Election Outlook: More about Identification Requirements for Voting  |  Thursday, June 15, 2020 is the last day to register to vote for the July 14, 2020 Uniform Election  |  What’s on the Ballot?  |  Am I Registered to Vote?  |  Election Results  |  Voter Information  |  Voting Issues for Texas Evacuees Due to Natural Disasters  |  Texas Election Security Update
Close this message COVID-19 - As recommended precautions continue to increase for COVID-19, the James E. Rudder Building will be closed to visitors and customers beginning Wednesday, March 18, 2020. The Office of the Secretary of State is committed to continuing to provide services to ensure business and public filings remain available 24/7 through our online business service, SOSDirect or use the new SOSUpload. Thank you in advance for your patience during this difficult time. Information on Testing Sites is now available.

Election Advisory No. 2017-01

To: Election Officials
From: Keith Ingram, Director of Elections
Keith Ingram's signature
Date: April 18, 2017


Oath of Office (General Information)

The Office of the Attorney General has issued opinion KP-140 regarding the oath of office required for election judges, alternate judges and early voting clerks.  Given the opinion, the Office advises that every election judge, alternate judge and early voting clerk should complete a constitutional statement of officer and oath of office prior to their service in those capacities. 

The statement of officer (PDF) | (Word) should be completed and filed prior to the oath of office (PDF) | (Word). Forms for both documents are attached.  These documents should be filed with the custodian of the election records for the election for which the oath is taken.  The oath can be completed before any of the persons in Texas Government Code section 602 as qualified to take oaths. 

IMPORTANT REMINDER:  The requirement for election judges, alternate election judges to take the constitutional oath of office is in addition to the existing requirement that they take the statutory oath of office located at 62.003 of the election code.  They must continue to take the statutory oath.