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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 351. COORDINATED PLANNING
AND DELIVERY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts amendments to §351.4, concerning Health and Human
Services Commission Executive Council; §351.11, concerning
Reports on Efforts to Streamline and Simplify Delivery of Ser-
vices; §351.504, concerning Caseload Reduction Plan for Adult
Protective Services; §351.507, concerning Adverse Licensing,
Listing, or Registration Decisions by Health and Human Ser-
vices Agencies; §351.701, concerning Unrelated Donor Umbili-
cal Cord Blood Bank Program; §351.751, concerning Integrated
eligibility services call centers; §351.801, concerning Author-
ity and General Provisions; §351.807, concerning Behavioral
Health Advisory Committee; §351.809, concerning Drug Utiliza-
tion Review Board; §351.811, concerning Intellectual and Devel-
opmental Disability System Redesign Advisory Committee; and
§351.841, concerning Joint Committee on Access and Forensic
Services.

The amendments to §§351.4, 351.11, 351.504, 351.507,
351.701, 351.751, 351.801, 351.807, 351.809, 351.811, and
351.841 are adopted without changes to the proposed text
as published in the November 15, 2024, issue of the Texas
Register (49 TexReg 9087). These rules will not be republished.

HHSC withdraws the proposed amendments to §351.821, con-
cerning Value-Based Payment and Quality Improvement Advi-
sory Committee; §351.823, concerning e-Health Advisory Com-
mittee; §351.825, concerning Texas Brain Injury Advisory Coun-
cil; and §351.827, concerning Palliative Care Interdisciplinary
Advisory Council.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

House Bill (H.B.) 4611, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, 2023,
made certain non-substantive revisions to Subtitle |, Title 4,
Texas Government Code, which governs HHSC, Medicaid, and
other social services as part of the Texas Legislature's ongoing
statutory revision program. These adopted amendments update
citations in the rules to the Texas Government Code sections
that become effective on April 1, 2025.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended December 16, 2024. During
this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regarding the
proposed rules.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
1 TAC §§351.4, 351.11, 351.504, 351.507, 351.701, 351.751
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies, and Chapters
521, 523, 525, 542, 546, and 549.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 4,
2025.

TRD-202500374

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: April 1, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024
For further information, please call: (512) 221-9021

¢ ¢ ¢
SUBCHAPTER B. ADVISORY COMMITTEES
DIVISION 1. COMMITTEES

1 TAC §§351.801, 351.807, 351.809, 351.811, 351.841
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies, and Chapters
521, 523, 525, 542, 546, and 549.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 4,
2025.

TRD-202500375
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Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: April 1, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024
For further information, please call: (512) 221-9021

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 353. MEDICAID MANAGED CARE
SUBCHAPTER O. DELIVERY SYSTEM AND
PROVIDER PAYMENT INITIATIVES

1 TAC §353.1309

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts an amendment to §353.1309, concerning Texas Incen-
tives for Physicians and Professional Services.

The amendment to §353.1309 is adopted without changes to the
proposed text as published in the November 15, 2024, issue
of the Texas Register (49 TexReg 9110). The rule will not be
republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The amendment makes modifications to the Texas Incentives
for Physicians and Professional Services (TIPPS) program to
provide additional details concerning the pay-for-performance
model established for Component Two of the program, beginning
in State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2026. The rule amendment changes
how certain TIPPS funds will be redistributed to certain physi-
cian groups participating in TIPPS if a physician group fails to
earn those funds due to a failure to achieve performance require-
ments for Component Two of TIPPS.

HHSC sought and received authorization from the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to create TIPPS as part
of the financial and quality transition from the Delivery System
Reform Incentive Payment (DSRIP) program. Directed payment
programs authorized under 42 Code of Federal Regulations
(C.F.R.) §438.6(c), including TIPPS, are expected to continue
to evolve over time to advance quality goals or objectives the
program is intended to impact. HHSC previously amended
the TIPPS rule to shift the program structure in SFY 2026 to
provide that Component Two will be paid to physician groups
based on a pay-for-performance model using achievement of
quality measures and paid through a scorecard. Health Related
Institution (HRI) and Indirect Medical Education (IME) physician
groups are eligible for Component Two payments.

HHSC amends the program rule to allow for the redistribution
of Component Two funds if a physician group does not meet
the performance requirements. Under this rule amendment, if
a physician group does not meet the performance requirements
for Component Two, the funds that are not earned by that physi-
cian group will be redistributed among other physician groups in
the same Service Delivery Area (SDA) and class (HRI or IME),
based on how much those physician groups have already earned
for Component Two. If no physician group in the same SDA and
class earned funds under Component 2, the funds will be dis-
tributed across all physician groups in that SDA, based on how
much those physician groups have already earned for Compo-
nent Two. If there are no physician groups in that SDA that
earned Component Two funds, the unearned funds will be dis-
tributed across all HRI and IME physician groups participating

in TIPPS, based on how much those physician groups have al-
ready earned for Component Two.

Multiple providers requested that HHSC amend the rule to allow
the redistribution of unearned funds in the manner set forth in
the amendment.

COMMENTS
The 21-day comment period ended on December 6, 2024.

During this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regard-
ing this proposed rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adoption of the amendment is authorized by Texas Govern-
ment Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and pro-
vision of services by the health and human services agencies;
Texas Government Code §531.033, which provides the Execu-
tive Commissioner with broad rulemaking authority; Texas Hu-
man Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to admin-
ister the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program and to
administer federal Medicaid funds in Texas; Texas Government
Code §531.021(b-1), which establishes HHSC as the agency re-
sponsible for adopting reasonable rules governing the determi-
nation of fees, charges, and rates for Medicaid payments; and
Texas Government Code §533.002, which authorizes HHSC to
implement the Medicaid managed care program.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.
Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500450

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (737) 230-0550

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 354. MEDICAID HEALTH
SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER A. PURCHASED HEALTH
SERVICES

DIVISION 33. ADVANCED TELECOMMUNI-
CATIONS SERVICES

1 TAC §354.1430, §354.1434

The executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Hu-
man Services Commission (HHSC) adopts amendments to
§354.1430, concerning Definitions, and §354.1434, concerning
Home Telemonitoring Benefits and Limitations.

The amendment to §354.1430 is adopted with changes to the
proposed text as published in the October 25, 2024, issue of the
Texas Register (49 TexReg 8509). This rule will be republished.
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The amendment to §354.1434 is adopted without changes to the
proposed text as published in the October 25, 2024, issue of the
Texas Register (49 TexReg 8509) and will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The amendments implement Texas Government Code
§531.001(4-a) and §531.02164, amended by House Bill 2727,
88th Legislature, Regular Session, 2023.

To implement Texas Government Code §531.02164, the amend-
ments add federally qualified health centers and rural health clin-
ics as Medicaid providers of home telemonitoring services. To
implement Texas Government Code §531.001(4-a), the amend-
ment to §354.1430 clarifies the term "home telemonitoring ser-
vices" is synonymous with "remote patient monitoring." Texas
Government Code §531.02164(c)(5) requires home telemonitor-
ing providers to establish a plan of care with outcome measures
for each recipient, and to share the plan and outcome mea-
sures with the recipient's physician. Texas Government Code
§531.02164(2)(B) also reduces the eligibility criteria for the ser-
vice from two or more risk factors to at least one risk factor.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended November 25, 2024.

During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the pro-
posed rules from one commenter, the American Telemedicine
Association Action. A summary of the comment relating to the
rules and HHSC's response follows.

Comment: The commenter expressed support of the amend-
ments to §354.1430 and §354.1434, noting that the amendments
are a "rational step forward for telehealth policy in Texas." The
commenter further noted their strong support for the change as
it "eases access to high quality and affordable healthcare." The
commenter also encourages reimbursement rates that are fair to
providers and reflect the cost savings to the health care system
using telehealth technologies.

Response: HHSC thanks the commenter for the letter of support
and acknowledges the recommendation regarding reimburse-
ment. HHSC did not make any changes to the rules as a result
of these comments.

HHSC updated a reference to the Texas Government Code in
§354.1430(9) from §531.001(4-d) to §521.0001. The update im-
plements H.B. 4611, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, 2023,
which makes non-substantive revisions to the Texas Govern-
ment Code that make the statute more accessible, understand-
able, and usable.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the executive commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies; Texas
Government Code §531.033, which requires the executive
commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules necessary to carry out
the commission's duties under Chapter 531; Texas Human
Resources Code §32.021(c), which requires the executive
commissioner to adopt rules necessary for the proper and
efficient operation of the medical assistance program; and
Texas Government Code §531.02164(b), which requires the
executive commissioner to adopt rules for the provision and

§$354.1430.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this division, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Audio-only--An interactive, two-way audio communi-
cation that uses only sound and meets the privacy requirements of the
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. Audio-only in-
cludes the use of telephonic communication.

(2) Behavioral health services--This term includes mental
health and substance use disorder services.

(3) Declaration of state of disaster--An executive order or
proclamation by the governor declaring a state of disaster in accordance
with Texas Government Code §418.014.

(4) Federally qualified health center--This term has the
meaning assigned by Texas Government Code §531.02164.

(5) Home telemonitoring service--This term has the mean-
ing assigned by Texas Government Code §531.001 and is synonymous
with "remote patient monitoring."

(6) Hospital--This term has the meaning assigned by Texas
Government Code §531.02164.

(7) In-Person--Within the physical presence of another
person. In-person does not include interacting with a client via a
telemedicine medical service or a telehealth service.

(8) Non-behavioral health service--Any health service that
is not a behavioral health service.

(9) Platform--This term has the meaning assigned by Texas
Government Code §521.0001.

(10) Rural health clinic--This term has the meaning as-
signed by Texas Government Code §531.02164.

(11) Telehealth service--This term has the meaning as-
signed by Texas Occupations Code §111.001.

(12) Telemedicine medical service--This term has the
meaning assigned by Texas Occupations Code §111.001.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,

2025.

TRD-202500449

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2910

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 10. COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS

reimbursement of home telemonitoring services under Medicaid CHAPTER 23. SINGLE FAMILY HOME
as provided under §531.02164. PROGRAM
ADOPTED RULES February 21, 2025 50 TexReg 973



The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (the
Department) adopts, without changes to the text previously pub-
lished in the Texas Register on November 22, 2024, (49 TexReg
9438), the repeal of 10 TAC Chapter 23, Single Family HOME
Program Rule. The repeals will not be republished. The purpose
of the repeal is to eliminate an outdated rule while adopting a new
updated rule under separate action.

The Department has analyzed this proposed rulemaking and the
analysis is described below for each category of analysis per-
formed.

a. GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT RE-
QUIRED BY TEX. GOV'T CODE §2001.0221.

1. Mr. Bobby Wilkinson, Executive Director, has determined
that, for the first five years the repeal would be in effect, the
proposed repeal does not create or eliminate a government
program, but relates to the repeal, and simultaneous readoption
making changes to an existing activity, administration of the
HOME Program.

2. The repeal does not require a change in work that would re-
quire the creation of new employee positions, nor is the proposed
repeal significant enough to reduce work load to a degree that
any existing employee positions are eliminated.

3. The repeal does not require additional future legislative ap-
propriations.

4. The repeal does not result in an increase in fees paid to the
Department, nor a decrease in fees paid to the Department.

5. The repeal is not creating a new regulation, except that it
is being replaced by a new rule simultaneously to provide for
revisions.

6. The action will repeal an existing regulation, but is associated
with a simultaneous readoption making changes to an existing
activity, the administration of the Single Family HOME Program.

7. The repeal will not increase or decrease the number of indi-
viduals subject to the rule’s applicability.

8. The repeal will not negatively affect this state’s economy.

b. ADVERSE ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL OR MI-
CRO-BUSINESSES OR RURAL COMMUNITIES AND REG-
ULATORY FLEXIBILITY REQUIRED BY TEX. GOV'T CODE
§2006.002.

The Department has evaluated this repeal and determined that
the repeal will not create an economic effect on small or micro-
businesses or rural communities.

c. TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT REQUIRED BY TEX.
GOV'T CODE §2007.043. The repeal does not contemplate
or authorize a taking by the Department; therefore, no Takings
Impact Assessment is required.

d. LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENTS REQUIRED
BY TEX. GOV'T CODE §2001.024(a)(6).

The Department has evaluated the repeal as to its possible ef-
fects on local economies and has determined that for the first five
years the repeal would be in effect there would be no economic
effect on local employment; therefore, no local employment im-
pact statement is required to be prepared for the rule.

e. PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST NOTE REQUIRED BY TEX. GOV'T
CODE §2001.024(a)(5). Mr. Wilkinson has determined that, for

each year of the first five years the repeal is in effect, the public
benefit anticipated as a result of the repealed chapter would be
an updated and more germane rule. There will not be economic
costs to individuals required to comply with the repealed section.

f. FISCAL NOTE REQUIRED BY TEX. GOV'T CODE
§2001.024(a)(4). Mr. Wilkinson has also determined that for
each year of the first five years the repeal is in effect, enforcing
or administering the repeal does not have any foreseeable
implications related to costs or revenues of the state or local
governments.

SUMMARY OF PUBLIC COMMENT AND STAFF REASONED
RESPONSE. The Department accepted public comment be-
tween November 22, 2024, and December 27, 2024. No
comment was received.

The Board adopted the final order adopting the repeal on Feb-
ruary 6, 2025.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL GUIDANCE
10 TAC §23.1, §23.2

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is made pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the Department
to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the proposed repealed chapter af-
fects no other code, article, or statute.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,

2025.

TRD-202500417

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. AVAILABILITY OF FUNDS,
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS, REVIEW
AND AWARD PROCEDURES, GENERAL
ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS, AND
RESALE AND RECAPTURE OF FUNDS

10 TAC §§23.20 - 23.29

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is made pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the Department
to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the proposed repealed chapter af-
fects no other code, article, or statute.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500418

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. HOMEOWNER
RECONSTRUCTION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
10 TAC §§23.30 - 23.32

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is made pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the Department
to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the proposed repealed chapter af-
fects no other code, article, or statute.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500419

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. CONTRACT FOR DEED
PROGRAM
10 TAC §§23.40 - 23.42

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is made pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the Department
to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the proposed repealed chapter af-
fects no other code, article, or statute.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500420

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. TENANT-BASED RENTAL
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
10 TAC §§23.50 - 23.52

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is made pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the Department
to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the proposed repealed chapter af-
fects no other code, article, or statute.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500421

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER F. SINGLE FAMILY
DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM

10 TAC §§23.60 - 23.62

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is made pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the Department
to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the proposed repealed chapter af-
fects no other code, article, or statute.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500422

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

ADOPTED RULES
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SUBCHAPTER G. HOMEBUYER
ASSISTANCE WITH NEW CONSTRUCTION
(HANC)

10 TAC §§23.70 - 23.72

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal is made pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the Department
to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the proposed repealed chapter af-
fects no other code, article, or statute.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500423

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 23. SINGLE FAMILY HOME

PROGRAM

The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (the
Department) adopts new 10 TAC Chapter 23, Single Family
HOME Program Rule. Sections 23.22, and 23.24 - 23.29 are
adopted with changes to the text previously published in the
Texas Register on November 22, 2024, (49 TexReg 9441) and
will be republished. Sections 20.1, 20.2, 23.20, 23.21, 23.23,
23.30, 23.31, 23.40, 23.41, 23.50, 23.51, 23.60, 23.61, 23.70,
and 23.71 are adopted without changes and will not be repub-
lished. The purpose of the new chapter is to update the rule to
implement a more germane rule and better align administration
to state and federal requirements.

Tex. Gov't Code §2001.0045(b) does not apply to the rule pro-
posed for action because it was determined that no costs are
associated with this action, and therefore no costs warrant be-
ing offset.

The Department has analyzed this rulemaking and the analysis
is described below for each category of analysis performed.

a. GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT RE-
QUIRED BY TEX. GOV'T CODE §2001.0221.

Mr. Bobby Wilkinson, Executive Director, has determined that,
for the first five years the new rule would be in effect:

1. The new rule does not create or eliminate a government
program, but relates to the readoption of this rule which makes
changes to administration of the Department's Single Family
HOME Program activities, including Homeowner Reconstruction
Assistance, Contract for Deed, Tenant-Based Rental Assis-
tance, Single Family Development, and Homebuyer Assistance
with New Construction.

2. The new rule does not require a change in work that would
require the creation of new employee positions, nor are the rule
changes significant enough to reduce work load to a degree that
eliminates any existing employee positions.

3. The new rule does not require additional future legislative
appropriations.

4. The new rule will not result in an increase in fees paid to the
Department, nor a decrease in fees paid to the Department.

5. The new rule is not creating a new regulation, except that it
is replacing a rule being repealed simultaneously to provide for
revisions.

6. The new rule will not expand or repeal an existing regula-
tion, but is associated with a simultaneous readoption making
changes to an existing activity, the administration of the Depart-
ment's Single Family HOME Program.

7. The new rule will not increase or decrease the number of
individuals subject to the rule's applicability.

8. The new rule will not negatively or positively affect the state's
economy.

b. ADVERSE ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL OR Ml-
CRO-BUSINESSES OR RURAL COMMUNITIES AND REG-
ULATORY FLEXIBILITY REQUIRED BY TEX. GOV'T CODE
§2006.002. The Department, in drafting this new rule, has
attempted to reduce any adverse economic effect on small or
micro-business or rural communities while remaining consistent
with the statutory requirements of Tex. Gov't Code, §2306.111.

1. The Department has evaluated this new rule and determined
that none of the adverse effect strategies outlined in Tex. Gov't
Code §2006.002(b) are applicable.

2. There are approximately 60 rural communities currently
participating in construction activities under the Single Family
HOME Program that are subject to the new rule for which no
economic impact of the rule is projected during the first year the
rule is in effect.

3. The Department has determined that because the new rule
serves to clarify and update existing requirements and does not
establish new requirements for which there would be an associ-
ated cost, there will be no economic effect on small or micro-busi-
nesses or rural communities.

c. TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT REQUIRED BY TEX.
GOV'T CODE §2007.043. The new rule does not contemplate
nor authorize a taking by the Department; therefore, no Takings
Impact Assessment is required.

d. LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENTS REQUIRED
BY TEX. GOV'T CODE §2001.024(a)(6).

The Department has evaluated the new rule as to its possible ef-
fects on local economies and has determined that for the first five
years the rule will be in effect the new rule has no economic effect
on local employment because the rule serves to clarify and up-
date existing requirements and does not establish new require-
ments or activities that may positively or negatively impact local
economies.

Tex. Gov't Code §2001.022(a) states that this "impact statement
must describe in detail the probable effect of the rule on employ-
ment in each geographic region affected by this rule..." Consid-
ering that participation in the Single Family HOME Program is at
the discretion of the local government or other eligible subrecipi-
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ents, there are no "probable" effects of the new rule on particular
geographic regions.

e. PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST NOTE REQUIRED BY TEX. GOV'T
CODE §2001.024(a)(5). Bobby Wilkinson, Executive Director,
has determined that, for each year of the first five years the new
rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of the
rule will be an updated and more germane rule. There will not be
any economic cost to any individuals required to comply with the
new section because the HOME Program provides reimburse-
ment to those entities that are subject to the rule for the cost of
compliance with the rule.

f. FISCAL NOTE REQUIRED BY TEX. GOV'T CODE
§2001.024(a)(4). Mr. Wilkinson has also determined that for
each year of the first five years the new rule is in effect, en-
forcing or administering the rule does not have any foreseeable
implications related to costs or revenues of the state or local
governments because the Single Family HOME Program is
a federally funded program, and participation in the program,
which may include provision of matching funds, is voluntary.

SUMMARY OF PUBLIC COMMENT AND STAFF REASONED
RESPONSE. The Department accepted public comment be-
tween November 22, 2024 and December 27, 2024. Comments
regarding the proposed repeal were accepted in writing and by
e-mail with comment received from Karen Walker of Langford
Community Management Services. The commenter expressed
support for certain changes and posed questions for clarifica-
tion on others. The Department does recommend changes in
response to public comment as shown below.

Comment 1:
§23.23. General Threshold Criteria.

Commenter agrees that requiring waivers of customary fees to
be documented as HOME Program Match is a benefit to the Pro-
gram. Commenter states that fees are often waived, but since
the waivers were not mandatory, the waivers were not always
reported as HOME Match. Commenter also agrees that increas-
ing the required cash reserves for Applicants for HOME Funds
provides necessary protection for the Program participants and
Administrators.

Reasoned Response: Staff appreciates the commenter's feed-
back. No changes are recommended in response to this com-
ment.

§23.25. Reservation System Participant Agreement.

Commenter states that paragraph (b) needs clarification. Com-
menter interprets the rule to mean that no more than five Reser-
vations may be submitted in each county and seeks clarification
about Administrators with overlapping jurisdictions.

Reasoned Response: The rule as proposed is clear that the lim-
itation is for each Reservation System Participation (RSP) Ad-
ministrator.  When one RSP Administrator shares jurisdiction
with another RSP Administrator, their RSP Agreements are sep-
arate and apart, so the limitation only applies to each Adminis-
trator, not the HOME Program overall. No changes are recom-
mended in response to this comment.

Commenter disagrees with the clarification made to paragraph
(d) related to transferability of Match. They state that Match
contributed to a project in excess of the requirement should be
able to be utilized to meet the Match requirement for a separate
project, and state that this is how they have interpreted the ex-
isting rule.

Reasoned Response: The updated rule adds clarifying lan-
guage; however, the application of the rule is unchanged. The
Match requirement must be met on an Activity-by-Activity basis
and cannot be shared amongst Activities. This is necessary so
that each Activity is comparable, as well as ensuring that Match
may be tracked for contract compliance, and to ensure correct
reporting of Match to HUD. No changes are recommended in
response to this comment.

§23.27. Project Cost Limitations.

Commenter agrees with the changes related to project cost lim-
itations for construction costs and mitigation costs. Commenter
questions whether the increase in the limitation for soft costs pro-
posed in paragraph (f) applies to activities under the Homeowner
Reconstruction Assistance (HRA) Program, and if not, whether
soft costs are still included as an eligible cost for HRA. Com-
menter questions whether existing allowances for third-party soft
costs will be carried over to the new rule.

Reasoned Response: Staff has carefully reviewed §23.27(f) and
is recommending changes in response to this comment to clar-
ify the soft cost allowability for Reconstruction or New Construc-
tion in absence of an acquisition or refinance component. Staff
also updated the amount of funds available for soft costs for Re-
construction and New Construction both with and without an ac-
quisition or refinancing component, and included a provision for
third-party soft costs as exists in the rule being replaced.

The Board adopted the final order adopting the new rule on Feb-
ruary 6, 2025.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL GUIDANCE
10 TAC §23.1, §23.2

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are approved pur-
suant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the De-
partment to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the new rule affects no other code,
article, or statute. The rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by
legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the Depart-
ment's legal authority. The agency certifies that legal counsel has
reviewed the adoption and found it to be a valid exercise of the
agency's legal authority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,

2025.

TRD-202500429

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. AVAILABILITY OF FUNDS,
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS, REVIEW
AND AWARD PROCEDURES, GENERAL
ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS, AND
RESALE AND RECAPTURE OF FUNDS
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10 TAC §§23.20 - 23.29

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are approved pur-
suant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the De-
partment to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the new rule affects no other code,
article, or statute. The rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by
legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the Depart-
ment's legal authority.

$23.22.  Application Review Process.

(a) Contract award review process for open Application cy-
cles. An Application received by the Department in response to an
open Application cycle NOFA will be assigned a "Received Date." An
Application will be prioritized for review based on its "Received Date."
Application acceptance dates may be staggered under an open Appli-
cation cycle to prioritize Applications which propose to serve areas
identified in Tex. Gov't Code §2306.127 as priority for certain com-
munities. An Application with outstanding administrative deficiencies
under §23.24 of this Chapter, may be suspended from further review
until all administrative deficiencies have been cured or addressed to
the Department's satisfaction. Applications that have completed the
review process may be presented to the Board for approval with pri-
ority over Applications that continue to have administrative deficien-
cies at the time Board materials are prepared, regardless of "Received
Date." If all funds available under a NOFA are awarded, all remaining
Applicants will be notified and the remaining Applications will not be
processed.

(b) Reservation System Participant review process. An Appli-
cation for a Reservation System Participant (RSP) Agreement shall be
reviewed and if approved under Chapter 1, Subchapter C of this Title,
as amended or superseded, concerning Previous Participation Review
of Department Awards, and not denied under §23.24 of this Chapter,
will be drafted and processed in the order in which it was accepted to
be executed and made effective.

(c) Administrative deficiency review process. The administra-
tive deficiency process allows staff to request that an Applicant provide
clarification, correction, or non-material missing information to resolve
inconsistencies in the original Application or to assist staff in evaluat-
ing the Application. Staff will request such information via a deficiency
notice. Staff will send the deficiency notice via an email or if an email
address is not provided in the Application, by facsimile to the Appli-
cant. Responses must be submitted electronically to the Department.
A review of the Applicant's response may reveal that issues initially
identified as an administrative deficiency are actually determined to be
beyond the scope of an administrative deficiency process, meaning that
they are in fact matters of a material nature not susceptible to being
resolved. Department staff may, in good faith, provide an Applicant
confirmation that an administrative deficiency response has been re-
ceived or that such response is satisfactory. Communication from staff
that the response was satisfactory does not establish any entitlement to
points, eligibility status, or to any presumption of having fulfilled any
requirements. Final determination regarding the sufficiency of docu-
mentation submitted to cure an administrative deficiency as well as the
distinction between material and non-material missing information are
reserved for the Executive Director or authorized designee, and Board,
as applicable.

(d) An Applicant may not change or supplement any part of
an Application in any manner after submission to the Department, and
may not add any set-asides, except in response to a direct request from
the Department to remedy an administrative deficiency or by amend-
ment of an Application after the Board approval of a HOME award.

An administrative deficiency may not be cured if it would, in the De-
partment's determination, substantially change an Application, or if the
Applicant provides any new unrequested information to cure the defi-
ciency.

(e) The time period for responding to a deficiency notice com-
mences on the first day following the deficiency notice date. If an ad-
ministrative deficiency is not resolved to the satisfaction of the Depart-
ment by 5:00 p.m., central time, on the 14th day following the date
of the deficiency notice, the application may be terminated. The De-
partment may accept a corrected Board Resolution submitted after the
deficiency deadline on the condition that the corrected Board Resolu-
tion resolves the deficiencies to the satisfaction of the Department, but
the Board Resolution must be received and deemed satisfactory by the
Department before the RSP Agreement or Contract start date. Appli-
cants that have been terminated may reapply.

$§23.24.  Contract Benchmarks and Limitations.

(a) Contract Award Funding Limits. Limits on the total
amount of a Contract award will be established in the NOFA.

(b) Contract Award Terms. Homeowner Reconstruction As-
sistance awards will have a Contract term of not more than 21 months,
exclusive of any applicable affordability period or loan term. Single
Family Development awards will have a Contract term of not more
than 24 months, exclusive of any applicable affordability period or
loan term. Tenant-Based Rental Assistance awards will have a Con-
tract term of not more than 36 months.

(c) Contract Award Benchmarks. Administrators must have
attained environmental clearance for the contractually required num-
ber of Households served within six months of the effective date of
the Contract. Contract Administrators must submit to the Department
complete Activity setup information for the Commitment of Funds of
all contractually required Households in accordance with the require-
ments herein within nine months from the effective date of the Contract.
All remaining funds will be deobligated and reallocated in accordance
with Chapter 1 of this Title relating to Reallocation of Financial Assis-
tance.

(d) Voluntary deobligation. The Administrator may fully de-
obligate funds in the form of a written request signed by the signatory,
or successor thereto, of the Contract. The Administrator may partially
deobligate funds under a Contract in the form of a written request from
the signatory if the letter also deobligates the associated number of tar-
geted Households, funds for administrative costs, and Match and the
partial deobligation would not have impacted the award of the Con-
tract. Voluntary deobligation of a Contract does not limit an Adminis-
trator's ability to participate in an open application cycle.

(e) The Department may request information regarding the
performance or status under a Contract prior to a Contract benchmark
or at various times during the term of a Contract. Administrator
must respond within the time limit stated in the request. Prolonged
or repeated failure to respond may result in suspension of funds and
ultimately in termination of the Contract by the Department.

(f) Pre-Contract Costs.

(1) The Administrator may be reimbursed for eligible ad-
ministrative and Activity soft costs incurred before the effective date
of the Contract in accordance with 24 CFR §92.212 and at the sole dis-
cretion of the Department.

(2) A Community Housing Development Organization
may be reimbursed for Predevelopment Costs as defined in this
Chapter for an Activity funded under Single Family Development.
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(3) Inno event will the Department reimburse expenses in-
curred more than six months prior to Governing Board approval of the
Administrator's award.

(g) Amendments to Contract awards will be processed in ac-
cordance with Chapter 20 of this Title, relating to Single Family Pro-
grams Umbrella Rule.

$§23.25.  Reservation System Participant (RSP) Agreement.

(a) Terms of Agreement. The term of an RSP Agreement will
not exceed 36 months. Execution of an RSP Agreement does not guar-
antee the availability of funds under a reservation system. Reservations
submitted under an RSP agreement will be subject to the provisions of
this Chapter in effect as of the date of submission by the Administrator.

(b) Limits on Number of Reservations. Except for Activities
submitted under the Disaster set-aside, RSP Administrators may have
no more than five Reservations per county within the RSP's Service
Area submitted to the Department for approval at any given time, ex-
cept that Tenant-Based Rental Assistance Reservations submitted for
approval under an RSP Agreement is limited to 30 at any given time.

(¢) Extremely Low-Income Households. Except for House-
holds submitted under the Disaster set-aside, each RSP will be required
to serve at least one extremely low-income Household out of every four
Households submitted and approved for assistance. For purposes of
this subsection, extremely low-income is defined as families that are
either at or below 30 percent AMFI for the county in which they will
reside or have an income that is lower than the statewide 30 percent
income limit without adjustments to HUD limits.

(d) Match. Administrators must meet the Match requirement
per Activity approved for assistance. Match may not be transferred
from one Activity to another Activity.

(e) Completion of Construction. For Activities involving con-
struction, construction must be complete within 12 months from the
Commitment of Funds for the Activity, unless amended in accordance
with subsection (g) of this section.

(f) Household commitment contract term. The term of a
Household commitment contract may not exceed 12 months, except
that the Household commitment contract term for Tenant-Based
Rental Assistance may not exceed 24 months. Household commitment
contracts may commence after the end date of an RSP Agreement
only in cases when the Administrator has submitted a Reservation on
or before the termination date of the RSP Agreement.

(g) Amendments to Household commitment contracts may be
considered by the Department provided the approval does not conflict
with the federal regulations governing use of these funds, or impact
federally imposed obligation or expenditure deadlines.

(1) The Executive Director's authorized designee may ap-
prove an amendment that extends the term of a Household commitment
contract by not more than six months, except that the term of a House-
hold commitment contract for Tenant-Based Rental Assistance may not
be extended to exceed a total Household commitment contract term of
24 months.

(2) The Executive Director's authorized designee may ap-
prove one or more amendments to a Household commitment contract
to:

(A) extend the Construction Completion Date by not
more than six months;

(B) extend the term of rental subsidy up to a total term
of 24 months;

(C) extend the draw period by not more than three
months after the Construction Completion Date or termination of
rental subsidy; or

(D) toincrease Activity funds within the limitations set
forth in this Chapter.

(3) The Executive Director may approve amendments to
a Household commitment contract, except amendments to extend the
contract term of a Household Commitment contract by more than 12
months.

(h) Pre-agreement costs. The Administrator may be reim-
bursed for eligible administrative and Activity soft costs incurred
before the effective date of the RSP Agreement in accordance with
24 CFR §92.212 and at the sole discretion of the Department. In no
event will the Department reimburse expenses incurred more than six
months prior to the effective date of the RSP Agreement.

(1) Administrator must remain in good standing with the De-
partment, the state of Texas, and HUD. If an Administrator is not in
good standing, participation in the Reservation System will be sus-
pended and may result in termination of the RSP Agreement.

$§23.26. General Administrative Requirements.

Unless otherwise provided in this Chapter, the Administrator or Devel-
oper must comply with the requirements described in paragraphs (1) -
(21) of this section, for the administration and use of HOME funds:

(1) Complete training, as applicable.

(2) Provide all applicable Department Housing Contract
System access request information and documentation requirements.

(3) Establish and maintain sufficient records at its regular
place of business and make available for examination by the Depart-
ment, HUD, the U.S. General Accounting Office, the U.S. Comptroller,
the State Auditor's Office of Texas, the Comptroller of Public Accounts,
or any of their duly authorized representatives, throughout the applica-
ble record retention period.

(4) For non-Single Family Development Contracts, de-
velop and establish written procurement procedures that comply with
federal, state, and local procurement requirements including:

(A) Develop and comply with written procurement se-
lection criteria and committees, including appointment of a procure-
ment officer to manage any bid process;

(B) Develop and comply with a written code of con-
duct governing employees, officers, or agents engaged in administer-
ing HOME funds;

(C) Ensure consultant or any procured service provider
does not participate in or direct the process of procurement for services.
A consultant cannot assist in their own procurement before or after an
award is made;

(D) Ensure that procedures established for procurement
of building construction contractors do not include requirements for
the provision of general liability insurance coverage in an amount to
exceed the value of the contract and do not give preference for con-
tractors in specific geographic locations;

(E) Ensure that building construction contractors are
procured in accordance with State and Federal regulations for single
family HOME Activities;

(F) To the extent that a set of architectural plans are gen-
erated and used by an Administrator for more than one Single Family
Housing Unit, the Department will reimburse only for the first time a set
of architectural plans is used, unless any subsequent site specific fees
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are paid to a Third Party architect or licensed engineer for the reuse of
the plans on that subsequent specific site, as demonstrated by a contract
with the third-party;

(G) Ensure that professional service providers (consul-
tants) are procured using an open competitive procedure and are not
procured based solely on the lowest priced bid; and

(H) Ensure that any Request for Proposals or Invitation
for Bid include:

(i) an equal opportunity disclosure and a notice that
bidders are subject to search for listing on the Excluded Parties List;

(i) bidders' protest rights and an outline of the pro-
cedures bidders must take to address procurement related disputes;

(iii)  a conflict of interest disclosure;

(iv) aclear and accurate description of the technical
requirements for the material, product, or service to be procured. The
description must include complete, adequate, and realistic specifica-
tions;

(v) for sealed bid procedures, disclose the date, time
and location for public opening of bids and indicate a fixed-price con-
tract;

(vi) mustnot have aterm of services greater than five
years; and

(vii) for competitive proposals, disclose the specific
election/evaluation criteria.

(5) Ininstances where a potential conflict of interest exists,
follow procedures to submit required documentation to the Department
sufficient to submit an exception request to HUD for any conflicts pro-
hibited by 24 CFR §92.356. The request submitted to the Department
must include a disclosure of the nature of the conflict, accompanied
by an assurance that there has been public disclosure of the conflict by
newspaper publication, a description of how the public disclosure was
made, and an attorney's opinion that the conflict does not violate state
or local law. No HOME funds will be committed to or reserved to as-
sist a Household impacted by the conflict of interest regulations until
HUD has granted an exception to the conflict of interest provisions.

(6) Perform environmental clearance procedures, as
required, before acquiring any Property or before performing any
construction activities, including demolition, or before the occurrence
of the loan closing, if applicable.

(7) Develop and comply with written Applicant intake and
selection criteria for program eligibility that promote and comply with
Fair Housing requirements and the State's One Year Action Plan.

(8) Complete Applicant intake and Applicant selection.
Notify each Applicant Household in writing of either acceptance or
denial of HOME assistance within 60 days following receipt of the
intake application.

(9) Determine the income eligibility of a Household using
the "Annual Income" as defined at 24 CFR §5.609, by using the list
of income included in HUD Handbook 4350.3 (or most recent ver-
sion), and excluding from income those items listed in HUD's Updated
List of Federally Mandated Exclusions from Income. The Single Fam-
ily HOME Program will implement the applicable requirements of the
Housing Opportunity Through Modernization Act (HOTMA) not later
than January 1, 2026.

(10) Complete an updated income eligibility determination
of a Household if the date of certification is more than six months prior
to the Date of Assistance.

(11) For single family Activities involving construction,
perform initial inspection in accordance with Chapter 20 of this Title
(relating to Single Family Programs Umbrella Rule). Property inspec-
tions must include photographs of the front, back, and side elevations
of the housing unit and at least one picture of each of the kitchen,
family room, each bedroom and each bathroom. The inspection must
be signed and dated by the inspector and the Administrator. The
photographs submitted with the initial inspection should evidence the
deficiencies noted on the initial inspection and must clearly show the
entire property, including other buildings located on the property.

(12) Submit a substantially complete request for the Com-
mitment or Reservation of Funds, loan closing preparation, and for dis-
bursements. Administrators must upload all required information and
verification documentation in the Housing Contract System. Requests
determined to be substantially incomplete will not be reviewed and may
be disapproved by the Department. Expenses for which reimbursement
is requested must be documented as incurred. If the Department iden-
tifies administrative deficiencies during review, the Department will
allow a cure period of 14 calendar days beginning at the start of the
first day following the date the Administrator or Developer is notified
of the deficiency. If any administrative deficiencies remain after the
cure period, the Department, in its sole discretion, may disapprove the
request. Disapproved requests will not be considered sufficient to meet
the performance benchmark and shall not constitute a Reservation of
Funds.

(13) Submit signed program documents timely as may be
required for the completion of a Commitment or Reservation of Funds,
and for closing preparation of the loan or grant documents. Department
reserves the right to cancel or terminate Activities when program docu-
ments are not executed timely, in the Department's sole and reasonable
discretion.

(14) Not proceed or allow a contractor to proceed with con-
struction, including demolition, on any Activity or development with-
out first completing the required environmental clearance procedures,
preconstruction conference and receiving notice to proceed, if applica-
ble, and execution of grant agreement or loan closing with the Depart-
ment, whichever is applicable.

(15) Submit any Program Income received by the Admin-
istrator or Developer to the Department within 14 days of receipt; any
fund remittance to the Department, including refunds, must include a
written explanation of the return of funds, the Contract number, name
of Administrator or Developer, Activity address and Activity number,
and must be sent to the Department's accounting division.

(16) Submit required documentation for project comple-
tion reports no later than 60 days after the completion of the Activity,
unless this term is extended though amendment.

(17) For Contract awards, submit certificate of Contract
Completion within 14 days of the Department's request.

(18) Submit to the Department reports or information re-
garding the operations related to HOME funds provided by the Depart-
ment.

(19) Submit evidence with the final draw for construction
related activities that the builder has provided a one-year warranty
specifying at a minimum that materials and equipment used by the con-
tractor will be new and of good quality unless otherwise required, the
work will be free from defects other than those inherent in the work as
specified, and the work will conform to the requirements of the con-
tract documents.
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(20) Provide the Household all warranty information for
work performed by the builder and any materials purchased for which
a manufacturer or installer's warranty is included in the price.

(21) Ifrequired by state or federal law, place the appropri-
ate bonding requirement in any contract or subcontract entered into by
the Administrator or Developer in connection with a HOME award.
Failure to include the bonding requirement in subcontracts may result
in termination of the RSP Agreement.

$§23.27.  Project Cost Limitations.

(a) Direct Activity Costs for construction, exclusive of Match
funds, are limited to the amounts described in this section; however, not
more than once per year, the Board in its sole discretion, may increase
or decrease by up to five percent of the limitation for Direct Activity
Costs. Total Activity costs may not exceed HUD Subsidy Limits. Dol-
lar amounts in a Household commitment contract are set at the time
of Contract execution and may not be adjusted through this process.
Current limit amounts under this section will be reflected on the De-
partment's website.

(b) Reconstruction and New Construction of site-built hous-
ing: the lesser of $150 per square foot of conditioned space or
$175,000; or for Households of five or more Persons that require a
four-bedroom unit, the lesser of $150 per square foot of conditioned
space, or $200,000; and

(c) Direct Activity Costs for acquisition and placement of a
unit of Manufactured Housing, including demolition or removal of ex-
isting housing and exclusive of Match funds, is limited to $125,000.

(d) Direct Activity Costs for conversion of a Contract for
Deed, including closing costs paid from HOME funds, is limited to
$40,000.

(e) In addition to the Direct Activity Costs allowable under
subsections (b) and (c) of this section, additional funds in the amount
of $15,000 may be used to pay for each of the following, as applicable:

(1) Necessary environmental mitigation as identified dur-
ing the Environmental review process;

(2) Installation of an aerobic septic system; and
(3) Homeowner requests for accessibility features.

(f) Activity soft costs eligible for reimbursement for Activities
of the following types are limited to:

(1) Acquisition or refinance in conjunction with New Con-
struction of site-built housing or placement of an MHU: no more than
$2,500 per housing unit;

(2) Replacement with an MHU: no more than $10,000 per
housing unit;

(3) Reconstruction or New Construction of site-built hous-
ing: $15,000 per housing unit; and

(4) Reasonable and necessary third-party costs incurred in
connection with required housing counseling, appraisals, title reports
or insurance, tax certificates, recording fees, surveys, and first year haz-
ard and flood insurance.

(g) Project Cost Limitations for Tenant-Based Rental Assis-
tance Activities are limited as described in Subchapter E of this Chap-
ter.

(h) Projects Costs must not exceed the federal subsidy limit,
unless waived by HUD.

(i) Unless waived by HUD, the purchase price of acquired
property and the post-improvement value of the unit may not exceed

the limitations set forth in 24 CFR §92.254. Compliance with the
purchase price limitation must be evidenced prior to loan closing with
an as-built appraisal.

(j)) Administrative Cost Limitations.

(1) Funds for administrative costs are limited to no more
than five percent of the Direct Activity Costs, exclusive of Match funds,
for HRA.

(2) Funds for administrative costs are limited to no more
than eight percent of the Direct Activity Costs, exclusive of Match
funds, for CFD and HANC.

(3) For TBRA, Administrators must select one method un-
der which funds for administrative costs and Activity soft costs may be
reimbursed prior to execution of an RSP agreement or at Application
for an award of funds. All costs must be reasonable and customary for
the Administrator's Service Area. Applicants and Administrators may
choose from one of the following options, and in any case funds for
Administrative costs may be increased by an additional one percent of
Direct Activity Costs if Match is provided in an amount equal to five
percent or more of Direct Activity Costs:

(A) Funds for Administrative costs are limited to four
percent of Direct Activity Costs, excluding Match funds, and Activity
soft costs are limited to $1,200 per Household assisted. Activity soft
costs may reimburse expenses for costs related to determining House-
hold income eligibility, including recertification, and conducting Hous-
ing Quality Standards (HQS) inspections. All costs must be reasonable
and customary for the Administrator's Service Area; or

(B) Funds for Administrative costs are limited to ten
percent of Direct Activity Costs, excluding Match funds, and Admin-
istrator may not be reimbursed for Activity soft costs.

§23.28.  Design and Quality Requirements.

(a) Each Single Family Housing Unit constructed with HOME
funds must meet the design and quality requirements as described in
paragraphs (1)- (6) of this subsection, and plans must be certified by a
licensed architect or engineer:

(1) Current applicable International Residential Code, lo-
cal codes, ordinances, and zoning ordinances in accordance with 24
CFR §92.251(a);

(2) Requirements in Chapters 20 and 21 of this Title;

(3) Units must Include the following amenities: Wired with
RG-6 COAX or better and CAT3 phone cable or better to each bedroom
and living room; Blinds or window coverings for all windows; Dis-
posal and Energy-Star or equivalently rated dishwasher (must only be
provided as an option to each Household); Oven/Range; Exhaust/vent
fans (vented to the outside) in bathrooms; Energy-Star or equivalently
rated lighting in all rooms, which may include LED bulbs. The living
room and each bedroom must contain at least one ceiling lighting fix-
ture and wiring must be capable of supporting ceiling fans; and Paved
off-street parking for each unit to accommodate at least one mid-sized
car and access to on-street parking for a second car;

(4) Units must contain no less than two bedrooms. Each
Single Family Housing Unit must contain complete physical facilities
and fixtures for living, sleeping, eating, cooking, and sanitation;

(5) Each bedroom must be no less than 100 square feet;
have a length or width no less than 8 feet; be self-contained with a
door; have at least one window that provides exterior access; and have
at least one closet that is not less than two feet deep and three feet wide
and high enough to contain at least five feet of hanging space; and
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(6) Units must be no less than 800 total net square feet for
a two bedroom Single Family Housing Unit; no less than 1,000 total
net square feet for a three bedroom and two bathroom Single Family
Housing Unit; and no less than 1,200 total net square feet for a four
bedroom and two bathroom Single Family Housing Unit.

(7) An exception to paragraphs (2) - (6) may be requested
by the Household and approved by the Division Director prior to sub-
mission of the Activity. A request for an exception must include the
specific feature or design requirement for which the exception is re-
quested, and must include justification for the exception.

(b) Units selected by Households assisted under the Tenant-
Based Rental Assistance Program must meet the applicable federal re-
quirements for the HOME Program as of the date of initial occupancy
and any subsequent inspection.

$§23.29. Resale and Recapture Provisions.

(a) Recapture is the primary method the Department will use
to recoup HOME funds under 24 CFR §92.254(a)(5)(ii).

(b) To ensure continued affordability, the Department has es-
tablished the recapture provisions described in paragraphs (1) - (4) of
this subsection and further defined in 24 CFR §92.254(a)(5)(ii).

(1) In the event that a federal affordability period is re-
quired and the assisted property is rented, leased, or no member of the
Household has it as the Principal Residence, the entire HOME invest-
ment is subject to recapture. The Department will include any loan
payments previously made when calculating the amount subject to re-
capture. Loan forgiveness is not the same thing as loan payments for
purposes of this subsection.

(2) In the event that a federal affordability period is re-
quired and the assisted property is sold, including through a short sale,
deed in lieu of foreclosure, or foreclosure, prior to the end of the af-
fordability period, the Department will recapture the available amount
of net proceeds based on the requirements of 24 CFR §92.254, and as
outlined in the State's One Year Action Plan.

(3) The Household can sell the unit to any willing buyer at
any price. In the event of sale to a qualified low-income purchaser of a
HOME-assisted unit, the qualified low-income purchaser may assume
the existing HOME loan and assume the recapture obligation entered
into by the original buyer if no additional HOME assistance is provided
to the low-income purchaser. In cases in which the subsequent home-
buyer needs HOME assistance in excess of the balance of the original
HOME loan, the HOME subsidy (the direct subsidy as described in 24
CFR §92.254) to the original homebuyer must be recaptured. A sep-
arate HOME subsidy must be provided to the new homebuyer, and a
new affordability period must be established based on that assistance
to the buyer.

(4) Ifthere are no net proceeds from the sale, no repayment
will be required of the Household and the balance of the loan shall be
forgiven as outlined in the State's applicable One Year Action Plan.

(c) The Department has established the resale provisions
described in paragraphs (1) - (7) of this subsection, only in the event
that the Department must impose the resale provisions of 24 CFR
§92.254(a)(i).

(1) Resale is defined as the continuation of the affordability
period upon the sale or transfer, rental or lease, refinancing, and no
member of the Household is occupying the property as their Principal
Residence.

(2) In the event that a federal affordability period is re-
quired and the assisted property is rented or leased, or no member of

the Household has it as the Principal Residence, the HOME investment
must be repaid.

(3) In the event that a federal affordability period is re-
quired and the assisted property is sold or transferred in lieu of foreclo-
sure to a qualified low-income buyer at an affordable price, the HOME
loan balance shall be transferred to the subsequent qualified buyer and
the affordability period shall remain in force to the extent allowed by
law.

(4) The resale provisions shall remain in force from the
date of loan closing until the expiration of the required affordability
period.

(5) The Household is required to sell the home at an afford-
able price to a reasonable range of low-income homebuyers that will
occupy the home as their Principal Residence. Affordable to a reason-
able range of low-income buyers is defined as targeting Households
that have income between 70 and 80 percent AMFI and meet all pro-
gram requirements.

(A) The seller will be afforded a fair return on invest-
ment defined as the sum of down payment and closing costs paid from
the initial seller's cash at purchase, closing costs paid by the seller at
sale, the principal payments only made by the initial homebuyer in ex-
cess of the amount required by the loan, and any documented capital
improvements in excess of $500.

(B) Fair return on investment is paid to the seller at sale
once first mortgage debt is paid and all other conditions of the initial
written agreement are met. In the event there are no funds for fair
return, then fair return does not exist. In the event there are partial
funds for fair return, then the appropriate partial fair return shall remain
in force.

(6) The appreciated value is the affordable sales price less
first mortgage debt less fair return.

(A) If appreciated value is zero, or less than zero, then
no appreciated value exists.

(B) The initial homebuyer's investment of down pay-
ment and closing costs divided by the Department's HOME investment
equals the percentage of appreciated value that shall be paid to the ini-
tial homebuyer or persons as otherwise directed by law. The balance
of appreciated value shall be paid to the Department.

(7) The property qualified by the initial Household will be
encumbered with a lien for the full affordability period.

(d) In the event the housing unit transfers by devise, descent,
or operation of law upon the death of the assisted homeowner, forgive-
ness of installment payments under the loan may continue until ma-
turity or the penalty amount for noncompliance under the conditional
grant agreement may be waived, if the new Household qualifies for as-
sistance in accordance with this subchapter. If the new Household does
not qualify for assistance in accordance with this Chapter, forgiveness
of installment payments will cease and repayment of scheduled pay-
ments under the loan will commence and continue until maturity or
payment of a penalty amount under the conditional grant agreement
may be required in accordance with the terms of the conditional grant
agreement.

(e) Forgiveness of installment payments under the loan may
continue until maturity or the penalty amount under conditional grant
agreement may be waived by the Department if the housing unit is sold
by the decedent's estate to a purchasing Household that qualifies for
assistance in accordance with this Chapter.
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(f) Grants subject to conditional grant agreements are not sub-
ject to the entire penalty amount in the event the property is no longer
the Principal Residence of any Household member.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500430

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. HOMEOWNER
RECONSTRUCTION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
10 TAC §23.30, §23.31

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are approved pur-
suant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the De-
partment to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the new rule affects no other code,
article, or statute. The rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by
legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the Depart-
ment's legal authority.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500431

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs

Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. CONTRACT FOR DEED
PROGRAM
10 TAC §23.40, §23.41

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are approved pur-
suant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the De-
partment to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the new rule affects no other code,
article, or statute. The rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by
legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the Depart-
ment's legal authority.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500432

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER E. TENANT-BASED RENTAL
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

10 TAC §23.50, §23.51

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are approved pur-
suant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the De-
partment to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the new rule affects no other code,
article, or statute. The rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by
legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the Depart-
ment's legal authority.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500433

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢
SUBCHAPTER F. SINGLE FAMILY
DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM

10 TAC §23.60, §23.61

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are approved pur-
suant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the De-
partment to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the new rule affects no other code,
article, or statute. The rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by
legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the Depart-
ment's legal authority.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

ADOPTED RULES

February 21, 2025 50 TexReg 983



Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500434

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. HOMEBUYER
ASSISTANCE WITH NEW CONSTRUCTION
(HANC)

10 TAC §23.70, §23.71

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are approved pur-
suant to Tex. Gov't Code §2306.053, which authorizes the De-
partment to adopt rules.

Except as described herein the new rule affects no other code,
article, or statute. The rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by
legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the Depart-
ment's legal authority.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500435

Bobby Wilkinson

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3959

L4 L4 L4
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 9. TEXAS LOTTERY
COMMISSION

CHAPTER 401.
LOTTERY ACT

The Texas Lottery Commission (Commission) adopts amend-
ments to 16 TAC §§401.101 (Lottery Procurement Procedures),
401.102 (Protests of the Terms of a Formal Competitive Solicita-
tion), 401.103 (Protests of Contract Award), 401.104 (Contract
Monitoring Roles and Responsibilities), 401.153 (Qualifica-
tions for License), 401.158 (Suspension or Revocation of
License), 401.160 (Standard Penalty Chart), 401.301 (General
Definitions), 401.302 (Scratch Ticket Game Rules), 401.304
(Draw Game Rules (General)), 401.355 (Restricted Sales), and
401.501 (Lottery Security) without changes to the proposed
text as published in the December 6, 2024, issue of the Texas
Register (49 TexReg 9855). The rules will not be republished.

ADMINISTRATION OF STATE

The rule amendments are the result of the Commission's re-
cent rule review conducted in accordance with Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.039, as well as the agency's recent review by
the Texas Sunset Advisory Commission. Among the more sig-
nificant changes, this proposal addresses issues identified as
rulemaking gaps in the September 2024 Sunset Advisory Com-
mission Staff Report With Commission Decisions (Sunset Re-
port). Specifically, the Sunset Report noted that there was "[n]o
clarification as to whether internet sales of lottery products are
prohibited" (addressed in Rules 401.153(b)(12), 401.158(b)(27),
401.160(h), and 401.355(a)), and "[n]o explanation of what it
means for a person to 'engage in a business exclusively as a (lot-
tery) sales agent' for purposes of licensure" (addressed in Rule
401.153(b)(13)).

The rule amendments also clarify procurement procedures and
the time period a bidder or proposer has to respond to an ap-
peal of certain protest decisions issued by the agency in pro-
curements; update several definitions; update a provision in the
scratch ticket game rule to make it more consistent with the draw
game rule; update the scratch and draw ticket prize claim pro-
cesses; and update the language regarding lottery security to
state that several divisions of the Commission are responsible
for developing and maintaining security plans and procedures,
and confirming that these plans and procedures are protected
from required public disclosure as allowed under the Texas Pub-
lic Information Act.

The amendments to Rule 401.101 clarify the rules governing the
Invitation for Bid (IFB) procurement method by reorganizing the
section and by adding language that describes the process used
for IFBs. The amendments also clarify certain differences be-
tween the Request for Proposals (RFP) and IFB procurement
methods.

The amendments to Rule 401.102 add language stating that the
email address designated by the vendor for correspondence in
the procurement will also serve as the email address for notice
of proceedings and decisions under this section.

The amendments to Rule 401.103(g) clarify the time period a
successful bidder or proposer has to respond to an appeal of an
agency determination of a vendor's protest to a contract award
resulting from a competitive solicitation. Also, the proposal adds
language stating that the email address designated by the ven-
dor for correspondence in the procurement will also serve as the
email address for notice of proceedings and decisions under this
section.

The amendments to Rule 401.104 clarify that the agency may
assign designated personnel to monitor contract compliance and
facilitate historically underutilized business participation, in addi-
tion to the existing divisions within the agency that handle these
matters.

The amendments to Rule 401.153(b)(12) clarify that an applica-
tion for a sales agent license will be denied if the applicant in-
tends to sell lottery tickets via the internet, and the amendments
to Rule 401.153(b)(13) reiterate the prohibition in the State Lot-
tery Act that an application for a sales agent license will be de-
nied if the applicant intends to engage in business exclusively
as a Texas Lottery ticket sales agent (as defined in the proposed
amendments). These changes address gaps that were identi-
fied by the Sunset Report.

The amendments to Rule 401.153 also add a provision that,
based upon consideration of the factors in Rule 401.160(g), the
director may determine a person or organization whose license
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has been revoked, surrendered or denied is not eligible to apply
for another license for one year.

The amendments to Rule 401.158(b)(23) make it an express vio-
lation to require a purchaser to buy additional items when paying
for lottery tickets with a debit card and the amendments to Rule
401.158(b)(27) make it an express violation to sell lottery tickets
over the internet.

The amendments to Rule 401.160 update the penalty chart
and correspond with the proposed amendments to Rules
401.158(b)(23) and (27) referenced above.

The amendments to Rule 401.301(1), (4), (51), and (55) make
minor updates to multiple definitions to increase the clarity of
those definitions. The amendments also add a definition of
"Present at the terminal" that was deleted in a non-substantive
rule amendment in August 2020. The purpose of re-inserting
the definition, in combination with the related amendment to
Rule 401.304(b)(3), is to dispel any misconception that the
deletion was substantive and make clear that all aspects of a
sales transaction under Rule 401.304 must take place at the
retail location.

The amendments to Rule 401.302(a)(1) add language from Rule
401.304(b)(3) (Draw Game Rules (General)) regarding the re-
quirement that all aspects of a ticket purchase must take place at
a licensed retail location, to make Rule 401.302 more consistent
with Rule 401.304. The amendments to Rule 401.302(e)(6) and
(f)(2) update the rule by requiring all scratch ticket prize claim
processes to be made in accordance with Commission proce-
dures and deleting requirements that are inapplicable to mobile
prize claims.

The amendments to Rule 401.304(b)(3) add language that was
deleted in a non-substantive rule amendment in 2020 to reit-
erate and clarify that no part of a draw game ticket sale may
take place away from the terminal. The amendments to Rule
401.304(d)(3) update the rule by requiring all draw ticket prize
claim processes to be made in accordance with Commission
procedures and deleting requirements that are inapplicable to
mobile prize claims.

The amendments to Rule 401.355(a) clarify that retailers shall
not sell lottery tickets via the internet, a gap that was identified
by the Sunset Report, and the amendments to Rule 401.355(b)
update a cross-reference.

The amendments to Rule 401.501 update the language regard-
ing lottery security to state that several divisions of the Com-
mission are responsible for developing and maintaining security
plans and procedures, including information security, gaming se-
curity, and facility security as required by the State Lottery Act to
ensure the integrity and security of the lottery games, and con-
firming that these plans and procedures are protected from re-
quired public disclosure as allowed under the Texas Public Infor-
mation Act.

The Commission received no comments on the proposed
amendments during public comment period.

SUBCHAPTER A. PROCUREMENT
16 TAC §§401.101 - 401.104

These amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§466.015(c), which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
governing the operation of the lottery, and §467.102, which au-
thorizes the Commission to adopt rules for the enforcement and
administration of the laws under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500424

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: December 6, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. LICENSING OF SALES
AGENTS
16 TAC §§401.153, 401.158, 401.160

These amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§466.015(c), which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
governing the operation of the lottery, and §467.102, which au-
thorizes the Commission to adopt rules for the enforcement and
administration of the laws under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500425

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: December 6, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. LOTTERY GAME RULES
16 TAC §§401.301, 401.302, 401.304

These amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§466.015(c), which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
governing the operation of the lottery, and §467.102, which au-
thorizes the Commission to adopt rules for the enforcement and
administration of the laws under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500426

ADOPTED RULES
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Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: December 6, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. RETAILER RULES
16 TAC §401.355

These amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§466.015(c), which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
governing the operation of the lottery, and §467.102, which au-
thorizes the Commission to adopt rules for the enforcement and
administration of the laws under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,
2025.

TRD-202500427

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: December 6, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. LOTTERY SECURITY
16 TAC §401.501

These amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§466.015(c), which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
governing the operation of the lottery, and §467.102, which au-
thorizes the Commission to adopt rules for the enforcement and
administration of the laws under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 6,

2025.

TRD-202500428

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 26, 2025

Proposal publication date: December 6, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 402. CHARITABLE BINGO
OPERATIONS DIVISION

The Texas Lottery Commission (Commission) adopts the re-
peal of existing 16 TAC §8§402.301 (Bingo Card/Paper) and
402.303 (Pull-tab or Instant Bingo Dispensers); the addition of
new 16 TAC §8§402.301 (Approval of Pull-Tab Bingo Tickets),
402.302 (Pull-Tab Bingo Manufacturing Requirements), 402.303
(Pull-Tab Bingo Sales and Redemption), 402.304 (Pull-Tab
Bingo Record Keeping), 402.305 (Pull-Tab Bingo Styles of
Play), 402.306 (Bingo Card/Paper Definitions), 402.307 (Bingo
Card/Paper Approval), 402.308 (Bingo Card/Paper Manufactur-
ing Requirements), 402.309 (Bingo Card/Paper Record Keep-
ing), 402.310 (Bingo Card/Paper Styles of Play), and 402.311
(Pull-Tab or Instant Bingo Dispensers); and the amendments
to 16 TAC §§402.102 (Bingo Advisory Committee), 402.103
(Training Program), 402.200 (General Restrictions on the Con-
duct of Bingo), 402.201 (Prohibited Bingo Occasion), 402.202
(Transfer of Funds), 402.203 (Unit Accounting), 402.210 (House
Rules), 402.212 (Promotional Bingo), 402.300 (Pull-Tab Bingo),
402.324 (Card-Minding Systems--Approval of Card-Minding
Systems), 402.325 (Card-Minding Systems--Licensed Autho-
rized Organizations Requirements), 402.326 (Card-Minding
Systems--Distributor Requirements), 402.334 (Shutter Card
Bingo Systems - Approval of Shutter Card Bingo Systems),
402.400 (General Licensing Provisions), 402.401 (Temporary
License), 402.402 (Registry of Bingo Workers), 402.404 (Li-
cense Classes and Fees), 402.411 (License Renewal), 402.443
(Transfer of a Grandfathered Lessor's Commercial Lessor
License), 402.500 (General Records Requirements), 402.502
(Charitable Use of Net Proceeds Recordkeeping), 402.600
(Bingo Reports and Payments), 402.601 (Interest on Delinquent
Tax), 402.602 (Waiver of Penalty, Settlement of Prize Fees,
Penalty and/or Interest), 402.702 (Disqualifying Convictions),
402.703 (Audit Policy), 402.706 (Schedule of Sanctions), and
402.707 (Expedited Administrative Penalty Guideline) without
changes to the proposed text as published in the November 15,
2024, issue of the Texas Register (49 TexReg 9156). The rules
will not be republished.

The Commission adopts the addition of new 16 TAC §402.105
(Postmarks, Timely Filing of Forms, Reports, Applications and
Payment of Taxes and Fees); and the amendments to 16 TAC
§§402.100 (Definitions) and 402.101 (Advisory Opinions) with
changes to the proposed text as published in the November 15,
2024, issue of the Texas Register (49 TexReg 9156). The rules
will be republished.

The amendments recommended for adoption include several
changes to the proposed version made in response to public
comment. These changes are a logical outgrowth of the pub-
lished proposal that do not affect any new persons who were not
affected by and on notice of the published proposal, and thus do
not require republication.

In response to public comments, Rule 402.100(9), defining
"premises," has been modified to include the grandfathering
provision from Tex. Occ. Code §2001.403(b), which allows
for more than one premises under a common roof or over a
common foundation for licensees in existence on or before May
23, 1997. Also, new Rule 402.105(c)(1), regarding the timely
filing of forms, reports, applications and payment of taxes and
fees, has been modified to allow for contract carriers in addition
to common carriers.

The Commission has also amended Rule 402.101(a)(3) to state
that the Commission's authority to approve advisory opinions
granted by Tex. Occ. Code §2001.059 "may be" (rather than
"is") delegated to the Charitable Bingo Operations director or his
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or her designee. This amendment was not included in the pub-
lished proposal but is being added by the Commission, not in
response to public comments, but to reflect the Commission's
recent directive to bring all bingo advisory opinions to the board
for approval. That direction was given in response to the Texas
Sunset Advisory Commission Staff Report with Commission De-
cisions (Sunset Report), which adopted a recommendation to
"[m]odify [the] statute to remove the commission's authority to
delegate approval authority for bingo advisory opinions." The
Commission intends to approve all opinions, but the rule still al-
lows for a delegation to the bingo director in the event the Com-
mission is unable to hold a public meeting within the 60-day
statutory deadline to issue an opinion. If the Legislature en-
acts the recommended statutory change, this rule will be further
amended, as necessary, to reflect the new law. This amendment
does not materially alter the issues raised in the proposal or af-
fect any persons who were not already on notice of the proposal
and, thus, does not require republication. This amendment re-
lates entirely to an internal process of the Commission and does
not impact the rights or privileges of the public.

The repeals, new rules, and amendments are the result of the
Commission's recent rule review conducted in accordance with
Texas Government Code §2001.039, as well as the agency's re-
cent review by the Texas Sunset Advisory Commission. Among
the more significant changes, this proposal addresses issues
identified as rulemaking gaps in the Sunset Report. Specifi-
cally, the Sunset Report noted that there was "[n]o clarification
of what classifies as a bingo hall's 'premises'..." (addressed in
Rule 402.100), "[n]o clarification that bingo products may not be
purchased using a credit card..." (addressed in Rule 402.200),
"[n]o clarification of how certain grandfathered bingo licenses
may be transferred" (addressed in Rule 402.443), and "[n]o def-
inition of what constitutes a repeat violation..." (addressed in
Rule 402.706). The Sunset Report also recommended consider-
ing a licensee's compliance history in audit determinations (ad-
dressed in Rule 402.703) and eliminating warnings for serious of-
fenses and repeat violations of less serious offenses (addressed
in Rules 402.706 and 402.707).

This proposal also amends aspects of the Bingo Advisory Com-
mittee (BAC) to ensure that it complies with the Bingo Enabling
Act (BEA); breaks two comprehensive rules on pull-tabs and
bingo paper into multiple smaller rules for ease of reference; cre-
ates a single standard for determining when a form, report, appli-
cation, or payment has been mailed to the Commission; clarifies
and updates agency processes; eliminates references to terms,
laws, and processes that are no longer in place; and conforms
the rules to the BEA.

The new Rule 402.105 establishes a single standard for deter-
mining the timeliness of filings by licensees. A form, report, ap-
plication, or payment will be deemed filed or paid based on the
postmark or receipt mark date, or, if filed electronically, the day
that it was filed. Currently, there are different standards through-
out the rules depending on the type of document or payment
filed. The different standards will be deleted in this rulemaking
and replaced by this single rule. This new rule was modeled on a
similar rule adopted by the Comptroller of Public Accounts used
to determine the timeliness of tax payments and related forms.

The new Rules 402.301, 402.302, 402.303, 402.304 and
402.305 are necessary to break the current Rule 402.300,
regarding pull-tab bingo tickets, into smaller rules for ease of
reference. There are no changes to the rule language from the
current version.

The new Rules 402.306, 402.307, 402.308, 402.309, and
402.310 are necessary to break the current Rule 402.301,
regarding bingo card/paper, into smaller rules for ease of
reference. The Rules 402.306 and 402.310 also contain amend-
ments allowing break-open bingo games to be pre-called,
and will properly categorize braille and loteria cards as bingo
equipment that require approval by the Commission. There are
no other changes to the rule language from the current version.

The new Rule 402.311, regarding pull-tab or instant bingo dis-
pensers, is currently at Rule 402.303 and needs to be moved to
break Rule 402.300 into multiple parts. There are no changes to
the rule language from the current version.

The amendments to Rule 402.100 include a definition of
"premises" that conforms with the BEA. This change addresses
a gap that was identified by the Sunset Report.

The amendments to Rule 402.101 change a reference to the
bingo operations director from "his" to "his or her," provide that
the issuance of an opinion "may be" delegated to the director,
and eliminate the requirement that the general counsel approve
a bingo advisory opinion before it is issued.

The amendments to Rule 402.102 eliminate the appointment of
a substitute member to the BAC if a member from one of the re-
quired interest groups cannot be appointed; clarify that a mem-
ber serves at the pleasure of the Commission or until they resign
or are unable to serve; provide for virtual meetings; and clarify
the BAC's annual reporting deadline and reappointment process.

The amendments to Rule 402.103 clarify that conductors may
only choose an on-site bingo training program if one is available.
The amendments also codify the agency's practice that non-reg-
ular conductors are not subject to training requirements.

The amendments to Rule 402.200 correct a typo and specify that
formal complaints to the Commission must be in writing. The
amendments also codify a prior bingo advisory opinion that or-
ganizations may not accept credit payments for bingo products.
This change addresses a gap that was identified by the Sunset
Report.

The amendments to Rule 402.201 codify the long-standing Com-
mission practice and process of issuing cease-and-desist letters
and copying local law enforcement in substantiated cases of il-
legal bingo.

The amendments to Rule 402.202 delete a reference to the
timely submission of a transfer of funds form. This rule is no
longer necessary due to the new rule on timeliness of submis-
sions at Rule 402.105.

The amendments to Rule 402.203 delete a reference that allows
the sale of pull-tab bingo tickets between organizations with the
prior written consent of the Commission. The authority for an
organization to sell certain bingo products to another organiza-
tion with the prior approval of the Commission comes from Bingo
Enabling Act §2001.407(f). That section does not provide for the
sale of pull-tabs.

The amendments to Rule 402.210 require organizations to pro-
hibit any person from offering to sell bingo products or offering
to award bingo prizes to persons outside of a bingo occasion via
a telecommunications device.

The amendments to Rule 402.212 clarify that approval for a pro-
motional bingo event will only be issued if the request complies
with all the requirements of the rule.

ADOPTED RULES
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The amendments to Rule 402.300 are necessary to break the
current Rule 402.300, regarding pull-tab bingo tickets, into
smaller rules for ease of reference. There are no changes to
the rule language from the current version.

The amendments to Rule 402.324 eliminate all references to
the Commission's testing lab and require manufacturers to pro-
vide any forms and documentation necessary to ensure that their
card-minding systems comply with required standards.

The amendments to Rule 402.325 provide that the voided re-
ceipts organizations are required to attach to the bingo occa-
sion report must include all payments (cash or otherwise) for
pre-sales.

The amendments to Rule 402.326 delete an obsolete reference
to "dedicated modem phone lines."

The amendments to Rule 402.334 provide that a manufacturer
must provide any software necessary to determine if its shutter
card bingo system meets rule requirements.

The amendments to Rule 402.400 provide that the Commission
will not return a license application when the applicant has failed
to respond to a request for more information within 21 days.

The amendments to Rule 402.401 clarify that a regular organi-
zation that surrenders its regular license may retain up to 12 un-
used temporary licenses so long as their dates-of-use are des-
ignated within 10 days of the surrender. The amendments also
correct references to two forms.

The amendments to Rule 402.402 eliminate the requirement for
an applicant to list his or her race on an application for the worker

registry.

The amendments to Rule 402.404 eliminate unnecessary refer-
ences to "regular" licenses.

The amendments to Rule 402.411 allow the division to "provide"
renewal notices rather than "mail" them, and delete a reference
to the timely submission of license renewal applications, which
is no longer necessary due to the proposed new Rule 402.105.

The amendments to Rule 402.443 provide that a grandfathered
license held by a legal entity is not considered to be transferred
due to changes to the legal entity so long as the entity's taxpayer
number remains the same. This rule codifies the Commission's
practice on the transfer of grandfathered lessor licenses and con-
forms with a previously issued Office of the Attorney General
Opinion. This change addresses a gap that was identified by
the Sunset Report.

The amendments to Rule 402.500 codify the Commission's prac-
tice that bingo operations must use cash basis accounting.

The amendments to Rule 402.502 eliminate unnecessary lan-
guage related to the kinds of documentation that may be relied
on to prove charitable distributions were properly made.

The amendments to Rule 402.600 delete references to the timely
submission of bingo reports and payments. These references
are no longer necessary due to the new rule on timeliness of all
submissions at Rule 402.105.

The amendments to Rule 402.601 provide that a credit of $100
or less entered by an organization or lessor on its quarterly report
will be accessible for viewing in the Bingo Service Portal, rather
than preprinted on the quarterly report.

The amendments to Rule 402.602 eliminate waivers of penalties
and interest due to the late payment of prize fees. Penalties and

interest for late prize fee payments come from BEA §2001.504.
That section does not provide for a waiver of the penalty and
interest, in contrast to BEA §2001.451(k) which explicitly allows
the director to waive net proceeds and charitable distribution re-
quirements. The difference between those provisions indicates
that the legislature did not intend to give the director the ability to
waive penalties and interest for the late payment of prize fees.

The amendments to Rule 402.702 eliminate a reference to a
statute that no longer exists.

The amendments to Rule 402.703 provide that a licensee's com-
pliance history shall be considered as a risk factor in audit deter-
minations. This change addresses a gap that was identified by
the Sunset Report.

The amendments to Rule 402.706 eliminate warnings for first
time violations of serious offenses or repeat violations of lesser
offenses. The amendments also provide a definition of "repeat
violation." This change addresses a gap that was identified by
the Sunset Report.

The amendments to Rule 402.707 change the bingo operations
director's pronoun from "his" to "his or her"; reiterate that formal
complaints must be in writing; and eliminate warnings for repeat
offenses. This change addresses a gap that was identified by
the Sunset Report.

On December 4, 2024, the Commission held a public hearing to
receive public comments on the proposed rules. No one from the
public appeared at the hearing and no comments were received
at the hearing.

On December 3, 2024, the Commission received written com-
ments from Stephen Fenoglio on behalf of Texas Charity Advo-
cates (TCA) and the Bingo Interest Group (BIG) in the form of a
red-lined version of the rule proposal document. At the Decem-
ber 4, 2024 meeting of the BAC, Mr. Fenoglio elaborated on the
written comments orally. In the following responses, TCA/BIG's
written and oral comments have been combined and treated as
a single public comment.

COMMENT: Rule 402.100(9), defining "premises," does not
include the grandfathering provision from Tex. Occ. Code
2001.403(b), which allows for more than one premises under
a common roof or over a common foundation for licensees in
existence on or before May 23, 1997. TCA/BIG appreciates that
the definition specifically excludes a virtual location or place.

RESPONSE: Staff agrees and has incorporated this comment
into the adopted version.

COMMENT: Rule 402.102(n)(3), regarding the Bingo Advisory
Committee's annual workplan, should be amended to include
the following: "The workplan shall allow the BAC to review and
comment on other states' laws." TCA/BIG comments that "...the
Sunset Advisory Commission observed correctly that it makes
no sense that the BAC cannot comment on other states' bingo
activities..." and that there is no prohibition against it in the Bingo
Enabling Act or the Rules.

RESPONSE: Staff does not recommend changing the rule at this
time because the Sunset Report recommended modifications to
the Bingo Enabling Act to "...ensure the BAC can fully advise
the commission on all aspects of bingo by prohibiting the com-
mission from restricting bingo-related topics the committee can
discuss." The Commission looks forward to statutory guidance
and will adhere to any direction that is provided by the Legisla-
ture.
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COMMENT: New Rule 402.105, regarding the timely filing of
forms, reports, applications, and payments, should allow for con-
tract carriers as well as common carriers.

RESPONSE: Staff agrees and has incorporated this comment
into the adopted version.

COMMENT: Regarding Rule 402.200(q) prohibiting the use of
credit payments in bingo, TCA/BIG would like staff to explain
what is meant by: "...regardless of how the transaction is struc-
tured."

RESPONSE: This rule is being amended in response to
the Sunset Report's note that there is "[n]o clarification that
bingo products may not be purchased using a credit card
despite a 2017 bingo advisory opinion stating as much." The
language of this amendment is taken verbatim from that opin-
ion, 2017-0816-0004. "Regardless of how the transaction is
structured" was likely included because the opinion request
presented several hypothetical situations involving different
payment structures. The intent of the language is to make
it clear that credit payments will not be allowed under any
circumstances. Staff does not recommend any changes to the
proposed language in response to this comment.

COMMENT: Rule 402.201(b), relating to the agency's handling
of complaints regarding illegal bingo, should be changed from
"...will issue a cease and desist letter and copy local law en-
forcement..." to "...shall issue..." because "...'shall' is a stronger
verb..." TCA/BIG would also like to require the agency to copy
"...Facebook, Tiktok, Instagram, or other social media platform if
the location is known."

RESPONSE: Staff does not recommend any changes based on
this comment. There is no substantive difference between "will"
and "shall" - both verbs require the agency to notify local law en-
forcement. As for notifying social media companies, the agency
does not have unlimited resources to respond to complaints of
online gambling. The Commission has reached out to social me-
dia companies in the past when it had their contact information
available and it will continue to do so, but the agency should not
require itself to establish and maintain those contacts in perpe-
tuity. lllegal bingo is a crime and jurisdiction rests with local law
enforcement, for which the agency has readily available contact
information.

COMMENT: Rule 402.309(3)(A)'s requirement for organizations
to maintain a disposable bingo card/paper sales summary show-
ing a distributor's taxpayer number is unnecessary because that
information is available on the Commission's website. TCA/BIG
also recommends adding "for four years" to the requirement to
maintain a perpetual inventory in (3)(C). They also comment that
in subsection (3)(D), the Commission should be required to wit-
ness an organization's destruction of bingo cards/paper within
30 days of an organization's notification.

RESPONSE: Staff does not recommend any changes based on
these comments. These record keeping requirements were dis-
cussed during the rule review process and staff determined that
all of the required information in the rule was necessary to main-
tain the integrity of the audit process. The addition of "...for four
years..." to (3)(C) is unnecessary because a 4-year maintenance
requirement is already present in (4) for "[a]ll records identified in
this subsection...." Staff does not recommend changing subsec-
tion (3)(D). The Charitable Bingo Operations Division will provide
a staff member to witness the destruction of bingo paper/cards
as soon as is practicable, but it should not bind itself by rule to

a 30-day deadline that may be inappropriate due to any number
of factors.

COMMENT: Rule 402.402(a)(9), the definition of "salesperson”
should be amended to allow those employees to record sales of
bingo cards and pull-tabs.

RESPONSE: Staff does not recommend amending this rule at
this time. This comment is unique among the others in that it (1)
addresses an issue that was not discussed at all during the rule
review process and (2) appears only in TCA/BIG's written com-
ment, without any explanation or mention in their oral comment.
The current rule provides that only a cashier may record bingo
card and pull-tab sales. Staff does not have any information to
support an amendment, but we welcome discussion of this issue
at future BAC meetings.

COMMENT: TCA/BIG supports the language used in Rule
402.443 regarding the transfer of a grandfathered lessor's
commercial lessor license.

RESPONSE: No response necessary.

COMMENT: TCA/BIG's written comment on Rule 402.500(e), re-
garding the requirement to use cash basis accounting, states:
"Do we care? The SEC mandates all publicly traded companies
to use accrual accounting, not cash basis accounting." Their oral
comment on the item was "My clients' conclusion was we like the
cash accounting the way it is... So, after much discussion, they
agreed to keep the language as it is."

RESPONSE: The agency declines to make any changes to the
rule as proposed. The written comment was not formally with-
drawn, but it appears from the oral comment that TCA/BIG has
no issues with the rule as drafted.

COMMENT: Regarding Rule 402.600, Bingo Reports and Pay-
ments, TCA/BIG's written comment notes that "There are times
when the Commission's system will not accept quarterly filings."
Their oral comment included the following: "I've asked [the book-
keepers] for the specific example, and | haven't gotten one yet
other than, '[w]ell, we've had this problem before.™

RESPONSE: Staff does not recommend any changes to this rule
because this comment does not suggest any issues with the rule
language. The Charitable Bingo Operations Division will con-
tinue to collaborate with the BAC on improvements to the Bingo
Service Portal in accordance with the Sunset Report.

COMMENT: TCA/BIG disagrees with the modifications to the
Standard Administrative Penalty Chart in Rule 402.706 that elim-
inate warnings for first time offenses of Category 1 and 2 vio-
lations. They note that "[tlhese changes are designed to take
money from the charities, even if an honest mistake has been
made." They appreciate that the current rule - which allows for
a warning - gives the bingo director the discretion to be more le-
nient on a case-by-case basis.

RESPONSE: Staff does not recommend making any changes
to the rule based on this comment. The Sunset Report recom-
mended that the agency revise its schedule of sanctions to bet-
ter align penalties with the severity of the violation. The Sunset
Report states: "Specifically, CBOD should...consider eliminating
$0 penalties for the most serious violations." The agency appre-
ciates the Texas Sunset Advisory Commission's review and is
implementing its rulemaking recommendations. The new penal-
ties start at $250 and they are not "designed to take money from
the charities," but to deter violations.

SUBCHAPTER A. ADMINISTRATION
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16 TAC §§402.100 - 402.103

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules to
enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the laws
under the Commission's jurisdiction.

§402.100.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter and Texas
Occupations Code, Chapter 2001, shall have the following meanings,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) State law--Texas statutes and reported court cases.

(2) Calendar week--A period of seven consecutive days
commencing with Sunday and ending with Saturday.

(3) Calendar year--A period of 12 consecutive months
commencing with January 1 and ending with December 31.

(4) Commission--The Texas Lottery Commission, the
agency created by H.B. 54, 72nd Leg., 1st C.S. (1991), as amended by
H.B. 1587 and H.B. 1013, 73rd Leg. R.S., 1993.

(5) Conductor--A licensed authorized organization.

(6) Director--The Director of the Charitable Bingo Opera-
tions Division, commonly known as the bingo division, of the Com-
mission.

(7) Operator--A natural person designated pursuant to au-
thority of the Bingo Enabling Act.

(8) 24-hour period--A period of 24 consecutive hours com-
mencing at 12:00 midnight.

(9) Premises--The area subject to the direct control of and
actual use by a licensed authorized organization or group of autho-
rized organizations to conduct bingo. There may not be more than one
premises under a common roof or over a common foundation, except
under a license that was in existence on or before May 23, 1997. A
premises must have an address. The term does not include a virtual
location or place.

$§402.101. Advisory Opinions.
(a) Time Period.

(1) The Commission shall respond to an advisory opinion
request not later than the 60th day after the later date of when the Com-
mission receives the written request containing sufficient facts or re-
ceives the additional information pursuant to a request for additional
information to provide an answer on which the requestor may rely.
However, if the Commission requests an attorney general opinion on a
matter that is the subject of an advisory opinion request the deadlines
are tolled until 30 days following the issuance of the attorney general
opinion.

(2) The Commission shall notify the person making the re-
quest of the date the advisory opinion request is received and of the
advisory opinion number.

(3) The authority granted by Occupations Code,
§2001.059, may be delegated to the Charitable Bingo Operations
Director or his or her designee. The Commission by separate order
may delegate to an employee of the Commission the authority granted.

(4) The Commission retains the authority to issue advisory
opinions pursuant to Occupations Code, §2001.059. The delegation
of authority merely augments the Commission's ability to perform the

duties and functions of the Commission with respect to issuing advisory
opinions.

(b) Request for an Advisory Opinion.

(1) An officer, bingo chairperson, or authorized represen-
tative of a license holder or an attorney, accountant, or bookkeeper em-
ployed or retained by a license holder may request from the Commis-
sion an advisory opinion regarding compliance with this chapter and
the rules of the Commission.

(2) A person requesting an advisory opinion shall do so by
sending the request in writing addressed to Advisory Opinion, Chari-
table Bingo Operations Division, Texas Lottery Commission, and P.O.
Box 16630, Austin, Texas 78761-6630 or by e-mail to Advisory.Opin-
ion@lottery.state.tx.us.

(3) A request for an advisory opinion shall describe a spec-
ified factual situation. The request shall make clear that it is a request
for an advisory opinion under Occupations Code, §2001.059, and state
in sufficient detail all facts upon which the request for opinion is based
to permit the Commission to provide a response to the request and shall
contain the name and address of the person requesting the opinion. The
request may be accompanied by supporting legal arguments and cita-
tions of law or rules as the requesting person deems pertinent. Any
other person may also submit legal arguments, citations of law or rules,
or legal briefs within 30 days of the date of the request for opinion.

(¢) Request for Additional Information.

(1) If the Commission determines that the request for an
advisory opinion does not contain sufficient facts to provide an answer,
the Commission shall request additional written information from the
requestor not later than ten calendar days after the request for advisory
opinion was received by the Commission.

(2) Ifno additional information is supplied to the Commis-
sion within ten calendar days of the date of the Commission's request
and the Commission determines that the request does not contain suf-
ficient facts to provide an answer, then no opinion can be issued and
the advisory opinion request file will be closed. In this instance, the re-
questor will be given a statement that no opinion can be expressed with
regard to a given fact situation due to the failure to supply additional
information.

(3) The response to a Commission request for additional
information shall be addressed to Advisory Opinion, The Charitable
Bingo Operations Division, Texas Lottery Commission, and P.O. Box
16630, Austin, Texas 78761-6630 or by e-mail to Advisory.Opin-
ion@lottery.state.tx.us in order to permit the Commission to provide a
response to the request.

(d) Subject of an Advisory Opinion.

(1) The Commission may refuse to issue an advisory opin-
ion on a matter that the Commission knows to be in active litigation
including a contested administrative case.

(2) Anadvisory opinion cannot resolve a disputed question
of fact other than to provide a response which refers to the applicable
statutes and rules.

(e) Response.

(1) A request for an advisory opinion that contains suffi-
cient facts shall initially be referred to any appropriate personnel within
the Charitable Bingo Operations Division for review and written com-
ment.

(2) If the Commission determines that a request for an ad-
visory opinion has already been answered by the Commission, then the
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Commission may provide a written response to the requestor that cites
the prior advisory opinion.

(3) The Commission may publish the response on its web-
site.

(4) The response shall clearly state that the opinion is ad-
visory in nature and is restricted to the fact situation identified in the
opinion.

(5) A requestor may rely upon an advisory opinion if the
conduct is substantially consistent with the opinion and the facts stated
in the request.

(6) The Commission cannot grant nor confer legal author-
ity beyond the statute or rule which is the subject of the request for
advisory opinion.

(7) A previously issued advisory opinion not in accord with
the current Commission statutes and rules may be modified or revoked,
but in such an instance the modification or revocation shall operate
prospectively only.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500439

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

3 . *
16 TAC §402.105

The new rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
to enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas
Government Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission
to adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the
laws under the Commission's jurisdiction.

$§402.105.  Postmarks, Receipt Marks, Timely Filing of Forms, Re-
ports, Applications and Payment of Fees.

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Common carrier--A person who provides transporta-
tion of persons or property to members of the general public for com-
pensation in the normal course of business.

(2) Receipt mark--An official mark printed by a common
carrier recording the date and place of mailing.

(3) United States Postal Service postmark--An official
mark printed over a postage stamp by the United States Postal Service,
canceling the stamp and recording the date and place of mailing. A
postmark does not include dates recorded on postage purchased over
the internet, pre-metered stamps, or postage from postage meters
unless an actual postmark is generated.

(b) General Provisions.

(1) All forms, reports, and applications required to be sub-
mitted to the commission shall be filed on or before the due date for
filing the form, report, or application.

(2) All payments required to be remitted to the commission
shall be paid on or before the due date for making such payments.

(3) Ifthe due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal hol-
iday, the due date is the next business day.

(4) Ifaform, report, application, or payment is postmarked
or receipt-marked on or before the due date, it will be considered timely
filed.

(c) Timely Filing or Payment- Postmark or Receipt Mark.

(1) To determine whether a form, report, or application has
been timely filed, or a payment timely made, the date of the United
States Postal Service postmark or a receipt mark showing when a report
or payment was delivered to a common carrier or contract carrier will
be prima facie evidence of the date the filing or payment was made, so
long as the envelope, or common carrier or contract carrier documen-
tation, reflects a valid commission address.

(2) If a report or payment is received through the United
States Postal Service and does not have a postmark, or is received
through a common carrier and does not have a receipt mark, the date
of the filing or payment is presumed, in the absence of evidence sup-
porting the assertion of a different filing date, to be:

(A) ifreceived through the United States Postal Service,
three days prior to the date on which the form, report, application, or
payment is physically received by the commission, as evidenced by
commission records; or

(B) ifreceived through a common carrier, one day prior
to the date on which the report or payment is physically received by the
commission, as evidence by commission records.

(3) Ifalicensee penalized for late filing or late payment can
provide a postmark or receipt mark complying with the requirements
of timely filing and timely paying but, through no fault of the licensee,
the form, report, application, or payment arrived after the due date, the
filing or payment will be considered timely. The licensee's testimony
that the form, report, application, or payment was sent will not be con-
sidered as evidence of timely filing or payment.

(4) A form, report, application, or payment that is submit-

ted electronically will be considered filed or paid on the date it is re-
ceived.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500440

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢
SUBCHAPTER B. CONDUCT OF BINGO

ADOPTED RULES
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16 TAC §§402.200 - 402.203, 402.210, 402.212

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules to
enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the laws
under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500441

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. BINGO GAMES AND
EQUIPMENT
16 TAC §402.301, §402.303

The repeals are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
to enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas
Government Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission
to adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the
laws under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500438

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢
16 TAC §§402.301 - 402.311

The new rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
to enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas
Government Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission
to adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the
laws under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500443

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢
16 TAC §§402.300, 402.324 - 402.326, 402.334

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules to
enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the laws
under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500444

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. LICENSING REQUIRE-
MENTS
16 TAC §§402.400 - 402.402, 402.404, 402.411, 402.443

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules to
enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the laws
under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500445

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392
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¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. BOOKS AND RECORDS
16 TAC §402.500, §402.502

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules to
enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the laws
under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500446

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER F. PAYMENT OF TAXES,
PRIZE FEES AND BONDS
16 TAC §§402.600 - 402.602

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules to
enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the laws
under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500447

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. COMPLIANCE AND
ENFORCEMENT
16 TAC §§402.702, 402.703, 402.706, 402.707

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§2001.054, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules to

enforce and administer the Bingo Enabling Act, and Texas Gov-
ernment Code §467.102, which authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules for the enforcement and administration of the laws
under the Commission's jurisdiction.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500448

Bob Biard

General Counsel

Texas Lottery Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 15, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 344-5392

¢ 14 ¢
TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 33. EARLY AND PERIODIC
SCREENING, DIAGNOSIS, AND TREATMENT
SUBCHAPTER F. DENTAL SERVICES

25 TAC §33.70

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts an amendment to §33.70, concerning Dental Preventive
and Treatment Services.

The amendment to §33.70 is adopted with changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the October 25, 2024, issue of the
Texas Register (49 TexReg 8523). This rule will be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The amendment to §33.70 is necessary to comply with House
Bill (H.B.) 2056, 87th Legislature, Regular Session, 2021.

H.B. 2056 added a requirement for providers to be reimbursed
for teledentistry dental services by amending Texas Government
Code §531.0216 and §531.02162(b) and (c) and adding Texas
Government Code §531.02172. The amendment to §33.70
implements teledentistry dental services under Medicaid in the
Texas Health Steps Program.

The Texas State Board of Dental Examiners adopted rules in
2022 to regulate the practice of teledentistry. HHSC waited until
the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners rules were adopted
to propose the amendment to §33.70. While the Texas State
Board of Dental Examiners rules were being adopted, HHSC an-
alyzed which dental services and treatments, available through
the Texas Health Steps Program, could safely and effectively be
provided as a teledentistry dental service to clients enrolled in
the program.

The amendment to §33.70 requires dental providers to perform
dental services as described in the Texas Medicaid Provider Pro-
cedures Manual. The amendment allows dental providers to
conduct an oral evaluation as a teledentistry dental service, as
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defined in Texas Occupations Code §111.001, for established
clients, using synchronous audiovisual technologies.

The amendment allows flexibility for an established client and the
dentist to use synchronous audiovisual technologies to conduct
an oral evaluation, and thereby, makes oral evaluations more
easily available to and prevents unnecessary travel for clients in
the Texas Health Steps Program.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended November 25, 2024.

During this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regard-
ing the proposed rule.

HHSC made a minor editorial change to §33.70(b) to cite the
more specific location of a cross-referenced rule by replacing "in
this title" with "in this subchapter." These changes were not in
response to a public comment.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment to §33.70 is adopted under Texas Government
Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commis-
sioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provi-
sion of services by the health and human services agencies;
Texas Government Code §531.0216, which provides that the
Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules to develop
and implement a system to reimburse providers of services un-
der Medicaid for services performed using teledentistry dental
services; Texas Government Code §531.02162, which provides
that the Executive Commissioner of HHSC shall by rule estab-
lish policies that permit reimbursement under Medicaid for ser-
vices provided through teledentistry dental services to children
with special health care needs; and Texas Government Code
§531.02172, which provides HHSC by rule shall require each
health and human services agency that administers a part of the
Medicaid program to provide Medicaid reimbursement for tele-
dentistry dental services provided by a dentist licensed to prac-
tice dentistry in this state.

§33.70.  Dental Preventive and Treatment Services.

(a) In addition to dental check-ups, which may include radio-
graphs and other diagnostic tests, clients are eligible to receive the
following dental services and treatment, as described in detail in the
TMPPM:

(1) diagnostic;

(2) preventive;

(3) therapeutic (including orthodontic);
(4) emergency; and

(5) medically necessary treatment.

(b) Prior authorization may be required for certain services and
documentation requirements must be met, as described in detail in the
TMPPM. All dental services are subject to utilization review, as de-
scribed in §33.72 of this subchapter (relating to Dental Utilization Re-
views).

(c) THSteps dental providers are required to perform dental
services as described in detail in the TMPPM.

(d) THSteps dental providers may conduct an oral evaluation
as a teledentistry dental service, as defined in Texas Occupations Code
§111.001, for established clients using synchronous audiovisual tech-
nologies.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500371

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: March 3, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2910

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 37. MATERNAL AND INFANT
HEALTH SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER P. SURVEILLANCE AND
CONTROL OF BIRTH DEFECTS

25 TAC §37.301

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts an amendment to §37.301, concerning Purpose.

Section 37.301 is adopted without changes to the proposed text
as published in the November 8, 2024, issue of the Texas Reg-
ister (49 TexReg 8828). This rule will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

House Bill (H.B.) 4611, 88th Legislature, Regular Session,
2023, made certain non-substantive revisions to Subtitle I, Title
4, Texas Government Code, which governs HHSC, Medicaid,
and other social services as part of the legislature's ongoing
statutory revision program. This adopted amendment updates
citations in the rules to the Texas Government Code sections
that become effective on April 1, 2025.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended December 9, 2024. During
this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regarding the
proposed rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Health and Safety Code §1001.075, which authorize the Execu-
tive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules for the operation and
provision of health and human services by DSHS and for the
administration of Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 1001.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500372
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Cynthia Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: April 1, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 8, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 221-9021

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 103. INJURY PREVENTION AND
CONTROL
25 TAC §103.1

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts an amendment to §103.1, concerning Purpose and
Purview.

Section 103.1 is adopted without changes to the proposed text
as published in the November 8, 2024, issue of the Texas Reg-
ister (49 TexReg 8829). This rule will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

House Bill (H.B.) 4611, 88th Legislature, Regular Session,
2023, made certain non-substantive revisions to Subtitle I, Title
4, Texas Government Code, which governs HHSC, Medicaid,
and other social services as part of the legislature's ongoing
statutory revision program. This adopted amendment updates
citations in the rules to the Texas Government Code sections
that become effective on April 1, 2025.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended December 9, 2024. During
this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regarding the
proposed rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Health and Safety Code §1001.075, which authorize the Execu-
tive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules for the operation and
provision of health and human services by DSHS and for the
administration of Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 1001.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500373

Cynthia Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: April 1, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 8, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 221-9021
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CHAPTER 221. MEAT SAFETY ASSURANCE

SUBCHAPTER B. MEAT AND POULTRY
INSPECTION

25 TAC §§221.11 - 221.16

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC), on behalf of the Department of
State Health Services (DSHS), adopts amendments to §221.11,
concerning Federal Regulations on Meat and Poultry Inspection;
§221.12, concerning Meat and Poultry Inspection; §221.13,
concerning Enforcement and Penalties; §221.14, concerning
Custom Exempt Slaughter and Processing; Animal Share and
Low-Volume Poultry or Rabbit Slaughter Operations; §221.15,
concerning Inspection of Alternate Source Food Animals; and
§221.16, concerning Fees. The amendments to §§221.11 -
221.16, are adopted without changes to the proposed text as
published in the November 22, 2024, issue of the Texas Register
(49 TexReg 9472) and therefore will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The purpose of the adopted amendments is to implement Sen-
ate Bill (S.B.) 691, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, 2023, that
amended Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 433, Subchap-
ter A, by adding §433.0065, relating to an animal share exemp-
tion for certain meat and meat food products and providing for
a civil penalty. The amendments also provide guidance regard-
ing how producers may engage in the slaughtering, processing,
labeling, and distribution of meat and meat food products pro-
duced for members of an animal share while remaining in com-
pliance with state and federal laws and the regulatory require-
ments of 25 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §221.14.

Additionally, the adoption implements S.B. 664, 88th Legislature,
Regular Session, 2023, that amended Texas Health and Safety
Code Chapter 431, Subchapter D, by adding §431.0805, that de-
fines analogue and cell-cultured food products as distinguished
from the definitions of "meat," "poultry," "meat food products,"
and "poultry food products." The amendments update, correct,
improve, and clarify the rule language and incorporate plain lan-
guage where appropriate.

COMMENTS

The 31-day comment period ended on December 23, 2024. Dur-
ing this period, DSHS did not receive any comments regarding
the proposed amendments.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are authorized by Texas Health and Safety
Code Chapters 431 and 433, which direct the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules to implement legislation;
Texas Government Code §531.0055 and Texas Health and
Safety Code §1001.075, which authorize the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules necessary for the operation
and provision of health and human services by DSHS and for
the administration of Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter
1001.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5,
2025.

TRD-202500411
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Cynthia Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: February 25, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 22, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 834-6760

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 26. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

PART 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 260. DEAF BLIND WITH
MULTIPLE DISABILITIES (DBMD) PROGRAM
AND COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE (CFC)
SERVICES

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts amendments to §260.61, concerning Process for Enroll-
ment of an Individual; and §260.219, concerning Reporting Alle-
gations of Abuse, Neglect, or Exploitation of an Individual.

The amendments to §260.61 and §260.219 are adopted without
changes to the proposed text as published in the November 1,
2024, issue of the Texas Register (49 TexReg 8689). These
rules will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The amendments are necessary to comply with Texas Human
Resources Code §48.051(b-1), added by House Bill (H.B.) 4696,
88th Legislature, Regular Session, 2023. Section 48.051 re-
quires a person, including an officer, employee, agent, contrac-
tor, or subcontractor of a home and community support services
agency (HCSSA) licensed under Texas Health and Safety Code
Chapter 142, who has cause to believe that an individual receiv-
ing services from the HCSSA, is being or has been subjected to
abuse, neglect, or exploitation (ANE), to immediately report it to
HHSC.

A program provider in the Deaf Blind Multiple Disabilities (DBMD)
Program must be licensed as a HCSSA. To comply with Sec-
tion 48.051, the amendments change the current DBMD Pro-
gram ANE reporting requirement from the Texas Department of
Family and Protective Services (DFPS) to HHSC. Transferring
the function relating to the intake of reports of ANE from DFPS
to HHSC creates a more streamlined process because HHSC is
currently responsible for investigating these reports in the DBMD
Program.

Therefore, the amendments remove all references to DFPS,
the DFPS Abuse Hotline toll-free telephone number, and the
DFPS Abuse Hotline website and replace them with references
to HHSC, the HHSC toll-free telephone number, and the HHSC
online Texas Unified Licensure Information Portal. The amend-
ment to §260.61 replaces a reference to Texas Administrative
Code (TAC) Title 40, §49.309 that was administratively trans-
ferred to TAC Title 26, §52.117, relating to Complaint Process.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended December 2, 2024.

During this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regard-
ing the proposed rules.

SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY,
ENROLLMENT, AND REVIEW

DIVISION 2. ENROLLMENT PROCESS,
PERSON-CENTERED PLANNING, AND
REQUIREMENTS FOR SERVICE SETTINGS
26 TAC §260.61

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies; Texas
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; and
Texas Human Resources Code §32.021, which provides HHSC
with the authority to administer the federal medical assistance
program in Texas and to adopt rules and standards for program
administration.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500451

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 1, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2910

+ 3 3
SUBCHAPTER D. ADDITIONAL PROGRAM
PROVIDER PROVISIONS
26 TAC §260.219
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies; Texas
Government Code §531.033, which provides the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority; and
Texas Human Resources Code §32.021, which provides HHSC
with the authority to administer the federal medical assistance
program in Texas and to adopt rules and standards for program
administration.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 7,
2025.

TRD-202500452
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Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 27, 2025

Proposal publication date: November 1, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2910
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CHAPTER 306. BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
DELIVERY SYSTEM

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts amendments to §306.151, relating to Purpose; §306.152,
relating to Application and Responsibility for Compliance;
§306.153, relating to Definitions; §306.154, relating to Notifi-
cation and Appeals Process for Local Mental Health Authority
or Local Behavioral Health Authority Services; §306.161, re-
lating to Screening and Assessment; §306.162, relating to
Determining County of Residence; §306.163, relating to Most
Appropriate and Available Treatment Options; §306.171, re-
lating to General Admission Criteria for a State Hospital or a
Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed; §306.172, relating
to Admission Criteria for Maximum-Security Units; §306.173,
relating to Admission Criteria for an Adolescent Forensic Unit;
§306.174, relating to Admission Criteria for Waco Center for
Youth; §306.175, relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a
State Hospital or a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed;
§306.176, relating to Admission Criteria for a State Hospital
or a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed for Emergency
Detention; §306.177, relating to Admission Criteria Under
Order of Protective Custody or Court-ordered Inpatient Mental
Health Services; §306.178, relating to Voluntary Treatment
Following Involuntary Admission; §306.191, relating to Trans-
fers Between State Hospitals; §306.192, relating to Transfers
Between a State Hospital and a State Supported Living Center;
§306.193, relating to Transfers Between a State Hospital and an
Out-of-State Facility; §306.194, relating to Transfers Between a
State Hospital and Another Facility in Texas; §306.195, relating
to Changing Local Mental Health Authorities or Local Behavioral
Health Authorities; §306.201, relating to Discharge Planning;
§306.202, relating to Special Considerations for Discharge
Planning; §306.203, relating to Discharge of an Individual
Voluntarily Receiving Inpatient Treatment; §306.204, relating to
Discharge of an Individual Involuntarily Receiving Treatment;
§306.205, relating to Pass or Furlough from a State Hospital or
a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed; §306.207, relating
to Post Discharge or Furlough: Contact and Implementation
of the Recovery or Treatment Plan; and §306.221, relating to
Screening and Intake Assessment Training Requirements at a
State Hospital and a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed.

HHSC adopts new §306.155, relating to Local Mental Health
Authority, Local Behavioral Health Authority, and Continuity of
Care Liaison Responsibilities; §306.361, relating to Purpose;
§306.363, relating to Application; §306.365, relating to Defini-
tions; §306.367, relating to General Provisions; and §306.369,
relating to Documentation Requirements.

HHSC adopts the repeal of §306.206, relating to Absence for
Trial Placement.

Sections 306.151, 306.153 - 306.155, 306.162, 306.163,
306.171, 306.175 - 306.177, 306.191, 306.194, 306.195,
306.201 - 306.205, 306.207, 306.221, 306.361, 306.363,

306.365, 306.367, and 306.369 are adopted with changes to
the proposed text as published in the September 13, 2024,
issue of the Texas Register (49 TexReg 7192). These rules will
be republished.

Sections 306.152, 306.161, 306.172 - 306.174, 306.178,
306.192, 306.193 and 306.206 are adopted without changes
to the proposed text as published in the September 13, 2024,
issue of the Texas Register (49 TexReg 7192). These rules will
not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts amendments and the repeal of a rule in the Texas Ad-
ministrative Code (TAC), Title 26 Chapter 306, Subchapter D
relating to Mental Health Services--Admission, Continuity, and
Discharge, and adopts new rules in 26 TAC Chapter 306, Sub-
chapter H relating to Behavioral Health Services--Telecommu-
nications. The adopted rules are necessary to implement Sen-
ate Bill (S.B.) 26, 88th Legislature, Regular Session, 2023 and
House Bill (H.B.) 4, 87th Legislature, Regular Session, 2021.

S.B. 26 requires HHSC to adopt or amend existing rules to ad-
dress a local mental health authority's (LMHA's) responsibility for
ensuring the successful transition of patients determined ready
for discharge from an HHSC mental health facility. This adoption
also includes application to a local behavioral health authority
(LBHA). To implement S.B. 26, the adopted rules:

Require state hospitals to participate in joint discharge planning
with an LMHA or LBHA;

Require coordination between the LMHAs or LBHAs and the
state hospital to determine appropriate community services for
a patient;

Require an LMHA or LBHA to arrange for the provision of ser-
vices upon discharge;

Require the LMHA's or LBHA's transition support services to
complement joint discharge planning efforts;

Require each state hospital to designate at least one employee
to provide transition support services for patients determined
medically appropriate for discharge;

Require each state hospital to concentrate transition support ser-
vices on patients admitted and discharged multiple times within
30 days, or patients who had a long-term stay (more than 365
consecutive days); and

Allow voluntary admission to an inpatient mental health facility,
including a state hospital, only if space is available.

To implement H.B. 4, the adopted rules ensure that individuals
receiving HHSC-funded behavioral health services have the op-
tion to receive services as telemedicine or telehealth services,
including using an audio-only platform, to the extent it is clini-
cally effective and cost-effective.

Additionally, the adopted rules clarify statutory requirements;
add, remove, and update definitions; delete references to
managed care organizations (MCOs); update Medicaid-related
information; update and add cross-references; and make gram-
matical and editorial changes for understanding, accuracy, and
uniformity.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended on October 14, 2024.
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During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the pro-
posed rules from one commenter, the Texas Council of Commu-
nity Centers. A summary of comments relating to the rules and
HHSC's responses follows.

Comment: A commenter recommended fully aligning the conti-
nuity of care (CoC) liaison responsibilities in §306.155 with the
responsibilities outlined in the Performance Contract Notebook.

Response: HHSC agrees with the commenter that the proposed
rule should align with the responsibilities outlined in the Perfor-
mance Contract Notebook. HHSC will use the CoC liaison re-
sponsibilities listed in §306.155 to inform updates to the Perfor-
mance Contract Notebook.

Comment: A commenter recommended amending
§306.155(16) to allow uniform assessments completed
within 10 days before a planned discharge to still apply in
circumstances in which a planned discharge has been delayed.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule in response to the
comment. Due to the potential for changes in mental health sta-
tus, particularly in cases of delayed discharge, a uniform assess-
ment must be conducted within ten business days before dis-
charge. This rule reinforces the importance of using the most
current clinical assessment and supports HHSC policy that an
Adults Needs and Strengths Assessment or Child and Adoles-
cent Needs and Strength be valid for only 10 days.

Comment: A commenter recommended HHSC consider dis-
cussing an increase of the seven-day timeframe detailed in
§306.204(c)(3)(B), regarding a state hospital or facility with
an HHSC-funded contracted psychiatric bed's responsibility
to provide or pay for no more than a seven-day supply of an
individual's medications.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule in response to the
comment. Texas Health and Safety Code §574.081(c-2) cur-
rently provides that "[t]he executive commissioner may not adopt
rules requiring a mental health facility to provide or pay for psy-
choactive medication for more than seven days after furlough or
discharge."

HHSC revised §306.151 to spell out acronyms the first time used
in the section to improve understanding.

HHSC revised §306.153(16), (66), and (75); §306.171(e);
§306.175(a)(2)(A) and (B) and (b)(1); §306.175(e)(2), (9),
and (h)(1); §306.176(d)(3) and (e); §306.177(c); §306.191(a),
(b)(4), and (c); §306.194(a); §306.195(a)(1)(C), (a)(2)(B), (a)(3),
(a)(4), and (b); §306.201(b), (c)(2), (c)(3)(A) and (B), (c)(4) -
(6), (d)(1)(B), (d)(2) and (3), (e) and (e)(1), (g)(1), (h)(1)(B)(v)
and (vii), and (k)(5); §306.202(c)(5)(B) and (c)(6)(A)iii);
§306.203(b)(2) and (d)2)(C)(i)(II); §306.203(d)(2)(C)(i)II);
§306.205(d)(2)(B) and (C); §306.367(d)(4); and §306.369(b)(1)
by making editorial changes to clarify the meaning of these rules
referring to the "LAR."

HHSC revised §306.153(21) to update the Texas Government
Code citation from §531.055 to Chapter 522, Subchapter D;
§306.153(68) to update the Texas Government Code citation
from §531.251 to §547.0051; and §306.361 to update the Texas
Government Code citation from §531.02161 to §548.0002.
The updates implement H.B. 4611, 88th Legislature, Regular
Session, 2023, which makes non-substantive revisions to the
Texas Government Code that make the statute more accessible,
understandable, and usable.

HHSC revised §306.153(39) and §306.365(7) to add "or in-per-
son" so that when the term "in-person"” is used in a rule it has the
same meaning as "in person."

HHSC revised §306.153(60), §306.155(5), §306.194(a),
§306.201(c)(2), §306.201(d)(1)(C), §306.201(h)(3)(B)(ii) and
(iii) to make punctuation changes to correct grammar and
improve clarity.

HHSC revised §306.153(62) to change "Level" to "level" to
use the spelling of "PASRR level | screening" used in 26 TAC
§303.102 where the term in §306.153(62) is defined.

HHSC revised §306.154(c) to change the reference to 25 TAC
§401.464 to 26 TAC §301.155 to align with the administrative
transfer of the referenced rule.

HHSC revised §306.154(d) to clarify that an individual may ob-
tain additional information and resources both on the HHSC web-
site and by calling the Ombudsman.

HHSC revised §306.155(16) - (19) to clarify the requirement for
a CoC liaison to schedule appointments in advance for needed
programs and services in a new paragraph (17). HHSC then
renumbered paragraphs (17) - (19) as paragraphs (18) - (20),
which required revising §306.195(a)(1)(B) to change the refer-
ence to §306.155(19) to §306.155(20).

HHSC revised §306.162(b)(3) to clarify that the transferring
LMHA or LBHA will hold a transfer meeting with the receiving
LMHA or LBHA and the minor's LAR. This change improves the
readability of this rule and clarifies the role of the transferring
LMHA or LBHA.

HHSC revised §306.163(f)(2) to change the reference to 25 TAC
§412.106(c)(2) to 26 TAC §301.111(c)(2) to align with the admin-
istrative transfer of the referenced rule.

HHSC revised §306.175(a)(3)(A) - (D) to change references to
25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E, 25 TAC Chapter 405, Sub-
chapter E, 25 TAC Chapter 414, Subchapter |, and 25 TAC Chap-
ter 415, Subchapter F to 26 TAC Chapter 320, Subchapter A, 26
TAC Chapter 307, Subchapter |, 26 TAC Chapter 320, Subchap-
ter B, and 26 TAC Chapter 320, Subchapter C, respectively.

HHSC revised §306.175(c)(1) by replacing "each individual" with
"an individual" to correct the grammar and improve clarity.

HHSC revised §306.175(g)(2) to change the reference to 25 TAC
Chapter 404, Subchapter E, to 26 TAC Chapter 320, Subchapter
A to align with the administrative transfer of the referenced rules.

HHSC revised §306.176(a)(1) to clarify the rule that an individual
of any age is transported to the state hospital or CPB by a peace
officer or "by" emergency medical services personnel.

HHSC revised §306.176(e)(2) - (5) to list all of the written and oral
explanations that must be provided to the individual or LAR in
new subparagraphs (A) - (D) under subsection (€)(2). Included in
these revisions, HHSC changed the reference to 25 TAC Chap-
ter 404, Subchapter E, to 26 TAC Chapter 320, Subchapter A to
align with the administrative transfer of the referenced rules.

HHSC revised §306.177(c) to clarify that it is the intake assess-
ment that must include what is listed in paragraphs (1) and (2)
of the rule. HHSC revised §306.177(c)(2) to clarify that a writ-
ten and oral explanation is "provided to the individual or LAR."
HHSC also changed proposed §306.177(c)(2) - (4) to (c)(2)(A) -
(C) to move the list of all the written and oral explanations that
must be provided under (c)(2). In new subparagraph (A), under
(c)(2), HHSC changed the reference to 25 TAC Chapter 404,
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Subchapter E, to 26 TAC Chapter 320, Subchapter A to align
with the administrative transfer of the referenced rules.

HHSC revised §306.191(c) to add a parenthetical needed after
the word "Bed" in the title of §306.175(a)(1).

HHSC revised §306.201(c)(4) to change "services and supports
recommended" to "recommended services and supports." This
change is needed to improve the readability of this rule.

HHSC revised §306.201(h)(2) to add "or LAR" in the rule after
"An individual" to clarify that an individual or LAR may request
additional records.

HHSC revised §306.201(k)(5) to change "refuse" to "refuses"
and §306.202(g)(1)(C) to add "who is" in front of "discharged.”
These grammatical changes are needed to improve the read-
ability of these rules.

HHSC revised §306.202(a) by removing "the" after "To prevent,"
and §306.202(g)(1)(C) to add "who is," in front of "discharged, to
correct the grammar and clarify the rules.

HHSC revised §306.203(b) to reorganize the rule text to use ac-
tive voice. The change is made to conform with the HHSC rule
drafting guidelines.

HHSC revised §306.203(c)(2)(B) and (d)(1)(A), and
§306.204(b)(2) and (3), to remove "time" in front of "period" to
correct the grammar and clarify the rules.

HHSC revised §306.205(a)(1) to change "notifies" to "must no-
tify" to clarify the rule imposes a requirement for the state hospi-
tal or contracted psychiatric bed (CPB) to notify the committing
court of the individual's absence.

HHSC revised §306.205(a)(3)(B) to add a period at the end of
the rule to correct the rule's formatting.

HHSC revised §306.207(c) to change "must identify" to "identi-
fies" because the sentence is describing a certain situation as
a precondition to the requirements for the designated LMHA or
LBHA.

HHSC revised §306.221(a)(1)(B) to change the reference to 25
TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E, to 26 TAC Chapter 320, Sub-
chapter A. HHSC also revised §306.221(a)(2)(B) to change the
reference to 25 TAC §404.165 to 26 TAC §320.29 to align with
the administrative transfer of the referenced rule.

HHSC revised §306.361 to spell out "HHSC" to identify what the
acronym means when used in §306.361 and §306.363.

HHSC revised §306.363 to spell out the acronyms "LMHA" and
"LBHA" the first time used to identify what the acronyms mean
when used in the rule. HHSC revised §306.363(3), (4), and
(5) to add "HHSC-funded" in front of the references to a "sub-
stance use intervention provider" and a "substance use treat-
ment provider." HHSC also revised §306.363 to make minor ed-
its to change plural nouns to singular nouns per HHSC's rule-
making guidelines.

HHSC revised §306.365(11) to add "an HHSC-funded substance
use intervention provider" as another type of "provider" in a new
subparagraph (D), renumbered proposed (11)(D) to (11)(E), and
added "an HHSC-funded" in front of the reference to a substance
use treatment provider.

HHSC revised §306.367(b) and §306.369(c) to change
"providers" to "provider" to use singular instead of plural per
HHSC's rulemaking guidelines.

HHSC revised §306.367(d)(2) to use "in-person" instead of "in
person" because "in-person" in this rule is used as a term to
describe the type of service delivery.

HHSC revised §306.369(b) to replace "Prior to" with "Before" to
clarify the meaning of the rule by using plain language.

SUBCHAPTER D. MENTAL HEALTH
SERVICES--ADMISSION, DISCHARGE, AND
CONTINUITY OF CARE

DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

26 TAC §§306.151 - 306.155

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments and new sections are adopted under Texas
Government Code §531.0055, which provides that the Exec-
utive Commissioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the opera-
tion and provision of services by the health and human ser-
vices agencies, §531.008, which requires the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to establish a division for administering state
facilities, including state hospitals and state supported living cen-
ters, and §531.02161, which requires the Executive Commis-
sioner of HHSC to, by rule, develop and implement a system
that ensures behavioral health services may be provided using
an audio-only platform to the extent permitted by state and fed-
eral law and to the extent it is cost-effective and clinically effec-
tive; Health and Safety Code §533.014 which requires the Ex-
ecutive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules relating to LMHA
treatment responsibilities, §533.0356 which allows the Execu-
tive Commissioner to adopt rules governing LBHAs, §533A.0355
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt
rules establishing the roles and responsibilities of local intellec-
tual and developmental disability authorities, §534.052 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to ensure the adequate provision of
community-based services through LMHAs, §534.0535 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
that require continuity of services and planning for patient care
between HHSC facilities and LMHAs, and §552.001 which pro-
vides HHSC with authority to operate the state hospitals.

$306.151.
(a) The purpose of this subchapter is to:

Purpose.

(1) provide requirements on admission, discharge, and
continuity of care; and

(2) address the interrelated roles and responsibilities of
state hospitals, facilities with contracted psychiatric beds (CPBs),
local mental health authorities (LMHAs), local behavioral health au-
thorities (LBHAS), and local intellectual and developmental disability
authorities (LIDDAs) in the delivery of mental health and co-occurring
substance use disorder (SUD) services to individuals.

(b) This subchapter establishes criteria for individuals receiv-
ing mental health services and SUD services and provides guidelines
related to:

(1) clinically appropriate placement in an inpatient, resi-
dential, or community setting based on screening and assessment of
the individual,

(2) timely access to evaluation and mental health, SUD,
and other services in the least restrictive and most appropriate setting;
and
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(3) transitioning care between service types and providers
for individuals receiving mental health or SUD services at state hos-
pitals, CPBs, LMHAs, LBHAs, and LIDDAS, effectively and without
interruption.

§$306.153.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Absence--When an individual, previously admitted to
a state hospital or CPB, and not discharged from the admitting facility,
is physically away from the facility for any reason, including hospital-
ization, home visit, special activity, or unauthorized departure.

(2) Admission--Includes:

(A) anindividual's acceptance to a state hospital or CPB
for voluntary or involuntary inpatient or residential treatment services;
or

(B) the acceptance of an individual in the mental health
priority population into LMHA or LBHA services.

(3) Adolescent--An individual who is 13 years of age, but
younger than 18 years of age.

(4) Adult--An individual who is at least 18 years of age or
older.

(5) Advance directive--As used in this subchapter, in-
cludes:

(A) an instruction made under Texas Health and Safety
Code Chapter 166; or

(B) a declaration for mental health treatment made in
accordance with Civil Practice and Remedies Code Chapter 137.

(6) Alternate provider--An entity that provides mental
health services or SUD services in the community but does not provide
these services under contract with an LMHA or LBHA.

(7) APRN--Advanced practice registered nurse. A regis-
tered nurse licensed by the Texas Board of Nursing to practice as an
advanced practice registered nurse as provided by Texas Occupations
Code §301.152.

(8) Assessment--The administrative process a state hospi-
tal or CPB uses to gather information from an individual, including a
medical history and the concerns for which the individual is seeking
treatment, to determine whether the individual should be examined by
a physician to determine if admission is clinically justified, as defined
by Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(h)(2).

(9) Assessment professional--In accordance with Texas
Health and Safety Code §572.0025(c) - (d), a staff member of a state
hospital or CPB, whose responsibilities include conducting the intake
assessment described in §306.175(g) of this subchapter (relating to
Voluntary Admission Criteria for a State Hospital or a Facility with
a Contracted Psychiatric Bed) and §306.176(e) of this subchapter
(relating to Admission Criteria for a State Hospital or a Facility with a
Contracted Psychiatric Bed for Emergency Detention), and who is:

(A) a physician licensed to practice medicine under
Texas Occupations Code Chapter 155;

(B) aphysician assistant licensed under Texas Occupa-
tions Code Chapter 204;

(C) an APRN licensed under Texas Occupations Code
Chapter 301;

(D) a registered nurse licensed under Texas Occupa-
tions Code Chapter 301;

(E) a psychologist licensed under Texas Occupations
Code Chapter 501;

(F) apsychological associate licensed under Texas Oc-
cupations Code Chapter 501;

(G) a licensed professional counselor licensed under
Texas Occupations Code Chapter 503;

(H) alicensed social worker licensed under Texas Oc-
cupations Code Chapter 505; or

(I) alicensed marriage and family therapist licensed un-
der Texas Occupations Code Chapter 502.

(10) Audio-only technology--A synchronous interactive,
two-way audio communication that uses only sound and that con-
forms to privacy requirements of the Health Insurance Portability
and Accountability Act. Audio-only includes the use of telephonic
communication. Audio-only does not include audiovisual or in-person
communication.

(11) Audiovisual technology--A synchronous interactive,
two-way audio and video communication that conforms to privacy re-
quirements under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability
Act. Audiovisual does not include audio-only or in-person communi-
cation.

(12) Business day--Any day except a Saturday, Sunday, or
legal holiday listed in Texas Government Code §662.021.

(13) Capacity--An individual's ability to understand and
appreciate the nature and consequences of a decision regarding the
individual's medical treatment, and the ability of the individual to
reach an informed decision in the matter.

(14) Child--An individual who is at least three years of age,
but younger than 13 years of age.

(15) CoC liaison--Continuity of care liaison. A dedicated
full-time staff member who is a QMHP-CS or LPHA that facilitates
continuity of care.

(16) Continuity of care--Activities designed to ensure an
individual is provided uninterrupted services during a transition be-
tween inpatient and outpatient services and that assist the individual
and LAR, if applicable, in identifying, accessing, and coordinating
LMHA or LBHA services and other appropriate services and supports
in the community needed by the individual, including:

(A) assisting with admissions and discharges;

(B) facilitating access to appropriate services and sup-
ports in the community, including identifying and connecting the in-
dividual with community resources, and coordinating the provision of
services;

(C) participating in developing and reviewing the indi-
vidual's recovery or treatment plan;

(D) promoting implementation of the individual's re-
covery or treatment plan; and

(E) coordinating notification of continuity of care ser-
vices between the individual and the individual's family and any other
person providing support as authorized by the individual and LAR, if
applicable.

(17) Continuity of care worker--A LIDDA staff member
responsible for providing continuity of care services.
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(18) COPSD--Co-occurring psychiatric and substance use
disorder.

(19) COPSD model--An application of evidence-based
practices for an individual diagnosed with co-occurring conditions of
psychiatric and substance use disorder.

(20) CPB--Contracted psychiatric bed. A facility with an
HHSC-contracted psychiatric bed that:

(A) includes a community mental health hospital and a
private psychiatric bed that:

(i) 1is authorized by an LMHA or LBHA; and
(ii) is used for inpatient care in the community; and

(B) does not include a crisis respite unit, crisis residen-
tial unit, an extended observation unit, or a crisis stabilization unit.

(21) CRCG--Community Resource Coordination Group.
A local interagency group comprised of public and private providers
who collaborate to develop individualized service plans for individ-
uals whose needs may be met through interagency coordination and
cooperation. CRCGs are established and operate in accordance with
a Memorandum of Understanding on Services for Persons Needing
Multiagency Services, as required by Texas Government Code Chapter
522, Subchapter D.

(22) Crisis--A situation in which:

(A) anindividual presents an immediate danger to self
or others;

(B) an individual's mental or physical health is at risk
of serious deterioration; or

(C) anindividual believes the individual presents an im-
mediate danger to self or others, or the individual's mental or physical
health is at risk of serious deterioration.

(23) Crisis treatment alternatives--Community-based
facilities or units and services providing short-term, residential crisis
treatment to ameliorate a behavioral health crisis in the least restrictive
and most appropriate environment, including crisis stabilization units,
extended observation units, crisis residential units, and crisis respite
units. The intensity and scope of services varies by facility type and
is available in a local service area based upon the local needs and
characteristics of the community.

(24) Day--A calendar day, unless otherwise specified.

(25) DD--Developmental disability. A disability that
meets the criteria described in Texas Health and Safety Code
§531.002(15).

(26) Designated LMHA or LBHA--The LMHA or LBHA:

(A) that serves the individual's county of residence,
which is determined in accordance with §306.162 of this subchapter
(relating to Determining County of Residence); or

(B) that does not serve the individual's county of resi-
dence but has taken responsibility for ensuring the individual's services.

(27) DFPS--Texas Department of Family and Protective
Services or its designee.

(28) Discharge--Means:

(A) the release of an individual from the custody and
care of a provider of inpatient services; or

(B) the termination of LMHA or LBHA services deliv-
ered to an individual by the individual's LMHA or LBHA.

(29) Discharge planning specialist--A designated state hos-
pital staff member responsible for coordinating continuity of care ser-
vices with a specific focus on an individual's community transition in
accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §534.0535. This term
is synonymous with a "transition support specialist."

(30) Discharged unexpectedly--A discharge from the cus-
tody and care of a provider of inpatient services:

(A) due to an individual's unauthorized departure;
(B) at the individual's request;

(C) due to a court releasing the individual;

(D) due to the death of the individual; or

(E) due to the execution of an arrest warrant for the in-
dividual.

(31) DSM--Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental
Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association.

(32) Emergency medical condition--This term has the
meaning assigned by the Emergency Medical Treatment and Active
Labor Act (42 U.S.C. §1395dd), regarding Examination and treatment
for emergency medical conditions and women in labor.

(33) Family partner--An experienced, trained primary
caregiver, such as the parent of an individual with a mental illness
or serious emotional disturbance, who provides peer mentoring,
education, and support to the caregivers of a child who is receiving
mental health community services in accordance with Chapter 301,
Subchapter G of this title (relating to Mental Health Community
Services Standards).

(34) Furlough--The authorization for an individual to leave
from a state hospital or CPB for longer than a 72-hour period in accor-
dance with Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 574, Subchapter F.

(35) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-
sion or its designee.

(36) ID--Intellectual disability. A disability that meets the
criteria in Texas Health and Safety Code §591.003.

(37) Individual--A person seeking or receiving services un-
der this subchapter.

(38) Inpatient services--Residential psychiatric treatment
provided to an individual in:

(A) a state hospital;
(B) aCPB;

(C) a hospital licensed under Texas Health and Safety
Code Chapter 241 or Chapter 577;

(D) a crisis stabilization unit licensed under Chapter
510 of this title (relating to Private Psychiatric Hospitals and Crisis
Stabilization Units); or

(E) any other type of mental health hospital.

(39) In person or in-person--Within the physical presence
of another person. In person or in-person does not include audiovisual
or audio-only communication.

(40) Intake assessment--The administrative process con-
ducted by an assessment professional for:

(A) gathering information about an individual, includ-
ing the psychiatric and medical history, social history, symptomology,
and support system; and
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(B) giving the individual information about the facility
and the facility's treatment and services.

(41) Involuntary admission--An individual receiving inpa-
tient services based on an admission to a state hospital or CPB in ac-
cordance with:

(A) §306.176 of this subchapter (relating to Admission
Criteria for a State Hospital or a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric
Bed for Emergency Detention);

(B) §306.177 of this subchapter (relating to Admission
Criteria Under Order of Protective Custody or Court-ordered Inpatient
Mental Health Services);

(C) an order for temporary inpatient mental health
services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.034 or Texas Family Code Chapter 55;

(D) an order for extended inpatient mental health
services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.035 or Texas Family Code Chapter 55;

(E) an order for commitment issued as described in
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B; or

(F) an order for commitment issued as described in
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46C.

(42) LAR--Legally authorized representative. A person
authorized by state law to act on behalf of an individual.

(43) LBHA--Local behavioral health authority. An entity
designated as an LBHA by HHSC in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §533.0356(a).

(44) LIDDA--Local intellectual and developmental dis-
ability authority. An entity designated by HHSC in accordance with
Texas Health and Safety Code §533A.035(a).

(45) LMHA--Local mental health authority. An entity des-
ignated as an LMHA by HHSC in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §533.035(a).

(46) LMHA or LBHA network provider--An entity that
provides mental health and SUD services in the community pursuant
to a contract or memorandum of understanding with an LMHA or
LBHA, including that part of an LMHA or LBHA directly providing
mental health services.

(47) LMHA or LBHA services--Inpatient mental health
and outpatient mental health and SUD services provided by an LMHA
or LBHA network provider to an individual in the individual's home
community.

(48) Local service area--A geographic area composed of
one or more Texas counties defining the population that may receive
services from an LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA.

(49) LPHA--Licensed practitioner of the healing arts. This
term has the meaning as defined in §301.303 of this title (relating to
Definitions).

(50) Mental illness--This term has the meaning as assigned
by Texas Health and Safety Code §571.003.

(51) MH priority population--Mental health priority pop-
ulation. As identified in state performance contracts with LMHAs or
LBHAs, those groups of children and adolescents with SED, or adults
with severe and persistent mental illness, assessed as in need of mental
health services.

(52) Minor--An individual younger than 18 years of age
who has not been emancipated under Texas Family Code Chapter 31.

(53) Nursing facility--A Medicaid-certified facility li-
censed in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 242.

(54) Offender with special needs--An individual who has a
terminal or serious medical condition, a mental illness, an ID, a DD, or
a physical disability, and is served by the Texas Correctional Office on
Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments as provided in Texas
Health and Safety Code Chapter 614.

(55) Ombudsman--The Ombudsman for Behavioral Health
Access to Care established by HHSC in accordance with Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.9933.

(56) Outpatient management plan--The prescribed reg-
imen of medical, psychiatric, or psychological care or treatment as
defined in Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46C.263(c).

(57) PASRR--Preadmission screening and resident review
as defined in §303.102 of this title (relating to Definitions).

(58) Pass--The authorization for an individual to leave
from a state hospital or CPB for not more than a 72-hour period in ac-
cordance with Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 574, Subchapter
F.

(59) PE--PASRR level II evaluation. This term has the
meaning as defined in §303.102 of this title.

(60) Peer specialist--A person who uses lived experience,
in addition to skills learned in formal training, to deliver strengths-
based, person-centered services to promote an individual's recovery
and resiliency in accordance with 1 TAC Chapter 354, Subchapter N
(relating to Peer Specialist Services).

(61) Permanent residence--The physical location in the
community where an individual lives, or if a minor, where the minor's
parents or legal guardian lives. A post office box is not considered a
permanent residence.

(62) PLI1--PASRR level I screening. This term has the
meaning as defined in §303.102 of this title.

(63) Preliminary examination--An assessment for medical
stability and a psychiatric examination in accordance with Texas Health
and Safety Code §573.022(a)(2).

(64) QMHP-CS--Qualified mental health  profes-
sional-community services. An LMHA or LBHA staff member who
meets the qualifications and performs the functions described in
Chapter 301, Subchapter G of this title (relating to Mental Health
Community Services Standards).

(65) Recovery--A process of change through which an in-
dividual improves the individual's health and wellness, lives a self-di-
rected life, and strives to reach the individual's full potential.

(66) Recovery or treatment plan--A written plan:

(A) developed in collaboration with an individual or
LAR and a QMHP-CS or LPHA as defined in §301.303 of this title;

(B) amended at any time based on an individual's needs
or requests;

(C) that guides the recovery treatment process and fos-
ters resiliency;

(D) completed in conjunction with the uniform assess-
ment;
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(E) that identifies the individual's changing strengths,
capacities, goals, preferences, needs, and desired outcomes; and

(F) thatincludes recommended services and supports or
reasons for the exclusion of services and supports.

(67) Screening--Activities to:

(A) collect triage information through interviews with
an individual or collateral contact;

(B) determine if the individual's need is emergent, ur-
gent, or routine, and conducted before the assessment to determine the
need for emergency services; and

(C) determine the need for an in-depth assessment.

(68) SED--Serious emotional disturbance. A disorder that
meets the criteria described in Texas Government Code §547.0051.

(69) SSLC--State supported living center. Consistent with
Texas Health and Safety Code §531.002, a residential facility operated
by HHSC to provide an individual with an ID a variety of services,
including medical treatment, specialized therapy, and training in the
acquisition of personal, social, and vocational skills.

(70) State hospital--Consistent with Texas Health and
Safety Code §552.002, a mental health facility operated by HHSC,
including Waco Center for Youth.

(71) SUD--Substance use disorder. The use of one or more
drugs, including alcohol, which significantly and negatively impacts
one or more major areas of life functioning and which meets the criteria
for SUD as described in the version of the DSM currently recognized
by HHSC.

(72) TAC--Texas Administrative Code.

(73) TCOOMMI--Texas Correctional Office on Offenders
with Medical or Mental Impairments or its designee.

(74) Treating physician--A physician who coordinates and
oversees an individual's treatment.

(75) Treatment team--A group of treatment providers,
working with an individual, the LAR, if applicable, and the LMHA,
LBHA, or LIDDA in a coordinated manner to provide comprehensive
mental health, SUD, and ID services to the individual.

(76) Uniform assessment--An assessment tool adopted by
HHSC under §301.353 of this title (relating to Provider Responsibil-
ities for Treatment Planning and Service Authorization) used for rec-
ommending an individual's level of care.

(77) Voluntary admission--An individual receiving inpa-
tient services based on an admission made in accordance with:

(A) §306.175 of this subchapter;

(B) §306.178 of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary
Treatment Following Involuntary Admission);

(C) Texas Health and Safety Code §572.002; or
(D) Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025.

§$306.154.  Notification and Appeals Process for Local Mental Health
Authority or Local Behavioral Health Authority Services.

(a) Any individual who is eligible for Medicaid and whose re-
quest for eligibility to receive LMHA or LBHA Medicaid services is
denied or is not acted upon with reasonable promptness is entitled to
a fair hearing in accordance with 1 TAC Chapter 357, Subchapter A
(relating to Uniform Fair Hearings Rules).

(b) Any individual who is eligible for Medicaid and whose ser-
vices have been terminated, suspended, or reduced by HHSC is entitled
to a fair hearing in accordance with 1 TAC Chapter 357, Subchapter A.

(¢) Any individual who has not applied for or is not eligi-
ble for Medicaid, whose request for eligibility to receive LMHA or
LBHA services is denied or is not acted upon with reasonable prompt-
ness, or whose services have been terminated, suspended, or reduced
by a provider, is entitled to notification and right of appeal in accor-
dance with §301.155 of this title (relating to Notification and Appeals
Process).

(d) Atany time, an individual may obtain additional informa-
tion and resources on the HHSC website and from the Ombudsman by
calling toll-free 1-800-252-8154.

§306.155.  Local Mental Health Authority, Local Behavioral Health
Authority, and Continuity of Care Liaison Responsibilities.

LMHAs and LBHAs must develop policies and procedures that re-
quire:

(1) the LMHA or LBHA to employ at least one dedicated
full-time staff member who is a QMHP-CS or LPHA to act as the CoC
liaison to support continuity of care activities;

(2) a CoC liaison to delegate continuity of care responsi-
bilities to other continuity of care staff, if necessary;

(3) a CoC liaison not to have assigned duties outside of
activities supporting continuity of care and related functions;

(4) an alternate staff member to act as the CoC liaison in
the absence of the person identified as the primary CoC liaison;

(5) communication and facilitation of services between the
continuity of care team and parties involved in the individual's care,
including:

(A) amental health peer specialist or a recovery support
peer specialist as described in 1 TAC §354.3159 (relating to Core and
Supplemental Training); or

(B) a family partner;

(6) coordination with other state agencies responsible for
the care of a child such as DFPS, the Texas Department of Criminal
Justice, or the Texas Juvenile Justice Department;

(7) initiation of contact with the parties involved in the in-
dividual's care at a state hospital or CPB within three business days
after admission;

(8) coordination of post-discharge activities with local
community parties involved in the individual's care, including other
LMHAs, LBHAs, and LIDDAs;

(9) a CoC liaison to conduct continuity of care activities,
including responding to communications from a facility within three
business days after the facility sent the communication;

(10) the LMHA or LBHA to provide notification of the
CoC liaison's contact information, including if there is a CoC liai-
son personnel change, and the CoC liaison's designated alternate staff
member's contact information within three business days to each facil-
ity that has an individual admitted in the LMHA's or LBHA's care;

(11) a QMHP-CS or LPHA acting as the CoC liaison to
maintain the QMHP-CS' certification as a QMHP-CS or the LPHA's
licensure as an LPHA;

(12) identification of a process for obtaining services and
resources for an individual, as needed;
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(13) LMHA or LBHA representation by an assigned CoC
liaison in treatment team meetings at a state hospital or CPB as re-
quested by the facility;

(14) the availability of a CoC liaison to communicate with
providers from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on business days, coordinate
coverage to respond to continuity of care service needs 24 hours a day,
and follow up as necessary to ensure continuity of care needs are met;

(15) monitoring of the number of individuals who are cur-
rently admitted to state hospitals or CPBs and the number of individuals
who are discharged from these facilities;

(16) a CoC liaison to conduct a uniform assessment, either
in person or by audiovisual technology, to ensure a level of care deter-
mination is made within ten business days before discharge;

(17) a CoC liaison ensures all LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA
appointments are scheduled in advance for needed programs and ser-
vices to minimize any disruption in services or support at the time of
discharge and community integration;

(18) LMHA or LBHA staff to participate in all applicable
court proceedings;

(19) LMHA or LBHA staff to participate in the develop-
ment of an outpatient management plan for an individual who is on
a Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46C commitment and
whom a state hospital identifies as suitable for outpatient placement;
and

(20) a CoC liaison to initiate transition planning with the
receiving LMHA or LBHA when the individual is changing LMHAs
or LBHAs.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,

2025.

TRD-202500355

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (737) 704-9063
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DIVISION 2. SCREENING AND ASSESSMENT
FOR CRISIS SERVICES AND ADMISSION INTO
LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITY OR
LOCAL BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AUTHORITY
SERVICES

26 TAC §§306.161 - 306.163

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, §531.008,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to estab-
lish a division for administering state facilities, including state

hospitals and state supported living centers, and §531.02161,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to, by
rule, develop and implement a system that ensures behavioral
health services may be provided using an audio-only platform
to the extent permitted by state and federal law and to the
extent it is cost-effective and clinically effective; Health and
Safety Code §533.014 which requires the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules relating to LMHA treatment
responsibilities, §533.0356 which allows the Executive Com-
missioner to adopt rules governing LBHAs, §533A.0355 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
establishing the roles and responsibilities of local intellectual
and developmental disability authorities, §534.052 which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to ensure the adequate provision of
community-based services through LMHAs, §534.0535 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
that require continuity of services and planning for patient care
between HHSC facilities and LMHAs, and §552.001 which
provides HHSC with authority to operate the state hospitals.

$306.162.  Determining County of Residence.
(a) County of Residence for Adults.

(1) An adult's county of residence is the county of the
adult's permanent residence or, if applicable, the county of the LAR's
permanent residence, unless there is a preponderance of evidence
to the contrary. If the adult is not a Texas resident or indicates no
permanent address, the adult's county of residence is the county in
which the evidence indicates the adult resides.

(2) Ifan adult is unable to communicate the location of the
adult's permanent residence, there is no evidence indicating the location
of an adult's permanent residence, or if an adult is not a Texas resident,
the adult's county of residence is the county in which the adult is phys-
ically present when the adult requests or requires services.

(3) The county in which the paying LMHA or LBHA is
located is the adult's county of residence if the individual receives ser-
vices:

(A) delivered in the local service area of another LMHA
or LBHA for an adult's community mental health services; or

(B) foran adult's living arrangement located outside the
paying LMHA's or LBHA's local service area.

(b) County of Residence for Minors.

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection,
a minor's county of residence is the county in which the minor's LAR's
permanent residence is located.

(2) A minor's county of residence is the county in which
the minor currently resides if:

(A) itcannot be determined in which county the minor's
LAR's permanent residence is located,;

(B) a state agency is the minor's LAR;
(C) the minor does not have an LAR; or

(D) the minor is at least 16 years of age and self-en-
rolling into services.

(3) A minorin DFPS conservatorship may continue receiv-
ing services from the LMHA or LBHA where the minor was last en-
rolled in services until another appropriate placement is established.
Once placement is established, the transferring LMHA or LBHA will
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hold a transfer meeting with the receiving LMHA or LBHA and the
minor's LAR.

(c) Disagreements regarding county of residence initiated by
an LMHA or LBHA.

(1) The LMHA or LBHA must initiate or continue provid-
ing clinically necessary services, including discharge planning, until a
disagreement regarding county of residence is resolved.

(2) Ifan LMHA or LBHA initiates a disagreement regard-
ing county of residence that the executive directors of the affected
LMHAs or LBHAS cannot resolve, the HHSC performance contract
manager of the affected LMHAs or LBHAS resolves the disagreement.

(d) Disagreements regarding county of residence initiated by
an individual or another person or entity on behalf of the individual.
The Ombudsman may consult with the HHSC performance contract
manager of the affected LMHAs or LBHAs and help resolve a dis-
agreement initiated by an individual or by another person or entity on
behalf of the individual.

(e) Changing county of residence status. If an individual cur-
rently receiving LMHA or LBHA services moves the individual's per-
manent residence to a county within the local service area of another
LMHA or LBHA, the LMHAs or LBHAs affected by the change must
comply with §306.195 of this subchapter (relating to Changing Local
Mental Health Authorities or Local Behavioral Health Authorities).

§$306.163. Most Appropriate and Available Treatment Options.

(a) Recommendation for treatment. The designated LMHA
or LBHA is responsible for recommending the most appropriate and
available treatment alternative for an individual in need of mental
health or SUD services.

(b) Inpatient services.

(1) Before an LMHA or LBHA refers an individual for in-
patient services, the LMHA or LBHA must screen and assess the indi-
vidual to determine if the individual requires inpatient services.

(2) Ifthe screening and assessment indicates the individual
requires inpatient services and inpatient services are the least restrictive
and most appropriate setting available, the LMHA or LBHA must refer
the individual:

(A) to a state hospital or CPB, if the LMHA or LBHA
determines that the individual meets the criteria for admission; or

(B) to an LMHA or LBHA network provider of inpa-
tient services.

(3) If the individual is identified in the applicable HHSC
automation system as having an ID or a DD, the LMHA or LBHA must
inform the designated LIDDA that the individual has been referred for
inpatient services.

(4) If the LMHA, LBHA, or LMHA or LBHA-network
provider refers the individual for inpatient services, the LMHA or
LBHA must communicate necessary information to the contracted
inpatient provider before or at the time of admission, including the
individual's:

(A) 1identifying information, including address;

(B) legal status, for example regarding guardianship,
charges pending, or custody, as applicable;

(C) pertinent medical and medication information, in-
cluding known disabilities;

(D) Dbehavioral information, including information re-
garding COPSD;

(E) other pertinent treatment information;

(F) finances, third-party coverage, and other benefits, if
known; and

(G) advance directive.

(5) Ifan LMHA or LBHA, other than the individual's des-
ignated LMHA or LBHA, refers the individual for inpatient services,
the state hospital or CPB must notify the individual's designated LMHA
or LBHA of the referral for inpatient services by the end of the next
business day.

(6) The designated LMHA or LBHA must assign a CoC
liaison to an individual admitted to a state hospital, a CPB, or an LMHA
or LBHA inpatient services network provider.

(7) If the individual has an ID or a DD, the designated
LIDDA must assign a continuity of care worker to the individual.

(8) The LMHA or LBHA CoC liaison, and LIDDA conti-
nuity of care worker as applicable, are responsible for the facilitation
of the individual's continuity of services.

(9) The LMHA or LBHA is responsible for continuity of
care and must plan to the greatest extent possible for the successful tran-
sition of individuals who are determined by a state hospital or CPB to be
clinically appropriate for discharge from these facilities to a community
setting in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §534.0535.

(c) Community-based crisis treatment options.

(1) AnLMHA or LBHA must ensure the provision of crisis
services to an individual experiencing a crisis while the individual is in
its local service area.

(2) An individual in need of a higher level of care, but not
requiring inpatient services, has the option, as available, for admission
to other services such as a diversion center, crisis respite unit, crisis
residential unit, extended observation unit, or crisis stabilization unit.

(d) LMHA or LBHA Services.

(1) Ifan LMHA or LBHA admits an individual to LMHA
or LBHA services, the LMHA or LBHA must ensure the provision of
services in the least restrictive and most appropriate setting available.

(2) The LMHA or LBHA must assign, to an individual re-
ceiving services, a staff member who is responsible for coordinating
the individual's services.

(e) CourtOrdered Treatment. The LMHA or LBHA must pro-
vide services to an individual ordered by a court to participate in out-
patient mental health services or competency restoration services, if
available, when the court identifies the LMHA or LBHA as being re-
sponsible for those services.

(f) Referral to alternate provider.

(1) If an individual requests a referral to an alternate
provider, and there is not a court order to receive services from the
LMHA or LBHA, the LMHA or LBHA must make a referral to an
alternate provider in accordance with the individual's request.

(2) If an individual has third-party coverage, but the cov-
erage will not pay for needed services because the designated LMHA
or LBHA does not have a provider in its network that is approved by
the third-party coverage, the designated LMHA or LBHA must comply
with §301.111(c)(2) of this title (relating to Determination of Ability to
Pay).
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500356

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (737) 704-9063

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. ADMISSION TO A
STATE HOSPITAL OR A FACILITY
WITH A CONTRACTED PSYCHIATRIC
BED--PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES
26 TAC §§306.171 - 306.178

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, §531.008,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to estab-
lish a division for administering state facilities, including state
hospitals and state supported living centers, and §531.02161,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to, by
rule, develop and implement a system that ensures behavioral
health services may be provided using an audio-only platform
to the extent permitted by state and federal law and to the
extent it is cost-effective and clinically effective; Health and
Safety Code §533.014 which requires the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules relating to LMHA treatment
responsibilities, §533.0356 which allows the Executive Com-
missioner to adopt rules governing LBHAs, §533A.0355 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
establishing the roles and responsibilities of local intellectual
and developmental disability authorities, §534.052 which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to ensure the adequate provision of
community-based services through LMHAs, §534.0535 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
that require continuity of services and planning for patient care
between HHSC facilities and LMHAs, and §552.001 which
provides HHSC with authority to operate the state hospitals.

§$306.171.  General Admission Criteria for a State Hospital or a Fa-
cility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed.

(a) With the exceptions of Waco Center for Youth, a maxi-
mum-security unit, and an adolescent forensic unit, a state hospital or
CPB may admit an individual who has been assessed by an LMHA or
LBHA and recommended for inpatient admission only if the individual
has a mental illness and because of the mental illness:

(1) presents a substantial risk of serious harm to self or oth-
ers; or

(2) evidences a substantial risk of mental or physical dete-
rioration.

(b) An individual's admission to a state hospital or CPB may
not occur if the individual:

(1) has a condition that requires medical care that is not
available at the state hospital or CPB; or

(2) has a physical medical condition that is unstable and
could reasonably require inpatient medical treatment for the condition.

(c) Ifanindividual arrives at a state hospital or CPB for mental
health services, and the designated LMHA or LBHA did not screen or
refer the individual as described in §306.163 of this subchapter (relating
to Most Appropriate and Available Treatment Options):

(1) the state hospital or CPB must notify the designated
LMHA or LBHA that the individual has presented for services at the
state hospital or CPB within three business days of the individual's pre-
sentation for services; and

(2) the state hospital or CPB physician must determine if
the individual has an emergency medical condition and decide whether
the facility has the capability to treat the emergency medical condition.

(A) If the state hospital or CPB has the capability to
treat the emergency medical condition, the facility must admit the indi-
vidual in accordance with the Emergency Medical Treatment and Ac-
tive Labor Act (EMTALA) as described in 42 U.S.C. §1395dd.

(B) If the state hospital or CPB does not have the capa-
bility to treat the emergency medical condition, the facility must pro-
vide evaluation and treatment within its capability to stabilize the in-
dividual and arrange for the individual to be transferred to a hospital
that has the capability to treat the emergency medical condition in ac-
cordance with EMTALA and, as applicable, Medicare and Medicaid
regulations.

(d) If an LMHA or LBHA authorized an individual's admis-
sion to a state hospital or CPB, and the facility determines that the in-
dividual does not meet inpatient criteria for admission, the facility must
contact the designated LMHA or LBHA to coordinate alternate outpa-
tient community services at the time of the admission denial.

(e) The designated LMHA or LBHA must contact the individ-
ual or LAR within 24 hours after being notified that the individual does
not meet inpatient admission criteria and notify the individual or LAR
that the LMHA or LBHA will provide referrals and referral follow-up
for ongoing services as clinically indicated to address the individual's
mental health or other needs.

$306.175.  Voluntary Admission Criteria for a State Hospital or a Fa-
cility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed.

(a) Request for voluntary admission.

(1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.001, a request for voluntary admission of an individual with a
mental illness may only be made by:

(A) the individual, if the individual is at least 16 years
of age or older;

(B) an LAR who meets the criteria described in para-
graph (4)(A)(i) or (iii) of this subsection, if the individual is younger
than 18 years of age; or

(C) an LAR who meets the criteria described in para-
graph (4)(A)(ii) of this subsection, if the admission is sought pursuant
to the provisions of Texas Health and Safety Code §572.001(c-1) -
(c-4).

(2) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.001(b) and (e), a request for admission must:
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(A) be in writing and signed by the individual or LAR
making the request; and

(B) include a statement that the individual or LAR mak-
ing the request:

(i) agrees that the individual will remain in the state
hospital or CPB until the individual's discharge; and

(i) consents to diagnosis, observation, care, and
treatment of the individual until:

(1) the discharge of the individual; or

(II) the individual is entitled to leave the state
hospital or CPB, in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004, after a request for discharge is made.

(3) The consent given under paragraph (2)(B)(ii) of this
subsection does not waive an individual's rights described in:

(A) Chapter 320, Subchapter A of this title (relating to
Rights of Individuals Receiving Mental Health Services);

(B) Chapter 307, Subchapter I of this title (relating to
Electroconvulsive Therapy (ECT));

(C) Chapter 320, Subchapter B of this title (relating to
Consent to Treatment with Psychoactive Medication--Mental Health
Services); and

(D) Chapter 320, Subchapter C of this title (relating to
Interventions in Mental Health Services).

(4) An LAR is a person authorized by state law to act on
behalf of an individual for the purposes of:

(A) admission, transfer, or discharge that includes:

(i) a parent, non-DFPS managing conservator, or
guardian;

(i) a representative of DFPS for a minor under
DFPS conservatorship pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.001 (c-2) - (c-4); or

(iii) a person authorized by a district court under
Texas Family Code Chapter 35A to consent for the temporary admis-
sion of a minor; or

(B) consent on behalf of an individual regarding a mat-
ter described in this subchapter other than admission, transfer, or dis-
charge that includes:

(i) persons described in subparagraph (A) of this
paragraph;

(i) a person eligible to consent to treatment for a
minor under Texas Family Code §32.001(a); and

(iii) anagent acting under a Medical Power of Attor-
ney under Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 166 or a Declaration
for Mental Health Treatment under Texas Civil Practice and Remedies
Code Chapter 137.

(b) Failure to meet admission criteria. If a physician of a state
hospital or CPB determines that an individual does not meet admission
criteria and that community resources may appropriately serve the in-
dividual, the facility must contact the LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA to
discuss the availability and appropriateness of community-based ser-
vices for the individual. The LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA must:

(1) contact the individual and LAR, if applicable, no later
than 24 hours after the LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA is notified of the
failure to meet the admission criteria; and

(2) provide referrals and referral follow-up for ongoing ser-
vices as clinically indicated to address the individual's mental health
needs and SUD needs.

(¢) Examination.

(1) A physician must conduct an examination on an indi-
vidual requesting voluntary admission in accordance with this subsec-
tion.

(2) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(f)(1)(A), a physician must conduct a physical and psychi-
atric examination, either in person or through audiovisual or other
telecommunications technology within 72 hours before voluntary
admission or 24 hours after voluntary admission, that includes:

(A) an assessment for medical stability;
(B) a psychiatric examination; and
(C) ifindicated, an assessment for a SUD.

(3) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(f)(1); the physician may not delegate the examination to a
non-physician.

(d) Meets admission criteria. If, after examination, a physician

determines that an individual meets the admission criteria of a state
hospital or CPB, the state hospital or CPB must admit the individual.

(e¢) To meet the needs of an individual who does not meet ad-
mission criteria to a state hospital or CPB, an LMHA or LBHA, as
applicable, must:

(1) provide community mental health services and support-
ive services to the individual; or

(2) refer the individual or LAR to community mental health
services and supportive services.

(f) Capacity to consent.

(1) Ifaphysician determines that an individual whose con-
sent is necessary for a voluntary admission does not have the capacity
to consent to diagnosis, observation, care, and treatment, the state hos-
pital or CPB may not voluntarily admit the individual.

(2) When appropriate, the state hospital or CPB may
initiate an emergency detention proceeding in accordance with Texas
Health and Safety Code Chapter 573 or file an application for court-or-
dered inpatient mental health services in accordance with Texas Health
and Safety Code Chapter 574.

(g) Intake assessment.  Before voluntary admission of
an individual, in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(b), an assessment professional for a state hospital or CPB,
must conduct an intake assessment with the individual and LAR, if
applicable, to:

(1) obtain relevant information about the individual,
including:

(A) psychiatric and medical history;

(B) social history;

(C) symptomology;

(D) support systems;

(E) finances;

(F) third-party coverage or insurance benefits; and

(G) advance directives;
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(2) explain, orally and in writing, the individual's rights de-
scribed in Chapter 320, Subchapter A of this title;

(3) explain, orally and in writing, the state hospital's or
CPB's services and treatment as the services and treatment relate to
the individual;

(4) explain, orally and in writing, the existence, purpose,
telephone number, and address of the protection and advocacy sys-
tem established in Texas, pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.008; and

(5) explain, orally and in writing, the individual trust fund
account, charges for services, and the financial responsibility form.

(h) Requirements for voluntary admission.

(1) An individual or LAR must make a request for admis-
sion in accordance with subsection (a) of this section;

(2) a physician must:

(A) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(H)(1):

(i) conduct an examination in accordance with sub-
section (c) of this section within 72 hours before the admission or 24
hours after the admission; or

(it) consult with a physician who has conducted an
examination in accordance with subsection (c¢) of this section within 72
hours before the admission or 24 hours after the admission;

(B) determine that the individual meets the admission
criteria of the state hospital or CPB and that admission is clinically
justified; and

(C) issue an order admitting the individual;

(3) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0025(1)(2), the administrator or designee of the state hospital or
CPB must sign a written statement agreeing to admit the individual;
and

(4) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.0026, the state hospital or CPB must have available space for the
individual.

(i) Documentation of admission order. In accordance with
Texas Health and Safety Code §572.0025(f)(1), the order described in
subsection (h)(2)(C) of this section is issued:

(1) in writing and signed by the issuing physician; or

(2) orally or electronically if, within 24 hours after its is-
suance, the state hospital or CPB has a written order signed by the is-
suing physician.

(j) Periodic evaluation. To determine the need for continued
inpatient treatment, a physician or physician's designee must evaluate
and document justification for continued stay for an individual vol-
untarily receiving acute inpatient treatment as often as clinically in-
dicated, but no less than once a week.

§306.176.  Admission Criteria for a State Hospital or a Facility with
a Contracted Psychiatric Bed for Emergency Detention.

(a) Acceptance for preliminary examination. In accordance
with Texas Health and Safety Code §573.021 and §573.022, a state
hospital or CPB must accept for a preliminary examination:

(1) an individual, of any age, who has been apprehended
and transported to the state hospital or CPB by a peace officer or by
emergency medical services personnel in accordance with Texas Health
and Safety Code §573.001 or §573.012; or

(2) an adult who has been transported to the state hospital
or CPB by the adult's guardian in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §573.003.

(b) Preliminary examination.

(1) A physician must conduct a preliminary examination
of an individual as soon as possible but not more than 12 hours after
the individual is transported to the state hospital or CPB for emergency
detention.

(2) The preliminary examination must consist of:
(A) an assessment for medical stability; and

(B) a psychiatric examination, including a substance
use assessment if indicated, to determine if the individual meets the
criteria described in subsection (c)(1) of this section.

(¢) Requirements for emergency detention. The state hospital
or CPB may admit an individual for emergency detention if:

(1) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§573.022(a)(2), a physician determines from the preliminary exami-
nation that:

(A) the individual has a mental illness;

(B) theindividual evidences a substantial risk of serious
harm to himself or others;

(C) the described risk of harm is imminent unless the
individual is immediately detained; and

(D) emergency detention is the least restrictive means
by which the necessary detention may be accomplished;

(2) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§573.022(a)(3), a physician must make a written statement document-
ing the determination described in paragraph (1) of this subsection and
describing:

(A) the nature of the individual's mental illness;

(B) the risk of harm the individual evidences, demon-
strated either by the individual's behavior or by evidence of severe emo-
tional distress and deterioration in the individual's mental condition to
the extent that the individual cannot remain at liberty; and

(C) the detailed information on which the physician
based the determination;

(3) the physician issues and signs a written order admitting
the individual for emergency detention; and

(4) the individual meets the admission criteria of the state
hospital or CPB.

(d) Release.

(1) The state hospital or CPB must release the individual
accepted for a preliminary examination if:

(A) apreliminary examination of the individual has not
been conducted within 12 hours after the individual is apprehended
and transported to the facility by the peace officer or transported for
emergency detention; or

(B) in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§573.023(a), the individual is not admitted for emergency detention on
completion of the preliminary examination.

(2) If the state hospital or CPB does not admit the indi-
vidual on an emergency detention in accordance with Texas Health
and Safety Code Chapter 573, the facility must contact the designated
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LMHA or LBHA to provide referrals and referral follow-up for ongo-
ing services as clinically indicated to address the individual's mental
health needs.

(A) The LMHA or LBHA in the individual's county of
residence must contact the individual within 24 hours of being notified
that the individual does not meet emergency detention criteria.

(B) The LMHA or LBHA must provide referrals and re-
ferral follow-up for ongoing services as clinically indicated to address
the individual's mental health needs, as applicable, when the individual
does not meet admission criteria to a state hospital or CPB.

(3) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.007(a), if an individual who is an adult is not admitted on emer-
gency detention, the state hospital or CPB must make a reasonable
effort to notify the individual's family, or any other person providing
support as authorized by the individual and LAR, if applicable, before
the individual is released.

(e) Intake assessment. An assessment professional for a state
hospital or CPB must conduct an intake assessment as soon as possible,
but not later than 24 hours after an individual is admitted for emergency
detention. All documents related to the intake assessment must be pro-
vided to the individual or LAR and include:

(1) arequest for relevant information about the individual,
such as:

(A) psychiatric and medical history;
(B) social history;
(C) symptomology;
(D) support systems;
(E) finances;
(F) third-party coverage or insurance benefits; and
(G) advance directives; and
(2) a written and oral explanation of:

(A) the individual's rights described in Chapter 320,
Subchapter A of this title(relating to Rights of Individuals Receiving
Mental Health Services);

(B) the state hospital's or CPB's services and treatment
as the services and treatment relate to the individual;

(C) the existence, purpose, telephone number, and ad-
dress of the protection and advocacy system established in Texas, pur-
suant to Texas Health and Safety Code §576.008; and

(D) the individual's trust fund account, charges for ser-
vices, and the financial responsibility form.

$§306.177.  Admission Criteria Under Order of Protective Custody or
Court-ordered Inpatient Mental Health Services.

(a) A state hospital or CPB may admit an individual after re-
ceiving:

(1) anorder of protective custody only if a court has issued
a protective custody order in accordance with Texas Health and Safety
Code §574.022 and the facility has received it; or

(2) for court-ordered inpatient mental health services only
if a court has issued:

(A) an order for temporary inpatient mental health
services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.034, or Texas Family Code Chapter 55;

(B) an order for extended inpatient mental health
services issued in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.035, or Texas Family Code Chapter 55;

(C) an order for commitment issued in accordance with
the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B; or

(D) an order for commitment issued in accordance with
the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46C.

(b) If a state hospital or CPB admits an individual in accor-
dance with subsection (a) of this section, a physician, PA, or APRN
must issue and sign a written order admitting the individual.

(c) A state hospital or CPB must conduct an intake assessment
with the individual, and LAR, if applicable, as soon as possible, but not
later than 24 hours after the individual is admitted under a protective
custody order or court-ordered inpatient mental health services. The
intake assessment must include:

(1) arequest for relevant information about the individual,
including:

(A) psychiatric and medical history;

(B) social history;

(C) symptomology;

(D) support systems;

(E) finances;

(F) third-party coverage or insurance benefits; and
(G) advance directives; and

(2) a written and oral explanation provided to the individ-
ual or LAR of:

(A) the individual's rights described in Chapter 320,
Subchapter A of this title(relating to Rights of Individuals Receiving
Mental Health Services);

(B) the state hospital's or CPB's services and treatment
as the services and treatment relate to the individual; and

(C) the existence, purpose, telephone number, and ad-
dress of the protection and advocacy system established in Texas, pur-
suant to Texas Health and Safety Code §576.008.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500357

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (737) 704-9063
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DIVISION 4. TRANSFERS AND CHANGING
LOCAL MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITIES OR
LOCAL BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AUTHORITIES
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26 TAC §§8306.191 - 306.195
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, §531.008,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to estab-
lish a division for administering state facilities, including state
hospitals and state supported living centers, and §531.02161,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to, by
rule, develop and implement a system that ensures behavioral
health services may be provided using an audio-only platform
to the extent permitted by state and federal law and to the
extent it is cost-effective and clinically effective; Health and
Safety Code §533.014 which requires the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules relating to LMHA treatment
responsibilities, §533.0356 which allows the Executive Com-
missioner to adopt rules governing LBHAs, §533A.0355 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
establishing the roles and responsibilities of local intellectual
and developmental disability authorities, §534.052 which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to ensure the adequate provision of
community-based services through LMHAs, §534.0535 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
that require continuity of services and planning for patient care
between HHSC faciliies and LMHAs, and §552.001 which
provides HHSC with authority to operate the state hospitals.

$§306.191.  Transfers Between State Hospitals.

(a) Theindividual, LAR, if applicable, any other person autho-
rized by the individual, state hospital staff, or the designated LMHA or
LBHA, may initiate a request to transfer an individual from one state
hospital to another state hospital.

(b) A transfer between state hospitals may occur when deemed
advisable by the administrator of the transferring state hospital with the
agreement of the administrator of the receiving state hospital based on:

(1) the condition and desires of the individual;
(2) geographic residence of the individual;
(3) program and bed availability; and

(4) geographical proximity to the individual's family and
any other person authorized by the individual and LAR, if applicable.

(c) An individual voluntarily receiving treatment may not be
transferred without the consent of the individual or LAR who made the
request for voluntary admission in accordance with §306.175(a)(1) of
this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission Criteria for a State
Hospital or a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed).

(d) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§575.011 and §575.017, if a state hospital transfers an individual
receiving court-ordered inpatient mental health services from one state
hospital to another state hospital, the transferring state hospital must
notify the committing court and the designated LMHA, LBHA, or
LIDDA of the transfer.

(e) If a prosecuting attorney has notified the state hospital ad-
ministrator that an individual has criminal charges pending, the admin-
istrator must notify the judge of the court before which charges are
pending if the individual transfers to another state hospital.

(f) For an individual transferring between a state hospital and
a maximum-security unit or adolescent forensic unit, 25 TAC Chapter

415, Subchapter G (relating to Determination of Manifest Dangerous-
ness) governs the transfer.

$306.194.
in Texas.

Transfers Between a State Hospital and Another Facility

(a) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§575.011, §575.014, and §575.017, an individual may transfer between
a state hospital and a psychiatric hospital not operated by HHSC.
The state hospital must notify the designated LMHA or LBHA of the
transfer. A state hospital must not transfer an individual voluntarily
receiving treatment without the consent of the individual or LAR
who made the request for voluntary admission in accordance with
§306.175(a)(1) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary Admission
Criteria for a State Hospital or a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric
Bed).

(b) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§575.015, an individual may transfer from a state hospital to a federal
agency. The transferring state hospital must notify the designated
LMHA or LBHA of the transfer.

(¢) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§575.016 and §575.017, an individual may transfer from a facility of
the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice
to a state hospital.

§$306.195. Changing Local Mental Health Authorities or Local Be-
havioral Health Authorities.

(a) If an individual currently receiving LMHA or LBHA ser-
vices intends to move the individual's permanent residence to a county
within the local service area of another LMHA or LBHA and seek ser-
vices from the new LMHA or LBHA the following requirements apply.

(1) The originating LMHA or LBHA must:

(A) ensure the CoC liaison submits requested informa-
tion to the new LMHA or LBHA, including treatment information per-
tinent to the individual's continuity of care within seven days after the
request, and coordinate an intake appointment at the receiving LMHA
or LBHA;

(B) ensure the CoC liaison initiates transition planning
with the receiving LMHA or LBHA in accordance with §306.155(20)
of this subchapter (relating to Local Mental Health Authority, Local
Behavioral Health Authority, and Continuity of Care Liaison Respon-
sibilities);

(C) educate the individual or LAR on the provisions of
this subchapter regarding the individual's transfer, consisting of:

(i) information regarding walk-in intake services, if
applicable, where no appointment is scheduled for the individual's ini-
tial intake to determine eligibility;

(ii)  the rights of an individual eligible for services;

(iii) notification for the receiving LMHA or LBHA
of the individual's intent to move the individual's permanent residence;

(iv) the point of contact at the receiving LMHA or
LBHA:

(v) the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline; and
(vi) thereceiving LMHA's or LBHA's crisis hotline;

(D) assist in facilitating and scheduling the intake ap-
pointment at the new LMHA or LBHA once the relocation has been
confirmed;
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(E) ensure the individual has sufficient medication for
up to 90 days or to last until the medication management appointment
date at the receiving LMHA or LBHA; and

(F) maintain the individual's case in open status in the
applicable HHSC automation system for 90 days or until notified that
the individual has been admitted to services at the receiving LMHA or
LBHA, whichever occurs first.

(2) The receiving LMHA or LBHA must:

(A) initiate transition planning with the originating
LMHA or LBHA;

(B) promptly request records pertinent to the individ-
ual's treatment, with the individual's consent or the consent of the LAR;

(C) conduct an intake assessment in accordance with
§301.353(a) of this title (relating to Provider Responsibilities for Treat-
ment Planning and Service Authorization) and determine whether the
individual should receive services immediately or be placed on a wait-
ing list for services;

(D) ifthe individual is eligible and is not on the waitlist,
authorize an initial 180 days of services for an adult and 90 days for a
child or an adolescent for transitioning and ongoing care, including the
provision of medications;

(E) authorize the individual in the same level of care at
the initial assessment in accordance with §301.327 of this title (relat-
ing to Access to Mental Health Community Services) and pursuant to
Medicaid regulations and policies;

(F) provide the appropriate services based on the clini-
cal needs of the individual;

(G) if there are resource limitations for the receiving
LMHA or LBHA, follow the process outlined in §301.327 of this ti-
tle; and

(H) initiate contact with individual within 14 days.

(3) If the individual or LAR seeks services from the new
LMHA or LBHA without prior knowledge of the originating LMHA
or LBHA:

(A) the receiving LMHA or LBHA must:

(i) initiate transition planning with the originating
LMHA or LBHA;

(i) promptly request records pertinent to the indi-
vidual's treatment, with the individual's consent, if applicable;

(iii) conduct an intake assessment in accordance
with §301.353(a) of this title and determine whether the individual
should receive services immediately or be placed on a waiting list for
services; and

(iv) ifthe individual is eligible and is not on the wait-
list, authorize an initial 180 days of services for an adult and 90 days
for a child or an adolescent for transitioning and ongoing care, includ-
ing the provision of medications; and

(B) the originating LMHA or LBHA must:

(i) submit requested information to the new LMHA
or LBHA within seven days after the request; and

(i) maintain the individual's case in open status in
the applicable HHSC automation system for 90 days or until notified
that the individual has been admitted to services at the new LMHA or
LBHA, whichever occurs first.

(4) If the new LMHA or LBHA denies services to the in-
dividual during the transition period, or reduces or terminates services
at the conclusion of the authorized period, the new LMHA or LBHA
must notify the individual or LAR in writing within ten business days
of the proposed action and the right to appeal the proposed action in
accordance with §306.154 of this subchapter (relating to Notification
and Appeals Process for Local Mental Health Authority or Local Be-
havioral Health Authority Services).

(b) Requirements related to an individual receiving inpatient
services at a state hospital or CPB. If an individual at a state hospital
or CPB or LAR informs the state hospital or CPB that the individual
intends to move the individual's permanent residence to a county within
the local service area of another LMHA or LBHA and seek services
from the new LMHA or LBHA:

(1) the state hospital or CPB must notify the following of
the individual's intent to move the individual's permanent residence
upon discharge:

(A) the originating LMHA or LBHA, if the individual
was receiving LMHA or LBHA services from the originating LMHA
or LBHA before admission to the state hospital or CPB; and

(B) the new LMHA or LBHA;

(2) the following must participate in the individual's dis-
charge planning in accordance with §306.201 of this subchapter (relat-
ing to Discharge Planning):

(A) the state hospital or CPB;
(B) the new LMHA or LBHA; and

(C) the originating LMHA or LBHA, if the individual
was receiving LMHA or LBHA services from the originating LMHA
or LBHA before admission to the state hospital or CPB; and

(3) if the individual was receiving LMHA or LBHA ser-
vices from the originating LMHA or LBHA before admission to the
state hospital or CPB, the originating LMHA or LBHA must maintain
the individual's case in open status in the applicable HHSC automation
system for 90 days or until notified that the individual is admitted to
services at the new LMHA or LBHA, whichever occurs first.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500358

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (737) 704-9063

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. DISCHARGE AND ABSENCES
FROM A STATE HOSPITAL OR A FACILITY
WITH A CONTRACTED PSYCHIATRIC BED
26 TAC §§306.201 - 306.205, 306.207

STATUTORY AUTHORITY
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The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, §531.008,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to estab-
lish a division for administering state facilities, including state
hospitals and state supported living centers, and §531.02161,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to, by
rule, develop and implement a system that ensures behavioral
health services may be provided using an audio-only platform
to the extent permitted by state and federal law and to the
extent it is cost-effective and clinically effective; Health and
Safety Code §533.014 which requires the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules relating to LMHA treatment
responsibilities, §533.0356 which allows the Executive Com-
missioner to adopt rules governing LBHAs, §533A.0355 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
establishing the roles and responsibilities of local intellectual
and developmental disability authorities, §534.052 which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to ensure the adequate provision of
community-based services through LMHAs, §534.0535 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
that require continuity of services and planning for patient care
between HHSC facilities and LMHAs, and §552.001 which
provides HHSC with authority to operate the state hospitals.

§$306.201. Discharge Planning.

(a) At the time of an individual's admission to a state hospital
or CPB, the designated LMHA or LBHA, if applicable, and the state
hospital or CPB must begin discharge planning for the individual. The
state hospital or CPB must send an electronic admission initial noti-
fication within three business days to the appropriate LMHA, LBHA,
and LIDDA to initiate discharge planning.

(b) The designated LMHA or LBHA CoC liaison or other des-
ignated staff; the designated LIDDA continuity of care worker, if ap-
plicable; the individual; the LAR, if applicable; and any other person
authorized by the individual, such as guardian ad litem or attorney ad
litem, must participate in discharge planning with the state hospital or
CPB. The state hospital or CPB must initiate coordination of discharge
planning.

(1) Except for the state hospital or CPB treatment team and
the individual, involvement in discharge planning may be through tele-
conference or video-conference calls.

(2) The state hospital or CPB must invite the LMHA,
LBHA, or LIDDA, as applicable, to routine recovery or treatment
plan meetings as well as any additional meetings that arise specific to
discharge planning. The state hospital or CPB must notify meeting
participants a minimum of 24 hours before each scheduled meeting
regarding recovery or treatment planning and any additional meetings
specific to discharge planning.

(3) The state hospital or CPB must ensure the development
and completion of the discharge plan as listed in subsection (c) of this
section and coordinate with the LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA, if applica-
ble, before the individual's discharge.

(4) The LMHA or LBHA must facilitate the transition of
individuals who are determined by the state hospital or CPB to be med-
ically appropriate for discharge in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §534.0535 from a facility to a community setting by con-
necting the individuals to resources available in the individuals' county
of residence or choice.

(c) Discharge planning must consist of the following activi-
ties:

(1) Considering all pertinent information about the individ-
ual's clinical needs, the state hospital or CPB must identify and recom-
mend specific clinical services and supports needed by the individual
after discharge or while on pass or furlough.

(2) The state hospital or CPB and the LMHA, LBHA, or
LIDDA, if applicable, must jointly identify, recommend, and help co-
ordinate access to services for the individual and LAR, if applicable, re-
garding specific non-clinical services and supports needed by the indi-
vidual after discharge, including the individual's need for housing, sup-
ported employment, education resources, and food assistance, clothing
resources, and other supplemental supports or governmental benefits
as applicable.

(3) Ifanindividual needs a living arrangement, the LMHA
or LBHA CoC liaison or LIDDA continuity of care worker must:

(A) identify aliving arrangement consistent with the in-
dividual's clinical needs and preference that is available and has acces-
sible services and supports as agreed upon by the individual or LAR;
or

(B) ensure the individual or LAR is referred to housing
services and support the individual through the process of obtaining and
applying for housing services during the discharge planning process if
a living arrangement is unavailable.

(4) The LMHA or LBHA CoC liaison or LIDDA conti-
nuity of care worker in collaboration with the individual and LAR,
if applicable, must identify potential providers and resources for the
recommended services and supports and arrange for provision of ser-
vices upon discharge in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§534.0535.

(5) The state hospital or CPB must attempt to educate the
individual and LAR, if applicable, to prepare the individual for care
after discharge or while on pass or furlough.

(6) The state hospital or CPB must provide the individual
and LAR, if applicable, with written notification of the existence, pur-
pose, telephone number, and address of the protection and advocacy
system established in Texas, pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.008.

(7) The LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA must comply with the
PASRR processes as described in Chapter 303 of this title (relating to
Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR)) for an indi-
vidual referred to a nursing facility.

(d) Before an individual's discharge or approval for a pass or
furlough:

(1) the individual's treatment team must ensure the devel-
opment of a plan to include the individual's stated goals. The plan must
consist of:

(A) adescription of the individual's living arrangement
after discharge, or while on pass or furlough, that reflects the individ-
ual's preferences, choices, and available community resources;

(B) arrangements and referrals for the available and ac-
cessible services and supports agreed upon by the individual or LAR
recommended in the individual's discharge plan;

(C) a written description of recommended clinical and
non-clinical services and supports the individual receives after dis-
charge or while on pass or furlough;
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(D) documentation of arrangements and referrals for
the services and supports recommended upon discharge or while on
pass or furlough.

(E) adescription of behavioral health symptoms identi-
fied at discharge or before a pass or furlough, including any symptoms
that may disrupt the individual's stability in the community;

(F) the individual's goals, strengths, interventions, and
objectives as stated in the individual's discharge plan in the state hos-
pital or CPB;

(G) comments or additional information;

(H) a final diagnosis based on the version of the DSM
currently recognized by HHSC;

(I) the names, contact information, and addresses of
providers to whom the individual will be referred for any services or
supports after discharge or while on pass or furlough; and

(J) a description of:

(i) the types and amount of medication the individ-
ual needs after discharge or while on pass or furlough until the individ-
ual is evaluated by a physician; or

(ii) for 90 days after discharge, the person or entity
responsible for providing and paying for the medication.

(2) The state hospital or CPB must request that the individ-
ual or LAR sign the discharge plan and document in the discharge plan
whether the individual or LAR agree or disagree with the plan.

(3) If the individual or LAR refuses to sign the discharge
plan described in paragraph (2) of this subsection, the state hospital or
CPB must document in the individual's record whether the individual
or LAR agrees to the plan or not, reasons stated, and any other circum-
stances of the refusal.

(4) If applicable, the individual's treating physician must
document in the individual's record reasons why the individual does
not require continuing care or a discharge plan.

(5) Ifthe LMHA or LBHA disagrees with the state hospital
or CPB treatment team's decision concerning discharge:

(A) the treating physician of the state hospital or CPB
must consult with the LMHA or LBHA physician or designee to resolve
the disagreement within 24 hours; and

(B) ifthe disagreement continues unresolved, the medi-
cal director or designee of the state hospital or CPB must refer the issue
to the Texas State Hospitals Chief Medical Officer to render a final de-
termination.

(e) Discharge notice to family or LAR.

(1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.007, before discharging an adult, the state hospital or CPB
must make a reasonable effort to notify the individual's family or
any identified person providing support to the individual. Discharge
notification requires authorization by the individual or LAR.

(2) Before discharging an individual who is at least 16
years of age, but younger than 18 years of age, who voluntarily
consented for the individual's own admission, the state hospital or
CPB must make a reasonable effort to notify the individual's LAR,
if applicable, of the discharge within 72 hours before the date of
discharge.

(3) Before discharging a minor for whom a parent, manag-
ing conservator, or guardian provided consent for admission, the state
hospital or CPB must notify the minor's LAR of the discharge.

(f) Release of minors. Upon discharge, the state hospital or
CPB may release a minor only to the minor's LAR or the LAR's de-
signee.

(1) If the LAR or the LAR's designee is unwilling to re-
trieve the minor from the state hospital or CPB and the LAR is not a
state agency:

(A) the state hospital or CPB must:

(i) notify DFPS, so DFPS can take custody of the
minor from the state hospital or CPB;

(ii)  refer the matter to the LMHA or LBHA to sched-
ule a meeting with representatives from the required agencies described
in subsection (f)(2)(A) of this section, the LAR, and minor to explore
resources and make recommendations;

(iii) document the LMHA or LBHA referral in the
discharge plan;

(iv) refer the matter to the local CRCG to schedule
a meeting with representation from the required agencies described in
subsection (f)(2)(A) of this section, the LAR, and the minor to explore
resources and make recommendations; and

(v) document the CRCG referral in the discharge
plan; and

(B) the medical directors or the medical directors' de-
signees of the state hospital or CPB; designated LMHA, LBHA, or
LIDDA; and DFPS must meet to develop and finalize the discharge
recommendations.

(2) Ifthe LAR is a state agency unwilling to assume phys-
ical custody of the minor from the state hospital or CPB, the state hos-
pital or CPB must:

(A) refer the matter to the local CRCG office, or state
CRCG office if applicable, to schedule a meeting with representatives
from the member agencies, in accordance with 40 TAC, Part 19, Chap-
ter 702, Subchapter E (relating to Memorandum of Understanding with
Other State Agencies), the LAR, and minor to explore resources and
make recommendations; and

(B) document the CRCG referral in the discharge plan.

(g) Notice to the designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA. At
least 24 hours before an individual's planned discharge, pass, or fur-
lough, and no later than 24 hours after an unexpected discharge, a state
hospital or CPB must notify the designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA
of the anticipated or unexpected discharge and convey the following
information about the individual:

(1) identifying information, including address and contact
information of the individual or LAR;

(2) legal status, for example, regarding guardianship,
charges pending, or custody if the individual is a minor;

(3) the day and time the individual will be discharged or
participating in a pass or furlough;

(4) the individual's destination address after discharge, or
while on pass or furlough;

(5) medical information;

(6) current medications;
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(7) clinical documentation, including information regard-
ing a COPSD, an ID, or a DD; and

(8) other pertinent treatment information, including the
discharge plan.

(h) Discharge packet.
(1) At aminimum, a discharge packet must include:
(A) the discharge plan;
(B) referral instructions, including:
(i) state hospital or CPB contact person;

(i) name of the designated LMHA or LBHA CoC
liaison or LIDDA continuity of care worker;

(iii) names of community resources and providers to
whom the individual is referred, including contacts, appointment dates
and times, addresses, and phone numbers;

(iv) a description of to whom or where the individ-
ual is released upon discharge, including the individual's intended res-
idence, address, and phone number;

(v) instructions for the individual or LAR;

(vi) medication regimen and prescriptions, as appli-
cable; and

(vii)  dated signature of the individual or LAR and a
member of the state hospital or CPB treatment team;

(C) copies of all available, pertinent, current sum-
maries, and assessments; and

(D) the treating physician's orders.

(2) At discharge, or while on pass or furlough, the state
hospital or CPB provides a copy of the discharge packet or pass or
furlough plan to the individual and LAR, if applicable. An individual
or LAR may request additional records.

(3) Within 24 hours after discharge, or while on pass or
furlough, the state hospital or CPB must send a copy of the discharge
packet or pass or furlough plan to:

(A) the designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA; and

(B) the providers to whom the individual is referred, in-
cluding:
(i) an LMHA or LBHA network provider, if the

LMHA or LBHA is responsible for ensuring the individual's services
after discharge or while on pass or furlough;

(ii) an alternate provider if the individual requested
referral to an alternate provider; and

(iii) acounty jail if the individual will be transported
to the county jail upon discharge.

(i) Unexpected Discharge.

(1) The state hospital or CPB and the designated LMHA,
LBHA, or LIDDA must make reasonable efforts to provide discharge
planning for an individual discharged unexpectedly.

(2) If there is an unexpected discharge, the state hospital
or CPB social worker or a designee must document the reason for not
completing discharge planning activities in the individual's record.

(j) Transportation. A state hospital or CPB must:

(1) initiate and secure transportation in collaboration with
an LMHA, an LBHA, or a LIDDA pursuant to an individual's discharge
or pass or furlough plan; and

(2) inform a designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA of an
individual's transportation needs after discharge or while on pass or
furlough.

(k) Discharge summary.

(1) Within ten days after an individual's discharge, the indi-
vidual's physician of the state hospital or CPB must complete a written
discharge summary for the individual.

(2) Within 21 days after an individual's discharge from an
LMHA or LBHA, the LMHA or LBHA must complete a written dis-
charge summary for the individual.

(3) The written discharge summary must include:

(A) a description of the individual's treatment and the
individual's response to that treatment;

(B) a description of the level of care for services re-
ceived;

(C) adescription of the individual's level of functioning
at discharge;

(D) adescription of the individual's living arrangement
after discharge;

(E) a description of the community services and sup-
ports the individual will receive after discharge;

(F) a final diagnosis based on the version of the DSM
currently recognized by HHSC; and

(G) adescription of the amount of medication available
to the individual, if applicable.

(4) The discharge summary must be sent to the individual's:

(A) designated LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA, as applica-
ble; and

(B) providers to whom the individual was referred.

(5) Documentation of refusal. If the individual or LAR re-
fuses to participate in the discharge planning, the circumstances of the
refusal must be documented in the individual's record.

(1) An LMHA or LBHA must provide continuity of care ser-
vices designed to support joint discharge planning efforts in accordance
with Texas Health and Safety Code §534.0535.

§306.202.  Special Considerations for Discharge Planning.

(a) Three Admissions Within 180 Days. An individual admit-
ted to a state hospital or CPB three times within 180 days is considered
at risk for future admission to inpatient services. To prevent potentially
unnecessary admissions to an inpatient facility, the designated LMHA
or LBHA must:

(1) during discharge planning, review the individual's pre-
vious recovery or treatment plans to determine the effectiveness of the
clinical services received,;

(2) include in the recovery or treatment plan:

(A) non-clinical supports, such as those provided by a
mental health peer specialist or recovery support peer specialist, iden-
tified to support the individual's ongoing recovery; and

(B) recommendations for services and interventions
from the individual's current or previous care plan that support the
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individual's strengths and goals and prevent unnecessary admission to
a state hospital or CPB;

(3) determine the availability and level of care, including
type, amount, scope, and duration of clinical and non-clinical supports,
such as those provided by a mental health peer specialist or recovery
support peer specialist, that promote ongoing recovery and prevent un-
necessary admission to a state hospital or CPB; and

(4) consider appropriateness of the individual's continued
stay in the state hospital or CPB.

(b) Discharge Planning Specialists. Pursuant to Texas Health
and Safety Code §534.053, each state hospital must designate at least
one employee to deliver continuity of care services for individuals who
are determined medically appropriate for discharge from the facility.
The state hospital must concentrate the provision of continuity of care
services for individuals who have been:

(1) admitted to and discharged from a state hospital three
or more times during a 30-day period; or

(2) in the state hospital for longer than 365 consecutive
days.

(c) Nursing Facility Referral or Admission.

(1) Inaccordance with 42 CFR Part 483, Subpart C, and as
described in Chapter 554, Subchapter BB of this title (relating to Nurs-
ing Facility Responsibilities Related to Preadmission Screening and
Resident Review (PASRR)), a nursing facility must coordinate with
the referring entity to ensure the referring entity screens the individual
for admission to the nursing facility before the nursing facility admits
the individual.

(2) As the referring entity, the state hospital or CPB must
complete a PL1 Screening and forward the completed form in accor-
dance with §303.301 of this title (relating to Referring Entity Respon-
sibilities Related to the PASRR Process).

(3) The LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA must conduct a PE in
accordance with Chapter 303 of this title (relating to Preadmission
Screening and Resident Review (PASRR)).

(4) If a nursing facility admits an individual while on pass
or furlough, the designated LMHA or LBHA must conduct and doc-
ument, including justification for its recommendations, the activities
described in paragraphs (5) and (6) of this subsection.

(5) The designated LMHA or LBHA must make at least
one in-person contact with the individual at the nursing facility while
on pass or furlough. The contact must consist of:

(A) a review of the individual's record at the nursing
facility; and

(B) discussions with the individual, the LAR, if appli-
cable, the nursing facility staff, and other staff who provide care to the
individual regarding:

(i) the individual's needs and the care the individual
is receiving;

(ii) the ability of the nursing facility to provide the
appropriate care;

(iii) the provision of mental health services, if
needed by the individual; and

(iv) the individual's adjustment to the nursing facil-
ity.

(6) Before the end of the initial pass or furlough period de-
scribed in §306.205(a) of this subchapter (relating to Pass or Furlough
from a State Hospital or Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed, the
designated LMHA or LBHA must recommend to the state hospital or
CPB one of the following:

(A) discharging the individual if the LMHA or LBHA
determines that:

(i) the nursing facility is capable and willing to pro-
vide appropriate care to the individual after discharge;

(i) any mental health services needed by the indi-
vidual are being provided to the individual while residing in the nurs-
ing facility; and

(iii)  the individual and LAR, if applicable, agrees to
the nursing facility admission;

(B) extending the individual's pass or furlough period
in accordance with §306.205(a)(2) of this subchapter;

(C) returning the individual to the state hospital or CPB
in accordance with §306.205 of this subchapter (relating to Pass or Fur-
lough from a State Hospital or a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric
Bed); or

(D) initiating involuntary admission to the state hospital
or CPB in accordance with §306.176 (relating to Admission Criteria
for a State Hospital or a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed for
Emergency Detention) and §306.177 (relating to Admission Criteria
Under Order of Protective Custody or Court-ordered Inpatient Mental
Health Services) of this subchapter.

(d) Assisted Living.

(1) A state hospital, a CPB, an LMHA, or an LBHA may
only refer an individual to an assisted living facility that is licensed
under Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 247.

(2) As required by Texas Health and Safety Code
§247.063(b), if a state hospital, a CPB, an LMHA, or an LBHA gains
knowledge of an assisted living facility not operated or licensed by the
state, the state hospital, CPB, LMHA, or LBHA must report the name,
address, and telephone number of the facility to HHSC Complaint and
Incident Intake at 1-800-458-9858.

(e) Minors.

(1) To the extent permitted by medical privacy laws, the
state hospital or CPB and designated LMHA or LBHA must make a
reasonable effort to involve a minor's LAR or the LAR's designee in
the treatment and discharge planning process.

(2) A minor committed to or placed in a state hospital or
CPB under Texas Family Code Chapter 55, Subchapter C or D, shall
be discharged in accordance with the Texas Family Code Chapter 55,
Subchapter C or D as applicable.

(f) An individual suspected of having an ID. If a state hospital
or CPB suspects an individual has an ID, the state hospital or CPB must
notify the designated LMHA or LBHA CoC liaison and the designated
LIDDA to:

(1) assign a LIDDA continuity of care worker to the indi-
vidual; and

(2) conduct an assessment in accordance with Chapter 304
of this title (relating to Diagnostic Assessment).

(g) Criminal Code.
(1) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B.
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(A) Anindividual committed to a state hospital or CPB
under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46B.102 may only
be discharged by order of the committing court under Texas Code of
Criminal Procedure, Article 46B.107.

(B) An individual committed to a state hospital or CPB
under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46B.073 must be dis-
charged and transferred, in accordance with Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure Article 46B.081 through Article 46B.083.

(C) For an individual committed under Texas Code of
Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B, who is discharged and returned to
the committing court, the state hospital or CPB, within 24 hours after
discharge, must notify the following of the discharge:

(i) theindividual's designated LMHA or LBHA; and
(i) the TCOOMML.

(2) Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46C: In-
sanity defense. An individual committed to a state hospital or CPB
under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46C may only be
discharged by order of the committing court in accordance with Texas
Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46C.253 or Article 46C.268.

(h) Offenders with special needs following discharge from a
state hospital or CPB. The LMHA or LBHA must comply with the
requirements as defined by the LMHA's and LBHA's TCOOMMI con-
tract for offenders with special needs.

(1) An LMHA or LBHA that receives a referral for an of-
fender with special needs in the MH priority population from a county
or city jail at least 24 hours before the individual's release must com-
plete one of the following actions:

(A) if the offender with special needs is currently re-
ceiving LMHA or LBHA services, the LMHA or LBHA must:

(i) notify the offender with special needs of the re-
ferral from a county or city jail;

(i) arrange an in-person contact between the of-
fender with special needs and a QMHP-CS to occur within 15 days
after the individual's release; and

(iii)  ensure that the QMHP-CS, at the in-person con-
tact, reassesses the individual and arranges for appropriate services, in-
cluding transportation needs at the time of release;

(B) if the individual is not currently receiving LMHA
or LBHA services from the LMHA or LBHA that is notified of the
referral, the LMHA or LBHA must:

(i) ensure that at the in-person contact required in
subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, the QMHP-CS conducts a pre-ad-
mission assessment in accordance with §301.353(a) of this title (relat-
ing to Provider Responsibilities for Treatment Planning and Service
Authorization); and

(i) comply with §306.161(b) of this subchapter (re-
lating to Screening and Assessment), as applicable; or

(C) if the LMHA or LBHA is unable to conduct an
in-person contact with the individual required in paragraph (1)(A) of
this subsection, the LMHA or LMHA must document the reasons for
not doing so in the individual's record.

(2) Ifan LMHA or LBHA is notified of the anticipated re-
lease from prison or a state jail of an offender with special needs in
the MH priority population who is currently taking psychoactive med-
ications for a mental illness and who will be released with a 30-day

supply of the psychoactive medications, the LMHA or LBHA must
arrange an in-person contact required in paragraph (1)(A) of this sub-
section between the individual and QMHP-CS within 15 days after the
individual's release.

(A) If the offender with special needs is released from
state prison or state jail after hours or the LMHA or LBHA is otherwise
unable to schedule the in-person contact required in paragraph (2) of
this subsection before the individual's release, the LMHA or LBHA
must make a good faith effort to locate and contact the individual. If
the designated LMHA or LBHA is unable to have an in-person contact
with the individual within 15 days after being released, the LMHA or
LBHA must document the reasons for not doing so in the individual's
record.

(B) At the in-person contact required in paragraph (2)
of this subsection:

(i) the QMHP-CS with appropriate supervision and
training must perform an assessment in accordance with §301.353(a)
of this title and comply with §306.161(b) and (c) of this subchapter, as
applicable; and

(i) if the LMHA or LBHA determines that the
offender with special needs should receive services immediately,
the LMHA or LBHA must arrange for the individual to meet with a
physician or designee authorized by state law to prescribe medication
before the individual requires a refill of the prescription.

(C) If the LMHA or LBHA is unable to conduct an
in-person contact with the offender with special needs required in para-
graph (2) of this subsection, the LMHA or LBHA must document the
reasons for being unable to do so in the individual's record.

(3) If the offender with special needs is on parole or
probation, the state hospital or CPB must notify a representative of
TCOOMMI before the discharge of the individual known to be on
parole or probation.

$§306.203.  Discharge of an Individual Voluntarily Receiving Inpatient
Treatment.

(a) A state hospital or CPB must discharge an individual vol-
untarily receiving treatment if the administrator or designee of the state
hospital or CPB concludes that the individual can no longer benefit
from inpatient services based on the physician's determination, as de-
lineated in Division 5 of this subchapter (relating to Discharge and Ab-
sences from a State Hospital or a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric
Bed).

(b) If an individual voluntarily receiving treatment or LAR
makes a written request for discharge:

(1) the state hospital or CPB must discharge the individual
in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §572.004; and

(2) the individual or LAR must sign, date, and document
the time on the discharge request.

(¢) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004, if an individual informs a staff member of a state hospital
or CPB of the individual's desire to leave the state hospital or CPB,
the state hospital or CPB must:

(1) as soon as possible, assist the individual in document-
ing the written request and obtaining the necessary signature; and

(2) within four hours after a written request is made known
to the state hospital or CPB, notify:

(A) the treating physician; or
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(B) another physician who is a state hospital or CPB
staff member, if the treating physician is not available during that pe-
riod.

(d) Results of physician notification required by subsection
(c)(2) of this section.

(1) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004(c) and (d):

(A) a state hospital or CPB, based on a physician's de-
termination, must discharge an individual within the four-hour period
described in subsection (c)(2) of this section; or

(B) if the physician who is notified in accordance with
subsection (c)(2) of this section has reasonable cause to believe that
the individual may meet the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental
health services or emergency detention, the physician must examine
the individual as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours, after the
request for discharge is made known to the state hospital or CPB.

(2) Reasonable cause to believe that the individual may
meet the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental health services or
emergency detention.

(A) If a physician does not examine an individual who
may meet the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental health services
or emergency detention within 24 hours after the request for discharge
is made known to the state hospital or CPB, the facility must discharge
the individual.

(B) Ifaphysician, in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §572.004(d), examines the individual as described in para-
graph (1)(B) of this subsection and determines that the individual does
not meet the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental health services
or emergency detention, the state hospital or CPB must discharge the
individual upon completion of the examination.

(C) Ifaphysician, in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §572.004(d), examines the individual as described in para-
graph (1)(B) of this subsection and determines that the individual meets
the criteria for court-ordered inpatient mental health services or emer-
gency detention, the state hospital or CPB, by 4:00 p.m. on the next
business day, must:

(i) if the state hospital or CPB intends to detain the
individual, require the physician or designee, in accordance with Texas
Health and Safety Code §572.004(d), to:

(I) file an application for court-ordered inpatient
mental health services or emergency detention and obtains a court order
for further detention of the individual;

(II) notify the individual and LAR, if applicable,
of such intention; and

(III) document in the individual's record the rea-
sons for the decision to detain the individual; or

(ii)  discharge the individual.

() In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004(i), after a written request from a minor individual admitted
under §306.175(a)(1)(B) of this subchapter (relating to Voluntary
Admission Criteria for a State Hospital or a Facility with a Contracted
Psychiatric Bed, the state hospital or CPB must:

(1) notify the minor's parent, managing conservator, or
guardian of the request and:

(A) if the minor's parent, managing conservator, or
guardian objects to the discharge, the minor continues receiving
voluntary treatment; or

(B) if the minor's parent, managing conservator, or
guardian does not object to the discharge, the minor individual is
discharged and released to the minor's LAR; and

(2) document the request in the minor's record.

(f) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§572.004(f)(1), a state hospital or CPB is not required to complete the
requirements described in this section if the individual documents and
signs a written statement withdrawing the request for discharge.

$§306.204.  Discharge of an Individual Involuntarily Receiving Treat-
ment.

(a) Discharge from emergency detention.

(1) Except as provided by §306.178 of this subchapter (re-
lating to Voluntary Treatment Following Involuntary Admission) and
in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §573.021(b) and
§573.023(b), a state hospital or CPB must immediately discharge an
individual under emergency detention if:

(A) the state hospital administrator, administrator of the
CPB, or designee concludes, based on a physician's determination, the
individual no longer meets the criteria in §306.176(c)(1) of this sub-
chapter (relating to Admission Criteria for a State Hospital or a Facility
with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed for Emergency Detention); or

(B) except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsec-
tion:

(i) 48 hours has elapsed from the time the individual
was presented to the state hospital or CPB; and

(ii)  the state hospital or CPB has not obtained a court
order for further detention of the individual.

(2) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§573.021(b), if the 48-hour period described in paragraph (1)(B)(i) of
this subsection ends on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, or before
4:00 p.m. on the next business day after the individual was presented
to the state hospital or CPB, the state hospital or CPB may detain the
individual until 4:00 p.m. on such business day.

(b) Discharge under order of protective custody. Except as
provided by §306.178 of this subchapter and in accordance with Texas
Health and Safety Code §574.028, a state hospital or CPB must imme-
diately discharge an individual under an order of protective custody if:

(1) the state hospital administrator, administrator of the
CPB, or designee determines that, based on a physician's determina-
tion, the individual no longer meets the criteria described in Texas
Health and Safety Code §574.022(a);

(2) the state hospital administrator, administrator of the
CPB, or designee does not receive notice that the individual's contin-
ued detention is authorized after a probable cause hearing held within
the period prescribed by Texas Health and Safety Code §574.025(b);

(3) a final order for court-ordered inpatient mental health
services has not been entered within the period prescribed by Texas
Health and Safety Code §574.005; or

(4) anorder to release the individual is issued in accordance
with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.028(a).

(c) Discharge under court-ordered inpatient mental health ser-
vices.
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(1) Except as provided by §306.178 of this subchapter
and in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §574.085 and
§574.086(a), a state hospital or CPB must immediately discharge an
individual under a temporary or extended order for inpatient mental
health services if:

(A) the order for inpatient mental health services ex-
pires; or

(B) the state hospital administrator, administrator of the
CPB, or designee concludes that, based on a physician's determination,
the individual no longer meets the criteria for court-ordered inpatient
mental health services.

(2) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.086(b), before discharging an individual in accordance with
paragraph (1) of this subsection, the state hospital administrator,
administrator of the CPB, or designee must consider whether the indi-
vidual should receive court-ordered outpatient mental health services
in accordance with a modified order described in Texas Health and
Safety Code §574.061.

(3) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.081, at the time an individual receiving court-ordered inpatient
mental health services is furloughed or discharged from a state hospital
or CPB, the state hospital or CPB must provide and pay for psychoac-
tive medication and any other medication prescribed to counteract
adverse side effects of psychoactive medication. This requirement
also applies for a patient on a pass.

(A) A state hospital or CPB is only required to provide
or pay for these medications if funding to cover the cost of the medica-
tions is available to be paid to the facility for this purpose from HHSC.

(B) The state hospital or CPB must provide or pay for
the medications in an amount sufficient to last until the individual can
see a physician, or provider with prescriptive authority, but the state
hospital or CPB is not required to provide or pay for more than a seven-
day supply.

(C) The state hospital or CPB must inform an individual
if funding is not available to provide or pay for the medications upon
pass, furlough, or discharge, and if funding is not available, the indi-
vidual's designated LMHA or LBHA is responsible for providing psy-
choactive medications as provided in §306.207(2)(A) of this division
(relating to Post Discharge or Furlough: Contact and Implementation
of the Recovery or Treatment Plan), if applicable.

(4) Anindividual committed under Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure Chapter 46B or 46C may only be discharged as provided
by §306.202(f) of this division (relating to Special Considerations for
Discharge Planning).

(d) Discharge packet. A state hospital administrator, adminis-
trator of a CPB, or designee must forward a discharge packet, as pro-
vided in §306.201(h) of this division (relating to Discharge Planning),
of any individual committed under the Texas Code of Criminal Proce-
dure to the jail and the LMHA or LBHA in accordance with state and
federal privacy laws.

§306.205.  Pass or Furlough from a State Hospital or a Facility with
a Contracted Psychiatric Bed.

(a) An individual who is under consideration for discharge as
described in §306.203 of this division (relating to Discharge of an In-
dividual Voluntarily Receiving Treatment) or §306.204(c) of this di-
vision (relating to Discharge of an Individual Involuntarily Receiving
Treatment) may leave the state hospital or CPB while on pass or fur-
lough if the state hospital or CPB and the designated LMHA or LBHA
agree that a pass or furlough will be beneficial in implementing the in-

dividual's recovery or treatment plan. The designated LMHA or LBHA
is responsible for monitoring the individual while the individual is on
pass or furlough.

(1) If an individual on an involuntary commitment under
Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 574 is authorized for a pass or
furlough, the state hospital or CPB must notify the committing court of
the individual's absence.

(2) The state hospital or CPB may extend an initial pass or
furlough if:

(A) requested by the designated LMHA or LBHA; and
(B) the extension is clinically justified.
(3) A furlough that exceeds 60 days must be approved by:

(A) the state hospital administrator or designee, or the
administrator of the CPB or designee; and

(B) the designated LMHA or LBHA executive director
or designee.

(4) The state hospital or CPB must not authorize a pass or
furlough that exceeds the expiration date of the individual's order for
inpatient mental health services.

(b) The administrator of a state hospital or CPB may contact
a peace officer as described under Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.083 if:

(1) an individual is absent without authority from a state
hospital or CPB;

(2) the individual has violated the conditions of a pass or
furlough; or

(3) the individual's condition has deteriorated to the extent
that the individual's continued absence under pass or furlough is not
appropriate.

(c) If the individual is detained in a nonmedical facility by a
peace officer, the LMHA or LBHA must ensure the individual receives
proper care and medical attention in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §574.083.

(d) In accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code
§574.084, an individual's furlough may be revoked only after an
administrative hearing held in accordance with this subsection.

(1) The state hospital or CPB must conduct a hearing by a
hearing officer who is a mental health professional not directly involved
in treating the individual.

(2) The state hospital or CPB must:

(A) hold an informal hearing within 72 hours after the
individual returns to the facility;

(B) provide the individual or LAR and facility staff
members an opportunity to present information supporting the state
hospital's or CPB's position; and

(C) provide the individual or LAR the option to select
another person or staff member to serve as the individual's advocate.

(3) Within 24 hours after the conclusion of the hearing, the
hearing officer must determine if:

(A) revocation of the furlough is justified because:

(i) the individual was absent without authority from
the facility;
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(ii)  the individual violated the conditions of the fur-
lough; or

(iii)  the individual's condition deteriorated to the ex-
tent the individual's continued furlough was inappropriate; or

(B) the furlough was justified.

(4) The hearing office must render the final decision in
writing, including the basis for the hearing officer's decision, and place
the decision in the individual's file.

(5) Ifthe hearing officer's decision does not revoke the fur-
lough, the individual may leave the state hospital or CPB pursuant to
the conditions of the furlough.

(6) The state hospital or CPB must ensure the individual's
record includes a copy of the hearing officer's report.

(e) Only the committing criminal court may grant a pass or
furlough from a state hospital or CPB for individuals committed under
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B or 46C.

§306.207.  Post Discharge or Furlough: Contact and Implementation
of the Recovery or Treatment Plan.

(a) The designated LMHA or LBHA must:

(1) contact an individual following discharge or furlough
from a state hospital or CPB;

(2) implement the individual's recovery or treatment plan
within seven days after discharge in accordance with this section; and

(3) ensure the successful transition of the individual deter-
mined by the state hospital or CPB to be medically appropriate for dis-
charge in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code §534.0535.

(b) LMHA or LBHA contact after discharge or furlough.

(1) The designated LMHA or LBHA must contact an in-
dividual in person or using audiovisual technology within seven days
after discharge or furlough of an individual who is:

(A) discharged or on furlough from a state hospital or
CPB and referred to the LMHA or LBHA for services or supports as
indicated in the recovery or treatment plan;

(B) discharged from an LMHA or LBHA-network
provider of inpatient services and referred to the LMHA or LBHA for
services or supports as indicated in the recovery or treatment plan;

(C) discharged from an alternate provider of inpatient
services and receiving LMHA or LBHA services from the designated
LMHA or LBHA at the time of admission and who, upon discharge, is
referred to the LMHA or LBHA for services or supports as indicated
in the recovery or treatment plan;

(D) discharged from the LMHA's or LBHA's crisis sta-
bilization unit or any overnight crisis facility and referred to the LMHA
or LBHA for services or supports as indicated in the discharge plan; or

(E) an offender with special needs discharged from a
state hospital or CPB returning to jail.

(2) During the contact required by paragraph (1)(A) of this
paragraph, the designated LMHA or LBHA must:

(A) reassess the individual;

(B) ensure the provision of the services and supports
specified in the individual's recovery or treatment plan by making the
services and supports available and accessible as determined by the
individual's level of care; and

(C) assist the individual in accessing the services and
supports specified in the individual's recovery or treatment plan.

(3) The designated LMHA or LBHA must develop or re-
view an individual's recovery or treatment plan in accordance with
§301.353(e) of this title (relating to Provider Responsibilities for Treat-
ment Planning and Service Authorization) and consider treatment rec-
ommendations in the state hospital's or CPB's discharge plan within
ten business days after the contact required by paragraph (1)(A) of this
paragraph.

(4) The designated LMHA or LBHA must make a good
faith effort to contact an individual as required by paragraph (1)(A)
of this paragraph. If the designated LMHA or LBHA does not have
the required contact with the individual, the LMHA or LBHA must
document the attempts made and reasons the contact did not occur in
the individual's record.

(c) For an individual whose recovery or treatment plan iden-
tifies the designated LMHA or LBHA as responsible for providing or
paying for the individual's psychoactive medications, the designated
LMHA or LBHA must ensure:

(1) the provision of psychoactive medications for the indi-
vidual; and

(2) the individual has an appointment with a physician or
designee authorized by state law to prescribe medication before the
earlier of the following events:

(A) the individual's supply of psychoactive medication
from the state hospital or CPB has been depleted; or

(B) the 15th day after the individual is on furlough or
discharged from the state hospital or CPB.

(d) The designated LMHA or LBHA must document in an in-
dividual's record the LMHA's or LBHA's activities described in this
section, and the individual's responses to those activities.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500359

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (737) 704-9063

¢ ¢ ¢
26 TAC §306.206
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, §531.008,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to estab-
lish a division for administering state facilities, including state
hospitals and state supported living centers, and §531.02161,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to, by
rule, develop and implement a system that ensures behavioral
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health services may be provided using an audio-only platform
to the extent permitted by state and federal law and to the
extent it is cost-effective and clinically effective; Health and
Safety Code §533.014 which requires the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules relating to LMHA treatment
responsibilities, §533.0356 which allows the Executive Com-
missioner to adopt rules governing LBHAs, §533A.0355 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
establishing the roles and responsibilities of local intellectual
and developmental disability authorities, §534.052 which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to ensure the adequate provision of
community-based services through LMHAs, §534.0535 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
that require continuity of services and planning for patient care
between HHSC facilities and LMHAs, and §552.001 which
provides HHSC with authority to operate the state hospitals.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500360

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (737) 704-9063

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. TRAINING

26 TAC §306.221
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, §531.008,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to estab-
lish a division for administering state facilities, including state
hospitals and state supported living centers, and §531.02161,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to, by
rule, develop and implement a system that ensures behavioral
health services may be provided using an audio-only platform
to the extent permitted by state and federal law and to the
extent it is cost-effective and clinically effective; Health and
Safety Code §533.014 which requires the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules relating to LMHA treatment
responsibilities, §533.0356 which allows the Executive Com-
missioner to adopt rules governing LBHAs, §533A.0355 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
establishing the roles and responsibilities of local intellectual
and developmental disability authorities, §534.052 which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to ensure the adequate provision of
community-based services through LMHAs, §534.0535 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules

that require continuity of services and planning for patient care
between HHSC faciliies and LMHAs, and §552.001 which
provides HHSC with authority to operate the state hospitals.

$306.221.  Screening and Intake Assessment Training Requirements
at a State Hospital and a Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed.

(a) Screening training. As required by Texas Health and
Safety Code §572.0025(e), a state hospital or CPB staff member whose
responsibilities include conducting a screening described in Division
3 of this subchapter (relating to Admission to a State Hospital or a
Facility with a Contracted Psychiatric Bed--Provider Responsibilities)
must receive at least eight hours of training in the state hospital's or
CPB's screening.

(1) The screening training must provide instruction regard-
ing:
(A) obtaining relevant information about the individual,

including information about finances, third-party coverage or insurance
benefits, and advance directives;

(B) explaining, orally and in writing, the individual's
rights described in Chapter 320, Subchapter A of this title(relating to
Rights of Individuals Receiving Mental Health Services);

(C) explaining, orally and in writing, the state hospital's
or CPB's services and treatment as the services and treatment relate to
the individual;

(D) explaining, orally and in writing, the existence, pur-
pose, telephone number, and address of the protection and advocacy
system established in Texas, pursuant to Texas Health and Safety Code
§576.008; and

(E) determining whether an individual comprehends
the information provided in accordance with subparagraphs (B) - (D)
of this paragraph.

(2) Up to six hours of the following training may count to-
ward the screening training required by this subsection:

(A) 25 TAC §417.515 (relating to Staftf Training in
Identifying, Reporting, and Preventing Abuse, Neglect, and Exploita-
tion); and

(B) §320.29 of this title (relating to Staff Training in
Rights of Individuals Receiving Mental Health Services).

(b) Intake assessment training. As required by Texas Health
and Safety Code §572.0025(e), if a state hospital's or CPB's internal
policy permits an assessment professional to determine whether a
physician should conduct an examination on an individual requesting
voluntary admission, the assessment professional must receive at least
eight hours of training in conducting an intake assessment pursuant to
this subchapter.

(1) The intake assessment training must provide instruction
regarding assessing and diagnosing in accordance with §301.353 of this
title (relating to Provider Responsibilities for Treatment Planning and
Service Authorization).

(2) An assessment professional must receive intake train-
ing:
(A) before conducting an intake assessment; and

(B) annually throughout the professional's employment
or association with state hospital or CPB.

(c) Documentation of training. A state hospital or CPB must
document that each staff member and each assessment professional
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whose responsibilities include conducting the screening or intake as-
sessment have successfully completed the training described in sub-
sections (a) and (b) of this section, including:

(1) the date of the training;
(2) the length of the training session; and
(3) the name of the instructor.

(d) Performance in accordance with training. Each staff mem-
ber and each assessment professional whose responsibilities include
conducting the screening or intake assessment must perform the as-
sessments in accordance with the training required by this section.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500361

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (737) 704-9063

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER H. BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
SERVICES--TELECOMMUNICATIONS

26 TAC §§306.361, 306.363, 306.365, 306.367, 306.369
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, §531.008,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to estab-
lish a division for administering state facilities, including state
hospitals and state supported living centers, and §531.02161,
which requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to, by
rule, develop and implement a system that ensures behavioral
health services may be provided using an audio-only platform
to the extent permitted by state and federal law and to the
extent it is cost-effective and clinically effective; Health and
Safety Code §533.014 which requires the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC to adopt rules relating to LMHA treatment
responsibilities, §533.0356 which allows the Executive Com-
missioner to adopt rules governing LBHAs, §533A.0355 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
establishing the roles and responsibilities of local intellectual
and developmental disability authorities, §534.052 which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to ensure the adequate provision of
community-based services through LMHAs, §534.0535 which
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules
that require continuity of services and planning for patient care
between HHSC facilities and LMHAs, and §552.001 which
provides HHSC with authority to operate the state hospitals.

$306.361.  Purpose.

The purpose of this subchapter is to establish methods and parameters
of service delivery for individuals receiving general revenue-funded
behavioral health services that the Texas Health and Human Services
Commission (HHSC) determines are clinically effective and cost-ef-
fective in accordance with Texas Government Code §548.0002.

$306.363.  Application.
This subchapter applies to:

(1) alocal mental health authority (LMHA);

(2) alocal behavioral health authority (LBHA);

(3) an HHSC-funded substance use intervention provider;
(4) an HHSC-funded substance use treatment provider; and

(5) asubcontracted provider of an LMHA, LBHA, HHSC-
funded substance use intervention provider, and HHSC-funded sub-
stance use treatment provider.

§$306.365.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Audio-only technology--A synchronous interactive,
two-way audio communication that uses only sound and that con-
forms to privacy requirements of the Health Insurance Portability
and Accountability Act. Audio-only includes the use of telephonic
communication. Audio-only does not include audiovisual or in-person
communication.

(2) Audiovisual technology--A synchronous interactive,
two-way audio and video communication that conforms to privacy
requirements under the Health Insurance Portability and Account-
ability Act. Audiovisual does not include audio-only or in-person
communication.

(3) CFR--Code of Federal Regulations.

(4) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-
sion or its designee.

(5) HIPAA--The Health Insurance Portability and Ac-
countability Act, 42 U.S.C. §1320d et seq.

(6) Individual--A person seeking or receiving services un-
der this subchapter.

(7) In person or in-person--Within the physical presence of
another person. In person or in-person does not include interacting with
an individual through audiovisual or audio-only communication.

(8) LAR--Legally authorized representative. A person au-
thorized by state law to act on behalf of an individual.

(9) LBHA--Local behavioral health authority. An entity
designated as the local behavioral health authority by HHSC in accor-
dance with Texas Health and Safety Code §533.0356.

(10) LMHA--Local mental health authority. An entity des-
ignated as the local mental health authority by HHSC in accordance
with Texas Health and Safety Code §533.035(a).

(11) Provider--A person or entity that contracts to deliver
services under this subchapter with:

(A) HHSC;
(B) an LMHA;
(C) an LBHA;

(D) an HHSC-funded substance use intervention

provider; or
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(E) an HHSC-funded substance use treatment provider.

$306.367.

(a) A provider may deliver services as permitted under this
subchapter, if such delivery is permitted under the provider's state li-
cense, permit, or other legal authorization.

General Provisions.

(b) If a behavioral health service has a procedure code that is
billable in Medicaid, but the service is funded through general revenue,
a provider must adhere to:

(1) the Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual and
the Behavioral Health and Case Management Services Handbook
posted on the Texas Medicaid and Healthcare Partnership website;

(2) the Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual and
Telecommunications Services Handbook posted on the Texas Medicaid
and Healthcare Partnership website; and

(3) other Medicaid guidance concerning delivery of behav-
ioral health services by audiovisual technology and audio-only technol-

ogy.
(c) A provider may deliver behavioral health services that do

not have a procedure code billable in Medicaid either in person, by
audiovisual technology, or by audio-only technology.

(d) A provider delivering behavioral health services by audio-
visual technology or audio-only technology as permitted under this
subchapter must:

(1) deliver behavioral health services in person or use au-
diovisual technology rather than audio-only technology, whenever pos-
sible;

(2) offer the option of in-person service delivery and not

require an individual to receive services through audiovisual technol-
ogy or audio-only technology;

(3) defer to the needs of the individual receiving services,
allowing the method of service delivery to be accessible, person-cen-
tered and family-centered, and driven primarily by the individual's
choice rather than provider convenience;

(4) only deliver the service by audiovisual technology and
audio-only technology if agreed to by the individual or LAR;

(5) determine that providing the service by audiovisual
technology or audio-only technology is clinically appropriate and safe;

(6) deliver services in compliance with state standards set
forth in Texas Health and Safety Code §533.035(d) and §533.0356(h),
Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 464, and in accordance with
applicable HHSC rules; and

(7) maintain the confidentiality of protected health infor-
mation as required by 42 CFR Part 2, 45 CFR Parts 160 and 164, Texas
Occupations Code Chapter 159, Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter
611, and other applicable federal and state law.

(e) A provider must ensure any software or technology used
complies with all applicable state and federal requirements, including
HIPAA confidentiality and data encryption requirements, and with the
United States Department of Health and Human Services rules imple-
menting HIPAA confidentiality and data encryption requirements.

$306.369. Documentation Requirements.

(a) A provider mustaccurately document the services rendered
and identify the method of service delivery. Documentation require-
ments for behavioral health services delivered by audiovisual technol-
ogy or audio-only technology are the same as for service delivery in
person.

(b) Before delivering a behavioral health service by au-
dio-only technology, a provider must:

(1) obtain informed consent from the individual or LAR
except when doing so is not feasible or could result in death or injury
to the individual;

(2) if applicable, document in the individual's medical
record that informed consent was obtained verbally; and

(3) document the reason why the provider delivered ser-
vices by audio-only technology.

(c) A provider must adhere to documentation requirements in
accordance with publications and conditions described in §306.367(b)
of this subchapter (relating to General Provisions) if the general rev-
enue-funded behavioral health service has a procedure code that is bill-
able in Medicaid.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500362

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (737) 704-9063

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 307. BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
PROGRAM

SUBCHAPTER C. JAIL-BASED
COMPETENCY RESTORATION PROGRAM

26 TAC §§307.101, 307.103, 307.105, 307.107, 307.109,
307.111, 307.113, 307.115, 307.117, 307.119, 307.121,
307.123, 307.125, 307.127, 307.129, 307.131

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts amendments to §307.101, concerning Purpose;
§307.103, concerning Application; §307.105, concerning
Definitions; §307.107, concerning JBCR Program Eligibil-
ity Requirements; §307.109, concerning Service Standards;
§307.111, concerning JBCR Provider Staff Member Training;
§307.113, concerning Policies and Procedures; §307.115, con-
cerning Individual Eligibility; §307.117, concerning Admission;
§307.119, concerning Rights of Individuals Receiving JBCR;
§307.121, concerning Treatment Planning; §307.123, concern-
ing Competency Restoration Education; §307.125, concerning
Procedures for Determining Competency Status in a JBCR
Program; §307.127, concerning Preparation for Discharge from
a JBCR Program; §307.129, concerning Outcome Measures;
and §307.131, concerning Compliance with Statutes, Rules,
and Other Documents.

The amendments to §§307.101, 307.103, 307.105, 307.107,
307.111, 307.113, 307.117, 307.119, 307.121, 307.123,
307.125, 307.127, 307.129, and 307.131 are adopted with
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 13,
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2024, issue of the Texas Register (49 TexReg 7227) and will be
republished.

The amendments to §307.109 and §307.115 are adopted without
changes to the proposed text and will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The amendments are necessary to comply with Senate Bill 49,
87th Legislature, Regular Session, 2021, which amended Texas
Code of Criminal Procedure (CCP) Chapter 46B concerning
procedures regarding defendants who are or may be individuals
with a mental illness or intellectual disability. The amended
rules align the existing rules with CCP Chapter 46B by removing
references to the pilot program, defining when the initial com-
petency restoration period and an extension begin, updating
requirements for a psychiatrist or psychologist in §307.125, and
allowing jail-based competency restoration (JBCR) programs
to continue competency restoration services after 60 days if
the individual is not restored to competency unless notified that
space at a facility or an Outpatient Competency Restoration
program appropriate for the individual is available and if the
required number of days are remaining in the restoration period.
The amended rules expand upon JBCR policies and procedures
for consistency in staff training and program operations. The
amended rules also update cross-references and terminology
for clarity and make minor grammatical and editorial changes
for accuracy, understanding, and uniformity.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended on October 14, 2024.

During this period, HHSC received comments regarding the pro-
posed rules from three commenters, including Family to Family
Network, Texas Council of Community Centers, and Texas Par-
ent to Parent. A summary of comments relating to the rules and
HHSC's responses follows.

Comment: One commenter suggested adding autism to the list
of services that JBCR includes in §307.101.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule because the com-
menter's request does not align with the scope of this rule project.
JBCR providers are required to collaborate with the local intellec-
tual and developmental disability authority (LIDDA) during conti-
nuity of care and discharge planning. LIDDAs provide and over-
see services for persons with intellectual and developmental dis-
abilities, including autism.

Comment: One commenter suggested changing "discharge
planning services" to "continuity of care" in §307.101.

Response: HHSC agrees that "continuity of care" should be
added to the list of what JBCR includes; however, HHSC opts
to keep "discharge planning services." Therefore, HHSC revised
§307.101 to add "continuity of care" in a new paragraph (6) and
kept "discharge planning services" as proposed in §307.101(5).

Comment: A commenter suggested updating §307.103 to apply
to a board certified behavioral analyst (BCBA).

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule because CCP Ar-
ticle 46B.091(c) requires that JBCR providers are local mental
health authorities (LMHA) or local behavioral health authorities
(LBHA) or subcontractors of LMHAs or LBHAs. The inclusion of
a BCBA does not align with the scope of this rule project.

Comment: One commenter recommended updating §307.103
for this subchapter to apply to counties.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule. HHSC removed
this language because Article 46B.090, which authorized HHSC
to implement a JBCR pilot program by contracting with a non-
LMHA or non-LBHA JBCR provider, expired. Article 46B.091(e)
requires that HHSC establish contract monitoring and oversight
requirements for an LMHA or LBHA that contracts with a county
to provide JBCR services.

Comment: A commenter suggested adding the terms "autism"
and "BCBA" to the list of definitions in §307.105.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule. HHSC has deter-
mined that autism does not need to be specifically named in the
context of this subchapter, and the inclusion of a BCBA does not
align with the scope of this rule project.

Comment: One commenter suggested for the definition of "com-
petency restoration" in §307.105(3) to include both "treatment”
and "education processes."

Response: HHSC declines to revise the definition of "com-
petency restoration" as suggested because HHSC uses the
statutory definition of "competency restoration" in CCP Article
46B.001(3). In addition, these rules require that treatment must
be provided as clinically appropriate.

Comment: A commenter recommended leaving in the definition
for "local unit of general purpose government" in §307.105(13),
as there is still a role for counties in JCBR implementation.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule. While HHSC
agrees that there is a role for counties in JBCR implementation,
Article 46B.091(e) requires that HHSC establish contract mon-
itoring and oversight requirements for an LMHA or LBHA that
contracts with a county to provide JBCR services.

Comment: A commenter suggested to revise §307.105(14) to
"specify that individuals receiving JBCR should be housed sep-
arately from the general population unless such housing results
in seclusion or solitary-like settings."

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule as suggested. The
definition that is now in §307.105(15) aligns with CCP Atrticle
46B.091(d)(5), which requires that JBCR programs operate in
the jail in a designated space that is separate from the space
used for the general population of the jail.

Comment: One commenter observed that §307.107(b) does not
appear to include JBCR providers who contract with HHSC and
requested to ensure that language in §307.107(b) does not jeop-
ardize JBCR efforts that do not contract with a county or coun-
ties.

Response: Based on the suggestion, HHSC believes the
commenter is commenting about §307.107(c), not §307.107(b).
HHSC declines to revise the rule because §307.103 authorizes
a JBCR provider to deliver JBCR regardless of the funding
source. Section 307.107(c) does not preclude JBCR providers
who are an LMHA, LBHA, or a subcontractor of an LMHA
or LBHA, from receiving funding from HHSC or from another
source to operate a JBCR program. In addition, CCP Article
46B.091(c) requires that counties contract with an LMHA or
LBHA to implement a JBCR program.

Comment: One commenter requested to add "ID/autism" ser-
vices to the list of JBCR program service standards in §307.109.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule because the com-
menter's request does not align with the scope of this rule project.
JBCR providers are required to collaborate with the LIDDA dur-

ADOPTED RULES February 21, 2025 50 TexReg 1023



ing continuity of care and discharge planning. LIDDAs provide
and oversee services for persons with intellectual and develop-
mental disabilities, including autism.

Comment: One commenter suggested ensuring in §307.109(5)
that JBCR participants are housed separately from the general
population and receive separate, evidence-based programming.

Response: HHSC declines to revise §307.109(5) as suggested.
The rule aligns with CCP Article 46B.091(d)(5), which requires
that JBCR programs operate in the jail in a designated space that
is separate from the space used for the general population of the
jail. In addition, HHSC is not aware of any JBCR programming
studies that would be considered "evidence-based" at this time.

Comment: A commenter suggested adding a BCBA as a con-
tractor to §307.113.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule as suggested be-
cause CCP Article 46B.091(c) requires that JBCR providers are
LMHAs or LBHASs) or subcontractors of LMHAs or LBHAs, and
the inclusion of a BCBA does not align with the scope of this rule
project.

Comment: A commenter wrote, "Collaborate on suicide and
homicide prevention plans," in relation to §307.113(4).

Response: Development of an individualized suicide and homi-
cide prevention plan is addressed in §307.113(5). HHSC there-
fore declines to revise §307.113 in response to this comment.

Comment: A commenter requested clarification on the term "ca-
pacity" in §307.113(9).

Response: HHSC cannot respond to this comment as the term
"capacity" does not appear in any of the rule text published as
proposed.

Comment: One commenter requested adding a BCBA as a con-
tractor to §307.115.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule because CCP Arti-
cle 46B.091(c) requires that JBCR providers are LMHAs or LB-
HAs or subcontractors of LMHAs or LBHAs and the inclusion of
a BCBA does not align with the scope of this rule project.

Comment: One commenter recommended including rejection
criteria in §307.115(a) for when an individual is deemed ineli-
gible for competency restoration.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule because JBCR and
OCR providers are permitted to set program-specific eligibility
criteria depending on the program structure and services avail-
able. The addition of ineligibility requirements would be too lim-
iting and may disrupt current service provision.

Comment: A commenter recommended to revise §307.117(a)
to allow for JBCR providers to operate their programs based on
capacity and staffing.

Response: HHSC agrees with the comment and revised
§307.117(a) to replace "must admit" with "may only admit" as
JBCR providers should consult with their legal counsel related to
compliance with court orders when issues of capacity or staffing
arise. In §307.113(9) of this rule, JBCR providers are required
to have a policy and procedure for coordinating with the court
concerning the JBCR program's ability to provide services to a
new participant.

Comment: One commenter requested to change "OCR ser-
vices" to "JBCR services" in §307.117(b)(1)(A).

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule because the rule
text aligns with CCP Article 46B.0735.

Comment: A commenter suggested inserting a concrete time-
frame for providing services in §307.117(b)(2).

Response: HHSC declines to revise §307.117(b)(2) because
the rule text aligns with CCP Article 46B.0735. In addition,
§307.117(c) requires that competency restoration services be-
gin no later than 72 hours after admission to the JBCR program.

Comment: A commenter suggested changing the timeframe in
§307.117(c) to "72 hours after the court orders JBCR."

Response: HHSC disagrees and declines to revise the rule.
HHSC has determined that admission to the JBCR program as
required in §307.117(c) aligns with CCP Article 46B.073(d).

Comment: One commenter recommended clarifying the factors
to be considered in determining JBCR eligibility in §307.117(c).

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule. JBCR providers
are permitted to set program-specific eligibility criteria depending
on the program structure and services available.

Comment: A commenter noted previous language in
§307.117(c)(2) that provided a process for informing the court
about program capacity limits and potential waitlists. The com-
menter requested keeping this language to confirm that "JBCR
providers can manage their programs and ensure individuals
are appropriately enrolled as capacity allows."

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule in response to the
comment. JBCR providers vary in how they manage program
capacity, so the proposed rule is intended to allow for flexibil-
ity. The deleted language also did not align with HHSC policy of
adding individuals to the waitlist when HHSC receives an inpa-
tient order of commitment.

Comment: A commenter suggested ensuring documentation
mentioned in §307.119(2) includes an explanation of the indi-
vidual's rights and complies with the Americans with Disabilities
Act of 1990.

Response: HHSC declines to revise §307.119(2) in response to
the comment because §307.119(1) requires a JBCR program to
inform individuals of the individuals' rights in accordance with 26
TAC Chapter 320, Subchapter A (relating to Rights of Individuals
Receiving Mental Health Services). Though it does not specifi-
cally require compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act
of 1990, 26 TAC §320.25(a) requires that the method used to
communicate the information should be designed for effective
communication, tailored to meet each person's ability to com-
prehend, and responsive to any visual or hearing impairment.

Comment: One commenter suggested adding the term "autism"
to §307.121(7).

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule because JBCR
providers are required to collaborate with the LIDDA during treat-
ment planning. LIDDAs provide and oversee services for per-
sons with intellectual and developmental disabilities, including
autism. The commenter's request does not align with the scope
of this rule project and CCP Chapter 46B.

Comment: One commenter requested to revise §307.123(a) to
require the resubmission of the competency restoration training
module for any subsequent variation of content.

Response: HHSC agrees with the comment and revised
§307.123(a) to require a JBCR program to submit the compe-
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tency restoration training module for HHSC review annually after
the initial submission. HHSC also revised §307.123(a) to clarify
that the training module is submitted for HHSC approval before
providing services and updated the definition for "competency
restoration training module" in §307.105(4) to "HHSC-approved
training module" for consistency throughout the amended rules.

Comment: A commenter recommended replacing "promptly"
with a definite timeline in §307.125(b).

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule in response to the
comment because the rule text aligns with CCP Article 46B.091.

Comment: A commenter suggested retaining current language
in §307.125(c) that includes the additional allowance for a 45-day
extension.

Response: HHSC declines to revise the rule because the current
rule text aligns with CCP Atrticle 46B.091(j)(1)- (2). The current
rule text has no 45-day extension.

Comment: A commenter requested replacing "without unneces-
sary delay" in §307.125(d) with a specific timeframe.

Response: HHSC declines to revise §307.125(d) as suggested
because the rule text aligns with CCP Article 46B.091.

Comment: One commenter suggested removing the language in
§307.125(d) that requires JBCR provider coordination because
JBCR providers lack authority over courts or county jails.

Response: HHSC agrees that JBCR providers do not have au-
thority over county jails or courts. Therefore, HHSC revised
§307.125(d) to require that the JBCR program "must collabo-
rate with the court and the county jail to support the transfer of
the individual, not "must coordinate with the court and county jail
to ensure the transfer of the individual." In addition, HHSC re-
vised §307.113(7) to require a JBCR program's policies and pro-
cedures to address how a program staff member "collaborates,"
not "coordinates" with the jail medical provider as described in
that rule.

Comment: A commenter noted that JBCR providers have limited
ability to coordinate an individual's movement after discharge
and recommended revising §307.127(a) to have the treatment
team "collaborate with appropriate entities to ensure the individ-
ual's continuity of care and supports in accordance with Chapter
306, Subchapter D of this title (relating to Mental Health--Admis-
sion, Continuity, and Discharge)."

Response: HHSC agrees that JBCR providers do not have au-
thority over county jails or courts. HHSC revised §307.127(a) -
(c) to require that the treatment team must "collaborate with ap-
propriate entities to facilitate" the individual's continuity of care
and discharge, not "coordinate" the individual's continuity of care
and discharge.

HHSC revised §307.101, §307.103, §307.107(a), §307.113(6),
§307.117(d), and §307.125(c)(2) to make minor editorial
changes for accuracy, understanding, and uniformity.

HHSC revised §307.105 to add "COPSD--Co-occurring psy-
chiatric and substance use disorder" in a new paragraph (5)
and then reformatted the remainder of the rule and revised
§307.101(3) and §307.121(8) to use the acronym (COPSD).

HHSC revised §307.107(d), §307.111(b)(1) and (2),
§307.119(1), §307.121, §307.129(b)(2)(B)(vi), and §307.131(a)
to update rule references. In addition, the rule reference
updates in §307.131 required removing paragraph (3)(A) - (D)
and changing paragraph (4) to paragraph (3)(A) - (F).

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are authorized by the Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure Chapter 46B, relating to Incompetency to Stand
Trial, Article 46B.091, requiring the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC to adopt rules as necessary for a county to develop
and implement a JBCR program, and Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services system.

$§307.101.

The purpose of this subchapter is to provide standards for jail-based
competency restoration as required by Texas Code of Criminal Proce-
dure Chapter 46B, relating to Incompetency to Stand Trial. Jail-based
competency restoration includes:

Purpose.

(1) mental health services;
(2) intellectual disability services;

(3) co-occurring psychiatric and substance use disorder
treatment services;

(4) competency restoration education in the county jail for
an individual found incompetent to stand trial;

(5) discharge planning services; and
(6) continuity of care services.

$307.103.  Application.

This subchapter applies to a local mental health authority, local behav-
ioral health authority, or a subcontractor of a local mental health au-
thority or local behavioral health authority delivering jail-based com-
petency restoration authorized by Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
Chapter 46B, regardless of the funding source for the jail-based com-
petency restoration program.

§$307.105.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Business day--Any day except a Saturday, Sunday, or
legal holiday listed in Texas Government Code §662.021.

(2) CFR--Code of Federal Regulations.

(3) Competency restoration--The treatment or education
process for restoring an individual's ability to consult with the indi-
vidual's attorney with a reasonable degree of rational understanding,
including a rational and factual understanding of the court proceed-
ings and charges against the individual as defined in Texas Code of
Criminal Procedure Article 46B.001.

(4) Competency restoration training module--An HHSC-
approved training module used by program staff members to provide
legal education to an individual receiving competency restoration ser-
vices.

(5) COPSD--Co-occurring psychiatric and substance use
disorder.

(6) Court--A court of law presided over by a judge, judges,
or a magistrate in civil and criminal cases.

(7) Day--A calendar day, unless otherwise specified.

(8) Extension--As described in Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure Article 46B.080(d), an extension begins on the later of:

(A) the date the court enters the order under Article
46B.080(a); or
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(B) the date competency restoration services begin pur-
suant to the order entered under Article 46B.080(a).

(9) Good standing--Entities eligible to contract with HHSC
pursuant to HHSC procurement and contract rules and guidelines.

(10) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-
sion or its designee.

(11) ID--Intellectual disability. Consistent with Texas
Health and Safety Code §591.003, significantly sub-average general
intellectual functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive
behavior as defined in §304.102 of this title (relating to Definitions)
and originating before age 18.

(12) Individual--A person receiving services under this
subchapter.

(13) Inpatient mental health facility--The term has the
meaning assigned in Texas Health and Safety Code §571.003.

(14) IST--Incompetent to stand trial. The term has the
meaning described in Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article
46B.003.

(15) JBCR--Jail-based competency restoration. Com-
petency restoration services in a county jail setting provided in a
designated space separate from the space used for the general popula-
tion of the county jail.

(16) JBCR program--A jail-based competency restoration
program developed and implemented by a county or counties in accor-
dance with the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46B.091.

(17) LBHA--Local behavioral health authority. An entity
designated as the local behavioral health authority by HHSC in accor-
dance with Texas Health and Safety Code §533.0356.

(18) Legally authorized representative--A person autho-
rized by state law to act on behalf of an individual with regard to a
matter described in this subchapter.

(19) LIDDA--Local intellectual and developmental dis-
ability authority. An entity designated as the local intellectual and
developmental disability authority by HHSC in accordance with Texas
Health and Safety Code §533A.035(a).

(20) LMHA--Local mental health authority. An entity des-
ignated as the local mental health authority by HHSC in accordance
with Texas Health and Safety Code §533.035(a).

(21) LPHA--Licensed practitioner of the healing arts. A
person who is:

(A) a physician;

(B) a physician assistant;

(C) an advanced practice registered nurse;
(D) alicensed psychologist;

(E) alicensed professional counselor;

(F) alicensed clinical social worker; or

(G) alicensed marriage and family therapist.

(22) Mental illness--An illness, disease, or condition as de-
fined by Texas Health and Safety Code §571.003.

(23) Non-clinical services--Services that support an indi-
vidual's care but do not provide direct diagnosis, treatment, or care for
the individual.

(24) OCR--Outpatient competency restoration. As defined
in Chapter 307, Subchapter D of this title (relating to Outpatient
Competency Restoration), a community-based program with the
specific objective of attaining restoration to competency pursuant to
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B.

(25) Program staff member--An employee or person with
whom the program contracts or subcontracts for the provision of JBCR.
A program staff member includes specially trained security officers, all
licensed and credentialed staff, and other people directly contracted or
subcontracted to provide JBCR to an individual.

(26) QIDP--Qualified intellectual disability professional as
defined in 42 CFR §483.430(a).

(27) QMHP-CS--Qualified mental health  profes-
sional-community services as defined in Chapter 301, Subchapter G of
this title (relating to Mental Health Community Services Standards).

(28) Residential care facility--A state supported living cen-
ter or the Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with an Intellec-
tual Disability (ICF-1ID) component of the Rio Grande State Center.

(29) Safety plan--An individualized written plan to prevent
or manage crises.

(30) Serious injury--An injury determined by a physician
to require medical treatment by a licensed medical professional (e.g.,
physician, dentist, physician's assistant, or advance practice nurse) or
requires medical treatment in an emergency department or licensed
hospital.

(31) Significantly sub-average general intellectual func-
tioning--Consistent with Texas Health and Safety Code §591.003,
measured intelligence on standardized general intelligence tests of
two or more standard deviations (not including standard error of
measurement adjustments) below the age-group mean for the test used.

(32) SUD--Substance use disorder. The use of one or more
substances, including alcohol, which significantly and negatively im-
pacts one or more major areas of life functioning, and which meets
the criteria for substance use disorder as described in the HHSC-recog-
nized edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Dis-
orders published by the American Psychiatric Association.

(33) TAC--Texas Administrative Code.

(34) Treatment team--A group of treatment providers, in-
cluding a psychiatrist and LPHA; the individual; and the individual's
legally authorized representative, if any, who work together in a coor-
dinated manner to provide competency restoration services to the indi-
vidual.

$307.107.  JBCR Program Eligibility Requirements.

(a) A JBCR program must meet the standards set forth in Texas
Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46B.091.

(b) A JBCR program must:

(1) be an LMHA or LBHA in good standing with HHSC;
or

(2) asubcontractor of an LMHA or LBHA in good standing
with HHSC.

(¢) AnLMHA or LBHA must contract with the county to pro-
vide JBCR.

(d) An LMHA or LBHA that provides JBCR must comply
with Chapter 301, Subchapter A of this title (relating to Contracts Man-
agement for Local Authorities) and the contract management and over-
sight requirements of the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.
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$307.111.  JBCR Program Staff Member Training.

(a) AIJBCR program must recruit, train, and maintain qualified
program staff members with documented competency in accordance
with Chapter 301, Subchapter G, Division 2 of this title (relating to
Organizational Standards), specifically:

(1) §301.327(e) of this title (relating to Access to Mental
Health Community Services);

(2) §301.329 of this title (relating to Medical Records Sys-
tem); and

(3) §301.331 of'this title (relating to Competency and Cre-
dentialing).

(b) Before providing services, a JBCR program must train
each program staff member and ensure demonstrated competence in:

(1) the rights of an individual receiving mental health ser-
vices as described in Chapter 320, Subchapter A of this title (relating
to Rights of Individuals Receiving Mental Health Services);

(2) therights of an individual with an intellectual disability
and a legally authorized representative as described in Chapter 334 of
this title (relating to Rights of Individuals with an Intellectual Disabil-

ity);

(3) 1identifying, preventing, and reporting abuse, neglect,
and exploitation in accordance with the Texas Commission on Jail
Standards or HHSC as set forth in applicable state laws and rules; and

(4) using a protocol for preventing and managing aggres-
sive behavior, including preventative de-escalation intervention strate-
gies.

$§307.113.  Policies and Procedures.
A JBCR program must develop and implement written policies and
procedures for:

(1) maintaining a list of each program staff member pro-
viding JBCR, including:

(A) position and credentials;
(B) reporting structure; and
(C) responsibilities;
(2) maintaining program staff member training records;

(3) describing JBCR eligibility as determined by the JBCR
program, intake and assessment, and treatment planning as described
in §307.121 of this subchapter (relating to Treatment Planning), and
transition and discharge processes to include coordination and continu-
ity of care planning with an LMHA, LBHA, or LIDDA, or an LMHA,
LBHA, or LIDDA subcontractor;

(4) describing how an individual is assessed for:
(A) suicidality and homicidality;
(B) the degree of suicidality and homicidality;
(C) the development of a safety plan;

(5) developing a safety plan that must document:

(A) warning signs, including thoughts, images, changes
in mood and behavior, or situations that may prompt a crisis;

(B) internal coping strategies that distract from crisis
thoughts and urges;

(C) a process for communicating safety concerns and
recommended precautions to the jail relating to an individual partici-
pating in JBCR;

(D) the process for identifying and addressing suicidal
and homicidal means;

(6) outlining a JBCR program's process to assess, evaluate,
and report to the court an individual's restoration to competency status
and readiness for return to court as specified in Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure Articles 46B.077(b) and 46B.079;

(7) addressing how a program staff member collaborates
with the jail medical provider to address continuity of care, treatment,
and overall therapeutic environment during evenings and weekends,
including responding to behavioral health crisis or physical health cri-
sis consistent with §301.351(a) and (e) of this title (relating to Crisis
Services);

(8) educating an individual about the individual's rights
while participating in JBCR;

(9) coordinating with the court concerning the JBCR pro-
gram's ability to provide services to a new participant within 72 hours
after admission in accordance with §307.117 of this title and Texas
Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46B.073(d); and

(10) accommodating individual needs through adaptive
materials and approaches as needed, including accommodations for
language barriers and disabilities.

$307.117.  Admission.

(a) A JBCR program may only admit an individual to JBCR
upon receipt of a court order requiring the individual to participate in
JBCR under Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B, Subchap-
ter D.

(b) In accordance with Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Ar-
ticle 46B.0735, the initial competency restoration period begins on the
later of:

(1) the date the individual is:
(A) ordered to participate in OCR services; or

(B) committed to a mental health facility, residential
care facility, or JBCR; or

(2) the date competency services begin.

(c) When aJBCR program determines an individual is eligible
for JBCR, the program must ensure the individual will receive compe-
tency restoration services no later than 72 hours after admission to the
JBCR program.

(d) A JBCR program must, when necessary, seek a court or-
der for psychoactive medications in accordance with Texas Health and
Safety Code §574.106 or Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article
46B.086.

§307.119.  Rights of Individuals Receiving JBCR.
A JBCR program must:

(1) inform the individual receiving JBCR of the individ-
ual's rights in accordance with Chapter 320, Subchapter A of this title
(relating to Rights of Individuals Receiving Mental Health Services)
or Chapter 334 of this title (relating to Rights of Individuals with an
Intellectual Disability), as applicable;

(2) provide the individual with a copy of the rights hand-
book published for an individual receiving mental health services or an
individual with an ID; and

(3) explain to the individual receiving JBCR how to initiate
a complaint and how to contact:
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(A) the HHS Office of the Ombudsman for complaints
against the JBCR program;

(B) the Texas Commission on Jail Standards for com-
plaints against the county jail; and

(C) the Texas protection and advocacy system.

§307.121.

Within five days after admission to JBCR, based on an individual's
competency evaluation and JBCR program assessment, the JBCR pro-
gram must develop the individual's treatment plan in accordance with
Chapter 320, Subchapter A of this title (relating to Rights of Individu-
als Receiving Mental Health Services) and Chapter 301, Subchapter G
of this title (relating to Mental Health Community Services Standards)
to include the individual's:

Treatment Planning.

(1) strengths, to assist the individual in:

(A) overcoming barriers to achieving a factual and ra-
tional understanding of legal proceedings; and

(B) consulting with the individual's lawyer with a rea-
sonable degree of rational understanding;

(2) trauma history;

(3) physical health concerns or issues;

(4) medication and medication management;
(5) level of family and community support;
(6) mental health concerns or issues;

(7) 1D concerns or issues;

(8) SUD or COPSD concerns or issues; and

(9) specific non-clinical services and supports needed by
the individual after discharge, including:

(A) housing assistance;

(B) food assistance;

(C) governmental benefits;

(D) clothing resources; and

(E) other supplemental supports.
$307.123.

(a) A JBCR program must submit the competency restoration
training module for HHSC review and approval before providing ser-
vices and annually thereafter.

Competency Restoration Education.

(b) A JBCR program must educate individuals using multiple
learning formats, which may include:

(1) discussion;
(2) written text;
(3) wvideo; and

(4) experiential methods, such as role-playing or mock
trial.

(¢) A JBCR program must ensure an individual with accom-
modation needs receives adapted materials and approaches as needed,
including accommodations for language barriers and disabilities.

$307.125.  Procedures for Determining Competency Status in a JBCR
Program.

(a) A JBCR program psychiatrist or psychologist who has the
qualifications described by Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article

46B.022 must evaluate the individual's competency and report to the
court as required by Article 46B.079.

(b) A JBCR program psychiatrist or psychologist must
promptly send a report to the court, if at any time during an individ-
ual's commitment for JBCR, the JBCR psychiatrist or psychologist
determines the individual is:

(1) restored to competency; or

(2) unlikely to be restored to competency in the foreseeable
future.

(c) If the JBCR program psychiatrist or psychologist deter-
mines that the individual has not restored to competency by the end
of the 60th calendar day after the date the individual began receiv-
ing JBCR, the JBCR program must continue to provide competency
restoration services to the individual for the period authorized under
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B, Subchapter D, includ-
ing any extension ordered under Article 46B.080, unless the JBCR pro-
gram is notified that space at a mental health facility or residential care
facility or an OCR program appropriate for the individual is available
and:

(1) for an individual charged with a felony, not less than 45
calendar days are remaining in the initial restoration period; or

(2) foranindividual charged with a felony or misdemeanor,
an extension has been ordered under Article 46B.080 and not less than
45 calendar days are remaining under the extension order.

(d) After receipt of a notice under subsection (c) of this sec-
tion, the JBCR program must collaborate with the court and the county
jail to support the transfer of the individual without unnecessary de-
lay to the appropriate mental health facility, residential care facility,
or OCR program for the remainder of the period permitted by Texas
Code of Criminal Procedure Article 46B.073(b), including any exten-
sion that may be ordered under Article 46B.080 if an extension has not
previously been ordered under that article.

(e) If the individual is not transferred, as referenced in sub-
section (d) of this section, and if the JBCR program psychiatrist or
psychologist determines that the individual has not been restored to
competency by the end of the period authorized under Texas Code of
Criminal Procedure Chapter 46B, Subchapter D, the individual must
be returned to the court for further proceedings.

§307.127.  Preparation for Discharge from a JBCR Program.

(a) At any time an individual is restored to competency, the
treatment team must collaborate with appropriate entities to facilitate:

(1) continuity of care, including specific non-clinical ser-
vices and supports needed by the individual after discharge, such as:

(A) housing assistance;

(B) food assistance;

(C) governmental benefits;

(D) clothing resources; and

(E) other supplemental supports; and

(2) the individual's discharge from the JBCR program to
the individual's discharge setting, including:

(A) the county jail;
(B) the LMHA;
(C) the LBHA;
(D) the LIDDA;
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(E) other community mental health provider; or
(F) the care of a responsible person.

(b) If the individual is determined to be unlikely to restore to
competency in the foreseeable future or is not restored after completing
the JBCR program, the treatment team must collaborate with appropri-
ate entities to facilitate:

(1) continuity of care, including specific non-clinical ser-
vices and supports needed by the individual after discharge, such as:

(A) housing assistance;

(B) food assistance;

(C) governmental benefits;

(D) clothing resources; and

(E) other supplemental supports; and

(2) the individual's discharge from the JBCR program to
the individual's discharge setting, including:

(A) amental health facility;

(B) aresidential care facility;

(C) the LMHA;

(D) the LBHA;

(E) the LIDDA;

(F) other community mental health provider; or
(G) the care of a responsible person.

(c) Ifan individual is not restored to competency by the 60th
day and is being transferred to a facility or OCR program, the JBCR
treatment team must collaborate with appropriate entities to facilitate:

(1) continuity of care, including specific non-clinical ser-
vices and supports needed by the individual after discharge, such as:

(A) housing assistance;
(B) food assistance;
(C) governmental benefits;
(D) clothing resources; and
(E) other supplemental supports; and
(2) the individual's discharge from the JBCR program to:
(A) amental health facility;
(B) aresidential care facility; or
(C) an OCR program.

$307.129.  Outcome Measures.

(a) For the purposes of this section, "competency as deter-
mined by the JBCR psychiatrist or psychologist" refers to the clinical
opinion of the psychiatrist or psychologist provided under Texas Code
of Criminal Procedure Articles 46B.079(b) and 46B.091, as applicable.

(b) A JBCR program must collect and report the following
data for an individual admitted to a JBCR program, using HHSC's des-
ignated automation system:

(1) individual outcomes:
(A) the number of individuals on felony charges;
(B) the number of individuals on misdemeanor charges;

(C) date individual was ordered to JBCR;

(D) date of first JBCR service provided,
(E) whether the court granted an extension;

(F) the average number of calendar days for an individ-
ual charged with a felony to be restored to competency, as determined
by the JBCR psychiatrist or psychologist;

(G) the average number of calendar days for an indi-
vidual charged with a misdemeanor to be restored to competency, as
determined by the JBCR psychiatrist or psychologist;

(H) the number of individuals charged with a misde-
meanor and not restored to competency, as determined by the JBCR
psychiatrist or psychologist;

(I) the number of individuals charged with a felony and
not restored to competency, as determined by the JBCR psychiatrist or
psychologist;

(J) the number of individuals charged with a misde-
meanor and restored to competency, as determined by the JBCR
psychiatrist or psychologist;

(K) the number of individuals charged with a felony and
restored to competency, as determined by the JBCR psychiatrist or psy-
chologist;

(L) the average length of time between determination of
non-restorability by the JBCR psychiatrist or psychologist and trans-
fer to an inpatient mental health facility, residential care facility, or
OCR program pursuant to Texas Code of Criminal Procedures Arti-
cle 46B.091(j-1);

(M) the number of individuals restored to competency
as determined by the JBCR psychiatrist or psychologist in 60 calendar
days or less;

(N) the number of individuals found IST who were
found ineligible for JBCR based on the JBCR program screening and
the reason why;

(O) the number of individuals not restored to compe-
tency and who were transferred to an inpatient mental health facility or
residential care facility; and

(P) the number of individuals whose charges were dis-
missed before completion of JBCR; and

(2) administrative outcomes, in a format specified by
HHSC, for the JBCR program, including:

(A) the costs associated with operating the JBCR pro-
gram; and

(B) the number of:

(i) reported and confirmed cases of abuse, neglect,
and exploitation;

(ii) reported and confirmed cases of rights viola-
tions;

(iii) restraints and seclusions used;
(iv) emergency medications used;
(v) serious injuries; and

(vi) deaths, in accordance with §320.143 of this ti-
tle (relating to Documenting, Reporting, and Analyzing Restraint or
Seclusion) or Chapter 301, Subchapter H of this title (relating to Deaths
of Individuals Served by Community Mental Health Centers), as appli-
cable.
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§$307.131.  Compliance with Statutes, Rules, and Other Documents.

(a) In addition to any applicable federal or state law or rule, a
JBCR program must comply with:

(1) Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 574 (relating to
Court-Ordered Mental Health Services);

(2) Texas Human Resources Code Chapter 48 (relating to
Investigations and Protective Services for Elderly Persons and Persons
with Disabilities);

(3) 26 TAC:

(A) Chapter 301, Subchapter G of this title (relating to
Mental Health Community Services Standards);

(B) Chapter 301, Subchapter H of this title (relating to
Deaths of Individuals Served by Community Mental Health Centers);

(C) Chapter 306, Subchapter A of this title (relating to
Standards for Services to Individuals with Co-occurring Psychiatric
and Substance Use Disorders (COPSD));

(D) Chapter 320, Subchapter A of this title (relating to
Rights of Individuals Receiving Mental Health Services);

(E) Chapter 320, Subchapter C of this title (relating to
Interventions in Mental Health Services);

(F) Chapter 320, Subchapter D of this title (relating to
Prescribing of Psychoactive Medication); and

(G) Chapter 334 of this title (relating to Rights of Indi-
viduals with an Intellectual Disability).

(b) Concerning confidentiality, a JBCR program must com-
ply with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, 42
U.S.C. §1320d et seq and other applicable federal and state laws, in-
cluding:

(1) 42 CFR Part 2 and Part 51, Subpart D;
(2) 45 CFR Parts 160 and 164, and Part 1326, Subpart C;
(3) Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 81, Subchapter

(4) Texas Health and Safety Code Chapters 181, 595, and
611,

(5) Texas Health and Safety Code §§533.009, 576.005,
576.007, and 614.017,

(6) Texas Government Code Chapters 552 and 559;

(7) Texas Occupations Code Chapter 159; and

(8) Texas Business and Commerce Code §521.053.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500363

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Health and Human Services Commission

Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: September 13, 2024
For further information, please call: (512) 593-0168
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TITLE 28. INSURANCE
PART 2. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF

INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS'
COMPENSATION

CHAPTER 133. GENERAL MEDICAL

PROVISIONS
SUBCHAPTER B. HEALTH CARE PROVIDER
BILLING PROCEDURES

28 TAC §133.30

INTRODUCTION. The Texas Department of Insurance, Division
of Workers' Compensation (DWC) adopts amendments to 28
TAC §133.30, concerning telemedicine, telehealth, and teleden-
tistry services. Section 133.30 implements Texas Labor Code
§413.011. The DWC medical advisor recommended the amend-
ments to the commissioner of workers' compensation under La-
bor Code §413.0511(b).

The amendments to §133.30 are adopted with two changes to
the proposed text published in the December 6, 2024, issue of
the Texas Register (49 TexReg 9942). DWC updated the effec-
tive dates to June 1, 2025. Section 133.30 will be republished.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The amendments to §133.30 al-
low a treating doctor to use telemedicine or telehealth to certify
maximum medical improvement (MMI) under §§130.1 and 130.2
of this title, concerning certification of MMI and evaluation of per-
manent impairment, under the following conditions. The injured
employee must have been examined by the treating doctor for
the condition in question at least once before the examination to
certify MMI. The injured employee must consent to the examina-
tion to certify MMI by telemedicine or telehealth. The condition in
question must qualify as a minor injury, such as §130.2(a)(2) of
this title contemplates, that requires no additional treatment, and
has resulted in no impairment. A minor injury does not require
application of the American Medical Association (AMA) Guides,
so under §130.1 of this title, the treating doctor is allowed to cer-
tify MMI with no impairment.

The amendments specify that such an evaluation must be billed
in compliance with the MMI billing requirements in §134.250
of this title, concerning MMI evaluations and impairment rating
examinations by treating doctors. The treating doctor's billing
and reimbursement are the same for an in-person MMI evalu-
ation and a telemedicine MMI evaluation. They do not expand
the scope of practice or authorize new treatments. Health
care providers should refer to their licensing boards' rules for
practicing telemedicine and telehealth. The amendments do not
allow a doctor to assign an impairment rating by a telemedicine
or telehealth examination. The amendments are effective for
examinations conducted by treating doctors to certify MMI by
telemedicine or telehealth conducted on or after June 1, 2025.

Amending §133.30 is necessary to ensure better and more con-
venient access to evaluations necessary to certify MMI, to en-
sure that more required MMI evaluations are conducted on time,
and to clarify how doctors must bill and be reimbursed for MMI
evaluations conducted by telemedicine or telehealth. For exam-
ple, when a treating doctor treats and releases an injured em-
ployee for a minor injury, such as a scrape or a bruise, and
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does not anticipate that the injured employee will need addi-
tional treatment, the amendments allow the treating doctor to use
telemedicine or telehealth to determine that the injured employee
has reached MMI but has no permanent impairment. Treating
doctors can certify MMI under current rules, and the amend-
ments just allow them to do so by telemedicine or telehealth
under specific conditions. In addition, the number of disputes
from treating doctor certifications of MMI under current rules is
very low. Based on medical billing data reported to DWC, treat-
ing doctors submitted over 36,000 bills in calendar year 2023
for these MMI examinations. Over 34,000 claims were associ-
ated with those bills containing CPT code 99455 (work-related or
medical disability evaluation services), and of those claims, only
259 were associated with an MMI or impairment rating dispute.

Labor Code §413.011 requires the commissioner to adopt
health care reimbursement policies and guidelines that reflect
the standardized reimbursement structures found in other
health care delivery systems with minimal modifications to
those reimbursement methodologies as necessary to meet
occupational injury requirements. It also requires that the com-
missioner's adopted medical policies or guidelines be designed
to ensure the quality of medical care and achieve medical
cost control, and to enhance a timely and appropriate return
to work. Amending §133.30 to allow a treating doctor to use
telemedicine or telehealth to certify MMI and to ensure that
billing and reimbursement for that evaluation are consistent with
the billing requirements in §134.250 meets the requirements in
Labor Code §413.011.

DWC invited public comments on an informal draft posted on
DWC's website in July 2024 and revised the text to be more
specific about the conditions under which a treating doctor may
perform a telemedicine or telehealth examination to certify MMI.
In addition, DWC held a hearing on the proposed amendments
on January 8, 2025.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSE.

Commenters: DWC received three written comments by the Jan-
uary 13, 2025, deadline, and one oral comment at the January 8,
2025, hearing, which was also provided in writing. Commenters
in support of the proposal were: Concentra, Enlyte (Coventry),
HCA Healthcare, and the Office of Injured Employee Counsel
(OIEC). No commenters were against the proposal.

Comment on §133.30. At the hearing, Enlyte (Coventry)
stated that the amendment to allow for a treating doctor to use
telemedicine or telehealth to certify MMI of minor injuries with
no impairment addresses a significant concern among treating
providers who also certify MMI. Currently to provide in-person
MMI evaluations, providers are flying out to rural clinics monthly
to perform examinations, which comes with increased costs in
travel and administration for providers who must balance already
packed schedules to move practitioners around the state. This
current situation also increases personal costs and confusion for
injured workers who are waiting inordinately and unnecessarily
long amounts of time to receive a MMI evaluation. By trusting
clinicians and their training to make these video determinations,
the rule change will create significant opportunities for treating
partners in Texas, will reduce unnecessary delays and costs
within the system, and will create significant cost and time
saving efficiencies for injured workers in Texas, especially those
who live far from a potential in-person examination location,
resulting in more efficient and complete care for injured workers.

Agency Response to Comment on §133.30. DWC appreciates
the comment.

Comment on §133.30. Concentra stated that the change allows
for telehealth or telemedicine to be used in workers' compensa-
tion exams to certify MMI when no impairment is present; that in
Concentra's experience, when often treating very minor injuries
with no impairment, timely closure of these cases is important to
assure that the injured worker can timely return to work; and that
Concentra fully supports the proposed changes.

Agency Response to Comment on §133.30. DWC appreciates
the comment.

Comment on §133.30. HCA Healthcare stated that they were in
favor of the proposed changes that would permit a treating doctor
via a telemedicine encounter to certify MMI in the case of a mi-
nor injury where no impairment exists. They noted that advanced
practice providers (APPs) often treat injured workers with minor
injuries, that injured workers seldom return to see the treating
doctor to certify MMI in those cases, and that the proposed rule
would reduce the barrier to certify MMI without impairment when
the injured worker is unlikely to return to the clinic. HCA Health-
care expressed concern about the requirement that the treating
doctor must have examined the injured worker at least once be-
fore the certifying examination, so if only an APP has provided
care and the injured worker will not return to the clinic, the treat-
ing doctor still will not be able to certify MMI.

Agency Response to Comment on §133.30. DWC appreciates
the comment. Because the workers' compensation system is
set up with the treating doctor responsible for the injured em-
ployee's care, the requirement for the treating doctor to have an
established relationship with the injured employee before certi-
fying MMI is an important safeguard to ensure that the treating
doctor has the information needed to make an accurate certifi-
cation.

Comment on §133.30. OIEC supported the proposed rule al-
lowing for certification of MMI under these circumstances. OIEC
appreciated DWC adding requirements before a treating doctor
conducts an MMI certifying examination via telemedicine.

Agency Response to Comment on §133.30. DWC appreciates
the comment.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The commissioner of workers' com-
pensation adopts the amendments to 28 TAC §133.30 under
Labor Code §§413.011, 413.0511, 402.00111, 402.00116, and
402.061.

Labor Code §413.011 requires the commissioner to adopt health
care reimbursement policies and guidelines that reflect the stan-
dardized reimbursement structures found in other health care
delivery systems with minimal modifications to those reimburse-
ment methodologies as necessary to meet occupational injury
requirements. It also requires that the commissioner's adopted
medical policies or guidelines be designed to ensure the quality
of medical care and achieve medical cost control, and to en-
hance a timely and appropriate return to work.

Labor Code §413.0511 requires DWC to employ or contract with
a medical advisor. The medical advisor must be a doctor, as
defined in §401.011. The medical advisor's duties include mak-
ing recommendations about the adoption of rules and policies
to: develop, maintain, and review guidelines as provided by
§413.011, including rules about impairment ratings; review com-
pliance with those guidelines; regulate or perform other acts re-
lated to medical benefits as required by the commissioner; and
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determine minimal modifications to the reimbursement method-
ology and model used by the Medicare system as needed to
meet occupational injury requirements.

Labor Code §402.00111 provides that the commissioner of work-
ers' compensation shall exercise all executive authority, includ-
ing rulemaking authority under Title 5 of the Labor Code.

Labor Code §402.00116 provides that the commissioner of work-
ers' compensation shall administer and enforce this title, other
workers' compensation laws of this state, and other laws grant-
ing jurisdiction to or applicable to DWC or the commissioner.

Labor Code §402.061 provides that the commissioner of work-
ers' compensation shall adopt rules as necessary to implement
and enforce the Texas Workers' Compensation Act.

$§133.30. Telemedicine, Telehealth, and Teledentistry Services.

(a) This section applies to medical billing and reimbursement
for telemedicine, telehealth, and teledentistry services provided on or
after September 1, 2021, to injured employees in the Texas workers'
compensation system, including injured employees subject to a work-
ers' compensation health care network established under Insurance
Code Chapter 1305.

(b) For the purposes of this section:

(1) "Telemedicine services" means telemedicine medical
services as defined in Occupations Code §111.001.

(A) The term includes an examination by a treating doc-
tor to certify maximum medical improvement (MMI), conducted on
or after June 1, 2025, under §§130.1 and 130.2 of this title (relating
to Certification of Maximum Medical Improvement and Evaluation of
Permanent Impairment) to determine whether an injured employee has
reached MMI, that meets the following conditions:

(i) the injured employee has been examined by the
treating doctor for the condition in question at least once before the
examination to certify MMI;

(it)  the injured employee consents to the examina-
tion to certify MMI by telemedicine; and

(iii)  the condition in question qualifies as a minor in-
jury, such as §130.2(a)(2) of this title contemplates, requires no addi-
tional treatment, and has resulted in no impairment.

(B) The term does not include an examination to assign
an impairment rating conducted under §130.1 of this title.

(2) "Telehealth services" means telehealth services as de-
fined in Occupations Code §111.001.

(A) The term includes an examination by a treating doc-
tor to certify MMI, conducted on or after June 1, 2025, under §§130.1
and 130.2 of this title (relating to Certification of Maximum Medical
Improvement and Evaluation of Permanent Impairment) to determine
whether an injured employee has reached MMI, that meets the follow-
ing conditions:

(i) the injured employee has been examined by the
treating doctor for the condition in question at least once before the
examination to certify MMI;

(ii) the injured employee consents to the examina-
tion to certify MMI by telehealth; and

(iii)  the condition in question qualifies as a minor in-
jury, such as §130.2(a)(2) of this title contemplates, requires no addi-
tional treatment, and has resulted in no impairment.

(B) The term does not include an examination to assign
an impairment rating conducted under §130.1 of this title.

(3) "Teledentistry services" means teledentistry dental ser-
vices as defined in Occupations Code §111.001.

(c) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, a
health care provider must bill for telemedicine, telehealth, and tele-
dentistry services according to applicable:

(1) Medicare payment policies, as defined in §134.203 of
this title (relating to Medical Fee Guideline for Professional Services);

(2) Medicaid payment policies, in accordance with the den-
tal fee guideline in §134.303 of this title (relating to 2005 Dental Fee
Guideline);

(3) MMI billing requirements in §134.250 of this title (re-
lating to Maximum Medical Improvement Evaluations and Impairment
Rating Examinations by Treating Doctors); and

(4) provisions of Chapter 133 of this title.

(d) A health care provider may bill and be reimbursed for
telemedicine, telehealth, or teledentistry services regardless of where
the injured employee is located at the time the telemedicine, telehealth,
or teledentistry services are provided.

(e) The provisions of this section take precedence over any
conflicting provisions adopted or used by:

(1) the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in ad-
ministering the Medicare program; and

(2) the Texas Health and Human Services Commission in
administering the Texas Medicaid Program.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 4,
2025.

TRD-202500384

Kara Mace

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation
Effective date: June 1, 2025

Proposal publication date: December 6, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 804-4703

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE

PART 2. DEPARTMENT OF ASSISTIVE
AND REHABILITATIVE SERVICES

CHAPTER 106. DIVISION FOR BLIND
SERVICES

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts the repeal of Chapter 106 in Texas Administrative Code
Title 40, Part 2, concerning Division for Blind Services. The
chapter consists of §§106.201, concerning, Purpose; 106.203,
concerning Legal Authority; 106.205, concerning Definitions;
106.307, concerning Application; 106.309, concerning Eligibility;
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106.311, concerning Prohibited Factors; 106.313, concerning
Eligibility Determination Time Frame; 106.315, concerning
Determination of Ineligibility; 106.317, concerning Case Clo-
sure; 106.407, concerning Provision of Services; 106.409,
concerning Assessment for Determining Eligibility, Vocational
Rehabilitation Needs, and Rehabilitation Technology Needs;
106.411, concerning Physical and Mental Restoration Services;
106.413, concerning Vocational and Other Training Services;
106.415, concerning Maintenance; 106.417, concerning Trans-
portation; 106.419, concerning Services to Family Members;
106.421, concerning Interpreter Services and Note-Taking Ser-
vices for Consumers Who Are Deaf and Tactile Interpreting for
Consumers Who Are Deafblind; 106.423, concerning Reader
Services and Rehabilitation Teaching Services; 106.425,
concerning Employment Assistance; 106.427, concerning
Post-Employment Services; 106.429, concerning Occupational
Licenses, Tools, Equipment, and Initial Stocks and Supplies;
106.431, concerning Assistive Technology Devices; 106.433,
concerning Individualized Plan for Employment (IPE); §106.501,
concerning Purpose of Consumer Participation; 106.507, con-
cerning Scope of Consumer Participation; 106.509, concerning
Refusal to Disclose Economic Resources; 106.607, concerning
Comparable Services and Benefits; 106.707, concerning Appli-
cation of an Order of Selection; 106.801, concerning Purpose;
106.803, concerning Legal Authority; 106.805, concerning Defi-
nitions; 106.807, concerning Eligibility; and 106.809, concerning
Certificate of Blindness for Tuition Waiver.

The repeals are adopted without changes to the proposed text as
published in the October 25, 2024, issue of the Texas Register
(49 TexReg 8566). The repeals will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

Senate Bill (S.B.) 200, 84th Regular Session, 2015, transferred
the functions of the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative
Services (DARS) to HHSC and S.B. 208, 84th Regular Session,
2015, transferred the Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) Program
from DARS to the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC). HHSC
has identified VR Program rules in 40 TAC Chapter 106, Division
for Blind Services, for repeal because HHSC no longer oversees
that program. TWC has adopted rules for the VR Program in Ti-
tle 40, Part 20, Chapter 856, so there will be no disruption to the
VR Program or to Texans receiving services.

COMMENTS
The 31-day comment period ended November 25, 2024.

During this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regard-
ing the proposed repeals.

SUBCHAPTER B. VOCATIONAL
REHABILITATION PROGRAM

DIVISION 1.  PROGRAM AND SUBCHAPTER
PURPOSE

40 TAC §§106.201, 106.203, 106.205

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Human Resources Code §117.073, which authorizes HHSC to
adopt rules necessary to administer services under that chapter
(concerning former DARS programs).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500364

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 840-8536

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. ELIGIBILITY

40 TAC §§106.307, 106.309, 106.311, 106.313, 106.315,
106.317

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Human Resources Code §117.073, which authorizes HHSC to
adopt rules necessary to administer services under that chapter
(concerning former DARS programs).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500365

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 840-8536

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. PROVISION OF VOCATIONAL
REHABILITATION SERVICES

40 TAC §§106.407, 106.409, 106.411, 106.413, 106.415,
106.417, 106.419, 106.421, 106.423, 106.425, 106.427,
106.429, 106.431, 106.433

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Human Resources Code §117.073, which authorizes HHSC to
adopt rules necessary to administer services under that chapter
(concerning former DARS programs).
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500366

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 840-8536

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. CONSUMER PARTICIPATION
40 TAC §§106.501, 106.507, 106.509
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Human Resources Code §117.073, which authorizes HHSC to
adopt rules necessary to administer services under that chapter
(concerning former DARS programs).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500367

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 840-8536

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. COMPARABLE BENEFITS

40 TAC §106.607
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Human Resources Code §117.073, which authorizes HHSC to
adopt rules necessary to administer services under that chapter
(concerning former DARS programs).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500368

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 840-8536

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. METHODS OF ADMINISTRA-
TION OF VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION
40 TAC §106.707

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Human Resources Code §117.073, which authorizes HHSC to
adopt rules necessary to administer services under that chapter
(concerning former DARS programs).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3,
2025.

TRD-202500369

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 840-8536

L4 L4 ¢
DIVISION 7. CERTIFICATE OF BLINDNESS
FOR TUITION WAIVER

40 TAC §§106.801, 106.803, 106.805, 106.807, 106.809
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, and Texas
Human Resources Code §117.073, which authorizes HHSC to
adopt rules necessary to administer services under that chapter
(concerning former DARS programs).

§106.809. Certificate of Blindness for Tuition Waiver:

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 3, L4 ¢ L4

2025.

TRD-202500370

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: February 23, 2025

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2024

For further information, please call: (512) 840-8536
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