EMERGENCY.

‘RULE

Emergency Rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and the repeals of existing
rules. A state agency may adopt an emergency rule without prior notice or hearing if the agency
finds that an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare, or a requirement of state or

federal law, requires adoption of a rule on fewer than 30 days' notice. An emergency rule may be effective for not longer than
120 days and may be renewed once for not longer than 60 days (Government Code, §2001.034).

TITLE 28. INSURANCE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 21. TRADE PRACTICES
SUBCHAPTER OO. DISCLOSURES BY
OUT-OF-NETWORK PROVIDERS

28 TAC §§21.4901 - 21.4904

The Commissioner of Insurance adopts new 28 TAC §§21.4901 -
21.4904, concerning disclosures by out-of-network providers, on
an emergency basis, effective January 1, 2020. The emergency
adoption is necessary to timely implement exceptions to balance
billing prohibitions in Insurance Code §§1271.157, 1271.158,
1301.164, 1301.165, 1551.229, 1551.230, 1575.172, 1575.173,
1579.110, and 1579.111, as enacted by Senate Bill 1264, 86th
Legislature, Regular Session (2019).

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The new rules interpret and
implement SB 1264, which prohibits balance billing for certain
health benefit claims under certain health benefit plans; pro-
vides exceptions to balance billing prohibitions; and authorizes
an independent dispute resolution process for claim disputes
between certain out-of-network providers and health benefit
plan issuers and administrators.

SB 1264's balance billing protections generally apply to enrollees
of health benefit plans offered by insurers and health mainte-
nance organizations that the department regulates, as well as to
the Texas Employees Group, the Texas Public School Employ-
ees Group, and the Texas School Employees Uniform Group.
The changes to law made by the bill apply to health care and
medical services or supplies provided on or after January 1,
2020.

The new rules implement the exceptions to balance billing
prohibitions found in Insurance Code §§1271.157, 1271.158,
1301.164, 1301.165, 1551.229, 1551.230, 1575.172, 1575.173,
1579.110, and 1579.111. The exceptions to balance billing pro-
hibitions are only applicable in non-emergencies when a health
benefit plan enrollee elects to receive covered health care or
medical services or supplies from a facility-based provider that
is not a participating provider for a health benefit plan, if the
service or supply is provided at a health care facility that is a
participating provider; or from a diagnostic imaging provider or
laboratory service provider that is not a participating provider
for a health benefit plan, if the service or supply is provided
in connection with a health care or medical service or supply
provided by a participating provider.

New §21.4901 addresses the purpose and applicability of new
Subchapter OO.

New §21.4902 provides that words and terms defined in Insur-
ance Code Chapter 1467 have the same meaning when used in
Subchapter OO, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

New §21.4903 clarifies that, for purposes of the exceptions to
the balance billing prohibitions, an enrollee's election is only valid
if the enrollee has a meaningful choice between an in-network
provider and an out-of-network provider, the enrollee was not
coerced by another provider or their health benefit plan into se-
lecting the out-of-network provider, and the enrollee signs a no-
tice and disclosure statement at least ten business days before
the service or supply is provided acknowledging that the enrollee
may be liable for a balance bill and chooses to proceed with the
service or supply anyway. Only an out-of-network provider that
chooses to balance bill an enrollee is required to provide a no-
tice and disclosure statement to the enrollee. The out-of-network
provider may choose to participate in SB 1264's claim dispute
resolution process instead of balance billing an enrollee. New
§21.4903 also adopts by reference the notice and disclosure
statement that must be filled out by the out-of-network provider
and given to the enrollee if the provider chooses to balance bill.

New §21.4904 requires health benefit plans to help their en-
rollees determine their financial responsibility for a service or
supply for which a notice and disclosure statement has been pro-
vided, consistent with Insurance Code §1661.002.

An emergency rule is necessary

Pursuant to Government Code §§2001.034 and 2001.036(a)(2),
the new rules are adopted on an emergency basis and with an
expedited effective date because an imminent peril to the pub-
lic health, safety, or welfare requires adoption on fewer than 30
days' notice.

SB 1264 was enacted by the Legislature to help protect Texans
from surprise balance bills, also known as surprise medical
bills, when the consumer has no choice regarding their medical
provider. When an insurance company fails to cover the cost
of a medical service or supply provided by a physician or other
provider that is not in the insurance company's network, the
provider typically bills the patient for the remaining balance
(including any applicable copayment, coinsurance, and de-
ductible). This is commonly referred to as "balance billing."
A balance bill is typically based on a provider's chargemaster
rate, which can be highly inflated. See In re N. Cypress Med.
Ctr. Operating Co., Ltd., 559 S.W.3d 128, 132 (Tex. 2018)
("Commentators lament the increasingly arbitrary nature of
chargemaster prices, noting that, over time, they have lost any
direct connection to costs[.]") (internal citation and quotations
omitted). One study found that Texas, at 27%, has the third
highest rate of out-of-network charges for services performed
at in-network facilities. See The Peterson Center on Healthcare
and Kaiser Family Foundation, An Examination of Surprise
Medical Bills and Proposals to Protect Consumers From Them,
October 2019, (www.healthsystemtracker.org/brief/an-exami-
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nation-of-surprise-medical-bills-and-proposals-to-protect-con-
sumers-from-them/).

Medical debt was a significant factor in almost 60% of U.S.
bankruptcies, according to a study published in the March
2019 American Journal of Public Health. The U.S. Consumer
Financial Bureau reported that medical bills accounted for
more than half of unpaid bills sent to collection agencies in
2014. For many consumers, a surprise balance bill can be
financially ruinous, which in turn will likely dissuade some
consumers from seeking necessary or advisable medical care
in the future. See Kaiser Family Foundation & Episcopal Health
Foundation, Texans' Experiences with Health Care Affordability
and Access, July 2018, (www.kff.org/health-costs/report/tex-
ans-experiences-health-care-affordability-access/) ("[R]oughly
six in ten [Texas residents] say someone in their household has
postponed or skipped some sort of medical care in the past
year because of the cost."). The impact of balance billing to the
public's health and financial welfare is clear.

To protect consumers, SB 1264 prohibits many out-of-network
providers from balance billing patients except in a very narrow
set of circumstances. The new rules are necessary to prevent
unscrupulous providers from exploiting the law's narrow excep-
tions to the balance billing prohibition, which would exacerbate
the balance billing emergency if allowed. Without the new rules,
a provider could demand that a patient sign away his or her
balance billing protections mere moments before the patient re-
ceives surgery or some other medical care. Furthermore, with-
out the new rule, the provider could slip an inconspicuous SB
1264 notice amongst a number of other forms that the enrollee
must review prior to the procedure. Patients could be forced
to make tough financial and health-related decisions in an ex-
tremely vulnerable state, potentially without even knowing the
balance billing protections they would be waiving. And if a pa-
tient hesitates or refuses to waive their balance billing protections
shortly before the procedure, there could be significant health
consequences if treatment is delayed or refused because of ar-
guments over billing between patient and provider.

Because SB 1264 governs health care or medical services or
supplies provided on or after January 1, 2020, the threat to con-
sumers' health and financial welfare is imminent. For services or
supplies provided before January 1, enrollees that receive a bal-
ance bill have the option to force their provider and health care
plan to participate in mediation over the bill. But with the passage
of SB 1264, enrollees will no longer have that option for services
or supplies provided on or after January 1. Instead, SB 1264
will protect consumers from the effects of balance billing with
new balance billing prohibitions and a claim dispute resolution
process. It is imperative that the new balance billing prohibitions
function as intended for the benefit of consumers, consistent with
SB 1264, and the new rules are designed to do just that. There-
fore, it is vital to the public health and welfare that the new rules
go into effect no later than January 1, 2020.

Future rulemaking

Under Government Code §2001.034, this emergency rule may
not be in effect for longer than 180 days. TDI intends to propose
this or a similar rule under the normal rulemaking process and
will consider any additional action necessary in the event unfore-
seen issues arise with the adopted sections. Future rulemaking
may also provide additional guidance.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The sections are adopted on an
emergency basis with an expedited effective date of Jan-
uary 1, 2020, under Insurance Code §§36.001, 752.0003(c),
and 1467.003; and Government Code §§2001.034 and
2001.036(a)(2).

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the
powers and duties of the Texas Department of Insurance under
the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

Insurance Code §752.0003(c) authorizes the Commissioner to
adopt rules as necessary to implement balance billing prohibi-
tions and exceptions to those prohibitions outlined in Insurance
Code §§1271.157, 1271.158, 1301.164, 1301.165, 1551.229,
1551.230, 1575.172, 1575.173, 1579.110, and 1579.111.

Insurance Code §1467.003 provides that the Commissioner may
adopt rules as necessary to implement the Commissioner's pow-
ers and duties under Insurance Code Chapter 1467.

Government Code §2001.034 provides that a state agency may
adopt an emergency rule without prior notice or hearing if the
agency finds that an imminent peril to the public health, safety,
or welfare requires adoption of a rule on fewer than 30 days'
notice.

Government Code §2001.036(a)(2) provides that if a state
agency finds that an expedited effective date is necessary
because of imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare,
and subject to applicable constitutional or statutory provisions, a
rule is effective immediately on filing with the secretary of state,
or on a stated date less than 20 days after the filing date.

$§21.4901. Purpose and Applicability.

(a) The purpose of this subchapter is to interpret and imple-
ment Insurance Code §§1271.157, 1271.158, 1301.164, 1301.165,
1551.229, 1551.230, 1575.172, 1575.173, 1579.110, and 1579.111;
and Insurance Code Chapter 1467.

(b) Section 21.4903 of this title is only applicable to a covered
nonemergency health care or medical service or supply provided by:

(1) a facility-based provider that is not a participating
provider for a health benefit plan, if the service or supply is provided
at a health care facility that is a participating provider; or

(2) a diagnostic imaging provider or laboratory service
provider that is not a participating provider for a health benefit plan, if
the service or supply is provided in connection with a health care or
medical service or supply provided by a participating provider.

$21.4902.  Definitions.

Words and terms defined in Insurance Code Chapter 1467 have the
same meaning when used in this subchapter, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise.

$21.4903.  Out-of-Network Notice and Disclosure Requirements.

(a) For purposes of this section a "balance bill" is a bill for
an amount greater than an applicable copayment, coinsurance, and
deductible under an enrollee's health care plan, as specified in Insur-
ance Code §§1271.157(c), 1271.158(c), 1301.164(c), 1301.165(c),
1551.229(c), 1551.230(c), 1575.172(c), 1575.173(c), 1579.110(c), or
1579.111(c).

(b) An out-of-network provider may not balance bill an en-
rollee receiving a nonemergency health care or medical service or sup-
ply, and the enrollee does not have financial responsibility for a balance
bill, unless the enrollee elects to obtain the service or supply from the
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out-of-network provider knowing that the provider is out-of-network
and the enrollee may be financially responsible for a balance bill. For
purposes of this subsection, an enrollee elects to obtain a service or
supply only if:

(1) the enrollee has a meaningful choice between a partici-
pating provider for a health benefit plan issuer or administrator and an
out-of-network provider. No meaningful choice exists if an out-of-net-
work provider was selected for or assigned to an enrollee by another
provider or health benefit plan issuer or administrator;

(2) the enrollee is not coerced by a provider or health ben-
efit plan issuer or administrator when making the election. A provider
engages in coercion if the provider charges or attempts to charge a non-
refundable fee, deposit, or cancellation fee for the service or supply
prior to the enrollee's election; and

(3) the out-of-network provider or the agent or assignee of
the provider provides written notice and disclosure to the enrollee and
obtains the enrollee's written consent, as specified in subsection (c) of
this section.

(c) If an out-of-network provider elects to balance bill an en-
rollee, rather than participate in claim dispute resolution under Insur-
ance Code Chapter 1467 and Subchapter PP of this title, the out-of-net-
work provider or agent or assignee of the provider must provide the en-
rollee with the notice and disclosure statement specified in subsection
(e) of this section prior to scheduling the nonemergency health care
or medical service or supply. To be effective, the notice and disclo-
sure statement must be signed and dated by the enrollee no less than
10 business days before the date the service or supply is performed or
provided. The enrollee may rescind acceptance within five business
days from the date the notice and disclosure statement was signed, as
explained in the notice and disclosure statement form.

(d) Each out-of-network provider must maintain a copy of the
notice and disclosure statement, signed and dated by the enrollee, for
four years. The provider must provide the enrollee with a copy of the
signed notice and disclosure statement on the same date the statement
is signed.

(e) The department adopts by reference Form AHO025 as
the notice and disclosure statement to be used under this section.
The notice and disclosure statement may not be modified, including
its format or font size, and must be presented to an enrollee as a
stand-alone document and not incorporated into any other document.
The form is available from the department by accessing its website at
www.tdi.texas.gov/forms.

(f) A provider who seeks and obtains an enrollee's signature
on a notice and disclosure statement under this section is not eligible to
participate in claim dispute resolution under Insurance Code Chapter
1467 and Subchapter PP of this title.

$21.4904.  Health Benefit Plan Issuer and Administrator Responsibil-
ity.

Consistent with Insurance Code §1661.002, a health benefit plan issuer
or administrator must assist an enrollee with evaluating the enrollee's
financial responsibility for a health care or medical service or supply

based on the information in the notice and disclosure statement pro-
vided to the enrollee under §21.4903 of this title.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the emer-
gency adoption and found it to be within the state agency's legal
authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 18,
2019.

TRD-201904899

James Person

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: January 1, 2020

Expiration date: April 30, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584
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