate courses, training programs, in-service, or
staff development given by an approved continuing professional ed-
ucation provider or sponsor, pursuant to §232.17 of this title (relat-
ing to Pre-Approved Professional Education Provider or Sponsor) and
§232.19 of this title (relating to Approval of Private Companies, Pri-
vate Entities, and Individuals), or an approved educator preparation
program (EPP), pursuant to §228.10 of this title (relating to Approval
Process); and

(B) being directly related to the knowledge and skills
included in the certification examination competency or competencies
in which the candidate answered less than 70 percent of competency
questions correctly. The formula for identifying a deficit competency
is the combined total of correct answers for each competency on the five
most recent examinations divided by the combined total of questions
for each competency on the five most recent examinations.

(4) Documentation of educational activities that a candi-
date must submit includes:

(A) the provider, sponsor, or program's name, address,
telephone number, and email address. The TEA staff may contact the
provider, sponsor, or program to verify an educational activity;

(B) the name of the educational activity (e.g., course
title, course number);

(C) the competency or competencies addressed by the
educational activity as determined by the formula described in para-
graph (3)(B) of this subsection;

(D) the provider, sponsor, or program's description of
the educational activity (e.g., syllabus, course outline, program of
study); and

(E) the provider, sponsor, or program's written verifi-
cation of the candidate's completion of the educational activity (e.g.,
transcript, certificate of completion). The written verification must in-
clude:

(i) the provider, sponsor, or program's name;
(ii) the candidate's name;

(iii) the name of the educational activity;

(iv)  the date(s) of the educational activity; and

(v) the number of clock-hours completed for the ed-
ucational activity. Clock-hours completed before the most recent ex-
amination attempt or after a request for a waiver is submitted shall not
be included. One semester credit hour earned at an accredited institu-
tion of higher education is equivalent to 15 clock-hours.

(5) To request a waiver of the limitation, a candidate must
meet the following conditions:

(A) the candidate is otherwise eligible to take an exam-
ination. A candidate seeking a certificate based on completion of an
EPP must have the approval of an EPP to request a waiver;

(B) beginning September 1, 2016, the candidate pays
the non-refundable waiver request fee of $160;

(C) the candidate requests the waiver of the limitation
in writing on forms developed by the TEA staff; and

(D) the request for the waiver is postmarked not earlier
than:

(i) 45 calendar days after an unsuccessful attempt at
the fourth retake of an examination as defined in the TEC, §21.048; or

(ii) 90 calendar days after the date of the most recent
denied waiver of the limitation request; or

(iii) 180 calendar days after the date of the most re-
cent unsuccessful examination attempt that was the result of the most
recently approved request for waiver of the limitation.

(6) The TEA staff shall administratively approve each ap-
plication that meets the criteria specified in paragraphs (2)-(5) of this
subsection.

(7) An applicant who does not meet the criteria in para-
graphs (2)-(5) of this subsection may appeal to the SBEC for a final
determination of good cause. A determination by the SBEC is final
and may not be appealed.

(b) A candidate seeking a standard certificate as an educator
based on completion of an approved EPP may take the appropriate cer-
tification examination(s) required by subsection (a) of this section only
at such time as the EPP determines the candidate's readiness to take the
examinations, or upon successful completion of the EPP, whichever
comes first.

(¢) The holder of a lifetime Texas certificate effective before
February 1, 1986, must pass examinations prescribed by the SBEC
to be eligible for continued certification, unless the individual has
passed the Texas Examination of Current Administrators and Teachers
(TECAT).

(d) The commissioner of education approves the satisfactory
level of performance required for certification examinations, and the
SBEC approves a schedule of examination fees and a plan for admin-
istering the examinations.

(e) The appropriate examination(s) required for certification
are specified in the figure provided in this subsection.
Figure: 19 TAC §230.21(e)

(f) Scores from examinations required under this title must be
made available to the examinee, the TEA staff, and, if appropriate, the
EPP from which the examinee will seek a recommendation for certifi-
cation.

(g) The following provisions concern ethical obligations relat-
ing to examinations.

(1) An educator or candidate who participates in the de-
velopment, design, construction, review, field testing, scoring, or val-
idation of an examination shall not reveal or cause to be revealed the
contents of the examination to any other person.

(2) Aneducator or candidate who administers an examina-
tion shall not:

(A) allow or cause an unauthorized person to view any
part of the examination;
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(B) copy, reproduce, or cause to be copied or repro-
duced any part of the examination;

(C) reveal or cause to be revealed the contents of the
examination;

(D) correct, alter, or cause to be corrected or altered any
response to a test item contained in the examination;

(E) provide assistance with any response to a test item
contained in the examination or cause assistance to be provided; or

(F) deviate from the rules governing administration of
the examination.

(3) An educator or candidate who is an examinee shall not:

(A) copy, reproduce, or cause to be copied or repro-
duced any test item contained in the examination;

(B) provide assistance with any response to a test item
contained in the examination, or cause assistance to be provided;

(C) solicit or accept assistance with any response to a
test item contained in the examination;

(D) deviate from the rules governing administration of
the examination; or

(E) otherwise engage in conduct that amounts to cheat-
ing, deception, or fraud.

(4) An educator, candidate, or other test taker shall not:

(A) solicit information about the contents of test items
on an examination that the educator, candidate, or other test taker has
not already taken from an individual who has had access to those items,
or offer information about the contents of specific test items on an ex-
amination to individuals who have not yet taken the examination;

(B) fail to pay all test costs and fees as required by this
chapter or the testing vendor; or

(C) otherwise engage in conduct that amounts to vio-
lations of test security or confidentiality integrity, including cheating,
deception, or fraud.

(5) A person who violates this subsection is subject to:

(A) sanction, including, but not limited to, disallowance
and exclusion from future examinations either in perpetuity or for a pe-
riod of time that serves the best interests of the education profession, in
accordance with the provisions of the TEC, §21.041(b)(7), and Chap-
ter 249 of this title (relating to Disciplinary Proceedings, Sanctions,
and Contested Cases); and/or

(B) denial of certification in accordance with the provi-
sions of the TEC, §21.041(b)(7), and Chapter 249 of this title; and/or

(C) voiding of a score from an examination in which a
violation specified in this subsection occurred as well as a loss of a test
attempt for purposes of the retake limit in subsection (a) of this section.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2020.
TRD-202001679

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

State Board for Educator Certification

Effective date: May 17, 2020

Proposal publication date: January 3, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. TYPES AND CLASSES OF
CERTIFICATES ISSUED
19 TAC §230.33, §230.36

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments are adopted un-
der Texas Education Code (TEC) §21.003(a); which states that
a person may not be employed as a teacher, teacher intern or
teacher trainee, librarian, educational aide, administrator, edu-
cational diagnostician, or school counselor by a school district
unless the person holds an appropriate certificate or permit is-
sued as provided by the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter B; TEC,
§21.031(a), which states that the State Board for Educator Cer-
tification (SBEC) shall regulate and oversee all aspects of the
certification, continuing education, and standards of conduct of
public school educators; TEC, §21.031(b), which states that the
SBEC shall ensure that all candidates for certification or renewal
of certification should demonstrate the knowledge and skills nec-
essary to improve the performance of a diverse student popula-
tion; TEC, §21.041(b)(1)-(5), which requires the SBEC to pro-
pose rules that provide for the regulation of educators and the
general administration of the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter B,
in a manner consistent with the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter
B; requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the classes
of educator certificates to be issued, including emergency certifi-
cates; requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the period
for which each class of educator certificate is valid; requires the
SBEC to propose rules that specify the requirements for the is-
suance and renewal of an educator certificate; and requires the
SBEC to propose rules that include requirements for educators
that hold a similar certification issued by another state or for-
eign country; TEC, §21.041(b)(9), which requires the SBEC to
propose rules for the regulation of continuing education require-
ments; TEC, §21.051, as amended by Senate Bill 1839, 85th
Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017, which provides a re-
quirement that before a school may employ a certification candi-
date as a teacher of record, the candidate must have completed
at least 15 hours of field-based experience in which the candi-
date was actively engaged at an approved school in instructional
or educational activities under supervision; TEC, §22.064, as
amended by House Bill 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, which
requires the SBEC to designate all Master Teacher certificates
as Legacy Master Teacher; TEC, §22.0831(c), which requires
SBEC to review the national criminal history of a person seeking
certification; and TEC, §22.0831(f)(1) and (2), which state that
SBEC may propose rules regarding the deadline for the national
criminal history check and implement sanctions for persons fail-
ing to comply with the requirements.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendments imple-
ment Texas Education Code (TEC), §§21.003(a); 21.031(a);
21.031(b); 21.041(b)(1)-(5) and (9); 21.051, as amended by
Senate Bill 1839, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session,
2017; 22.064, as amended by House Bill 3, 86th Texas Legisla-
ture, 2019; 22.0831(c); and TEC, §22.0831(f)(1) and (2).
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2020.

TRD-202001680

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

State Board for Educator Certification

Effective date: May 17, 2020

Proposal publication date: January 3, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. EDUCATIONAL AIDE
CERTIFICATE
19 TAC §230.55

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment implements Texas
Education Code (TEC), §21.041(a), which states that the board
may adopt rules as necessary for its own procedures; and TEC,
§21.041(b)(1)-(4), which requires the SBEC to propose rules that
provide for the regulation of educators and the general admin-
istration of the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter B, in a manner
consistent with the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter B; requires
the SBEC to propose rules that specify the classes of educator
certificates to be issued, including emergency certificates; and
requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the period for
which each class of educator certificate is valid.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment is
adopted under Texas Education Code (TEC) §§21.041(a) and
(b)(1)-(4).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-

tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2020.

TRD-202001681

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

State Board for Educator Certification

Effective date: May 17, 2020

Proposal publication date: January 3, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. CERTIFICATE ISSUANCE
PROCEDURES
19 TAC §230.104, §230.105

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments implement Texas
Education Code (TEC), §21.031(a), which states that the SBEC
shall regulate and oversee all aspects of the certification, contin-
uing education, and standards of conduct of public school edu-
cators; TEC, §21.041(b)(1)-(5), which requires the SBEC to pro-
pose rules that provide for the regulation of educators and the
general administration of the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter B,
in @ manner consistent with the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter
B; requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the classes

of educator certificates to be issued, including emergency certifi-
cates; requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the period
for which each class of educator certificate is valid; requires the
SBEC to propose rules that specify the requirements for the is-
suance and renewal of an educator certificate; and requires the
SBEC to propose rules that include requirements for educators
that hold a similar certification issued by another state or for-
eign country; TEC, §21.041(b)(9), which requires the SBEC to
propose rules for the regulation of continuing education require-
ments; TEC, §21.041(c), which states that the SBEC may adopt
fees for the issuance and maintenance of an educator certifi-
cation to adequately cover the cost of the administration; TEC,
§21.044(a), as amended by SBs 7, 1839, and 1963, 85th Texas
Legislature, Regular Session, 2017, which requires the SBEC to
propose rules establishing training requirements a person must
accomplish to obtain a certificate, enter an internship, or enter
an induction-year program; TEC, §21.044(e), which states that
in proposing rules under this section for a person to obtain a cer-
tificate to teach a health science technology education course,
the board shall specify that a person must have: (1) an asso-
ciate degree or more advanced degree from an accredited in-
stitution of higher education; (2) current licensure, certification,
or registration as a health professions practitioner issued by a
nationally recognized accrediting agency for health profession-
als; and (3) at least two years of wage-earning experience uti-
lizing the licensure requirement; TEC, §21.044(f), which states
that the SBEC may not propose rules for a certificate to teach a
health science technology education course that specifies that
a person must have a bachelor's degree or that establish any
other credential or teaching experience requirements that ex-
ceed the requirements under Subsection (e); TEC, §21.048, as
amended by HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, which states
that the SBEC shall propose rules prescribing comprehensive
examinations for each class of certificate issued by the board
that includes not requiring more than 45 days elapsing between
examination retakes and that starting January 1, 2021, all candi-
dates teaching prekindergarten through grade six must demon-
strate proficiency in the science of teaching reading on a certifi-
cation examination; TEC, §21.0485, which states the issuance
requirements for certification to teach students with visual im-
pairments; TEC, §21.0489, which specifies the issuance require-
ments for the Early Childhood: Prekindergarten-Grade 3 certi-
fication; TEC, §21.050(a), which states that a person who ap-
plies for a teaching certificate must possess a bachelor's degree;
TEC, §21.050(b), as amended by HB 3217, 86th Texas Legisla-
ture, 2019, which states that the SBEC shall provide for a min-
imum number of semester credit hours for field-based experi-
ence of internship; TEC, §21.050(c), which states that a person
who receives a bachelor's degree required for a teaching cer-
tificate on the basis of higher education coursework completed
while receiving an exemption from tuition and fees under the
TEC, §54.363, may not be required to participate in any field ex-
perience or internship consisting of student teaching to receive
a teaching certificate; TEC, §22.082, which requires SBEC to
subscribe to the criminal history clearinghouse as provided by
Texas Government Code, §411.0845, and may obtain any law
enforcement or criminal history records that relate to a specific
applicant for or holder of a certificate issued under Chapter 21,
Subchapter B; TEC, §22.0831(c), which requires SBEC to re-
view the national criminal history of a person seeking certifica-
tion; TEC, §22.0831(f)(1) and (2), which state that SBEC may
propose rules regarding the deadline for the national criminal his-
tory check and implement sanctions for persons failing to comply
with the requirements; and Texas Occupations Code, §53.105,
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which states that a licensing authority may require a fee that is
in an amount sufficient to cover the cost of administration.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendments are
adopted under Texas Education Code (TEC) §§21.031(a);
21.041(b)(1)-(5) and (9) and (c); 21.044(a), as amended by SBs
7, 1839, and 1963, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session,
2017; (e), and (f); 21.048, as amended by House Bill (HB) 3,
86th Texas Legislature, 2019; 21.0485; 21.0489; 21.050, as
amended by House Bill (HB) 3217, 86th Texas Legislature,
2019; 21.054(a), as amended by SBs 7, 179, and 1839, 85th
Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017, and HB 2424, 86th
Texas Legislature, 2019; 22.082; and 22.0831(c) and (f); and
Texas Occupations Code, §53.105.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2020.

TRD-202001682

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

State Board for Educator Certification

Effective date: May 17, 2020

Proposal publication date: January 3, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ 14 ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 11. TEXAS BOARD OF NURSING

CHAPTER 217. LICENSURE, PEER
ASSISTANCE AND PRACTICE
22 TAC §217.2

Introduction. The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts
amendments to §217.2, relating to Licensure by Examina-
tion for Graduates of Nursing Education Programs Within the
United States, its Territories, or Possessions without changes
to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020, issue
of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1938). The rules will not be
reprinted.

Reasoned Justification. The amendments are adopted under
the authority of the Occupations Code §301.2511 and §301.151.
The adopted amendments require applicants to submit fin-
gerprints for a complete criminal background check prior to
licensure, in compliance with the Occupations Code §301.2511,
and eliminate subsection (f) of the section because military pro-
grams, like the U.S. Army Practical Nurse Course, are reviewed
and approved by the Board in the same manner as all other
nursing programs. Further, military courses other than the U.S.
Army Practical Nurse Course are approved by the Board.

How the Section Will Function. Adopted §217.2(a)(5) clarifies
that applicants for initial licensure by examination must submit
fingerprints for a complete criminal background check. Section
217.2(f) is eliminated from the section in its entirety.

Summary of Comments Received. The Board did not receive
any comments on the proposal.

Statutory Authority. The amendments are adopted under the
authority of the Occupations Code §301.2511 and §301.151.

Section 301.2511(a) provides that an applicant for a registered
nurse license must submit to the Board, in addition to satisfying
the other requirements of the subchapter, a complete and legi-
ble set of fingerprints, on a form prescribed by the Board, for the
purpose of obtaining criminal history record information from the
Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investi-
gation. Section §301.2511(b) provides that the Board may deny
a license to an applicant who does not comply with the require-
ment of subsection (a). Issuance of a license by the Board is
conditioned on the Board obtaining the applicant's criminal his-
tory record information under the section. Finally, §301.2511(c)
states that the Board by rule shall develop a system for obtain-
ing criminal history record information for a person accepted for
enrollment in a nursing educational program that prepares the
person for initial licensure as a registered or vocational nurse by
requiring the person to submit to the Board a set of fingerprints
that meets the requirements of subsection (a). The Board may
develop a similar system for an applicant for enrolimentin a nurs-
ing educational program. The Board may require payment of a
fee by a person who is required to submit a set of fingerprints
under this subsection.

Section 301.151 addresses the Board's rulemaking authority.
Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce
rules consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform
its duties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regu-
late the practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing;
(iii) establish standards of professional conduct for license
holders under Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act
constitutes the practice of professional nursing or vocational
nursing.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001773

Jena Abel

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Effective date: May 24, 2020

Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

* . *
22 TAC §217.3

The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts amendments to
§217.3, relating to Temporary Authorization to Practice/Tempo-
rary Permit, without changes to the proposed text published in
the March 20, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg
1939). The rule will not be republished.

Reasoned Justification. The amendments are adopted under
the authority of the Occupations Code §301.2511, §301.252(a),
and §301.151.

First, the adopted amendments require new graduates seek-
ing temporary authorization to practice as a graduate nurse or
graduate vocational nurse to submit fingerprints for a complete
criminal background check prior to licensure, in compliance with
the Occupations Code §301.2511, and pass the jurisprudence
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exam, in compliance with the Occupations Code §301.252, prior
to receiving a graduate nurse or graduate vocational nurse per-
mit. Graduate nurses who are issued graduate permits may
practice nursing if appropriately supervised. As such, the public
needs to be assured that these nurses have undergone back-
ground checks to ensure safe practice and have demonstrated
competency by passing the Board's jurisprudence and ethics
exam.

Second, the adopted amendments make non-substantive
changes to paragraph (3) to increase the readability of the
paragraph.

Third, the adopted amendments clarify that a temporary per-
mit may be re-issued if a nurse is unable to complete require-
ments that are necessary for the nurse's licensure reinstatement
within a six-month period. Due to an individual's performance
pace, it may take a nurse longer than six months to complete
requirements necessary for licensure reinstatement. The intent
of §217.3(c) is to provide a mechanism for nurses to demon-
strate their competency to return to nursing practice. Since these
nurses cannot practice nursing until they complete the Board's
requirements, they pose no risk of harm to the public during
this time. The adopted amendment merely allows the nurse a
sufficient amount of time to re-establish current licensure after
demonstrating he/she is safe and competent to do so. Further,
this change is consistent with recent amendments to §217.3(b)
that were adopted by the Board on January 27, 2020.

How the Sunction Will Function. Adopted §217.3(a)(1) corrects
a typographical error. Adopted §217.3(a)(1)(E) requires individ-
uals seeking temporary authorization to practice to submit fin-
gerprints for a complete criminal background check prior to re-
ceipt of the permit. Adopted §217.3(a)(1)(F) requires individuals
seeking temporary authorization to practice to obtain a passing
score on the jurisprudence exam approved by the Board, effec-
tive September 1, 2009, prior to receipt of the permit. Adopted
§217.3(a)(3) clarifies that a new graduate who has been autho-
rized to practice nursing as a graduate vocational nurse pending
the results of the licensing examination must work under the di-
rect supervision of a licensed vocational nurse or a registered
nurse who is physically present in the facility or practice setting
and who is readily available to the graduate vocational nurse for
consultation and assistance. Further, a new graduate who has
been authorized to practice nursing as a graduate nurse pend-
ing the results of the licensing examination must work under the
direct supervision of registered nurse who is physically present
in the facility or practice setting and who is readily available to
the graduate nurse for consultation and assistance. Adopted
§217.3(c) clarifies that a permit may be renewed beyond six
months.

Summary of Comments Received. The Board did not receive
any comments on the proposal.

Statutory Authority. The amendments are adopted under the
authority of the Occupations Code §301.2511, §301.252(a), and
§301.151.

Section 301.2511(a) provides that an applicant for a registered
nurse license must submit to the Board, in addition to satisfying
the other requirements of the subchapter, a complete and legi-
ble set of fingerprints, on a form prescribed by the Board, for the
purpose of obtaining criminal history record information from the
Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investi-
gation. Section §301.2511(b) provides that the Board may deny
a license to an applicant who does not comply with the require-

ment of subsection (a). Issuance of a license by the Board is
conditioned on the Board obtaining the applicant's criminal his-
tory record information under the section. Finally, §301.2511(c)
states that the Board by rule shall develop a system for obtain-
ing criminal history record information for a person accepted for
enrollment in a nursing educational program that prepares the
person for initial licensure as a registered or vocational nurse by
requiring the person to submit to the Board a set of fingerprints
that meets the requirements of subsection (a). The Board may
develop a similar system for an applicant for enroliment in a nurs-
ing educational program. The Board may require payment of a
fee by a person who is required to submit a set of fingerprints
under this subsection.

Section 301.252(a) provides that each applicant for a registered
nurse license or a vocational nurse license must submit to the
Board a sworn application that demonstrates the applicant's
qualifications under this chapter, accompanied by evidence that
the applicant: (1) has good professional character related to the
practice of nursing; (2) has successfully completed a program
of professional or vocational nursing education approved under
§301.157(d); and (3) has passed the jurisprudence examination
approved by the Board as provided by subsection (a-1).

Section 301.151 addresses the Board's rulemaking authority.
Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce
rules consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform
its duties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regu-
late the practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing;
(iii) establish standards of professional conduct for license
holders under Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act
constitutes the practice of professional nursing or vocational
nursing.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001774

Jena Abel

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Effective date: May 24, 2020

Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

¢ L4 ¢
22 TAC §217.6

The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts amendments to
22 TAC §217.6, relating to Failure to Renew License, without
changes to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020,
issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1947). The rule will not
be republished.

Reasoned Justification. The amendments are being adopted
under the authority of the Occupations Code §301.301(d) and
§301.151. Board Rule 217.6(b) addresses the licensure renewal
of a nurse who is not currently practicing nursing and who has
failed to maintain current licensure from any licensing authority
for four or more years. The rule currently sets out the criteria
that an individual must meet in order to renew his/her license
under these circumstances. Among the various requirements,
an individual must currently complete the online Texas Board of
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Nursing Jurisprudence Prep Course; the Texas Board of Nurs-
ing Jurisprudence and Ethics Workshop; or a Texas Board of
Nursing approved Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics course in
addition to completing a refresher course, extensive orientation,
or program of study. Fifteen percent (15%) of the required con-
tent of a Board approved refresher course, extensive orienta-
tion, or program of study must include the review of the Nurs-
ing Practice Act, Rules, Position Statements. This is the same
content that is included in the online Texas Board of Nursing Ju-
risprudence Prep Course; the Texas Board of Nursing Jurispru-
dence and Ethics Workshop; and a Texas Board of Nursing ap-
proved Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics course. The Board
recognizes that the existing requirements of the rule may be un-
necessarily redundant in this regard. The adopted amendments,
therefore, eliminate these redundant requirements from the rule.
Individuals will still be required to complete a Board approved re-
fresher course, extensive orientation, or program of study, which
must include an adequate focus on nursing jurisprudence and
ethics. Further, because a nurse will still be required to success-
fully pass the Board's nursing jurisprudence exam, the public can
be adequately assured that the nurse has successfully mastered
this content prior to renewal of licensure.

How the Section Will Function. Adopted §217.6(b)(3) is elimi-
nated from the section. The remaining amendments re-number
the section accordingly.

Summary of Comments Received. The Board did not receive
any comments on the proposal.

Statutory Authority. The amendments are adopted under the
authority of the Occupations Code §301.301(d) and §301.151.

Section 301.301(d) provides that the Board by rule shall set a
length of time beyond which an expired license may not be re-
newed. The Board by rule may establish additional requirements
that apply to the renewal of a license that has been expired for
more than one year but less than the time limit set by the Board
beyond which a license may not be renewed. The person may
obtain a new license by submitting to reexamination and comply-
ing with the requirements and procedures for obtaining an origi-
nal license.

Section 301.151 addresses the Board's rulemaking authority.
Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce
rules consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform
its duties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regu-
late the practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing;
(iii) establish standards of professional conduct for license
holders under Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act
constitutes the practice of professional nursing or vocational
nursing.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-

tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001776

Jena Abel

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Effective date: May 24, 2020

Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

¢ ¢ ¢

22 TAC §217.8

The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts the repeal of 22 TAC
§217.8, relating to Duplicate or Substitute Credentials, without
changes to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020,
issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1948). The repeal will
not be republished.

Reasoned Justification. The repeal is adopted under the author-
ity of the Occupations Code §301.151 and eliminates the section
in its entirety. The Board's processes have changed over time,
and the current section is now obsolete. Because an individual
may now verify his/her license and print a wall certificate directly
from the Board's website, the Board has stopped printing dupli-
cate wall certificates for licensees whose original wall certificate
was lost or destroyed. Additionally, the Board no longer issues
wallet-sized licenses to any licensee. Further, when anindividual
changes his/her name and notifies the Board, the Board's online
licensure verification system will reflect the name change, but
the individual is not able to print a new wall certificate reflecting
the name change. The wall certificate will continue to reflect the
name of the individual as it was issued on the original wall cer-
tificate. As such, the current processes outlined in Board Rule
217.8 are no longer applicable.

How the Section Will Function. The adopted repeal eliminates
§217.8 in its entirety.

Summary of Comments Received. The Board did not receive
any comments on the proposal.

Statutory Authority. The repeal is adopted under the authority of
the Occupations Code §301.151.

Section 301.151 addresses the Board's rulemaking authority.
Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce
rules consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform
its duties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regu-
late the practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing;
(iii) establish standards of professional conduct for license
holders under Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act
constitutes the practice of professional nursing or vocational
nursing.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001777

Jena Abel

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Effective date: May 24, 2020

Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

¢ 4 ¢
22 TAC §217.9

The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts amendments to
22 TAC §217.9, relating to Inactive and Retired Status, without
changes to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020,
issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1949). The rule will not
be republished.
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Reasoned Justification. The amendments are adopted under the
authority of the Occupations Code §301.261(d) and §301.151.
Board Rule §217.9 addresses a nurse who has not practiced
nursing and whose license has been in inactive status for four
or more years. The rule currently sets out the criteria that an
individual must meet in order to reactivate his/her license under
these circumstances. Among the various requirements, an indi-
vidual must currently complete the online Texas Board of Nurs-
ing Jurisprudence Prep Course; the Texas Board of Nursing Ju-
risprudence and Ethics Workshop; or a Texas Board of Nursing
approved Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics course in addition to
completing a refresher course, extensive orientation, or program
of study. Fifteen percent (15%) of the required content of a Board
approved refresher course, extensive orientation, or program of
study must include the review of the Nursing Practice Act, Rules,
and Position Statements. This is the same content that is in-
cluded in the online Texas Board of Nursing Jurisprudence Prep
Course; the Texas Board of Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics
Workshop; and a Texas Board of Nursing approved Nursing Ju-
risprudence and Ethics course. The Board recognizes that the
existing requirements of the rule may be unnecessarily redun-
dant in this regard. The adopted amendments, therefore, elimi-
nate these redundant requirements from the rule. Individuals will
still be required to complete a Board approved refresher course,
extensive orientation, or program of study, which must include
an adequate focus on nursing jurisprudence and ethics. Fur-
ther, because a nurse will still be required to successfully pass
the Board's nursing jurisprudence exam, the public can be ad-
equately assured that the nurse has successfully mastered this
content prior to reactivation of licensure.

How the Section Will Function. The adopted amendments elim-
inate §217.9(g)(4) in its entirety and renumber the remaining
paragraphs accordingly.

Summary of Comments Received. The Board did not receive
any comments on the proposal.

Statutory Authority. The amendments are adopted under the
authority of the Occupations Code §301.261(d) and §301.151.

Section 301.261(d) provides that the Board shall remove a per-
son's license from inactive status if the person: (1) requests that
the Board remove the person's license from inactive status; (2)
pays each appropriate fee; and (3) meets the requirements de-
termined by the Board.

Section 301.151 addresses the Board's rulemaking authority.
Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce
rules consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform
its duties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regu-
late the practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing;
(iii) establish standards of professional conduct for license
holders under Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act
constitutes the practice of professional nursing or vocational
nursing.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.
TRD-202001779

Jena Abel

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Effective date: May 24, 2020

Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 222. ADVANCED PRACTICE
REGISTERED NURSES WITH PRESCRIPTIVE
AUTHORITY

22 TAC §222.3

Introduction. The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts
amendments to §222.3, relating to Renewal of Prescriptive
Authority without changes to the proposed text published in the
March 20, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1951).
The rules will not be republished.

Reasoned Justification. The amendments are being adopted un-
der the authority of the Texas Occupations Code §301.151 and
§157.0513, the Texas Health and Safety Code §481.0764 and
§481.07635, and House Bills (HB) 2454, 2059, 3285, and 2174,
enacted by the 86th Texas Legislature.

The adopted amendments are necessary for consistency with
adopted changes to §216.3, pertaining to Continuing Compe-
tency. Section 216.3 was amended on November 19, 2019, in
order to implement the requirements of HB 2454, HB 2059, HB
3285, and HB 2174.

Prior to its amendment in November 2019, §216.3 required ad-
vanced practice registered nurses holding prescriptive authority
to complete at least three contact hours of continuing education
related to prescribing controlled substances each biennium, in
addition to at least five contact hours of continuing education
in pharmacotherapeutics within the same licensing period. The
Board originally adopted this requirement in November 2013,
following the passage of SB 406, enacted by the 83rd Texas
Legislature, Regular Session, effective November 1, 2013. SB
406 expanded the scope of advanced practice registered nurses
by authorizing the ordering/prescribing of Schedule Il controlled
substances in certain settings. The additional targeted contin-
uing education adopted by the Board at that time was reason-
ably related to the expanded scope of practice authorized by
SB 406. Further, the requirement was also adopted during a
time when the Board began seeing an increase in the num-
ber of its non-therapeutic prescribing cases related to the then
up-and-coming opioid crisis.

The new continuing education requirements enacted during the
86th Legislative Session, however, were designed to provide
specific education regarding many of the issues affecting the
opioid crisis. The Board found many of its prior concerns to be
adequately addressed by the new continuing education course
requirements. Further, the Board recognized the potential over-
lap between the new continuing education courses and the ex-
isting education requirements for advanced practice registered
nurses. As such, the Board eliminated the potentially duplica-
tive requirements to only require advanced practice registered
nurses holding prescriptive authority to complete at least five
contact hours of continuing education in pharmacotherapeutics
each biennium. The Board believed this change could reduce
some of the financial burden associated with required continu-
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ing education courses without sacrificing the safety of the public
or the competency of its practitioners.

The adopted amendments to §222.3 are now necessary to con-
form the section to the amendments adopted by the Board in
November 2019.

How the Sections Will Function. Adopted §222.3(b) requires
an advanced practice registered nurse seeking to maintain pre-
scriptive authority to attest, on forms provided by the Board, to
completing at least five contact hours of continuing education in
pharmacotherapeutics within the preceding biennium. The other
requirements of the subsection have been eliminated.

Summary of Comments Received. The Board did not receive
any comments on the proposal.

Statutory Authority. The amendments are adopted under the
Texas Occupations Code §301.151 and §157.0513, the Texas
Health and Safety Code §481.0764 and §481.07635, and House
Bills (HB) 2454, 2059, 3285, and 2174, enacted by the 86th
Texas Legislature.

Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce rules
consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform its
duties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regulate
the practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing; (iii)
establish standards of professional conduct for license holders
Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act constitutes the
practice of professional nursing or vocational nursing.

Section 157.0513(a) provides that the board, the Texas Board
of Nursing, and the Texas Physician Assistant Board shall
jointly develop a process to exchange information regarding
the names, locations, and license numbers of each physician,
APRN, and physician assistant who has entered into a prescrip-
tive authority agreement; by which each board shall immediately
notify the other boards when a license holder of the board
becomes the subject of an investigation involving the delegation
and supervision of prescriptive authority, as well as the final
disposition of any such investigation; by which each board shall
maintain and share a list of the board's license holders who
have been subject to a final adverse disciplinary action for an act
involving the delegation and supervision of prescriptive author-
ity; and to ensure that each APRN or physician assistant who
has entered into a prescriptive authority agreement authorizing
the prescribing of opioids is required to complete not less than
two hours of continuing education annually regarding safe and
effective pain management related to the prescription of opioids
and other controlled substances, including education regarding
reasonable standards of care; the identification of drug-seeking
behavior in patients; and effectively communicating with pa-
tients regarding the prescription of an opioid or other controlled
substance.

Section 481.0764(f) provides that a prescriber or dispenser
whose practice includes the prescription or dispensation of
opioids shall annually attend at least one hour of continuing
education covering best practices, alternative treatment options,
and multi-modal approaches to pain management that may
include physical therapy, psychotherapy, and other treatments.
The board shall adopt rules to establish the content of continuing
education described by this subsection. The board may collab-
orate with private and public institutions of higher education and
hospitals in establishing the content of the continuing education.
This subsection expires August 31, 2023.

Section 481.07635(a) provides that a person authorized to re-
ceive information under Section 481.076(a)(5) shall, not later
than the first anniversary after the person is issued a license,
certification, or registration to prescribe or dispense controlled
substances under this chapter, complete two hours of profes-
sional education related to approved procedures of prescribing
and monitoring controlled substances.

Section 481.07635(b) states that a person authorized to receive
information may annually take the professional education course
under this section to fulfil hours toward the ethics education re-
quirement of the person's license, certification, or registration.

Section 481.07635(c) states that the regulatory agency that is-
sued the license, certification, or registration to a person autho-
rized to receive information under Section 481.076(a)(5) shall
approve professional education to satisfy the requirements of
this section.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001772

Jena Abel

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Effective date: May 24, 2020

Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 412. LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH
AUTHORITY RESPONSIBILITIES
SUBCHAPTER D. MENTAL HEALTH
SERVICES--ADMISSION, CONTINUITY, AND
DISCHARGE

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts the repeal of Texas Administrative Code, Title 25, Part
1, Chapter 412, Subchapter D, concerning Mental Health
Services--Admission, Continuity, and Discharge, §8§412.151
- 412.154, 412.161 - 412.163, 412.171 - 412.179, 412.191 -
412.195, 412.201 - 412.208, 412.221, and 412.231 - 412.233.
The repeal is adopted without changes to the proposed text as
published in the November 29, 2019, issue of the Texas Register
(44 TexReg 7316), and therefore will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

As required by Texas Government Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C),
client services functions previously performed by the Depart-
ment of State Health Services (DSHS) were transferred to the
Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) on
September 1, 2016, in accordance with Texas Government
Code §531.0201 and §531.02011. The purpose of the adop-
tion is to repeal the rules in Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 412,
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Subchapter D, Mental Health Services--Admission, Continuity,
and Discharge. New rules in Title 26, Part 1, Chapter 306,
Subchapter D, Mental Health Services--Admission, Continuity,
and Discharge are adopted elsewhere in this issue of the Texas
Register.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended December 30, 2019. During
this period, HHSC did not receive comments regarding the pro-
posed repeals.

DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
25 TAC §§412.151 - 412.154
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision
of community-based mental health services and §534.058
authorizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of
care for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001728

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. SCREENING AND ASSESSMENT
FOR CRISIS SERVICES AND ADMISSION INTO
LMHA SERVICES--LMHA RESPONSIBILITIES

25 TAC §§412.161 - 412.163
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision
of community-based mental health services and §534.058
authorizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of
care for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.
TRD-202001729

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. ADMISSION TO SMHFS--SMHF
RESPONSIBILITIES

25 TAC §§412.171 - 412.179

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision
of community-based mental health services and §534.058
authorizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of
care for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001731

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4.  TRANSFERS AND CHANGING
LMHAS

25 TAC §§412.191 - 412.195

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision
of community-based mental health services and §534.058
authorizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of
care for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.
TRD-202001732
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Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. DISCHARGE AND ATP FROM

SMHF
25 TAC §§412.201 - 412.208
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision
of community-based mental health services and §534.058
authorizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of
care for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001733

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. DISCHARGE FROM LMHA
SERVICES

25 TAC §412.221

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision
of community-based mental health services and §534.058
authorizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of
care for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.
TRD-202001734

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 7. TRAINING, REFERENCES, AND
DISTRIBUTION

25 TAC §§412.231 - 412.233

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision
of community-based mental health services and §534.058
authorizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of
care for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001735

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ 14 ¢
TITLE 26. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

PART 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 306. BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
DELIVERY SYSTEM

SUBCHAPTER D. MENTAL HEALTH
SERVICES--ADMISSION, CONTINUITY, AND
DISCHARGE

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts new Chapter 306, Subchapter D, concerning Mental
Health Services--Admission, Continuity, and Discharge, com-
prising §§306.151 - 306.154, 306.161 - 306.163, 306.171 -
306.178, 306.191 - 306.195, 306.201 - 306.207, and 306.221 in
the Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 26, Part 1. Sections
306.153, 306.161 - 306.163, 306.171 - 306.178, 306.191,
306.194, 306.195, 306.201 - 306.207 and 306.221 are adopted
with changes to the proposed text as published in the November
29, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 7319). These
sections will be republished.
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Sections 306.151, 306.152, 306.154, 306.192, and 306.193 are
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in
the November 29, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg
7319), and therefore will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

As required by Texas Government Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C),
client services functions previously performed by the Depart-
ment of State Health Services (DSHS) were transferred to
the HHSC on September 1, 2016, in accordance with Texas
Government Code §531.0201 and §531.02011. The new rules
in Title 26, Chapter 306 address the content of rules in Title
25, Chapter 412, Subchapter D, concerning Mental Health
Services--Admission, Continuity, and Discharge. The rules in
Chapter 412 are repealed elsewhere in this issue of the Texas
Register.

The rules establish guidelines for admission, transfers, and
discharges from state hospitals, local mental health authorities
(LMHAs) and local behavioral health authorities (LBHAs), and
continuity of services for persons receiving LMHA or LBHA
services and inpatient services at a state mental health facility
(SMHF) or a facility with a contracted psychiatric bed (CPB).
The rules also implement certain provisions in Senate Bill (S.B.)
562, S.B. 1238, and House Bill 601, 86th Legislature, Regular
Session, 2019, that relate to voluntary admission requirements
and admission criteria for maximum security units.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended December 30, 2019. During
this period, HHSC received comments regarding the proposed
rules from one commenter, Disability Rights Texas. A summary
of comments relating to the new Chapter 306, Subchapter D,
concerning Mental Health Services--Admission, Continuity, and
Discharge and HHSC responses follows.

Comment: The commenter expressed general concerns that the
rules may not be written in language easily understood and sug-
gested that HHSC did not offer an informal comment period.

Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to revise the rules in
response to this comment. The rules were carefully considered
and discussed. The informal comment period occurred in June
2016. Based on the feedback received from the informal com-
ment period, HHSC met with external stakeholders in the devel-
opment of these rules over the past four years.

Comment: The commenter suggested changes to three defini-
tions under §306.153. The commenter suggested adding a ref-
erence to the Civil Practice and Remedies Code, Chapter 137,
to the definition of advance directive in §306.153(5); suggested
adding coordination with a person who provides support to an
individual in the definition of continuity of care in §306.153(14);
and suggested adding language to include information about the
individuals psychiatric, social history, symptomology or support
system to the definition of intake assessment in 306.153(36).

Response: HHSC agrees and made the suggested changes in
response to the commenter's feedback.

Comment: The commenter recommended clarifying the term "al-
ternate services" in §306.171(d)(2) as it does not refer to ser-
vices for an emergency medical condition.

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and clarified
that the facility must coordinate alternate outpatient community
services with an LMHA or LBHA. Editorial changes were made
by moving §306.171(d)(1) to §306.171(c)(2) and combining

§306.171(d)(2) with §306.171(d). The changes were made to
increase understanding and to reflect the process a facility must
follow if an individual arrives at the facility with an emergency
medical condition.

Comment: The commenter recommended adding language to
§306.174(b) to delineate the minimum age of an individual that
may be admitted into the Waco Center for Youth and recom-
mended considering another setting or program in the discharge
planning process under §306.174(d).

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and incorporated
both recommendations as suggested. Section 306.174(b) was
revised to clarify that a child under 10 years of age may not be
admitted to the Waco Center for Youth. HHSC additionally made
changes to include a child in §306.174(a), (c), and (d) and made
grammatical changes accordingly. HHSC also added language
to allow another setting or program in the discharge planning
process, in addition to a psychiatric hospital.

Comment: The commenter had several suggestions to the
rules in §306.175. The commenter recommended establishing
a time frame in which services would be made available to an
individual who does not meet admission criteria in §306.175(b)
and recommended establishing a time frame in which the
physical and psychiatric examinations and determination occur
in §306.175(c)(2). The commenter also recommended adding
information about psychiatric, social history, support system or
symptomology in the intake assessment under §306.175(g).
Additionally, the commenter recommended adding language re-
quiring documentation of the justification for continued inpatient
care in §306.175(j)). The commenter also inquired about the
rationale for changing the evaluation from three times a week
to once a week in §306.175(j).

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and established
time frames as suggested. The rules were revised to require
an LMHA or LBHA to notify the individual or their support sys-
tem that an individual failed to meet admission criteria within 24
hours. The rules were revised to require a physician to conduct
an examination of an individual requesting voluntary admission
within 72 hours before or 24 hours after voluntary admission.
The revision to §306.175(g) was added as suggested and addi-
tional revisions were made to §§306.176(e) and 306.177(c) for
consistency. The revision to §306.175(j) regarding documented
justification for continued stay for an individual voluntarily re-
ceiving acute inpatient treatment was added as suggested. Re-
garding the commenters inquiry, HHSC determined that the fre-
quency of the evaluation, as written, is appropriate for individuals
that are voluntarily admitted.

Comment: The commenter stated that coordinating alternate
services as clinically indicated fails to ensure the provision
of assessment for services if the person is seeking services
in §306.176(d)(2) and recommended adding language in
§306.176(d)(3) to notify persons who provide support other than
family when an individual is released from a facility.

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter. The rules were
revised to require an LMHA or LBHA to coordinate alternate out-
patient community services for an individual within a specified
time frame.

Comment: The commenter recommended adding language in-
dicating that the SMHF or facility with a CPB is responsible for
contacting the LMHA or LBHA and suggested clarifying the time
frame the contact must occur in §306.177(c)(4).
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Response: HHSC declines to modify the rule in response to this
comment. The recommendation does not apply to this section.

Comment: The commenter suggested a couple of recommen-
dations to §306.191. A suggestion was made to consider the
geographical proximity of any persons the individual indicates
during a transfer between state mental health facilities in
§306.191(b)(4). The commenter questioned if an LMHA could
provide input to deny a transfer and suggested clarifying the
type of input that is sought from an LMHA in §306.191(b)(5).

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and revised
§306.191(b)(4) as suggested. HHSC deleted §306.191(b)(5)
because this subsection pertains to transfers between state
mental health facilities and does not apply to LMHAs or LBHAs.

Comment: The commenter expressed general concerns re-
garding continuity of services and undefined terms used in
§306.195. The commenter recommended: retaining the term
"originating" instead of "designated" LMHA in §306.195(a)(1);
clarifying the term "open access process" and requiring LMHAs
to initiate an appointment for an individual seeking services
in §306.195(a)(1)(B)(i); clarifying the term "access informa-
tion" in §306.195(a)(1)(C) and "open access procedures" in
§306.195(a)(1)(D) and suggested requiring an LMHA to secure
the appointment for an individual instead of providing infor-
mation; adding language to ensure continuation of services
by providing pertinent information to the receiving LMHA or
LBHA prior to the individual's transfer in §306.195(a)(1)(E);
and providing a time frame within which the notification of the
denial, reduction or termination of services and the right to
appeal occurs in §306.195(a)(3). The commenter also stated
that §306.195(a)(1)(H) contradicts statements made repeatedly
by HHSC that there is no waiting list for services.

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter as to the term
"designated" and retained the term "originating" LMHA or LBHA.
HHSC deleted the term "open access processes" and revised
language to clarify that the LMHA or LBHA must educate an in-
dividual by providing information regarding walk-in intake ser-
vices, if applicable. HHSC deleted the requirement regarding
access information and renumbered the subparagraphs. HHSC
revised language to require the originating LMHA or LBHA to
submit pertinent information to the receiving LMHA or LBHA af-
ter the individual's transfer request to ensure continuity of care.
HHSC revised rules to require the new LMHA or LBHA to notify
the individual or LAR in writing of the termination, suspension, or
reduction of services within ten business days. HHSC declines
to modify rules in response to the comment about the waiting
list for services. Community-based services are provided based
on the availability of the provider's capacity to serve individuals,
except for those individuals that have Medicaid. Grammatical
changes were made accordingly.

Comment: The commenter made several suggestions to
the discharge planning rules in §306.201. The commenter
recommended: adding a time frame for a facility to notify
persons involved in discharge planning of scheduled staffings
and reviews in §306.201(b)(2); revisiting language that re-
quires an LMHA to identify available living arrangements to
consider expectations that would diminish the likelihood of
readmission in §306.201(c)(3); deleting "recommended" living
arrangements and replacing it with "preferred" living arrange-
ments in §306.201(d)(1)(A); requiring facilities to notify other
persons, as requested by the individual, of a discharge in
§306.201(e)(2); considering the Health Insurance Portability
and Accountability Act, which states that records can only be

omitted under certain circumstances and may conflict with
language in §306.201(h)(2); clarifying that the facility must send
a copy of the discharge packet to a county jail, if the county
jail has facilitated needed services through another entity in
§306.201(h)(3)(B)(iii); requiring a description of the frequency
and intensity of the services in the written discharge summary in
§306.201(k)(3)(B); and suggested adding language to require a
facility to provide information about the resolution of the appar-
ent conflict when caregivers refuse to participate in discharge
planning in §306.201(k)(5).

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and re-
vised §306.201(b)(2), §306.201(e)(2), §306.201(h)(2), and
§306.201(h)(3)(B)(iii) as suggested. HHSC deleted the word
"recommended" in §306.201(d)(1)(A), however it was not re-
placed with "preferred" as suggested since the rule already
speaks to individual preferences. HHSC declines to modify
the rule in response to §306.201(c)(3) implying the inclusion
of a temporary shelter as a living arrangement. The language,
as written, places the responsibility on the LMHA or LBHA to
identify living arrangements consistent with the individual's clin-
ical needs and preference. HHSC agrees with the commenter
suggested edit to §306.201(k)(3)(B) and incorporated the sug-
gestion in the discharge summary by adding the requirement
of describing the level of care for services received. HHSC
declines to modify the rule in response to requiring information
about the resolution of an individual's refusal to participate in
discharge planning in §306.201(k)(5). There is no resolution to a
refusal to participate in discharge planning, only documentation
of the refusal.

Comment: The commenter also made a few recommendations
to §306.202, Special Considerations for Discharge Planning.
The commenter recommended that the discharge planning
review in §306.202(a)(1) focus on how effective the services
have been in preventing an unnecessary hospitalization and
recommended retaining the term, "effectiveness" instead of
"best use of clinical services." The commenter also suggested
that the LMHA should determine the type, amount, scope
and duration of the services needed to prevent unnecessary
admissions in §306.202(a)(3).

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and revised the
rule as suggested.

Comment: The commenter recommended a change to
§306.203(c)(1) to require the SMHF or facility with a CPB to
"immediately" assist an individual in creating a written request
to leave the SMHF or facility with a CPB rather than assisting
the individual "as soon as possible."

Response: HHSC declines to modify the rule in response to this
comment because the proposed language reflects the language
of the statute at Section 572.004(a) of the Health and Safety
Code, which requires the patient be assisted with the written re-
quest "as soon as possible."

Comment: The commenter stated that the language in
§306.205(b)(3) regarding the deterioration of the individual's
condition is vague and recommended retaining the original rule
language.

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and revised the
rule as suggested.

Comment: The commenter recommended establishing a rea-
sonable time frame within which the services are available in
§306.207(a)(1)(B)(ii)). The commenter also recommended in-
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cluding information about the attempts made to locate and con-
tact the individual who fails to appear for a face-to-face contact
in §306.207(a)(1)(D).

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and incorporated
the recommendation by adding "as determined by the individ-
ual's level of care," which describes the frequency of services, in
§306.207(1)(B)(ii). HHSC revised §306.207(1)(D) as suggested.

HHSC made grammatical changes to the definition of LIDDA
in §306.153(39); minor in §306.153(47); ombudsman in
§306.153(50); and recovery or treatment plan in §306.153(59).

HHSC made minor editorial changes to certain definitions
in §§306.153(6), 306.153(14)(E), 306.153(27), 306.153(37),
306.153(38), 306.153(40), 306.153(62), and 306.153(63) for
accuracy, understanding, and consistency.

HHSC replaced the proposed definition of mental iliness in
§306.153(45) with the definition of mental iliness in Chapter 307
that includes "developmental disability" because the proposed
definition was too broad. HHSC also replaced the proposed
definition of peer specialist in §306.153(54) with the definition in
1 TAC Chapter 354, Subchapter N (relating to Peer Specialist
Services) for accuracy and consistency.

Minor grammatical changes were made to §§306.163(b)(2) and
(b)(6), 306.171(a), 306.172(1), 306.174(d), 306.175(a)(1)(C),
and 306.202(a)(2)(A) for accuracy, understanding, and
consistency. Minor editorial changes were made to
§8§306.153(24), 306.153(26), 306.153(68), 306.161(c)(1)
and (d)(2), §306.162(d), 306.163(b)(7),(c)(1) and (f)(2),
306.173(a)(1), 306.175(e), 306.176(b)(2), 306.178, 306.191,
306.194, 306.201(c)(3), 306.201(d)(1)}(E) and (d)(1)(I)(ii),
306.201(e)(1), and 306.207(1)(B)(iii).

Minor editorial changes were made to incorporate people first
language in §§306.153(33), 306.153(34), 306.178, 306.191(c),
306.194(a), 306.203(a) and (b), 306.203(e)(1)(A), 306.205(a),
and 306.206(a). Sections 306.203 and 306.204 were renamed
to reflect people first language.

Minor editorial changes were made to update cross references
to 25 TAC Chapter 412, Subchapter G that was adminis-
tratively transferred to 26 TAC Chapter 301, Subchapter G
in the following sections: §8§306.153(57); 306.153(59)(A);
306.153(69); 306.161(a), (d), and (d)(3); 306.195(a)(1)(G) and
(a)(2)(A)(iit); 306.202(g)(1)(B)(i) and (g)(2)(B)(i); 306.207(1)(C);
and 306.221(b)(1). Cross references were also updated in
§§306.153(35), 306.201(c)(7), and 306.202(b)(2) and (b)(3).

DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
26 TAC §§306.151 - 306.154
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision of
community-based mental health services and §534.058 autho-
rizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of care
for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The new sections implement Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 and
§534.058.

§$306.153.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Absence--When an individual, previously admitted to
an SMHF and not discharged from the SMHEF, is physically away from
the SMHF for any reason, including hospitalization, home visit, special
activity, unauthorized departure, or absence for trial placement.

(2) Admission--

(A) An individual's acceptance to an SMHF's custody
or a facility with a CPB for inpatient services, based on:

(i) a physician's order issued in accordance with
§306.175(h)(2)(C) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission
Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized
by an LMHA or LBHA or for a State Mental Health Facility);

(ii) a physician's order issued in accordance with
§306.176(c)(3) of this subchapter (relating to Admission Criteria for a
Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or
LBHA or for a State Mental Health Facility for Emergency Detention);

(iii) a court's order of protective custody issued in
accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.022;

(iv) a court's order for temporary inpatient mental
health services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.034, or Texas Family Code Chapter 55;

(v) a court's order for extended inpatient mental
health services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety
Code §574.035, or Texas Family Code Chapter 55; or

(vi) a court's order for commitment issued in accor-
dance with the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46B or
Chapter 46C.

(B) The acceptance of an individual in the mental health
priority population into LMHA or LBHA services.

(3) Adolescent--An individual at least 13 years of age, but
younger than 18 years of age.

(4) Adult--An individual at least 18 years of age or older.

(5) Advance directive--As used in this subchapter, in-
cludes:

(A) an instruction made under Texas Health and Safety
Code §§166.032, 166.034 or 166.035 to administer, withhold, or with-
draw life-sustaining treatment in the event of a terminal or irreversible
condition;

(B) an out-of-hospital DNR order, as defined by Texas
Health and Safety Code §166.081;

(C) amedical power of attorney under Texas Health and
Safety Code, Chapter 166, Subchapter D; or

(D) adeclaration for mental health treatment for prefer-
ences or instructions regarding mental health treatment in accordance
with Civil Practice and Remedies Code Chapter 137.

(6) Alternate provider--An entity that provides mental
health services or substance use disorder treatment services in the
community but not pursuant to a contract or memorandum of under-
standing with an LMHA or LBHA.

(7) APRN--Advanced practice registered nurse. A regis-
tered nurse licensed by the Texas Board of Nursing to practice as an
advanced practice registered nurse as provided by Texas Occupations
Code §301.152.
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(8) Assessment--The administrative process an SMHF or
a facility with a CPB uses to gather information from a prospective
patient, including a medical history and the problem for which the
prospective patient is seeking treatment, to determine whether a
prospective patient should be examined by a physician to determine if
admission is clinically justified, as defined by Texas Health and Safety
Code §572.0025(h)(2).

(9) Assessment professional--In accordance with Texas
Health and Safety Code §572.0025(c)-(d), a staff member of an SMHF
or facility with a CPB whose responsibilities include conducting the
intake assessment described in §306.175(g) and §306.176(e) of this
subchapter, and who is:

(A) a physician licensed to practice medicine under
Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 155;

(B) aphysician assistant licensed under Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapter 204;

(C) an APRN licensed under Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 301;

(D) a registered nurse licensed under Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapter 301;

(E) a psychologist licensed under Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 501;

(F) apsychological associate licensed under Texas Oc-
cupations Code, Chapter 501;

(G) a licensed professional counselor licensed under
Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 503;

(H) alicensed social worker licensed under Texas Oc-
cupations Code, Chapter 505; or

(I) alicensed marriage and family therapist licensed un-
der Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 502.

(10) ATP--Absence for trial placement. When an individ-
ual, currently admitted to an SMHEF, is physically away from the SMHF
for the SMHF to evaluate the individual's adjustment to a particular
living arrangement before the individual's discharge and as a potential
residence following discharge. An ATP is a type of furlough, as refer-
enced in Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 574, Subchapter F.

(11) Business day--Any day except a Saturday, Sunday, or
legal holiday listed in Texas Government Code §662.021.

(12) Capacity--An individual's ability to understand and
appreciate the nature and consequences of a decision regarding the
individual's medical treatment, and the ability of the individual to
reach an informed decision in the matter.

(13) Child--An individual at least three years of age, but
younger than 13 years of age.

(14) Continuity of care--Activities designed to ensure an
individual is provided uninterrupted services during a transition be-
tween inpatient and outpatient services and that assist the individual
and the individual's LAR in identifying, accessing, and coordinating
LMHA or LBHA services and other appropriate services and supports
in the community needed by the individual, including:

(A) assisting with admissions and discharges;

(B) facilitating access to appropriate services and sup-
ports in the community, including identifying and connecting the in-
dividual with community resources, and coordinating the provision of
services;

(C) participating in developing and reviewing the indi-
vidual's recovery or treatment plan;

(D) promoting implementation of the individual's re-
covery or treatment plan; and

(E) coordinating notification of continuity of care ser-
vices between the individual and the individual's family and any other
person providing support as authorized by the individual, and LAR, if
any.

(15) Continuity of care worker--An LMHA, LBHA, or
LIDDA staff member responsible for providing continuity of care
services. The staff member may collaborate with a peer specialist,
recovery specialist, or family partner to provide continuity of services.

(16) COPSD--Co-occurring psychiatric and substance use
disorder.

(17) COPSD model--An application of evidence-based
practices for an individual diagnosed with co-occurring conditions of
mental illness and substance use disorder.

(18) CPB--Contracted psychiatric bed. A state-funded
contracted psychiatric bed that:

(A) is authorized by an LMHA or LBHA; and

(B) isused for inpatient care in the community, and this
does not include a crisis respite unit, crisis residential unit, an extended
observation unit, or a crisis stabilization unit.

(19) CRCG--Community Resource Coordination Group.
A local interagency group comprised of public and private providers
who collaborate to develop individualized service plans for individ-
uals whose needs may be met through interagency coordination and
cooperation. CRCGs are established and operate in accordance with
a Memorandum of Understanding on Services for Persons Needing
Multiagency Services, required by Texas Government Code §531.055.

(20) Crisis--A situation in which:

(A) an individual presents an immediate danger to self
or others;

(B) an individual's mental or physical health is at risk
of serious deterioration; or

(C) an individual believes he presents an immediate
danger to self or others, or the individual's mental or physical health is
at risk of serious deterioration.

(21) Crisis treatment alternatives--Community-based
facilities or units providing short-term, residential crisis treatment to
ameliorate a behavioral health crisis in the least restrictive environ-
ment, including crisis stabilization units, extended observation units,
crisis residential units, and crisis respite units. The intensity and scope
of services varies by facility type and is available in a local service
area based upon the local needs and characteristics of the community.

(22) Day--Calendar day.

(23) DD--Developmental disability. As listed in the Texas
Health and Safety Code §531.002, an individual with a severe, chronic
disability attributable to a mental or physical impairment or a combi-
nation of mental and physical impairments that:

(A) manifests before the person reaches 22 years of age;
(B) is likely to continue indefinitely;

(C) reflects the individual's need for a combination and
sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic services, individual-
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ized supports, or other forms of assistance that are of a lifelong or ex-
tended duration and are individually planned and coordinated; and

(D) results in substantial functional limitations in three
or more of the following categories of major life activity:

(i) self-care;
(ii) receptive and expressive language;
(iii) learning;
(iv) mobility;
(v) self-direction;
(vi) capacity for independent living; and
(vii) economic self-sufficiency.
(24) Designated LMHA or LBHA--The LMHA or LBHA:

(A) that serves the individual's county of residence,
which is determined in accordance with §306.162 of this subchapter
(relating to Determining County of Residence); or

(B) that does not serve the individual's county of resi-
dence but has taken responsibility for ensuring the individual's LMHA
or LBHA services.

(25) Discharge--

(A) From an SMHEF or a facility with a CPB: The re-
lease of an individual from the custody and care of a provider of inpa-
tient services.

(B) From LMHA or LBHA services: The termination
of LMHA or LBHA services delivered to an individual by an LMHA
or LBHA.

(26) Discharged unexpectedly--A discharge from an
SMHF or facility with a CPB:

(A) due to an individual's unauthorized departure;
(B) at the individual's request;

(C) due to a court releasing the individual;

(D) due to the death of the individual; or

(E) due to the execution of an arrest warrant for the in-
dividual.

(27) Emergency medical condition--A medical condition
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including
severe pain, psychiatric disturbances, or symptoms of substance use
disorder) such that the absence of immediate medical attention could
reasonably result in:

(A) placing the health of the individual (or with respect
to a pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn child) or
others in serious jeopardy;

(B) serious impairment to bodily functions;
(C) serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part;
(D) serious disfigurement; or

(E) in the case of a pregnant woman having contrac-
tions:

(i) inadequate time to affect a safe transfer to another
hospital before delivery; or

(i) atransfer posing a threat to the health and safety
of the woman or the unborn child.

(28) Face-to-face--A form of contact occurring in person or
through the use of audiovisual or other telecommunications technology.

(29) Facility--A care facility including a state mental health
facility, private psychiatric hospital, medical hospital, and community
setting, but does not include a nursing facility or an assisted living fa-
cility.

(30) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-
sion or its designee.

(31) ID--Intellectual disability. Consistent with Texas
Health and Safety Code §591.003, significantly sub-average general
intellectual functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive
behavior and originating before age 18.

(32) Individual--A person seeking or receiving services un-
der this subchapter.

(33) Individual involuntarily receiving treatment--An indi-
vidual receiving inpatient services based on an admission to a state
mental health facility or a facility with a CPB made in accordance with:

(A) §306.176 of this subchapter;

(B) §306.177 of this subchapter (relating to Admission
Criteria Under Order of Protective Custody or Court-ordered Inpatient
Mental Health Services);

(C) an order for temporary inpatient mental health
services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.034 or Texas Family Code, Chapter 55;

(D) an order for extended inpatient mental health
services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.035 or Texas Family Code, Chapter 55;

(E) an order for commitment issued in accordance with
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46B; or

(F) an order for commitment issued in accordance with
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46C.

(34) Individual voluntarily receiving treatment--An indi-
vidual receiving inpatient services based on an admission made in ac-
cordance with:

(A) §306.175 of this subchapter; or

(B) §306.178 of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary
Treatment Following Involuntary Admission).

(35) Inpatient services--Residential psychiatric treatment
provided to an individual in an SMHEF, a facility with a CPB, a hospital
licensed under the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 241 or
Chapter 577, or a CSU licensed under Chapter 510 of this title (relating
to Private Psychiatric Hospitals and Crisis Stabilization Units).

(36) Intake assessment--The administrative process con-
ducted by an assessment professional for gathering information
about a prospective patient including the psychiatric and medical
history, social history, symptomology and support system and giving
a prospective patient information about the facility and the facility's
treatment and services.

(37) LAR--Legally authorized representative. A person
authorized by state law to act on behalf of an individual for the
purposes of:

(A) admission, transfer or discharge that includes:

(i) aparent, non-Department of Family and Protec-
tive Services managing conservator or guardian of a minor;

45 TexReg 3306 May 15, 2020 Texas Register



(i) a Department of Family and Protective Service
managing conservator of a minor acting pursuant to Texas Health and
Safety Code §572.001 (c-2) - (c-4); and

(iii) a person eligible to consent to treatment for a
minor under §32.001(a), Texas Family Code, or a person who may
request from a district court authorization under Texas Family Code,
Chapter 35 for the temporary admission of a minor.

(B) consent on behalf of an individual with regard to a
matter described in this subchapter other than admission, transfer or
discharge includes:

(i) persons described by subparagraph (A) of this
paragraph; and

(i) an agent acting under a Medical Power of Attor-
ney under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 166 or a Declaration
for Mental Health Treatment under Texas Civil Practice and Remedies
Code, Chapter 137.

(38) LBHA--Local behavioral health authority. An entity
designated as an LBHA by HHSC in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §533.0356.

(39) LIDDA--Local intellectual and developmental dis-
ability authority. An entity designated by HHSC in accordance with
Texas Health and Safety Code §533A.035.

(40) LMHA--Local mental health authority. An entity des-
ignated as an LMHA by HHSC in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §533.035(a).

(41) LMHA or LBHA network provider--An entity that
provides mental health services in the community pursuant to a
contract or memorandum of understanding with an LMHA or LBHA,
including that part of an LMHA or LBHA directly providing mental
health services.

(42) LMHA or LBHA services--Inpatient and outpatient
mental health services provided by an LMHA or LBHA network
provider to an individual in the individual's home community.

(43) Local service area--A geographic area composed of
one or more Texas counties defining the population that may receive
services from an LMHA or LBHA.

(44) MCO--Managed care organization. An entity gov-
erned by Chapter 843 of the Texas Insurance Code to operate as a health
maintenance organization or to issue a private provider benefit plan.

(45) Mental illness--An illness, disease, or condition, other
than a sole diagnosis of epilepsy, dementia, substance use disorder, 1D,
or DD that:

(A) substantially impairs an individual's thought, per-
ception of reality, emotional process, or judgment; or

(B) grossly impairs behavior as demonstrated by recent
disturbed behavior.

(46) MH priority population--Mental health priority pop-
ulation. As identified in state performance contracts with LMHAs or
LBHAs, those groups of children, adolescents, and adults with men-
tal illness or serious emotional disturbance assessed as most in need of
mental health services.

(47) Minor--An individual younger than 18 years of age.

(48) Nursing facility--A long-term care facility licensed by
HHSC as a nursing home, nursing facility, or skilled nursing facility as
defined in Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242.

(49) Offender with special needs--An individual who has a
terminal or serious medical condition, a mental illness, an ID, a DD, or
a physical disability, and is served by the Texas Correctional Office on
Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments as provided in Texas
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 614.

(50) Ombudsman--The Ombudsman for Behavioral Health
Access to Care established by Texas Government Code §531.02251,
which serves as a neutral party to help individuals, including individu-
als who are uninsured or have public or private health benefit coverage.
The behavioral health care providers navigate and resolve issues related
to the individual's access to behavioral health care, including care for
mental health conditions and substance use disorders.

(51) PASRR--Preadmission screening and resident review
in accordance with 40 TAC Chapter 19, Subchapter BB (relating to
Nursing Facility Responsibilities Related to Preadmission Screening
and Resident Review (PASRR)).

(52) PASRR Level I screening--The process of screening
an individual to identify whether the individual is suspected of having
a mental illness, ID, or DD.

(53) PASRR Level Il evaluation--A face-to-face evaluation
of an individual suspected of having a mental illness, ID, or DD per-
formed by a LIDDA, LMHA, or LBHA to determine if the individual
has a mental illness, ID, or DD, and if so, to:

(A) assess the individual's need for care in a nursing fa-
cility;

(B) assess the individual's need for nursing facility spe-
cialized services, LIDDA specialized services, and LMHA or LBHA
specialized services; and

(C) identify alternate placement options.

(54) Peer specialist--A person who uses lived experience in
addition to skills learned in formal training, to deliver strengths-based,
person-centered services to promote an individual's recovery and re-
siliency in accordance with 1 TAC Chapter 354, Subchapter N.

(55) Permanent residence--The physical location where
an individual lives, or if a minor, where the minor's parents or legal
guardian lives. A post office box is not a permanent residence.

(56) Preliminary examination--An assessment for medical
stability and a psychiatric examination in accordance with Texas Health
and Safety Code §573.022(a)(2).

(57) QMHP-CS--Qualified mental health  profes-
sional-community services. A staff member who meets the require-
ments and performs the functions described in Chapter301, Subchapter
G of this title (relating to Mental Health Community Services Stan-
dards).

(58) Recovery--A process of change through which indi-
viduals improve their health and wellness, live a self-directed life, and
strive to reach their full potential.

(59) Recovery or treatment plan--A written plan:

(A) developed in collaboration with an individual or the
individual's LAR if required, and a QMHP-CS or Licensed Practitioner
of'the Healing Arts (LPHA) as defined in §301.303 of this title (relating
to Definitions);

(B) amended at any time based on an individual's needs
or requests;

(C) that guides the recovery treatment process and fos-
ters resiliency;
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(D) completed in conjunction with the uniform assess-
ment;

(E) that identifies the individual's changing strengths,
capacities, goals, preferences, needs, and desired outcomes; and

(F) thatincludes recommended services and supports or
reasons for the exclusion of services and supports.

(60) Screening--Activities performed by a QMHP-CS to:

(A) collect triage information through face-to-face or
telephone interviews with an individual or collateral contact;

(B) determine if the individual's need is emergent, ur-
gent, or routine, conducted before the face-to-face assessment to deter-
mine the need for emergency services; and

(C) determine the need for in-depth assessment.

(61) SMHF--State mental health facility. A state hospital
or a state center with an inpatient psychiatric component.

(62) SSLC--State supported living center. Consistent with
Texas Health and Safety Code §531.002, a residential facility operated
by the State to provide individuals with an ID a variety of services,
including medical treatment, specialized therapy, and training in the
acquisition of personal, social, and vocational skills.

(63) Substance use disorder--The use of one or more drugs,
including alcohol, which significantly and negatively impacts one or
more major areas of life functioning and which meets the criteria for
substance use as described in the current edition of the Diagnostic and
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) published by the Amer-
ican Psychiatric Association.

(64) TAC--Texas Administrative Code.

(65) TCOOMMI--Texas Correctional Office on Offenders
with Medical or Mental Impairments or its designee.

(66) Transfer--To move from one facility to another facil-
ity.

(67) Treating physician--A physician who coordinates and
oversees an individual's treatment.

(68) Treatment team--A group of treatment providers, an
individual, the individual's LAR, if any, and the LMHA, LBHA, or
LIDDA who work together in a coordinated manner to provide com-
prehensive mental health services to the individual.

(69) Uniform assessment--An assessment tool adopted by
HHSC under §301.353 of this title (relating to Provider Responsibil-
ities for Treatment Planning and Service Authorization) used for rec-
ommending an individual's level of care.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.
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DIVISION 2. SCREENING AND ASSESSMENT
FOR CRISIS SERVICES AND ADMISSION INTO
LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITY OR
LOCAL BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AUTHORITY
SERVICES--LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH
AUTHORITY OR LOCAL BEHAVIORAL
HEALTH AUTHORITY RESPONSIBILITIES

26 TAC §§306.161 - 306.163

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision of
community-based mental health services and §534.058 autho-
rizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of care
for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The new sections implement Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 and
§534.058.

§$306.161. Screening and Assessment.

(a) Ifanindividualis in crisis, an LMHA or LBHA ensures im-
mediate screening and, if recommended based on the screening, a face-
to-face intake assessment of an individual in the LMHA's or LBHA's
local service area in accordance with §301.327 of this title (relating to
Access to Mental Health Community Services).

(b) When the crisis is resolved, the LMHA or LBHA must as-
sess the individual using the uniform assessment and determine:

(1) referral for ongoing services at the LMHA or LBHA;
(2) referral to an alternate provider;

(3) referral to community-based crisis treatment alternative
as described in §306.163 of this division (relating to Most Appropriate
and Available Treatment Options);

(4) the individual's transportation by identifying and ensur-
ing the individual's transportation needs were met; or

(5) no referral is needed.

(¢) Ifanindividual is not in crisis, an LMHA or LBHA screens
each individual presenting for services at the LMHA or LBHA as fol-
lows:

(1) an LMHA or LBHA staff who is a QMHP-CS or LPHA
conducts a screening; and

(2) an LMHA or LBHA staff determines whether the in-
dividual's county of residence is within the LMHA's or LBHA's local
service area.

(d) If the individual's county of residence is within the
LMHA's or LBHA's local service area and the screenings described in
subsections (a) and (c) of this section indicates an intake assessment is
needed, the LMHA or LBHA conducts an assessment in accordance
with §301.353(a) of this title (relating to Provider Responsibilities for
Treatment Planning and Service Authorization).

(1) LMHAs and LBHAS serve individuals in the MH pri-
ority population designated by HHSC. For an individual in the MH
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priority population, the LMHA or LBHA identifies which services the
individual may be eligible to receive and, if appropriate, determines
whether the individual receives services immediately or places the in-
dividual on a waiting list for services and refers the individual to other
community resources.

(2) Individuals who are enrolled in Medicaid must receive
services immediately and may not be placed on a waiting list.

(3) AnLMHA or LBHA must serve an individual in accor-
dance with §301.327 of this title.

(4) For an individual not in the MH priority population, the
LMHA or LBHA must provide the individual with written notification
regarding:

(A) the denial of services and the opportunity to appeal
in accordance with §306.154 of this subchapter (relating to Notifica-
tion and Appeals Process for Local Mental Health Authority or Local
Behavioral Health Authority Services); and

(B) the availability of information and assistance from
the Ombudsman by contacting the Ombudsman at 1-800-252-8154 or
online at hhs.texas.gov/ombudsman.

§306.162.  Determining County of Residence.
(a) County of Residence for Adults.

(1) An adult's county of residence is the county which the
adult or the adult's LAR indicates is the county of the adult's permanent
residence, unless there is a preponderance of evidence to the contrary.
If the adult is not a Texas resident or indicates no permanent address,
the adult's county of residence is the county in which the evidence in-
dicates the adult resides.

(2) Ifan adultis unable to communicate the location of the
adult's permanent residence and there is no evidence indicating the lo-
cation of the adult's permanent residence or if an adult is not a Texas
resident, the adult's county of residence is the county in which the adult
is physically present when the adult requests or requires services.

(3) Ifan LMHA or LBHA is paying for an adult's commu-
nity mental health services delivered in the local service area of another
LMHA or LBHA, or if an LMHA or LBHA is paying for an adult's liv-
ing arrangement that is located outside the LMHA's or LBHA's local
service area, the county in which the paying LMHA or LBHA is lo-
cated is the adult's county of residence.

(b) County of Residence for Minors.

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection,
a minor's county of residence is the county in which the minor's LAR's
permanent residence is located.

(2) A minor's county of residence is the county in which
the minor currently resides if:

(A) itcannot be determined in which county the minor's
LAR's permanent residence is located;

(B) astate agency is the minor's LAR;
(C) the minor does not have an LAR; or

(D) the minor is at least 16 years of age and self-en-
rolling into services.

(c) Dispute regarding county of residence initiated by an
LMHA or LBHA.

(1) The LMHA or LBHA must initiate or continue provid-
ing clinically necessary services, including discharge planning, during
the dispute resolution process.

(2) Ifan LMHA or LBHA initiates a dispute that executive
directors of the affected LMHASs or LBHAS cannot resolve, the HHSC
performance contract manager(s) of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs
resolves the dispute.

(d) Disputes regarding county of residence initiated by or on
behalf of an individual. The Ombudsman may consult with the HHSC
performance contract manager(s) of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs
and help resolve a dispute initiated by or on behalf of an individual.

(e) Changing county of residence status. Changing an individ-
ual's county of residence requires agreement between the LMHAS or
LBHAs affected by the change, except as provided in §306.195 of this
subchapter (relating to Changing Local Mental Health Authorities or
Local Behavioral Health Authorities).

§306.163. Most Appropriate and Available Treatment Options.

(a) Recommendation for treatment. The designated LMHA
or LBHA is responsible for recommending the most appropriate and
available treatment alternative for an individual in need of mental
health services.

(b) Inpatient services.

(1) Before an LMHA or LBHA refers an individual for in-
patient services, the LMHA or LBHA must screen and assess the indi-
vidual to determine if the individual requires inpatient services.

(2) [Ifthe screening and assessment indicates the individual
requires inpatient services and inpatient services are the least restrictive
setting available, the LMHA or LBHA refers the individual:

(A) toan SMHEF or facility with a CPB, if the LMHA or
LBHA determines that the individual meets the criteria for admission;
or

(B) to an LMHA or LBHA network provider of inpa-
tient services.

(3) If the individual is identified in the applicable HHSC
automation system as having an ID, the LMHA or LBHA informs the
designated LIDDA that the individual has been referred for inpatient
services.

(4) If the LMHA, LBHA, or LMHA or LBHA-network
provider refers the individual for inpatient services, the LMHA or
LBHA must communicate necessary information to the contracted
inpatient provider before or at the time of admission, including the
individual's:

(A) identifying information, including address;

(B) legal status (e.g., regarding guardianship, charges
pending, custody as applicable;

(C) pertinent medical and medication information, in-
cluding known disabilities;

(D) behavioral information, including information re-
garding COPSD;

(E) other pertinent treatment information;

(F) finances, third-party coverage, and other benefits, if
known; and

(G) advance directive.

(5) Ifan LMHA or LBHA, other than the individual's des-
ignated LMHA or LBHA, refers the individual for inpatient services,
the SMHF or facility with a CPB notifies the individual's designated
LMHA or LBHA of the referral for inpatient services by the end of the
next business day.
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(6) The designated LMHA or LBHA assigns a continuity
of care worker to an individual admitted to an SMHEF, a facility with a
CPB, or an LMHA or LBHA inpatient services network provider.

(7) If the individual has an ID or DD, the designated
LIDDA assigns a continuity of care worker to the individual.

(8) The LMHA or LBHA continuity of care worker, and
LIDDA continuity of care worker as applicable, are responsible for the
facilitation of the individual's continuity of services.

(¢) Community-based crisis treatment options.

(1) AnLMHA or LBHA must ensure the provision of crisis
services to an individual experiencing a crisis while the individual is in
its local service area.

(2) Individuals in need of a higher level of care, but not re-
quiring inpatient services, have the option, as available, for admission
to other services such as crisis respite, crisis residential, extended ob-
servation, or crisis stabilization unit.

(d) LMHA or LBHA Services.

(1) Ifan LMHA or LBHA admits an individual to LMHA
or LBHA services, the LMHA or LBHA ensures the provision of ser-
vices in the most integrated setting available.

(2) The LMHA or LBHA assigns, to an individual receiv-
ing services, a staff member who is responsible for coordinating the
individual's services.

(e) CourtOrdered Treatment. The LMHA or LBHA must pro-
vide services to an individual ordered by a court to participate in out-
patient mental health services or competency restoration services, if
available, when the court identifies the LMHA or LBHA as being re-
sponsible for those services.

(f) Referral to alternate provider.

(1) If an individual requests a referral to an alternate
provider, and it is not court ordered to receive services from the
LMHA or LBHA, the LMHA or LBHA makes a referral to an alternate
provider in accordance with the request.

(2) If an individual has third-party coverage, but the cov-
erage will not pay for needed services because the designated LMHA
or LBHA does not have a provider in its network that is approved by
the third-party coverage, the designated LMHA or LBHA acts in ac-
cordance with 25 TAC §412.106(c)(2) (relating to Determination of
Ability to Pay).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.
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DIVISION 3. ADMISSION TO A STATE
MENTAL HEALTH FACILITY OR A FACILITY

WITH A CONTRACTED PSYCHIATRIC
BED--PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES

26 TAC §§306.171 - 306.178
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision of
community-based mental health services and §534.058 autho-
rizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of care
for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The new sections implement Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 and
§534.058.

$306.171.  General Admission Criteria for a State Mental Health Fa-
cility or Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed.

(a) With the exceptions of Waco Center for Youth, a maxi-
mum-security unit, and an adolescent forensic unit, an SMHF or fa-
cility with a CPB may admit an individual, who has been assessed by
an LMHA or LBHA and recommended for inpatient admission, only if
the individual has a mental illness and, as a result of the mental illness:

(1) presents a substantial risk of serious harm to self or oth-
ers; or

(2) evidences a substantial risk of mental or physical dete-
rioration.

(b) An individual's admission to an SMHF or facility with a
CPB may not occur if the individual:

(1) requires specialized care that is not available at the
SMHF or facility with a CPB; or

(2) has a physical medical condition that is unstable and
could reasonably require inpatient medical treatment for the condition.

(c) If an individual arrives at an SMHF or facility with a CPB
for mental health services, and the individual was not screened or re-
ferred by an LMHA or LBHA as described in §306.163 of this subchap-
ter (relating to Most Appropriate and Available Treatment Options):

(1) the SMHEF or facility with a CPB notifies the designated
LMHA or LBHA that the individual has presented for services at the
SMHF or facility with a CPB; and

(2) the SMHEF or facility with a CPB physician determines
if the individual has an emergency medical condition and the physician
decides whether the facility has the capability to treat the emergency
medical condition.

(A) If the SMHF or facility with a CPB has the capa-
bility to treat the emergency medical condition, the facility admits the
individual as required by the Emergency Medical Treatment and Ac-
tive Labor Act (EMTALA) (42 USC §1395dd).

(B) If the SMHF or facility with a CPB does not have
the capability to treat the emergency medical condition in accordance
with EMTALA, the facility provides evaluation and treatment within its
capability to stabilize the individual and arranges for the individual to
be transferred to a hospital that has the capability to treat the emergency
medical condition.

(d) If an LMHA or LBHA authorized an individual's admis-
sion to an SMHF or a facility with a CPB and the facility determines
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that the individual does not meet inpatient criteria for admission, the
facility contacts the designated LMHA or LBHA to coordinate alter-
nate outpatient community services. The designated LMHA or LBHA
must contact the individual within 24 hours after being notified that the
individual does not meet inpatient admission criteria.

§306.172.  Admission Criteria for Maximum-Security Units.

An individual's admission to a maximum-security unit occurs only if
the individual is:

(1) committed pursuant to Chapter 46B or Chapter 46C of
the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure and determined to require ad-
mission to a maximum-security unit; or

(2) determined manifestly dangerous in accordance with
HHSC state hospital policies.

$306.173.  Admission Criteria for an Adolescent Forensic Unit.

(a) An adolescent forensic unit admits an adolescent only if
the adolescent meets the criteria described in a paragraph of this sub-
section.

(1) Condition of probation or parole. The adolescent's ad-
mission to an adolescent forensic unit fulfills a condition of probation
or parole for a juvenile offense if the adolescent:

(A) based on a clinical evaluation, is determined to be
in need of specialized mental health treatment in a secure treatment
setting to address violent behavior or delinquent conduct;

(B) has co-occurring psychiatric and substance use dis-
orders; or

(C) has exhausted available community resources for
treatment and has been recommended for admission by the local
CRCG.

(2) Commitment under Texas Family Code, Chapter 55.
The adolescent has been committed to a mental health facility under
the Texas Family Code, Chapter 55, Subchapter C or D.

(3) Determined manifestly dangerous. The adolescent has
been determined manifestly dangerous in accordance with HHSC state
hospital policies.

(b) Anadolescent may not be admitted to an adolescent foren-
sic unit if a physician determines the adolescent has an ID.

$306.174.  Admission Criteria for Waco Center for Youth.

(a) Anindividual's admission to Waco Center for Youth occurs
only if the individual:

(1) 1is an adolescent, or an adolescent whose age at admis-
sion allows adequate time for treatment programming before reaching
18 years of age;

(2) 1is diagnosed as emotionally disturbed;
(3) has a history of behavior adjustment problems;

(4) needs a structured treatment program in a residential
facility; and

(5) is currently receiving LMHA or LBHA services or in-
patient services at an SMHF or a facility with a CPB and has been
referred for admission by:

(A) the LMHA or LBHA after presentation and en-
dorsement by the local CRCG that all appropriate community-based
resources have been exhausted and Waco Center for Youth is the least
restrictive environment needed, the LMHA presents the CRCG letter
of recommendation with the referral;

(B) the LMHA or LBHA, following a documented
LMHA or LBHA assessment that local resources have been explored
and exhausted (if the full CRCG cannot convene in a timely manner);
or

(C) an SMHF.
(b) Waco Center for Youth may not admit:
(1) achild under 10 years of age;

(2) an adolescent that has been found to have engaged in
delinquent conduct or conduct indicating a need for supervision under
the Texas Family Code, Title 3;

(3) an adolescent that is acutely psychotic, suicidal, homi-
cidal, or seriously violent; or

(4) anadolescent that is determined by a physician to have
an ID.

(c) Ifthe Waco Center for Youth denies admission for services,
Waco Center for Youth provides the adolescent's LAR written notifica-
tion stating:

(1) the reason for the denial of services; and

(2) that the LAR may appeal the denial by contacting the
LMHA or LBHA.

(d) If an adolescent receiving services at Waco Center for
Youth requires admission to a psychiatric hospital or another setting
or program, the discharge planning process includes the joint deter-
mination of the psychiatric hospital and Waco Center for Youth of
the clinical appropriateness of readmission to Waco Center for Youth.
With the agreement of the adolescent's treatment team, the Waco
Center for Youth leadership, psychiatric hospital leadership, and the
adolescent's LAR, the adolescent is prioritized for readmission to
Waco Center for Youth.

§$306.175.  Voluntary Admission Criteria for a Facility with a Con-
tracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for a
State Mental Health Facility.

(a) Request for voluntary admission.
(1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code

§572.001, a request for voluntary admission of an individual with a
mental illness may only be made by:

(A) the individual, if the individual is at least 16 years
of age or older;

(B) the LARif:

(i) the individual is younger than 18 years of age;
and

(i) the LAR is described by §306.153(36)(A)(i) or
(iii) of this subchapter (relating to Definitions); or

(C) the LAR, if the LAR is described by
§306.153(36)(A)(ii), and admission is sought pursuant to the
provisions of Texas Health and Safety Code §572.001(c-1) - (c-4).

(2) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.001(b) and (e), a request for admission must:

(A) be in writing and signed by the LAR or individual
making the request; and

(B) include a statement that the LAR or individual mak-
ing the request:

(i) agrees that the individual remains in the SMHF
or facility with a CPB until the individual's discharge; and
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(ii) consents to diagnosis, observation, care, and
treatment of the individual until:

(1) the discharge of the individual; or

(II) the individual is entitled to leave the SMHF
or facility with a CPB, in accordance with Texas Health and Safety
Code §572.004, after a request for discharge is made.

(3) The consent given under paragraph (2)(B)(ii) of this
subsection does not waive an individual's rights described in:

(A) 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to
Rights of Persons Receiving Mental Health Services);

(B) 25 TAC Chapter 405, Subchapter E (relating to
Electroconvulsive Therapy (ECT));

(C) 25TAC Chapter 414, Subchapter I (relating to Con-
sent to Treatment with Psychoactive Medication--Mental Health Ser-
vices); and

(D) 25 TAC Chapter 415, Subchapter F (relating to In-
terventions in Mental Health Services).

(b) Failure to meet admission criteria. If the physician of an
SMHF or facility with a CPB determines that an individual does not
meet admission criteria and that community resources may appropri-
ately serve the individual, the facility contacts the LMHA or LBHA to
discuss the availability and appropriateness of community-based ser-
vices for the individual to receive. The LMHA or LBHA must contact
the individual, the individual's family or any other person providing
support as authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any, no later than
24 hours after the LMHA or LBHA is notified of the failure to meet the
admission criteria.

(¢) Examination.

(1) A physician must conduct an examination on each in-
dividual requesting voluntary admission in accordance with this sub-
section.

(2) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(f)(1)(A), a physician conducts a physical and psychiatric
examination, either in person or through the use of audiovisual or other
telecommunications technology within 72 hours before voluntary
admission or 24 hours after voluntary admission for the following:

(A) an assessment for medical stability; and

(B) a psychiatric examination, and, if indicated, a sub-
stance use assessment.

(3) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(f)(1); the physician may not delegate the examination to a
non-physician.

(d) Meets admission criteria. If, after examination, the physi-
cian determines that the individual meets admission criteria of the
SMHEF or facility with a CPB, the SMHF or facility with a CPB admits
the individual.

(e) Does not meet admission criteria. If, after the examination,
the physician determines that the individual does not meet the admis-
sion criteria of the SMHF or facility with a CPB, the SMHF or the
facility with a CPB contacts the designated LMHA or LBHA to coor-
dinate alternate outpatient community services as clinically indicated.

(f) Capacity to consent.

(1) Ifaphysician determines that an individual whose con-
sent is necessary for a voluntary admission does not have the capacity

to consent to diagnosis, observation, care, and treatment, the SMHF or
the facility with a CPB may not voluntarily admit the individual.

(2) When appropriate, the SMHF or the facility with a
CPB initiates an emergency detention proceeding in accordance with
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 573, or files an application
for court-ordered inpatient mental health services in accordance with
Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 574.

(g) Intake assessment. In accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §572.0025(b), an assessment professional for an SMHF
or facility with a CPB, before voluntary admission of an individual,
conducts an intake assessment for:

(1) obtaining relevant information about the individual, in-
cluding:
(A) psychiatric and medical history;
(B) social history;
(C) symptomology;
(D) support systems;
(E) finances;
(F) third-party coverage or insurance benefits; and
(G) advance directives;
(2) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual's rights
described in 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E;

(3) explaining, orally and in writing, the SMHF's or facility
with a CPB's services and treatment as they relate to the individual;

(4) explaining, orally and in writing, the existence, pur-
pose, telephone number, and address of the protection and advocacy
system established in Texas, pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.008; and

(5) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual trust
fund account, charges for services, and the financial responsibility
form.

(h) Requirements for voluntary admission. An SMHF or fa-
cility with a CPB may voluntarily admit an individual only if:

(1) arequest for admission is made in accordance with sub-
section (a) of this section;

(2) aphysician has:

(A) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(f)(1):

(i) conducted an examination in accordance with
subsection (¢) of this section within 72 hours before the admission or
24 hours after the admission; or

(i) has consulted with a physician who has con-
ducted an examination in accordance with subsection (c) of this section
within 72 hours before the admission or 24 hours after the admission;

(B) determined that the individual meets the admission
criteria of the SMHF or facility with a CPB and that admission is clin-
ically justified; and

(C) issued an order admitting the individual; and

(3) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(f)(2), the administrator or designee of the SMHF or facility
with a CPB has signed a written statement agreeing to admit the
individual.
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(1) Documentation of admission order. In accordance with
Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(f)(1), the order described in
subsection (h)(2)(C) of this section is issued:

(1) in writing and signed by the issuing physician; or

(2) orally or electronically if, within 24 hours after its is-
suance, the SMHF or facility with a CPB has a written order signed by
the issuing physician.

(j) Periodic evaluation. To determine the need for continued
inpatient treatment, a physician or physician's designee must evaluate
and document justification for continued stay for an individual vol-
untarily receiving acute inpatient treatment as often as clinically in-
dicated, but no less than once a week.

$306.176.  Admission Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psy-
chiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for a State Mental
Health Facility for Emergency Detention.

(a) Acceptance for preliminary examination. In accordance
with Texas Health and Safety Code §573.021 and §573.022, an SMHF
or facility with a CPB accepts for a preliminary examination:

(1) an individual, of any age, who has been apprehended
and transported to the SMHF or facility with a CPB by a peace officer or
emergency medical services personnel in accordance with Texas Health
and Safety Code §573.001 or §573.012; or

(2) anadult who has been transported to the SMHF or facil-
ity with a CPB by the adult's guardian in accordance with Texas Health
and Safety Code §573.003.

(b) Preliminary examination.

(1) A physician conducts a preliminary examination of an
individual as soon as possible but not more than 12 hours after the indi-
vidual is transported to the SMHF or facility with a CPB for emergency
detention.

(2) The preliminary examination consists of:
(A) an assessment for medical stability; and

(B) a psychiatric examination, including a substance
use assessment if indicated, to determine if the individual meets the
criteria described in subsection (c)(1) of this section.

(c¢) Requirements for emergency detention. The SMHF or fa-
cility with a CPB admits an individual for emergency detention if:

(1) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§573.022(a)(2), a physician determines from the preliminary exami-
nation that:

(A) the individual has a mental illness;

(B) theindividual evidences a substantial risk of serious
harm to himself or others;

(C) the described risk of harm is imminent unless the
individual is immediately detained; and

(D) emergency detention is the least restrictive means
by which the necessary detention may be accomplished;

(2) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§573.022(a)(3), a physician makes a written statement documenting
the determination described in paragraph (1) of this subsection and
describing:

(A) the nature of the individual's mental illness;

(B) the risk of harm the individual evidences, demon-
strated either by the individual's behavior or by evidence of severe emo-

tional distress and deterioration in the individual's mental condition to
the extent that the individual cannot remain at liberty; and

(C) the detailed information on which the physician
based the determination;

(3) the physician issues and signs a written order admitting
the individual for emergency detention; and

(4) theindividual meets the admission criteria of the SMHF
or facility with a CPB.

(d) Release.

(1) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB releases the individ-
ual accepted for a preliminary examination if:

(A) apreliminary examination of the individual has not
been conducted within 12 hours after the individual is apprehended
and transported to the facility by the peace officer or transported for
emergency detention; or

(B) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§573.023(a), the individual is not admitted for emergency detention on
completion of the preliminary examination.

(2) If the SMHEF or facility with a CPB does not admit the
individual on an emergency detention, the facility contacts the desig-
nated LMHA or LBHA to coordinate alternate outpatient community
services. The designated LMHA or LBHA must contact the individual
within 24 hours of being notified that the individual does not meet in-
patient admission criteria to coordinate alternate outpatient community
services.

(3) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.007(a), if an individual who is an adult is not admitted on emer-
gency detention, the SMHF or facility with a CPB makes a reasonable
effort to notify the individual's family, or any other person providing
support as authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any, before he or
she is released.

(e) Intake assessment. An assessment professional for an
SMHEF or facility with a CPB conducts an intake assessment as soon
as possible, but not later than 24 hours after an individual is admitted
for emergency detention. The intake assessment includes:

(1) obtaining relevant information about the individual, in-
cluding:

(A) psychiatric and medical history;

(B) social history;

(C) symptomology;

(D) support systems;

(E) finances;

(F) third-party coverage or insurance benefits; and
(G) advance directives;

(2) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual's rights
described in 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to Rights of
Persons Receiving Mental Health Services);

(3) explaining, orally and in writing, the SMHF's or facility
with a CPB's services and treatment as they relate to the individual;

(4) explaining, orally and in writing, the existence, pur-
pose, telephone number, and address of the protection and advocacy
system established in Texas, pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.008; and
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(5) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual trust
fund account, charges for services, and the financial responsibility
form.

§306.177.  Admission Criteria Under Order of Protective Custody or
Court-ordered Inpatient Mental Health Services.

(a) An SMHF or facility with a CPB admits an individual:

(1) under a protective custody order only if a court has is-
sued a protective custody order in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §574.022; or

(2) for court-ordered inpatient mental health services only
if a court has issued:

(A) an order for temporary inpatient mental health
services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.034, or Texas Family Code Chapter 55;

(B) an order for extended inpatient mental health
services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.035, or Texas Family Code Chapter 55;

(C) an order for commitment issued in accordance with
the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46B; or

(D) an order for commitment issued in accordance with
the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46C.

(b) If an SMHEF or facility with a CPB admits an individual
in accordance with subsection (a) of this section, a physician, PA, or
APRN issues and signs a written order admitting the individual. Ad-
mission of an individual in accordance with subsection (a) of this sec-
tion is not a medical act and does not require the use of independent
medical judgment or treatment by the physician, PA, or APRN issuing
and signing the written order.

(¢) An SMHEF or a facility with a CPB conducts an intake as-
sessment as soon as possible, but not later than 24 hours after the in-
dividual is admitted under a protective custody order or court-ordered
inpatient mental health services. The intake assessment includes:

(1) obtaining relevant information about the individual, in-
cluding:

(A) psychiatric and medical history;

(B) social history;

(C) symptomology;

(D) support systems;

(E) finances;

(F) third-party coverage or insurance benefits; and
(G) advance directives; and

(2) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual's rights
described in 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to Rights of
Persons Receiving Mental Health Services);

(3) explaining, orally and in writing, the SMHEF's or facility
with a CPB's services and treatment as they relate to the individual; and

(4) explaining, orally and in writing, the existence, pur-
pose, telephone number, and address of the protection and advocacy
system established in Texas, pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code

§576.008.
$306.178.  Voluntary Treatment Following Involuntary Admission.

An SMHEF or a facility with a CPB continues to provide inpatient ser-
vices to an individual involuntarily receiving treatment after the indi-

vidual is eligible for discharge as described in §306.204 of this sub-
chapter (relating to Discharge of an Individual Involuntarily Receiving
Treatment), if, after consultation with the designated LMHA or LBHA:

(1) the SMHEF or facility with a CPB obtains written con-
sent for voluntary inpatient services that meets the requirements of a
request for voluntary admission, as described in §306.175(a) of this
subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a Facility with
a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for
a State Mental Health Facility); and

(2) the individual's treating physician:
(A) examines the individual; and

(B) Dbased on the examination in subparagraph (A) of
this paragraph, issues an order for voluntary inpatient services that
meets the requirements of §306.175(i) of this subchapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001724

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. TRANSFERS AND CHANGING
LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITIES OR
LOCAL BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AUTHORITIES
26 TAC §§306.191 - 306.195

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision of
community-based mental health services and §534.058 autho-
rizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of care
for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The new sections implement Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 and
§534.058.

§306.191.  Transfers Between State Mental Health Facilities.

(a) The individual, the individual's LAR, any other person
authorized by the individual, SMHF staff, the designated LMHA or
LBHA, or another interested person may initiate a request to transfer
an individual from one SMHF to another SMHF.

(b) A transfer between SMHFs may occur when deemed ad-
visable by the administrator of the transferring SMHF with the agree-
ment of the administrator of the receiving SMHF based on:

(1) the condition and desires of the individual,

(2) geographic residence of the individual;
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(3) program and bed availability; and

(4) geographical proximity to the individual's family and
any other person authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any.

(¢) An individual voluntarily receiving treatment may not be
transferred without the consent of the individual or LAR who made the
request for voluntary admission in accordance with §306.175(a)(1) of
this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a Facility
with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA
or for a State Mental Health Facility).

(d) Ifan SMHF transfers an individual receiving court-ordered
inpatient mental health services from one SMHF to another SMHF, the
transferring SMHF notifies the committing court of the transfer.

(e) If a prosecuting attorney has notified the SMHF adminis-
trator that an individual has criminal charges pending, the administrator
notifies the judge of the court before which charges are pending if the
individual transfers to another SMHF.

(f) 25 TAC Chapter 415, Subchapter G (relating to Determina-
tion of Manifest Dangerousness) or HHSC state hospital policies gov-
ern transfer of an individual between an SMHF and a maximum-secu-
rity unit or adolescent forensic unit.

$306.194.  Transfers Between a State Mental Health Facility and An-
other Facility in Texas.

(a) Texas Health and Safety Code §575.011, §575.014, and
§575.017 govern transfer of an individual between an SMHF and a
psychiatric hospital. An SMHF must not transfer an individual vol-
untarily receiving treatment without the consent of the individual or
LAR who made the request for voluntary admission in accordance with
§306.175(a)(1) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Cri-
teria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an
LMHA or LBHA or for a State Mental Health Facility).

(b) Texas Health and Safety Code §575.015 and §575.017
govern transfer of an individual from an SMHF to a federal correc-
tional facility. The transferring SMHF notifies the designated LMHA
or LBHA of the transfer.

(c) Texas Health and Safety Code §575.016 and §575.017 gov-
ern transfer of an individual from a facility of the institutional division
of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice to an SMHF.

$306.195.  Changing Local Mental Health Authorities or Local Be-
havioral Health Authorities.

(a) Requirements related to an individual currently receiving
LMHA or LBHA services who intends to move his or her permanent
residence to a county within the local service area of another LMHA
or LBHA and seek services from the new LMHA or LBHA.

(1) The originating LMHA or LBHA must:

(A) initiate transition planning with the receiving
LMHA or LBHA;

(B) educate the individual on the provisions of this sub-
chapter regarding the individual's transfer, consisting of:

(i) information regarding walk-in intake services, if
applicable, where no appointment is scheduled for the individual's ini-
tial intake to determine eligibility;

(ii) the individual's rights as eligible for services;
and

(iii)  the receiving LMHA or LBHA is notified of the
individual's intent to move the individual's permanent residence;

(C) assist in facilitating and scheduling the intake ap-
pointment at the new LMHA or LBHA once the relocation has been
confirmed;

(D) submit to the receiving LMHA or LBHA treatment
information pertinent to the individual's continuity of care with sub-
mission after the individual's transfer request;

(E) ensure the individual has sufficient medication for
up to 90 days or to last until the medication management appointment
date at the receiving LMHA or LBHA;

(F) maintain the individual's case in open status in the
applicable HHSC automation system for 90 days or until notified that
the individual has been admitted to services at the receiving LMHA or
LBHA, whichever occurs first;

(G) conduct an intake assessment in accordance with
§301.353(a) of this title (relating to Provider Responsibilities for Treat-
ment Planning and Service Authorization) and determine whether the
LMHA or LBHA has the capacity to serve the individual immediately
or place the individual on a waiting list for services; and

(H) authorize an initial 180 days of services for an adult
and 90 days for a child or an adolescent for transitioning and ongoing
care, including the provision of medications, if the individual is eligible
and not on the waiting list.

(2) Ifthe individual seeks services from the new LMHA or
LBHA without prior knowledge of the originating LMHA or LBHA:

(A) the receiving LMHA or LBHA must:

(i) initiate transition planning with the originating
LMHA or LBHA;

(i) promptly request records pertinent to the indi-
vidual's treatment, with the individual's consent, if applicable;

(iii) conduct an intake assessment in accordance
with §301.353(a) of this title and determine whether the individual
should receive services immediately or be placed on a waiting list for
services; and

(iv) if the individual is eligible and the individual is
not on the waitlist, authorize an initial 180 days of services for an adult
and 90 days for a child or an adolescent for transitioning and ongoing
care, including the provision of medications; and

(B) the originating LMHA or LBHA must:

(i) submit requested information to the new LMHA
or LBHA within seven days after the request; and

(i) maintain the individual's case in open status in
the applicable HHSC automation system for 90 days or until notified
that the individual has been admitted to services at the new LMHA or
LBHA, whichever occurs first.

(3) If the new LMHA or LBHA denies services to the in-
dividual during the transition period, or reduces or terminates services
at the conclusion of the authorized period, the new LMHA or LBHA
must notify the individual or LAR in writing within ten business days
of the proposed action and the right to appeal the proposed action in
accordance with §306.154 of this subchapter (relating to Notification
and Appeals Process for Local Mental Health Authority or Local Be-
havioral Health Authority Services).

(b) Requirements related to an individual receiving inpatient
services at an SMHF or facility with a CPB. If an individual at an
SMHF or facility with a CPB informs the SMHF or facility with a CPB
that the individual intends to move the individual's permanent residence
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to a county within the local service area of another LMHA or LBHA
and seek services from the new LMHA or LBHA:

(1) the SMHF or facility with a CPB notifies the following
of the individual's intent to move the individual's permanent residence
upon discharge:

(A) the originating LMHA or LBHA, if the individual
was receiving LMHA or LBHA services from the originating LMHA
or LBHA before admission to the SMHF or facility with a CPB; and

(B) the new LMHA or LBHA;

(2) the following participate in the individual's discharge
planning in accordance with §306.201 of this subchapter (relating to
Discharge Planning):

(A) the SMHF or facility with a CPB;
(B) the new LMHA or LBHA; and

(C) the originating LMHA or LBHA, if the individual
was receiving LMHA or LBHA services from the originating LMHA
or LBHA before admission to the SMHF or facility with a CPB; and

(3) if the individual was receiving LMHA or LBHA ser-
vices from the originating LMHA or LBHA before admission to the
SMHF or facility with a CPB, the originating LMHA or LBHA main-
tains the individual's case in open status in the applicable HHSC au-
tomation system for 90 days or until notified that the individual is ad-
mitted to services at the new LMHA or LBHA, whichever occurs first.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001725

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. DISCHARGE AND ABSENCES
FROM A STATE MENTAL HEALTH FACILITY
OR FACILITY WITH A CONTRACTED
PSYCHIATRIC BED

26 TAC §§306.201 - 306.207

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision of
community-based mental health services and §534.058 autho-
rizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of care
for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The new sections implement Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 and
§534.058.

§306.201. Discharge Planning.

(a) At the time of an individual's admission to an SMHF or
facility with a CPB, the designated LMHA or LBHA, if any, and the
SMHF or facility with a CPB begins discharge planning for the indi-
vidual.

(b) The designated LMHA or LBHA continuity of care worker
or other designated staff; the designated LIDDA continuity of care
worker, if applicable; the individual; the individual's LAR, if any; and
any other person authorized by the individual coordinates discharge
planning with the SMHF or facility with a CPB.

(1) Except for the SMHF or facility with a CPB treatment
team and the individual, involvement in discharge planning may be
through teleconference or video-conference calls.

(2) The SMHEF or the facility with a CPB must provide a
minimum of 24-hour notification before scheduled staffings and re-
views to persons involved in discharge planning.

(3) The LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA, if applicable, and the
SMHEF or facility with a CPB involved in discharge planning must co-
ordinate all discharge planning activities and ensure the development
and completion of the discharge plan before the individual's discharge.

(c) Discharge planning must consist of the following activi-
ties:

(1) Considering all pertinent information about the individ-
ual's clinical needs, the SMHF or facility with a CPB must identify and
recommend specific clinical services and supports needed by the indi-
vidual after discharge or while on ATP.

(2) The LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA, if applicable, must
identify and recommend specific non-clinical services and supports
needed by the individual after discharge, including housing, food, and
clothing resources.

(3) Ifanindividual needs a living arrangement, the LMHA
or LBHA continuity of care worker must identify a setting consistent
with the individual's clinical needs and preference that is available and
has accessible services and supports as agreed upon by the individual
or the individual's LAR.

(4) The LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA, if applicable must
identify potential providers and resources for the services and supports
recommended.

(5) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB must counsel the in-
dividual and the individual's LAR, if any, to prepare them for care after
discharge or while on ATP.

(6) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB must provide the in-
dividual and the individual's LAR, if any, with written notification of
the existence, purpose, telephone number, and address of the protection
and advocacy system established in Texas, pursuant to Texas Health
and Safety Code §576.008.

(7) The LMHA or LBHA must comply with the Preadmis-
sion Screening and Resident Review processes as described in Chapter
303 of this title (relating to Preadmission Screening and Resident Re-
view (PASRR)) for an individual recommended to move to a nursing
facility.

(d) Before an individual's discharge:

(1) The individual's treatment team must develop a dis-
charge plan to include the individual's stated wishes. The discharge
plan must consist of:
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(A) adescription of the individual's living arrangement
after discharge, or while on ATP, that reflects the individual's prefer-
ences, choices, and available community resources;

(B) arrangements and referrals for the available and ac-
cessible services and supports agreed upon by the individual or LAR
recommended in the individual's discharge plan;

(C) a written description of recommended clinical and
non-clinical services and supports the individual may receive after dis-
charge or while on ATP. The SMHF or facility with a CPB documents
arrangements and referrals for the services and supports recommended
upon discharge or ATP in the discharge plan;

(D) adescription of problems identified at discharge or
ATP, including any issues that may disrupt the individual's stability in
the community;

(E) the individual's goals, strengths, interventions, and
objectives as stated in the individual's discharge plan in the SMHF or
facility with a CPB;

(F) comments or additional information;

(G) afinal diagnosis based on the current edition of the
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) pub-
lished by the American Psychiatric Association;

(H) the names, contact information, and addresses of
providers to whom the individual will be referred for any services or
supports after discharge or while on ATP; and

(I) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.081(c), a description of:

(i) the types and amount of medication the individ-
ual needs after discharge or while on ATP until the individual is evalu-
ated by a physician; and

(ii) the person or entity responsible for providing
and paying for the medication.

(2) The SMHF or facility with a CPB must request that the
individual or LAR, as appropriate, sign the discharge plan, and doc-
ument in the discharge plan whether the individual or LAR agree or
disagree with the plan.

(3) If the individual or LAR refuses to sign the discharge
plan described in paragraph (2) of this subsection, the SMHF or facil-
ity with a CPB documents in the individual's record if the individual or
LAR agrees to the plan or not, reasons stated, and any other circum-
stances of the refusal.

(4) If applicable, the individual's treating physician must
document in the individual's record reasons why the individual does not
require continuing care or a discharge plan in accordance with Texas
Health and Safety Code §574.081(g).

(5) If the LMHA or LBHA disagrees with the SMHF or
facility with a CPB treatment team's decision concerning discharge:

(A) the treating physician of the SMHF or facility with
a CPB consults with the LMHA or LBHA physician or designee to
resolve the disagreement within 24 hours;

(B) and if the disagreement continues unresolved:

(i) the medical director or designee of the SMHF or
facility with a CPB consults with the LMHA or LBHA medical direc-
tor; and

(ii) if the disagreement continues unresolved after
consulting with the LMHA or LBHA medical director:

(I) the medical director or designee of the SMHF
or facility with a CPB refers the issue to the State Hospital System Chief
Medical Officer; and

(1)  the State Hospital System Chief Medical Of-
ficer collaborates with the Medical Director of the Behavioral Health
Section to render a final decision within 24 hours of notification.

(e) Discharge notice to family or LAR.

(1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.007, before discharging an individual who is an adult, the SMHF
or facility with a CPB makes a reasonable effort to notify the indi-
vidual's family or any other person providing support as authorized
by the individual or LAR, if any, of the discharge if the adult grants
permission for the notification.

(2) Before discharging an individual at least 16 years of
age or younger than 18 years of age, the SMHF or facility with a CPB
makes a reasonable effort to notify the individual's family as authorized
by the individual or LAR, if any, of the discharge if the individual grants
permission for the notification.

(3) Before discharging an individual younger than 16 years
of age, the SMHF or facility with a CPB notifies the individual's LAR
of the discharge.

(f) Release of minors. Upon discharge, the SMHF or facility
with a CPB may release a minor younger than 16 years of age only to
the minor's LAR or the LAR's designee.

(1) If the LAR or the LAR's designee is unwilling to re-
trieve the minor from the SMHF or facility with a CPB and the LAR
is not a state agency:

(A) the SMHF or facility with a CPB:

(i) notifies the Department of Family and Protective
Services (DFPS), so DFPS can take custody of the minor from the
SMHEF or facility with a CPB;

(ii) refers the matter to the local CRCG to schedule
a meeting with representatives from the required agencies described
in subsection (f)(2)(A) of this section, the LAR, and minor to explore
resources and make recommendations; and

(iii)  documents the CRCG referral in the discharge
plan; and

(B) the medical directors or their designees of the
SMHF or facility with a CPB; designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA;
and DFPS meet to develop and solidify the discharge recommenda-
tions.

(2) Ifthe LAR is a state agency unwilling to assume phys-
ical custody of the minor from the SMHF or facility with a CPB, the
SMHF or the facility with a CPB:

(A) refers the matter to the local CRCG to schedule a
meeting with representatives from the member agencies, in accordance
with 40 TAC Chapter 702, Subchapter E (relating to Memorandum
of Understanding with Other State Agencies) the LAR, and minor to
explore resources and make recommendations; and

(B) documents the CRCG referral in the discharge plan.

(g) Notice to the designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA. At
least 24 hours before an individual's planned discharge or ATP, and no
later than 24 hours after an unexpected discharge, an SMHF or facility
with a CPB notifies the designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA of the
anticipated or unexpected discharge and conveys the following infor-
mation about the individual:
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(1) identifying information, including address;

(2) legal status (e.g., regarding guardianship, charges pend-
ing, or custody if the individual is a minor);

(3) the day and time the individual will be discharged or on

an ATP;

(4) the individual's destination after discharge or ATP;

(5) pertinent medical information;

(6) current medications;

(7) behavioral data, including information regarding
COPSD; and

(8) other pertinent treatment information, including the
discharge plan.

(h) Discharge packet.
(1) Ataminimum, a discharge packet must include:
(A) the discharge plan;
(B) referral instructions, including:
(i) SMHEF or facility with a CPB contact person;

(i) name of the designated LMHA, LBHA, or
LIDDA continuity of care worker;

(iii) names of community resources and providers to
whom the individual is referred, including contacts, appointment dates
and times, addresses, and phone numbers;

(iv)  a description of to whom or where the individ-
ual is released upon discharge, including the individual's intended res-
idence (address and phone number);

(v) instructions for the individual, LAR, and primary
care giver as applicable;

(vi) medication regimen and prescriptions, as appli-
cable; and

(vii)  dated signature of the individual or LAR and a
member of the SMHF or facility with a CPB treatment team;

(C) copies of all available, pertinent, current sum-
maries, and assessments; and

(D) the treating physician's orders.

(2) Atdischarge or ATP, the SMHF or facility with a CPB
provides a copy of the discharge packet to the individual. Individuals
may request additional records. If the requested records are reason-
ably likely to endanger the individual's life or physical safety, these
records can be withheld. Documentation of the determination to with-
hold records is required in the individual's medical record.

(3) Within 24 hours after discharge or ATP, the SMHF or
facility with a CPB sends a copy of the discharge packet to:

(A) the designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA; and

(B) the providers to whom the individual is referred, in-
cluding:

(i) an LMHA or LBHA network provider, if the
LMHA or LBHA is responsible for ensuring the individual's services
after discharge or while on an ATP;

(ii) an alternate provider, if the individual requested
referral to an alternate provider; and

(iii)  a county jail, if the individual will be taken to
the county jail upon discharge.

(1) Unexpected Discharge.

(1) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB and the designated
LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA must make reasonable efforts to provide
discharge planning for an individual discharged unexpectedly.

(2) If there is an unexpected discharge, the facility social
worker or a staff with an equivalent credential to a social worker must
document the reason for not completing discharge planning activities
in the individual's record.

(j) Transportation. An SMHF or facility with a CPB must:

(1) initiate and secure transportation in collaboration with
an LMHA or LBHA to a planned location after an individual's dis-
charge; and

(2) inform a designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA of an
individual's transportation needs after discharge or an ATP.

(k) Discharge summary.

(1) Within ten days after an individual's discharge, the in-
dividual's physician of the SMHF or facility with a CPB completes a
written discharge summary for the individual.

(2) Within 21 days after an individual's discharge from a
LMHA or LBHA the LMHA or LBHA must complete a written dis-
charge summary for the individual.

(3) Written discharge summary includes:

(A) adescription of the individual's treatment and their
response to that treatment;

(B) a description of the level of care for services re-
ceived;

(C) adescription of the individual's level of functioning
at discharge;

(D) adescription of the individual's living arrangement
after discharge;

(E) a description of the community services and sup-
ports the individual will receive after discharge;

(F) afinal diagnosis based on the current edition of the
DSM; and

(G) adescription of the amount of medication available
to the individual, if applicable.

(4) The discharge summary must be sent to the individual's:

(A) designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA, as applica-
ble; and

(B) providers to whom the individual was referred.

(5) Documentation of refusal. If the individual, the indi-
vidual's LAR, or the individual's caregivers refuse to participate in the
discharge planning, the circumstances of the refusal must be docu-
mented in the individual's record.

(1) Care after discharge. An individual discharged from an
SMHF or facility with a CPB is eligible for:

(1) community transitional services for 90 days if referred
to an LMHA or LBHA; or

(2) ongoing services.

$§306.202.  Special Considerations for Discharge Planning.

45 TexReg 3318 May 15, 2020 Texas Register



(a) Three Admissions Within 180 Days. An individual admit-
ted to an SMHF or a facility with a CPB three times within 180 days
is considered at risk for future admission to inpatient services. To pre-
vent the unnecessary admissions to an inpatient facility, the designated
LMHA or LBHA must:

(1) during discharge planning, review the individual's pre-
vious recovery or treatment plans to determine the effectiveness of the
clinical services received;

(2) include in the recovery or treatment plan:

(A) non-clinical supports, such as those provided by a
peer specialist or recovery coach, identified to support the individual's
ongoing recovery; and

(B) recommendations for services and interventions
from the individual's current or previous care plan(s) that support the
individual's strengths and goals and prevent unnecessary admission to
an SMHF or facility with a CPB;

(3) determine the availability and level of care "type,
amount, scope and duration" of clinical and non-clinical supports,
such as those provided by a peer specialist or recovery coach, that
promote ongoing recovery and prevent unnecessary admission to an
SMHF or facility with a CPB; and

(4) consider appropriateness of the individual's continued
stay in the SMHF or facility with a CPB.

(b) Nursing Facility Referral or Admission.

(1) Inaccordance with 42 CFR Part 483, Subpart C, and as
described in 40 TAC Chapter 19, Subchapter BB (relating to Nursing
Facility Responsibilities Related to Preadmission Screening and Res-
ident Review (PASRR)), a nursing facility must coordinate with the
referring entity to ensure the referring entity screens the individual for
admission to the nursing facility before the nursing facility admits the
individual.

(2) Asthereferring entity, the SMHF or facility with a CPB
must complete a PASRR Level I Screening and forward the completed
form in accordance with §303.301 of this title (relating to Referring
Entity Responsibilities Related to the PASRR Process).

(3) The LMHA or LBHA must conduct a PASRR Level II
Evaluation in accordance with Chapter 303 of this title.

(4) Ifanursing facility admits an individual on an ATP, the
designated LMHA or LBHA must conduct and document, including
justification for its recommendations, the activities described in para-
graphs (5) and (6) of this subsection.

(5) The designated LMHA or LBHA must make at least
one face-to-face contact with the individual at the nursing facility on
an ATP. The contact must consist of:

(A) a review of the individual's record at the nursing
facility; and

(B) discussions with the individual and LAR, if any, the
nursing facility staff, and other staff who provide care to the individual
regarding:

(i) the individual's needs and the care the individual
is receiving;

(it)  the ability of the nursing facility to provide the
appropriate care;

(iii) the provision of mental health services, if
needed by the individual; and

(iv)  the individual's adjustment to the nursing facil-

ity.
(6) Before the end of the initial ATP period described in
§306.206(b)(2) of this subchapter (relating to Absence for Trial Place-

ment), the designated LMHA or LBHA must recommend to the SMHF
or facility with a CPB one of the following:

(A) discharging the individual if the LMHA or LBHA
determines that:

(i) the nursing facility is capable and willing to pro-
vide appropriate care to the individual after discharge;

(i) any mental health services needed by the indi-
vidual are being provided to the individual while residing in the nurs-
ing facility; and

(iii)  the individual and LAR, if any, agrees to the
nursing facility admission;

(B) extending the individual's ATP period in accor-
dance with §306.206(b)(3) of this subchapter;

(C) returning the individual to the SMHF or facility
with a CPB in accordance with §306.205 of this subchapter (relating
to Pass or Furlough from a State Mental Health Facility or a Facility
with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed); or

(D) initiating involuntary admission to the SMHF or fa-
cility with a CPB in accordance with §306.176 (relating to Admission
Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by
an LMHA or LBHA or for a State Mental Health Facility for Emer-
gency Detention) and §306.177 (relating to Admission Criteria Under
Order of Protective Custody or Court-ordered Inpatient Mental Health
Services) of this subchapter.

(c) Assisted Living.

(1) An SMHEF, facility with a CPB, LMHA, or LBHA may
not refer an individual to an assisted living facility that is not licensed
under the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 247.

(2) As required by Texas Health and Safety Code
§247.063(b), if an SMHEF, facility with a CPB, LMHA, or LBHA
gains knowledge of an assisted living facility not operated or licensed
by the state, the SMHEF, facility with a CPB, LMHA, or LBHA reports
the name, address, and telephone number of the facility to HHSC
Complaint and Incident Intake at 1-800-458-9858.

(d) Minors.

(1) To the extent permitted by medical privacy laws, the
SMHEF or facility with a CPB and designated LMHA or LBHA must
make a reasonable effort to involve a minor's LAR or the LAR's de-
signee in the treatment and discharge planning process.

(2) A minor committed to or placed in an SMHF or facility
with a CPB under Texas Family Code, Chapter 55, Subchapter C or D,
shall be discharged in accordance with the Texas Family Code, Chapter
55, Subchapter C or D as applicable.

(¢) An individual suspected of having an ID. If an SMHF or
facility with a CPB suspects an individual has an ID, the SMHF or facil-
ity with a CPB must notify the designated LMHA or LBHA continuity
of care worker and the designated LIDDA to:

(1) assign a LIDDA continuity of care worker to the indi-
vidual; and

(2) conduct an assessment in accordance with 40 TAC
Chapter 5, Subchapter D (relating to Diagnostic Assessment).
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() Criminal Code.

(1) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46B: In-
competency to stand trial.

(A) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB must discharge an
individual committed under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article
46B.102 (relating to Civil Commitment Hearing: Mental Illness), in
accordance with Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 46B.107
(relating to Release of Defendant after Civil Commitment).

(B) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB must discharge an
individual committed under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article
46B.073 (relating to Commitment for Restoration to Competency), in
accordance with Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 46B.083
(relating to Supporting Commitment Information Provided by Facility
or Program).

(C) For an individual committed under Texas Code of
Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46B, discharged and returned to the com-
mitting court, the SMHF or facility with a CPB, within 24 hours after
discharge, must notify the following of the discharge:

(i) theindividual's designated LMHA or LBHA; and
(ii) the TCOOMMI.

(2) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46C: In-
sanity defense. An SMHEF or facility with a CPB must discharge an
individual acquitted by reason of insanity and committed to an SMHF
or facility with a CPB under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chap-
ter 46C, only upon order of the committing court in accordance with
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 46C.268.

(g) Offenders with special needs following discharge from an
SMHEF or facility with a CPB. The LMHA or LBHA must comply with
the requirements as defined by the LMHA's and LBHA's TCOOMMI
contract for offenders with special needs.

(1) An LMHA or LBHA that receives a referral for an of-
fender with special needs in the MH priority population from a county
or city jail at least 24 hours before the individual's release must com-
plete one of the following actions:

(A) if the offender with special needs is currently re-
ceiving LMHA or LBHA services, the LMHA or LMHA:

(i) notifies the offender with special needs of the
county or city jail's referral;

(ii) arranges a face-to-face contact between the of-
fender with special needs and a QMHP-CS to occur within 15 days
after the individual's release; and

(iii)  ensures that the QMHP-CS, at the face-to-face
contact, re-assesses the individual and arranges for appropriate ser-
vices, including transportation needs at the time of release.

(B) if the individual is not currently receiving LMHA
or LBHA services from the LMHA or LBHA that is notified of the
referral, the LMHA or LMHA:

(i) ensures that at the face-to-face contact required in
subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, the QMHP-CS conducts a pre-ad-
mission assessment in accordance with §301.353(a) of this title (relat-
ing to Provider Responsibilities for Treatment Planning and Service
Authorization); and

(i) complies with §306.161(b) of this subchapter
(relating to Screening and Assessment), as appropriate; or

(C) ifthe LMHA or LBHA does not conduct a face-to-
face contact with the individual, the LMHA or LMHA must document
the reasons for not doing so in the individual's record.

(2) Ifan LMHA or LBHA is notified of the anticipated re-
lease from prison or a state jail of an offender with special needs in
the MH priority population who is currently taking psychoactive med-
ication(s) for a mental illness and who will be released with a 30-day
supply of the psychoactive medication(s), the LMHA or LBHA must
arrange a face-to-face contact between the individual and QMHP-CS
within 15 days after the individual's release.

(A) If the offender with special needs is released from
state prison or state jail after hours or the LMHA or LBHA is otherwise
unable to schedule the face-to-face contact before the individual's re-
lease, the LMHA or LBHA makes a good faith effort to locate and con-
tact the individual. If the designated LMHA or LBHA does not have a
face-to-face contact with the individual within 15 days, the LMHA or
LBHA must document the reasons for not doing so in the individual's
record.

(B) At the face-to-face contact:

(i) the QMHP-CS with appropriate supervision and
training must perform an assessment in accordance with §301.353(a)
of this title and comply with §306.161(b) and (c) of this subchapter, as
appropriate; and

(i) if the LMHA or LBHA determines that the
offender with special needs should receive services immediately,
the LMHA or LBHA must arrange for the individual to meet with a
physician or designee authorized by state law to prescribe medication
before the individual requires a refill of the prescription.

(C) Ifthe LMHA or LBHA does not conduct a face-to-
face contact with the offender with special needs, the LMHA or LBHA
must document the reasons for not doing so in the individual's record.

(3) If the offender with special needs is on parole or pro-
bation, the SMHF or facility with a CPB must notify a representative
of TCOOMMI before the discharge of the individual known to be on
parole or probation.

$306.203.  Discharge of an Individual Voluntarily Receiving Treat-
ment.

(a) An SMHF or facility with a CPB must discharge an indi-
vidual voluntarily receiving treatment if the administrator or designee
of the SMHF or facility with a CPB concludes that the individual can
no longer benefit from inpatient services based on the physician's de-
termination, as delineated in Division 5 of this subchapter (relating to
Discharge and Absences from a State Mental Health Facility or Facil-
ity with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed).

(b) If a written request for discharge is made by an individual
voluntarily receiving treatment or the individual's LAR:

(1) the SMHF or facility with a CPB must discharge the
individual in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004;
and

(2) the individual or individual's LAR signs, dates, and
documents the time on the discharge request.

(¢) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004, if an individual informs a staff member of an SMHF or
facility with a CPB of the individual's desire to leave the SMHF or
facility with a CPB, the SMHF or facility with a CPB must:

(1) assoon as possible, assist the individual in creating the
written request and obtaining the necessary signature; and
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(2) within four hours after a written request is made known
to the SMHF or facility with a CPB, notify:

(A) the treating physician; or

(B) another physician who is an SMHF or facility with
a CPB staff member, if the treating physician is not available during
that time period.

(d) Results of physician notification required by subsection
(c)(3) of this section.

(1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004(c) and (d):

(A) an SMHF or facility with a CPB, based on a physi-
cian's determination, must discharge an individual within the four-hour
time period described in subsection (c)(2) of this section; or

(B) if the physician who is notified in accordance with
subsection (c)(2) of this section has reasonable cause to believe that
the individual may meet the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental
health services or emergency detention, the physician must examine
the individual as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours, after the
request for discharge is made known to the SMHF or facility with a
CPB.

(2) Reasonable cause to believe that the individual may
meet the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental health services or
emergency detention.

(A) If a physician does not examine an individual who
may meet the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental health services
or emergency detention within 24 hours after the request for discharge
is made known to the SMHF or the facility with a CPB, the facility
must discharge the individual.

(B) Ifaphysician, in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §572.004(d), examines the individual as described in para-
graph (1)(B) of this subsection and determines that the individual does
not meet the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental health services
or emergency detention, the SMHF or the facility with a CPB dis-
charges the individual upon completion of the examination.

(C) Ifaphysician, in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §572.004(d), examines the individual as described in para-
graph (1)(B) of this subsection and determines that the individual meets
the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental health services or emer-
gency detention, the SMHF or the facility with a CPB, by 4:00 p.m. on
the next business day:

(i) if the SMHF or facility with a CPB intends to
detain the individual, to file an application and obtain a court order
for further detention of the individual in accordance with Texas Health
and Safety Code §572.004(d), the physician:

(1) files an application for court-ordered inpatient
mental health services or emergency detention and obtains a court order
for further detention of the individual,

(1I) notifies the individual of such intention; and

(11I)  documents in the individual's record the rea-
sons for the decision to detain the individual; or

(ii)  discharges the individual.

() In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004(i), after a written request from a minor individual admitted
under §306.175(a)(1)(B) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary
Admission Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed

Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for a State Mental Health
Facility), the SMHF or facility with a CPB must:

(1) notify the minor's parent, managing conservator, or
guardian of the request and:

(A) if the minor's parent, managing conservator, or
guardian objects to the discharge, the minor continues treatment as a
patient receiving voluntary treatment; or

(B) if the minor's parent, managing conservator, or
guardian does not object to the discharge, the minor individual is
discharged; and

(2) document the request in the minor's record.

(f) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004(f)(1), an SMHF or facility with a CPB is not required to
complete the requirements described in this section if the individual
makes a written statement withdrawing the request for discharge.

§$306.204.  Discharge of an Individual Involuntarily Receiving Treat-
ment.

(a) Discharge from emergency detention.

(1) Except as provided by §306.178 of this subchapter (re-
lating to Voluntary Treatment Following Involuntary Admission) and
in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §573.021(b) and
§573.023(b), an SMHEF or facility with a CPB immediately discharges
an individual under emergency detention if:

(A) the SMHF administrator, administrator of the facil-
ity with a CPB, or designee concludes, based on a physician's deter-
mination, the individual no longer meets the criteria in §306.176(c)(1)
of this subchapter (relating to Admission Criteria for a Facility with a
Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for
a State Mental Health Facility for Emergency Detention); or

(B) except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsec-
tion:

(i) 48 hours has elapsed from the time the individual
was presented to the SMHF or facility with a CPB; and

(i) the SMHF or facility with a CPB has not ob-
tained a court order for further detention of the individual.

(2) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§573.021(b), if the 48-hour period described in paragraph (1)(B)(i) of
this subsection ends on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, or before
4:00 p.m. on the next business day after the individual was presented
to the SMHF or facility with a CPB, the SMHF or facility with a CPB
detains the individual until 4:00 p.m. on such business day.

(b) Discharge under order of protective custody. Except as
provided by §306.178 of this subchapter and in accordance with Texas
Health and Safety Code §574.028, an SMHF or facility with a CPB
immediately discharges an individual under an order of protective cus-
tody if:

(1) the SMHF administrator, facility with a CPB admin-
istrator, or designee determines that, based on a physician's determi-
nation, the individual no longer meets the criteria described in Texas
Health and Safety Code §574.022(a);

(2) the SMHF administrator, facility with a CPB ad-
ministrator, or designee does not receive notice that the individual's
continued detention is authorized after a probable cause hearing held
within the time period prescribed by Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.025(b);
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(3) a final order for court-ordered inpatient mental health
services has not been entered within the time period prescribed by
Texas Health and Safety Code §574.005; or

(4) anorder torelease the individual is issued in accordance
with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.028(a).

(c) Discharge under court-ordered inpatient mental health ser-
vices.

(1) Except as provided by §306.178 of this subchapter
and in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.085 and
§574.086(a), an SMHEF or facility with a CPB immediately discharges
an individual under a temporary or extended order for inpatient mental
health services if:

(A) the order for inpatient mental health services ex-
pires; or

(B) the SMHF administrator, administrator of the facil-
ity with a CPB, or designee concludes that, based on a physician's deter-
mination, the individual no longer meets the criteria for court-ordered
inpatient mental health services.

(2) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.086(b), before discharging an individual in accordance with
paragraph (1) of this subsection, the SMHF administrator, admin-
istrator of the facility with a CPB, or designee considers whether
the individual should receive court-ordered outpatient mental health
services in accordance with a modified order described in Texas Health
and Safety Code §574.061.

(3) Individuals committed under Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure, Chapter 46B or 46C may only be discharged as provided
by §306.202(f) of this division (relating to Special Considerations for
Discharge Planning).

(d) Discharge packet. An SMHF administrator, administrator
of a facility with a CPB, or designee forwards a discharge packet, as
provided in §306.201(h) of this division (relating to Discharge Plan-
ning), of any individual committed under the Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure to the jail and the LMHA or LBHA in conjunction with state
and federal privacy laws.

$306.205.  Pass or Furlough from a State Mental Health Facility or
a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed.

(a) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.082, an SMHF administrator, administrator of a facility with a
CPB, or designee may, in coordination with the designated LMHA or
LBHA, authorize absences for an individual involuntarily admitted
under court order for inpatient mental health services.

(1) If an individual's authorized absence is to exceed 72
hours, the SMHF or facility with a CPB notifies the committing court
of the absence.

(2) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB may not authorize an
absence that exceeds the expiration date of the individual's order for
inpatient mental health services.

(b) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.083, an SMHF or facility with a CPB detains or readmits an
individual if the SMHF administrator, administrator of the facility with
a CPB, or the administrator's designee issues a certificate or affidavit
establishing that the individual is receiving court-ordered inpatient
mental health services and:

(1) the individual is absent without authority from the
SMHF or facility with a CPB;

(2) the individual has violated the conditions of the ab-
sence; or

(3) the individual's condition has deteriorated to the extent
that the individual's continued absence from the SMHF or facility with
a CPB is inappropriate and there is a question of competency or will-
ingness to consent to return, then the designated LMHA or SMHF must
initiate involuntary admission in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code, Chapter 573 or 574.

(¢) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.084, an individual's authorized absence that exceeds 72 hours
may be revoked only after an administrative hearing held in accor-
dance with this subsection.

(1) The SMHF or facility with a CPB conducts a hearing
by a hearing officer who is a mental health professional not directly
involved in treating the individual.

(2) The SMHF or facility with a CPB:

(A) holds an informal hearing within 72 hours after the
individual returns to the facility;

(B) provides the individual and facility staff members
an opportunity to present information supporting their position; and

(C) provides the individual the option to select another
person or staff member to serve as the individual's advocate.

(3) Within 24 hours after the conclusion of the hearing, the
hearing officer:

(A) determines if the individual violated the conditions
of the authorized absence, the authorized absence was justified, or the
individual's condition deteriorated to the extent the individual's contin-
ued absence was inappropriate; and

(B) renders the final decision in writing, including the
basis for the hearing officer's decision.

(4) If'the hearing officer's decision does not revoke the au-
thorized absence, the individual may leave the SMHF or facility with
a CPB pursuant to the conditions of the absence.

(5) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB ensures the individ-
ual's record includes a copy of the hearing officer's report.

(d) Exceptin medical emergencies, only the committing crim-
inal court may grant absences from a SMHF or facility with a CPB for
individuals committed under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chap-
ter 46B or 46C.

§306.206. Absence for Trial Placement.

(a) An individual who is under consideration for discharge as
described in §306.203 of this division (relating to Discharge of an Indi-
vidual Voluntarily Receiving Treatment) or §306.204(c) of this division
(relating to Discharge of an Individual Involuntarily Receiving Treat-
ment), may leave the SMHF or facility with a CPB on ATP if the SMHF
or facility with a CPB and the designated LMHA or LBHA agree that
an ATP will be beneficial in implementing the individual's recovery
or treatment plan. The designated LMHA or LBHA is responsible for
monitoring the individual while on ATP.

(b) Time frames for ATP.

(1) An individual admitted under court-ordered inpatient
mental health services may not be on ATP beyond the expiration date
of the individual's order for inpatient mental health services.

(2) The initial ATP period for any individual may not ex-
ceed 30 days.
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(3) The SMHEF or facility with a CPB may extend an initial
ATP period up to 30 days if:

(A) requested by the designated LMHA or LBHA; and
(B) clinically justified.

(4) Approval by the following persons is required for any
ATP that exceeds 60 days:

(A) the SMHF administrator or designee, or the admin-
istrator of the facility with a CPB or designee; and

(B) the designated LMHA or LBHA executive director
or designee.

(c) Only the committing criminal court may grant ATP from
the SMHF or facility with a CPB for individuals committed under
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46B or 46C.

§306.207.  Post Discharge or Absence for Trial Placement: Contact
and Implementation of the Recovery or Treatment Plan.

The designated LMHA or LBHA is responsible for contacting the in-
dividual following discharge or ATP from an SMHF or a facility with a
CPB and for implementing the individual's recovery or treatment plan
in accordance with this section.

(1) LMHA or LBHA contact after discharge or ATP.

(A) The designated LMHA or LBHA makes face-to-
face contact with an individual within seven days after discharge or
ATP of an individual who is:

(i) discharged or on ATP from an SMHF or facility
with a CPB and referred to the LMHA or LBHA for services or supports
as indicated in the recovery or treatment plan;

(ii) discharged from an LMHA or LBHA-network
provider of inpatient services and referred to the LMHA or LBHA for
services or supports as indicated in the recovery or treatment plan;

(iii)  discharged from an alternate provider of inpa-
tient services and receiving LMHA or LBHA services from the desig-
nated LMHA or LBHA at the time of admission and who, upon dis-
charge, is referred to the LMHA or LBHA for services or supports as
indicated in the recovery or treatment plan;

(iv) discharged from the LMHA's or LBHA's crisis
stabilization unit or any overnight crisis facility and referred to the
LMHA or LBHA for services or supports as indicated in the discharge
plan; or

(v) an offender with special needs discharged from
an SMHF or facility with a CPB returning to jail.

(B) At the face-to-face contact after discharge required
by subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, the designated LMHA or
LBHA:

(i) re-assesses the individual,

(i) ensures the provision of the services and sup-
ports specified in the individual's recovery or treatment plan by making
the services and supports available and accessible as determined by the
individual's level of care; and

(iii)  assists the individual in accessing the services
and supports specified in the individual's recovery or treatment plan.

(C) The designated LMHA or LBHA develops or re-
views an individual's recovery or treatment plan in accordance with
§301.353(e) of this title (relating to Provider Responsibilities for Treat-
ment Planning and Service Authorization) and considers treatment rec-
ommendations in the SMHF or facility with a CPB's discharge plan

within ten business days after the face-to-face contact required by sub-
paragraph (A) of this paragraph.

(D) The designated LMHA or LBHA makes a good
faith effort to locate and contact an individual who fails to appear for
a face-to-face contact required by subparagraph (A) of this paragraph.
If the designated LMHA or LBHA does not have a face-to-face
contact with the individual, the LMHA or LBHA documents the
attempts made and reasons the face-to-face contact did not occur in
the individual's record.

(2) For an individual whose recovery or treatment plan
identifies the designated LMHA or LBHA as responsible for providing
or paying for the individual's psychoactive medications, the designated
LMHA or LBHA is responsible for ensuring:

(A) the provision of psychoactive medications for the
individual; and

(B) the individual has an appointment with a physician
or designee authorized by state law to prescribe medication before the
earlier of the following events:

(i) the individual's supply of psychoactive medica-
tion from the SMHF or facility with a CPB has been depleted; or

(i) the 15th day after the individual is on ATP or
discharged from the SMHF or facility with a CPB.

(3) The designated LMHA or LBHA documents in an in-
dividual's record the LMHA's or LBHA's activities described in this
section, and the individual's responses to those activities.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001726

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. TRAINING

26 TAC §306.221
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new section is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition,
Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision
of community-based mental health services and §534.058
authorizes the Executive Commissioner to develop standards of
care for services provided by LMHAs and their subcontractors.

The new section implements Texas Government Code
§531.0055 and Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 and
§534.058.
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$306.221.  Screening and Intake Assessment Training Requirements
at a State Mental Health Facility and a Facility with a Contracted Psy-
chiatric Bed.

(a) Screening training. As required by Texas Health and
Safety Code §572.0025(e), an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff
member whose responsibilities include conducting a screening de-
scribed in Division 3 of this subchapter (relating to Admission to a
State Mental Health Facility or Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric
Bed--Provider Responsibilities) must receive at least eight hours of
training in the SMHF's or facility with a CPB's screening.

(1) The screening training must provide instruction regard-
ing:
(A) obtaining relevant information about the individual,

including information about finances, third-party coverage or insurance
benefits, and advance directives;

(B) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual's
rights described in 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to
Rights of Persons Receiving Mental Health Services);

(C) explaining, orally and in writing, the SMHF's or fa-
cility with a CPB's services and treatment as they relate to the individ-
ual;

(D) explaining, orally and in writing, the existence, pur-
pose, telephone number, and address of the protection and advocacy
system established in Texas, pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.008; and

(E) determining whether an individual comprehends
the information provided in accordance with subparagraphs (B) - (D)
of this paragraph.

(2) Up to six hours of the following training may count to-
ward the screening training required by this subsection:

(A) 25 TAC §417.515 (relating to Staff Training in
Identifying, Reporting, and Preventing Abuse, Neglect, and Exploita-
tion); and

(B) 25 TAC §404.165 (relating to Staff Training in
Rights of Persons Receiving Mental Health Services).

(b) Intake assessment training. As required by Texas Health
and Safety Code §572.0025(e), if an SMHF or facility with a CPB's in-
ternal policy permits an assessment professional to determine whether
a physician should conduct an examination on an individual requesting
voluntary admission, the assessment professional must receive at least
eight hours of training in conducting an intake assessment pursuant to
this subchapter.

(1) The intake assessment training must provide instruction
regarding assessing and diagnosing in accordance with §301.353 of this
title (relating to Provider Responsibilities for Treatment Planning and
Service Authorization).

(2) An assessment professional must receive intake train-
ing:
(A) Dbefore conducting an intake assessment; and

(B) annually throughout the professional's employment
or association with the SMHF or facility with a CPB.

(¢) Documentation of training. An SMHF or facility with a
CPB must document that each staff member and each assessment pro-
fessional whose responsibilities include conducting the screening or
intake assessment have successfully completed the training described
in subsections (a) and (b) of this section, including:

(1) the date of the training;
(2) the length of the training session; and
(3) the name of the instructor.

(d) Performance in accordance with training. Each staff mem-
ber and each assessment professional whose responsibilities include
conducting the screening or intake assessment must perform the as-
sessments in accordance with the training required by this section.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001727

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 748. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
GENERAL RESIDENTIAL OPERATIONS
SUBCHAPTER D. REPORTS AND RECORD
KEEPING

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts the repeal of §748.301, new §748.301, amendments
to §748.303 and §748.313, and new Division 6, Unauthorized
Absences, consisting of new §§748.451, 748.453, 748.455,
748.457, 748.459, 748.461, and 748.463.

New §§748.301, 748.453, 748.455, 748.461, and 748.463; and
amendments to §748.303 are adopted with changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the December 27, 2019, issue of the
Texas Register (44 TexReg 8200). These rules will be repub-
lished.

The repeal of §748.301; amendments to §748.313; and new
§§748.451, 748.457, and 748.459 are adopted without changes
to the proposed text as published in the December 27, 2019, is-
sue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 8200). These rules will
not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The repeal, amendments, and new sections will address the is-
sue of unauthorized absences of children from General Resi-
dential Operations (GROs) by requiring GROs to take additional
actions when a child leaves the operation without permission
(unauthorized absence). Current rules require GROs to docu-
ment when a child is absent and cannot be located for a speci-
fied timeframe, depending on the age and development level of
the child. The repeal, amendments, and new sections will in-
clude additional requirements, such as: documenting each time
a child has an unauthorized absence, regardless of the length
of time the child is absent; maintaining an annual log of each
unauthorized absence; debriefing the child after each unautho-
rized absence; conducting a triggered review for each child who
has had three unauthorized absences within a 60-day timeframe,
to examine alternatives and create a written plan to reduce the
number of unauthorized absences; and conducting an evalua-
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tion, every six months, of the frequency and patterns of unau-
thorized absences within each GRO.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended January 27, 2020. During
this period, HHSC received comments regarding the proposed
rules from seven commenters, including Upbring, Willow Bend
Center, Texas Alliance for Child and Family Services, Disability
Rights Texas, Texas Appleseed, Devereux Advanced Behavioral
Health Texas, and the Texas Department of Family and Protec-
tive Services (DFPS). Several of the commenters had multiple
comments. A summary of comments relating to the rules and
HHSC's responses follows.

Comment: Four commenters generally supported the intent and
purpose of the rule changes, which further trauma informed prac-
tices for tracking and caring for children who run away from res-
idential care.

Response: HHSC appreciates the support of the rules.

Comment: Two commenters generally commented on the new
review process. Both commenters recommended a more ro-
bust process, which would include an outside review of reoc-
curring unauthorized absences. One of the commenters specif-
ically recommended a review by DFPS specialists; making the
annual summary log available to outside experts, regardless of
whether the Child Care Licensing Department of HHSC (Licens-
ing) requested the log; requiring outside experts to participate in
triggered reviews; requiring a triggered review after two unau-
thorized absences (the commenter did not note a timeframe for
the triggered review to occur) instead of after three unauthorized
absences within a 60-day timeframe; and reporting triggered
reviews to Licensing. The second commenter recommended
that a more robust process include outside reviews to determine
whether the operation has any undetected issues, address un-
met needs or hidden abuse or neglect, and determine how unau-
thorized absences affect the child's service plan.

Response: HHSC disagrees with the comments and declines to
revise the rules, including not revising the proposed requirement
of a triggered review after three unauthorized absences within
60 days. However, HHSC understands that the triggered review
process will be new and may require revisions in the future. The
commenters may not understand the respective roles of Licens-
ing and DFPS. Because Licensing's role is regulatory, Licens-
ing must create a process whereby an operation is responsible
for implementing actions that prevent future unauthorized ab-
sences, regardless of whether the operation cares for children
who are in DFPS conservatorship. Additionally, Licensing does
not regulate DFPS oversight of children in the role of a manag-
ing conservator. Regarding the comment that a DFPS specialist
participate in the review, new §748.459 requires an operation to
notify the parent of a child, which is defined as "a person who
has legal responsibility for or legal custody of a child, includ-
ing the managing conservator or legal guardian," at least two
weeks before the triggered review. In addition to the triggered
review described in these rules, DFPS has a process for a child
in DFPS conservatorship where DFPS staff, the child, and other
supports for the child meet. This meeting allows the child an
opportunity to discuss how DFPS can support the child so unau-
thorized absences do not continue to occur (sometimes called
a Recovery Round Table). With respect to the possibility of out-
side reviews, an operation cannot make an annual summary log
available to outside experts since the logs are confidential be-
cause they contain the names of multiple children. Regarding

reporting triggered reviews to Licensing, the Licensing oversight
of the process will occur through routine monitoring inspections
and investigations and does not require the operation to report
each triggered review to Licensing. DFPS will have an oppor-
tunity to monitor what transpires during a triggered review when
DFPS is invited to attend in its role as the managing conservator
of children.

Comment: Regarding §748.301(3), three commenters wanted
further clarification regarding the definition of an "unauthorized
absence." The concerns whether an operation must report a
child as an unauthorized absence if the child is still on the op-
eration's grounds, but not where the child is authorized to be; if
the child is still within the eyesight of the operation's staff, even if
the child is off of the operation's grounds; or if the staff lose sight
of the child and the child is off the operation's grounds.

Response: HHSC agrees in part and disagrees in part with the
comment. HHSC wrote the definition with some flexibility, be-
cause operations will have to exercise discretion based on the
history of the child. The definition of an "unauthorized absence"
has two parts. First, the child must be absent from the opera-
tion without permission. Second, staff cannot locate the child.
Although an "operation" would include an operation's grounds,
HHSC agrees to clarify that the child must be absent from "the
grounds of" an operation and revises the rule accordingly. It
is already sufficiently clear that staff can locate a child who is
within their eyesight, so this would not be an unauthorized ab-
sence. Although the issue may be more complicated when a
child is not within the eyesight of staff, operations can use their
best judgment based on the totality of the circumstances on a
case-by-case basis to determine if there is an unauthorized ab-
sence. For example, if a teenager is routinely late in returning to
the operation from an extracurricular activity, the operation would
likely take this routine into account when assessing the possibil-
ity of an unauthorized absence. HHSC declines to make any
other revisions to the rule but will add to the Minimum Standards
on the HHSC Provider webpage a Helpful Information box after
the rule to further clarify the issue.

Comment: Regarding §748.303 generally, one commenter
stated that the current reporting structure does not capture all
relevant unauthorized absences, which could be instrumental in
preventing future unauthorized absences. The commenter did
not request any rule changes.

Response: It is true that operations do not currently report all
unauthorized absences to Licensing, which is why HHSC pro-
posed these rule changes. New §748.303(c), and other rule
changes, will now require all operations to document any unau-
thorized absences that are not reported to Licensing, debrief the
child after every unauthorized absence, have triggered reviews
under certain circumstances, and have overall operation evalu-
ations every six months.

Comment: Regarding §748.303(a)(6), one commenter stated
that "being issued a ticket at school by law enforcement or any
other citation that does not result in the child being detained"
should not be excluded from being reported to Licensing and the
child's parent (the definition of a parent also includes the man-
aging conservator of the child, which in many instance is DFPS),
because DFPS and the operation are poised to help improve ser-
vice plans for youth and need to be aware of any involvement
with law enforcement.

Response: HHSC did not propose this paragraph for change and
declines to revise it at this time. However, Licensing will consider
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the comment during the current comprehensive review project
for Chapter 748. This will ensure the public has the opportunity
to comment on any proposed change.

Comment: Regarding §748.303(a)(8) and (9), three com-
menters stated the timeframes for reporting unauthorized
absences of children 6 - 12 years old to law enforcement should
be changed from two hours to immediately, and for children
13 years old and older should be changed from six hours to
immediately, but no later than two hours after the child is not on
the operation's grounds. Two commenters want this absence
reported even if the child is no longer missing.

Response: HHSC did not propose these paragraphs for change
and declines to revise them at this time. However, Licensing
will consider the comments during the current comprehensive
review project for Chapter 748. This will ensure the public has
the opportunity to comment on any proposed changes. Note:
The timeframe for reporting unauthorized absences of children
13 years old and older was changed from 24 hours to six hours,
in 2017.

Comment: Regarding §748.303(d)(1), one commenter stated
that directing operations to report serious incidents of adult resi-
dents to law enforcement "as outlined in the chart above" is am-
biguous because the chart discusses minors.

Response: HHSC did not propose this paragraph for change and
declines to revise it at this time. However, Licensing will consider
the comment during the current comprehensive review project
for Chapter 748. This will ensure the public has the opportunity
to comment on any proposed change.

Comment: Regarding §748.303(d)(2), one commenter stated
that directing operations to report serious incidents of adult res-
idents to the parent is only correct if the parent is the legally au-
thorized representative. If not, and the adult resident is inca-
pable of making decisions about their own care, the case should
be reported to the Probate Court, or other appropriate court, for
resolution.

Response. HHSC did not propose this paragraph for change and
declines to revise it at this time. However, Licensing will consider
the comment during the current comprehensive review project
for Chapter 748. This will ensure the public has the opportunity
to comment on any proposed change.

Comment: Regarding §748.303(e)(5), one commenter stated
that §748.303(e)(5) and §749.503(e)(5) have slight variations in
the wording, which causes the rule to be unclear and vague.

Response: HHSC agrees with the comment and is making the
recommended revisions. Though HHSC did not propose this
paragraph for change, the revisions are editorial and do not
change the meaning of the rule.

Comment: Regarding §748.313(2), one commenter stated the
documentation requirements for a short personal restraint that
results in substantial physical injury should be consistent with the
emergency behavior intervention documentation requirements
in §748.2855.

Response: HHSC did not propose this paragraph for change and
declines to revise it at this time. However, Licensing will consider
the comment during the current comprehensive review project
for Chapter 748. This will ensure the public has the opportunity
to comment on any proposed change.

Comment: Regarding §748.453(a), one commenter wanted to
know if HHSC will provide an outline or spreadsheet with the
requirements of the annual summary log.

Response: HHSC will provide a sample form that includes the
requirements for the annual summary log.

Comment: Regarding §748.453(a)(5), one commenter sug-
gested adding the police report number to the annual summary
log when law enforcement is contacted and adding an intake
report number for unauthorized absences reported to Licensing
or DFPS.

Response: HHSC agrees with the comment and revises the rule
accordingly.

Comment: Regarding §748.455(a), one commenter wondered if
the operation could use a Recovery Round Table held by DFPS
in place of the required debriefing of a child.

Response: No revision to the rule is required. Though a DFPS
Recovery Round Table may be similar to the required debriefing,
the operation cannot use it in place of the debriefing because the
Recovery Round Table does not have to be completed immedi-
ately, the requirements of the round table are not identical to the
requirements of a debriefing, and the round table is not regulated
by Licensing.

Comment:  Regarding §§748.455(a)(2), 748.461(3), and
748.463(b)(1) and (c)(2), one commenter stated the most ef-
fective services that an operation provides are evidence-based,
trauma informed supports that aim to address a child's behav-
ioral symptoms prior to or during placement. The commenter
stated that the strategies that a child can use to avoid future
unauthorized absences, and those used in triggered reviews
and overall evaluations, should be evidence-based and trauma
informed.

Response: HHSC agrees in part and disagrees in part with the
comment. An operation must already integrate trauma informed
practices into the care, treatment, and management of each child
(See §748.1337(a)). Accordingly, HHSC agrees that any strate-
gies or alternatives used to prevent unauthorized absences, and
the environment that supports positive and constructive behavior
of children in care, must be trauma informed. HHSC revises the
rules to make the requisite revisions regarding trauma informed
care. However, determining whether these strategies or alter-
natives are evidence-based would be difficult if not impossible
to verify; therefore, HHSC declines to revise the rules to include
the term "evidence-based."

Comment: Regarding §748.455(a)(4), one commenter sug-
gested an addition to the rule stating that if a child discloses that
abuse or neglect occurred during an unauthorized absence,
then the caregiver or other person conducting the debriefing
should end the debriefing and report the allegation to DFPS.

Response: HHSC appreciates the commenter's sensitivity to the
DFPS responsibility for investigating allegations of abuse and
neglect. Accordingly, HHSC will add a helpful information box
to the Minimum Standards on the HHSC Provider webpage to
clarify that if a child discloses that abuse or neglect may have
occurred during an unauthorized absence, the caregiver or other
person conducting the debriefing must make a report to DFPS
and not ask additional questions regarding the abuse and ne-
glect. However, the caregiver or other person conducting the
debriefing, must complete the remaining requirements of the de-
briefing.
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Comment: Regarding §748.455(b), one commenter was against
all children returning to routine activities after an unauthorized
absence, because doing so would increase the risk of another
unauthorized absence and send the message that there are no
consequences for this high-risk behavior. The commenter sug-
gested allowing for restriction of routine activities, for at least a
few days, without a treatment team decision and up to 30 days
with a treatment team review.

Response: HHSC disagrees with the comment and declines to
revise the rule. Preventing a child from going back to routine ac-
tivities does not meet the current requirement of trauma informed
care. In addition, the rule already provides an exception when
a caregiver determines and documents that a particular routine
activity would be inappropriate because of the child's condition
following an unauthorized absence, or something that occurred
during the unauthorized absence.

Comment: Regarding §748.463, one commenter wanted to
know if HHSC would provide a form for the six-month overall
operation evaluation.

Response: HHSC will not provide a sample form, because an
overall operation evaluation could be very different from one op-
eration to another.

Comment: One commenter stated that the fiscal impact did not
include any impact regarding the provider's and DFPS case
worker's time involved in debriefings (§748.455) and triggered
reviews (§748.459).

Response: HHSC disagrees with the comment and no revisions
to the rule will be made. HHSC assumes that, as a best practice,
all providers and DFPS caseworkers currently debrief a child af-
ter an unauthorized absence. During a workgroup meeting, this
assumption was verified. The new rule (§748.455) does specify
what a debriefing must consist of, but the rule does not contem-
plate that additional time will be required to complete the debrief-
ing. HHSC costed out an operation's case manager's time in the
fiscal impact for triggered reviews (§748.459). This rule also re-
quires participation of the person that is designated to make de-
cisions regarding the child's participation in childhood activities.
This person may or may not be employed by the provider. If
employed by the provider, the costs would be very similar to the
case manager's costs. The participation of DFPS caseworkers
is not mandatory. However, as DFPS is currently focusing re-
sources on issues with unauthorized absences, it is anticipated
that any additional duties can be absorbed within existing re-
sources.

DIVISION 1. REPORTING SERIOUS
INCIDENTS AND OTHER OCCURRENCES

26 TAC §748.301
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and
Human Resources Code (HRC), §42.042, which provides that
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules to carry
out the provisions of HRC, Chapter 42.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001761

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: June 1, 2020

Proposal publication date: December 27, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559
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DIVISION 1. REPORTING SERIOUS
INCIDENTS AND OTHER OCCURRENCES
26 TAC §§748.301, 748.303, 748.313

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments and new section are adopted under Texas
Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and
provision of services by the health and human services agencies,
and Human Resources Code (HRC), §42.042, which provides
that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules to
carry out the provisions of HRC, Chapter 42.

$748.301.
These terms have the following meanings in this subchapter:

What do certain terms mean in this subchapter?

(1) Serious incident--A non-routine occurrence that has or
may have dangerous or significant consequences for the care, supervi-
sion, or treatment of a child. The different types of serious incidents
are noted in §748.303 of this division (relating to When must I report
and document a serious incident?).

(2) Triggered review of a child's unauthorized absences--A
review of a specific child's pattern of unauthorized absences when the
child has had three unauthorized absences within a 60-day timeframe.

(3) Unauthorized absence--A child is absent from the
grounds of an operation without permission from a caregiver and
cannot be located. This includes when an unauthorized person has
removed the child from the operation.

§748.303.

(a) You must report and document the following types of seri-
ous incidents involving a child in your care. The reports must be made
to the following entities, and the reporting and documenting must be
within the specified timeframes:

Figure: 26 TAC §748.303(a)

When must I report and document a serious incident?

(b) Ifthere is a medically pertinent incident, such as a seizure,
that does not rise to the level of a serious incident, you do not have
to report the incident but you must document the incident in the same
manner as for a serious incident, as described in §748.311 of this divi-
sion (relating to How must I document a serious incident?).

(¢) You must document an unauthorized absence that does not
meet the reporting time requirements defined in subsection (a)(7) - (9)
of this section within 24 hours after you become aware of the unautho-
rized absence. You must document the absence:

(1) In the same manner as for a serious incident, as de-
scribed in §748.311 of this division; and

(2) Complete an addendum to the serious incident report
to finalize the documentation requirements, if the child returns to an
operation after 24 hours.
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(d) If there is a serious incident involving an adult resident,
you do not have to report the incident to Licensing, but you must doc-
ument the incident in the same manner as a serious incident. You do
have to report the incident to:

(1) Law enforcement, as outlined in the chart above;

(2) The parents, if the adult resident is not capable of mak-
ing decisions about the resident's own care; and

(3) Adult Protective Services through the Texas Abuse and
Neglect Hotline if there is reason to believe the adult resident has been
abused, neglected or exploited.

(¢) You must report and document the following types of se-
rious incidents involving your operation, an employee, a professional
level service provider, contract staff, or a volunteer to the following
entities within the specified timeframe:

Figure: 26 TAC §748.303(e)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001762

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: June 1, 2020

Proposal publication date: December 27, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. UNAUTHORIZED ABSENCES

26 TAC §§748.451, 748.453, 748.455, 748.457, 748.459,
748.461, 748.463

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments and new section are adopted under Texas
Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and
provision of services by the health and human services agencies,
and Human Resources Code (HRC), §42.042, which provides
that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules to
carry out the provisions of HRC, Chapter 42.

$748.453.  What documentation must be included in an annual sum-
mary log for a child who has an unauthorized absence?

(a) For each unauthorized absence during the relevant year,
you must document the following information in an annual summary
log:

(1) The name, age, gender, and date of admission of the
child who was absent;

(2) The time and date the unauthorized absence was dis-
covered;

(3) How long the child was gone or if the child did not
return;

(4) The name of the caregiver responsible for the child at
the time the child's absence was discovered;

(5) The intake report number, if a report was made to Li-
censing or the Department of Family and Protective Services; and

(6) Whether law enforcement was contacted, including the
name of any law enforcement agency that was contacted and the num-
ber of the police report, if applicable.

(b) You must maintain each annual summary log for five years.

(¢) You must make the annual summary logs available to Li-
censing for review and reproduction, upon request.

§$748.455.  What are the requirements for debriefing a child after an
unauthorized absence?

(a) After a child returns to an operation from an unauthorized
absence, the caregiver, or other appropriate person, must conduct a de-
briefing with the child as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours
after the child's return. The purpose of the debriefing is for the child
and the caregiver, or other appropriate person, to discuss the following:

(1) The circumstances that led to the child's unauthorized
absence;

(2) The trauma informed strategies the child can use to
avoid future unauthorized absences and how the operation can support
those strategies;

(3) The child's condition; and

(4) What occurred while the child was away from the op-
eration, including where the child went, who was with the child, the
child's activities, and any other information that may be relevant to the
child's health and safety.

(b) The caregiver must allow the child to return to routine ac-
tivities, excluding any activity that the caregiver determines would be
inappropriate because of the child's condition following the unautho-
rized absence or something that occurred during the unauthorized ab-
sence.

(¢c) The debriefing must be documented in the child's record,
including any routine activity that would be inappropriate for the child
to return to and the explanation for why the activity is inappropriate.

§748.461.  What must a triggered review of a child's unauthorized
absences include?

A triggered review of a child's unauthorized absences must include the
following:

(1) A review of the child's records documenting previous
unauthorized absences, including previous debriefings;

(2) A review of service plan elements identified in
§748.1337(b)(1)(D) and (H) and, as applicable, §748.1337(b)(2) and
(3) of this chapter (relating to What must a child's initial service plan
include?);

(3) An examination of trauma informed alternatives to
minimize the unauthorized absences of the child; and

(4) A written plan to reduce the unauthorized absences of
the child, which you must document in the child's record.

§$748.463.
absences?

What is an overall operation evaluation for unauthorized

(a) Every six months, you must conduct an overall operation
evaluation for unauthorized absences that have occurred at your oper-
ation during that time period.

(b) The objectives of the evaluation are to:

(1) Develop and maintain a trauma informed environment
that supports positive and constructive behaviors by children in care;
and
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(2) Ensure the overall safety and well-being of children in
care.

(c¢) The evaluation must include:

(1) The frequency and patterns of unauthorized absences
of children in your operation; and

(2) Specific trauma informed strategies to reduce the num-
ber of unauthorized absences in your operation.

(d) You must maintain the results of each six-month overall
operation evaluation for unauthorized absences for five years.

(¢) You must make the results of each overall operation evalu-
ation for unauthorized absences available to Licensing for review and
reproduction, upon request.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001763

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: June 1, 2020

Proposal publication date: December 27, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 749. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CHILD-PLACING AGENCIES

SUBCHAPTER D. REPORTS AND RECORD
KEEPING

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts the repeal of §749.501, new §749.501, amendments to
§749.503 and §749.513, and new Division 5, Unauthorized Ab-
sences, consisting of new §§749.590 - 749.596.

Amendments to §749.503 and new §§749.591, 749.592,
749.595, and 749.596 are adopted with changes to the proposed
text as published in the December 27, 2019, issue of the Texas
Register (44 TexReg 8205). These rules will be republished.

The repeal of §749.501; new §§749.501, 749.590, 749.593, and
749.594; and amendments to §749.513 are adopted without
changes to the proposed text as published in the December 27,
2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 8205). These
rules will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The repeal, amendments, and new sections address the issue of
unauthorized absences of children in foster homes by requiring
child-placing agencies (CPAs) to take additional actions when a
child leaves a foster home without permission (unauthorized ab-
sence). Current rules require CPAs to document when a child is
absent and cannot be located for a specified timeframe, depend-
ing on the age and development level of the child. The repeal,
amendments, and new sections will include additional require-
ments for a CPA, such as: documenting each time a child has
an unauthorized absence, regardless of the length of time the
child is absent; maintaining an annual log of each unauthorized
absence; debriefing the child after each unauthorized absence;

conducting a triggered review for each child who has had three
unauthorized absences within a 60-day timeframe, to examine
alternatives and create a written plan to reduce the number of
unauthorized absences; and conducting an evaluation, every six
months, of the frequency and patterns of unauthorized absences
from the CPA's foster homes.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended January 27, 2020. During
this period, HHSC received comments regarding the proposed
rules from five commenters, including Upbring, Texas Alliance
for Child and Family Services, Disability Rights Texas, Texas
Appleseed, and the Texas Department of Family and Protec-
tive Services (DFPS). Several of the commenters had multiple
comments. A summary of comments relating to the rules and
HHSC's responses follows.

Comment: Four commenters generally supported the intent and
purpose of the rule changes, which further trauma informed prac-
tices for tracking and caring for children who run away from res-
idential care.

Response: HHSC appreciates the support of the rules.

Comment: Two commenters generally commented on the new
review process. Both commenters recommended a more ro-
bust process, which would include an outside review of reoc-
curring unauthorized absences. One of the commenters specif-
ically recommended a review by DFPS specialists; making the
annual summary log available to outside experts, regardless of
whether the Child Care Licensing Department of HHSC (Licens-
ing) requested the log; requiring outside experts to participate in
triggered reviews; requiring a triggered review after two unau-
thorized absences (the commenter did not note a timeframe for
the triggered review to occur) instead of after three unauthorized
absences within a 60-day timeframe; and reporting triggered
reviews to Licensing. The second commenter recommended
that a more robust process include outside reviews to determine
whether there are any undetected issues, address unmet needs
or hidden abuse or neglect, and determine how unauthorized ab-
sences affect the child's service plan.

Response: HHSC disagrees with the comments and declines
to revise the rules, including not revising the proposed require-
ment of a triggered review after three unauthorized absences
within 60 days. However, HHSC understands that the triggered
review process will be new and may require revisions in the fu-
ture. The commenters may not understand the respective roles
of Licensing and DFPS. Because Licensing's role is regulatory,
Licensing must create a process whereby a CPA is responsible
for implementing actions that prevent future unauthorized ab-
sences, regardless of whether the children are in DFPS con-
servatorship. Additionally, Licensing does not regulate DFPS
oversight of children in the role of a managing conservator. Re-
garding the comment that a DFPS specialist participate in the
review, new §749.594 requires a CPA to notify the parent of a
child, which is defined as "a person who has legal responsibility
for or legal custody of a child, including the managing conserva-
tor or legal guardian," at least two weeks before the triggered re-
view. In addition to the triggered review described in these rules,
DFPS has a process for a child in DFPS conservatorship where
DFPS staff, the child, and other supports for the child meet. This
meeting allows the child an opportunity to discuss how DFPS can
support the child, so unauthorized absences do not continue to
occur (sometimes called a Recovery Round Table). With respect
to the possibility of outside reviews, a CPA cannot make an an-
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nual summary log available to outside experts since the logs are
confidential because they contain the names of multiple children.
Regarding reporting triggered reviews to Licensing, the Licens-
ing oversight of the process will occur through routine monitoring
inspections and investigations and does not require the CPA to
report each triggered review to Licensing. DFPS will have an
opportunity to monitor what transpires during a triggered review
when DFPS is invited to attend in its role as the managing con-
servator of children.

Comment: Regarding §749.503 generally, one commenter
stated that the current reporting structure does not capture all
relevant unauthorized absences, which could be instrumental in
preventing future unauthorized absences. The commenter did
not request any rule changes.

Response: It is true that CPAs do not currently report all unau-
thorized absences to Licensing, which is why HHSC proposed
these rule changes. New §749.503(c), and other rule changes,
will now require all CPAs to document any unauthorized ab-
sences that are not reported to Licensing, debrief the child after
every unauthorized absence, have triggered reviews under cer-
tain circumstances, and have overall agency evaluations every
six months.

Comment: Regarding §749.503(a)(6), one commenter stated
that "being issued a ticket at school by law enforcement or any
other citation that does not result in the child being detained"
should not be excluded from being reported to Licensing and the
child's parent (the definition of a parent also includes the manag-
ing conservator of the child, which in many instance is DFPS),
because DFPS, the CPA, and the foster parents are poised to
help improve service plans for youth and need to be aware of
any involvement with law enforcement.

Response: HHSC did not propose this paragraph for change and
declines to revise it at this time. However, Licensing will consider
the comment during the current comprehensive review project
for Chapter 749. This will ensure the public has the opportunity
to comment on any proposed change.

Comment: Regarding §749.503(a)(8) and (9), three com-
menters stated the timeframes for reporting unauthorized
absences of children 6 - 12 years old to law enforcement should
be changed from two hours to immediately, and for children
13 years old and older should be changed from six hours to
immediately, but no later than two hours after the child is not at
the foster home. Two commenters want this absence reported
even if the child is no longer missing.

Response: HHSC did not propose these paragraphs for change
and declines to revise them at this time. However, Licensing
will consider the comments during the current comprehensive
review project for Chapter 749. This will ensure the public has
the opportunity to comment on any proposed changes. Note:
The timeframe for reporting unauthorized absences for children
13 years old and older was changed from 24 hours to six hours,
in 2017.

Comment: Regarding §749.503(d)(1), one commenter stated
that directing CPAs to report serious incidents of adult residents
to law enforcement "as outlined in the chart above" is ambiguous
because the chart discusses minors.

Response: HHSC did not propose this paragraph for change and
declines to revise it at this time. However, Licensing will consider
the comment during the current comprehensive review project

for Chapter 749. This will ensure the public has the opportunity
to comment on any proposed change.

Comment: Regarding §749.503(d)(2), one commenter stated
that directing CPAs to report serious incidents of adult residents
to the parent is only correct if the parent is the legally authorized
representative. If not, and the adult resident is incapable of mak-
ing decisions about their own care, the case should be reported
to the Probate Court, our other appropriate court, for resolution.

Response: HHSC did not propose this paragraph for change and
declines to revise it at this time. However, Licensing will consider
the comment during the current comprehensive review project
for Chapter 749. This will ensure the public has the opportunity
to comment on any proposed change.

Comment: Regarding §749.503(e)(5), one commenter stated
that §748.303(e)(5) and §749.503(e)(5) have slight variations in
the wording, which causes the rule to be unclear and vague.

Response: HHSC agrees with the comment and is making the
recommended revisions. Though HHSC did not propose this
paragraph for change, the revisions are editorial and do not
change the meaning of the rule.

Comment: Regarding §749.513(2), one commenter stated the
documentation requirements for a short personal restraint that
results in substantial physical injury should be consistent with the
emergency behavior intervention documentation requirements
in §749.2305.

Response: HHSC did not propose this paragraph for change and
declines to revise it at this time. However, Licensing will consider
the comment during the current comprehensive review project
for Chapter 749. This will ensure the public has the opportunity
to comment on any proposed change.

Comment: Regarding §749.591(a), one commenter wanted to
know if HHSC will provide an outline or spreadsheet with the
requirements of the annual summary log.

Response: HHSC will provide a sample form that includes the
requirements for the annual summary log.

Comment: Regarding §749.591(a)(5), one commenter sug-
gested adding the police report number to the annual summary
log when law enforcement is contacted and adding an intake
report number for unauthorized absences reported to Licensing
or DFPS.

Response: HHSC agrees with the comment and revises the rule
accordingly.

Comment: Regarding §749.592(a), one commenter wondered if
a CPA could use a Recovery Round Table held by DFPS in place
of the required debriefing of a child.

Response: No revision to the rule is required. Though a DFPS
Recovery Round Table may be similar to the required debrief-
ing, a CPA cannot use it in place of the debriefing, because the
Recovery Round Table does not have to be completed immedi-
ately, the requirements of the round table are not identical to the
requirements of a debriefing, and the round table is not regulated
by Licensing.

Comment:  Regarding §§749.592(a)(2), 749.595(3), and
749.596(b)(1) and (c)(2), one commenter stated the most
effective services that a foster home or CPA provides are
evidence-based, trauma informed supports that aim to address
a child's behavioral symptoms prior to or during placement.
The commenter stated that the strategies that a child can
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use to avoid further unauthorized absences, and those used
in triggered reviews and overall evaluations, should be evi-
dence-based and trauma informed.

Response: HHSC agrees in part and disagrees in part with the
comment. A CPA and foster home must already integrate trauma
informed practices into the care, treatment, and management
of each child (See §749.1309(a)). Accordingly, HHSC agrees
that any strategies or alternatives used to prevent unauthorized
absences, and the environment that supports positive and con-
structive behavior of children in care, must be trauma informed.
HHSC revises the rules to make the requisite revisions regard-
ing trauma informed care. However, determining whether these
strategies or alternatives are evidence-based would be difficult,
if not impossible to verify; therefore, HHSC declines to revise the
rules to include the term "evidence-based."

Comment: Regarding §749.592(a)(4), one commenter sug-
gested an addition to the rule stating that if a child discloses that
abuse or neglect occurred during an unauthorized absence,
then the foster parent or other person conducting the debriefing
should end the debriefing and report the allegation to DFPS.

Response: HHSC appreciates the commenter's sensitivity to the
DFPS responsibility for investigating allegations of abuse and
neglect. Accordingly, HHSC will add a helpful information box
to the Minimum Standards on the HHSC Provider webpage to
clarify that if a child discloses that abuse or neglect may have
occurred during an unauthorized absence, the foster parent, or
other person conducting the debriefing, must make a report to
DFPS and not ask additional questions regarding the abuse and
neglect. However, the foster parent, or other person conducting
the debriefing, must complete the remaining requirements of the
debriefing.

Comment: Regarding §749.596, one commenter wanted to
know if HHSC would provide a form for the six-month overall
agency evaluation.

Response: HHSC will not provide a sample form, because an
overall agency evaluation could be very different from one CPA
to another.

Comment: One commenter stated that the fiscal impact did not
include any impact regarding the provider's and the DFPS case
worker's time involved in debriefings (§749.592) and triggered
reviews (§749.594).

Response: HHSC disagrees with the comment. HHSC assumes
that, as a best practice, all providers and DFPS caseworkers
currently debrief a child after an unauthorized absence. Dur-
ing a workgroup meeting, this assumption was verified. The
new rule (§749.592) does specify what a debriefing must con-
sist of, but the rule does not contemplate that additional time will
be required to complete the debriefing. HHSC costed out the
child placement staff's time in the fiscal impact for triggered re-
views (§749.594). The fiscal impact also indicated that for the
11 DFPS child-placing agencies, the DFPS foster and develop-
ment (FAD) staff would be responsible for performing the new
duties required under the new rules, and HHSC anticipates that
the FAD staff time needs to perform these additional duties can
be absorbed within existing resources. Finally, the participation
of the DFPS caseworkers is not mandatory. However, as DFPS
is currently focusing resources on issues with unauthorized ab-
sences, HHSC anticipates that any additional duties can be ab-
sorbed within existing resources.

Some minor editorial changes were made to §749.596(a),
(c)(1), and (c)(2) to clarify that the discussion related to unau-
thorized absences from foster homes, and a cite was clarified
at §749.503(e)(3).

DIVISION 1. REPORTING SERIOUS
INCIDENTS AND OTHER OCCURRENCES
26 TAC §749.501

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and
Human Resources Code (HRC), §42.042, which provides that
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules to carry
out the provisions of HRC, Chapter 42.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001767

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: June 1, 2020

Proposal publication date: December 27, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢
26 TAC §§749.501, 749.503, 749.513
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new section and amendments are adopted under Texas
Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and
provision of services by the health and human services agencies,
and Human Resources Code (HRC), §42.042, which provides
that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules to
carry out the provisions of HRC, Chapter 42.

§749.503.

(a) You must report and document the following types of seri-
ous incidents involving a child in your care. The reports must be made
to the following entities, and the reporting and documenting must be
within the specified timeframes:

Figure: 26 TAC §749.503(a)

When must I report and document a serious incident?

(b) [Ifthere is a medically pertinent incident, such as a seizure,
that does not rise to the level of a serious incident, you do not have
to report the incident but you must document the incident in the same
manner as for a serious incident, as described in §749.511 of this divi-
sion (relating to How must I document a serious incident?).

(¢) You must document an unauthorized absence that does not
meet the reporting time requirements defined in subsection (a)(7) - (9)
of this section within 24 hours after you become aware of the unautho-
rized absence. You must document the absence:

(1) In the same manner as for a serious incident, as de-
scribed in §749.511 of this division; and
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(2) Complete an addendum to the serious incident report to
finalize the documentation requirements, if the child returns to a foster
home after 24 hours.

(d) If there is a serious incident involving an adult resident,
you do not have to report the incident to Licensing, but you must doc-
ument the incident in the same manner as a serious incident. You do
have to report the incident to:

(1) Law enforcement as outlined in the chart above;

(2) The parents, if the adult resident is not capable of mak-
ing decisions about the resident's own care; and

(3) Adult Protective Services through the Texas Abuse and
Neglect Hotline if there is reason to believe the adult resident has been
abused, neglected or exploited.

(e) You must report and document the following types of se-
rious incidents involving your agency, one of your foster homes, an
employee, professional level service provider, contract staff, or a vol-
unteer to the following entities within the specified timeframe:
Figure: 26 TAC §749.503(¢)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001770

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: June 1, 2020

Proposal publication date: December 27, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢
DIVISION 5.  UNAUTHORIZED ABSENCES
26 TAC §§749.590 - 749.596
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies, and Human
Resources Code (HRC), §42.042, which provides that the Exec-
utive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules to carry out the
provisions of HRC, Chapter 42.

§$749.591.  What documentation must be included in an annual sum-
mary log for a child who has an unauthorized absence?

(a) For each unauthorized absence during the relevant year,
you must document the following information in an annual summary
log:

(1) The name, age, gender, and date of admission of the
child who was absent;

(2) The time and date the unauthorized absence was dis-
covered;

(3) How long the child was gone or if the child did not
return;

(4) The name of the caregiver responsible for the child at
the time the child's absence was discovered;

(5) The intake report number, if a report was made to Li-
censing or the Department of Family and Protective Services; and

(6) Whether law enforcement was contacted, including the
name of any law enforcement agency that was contacted and the num-
ber of the police report, if applicable.

(b) You must maintain each annual summary log for five years.

(¢) You must make the annual summary logs available to Li-
censing for review and reproduction, upon request.

§$749.592.  What are the requirements for debriefing a child after an
unauthorized absence?

(a) After a child returns to the foster home from an unautho-
rized absence, the foster parent, or other appropriate person, must con-
duct a debriefing with the child as soon as possible, but no later than
24 hours after the child's return. The purpose of the debriefing is for
the child and the foster parent, or other appropriate person, to discuss
the following:

(1) The circumstances that led to the child's unauthorized
absence;

(2) The trauma informed strategies the child can use to
avoid future unauthorized absences and how the foster parent can
support those strategies;

(3) The child's condition; and

(4) What occurred while the child was away from the foster
home, including where the child went, who was with the child, the
child's activities, and any other information that may be relevant to the
child's health and safety.

(b) The foster parent must allow the child to return to rou-
tine activities, excluding any activity that the foster parent determines
would be inappropriate because of the child's condition following the
unauthorized absence or something that occurred during the unautho-
rized absence.

(c) The debriefing must be documented in the child's record,
including any routine activity that would be inappropriate for the child
to return to and the explanation for why the activity is inappropriate.

$749.595.  What must a triggered review of a child's unauthorized
absences include?

A triggered review for a child's unauthorized absences must include the
following:

(1) A review of the child's records documenting previous
unauthorized absences, including previous debriefings;

(2) A review of service plan elements identified in
§749.1309(b)(1)(D) and (H) and, as applicable, §749.1309(b)(2) and
(3) of this chapter (relating to What must a child's initial service plan
include?);

(3) An examination of trauma informed alternatives to
minimize the unauthorized absences of the child; and

(4) A written plan to reduce the unauthorized absences of
the child, which you must document in the child's record.

$749.596. What is an overall agency evaluation for unauthorized ab-
sences?

(a) Every six months, you must conduct an overall agency
evaluation for unauthorized absences that have occurred at your fos-
ter homes during that time period.

(b) The objectives of the evaluation are to:
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(1) Develop and maintain a trauma informed environment
that supports positive and constructive behaviors by children in care;
and

(2) Ensure the overall safety and well-being of children in
care.

(c) The evaluation must include:

(1) The frequency and patterns of unauthorized absences
of children from your foster homes; and

(2) Specific trauma informed strategies to reduce the num-
ber of unauthorized absences from your foster homes.

(d) You must maintain the results of each six-month overall
agency evaluation for unauthorized absences for five years.

(e) You must make the results of each overall agency evalua-
tion for unauthorized absences available to Licensing for review and
reproduction, upon request.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2020.

TRD-202001771

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: June 1, 2020

Proposal publication date: December 27, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC
ACCOUNTS

CHAPTER 20. STATEWIDE PROCUREMENT
AND SUPPORT SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER E. STATEWIDE PROCURE-
MENT DIVISION SERVICES - TRAVEL AND
VEHICLES

34 TAC §20.407, §20.408

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to
§20.407, concerning definitions and §20.408, concerning ex-
ceptions to the use of contract travel services, with changes
to the proposed text as published in the February 21, 2020,
issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1193). The rules will be
republished.

The comptroller also adopts the change to the title of Subchapter
E Special Categories of Contracting, Division 2, which changes
the title from State Support Services - Travel and Vehicles to
Statewide Procurement Division Services - Travel and Vehicles.

The amendments are adopted to clarify documentation require-
ments for state employees' use of travel services other than con-
tract travel services.

The amendments to §20.407 add a definition of "overall cost
of travel" that includes a number of elements that contribute to
costs of employee travel.

The amendments to §20.408 clarify, in subsection (a), that state
agencies may reimburse their employees for travel services
other than contract travel services only if one or more specified
exceptions apply; clarify, in subsection (b), the exception for
lower overall cost of travel, which requires documentation and
must be based on a consistent cost comparison methodology;
clarify, in subsection (h), the scope of the emergency response
exception; and require, in new subsection (j), documentation
of necessity whenever an agency reimburses lodging costs at
a rate that exceeds the maximum set in the regulations issued
by the United States General Services Administration (GSA)
for a particular location, mirroring the requirement in General
Appropriations Act (House Bill 1, 2019), Article I1X, §5.05(a)(2).
The title of §20.408 is amended to indicate that this section
addresses requirements for higher cost of travel.

The comptroller received comments from Tess Ludes-Meyers,
on behalf of Texas Department of Transportation, asking if trav-
elers reducing their meals to increase the maximum lodging re-
imbursement would need to document the exception described
in subsection (j). The comptroller has added clarifying language
in subsection (j) to state that an employee claiming less than
the maximum meal allowance may apply the reduced amount to
increase the maximum lodging reimbursement rate without trig-
gering the requirement to document described in subsection (j);
this aligns with the Textravel policy administered by the comp-
troller's Fiscal Management Division.

The comptroller also received comments from Shelley Knight,
on behalf of the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, who
noted that her comments primarily related to the comptroller's
971-M1 statewide contract for Lodging Services and Booking
Tool, with some also applying to other statewide travel contracts.
Ms. Knight commented that pricing changed at times on the
statewide lodging contract and depending when booked may not
always be the lowest cost. Ms. Ludes-Meyers also asked for ex-
ception (b), what contract travel services pricing should be used
since lodging and rental vehicle pricing is available from multi-
ple providers at different rates. The rule provides for the agency
to develop its own cost comparison methodology for considering
an exception on lower cost, however, price at the time of booking
could be a suitable point to document comparison pricing. The
comptroller's rental car contract pricing and lodging contract pric-
ing at or below the GSA rates is established for state travelers to
obtain suitable travel in an efficient manner without an exception
being required.

Ms. Knight also noted that for agencies with no central reser-
vations staff, employees are entrusted to their own discretion
making travel arrangements individually or in coordination with
others, and prior oversight would be cost prohibitive, therefore
review occurs after the travel has occurred. The comptroller's
statewide contracts are developed to provide flexibility and ser-
vices for the diverse agencies that comprise Texas state govern-
ment; the review of travel receipts and documents after travel,
as well as booking by individual travelers is common, though
not uniform, across state agencies. Specifically for lodging, in-
dividual travelers may book up to eight rooms concurrently to
establish uniform pricing and efficient coordination of travel ar-
rangements. If travelers wish for explanation or training in appli-
cation of state travel rules, the comptroller's State Travel Man-
agement Program and Fiscal Management Expenditure Assis-

ADOPTED RULES May 15, 2020 45 TexReg 3333



tance staffs are available to answer questions and provide train-
ing. Ms. Knight additionally commented on specific savings and
practices employed by her agency's travelers to conserve state
funds.

Ms. Knight's final comments noted that no other purchasing
statute or rule instructs agencies to do a "cost comparison" be-
fore the expenditure is completed, and that allowing for shift-
ing expenses in the cost comparison is too variable to predict.
The comptroller notes that the "cost comparison" is required only
when considering an exception to using a state contract; no cost
comparison is required when booking a room directly off the con-
tract that is at GSA rate or lower. The rule, current and pro-
posed, allows travel obtained at lower overall cost to the state,
and encourages state agencies to obtain lower priced travel that
lowers the overall cost. By incorporating a definition of the con-
cept of "lower overall cost of travel," agencies and their travelers
may now consider the factors that contribute to that overall cost
when determining if travel is efficiently secured by means other
than the statewide travel contracts. The comptroller does not
stipulate lowest cost of travel, or only the least expensive hotels,
rental cars, flights or other travel options would ever be used,
but allows agencies to consider non-cost exceptions for health
and safety, proximity to duty station, travel time or other factors
in selecting travel arrangements.

The comptroller also received comments from Linda Flores, on
behalf of Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, noting that the
rules better define the concept of "lower overall cost of travel”;
that the General Appropriations Act already requires documenta-
tion for lodging reimbursement that exceeds the maximum GSA
rate; that her agency has not utilized the exceptions for emer-
gency response; and that because her agency's travel policy ref-
erences §20.408 for valid exceptions, it is always current. Ms.
Flores noted that the rule changes she addressed would have
no impact on her agency.

The comptroller has responded to all who submitted comments
within the 30-day comment period.

Following publication, the comptroller noted two errors in the
proposed text, which the comptroller has now corrected. The
comptroller has capitalized the word "God" in §20.407(3). The
comptroller has capitalized the name of the "General Services
Administration" in the title of §20.408(j).

The amendments are adopted under Government Code,
§8403.011, which outlines the general powers of the comptroller,
572.051, which requires each state agency to adopt a written
ethics policy, and 660.021, which authorizes the comptroller to
adopt rules to efficiently and effectively administer this chapter
related to state employee travel costs.

These amendments affect Government Code, §660.07.
$20.407.  Definitions.

The following words and terms used in this division are defined as
follows unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Contractor--An individual or entity under contract with
comptroller for the provision of travel services.

(2) Contract travel services--The travel services provided
pursuant to comptroller contracts that guarantee prices and levels of
services for all eligible entities and individuals.

(3) Force majeure event--Any acts of God, war, riot, strike,
or other event beyond the control of a contractor and that could not

reasonably have been anticipated or avoided and which, by the exercise
of all reasonable due diligence, such contractor is unable to overcome.

(4) Official government business--Business required in the
scope and course of the traveler's employment that is properly autho-
rized by the employing governmental entity.

(5) Overall cost of travel--May include the actual costs to
the state for travel, including flight or other mode of transport to the
duty station, mileage, rental car, taxi, parking, tolls, lodging, meals
in amounts less than or equal to the allowed per diem, and in some
instances may also include travel time to duty station or other relevant
factors directly related to the travel that are significant in the context of
the overall cost of the travel event.

(6) State agency--Any department, commission, board, of-
fice, council, or other agency in the executive branch of state govern-
ment created by the constitution or by statute that is required to use
contract travel services pursuant to Government Code, §2171.055.

(7) State employee--Any person employed by a state
agency, or an elected or appointed official.

(8) State travel credit card--A credit card issued to an in-
dividual or a governmental entity by a contract travel credit card con-
tractor.

(9) State travel directory--A comptroller publication that
lists current available contract travel services.

(10) Traveler--Any person eligible to use contract travel
services, including those eligible pursuant to the comptroller's travel
allowance guide.

$20.408.  Exceptions to the Use of Contract Travel Services and
Higher Cost of Travel.

(a) Exceptions to use of contract travel services. In accordance
with these rules and applicable statutes, state agencies may allow their
employees to use travel services other than contract travel services only
if one or more of the exceptions in subsections (b) through (i) of this
section apply. Nothing in this section affects or alters the authority
of the comptroller regarding travel reimbursement or audit of travel
transactions.

(b) Lower overall cost of travel. The state agency obtains
lower priced travel services through the use of fourteen day or other
advanced reservations programs, promotional price reductions, or any
method that provides a lower overall cost of travel. When a state
agency uses any travel services obtained at a lower overall cost than
the contract travel services price, the exception must be documented
by the agency. The agency should document and follow a consistent
cost comparison methodology.

(¢) Unavailability of contract travel services. The contract
travel services are not available during the time or at the location
necessary for the business purpose; or the contract travel service does
not provide for the service required; or because the contractor is unable
to provide the contract services due to a force majeure event.

(d) Special needs. The traveler's health, safety, physical condi-
tion, or disability requires accommodations, including medical emer-
gency or other necessary services, not available from contract travel
service contractors.

(e) Custodians of persons. The traveler has custody of a person
pursuant to statute or court order and the traveler is required to provide
a degree of security and safety that is not available from contract travel
service contractors.

(f) Intravel status. The traveler is in the course of travel and
changes in scheduling render the use of contract travel services imprac-
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tical or the appropriate travel services are not available. The traveler
shall make reasonable efforts to secure rates equal to or lower than the
contract travel service rates.

(g) Group program. The traveler is using a group program
wherein reservations were made through a required source to obtain
a particular rate or service.

(h) Emergency response. The traveler is responding to a pub-
lic health or safety emergency situation and the use of contract travel
services is not available or would result in an unacceptable delay.

(1) Legally required attendance. The traveler is required by a
court, administrative tribunal, or other entity to appear at a particular
time and place without sufficient notice to obtain contract travel ser-
vices.

(j) Lodging reimbursement exceeding General Services Ad-
ministration rates. Except when a state employee may claim less than
the maximum meal reimbursement rate for a duty point and use the
amount of the reduction to increase the maximum lodging reimburse-
ment rate for the duty point, if a state agency reimburses lodging at a

rate exceeding the maximum set in the regulations issued by the United
States General Services Administration for a particular location, the
agency must document its determination that local conditions necessi-
tate the higher rate for that location.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020.

TRD-202001714

Don Neal

Chief Counsel, Operations and Support Legal Services Division
Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: May 20, 2020

Proposal publication date: February 21, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387
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	ARM suggested that the registrant should be also required to provide its website address on its registration application. ARM argued that this would be of practical value and not overly bur-densome. TEAM agreed with this recommendation in reply com-ments. TEAM pointed out that a requirement to provide a web-site address would align with its proposal that websites should not be deceptive, misleading, or largely duplicative of PowerTo-Choose.org. Commission Response The commission declines to require a regist
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	tion requirements do not necessitate that registrants be al-lowed more time to cure deficiencies than is afforded other commission-registered entities. Moreover, the rule clarifiesthat a deficient application is rejected without prejudice, al-lowing the registrant to reapply without penalty. Comments on 16 TAC §25.112(e) OPUC supported the three-year expiration and renewal provi-sions to ensure customers have access to an accurate broker list. TEAM and ARM each argued in favor of replacing the renewal requi
	broker's registration do not accurately reflect the relative burdens these two activities put on the commission's re-sources. A full revocation proceeding is significantly more involved and time consuming than processing a registra-tion renewal or update. The commission has replaced the registration renewal re-quirement with a requirement that a broker update its reg-istration information at least once every three years. The commission has also added language to the registrationamendment requirement of 16 T
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	The commission declines to add significant violations to the list, as requested by ARM and Calpine Retail. The sug-gested additions do not align with requirements included inthe customer protection rules that apply to brokers, so they are inappropriate for inclusion on a list of significant viola-tions. The commission does, however, agree with TEAM's observation that this is a nonexclusive list. Moreover, the absence of a violation from this list should not be inter-preted as evidence that it is not a signi
	The commission declines to add significant violations to the list, as requested by ARM and Calpine Retail. The sug-gested additions do not align with requirements included inthe customer protection rules that apply to brokers, so they are inappropriate for inclusion on a list of significant viola-tions. The commission does, however, agree with TEAM's observation that this is a nonexclusive list. Moreover, the absence of a violation from this list should not be inter-preted as evidence that it is not a signi
	The commission declines to add significant violations to the list, as requested by ARM and Calpine Retail. The sug-gested additions do not align with requirements included inthe customer protection rules that apply to brokers, so they are inappropriate for inclusion on a list of significant viola-tions. The commission does, however, agree with TEAM's observation that this is a nonexclusive list. Moreover, the absence of a violation from this list should not be inter-preted as evidence that it is not a signi
	customer receives from the REP so brokers should not be held accountable for a REP billing mistake. TEPA appreciated that unauthorized charges are possible but is not aware of a specific circumstance where brokers, in the normal course of business, would be responsible for this activity. TEPA is concerned that this provision may make brokers de facto parties to REP billing errors and disputes. RES Nation noted that it could have its registration suspended or revoked for "unauthorized billing" despite not bi
	customer receives from the REP so brokers should not be held accountable for a REP billing mistake. TEPA appreciated that unauthorized charges are possible but is not aware of a specific circumstance where brokers, in the normal course of business, would be responsible for this activity. TEPA is concerned that this provision may make brokers de facto parties to REP billing errors and disputes. RES Nation noted that it could have its registration suspended or revoked for "unauthorized billing" despite not bi


	provide consistency across the commission's customer protec-tion rules. Commission Response: The commission agrees that using the defined term "in writ-ing" would provide consistency across the commission's customer protection rules and makes the recommended change. Replacing "client" with "customer" ARM recommended striking the definition of "client" and replac-ing "client" with "customer" throughout 16 TAC §25.486 to main-tain consistency with other sections of the commission's cus-tomer protection rules.
	16 TAC §25.486(h), which contains ARM's recommended language. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(a) ARM recommended the addition of a disclaimer sentence to clar-ify that nothing in this section is intended to supersede, infringe upon, limit, or otherwise reduce customer protections, disclosure requirements, and marketing guidelines otherwise established by PURA Chapters 17 and 39 or by the commission's rules. In reply comments, TEAM stated that this proposal would promote clarity and customer protections. Commissi
	16 TAC §25.486(h), which contains ARM's recommended language. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(a) ARM recommended the addition of a disclaimer sentence to clar-ify that nothing in this section is intended to supersede, infringe upon, limit, or otherwise reduce customer protections, disclosure requirements, and marketing guidelines otherwise established by PURA Chapters 17 and 39 or by the commission's rules. In reply comments, TEAM stated that this proposal would promote clarity and customer protections. Commissi


	of either party in a transaction. Power Wizard argued that cus-tomers would benefit from disclosure and transparency regard-ing agency obligations of brokers that are not client agents. In reply comments, ARM argued that this definition is not neces-sary and is a tautology because it is duplicative of the definition of "broker" already included in the proposed rule. ARM contin-ued that this term is not referenced anywhere else in the pro-posed rule. Commission Response The commission agrees with ARM that Po
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	of business models, many of which do not require a client to enter into a contract or provide the broker with anycompensation. The commission defines "client" broadly to ensure that the customer protection provisions apply across all brokerage service models. With regard to what constitutes soliciting brokerage ser-vices, the commission interprets this phrase broadly andaccording to its common usage. A person is soliciting bro-kerage services from a broker if it is interacting with a bro-ker, either directl
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	brokerage services such that a broker's compliance with these rules cannot be determined without evaluating thoseservices as well. Non-Broker Client Agents Calpine Retail requested that the definition of "client agent" in-clude entities other than brokers that have the legal right and authority to act on behalf of a client regarding the selection of, enrollment for, or contract execution of a product or service of-fered by a REP, including electric service. Commission Response The commission declines to exp
	tire subchapter and allows certain customers and applicants to agree to terms of service that, subject to certain listed excep-tions, reflect either a higher or lower level of customer protec-tions than would otherwise apply under 16 TAC Subchapter R (relating to Customer Protection Rules for Retail Electric Ser-vice). TEAM also recommended that REPs should be provided a copy of the written agreement between the broker and the client in which the client agrees to receive a lower level of customer protection
	tire subchapter and allows certain customers and applicants to agree to terms of service that, subject to certain listed excep-tions, reflect either a higher or lower level of customer protec-tions than would otherwise apply under 16 TAC Subchapter R (relating to Customer Protection Rules for Retail Electric Ser-vice). TEAM also recommended that REPs should be provided a copy of the written agreement between the broker and the client in which the client agrees to receive a lower level of customer protection


	of brokers to agree to a different level of customer protec-tions related to the provision of brokerage services than isprovided in 16 TAC §25.486. A client that agrees to a differ-ent level of customer protections related to the provision ofbrokerage services does not, by virtue of that agreement,waive any other customer protections they are entitled to under Subchapter R. The commission has added languageto clarify this point. The commission declines to add language requiring a bro-ker to provide to a cli
	of brokers to agree to a different level of customer protec-tions related to the provision of brokerage services than isprovided in 16 TAC §25.486. A client that agrees to a differ-ent level of customer protections related to the provision ofbrokerage services does not, by virtue of that agreement,waive any other customer protections they are entitled to under Subchapter R. The commission has added languageto clarify this point. The commission declines to add language requiring a bro-ker to provide to a cli
	of brokers to agree to a different level of customer protec-tions related to the provision of brokerage services than isprovided in 16 TAC §25.486. A client that agrees to a differ-ent level of customer protections related to the provision ofbrokerage services does not, by virtue of that agreement,waive any other customer protections they are entitled to under Subchapter R. The commission has added languageto clarify this point. The commission declines to add language requiring a bro-ker to provide to a cli
	Commission Response The commission declines to add additional items to the list of examples of prohibited communications, because theseadditions are unnecessary on a nonexclusive list. The corerequirement of this subsection is that broker communica-tions must be clear and not misleading, fraudulent, unfair,deceptive, or anti-competitive. Each of the activities de-scribed by ARM are unambiguous violations of the general prohibition. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(d)(1)(A) ARM and TEAM suggested changes to the pr

	it is unnecessary. Client is defined to include a person thatsolicits brokerage services. This ensures that a person thatARM describes as a potential customer is also protectedby the language of this section. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(d)(1)(C) Regarding the prohibition against a broker falsely suggesting that brokerage services are being provided without compensa-tion, TEPA noted that its code of conduct already prohibits this conduct. Brasovan supported retaining this requirement but sug-gested that it be
	This section requires a broker to include its registered name on all printed advertisements, electronic advertising over the In-ternet, and websites. ARM and Power Wizard recommended that brokers also be required to include their registration num-ber on these communications. ARM argued that this would not be burdensome, would help customers verify a broker's registra-tion status, and is consistent with the aggregator requirements. TEAM supported this addition in reply comments. Commission Response The commi

	The commission modifies the language of 16 TAC §25.486(e)by replacing the word "provide" with "offer." This modifica-tion is intended to allow brokers and clients to agree to a dif-ferent language for communications, so long as the client has the option of receiving information in the language that was used to market the broker's services to the client. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f) Regarding the disclosures a broker is required to provide a client prior to the initiation of brokerage services, TEPA noted t
	The commission modifies the language of 16 TAC §25.486(e)by replacing the word "provide" with "offer." This modifica-tion is intended to allow brokers and clients to agree to a dif-ferent language for communications, so long as the client has the option of receiving information in the language that was used to market the broker's services to the client. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f) Regarding the disclosures a broker is required to provide a client prior to the initiation of brokerage services, TEPA noted t
	The commission modifies the language of 16 TAC §25.486(e)by replacing the word "provide" with "offer." This modifica-tion is intended to allow brokers and clients to agree to a dif-ferent language for communications, so long as the client has the option of receiving information in the language that was used to market the broker's services to the client. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(f) Regarding the disclosures a broker is required to provide a client prior to the initiation of brokerage services, TEPA noted t
	TEPA supported the proposed requirement that brokers must disclose their relationships with REPs to individual customers. It argued this would provide customers with the transparent and reliable information needed to make informed decisions about market participants. TEPA contended that customer confidence is necessary to preserve the value of brokers in the marketplace. ARM, TEAM, and Calpine Retail advocated for expanding the affiliate disclosure requirement beyond REP affiliations. ARM recommended disclo

	ing any form of regulatory oversight or restrictions on the rates or prices of brokers. In reply comments, TEPA noted that the TEPA code of conduct requires brokers to disclose their fee upon re-quest by the customer and stated that TEPA does not oppose that type of requirement. Energy Ogre, Power Wizard, John Turala, ARM, and Braso-van supported the compensation disclosure requirement as pro-posed. Energy Ogre argued that the requirement is both rea-sonable and consistent with other types of required discl
	The commission declines to adopt the recommendation ofBrasovan that brokers be required to disclose the amount ofcompensation that they receive from REPs. The knowledgethat a broker is being compensated by a REP is enough to alert a client to possible conflicts of interest while respect-ing the proprietary practices of brokers. The commission notes that there is no rule against a broker disclosing thefull details of its compensation, nor is there a rule against aclient requesting those details. The commissi

	The commission declines to make changes in response tothese comments as none are necessary. The existence of a termination fee is a critical piece of information. The com-mission agrees with ARM that this requirement is not overlyburdensome. The required disclosures can be provided tothe client as a part of the representation agreement, prior tothe initiation of brokerage services. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(g) Comments related to whether REPs are required to accept client agent submitted enrollments Energy
	The commission declines to make changes in response tothese comments as none are necessary. The existence of a termination fee is a critical piece of information. The com-mission agrees with ARM that this requirement is not overlyburdensome. The required disclosures can be provided tothe client as a part of the representation agreement, prior tothe initiation of brokerage services. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(g) Comments related to whether REPs are required to accept client agent submitted enrollments Energy
	The commission declines to make changes in response tothese comments as none are necessary. The existence of a termination fee is a critical piece of information. The com-mission agrees with ARM that this requirement is not overlyburdensome. The required disclosures can be provided tothe client as a part of the representation agreement, prior tothe initiation of brokerage services. Comments on 16 TAC §25.486(g) Comments related to whether REPs are required to accept client agent submitted enrollments Energy
	of agency authority if the broker has a statutorily-recognized durable power of attorney. ARM, EMEX/Patriot, Energy Ogre, and Power Wizard filed reply comments opposing TEAM's proposed durable power of attor-ney language. ARM argued that REPs should be able to de-cide what evidence of agency authority they will accept because REPs are liable under the customer protection rules for unau-thorized enrollments. ARM also worried that requiring "a REP to accept certain types of purported evidence may put a REP in
	of agency authority if the broker has a statutorily-recognized durable power of attorney. ARM, EMEX/Patriot, Energy Ogre, and Power Wizard filed reply comments opposing TEAM's proposed durable power of attor-ney language. ARM argued that REPs should be able to de-cide what evidence of agency authority they will accept because REPs are liable under the customer protection rules for unau-thorized enrollments. ARM also worried that requiring "a REP to accept certain types of purported evidence may put a REP in


	ativity. After being submitted to and approved by the commis-sion, the form could contain the words "this form approved by the PUC." Energy Ogre argued that having over one thousand different forms would lead to confusion for all parties involved, but that commission approval would mitigate that confusion. Bottom Line Energy and Energy Ogre each requested that the commission adopt a standard client agency agreement. Bot-tom Line Energy argued that a standard one-page form would be simple and give a client a
	tween one another, as is the practice today. Power Wizard added that if brokers falsely claim to have agency authority, the com-mission has authority to pursue enforcement actions against the person responsible for the unauthorized enrollment. The com-mission will not pursue an enforcement action against a REP if the broker is solely responsible. Commission Response The commission declines to include language requiring thatclient agents provide REPs with indemnity as suggested byTEAM. The commission agrees 
	tween one another, as is the practice today. Power Wizard added that if brokers falsely claim to have agency authority, the com-mission has authority to pursue enforcement actions against the person responsible for the unauthorized enrollment. The com-mission will not pursue an enforcement action against a REP if the broker is solely responsible. Commission Response The commission declines to include language requiring thatclient agents provide REPs with indemnity as suggested byTEAM. The commission agrees 


	ther argues that these new powers eliminate the need for REPs to police broker representations regarding client agent authority, thereby also eliminating any need for REPs to receive notice re-garding changes to a client agent's authority. ARM filed reply comments opposing Power Wizard's proposal. ARM noted that although brokers will now have some respon-sibility related to customer complaints, the REP has financial and regulatory responsibility for the unauthorized enrollment of a customer. ARM asserted th
	ther argues that these new powers eliminate the need for REPs to police broker representations regarding client agent authority, thereby also eliminating any need for REPs to receive notice re-garding changes to a client agent's authority. ARM filed reply comments opposing Power Wizard's proposal. ARM noted that although brokers will now have some respon-sibility related to customer complaints, the REP has financial and regulatory responsibility for the unauthorized enrollment of a customer. ARM asserted th
	ther argues that these new powers eliminate the need for REPs to police broker representations regarding client agent authority, thereby also eliminating any need for REPs to receive notice re-garding changes to a client agent's authority. ARM filed reply comments opposing Power Wizard's proposal. ARM noted that although brokers will now have some respon-sibility related to customer complaints, the REP has financial and regulatory responsibility for the unauthorized enrollment of a customer. ARM asserted th
	jurisdiction as an agent of the REP. ARM and Power Wizard ar-gued that brokers are not REP agents. TEAM, ARM, and Power Wizard agreed that REPs should not be held accountable for broker actions outside of an agency relationship. ARM argued that while REPs may enter into agreements with brokers to ac-cept customers enrolled by the brokers, the existence of such an agreement does not create an agency relationship between the REP and broker, and therefore, brokers should be required to comply with 16 TAC §25.4
	jurisdiction as an agent of the REP. ARM and Power Wizard ar-gued that brokers are not REP agents. TEAM, ARM, and Power Wizard agreed that REPs should not be held accountable for broker actions outside of an agency relationship. ARM argued that while REPs may enter into agreements with brokers to ac-cept customers enrolled by the brokers, the existence of such an agreement does not create an agency relationship between the REP and broker, and therefore, brokers should be required to comply with 16 TAC §25.4


	in accordance with 16 TAC §25.471. TEPA also recommended a definition for a "client enrollment agent" be referenced in this section, and added to the definitions section of the rule to help consumers distinguish between: (a) brokers who may simply be "brokers"; (b) brokers who act in an agency relationship with a customer; and (c) and brokers who have entered into an agree-ment with a REP to enroll customers or applicants under the terms specified in this new proposed section. Commission Response Proposed 1
	which allows a REP to request a customer or applicant's monthly usage from a TDU. This would require that, upon receiving au-thorization from a client, a broker must request from the TDU the monthly usage of the client's premise for the previous 12 months, and the TDU, upon receipt of a written request or other proof of authorization, must provide the requested information to the requesting broker no later than three business days after the request for proof of authorization is submitted. Oncor explained th

	The commission declines to modify 16 TAC §25.486(j) to re-quire brokers to obtain verifiable authorization by means of one of the methods authorized in 16 TAC §25.474 priorto releasing proprietary client information. Brokers are not otherwise required to use these methods when obtainingclient authorization, and it would be burdensome to requiresuch use in this context. The commission retains the re-quirement that brokers obtain authorization to release pro-prietary client information in writing. The commiss
	The commission declines to modify 16 TAC §25.486(j) to re-quire brokers to obtain verifiable authorization by means of one of the methods authorized in 16 TAC §25.474 priorto releasing proprietary client information. Brokers are not otherwise required to use these methods when obtainingclient authorization, and it would be burdensome to requiresuch use in this context. The commission retains the re-quirement that brokers obtain authorization to release pro-prietary client information in writing. The commiss
	The commission declines to modify 16 TAC §25.486(j) to re-quire brokers to obtain verifiable authorization by means of one of the methods authorized in 16 TAC §25.474 priorto releasing proprietary client information. Brokers are not otherwise required to use these methods when obtainingclient authorization, and it would be burdensome to requiresuch use in this context. The commission retains the re-quirement that brokers obtain authorization to release pro-prietary client information in writing. The commiss
	Commission Response The commission strikes proposed 16 TAC §25.486(j)(1)(B)in response to TEPA's comments. The commission agreeswith ARM that the broad language of PURA §39.3555 wouldallow the commission to require brokers to file annual re-ports and disclose proprietary customer information con-tained in those reports to OPUC. However, at the current time, the commission believes that requiring brokers to file an annual report would be overly burdensome to a market segment that has just come under the comm

	without agreeing to allow the sale of their information. Con-versely, customers are not required to use brokers to obtainretail electric service. If a client elects to engage a broker and authorize the broker to sell their information, the com-mission will not prevent the client from doing so. Sale of Clients Upon Broker Market Exit RES Nation requested clarification that, when exiting the mar-ket, selling clients to another broker is not a violation of this rule. In reply comments, TEAM and ARM each oppose
	vide client access to customer service representatives to discuss termination of service agreements with the broker. TEPA filed reply comments in support of Electricity Ratings's pro-posed modifications regarding the termination of brokerage ser-vice agreements. However, in reference to Electricity Ratings's proposal that only client agents must provide client access to discuss bills and the termination of REP service, TEPA pointed out that no provisions exist in PURA §39.3555 that provide the basis for dis
	vide client access to customer service representatives to discuss termination of service agreements with the broker. TEPA filed reply comments in support of Electricity Ratings's pro-posed modifications regarding the termination of brokerage ser-vice agreements. However, in reference to Electricity Ratings's proposal that only client agents must provide client access to discuss bills and the termination of REP service, TEPA pointed out that no provisions exist in PURA §39.3555 that provide the basis for dis


	Commission Response The commission agrees with ARM that a broker must not use a written or verbal agreement with a client to impair theright of a residential or small commercial customer to file a complaint and makes the recommended change. Debt Collection During Pendency of an Informal Complaint ARM suggested adding an additional provision prohibiting debt collection or reporting to a credit agency during the pendency of an informal complaint. TEAM supported this proposal in reply comments and argued that 
	Commission Response The commission agrees with ARM that a broker must not use a written or verbal agreement with a client to impair theright of a residential or small commercial customer to file a complaint and makes the recommended change. Debt Collection During Pendency of an Informal Complaint ARM suggested adding an additional provision prohibiting debt collection or reporting to a credit agency during the pendency of an informal complaint. TEAM supported this proposal in reply comments and argued that 
	Commission Response The commission agrees with ARM that a broker must not use a written or verbal agreement with a client to impair theright of a residential or small commercial customer to file a complaint and makes the recommended change. Debt Collection During Pendency of an Informal Complaint ARM suggested adding an additional provision prohibiting debt collection or reporting to a credit agency during the pendency of an informal complaint. TEAM supported this proposal in reply comments and argued that 
	Cross reference to statutes: Public Utility Regulatory Act §14.002 and §39.3555. §25.112 Registration of Brokers. (a) Registration required. A person must not provide broker-age services, including brokerage services offered online, in this state for compensation or other consideration unless the person is registered with the commission as a broker. A broker is responsible for all ac-tivities conducted on its behalf by any subcontractor or agent. A retail electric provider (REP) is not permitted to register
	Cross reference to statutes: Public Utility Regulatory Act §14.002 and §39.3555. §25.112 Registration of Brokers. (a) Registration required. A person must not provide broker-age services, including brokerage services offered online, in this state for compensation or other consideration unless the person is registered with the commission as a broker. A broker is responsible for all ac-tivities conducted on its behalf by any subcontractor or agent. A retail electric provider (REP) is not permitted to register




	(2) The registrant must promptly inform the commission of any material change in the information provided in the registration application while the application is being processed. (3) An application will be processed as follows: (A) Commission staff will review the submitted form for completeness. Within 20 working days of receipt of an application, the commission staff will notify the registrant by mail or e-mail of any deficiencies in the application. The registrant will have ten working days from the iss
	(2) The registrant must promptly inform the commission of any material change in the information provided in the registration application while the application is being processed. (3) An application will be processed as follows: (A) Commission staff will review the submitted form for completeness. Within 20 working days of receipt of an application, the commission staff will notify the registrant by mail or e-mail of any deficiencies in the application. The registrant will have ten working days from the iss
	(2) The registrant must promptly inform the commission of any material change in the information provided in the registration application while the application is being processed. (3) An application will be processed as follows: (A) Commission staff will review the submitted form for completeness. Within 20 working days of receipt of an application, the commission staff will notify the registrant by mail or e-mail of any deficiencies in the application. The registrant will have ten working days from the iss
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	Andrea Gonzalez Rules Coordinator Public Utility Commission of Texas Effective date: May 24, 2020 Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019 For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244 ♦ ♦ ♦ SUBCHAPTER R. CUSTOMER PROTECTION RULES FOR RETAIL ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDERS 16 TAC §25.486 Statutory Authority These new sections are adopted under §14.002 of the Public Utility Regulatory Act, Tex. Util. Code §14.002 (PURA) which provides the commission with the authority to make and enforce rules reasonab
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	of customer protections related to the provision of brokerage services than is required by this section. Any such agreements do not change the level of customer protections a client is entitled to relating to the provision of retail electric service. Any agreements containing a dif-ferent level of protections from those required by this section must be in writing and provided to the client. Copies of such agreements must be provided to commission staff upon request. (d) Broker Communications. (1) All writte
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	(1) An agreement between a broker and a client that autho-rizes the broker to act as a client agent for the client must be in writing. (2) In addition to the requirements of subsection (f) of this section, a broker that acts as a client agent for the client must inform the client of the following: (A) A clear description of the actions the broker is au-thorized to take on the client's behalf; (B) The duration of the agency relationship; (C) How the client can terminate the agency agreement; (D) The amount o
	(1) An agreement between a broker and a client that autho-rizes the broker to act as a client agent for the client must be in writing. (2) In addition to the requirements of subsection (f) of this section, a broker that acts as a client agent for the client must inform the client of the following: (A) A clear description of the actions the broker is au-thorized to take on the client's behalf; (B) The duration of the agency relationship; (C) How the client can terminate the agency agreement; (D) The amount o
	(1) An agreement between a broker and a client that autho-rizes the broker to act as a client agent for the client must be in writing. (2) In addition to the requirements of subsection (f) of this section, a broker that acts as a client agent for the client must inform the client of the following: (A) A clear description of the actions the broker is au-thorized to take on the client's behalf; (B) The duration of the agency relationship; (C) How the client can terminate the agency agreement; (D) The amount o




	plainant of the commission's informal complaint resolution process and the following contact information for the commission within 21 days of receiving the complaint: Public Utility Commission of Texas, Customer Protection Division, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, Texas 78711-3326; (512) 936-7120 or in Texas (toll-free) 1-888-782-8477, fax (512) 936-7003, e-mail address: customer@puc.texas.gov, Internet website address: www.puc.texas.gov, TTY (512) 936-7136, and Relay Texas (toll-free) 1-800-735-2989. (2) Complaint
	plainant of the commission's informal complaint resolution process and the following contact information for the commission within 21 days of receiving the complaint: Public Utility Commission of Texas, Customer Protection Division, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, Texas 78711-3326; (512) 936-7120 or in Texas (toll-free) 1-888-782-8477, fax (512) 936-7003, e-mail address: customer@puc.texas.gov, Internet website address: www.puc.texas.gov, TTY (512) 936-7136, and Relay Texas (toll-free) 1-800-735-2989. (2) Complaint
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	(4) Formal Complaints. If the complainant is not satisfied with the results of the informal complaint process, the complainant may file a formal complaint with the commission within two years of the date on which the commission closes the informal complaint. Formal complaints will be docketed as provided in the commission's proce-dural rules. (l) Record Retention. (1) A broker must establish and maintain records and data that are sufficient to: (A) Verify its compliance with the requirements of any applicab
	(4) Formal Complaints. If the complainant is not satisfied with the results of the informal complaint process, the complainant may file a formal complaint with the commission within two years of the date on which the commission closes the informal complaint. Formal complaints will be docketed as provided in the commission's proce-dural rules. (l) Record Retention. (1) A broker must establish and maintain records and data that are sufficient to: (A) Verify its compliance with the requirements of any applicab
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	(4) Formal Complaints. If the complainant is not satisfied with the results of the informal complaint process, the complainant may file a formal complaint with the commission within two years of the date on which the commission closes the informal complaint. Formal complaints will be docketed as provided in the commission's proce-dural rules. (l) Record Retention. (1) A broker must establish and maintain records and data that are sufficient to: (A) Verify its compliance with the requirements of any applicab




	Early Childhood-Grade 3 (EC-3), Science of Teaching Reading, and Trade and Industrial Workforce Training. The amendment to Subchapter D, Types and Classes of Certificates Issued, requires the English as a Second Language Supplemental as-sessment for issuance of an intern certificate obtained through the intensive pre-service route. The amendment to Subchapter E, Educational Aide Certificate, allows the Educational Aide I certificate to be issued to high school students who have completed certain career and 
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	Grades 4-8; §233.3, English Language Arts and Reading/Social Studies: Grades 4-8. Further, the proposed amendments to Figure §230.21(e) would have phased out retired assessments by removing the retired 183 Braille TExES assessment for the §233.8, Teacher of Stu-dents with Visual Impairments Supplemental: Early Childhood-Grade 12 certification and would have provided for a transition from the current content tests to the anticipated content peda-gogy tests for §233.12, Physical Education: Early Childhood-Gra
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	quirements for issuance of an Early Childhood: Prekindergarten-Grade 3 certification. Remaining paragraphs are renumbered. SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES. The public comment period on the proposal began January 3, 2020, and ended February 3, 2020. The SBEC also provided an oppor-tunity for registered oral and written comments on the proposal at the February 21, 2020 meeting in accordance with the SBEC board operating policies and procedures. The following is a sum-mary of the public comments received on 
	applicants for Texas certification must pass the appropriate certi-fication examination that reflects the appropriate SBEC educator standards and the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills. Certifi-cation examinations, along with pre-service training, field-based experiences, and clinical experiences, play a role in determining a candidate's readiness to serve as a Texas educator. Comment: One Texas administrator commented that the Perfor-mance Assessment for School Leaders (PASL) examination be offered more 
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	pose of admission to an EPP. The content pedagogy examina-tion, Texas Examination of Educator Standards (TExES), gov-erned by TEC, §21.048, is used to measure teacher candidate readiness for certification issuance. The State Board of Education (SBOE) took no action on the review of amendments to §§230.21, 230.33, 230.36, 230.55, 230.104, and 230.105 at the April 17, 2020 SBOE meeting. SUBCHAPTER C. ASSESSMENT OF EDUCATORS 19 TAC §230.21 STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted under Texas Education Cod
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	CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-ments Texas Education Code (TEC), §§21.041(b)(1), (2), and (4); 21.044(a), as amended by Senate Bills (SB) 7, 1839, and 1963, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017; 21.048, as amended by HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019; 21.050(a); 21.050(b), as amended by House Bill (HB) 3217, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019; 21.050(c); 21.051, as amended by SB 1839, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017; 22.064, as amended by HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019
	CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-ments Texas Education Code (TEC), §§21.041(b)(1), (2), and (4); 21.044(a), as amended by Senate Bills (SB) 7, 1839, and 1963, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017; 21.048, as amended by HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019; 21.050(a); 21.050(b), as amended by House Bill (HB) 3217, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019; 21.050(c); 21.051, as amended by SB 1839, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017; 22.064, as amended by HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019



	may be divided equally based on the number of examinations in the waiver request, but the number of clock-hours for an examination shall not be less than 50; or (F) if a CSEM is not appropriate for an examination, the TEA staff will identify individuals who are familiar and knowledgeable with the examination content to review the candidate's performance on the five most recent examinations, identify the deficit competency or competencies, and determine the number of clock-hours of educational activities req
	may be divided equally based on the number of examinations in the waiver request, but the number of clock-hours for an examination shall not be less than 50; or (F) if a CSEM is not appropriate for an examination, the TEA staff will identify individuals who are familiar and knowledgeable with the examination content to review the candidate's performance on the five most recent examinations, identify the deficit competency or competencies, and determine the number of clock-hours of educational activities req
	(A) the candidate is otherwise eligible to take an exam-ination. A candidate seeking a certificate based on completion of an EPP must have the approval of an EPP to request a waiver; (B) beginning September 1, 2016, the candidate pays the non-refundable waiver request fee of $160; (C) the candidate requests the waiver of the limitation in writing on forms developed by the TEA staff; and (D) the request for the waiver is postmarked not earlier than: (i) 45 calendar days after an unsuccessful attempt at the f
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	(B) copy, reproduce, or cause to be copied or repro-duced any part of the examination; (C) reveal or cause to be revealed the contents of the examination; (D) correct, alter, or cause to be corrected or altered any response to a test item contained in the examination; (E) provide assistance with any response to a test item contained in the examination or cause assistance to be provided; or (F) deviate from the rules governing administration of the examination. (3) An educator or candidate who is an examinee
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	Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez Director, Rulemaking State Board for Educator Certification Effective date: May 17, 2020 Proposal publication date: January 3, 2020 For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 ♦ ♦ ♦ SUBCHAPTER D. TYPES AND CLASSES OF CERTIFICATES ISSUED 19 TAC §230.33, §230.36 STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments are adopted un-der Texas Education Code (TEC) §21.003(a); which states that a person may not be employed as a teacher, teacher intern or teacher trainee, librarian, educational
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	The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-thority. Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2020. TRD-202001680 Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez Director, Rulemaking State Board for Educator Certification Effective date: May 17, 2020 Proposal publication date: January 3, 2020 For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 ♦ ♦ ♦ SUBCHAPTER E. EDUCATIONAL AIDE CERTIFICATE 19 TAC §230.55 STATUTORY AUTHO
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	of educator certificates to be issued, including emergency certifi-cates; requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the period for which each class of educator certificate is valid; requires the SBEC to propose rules that specify the requirements for the is-suance and renewal of an educator certificate; and requires the SBEC to propose rules that include requirements for educators that hold a similar certification issued by another state or for-eign country; TEC, §21.041(b)(9), which requires the SBEC
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	which states that a licensing authority may require a fee that is in an amount sufficient to cover the cost of administration. CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendments are adopted under Texas Education Code (TEC) §§21.031(a); 21.041(b)(1)-(5) and (9) and (c); 21.044(a), as amended by SBs 7, 1839, and 1963, 85th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2017; (e), and (f); 21.048, as amended by House Bill (HB) 3, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019; 21.0485; 21.0489; 21.050, as amended by House Bill (HB) 3217, 86th Tex
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	Statutory Authority. The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Occupations Code §301.2511 and §301.151. Section 301.2511(a) provides that an applicant for a registered nurse license must submit to the Board, in addition to satisfying the other requirements of the subchapter, a complete and legi-ble set of fingerprints, on a form prescribed by the Board, for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information from the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investi-gation. 
	Statutory Authority. The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Occupations Code §301.2511 and §301.151. Section 301.2511(a) provides that an applicant for a registered nurse license must submit to the Board, in addition to satisfying the other requirements of the subchapter, a complete and legi-ble set of fingerprints, on a form prescribed by the Board, for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information from the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investi-gation. 



	exam, in compliance with the Occupations Code §301.252, prior to receiving a graduate nurse or graduate vocational nurse per-mit. Graduate nurses who are issued graduate permits may practice nursing if appropriately supervised. As such, the public needs to be assured that these nurses have undergone back-ground checks to ensure safe practice and have demonstrated competency by passing the Board's jurisprudence and ethics exam. Second, the adopted amendments make non-substantive changes to paragraph (3) to i
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	ment of subsection (a). Issuance of a license by the Board is conditioned on the Board obtaining the applicant's criminal his-tory record information under the section. Finally, §301.2511(c) states that the Board by rule shall develop a system for obtain-ing criminal history record information for a person accepted for enrollment in a nursing educational program that prepares the person for initial licensure as a registered or vocational nurse by requiring the person to submit to the Board a set of fingerpr
	ment of subsection (a). Issuance of a license by the Board is conditioned on the Board obtaining the applicant's criminal his-tory record information under the section. Finally, §301.2511(c) states that the Board by rule shall develop a system for obtain-ing criminal history record information for a person accepted for enrollment in a nursing educational program that prepares the person for initial licensure as a registered or vocational nurse by requiring the person to submit to the Board a set of fingerpr

	Nursing Jurisprudence Prep Course; the Texas Board of Nurs-ing Jurisprudence and Ethics Workshop; or a Texas Board of Nursing approved Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics course in addition to completing a refresher course, extensive orientation, or program of study. Fifteen percent (15%) of the required con-tent of a Board approved refresher course, extensive orienta-tion, or program of study must include the review of the Nurs-ing Practice Act, Rules, Position Statements. This is the same content that is inc
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	22 TAC §217.8 The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts the repeal of 22 TAC §217.8, relating to Duplicate or Substitute Credentials, without changes to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1948). The repeal will not be republished. Reasoned Justification. The repeal is adopted under the author-ity of the Occupations Code §301.151 and eliminates the section in its entirety. The Board's processes have changed over time, and the current section is now obsol
	22 TAC §217.8 The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts the repeal of 22 TAC §217.8, relating to Duplicate or Substitute Credentials, without changes to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1948). The repeal will not be republished. Reasoned Justification. The repeal is adopted under the author-ity of the Occupations Code §301.151 and eliminates the section in its entirety. The Board's processes have changed over time, and the current section is now obsol
	22 TAC §217.8 The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts the repeal of 22 TAC §217.8, relating to Duplicate or Substitute Credentials, without changes to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 1948). The repeal will not be republished. Reasoned Justification. The repeal is adopted under the author-ity of the Occupations Code §301.151 and eliminates the section in its entirety. The Board's processes have changed over time, and the current section is now obsol



	Reasoned Justification. The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Occupations Code §301.261(d) and §301.151. Board Rule §217.9 addresses a nurse who has not practiced nursing and whose license has been in inactive status for four or more years. The rule currently sets out the criteria that an individual must meet in order to reactivate his/her license under these circumstances. Among the various requirements, an indi-vidual must currently complete the online Texas Board of Nurs-ing Jurisprudence
	Reasoned Justification. The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Occupations Code §301.261(d) and §301.151. Board Rule §217.9 addresses a nurse who has not practiced nursing and whose license has been in inactive status for four or more years. The rule currently sets out the criteria that an individual must meet in order to reactivate his/her license under these circumstances. Among the various requirements, an indi-vidual must currently complete the online Texas Board of Nurs-ing Jurisprudence
	Jena Abel Deputy General Counsel Texas Board of Nursing Effective date: May 24, 2020 Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020 For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822 ♦ ♦ ♦ CHAPTER 222. ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSES WITH PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 22 TAC §222.3 Introduction. The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts amendments to §222.3, relating to Renewal of Prescriptive Authority without changes to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 19
	Jena Abel Deputy General Counsel Texas Board of Nursing Effective date: May 24, 2020 Proposal publication date: March 20, 2020 For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822 ♦ ♦ ♦ CHAPTER 222. ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSES WITH PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY 22 TAC §222.3 Introduction. The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) adopts amendments to §222.3, relating to Renewal of Prescriptive Authority without changes to the proposed text published in the March 20, 2020, issue of the Texas Register (45 TexReg 19


	ing education courses without sacrificing the safety of the public or the competency of its practitioners. The adopted amendments to §222.3 are now necessary to con-form the section to the amendments adopted by the Board in November 2019. How the Sections Will Function. Adopted §222.3(b) requires an advanced practice registered nurse seeking to maintain pre-scriptive authority to attest, on forms provided by the Board, to completing at least five contact hours of continuing education in pharmacotherapeutics
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	Section 481.07635(a) provides that a person authorized to re-ceive information under Section 481.076(a)(5) shall, not later than the first anniversary after the person is issued a license, certification, or registration to prescribe or dispense controlled substances under this chapter, complete two hours of profes-sional education related to approved procedures of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances. Section 481.07635(b) states that a person authorized to receive information may annually take t




	Subchapter D, Mental Health Services--Admission, Continuity, and Discharge. New rules in Title 26, Part 1, Chapter 306, Subchapter D, Mental Health Services--Admission, Continuity, and Discharge are adopted elsewhere in this issue of the Texas Register. COMMENTS The 31-day comment period ended December 30, 2019. During this period, HHSC did not receive comments regarding the pro-posed repeals. DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 25 TAC §§412.151 -412.154 STATUTORY AUTHORITY The repeals are adopted under Texas Go
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	Subchapter D, Mental Health Services--Admission, Continuity, and Discharge. New rules in Title 26, Part 1, Chapter 306, Subchapter D, Mental Health Services--Admission, Continuity, and Discharge are adopted elsewhere in this issue of the Texas Register. COMMENTS The 31-day comment period ended December 30, 2019. During this period, HHSC did not receive comments regarding the pro-posed repeals. DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 25 TAC §§412.151 -412.154 STATUTORY AUTHORITY The repeals are adopted under Texas Go
	Karen Ray Chief Counsel Department of State Health Services Effective date: May 20, 2020 Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019 For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349 ♦ ♦ ♦ DIVISION 3. ADMISSION TO SMHFS--SMHF RESPONSIBILITIES 25 TAC §§412.171 -412.179 STATUTORY AUTHORITY The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-vices by the health and human services agenc
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	Karen Ray Chief Counsel Department of State Health Services Effective date: May 20, 2020 Proposal publication date: November 29, 2019 For further information, please call: (512) 838-4349 ♦ ♦ ♦ DIVISION 5. DISCHARGE AND ATP FROM SMHF 25 TAC §§412.201 -412.208 STATUTORY AUTHORITY The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-vices by the health and human services agencies. In additi
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	Sections 306.151, 306.152, 306.154, 306.192, and 306.193 are adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the November 29, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 7319), and therefore will not be republished. BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION As required by Texas Government Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C), client services functions previously performed by the Depart-ment of State Health Services (DSHS) were transferred to the HHSC on September 1, 2016, in accordance with Texas Government Code §531.0
	Sections 306.151, 306.152, 306.154, 306.192, and 306.193 are adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the November 29, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 7319), and therefore will not be republished. BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION As required by Texas Government Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C), client services functions previously performed by the Depart-ment of State Health Services (DSHS) were transferred to the HHSC on September 1, 2016, in accordance with Texas Government Code §531.0
	Sections 306.151, 306.152, 306.154, 306.192, and 306.193 are adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the November 29, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 7319), and therefore will not be republished. BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION As required by Texas Government Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C), client services functions previously performed by the Depart-ment of State Health Services (DSHS) were transferred to the HHSC on September 1, 2016, in accordance with Texas Government Code §531.0
	§306.171(d)(2) with §306.171(d). The changes were made to increase understanding and to reflect the process a facility must follow if an individual arrives at the facility with an emergency medical condition. Comment: The commenter recommended adding language to §306.174(b) to delineate the minimum age of an individual that may be admitted into the Waco Center for Youth and recom-mended considering another setting or program in the discharge planning process under §306.174(d). Response: HHSC agrees with the
	§306.171(d)(2) with §306.171(d). The changes were made to increase understanding and to reflect the process a facility must follow if an individual arrives at the facility with an emergency medical condition. Comment: The commenter recommended adding language to §306.174(b) to delineate the minimum age of an individual that may be admitted into the Waco Center for Youth and recom-mended considering another setting or program in the discharge planning process under §306.174(d). Response: HHSC agrees with the

	Response: HHSC declines to modify the rule in response to this comment. The recommendation does not apply to this section. Comment: The commenter suggested a couple of recommen-dations to §306.191. A suggestion was made to consider the geographical proximity of any persons the individual indicates during a transfer between state mental health facilities in §306.191(b)(4). The commenter questioned if an LMHA could provide input to deny a transfer and suggested clarifying the type of input that is sought from
	Response: HHSC declines to modify the rule in response to this comment. The recommendation does not apply to this section. Comment: The commenter suggested a couple of recommen-dations to §306.191. A suggestion was made to consider the geographical proximity of any persons the individual indicates during a transfer between state mental health facilities in §306.191(b)(4). The commenter questioned if an LMHA could provide input to deny a transfer and suggested clarifying the type of input that is sought from
	Response: HHSC declines to modify the rule in response to this comment. The recommendation does not apply to this section. Comment: The commenter suggested a couple of recommen-dations to §306.191. A suggestion was made to consider the geographical proximity of any persons the individual indicates during a transfer between state mental health facilities in §306.191(b)(4). The commenter questioned if an LMHA could provide input to deny a transfer and suggested clarifying the type of input that is sought from
	omitted under certain circumstances and may conflict with language in §306.201(h)(2); clarifying that the facility must send a copy of the discharge packet to a county jail, if the county jail has facilitated needed services through another entity in §306.201(h)(3)(B)(iii); requiring a description of the frequency and intensity of the services in the written discharge summary in §306.201(k)(3)(B); and suggested adding language to require a facility to provide information about the resolution of the appar-en
	omitted under certain circumstances and may conflict with language in §306.201(h)(2); clarifying that the facility must send a copy of the discharge packet to a county jail, if the county jail has facilitated needed services through another entity in §306.201(h)(3)(B)(iii); requiring a description of the frequency and intensity of the services in the written discharge summary in §306.201(k)(3)(B); and suggested adding language to require a facility to provide information about the resolution of the appar-en




	cluding information about the attempts made to locate and con-tact the individual who fails to appear for a face-to-face contact in §306.207(a)(1)(D). Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and incorporated the recommendation by adding "as determined by the individ-ual's level of care," which describes the frequency of services, in §306.207(1)(B)(ii). HHSC revised §306.207(1)(D) as suggested. HHSC made grammatical changes to the definition of LIDDA in §306.153(39); minor in §306.153(47); ombudsman in §306
	cluding information about the attempts made to locate and con-tact the individual who fails to appear for a face-to-face contact in §306.207(a)(1)(D). Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter and incorporated the recommendation by adding "as determined by the individ-ual's level of care," which describes the frequency of services, in §306.207(1)(B)(ii). HHSC revised §306.207(1)(D) as suggested. HHSC made grammatical changes to the definition of LIDDA in §306.153(39); minor in §306.153(47); ombudsman in §306
	§306.153. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. (1) Absence--When an individual, previously admitted to an SMHF and not discharged from the SMHF, is physically away from the SMHF for any reason, including hospitalization, home visit, special activity, unauthorized departure, or absence for trial placement. (2) Admission--(A) An individual's acceptance to an SMHF's custody or a facility with a CPB 
	§306.153. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. (1) Absence--When an individual, previously admitted to an SMHF and not discharged from the SMHF, is physically away from the SMHF for any reason, including hospitalization, home visit, special activity, unauthorized departure, or absence for trial placement. (2) Admission--(A) An individual's acceptance to an SMHF's custody or a facility with a CPB 
	§306.153. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. (1) Absence--When an individual, previously admitted to an SMHF and not discharged from the SMHF, is physically away from the SMHF for any reason, including hospitalization, home visit, special activity, unauthorized departure, or absence for trial placement. (2) Admission--(A) An individual's acceptance to an SMHF's custody or a facility with a CPB 



	(8) Assessment--The administrative process an SMHF or a facility with a CPB uses to gather information from a prospective patient, including a medical history and the problem for which the prospective patient is seeking treatment, to determine whether a prospective patient should be examined by a physician to determine if admission is clinically justified, as defined by Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(h)(2). (9) Assessment professional--In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(c)-(d)
	(8) Assessment--The administrative process an SMHF or a facility with a CPB uses to gather information from a prospective patient, including a medical history and the problem for which the prospective patient is seeking treatment, to determine whether a prospective patient should be examined by a physician to determine if admission is clinically justified, as defined by Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(h)(2). (9) Assessment professional--In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(c)-(d)
	(8) Assessment--The administrative process an SMHF or a facility with a CPB uses to gather information from a prospective patient, including a medical history and the problem for which the prospective patient is seeking treatment, to determine whether a prospective patient should be examined by a physician to determine if admission is clinically justified, as defined by Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(h)(2). (9) Assessment professional--In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(c)-(d)
	(8) Assessment--The administrative process an SMHF or a facility with a CPB uses to gather information from a prospective patient, including a medical history and the problem for which the prospective patient is seeking treatment, to determine whether a prospective patient should be examined by a physician to determine if admission is clinically justified, as defined by Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(h)(2). (9) Assessment professional--In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(c)-(d)
	(8) Assessment--The administrative process an SMHF or a facility with a CPB uses to gather information from a prospective patient, including a medical history and the problem for which the prospective patient is seeking treatment, to determine whether a prospective patient should be examined by a physician to determine if admission is clinically justified, as defined by Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(h)(2). (9) Assessment professional--In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(c)-(d)


	(C) participating in developing and reviewing the indi-vidual's recovery or treatment plan; (D) promoting implementation of the individual's re-covery or treatment plan; and (E) coordinating notification of continuity of care ser-vices between the individual and the individual's family and any other person providing support as authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any. (15) Continuity of care worker--An LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA staff member responsible for providing continuity of care services. The staff me
	(C) participating in developing and reviewing the indi-vidual's recovery or treatment plan; (D) promoting implementation of the individual's re-covery or treatment plan; and (E) coordinating notification of continuity of care ser-vices between the individual and the individual's family and any other person providing support as authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any. (15) Continuity of care worker--An LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA staff member responsible for providing continuity of care services. The staff me
	(C) participating in developing and reviewing the indi-vidual's recovery or treatment plan; (D) promoting implementation of the individual's re-covery or treatment plan; and (E) coordinating notification of continuity of care ser-vices between the individual and the individual's family and any other person providing support as authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any. (15) Continuity of care worker--An LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA staff member responsible for providing continuity of care services. The staff me



	ized supports, or other forms of assistance that are of a lifelong or ex-tended duration and are individually planned and coordinated; and (D) results in substantial functional limitations in three or more of the following categories of major life activity: (i) self-care; (ii) receptive and expressive language; (iii) learning; (iv) mobility; (v) self-direction; (vi) capacity for independent living; and (vii) economic self-sufficiency. (24) Designated LMHA or LBHA--The LMHA or LBHA: (A) that serves the indiv
	(28) Face-to-face--A form of contact occurring in person or through the use of audiovisual or other telecommunications technology. (29) Facility--A care facility including a state mental health facility, private psychiatric hospital, medical hospital, and community setting, but does not include a nursing facility or an assisted living fa-cility. (30) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-sion or its designee. (31) ID--Intellectual disability. Consistent with Texas Health and Safety Code §591.003, sig
	(28) Face-to-face--A form of contact occurring in person or through the use of audiovisual or other telecommunications technology. (29) Facility--A care facility including a state mental health facility, private psychiatric hospital, medical hospital, and community setting, but does not include a nursing facility or an assisted living fa-cility. (30) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-sion or its designee. (31) ID--Intellectual disability. Consistent with Texas Health and Safety Code §591.003, sig
	(28) Face-to-face--A form of contact occurring in person or through the use of audiovisual or other telecommunications technology. (29) Facility--A care facility including a state mental health facility, private psychiatric hospital, medical hospital, and community setting, but does not include a nursing facility or an assisted living fa-cility. (30) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-sion or its designee. (31) ID--Intellectual disability. Consistent with Texas Health and Safety Code §591.003, sig



	(ii) a Department of Family and Protective Service managing conservator of a minor acting pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code §572.001 (c-2) -(c-4); and (iii) a person eligible to consent to treatment for a minor under §32.001(a), Texas Family Code, or a person who may request from a district court authorization under Texas Family Code, Chapter 35 for the temporary admission of a minor. (B) consent on behalf of an individual with regard to a matter described in this subchapter other than admission, tra
	(ii) a Department of Family and Protective Service managing conservator of a minor acting pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code §572.001 (c-2) -(c-4); and (iii) a person eligible to consent to treatment for a minor under §32.001(a), Texas Family Code, or a person who may request from a district court authorization under Texas Family Code, Chapter 35 for the temporary admission of a minor. (B) consent on behalf of an individual with regard to a matter described in this subchapter other than admission, tra
	(ii) a Department of Family and Protective Service managing conservator of a minor acting pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code §572.001 (c-2) -(c-4); and (iii) a person eligible to consent to treatment for a minor under §32.001(a), Texas Family Code, or a person who may request from a district court authorization under Texas Family Code, Chapter 35 for the temporary admission of a minor. (B) consent on behalf of an individual with regard to a matter described in this subchapter other than admission, tra
	(49) Offender with special needs--An individual who has a terminal or serious medical condition, a mental illness, an ID, a DD, or a physical disability, and is served by the Texas Correctional Office on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments as provided in Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 614. (50) Ombudsman--The Ombudsman for Behavioral Health Access to Care established by Texas Government Code §531.02251, which serves as a neutral party to help individuals, including individu-als who are unins
	(49) Offender with special needs--An individual who has a terminal or serious medical condition, a mental illness, an ID, a DD, or a physical disability, and is served by the Texas Correctional Office on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments as provided in Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 614. (50) Ombudsman--The Ombudsman for Behavioral Health Access to Care established by Texas Government Code §531.02251, which serves as a neutral party to help individuals, including individu-als who are unins
	(49) Offender with special needs--An individual who has a terminal or serious medical condition, a mental illness, an ID, a DD, or a physical disability, and is served by the Texas Correctional Office on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments as provided in Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 614. (50) Ombudsman--The Ombudsman for Behavioral Health Access to Care established by Texas Government Code §531.02251, which serves as a neutral party to help individuals, including individu-als who are unins




	(D) completed in conjunction with the uniform assess-ment; (E) that identifies the individual's changing strengths, capacities, goals, preferences, needs, and desired outcomes; and (F) that includes recommended services and supports or reasons for the exclusion of services and supports. (60) Screening--Activities performed by a QMHP-CS to: (A) collect triage information through face-to-face or telephone interviews with an individual or collateral contact; (B) determine if the individual's need is emergent, 
	(D) completed in conjunction with the uniform assess-ment; (E) that identifies the individual's changing strengths, capacities, goals, preferences, needs, and desired outcomes; and (F) that includes recommended services and supports or reasons for the exclusion of services and supports. (60) Screening--Activities performed by a QMHP-CS to: (A) collect triage information through face-to-face or telephone interviews with an individual or collateral contact; (B) determine if the individual's need is emergent, 
	(D) completed in conjunction with the uniform assess-ment; (E) that identifies the individual's changing strengths, capacities, goals, preferences, needs, and desired outcomes; and (F) that includes recommended services and supports or reasons for the exclusion of services and supports. (60) Screening--Activities performed by a QMHP-CS to: (A) collect triage information through face-to-face or telephone interviews with an individual or collateral contact; (B) determine if the individual's need is emergent, 
	(D) completed in conjunction with the uniform assess-ment; (E) that identifies the individual's changing strengths, capacities, goals, preferences, needs, and desired outcomes; and (F) that includes recommended services and supports or reasons for the exclusion of services and supports. (60) Screening--Activities performed by a QMHP-CS to: (A) collect triage information through face-to-face or telephone interviews with an individual or collateral contact; (B) determine if the individual's need is emergent, 


	DIVISION 2. SCREENING AND ASSESSMENT FOR CRISIS SERVICES AND ADMISSION INTO LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITY OR LOCAL BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AUTHORITY SERVICES--LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITY OR LOCAL BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AUTHORITY RESPONSIBILITIES 26 TAC §§306.161 -306.163 STATUTORY AUTHORITY The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-vices by the health and human services agencies. 

	priority population, the LMHA or LBHA identifies which services the individual may be eligible to receive and, if appropriate, determines whether the individual receives services immediately or places the in-dividual on a waiting list for services and refers the individual to other community resources. (2) Individuals who are enrolled in Medicaid must receive services immediately and may not be placed on a waiting list. (3) An LMHA or LBHA must serve an individual in accor-dance with §301.327 of this title.
	priority population, the LMHA or LBHA identifies which services the individual may be eligible to receive and, if appropriate, determines whether the individual receives services immediately or places the in-dividual on a waiting list for services and refers the individual to other community resources. (2) Individuals who are enrolled in Medicaid must receive services immediately and may not be placed on a waiting list. (3) An LMHA or LBHA must serve an individual in accor-dance with §301.327 of this title.
	priority population, the LMHA or LBHA identifies which services the individual may be eligible to receive and, if appropriate, determines whether the individual receives services immediately or places the in-dividual on a waiting list for services and refers the individual to other community resources. (2) Individuals who are enrolled in Medicaid must receive services immediately and may not be placed on a waiting list. (3) An LMHA or LBHA must serve an individual in accor-dance with §301.327 of this title.
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	(2) If an LMHA or LBHA initiates a dispute that executive directors of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs cannot resolve, the HHSC performance contract manager(s) of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs resolves the dispute. (d) Disputes regarding county of residence initiated by or on behalf of an individual. The Ombudsman may consult with the HHSC performance contract manager(s) of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs and help resolve a dispute initiated by or on behalf of an individual. (e) Changing county of residence status. C
	(2) If an LMHA or LBHA initiates a dispute that executive directors of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs cannot resolve, the HHSC performance contract manager(s) of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs resolves the dispute. (d) Disputes regarding county of residence initiated by or on behalf of an individual. The Ombudsman may consult with the HHSC performance contract manager(s) of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs and help resolve a dispute initiated by or on behalf of an individual. (e) Changing county of residence status. C
	(2) If an LMHA or LBHA initiates a dispute that executive directors of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs cannot resolve, the HHSC performance contract manager(s) of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs resolves the dispute. (d) Disputes regarding county of residence initiated by or on behalf of an individual. The Ombudsman may consult with the HHSC performance contract manager(s) of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs and help resolve a dispute initiated by or on behalf of an individual. (e) Changing county of residence status. C




	(6) The designated LMHA or LBHA assigns a continuity of care worker to an individual admitted to an SMHF, a facility with a CPB, or an LMHA or LBHA inpatient services network provider. (7) If the individual has an ID or DD, the designated LIDDA assigns a continuity of care worker to the individual. (8) The LMHA or LBHA continuity of care worker, and LIDDA continuity of care worker as applicable, are responsible for the facilitation of the individual's continuity of services. (c) Community-based crisis treat
	(6) The designated LMHA or LBHA assigns a continuity of care worker to an individual admitted to an SMHF, a facility with a CPB, or an LMHA or LBHA inpatient services network provider. (7) If the individual has an ID or DD, the designated LIDDA assigns a continuity of care worker to the individual. (8) The LMHA or LBHA continuity of care worker, and LIDDA continuity of care worker as applicable, are responsible for the facilitation of the individual's continuity of services. (c) Community-based crisis treat
	(6) The designated LMHA or LBHA assigns a continuity of care worker to an individual admitted to an SMHF, a facility with a CPB, or an LMHA or LBHA inpatient services network provider. (7) If the individual has an ID or DD, the designated LIDDA assigns a continuity of care worker to the individual. (8) The LMHA or LBHA continuity of care worker, and LIDDA continuity of care worker as applicable, are responsible for the facilitation of the individual's continuity of services. (c) Community-based crisis treat
	(6) The designated LMHA or LBHA assigns a continuity of care worker to an individual admitted to an SMHF, a facility with a CPB, or an LMHA or LBHA inpatient services network provider. (7) If the individual has an ID or DD, the designated LIDDA assigns a continuity of care worker to the individual. (8) The LMHA or LBHA continuity of care worker, and LIDDA continuity of care worker as applicable, are responsible for the facilitation of the individual's continuity of services. (c) Community-based crisis treat


	WITH A CONTRACTED PSYCHIATRIC BED--PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES 26 TAC §§306.171 -306.178 STATUTORY AUTHORITY The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition, Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision of community-based mental health services a
	WITH A CONTRACTED PSYCHIATRIC BED--PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES 26 TAC §§306.171 -306.178 STATUTORY AUTHORITY The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-vices by the health and human services agencies. In addition, Texas Health and Safety Code §534.053 requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules ensuring the provision of community-based mental health services a


	that the individual does not meet inpatient criteria for admission, the facility contacts the designated LMHA or LBHA to coordinate alter-nate outpatient community services. The designated LMHA or LBHA must contact the individual within 24 hours after being notified that the individual does not meet inpatient admission criteria. §306.172. Admission Criteria for Maximum-Security Units. An individual's admission to a maximum-security unit occurs only if the individual is: (1) committed pursuant to Chapter 46B
	that the individual does not meet inpatient criteria for admission, the facility contacts the designated LMHA or LBHA to coordinate alter-nate outpatient community services. The designated LMHA or LBHA must contact the individual within 24 hours after being notified that the individual does not meet inpatient admission criteria. §306.172. Admission Criteria for Maximum-Security Units. An individual's admission to a maximum-security unit occurs only if the individual is: (1) committed pursuant to Chapter 46B
	that the individual does not meet inpatient criteria for admission, the facility contacts the designated LMHA or LBHA to coordinate alter-nate outpatient community services. The designated LMHA or LBHA must contact the individual within 24 hours after being notified that the individual does not meet inpatient admission criteria. §306.172. Admission Criteria for Maximum-Security Units. An individual's admission to a maximum-security unit occurs only if the individual is: (1) committed pursuant to Chapter 46B
	(B) the LMHA or LBHA, following a documented LMHA or LBHA assessment that local resources have been explored and exhausted (if the full CRCG cannot convene in a timely manner); or (C) an SMHF. (b) Waco Center for Youth may not admit: (1) a child under 10 years of age; (2) an adolescent that has been found to have engaged in delinquent conduct or conduct indicating a need for supervision under the Texas Family Code, Title 3; (3) an adolescent that is acutely psychotic, suicidal, homi-cidal, or seriously viol
	(B) the LMHA or LBHA, following a documented LMHA or LBHA assessment that local resources have been explored and exhausted (if the full CRCG cannot convene in a timely manner); or (C) an SMHF. (b) Waco Center for Youth may not admit: (1) a child under 10 years of age; (2) an adolescent that has been found to have engaged in delinquent conduct or conduct indicating a need for supervision under the Texas Family Code, Title 3; (3) an adolescent that is acutely psychotic, suicidal, homi-cidal, or seriously viol
	(B) the LMHA or LBHA, following a documented LMHA or LBHA assessment that local resources have been explored and exhausted (if the full CRCG cannot convene in a timely manner); or (C) an SMHF. (b) Waco Center for Youth may not admit: (1) a child under 10 years of age; (2) an adolescent that has been found to have engaged in delinquent conduct or conduct indicating a need for supervision under the Texas Family Code, Title 3; (3) an adolescent that is acutely psychotic, suicidal, homi-cidal, or seriously viol
	(B) the LMHA or LBHA, following a documented LMHA or LBHA assessment that local resources have been explored and exhausted (if the full CRCG cannot convene in a timely manner); or (C) an SMHF. (b) Waco Center for Youth may not admit: (1) a child under 10 years of age; (2) an adolescent that has been found to have engaged in delinquent conduct or conduct indicating a need for supervision under the Texas Family Code, Title 3; (3) an adolescent that is acutely psychotic, suicidal, homi-cidal, or seriously viol




	(ii) consents to diagnosis, observation, care, and treatment of the individual until: (I) the discharge of the individual; or (II) the individual is entitled to leave the SMHF or facility with a CPB, in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004, after a request for discharge is made. (3) The consent given under paragraph (2)(B)(ii) of this subsection does not waive an individual's rights described in: (A) 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to Rights of Persons Receiving Mental Health Ser
	(ii) consents to diagnosis, observation, care, and treatment of the individual until: (I) the discharge of the individual; or (II) the individual is entitled to leave the SMHF or facility with a CPB, in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004, after a request for discharge is made. (3) The consent given under paragraph (2)(B)(ii) of this subsection does not waive an individual's rights described in: (A) 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to Rights of Persons Receiving Mental Health Ser
	(ii) consents to diagnosis, observation, care, and treatment of the individual until: (I) the discharge of the individual; or (II) the individual is entitled to leave the SMHF or facility with a CPB, in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004, after a request for discharge is made. (3) The consent given under paragraph (2)(B)(ii) of this subsection does not waive an individual's rights described in: (A) 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to Rights of Persons Receiving Mental Health Ser
	(ii) consents to diagnosis, observation, care, and treatment of the individual until: (I) the discharge of the individual; or (II) the individual is entitled to leave the SMHF or facility with a CPB, in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004, after a request for discharge is made. (3) The consent given under paragraph (2)(B)(ii) of this subsection does not waive an individual's rights described in: (A) 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to Rights of Persons Receiving Mental Health Ser



	to consent to diagnosis, observation, care, and treatment, the SMHF or the facility with a CPB may not voluntarily admit the individual. (2) When appropriate, the SMHF or the facility with a CPB initiates an emergency detention proceeding in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 573, or files an application for court-ordered inpatient mental health services in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 574. (g) Intake assessment. In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572

	(i) Documentation of admission order. In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(f)(1), the order described in subsection (h)(2)(C) of this section is issued: (1) in writing and signed by the issuing physician; or (2) orally or electronically if, within 24 hours after its is-suance, the SMHF or facility with a CPB has a written order signed by the issuing physician. (j) Periodic evaluation. To determine the need for continued inpatient treatment, a physician or physician's designee must evalu
	(i) Documentation of admission order. In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(f)(1), the order described in subsection (h)(2)(C) of this section is issued: (1) in writing and signed by the issuing physician; or (2) orally or electronically if, within 24 hours after its is-suance, the SMHF or facility with a CPB has a written order signed by the issuing physician. (j) Periodic evaluation. To determine the need for continued inpatient treatment, a physician or physician's designee must evalu
	(i) Documentation of admission order. In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(f)(1), the order described in subsection (h)(2)(C) of this section is issued: (1) in writing and signed by the issuing physician; or (2) orally or electronically if, within 24 hours after its is-suance, the SMHF or facility with a CPB has a written order signed by the issuing physician. (j) Periodic evaluation. To determine the need for continued inpatient treatment, a physician or physician's designee must evalu
	(i) Documentation of admission order. In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(f)(1), the order described in subsection (h)(2)(C) of this section is issued: (1) in writing and signed by the issuing physician; or (2) orally or electronically if, within 24 hours after its is-suance, the SMHF or facility with a CPB has a written order signed by the issuing physician. (j) Periodic evaluation. To determine the need for continued inpatient treatment, a physician or physician's designee must evalu
	(i) Documentation of admission order. In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(f)(1), the order described in subsection (h)(2)(C) of this section is issued: (1) in writing and signed by the issuing physician; or (2) orally or electronically if, within 24 hours after its is-suance, the SMHF or facility with a CPB has a written order signed by the issuing physician. (j) Periodic evaluation. To determine the need for continued inpatient treatment, a physician or physician's designee must evalu
	(i) Documentation of admission order. In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(f)(1), the order described in subsection (h)(2)(C) of this section is issued: (1) in writing and signed by the issuing physician; or (2) orally or electronically if, within 24 hours after its is-suance, the SMHF or facility with a CPB has a written order signed by the issuing physician. (j) Periodic evaluation. To determine the need for continued inpatient treatment, a physician or physician's designee must evalu



	tional distress and deterioration in the individual's mental condition to the extent that the individual cannot remain at liberty; and (C) the detailed information on which the physician based the determination; (3) the physician issues and signs a written order admitting the individual for emergency detention; and (4) the individual meets the admission criteria of the SMHF or facility with a CPB. (d) Release. (1) The SMHF or facility with a CPB releases the individ-ual accepted for a preliminary examinatio


	(5) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual trust fund account, charges for services, and the financial responsibility form. §306.177. Admission Criteria Under Order of Protective Custody or Court-ordered Inpatient Mental Health Services. (a) An SMHF or facility with a CPB admits an individual: (1) under a protective custody order only if a court has is-sued a protective custody order in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.022; or (2) for court-ordered inpatient mental health service
	(5) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual trust fund account, charges for services, and the financial responsibility form. §306.177. Admission Criteria Under Order of Protective Custody or Court-ordered Inpatient Mental Health Services. (a) An SMHF or facility with a CPB admits an individual: (1) under a protective custody order only if a court has is-sued a protective custody order in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.022; or (2) for court-ordered inpatient mental health service
	vidual is eligible for discharge as described in §306.204 of this sub-chapter (relating to Discharge of an Individual Involuntarily Receiving Treatment), if, after consultation with the designated LMHA or LBHA: (1) the SMHF or facility with a CPB obtains written con-sent for voluntary inpatient services that meets the requirements of a request for voluntary admission, as described in §306.175(a) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Aut
	vidual is eligible for discharge as described in §306.204 of this sub-chapter (relating to Discharge of an Individual Involuntarily Receiving Treatment), if, after consultation with the designated LMHA or LBHA: (1) the SMHF or facility with a CPB obtains written con-sent for voluntary inpatient services that meets the requirements of a request for voluntary admission, as described in §306.175(a) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Aut


	(3) program and bed availability; and (4) geographical proximity to the individual's family and any other person authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any. (c) An individual voluntarily receiving treatment may not be transferred without the consent of the individual or LAR who made the request for voluntary admission in accordance with §306.175(a)(1) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for a State 
	(3) program and bed availability; and (4) geographical proximity to the individual's family and any other person authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any. (c) An individual voluntarily receiving treatment may not be transferred without the consent of the individual or LAR who made the request for voluntary admission in accordance with §306.175(a)(1) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for a State 
	(3) program and bed availability; and (4) geographical proximity to the individual's family and any other person authorized by the individual, and LAR, if any. (c) An individual voluntarily receiving treatment may not be transferred without the consent of the individual or LAR who made the request for voluntary admission in accordance with §306.175(a)(1) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for a State 
	(C) assist in facilitating and scheduling the intake ap-pointment at the new LMHA or LBHA once the relocation has been confirmed; (D) submit to the receiving LMHA or LBHA treatment information pertinent to the individual's continuity of care with sub-mission after the individual's transfer request; (E) ensure the individual has sufficient medication for up to 90 days or to last until the medication management appointment date at the receiving LMHA or LBHA; (F) maintain the individual's case in open status i
	(C) assist in facilitating and scheduling the intake ap-pointment at the new LMHA or LBHA once the relocation has been confirmed; (D) submit to the receiving LMHA or LBHA treatment information pertinent to the individual's continuity of care with sub-mission after the individual's transfer request; (E) ensure the individual has sufficient medication for up to 90 days or to last until the medication management appointment date at the receiving LMHA or LBHA; (F) maintain the individual's case in open status i
	(C) assist in facilitating and scheduling the intake ap-pointment at the new LMHA or LBHA once the relocation has been confirmed; (D) submit to the receiving LMHA or LBHA treatment information pertinent to the individual's continuity of care with sub-mission after the individual's transfer request; (E) ensure the individual has sufficient medication for up to 90 days or to last until the medication management appointment date at the receiving LMHA or LBHA; (F) maintain the individual's case in open status i




	to a county within the local service area of another LMHA or LBHA and seek services from the new LMHA or LBHA: (1) the SMHF or facility with a CPB notifies the following of the individual's intent to move the individual's permanent residence upon discharge: (A) the originating LMHA or LBHA, if the individual was receiving LMHA or LBHA services from the originating LMHA or LBHA before admission to the SMHF or facility with a CPB; and (B) the new LMHA or LBHA; (2) the following participate in the individual's
	to a county within the local service area of another LMHA or LBHA and seek services from the new LMHA or LBHA: (1) the SMHF or facility with a CPB notifies the following of the individual's intent to move the individual's permanent residence upon discharge: (A) the originating LMHA or LBHA, if the individual was receiving LMHA or LBHA services from the originating LMHA or LBHA before admission to the SMHF or facility with a CPB; and (B) the new LMHA or LBHA; (2) the following participate in the individual's
	§306.201. Discharge Planning. (a) At the time of an individual's admission to an SMHF or facility with a CPB, the designated LMHA or LBHA, if any, and the SMHF or facility with a CPB begins discharge planning for the indi-vidual. (b) The designated LMHA or LBHA continuity of care worker or other designated staff; the designated LIDDA continuity of care worker, if applicable; the individual; the individual's LAR, if any; and any other person authorized by the individual coordinates discharge planning with th
	§306.201. Discharge Planning. (a) At the time of an individual's admission to an SMHF or facility with a CPB, the designated LMHA or LBHA, if any, and the SMHF or facility with a CPB begins discharge planning for the indi-vidual. (b) The designated LMHA or LBHA continuity of care worker or other designated staff; the designated LIDDA continuity of care worker, if applicable; the individual; the individual's LAR, if any; and any other person authorized by the individual coordinates discharge planning with th


	(A) a description of the individual's living arrangement after discharge, or while on ATP, that reflects the individual's prefer-ences, choices, and available community resources; (B) arrangements and referrals for the available and ac-cessible services and supports agreed upon by the individual or LAR recommended in the individual's discharge plan; (C) a written description of recommended clinical and non-clinical services and supports the individual may receive after dis-charge or while on ATP. The SMHF o
	(A) a description of the individual's living arrangement after discharge, or while on ATP, that reflects the individual's prefer-ences, choices, and available community resources; (B) arrangements and referrals for the available and ac-cessible services and supports agreed upon by the individual or LAR recommended in the individual's discharge plan; (C) a written description of recommended clinical and non-clinical services and supports the individual may receive after dis-charge or while on ATP. The SMHF o
	(A) a description of the individual's living arrangement after discharge, or while on ATP, that reflects the individual's prefer-ences, choices, and available community resources; (B) arrangements and referrals for the available and ac-cessible services and supports agreed upon by the individual or LAR recommended in the individual's discharge plan; (C) a written description of recommended clinical and non-clinical services and supports the individual may receive after dis-charge or while on ATP. The SMHF o
	(A) a description of the individual's living arrangement after discharge, or while on ATP, that reflects the individual's prefer-ences, choices, and available community resources; (B) arrangements and referrals for the available and ac-cessible services and supports agreed upon by the individual or LAR recommended in the individual's discharge plan; (C) a written description of recommended clinical and non-clinical services and supports the individual may receive after dis-charge or while on ATP. The SMHF o
	(A) a description of the individual's living arrangement after discharge, or while on ATP, that reflects the individual's prefer-ences, choices, and available community resources; (B) arrangements and referrals for the available and ac-cessible services and supports agreed upon by the individual or LAR recommended in the individual's discharge plan; (C) a written description of recommended clinical and non-clinical services and supports the individual may receive after dis-charge or while on ATP. The SMHF o


	(I) the medical director or designee of the SMHF or facility with a CPB refers the issue to the State Hospital System Chief Medical Officer; and (II) the State Hospital System Chief Medical Of-ficer collaborates with the Medical Director of the Behavioral Health Section to render a final decision within 24 hours of notification. (e) Discharge notice to family or LAR. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §576.007, before discharging an individual who is an adult, the SMHF or facility with a CP
	(I) the medical director or designee of the SMHF or facility with a CPB refers the issue to the State Hospital System Chief Medical Officer; and (II) the State Hospital System Chief Medical Of-ficer collaborates with the Medical Director of the Behavioral Health Section to render a final decision within 24 hours of notification. (e) Discharge notice to family or LAR. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §576.007, before discharging an individual who is an adult, the SMHF or facility with a CP
	(I) the medical director or designee of the SMHF or facility with a CPB refers the issue to the State Hospital System Chief Medical Officer; and (II) the State Hospital System Chief Medical Of-ficer collaborates with the Medical Director of the Behavioral Health Section to render a final decision within 24 hours of notification. (e) Discharge notice to family or LAR. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §576.007, before discharging an individual who is an adult, the SMHF or facility with a CP



	(1) identifying information, including address; (2) legal status (e.g., regarding guardianship, charges pend-ing, or custody if the individual is a minor); (3) the day and time the individual will be discharged or on an ATP; (4) the individual's destination after discharge or ATP; (5) pertinent medical information; (6) current medications; (7) behavioral data, including information regarding COPSD; and (8) other pertinent treatment information, including the discharge plan. (h) Discharge packet. (1) At a mi
	(1) identifying information, including address; (2) legal status (e.g., regarding guardianship, charges pend-ing, or custody if the individual is a minor); (3) the day and time the individual will be discharged or on an ATP; (4) the individual's destination after discharge or ATP; (5) pertinent medical information; (6) current medications; (7) behavioral data, including information regarding COPSD; and (8) other pertinent treatment information, including the discharge plan. (h) Discharge packet. (1) At a mi

	(iii) a county jail, if the individual will be taken to the county jail upon discharge. (i) Unexpected Discharge. (1) The SMHF or facility with a CPB and the designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA must make reasonable efforts to provide discharge planning for an individual discharged unexpectedly. (2) If there is an unexpected discharge, the facility social worker or a staff with an equivalent credential to a social worker must document the reason for not completing discharge planning activities in the individual'

	(a) Three Admissions Within 180 Days. An individual admit-ted to an SMHF or a facility with a CPB three times within 180 days is considered at risk for future admission to inpatient services. To pre-vent the unnecessary admissions to an inpatient facility, the designated LMHA or LBHA must: (1) during discharge planning, review the individual's pre-vious recovery or treatment plans to determine the effectiveness of the clinical services received; (2) include in the recovery or treatment plan: (A) non-clinica
	(a) Three Admissions Within 180 Days. An individual admit-ted to an SMHF or a facility with a CPB three times within 180 days is considered at risk for future admission to inpatient services. To pre-vent the unnecessary admissions to an inpatient facility, the designated LMHA or LBHA must: (1) during discharge planning, review the individual's pre-vious recovery or treatment plans to determine the effectiveness of the clinical services received; (2) include in the recovery or treatment plan: (A) non-clinica
	(a) Three Admissions Within 180 Days. An individual admit-ted to an SMHF or a facility with a CPB three times within 180 days is considered at risk for future admission to inpatient services. To pre-vent the unnecessary admissions to an inpatient facility, the designated LMHA or LBHA must: (1) during discharge planning, review the individual's pre-vious recovery or treatment plans to determine the effectiveness of the clinical services received; (2) include in the recovery or treatment plan: (A) non-clinica
	(a) Three Admissions Within 180 Days. An individual admit-ted to an SMHF or a facility with a CPB three times within 180 days is considered at risk for future admission to inpatient services. To pre-vent the unnecessary admissions to an inpatient facility, the designated LMHA or LBHA must: (1) during discharge planning, review the individual's pre-vious recovery or treatment plans to determine the effectiveness of the clinical services received; (2) include in the recovery or treatment plan: (A) non-clinica
	(a) Three Admissions Within 180 Days. An individual admit-ted to an SMHF or a facility with a CPB three times within 180 days is considered at risk for future admission to inpatient services. To pre-vent the unnecessary admissions to an inpatient facility, the designated LMHA or LBHA must: (1) during discharge planning, review the individual's pre-vious recovery or treatment plans to determine the effectiveness of the clinical services received; (2) include in the recovery or treatment plan: (A) non-clinica


	(iv) the individual's adjustment to the nursing facil-ity. (6) Before the end of the initial ATP period described in §306.206(b)(2) of this subchapter (relating to Absence for Trial Place-ment), the designated LMHA or LBHA must recommend to the SMHF or facility with a CPB one of the following: (A) discharging the individual if the LMHA or LBHA determines that: (i) the nursing facility is capable and willing to pro-vide appropriate care to the individual after discharge; (ii) any mental health services neede
	(iv) the individual's adjustment to the nursing facil-ity. (6) Before the end of the initial ATP period described in §306.206(b)(2) of this subchapter (relating to Absence for Trial Place-ment), the designated LMHA or LBHA must recommend to the SMHF or facility with a CPB one of the following: (A) discharging the individual if the LMHA or LBHA determines that: (i) the nursing facility is capable and willing to pro-vide appropriate care to the individual after discharge; (ii) any mental health services neede
	(iv) the individual's adjustment to the nursing facil-ity. (6) Before the end of the initial ATP period described in §306.206(b)(2) of this subchapter (relating to Absence for Trial Place-ment), the designated LMHA or LBHA must recommend to the SMHF or facility with a CPB one of the following: (A) discharging the individual if the LMHA or LBHA determines that: (i) the nursing facility is capable and willing to pro-vide appropriate care to the individual after discharge; (ii) any mental health services neede



	(f) Criminal Code. (1) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46B: In-competency to stand trial. (A) The SMHF or facility with a CPB must discharge an individual committed under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 46B.102 (relating to Civil Commitment Hearing: Mental Illness), in accordance with Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 46B.107 (relating to Release of Defendant after Civil Commitment). (B) The SMHF or facility with a CPB must discharge an individual committed under Texas Code of Cr
	(f) Criminal Code. (1) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 46B: In-competency to stand trial. (A) The SMHF or facility with a CPB must discharge an individual committed under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 46B.102 (relating to Civil Commitment Hearing: Mental Illness), in accordance with Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 46B.107 (relating to Release of Defendant after Civil Commitment). (B) The SMHF or facility with a CPB must discharge an individual committed under Texas Code of Cr

	(C) if the LMHA or LBHA does not conduct a face-to-face contact with the individual, the LMHA or LMHA must document the reasons for not doing so in the individual's record. (2) If an LMHA or LBHA is notified of the anticipated re-lease from prison or a state jail of an offender with special needs in the MH priority population who is currently taking psychoactive med-ication(s) for a mental illness and who will be released with a 30-day supply of the psychoactive medication(s), the LMHA or LBHA must arrange 
	(C) if the LMHA or LBHA does not conduct a face-to-face contact with the individual, the LMHA or LMHA must document the reasons for not doing so in the individual's record. (2) If an LMHA or LBHA is notified of the anticipated re-lease from prison or a state jail of an offender with special needs in the MH priority population who is currently taking psychoactive med-ication(s) for a mental illness and who will be released with a 30-day supply of the psychoactive medication(s), the LMHA or LBHA must arrange 
	(C) if the LMHA or LBHA does not conduct a face-to-face contact with the individual, the LMHA or LMHA must document the reasons for not doing so in the individual's record. (2) If an LMHA or LBHA is notified of the anticipated re-lease from prison or a state jail of an offender with special needs in the MH priority population who is currently taking psychoactive med-ication(s) for a mental illness and who will be released with a 30-day supply of the psychoactive medication(s), the LMHA or LBHA must arrange 



	(2) within four hours after a written request is made known to the SMHF or facility with a CPB, notify: (A) the treating physician; or (B) another physician who is an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff member, if the treating physician is not available during that time period. (d) Results of physician notification required by subsection (c)(3) of this section. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004(c) and (d): (A) an SMHF or facility with a CPB, based on a physi-cian's determination, mu
	(2) within four hours after a written request is made known to the SMHF or facility with a CPB, notify: (A) the treating physician; or (B) another physician who is an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff member, if the treating physician is not available during that time period. (d) Results of physician notification required by subsection (c)(3) of this section. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004(c) and (d): (A) an SMHF or facility with a CPB, based on a physi-cian's determination, mu
	(2) within four hours after a written request is made known to the SMHF or facility with a CPB, notify: (A) the treating physician; or (B) another physician who is an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff member, if the treating physician is not available during that time period. (d) Results of physician notification required by subsection (c)(3) of this section. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004(c) and (d): (A) an SMHF or facility with a CPB, based on a physi-cian's determination, mu
	(2) within four hours after a written request is made known to the SMHF or facility with a CPB, notify: (A) the treating physician; or (B) another physician who is an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff member, if the treating physician is not available during that time period. (d) Results of physician notification required by subsection (c)(3) of this section. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004(c) and (d): (A) an SMHF or facility with a CPB, based on a physi-cian's determination, mu
	(2) within four hours after a written request is made known to the SMHF or facility with a CPB, notify: (A) the treating physician; or (B) another physician who is an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff member, if the treating physician is not available during that time period. (d) Results of physician notification required by subsection (c)(3) of this section. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004(c) and (d): (A) an SMHF or facility with a CPB, based on a physi-cian's determination, mu
	(2) within four hours after a written request is made known to the SMHF or facility with a CPB, notify: (A) the treating physician; or (B) another physician who is an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff member, if the treating physician is not available during that time period. (d) Results of physician notification required by subsection (c)(3) of this section. (1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004(c) and (d): (A) an SMHF or facility with a CPB, based on a physi-cian's determination, mu



	Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for a State Mental Health Facility), the SMHF or facility with a CPB must: (1) notify the minor's parent, managing conservator, or guardian of the request and: (A) if the minor's parent, managing conservator, or guardian objects to the discharge, the minor continues treatment as a patient receiving voluntary treatment; or (B) if the minor's parent, managing conservator, or guardian does not object to the discharge, the minor individual is discharged; and (2) document the req
	Authorized by an LMHA or LBHA or for a State Mental Health Facility), the SMHF or facility with a CPB must: (1) notify the minor's parent, managing conservator, or guardian of the request and: (A) if the minor's parent, managing conservator, or guardian objects to the discharge, the minor continues treatment as a patient receiving voluntary treatment; or (B) if the minor's parent, managing conservator, or guardian does not object to the discharge, the minor individual is discharged; and (2) document the req


	(3) a final order for court-ordered inpatient mental health services has not been entered within the time period prescribed by Texas Health and Safety Code §574.005; or (4) an order to release the individual is issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.028(a). (c) Discharge under court-ordered inpatient mental health ser-vices. (1) Except as provided by §306.178 of this subchapter and in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.085 and §574.086(a), an SMHF or facility with a CPB i
	(3) a final order for court-ordered inpatient mental health services has not been entered within the time period prescribed by Texas Health and Safety Code §574.005; or (4) an order to release the individual is issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.028(a). (c) Discharge under court-ordered inpatient mental health ser-vices. (1) Except as provided by §306.178 of this subchapter and in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.085 and §574.086(a), an SMHF or facility with a CPB i
	(3) a final order for court-ordered inpatient mental health services has not been entered within the time period prescribed by Texas Health and Safety Code §574.005; or (4) an order to release the individual is issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.028(a). (c) Discharge under court-ordered inpatient mental health ser-vices. (1) Except as provided by §306.178 of this subchapter and in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.085 and §574.086(a), an SMHF or facility with a CPB i


	(2) the individual has violated the conditions of the ab-sence; or (3) the individual's condition has deteriorated to the extent that the individual's continued absence from the SMHF or facility with a CPB is inappropriate and there is a question of competency or will-ingness to consent to return, then the designated LMHA or SMHF must initiate involuntary admission in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 573 or 574. (c) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.084, an individual
	(2) the individual has violated the conditions of the ab-sence; or (3) the individual's condition has deteriorated to the extent that the individual's continued absence from the SMHF or facility with a CPB is inappropriate and there is a question of competency or will-ingness to consent to return, then the designated LMHA or SMHF must initiate involuntary admission in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 573 or 574. (c) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.084, an individual
	(2) the individual has violated the conditions of the ab-sence; or (3) the individual's condition has deteriorated to the extent that the individual's continued absence from the SMHF or facility with a CPB is inappropriate and there is a question of competency or will-ingness to consent to return, then the designated LMHA or SMHF must initiate involuntary admission in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 573 or 574. (c) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.084, an individual



	(3) The SMHF or facility with a CPB may extend an initial ATP period up to 30 days if: (A) requested by the designated LMHA or LBHA; and (B) clinically justified. (4) Approval by the following persons is required for any ATP that exceeds 60 days: (A) the SMHF administrator or designee, or the admin-istrator of the facility with a CPB or designee; and (B) the designated LMHA or LBHA executive director or designee. (c) Only the committing criminal court may grant ATP from the SMHF or facility with a CPB for i
	(3) The SMHF or facility with a CPB may extend an initial ATP period up to 30 days if: (A) requested by the designated LMHA or LBHA; and (B) clinically justified. (4) Approval by the following persons is required for any ATP that exceeds 60 days: (A) the SMHF administrator or designee, or the admin-istrator of the facility with a CPB or designee; and (B) the designated LMHA or LBHA executive director or designee. (c) Only the committing criminal court may grant ATP from the SMHF or facility with a CPB for i
	(3) The SMHF or facility with a CPB may extend an initial ATP period up to 30 days if: (A) requested by the designated LMHA or LBHA; and (B) clinically justified. (4) Approval by the following persons is required for any ATP that exceeds 60 days: (A) the SMHF administrator or designee, or the admin-istrator of the facility with a CPB or designee; and (B) the designated LMHA or LBHA executive director or designee. (c) Only the committing criminal court may grant ATP from the SMHF or facility with a CPB for i
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	(3) The SMHF or facility with a CPB may extend an initial ATP period up to 30 days if: (A) requested by the designated LMHA or LBHA; and (B) clinically justified. (4) Approval by the following persons is required for any ATP that exceeds 60 days: (A) the SMHF administrator or designee, or the admin-istrator of the facility with a CPB or designee; and (B) the designated LMHA or LBHA executive director or designee. (c) Only the committing criminal court may grant ATP from the SMHF or facility with a CPB for i



	within ten business days after the face-to-face contact required by sub-paragraph (A) of this paragraph. (D) The designated LMHA or LBHA makes a good faith effort to locate and contact an individual who fails to appear for a face-to-face contact required by subparagraph (A) of this paragraph. If the designated LMHA or LBHA does not have a face-to-face contact with the individual, the LMHA or LBHA documents the attempts made and reasons the face-to-face contact did not occur in the individual's record. (2) F
	within ten business days after the face-to-face contact required by sub-paragraph (A) of this paragraph. (D) The designated LMHA or LBHA makes a good faith effort to locate and contact an individual who fails to appear for a face-to-face contact required by subparagraph (A) of this paragraph. If the designated LMHA or LBHA does not have a face-to-face contact with the individual, the LMHA or LBHA documents the attempts made and reasons the face-to-face contact did not occur in the individual's record. (2) F



	§306.221. Screening and Intake Assessment Training Requirements at a State Mental Health Facility and a Facility with a Contracted Psy-chiatric Bed. (a) Screening training. As required by Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(e), an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff member whose responsibilities include conducting a screening de-scribed in Division 3 of this subchapter (relating to Admission to a State Mental Health Facility or Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed--Provider Responsibilities) must rec
	§306.221. Screening and Intake Assessment Training Requirements at a State Mental Health Facility and a Facility with a Contracted Psy-chiatric Bed. (a) Screening training. As required by Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(e), an SMHF or facility with a CPB staff member whose responsibilities include conducting a screening de-scribed in Division 3 of this subchapter (relating to Admission to a State Mental Health Facility or Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed--Provider Responsibilities) must rec
	(1) the date of the training; (2) the length of the training session; and (3) the name of the instructor. (d) Performance in accordance with training. Each staff mem-ber and each assessment professional whose responsibilities include conducting the screening or intake assessment must perform the as-sessments in accordance with the training required by this section. The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-thority. Filed w
	(1) the date of the training; (2) the length of the training session; and (3) the name of the instructor. (d) Performance in accordance with training. Each staff mem-ber and each assessment professional whose responsibilities include conducting the screening or intake assessment must perform the as-sessments in accordance with the training required by this section. The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-thority. Filed w
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	tion, every six months, of the frequency and patterns of unau-thorized absences within each GRO. COMMENTS The 31-day comment period ended January 27, 2020. During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the proposed rules from seven commenters, including Upbring, Willow Bend Center, Texas Alliance for Child and Family Services, Disability Rights Texas, Texas Appleseed, Devereux Advanced Behavioral Health Texas, and the Texas Department of Family and Protec-tive Services (DFPS). Several of the commente
	tion, every six months, of the frequency and patterns of unau-thorized absences within each GRO. COMMENTS The 31-day comment period ended January 27, 2020. During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the proposed rules from seven commenters, including Upbring, Willow Bend Center, Texas Alliance for Child and Family Services, Disability Rights Texas, Texas Appleseed, Devereux Advanced Behavioral Health Texas, and the Texas Department of Family and Protec-tive Services (DFPS). Several of the commente
	tion, every six months, of the frequency and patterns of unau-thorized absences within each GRO. COMMENTS The 31-day comment period ended January 27, 2020. During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the proposed rules from seven commenters, including Upbring, Willow Bend Center, Texas Alliance for Child and Family Services, Disability Rights Texas, Texas Appleseed, Devereux Advanced Behavioral Health Texas, and the Texas Department of Family and Protec-tive Services (DFPS). Several of the commente
	reporting triggered reviews to Licensing, the Licensing oversight of the process will occur through routine monitoring inspections and investigations and does not require the operation to report each triggered review to Licensing. DFPS will have an oppor-tunity to monitor what transpires during a triggered review when DFPS is invited to attend in its role as the managing conservator of children. Comment: Regarding §748.301(3), three commenters wanted further clarification regarding the definition of an "una
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	(d) If there is a serious incident involving an adult resident, you do not have to report the incident to Licensing, but you must doc-ument the incident in the same manner as a serious incident. You do have to report the incident to: (1) Law enforcement, as outlined in the chart above; (2) The parents, if the adult resident is not capable of mak-ing decisions about the resident's own care; and (3) Adult Protective Services through the Texas Abuse and Neglect Hotline if there is reason to believe the adult r
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	conducting a triggered review for each child who has had three unauthorized absences within a 60-day timeframe, to examine alternatives and create a written plan to reduce the number of unauthorized absences; and conducting an evaluation, every six months, of the frequency and patterns of unauthorized absences from the CPA's foster homes. COMMENTS The 31-day comment period ended January 27, 2020. During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the proposed rules from five commenters, including Upbring,
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	for Chapter 749. This will ensure the public has the opportunity to comment on any proposed change. Comment: Regarding §749.503(d)(2), one commenter stated that directing CPAs to report serious incidents of adult residents to the parent is only correct if the parent is the legally authorized representative. If not, and the adult resident is incapable of mak-ing decisions about their own care, the case should be reported to the Probate Court, our other appropriate court, for resolution. Response: HHSC did no
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	use to avoid further unauthorized absences, and those used in triggered reviews and overall evaluations, should be evi-dence-based and trauma informed. Response: HHSC agrees in part and disagrees in part with the comment. A CPA and foster home must already integrate trauma informed practices into the care, treatment, and management of each child (See §749.1309(a)). Accordingly, HHSC agrees that any strategies or alternatives used to prevent unauthorized absences, and the environment that supports positive a
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	The amendments to §20.407 add a definition of "overall cost of travel" that includes a number of elements that contribute to costs of employee travel. The amendments to §20.408 clarify, in subsection (a), that state agencies may reimburse their employees for travel services other than contract travel services only if one or more specified exceptions apply; clarify, in subsection (b), the exception for lower overall cost of travel, which requires documentation and must be based on a consistent cost compariso
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	tance staffs are available to answer questions and provide train-ing. Ms. Knight additionally commented on specific savings and practices employed by her agency's travelers to conserve state funds. Ms. Knight's final comments noted that no other purchasing statute or rule instructs agencies to do a "cost comparison" be-fore the expenditure is completed, and that allowing for shift-ing expenses in the cost comparison is too variable to predict. The comptroller notes that the "cost comparison" is required onl
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	reasonably have been anticipated or avoided and which, by the exercise of all reasonable due diligence, such contractor is unable to overcome. (4) Official government business--Business required in the scope and course of the traveler's employment that is properly autho-rized by the employing governmental entity. (5) Overall cost of travel--May include the actual costs to the state for travel, including flight or other mode of transport to the duty station, mileage, rental car, taxi, parking, tolls, lodging
	tical or the appropriate travel services are not available. The traveler shall make reasonable efforts to secure rates equal to or lower than the contract travel service rates. (g) Group program. The traveler is using a group program wherein reservations were made through a required source to obtain a particular rate or service. (h) Emergency response. The traveler is responding to a pub-lic health or safety emergency situation and the use of contract travel services is not available or would result in an u
	tical or the appropriate travel services are not available. The traveler shall make reasonable efforts to secure rates equal to or lower than the contract travel service rates. (g) Group program. The traveler is using a group program wherein reservations were made through a required source to obtain a particular rate or service. (h) Emergency response. The traveler is responding to a pub-lic health or safety emergency situation and the use of contract travel services is not available or would result in an u
	tical or the appropriate travel services are not available. The traveler shall make reasonable efforts to secure rates equal to or lower than the contract travel service rates. (g) Group program. The traveler is using a group program wherein reservations were made through a required source to obtain a particular rate or service. (h) Emergency response. The traveler is responding to a pub-lic health or safety emergency situation and the use of contract travel services is not available or would result in an u
	rate exceeding the maximum set in the regulations issued by the United States General Services Administration for a particular location, the agency must document its determination that local conditions necessi-tate the higher rate for that location. The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-thority. Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 30, 2020. TRD-202001714 Don Neal Chief Counsel, Operations and Suppo









