
9-2 
Prescribed by Secretary of State 
Sections 63.001(g), Texas Election Code 
9-2023 

 

NOTICE TO PROVISIONAL VOTER 
(For provisional voter that did not (1) present an acceptable form of photo ID and (2) complete a reasonable impediment declaration) 

 
A determination whether your ballot will be counted will be made by the early voting ballot board after the election.  A notice will be 
mailed to you within 30 days of the election at the address you provided on your affidavit to vote a provisional ballot indicating either 
(1) that your ballot was counted or (2) if it was not counted, the reason your ballot was not counted. 
 
If you are voting in the correct precinct, in order to have your provisional ballot 
accepted, you will be required to visit your local county voter registrar’s office 
(information below) within six days of the date of the election to either present one of 
the below forms of photo ID OR if you do not possess and cannot reasonably obtain 
one of the below forms of photo ID, execute a Reasonable Impediment Declaration and 
present one of the below forms of supporting ID OR submit one of the temporary 
forms addressed below (e.g., religious objection or natural disaster exemption) in the 
presence of the county voter registrar OR submit the paperwork required to obtain a 
permanent disability exemption.  The process can be expedited by taking this notice with you to the county voter registrar at the time 
you present your acceptable form of photo identification (or if you do not possess and cannot reasonably obtain one of the below 
acceptable forms of photo ID, execute your Reasonable Impediment Declaration and present one of the below forms of supporting ID, 
or execute your temporary affidavit or provide your paperwork for your permanent exemption); however, taking this notice is not a 
requirement. 
Acceptable Forms of Photo Identification 
• Texas Driver’s License issued by the Department of Public Safety (DPS) 
• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS*; 
• Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS; 
• Texas Handgun License issued by DPS; 
• United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph; 
• United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph; or 
• United States Passport (book or card). 

 
With the exception of the U.S. citizenship certificate, the identification must be current or, for voters aged 18-69 years, have expired no 
more than 4 years before being presented for voter qualification at the polling place. A person 70 years of age or older may use a form 
of identification listed above that has expired if the identification is otherwise valid. 
 
Reasonable Impediment Declaration: If you do not possess one of the forms of acceptable photo identification listed above, and cannot 
reasonably obtain such identification, you may execute a Reasonable Impediment Declaration and present a copy or original of one of 
the following supporting documents:  (1) a government document that shows your name and an address, including your voter 
registration certificate; (2) current utility bill; (3) bank statement; (4) government check; (5) paycheck; or  (6) (a) a certified domestic 
(from a U.S. state or territory) birth certificate or (b) a document confirming birth admissible in a court of law which establishes your 
identity (which may include a foreign birth document). 
 
The address on an acceptable photo identification or a supporting document does not have to match your address on the list of 
registered voters.   
 

PERMANENT EXEMPTION 
During the cure period, voters with a disability may apply with the county voter registrar for a permanent exemption to presenting an 
acceptable photo identification or following the Reasonable Impediment Declaration procedure in the county.  The application must 
contain written documentation from either the U.S. Social Security Administration evidencing the applicant’s disability, or from the U.S. 
Department of Veterans Affairs evidencing a disability rating of at least 50 percent.  The applicant must also state that he/she does not 
have a form of identification prescribed by Section 63.0101 of the Texas Election Code.  Those who obtain a disability exemption will be 
allowed to vote upon display of their voter registration certificate reflecting the exemption. 
 

TEMPORARY EXEMPTION 
During the cure period, a voter may apply for a temporary exemption at the county voter registrar’s office for voters who have a 
consistent religious objection to being photographed OR who do not present an acceptable form of photo identification listed above or 
follow the Reasonable Impediment Declaration procedure because of certain natural disasters as declared by the President of the 
United States or the Texas Governor. 

 
 

___________ County Voter Registrar’s Office 
 

(Insert Address of Voter Registrar’s office here) 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

Voter must appear before Voter Registrar 
by: 

 
 
 
 

__________________________________ 
Date 

*If you do not have another acceptable 
form of photo identification you may 
apply for a free Election Identification 
Certificate at your local Texas 
Department of Public Safety office. 

 
 
 
 
 

(Insert Map to Voter Registrar’s office here.) 

Completed by Polling Place Official: 
Voter’s Last Name: ___________________________ 
Voter’s First Name:___________________________ 
VUID #: ____________________________________ 
Precinct No. ________________________________ 

 


