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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 4. AGRICULTURE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

CHAPTER 19. QUARANTINES AND
NOXIOUS AND INVASIVE PLANTS
SUBCHAPTER U. CITRUS CANKER
QUARANTINE

4 TAC §§19.400 - 19.408

The Texas Department of Agriculture (the Department or TDA)
adopts new Title 4, Chapter 19, Subchapter U, Citrus Canker
Quarantine, §§19.400 - 19.408, published in the November 8,
2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 6643), without
changes. These rules will not be republished.

The adoption of §§19.400 - 19.408 establishes requirements
and restrictions necessary to address dangers posed by destruc-
tive strains of citrus canker in parts of Brazoria, Cameron, Fort
Bend, and Harris counties. Previous requirements and restric-
tions were adopted on an emergency basis.

The Department did not receive any comments on the proposal.

The rules are adopted under the Texas Agriculture Code,
§73.004, which authorizes the Department to establish quar-
antines against citrus diseases and pests it determines are
injurious; §71.007, which authorizes the Department to adopt
rules as necessary to protect agricultural and horticultural inter-
ests, including rules to provide for specific treatment of a grove
or orchard or of infested or infected plants, plant products, or
substances and rules to provide for a program to manage or
eradicate exotic citrus diseases, including citrus canker and
citrus greening; and §12.020, which authorizes the Department
to assess administrative penalties for violations of Chapter 71
of the Texas Agriculture Code.

Chapters 12, 71, and 73 of the Texas Agriculture Code are af-
fected by the adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904864

Tim Kleinschmidt

General Counsel

Texas Department of Agriculture

Effective date: January 6, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 8, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 463-7476

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 1. RAILROAD COMMISSION OF
TEXAS

CHAPTER 3.
16 TAC §3.70

The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) adopts
amendments to §3.70, relating to Pipeline Permits Required,
without changes to the proposed text as published in the
October 18, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg
5965). The rule will not be republished. The amendments
clarify language related to production and flow lines, allow each
operator to renew all its permits in the same month, clarify fee
requirements for gathering pipelines, and reduce late fees for
operators with 50 miles or less of pipeline.

OIL AND GAS DIVISION

The Commission received one comment on the proposed
amendments from the Texas Oil and Gas Association (TXOGA).
However, the comment merely referenced the scope of §3.70
in its comments on the Commission's amendments to Chapter
8, which were proposed concurrently with the amendments to
§3.70; TXOGA did not comment on the content of proposed
amendments to §3.70. The Commission appreciates TXOGA's
review.

The amendments in subsection (a) reduce confusion regarding
when production or flow lines do not leave a lease and, there-
fore, do not need a permit. The current rule language only re-
quires production or flow lines to have a pipeline permit if the
production or flow line leaves a lease. The amendments re-
move the language related to whether a production or flow lines
leaves a lease in its entirety. Instead, the Commission will only
require a permit for those production and flow lines over which
the Commission has pipeline safety jurisdiction. The Commis-
sion currently exercises pipeline safety jurisdiction over two cat-
egories of production and flow lines: (1) certain onshore pipeline
and gathering production facilities, as defined in §8.1(a)(1)(B) of
this title (relating to General Applicability and Standards); and
(2) all pipeline facilities originating in Texas waters, as defined
in §8.1(a)(1)(D) of this title. The Commission does not have
pipeline safety jurisdiction over production and flow lines that
are not defined in §8.1(a)(1)(B) and §8.1(a)(1)(D) of this title, and
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therefore will no longer require a permit for those pipelines--even
if the pipelines leave a lease. The Commission adopts a defini-
tion of production and flow lines similar to the definition used in
API RP 80 to help reduce confusion. The Commission's inten-
tion is to clarify which production or flow lines require a permit.
To determine which lines require a permit, operators can per-
form the following analysis: if the production or flow line meets
either of the definitions in §8.1(a)(1)(B) and §8.1(a)(1)(D) of this
title, the operator is required to obtain a permit for the line; if the
production or flow line does not meet either of the definitions in
§8.1(a)(1)(B) and §8.1(a)(1)(D) of this title, the operator is not
required to obtain a permit for the line.

The amendments in subsection (i) clarify that the fee require-
ments for gathering pipelines regulated under new §8.110 (which
is part of amendments to Chapter 8 proposed concurrently with
the amendments to §3.70) are still designated as Group B and
will continue to pay an annual fee of $10 per mile of gather-
ing pipeline permitted to the operator. Other non-substantive
amendments are adopted in subsection (i).

Amendments in subsection (j) create a new annual permit re-
newal timeline beginning September 1, 2020. Currently, each
permit has a specific annual renewal date, which, generally, is
based on the date of permit application. Individual permit re-
newal is burdensome for both operators and Commission staff.
The amendments maintain the current renewal process for one
year, but beginning September 1, 2020, operators will renew all
their permits within a designated month assigned to operators
alphabetically. Operators whose names begin with the letters A
through C shall file in February; operators whose names begin
with the letters D through E shall file in March; operators whose
names begin with the letters F through L shall file in April; oper-
ators whose names begin with the letters M through P shall file
in May; operators whose names begin with the letters Q through
T shall file in June; and operators whose names begin with the
letters U through Z and operators whose names begin with nu-
merical values or other symbols shall file in July. For example,
beginning September 1, 2020, an operator whose name begins
with A shall pay all its permit renewals in February 2021.

New subsection (k) addresses renewal dates when permits are
transferred or an operator adds a new permit. Subsection (k)(1)
states that if a permit is transferred, in the Commission fiscal
year of the transfer the acquiring operator shall renew that per-
mit in its designated month. If the acquiring operator receives the
transferred permit in a Commission fiscal year after its renewal
month as passed, acquiring operator shall pay the renewal fee
upon transfer. Subsection (k)(2) states that if an operator adds
a new permit and pays the new permit fee, it is not required to
pay the renewal fee for that permit in the same Commission fis-
cal year. Subsection (k)(3) states that if an operator adds a new
permit after its renewal month has passed, the new permit shall
be renewed the following Commission fiscal year in the opera-
tor's designated month.

Amendments in subsection (I) reflect changes to the renewal
process in subsection (j).

New subsection (m) reduces the late fee for operators with a to-
tal mileage of 50 miles or less of pipeline who fail to pay the an-
nual mileage fee on time. Corresponding changes are adopted
in subsection (n) such that the existing late fees only apply to
operators with a total mileage of more than 50 miles of pipeline.

The Commission adopts the amendments to §3.70 pursuant
to Texas Natural Resources Code, §81.071, enacted by the
85th Legislature (Regular Session, 2017) in House Bill 1818,
which authorizes the Commission to establish pipeline safety
and regulatory fees to be assessed for permits or registrations
for pipelines under the jurisdiction of the Commission's pipeline
safety and regulatory program. Additionally, the Commission
proposes the amendments pursuant to §81.051 and §81.052,
which provide the Commission with jurisdiction over all persons
owning or operating pipelines in Texas and the authority to
adopt all necessary rules for governing and regulating persons
and their operations under the jurisdiction of the Commission;
Texas Natural Resources Code §81.0531, which authorizes the
Commission to assess a penalty for a violation of a provision of
Title 3 of the Texas Natural Resources Code, or a rule, order,
license, permit, or certificate that relates to pipeline safety;
§85.202, which authorizes the Commission to promulgate rules
requiring records to be kept and reports made, and providing for
the issuance of permits, tenders, and other evidences of permis-
sion when the issuance of the permits, tenders, or permission is
necessary or incident to the enforcement of the Commission's
rules for the prevention of waste; Texas Natural Resources
Code §86.041 and §86.042, which allow the Commission broad
discretion in adopting rules to prevent waste in the piping and
distribution of gas, require records to be kept and reports made,
and provide for the issuance of permits and other evidences
of permission when the issuance of the permit or permission
is necessary or incident to the enforcement of its blanket grant
of authority to make any rules necessary to effectuate the
law; Texas Natural Resources Code §111.131 and §111.132,
which authorize the Commission to promulgate rules for the
government and control of common carriers and public utilities;
Texas Natural Resources Code §§117.001 - 117.101, which
give the Commission jurisdiction over all pipeline transportation
of hazardous liquids or carbon dioxide and over all hazardous
liquid or carbon dioxide pipeline facilities as provided by 49
U.S.C. §§60101, et seq.; and Texas Utilities Code §§121.201
- 121.210, which authorize the Commission to adopt safety
standards and practices applicable to the transportation of gas
and associated pipeline facilities within Texas to the maximum
degree permissible under, and to take any other requisite action
in accordance with, 49 United States Code Annotated, §§60101,
et seq.

Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code §§81.051,
81.052, 81.0531, 81.071, 85.202, 86.041, 86.042, 111.131,
111.132, and §§117.001 - 117.101; Texas Utilities Code,
§8§121.201 - 121.210; and 49 United States Code Annotated,
§§60101, et seq.

Cross-reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code,
Chapter 81, Chapter 111, and Chapter 117; Texas Ultilities Code,
Chapter 121; and 49 United States Code Annotated, Chapter
601.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904869
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Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of General Counsel

Railroad Commission of Texas

Effective date: January 6, 2020

Proposal publication date: October 18, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295
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CHAPTER 8. PIPELINE SAFETY
REGULATIONS

The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) adopts
amendments in Subchapter A to §8.1 and §8.5, relating to Gen-
eral Applicability and Standards, and Definitions; in Subchapter
B to §§8.101, 8.115, 8.125 and 8.135, relating to Pipeline In-
tegrity Assessment and Management Plans for Natural Gas and
Hazardous Liquids Pipelines, New Construction Commence-
ment Report, Waiver Procedure, and Penalty Guidelines for
Pipeline Safety Violations; in Subchapter C to §§8.201, 8.205,
8.206, 8.209, 8.210, 8.225, 8.230, 8.235, and 8.240, relating to
Pipeline Safety and Regulatory Program Fees, Written Proce-
dure for Handling Natural Gas Leak Complaints, Risk-Based
Leak Survey Program, Distribution Facilities Replacements,
Reports, Plastic Pipe Requirements, School Piping Testing,
Natural Gas Pipelines Public Education and Liaison, and Dis-
continuance of Service, including one change in the title of
Subchapter C; in Subchapter D to §8.301 and §8.315 relating
to Required Records and Reporting, and Hazardous Liquids
and Carbon Dioxide Pipelines or Pipeline Facilities Located
Within 1,000 Feet of a Public School Building or Facility. The
Commission also adopts new §8.110, relating to Gathering
Pipelines, in Subchapter B.

The Commission adopts §§8.110, 8.115, and 8.301 with changes
and the remaining rules without changes from the proposed text
as published in the October 18, 2019, issue of the Texas Regis-
ter (44 TexReg 5969). Sections 8.110, 8.115, and 8.301 will be
republished. The other rules will not be republished.

The Commission received six comments, three of which were
from associations. The Commission received one comment
on §8.1. The Texas Oil and Gas Association (TXOGA) recom-
mended clarifying the provisions describing rule applicability.
Specifically, the Commission should clarify applicability of Chap-
ter 8 with regard to onshore pipeline and gathering facilities and
gathering and production beyond the first point of measurement
as described in §8.1(a)(1)(B). Because the Commission did
not propose changes on this topic, the Commission declines to
adopt the section with the requested changes. However, the
Commission will provide clarification regarding §8.1. Section
8.1(a)(1)(A) - (D) lists the pipelines and/or facilities that are
subject to the provisions of Chapter 8. Section 8.1(a)(1)(B)
describes onshore production/flow lines in Class 2, 3 or 4
locations beginning after the first point of measurement and
ending at the beginning of a gathering pipeline; therefore, those
lines are under the Commission's pipeline safety jurisdiction.
Onshore production/flow lines in Class 1 locations (the majority
of production/flow lines) are not listed in §8.1, and therefore are
not subject to the Commission's pipeline safety jurisdiction.

The Commission received one comment on §8.101. The Texas
Pipeline Association (TPA) requested deletion of deadlines
contained in the second and third sentences of subsection (b)
because the deadlines have passed and provide no historical
value. The Commission disagrees because retaining the dead-

lines would allow the Commission to require compliance if a
Commission inspector discovers an operator did not meet the
deadlines.

The Commission received three comments on §8.110. GPA
Midstream Association (GPA) said the term "reasonably pru-
dent manner" used in proposed §8.110(b) is too vague. GPA
suggested, "Each operator of a gathering pipeline . . . shall
take appropriate action to correct a hazardous condition that
creates a risk to public safety." GPA also requested that the
corrective action and prevention requirements in subsection (e)
be tied to the language suggested above. The Commission
agrees with both suggestions and adopts §8.110 with changes
to subsections (b) and (e) to address these comments. Finally,
GPA expressed support for proposed language that extends
incident and accident reporting to all gathering lines but re-
quested that the report be required in writing only because
telephonic reports are not always necessary in rural locations.
The Commission disagrees because the new rule will help the
Commission receive data on gathering lines in Class 1 and rural
locations. Telephonic reports will ensure the most accurate
data. However, as discussed below, the Commission adopts
§8.110 with a change to require only the written incident report
for certain hazardous liquids gathering lines subject to §8.110.

TXOGA also provided comments on §8.110. TXOGA requested
the Commission revise subsection (d) to include a clear defini-
tion of "a threat to public safety" and "a complaint related to pub-
lic safety." The Commission declines to adopt §8.110 with new
definitions that were not provided for public comment. TXOGA
also expressed opposition to language proposed in subsection
(c), which requires non-regulated gas and liquid gathering lines
in Class 1 locations and rural areas to follow the same reporting
requirements as regulated other gathering lines (i.e., an incident
or accident must be telephonically reported within one hour of
confirmed discovery). TXOGA states that §8.110(c) is inconsis-
tent with PHMSA requirements.

The Commission notes that the same day it approved proposed
amendments to Chapter 8, including new §8.110, PHMSA is-
sued a final rule that incorporated reporting requirements for lig-
uid gathering lines in rural areas. PHMSA's rule (84 FR 52260)
does not require telephonic notification within one hour of con-
firmed discovery for an accident on a liquid gathering line in a
rural location. Therefore, the Commission adopts §8.110(c)(2)
with a change to require only written notification in lieu of tele-
phonic notification of an accident on a liquid gathering line in a
rural location. A change was also made to §8.301 to align with
the new PHMSA rule. The Commission declines to make this
change for gas gathering lines.

TPA's comment on §8.110 requested that the Commission re-
place "reasonably prudent manner" with "utilizing processes and
technologies that are technically feasible, reasonable, cost-ef-
fective, and practicable." The Commission adopts §8.110(b) with
a change to incorporate language that is a combination of the
language suggested by GPA and TPA.

The Commission received six comments on §8.115. Center-
Point Energy requested narrowing subsection (a)(5) to apply to a
new subdivision or construction that results in a new distribution
system ID. The Commission agrees and adopts §8.115(a) with
the requested change. CenterPoint also requested revisions to
Form PS-48 to instruct operators to file the form via email. The
Commission agrees and will include such wording in upcoming
revisions to the form.

ADOPTED RULES
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CPS Energy requested clarification on whether the term
"pipelines" in §8.115(a) includes services installed on each
installation. The Commission confirms this is correct. CPS also
asked whether the installation length for joint trench installations
is the total length of pipe or the distance from originating point to
terminating point of the installation. The Commission confirms
that the installation length is the total length of pipe. Third,
CPS requested that natural gas distribution and master meter
systems be exempt from reporting requirements in subsection
(a)(2) and instead fall under subsection (a)(4). The Commission
agrees and notes that is the intent of subsection (a)(2), which
states, "except as provided in paragraphs (4) and (5)."

Relatedly, an individual requested that the Commission revise
(a)(2) to state, "Except as provided by paragraphs (4) and (5)..."
instead of only referencing paragraph (4). The Commission
agrees and adopts §8.110(a)(2) with that change. The same
individual asked whether operators are required to notify the
Commission 30 days in advance for extending a gas main 200
feet to reach a new customer. Due to changes adopted in
§8.115(a), the answer is no. Notification would only be required
in that instance if the extension was considered by the operator
to be a new subdivision or a new system ID. The individual
also requested a matrix to clarify which pipelines of which
length require which type of notification. The Commission will
monitor questions related to this amended provision and may
add a matrix or an explanation to the Commission's website if
warranted.

GPA expressed support for §8.115(a)(7), which exempts rural
gathering lines subject to new §8.110 from the construction re-
porting requirements. The Commission appreciates GPA's sup-
port.

TXOGA's comment on §8.115 stated requiring 30-day notifica-
tion prior to installation of any breakout tank is inconsistent with
PHMSA requirements. The proposed language creates situa-
tions where operators may need to delay replacement or instal-
lation of breakout tanks where an emergency request is not war-
ranted. The Commission agrees and adopts §8.115(a)(3) with
changes to address this concern. TXOGA also notes the require-
ment to notify the Commission of new, relocated, or replacement
pipeline 10 miles or more within 60 days is redundant of the re-
quirement in 49 CFR 191.22(c)(1)(ii) and 195.64(c)(1)(ii). The
Commission agrees the notification is duplicative of federal re-
quirements and the Commission has generally omitted duplica-
tive filings in Chapter 8 but filing a new construction report with
the Commission is still necessary because it affords the Com-
mission the opportunity to receive timely, complete information.

TPA requested removing the phrase "and other facilities" in
§8.115(a) because the remainder of the section sufficiently
clarifies the reporting requirements for each type of pipeline.
The Commission disagrees because the clarification provided
in the rule does not account for all facility types. TPA requested
revising subsection (a)(3) to include an exemption for temporary
breakout tanks. Due to comments from TXOGA and TPA on this
topic, the Commission adopts §8.115(a)(3) with changes. TPA
also asked that the Commission clarify the meaning of breakout
tanks. The Commission declines to clarify the meaning as the
term "breakout tank" is defined under 49 CFR Part 195. Any
tank meeting this definition would require notification.

The Commission received one comment on §8.210 from TPA.
TPA noted gathering operators will not have all of the informa-
tion needed to fully complete the required forms or reports for
incident and accident reporting. TPA requested a change that

allows these operators to respond that the required information
is not known. The Commission understands that gathering op-
erators may need to mark "unknown&€ in certain areas of the
forms or reports. However, it is the Commission's expectation
that gathering operators work to compile accurate data on their
lines. The Commission declines to make any changes to the rule
based on this comment.

Finally, the Commission received two comments on §8.301.
GPA stated that unlike related federal requirements, the pro-
posed language does not distinguish between accidents that
require telephonic reporting within one hour of discovery and
those that are minor such that they only require a 30-day written
report. GPA requested that §8.301 align with federal require-
ments instead of being more stringent. TPA also requested
the Commission align §8.301 with PHMSA requirements. The
Commission notes that the existing language is already more
stringent than its federal counterpart. The amendments merely
reorganize the section for clarification.

TPA expressed support for the clarifying amendments in §8.301
but requested the Commission replace the "and" between CFR
references with "or." The Commission agrees and adopts §8.301
with "or." TPA reiterated its comment on §8.210 that gathering
operators will not have all the information on their systems to
fully report incidents within the one-hour deadline. The Com-
mission understands gathering operators will not always have all
pertinent information but encourages these operators to compile
more accurate data on their lines.

The adopted amendments include non-substantive clarifications
and corrections in the following sections. Amendments in
§8.1(d), §8.210, §8.235, §8.301, and §8.315 require an operator
to retain copies of United States Department of Transporta-
tion (DOT) or certain other filings and provide copies to the
Commission only upon request. In §8.5, amendments to the
definitions of "applicant," "director," and "division" correct the
name of the Commission's division; amendments in §8.201
and §8.209 also correct the division name. Amendments in
§8.125(g) and (h) clarify references to the Hearings Division and
orders. An amendment in §8.230 corrects a statutory reference.
Amendments in §8.301 clarify accident reporting and other
existing wording.

The Commission adopts the amendment in §8.1(b) to update the
minimum safety standards and to adopt by reference the DOT
pipeline safety standards found in 49 CFR Part 192, Transporta-
tion of Natural and Other Gas by Pipeline: Minimum Federal
Safety Standards. Current subsection (b) adopted the federal
pipeline safety standards as of October 31, 2017. The amend-
ment amends the date to January 22, 2019, to capture the fed-
eral safety rule amendment summarized in the following para-
graph.

Docket No. PHMSA-2014-0098: Amdt. No. 192-124, amended
the Federal Pipeline Safety Regulations that govern the use of
plastic piping systems in the transportation of natural and other
gas. These amendments are necessary to enhance pipeline
safety, adopt innovative technologies and best practices, and
respond to petitions from stakeholders. The changes include
increasing the design factor of polyethylene pipe; increasing
the maximum pressure and diameter for Polyamide-11 pipe
and components; allowing the use of Polyamide-12 pipe and
components; new standards for risers, more stringent standards
for plastic fittings and joints; stronger mechanical fitting require-
ments; the incorporation by reference of certain new or updated
consensus standards for pipe, fittings, and other components;
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the qualification of procedures and personnel for joining plastic
pipe; the installation of plastic pipe; and a number of general
provisions. The effective date of these amendments is January
22, 2019.

As described in the following paragraphs, other adopted amend-
ments align Commission rules with federal regulations adopted
by the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
(PHMSA). PHMSA provides funding for state pipeline safety pro-
grams as long as those programs comply with PHMSA's min-
imum standards. Some of the amendments to Chapter 8 are
adopted to ensure Texas complies with those minimum stan-
dards and retains PHMSA funding.

Some amendments change the term "natural gas" to "gas" to
clarify that propane gas distribution systems must also comply
with requirements for distribution systems. These amendments
in §8.5 include the definitions for "master metered system," "nat-
ural gas or other gas supplier," "person responsible for a school
facility," and "school facility". Amendments are also adopted in
§8.5 to align the definition of "private school" with the definition
provided in the Texas Education Code. Amendments in §8.205
also change the term "natural gas" to "gas", and the title of Sub-
chapter C includes a corresponding change.

The amendments in §8.101(b)(1)(C)(iii) delete the director ap-
proval requirement for direct assessment and make other non-
substantive corrections. Director approval for direct assessment
is no longer needed because there is now a National Association
of Corrosion Engineers (NACE) standard for direct assessment
which was not available when §8.101 was originally adopted. A
related change removes a request to use the direct assessment
method from the definition of "applicant" in §8.1(2). A change to
§8.101(e) removes outdated language.

Adopted new rule §8.110 implements certain Commission juris-
diction over gathering pipelines in Class 1 locations and rural ar-
eas, which was granted by the legislature in House Bill 2982 dur-
ing the 83rd Legislative Session. Specifically, House Bill 2982
granted the Commission authority to establish safety standards
and practices for gas gathering pipelines and facilities in Class
1 locations and hazardous liquids and carbon dioxide gathering
pipelines and facilities in rural areas. House Bill 2982 mandated
that, for the first two years the statutes were in effect, the Com-
mission could only implement the changes to provide a process
for the Commission to investigate an accident, an incident, a
threat to public safety, or a complaint, and to require an oper-
ator to submit a plan to remediate the same.

As aresult, since September 1, 2013, the Commission has been
investigating incidents and accidents on Class 1 gathering lines
and rural gathering lines and responding to complaints and other
threats to the public. However, the Commission did not have reg-
ulations requiring reporting during this time. As a direct result of
its investigation and response efforts, the Commission has rec-
ognized the need to compile more accurate and complete infor-
mation regarding the incidents and accidents that are occurring
on gathering systems located in Class 1 locations and rural ar-
eas.

The rules adopted by the Commission pursuant to House Bill
2982 must be based on the risks the transportation and facilities
present to the public safety. Adopted amendments in §8.110(a)
define the scope of the rule. Section 8.110(b) is adopted with
a change to require an operator of a gathering line in a Class 1
location or rural area as defined in subsection (a) to take appro-
priate action using processes and technologies that are tech-

nically feasible, reasonable, and practicable to correct a haz-
ardous condition that creates a risk to public safety. Adopted
§8.110(c) requires operators subject to the rule to report inci-
dents and accidents to the Commission pursuant to the Com-
mission's reporting requirements. Subsection (d) requires op-
erators to conduct an investigation after an incident or accident
and cooperate with the Commission during the Commission's in-
vestigation. Subsection (e) is adopted with a change to ensure
the corrective action plan requirement is related to a risk to pub-
lic safety. Subsection (e) allows the Commission to require the
operator to submit a corrective action plan to the Commission
to remediate an accident, incident, or other hazardous condition
that creates a risk to public safety, or to address a complaint the
Commission has confirmed relates to public safety. Complaints
will be verified by the Commission before it will require an oper-
ator to submit a remediation/corrective action plan in response.
The reporting, investigation, and corrective action requirements
will allow the Commission to gather accurate data and analyze
any trends in incident or accident occurrences. This will allow
the Commission to more thoroughly assess the risks gathering
lines in Class 1 locations and rural areas present to the public
safety.

Adopted amendments in §8.115 amend the time period during
which each operator must notify the Commission regarding the
construction of pipelines and other facilities. For construction of
10 or more miles of a new, relocated, or replacement pipeline,
the operator shall notify the Commission not later than 60 days
before construction, which aligns with current PHMSA require-
ments. The 60-day requirement applies to all pipeline opera-
tors, including gas distribution companies, master meter sys-
tems, and liquified petroleum gas distribution companies. For
construction of one or more but less than 10 miles of a new, re-
located, or replacement pipeline (excluding gas distribution com-
panies, master meter systems, and liquified petroleum gas distri-
bution companies), an operator shall notify the Commission not
later than 30 days before construction.

The Commission adopts different requirements for new con-
struction, relocations, or replacements less than 10 miles in
length on natural gas distribution systems, liquified petroleum
gas distribution systems, and master meter systems. For re-
located or replacement construction on liquified petroleum gas
distribution systems, natural gas distribution systems, or master
meter systems less than three miles in length, no construction
notification is required. For relocated or replacement construc-
tion on natural gas distribution systems, liquified petroleum gas
distribution systems, or master meter systems three or more
miles in length but less than 10 miles in length, in lieu of notifying
the Commission 30 days prior to construction, an operator may
provide to the Commission a monthly report that reflects all
known projects planned to be completed in the following 12
months, all projects that are currently in construction, and all
projects completed since the prior monthly report. The report
should provide the status of the project, the city and county of
location, a description of the project, and the estimated com-
mencement date and end date. The amendments also provide
the option for providing a monthly report for new construction of
a new liquefied petroleum gas distribution system, natural gas
distribution system, or master meter system less than 10 miles
in length that results in a new subdivision or a new system ID.
The option to file a monthly report will reduce the large number
of reports that would be required for large distribution operators
who replace and relocate lines often, while still giving small
distribution operators the flexibility to simply file a construction
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report. Amended §8.115 also requires notification of the instal-
lation of any breakout tank.

Amendments to §8.115 retain the requirement that the construc-
tion report be filed with the Commission on a Form PS-48, except
for natural gas distribution systems, liquified petroleum gas dis-
tribution system, and master meter systems, for which operators
have the option to file a monthly report in certain circumstances
as described in §8.115(a)(4) and (5). The amendments also clar-
ify that if notification is not feasible because of an emergency,
an operator must notify the Commission as soon as practicable.
Furthermore, the amendments specify that construction reports
will be valid for a period of eight months from the time they are
filed with the Commission. If construction is not commenced dur-
ing that eight-month period, the construction report expires and
the operator must file a new report. In the alternative, operators
may request one six-month extension on the original construc-
tion report. Operators may submit their request for extension to
safety@rrc.texas.gov before the original construction report ex-
pires. The expiration date and limited renewal will ensure that
the Commission has accurate records. The Commission has
authority to conduct new construction inspections, and for plan-
ning purposes and efficient use of state resources it is important
for the Pipeline Safety Department to have accurate records re-
garding when construction is set to commence. Section 8.115
(a)(2), (a)(3), and (a)(5) are adopted with changes to address
comments on the proposed language, as discussed above.

Amendments in §8.125(a) and (g)(2) clarify that an operator must
request a waiver and before the operator engages in the activi-
ties covered by the proposed waiver.

Amendments in §8.135 include clarifications to the tables for
penalty guidelines and penalty worksheet in order to include sub-
parts from 49 CFR Parts 192 and 195 that are not currently ad-
dressed, as well as include penalties for violations of §8.110. The
amendments also revise the statutory reference for the Commis-
sion's penalty jurisdiction over pipeline safety violations since
House Bill 866 (86th Legislature) expands the authority under
which the Commission may assess an administrative penalty for
pipeline safety violations.

Amendments in §8.206 remove dates that have passed and,
therefore, are no longer applicable. The amendments in
§8.206(c) and (f) also add an additional three months in which
to comply with each deadline prescribed by the rule, which is
consistent with federal requirements.

Amendments in §8.209 remove dates that have passed and,
therefore, are no longer applicable. For example, the Commis-
sion deletes former subsection (f)(1) because there are no longer
priority 1 lines that meet the criteria in that provision or that could
be replaced by that date. The amendments in §8.209(h) also im-
plement House Bill 866 from the 86th Legislative Session, which
requires operators to annually remove or replace at least eight
percent of underground distribution gas pipeline facilities posing
the greatest risk in the system and identified for replacement un-
der the program. Eight percent is an increase from the current
requirement of five percent. The amendments in new subsection
(k) also implement House Bill 866 and prohibit a distribution gas
pipeline facility operator from installing cast iron, wrought iron, or
bare steel pipelines in its underground system. Any known exist-
ing cast iron pipelines are required to be replaced by December
31, 2021.

Amendments in §8.210 implement House Bill 864 from the 86th
Legislative Session. These amendments require the telephonic

report to be due at the earliest practical moment, but at the lat-
est one hour following confirmed discovery of a pipeline leak
or incident. One hour is also the current PHMSA reporting re-
quirement. Other amendments that implement House Bill 864
include a requirement to submit an additional report to the Com-
mission when more information is known by distribution opera-
tors and a requirement in subsection (e) that the Commission re-
tain pipeline incident records perpetually. The amendments also
eliminate the requirement for operators to submit written DOT in-
cident forms and annual reports to the Commission and instead
require operators to retain them and provide them to the Com-
mission upon request.

An amendment in §8.210(e) deletes references to a regulated
plastic gas gathering line and a plastic gas transmission line from
the requirement for reporting repaired leaks to the Division.

The amendments in §8.225 delete most of the current wording
now covered by Distribution Integrity Management Program
(DIMP) requirements and adds that operators shall retain all
records relating to plastic pipe installation in accordance with
49 CFR Part 192 and provide such records to the Commission
upon request.

Adopted new wording in §8.240 adds requirements for "soft
close" programs to be utilized by distribution operators for
certain customer accounts in certain short-term situations.
Allowing soft-close procedures will allow distribution operators
and customers an easy transition from one customer to another.

Section 8.301(a)(1)(B) and Section 8.301(a)(2)(B) are adopted
with a change to conform with adopted changes in §8.110, which
require only written notification in lieu of telephonic notification of
an accident on a liquid gathering line in a rural location. Amend-
ments in §8.301 clarify that the telephonic report for other ac-
cidents involving crude oil is due at the earliest practical mo-
ment, but at the latest one hour following confirmed discovery of
a pipeline accident. One hour is also the current PHMSA report-
ing requirement. The amendments also eliminate the require-
ment for operators to submit written Department of Transporta-
tion incident forms and annual reports to the Commission and
instead requires operators to retain them and provide them to
the Commission upon request.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL REQUIRE-
MENTS AND DEFINITIONS
16 TAC §8.1, §8.5

Statutory Authority: The Commission adopts the amendments
under Texas Natural Resources Code, §81.051 and §81.052,
which give the Commission jurisdiction over all common car-
rier pipelines in Texas, persons owning or operating pipelines
in Texas, and their pipelines and oil and gas wells, and autho-
rize the Commission to adopt all necessary rules for govern-
ing and regulating persons and their operations under the ju-
risdiction of the Commission, including such rules as the Com-
mission may consider necessary and appropriate to implement
state responsibility under any federal law or rules governing such
persons and their operations; Texas Natural Resources Code,
§§117.001-117.101, which give the Commission jurisdiction over
all pipeline transportation of hazardous liquids or carbon dioxide
and over all hazardous liquid or carbon dioxide pipeline facili-
ties as provided by 49 U.S.C. Section 60101, ef seq.; and Texas
Utilities Code, §§121.201-121.211, 121.213-121.214; §121.251
and §121.253, §§121.5005-121.507; which authorize the Com-
mission to adopt safety standards and practices applicable to the
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transportation of gas and to associated pipeline facilities within
Texas to the maximum degree permissible under, and to take
any other requisite action in accordance with, 49 United States
Code Annotated, §§60101, et seq.

Cross-reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code,
Chapter 81 and Chapter 117; Texas Utilities Code, Chapter 121;
and 49 United States Code Annotated, Chapter 601.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904856

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of General Counsel

Railroad Commission of Texas

Effective date: January 6, 2020

Proposal publication date: October 18, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL
PIPELINES
16 TAC §§8.101, 8.110, 8.115, 8.125, 8.135

Statutory Authority: The Commission adopts the amendments
under Texas Natural Resources Code, §81.051 and §81.052,
which give the Commission jurisdiction over all common car-
rier pipelines in Texas, persons owning or operating pipelines
in Texas, and their pipelines and oil and gas wells, and autho-
rize the Commission to adopt all necessary rules for govern-
ing and regulating persons and their operations under the ju-
risdiction of the Commission, including such rules as the Com-
mission may consider necessary and appropriate to implement
state responsibility under any federal law or rules governing such
persons and their operations; Texas Natural Resources Code,
§§117.001-117.101, which give the Commission jurisdiction over
all pipeline transportation of hazardous liquids or carbon dioxide
and over all hazardous liquid or carbon dioxide pipeline facili-
ties as provided by 49 U.S.C. Section 60101, et seq.,; and Texas
Utilities Code, §§121.201-121.211, 121.213-121.214; §121.251
and §121.253, §§121.5005-121.507; which authorize the Com-
mission to adopt safety standards and practices applicable to the
transportation of gas and to associated pipeline facilities within
Texas to the maximum degree permissible under, and to take
any other requisite action in accordance with, 49 United States
Code Annotated, §§60101, ef seq.

Cross-reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code,
Chapter 81 and Chapter 117; Texas Utilities Code, Chapter 121;
and 49 United States Code Annotated, Chapter 601.

$§8.110.  Gathering Pipelines.

(a) Scope. This section applies to the following gathering
pipelines:

(1) natural gas gathering pipelines located in a Class 1 lo-
cation not regulated by 49 CFR §192.8 or §8.1 of this title (relating to
General Applicability and Standards); and

(2) hazardous liquids and carbon dioxide gathering
pipelines located in a rural area as defined by 49 CFR §195.2 and not
regulated by 49 CFR §195.1, 49 CFR §195.11, or §8.1 of this title.

(b) Safety. Each operator of a gathering pipeline described in
subsection (a) of this section shall take appropriate action using pro-
cesses and technologies that are technically feasible, reasonable, and
practicable to correct a hazardous condition that creates a risk to public
safety.

(¢) Reporting.

(1) Each operator of a gas gathering pipeline described in
subsection (a) of this section shall comply with §8.210(a) of this title
(relating to Reports).

(2) Each operator of a hazardous liquids pipeline described
in subsection (a) of this section shall comply with §8.301(a)(1)(B) and
(a)(2)(B) of this title (relating to Required Records and Reporting) ex-
cept that the initial telephonic report is not required.

(d) Investigation.

(1) Each operator of a gathering pipeline described in sub-
section (a) of this section shall conduct its own investigation and co-
operate with the Commission and its authorized representatives in the
investigation of any of the following:

(A) anaccident as defined by 49 CFR §195.50;
(B) an incident as defined by 49 CFR §191.3;
(C) a threat to public safety; or

(D) acomplaint related to operational safety.

(2) Each operator shall provide the Commission reasonable
access to the operator's facilities, provide the Commission any records
related to such facilities, and file such reports or other information nec-
essary to determine whether there is a threat to the continuing safe op-
eration of the pipeline.

(e) Corrective action and prevention of recurrence. As a result
of the investigations authorized under subsection (d) of this section,
the Commission may require the operator to submit a corrective action
plan to the Commission to remediate an accident, incident, or other
hazardous condition that creates a risk to public safety, or to address a
complaint related to public safety. Upon the Commission's review and
approval of the corrective action plan, the operator shall complete the
corrective action. No provision of this rule prevents the operator from
implementing any corrective action at any time the operator deems nec-
essary or prudent to correct or prevent a threat to the safe operation of
the gathering pipeline and pipeline facilities.

§8.115.  New Construction Commencement Report.

(a) An operator shall notify the Commission before the con-
struction of pipelines and other facilities as follows.

(1) For construction of a new, relocated, or replacement
pipeline 10 miles in length or longer including liquified petroleum gas
distribution systems, natural gas distribution systems, and master me-
ter systems 10 miles in length or longer, an operator shall notify the
Commission not later than 60 days before construction.

(2) Exceptas provided in paragraphs (4) and (5) of this sub-
section, for construction of a new, relocated, or replacement pipeline at
least one mile in length but less than 10 miles, an operator shall notify
the Commission not later than 30 days before construction.

(3) For installation of any permanent breakout tank, an op-
erator shall notify the Commission not later than 30 days before instal-
lation. For installation of mobile, temporary, or prefabricated breakout
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tanks, an operator shall notify the Commission upon placing the mo-
bile, temporary, or prefabricated breakout tank in service.

(4) For relocated or replacement construction on liquified
petroleum gas distribution systems, natural gas distribution systems, or
master meter systems less than three miles in length, no construction
notification is required. For relocated or replacement construction on
liquified petroleum gas distribution systems, natural gas distribution
systems, or master meter systems at least three miles in length but less
than 10 miles in length, an operator shall either:

(A) notify the Commission not later than 30 days before
construction by filing a Form PS-48 for every relocated or replacement
construction; or

(B) provide to the Commission a monthly report that re-
flects all known projects planned to be completed in the following 12
months, all projects that are currently in construction, and all projects
completed since the prior monthly report. The report should provide
the status of each project, the city and county of each project, a descrip-
tion of each project, and the estimated starting and ending date.

(5) For the construction of a new liquefied petroleum gas
distribution system, natural gas distribution system, or master meter
system less than 10 miles in length in a new subdivision or that results
in a new distribution system ID, an operator shall either:

(A) notify the Commission not later than 30 days before
construction by filing a Form PS-48 for every initial construction; or

(B) provide to the Commission a monthly report that re-
flects all known projects planned to be completed in the following 12
months, all projects that are currently in construction, and all projects
completed since the prior monthly report. The report should provide
the status of each project, the city and county of each project, a descrip-
tion of each project, and the estimated starting and ending date.

(6) For construction of a sour gas pipeline and/or pipeline
facilities, as defined in §3.106 of this title (relating to Sour Gas Pipeline
Facility Construction Permit), an operator shall notify the Commission
not later than 30 days before construction by filing Form PS-48 and
Form PS-79.

(7) Pipelines subject to §8.110 of'this title (relating to Gath-
ering Pipelines) are exempt from the construction notification require-
ment.

(b) Any of the notifications required by subsection (a) of this
section, unless an operator elects to use the alternative notification al-
lowed by subsection (a)(4) of this section, shall be made by filing with
the Commission Form PS-48 stating the proposed originating and ter-
minating points for the pipeline, counties to be traversed, size and type
of pipe to be used, type of service, design pressure, and length of the
proposed line. If a notification is not feasible because of an emergency,
an operator must notify the Commission as soon as practicable. A Form
PS-48 that has been filed with the Commission shall expire if construc-
tion is not commenced within eight months of date the report is filed.
An operator may submit one extension, which will keep the report ac-
tive for an additional six months. After one extension, Form PS-48 will
expire.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and ound it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904857

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of General Counsel

Railroad Commission of Texas

Effective date: January 6, 2020

Proposal publication date: October 18, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. REQUIREMENTS FOR
NATURAL GAS PIPELINES ONLY

16 TAC §§8.201, 8.205, 8.206, 8.209, 8.210, 8.225, 8.230,
8.235, 8.240

Statutory Authority: The Commission adopts the amendments
under Texas Natural Resources Code, §81.051 and §81.052,
which give the Commission jurisdiction over all common car-
rier pipelines in Texas, persons owning or operating pipelines
in Texas, and their pipelines and oil and gas wells, and autho-
rize the Commission to adopt all necessary rules for govern-
ing and regulating persons and their operations under the ju-
risdiction of the Commission, including such rules as the Com-
mission may consider necessary and appropriate to implement
state responsibility under any federal law or rules governing such
persons and their operations; Texas Natural Resources Code,
§§117.001-117.101, which give the Commission jurisdiction over
all pipeline transportation of hazardous liquids or carbon dioxide
and over all hazardous liquid or carbon dioxide pipeline facili-
ties as provided by 49 U.S.C. Section 60101, ef seq.; and Texas
Utilities Code, §§121.201-121.211, 121.213-121.214; §121.251
and §121.253, §§121.5005-121.507; which authorize the Com-
mission to adopt safety standards and practices applicable to the
transportation of gas and to associated pipeline facilities within
Texas to the maximum degree permissible under, and to take
any other requisite action in accordance with, 49 United States
Code Annotated, §§60101, et seq.

Cross-reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code,
Chapter 81 and Chapter 117; Texas Utilities Code, Chapter 121;
and 49 United States Code Annotated, Chapter 601.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,

2019.

TRD-201904858

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of General Counsel

Railroad Commission of Texas

Effective date: January 6, 2020

Proposal publication date: October 18, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

3 ¢ 3
SUBCHAPTER D. REQUIREMENTS FOR
HAZARDOUS LIQUIDS AND CARBON
DIOXIDE PIPELINES ONLY
16 TAC §8.301, §8.315
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Statutory Authority: The Commission adopts the amendments
under Texas Natural Resources Code, §81.051 and §81.052,
which give the Commission jurisdiction over all common car-
rier pipelines in Texas, persons owning or operating pipelines
in Texas, and their pipelines and oil and gas wells, and autho-
rize the Commission to adopt all necessary rules for govern-
ing and regulating persons and their operations under the ju-
risdiction of the Commission, including such rules as the Com-
mission may consider necessary and appropriate to implement
state responsibility under any federal law or rules governing such
persons and their operations; Texas Natural Resources Code,
§§117.001-117.101, which give the Commission jurisdiction over
all pipeline transportation of hazardous liquids or carbon dioxide
and over all hazardous liquid or carbon dioxide pipeline facili-
ties as provided by 49 U.S.C. Section 60101, ef seq.; and Texas
Utilities Code, §§121.201-121.211, 121.213-121.214; §121.251
and §121.253, §§121.5005-121.507; which authorize the Com-
mission to adopt safety standards and practices applicable to the
transportation of gas and to associated pipeline facilities within
Texas to the maximum degree permissible under, and to take
any other requisite action in accordance with, 49 United States
Code Annotated, §§60101, et seq.

Cross-reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code,
Chapter 81 and Chapter 117; Texas Utilities Code, Chapter 121;
and 49 United States Code Annotated, Chapter 601.

§8.301.  Required Records and Reporting.

(a) Accident reports. In the event of any failure or accident in-
volving an intrastate pipeline facility from which any hazardous liquid
or carbon dioxide is released, if the failure or accident is required to be
reported by 49 CFR §§195.50 or 195.52, the operator shall also report
to the Commission as follows.

(1) Accidents involving crude oil. In the event of an acci-
dent involving crude oil, the operator shall:

(A) notify the Division, which shall notify the Commis-
sion's appropriate Oil and Gas district office, by telephone to the Com-
mission's emergency line at (512) 463-6788 at the earliest practicable
moment but no later than one hour following confirmed discovery of
the accident and include the following information:

(i) company/operator name;

(ii) location of accident;

(iii) time and date of accident;

(iv) fatalities and/or personal injuries;
(v) phone number of operator;

(vi) telephone number of operator;

(vii) telephone number of the operator's on-site per-
son;

(viii)  other significant facts relevant to the accident,
such as ignition, explosion, rerouting of traffic, evacuation of any build-
ing, and media interest; and

(B) following the initial telephonic report for accidents
described in paragraph (1) of this subsection, the operator shall retain
its records and provide to the Commission upon request the applicable
written reports submitted to the DOT. Operators of hazardous liquids
gathering pipelines regulated by §8.110 of this title (relating to Gath-
ering Pipelines) shall file with the Commission a written report on an
accident described in paragraph (1) of this subsection utilizing the ap-
plicable form from the DOT within 30 calendar days after the date of
the accident.

(2) Accidents involving hazardous liquids, other than
crude oil, and carbon dioxide. For accidents involving hazardous
liquids, other than crude oil, and carbon dioxide, the operator shall:

(A) notify the Division of such accident by telephone
to the Commission's emergency line at (512) 463-6788 at the earliest
practicable moment following confirmed discovery (within one hour)
and include the information listed in paragraph (1)(A)(i) - (viii) of this
subsection; and

(B) within 30 days of discovery of the accident, com-
plete and retain the written report as required by 49 CFR Part 195. An
operator shall provide a copy of the accident report to the Commission
upon request. Operators of hazardous liquids gathering pipelines reg-
ulated by §8.110 of this title shall file with the Commission a written
report on an accident described in paragraph (2) of this subsection uti-
lizing the applicable form from the DOT within 30 calendar days after
the date of the accident.

(b) Annual report. Each operator shall retain the annual report
required by 49 CFR Part 195 for its intrastate systems. An operator
shall provide a copy of the annual report to the Commission upon re-
quest.

(c) Safety-related condition reports. Each operator shall sub-
mit to the Division in writing a safety-related condition report for any
condition specified in 49 CFR Part 195.

(d) Facility response plans. An operator required to file an ini-
tial or a revised facility response plan, prepared under the Oil Pollution
Act of 1990 for all or any part of a hazardous liquid pipeline facility
located landward of the coast, with the Department of Transportation
is not required to concurrently file the plan with the Commission, but
shall retain a copy and provide it to the Commission upon request.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904860

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of General Counsel

Railroad Commission of Texas

Effective date: January 6, 2020

Proposal publication date: October 18, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

¢ L4 ¢
CHAPTER 9. LP-GAS SAFETY RULES

The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) adopts
amendments to the following rules in Subchapter A, General
Requirements: §§9.1-9.18, relating to Application of Rules,
Severability, and Retroactivity; Definitions; LP-Gas Forms;
Records; Effect of Safety Violations; License Categories, Con-
tainer Manufacturer Registration, and Fees; Applications for
Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, and Renewals; Require-
ments and Application for a New Certificate; Requirements
for Certificate Holder Renewal; Rules Examination; Transfer
of Employees; Trainees; General Installers and Repairman
Exemption; Military Fee Exemption; Penalty Guidelines for
LP-Gas Safety Violations; Hearings for Denial, Suspension,
or Revocation of Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, or
Certificates; Designation and Responsibilities of Company

ADOPTED RULES

January 3, 2020 45 TexReg 127


https://9.1-9.18

Representatives and Operations Supervisors; and Reciprocal
Examination Agreements with Other States; §9.21 and §9.22,
relating to Franchise Tax Certification and Assumed Name
Certificates; and Changes in Ownership, Form of Dealership,
or Name of Dealership; §§9.26-9.28, relating to Insurance and
Self-Insurance Requirements; Application for an Exception to a
Safety Rule; and Reasonable Safety Provisions; §§9.35-9.38,
relating to Written Procedure for LP-Gas Leaks; Report of
LP-Gas Incident/Accident; Termination of LP-Gas Service; and
Reporting Unsafe LP-Gas Activities; §9.41, relating to Testing of
LP-Gas Systems in School Facilities; §9.51 and §9.52, relating
to General Requirements for LP-Gas Training and Continuing
Education; and Training and Continuing Education; and §9.54,
relating to Commission-Approved Outside Instructors.

In Subchapter B, LP-Gas Installations, Containers, Appur-
tenances, and Equipment Requirements, the Commission
adopts amendments to §§9.101-9.103, relating to Filings Re-
quired for Stationary LP-Gas Installations; Notice of Stationary
LP-Gas Installations; and Objections to Proposed Stationary
LP-Gas Installations; amendments to §§9.107-9.110, relat-
ing to Hearings on Stationary LP-Gas Installations; Interim
Approval Order for Stationary LP-Gas Installations; Physical
Inspection of Stationary LP-Gas Installations; and Emergency
Use of Proposed Stationary LP-Gas Installations; amendments
to §§9.113-9.116, relating to Installation and Maintenance;
Odorizing and Reports; Examination and Testing of Containers;
and Container Corrosion Protection System; §9.126, relating
to Appurtenances and Equipment; §§9.129-9.132, relating to
Manufacturer's Nameplate and Markings on ASME Containers;
Commission Identification Nameplates; 200 PSIG Working
Pressure Stationary Vessels; and Sales to Unlicensed Individu-
als; §§9.134-9.137, relating to Connecting Container to Piping;
Unsafe or Unapproved Containers, Cylinders, or Piping; Filling
of DOT Containers; and Inspection of Cylinders at Each Filling;
§89.140-9.143, relating to System Protection Requirements ;
Uniform Safety Requirements; LP-Gas Container Storage and
Installation Requirements; and Piping and Valve Protection for
Stationary LP-Gas Installations with Individual or Aggregate
Water Capacities of 4,001 Gallons or More.

In Subchapter C, Vehicles, the Commission adopts amend-
ments to §§9.201-9.204, relating to Applicability; Registration
and Transfer of LP-Gas Transports or Container Delivery Units;
School Bus, Public Transportation, Mass Transit, and Special
Transit Vehicle Installations and Inspections; and Maintenance
of Vehicles; §9.206, relating to Vehicle ldentification Labels;
§9.208 relating to Testing Requirements; and §9.211 and
§9.212, relating to Markings; and Manifests.

In Subchapter D, Adoption by Reference of NFPA 54 (National
Fuel Gas Code), the Commission adopts amendments to
§§9.301-9.303, relating to Adoption by Reference of NFPA 54;
Clarification of Certain Terms Used in NFPA 54; and Exclusion of
NFPA 54, §10.28; new §9.304, relating to Unvented Appliances;
amendments to §§9.306-9.308, relating to Room Heaters in
Public Buildings; Identification of Converted Appliances; and
Installation of Piping; §9.311, relating to Special Exceptions
for Agricultural and Industrial Structures Regarding Appliance
Connectors and Piping Support; and §9.313, relating to Sec-
tions in NFPA 54 Adopted with Additional Requirements or Not
Adopted. The Commission also adoopts the repeal of §9.312,
relating to Certification Requirements for Joining Methods.

In Subchapter E, Adoption by Reference of NFPA 58 (LP-Gas
Code), the Commission adopts amendments to §9.401 and

§9.403, relating to Adoption by Reference of NFPA 58; and
Sections in NFPA 58 Not Adopted by Reference, and Adopted
with Changes or Additional Requirements.

The Commission adopts §§9.2, 9.6, 9.7, 9.10, 9.17, 9.51, 9.116,
9.134, 9.301, 9.308, 9.401 and Tables in §§9.15(e), 9.15(k),
9.26, 9.313, and 9.403 with changes and the remaining rules
and tables without changes to the proposed text as published in
the October 25, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg
6134). Rules with changes will be republished.

The Commission received two comments from associations and
25 comments from individuals or companies.

Comments from the Texas Association of Campground Own-
ers (the "association") include: support for the provision in §9.1
that clarifies the rules are not retroactive; support for the reten-
tion of the four-year continuing education requirement in §9.52
combined with the adoption of only a portion of NFPA 54 §4,
which will greatly reduce costs to association members; and sup-
port for amendments to §9.51 providing for a combined test in
DOT cylinder filling and motor/mobile fuel. Finally, with regard
to amendments in §9.140, the association said it believes the
amendments provide needed clarification but also requests that
the Commission consider requiring only vertical protection and
adding horizontal protection on a case-by-case basis. The Com-
mission appreciates the comments from the association. Be-
cause the Commission considers the suggested change outside
the scope of this rulemaking, it declines to make any changes to
§9.140 at this time.

The Texas Propane Gas Association (TPGA) and 19 com-
menters oppose removing the definition of "repair to container"
in §9.2. The commenters suggest retaining the concept but
defining it as "maintenance” rather than repair so that the def-
inition matches the Department of Transportation's definition.
The term "repair to container" was removed from the definitions
because the term is not used in Chapter 9. The Commission de-
clines to add a definition of maintenance without allowing public
comment. The Commission will leave "repair to container" in
§9.2 to address commenters' concerns and consider adding a
definition of maintenance in a future rulemaking.

TPGA, Amerigas, and 18 other commenters expressed opposi-
tion to proposed amendments in §9.10 which require a container
delivery unit driver to obtain a bobtail driver certification. Com-
menters noted that container delivery unit drivers do not have
the same responsibilities of a bobtail driver. The Commission's
intent was not to require a container delivery unit driver to be
certified, but to acknowledge a bobtail driver can operate a con-
tainer delivery unit. However, to reduce confusion, the Commis-
sion has removed the term "container delivery unit" from §9.10.

One comment on §9.116 requested clarification that poly piping
is not required to have cathodic protection. The Commission
adopts §9.116 with a change to clarify that cathodic protection is
required for steel pipelines.

The Commission received 20 comments on §9.126: one from
TPGA, one from Amerigas, and 18 from individuals. These
comments requested that the Commission also allow for an
electronic pneumatic actuator. The Commission considers this
change substantive and not directly related to the proposed
amendments. Therefore, the Commission will not adopt the
suggested change but will consider it for a future rulemaking.

TPGA, Amerigas, and 19 other commenters expressed opposi-
tion to §9.134's requirement for a pressure test and leak test be-
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cause a leak test is sufficient and in some cases a pressure test
can be dangerous. The Commission agrees and adopts §9.134
with a change to remove the pressure test requirement.

TPGA, Amerigas, and 19 other commenters disagree with
§9.140's requirement for additional crash protection on storage
racks used to store nominal 20-pound DOT portable or any
size forklift containers because locked ventilated cages provide
adequate protection. These comments also request that the
Commission clarify the use of bollards in other installations
requiring crash protection. The Commission declines to make
changes to §9.140 regarding locked ventilated cages for cylinder
storage because NFPA 58 does not address safety concerns for
the storage of all caged cylinders. The Commission will consider
the request to clarify the use of bollards in a future rulemaking.

TPGA, Amerigas, and 21 other commenters on §9.143 re-
quested that the Commission allow for use of an engineered
safety breakaway coupler. This change is outside the scope of
the current rulemaking, but the Commission will consider this
change in the future.

The Commission received 19 comments on §9.308: one from
TPGA and 18 from individuals. These comments oppose the
requirement to comply with bonding requirements in NFPA 54
§7.12.2. Also, commenters interpret the proposed amendments
to require LP-gas operators to certify that electrical work was
done properly. Commenters oppose that requirement as out-
side their responsibility. The Commission adopts §9.308 with a
change to require LP-gas operators to merely verify that a new
piping system is bonded when connecting to or supplying the
new system with corrugated stainless steel tubing (CSST).

TPGA and 17 commenters on §9.311 oppose eliminating the
ability to use ceiling trusses to place piping in chicken houses.
The floor of the chicken house is a corrosive environment. It is
the Commission's understanding that NFPA 54 does not apply to
chicken houses. Brooders must instead meet the requirements
of NFPA 58 for piping. Therefore, the amendments would not re-
quire brooders to place pipes on the floor of the chicken house.

TPGA's comment and 18 other comments oppose amendments
to §9.403 regarding the fire safety analysis in NFPA 58 §6.29.3.3.
The commenters request that the Commission continue its ex-
ception to this NFPA provision which has been in place since
2001 because to require the fire safety analysis in 9.403 would
be redundant. The Commission declines to make the requested
change. The amendments only require the fire safety analysis
for installations 10,000 gallons or larger. The amendments in-
crease safety for local emergency responders by helping them
understand the conditions specific to larger installations. To give
operators time to comply, the requirement for a fire safety anal-
ysis will not take effect until two years after the effective date of
the rule amendments. This two-year delayed effective date was
proposed in Table §9.403 and published with the proposed rule
amendments in the Texas Register.

Other comments from TPGA and commenters on §9.403 in-
clude: (1) requests to remove the provision that grandfathers
installations with a single-stage regulator and instead adopt the
NFPA's requirement that any installation greater than 100,000
BTU's have a two-stage regulator system; (2) requests to
adopt NFPA 58 §§6.22.9.3 and 6.22.9.4, which establish the
maximum allowable capacity; (3) requests to adopt NFPA 58
§8.3.1 and Tables 8.3.1(a), 8.3.1(b) and 8.3.2 because without
these requirements there is no restriction on the size or amount
of LP-gas that can be used or stored in a commercial location;

and (4) requests to adopt NFPA 58 §9.6.2.2 to ensure that there
are requirements to address private transportation of containers
not in commerce, which fall outside of DOT's jurisdiction. The
Commission agrees with item (1) and adopts Table 9.403 with
revisions such that NFPA 58 6.10.2.3 is adopted with changes
to prohibit single stage regulators in fixed piping systems except
for installations covered in 6.10.2.4. The Commission notes
that the cylinders referenced in the NFPA sections in item
(2) are outside the Commission's jurisdiction. Therefore, the
Commission declines to adopt those sections of the NFPA.
The Commission also declines to adopt NFPA 58 §8.3.1 and
Tables 8.3.1(a), 8.3.1(b) and 8.3.2 as requested in item (3). The
current version of Chapter 9 also does not adopt these sections
of the NFPA by reference. By not adopting NFPA 58 §8.3.1 and
its tables the Commission prohibits storage of any container
inside a building frequented by the public, which addresses the
concern raised in the comments. The Commission agrees with
item (4) and adopts Table 9.403 with a change such that the
existing language is retained and the proposed changes are
removed.

TPGA and 16 other commenters on §9.403 oppose adoption
of NFPA 58 Chapter 15, which would require an Operations
and Maintenance Manual for storage over 10,000 gallons.
The manual should be a business decision, not a Commission
requirement. The Commission disagrees. The amendments
adopt NFPA 58 Chapter 15 to increase safety at large instal-
lations by documenting operating procedures for transferring
product, including actions to be taken in an unintended release
of product, and procedures for maintaining the mechanical
integrity of the system. The Commission notes that the require-
ment for an operations and maintenance manual will not go into
effect until one year after the effective date of the amendments
to §9.403. The one-year delayed effective date was proposed
in Table 9.403 and published in the Texas Register with the pro-
posed rule amendments. NFPA 58 Chapter 15, specifically 15.1
through 15.3.2.2, includes provisions addressing the required
content of operations and maintenance manuals.

The Commission adopts the amendments, new rule and repeal
to update and clarify the Commission's liquefied petroleum gas
(LP-gas) rules. Amendments also implement changes from the
86th Legislative Session. House Bill 2714 removed the require-
ment that manufacturers of LP-gas containers obtain a license
from the Commission and instead requires registration with
the Commission. Adopted amendments to reflect this statutory
change are found in §§9.2, 9.4-9.7, 9.15, 9.16, 9.21, 9.22, and
9.26. Operators will not be required to comply with changes
directly related to manufacturer registrations until June 1, 2020
to allow Commission programming efforts to be completed.
Sections 9.6 and 9.7 are adopted with a change to specify the
June 1, 2020 effective date. Tables 9.15(e) and 9.15(k), are
adopted with changes to add rows and correct row and NFPA
references.

Adopted amendments also reflect changes made to the National
Fire Protection Association (NFPA) standards since Chapter 9
was last amended. These amendments are adopted with an
effective date of September 1, 2020. Amendments reflecting
NFPA updates are found in §§9.1, 9.7, 9.8, 9.35, 9.51, 9.101,
9.113, 9.116, 9.129, 9.131, 9.135, 9.136, 9.137, 9.140, 9.141,
9.142, 9.143, 9.206, 9.211, 9.301, 9.302, 9.303, 9.306, 9,307,
9.308, 9.311, 9.313, 9.401, and 9.403. The repeal of §9.312 is
also adopted to reflect NFPA changes. Section 9.116 is adopted
with a change to clarify when cathodic protection is required.
Section 9.301 is adopted with changes to reflect the adoption of
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new NFPA versions effective September 1, 2020. Section 9.308
is adopted with a change to require LP-gas operators to merely
verify that a new piping system is bonded when connecting to or
supplying the new system with corrugated stainless steel tubing
(CSST). The table in §9.313 is adopted with minor changes to
correct errors in the proposed version. Section 9.401 is adopted
with changes to reflect the adoption of new NFPA versions ef-
fective September 1, 2020. The table in §9.403 is also adopted
with changes due to comments as described above.

The remaining amendments are non-substantive and clarify ex-
isting language, correct outdated language such as incorrect di-
vision and department names, update references to other Com-
mission rules, and ensure language throughout Chapter 9 is
consistent. Clarifying changes include amendments to improve
readability such as removing repetitive language, adding inter-
nal cross references, and including language from a referenced
section (e.g., a fee amount) to give the reader better access to
applicable requirements.

Clarifying amendments include, but are not limited to, amend-
ments in §§9.2, 9.3, 9.5-9.11, 9.13, 9.17, 9.26, 9.51, 9.52. 9.54,
9.101, 9.109, 9.126, 9.132, 9.202, and 9.304. A brief summary
of each of these clarifications is included below.

Amendments to §9.2 remove definitions of terms that no longer
appear in Chapter 9 or are only used within one section and,
therefore, do not need to be defined. The amendments add
definitions of "registered manufacturer" and "service station," as
those terms are now used throughout the chapter, and clarify
several existing definitions. Section 9.2 is adopted with a change
to retain the definition of "repair to container" as discussed in the
comment summary above.

Amendments in §9.3 remove the list of official forms from the rule
language to ensure consistency with other chapters. All Com-
mission forms are now located on the Commission's website.
The amendments also specify the form amendment and adop-
tion process, which is consistent with forms referenced in other
Commission chapters.

Amendments in §9.5 include changes to implement the registra-
tion requirement from House Bill 2714. "Manufacturer registra-
tion" is included alongside references to applications for license
and exemptions. However, the amendments also condense the
list of potential applicants and use "applicant" when possible to
encompass all types of people seeking Commission authoriza-
tion to conduct LP-gas related activities. In addition, the amend-
ments clarify when certain violations of a person who holds a po-
sition of ownership or control in the applicant will be attributed to
an applicant. The intent of this provision is the same; the amend-
ments merely remove unnecessary language and reorganize the
provision to make it more straightforward.

Section 9.6 is adopted with a change to specify that operators will
not be required to comply with changes directly related to manu-
facturer registrations until June 1, 2020. Generally, amendments
adopted in §9.6 update license categories to include licenses
currently offered by the Commission, including Categories A1
and A2. The amendments also clarify the Category D and Cat-
egory | licenses. For example, the amendments remove lan-
guage related to the service and repair of an LP-gas appliance
not required to be vented to the atmosphere. This language was
moved to new §9.304, relating to Unvented Appliances, to re-
duce confusion. Finally, amendments to §9.6 implement House
Bill 2714. These provisions remove language related to manu-
facture and fabrication from existing license categories and add

new subsection (d) which states that a container manufacturer
registration authorizes the manufacture, assembly, repair, test-
ing and sale of LP-gas containers. The original registration fee
is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600.

Section 9.7 is also adopted with a change to specify that op-
erators will not be required to comply with changes directly re-
lated to manufacturer registrations until June 1, 2020. Generally,
amendments adopted in §9.7 clarify license requirements and
reorganize the section to group related requirements together
and remove repetitive language that is contained within other
rules. An amendment to subsection (a) reflects NFPA updates.
New subsection (h) contains the requirements for obtaining a
registration authorizing the manufacture of containers. Subsec-
tion (i) details the steps the Alternative Fuels Safety Department
(AFS) follows to review and approve license and registration ap-
plications. Finally, amendments in §9.7 add "registered manu-
facturer" in several subsections to implement House Bill 2714.

Amendments in §9.8 move language from §9.7 regarding re-
quirements for individuals who perform work, directly supervise
LP-gas activities, or are employed in any capacity requiring con-
tact with LP-gas. The amendments also ensure "certificate" and
"certificate holder" are used throughout §9.8 instead of using
"certificate," "certificate holder," "certified," and "certification" in-
consistently. Corresponding changes are also made in other
sections for consistency.

Amendments in §9.9 clarify requirements for certificate renewal
and steps to renew a lapsed certificate.

Section 9.10 is adopted with a change to remove the term "con-
tainer delivery unit" from the provision related to bobtail driver ex-
aminations. Amendments adopted in §9.10 add language from
§9.7 and §9.8 that an individual who passes the applicable ex-
amination with a score of at least 75% will become a certificate
holder. The amendments also clarify where and when exami-
nations are available and what an examinee must bring to the
exam site. Further, the amendments incorporate the manage-
ment-level examinations and their descriptions into §9.10(d)(2)
instead of including those descriptions in a table. Finally, the
amendments clarify the process for obtaining a management-
level certificate.

Amendments in §9.11 change the title to "Transfer of Employees”
to more accurately describe the rule's contents. The amend-
ments also update the process for licensees who hire certificate
holders, including allowing notification to the Commission to in-
clude only the last four digits of the employee's Social Security
Number.

Amendments in §9.13 simplify the name of an exempt indi-
vidual's proof of exemption such that "registration/examination
exemption certificate" is changed to "exemption card." Amend-
ments also update department names and other references and
remove repetitive language from other sections.

Amendments in §9.17(a) clarify filing requirements for out-
lets. The amendments change "termination" to "conclusion of
employment" to better communicate AFS's intent for when a
licensee must notify AFS of a company representative's or oper-
ations supervisor's departure. The amendments in subsection
(d) update manual requirements to contemplate the use of elec-
tronic manuals in addition to printed manuals. The amendments
also reorganize the section so that related requirements are
found in the same subsection or paragraph. Section 9.17(a)(7)
is adopted with a change to correct a typographical error in the
proposed language.
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Amendments in §9.26 incorporate insurance requirements for
registered manufacturers. Table 9.26(a) is adopted with a
change to incorporate rule requirements for manufacturers into
the table.

Section 9.51 is adopted with a change to remove the dispenser
operator exam. The exam was not added in the proposed
amendments to §9.10 and was not intended to be included in
§9.51. Other amendments in §9.51 move applicable language
into §9.51 from other sections or tables. The amendments
update subsection (j) to reflect the Commission's online registra-
tion process and allow an individual to register for a course using
only the last four digits of his or her Social Security Number.
Finally, amendments in §9.51 update department names and
incorporate changes to reflect amendments in other sections.

Amendments in §9.52 move language from a table into the rule.
Further, the amendments clarify the process for individuals who
fail to complete required training; remove dates that have already
passed and thus are no longer applicable; and clarify how much
credit a certificate holder can receive for an approved CETP
course.

Amendments to §9.54 include general updates and clarifica-
tions. The amendments in subsection (h) specify the process
for renewal of an outside instructor approval and what happens
upon failure to renew. Amendments in subsection (i) detail the
process for outside instructors when AFS revises its course
materials. The amendments in subsection (I) remove language
requiring AFS to send information related to complaints through
certified mail.

Amendments to §9.101 remove language related to local re-
quirements due to Texas Natural Resources Code §113.054,
which was added by the legislature in 2011. Amendments also
make minor updates and reorganize parts of the section for clar-
ity.

Amendments in §9.109 incorporate new terminology used by
AFS such that a "safety rule violation" is now called a "non-com-
pliance item."

Amendments in §9.126 incorporate specific requirements for
ASME containers with an individual water capacity of over 4,000
gallons. These requirements were moved from Table §9.403 to
simplify the table.

Amendments in §9.132 incorporate clarifying language from
Texas Natural Resources Code §113.081(a).

Amendments in §9.134 allow a licensee to connect to piping in-
stalled by an unlicensed person provided the licensee has ver-
ified that the piping is free of leaks and has been installed ac-
cording to the rules in Chapter 9. Section 9.134 is adopted with
a change to remove the requirement for a pressure test in addi-
tion to a leak check.

Amendments in §9.202, in addition to general updates and clar-
ifications, clarify existing filing requirements for registering an
LP-gas transport or container delivery unit. The amendments
align Commission rules with U.S. Department of Transportation
requirements.

Finally, new §9.304 contains language moved from §9.6 related
to the Category D license. The section exempts certain individ-
uals who service, install, and repair LP-gas appliances not re-
quired to be vented to the atmosphere from the requirement to
obtain a Category D license.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL REQUIRE-
MENTS

16 TAC §§9.1 - 9.18, 9.21, 9.22, 9.26 - 9.28, 9.35 - 9.38, 9.41,
9.51, 9.52, 9.54

The Commission adopts the amendments under Texas Natural
Resources Code, §113.051, which authorizes the Commission
to promulgate and adopt rules and standards relating to any
and all aspects or phases of the LP-gas industry that will pro-
tect or tend to protect the health, welfare, and safety of the gen-
eral public; Texas Natural Resources Code §113.0815, which
requires a person engaging in the manufacture or fabrication of
containers to register with the commission in accordance with
rules adopted by the commission; and Texas Natural Resources
Code §113.082, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
establishing license categories for LP-gas activities.

Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§113.051,
113.0815, and 113.082.

Cross reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code
Chapter 113.

$9.2.  Definitions.

In addition to the definitions in any adopted NFPA pampbhlets, the fol-
lowing words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the fol-
lowing meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1)  AFS--The Commission's Alternative Fuels Safety De-
partment within the Commission's Oversight and Safety Division.

(2) Advanced field training (AFT)--The final portion of the
training or continuing education requirements in which an individual
shall successfully perform the specified LP-gas activities in order to
demonstrate proficiency in those activities.

(3) AFT materials--The portion of a Commission training
module consisting of the four sections of the Railroad Commission's
LP-Gas Qualifying Field Activities, including General Instructions, the
Task Information, the Operator Qualification Checklist, and the Rail-
road Commission/Employer Record.

(4) Aggregate water capacity (AWC)--The sum of all in-
dividual container capacities measured by weight or volume of water
which are placed at a single installation location.

(5) Bobtail driver--An individual who operates an LP-gas
cargo tank motor vehicle of 5,000 gallons water capacity or less in
metered delivery service.

(6) Breakaway--The accidental separation of a hose from
a cylinder, container, transfer equipment, or dispensing equipment,
which could occur on a cylinder, container, transfer equipment, or dis-
pensing equipment whether or not they are protected by a breakaway
device.

(7) Certificate holder--An individual:

(A) who has passed the required management-level
qualification examination, pursuant to §9.10 of this title (relating to
Rules Examination);

(B) who has passed the required employee-level qual-
ification examination pursuant to §9.10 of this title;

(C) who holds a current reciprocal examination exemp-
tion pursuant to §9.18 of this title (relating to Reciprocal Examination
Agreements with Other States); or
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(D) who holds a current examination exemption cer-
tificate pursuant to §9.13 of this title (relating to General Installers and
Repairman Exemption).

(8) Certified-- Authorized to perform LP-gas work as set
forth in the Texas Natural Resources Code. Employee certification
alone does not allow an individual to perform those activities which
require licensing.

(9) CETP--The Certified Employee Training Program of-
fered by the Propane Education and Research Council (PERC), the Na-
tional Propane Gas Association (NPGA), or their authorized agents or
SUCCESSOTS.

(10) Commercial installation--An LP-gas installation lo-
cated on premises other than a single family dwelling used as a res-
idence, including but not limited to a retail business establishment,
school, bulk storage facility, convalescent home, hospital, cylinder ex-
change operation, service station, forklift refueling facility, private mo-
tor/mobile fuel cylinder filling operation, a microwave tower, or a pub-
lic or private agricultural installation.

(11)  Commission--The Railroad Commission of Texas.

(12)  Company representative--The individual designated
to the Commission by a license applicant or a licensee as the princi-
pal individual in authority and, in the case of a licensee other than a
Category P licensee, actively supervising the conduct of the licensee's
LP-gas activities.

(13)  Container delivery unit--A vehicle used by an opera-
tor principally for transporting LP-gas in cylinders.

(14)  Continuing education--Courses required to be suc-
cessfully completed at least every four years by certificate holders to
maintain certification.

(15)  Director--The director of AFS or the director's dele-
gate.

(16) DOT--The United States Department of Transporta-
tion.

(17)  Employee--An individual who renders or performs
any services or labor for compensation, including individuals hired on
a part-time or temporary basis, on a full-time or permanent basis, and
owner-employees.

(18)  Interim approval order--The authority issued by the
Railroad Commission of Texas following a public hearing allowing
construction of an LP-gas installation.

(19) Leak grades--An LP-gas leak that is:

(A) aGrade 1 leak that represents an existing or prob-
able hazard to persons or property, and requires immediate repair or
continuous action until the conditions are no longer hazardous; or

(B) a Grade 2 leak that is recognized as being nonhaz-
ardous at the time of detection, but requires a scheduled repair based
on a probable future hazard.

(20) Licensed--Authorized by the Commission to perform
LP-gas activities through the issuance of a valid license.

(21)  Licensee--A person which has applied for and been
granted an LP-gas license by the Commission, or who holds a master
or journeyman plumber license from the Texas State Board of Plumb-
ing Examiners or a Class A or B Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
Contractors License from the Texas Department of Licensing and Reg-
ulation and has properly registered with the Commission.

(22) LP-Gas Safety Rules--The rules adopted by the Rail-
road Commission in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 16, Part 1,
Chapter 9, including any NFPA or other documents adopted by refer-
ence. The official text of the Commission's rules is that which is on
file with the Secretary of State's office and available at the Secretary of
State's web site or the Commission's web site.

(23)  LP-gas system--All piping, fittings, valves, and
equipment, excluding containers and appliances, that connect one or
more containers to one or more appliances that use or consume LP-gas.

(24) Mass transit vehicle--Any vehicle which is owned or
operated by a political subdivision of a state, city, or county, used pri-
marily in the conveyance of the general public.

(25) Mobile fuel container--An LP-gas container mounted
on a vehicle to store LP-gas as the fuel supply to an auxiliary engine
other than the engine to propel the vehicle or for other uses on the
vehicle.

(26) Mobile fuel system--An LP-gas system, excluding the
container, to supply LP-gas as a fuel to an auxiliary engine other than
the engine to propel the vehicle or for other uses on the vehicle.

(27) Motor fuel container--An LP-gas container mounted
on a vehicle to store LP-gas as the fuel supply to an engine used to
propel the vehicle.

(28) Motor fuel system--An LP-gas system, excluding the
container, which supplies LP-gas to an engine used to propel the vehi-
cle.

(29)  Noncorrosive--Corrosiveness of gas which does
not exceed the limitation for Classification 1 of ASTM International
(ASTM) Copper Strip Classifications when tested in accordance with
ASTM D 1834-64, "Copper Strip Corrosion of Liquefied Petroleum
(LP) Gases."

(30) Nonspecification unit--An LP-gas transport not con-
structed to DOT MC-330 or MC-331 specifications but which complies
with the exemption in 49 Code of Federal Regulations §173.315(k).
(See also "Specification unit" in this section.)

(31)  Operations supervisor--The individual who is certi-
fied by the Commission to actively supervise a licensee's LP-gas activi-
ties and is authorized by the licensee to implement operational changes.

(32) Outlet--A site operated by an LP-gas licensee from
which any regulated LP-gas activity is performed.

(33) Outside instructor--An individual, other than a Com-
mission employee, approved by AFS to teach certain LP-gas training
or continuing education courses.

(34) Person--An individual, partnership, firm, corporation,
joint venture, association, or any other business entity, a state agency or
institution, county, municipality, school district, or other governmental
subdivision, or licensee, including the definition of "person" as defined
in the applicable sections of 49 CFR relating to cargo tank hazardous
material regulations.

(35) Portable cylinder--A receptacle constructed to DOT
specifications, designed to be moved readily, and used for the storage of
LP-gas for connection to an appliance or an LP-gas system. The term
does not include a cylinder designed for use on a forklift or similar
equipment.

(36) Property line--The boundary which designates the
point at which one real property interest ends and another begins.

(37)  Public transportation vehicle--A vehicle for hire to
transport persons, including but not limited to taxis, buses (excluding
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school buses and mass transit or special transit vehicles), or airport
courtesy vehicles.

(38) Recreational vehicle--A vehicular-type unit primarily
designed as temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, travel,
or seasonal use that either has its own motive power or is mounted on,
or towed by, another vehicle.

(39) Registered manufacturer-- A person who has applied
for and been granted a registration to manufacture LP-gas containers
by the Commission.

(40)  Repair to container--The correction of damage or de-
terioration to an LP-gas container, the alteration of the structure of such
a container, or the welding on such container in a manner which causes
the temperature of the container to rise above 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

(41)  Rules examination--The Commission's written exam-
ination that measures an examinee's working knowledge of Chapter
113 of the Texas Natural Resources Code and/or the current rules in
this chapter.

(42)  School--A public or private institution which has been
accredited through the Texas Education Agency or the Texas Private
School Accreditation Commission.

(43) School bus--A vehicle that is sold or used for purposes
that include carrying students to and from school or related events.

(44)  Self-service dispenser--A listed device or approved
equipment in a structured cabinet for dispensing and metering LP-gas
between containers that must be accessed by means of a locking device
such as a key, card, code, or electronic lock, and which is operated by
a certified employee of an LP-gas licensee or an ultimate consumer
trained by an LP-gas licensee.

(45) Service station--An LP-gas installation that, for retail
purposes, operates a dispensing station and/or conducts cylinder filling
activities.

(46) Special transit vehicle--A vehicle designed with lim-
ited passenger capacity which is used by a mass transit authority for
special transit purposes, such as transport of mobility impaired per-
sons.

(47)  Specification unit--An LP-gas transport constructed
to DOT MC-330 or MC-331 specifications. (See also "Nonspecifica-
tion unit" in this section.)

(48)  Subframing--The attachment of supporting structural
members to the pads of a container, excluding welding directly to or
on the container.

(49)  Trainee--An individual who has not yet taken and
passed an employee-level rules examination.

(50) Training--Courses required to be successfully com-
pleted as part of an individual's requirements to obtain or maintain cer-
tain certificates.

(51)  Transfer system--All piping, fittings, valves, pumps,
compressors, meters, hoses, bulkheads, and equipment utilized in
transferring LP-gas between containers.

(52) Transport--Any bobtail or semitrailer equipped with
one or more containers.

(53) Transport driver--An individual who operates an
LP-gas trailer or semi-trailer equipped with a container of more than
5,000 gallons water capacity.

(54) Transport system--Any and all piping, fittings, valves,
and equipment on a transport, excluding the container.

(55) Ultimate consumer--A person who buys a product to
use rather than for resale.

$§9.6. License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, and
Fees.

(a) A prospective licensee may apply to AFS for one or more
licenses specified in subsection (b) of this section. Beginning June 1,
2020, a prospective container manufacturer may apply to AFS for a
container manufacturer registration specified in subsection (d) of this
section. Prior to June 1, 2020, container manufacturers must be li-
censed as Category A, Al, or A2 in order to manufacture containers in
the state of Texas. Fees required to be paid shall be those established
by the Commission and in effect at the time of application or renewal
and shall be paid at the time of application or renewal.

(b) The license categories and fees are as follows.

(1) A Category A license for container assembly and re-
pair authorizes the assembly, repair, installation, subframing, testing,
and sale of ASME or DOT LP-gas containers, including LP-gas motor
or mobile fuel containers and systems, and the repair and installation of
transport and transfer systems. A Category A license includes all activ-
ities covered by a Category Al and Category A2 license. The original
license fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600.

(2) A Category Al license for ASME container assembly
and repair authorizes the assembly, repair, installation, testing, and sale
of ASME containers, including LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers
and systems, and the repair and installation of transport and transfer
systems. The original license fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600.

(3) A Category A2 license for U.S. Department of Trans-
portation (DOT) container assembly and repair authorizes the assem-
bly, repair, installation, subframing, testing, and sale of LP-gas DOT
containers, including LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers and sys-
tems, and the repair and installation of transport and transfer systems.
The original license fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600.

(4) A Category B license for transport outfitters authorizes
the subframing, testing, and sale of LP-gas transport containers, the
testing of LP-gas storage containers, the installation, testing, and sale
of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers and systems, and the instal-
lation and repair of transport systems and motor or mobile fuel systems.
The original license fee is $400; the renewal fee is $200.

(5) A Category C license for carriers authorizes the trans-
portation of LP-gas by transport, including the loading and unloading
of LP-gas, and the installation and repair of transport systems. The
original license fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $300.

(6) A Category D license for general installers and repair-
men authorizes the sale, service, and installation of containers, and the
service, installation, and repair of piping and appliances. A Category D
license does not authorize the installation of motor fuel containers, mo-
tor fuel systems, recreational vehicle containers, or recreational vehicle
systems. The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $70. Per-
sons with certain licenses issued by the Texas State Board of Plumbing
Examiners or the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation may
register with AFS as described in §9.13 of this title (relating to General
Installers and Repairman Exemption).

(7) A Category E license for retail and wholesale dealers
authorizes the storage, sale, transportation, and distribution of LP-gas
at retail and wholesale dealers, and all other activities included in this
section, except the manufacture, fabrication, assembly, repair, sub-
framing, and testing of LP-gas containers, and except the sale and in-
stallation of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel systems that service an engine
with a rating of more than 25 horsepower. The original license fee is
$750; the renewal is $300.
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(8) A Category F license for cylinder filling authorizes the
operation of a cylinder filling facility, including cylinder filling, the
sale of LP-gas in cylinders, and the replacement of cylinder valves.
The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $50.

(9) A Category G license for dispensing stations authorizes
the operation of LP-gas dispensing stations filling ASME containers
designed for motor or mobile fuel. The original license fee is $100; the
renewal is $50.

(10) A Category H license for cylinder dealers authorizes
the transportation and sale of LP-gas in cylinders. The original license
fee is $1,000; the renewal is $300.

(11) A Category I license for service stations and cylinder
filling authorizes any cylinder activity set out in Category F and dis-
pensing station operations set out in paragraph (9) of this subsection.
A Category I license does not authorize the transportation of LP-gas.
The original license fee is $150; the renewal is $70.

(12) A Category J license for service stations and cylinder
facilities authorizes the operation of a cylinder filling facility, includ-
ing cylinder filling and the sale, transportation, installation, and con-
nection of LP-gas in cylinders, the replacement of cylinder valves, and
the operation of an LP-gas service station as set out in Category G. The
original license fee is $1,000; the renewal is $300.

(13) A Category K license for distribution systems autho-
rizes the sale and distribution of LP-gas through mains or pipes, and
the installation and repair of LP-gas systems. The original license fee
is $1,000; the renewal is $300.

(14) A Category L license for engine and mobile fuel au-
thorizes the sale and installation of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel con-
tainers, and the sale and installation of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel
systems. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $50.

(15) A Category M license for recreational vehicle in-
stallers and repairmen authorizes the sale, service, and installation of
recreational vehicle containers, and the installation, repair, and service
of recreational vehicle appliances, piping, and LP-gas systems, includ-
ing recreational vehicle motor or mobile fuel systems and containers.
The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $70.

(16) A Category N license for manufactured housing in-
stallers and repairmen authorizes the service and installation of con-
tainers that supply fuel to manufactured housing, and the installation,
repair, and service of appliances and piping systems for manufactured
housing. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $70.

(17) A Category O license for testing laboratories autho-
rizes the testing of LP-gas containers, LP-gas motor fuel systems or
mobile fuel systems, transfer systems, and transport systems for the
purpose of determining the safety of the containers or systems for
LP-gas service, including the necessary installation, disconnection,
reconnection, testing, and repair of LP-gas motor fuel systems or
mobile fuel systems, transfer systems, and transport systems involved
in the testing of containers. The original license fee is $400; the
renewal is $100.

(18) A Category P license for portable cylinder exchange
authorizes the operation of a portable cylinder exchange service, where
the sale of LP-gas is within a portable cylinder with an LP-gas capac-
ity not to exceed 21 pounds, where the portable cylinders are not filled
on site, and where no other LP-gas activity requiring a license is con-
ducted. The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $50.

(c) A military service member, military veteran, or military
spouse shall be exempt from the original license fee pursuant to the re-

quirements in §9.14 of this title (relating to Military Fee Exemption).
An individual who receives a military fee exemption is not exempt from
renewal or transport registration fees specified in §9.7 and §9.202 of
this title (relating to Applications for Licenses, Manufacturer Registra-
tions, and Renewals; and Registration and Transfer of LP-Gas Trans-
ports or Container Delivery Units, respectively).

(d) A container manufacturer registration authorizes the man-
ufacture, assembly, repair, testing and sale of LP-gas containers. The
original registration fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600.

$9.7.  Applications for Licenses, Manufacturer Registrations, and Re-
newals.

(a) In addition to complying with NFPA 54 §4.1, no person
may engage in any LP-gas activity until that person has obtained a
license from the Commission authorizing the LP-gas activities, except
as follows:

(1) A person is exempt from licensing under Texas Natural
Resources Code §113.081(b) but is required to obtain a license before
engaging in any LP-gas activities in commerce or in business.

(2) A state agency or institution, county, municipality,
school district, or other governmental subdivision is exempt from
licensing requirements as provided by §113.081(g) if the entity is
performing LP-gas activities on its own behalf but is required to obtain
a license if performing LP-gas activities for or on behalf of a second
party.

(3) An original manufacturer of a new motor vehicle pow-
ered by LP-gas, or a subcontractor of a manufacturer who produces a
new LP-gas powered motor vehicle for the manufacturer is not subject
to licensing requirements but shall comply with all other rules in this
chapter.

(4) An ultimate consumer is not subject to licensing re-
quirements if performing LP-gas activities dealing only with the ul-
timate consumer; however, a license is required to register a transport,
bobtail, or cylinder delivery unit. An ultimate consumer's license does
not require a fee or a company representative.

(b) Anapplicant for license shall not engage in any LP-gas ac-
tivities until it has employed a company representative who meets the
requirements of §9.17 of this title (relating to Designation and Respon-
sibilities of Company Representatives and Operations Supervisors), or
for Category D applicants only, who meets the requirements of §9.17
of this title or has obtained a General Installers and Repairman Exemp-
tion as specified in §9.13 of this title (relating to General Installers and
Repairman Exemption).

(c) Licensees, registered manufacturers, company representa-
tives, and operations supervisors at each outlet shall have copies of all
current licenses and/or manufacturer registrations and certificates for
employees at that location available for inspection during regular busi-
ness hours. In addition, licensees and registered manufacturers shall
maintain a current version of the rules in this chapter and shall provide
access to these rules for each company representative and operations
supervisor. The rules shall also be available to employees during busi-
ness hours.

(d) Licenses and manufacturer registrations issued under this
chapter expire one year after issuance at midnight on the last day of the
month prior to the month in which they are issued.

(e) If alicense or registration expires, the person shall imme-
diately cease LP-gas activities.

(f) An applicant for a new license shall submit to AFS:
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(1) aproperly completed LPG Form 1 listing all names un-
der which LP-gas related activities requiring licensing are to be con-
ducted and the applicant's properly qualified company representative
and the following forms or documents as applicable:

(A) LPG Form 1A if the applicant will operate any out-
lets pursuant to subsection (g) of this section;

(B) LPG Form 7 and any information requested in
§9.202 of this title (relating to Registration and Transfer of LP-Gas
Transports or Container Delivery Units) if the applicant intends to
register any LP-gas transports or container delivery units;

(C) LPG Form 19 if the applicant will be transferring
the operation of an existing bulk plant, service station, cylinder filling,
or portable cylinder exchange rack installation from another licensee;

(D) any form required to comply with §9.26 of this title
(relating to Insurance and Self-Insurance Requirements);

(E) acopy of the current certificate of account status if
required by §9.21 of this title (relating to Franchise Tax Certification
and Assumed Name Certificates); and/or

(F) copies of the assumed name certificates if required
by §9.21 of this title; and

(2) payment for all applicable fees. If the applicant sub-
mits the payment by mail, the payment shall be in the form of a check
or money order. If the applicant pays the applicable fee online, the ap-
plicant shall submit a copy of the online receipt via mail, email, or fax.

(g) A licensee shall submit LPG Form 1A listing all outlets
operated by the licensee.

(1) The licensee shall employ at each outlet an operations
supervisor who meets the requirements of §9.17 of this title.

(2) Each outlet shall be listed on the licensee's renewal as
specified in subsection (i) of this section.

(h) Beginning June 1, 2020, a prospective container manufac-
turer may apply to AFS to manufacture LP-gas containers in the state of
Texas. Beginning June 1, 2020, a person shall not engage in the manu-
facture of LP-gas containers in this state unless that person has obtained
a container manufacturer's registration as specified in this subsection.

(1) Applicants for container manufacturer registration shall
file with AFS LPG Form 1M, and any of the following applicable forms
or documents:

(A) any form required by §9.26 of this title;

(B) a copy of current certificate of account status if re-
quired by §9.21 of this title;

(C) copies of the assumed name certificates if required
by §9.21 of this title;

(D) acopy of current DOT authorization. A registered
manufacturer shall not continue to operate after the expiration date of
the DOT authorization; and/or

(E) acopy of current ASME Code, Section VIII certifi-
cate of authorization or "R" certificate. [f ASME is unable to issue a re-
newed certificate of authorization prior to the expiration date, the man-
ufacturer may request in writing an extension of time not to exceed 60
calendar days past the expiration date. The request for extension shall
be received by AFS prior to the expiration date of the ASME certificate
of authorization referred to in this section, and shall include a letter or
statement from ASME that the agency is unable to issue the renewal
certificate of authorization prior to expiration and that a temporary ex-
tension will be granted for its purposes. A registered manufacturer shall

not continue to operate after the expiration date of an ASME certificate
of authorization until the manufacturer files a current ASME certificate
of authorization with AFS or AFS grants a temporary exception.

(2) By filing LPG Form 1M, the applicant certifies that it
has read the requirements of this chapter and shall comply with all
applicable rules, regulations and adopted standards.

(3) The required fee shall accompany LPG Form 1M. An
original registration fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600.

(A) If submitted by mail, payment shall be by check,
money order, or printed copy of an online receipt.

(B) If submitted by email or fax, payment shall be a
copy of an online receipt.

(4) Ifamanufacturer registration expires or lapses, the per-
son shall immediately cease the manufacture, assembly, repair, testing
and sale of LP-gas containers in Texas.

(i) AFS will review an application for license or registration to
verify all requirements have been met.

(1) Iferrors are found or information is missing on the ap-
plication or other documents, AFS will notify the applicant of the de-
ficiencies in writing.

(2) The applicant must respond with the required informa-
tion and/or documentation within 30 days of the written notice. Failure
to respond by the deadline will result in withdrawal of the application.

(3) If all requirements have been met, AFS will issue the
license or manufacturer registration and send the license or registration
to the licensee or manufacturer, as applicable.

(j) For license and manufacturer registration renewals:

(1) AFS shall notify the licensee or registered manufacturer
in writing at the address on file with AFS of the impending license or
manufacturer registration expiration at least 30 calendar days before
the date the license or registration is scheduled to expire.

(2) The renewal notice shall include copies of applicable
LPG Forms 1, 1A, and 7, or LPG Form 1M showing the information
currently on file.

(3) The licensee or registered manufacturer shall review
and return all renewal documentation to AFS with any necessary
changes clearly marked on the forms. The licensee or registered
manufacturer shall submit any applicable fees with the renewal
documentation.

(4) Failure to meet the renewal deadline set forth in this
section shall result in expiration of the license or manufacturer regis-
tration.

(5) If a person's license or manufacturer registration ex-
pires, that person shall immediately cease performance of any LP-gas
activities authorized by the license or registration.

(6) If a person's license or manufacturer registration has
been expired for 90 calendar days or fewer, the person shall submit
arenewal fee that is equal to 1 1/2 times the renewal fee in §9.6 of this
title (relating to License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registra-
tion, and Fees).

(7) If a person's license or manufacturer registration has
been expired for more than 90 calendar days but less than one year,
the person shall submit a renewal fee that is equal to two times the re-
newal fee.
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(8) If a person's license or manufacturer registration has
been expired for one year or more, that person shall not renew but
shall comply with the requirements for issuance of an original license
or manufacturer registration under subsection (f) or (h) of this section.

(9) After verification that the licensee or registered manu-
facturer has met all requirements for licensing or manufacturer registra-
tion, AFS shall renew the license or registration and send the applicable
authorization to the licensee or manufacturer.

(k) A person who was licensed in this state, moved to another
state, and is currently licensed and has been in practice in the other state
for the two years preceding the date of application may obtain a new
license without reexamination. The person shall pay to AFS a fee that
is equal to two times the license renewal fee required by §9.6 of this
title.

(1) As a prerequisite to licensing pursuant to this provi-
sion, the person shall submit, in addition to an application for licensing,
proof of having been in practice and licensed in good standing in an-
other state continuously for the two years immediately preceding the
filing of the application;

(2) A person licensed under this provision shall be required
to comply with all requirements of licensing other than the examination
requirement, including but not limited to the insurance requirements as
specified in §9.26 of this title and the continuing education and training
requirements as specified in §9.51 of this title (relating to General Re-
quirements for LP-Gas Training and Continuing Education), and §9.52
of this title (relating to Training and Continuing Education).

() Applicants for license or license renewal in the following
categories shall comply with these additional requirements:

(1) An applicant for a Category B or O license or renewal
shall file with AFS a properly completed LPG Form 505 certifying
that the applicant will follow the testing procedures indicated. The
company representative designated on the licensee's LPG Form 1 shall
sign LPG Form 505.

(2) Anapplicant for Category A, B, or O license or renewal
who tests tanks, subframes LP-gas cargo tanks, or performs other ac-
tivities requiring DOT registration shall file with AFS a copy of any
applicable current DOT registrations. Such registration shall comply
with Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 107 (Hazardous Ma-
terials Program Procedures), Subpart F (Registration of Cargo Tank
and Cargo Tank Motor Vehicle Manufacturers and Repairers and Cargo
Tank Motor Vehicle Assemblers).

§9.10. Rules Examination.

(a) Anindividual who passes the applicable rules examination
with a score of at least 75% will become a certificate holder. AFS will
send a certificate to the licensee listed on LPG Form 16. If a licensee is
not listed on the form, AFS will send the certificate to the individual's
personal address.

(1) Successful completion of any examination shall be
credited to and accrue to the individual.

(2) An individual who has been issued a certificate shall
make the certificate readily available and shall present it to any Com-
mission employee or agent who requests proof of certification.

(b) An applicant for examination shall bring to the exam site:
(1) acompleted LPG Form 16; and

(2) payment of the applicable fee specified in subsection
(c) of this section.

(¢) An individual who files LPG Form 16 and pays the appli-
cable nonrefundable examination fee may take the rules examination.

(1) Dates and locations of available Commission LP-gas
examinations may be obtained in the Austin offices of AFS and on the
Commission's web site, and shall be updated at least monthly. Exam-
inations may be conducted at the Commission's AFS Training Center
in Austin, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon, Monday
through Friday, except for state holidays, and at other designated times
and locations around the state. Individuals or companies may request
in writing that examinations be given in their area. AFS shall schedule
its examinations and locations at its discretion.

(2) Except in a case where a conditional qualification has
been requested in writing and approved under §9.17(g) of this title (re-
lating to Designation and Responsibilities of Company Representatives
and Operations Supervisors), the Category E, F, G, I, and J manage-
ment-level rules examination shall be administered only in conjunction
with the Category E, F, G, I, and J management-level courses of instruc-
tion. Management-level rules examinations other than Category E, F,
G, I, and J may be administered on any scheduled examination day.

(3) Exam fees.

(A) The nonrefundable management-level rules exam-
ination fee is $70.

(B) The nonrefundable employee-level rules examina-
tion fee is $40.

(C) The nonrefundable examination fee shall be paid
each time an individual takes an examination.

(D) Individuals who register and pay for a Category E,
F, G, I, or J training course as specified in §9.51(j)(2)(A) of this title
(relating to General Requirements for LP-Gas Training and Continuing
Education) shall pay the charge specified for the applicable examina-
tion.

(E) A military service member, military veteran, or mil-
itary spouse shall be exempt from the examination fee pursuant to the
requirements in §9.14 of this title (relating to Military Fee Exemption).
An individual who receives a military fee exemption is not exempt from
renewal, training, or continuing education fees specified in §9.9 of this
title (relating to Requirements for Certificate Holder Renewal, §9.51
of this title, and §9.52 of this title (relating to Training and Continuing
Education.

(4) Time limits.

(A) Anapplicant shall complete the examination within
the time limit specified in this paragraph.

(i) The Category E management-level (closed
book), Bobtail employee-level (open book), and Service and Instal-
lation employee-level (open book) examinations shall be limited to
three hours.

(i)  All other management-level and employee-level
examinations shall be limited to two hours.

(B) The examination proctor shall be the official time-
keeper.

(C) An examinee shall submit the examination and the
answer sheet to the examination proctor before or at the end of the
established time limit for an examination.

(D) The examination proctor shall mark any answer
sheet that was not completed within the time limit.
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(5) The Commission may offer employee-level LP-Gas
Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filling, and Motor/Mobile Fuel
Dispensing examinations in Spanish or English.

(d) This subsection specifies the examinations offered by the
Commission.

(1) Employee-level examinations.

(A) The Bobtail Driver examination qualifies an indi-
vidual to operate a bobtail, to perform all of the LP-gas activities au-
thorized by the Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filler, and Motor/Mo-
bile Fuel Filler examinations, and to perform leak checks and pressure
tests, light appliances, and adjust regulators and thermocouples. The
Bobtail Driver examination does not authorize an individual to connect
or disconnect containers, except when performing a pressure test or re-
moving a container from service.

(B) The Transport Driver examination qualifies an indi-
vidual to operate an LP-gas transport equipped with a container of more
than 5,000 gallons water capacity, to load and unload LP-gas, and con-
nect and disconnect transfer hoses. The Transport Driver examination
does not authorize an individual to operate a bobtail or to install or re-
pair transport systems.

(C) The On-Road Motor Fuel Technician examination
qualifies an individual to install LP-gas motor fuel containers, cylin-
ders, and LP-gas motor fuel systems, and replace container valves
on motorized vehicles licensed to operate on public roadways. The
On-Road Motor Fuel Technician examination does not authorize an
individual to fill LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers.

(D) The Non-Road Motor Fuel Technician examination
qualifies an individual to install LP-gas motor fuel containers, cylin-
ders, and LP-gas motor fuel systems, and replace container valves on
vehicles such as industrial forklift trucks and lawnmowers. The Non-
Road Motor Fuel Technician examination does not authorize an indi-
vidual to fill LP-gas motor fuel containers or cylinders.

(E) The Mobile Fuel Technician examination qualifies
an individual to install LP-gas mobile fuel containers, cylinders, and
LP-gas mobile fuel systems, and replace container valves on mobile
fuel equipment such as trailers, catering trucks, mobile kitchens, tar
kettles, hot oil units, auxiliary engines and similar equipment. The
Mobile Fuel Technician examination does not authorize an individual
to fill LP-gas mobile fuel containers or cylinders.

(F) The DOT Cylinder Filler examination qualifies an
individual to inspect, requalify, fill, disconnect and connect cylinders,
including industrial truck cylinders, and to exchange cylinder valves.
The DOT Cylinder Filler examination does not authorize an individual
to fill ASME motor or mobile fuel containers.

(G) The Recreational Vehicle Technician examination
qualifies an individual to install LP-gas motor or mobile fuel contain-
ers, including cylinders, and to install and repair LP-gas systems on
recreational vehicles. The Recreational Vehicle Technician examina-
tion does not authorize an individual to fill LP-gas containers.

(H) The Service and Installation Technician examina-
tion qualifies an individual to perform all LP-gas activities related to
stationary LP-gas systems, including LP-gas containers, appliances,
and stationary engines. The Service and Installation Technician ex-
amination does not authorize an individual to fill containers or operate
an LP-gas transport.

(I) The Appliance Service and Installation Technician
examination qualifies an individual to perform all LP-gas activities re-
lated to appliances, including installing, repairing and converting appli-
ances, installing and repairing connectors from the appliance gas stop

through the venting system, and to perform leak checks on the new or
repaired portion of an LP-gas system. The Appliance Service and In-
stallation Technician examination does not authorize an individual to
install a container, install or repair piping upstream of and including
the appliance gas stop, or to install, repair or adjust regulators.

(J) The Motor/Mobile Fuel Filler examination qualifies
an individual to inspect and fill motor or mobile fuel containers on
vehicles, including recreational vehicles, cars, trucks, and buses. The
Motor/Mobile Fuel Filler examination does not authorize an individual
to fill LP-gas cylinders or ASME stationary containers.

(2) Management-level examinations.

(A) The Category A examination qualifies an individ-
ual to assemble, repair, install, subframe, test, and sell both ASME and
DOT containers and cylinders, including motor or mobile fuel contain-
ers and systems, and to repair and install transport and transfer systems.

(B) The Category A-1 examination qualifies an individ-
ual to assemble, repair, install, test, and sell ASME containers, includ-
ing motor or mobile fuel containers and systems, and to repair and in-
stall transport and transfer systems.

(C) The Category A-2 examination qualifies an individ-
ual to assemble, repair, install, subframe, test, and sell DOT cylinders.

(D) The Category B examination qualifies an individ-
ual to subframe, test, and sell transport containers; test LP-gas storage
containers; install, test, and sell LP-gas motor or mobile fuel contain-
ers and systems; and install and repair transport systems and motor or
mobile fuel systems.

(E) The Category C examination qualifies an individual
to transport LP-gas in a transport equipped with one or more containers,
load and unload LP-gas, and install and repair transport systems.

(F) The Category D examination qualifies an individual
to sell, service, and install containers, and to service, install, and repair
piping and appliances, excluding motor fuel containers, motor fuel sys-
tems, recreational vehicle containers, or recreational vehicle systems.

(G) The Category E examination qualifies an individ-
ual to store, sell, transport and distribute LP-gas and perform all other
categories of licensed activities except the manufacture, fabrication,
assembly, repair, subframing, and testing of LP-gas containers and the
sale and installation of LP-gas motor or mobile fuel systems rated at
more than 25 horsepower.

(H) The Category F examination qualifies an individual
to operate a cylinder-filling facility, including cylinder filling, the sale
of LP-gas in cylinders, and the replacement of cylinder valves.

(I) The Category G examination qualifies an individual
to operate an LP-gas dispensing station to fill ASME motor or mobile
fuel containers.

(J) The Category H examination qualifies an individual
to transport and sell LP-gas in cylinders.

(K) The Category I examination qualifies an individual
to operate a service station as set out in Category F and G.

(L) The Category J examination qualifies an individual
to operate a service station as set out in Category I, transport cylinders
as set out in Category H and install and connect DOT cylinders.

(M) The Category K examination qualifies an individ-
ual to sell and distribute LP-gas through mains or pipes, and to install
and repair LP-gas systems.
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(N) The Category L examination qualifies an individual
to sell and install both LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers and fuel
systems on engines.

(O) The Category M examination qualifies an individ-
ual to sell, service, and install recreational vehicle containers, and to
install, repair, and service recreational vehicle appliances, piping, and
LP-gas systems, including recreational vehicle motor or mobile fuel
systems and containers.

(P) The Category N examination qualifies an individual
to service and install containers that supply fuel to manufactured hous-
ing, and to install, repair, and service appliances and piping systems for
manufactured housing.

(Q) The Category O examination qualifies an individ-
ual to test LP-gas containers, motor or mobile fuel systems, transfer
systems, and transport systems to determine the safety of the contain-
ers or systems for LP-gas service, including the necessary installation,
disconnection, reconnection, testing, and repair of LP-gas motor fuel
systems or mobile fuel systems, transfer systems, and transport systems
involved in the testing of containers.

(R) The Category P examination qualifies an individual
to operate a portable cylinder exchange service where LP-gas is sold in
portable cylinders whose LP-gas capacity does not exceed 21 pounds,
where the portable cylinders are not filled on site, and where no other
LP-gas activity requiring a license is conducted.

(e) Within 15 calendar days of the date an individual takes an
examination, AFS shall notify the individual of the results of the exam-
ination. If the examination is graded or reviewed by a testing service,
AFS shall notify the individual of the examination results within 14
days of the date AFS receives the results from the testing service. If
the notice of the examination results will be delayed for longer than 90
days after the examination date, AFS shall notify the individual of the
reason for the delay before the 90th day. AFS may require a testing
service to notify an individual of the individual's examination results.

(f) Failure of any examination shall immediately disqualify the
individual from performing any LP-gas related activities covered by the
examination which is failed, except for activities covered by a separate
examination which the individual has passed.

(1) Any individual who fails an examination administered
by the Commission at the Austin location may retake the same exami-
nation one additional time during a business day.

(2) Any subsequent examination shall be taken on another
business day, unless approved by the AFS director.

(3) Anindividual who fails an examination may request an
analysis of the individual's performance on the examination.

(g) The Commission shall not issue a certificate to an applicant
for a management-level certificate that requires completion of a course
of instruction until the applicant completes both the required course of
instruction and passes the required management-level rules examina-
tion.

(h) An applicant for a management-level certificate shall pass
the management-level rules examination within two years after com-
pleting a required course of instruction. An applicant who fails to pass
such an examination within two years of completing such a course shall
reapply as a new applicant.

$9.15.  Penalty Guidelines for LP-Gas Safety Violations.

(a) Policy. Improved safety and environmental protection
are the desired outcomes of any enforcement action. Encouraging
licensees, certificate holders, registered manufacturers, and other reg-

istrants to take appropriate voluntary corrective and future protective
actions once a violation has occurred is an effective component of the
enforcement process. Deterrence of violations through penalty assess-
ments is also a necessary and effective component of the enforcement
process. A rule-based enforcement penalty guideline to evaluate and
rank LP-gas-related violations is consistent with the central goal of the
Commission's enforcement efforts to promote compliance. Penalty
guidelines set forth in this section will provide a framework for more
uniform and equitable assessment of penalties throughout the state,
while also enhancing the integrity of the Commission's enforcement
program.

(b) Guidelines This section complies with the requirements of
Texas Natural Resources Code, §81.0531. The penalty amounts con-
tained in the tables in this section are provided solely as guidelines to
be considered by the Commission in determining the amount of ad-
ministrative penalties for violations of Texas Natural Resources Code,
Chapter 113; of rules, orders, licenses, registrations, permits, or certifi-
cates relating to LP-gas safety adopted under those provisions; and of
regulations, codes, or standards that the Commission has adopted by
reference.

(c) Commission authority. The establishment of these penalty
guidelines shall in no way limit the Commission's authority and discre-
tion to assess administrative penalties. The typical minimum penalties
listed in this section are for the most common violations cited; how-
ever, this is neither an exclusive nor an exhaustive list of violations that
the Commission may cite. The Commission retains full authority and
discretion to cite violations of Texas Natural Resources Code, Chapter
113; of rules, orders, licenses, registrations, permits, or certificates re-
lating to LP-gas safety adopted or issued under those provisions; and
of regulations, codes, or standards that the Commission has adopted
by reference, and to assess administrative penalties in any amount up
to the statutory maximum when warranted by the facts in any case, re-
gardless of inclusion in or omission from this section.

(d) Factors considered. The amount of any penalty requested,
recommended, or finally assessed in an enforcement action will be de-
termined on an individual case-by-case basis for each violation, taking
into consideration the following factors:

(1) the person's history of previous violations;
(2) the seriousness of the previous violations;
(3) any hazard to the health or safety of the public; and
(4) the demonstrated good faith of the person charged.

(e) Typical penalties. Regardless of the method by which the
typical penalty amount is calculated, the total penalty amount will be
within the statutory limit. Typical penalties for violations of Texas Nat-
ural Resources Code, Chapter 113; of rules, orders, licenses, registra-
tions, permits, or certificates relating to LP-gas safety adopted under
those provisions; and of regulations, codes, or standards that the Com-
mission has adopted by reference, are set forth in Table 1.

Figure: 16 TAC §9.15(e)

(f) Penalty enhancements for certain violations. For violations
that involve threatened or actual safety hazards, or that result from the
reckless or intentional conduct of the person charged, the Commission
may assess an enhancement of the typical penalty. The enhancement
may be in any amount in the range shown for each type of violation, as
shown in Table 2.

Figure: 16 TAC §9.15(f) (No change.)

(g) Penalty enhancements for certain violators. For violations
in which the person charged has a history of prior violations within
seven years of the current enforcement action, the Commission may
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assess an enhancement based on either the number of prior violations
or the total amount of previous administrative penalties, but not both.
The actual amount of any penalty enhancement will be determined on
an individual case-by-case basis for each violation. The guidelines in
Tables 3 and 4 are intended to be used separately. Either guideline may
be used where applicable, but not both.

Figure 1: 16 TAC §9.15(g) (No change.)

Figure 2: 16 TAC §9.15(g) (No change.)

(h) Penalty reduction for settlement before hearing. The rec-
ommended monetary penalty for a violation may be reduced by up to
50% if the person charged agrees to a settlement before the Commis-
sion conducts an administrative hearing to prosecute a violation. Once
the hearing is convened, the opportunity for the person charged to re-
duce the basic monetary penalty is no longer available. The reduction
applies to the basic penalty amount requested and not to any requested
enhancements.

(i) Demonstrated good faith. In determining the total amount
of any monetary penalty requested, recommended, or finally assessed
in an enforcement action, the Commission may consider, on an individ-
ual case-by-case basis for each violation, the demonstrated good faith
of the person charged. Demonstrated good faith includes, but is not
limited to, actions taken by the person charged before the filing of an
enforcement action to remedy, in whole or in part, a violation or to mit-
igate the consequences of a violation.

(j) Other sanctions. Depending upon the nature of and the con-
sequences resulting from a violation of the rules in this chapter, the
Commission may impose a non-monetary penalty, such as requiring
attendance at a safety training course, or may issue a warning.

(k) Penalty calculation worksheet. The penalty calculation
worksheet shown in Table 5 lists the typical penalty amounts for
certain violations, the circumstances justifying enhancements of a
penalty and the amount of the enhancement, and the circumstances
justifying a reduction in a penalty and the amount of the reduction.
Figure: 16 TAC §9.15(k)

$9.17.  Designation and Responsibilities of Company Representatives
and Operations Supervisors.

(a) Each licensee shall have at least one company representa-
tive for the license and, in the case of a licensee other than a Category
P licensee, at least one operations supervisor for each outlet.

(1) A licensee maintaining one or more outlets shall file
LPG Form 1 with AFS listing the physical location of the first outlet
and designating the company representative for the license and LPG
Form 1A designating the physical location and operations supervisor
for each additional outlet.

(2) A licensee may have more than one company represen-
tative.

(3) An individual may be operations supervisor at more
than one outlet provided that:

(A) each outlet has a designated LP-gas certified em-
ployee responsible for the LP-gas activities at that outlet:

(B) the certified employee's and/or operations supervi-
sor's telephone number is posted at the outlet on a sign with lettering at
least 3/4-inch high, visible and legible during normal business hours;
and

(C) the certified employee and/or the operations super-
visor monitors the telephone number and responds to calls during nor-
mal business hours.

(4) The company representative may also serve as opera-
tions supervisor for one or more of the licensee's outlets provided that
the individual meets both the company representative and the opera-
tions supervisor requirements in this section.

(5) A licensee shall immediately notify AFS in writing
upon conclusion of employment, for whatever reason, of its company
representative or any operations supervisor and shall at the same time
designate a replacement.

(6) Alicensee shall cease all LP-gas activities if it no longer
employs a qualified company representative who complies with the
Commission's requirements. A licensee shall not resume LP-gas ac-
tivities until such time as it has a properly qualified company represen-
tative or it has been granted a conditional qualification as specified in
subsection (e) of this section.

(7) A licensee shall cease LP-gas activities at an outlet if it
no longer employs a qualified operations supervisor at that outlet who
complies with the Commission's requirements. A licensee shall not
resume LP-gas activities at that outlet until such time as it has a prop-
erly qualified operations supervisor or it has been granted a conditional
qualification as specified in subsection (e) of this section.

(b) Company representative. A company representative shall:

(1) be an owner or employee of the licensed entity, in the
case of a licensee other than a Category P licensee;

(2) Dbethelicensee's principal individual in authority and, in
the case of a licensee other than a Category P licensee, be responsible
for actively supervising all LP-gas activities conducted by the licensee,
including all appliance, container, portable cylinder, product, and sys-
tem activities;

(3) have a working knowledge of the licensee's LP-gas ac-
tivities to ensure compliance with the rules in this chapter and the Com-
mission's administrative requirements;

(4) pass the appropriate management-level rules examina-
tion, or, in the case of an applicant for a Category D license, obtain
an exemption as specified in §9.13 of this title (relating to General In-
stallers and Repairman Exemption);

(5) complete any required training and/or continuing edu-
cation required in §9.51 and §9.52 of this title (relating to General Re-
quirements for LP-Gas Training and Continuing Education, and Train-
ing and Continuing Education, respectively);

(6) comply with the work experience or training require-
ments in subsection (e) of this section, if applicable;

(7) be directly responsible for all employees performing
their assigned LP-gas activities, unless an operations supervisor is ful-
filling this requirement; and

(8) submit any additional information as deemed necessary
by AFS.

(c) Operations supervisors. An operations supervisor, in the
case of a licensee other than a Category P licensee, shall:

(1) be an owner or employee of the licensee;

(2) pass the applicable management-level rules examina-
tion or, in the case of a Category D license only, obtain an exemption
as specified in §9.13 of this title;

(3) complete any required training and/or continuing edu-
cation required in §9.51 and §9.52 of this title; and

(4) be directly responsible for actively supervising the
LP-gas activities of the licensee at the designated outlet.
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(d) Category P licensees.

(1) The company representative requirement for a Cate-
gory P licensee may be satisfied by employing a Category E or J com-
pany representative if the Category E or J company representative is
authorized by the Category P licensee to remove any employee who
does not comply with the rules in this chapter or who performs unsafe
LP-gas activities.

(2) In lieu of an operations supervisor requirement for a
Category P license, the Category E or J licensee providing the Category
P licensee with portable cylinders for exchange shall be required to:

(A) prepare amanual containing, at a minimum, the fol-
lowing:

(i) a description of the basic characteristics and
properties of LP-gas;

(i1) an explanation of the various parts of an LP-gas
cylinder, including what the purpose of each part is and how to operate
the cylinder valve;

(iii) complete instructions on how to properly trans-
port cylinders in vehicles;

(iv) prohibition against moving or installing cylin-
der cages at any store location;

(v) a prohibition against taking or storing inside a
building any cylinders that have or have had LP-gas in them;

(vi) a requirement that all cylinders containing
LP-gas be stored in a manner so that the relief valve is in the vapor
space of the cylinder;

(vii) a requirement that the employees who handle
the cylinders know the location within the store of the manual and know
the contents of the manual,

(viii) instructions related to any potential hazards
that may be specific to a location, including but not limited to the
proper distancing of cylinders from combustible materials and sources
of ignition;

(ix) detailed emergency procedures regarding a
leaking cylinder, including all applicable emergency contact numbers;

(x) arequirement that any accidents be reported to
the Category E or J licensee who prepares the manual, and detailed
procedures for reporting any accidents;

(xi) all Commission rules applicable to the Category
P license, including the requirement that the Category P licensee is
responsible for complying with all such rules;

(xii) all provisions of Subchapter H ("Enforce-
ment") of Chapter 113 of the Texas Natural Resources Code;

(xiii) a detailed description of the training provided
to each employee of the Category P licensee who may be engaged in
any activities covered by the Category P license; and

(xiv) a page for the signatures, printed names and
dates of training for each individual trained at each outlet on this man-
ual.

(B) provide a manual in print or electronic format at
each outlet or location of the Category P licensee; and

(C) provide training as to the contents of the manual to
each employee who may be engaged in any activities covered by the
Category P license at all outlets or locations of the Category P licensee

and maintain records regarding the employees of the Category P li-
censee who have been trained.

(3) The Category P licensee shall:

(A) ensure that each employee who is involved with the
activities covered by the Category P license is knowledgeable about the
contents of the manual and has signed and dated the signature page of
the manual; and

(B) ensure that each such employee is aware of the lo-
cation of the manual and can show the manual to employees of the
Commission upon request.

(e) Work experience substitution for Category E, F, G, I, and

(1) The AFS director may, upon written request, allow a
conditional qualification for a Category E, F, G, I, or J company repre-
sentative or operations supervisor who passes the applicable manage-
ment-level rules examination provided that the individual attends and
successfully completes the next available Category E, F, G, I, or ] man-
agement-level training course, or a subsequent Category E, F, G, I, or
J management-level training course agreed on by the AFS director and
the applicant.

(A) The written request shall include a description of
the individual's LP-gas experience and other related information in or-
der that the AFS director may properly evaluate the request.

(B) Applicants for company representative or op-
erations supervisor who have less than three years' experience or
experience which is not applicable to the category for which the
individual is applying shall not be granted a conditional qualification
and shall comply with the training requirements in §9.52 of this title
prior to AFS issuing a certificate.

(2) If the individual fails to complete the training require-
ments within the time granted by the AFS director, the conditional qual-
ification shall immediately be voided and the individual shall immedi-
ately cease all LP-gas activities granted by the conditional qualification.

$9.26. Insurance and Self-Insurance Requirements.

(a) Alicensee or registered manufacturer shall not perform any
activity authorized by its license or registration under §9.6 of this title
(relating to License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration,
and Fees) unless insurance coverage required by this section is in effect.
LP-gas licensees, registered manufacturers, or applicants for license or
manufacturer registration shall comply with the minimum amounts of
insurance specified in Table 1 of this section or with the self-insurance
requirements in subsection (i) of this section, if applicable. Registered
manufacturers are not eligible for self-insurance. Before AFS grants
or renews a manufacturer registration, an applicant for a manufacturer
registration shall submit the documents required by paragraph (1) of
this subsection. Before AFS grants or renews a license, an applicant
for a license shall submit either:

Figure: 16 TAC §9.26(a)

(1) An insurance Acord™ form; or any other form ap-
proved by the Texas Department of Insurance that has been prepared
and signed by the insurance carrier containing all required information.
The forms must be issued by an insurance company authorized or
accepted by the Texas Department of Insurance; or

(2) properly completed documents demonstrating the ap-
plicant's compliance with the self-insurance requirements set forth in
subsection (j) of this section.

(b) Each licensee or registered manufacturer shall file LPG
Form 999 or other written notice with AFS at least 30 calendar days
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before the cancellation of any insurance coverage. The 30-day period
commences on the date the notice is actually received by AFS.

(c) Alicensee or applicant for a license that does not employ or
contemplate employing any employee to be engaged in LP-gas related
activities in Texas may file LPG Form 996B in lieu of filing a workers'
compensation insurance form, including employer's liability insurance,
or alternative accident and health insurance coverage. The licensee or
applicant for a license shall file the required insurance form with AFS
before hiring any person as an employee engaged in LP-gas related
work.

(d) A licensee, applicant for a license, or an ultimate con-
sumer that does not operate or contemplate operating a motor vehicle
equipped with an LP-gas cargo container or does not transport or
contemplate transporting LP-gas by vehicle in any manner may file
LPG Form 997B in lieu of a motor vehicle bodily injury and property
damage insurance form, if this certificate is not otherwise required.
The licensee or applicant for a license shall file the required insurance
form with AFS before operating a motor vehicle equipped with an
LP-gas cargo container or transporting LP-gas by vehicle in any
manner.

(e) A licensee, registered manufacturer, or applicant for a li-
cense or manufacturer registration that does not engage in or contem-
plate engaging in any LP-gas activities that would be covered by com-
pleted operations or products liability insurance, or both, may file LPG
Form 998B in lieu of a completed operations and/or products liability
insurance form. The licensee, registered manufacturer, or applicant for
a license or manufacturer registration shall file the required insurance
form with AFS before engaging in any operations that require com-
pleted operations and/or products liability insurance.

(f) A licensee, registered manufacturer, or applicant for a li-
cense or manufacturer registration that does not engage in or contem-
plate engaging in any operations that would be covered by general li-
ability insurance may file LPG Form 998B in lieu of filing a general
liability insurance form. The licensee, registered manufacturer, or ap-
plicant for a license or manufacturer registration shall file the required
insurance form with AFS before engaging in any operations that re-
quire general liability insurance.

(g) Alicensee may protect its employees by obtaining accident
and health insurance coverage from an insurance company authorized
to write such policies in this state as an alternative to workers' com-
pensation coverage. The alternative coverage shall be in the amounts
specified in Table 1 of this section.

(h) A state agency or institution, county, municipality, school
district, or other governmental subdivision shall meet the requirements
of this section for workers' compensation, general liability, and/or mo-
tor vehicle liability insurance. The requirements may be met by filing
LPG Form 995 with AFS as evidence of self-insurance, if permitted by
the Texas Labor Code, Title 5, Subtitle C, and Texas Natural Resources
Code, §113.097.

(i) Self-insurance requirements.

(1) This subsection applies to a licensee's or a license appli-
cant's motor vehicle bodily injury and property damage liability cover-
age and general liability coverage. A licensee or license applicant shall
not elect to self-insure for more than 12 consecutive months, exclusive
of the six-month period for which a letter of credit is required to remain
in effect pursuant to paragraph (4) of this subsection.

(2) A licensee or license applicant desiring to self-insure
shall file with AFS a properly completed LPG Form 28, Notice of Elec-
tion to Self-Insure and a properly completed LPG Form 28-A, Bank
Declarations Regarding Irrevocable Letter of Credit. The licensee or

license applicant shall attach to the LPG Form 28-A any documenta-
tion necessary to show that the bank issuing the irrevocable letter of
credit meets the requirements in paragraph (5)(E) of this subsection.

(3) The irrevocable letter of credit shall be in an amount
that is no less than the total of all minimum insurance coverage amounts
required by the Commission in the Table in subsection (a)of this section
for every coverage for which the licensee or license applicant seeks to
self-insure.

(4) The irrevocable letter of credit shall be valid until the
expiration date shown on LPG Form 28, which shall be no sooner than
six months after the earlier of either:

(A) the expiration date of the license; or
(B) the effective date of insurance coverage.

(5) A letter of credit commemorated by LPG Form
28-Ashall:

(A) Dbe irrevocable during its term;

(B) be payable to the Commission or Commission's de-
signee in part or in full as directed by the Commission in compliance
with an order from state or federal court;

(C) include a guarantee from the bank that issues the
letter of credit (irrevocable confirmed credit);

(D) not apply to the licensing requirements for worker's
compensation insurance including employers liability insurance or al-
ternative accident/health insurance; and

(E) be issued by a federally insured bank authorized to
do business in the State of Texas which meets or exceeds the following
requirements:

(i) Bank management shall attest that the bank is not
subject to any outstanding written enforcement action, agreement, or-
der, capital directive, or prompt corrective action directive issued by a
state or federal bank regulatory agency;

(i) The bank shall be "well capitalized" as defined
in federal bank regulatory statutes with:

(1) a total risk-based capital ratio of 10% or
greater;

(II) a Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio of 6% or
greater; and

(Ill)  aleverage ratio of 5% or greater.

(iii) The bank shall have received a satisfactory or
better rating at its most recent Community Reinvestment Act (CRA)ex-
amination by a federal bank regulatory agency;

(iv) The bank management shall attest that the full
amount of the letter of credit, when added to other indebtedness of
the licensee or applicant for license to the bank, is within the bank's
regulatory lending limit; and

(v) The issuing bank shall be in good standing with
the State Comptroller's Office regarding the payment of franchise taxes
and other obligations to the state.

(6) Inaddition to the requirements of §9.36 of this title (re-
lating to Report of LP-Gas Incident/Accident), within 30 days of the
occurrence of any incident or accident involving the business activi-
ties of a self-insured LP-gas licensee that results in property damage
or loss and/or personal injuries, the licensee shall notify AFS in writ-
ing of the incident. The licensee shall include in the notification a list
of the names and addresses of any individuals known to the licensee
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who may have suffered losses in the incident. The licensee shall also
provide written notice to all such individuals of the licensee's status as
being self-insured and of the expiration date of the licensee's letter of
credit.

(j) Eachlicensee or registered manufacturer shall promptly no-
tify AFS of any change in insurance coverage or insurance carrier by
filing a properly completed Acord™ form; other form approved by
the Texas Department of Insurance that has been prepared and signed
by the insurance carrier containing all required information; or doc-
uments demonstrating the applicant's compliance with the self-insur-
ance requirements set forth in subsection (i) of this section. Failure to
promptly notify AFS of a change in the status of insurance coverage or
insurance carrier may result in an enforcement action and an adminis-
trative penalty.

$9.51. General Requirements for LP-Gas Training and Continuing
Education.

(a) In addition to complying with NFPA 58, §§4.4 and 11.2,
individuals shall comply with the training and continuing education
requirements in this chapter.

(b) Applicants for new certificates, as set forth in §9.8 of this
title (relating to Requirements and Application for a New Certificate)
and persons holding existing certificates shall comply with the training
or continuing education requirements in this chapter. Any individual
who fails to comply with the training or continuing education require-
ments by the assigned deadline may regain certification by paying the
nonrefundable course fee and satisfactorily completing an authorized
training or continuing education course within two years of the dead-
line. In addition to paying the course fee, the person shall pay any fee
or late penalties to AFS.

(c) The training requirements apply to:

(1) applicants for Category D, E, F, G, 1, J, K, or M man-
agement-level certificates; and

(2) applicants for the following employee-level certifica-
tions:

(A) bobtail driver;

(B) DOT cylinder filler;

(C) recreational vehicle technician;

(D) service and installation technician;

(E) appliance service and installation technician; and
(F) motor/mobile fuel filler.

(d) The continuing education requirements apply to the fol-
lowing individuals:

(1) Category D, E, F, G, 1, J, K, and M management-level
certificate holders;

(2) any ultimate consumer who has purchased, leased, or
obtained other rights in any LP-gas bobtail, including any employee of
such ultimate consumer if that employee drives or in any way operates
the equipment on an LP-gas bobtail; and

(3) individuals holding the following employee-level cer-
tifications:

(A) bobtail driver;
(B) DOT cylinder filler;
(C) recreational vehicle technician;

(D) service and installation technician;

(E) appliance service and installation technician; and
(F) motor/mobile fuel filler.

(e) The training and continuing education requirements do not
apply to an individual who:

(1) drives or fuels a motor vehicle powered by LP-gas as
an ultimate consumer;

(2) fuels motor vehicles as an employee of an ultimate con-
sumer;

(3) 1is employed by a state agency, county, municipality,
school district, or other governmental subdivision;

(4) holds a general installers and repairman exemption; or

(5) holds amanagement or employee-level certification not
specified in subsection (c) or (d) of this section.

(f) Except as provided in §9.41(b) of this title (relating to Test-
ing of LP-Gas Systems in School Facilities), each individual who per-
forms LP-gas activities as an employee of an ultimate consumer or a
state agency, county, municipality, school district, or other governmen-
tal subdivision shall be properly supervised by his or her employer.
Any such individual who is not certified by the Commission to per-
form such LP-gas activities shall be properly trained by a competent
person in the safe performance of such LP-gas activities.

(g) Individual credit. Successful completion of any required
training or continuing education course shall be credited to and accrue
to the individual.

(h) No partial credit. Individuals attending courses shall re-
ceive credit only if they attend the entire course and pay any training
or continuing education course fees in full. The Commission shall not
award partial credit for partial attendance.

(i) Schedules. Dates and locations of available AFS LP-gas
training and continuing education courses can be obtained in the Austin
offices of AFS, and on the Commission's web site and shall be updated
at least monthly. AFS courses shall be conducted in Austin and in other
locations around the state. Individuals or companies may request in
writing that AFS courses be taught in their area. AFS shall schedule its
courses and locations at its discretion.

(j) Course registration and scheduling.

(1) Registering for a course. To register for a scheduled
training or continuing education course, an individual shall complete
the online registration process at least seven days prior to the course.
AFS shall also accept course registrations via regular mail, electronic
mail (e-mail), or facsimile transmission (fax). Such requests shall in-
clude the applicant's full name, address, phone number, level (either
manager or employee) and category of certification (such as cylinder
filling or service and installation), e-mail address, and the name or num-
ber, location, and date of the requested course.

(2) Costs for courses.

(A) Each registration for a training course shall require
the payment of the applicable nonrefundable course fee as follows:

(i) $75 for an eight-hour course;

(i)  $150 for the 16-hour Category F, G, I, and J
course; and

(iii)  $750 for the 80-hour Category E course.

(B) The course fees do not include the license or rules
examination fees described in §9.6 and §9.10 of this title (relating to
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License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, and Fees,
and Rules Examination, respectively).

(C) Current certificate holders who have paid the annual
renewal fee and who want to add a new certification other than Cate-
gory E, F, G, T or J shall not be required to pay the $75 course fee.

(D) Continuing education courses shall be oftered at no
charge to certificate holders who have timely paid the annual certificate
renewal fee specified in §9.9 of this title.

(E) Requests for courses where no training or contin-
uing education course credit is given shall be submitted in writing to
the AFS training section. The AFS training section may conduct the re-
quested courses at its discretion. The nonrefundable fee for a non-credit
course is $250 if no overnight expenses are incurred by the AFS train-
ing section, or $500 if overnight expenses are incurred. AFS may waive
the fee for a non-credit course in cases where the Commission recovers
the cost of the course from another source, such as a grant.

(F) AFS may charge reasonable fees for materials for
courses using third-party materials.

(3) Course scheduling. AFS shall schedule individuals to
attend courses on a first-come, first-served basis, based on when the
course fee is paid except as follows:

(A) Priority for attending the 16-hour Category F, G, I,
and J course, and the 80-hour Category E course is based on when the
course fee is paid.

(B) Priority for attending courses other than the 16-hour
Category F, G, I, and J course, and the 80-hour Category E course
shall be given to applicants or certificate holders who must comply
with training or continuing education requirements by the next May 31
deadline.

(C) If any course has fewer than eight individuals reg-
istered within seven calendar days prior to the course, AFS may can-
cel the course and may reschedule the registered individuals in another
course agreed upon by the individuals and the AFS training section.
The AFS training section reserves the right to determine the number of
course registrants.

(4) If apreviously registered individual is unable to attend
the course at the time and place for which the individual is registered
due to illness or other unforeseen circumstances, another individual
from the same company may attend that same course in his or her place.

(5) Applicants who take courses offered by an entity other
than AFS shall comply with the registration, fee, and other require-
ments specified by that entity.

(k) An individual registered to take a course shall bring the
following items to the course site:

(1) aregistration confirmation email or fax;

(2) proof of payment unless exempt from the course fee;
and

(3) documents required in §9.10(b) of this title if one or
more examinations will be taken.

() Individual applicants or certificate holders shall be respon-
sible for promptly notifying the AFS training section in writing of any
discrepancies or errors in the training or continuing education records,
and shall notify AFS of any discrepancies or errors in examination
records or certificates. In the event of a discrepancy, AFS' records,
including due dates, shall be deemed correct unless the individual has
copies of applicable documents which clarify the discrepancy.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904862

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of General Counsel

Railroad Commission of Texas

Effective date: January 6, 2020

Proposal publication date: October 25, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295
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SUBCHAPTER B. LP-GAS INSTALLATIONS,
CONTAINERS, APPURTENANCES, AND
EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS

16 TAC §§9.101 - 9.103, 9.107 - 9.110, 9.113 - 9.116, 9.126,
9.129 - 9.132, 9.134 - 9.137, 9.140 - 9.143

The Commission adopts the amendments under Texas Natural
Resources Code, §113.051, which authorizes the Commission
to promulgate and adopt rules and standards relating to any
and all aspects or phases of the LP-gas industry that will pro-
tect or tend to protect the health, welfare, and safety of the gen-
eral public; Texas Natural Resources Code §113.0815, which
requires a person engaging in the manufacture or fabrication of
containers to register with the commission in accordance with
rules adopted by the commission; and Texas Natural Resources
Code §113.082, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
establishing license categories for LP-gas activities.

Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§113.051,
113.0815, and 113.082.

Cross reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code
Chapter 113.

$9.116.  Container Corrosion Protection System.

(a) In addition to NFPA 58, §§5.2.1.11, 6.8.6.1(1), 6.8.6.2(A),
6.8.6.3(F), 6.11.3.14 and 6.19.2, steel containers and steel piping sys-
tems installed underground, partially underground, or as mounded in-
stallations on or after March 1, 2014, shall include a corrosion protec-
tion system.

(b) Cathodic protection systems installed on or after March 1,
2014, shall be monitored by every licensee servicing the container in
accordance with NFPA 58, §6.19.3.1 through 6.19.3.3. Such licensees
shall document the test results.

(c) The licensee shall retain documentation of test results in
accordance with §9.4 of this title (relating to Records).

(d) Steel containers and piping systems installed underground,
partially underground, or as mounded installations on or after March 1,
2014, shall not be filled unless a cathodic protection system is installed
in accordance with this section.

$9.134.  Connecting Container to Piping.

LP-gas piping shall be installed only by a licensee authorized to per-
form such installation, a registrant authorized by §9.13 of this title (re-
lating to General Installers and Repairman Exemption), or an individ-
ual exempted from licensing as authorized by Texas Natural Resources
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Code, §113.081. A licensee shall not connect an LP-gas container or
cylinder to a piping installation made by a person who is not licensed to
make such installation, except that connection may be made to piping
installed by an individual on that individual's single family residential
home. A licensee may connect to piping installed by an unlicensed
person provided the licensee has verified that the piping is free of leaks
and has been installed according to the rules in this chapter, and filed
with AFS a completed LPG Form 22, identifying the unlicensed person
who installed the LP-gas piping.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904863

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of the General Counsel
Railroad Commission of Texas

Earliest possible date of adoption: January 6, 2020
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. VEHICLES
16 TAC §§9.201 - 9.204, 9.206, 9.208, 9.211, 9.212

The Commission adopts the amendments under Texas Natural
Resources Code, §113.051, which authorizes the Commission
to promulgate and adopt rules and standards relating to any
and all aspects or phases of the LP-gas industry that will pro-
tect or tend to protect the health, welfare, and safety of the gen-
eral public; Texas Natural Resources Code §113.0815, which
requires a person engaging in the manufacture or fabrication of
containers to register with the commission in accordance with
rules adopted by the commission; and Texas Natural Resources
Code §113.082, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
establishing license categories for LP-gas activities.

Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§113.051,
113.0815, and 113.082.

Cross reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code
Chapter 113.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904865

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of the General Counsel
Railroad Commission of Texas

Earliest possible date of adoption: January 6, 2020
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. ADOPTION BY
REFERENCE OF NFPA 54 (NATIONAL
FUEL GAS CODE)

16 TAC §§9.301 - 9.304, 9.306 - 9.308, 9.311, 9.313

The Commission adopts the amendments and new rule under
Texas Natural Resources Code, §113.051, which authorizes the
Commission to promulgate and adopt rules and standards relat-
ing to any and all aspects or phases of the LP-gas industry that
will protect or tend to protect the health, welfare, and safety of
the general public; Texas Natural Resources Code §113.0815,
which requires a person engaging in the manufacture or fabrica-
tion of containers to register with the commission in accordance
with rules adopted by the commission; and Texas Natural Re-
sources Code §113.082, which authorizes the Commission to
adopt rules establishing license categories for LP-gas activities.

Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§113.051,
113.0815, and 113.082.

Cross reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code
Chapter 113.

$9.301.  Adoption by Reference of NFPA 54.

(a) Effective September 1, 2020, except as modified in the re-
maining sections of this subchapter, the Commission adopts by specific
reference the provisions established by the National Fire Protection As-
sociation in its 2018 edition of the National Fuel Gas Code, commonly
referred to as NFPA 54 or Pamphlet 54. Nothing in this section or
subchapter shall prevent the Commission, after notice, from adopting
additional requirements, whether more or less stringent, for individual
situations to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the general pub-
lic. Any documents or parts of documents incorporated by reference
into these rules shall be a part of these rules as if set out in full.

(b) Effective September 1, 2020, the Commission also adopts
by reference all other NFPA publications or portions of those publica-
tions referenced in NFPA 54 which apply to LP-gas activities only. The
adopted pamphlets referenced in NFPA 54 are:

(1) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispenser Facilities
and Repair Garages, 2018 edition;

(2) NFPA 37, Standard for the Installation and Use of Sta-
tionary Combustion Engines and Gas Turbines, 2018 edition;

(3) NFPA 51, Standard for the Design and Installation of
Oxygen-Fuel Gas Systems for Welding, Cutting, and Allied Processes,
2018 edition;

(4) NFPA 52, Vehicular Fuel Systems Code, 2016 edition;

(5) NFPA 58, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code, 2017 edition,
as amended in Subchapter E of this chapter (relating to Adoption by
Reference of NFPA 58 (LP-Gas Code));

(6) NFPA 70, National Electrical Code, 2017 edition;

(7) NFPA 82, Standard on Incinerators and Waste, and
Linen Handling Systems and Equipment, 2014 edition;

(8) NFPA 88A, Standard for Parking Structures, 2015 edi-
tion;

(9) NFPA 90A, Standard for the Installation of Air Condi-
tioning and Ventilating Systems, 2018 edition;

(10) NFPA 90B, Standard for the Installation of Warm Air
Heating and Air Conditioning Systems, 2018 edition;

45 TexReg 144 January 3, 2020 Texas Register



(11) NFPA 96, Standard for Ventilation Control and Fire
Protection of Commercial Cooking Operations, 2017 edition;

(12) NFPA 211, Standard for Chimneys, Fireplaces, Vents,
and Solid Fuel-Burning Appliances, 2016 edition;

(13) NFPA 409, Standard on Aircraft Hangars, 2016 edi-
tion;

(14) NFPA 780, Standard for the Installation of Lightning
Protection Systems, 2017 edition;

(15) NFPA 853, Standard for the Installation of Station
Fuel Cell Power Systems, 2015 edition; and

(16) NFPA 1192, Standard on Recreational Vehicles, 2018
edition.

$9.308.  Installation of Piping.

(a) Inaddition to the requirements of NFPA 54, Chapter 7, Gas
Piping Installation, LP-gas piping shall be installed, altered, repaired,
pressure tested, and leakage tested only by persons properly certified
by the Commission pursuant to §9.10 and §9.13 of this title (relating to
Rules Examination, and General Installers and Repairman Exemption,
respectively).

(b) Licensees and registrants shall document and retain such
documentation of all pressure and leakage tests pursuant to §9.4 of this
title (relating to Records).

(c) When connecting to or supplying a new piping system with
corrugated stainless steel tubing (CSST), the licensee or registrant shall
verify the system is bonded.

(d) In addition to NFPA 58 §5.11.5, licensees and registrants
shall retain written proof regarding any current certifications required
by the manufacturer for installation and repair methods for CSST, poly-
ethylene, and polyamide pipe and tubing, including heat-fusion.

$9.313.  Sections in NFPA 54 Adopted with Additional Requirements
or Not Adopted.

Table 1 of this section lists certain NFPA 54 sections which the
Commission adopts with additional requirements, changes, or does
not adopt in order to address the Commission's rules in this chapter.
Figure: 16 TAC §9.313

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904866

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of the General Counsel
Railroad Commission of Texas

Earliest possible date of adoption: January 6, 2020
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

¢ ¢ ¢

16 TAC §9.312

The Commission adopts the repeal under Texas Natural Re-
sources Code, §113.051, which authorizes the Commission to
promulgate and adopt rules and standards relating to any and all
aspects or phases of the LP-gas industry that will protect or tend
to protect the health, welfare, and safety of the general public;
Texas Natural Resources Code §113.0815, which requires a per-
son engaging in the manufacture or fabrication of containers to

register with the commission in accordance with rules adopted by
the commission; and Texas Natural Resources Code §113.082,
which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules establishing li-
cense categories for LP-gas activities.

Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§113.051,
113.0815, and 113.082.

Cross reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code
Chapter 113.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904867

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of the General Counsel
Railroad Commission of Texas

Earliest possible date of adoption: January 6, 2020
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. ADOPTION BY
REFERENCE OF NFPA 58 (LP-GAS CODE)
16 TAC §9.401, §9.403

The Commission adopts the amendments under Texas Natural
Resources Code, §113.051, which authorizes the Commission
to promulgate and adopt rules and standards relating to any
and all aspects or phases of the LP-gas industry that will pro-
tect or tend to protect the health, welfare, and safety of the gen-
eral public; Texas Natural Resources Code §113.0815, which
requires a person engaging in the manufacture or fabrication of
containers to register with the commission in accordance with
rules adopted by the commission; and Texas Natural Resources
Code §113.082, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules
establishing license categories for LP-gas activities.

Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§113.051,
113.0815, and 113.082.

Cross reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code
Chapter 113.

$9.401. Adoption by Reference of NFPA 58.

(a) Effective September 1, 2020, except as modified in this
subchapter, the Commission adopts by specific reference the provisions
established by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) in its
2017 edition of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code, commonly referred
to as NFPA 58 or Pamphlet 58. Nothing in this section or subchapter
shall prevent the Commission, after notice, from adopting additional
requirements, whether more or less stringent, for individual situations
to protect the health, safety and welfare of the general public. Any
documents or parts of documents incorporated by reference into these
rules shall be a part of these rules as if set out in full.

(b) Effective September 1, 2020, the Commission also adopts
by reference all other NFPA publications or portions of those publica-
tions referenced in NFPA 58, §2.1, which apply to LP-gas activities
only. The adopted pamphlets referenced in NFPA 58 are:

(1) NFPA 10, Standard for Portable Fire Extinguishers,
2013 edition;
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(2) NFPA 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Sys-
tems, 2016 edition;

(3) NFPA 15, Standard for Water Spray Fixed Systems for
Fire Protection, 2017 edition;

(4) NFPA 25, Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and
Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems, 2017 edition;

(5) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code,
2015 edition;

(6) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities
and Repair Garages, 2015 edition;

(7) NFPA 51B, Standard for Fire Prevention in Use of Cut-
ting and Welding Processes, 2014 edition;

(8) NFPA 54, National Fuel Gas Code, 2018 edition, as
amended in Subchapter D of this chapter (relating to Adoption by Ref-
erence of NFPA 54 (National Fuel Gas Code));

(9) NFPA 55, Standard for the Storage, Use, and Handling
of Compressed Gases and Cryogenic Fluids in Portable and Stationary
Containers, Cylinders, and Tanks, 2016 edition;

(10) NFPA 59, Utility LP-Gas Plant Code, 2015 edition;
(11) NFPA 70, National Electrical Code, 2017 edition;

(12) NFPA 99, Standard for Health Care Facilities, 2015
edition;

(13) NFPA 101, Life Safety Code, 2015 edition;

(14) NFPA 160, Standard for the Use of Flame Effects Be-
fore an Audience, 2016 edition;

(15) NFPA 220, Standard on Types of Building Construc-
tion, 2015 edition;

(16) NFPA 1192, Standard on Recreational Vehicles, 2015
edition.

§9.403.  Sections in NFPA 58 Not Adopted by Reference, and Adopted
with Changes or Additional Requirements.

(a) Table 1 of this section lists certain NFPA 58 sections which
the Commission does not adopt because the Commission's correspond-
ing rules are more pertinent to LP-gas activities in Texas, or which the
Commission adopts with changed language or additional requirements
in order to address the Commission's existing rules.

Figure: 16 TAC §9.403

(b) If a section in NFPA 58 refers to another section in NFPA
58 which the Commission has not adopted, or which the Commission
has adopted with additional or alternative language, then persons shall
comply with the applicable Commission rule.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904868

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of the General Counsel
Railroad Commission of Texas

Earliest possible date of adoption: January 6, 2020
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 12. COAL MINING REGULATIONS
SUBCHAPTER G. SURFACE COAL MINING
AND RECLAMATION OPERATIONS, PERMITS,
AND COAL EXPLORATION PROCEDURES
SYSTEMS

DIVISION 2. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR PERMITS AND PERMIT APPLICATIONS
16 TAC §12.108

The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) adopts
amendments to §12.108, relating to Permit Fees, with changes
to the proposed text as published in the August 23, 2019,
issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 4421). The rule will be
republished.

The Commission received two comments on the amendments:
one from North American Coal Corporation ("NACoal") and one
from the Texas Mining and Reclamation Association ("TMRA").
NACoal commented that the regulatory program designed to
oversee the coal mine sector should decrease proportionately
to the industry it regulates. NACoal recognizes that some pre-
viously active mines are still subject to regulatory oversight but
that most are in reclamation status, which, in NACoal's opinion,
requires significantly less oversight than an active mining op-
eration. NACoal recommended that instead of increasing per-
mit fees the Surface Mining and Reclamation Division (SMRD)
should evaluate its regulatory program and decrease inefficien-
cies such that its budget can be decreased. Similarly, TMRA ex-
pressed concern about increased fees at a time when the coal
mining industry is experiencing immense pressure. TMRA noted
the importance of the Commission working together with indus-
try to optimize the efficiency of the Commission's resources. The
Commission appreciates these comments.

The Commission agrees that efficient use of resources is a pri-
ority. The Commission also recognizes that the number of ac-
tive mines is decreasing. Therefore, the Commission has de-
termined it will maintain its current fee structure at this time. As
discussed in the proposal preamble, the current fee structure,
created by an agreement with industry in 2005, specifies that
seven percent of annual fees are based on the number of per-
mits, while 93 percent of annual fees are based on the number
of bonded acres. Maintaining the current fee structure until a
change is necessary through a future rulemaking will allow the
Commission and the mining industry an opportunity to re-evalu-
ate the fee structure to accommodate industry changes.

The Commission amends subsection (b) to remove proposed
calendar years. The Commission does not adopt the proposed
fee changes in paragraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2).

The Commission adopts the amendment under Texas Natural
Resources Code, §134.013, which authorizes the Commission
to promulgate rules pertaining to surface coal mining operations
and §134.055, which authorizes the Commission to collect an-
nual fees.

Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §134.013
and §134.055.

Cross-reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code,
§134.013 and §134.055.

$12.108. Permit Fees.
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(a) Application Fees. Each application for a surface coal min-
ing and reclamation permit or renewal or revision of a permit shall be
accompanied by a fee. The initial application fee and the application
fee for renewal of a permit may be paid in equal annual installments
during the term of the permit. The fee schedule is as follows:

(1) application for a permit: $5,000.
(2) application for revision of a permit: $500.
(3) application for renewal of a permit: $3,000.

(b) Annual Fees. In addition to application fees required by
this section, each permittee shall pay to the Commission the following
annual fees due and payable not later than March 15th of the year fol-
lowing the calendar year for which these fees are applicable:

(1) a fee of $12.85 for each acre of land within a permit
area covered by a reclamation bond on December 31st of the year, as
shown on the map required by §12.142(2)(C) of this chapter (relating
to Operation Plan: Maps and Plans); and

(2) afee of $6,170 for each permit in effect on December
31st of the year.

(c) Fees paid to the Commission under this section shall be
deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general revenue fund.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17,
2019.

TRD-201904870

Haley Cochran

Rules Attorney, Office of General Counsel

Railroad Commission of Texas

Effective date: January 6, 2020

Proposal publication date: August 23, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295
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PART 2. PUBLIC UTILITY
COMMISSION OF TEXAS

CHAPTER 22. PROCEDURAL RULES
SUBCHAPTER M. PROCEDURES AND
FILING REQUIREMENTS IN PARTICULAR
COMMISSION PROCEEDINGS

16 TAC §22.246

The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) adopts
amendments to §22.246, relating to administrative penalties,
with changes to the proposed text as published in the October
11, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 5833). The
rules will be republished. The amendments implement Senate
Bill 1358, 86th Legislature, Regular Session, which modified
requirements for notices of violation issued under Public Utility
Regulatory Act (PURA) §15.024 in cases where the person to
whom the notice was issued does not respond. The amend-
ments also make stylistic updates. These amendments are
adopted under Project Number 49875.

A public hearing on the amendments was held at commission
offices on October 25, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. No persons made ap-
pearances.

The commission received no comments on the proposed
amendments.

In adopting this section, the commission makes other minor
modifications for stylistic purposes.

These amendments are adopted under §14.002 and §14.052 of
the Public Utility Regulatory Act, Tex. Util. Code §(West 2016
and Supp. 2017) (PURA) which provides the commission with
the authority to make and enforce rules reasonably required in
the exercise of its powers and jurisdiction, including rules of prac-
tice and procedure; and PURA §15.024, which grants the com-
mission the authority to impose an administrative penalty when
the commission finds that a violation has occurred.

Cross reference to statutes:
§§14.002, 14.052, and 15.024.

§22.246. Administrative Penallties.

Public Utility Regulatory Act

(a) Scope. This section addresses enforcement actions related
to administrative penalties or disgorgement of excess revenues only
and does not apply to any other enforcement actions that may be un-
dertaken by the commission or the commission staff.

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in
this section, have the following meanings unless the context indicates
otherwise:

(1) Affected Wholesale Electric Market Participant -- An
entity, including a retail electric provider (REP), municipally owned
utility (MOU), or electric cooperative, that sells energy to retail cus-
tomers and served load during the period of the violation.

(2) Excess Revenue -- As defined in §25.503 of this title
(relating to Oversight of Wholesale Market Participants).

(3) Executive director -- The executive director of the com-
mission or the executive director's designee.

(4) Person -- Includes a natural person, partnership of two
or more persons having a joint or common interest, mutual or cooper-
ative association, and corporation.

(5) Violation -- Any activity or conduct prohibited by
PURA, the TWC, commission rule, or commission order.

(6) Continuing violation -- Except for a violation of PURA
chapter 17, 55, or 64, and commission rules or commission orders
adopted or issued under those chapters, any instance in which the per-
son alleged to have committed a violation attests that a violation has
been remedied and was accidental or inadvertent and subsequent in-
vestigation reveals that the violation has not been remedied or was not
accidental or inadvertent.

(¢) Amount of administrative penalty for violations of PURA
or a rule or order adopted under PURA.

(1) Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate
violation for which an administrative penalty can be levied, regardless
of the status of any administrative procedures that are initiated under
this subsection.

(2) The administrative penalty for each separate violation
may be in an amount not to exceed $25,000 per day, provided that an
administrative penalty in an amount that exceeds $5,000 may be as-
sessed only if the violation is included in the highest class of violations
in the classification system.
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(3) The amount of the administrative penalty must be based
on:

(A) the seriousness of the violation, including the na-
ture, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic
welfare of the public;

(B) the economic harm to property or the environment
caused by the violation;

(C) the history of previous violations;
(D) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
(E) the efforts to correct the violation; and

(F) any other matter that justice may require, including,
but not limited to, the respondent's timely compliance with requests for
information, completeness of responses, and the manner in which the
respondent has cooperated with the commission during the investiga-
tion of the alleged violation.

(d) Amount of administrative penalty for violations of the
TWC or arule or order adopted under chapter 13 of the TWC.

(1) Each day a violation continues may be considered a
separate violation for which an administrative penalty can be levied,
regardless of the status of any administrative procedures that are initi-
ated under this subsection.

(2) The administrative penalty for each separate violation
may be in an amount not to exceed $5,000 per day.

(3) The amount of the penalty must be based on:

(A) the nature, circumstances, extent, duration, and
gravity of the prohibited acts or omissions;

(B) the degree of culpability, including whether the vio-
lation was attributable to mechanical or electrical failures and whether
the violation could have been reasonably anticipated and avoided;

(C) the demonstrated good faith, including actions
taken by the person, affiliated interest, or entity to correct the cause of
the violation;

(D) any economic benefit gained through the violations;
(E) the amount necessary to deter future violations; and
(F) any other matters that justice requires.

(¢) Initiation of investigation. Upon receiving an allegation
of a violation or of a continuing violation, the executive director will
determine whether an investigation should be initiated.

(f) Report of violation or continuing violation. If, based on the
investigation undertaken in accordance with subsection (¢) of this sec-
tion, the executive director determines that a violation or a continuing
violation has occurred, the executive director may issue a report to the
commission.

(1) Contents of the report. The report must state the facts
on which the determination is based and a recommendation on the
imposition of an administrative penalty, including a recommendation
on the amount of the administrative penalty and, if applicable under
§25.503 of this title, a recommendation that excess revenue be dis-
gorged.

(2) Notice of report.

(A) Within 14 days after the report is issued, the execu-
tive director will give written notice of the report to the person who is
alleged to have committed the violation or continuing violation which

is the subject of the report. The notice may be given by regular or cer-
tified mail.

(B) Forviolations of the TWC or arule or order adopted
under chapter 13 of the TWC, within ten days after the report is issued,
the executive director will, by certified mail, return receipt requested,
give written notice of the report to the person who is alleged to have
committed the violation or continuing violation which is the subject of
the report.

(C) The notice must include:

(i) a brief summary of the alleged violation or con-
tinuing violation;

(i) a statement of the amount of the recommended
administrative penalty;

(iii)  a statement recommending disgorgement of ex-
cess revenue, if applicable, under §25.503 of this title;

(iv) a statement that the person who is alleged to
have committed the violation or continuing violation has a right to a
hearing on the occurrence of the violation or continuing violation, the
amount of the administrative penalty, or both the occurrence of the vi-
olation or continuing violation and the amount of the administrative
penalty;

(v) acopy of the report issued to the commission un-
der this subsection; and

(vi) a copy of this section, §22.246 of this title (re-
lating to Administrative Penalties).

(D) If the commission sends written notice to a person
by mail addressed to the person's mailing address as maintained in the
commission's records, the person is deemed to have received notice:

(i) onthe fifth day after the date that the commission
sent the written notice, for notice sent by regular mail; or

(i) on the date the written notice is received or de-
livery is refused, for notice sent by certified mail.

(g) Options for response to notice of violation or continuing
violation.

(1) Opportunity to remedy.

(A) This paragraph does not apply to a violation of
PURA chapters 17, 55, or 64, or chapter 13 of the TWC, or of a
commission rule or commission order adopted or issued under those
chapters.

(B) Within 40 days of the date of receipt of a notice of
violation set out in subsection (f)(2) of this section, the person against
whom the administrative penalty or disgorgement may be assessed may
file with the commission proof that the alleged violation has been reme-
died and that the alleged violation was accidental or inadvertent. A per-
son who claims to have remedied an alleged violation has the burden
of proving to the commission both that an alleged violation was reme-
died before the 31st day after the date the person received the report of
violation and that the alleged violation was accidental or inadvertent.
Proof that an alleged violation has been remedied and that the alleged
violation was accidental or inadvertent must be evidenced in writing,
under oath, and supported by necessary documentation.

(C) Ifthe executive director determines that the alleged
violation has been remedied, was remedied within 30 days, and that
the alleged violation was accidental or inadvertent, no administrative
penalty will be assessed against the person who is alleged to have com-
mitted the violation.
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(D) Ifthe executive director determines that the alleged
violation was not remedied or was not accidental or inadvertent, the
executive director will make a determination as to what further pro-
ceedings are necessary.

(E) Ifthe executive director determines that the alleged
violation is a continuing violation, the executive director will institute
further proceedings, including referral of the matter for hearing under
subsection (i) of this section.

(2) Payment of administrative penalty, disgorged excess
revenue, or both. Within 20 days after the date the person receives
the notice set out in subsection (f)(2) of this section, the person may
accept the determination and recommended administrative penalty
and, if applicable, the recommended excess revenue to be disgorged
through a written statement sent to the executive director. If this
option is selected, the person must take all corrective action required
by the commission. The commission by written order will approve the
determination and impose the recommended administrative penalty
and, if applicable, recommended disgorged excess revenue or order a
hearing on the determination and the recommended penalty.

(3) Request for hearing. Not later than the 20th day after
the date the person receives the notice set out in subsection (f)(2) of
this section, the person may submit to the executive director a written
request for a hearing on any or all of the following:

(A) the occurrence of the violation or continuing viola-
tion;

(B) the amount of the administrative penalty; and

(C) the amount of disgorged excess revenue, if applica-
ble.

(4) Failure to respond. If the person fails to timely respond
to the notice set out in subsection (f)(2) of this section, the commission
by order will approve the determination and impose the recommended
penalty or order a hearing on the determination and the recommended

penalty.

(h) Settlement conference. A settlement conference may be
requested by any party to discuss the occurrence of the violation or con-
tinuing violation, the amount of the administrative penalty, disgorged
excess revenue if applicable, and the possibility of reaching a settle-
ment prior to hearing. A settlement conference is not subject to the
Texas Rules of Evidence or the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure; how-
ever, the discussions are subject to Texas Rules of Civil Evidence 408,
concerning compromise and offers to compromise.

(1) If a settlement is reached:

(A) the parties must file a report with the executive di-
rector setting forth the factual basis for the settlement;

(B) the executive director will issue the report of settle-
ment to the commission; and

(C) the commission by written order will approve the
settlement.

(2) If a settlement is reached after the matter has been re-
ferred to the State Office of Administrative Hearings, the matter will
be returned to the commission. If the settlement is approved, the com-
mission will issue an order memorializing commission approval and
setting forth commission orders associated with the settlement agree-
ment.

(1) Hearing. If a person requests a hearing under subsection
(2)(3) of this section, or the commission orders a hearing under subsec-
tion (g)(4) of this section, the commission will refer the case to SOAH

under §22.207 of this title (relating to Referral to State Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings) and give notice of the referral to the person. For
violations of the TWC or a rule or order adopted under chapter 13 of the
TWC, if the person charged with the violation fails to timely respond
to the notice, the commission by order will assess the recommended
penalty or order a hearing to be held on the findings and recommen-
dations in the report. If the commission orders a hearing, the case will
then proceed as set forth in paragraphs (1)-(5) of this subsection.

(1) The commission will provide the SOAH administrative
law judge a list of issues or areas that must be addressed.

(2) The hearing must be conducted in accordance with the
provisions of this chapter and notice of the hearing must be provided
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.

(3) The SOAH administrative law judge will promptly is-
sue to the commission a proposal for decision, including findings of
fact and conclusions of law, about:

(A) the occurrence of the alleged violation or continu-
ing violation;

(B) whether the alleged violation was cured and was ac-
cidental or inadvertent for a violation of any chapter other than PURA
chapters 17, 55, or 64; of a commission rule or commission order
adopted or issued under those chapters; or of chapter 13 of the TWC;
and

(C) the amount of the proposed administrative penalty
and, if applicable, disgorged excess revenue.

(4) Based on the SOAH administrative law judge's pro-
posal for decision, the commission may:

(A) determine that a violation or continuing violation
has occurred and impose an administrative penalty and, if applicable,
disgorged excess revenue;

(B) if applicable, determine that a violation occurred
but that, as permitted by subsection (g)(1) of this section, the person
remedied the violation within 30 days and proved that the violation
was accidental or inadvertent, and that no administrative penalty will
be imposed; or

(C) determine that no violation or continuing violation
has occurred.

(5) Notice of the commission's order issued under para-
graph (4) of this subsection must be provided under the Government
Code, chapter 2001 and §22.263 of this title (relating to Final Orders)
and must include a statement that the person has a right to judicial re-
view of the order.

(j) Parties to a proceeding. The parties to a proceeding under
chapter 15 of PURA relating to administrative penalties or disgorge-
ment of excess revenue will be limited to the person who is alleged to
have committed the violation or continuing violation and the commis-
sion, including the independent market monitor. This does not apply
to a subsequent proceeding under subsection (k) of this section.

(k) Distribution of Disgorged Excess Revenues. Disgorged
excess revenues must be remitted to an independent organization, as
defined in PURA §39.151. The independent organization must distrib-
ute the excess revenue to affected wholesale electric market partici-
pants in proportion to their load during the intervals when the violation
occurred to be used to reduce costs or fees incurred by retail electric
customers. The load of any market participants that are no longer ac-
tive at the time of the distribution will be removed prior to calculating
the load proportions of the affected wholesale electric market partici-
pants that are still active. However, if the commission determines other
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wholesale electric market participants are affected or a different distri-
bution method is appropriate, the commission may direct commission
staff to open a subsequent proceeding to address those issues.

(1) No later than 90 days after the disgorged excess rev-
enues are remitted to the independent organization, the monies must
be distributed to affected wholesale electric market participants active
at the time of distribution, or the independent organization must, by
that date, notify the commission of the date by which the funds will be
distributed. The independent organization must include with the dis-
tributed monies a communication that explains the docket number in
which the commission ordered the disgorged excess revenues, an in-
struction that the monies must be used to reduce costs or fees incurred
by retail electric customers, and any other information the commission
orders.

(2) The commission may require any affected wholesale
electric market participants receiving disgorged funds to demonstrate
how the funds were used to reduce the costs or fees incurred by retail
electric customers.

(3) Any affected wholesale electric market participant re-
ceiving disgorged funds that is affiliated with the person from whom the
excess revenue is disgorged must distribute all of the disgorged excess
revenues directly to its retail customers and must provide certification
under oath to the commission that the entirety of the revenues was dis-
tributed to its retail electric customers.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 16,
2019.

TRD-201904837

Andrea Gonzalez

Rules Coordinator

Public Utility Commission of Texas

Effective date: January 5, 2020

Proposal publication date: October 11, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 936-7244

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION
COORDINATING BOARD

CHAPTER 3. RULES APPLYING TO ALL
PUBLIC AND PRIVATE OR INDEPENDENT
INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER EDUCATION
IN TEXAS REGARDING ELECTRONIC
REPORTING OPTION FOR CERTAIN
OFFENSES; AMNESTY

SUBCHAPTER A. REQUIREMENTS

FOR CERTAIN INCIDENTS OF SEXUAL
HARASSMENT, SEXUAL ASSAULT, DATING
VIOLENCE, OR STALKING AT CERTAIN
PUBLIC AND PRIVATE INSTITUTIONS

OF HIGHER EDUCATION; AUTHORIZING
ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES.
19 TAC §§3.1 - 3.20

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB)
adopts the repeal of Chapter 3, Subchapter A, §§3.11 - 3.15 and
new rules for Chapter 3, Subchapter A, §§3.1 - 3.20, concerning
required reporting rules and policies regarding certain incidents
of sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and
stalking at postsecondary educational institutions. New §§3.1 -
3.10 and 3.16 - 3.20 were proposed in the November 1, 2019,
issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 6487). The repeal and
replacement of §§3.11 - 3.15 were proposed in the November 8,
2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 6660). New §3.4
and §3.11 are adopted with changes to the proposed text as
published in the November 8, 2019 issue of the Texas Register
(44 TexReg 6660), and will be republished. New §§3.1 - 3.3, 3.5
- 3.10, and 3.12 - 3.20, as well as the repeal of §§3.11 - 3.15,
are adopted without changes and will not be republished.

The agency also adopts the new rules under a new subchapter
name. Subchapter A is renamed "Requirements for Certain In-
cidents of Sexual Harassment, Sexual Assault, Dating Violence,
or Stalking at Certain Public and Private Institutions of Higher
Education; Authorizing Administrative Penalties."

Specifically, these new and replaced sections provide: a require-
ment in accordance with statute that all institutions of higher edu-
cation adopt policies on sexual harassment, sexual assault, dat-
ing violence, and stalking. The rules provide guidance for in-
stitutions on reporting requirements, disciplinary processes, and
confidentiality.

The following comments were received regarding the amend-
ments:

A public comment was received from Doctors Hospital at Re-
naissance, Ltd, (DHR Health) on November 25, 2019.

Comment: DHR Health recommends that §3.5(a) be altered by
inserting language in the proposed rule that would require the
reporting of incidents only when the employee receiving the in-
formation has reason to believe the information is reliable.

Staff response: The Negotiated Rulemaking Committee dis-
cussed at length when an employee would need to report in-
cidents, given the potential of erroneous reporting. After much
discussion, including discussion of the "reasonable person stan-
dard" expected of a hypothetical reasonable person, the com-
mittee determined that an employee should promptly report the
incident to the institution's Title IX coordinator or deputy Title IX
coordinator, if the employee "reasonably believes" that the in-
cident constitutes sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating vi-
olence, or stalking. In this regard, §3.5(a) states the following
(focus highlighted):

"An employee of a postsecondary educational institution who,
in the course and scope of employment, witnesses or receives
information regarding the occurrence of an incident that the em-
ployee reasonably believes constitutes sexual harassment, sex-
ual assault, dating violence, or stalking and is alleged to have
been committed by or against a person who was a student en-
rolled at or an employee of the institution at the time of the inci-
dent shall promptly report the incident to the institution's Title IX
coordinator or deputy Title IX coordinator.”

Veracity of reports are to be determined by the Title IX Coor-
dinator. The Title IX Coordinator is charged with determining
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whether, as illustrated, "innuendo, rumors, gossip, second-hand
or third-hand information," with or without substantiation, would
necessitate consideration when identified as constituting sex-
ual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking pur-
suant to this new Texas mandate or constitute a matter required
to be reported pursuant to other federal law or applicable institu-
tional policy.

Thus, no change is recommended.

A public comment with five substantive comments was received
from The University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin) on December
6, 2019.

Comment: UT Austin recommends that §3.3 be altered by in-
serting a definition of "employee" that excludes volunteers.

Staff response: The enabling statutes do not indicate that vol-
unteers should be excluded from consideration as employees,
and the Negotiated Rulemaking committee followed the statutes
closely when drafting the rules.

Thus, no change is recommended.

Comment: UT Austin recommends that §3.3(c) be altered by
adding a definition of "domestic violence" and indicating if that is
included in the required reporting.

Staff response: The enabling statutes do not include "domestic
violence" in the list of incidents that must be reported, and the
Negotiated Rulemaking committee followed the statutes closely
when drafting the rules.

Thus, no change is recommended.

Comment: UT Austin recommends that §3.5(c)(1)(A) be altered
to clarify that staff and faculty may also speak to "confidential
employees" with the same expectation of privacy as students of
the institution.

Staff response: In the statute, Texas Education Code, Section
51.252 provides an exception for employee required reporting in
Subsection (c) for employees who are designated as confiden-
tial resources "with whom students may speak confidentially".
Therefore, the exception in the statute only covers student com-
munications with confidential resources and does not extend the
exception to faculty and staff. The Negotiated Rulemaking com-
mittee followed the statute closely when drafting the rules.

Thus, no change is recommended.

Comment: UT Austin recommends that §3.11(b) be altered by
adding the word "final" to clarify that the obligation to provide
information to another institution is in relation to a final determi-
nation, which ensures that the integrity of disciplinary process
determinations is better protected.

Staff response: Staff concurs with this recommendation. Staff
suggests modifying §3.11(b) by inserting the word "final" as
shown below:

(b) On request by another postsecondary educational institution,
a postsecondary educational institution shall, as permitted by
state or federal law, including the Family Educational Rights and
Privacy Act (FERPA), 20 U.S.C. 1232g, provide to the request-
ing institution information relating to a final determination by the
institution that a student enrolled at the institution violated the
institution's policy or code of conduct by committing sexual ha-
rassment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking.

Comment: UT Austin recommends that §3.14(b) be revised by
providing clarification that some employees may be designated

by institutions as "confidential employees" when they are serving
in some capacities but not so designated while serving in other
capacities.

Staff response: The enabling statutes do not provide a basis
for designating certain employees as confidential at some times
but not at others. This recommendation would also be complex
and difficult to implement.

Thus, no change is recommended.

Consistent with the rules of negotiated rulemaking, the com-
ments from Doctors Hospital at Renaissance, Ltd, (DHR Health)
and The University of Texas at Austin were forwarded to the Ne-
gotiated Rulemaking Committee on December 3, 2019, and De-
cember 9, 2019, respectively, along with explanations that as
committee members, they could accept, reject, or modify the
staff recommendations. Committee members voted via email
through December 10, 2019 at 12:00 p.m. and subsequently
engaged in a pre-arranged audio conference call on December
10, 2019, from 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. for final discussions and
votes. After discussions on the conference call, consensus was
reached to accept staff's proposed responses to the comments,
with some suggested modifications to staff's response language
on two responses for clarity. The above responses reflect the
committee's consensus decisions.

The new sections are adopted under the Texas Education Code,
Sections 51.259 and 51.295, which provide the Coordinating
Board with the authority to develop rules addressing sexual mis-
conduct at institutions of higher education with the assistance of
negotiated rulemaking and advisory committees.

§3.4.  Policy on Sexual Harassment, Sexual Assault, Dating Violence,
and Stalking.

(a) Each postsecondary educational institution shall adopt a
policy on sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalk-
ing applicable to each enrolled student and employee of the institution
and have the policy approved by the institution's governing body. The
policy must include:

(1) Definitions of prohibited behavior;
(2) Sanctions for violations;

(3) Protocol for reporting and responding to reports of sex-
ual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking that com-
plies with the electronic reporting requirement in §3.7 of this subchap-
ter (relating to Electronic Reporting Requirement);

(4) Interim measures to protect victims of sexual harass-
ment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking pending the institu-
tion's disciplinary process, including protection from retaliation, and
any other accommodations or supportive measures available to those
victims at the institution. This section is not intended to limit an insti-
tution's ability to implement accommodations to others as needed; and

(5) A statement regarding:

(A) the importance of a victim of sexual harassment,
sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking going to a hospital for treat-
ment and preservation of evidence, if applicable, as soon as practicable
after the incident;

(B) the right of a victim of sexual harassment, sexual
assault, dating violence, or stalking to report the incident to the institu-
tion and to receive a prompt and equitable resolution of the report; and

(C) the right of a victim of a crime to choose whether
to report the crime to law enforcement, to be assisted by the institution
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in reporting the crime to law enforcement, or to decline to report the
crime to law enforcement.

(b) Each postsecondary educational institution shall make its
policy on sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalk-
ing available to students, faculty, and staff members by:

(1) including the policy in the student handbook and per-
sonnel handbook or the institution's equivalent(s); and

(2) creating and maintaining a web page dedicated solely
to the policy that is easily accessible through a clearly identifiable link
on the institution's homepage.

(c) Each postsecondary educational institution shall require
each entering freshman or undergraduate transfer student to attend
an orientation on the institution's sexual harassment, sexual assault,
dating violence, and stalking policy before or during the first semester
or term of enrollment at the institution. The orientation:

(1) may be provided online; and

(2) must include the statements described by subsection
(a)(5) of this section.

(d) Each postsecondary educational institution shall develop
and implement a comprehensive prevention and outreach program on
sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking for en-
rolled students and employees of the institution. The program must:

(1) address a range of strategies to prevent sexual harass-
ment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking, including a public
awareness campaign; a victim empowerment program; primary pre-
vention; bystander intervention; and risk reduction; and

(2) provide students with information regarding the proto-
col for reporting incidents of sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating
violence, and stalking, including the name, office location, and contact
information of the institution's Title IX coordinator, by:

(A) e-mailing the information to each student at the be-
ginning of each semester or other academic term;

(B) including the information in the institution's orien-
tation (which may be provided online); and

(C) as part of the protocol for responding to reports
of sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking
adopted under subsection (a) of this section, each postsecondary
educational institution shall:

(i) to the greatest extent practicable based on the
number of counselors employed by the institution, ensure each alleged
victim or alleged perpetrator of a sexual harassment, sexual assault,
dating violence, and stalking incident and any other person who
reports such incidents are offered counseling provided by a counselor
who does not provide counseling to any other person involved in the
incident; and

(i) notwithstanding any other law, allow an alleged
victim or alleged perpetrator of a sexual harassment, sexual assault,
dating violence, and stalking incident to drop a course in which both
parties are enrolled without any academic penalty.

(e) Each postsecondary educational institution shall review its
sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking policy
at least each biennium and revise the policy as necessary and obtain
approval from the institution's governing board.

§3.11.  Student Withdrawal or Graduation Pending Disciplinary
Charges,; Request for Information from Another Postsecondary Edu-
cational Institution.

(a) If a student withdraws or graduates from a postsecondary
educational institution pending a disciplinary charge alleging that the
student violated the institution's policy or code of conduct by commit-
ting sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking, the
institution:

(1) may not end the disciplinary process or issue a tran-
script to the student until the institution makes a final determination of
responsibility; and

(2) shall expedite the institution's disciplinary process as
necessary to accommodate both the student's and the alleged victim's
interest in a speedy resolution.

(b) On request by another postsecondary educational institu-
tion, a postsecondary educational institution shall, as permitted by state
or federal law, including the Family Educational Rights and Privacy
Act (FERPA), 20 U.S.C. 1232g, provide to the requesting institution
information relating to a final determination by the institution that a stu-
dent enrolled at the institution violated the institution's policy or code
of conduct by committing sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating vi-
olence, or stalking.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 13,
2019.

TRD-201904831

William Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Effective date: January 1, 2020

Proposal publication dates: November 1, 2019/November 8, 2019
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6206

¢ ¢ ¢
19 TAC §§3.11 - 3.15

The repeals are adopted under the Texas Education Code, Sec-
tions 51.259 and 51.295, which provide the Coordinating Board
with the authority to develop rules addressing sexual misconduct
at institutions of higher education with the assistance of negoti-
ated rulemaking and advisory committees.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 13,
2019.

TRD-201904942

William Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Effective date: January 1, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 8, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 427-6206

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 9. TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD
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CHAPTER 163.
22 TAC §163.13

The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts amendments to Title
22, Part 9, §163.13, concerning Expedited Licensure with non-
substantive changes, described below, to the proposed text as
published in the November 8, 2019, issue of the Texas Register
(44 TexReg 6666). The rule will be republished.

Deletions in text of section (c) were made because the language
was an unnecessary statement of intent.

LICENSURE

The Board has determined that the public benefit anticipated as
a result of enforcing this adoption will be to allow for qualified
and experienced physicians who have practiced successfully in
other states to obtain expedited licensure in Texas.

The adopted amendment to §163.13, relating to Expedited Li-
censure is amended to implement a legislative mandate in H.B.
1504 (86th Regular Legislative Session) requiring the Board to
develop an expedited licensing process for certain applicants
who also hold an out-of-state license in good standing.

No written comments were received. No one appeared in person
to testify regarding the rules at the public hearing on December
6, 2019.

The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Texas
Occupations Code Annotated, 155.0561, which provides author-
ity for the Board to adopt rules necessary to administer and en-
force the Medical Practice Act.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 16,
2019.

TRD-201904834

Scott Freshour

General Counsel

Texas Medical Board

Effective date: January 5, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 8, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016

¢ L4 ¢
CHAPTER 182. USE OF EXPERTS

The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts amendments to 22
TAC §182.1, concerning Purpose, §182.3, concerning Defini-
tions, §182.5, concerning Expert Panel Qualifications, §182.8,
concerning Expert Physician Reviewers and the repeal of
§§182.2, 182.4, 182.6, 182.7, without changes to the proposed
text as published in the November 1, 2019, issue of the Texas
Register (44 TexReg 6491). The rules will not be republished.

The Board has determined that the public benefit anticipated as
a result of enforcing this adoption will be to provide greater infor-
mation and due process to regulated licensees when address-
ing allegations of violations related to standard of care and other
statutory violations.

Amendments and repeals in Chapter 182 are adopted as follows:

Section 182.1, relating to Purpose, is amended to clarify the
scope of the rule and its applicability.

Section 182.2, relating to Board's Role, is repealed.

Section 182.3, relating to Definitions, is amended to clarify def-
initions relating to role, purpose, and scope of various profes-
sionals utilized by the board.

Section 182.4, relating to Use of Consultants, is repealed.

Section 182.5, relating to Expert Panel, is renamed "Expert Re-
viewer Qualifications" and amended to delete obsolete language
and to change the order of identified certifying boards.

Section 182.6, relating to Use of Expert Witnesses, is repealed.
Section 182.7, relating to Interim Appointment, is repealed.

Section 182.8, relating to Expert Physician Reviewers, is
amended to delete obsolete language regarding the processes
and procedures applicable to the expert physician reviewers.
The amendments to §182.8 implement the legislative mandate
passed in HB 1504 (86th Regular Legislative Session) relating
to expert panel reports and providing each reviewer report
to the affected licensee and the content of each report. This
amendment also adds language requiring notice to the panel
when a case involves Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

No written comments were received and no one appeared in per-
son to testify regarding the rules at the public hearing on Decem-
ber 6, 2019.

22 TAC §§182.1, 182.3, 182.5, 182.8

The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Texas
Occupations Code Annotated, 153.001, which provides authority
for the Board to adopt rules necessary to administer and enforce
the Medical Practice Act.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 16,
2019.

TRD-201904835

Scott Freshour

General Counsel

Texas Medical Board

Effective date: January 5, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 1, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016

¢ ¢ ¢

22 TAC §§182.2, 182.4, 182.6, 182.7

The repeals are adopted under the authority of the Texas Occu-
pations Code Annotated, 153.001, which provides authority for
the Board to adopt rules necessary to administer and enforce
the Medical Practice Act.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 16,
2019.

TRD-201904836
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Scott Freshour

General Counsel

Texas Medical Board

Effective date: January 5, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 1, 2019

For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016

L4 L4 L4
TITLE 28. INSURANCE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 1. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER C. ASSESSMENT OF
MAINTENANCE TAXES AND FEES

28 TAC §1.414

The Commissioner of Insurance adopts amendments to 28 TAC
§1.414, relating to the 2020 assessment of maintenance taxes
and fees imposed by the Insurance Code. The department
adopts the amendments to §1.414 without changes to the
proposed text published in the November 8, 2019, issue of the
Texas Register (44 TexReg 6679). The rule text will not be
republished.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The amendments are necessary
to adjust the rates of assessment for maintenance taxes and fees
for 2020 on the basis of gross premium receipts for calendar year
2019.

Section 1.414 includes rates of assessment to be applied to life,
accident, and health insurance; motor vehicle insurance; casu-
alty insurance and fidelity, guaranty, and surety bonds; fire insur-
ance and allied lines, including inland marine; workers' compen-
sation insurance; workers' compensation self-insured groups; ti-
tle insurance; health maintenance organizations (HMOs); third
party administrators; and workers' compensation certified self-in-
surers.

The department adopts an amendment to the section heading
to reflect the year for which the proposed assessment of mainte-
nance taxes and fees is applicable. The department also adopts
amendments in subsections (a) - (f) and (h) to reflect the appro-
priate year for accurate application of the section.

The department adopts amendments in subsections (a)(1) - (9),
(b), (c)(1) - (2), (d), and (e) to update rates to reflect the method-
ology the department developed for 2020. The adopted amend-
ments also delete subsection (c)(3), because of the repeal of
the tax by Senate Bill 1623, 86th Legislature, Regular Session
(2019).

The following paragraphs provide an explanation of the method-
ology used to determine proposed rates of assessment for main-
tenance taxes and fees for 2020:

In general, the department's 2020 revenue need (the amount
that must be funded by maintenance taxes or fees; examina-
tion overhead assessments; the department's self-directed bud-
get account, as established under Insurance Code §401.252;
and premium finance examination assessments) is determined
by calculating the department's total cost need, and subtracting
from that number funds resulting from fee revenue and funds re-
maining from fiscal year 2019.

To determine total cost need, the department combined costs
from the following: (i) appropriations set out in Chapter 1353
(House Bill 1), Acts of the 86th Legislature, Regular Session,
(2019) (the General Appropriations Act), which come from two
funds, the General Revenue Dedicated - Texas Department of
Insurance Operating Account No. 0036 (Account No. 0036)
and the General Revenue Fund - Insurance Companies Main-
tenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees; (ii) funds allowed
by Insurance Code Chapter 401, Subchapters D and F, as ap-
proved by the Commissioner for the self-directed budget account
in the Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company to be used exclu-
sively to pay examination costs associated with salary, travel, or
other personnel expenses and administrative support costs; (iii)
an estimate of other costs statutorily required to be paid from
those two funds and the self-directed budget account, such as
fringe benefits and statewide allocated costs; and (iv) an esti-
mate of the cash amount necessary to finance both funds and the
self-directed budget account from the end of the 2020 fiscal year
until the next assessment collection period in 2021. From these
combined costs, the department subtracted costs allocated to
the Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) and the Workers'
Compensation Research and Evaluation Group.

The department determined how to allocate the remaining cost
need to be attributed to each funding source using the following
method:

For each section within the department that provides services di-
rectly to the public or the insurance industry, the department allo-
cated the costs for providing those direct services on a percent-
age basis to each funding source, such as the maintenance tax
or fee line, the premium finance assessment, the self-directed
budget account, the examination assessment, or another fund-
ing source. The department applied these percentages to each
section's annual budget to determine the total direct cost to each
funding source. The department calculated the percentage for
each funding source by dividing the total directly allocated to
each funding source by the total direct cost. The department
used this percentage to allocate administrative support costs to
each funding source. Examples of administrative support costs
include services provided by human resources, accounting, bud-
get, the Commissioner's administration, and information technol-
ogy. The department calculated the total direct costs and admin-
istrative support costs for each funding source.

The General Appropriations Act includes appropriations to state
agencies other than the department that must be funded by Ac-
count No. 0036 and the General Revenue Fund - Insurance
Companies Maintenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees.
The department added these costs to the sum of the direct costs
and the administrative support costs for the appropriate funding
source, when possible. For instance, the department allocates
an appropriation to the Texas Department of Transportation for
the crash information records system to the motor vehicle main-
tenance tax. The department included costs for other agencies
that cannot be directly allocated to a funding source to the admin-
istrative support costs. For instance, the department included
an appropriation to the Texas Facilities Commission for building
support costs in administrative support costs.

The department calculated the total revenue need after complet-
ing the allocation of costs to each funding source. To complete
the calculation of revenue need, the department removed costs,
revenues received, and fund balance related to the self-directed
budget account. Based on remaining balances, the department
reduced the total cost need by subtracting the estimated end-

45 TexReg 154 January 3, 2020 Texas Register



ing fund balance for fiscal year 2019 (August 31, 2019) and esti-
mated fee revenue collections for fiscal year 2020. The resulting
balance is the estimated revenue need that must be supported
during the 2020 fiscal year by the following funding sources: the
maintenance taxes or fees, exam overhead assessments, and
premium finance assessments.

The department determined the revenue need for each mainte-
nance tax or fee line by dividing the total cost need for each main-
tenance tax line by the total of the revenue needs for all main-
tenance taxes. The department multiplied the calculated per-
centage for each line by the total revenue need for maintenance
taxes. The resulting amount is the revenue need for each main-
tenance tax line. The department adjusted the revenue need
by subtracting the estimated amount of fee and reimbursement
revenue collected for each maintenance tax or fee line from the
total of the revenue need for each maintenance tax or fee line.
The department further adjusted the resulting revenue need as
described below.

The cost allocated to the life, accident, and health maintenance
tax exceeds the amount of revenue that can be collected at the
maximum rate set by statute. The department allocated the dif-
ference between the amount estimated to be collected at the
maximum rate and the costs allocated to the life, accident, and
health maintenance tax to the other maintenance tax or fee lines.
The department allocated the life, accident, and health shortfall
based on each of the remaining maintenance tax or fee lines a
proportionate share of the total costs for maintenance taxes or
fees. The department used the adjusted revenue need as the
basis for calculating the maintenance tax rates.

For each line of insurance, the department divided the adjusted
revenue need by the estimated premium volume or assessment
base to determine the rate of assessment for each maintenance
tax or fee.

The following paragraphs provide an explanation of the method-
ology to develop the proposed rates for DWC and the Office of
Injured Employee Counsel (OIEC):

To determine the revenue need, the department considered the
following factors applicable to costs for DWC and OIEC: (i) the
appropriations in the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year
2020 from Account No. 0036; (ii) estimated other costs statuto-
rily required to be paid from Account No. 0036, such as fringe
benefits; and (iii) an estimated cash amount to finance Account
No. 0036 costs from the end of the 2020 fiscal year until the next
assessment collection period in 2021. The department added
these three factors to determine the total revenue need.

The department reduced the total revenue need by subtracting
the estimated fund balance at August 31, 2019, and the DWC
fee and reimbursement revenue estimate to be collected and
deposited to Account No. 0036 in fiscal year 2020. The resulting
balance is the estimated revenue need from maintenance taxes.
The department calculated the maintenance tax rate by dividing
the estimated revenue need by the combined estimated workers'
compensation premium volume and the certified self-insurers'
liabilities plus the amount of expense incurred for administration
of self-insurance.

The following paragraphs provide an explanation of the method-
ology the department used to develop the proposed rates for the
Workers' Compensation Research and Evaluation Group:

To determine the revenue need, the department considered the
following factors that are applicable to the Workers' Compen-

sation Research and Evaluation Group: (i) the appropriations
in the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2020 from Ac-
count No. 0036 and from the General Revenue Fund - Insurance
Companies Maintenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees;
(i) estimated other costs statutorily required to be paid from this
funding source, such as fringe benefits; and (iii) an estimated
cash amount to finance costs from this funding source from the
end of the 2020 fiscal year until the next assessment collection
period in 2021. The department added these three factors to de-
termine the total revenue need.

The department reduced the total revenue need by subtracting
the estimated fund balance at August 31, 2019. The resulting
balance is the estimated revenue need from maintenance taxes.
The department calculated the maintenance tax rate by dividing
the estimated revenue need by the estimated assessment base.

Insurance Code §964.068 provides that a captive insurance
company is subject to maintenance tax under Subtitle C, Title 3,
on the correctly reported gross premiums from writing insurance
on risks located in Texas as applicable to the individual lines
of business written. The rates proposed in this rule will be
applied to captive insurance companies based on the individual
lines of business written, unless the Commissioner postpones
or waives the tax for a period not to exceed two years for any
foreign or alien captive insurance company redomesticating to
Texas under Insurance Code §964.071(c).

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS. The department did not receive
any comments on the proposed amendments.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The Commissioner adopts the
amendments to 28 TAC §1.414 under Insurance Code
§8§201.001(a)(1), (b), and (c); 201.052(a), (d), and (e); 251.001;
252.001 - 252.003; 253.001 - 253.003; 254.001 - 254.003;
255.001 - 255.003; 257.001 - 257.003; 258.002 - 258.004;
259.002 - 259.004; 271.002 - 271.006; 964.068; and 36.001;
and Labor Code §§403.002, 403.003, 403.005, 405.003(a) - (c),
407.103, 407.104(b), 407A.301, and 407A.302.

Insurance Code §201.001(a)(1) states that the Texas Depart-
ment of Insurance operating account is an account in the general
revenue fund, and that the account includes taxes and fees re-
ceived by the Commissioner or Comptroller that are required by
the Insurance Code to be deposited to the credit of the account.
Section 201.001(b) provides that the Commissioner administer
money in the Texas Department of Insurance operating account
and may spend money from the account in accordance with state
law, rules adopted by the Commissioner, and the General Appro-
priations Act. Section 201.001(c) states that money deposited
to the credit of the Texas Department of Insurance operating ac-
count may be used for any purpose for which money in the ac-
count is authorized to be used by law.

Insurance Code §201.052(a) requires the department to reim-
burse the appropriate portion of the general revenue fund for the
amount of expenses incurred by the Comptroller in administer-
ing taxes imposed under the Insurance Code or another insur-
ance law of Texas. Section 201.052(d) provides that in setting
maintenance taxes for each fiscal year, the Commissioner en-
sure that the amount of taxes imposed is sufficient to fully re-
imburse the appropriate portion of the general revenue fund for
the amount of expenses incurred by the Comptroller in admin-
istering taxes imposed under the Insurance Code or another in-
surance law of Texas. Section 201.052(e) provides that if the
amount of maintenance taxes collected is not sufficient to reim-
burse the appropriate portion of the general revenue fund for the

ADOPTED RULES

January 3, 2020 45 TexReg 155



amount of expenses incurred by the Comptroller, other money in
the Texas Department of Insurance operating account be used
to reimburse the appropriate portion of the general revenue fund.

Insurance Code §251.001 directs the Commissioner to annually
determine the rate of assessment of each maintenance tax im-
posed under Insurance Code Title 3, Subtitle C.

Insurance Code §252.001 imposes a maintenance tax on each
authorized insurer with gross premiums subject to taxation un-
der Insurance Code §252.003. Insurance Code §252.001 also
specifies that the tax required by Insurance Code Chapter 252
is in addition to other taxes imposed that are not in conflict with
Insurance Code Chapter 252.

Insurance Code §252.002 provides that the rate of assessment
set by the Commissioner may not exceed 1.25 percent of the
gross premiums subject to taxation under Insurance Code
§252.003. Section 252.002(b) provides that the Commissioner
annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance tax
so that the tax imposed that year, together with any unexpended
funds produced by the tax, produces the amount the Commis-
sioner determines is necessary to pay the expenses during the
succeeding year of regulating all classes of insurance specified
under: Insurance Code Chapters 1807, 2001 - 2006, 2171,
6001, 6002, and 6003; Chapter 5, Subchapter C; Chapter 544,
Subchapter H; Chapter 1806, Subchapter D; and §403.002;
Government Code §8§417.007, 417.008, and 417.009; and
Occupations Code Chapter 2154.

Insurance Code §252.003 specifies that an insurer must pay
maintenance taxes under Insurance Code Chapter 252 on the
correctly reported gross premiums from writing insurance in
Texas against loss or damage by: bombardment; civil war or
commotion; cyclone; earthquake; excess or deficiency of mois-
ture; explosion as defined by Insurance Code §2002.006(b); fire;
flood; frost and freeze; hail, including loss by hail on farm crops;
insurrection; invasion; lightning; military or usurped power; an
order of a civil authority made to prevent the spread of a con-
flagration, epidemic, or catastrophe; rain; riot; the rising of the
waters of the ocean or its tributaries; smoke or smudge; strike
or lockout; tornado; vandalism or malicious mischief; volcanic
eruption; water or other fluid or substance resulting from the
breakage or leakage of sprinklers, pumps, or other apparatus
erected for extinguishing fires, water pipes, or other conduits or
containers; weather or climatic conditions; windstorm; an event
covered under a home warranty insurance policy; or an event
covered under an inland marine insurance policy.

Insurance Code §253.001 imposes a maintenance tax on each
authorized insurer with gross premiums subject to taxation under
Insurance Code §253.003. Section 253.001 also provides that
the tax required by Insurance Code Chapter 253 is in addition to
other taxes imposed that are not in conflict with Insurance Code
Chapter 253.

Insurance Code §253.002 provides that the rate of assessment
set by the Commissioner may not exceed 0.4 percent of the
gross premiums subject to taxation under Insurance Code
§253.003. Section 253.002(b) provides that the Commissioner
annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance tax
so that the tax imposed that year, together with any unexpended
funds produced by the tax, produces the amount the Commis-
sioner determines is necessary to pay the expenses during the
succeeding year of regulating all classes of insurance specified
under Insurance Code §253.003.

Insurance Code §253.003 specifies that an insurer must pay
maintenance taxes under Insurance Code Chapter 253 on the
correctly reported gross premiums from writing a class of insur-
ance specified under Insurance Code Chapters 2008, 2251, and
2252; Chapter 5, Subchapter B; Chapter 1806, Subchapter C;
Chapter 2301, Subchapter A; and Title 10, Subtitle B.

Insurance Code §254.001 imposes a maintenance tax on each
authorized insurer with gross premiums subject to taxation under
Insurance Code §254.003. Section 254.001 also provides that
the tax required by Insurance Code Chapter 254 is in addition to
other taxes imposed that are not in conflict with Insurance Code
Chapter 254.

Insurance Code §254.002 provides that the rate of assessment
set by the Commissioner may not exceed 0.2 percent of the
gross premiums subject to taxation under Insurance Code
§254.003. Section 254.002 also provides that the Commissioner
annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance tax
so that the tax imposed that year, together with any unexpended
funds produced by the tax, produces the amount the Commis-
sioner determines is necessary to pay the expenses during the
succeeding year of regulating motor vehicle insurance.

Insurance Code §254.003 specifies that an insurer must pay
maintenance taxes under Insurance Code Chapter 254 on the
correctly reported gross premiums from writing motor vehicle in-
surance in Texas, including personal and commercial automobile
insurance.

Insurance Code §255.001 imposes a maintenance tax on each
authorized insurer with gross premiums subject to taxation un-
der Insurance Code §255.003, including a stock insurance com-
pany, mutual insurance company, reciprocal or interinsurance
exchange, and Lloyd's plan. Section 255.001 also provides that
the tax required by Insurance Code Chapter 255 is in addition to
other taxes imposed that are not in conflict with Insurance Code
Chapter 255.

Insurance Code §255.002 provides that the rate of assessment
set by the Commissioner may not exceed 0.6 percent of the
gross premiums subject to taxation under Insurance Code
§255.003. Section 255.002(b) provides that the Commissioner
annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance
tax so that the tax imposed that year, together with any unex-
pended funds produced by the tax, produces the amount the
Commissioner determines is necessary to pay the expenses
during the succeeding year of regulating workers' compensation
insurance.

Insurance Code §255.003 specifies that an insurer must pay
maintenance taxes under Insurance Code Chapter 255 on the
correctly reported gross premiums from writing workers' com-
pensation insurance in Texas, including the modified annual pre-
mium of a policyholder that purchases an optional deductible
plan under Insurance Code Chapter 2053, Subchapter E. The
section also provides that the rate of assessment be applied to
the modified annual premium before application of a deductible
premium credit.

Insurance Code §257.001(a) imposes a maintenance tax on
each authorized insurer, including a group hospital service
corporation, managed care organization, local mutual aid as-
sociation, statewide mutual assessment company, stipulated
premium company, and stock or mutual insurance company,
that collects from residents of this state gross premiums or
gross considerations subject to taxation under Insurance Code
§257.003. Section 257.001(a) also provides that the tax re-
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quired by Chapter 257 is in addition to other taxes imposed that
are not in conflict with Insurance Code Chapter 257.

Insurance Code §257.002 provides that the rate of assessment
set by the Commissioner may not exceed 0.04 percent of the
gross premiums subject to taxation under Insurance Code
§257.003. Section 257.002(b) provides that the Commissioner
annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance tax
so that the tax imposed that year, together with any unexpended
funds produced by the tax, produces the amount the Commis-
sioner determines is necessary to pay the expenses during the
succeeding year of regulating life, health, and accident insurers.

Insurance Code §257.003 specifies that an insurer must pay
maintenance taxes under Insurance Code Chapter 257 on
the correctly reported gross premiums collected from writing
life, health, and accident insurance in Texas, as well as gross
considerations collected from writing annuity or endowment
contracts in Texas. The section also provides that gross pre-
miums on which an assessment is based under Insurance
Code Chapter 257 may not include premiums received from
the United States for insurance contracted for by the United
States in accordance with or in furtherance of Title XVIII of
the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. §§1395c et seq.) and its
subsequent amendments; or premiums paid on group health,
accident, and life policies in which the group covered by the
policy consists of a single nonprofit trust established to provide
coverage primarily for employees of a municipality, county, or
hospital district in this state; or a county or municipal hospital,
without regard to whether the employees are employees of the
county or municipality or of an entity operating the hospital on
behalf of the county or municipality.

Insurance Code §258.002 imposes a per capita maintenance tax
on each authorized HMO with gross revenues subject to taxation
under Insurance Code §258.004. Section 258.002 also provides
that the tax required by Insurance Code Chapter 258 is in addi-
tion to other taxes that are not in conflict with Insurance Code
Chapter 258.

Insurance Code §258.003 provides that the rate of assessment
set by the Commissioner on HMOs may not exceed $2 per en-
rollee. Section 258.003 also provides that the Commissioner
annually adjust the rate of assessment of the per capita mainte-
nance tax so that the tax imposed that year, together with any un-
expended funds produced by the tax, produces the amount the
Commissioner determines is necessary to pay the expenses dur-
ing the succeeding year of regulating HMOs. Section 258.003
also provides that rate of assessment may differ between basic
health care plans, limited health care service plans, and single
health care service plans and must equitably reflect any differ-
ences in regulatory resources attributable to each type of plan.

Insurance Code §258.004 provides that an HMO must pay per
capita maintenance taxes under Insurance Code Chapter 258
on the correctly reported gross revenues collected from issuing
health maintenance certificates or contracts in Texas. Section
258.004 also provides that the amount of maintenance tax as-
sessed may not be computed based on enrollees who, as in-
dividual certificate holders or their dependents, are covered by
a master group policy paid for by revenues received from the
United States for insurance contracted for by the United States
in accord with or in furtherance of Title XVIII of the Social Secu-
rity Act (42 U.S.C. §§1395c¢ et seq.) and its subsequent amend-
ments; revenues paid on group health, accident, and life certifi-
cates or contracts in which the group covered by the certificate
or contract consists of a single nonprofit trust established to pro-

vide coverage primarily for employees of a municipality, county,
or hospital district in this state; or a county or municipal hospital,
without regard to whether the employees are employees of the
county or municipality or of an entity operating the hospital on
behalf of the county or municipality.

Insurance Code §259.002 imposes a maintenance tax on each
authorized third party administrator with administrative or service
fees subject to taxation under Insurance Code §259.004. Sec-
tion 259.002 also provides that the tax required by Insurance
Code Chapter 259 is in addition to other taxes imposed that are
not in conflict with the chapter.

Insurance Code §259.003 provides that the rate of assessment
set by the Commissioner may not exceed 1 percent of the admin-
istrative or service fees subject to taxation under Insurance Code
§259.004. Section 259.003(b) provides that the Commissioner
annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance tax
so that the tax imposed that year, together with any unexpended
funds produced by the tax, produces the amount the Commis-
sioner determines is necessary to pay the expenses of regulating
third party administrators.

Insurance Code §259.004 requires a third party administrator to
pay maintenance taxes under Chapter 259 on the administrator's
correctly reported administrative or service fees.

Insurance Code §271.002 imposes a maintenance fee on all pre-
miums subject to assessment under Insurance Code §271.006.
Section 271.002 also specifies that the maintenance fee is not
a tax and must be reported and paid separately from premium
and retaliatory taxes.

Insurance Code §271.003 specifies that the maintenance fee is
included in the division of premiums and may not be separately
charged to a title insurance agent.

Insurance Code §271.004 provides that the Commissioner an-
nually determine the rate of assessment of the title insurance
maintenance fee. Section 271.004(b) provides that in determin-
ing the rate of assessment, the Commissioner consider the re-
quirement to reimburse the appropriate portion of the general
revenue fund under Insurance Code §201.052.

Insurance Code §271.005 provides that the rate of assessment
set by the Commissioner may not exceed 1 percent of the
gross premiums subject to assessment under Insurance Code
§271.006. Section 271.005(b) provides that the Commissioner
annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance fee
so that the fee imposed that year, together with any unexpended
funds produced by the fee, produces the amount the Commis-
sioner determines is necessary to pay the expenses during the
succeeding year of regulating title insurance.

Insurance Code §271.006 requires an insurer to pay mainte-
nance fees under Chapter 271 on the correctly reported gross
premiums from writing title insurance in Texas.

Insurance Code §964.068 provides that a captive insurance
company is subject to maintenance tax under Insurance Code,
Title 3, Subtitle C, on the correctly reported gross premiums from
writing insurance on risks located in this state as applicable to
the individual lines of business written by the captive insurance
company.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the
powers and duties of the Texas Department of Insurance under
the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.
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Labor Code §403.002 imposes an annual maintenance tax on
each insurance carrier to pay the costs of administering the
Texas Workers' Compensation Act and to support the prosecu-
tion of workers' compensation insurance fraud in Texas. Labor
Code §403.002 also provides that the assessment may not
exceed an amount equal to 2 percent of the correctly reported
gross workers' compensation insurance premiums, including
the modified annual premium of a policyholder that purchases
an optional deductible plan under Insurance Code Article 5.55C,
which was recodified as Insurance Code §2053.202 by House
Bill 2017, 79th Legislature, Regular Session (2005). Labor
Code §403.002 also provides that the rate of assessment be
applied to the modified annual premium before application of a
deductible premium credit. Additionally, Labor Code §403.002
states that a workers' compensation insurance company is
taxed at the rate established under Labor Code §403.003, and
that the tax be collected in the manner provided for collection of
other taxes on gross premiums from a workers' compensation
insurance company as provided in Insurance Code Chapter
255. Finally, Labor Code §403.002 states that each certified
self-insurer must pay a fee and maintenance taxes as provided
by Labor Code Chapter 407, Subchapter F.

Labor Code §403.003 requires the Commissioner of Insurance
to set and certify to the Comptroller the rate of maintenance tax
assessment, taking into account: (i) any expenditure projected
as necessary for DWC and OIEC to administer the Texas Work-
ers' Compensation Act during the fiscal year for which the rate
of assessment is set and reimburse the general revenue fund as
provided by Insurance Code §201.052; (ii) projected employee
benefits paid from general revenues; (iii) a surplus or deficit pro-
duced by the tax in the preceding year; (iv) revenue recovered
from other sources, including reappropriated receipts, grants,
payments, fees, and gifts recovered under the Texas Workers'
Compensation Act; and (v) expenditures projected as necessary
to support the prosecution of workers' compensation insurance
fraud. Labor Code §403.003 also provides that in setting the rate
of assessment, the Commissioner of Insurance may not consider
revenue or expenditures related to the State Office of Risk Man-
agement, the workers' compensation research functions of the
department under Labor Code Chapter 405, or any other rev-
enue or expenditure excluded from consideration by law.

Labor Code §403.005 provides that the Commissioner of Insur-
ance must annually adjust the rate of assessment of the main-
tenance tax imposed under §403.003 so that the tax imposed
that year, together with any unexpended funds produced by the
tax, produces the amount the Commissioner of Insurance de-
termines is necessary to pay the expenses of administering the
Texas Workers' Compensation Act. Labor Code §405.003(a)
- (c) establishes a maintenance tax on insurance carriers and
self-insurance groups to fund the Workers' Compensation Re-
search and Evaluation Group, it provides for the department to
set the rate of the maintenance tax based on the expenditures
authorized and the receipts anticipated in legislative appropria-
tions, and it provides that the tax is in addition to all other taxes
imposed on insurance carriers for workers' compensation pur-
poses.

Labor Code §407.103 imposes a maintenance tax on each work-
ers' compensation certified self-insurer for the administration of
the DWC and OIEC and to support the prosecution of workers'
compensation insurance fraud in Texas. Labor Code §407.103
also provides that not more than 2 percent of the total tax base
of all certified self-insurers, as computed under subsection (b)
of the section, may be assessed for the maintenance tax estab-

lished under Labor Code §407.103. Labor Code §407.103 also
provides that to determine the tax base of a certified self-insurer
for purposes of Labor Code Chapter 407, the department mul-
tiply the amount of the certified self-insurer's liabilities for work-
ers' compensation claims incurred in the previous year, includ-
ing claims incurred but not reported, plus the amount of expense
incurred by the certified self-insurer in the previous year for ad-
ministration of self-insurance, including legal costs, by 1.02. La-
bor Code §407.103 also provides that the tax liability of a certi-
fied self-insurer under the section is the tax base computed un-
der subsection (b) of the section multiplied by the rate assessed
workers' compensation insurance companies under Labor Code
§403.002 and §403.003. Finally, Labor Code §407.103 provides
that in setting the rate of maintenance tax assessment for in-
surance companies, the Commissioner of Insurance may not
consider revenue or expenditures related to the operation of the
self-insurer program under Labor Code Chapter 407.

Labor Code §407.104(b) provides that the department compute
the fee and taxes of a certified self-insurer and notify the certified
self-insurer of the amounts due. Section 407.104(b) also pro-
vides that a certified self-insurer must remit the taxes and fees
to DWC.

Labor Code §407A.301 imposes a self-insurance group mainte-
nance tax on each workers' compensation self-insurance group
based on gross premium for the group's retention. Labor Code
§407A.301 provides that the self-insurance group maintenance
tax is to pay for the administration of DWC, the prosecution of
workers' compensation insurance fraud in Texas, the research
functions of the department under Labor Code Chapter 405, and
the administration of OIEC under Labor Code Chapter 404. La-
bor Code §407A.301 also provides that the tax liability of a group
under subsection (a)(1) and (2) of the section is based on gross
premium for the group's retention multiplied by the rate assessed
insurance carriers under Labor Code §403.002 and §403.003.
Labor Code §407A.301 also provides that the tax liability of a
group under subsection (a)(3) of the section is based on gross
premium for the group's retention multiplied by the rate assessed
insurance carriers under Labor Code §405.003. Additionally, La-
bor Code §407A.301 provides that the tax under the section does
not apply to premium collected by the group for excess insur-
ance. Finally, Labor Code §407A.301(e) provides that the tax
under the section be collected by the Comptroller as provided
by Insurance Code Chapter 255 and Insurance Code §201.051.

Labor Code §407A.302 requires each workers' compensation
self-insurance group to pay the maintenance tax imposed un-
der Insurance Code Chapter 255, for the administrative costs in-
curred by the department in implementing Labor Code Chapter
407A. Labor Code §407A.302 provides that the tax liability of a
workers' compensation self-insurance group under the section is
based on gross premium for the group's retention and does not
include premium collected by the group for excess insurance.
Labor Code §407A.302 also provides that the maintenance tax
assessed under the section is subject to Insurance Code Chap-
ter 255, and that it be collected by the Comptroller in the manner
provided by Insurance Code Chapter 255.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.
Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 16,
2019.
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CHAPTER 7. CORPORATE AND FINANCIAL
REGULATION

SUBCHAPTER J. EXAMINATION EXPENSES
AND ASSESSMENTS

28 TAC §7.1001

The Commissioner of Insurance adopts amendments to 28 TAC
§7.1001, relating to 2020 assessments to cover the expenses
of examining domestic and foreign insurance companies and
self-insurance groups providing workers' compensation insur-
ance. The department adopts the amendments to §7.1001 with-
out changes to the proposed text published in the November 8,
2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 6695). The rule
text will not be republished.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The amendments are necessary
to establish the examination expenses to be levied against and
collected from each domestic and foreign insurance company
and each self-insurance group providing workers' compensation
insurance examined during the 2020 calendar year. The amend-
ments are also necessary to establish the rates of assessment
to be levied against and collected from each domestic insurer,
based on admitted assets and gross premium receipts for the
2019 calendar year, and from each foreign insurer examined dur-
ing the 2019 calendar year using the same methodology.

The department adopts an amendment to the section heading to
reflect the year for which the proposed assessment will be appli-
cable. The department also adopts amendments in subsections
(b)(1) and (2), (c)(1), (c)(2)(A) and (B), (c)(3), and (d) to reflect
the appropriate year for accurate application of the section.

The department adopts amendments in subsection (c)(2)(A) and
(B) to update assessments to reflect the methodology the depart-
ment has developed for 2020.

The following paragraphs provide an explanation of the method-
ology used to determine examination overhead assessments for
2020:

In general, the department's 2020 revenue need (the amount
that must be funded by maintenance taxes or fees; examination
overhead assessments; premium finance exam assessments;
and funds in the self-directed budget account, as established un-
der Insurance Code §401.252) is determined by calculating the
department's total cost need, and subtracting from that number
funds resulting from fee revenue and funds remaining from fiscal
year 2019.

To determine total cost need, the department combined costs
from the following: (i) appropriations set out in Chapter 1353
(House Bill 1), Acts of the 86th Legislature, Regular Session,
(2019) (the General Appropriations Act), which come from two
funds, the General Revenue Dedicated - Texas Department of
Insurance Operating Account No. 0036 (Account No. 0036)

and the General Revenue Fund - Insurance Companies Main-
tenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees; (ii) funds allowed
by Insurance Code Chapter 401, Subchapters D and F, as ap-
proved by the Commissioner of Insurance for the self-directed
budget account in the Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company to
be used exclusively to pay examination costs associated with
salary, travel, or other personnel expenses and administrative
support costs; (iii) an estimate of other costs statutorily required
to be paid from those two funds and the self-directed budget ac-
count, such as fringe benefits and statewide allocated costs; and
(iv) an estimate of the cash amount necessary to finance both
funds and the self-directed budget account from the end of the
2020 fiscal year until the next assessment collection period in
2021. From these combined costs, the department subtracted
costs allocated to the Division of Workers' Compensation and
the Workers' Compensation Research and Evaluation Group.

The department determined how to allocate the revenue need to
be attributed to each funding source using the following method:

Each section within the department that provides services
directly to the public or the insurance industry allocated the
costs for providing those direct services on a percentage basis
to each funding source, such as the maintenance tax or fee line,
the premium finance assessment, the examination assessment,
the self-directed budget account as limited by Insurance Code
§401.252, or another funding source. The department applied
these percentages to each section's annual budget to determine
the total direct cost to each funding source. The department
calculated a percentage for each funding source by dividing
the total directly allocated to each funding source by the total
direct cost. The department used this percentage to allocate
administrative support costs to each funding source. Examples
of administrative support costs include services provided by
human resources, accounting, budget, the Commissioner's
administration, and information technology. The department
calculated the total direct costs and administrative support costs
for each funding source.

To complete the calculation of the revenue need, the department
combined the costs allocated to the examination overhead as-
sessment source and the self-directed budget account source.
The department then subtracted the fiscal year 2020 estimated
amount of examination direct billing revenue from the amount of
the combined costs of the examination overhead assessment
source and the self-directed budget account source. The re-
sulting balance is the amount of the examination revenue need
for the purpose of calculating the examination overhead assess-
ment rates.

To calculate the assessment rates, the department allocated 50
percent of the revenue need to admitted assets and 50 percent
to gross premium receipts. The department divided the revenue
need for gross premium receipts by the total estimated gross pre-
mium receipts for calendar year 2019 to determine the proposed
rate of assessment for gross premium receipts. The department
divided the revenue need for admitted assets by the total esti-
mated admitted assets for calendar year 2019 to determine the
proposed rate of assessment for admitted assets.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS. The department did not receive
any comments on the proposed amendments.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The Commissioner adopts
the amendments to 28 TAC §7.1001 under Insurance
Code §§201.001(a)(1), (b), and (c); 401.151; 401.152;
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401.155, 401.156; 843.156(h); and 36.001; and Labor Code
§407A.252(b).

Insurance Code §201.001(a)(1) states that the Texas Depart-
ment of Insurance operating account is an account in the general
revenue fund, and that the account includes taxes and fees re-
ceived by the Commissioner or Comptroller that are required by
the Insurance Code to be deposited to the credit of the account.
Section 201.001(b) provides that the Commissioner administer
money in the Texas Department of Insurance operating account
and may spend money from the account in accordance with state
law, rules adopted by the Commissioner, and the General Appro-
priations Act. Section 201.001(c) states that money deposited
to the credit of the Texas Department of Insurance operating ac-
count may be used for any purpose for which money in the ac-
count is authorized to be used by law.

Insurance Code §401.151 provides that a domestic insurer ex-
amined by the department or under the department's authority
must pay the expenses of the examination in an amount the
Commissioner certifies as just and reasonable. Insurance Code
§401.151 also provides that the department collect an assess-
ment at the time of the examination to cover all expenses at-
tributable directly to that examination, including the salaries and
expenses of department employees and expenses described by
Insurance Code §803.007. Section 401.151 also requires that
the department impose an annual assessment on domestic in-
surers in an amount sufficient to meet all other expenses and
disbursements necessary to comply with the laws of Texas relat-
ing to the examination of insurers. Additionally, §401.151 states
that in determining the amount of assessment, the department
consider the insurer's annual premium receipts or admitted as-
sets, or both, that are not attributable to 90 percent of pension
plan contracts as defined by §818(a), Internal Revenue Code of
1986; or the total amount of the insurer's insurance in force.

Insurance Code §401.152 provides that an insurer not organized
under the laws of Texas must reimburse the department for the
salary and expenses of each examiner participating in an exam-
ination of the insurer and for other department expenses that are
properly allocable to the department's participation in the exam-
ination. Section 401.152(a-1) requires that the department also
impose an annual assessment on insurers not organized under
the laws of this state subject to examination as described by the
section in an amount sufficient to meet all other expenses and
disbursements necessary to comply with the laws of this state
relating to the examination of insurers, and the amount imposed
must be computed in the same manner as the amount imposed
under §401.151(c) for domestic insurers. Section 401.152 also
requires an insurer to pay the expenses under the section di-
rectly to the department on presentation of an itemized written
statement from the Commissioner. Additionally, §401.152 pro-
vides that the Commissioner determine the salary of an examiner
participating in an examination of an insurer's books or records
located in another state based on the salary rate recommended
by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners or the
examiner's regular salary rate.

Insurance Code §401.155 requires the department to impose ad-
ditional assessments against insurers on a pro rata basis as nec-
essary to cover all expenses and disbursements required by law
and to comply with Insurance Code Chapter 401, Subchapter D,
and §§401.103, 401.104, 401.105, and 401.106.

Insurance Code §401.156 requires the department to deposit
any assessments or fees collected under Insurance Code Chap-
ter 401, Subchapter D, relating to the examination of insurers
and other regulated entities by the financial examinations di-
vision or actuarial division, as those terms are defined by In-
surance Code §401.251, to the credit of an account with the
Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company to be used exclu-
sively to pay examination costs as defined by Insurance Code
§401.251, to reimburse the Texas Department of Insurance oper-
ating account for administrative support costs, and for premium
tax credits for examination costs and examination overhead as-
sessments. Additionally, §401.156 provides that revenue not re-
lated to the examination of insurers or other regulated entities
by the financial examinations division or actuarial division be de-
posited to the credit of the Texas Department of Insurance oper-
ating account.

Insurance Code §843.156(h) provides that Insurance Code
Chapter 401, Subchapter D, applies to an HMO, except to the
extent that the Commissioner determines that the nature of
the examination of an HMO renders the applicability of those
provisions clearly inappropriate.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the Commissioner may
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the
powers and duties of the Texas Department of Insurance under
the Insurance Code and other laws of Texas.

Labor Code §407A.252(b) provides that the Commissioner of In-
surance may recover the expenses of an examination of a work-
ers' compensation self-insurance group under Insurance Code
Article 1.16, which was recodified as Insurance Code §§401.151,
401.152,401.155, and 401.156 by House Bill 2017, 79th Legisla-
ture, Regular Session (2005), to the extent the maintenance tax
under Labor Code §407A.302 does not cover those expenses.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 16,
2019.

TRD-201904849

James Person

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: January 5, 2020

Proposal publication date: November 8, 2019
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	report. Amended §8.115 also requires notification of the instal-lation of any breakout tank. Amendments to §8.115 retain the requirement that the construc-tion report be filed with the Commission on a Form PS-48, except for natural gas distribution systems, liquified petroleum gas dis-tribution system, and master meter systems, for which operators have the option to file a monthly report in certain circumstances as described in §8.115(a)(4) and (5). The amendments also clar-ify that if notification is not f
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	tanks, an operator shall notify the Commission upon placing the mo-bile, temporary, or prefabricated breakout tank in service. (4) For relocated or replacement construction on liquified petroleum gas distribution systems, natural gas distribution systems, or master meter systems less than three miles in length, no construction notification is required. For relocated or replacement construction on liquified petroleum gas distribution systems, natural gas distribution systems, or master meter systems at least
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	Representatives and Operations Supervisors; and Reciprocal Examination Agreements with Other States; §9.21 and §9.22, relating to Franchise Tax Certification and Assumed Name Certificates; and Changes in Ownership, Form of Dealership, or Name of Dealership; §§9.26-9.28, relating to Insurance and Self-Insurance Requirements; Application for an Exception to a Safety Rule; and Reasonable Safety Provisions; §§9.35-9.38, relating to Written Procedure for LP-Gas Leaks; Report of LP-Gas Incident/Accident; Terminat
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	§9.403, relating to Adoption by Reference of NFPA 58; and Sections in NFPA 58 Not Adopted by Reference, and Adopted with Changes or Additional Requirements. The Commission adopts §§9.2, 9.6, 9.7, 9.10, 9.17, 9.51, 9.116, 9.134, 9.301, 9.308, 9.401 and Tables in §§9.15(e), 9.15(k), 9.26, 9.313, and 9.403 with changes and the remaining rules and tables without changes to the proposed text as published in the October 25, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 6134). Rules with changes will be republished
	§9.403, relating to Adoption by Reference of NFPA 58; and Sections in NFPA 58 Not Adopted by Reference, and Adopted with Changes or Additional Requirements. The Commission adopts §§9.2, 9.6, 9.7, 9.10, 9.17, 9.51, 9.116, 9.134, 9.301, 9.308, 9.401 and Tables in §§9.15(e), 9.15(k), 9.26, 9.313, and 9.403 with changes and the remaining rules and tables without changes to the proposed text as published in the October 25, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 6134). Rules with changes will be republished

	cause a leak test is sufficient and in some cases a pressure test can be dangerous. The Commission agrees and adopts §9.134 with a change to remove the pressure test requirement. TPGA, Amerigas, and 19 other commenters disagree with §9.140's requirement for additional crash protection on storage racks used to store nominal 20-pound DOT portable or any size forklift containers because locked ventilated cages provide adequate protection. These comments also request that the Commission clarify the use of bolla
	cause a leak test is sufficient and in some cases a pressure test can be dangerous. The Commission agrees and adopts §9.134 with a change to remove the pressure test requirement. TPGA, Amerigas, and 19 other commenters disagree with §9.140's requirement for additional crash protection on storage racks used to store nominal 20-pound DOT portable or any size forklift containers because locked ventilated cages provide adequate protection. These comments also request that the Commission clarify the use of bolla
	and (4) requests to adopt NFPA 58 §9.6.2.2 to ensure that there are requirements to address private transportation of containers not in commerce, which fall outside of DOT's jurisdiction. The Commission agrees with item (1) and adopts Table 9.403 with revisions such that NFPA 58 6.10.2.3 is adopted with changes to prohibit single stage regulators in fixed piping systems except for installations covered in 6.10.2.4. The Commission notes that the cylinders referenced in the NFPA sections in item (2) are outsi
	and (4) requests to adopt NFPA 58 §9.6.2.2 to ensure that there are requirements to address private transportation of containers not in commerce, which fall outside of DOT's jurisdiction. The Commission agrees with item (1) and adopts Table 9.403 with revisions such that NFPA 58 6.10.2.3 is adopted with changes to prohibit single stage regulators in fixed piping systems except for installations covered in 6.10.2.4. The Commission notes that the cylinders referenced in the NFPA sections in item (2) are outsi


	new NFPA versions effective September 1, 2020. Section 9.308 is adopted with a change to require LP-gas operators to merely verify that a new piping system is bonded when connecting to or supplying the new system with corrugated stainless steel tubing (CSST). The table in §9.313 is adopted with minor changes to correct errors in the proposed version. Section 9.401 is adopted with changes to reflect the adoption of new NFPA versions ef-fective September 1, 2020. The table in §9.403 is also adopted with chang
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	new subsection (d) which states that a container manufacturer registration authorizes the manufacture, assembly, repair, test-ing and sale of LP-gas containers. The original registration fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600. Section 9.7 is also adopted with a change to specify that op-erators will not be required to comply with changes directly re-lated to manufacturer registrations until June 1, 2020. Generally, amendments adopted in §9.7 clarify license requirements and reorganize the section to group r
	new subsection (d) which states that a container manufacturer registration authorizes the manufacture, assembly, repair, test-ing and sale of LP-gas containers. The original registration fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600. Section 9.7 is also adopted with a change to specify that op-erators will not be required to comply with changes directly re-lated to manufacturer registrations until June 1, 2020. Generally, amendments adopted in §9.7 clarify license requirements and reorganize the section to group r

	Amendments in §9.26 incorporate insurance requirements for registered manufacturers. Table 9.26(a) is adopted with a change to incorporate rule requirements for manufacturers into the table. Section 9.51 is adopted with a change to remove the dispenser operator exam. The exam was not added in the proposed amendments to §9.10 and was not intended to be included in §9.51. Other amendments in §9.51 move applicable language into §9.51 from other sections or tables. The amendments update subsection (j) to reflec
	Amendments in §9.26 incorporate insurance requirements for registered manufacturers. Table 9.26(a) is adopted with a change to incorporate rule requirements for manufacturers into the table. Section 9.51 is adopted with a change to remove the dispenser operator exam. The exam was not added in the proposed amendments to §9.10 and was not intended to be included in §9.51. Other amendments in §9.51 move applicable language into §9.51 from other sections or tables. The amendments update subsection (j) to reflec
	SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL REQUIRE-MENTS 16 TAC §§9.1 -9.18, 9.21, 9.22, 9.26 -9.28, 9.35 -9.38, 9.41, 9.51, 9.52, 9.54 The Commission adopts the amendments under Texas Natural Resources Code, §113.051, which authorizes the Commission to promulgate and adopt rules and standards relating to any and all aspects or phases of the LP-gas industry that will pro-tect or tend to protect the health, welfare, and safety of the gen-eral public; Texas Natural Resources Code §113.0815, which requires a person engaging in the

	(D) who holds a current examination exemption cer-tificate pursuant to §9.13 of this title (relating to General Installers and Repairman Exemption). (8) Certified--Authorized to perform LP-gas work as set forth in the Texas Natural Resources Code. Employee certification alone does not allow an individual to perform those activities which require licensing. (9) CETP--The Certified Employee Training Program of-fered by the Propane Education and Research Council (PERC), the Na-tional Propane Gas Association (N
	(D) who holds a current examination exemption cer-tificate pursuant to §9.13 of this title (relating to General Installers and Repairman Exemption). (8) Certified--Authorized to perform LP-gas work as set forth in the Texas Natural Resources Code. Employee certification alone does not allow an individual to perform those activities which require licensing. (9) CETP--The Certified Employee Training Program of-fered by the Propane Education and Research Council (PERC), the Na-tional Propane Gas Association (N
	(D) who holds a current examination exemption cer-tificate pursuant to §9.13 of this title (relating to General Installers and Repairman Exemption). (8) Certified--Authorized to perform LP-gas work as set forth in the Texas Natural Resources Code. Employee certification alone does not allow an individual to perform those activities which require licensing. (9) CETP--The Certified Employee Training Program of-fered by the Propane Education and Research Council (PERC), the Na-tional Propane Gas Association (N


	(22) LP-Gas Safety Rules--The rules adopted by the Rail-road Commission in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 16, Part 1, Chapter 9, including any NFPA or other documents adopted by refer-ence. The official text of the Commission's rules is that which is on file with the Secretary of State's office and available at the Secretary of State's web site or the Commission's web site. (23) LP-gas system--All piping, fittings, valves, and equipment, excluding containers and appliances, that connect one or more co
	(22) LP-Gas Safety Rules--The rules adopted by the Rail-road Commission in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 16, Part 1, Chapter 9, including any NFPA or other documents adopted by refer-ence. The official text of the Commission's rules is that which is on file with the Secretary of State's office and available at the Secretary of State's web site or the Commission's web site. (23) LP-gas system--All piping, fittings, valves, and equipment, excluding containers and appliances, that connect one or more co
	(22) LP-Gas Safety Rules--The rules adopted by the Rail-road Commission in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 16, Part 1, Chapter 9, including any NFPA or other documents adopted by refer-ence. The official text of the Commission's rules is that which is on file with the Secretary of State's office and available at the Secretary of State's web site or the Commission's web site. (23) LP-gas system--All piping, fittings, valves, and equipment, excluding containers and appliances, that connect one or more co


	school buses and mass transit or special transit vehicles), or airport courtesy vehicles. (38) Recreational vehicle--A vehicular-type unit primarily designed as temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, travel, or seasonal use that either has its own motive power or is mounted on, or towed by, another vehicle. (39) Registered manufacturer--A person who has applied for and been granted a registration to manufacture LP-gas containers by the Commission. (40) Repair to container--The correction of da
	school buses and mass transit or special transit vehicles), or airport courtesy vehicles. (38) Recreational vehicle--A vehicular-type unit primarily designed as temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, travel, or seasonal use that either has its own motive power or is mounted on, or towed by, another vehicle. (39) Registered manufacturer--A person who has applied for and been granted a registration to manufacture LP-gas containers by the Commission. (40) Repair to container--The correction of da
	(55) Ultimate consumer--A person who buys a product to use rather than for resale. §9.6. License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, and Fees. (a) A prospective licensee may apply to AFS for one or more licenses specified in subsection (b) of this section. Beginning June 1, 2020, a prospective container manufacturer may apply to AFS for a container manufacturer registration specified in subsection (d) of this section. Prior to June 1, 2020, container manufacturers must be li-censed as Category 

	(8) A Category F license for cylinder filling authorizes the operation of a cylinder filling facility, including cylinder filling, the sale of LP-gas in cylinders, and the replacement of cylinder valves. The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $50. (9) A Category G license for dispensing stations authorizes the operation of LP-gas dispensing stations filling ASME containers designed for motor or mobile fuel. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $50. (10) A Category H license for cyl
	(8) A Category F license for cylinder filling authorizes the operation of a cylinder filling facility, including cylinder filling, the sale of LP-gas in cylinders, and the replacement of cylinder valves. The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $50. (9) A Category G license for dispensing stations authorizes the operation of LP-gas dispensing stations filling ASME containers designed for motor or mobile fuel. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $50. (10) A Category H license for cyl
	(8) A Category F license for cylinder filling authorizes the operation of a cylinder filling facility, including cylinder filling, the sale of LP-gas in cylinders, and the replacement of cylinder valves. The original license fee is $100; the renewal fee is $50. (9) A Category G license for dispensing stations authorizes the operation of LP-gas dispensing stations filling ASME containers designed for motor or mobile fuel. The original license fee is $100; the renewal is $50. (10) A Category H license for cyl


	quirements in §9.14 of this title (relating to Military Fee Exemption). An individual who receives a military fee exemption is not exempt from renewal or transport registration fees specified in §9.7 and §9.202 of this title (relating to Applications for Licenses, Manufacturer Registra-tions, and Renewals; and Registration and Transfer of LP-Gas Trans-ports or Container Delivery Units, respectively). (d) A container manufacturer registration authorizes the man-ufacture, assembly, repair, testing and sale of
	(1) a properly completed LPG Form 1 listing all names un-der which LP-gas related activities requiring licensing are to be con-ducted and the applicant's properly qualified company representative and the following forms or documents as applicable: (A) LPG Form 1A if the applicant will operate any out-lets pursuant to subsection (g) of this section; (B) LPG Form 7 and any information requested in §9.202 of this title (relating to Registration and Transfer of LP-Gas Transports or Container Delivery Units) if 
	(1) a properly completed LPG Form 1 listing all names un-der which LP-gas related activities requiring licensing are to be con-ducted and the applicant's properly qualified company representative and the following forms or documents as applicable: (A) LPG Form 1A if the applicant will operate any out-lets pursuant to subsection (g) of this section; (B) LPG Form 7 and any information requested in §9.202 of this title (relating to Registration and Transfer of LP-Gas Transports or Container Delivery Units) if 
	(1) a properly completed LPG Form 1 listing all names un-der which LP-gas related activities requiring licensing are to be con-ducted and the applicant's properly qualified company representative and the following forms or documents as applicable: (A) LPG Form 1A if the applicant will operate any out-lets pursuant to subsection (g) of this section; (B) LPG Form 7 and any information requested in §9.202 of this title (relating to Registration and Transfer of LP-Gas Transports or Container Delivery Units) if 
	(1) a properly completed LPG Form 1 listing all names un-der which LP-gas related activities requiring licensing are to be con-ducted and the applicant's properly qualified company representative and the following forms or documents as applicable: (A) LPG Form 1A if the applicant will operate any out-lets pursuant to subsection (g) of this section; (B) LPG Form 7 and any information requested in §9.202 of this title (relating to Registration and Transfer of LP-Gas Transports or Container Delivery Units) if 


	not continue to operate after the expiration date of an ASME certificate of authorization until the manufacturer files a current ASME certificate of authorization with AFS or AFS grants a temporary exception. (2) By filing LPG Form 1M, the applicant certifies that it has read the requirements of this chapter and shall comply with all applicable rules, regulations and adopted standards. (3) The required fee shall accompany LPG Form 1M. An original registration fee is $1,000; the renewal fee is $600. (A) If s

	(8) If a person's license or manufacturer registration has been expired for one year or more, that person shall not renew but shall comply with the requirements for issuance of an original license or manufacturer registration under subsection (f) or (h) of this section. (9) After verification that the licensee or registered manu-facturer has met all requirements for licensing or manufacturer registra-tion, AFS shall renew the license or registration and send the applicable authorization to the licensee or m
	(8) If a person's license or manufacturer registration has been expired for one year or more, that person shall not renew but shall comply with the requirements for issuance of an original license or manufacturer registration under subsection (f) or (h) of this section. (9) After verification that the licensee or registered manu-facturer has met all requirements for licensing or manufacturer registra-tion, AFS shall renew the license or registration and send the applicable authorization to the licensee or m
	(8) If a person's license or manufacturer registration has been expired for one year or more, that person shall not renew but shall comply with the requirements for issuance of an original license or manufacturer registration under subsection (f) or (h) of this section. (9) After verification that the licensee or registered manu-facturer has met all requirements for licensing or manufacturer registra-tion, AFS shall renew the license or registration and send the applicable authorization to the licensee or m


	(c) An individual who files LPG Form 16 and pays the appli-cable nonrefundable examination fee may take the rules examination. (1) Dates and locations of available Commission LP-gas examinations may be obtained in the Austin offices of AFS and on the Commission's web site, and shall be updated at least monthly. Exam-inations may be conducted at the Commission's AFS Training Center in Austin, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon, Monday through Friday, except for state holidays, and at other designa
	(c) An individual who files LPG Form 16 and pays the appli-cable nonrefundable examination fee may take the rules examination. (1) Dates and locations of available Commission LP-gas examinations may be obtained in the Austin offices of AFS and on the Commission's web site, and shall be updated at least monthly. Exam-inations may be conducted at the Commission's AFS Training Center in Austin, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon, Monday through Friday, except for state holidays, and at other designa
	(c) An individual who files LPG Form 16 and pays the appli-cable nonrefundable examination fee may take the rules examination. (1) Dates and locations of available Commission LP-gas examinations may be obtained in the Austin offices of AFS and on the Commission's web site, and shall be updated at least monthly. Exam-inations may be conducted at the Commission's AFS Training Center in Austin, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon, Monday through Friday, except for state holidays, and at other designa


	(5) The Commission may offer employee-level LP-Gas Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filling, and Motor/Mobile Fuel Dispensing examinations in Spanish or English. (d) This subsection specifies the examinations offered by the Commission. (1) Employee-level examinations. (A) The Bobtail Driver examination qualifies an indi-vidual to operate a bobtail, to perform all of the LP-gas activities au-thorized by the Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filler, and Motor/Mo-bile Fuel Filler examinations, and to perform leak c
	(5) The Commission may offer employee-level LP-Gas Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filling, and Motor/Mobile Fuel Dispensing examinations in Spanish or English. (d) This subsection specifies the examinations offered by the Commission. (1) Employee-level examinations. (A) The Bobtail Driver examination qualifies an indi-vidual to operate a bobtail, to perform all of the LP-gas activities au-thorized by the Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filler, and Motor/Mo-bile Fuel Filler examinations, and to perform leak c
	(5) The Commission may offer employee-level LP-Gas Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filling, and Motor/Mobile Fuel Dispensing examinations in Spanish or English. (d) This subsection specifies the examinations offered by the Commission. (1) Employee-level examinations. (A) The Bobtail Driver examination qualifies an indi-vidual to operate a bobtail, to perform all of the LP-gas activities au-thorized by the Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filler, and Motor/Mo-bile Fuel Filler examinations, and to perform leak c
	(5) The Commission may offer employee-level LP-Gas Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filling, and Motor/Mobile Fuel Dispensing examinations in Spanish or English. (d) This subsection specifies the examinations offered by the Commission. (1) Employee-level examinations. (A) The Bobtail Driver examination qualifies an indi-vidual to operate a bobtail, to perform all of the LP-gas activities au-thorized by the Transport Driver, DOT Cylinder Filler, and Motor/Mo-bile Fuel Filler examinations, and to perform leak c


	through the venting system, and to perform leak checks on the new or repaired portion of an LP-gas system. The Appliance Service and In-stallation Technician examination does not authorize an individual to install a container, install or repair piping upstream of and including the appliance gas stop, or to install, repair or adjust regulators. (J) The Motor/Mobile Fuel Filler examination qualifies an individual to inspect and fill motor or mobile fuel containers on vehicles, including recreational vehicles,

	(N) The Category L examination qualifies an individual to sell and install both LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers and fuel systems on engines. (O) The Category M examination qualifies an individ-ual to sell, service, and install recreational vehicle containers, and to install, repair, and service recreational vehicle appliances, piping, and LP-gas systems, including recreational vehicle motor or mobile fuel systems and containers. (P) The Category N examination qualifies an individual to service and in
	(N) The Category L examination qualifies an individual to sell and install both LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers and fuel systems on engines. (O) The Category M examination qualifies an individ-ual to sell, service, and install recreational vehicle containers, and to install, repair, and service recreational vehicle appliances, piping, and LP-gas systems, including recreational vehicle motor or mobile fuel systems and containers. (P) The Category N examination qualifies an individual to service and in
	(N) The Category L examination qualifies an individual to sell and install both LP-gas motor or mobile fuel containers and fuel systems on engines. (O) The Category M examination qualifies an individ-ual to sell, service, and install recreational vehicle containers, and to install, repair, and service recreational vehicle appliances, piping, and LP-gas systems, including recreational vehicle motor or mobile fuel systems and containers. (P) The Category N examination qualifies an individual to service and in


	istrants to take appropriate voluntary corrective and future protective actions once a violation has occurred is an effective component of the enforcement process. Deterrence of violations through penalty assess-ments is also a necessary and effective component of the enforcement process. A rule-based enforcement penalty guideline to evaluate and rank LP-gas-related violations is consistent with the central goal of the Commission's enforcement efforts to promote compliance. Penalty guidelines set forth in t
	istrants to take appropriate voluntary corrective and future protective actions once a violation has occurred is an effective component of the enforcement process. Deterrence of violations through penalty assess-ments is also a necessary and effective component of the enforcement process. A rule-based enforcement penalty guideline to evaluate and rank LP-gas-related violations is consistent with the central goal of the Commission's enforcement efforts to promote compliance. Penalty guidelines set forth in t

	assess an enhancement based on either the number of prior violations or the total amount of previous administrative penalties, but not both. The actual amount of any penalty enhancement will be determined on an individual case-by-case basis for each violation. The guidelines in Tables 3 and 4 are intended to be used separately. Either guideline may be used where applicable, but not both. Figure 1: 16 TAC §9.15(g) (No change.) Figure 2: 16 TAC §9.15(g) (No change.) (h) Penalty reduction for settlement before
	assess an enhancement based on either the number of prior violations or the total amount of previous administrative penalties, but not both. The actual amount of any penalty enhancement will be determined on an individual case-by-case basis for each violation. The guidelines in Tables 3 and 4 are intended to be used separately. Either guideline may be used where applicable, but not both. Figure 1: 16 TAC §9.15(g) (No change.) Figure 2: 16 TAC §9.15(g) (No change.) (h) Penalty reduction for settlement before
	(4) The company representative may also serve as opera-tions supervisor for one or more of the licensee's outlets provided that the individual meets both the company representative and the opera-tions supervisor requirements in this section. (5) A licensee shall immediately notify AFS in writing upon conclusion of employment, for whatever reason, of its company representative or any operations supervisor and shall at the same time designate a replacement. (6) A licensee shall cease all LP-gas activities if 
	(4) The company representative may also serve as opera-tions supervisor for one or more of the licensee's outlets provided that the individual meets both the company representative and the opera-tions supervisor requirements in this section. (5) A licensee shall immediately notify AFS in writing upon conclusion of employment, for whatever reason, of its company representative or any operations supervisor and shall at the same time designate a replacement. (6) A licensee shall cease all LP-gas activities if 
	(4) The company representative may also serve as opera-tions supervisor for one or more of the licensee's outlets provided that the individual meets both the company representative and the opera-tions supervisor requirements in this section. (5) A licensee shall immediately notify AFS in writing upon conclusion of employment, for whatever reason, of its company representative or any operations supervisor and shall at the same time designate a replacement. (6) A licensee shall cease all LP-gas activities if 



	(d) Category P licensees. (1) The company representative requirement for a Cate-gory P licensee may be satisfied by employing a Category E or J com-pany representative if the Category E or J company representative is authorized by the Category P licensee to remove any employee who does not comply with the rules in this chapter or who performs unsafe LP-gas activities. (2) In lieu of an operations supervisor requirement for a Category P license, the Category E or J licensee providing the Category P licensee 
	(d) Category P licensees. (1) The company representative requirement for a Cate-gory P licensee may be satisfied by employing a Category E or J com-pany representative if the Category E or J company representative is authorized by the Category P licensee to remove any employee who does not comply with the rules in this chapter or who performs unsafe LP-gas activities. (2) In lieu of an operations supervisor requirement for a Category P license, the Category E or J licensee providing the Category P licensee 

	and maintain records regarding the employees of the Category P li-censee who have been trained. (3) The Category P licensee shall: (A) ensure that each employee who is involved with the activities covered by the Category P license is knowledgeable about the contents of the manual and has signed and dated the signature page of the manual; and (B) ensure that each such employee is aware of the lo-cation of the manual and can show the manual to employees of the Commission upon request. (e) Work experience subs
	before the cancellation of any insurance coverage. The 30-day period commences on the date the notice is actually received by AFS. (c) A licensee or applicant for a license that does not employ or contemplate employing any employee to be engaged in LP-gas related activities in Texas may file LPG Form 996B in lieu of filing a workers' compensation insurance form, including employer's liability insurance, or alternative accident and health insurance coverage. The licensee or applicant for a license shall file
	before the cancellation of any insurance coverage. The 30-day period commences on the date the notice is actually received by AFS. (c) A licensee or applicant for a license that does not employ or contemplate employing any employee to be engaged in LP-gas related activities in Texas may file LPG Form 996B in lieu of filing a workers' compensation insurance form, including employer's liability insurance, or alternative accident and health insurance coverage. The licensee or applicant for a license shall file
	license applicant shall attach to the LPG Form 28-A any documenta-tion necessary to show that the bank issuing the irrevocable letter of credit meets the requirements in paragraph (5)(E) of this subsection. (3) The irrevocable letter of credit shall be in an amount that is no less than the total of all minimum insurance coverage amounts required by the Commission in the Table in subsection (a)of this section for every coverage for which the licensee or license applicant seeks to self-insure. (4) The irrevoc

	who may have suffered losses in the incident. The licensee shall also provide written notice to all such individuals of the licensee's status as being self-insured and of the expiration date of the licensee's letter of credit. (j) Each licensee or registered manufacturer shall promptly no-tify AFS of any change in insurance coverage or insurance carrier by filing a properly completed Acord™ form; other form approved by the Texas Department of Insurance that has been prepared and signed by the insurance carr
	(E) appliance service and installation technician; and (F) motor/mobile fuel filler. (e) The training and continuing education requirements do not apply to an individual who: (1) drives or fuels a motor vehicle powered by LP-gas as an ultimate consumer; (2) fuels motor vehicles as an employee of an ultimate con-sumer; (3) is employed by a state agency, county, municipality, school district, or other governmental subdivision; (4) holds a general installers and repairman exemption; or (5) holds a management o
	(E) appliance service and installation technician; and (F) motor/mobile fuel filler. (e) The training and continuing education requirements do not apply to an individual who: (1) drives or fuels a motor vehicle powered by LP-gas as an ultimate consumer; (2) fuels motor vehicles as an employee of an ultimate con-sumer; (3) is employed by a state agency, county, municipality, school district, or other governmental subdivision; (4) holds a general installers and repairman exemption; or (5) holds a management o
	(E) appliance service and installation technician; and (F) motor/mobile fuel filler. (e) The training and continuing education requirements do not apply to an individual who: (1) drives or fuels a motor vehicle powered by LP-gas as an ultimate consumer; (2) fuels motor vehicles as an employee of an ultimate con-sumer; (3) is employed by a state agency, county, municipality, school district, or other governmental subdivision; (4) holds a general installers and repairman exemption; or (5) holds a management o
	(E) appliance service and installation technician; and (F) motor/mobile fuel filler. (e) The training and continuing education requirements do not apply to an individual who: (1) drives or fuels a motor vehicle powered by LP-gas as an ultimate consumer; (2) fuels motor vehicles as an employee of an ultimate con-sumer; (3) is employed by a state agency, county, municipality, school district, or other governmental subdivision; (4) holds a general installers and repairman exemption; or (5) holds a management o



	License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, and Fees, and Rules Examination, respectively). (C) Current certificate holders who have paid the annual renewal fee and who want to add a new certification other than Cate-gory E, F, G, I or J shall not be required to pay the $75 course fee. (D) Continuing education courses shall be offered at no charge to certificate holders who have timely paid the annual certificate renewal fee specified in §9.9 of this title. (E) Requests for courses where no tra
	License Categories, Container Manufacturer Registration, and Fees, and Rules Examination, respectively). (C) Current certificate holders who have paid the annual renewal fee and who want to add a new certification other than Cate-gory E, F, G, I or J shall not be required to pay the $75 course fee. (D) Continuing education courses shall be offered at no charge to certificate holders who have timely paid the annual certificate renewal fee specified in §9.9 of this title. (E) Requests for courses where no tra
	The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-thority. Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on December 17, 2019. TRD-201904862 Haley Cochran Rules Attorney, Office of General Counsel Railroad Commission of Texas Effective date: January 6, 2020 Proposal publication date: October 25, 2019 For further information, please call: (512) 475-1295 ♦ ♦ ♦ SUBCHAPTER B. LP-GAS INSTALLATIONS, CONTAINERS, APPURTENANCES, AND EQUI
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	Code, §113.081. A licensee shall not connect an LP-gas container or cylinder to a piping installation made by a person who is not licensed to make such installation, except that connection may be made to piping installed by an individual on that individual's single family residential home. A licensee may connect to piping installed by an unlicensed person provided the licensee has verified that the piping is free of leaks and has been installed according to the rules in this chapter, and filed with AFS a co
	SUBCHAPTER D. ADOPTION BY REFERENCE OF NFPA 54 (NATIONAL FUEL GAS CODE) 16 TAC §§9.301 -9.304, 9.306 -9.308, 9.311, 9.313 The Commission adopts the amendments and new rule under Texas Natural Resources Code, §113.051, which authorizes the Commission to promulgate and adopt rules and standards relat-ing to any and all aspects or phases of the LP-gas industry that will protect or tend to protect the health, welfare, and safety of the general public; Texas Natural Resources Code §113.0815, which requires a per
	(11) NFPA 96, Standard for Ventilation Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking Operations, 2017 edition; (12) NFPA 211, Standard for Chimneys, Fireplaces, Vents, and Solid Fuel-Burning Appliances, 2016 edition; (13) NFPA 409, Standard on Aircraft Hangars, 2016 edi-tion; (14) NFPA 780, Standard for the Installation of Lightning Protection Systems, 2017 edition; (15) NFPA 853, Standard for the Installation of Station Fuel Cell Power Systems, 2015 edition; and (16) NFPA 1192, Standard on Recreational
	(11) NFPA 96, Standard for Ventilation Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking Operations, 2017 edition; (12) NFPA 211, Standard for Chimneys, Fireplaces, Vents, and Solid Fuel-Burning Appliances, 2016 edition; (13) NFPA 409, Standard on Aircraft Hangars, 2016 edi-tion; (14) NFPA 780, Standard for the Installation of Lightning Protection Systems, 2017 edition; (15) NFPA 853, Standard for the Installation of Station Fuel Cell Power Systems, 2015 edition; and (16) NFPA 1192, Standard on Recreational
	(11) NFPA 96, Standard for Ventilation Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking Operations, 2017 edition; (12) NFPA 211, Standard for Chimneys, Fireplaces, Vents, and Solid Fuel-Burning Appliances, 2016 edition; (13) NFPA 409, Standard on Aircraft Hangars, 2016 edi-tion; (14) NFPA 780, Standard for the Installation of Lightning Protection Systems, 2017 edition; (15) NFPA 853, Standard for the Installation of Station Fuel Cell Power Systems, 2015 edition; and (16) NFPA 1192, Standard on Recreational
	(11) NFPA 96, Standard for Ventilation Control and Fire Protection of Commercial Cooking Operations, 2017 edition; (12) NFPA 211, Standard for Chimneys, Fireplaces, Vents, and Solid Fuel-Burning Appliances, 2016 edition; (13) NFPA 409, Standard on Aircraft Hangars, 2016 edi-tion; (14) NFPA 780, Standard for the Installation of Lightning Protection Systems, 2017 edition; (15) NFPA 853, Standard for the Installation of Station Fuel Cell Power Systems, 2015 edition; and (16) NFPA 1192, Standard on Recreational


	register with the commission in accordance with rules adopted by the commission; and Texas Natural Resources Code §113.082, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules establishing li-cense categories for LP-gas activities. Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§113.051, 113.0815, and 113.082. Cross reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code Chapter 113. The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-th
	register with the commission in accordance with rules adopted by the commission; and Texas Natural Resources Code §113.082, which authorizes the Commission to adopt rules establishing li-cense categories for LP-gas activities. Statutory authority: Texas Natural Resources Code, §§113.051, 113.0815, and 113.082. Cross reference to statute: Texas Natural Resources Code Chapter 113. The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-th


	(2) NFPA 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Sys-tems, 2016 edition; (3) NFPA 15, Standard for Water Spray Fixed Systems for Fire Protection, 2017 edition; (4) NFPA 25, Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems, 2017 edition; (5) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code, 2015 edition; (6) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and Repair Garages, 2015 edition; (7) NFPA 51B, Standard for Fire Prevention in Use of Cut-ting and W
	(2) NFPA 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Sys-tems, 2016 edition; (3) NFPA 15, Standard for Water Spray Fixed Systems for Fire Protection, 2017 edition; (4) NFPA 25, Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems, 2017 edition; (5) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code, 2015 edition; (6) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and Repair Garages, 2015 edition; (7) NFPA 51B, Standard for Fire Prevention in Use of Cut-ting and W
	(2) NFPA 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Sys-tems, 2016 edition; (3) NFPA 15, Standard for Water Spray Fixed Systems for Fire Protection, 2017 edition; (4) NFPA 25, Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems, 2017 edition; (5) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code, 2015 edition; (6) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and Repair Garages, 2015 edition; (7) NFPA 51B, Standard for Fire Prevention in Use of Cut-ting and W


	CHAPTER 12. COAL MINING REGULATIONS SUBCHAPTER G. SURFACE COAL MINING AND RECLAMATION OPERATIONS, PERMITS, AND COAL EXPLORATION PROCEDURES SYSTEMS DIVISION 2. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR PERMITS AND PERMIT APPLICATIONS 16 TAC §12.108 The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) adopts amendments to §12.108, relating to Permit Fees, with changes to the proposed text as published in the August 23, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 4421). The rule will be republished. The Commission received two comme
	(a) Application Fees. Each application for a surface coal min-ing and reclamation permit or renewal or revision of a permit shall be accompanied by a fee. The initial application fee and the application fee for renewal of a permit may be paid in equal annual installments during the term of the permit. The fee schedule is as follows: (1) application for a permit: $5,000. (2) application for revision of a permit: $500. (3) application for renewal of a permit: $3,000. (b) Annual Fees. In addition to applicatio
	(a) Application Fees. Each application for a surface coal min-ing and reclamation permit or renewal or revision of a permit shall be accompanied by a fee. The initial application fee and the application fee for renewal of a permit may be paid in equal annual installments during the term of the permit. The fee schedule is as follows: (1) application for a permit: $5,000. (2) application for revision of a permit: $500. (3) application for renewal of a permit: $3,000. (b) Annual Fees. In addition to applicatio
	(a) Application Fees. Each application for a surface coal min-ing and reclamation permit or renewal or revision of a permit shall be accompanied by a fee. The initial application fee and the application fee for renewal of a permit may be paid in equal annual installments during the term of the permit. The fee schedule is as follows: (1) application for a permit: $5,000. (2) application for revision of a permit: $500. (3) application for renewal of a permit: $3,000. (b) Annual Fees. In addition to applicatio
	(a) Application Fees. Each application for a surface coal min-ing and reclamation permit or renewal or revision of a permit shall be accompanied by a fee. The initial application fee and the application fee for renewal of a permit may be paid in equal annual installments during the term of the permit. The fee schedule is as follows: (1) application for a permit: $5,000. (2) application for revision of a permit: $500. (3) application for renewal of a permit: $3,000. (b) Annual Fees. In addition to applicatio
	(a) Application Fees. Each application for a surface coal min-ing and reclamation permit or renewal or revision of a permit shall be accompanied by a fee. The initial application fee and the application fee for renewal of a permit may be paid in equal annual installments during the term of the permit. The fee schedule is as follows: (1) application for a permit: $5,000. (2) application for revision of a permit: $500. (3) application for renewal of a permit: $3,000. (b) Annual Fees. In addition to applicatio



	A public hearing on the amendments was held at commission offices on October 25, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. No persons made ap-pearances. The commission received no comments on the proposed amendments. In adopting this section, the commission makes other minor modifications for stylistic purposes. These amendments are adopted under §14.002 and §14.052 of the Public Utility Regulatory Act, Tex. Util. Code §(West 2016 and Supp. 2017) (PURA) which provides the commission with the authority to make and enforce rules rea

	(3) The amount of the administrative penalty must be based on: (A) the seriousness of the violation, including the na-ture, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public; (B) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation; (C) the history of previous violations; (D) the amount necessary to deter future violations; (E) the efforts to correct the violation; and (F) any oth
	(3) The amount of the administrative penalty must be based on: (A) the seriousness of the violation, including the na-ture, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public; (B) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation; (C) the history of previous violations; (D) the amount necessary to deter future violations; (E) the efforts to correct the violation; and (F) any oth
	(3) The amount of the administrative penalty must be based on: (A) the seriousness of the violation, including the na-ture, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public; (B) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation; (C) the history of previous violations; (D) the amount necessary to deter future violations; (E) the efforts to correct the violation; and (F) any oth


	is the subject of the report. The notice may be given by regular or cer-tified mail. (B) For violations of the TWC or a rule or order adopted under chapter 13 of the TWC, within ten days after the report is issued, the executive director will, by certified mail, return receipt requested, give written notice of the report to the person who is alleged to have committed the violation or continuing violation which is the subject of the report. (C) The notice must include: (i) a brief summary of the alleged viol
	(D) If the executive director determines that the alleged violation was not remedied or was not accidental or inadvertent, the executive director will make a determination as to what further pro-ceedings are necessary. (E) If the executive director determines that the alleged violation is a continuing violation, the executive director will institute further proceedings, including referral of the matter for hearing under subsection (i) of this section. (2) Payment of administrative penalty, disgorged excess 
	(D) If the executive director determines that the alleged violation was not remedied or was not accidental or inadvertent, the executive director will make a determination as to what further pro-ceedings are necessary. (E) If the executive director determines that the alleged violation is a continuing violation, the executive director will institute further proceedings, including referral of the matter for hearing under subsection (i) of this section. (2) Payment of administrative penalty, disgorged excess 
	(D) If the executive director determines that the alleged violation was not remedied or was not accidental or inadvertent, the executive director will make a determination as to what further pro-ceedings are necessary. (E) If the executive director determines that the alleged violation is a continuing violation, the executive director will institute further proceedings, including referral of the matter for hearing under subsection (i) of this section. (2) Payment of administrative penalty, disgorged excess 
	(D) If the executive director determines that the alleged violation was not remedied or was not accidental or inadvertent, the executive director will make a determination as to what further pro-ceedings are necessary. (E) If the executive director determines that the alleged violation is a continuing violation, the executive director will institute further proceedings, including referral of the matter for hearing under subsection (i) of this section. (2) Payment of administrative penalty, disgorged excess 


	under §22.207 of this title (relating to Referral to State Office of Ad-ministrative Hearings) and give notice of the referral to the person. For violations of the TWC or a rule or order adopted under chapter 13 of the TWC, if the person charged with the violation fails to timely respond to the notice, the commission by order will assess the recommended penalty or order a hearing to be held on the findings and recommen-dations in the report. If the commission orders a hearing, the case will then proceed as 

	wholesale electric market participants are affected or a different distri-bution method is appropriate, the commission may direct commission staff to open a subsequent proceeding to address those issues. (1) No later than 90 days after the disgorged excess rev-enues are remitted to the independent organization, the monies must be distributed to affected wholesale electric market participants active at the time of distribution, or the independent organization must, by that date, notify the commission of the 
	OF HIGHER EDUCATION; AUTHORIZING ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES. 19 TAC §§3.1 -3.20 The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) adopts the repeal of Chapter 3, Subchapter A, §§3.11 -3.15 and new rules for Chapter 3, Subchapter A, §§3.1 -3.20, concerning required reporting rules and policies regarding certain incidents of sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking at postsecondary educational institutions. New §§3.1 -3.10 and 3.16 -3.20 were proposed in the November 1, 2019, issue o
	OF HIGHER EDUCATION; AUTHORIZING ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES. 19 TAC §§3.1 -3.20 The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) adopts the repeal of Chapter 3, Subchapter A, §§3.11 -3.15 and new rules for Chapter 3, Subchapter A, §§3.1 -3.20, concerning required reporting rules and policies regarding certain incidents of sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking at postsecondary educational institutions. New §§3.1 -3.10 and 3.16 -3.20 were proposed in the November 1, 2019, issue o

	whether, as illustrated, "innuendo, rumors, gossip, second-hand or third-hand information," with or without substantiation, would necessitate consideration when identified as constituting sex-ual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking pur-suant to this new Texas mandate or constitute a matter required to be reported pursuant to other federal law or applicable institu-tional policy. Thus, no change is recommended. A public comment with five substantive comments was received from The Univers
	whether, as illustrated, "innuendo, rumors, gossip, second-hand or third-hand information," with or without substantiation, would necessitate consideration when identified as constituting sex-ual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking pur-suant to this new Texas mandate or constitute a matter required to be reported pursuant to other federal law or applicable institu-tional policy. Thus, no change is recommended. A public comment with five substantive comments was received from The Univers
	by institutions as "confidential employees" when they are serving in some capacities but not so designated while serving in other capacities. Staff response: The enabling statutes do not provide a basis for designating certain employees as confidential at some times but not at others. This recommendation would also be complex and difficult to implement. Thus, no change is recommended. Consistent with the rules of negotiated rulemaking, the com-ments from Doctors Hospital at Renaissance, Ltd, (DHR Health) an
	by institutions as "confidential employees" when they are serving in some capacities but not so designated while serving in other capacities. Staff response: The enabling statutes do not provide a basis for designating certain employees as confidential at some times but not at others. This recommendation would also be complex and difficult to implement. Thus, no change is recommended. Consistent with the rules of negotiated rulemaking, the com-ments from Doctors Hospital at Renaissance, Ltd, (DHR Health) an


	in reporting the crime to law enforcement, or to decline to report the crime to law enforcement. (b) Each postsecondary educational institution shall make its policy on sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalk-ing available to students, faculty, and staff members by: (1) including the policy in the student handbook and per-sonnel handbook or the institution's equivalent(s); and (2) creating and maintaining a web page dedicated solely to the policy that is easily accessible through a cle
	(a) If a student withdraws or graduates from a postsecondary educational institution pending a disciplinary charge alleging that the student violated the institution's policy or code of conduct by commit-ting sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking, the institution: (1) may not end the disciplinary process or issue a tran-script to the student until the institution makes a final determination of responsibility; and (2) shall expedite the institution's disciplinary process as necessar
	(a) If a student withdraws or graduates from a postsecondary educational institution pending a disciplinary charge alleging that the student violated the institution's policy or code of conduct by commit-ting sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking, the institution: (1) may not end the disciplinary process or issue a tran-script to the student until the institution makes a final determination of responsibility; and (2) shall expedite the institution's disciplinary process as necessar
	(a) If a student withdraws or graduates from a postsecondary educational institution pending a disciplinary charge alleging that the student violated the institution's policy or code of conduct by commit-ting sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, or stalking, the institution: (1) may not end the disciplinary process or issue a tran-script to the student until the institution makes a final determination of responsibility; and (2) shall expedite the institution's disciplinary process as necessar


	CHAPTER 163. LICENSURE 22 TAC §163.13 The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts amendments to Title 22, Part 9, §163.13, concerning Expedited Licensure with non-substantive changes, described below, to the proposed text as published in the November 8, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 6666). The rule will be republished. Deletions in text of section (c) were made because the language was an unnecessary statement of intent. The Board has determined that the public benefit anticipated as a result of e
	CHAPTER 163. LICENSURE 22 TAC §163.13 The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts amendments to Title 22, Part 9, §163.13, concerning Expedited Licensure with non-substantive changes, described below, to the proposed text as published in the November 8, 2019, issue of the Texas Register (44 TexReg 6666). The rule will be republished. Deletions in text of section (c) were made because the language was an unnecessary statement of intent. The Board has determined that the public benefit anticipated as a result of e
	Section 182.2, relating to Board's Role, is repealed. Section 182.3, relating to Definitions, is amended to clarify def-initions relating to role, purpose, and scope of various profes-sionals utilized by the board. Section 182.4, relating to Use of Consultants, is repealed. Section 182.5, relating to Expert Panel, is renamed "Expert Re-viewer Qualifications" and amended to delete obsolete language and to change the order of identified certifying boards. Section 182.6, relating to Use of Expert Witnesses, is

	Scott Freshour General Counsel Texas Medical Board Effective date: January 5, 2020 Proposal publication date: November 1, 2019 For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016 ♦ ♦ ♦ TITLE 28. INSURANCE PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE CHAPTER 1. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION SUBCHAPTER C. ASSESSMENT OF MAINTENANCE TAXES AND FEES 28 TAC §1.414 The Commissioner of Insurance adopts amendments to 28 TAC §1.414, relating to the 2020 assessment of maintenance taxes and fees imposed by the Insurance Code. The de
	To determine total cost need, the department combined costs from the following: (i) appropriations set out in Chapter 1353 (House Bill 1), Acts of the 86th Legislature, Regular Session, (2019) (the General Appropriations Act), which come from two funds, the General Revenue Dedicated -Texas Department of Insurance Operating Account No. 0036 (Account No. 0036) and the General Revenue Fund -Insurance Companies Main-tenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees; (ii) funds allowed by Insurance Code Chapter 401, Sub
	ing fund balance for fiscal year 2019 (August 31, 2019) and esti-mated fee revenue collections for fiscal year 2020. The resulting balance is the estimated revenue need that must be supported during the 2020 fiscal year by the following funding sources: the maintenance taxes or fees, exam overhead assessments, and premium finance assessments. The department determined the revenue need for each mainte-nance tax or fee line by dividing the total cost need for each main-tenance tax line by the total of the rev
	ing fund balance for fiscal year 2019 (August 31, 2019) and esti-mated fee revenue collections for fiscal year 2020. The resulting balance is the estimated revenue need that must be supported during the 2020 fiscal year by the following funding sources: the maintenance taxes or fees, exam overhead assessments, and premium finance assessments. The department determined the revenue need for each mainte-nance tax or fee line by dividing the total cost need for each main-tenance tax line by the total of the rev
	sation Research and Evaluation Group: (i) the appropriations in the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2020 from Ac-count No. 0036 and from the General Revenue Fund -Insurance Companies Maintenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees; (ii) estimated other costs statutorily required to be paid from this funding source, such as fringe benefits; and (iii) an estimated cash amount to finance costs from this funding source from the end of the 2020 fiscal year until the next assessment collection period in 
	sation Research and Evaluation Group: (i) the appropriations in the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2020 from Ac-count No. 0036 and from the General Revenue Fund -Insurance Companies Maintenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees; (ii) estimated other costs statutorily required to be paid from this funding source, such as fringe benefits; and (iii) an estimated cash amount to finance costs from this funding source from the end of the 2020 fiscal year until the next assessment collection period in 


	amount of expenses incurred by the Comptroller, other money in the Texas Department of Insurance operating account be used to reimburse the appropriate portion of the general revenue fund. Insurance Code §251.001 directs the Commissioner to annually determine the rate of assessment of each maintenance tax im-posed under Insurance Code Title 3, Subtitle C. Insurance Code §252.001 imposes a maintenance tax on each authorized insurer with gross premiums subject to taxation un-der Insurance Code §252.003. Insur
	Insurance Code §253.003 specifies that an insurer must pay maintenance taxes under Insurance Code Chapter 253 on the correctly reported gross premiums from writing a class of insur-ance specified under Insurance Code Chapters 2008, 2251, and 2252; Chapter 5, Subchapter B; Chapter 1806, Subchapter C; Chapter 2301, Subchapter A; and Title 10, Subtitle B. Insurance Code §254.001 imposes a maintenance tax on each authorized insurer with gross premiums subject to taxation under Insurance Code §254.003. Section 2
	quired by Chapter 257 is in addition to other taxes imposed that are not in conflict with Insurance Code Chapter 257. Insurance Code §257.002 provides that the rate of assessment set by the Commissioner may not exceed 0.04 percent of the gross premiums subject to taxation under Insurance Code §257.003. Section 257.002(b) provides that the Commissioner annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance tax so that the tax imposed that year, together with any unexpended funds produced by the tax, produ
	quired by Chapter 257 is in addition to other taxes imposed that are not in conflict with Insurance Code Chapter 257. Insurance Code §257.002 provides that the rate of assessment set by the Commissioner may not exceed 0.04 percent of the gross premiums subject to taxation under Insurance Code §257.003. Section 257.002(b) provides that the Commissioner annually adjust the rate of assessment of the maintenance tax so that the tax imposed that year, together with any unexpended funds produced by the tax, produ
	vide coverage primarily for employees of a municipality, county, or hospital district in this state; or a county or municipal hospital, without regard to whether the employees are employees of the county or municipality or of an entity operating the hospital on behalf of the county or municipality. Insurance Code §259.002 imposes a maintenance tax on each authorized third party administrator with administrative or service fees subject to taxation under Insurance Code §259.004. Sec-tion 259.002 also provides
	vide coverage primarily for employees of a municipality, county, or hospital district in this state; or a county or municipal hospital, without regard to whether the employees are employees of the county or municipality or of an entity operating the hospital on behalf of the county or municipality. Insurance Code §259.002 imposes a maintenance tax on each authorized third party administrator with administrative or service fees subject to taxation under Insurance Code §259.004. Sec-tion 259.002 also provides


	Labor Code §403.002 imposes an annual maintenance tax on each insurance carrier to pay the costs of administering the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and to support the prosecu-tion of workers' compensation insurance fraud in Texas. Labor Code §403.002 also provides that the assessment may not exceed an amount equal to 2 percent of the correctly reported gross workers' compensation insurance premiums, including the modified annual premium of a policyholder that purchases an optional deductible plan under In
	lished under Labor Code §407.103. Labor Code §407.103 also provides that to determine the tax base of a certified self-insurer for purposes of Labor Code Chapter 407, the department mul-tiply the amount of the certified self-insurer's liabilities for work-ers' compensation claims incurred in the previous year, includ-ing claims incurred but not reported, plus the amount of expense incurred by the certified self-insurer in the previous year for ad-ministration of self-insurance, including legal costs, by 1.0
	lished under Labor Code §407.103. Labor Code §407.103 also provides that to determine the tax base of a certified self-insurer for purposes of Labor Code Chapter 407, the department mul-tiply the amount of the certified self-insurer's liabilities for work-ers' compensation claims incurred in the previous year, includ-ing claims incurred but not reported, plus the amount of expense incurred by the certified self-insurer in the previous year for ad-ministration of self-insurance, including legal costs, by 1.0

	TRD-201904848 James Person General Counsel Texas Department of Insurance Effective date: January 5, 2020 Proposal publication date: November 8, 2019 For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584 ♦ ♦ ♦ CHAPTER 7. CORPORATE AND FINANCIAL REGULATION SUBCHAPTER J. EXAMINATION EXPENSES AND ASSESSMENTS 28 TAC §7.1001 The Commissioner of Insurance adopts amendments to 28 TAC §7.1001, relating to 2020 assessments to cover the expenses of examining domestic and foreign insurance companies and self-insurance g
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	and the General Revenue Fund -Insurance Companies Main-tenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees; (ii) funds allowed by Insurance Code Chapter 401, Subchapters D and F, as ap-proved by the Commissioner of Insurance for the self-directed budget account in the Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company to be used exclusively to pay examination costs associated with salary, travel, or other personnel expenses and administrative support costs; (iii) an estimate of other costs statutorily required to be paid from those 
	and the General Revenue Fund -Insurance Companies Main-tenance Tax and Insurance Department Fees; (ii) funds allowed by Insurance Code Chapter 401, Subchapters D and F, as ap-proved by the Commissioner of Insurance for the self-directed budget account in the Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company to be used exclusively to pay examination costs associated with salary, travel, or other personnel expenses and administrative support costs; (iii) an estimate of other costs statutorily required to be paid from those 


	401.155, 401.156; 843.156(h); and 36.001; and Labor Code §407A.252(b). Insurance Code §201.001(a)(1) states that the Texas Depart-ment of Insurance operating account is an account in the general revenue fund, and that the account includes taxes and fees re-ceived by the Commissioner or Comptroller that are required by the Insurance Code to be deposited to the credit of the account. Section 201.001(b) provides that the Commissioner administer money in the Texas Department of Insurance operating account and m
	Insurance Code §401.155 requires the department to impose ad-ditional assessments against insurers on a pro rata basis as nec-essary to cover all expenses and disbursements required by law and to comply with Insurance Code Chapter 401, Subchapter D, and §§401.103, 401.104, 401.105, and 401.106. Insurance Code §401.156 requires the department to deposit any assessments or fees collected under Insurance Code Chap-ter 401, Subchapter D, relating to the examination of insurers and other regulated entities by th










