
TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

PART 4. OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY 
OF STATE 

CHAPTER 81. ELECTIONS 
SUBCHAPTER A. VOTER REGISTRATION 
1 TAC §81.6 
The Office of the Secretary of State, Elections Division, repeals 
1 TAC §81.6, concerning notification to high school deputy regis-
trars. The repeal is adopted without changes to the proposal as 
published in the October 16, 2015, issue of the Texas Register 
(40 TexReg 7169). 

Section 81.6 was obsolete because it was superseded by 1 TAC 
§81.7 and Section 4 of HB 127 (74th Regular Session). 

The Secretary of State did not receive any comments on the 
proposed repeal. 

The repeal is adopted under the Texas Election Code, §31.003, 
which provides the Office of the Secretary of State with the au-
thority to obtain and maintain uniformity in the application, inter-
pretation, and operation of provisions under the Texas Election 
Code and other election laws. The repeal is also adopted under 
the Texas Election Code, §13.046(d) and (h), which permit the 
Office of the Texas Secretary of State to prescribe rules and pro-
cedures to implement §13.046 of the Texas Election Code. 

No other code or statute is affected by the adoption. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 30, 

2015. 
TRD-201505208 
Lindsey Wolf 
General Counsel 
Office of the Secretary of State 
Effective date: December 20, 2015 
Proposal publication date: October 16, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-5650 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND 
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 355. REIMBURSEMENT RATES 

SUBCHAPTER M. MISCELLANEOUS 
PROGRAMS 
DIVISION 6. PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC 
EXTENDED CARE CENTERS 
1 TAC §355.9080 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts new §355.9080, concerning Reimbursement Methodol-
ogy for Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 11, 
2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6004). The rule 
will not be republished. 

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

HHSC, under its authority and responsibility to administer and 
implement rates, is adopting new §355.9080 to establish a 
reimbursement methodology for Prescribed Pediatric Extended 
Care Centers (PPECCs). A PPECC provides non-residential, 
facility-based care as an alternative to private-duty nursing 
(PDN) for individuals under the age of 21 with complex medical 
needs. Senate Bill 492, 83rd Legislature, Regular Session, 
2013, enacted Health and Safety Code Chapter 248A to estab-
lish PPECCs in Texas and provide for their licensing; enacted 
Texas Human Resources Code §32.024(jj) to require HHSC 
to establish PPECCs as a separate Medicaid provider type; 
and, in an uncodified portion, limited the HHSC-established 
reimbursement rate to no more than 70 percent of the average 
hourly PDN rate. See Act of May 22, 2013, 83d Leg., R.S., ch. 
1168, §§1, 6, 8(c), 2013 Tex. Gen. Laws 2898. 

COMMENTS 

The 30-day comment period ended October 12, 2015. During 
this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regarding the 
proposed new rule. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

This new rule is adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC 
with broad rulemaking authority; Texas Human Resources Code 
§32.021; Texas Government Code §531.021(a), which provides 
HHSC with the authority to administer the federal medical 
assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas; and Texas Human 
Resources Code §32.024(jj), which requires HHSC to allow 
PPECCs to enroll as Medicaid providers. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 23, 

2015. 

ADOPTED RULES December 11, 2015 40 TexReg 8885 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

TRD-201505124 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 11, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900 

CHAPTER 379. FAMILY VIOLENCE 
PROGRAM 
The Texas Health and Human Service Commission (HHSC) 
adopts amendments to §379.610, concerning 24-Hour-a-Day 
Shelter Services to Family Violence Victims less than 18 Years 
Old; §379.611, concerning Nonresidential Services for a Family 
Violence Victim who is Less than 18 Years Old; §379.1308, 
concerning Nonresidential Services for a Family Violence Victim 
Who is Less than 18 Years Old; and §379.2009, concerning 
Services for a Family Violence Victim Who is Less than 18 
Years Old, without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the July 3, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 4277). 
The rules will not be republished. 

Background and Justification 

The amended rules, §§379.610, 379.611, 379.1308 and 
379.2009, clarify the circumstances under which shelter cen-
ters, special non-residential projects, and nonresidential centers 
may provide services to persons under the age of 18, including 
unaccompanied minors. Under Texas Family Code §32.201 and 
§32.202 an "emergency shelter facility" may provide emergency 
shelter or care to a minor and the minor's child or children, if 
any. With S.B. 353, 83rd Legislature, Regular Session, 2013, 
the Legislature clarified that a shelter center participating in 
the Family Violence Program could provide emergency shelter 
or care to a minor, even if the shelter center does not have 
a license to operate a childcare facility. In response, the De-
partment of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) amended 
Texas Administrative Code, Title 40, Part 19, Chapter 745, 
Subchapter C, Division 2, §745.129 (relating to Exemptions 
from Regulations) to reflect these changes effective March 1, 
2014. The HHSC Family Violence Program is making these rule 
changes to align with the DFPS rules and to clarify requirements 
for Family Violence Program contractors. 

Comments 

The 30-day comment period ended August 2, 2015. During 
this period, HHSC did not receive any comments regarding the 
amended rules. 

SUBCHAPTER B. SHELTER CENTERS 
DIVISION 6. PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION 
1 TAC §379.610, §379.611 
Statutory Authority 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC 
with broad rulemaking authority; and Texas Human Resources 
Code §51.010, which allows HHSC to adopt rules to implement a 
program to promote development of and access to locally based 
and supported nonprofit services for victims of family violence 
throughout the state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 23, 

2015. 
TRD-201505121 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Service Commission 
Effective date: December 16, 2015 
Proposal publication date: July 3, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. SPECIAL NONRESIDEN-
TIAL PROJECTS 
DIVISION 6. PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION 
1 TAC §379.1308 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC 
with broad rulemaking authority; and Texas Human Resources 
Code §51.010, which allows HHSC to adopt rules to implement a 
program to promote development of and access to locally based 
and supported nonprofit services for victims of family violence 
throughout the state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 23, 

2015. 
TRD-201505122 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: December 16, 2015 
Proposal publication date: July 3, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900 

SUBCHAPTER D. NONRESIDENTIAL 
CENTERS 
DIVISION 6. PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION 
1 TAC §379.2009 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC 
with broad rulemaking authority; and Texas Human Resources 
Code §51.010, which allows HHSC to adopt rules to implement a 
program to promote development of and access to locally based 
and supported nonprofit services for victims of family violence 
throughout the state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

40 TexReg 8886 December 11, 2015 Texas Register 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 23, 

2015. 
TRD-201505123 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: December 16, 2015 
Proposal publication date: July 3, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900 

TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 5. STATE BOARD OF DENTAL 
EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 101. DENTAL LICENSURE 
22 TAC §101.6 
The Texas State Board of Dental Examiners adopts the repeal of 
§101.6, relating to dental licensure for military service members, 
military veterans, and military spouses. The repeal of this rule 
is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
5666). 

The repeal of §101.6 is necessary because the Board reorga-
nized the structure of the rule and determined that it was best to 
adopt new §101.6. 

The Board received no written comments regarding the repeal. 

The repeal of §101.6 is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a). The Board interprets §254.001(a) to give the Board 
authority to adopt rules necessary to perform its duties and en-
sure compliance with state law relating to the practice of dentistry 
to protect the public health and safety. 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the repeal of 
this rule. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505159 
Nycia Deal 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0977 

22 TAC §101.6 
The Texas State Board of Dental Examiners adopts new §101.6, 
relating to dental licensing for military service members, mili-
tary veterans, and military spouses. This rule is adopted without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 4, 
2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 5667). 

New §101.6 includes requirements from Senate Bills 1307 and 
807 (84th Leg.) related to occupational licensing for military ser-
vice members, military veterans, and military spouses. Instead 
of proposing amendments to former rule §101.6, Board Staff re-
organized the structure of the rule and determined that it was 
best to propose §101.6 as a new rule. 

The Board received no written comments regarding this new 
rule. 

New §101.6 is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§254.001(a). The Board interprets §254.001(a) to give the 
Board authority to adopt rules necessary to perform its duties 
and ensure compliance with state law relating to the practice of 
dentistry to protect the public health and safety. 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the rule. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505158 
Nycia Deal 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0977 

CHAPTER 102. FEES 
22 TAC §102.1 
The Texas State Board of Dental Examiners adopts amend-
ments to §102.1, relating to the fee schedule. This rule is 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
5668). 

Amendments to §102.1 were adopted to conform the fee sched-
ule to existing statutory fee requirements and reflect fee reduc-
tions that the agency was able to absorb. 

The Board received no written comments regarding this amend-
ment. 

Amendments to §102.1 are adopted under Texas Occupations 
Code §254.001(a). The Board interprets §254.001(a) to give the 
Board authority to adopt rules necessary to perform its duties 
and ensure compliance with state law relating to the practice of 
dentistry to protect the public health and safety. 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the rule. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505164 

ADOPTED RULES December 11, 2015 40 TexReg 8887 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Nycia Deal 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0977 

CHAPTER 114. EXTENSION OF DUTIES 
OF AUXILIARY PERSONNEL--DENTAL 
ASSISTANTS 
22 TAC §114.5 
The Texas State Board of Dental Examiners adopts amend-
ments to §114.5, relating to the coronal polishing certificates 
issued to dental assistants. This rule is adopted without changes 
to the proposed text as published in the September 4, 2015, 
issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 5668). 

Amendments to §114.5 provide that applicants may complete 
coronal polishing education at dental schools and dental hygiene 
schools accredited by CODA in addition to dental assisting pro-
grams, as required by House Bill 2849 (84th Leg.). 

The Board received no written comments regarding this amend-
ment. 

Amendments to §114.5 are adopted under Texas Occupations 
Code §254.001(a). The Board interprets §254.001(a) to give the 
Board authority to adopt rules necessary to perform its duties 
and ensure compliance with state law relating to the practice of 
dentistry to protect the public health and safety. 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the rule. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505161 
Nycia Deal 
General Counsel 
State Board of Dental Examiners 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0977 

PART 6. TEXAS BOARD OF 
PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS 

CHAPTER 131. ORGANIZATION AND 
ADMINISTRATION 
The Texas Board of Professional Engineers (Board) adopts new 
§131.37, concerning State Contract Guidelines, and an amend-
ment to §131.85, concerning Board Rules Procedures, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 18, 

2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6280). The rules 
will not be republished. 

Adopted new §131.37 is required to implement changes to Chap-
ter 2261 of the Texas Government Code made by SB 20 in the 
84th Texas Legislative session related to managing contracts 
with state agencies. 

The adopted amendment to §131.85 is required to implement 
changes to Chapter 2001 of the Texas Government Code made 
by HB 763 in the 84th Texas Legislative session related to rule-
making procedures for state agencies. The change clarifies the 
procedure for accepting petitions for rulemaking. 

The Board received no comments regarding adoption of the 
rules. 

SUBCHAPTER B. ORGANIZATION OF THE 
BOARD STAFF 
22 TAC §131.37 
The new rule is adopted pursuant to the Texas Engineering Prac-
tice Act, Occupations Code §1001.202, which authorizes the 
board to make and enforce all rules and regulations and bylaws 
consistent with the Act as necessary for the performance of its 
duties, the governance of its own proceedings, and the regula-
tion of the practice of engineering in this state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505173 
Lance Kinney, P.E. 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Professional Engineers 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 440-7723 

SUBCHAPTER F. ADMINISTRATION 
22 TAC §131.85 
The amendment is adopted pursuant to the Texas Engineering 
Practice Act, Occupations Code §1001.202, which authorizes 
the board to make and enforce all rules and regulations and by-
laws consistent with the Act as necessary for the performance of 
its duties, the governance of its own proceedings, and the regu-
lation of the practice of engineering in this state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505174 

40 TexReg 8888 December 11, 2015 Texas Register 



♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Lance Kinney, P.E. 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Professional Engineers 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 440-7723 

CHAPTER 133. LICENSING 
The Texas Board of Professional Engineers (Board) adopts 
amendments to §133.21, concerning Application for Stan-
dard License; §133.23, concerning Applications from Former 
Standard License Holders; §133.25, concerning Application 
from Engineering Educators; §133.81, concerning Receipt and 
Processing of Applications by the Board; §133.87, concerning 
Final Action on Applications; and §133.97, concerning Issuance 
of License, without changes to the proposed text as published 
in the September 18, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 
TexReg 6282). The rules will not be republished. 

The adopted amendments to §§133.21, 133.23, 133.25, and 
133.81 are required to implement changes to Chapter 55 of the 
Texas Government Code made by SB 807 and SB 1307 in the 
84th Texas Legislative session related to licensing and renewal 
requirements for active duty military, qualifying military spouses 
and military veterans. 

The adopted amendments to §§133.81, 133.87, and 133.97 are 
required to implement changes to the Texas Engineering Prac-
tice Act made by HB 7 in the 84th Texas Legislative session re-
lated to the Professional Fee. The change repeals the $200 Pro-
fessional Fee which has been collected at the time of issuance 
and renewal of a license. 

The Board received no comments regarding adoption of 
§§133.21, 133.23, 133.25 and 133.81. The Board received two 
comments in support of the Professional Fee Repeal changes 
in §§133.81, 133.97 and 133.97. 

SUBCHAPTER C. PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEER LICENSE APPLICATION 
REQUIREMENTS 
22 TAC §§133.21, 133.23, 133.25 
The amendments are adopted pursuant to the Texas Engineer-
ing Practice Act, Occupations Code §1001.202, which autho-
rizes the board to make and enforce all rules and regulations 
and bylaws consistent with the Act as necessary for the perfor-
mance of its duties, the governance of its own proceedings, and 
the regulation of the practice of engineering in this state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505175 

Lance Kinney, P.E. 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Professional Engineers 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 440-7723 

SUBCHAPTER H. REVIEW PROCESS OF 
APPLICATIONS AND LICENSE ISSUANCE 
22 TAC §§133.81, 133.87, 133.97 
The amendments are adopted pursuant to the Texas Engineer-
ing Practice Act, Occupations Code §1001.202, which autho-
rizes the board to make and enforce all rules and regulations 
and bylaws consistent with the Act as necessary for the perfor-
mance of its duties, the governance of its own proceedings, and 
the regulation of the practice of engineering in this state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505177 
Lance Kinney, P.E. 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Professional Engineers 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 440-7723 

CHAPTER 137. COMPLIANCE AND 
PROFESSIONALISM 
SUBCHAPTER A. INDIVIDUAL AND 
ENGINEER COMPLIANCE 
22 TAC §§137.7, 137.9, 137.11, 137.13, 137.19 
The Texas Board of Professional Engineers (Board) adopts 
amendments to §137.7, concerning License Expiration and 
Renewal; §137.9, concerning Renewal for Expired License; 
§137.11, concerning Expiration and Licensed in Another Ju-
risdiction; §137.13, concerning Inactive Status; and §137.19, 
concerning Engineers Qualified to be Texas Windstorm Inspec-
tors, without changes to the proposed text as published in the 
September 18, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
6284). The rules will not be republished. 

The adopted amendment to §137.9 is required to implement 
changes to Chapter 55 of the Texas Government Code made 
by SB 807 and SB 1307 in the 84th Texas Legislative session 
related to licensing and renewal requirements for active duty mil-
itary, qualifying military spouses and military veterans. 

The adopted amendments to §§137.7, 137.9, 137.11 and 137.13 
are required to implement changes to the Texas Engineering 
Practice Act made by HB 7 in the 84th Texas Legislative ses-
sion related to the Professional Fee. The change repeals the 

ADOPTED RULES December 11, 2015 40 TexReg 8889 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

$200 Professional Fee which has been collected at the time of 
issuance and renewal of a license. 

The adopted amendment to §137.19 is required to implement 
changes to the Texas Engineering Practice Act made by HB 
2439 in the 84th Texas Legislative session related to the Texas 
Windstorm Insurance Program implemented by the Texas De-
partment of Insurance. The change repeals Subchapter N of the 
Act, but the implementation date of the program sunset was ex-
tended until the end of 2016. 

The Board received no comments regarding §137.9 and 
§137.19. The Board received two comments in support of the 
Professional Fee Repeal changes in §§137.7, 137.9, 137.11 
and 137.13. 

The amendments are adopted pursuant to the Texas Engineer-
ing Practice Act, Occupations Code §1001.202, which autho-
rizes the board to make and enforce all rules and regulations 
and bylaws consistent with the Act as necessary for the perfor-
mance of its duties, the governance of its own proceedings, and 
the regulation of the practice of engineering in this state. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505178 
Lance Kinney, P.E. 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Professional Engineers 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 440-7723 

PART 8. TEXAS APPRAISER 
LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION 
BOARD 

CHAPTER 153. RULES RELATING TO 
PROVISIONS OF THE TEXAS APPRAISER 
LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION ACT 
22 TAC §153.1 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §153.1, Definitions, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 
25, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6494). 
The amendments clarify the definition of "Appraiser Trainee" 
and add definitions of "Certified General Appraiser," "Certified 
Residential Appraiser," "Licensed Residential Appraiser," "Su-
pervisory Appraiser," and "Trade Association" to align the rule 
with statutory changes to Chapter 1103, Texas Occupations 
Code, adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide clar-
ity for license holders and to align the rule with statutory changes 
adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1103.152, which authorizes 
TALCB to prescribe qualifications for appraisers that are con-
sistent with the qualifications established by the AQB. 

The statute affected by these amendments is Chapter 1103, 
Texas Occupations Code. No other statute, code or article is 
affected by the amendments. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505130 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 25, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

22 TAC §153.5 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §153.5, Fees, without changes 
to the proposed text as published in the September 4, 2015, 
issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 5669). The amendments 
change terminology in the rule to be consistent with statutory 
changes to Chapter 1103, Texas Occupations Code, adopted by 
the 84th Legislature and add a provision for the Board to collect 
fees for providing certified copies. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide clar-
ity for license holders, allow for the Board to recover its opera-
tional costs, and align this rule with statutory changes adopted 
by the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1103.152, which authorizes 
TALCB to prescribe qualifications for appraisers that are con-
sistent with the qualifications established by the AQB. 

The statute affected by these amendments is Chapter 1103, 
Texas Occupations Code. No other statute, code or article is 
affected by the amendments. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505131 

40 TexReg 8890 December 11, 2015 Texas Register 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

22 TAC §153.9 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §153.9, Applications, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 
4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 5670). The 
amendments implement changes for processing license appli-
cations from military members, veterans, or spouses of military 
members and provide for a two-year waiting period before reap-
plying after an application is denied. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide clar-
ity for license holders and to align the rule with statutory changes 
to Chapters 55 and 1103, Texas Occupations Code, adopted by 
the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1103.152, which authorizes 
TALCB to prescribe qualifications for appraisers that are con-
sistent with the qualifications established by the AQB. 

The statute affected by these amendments is Chapter 1103, 
Texas Occupations Code. No other statute, code or article is 
affected by the amendments. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505132 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

22 TAC §153.16 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts new 22 TAC §153.16, License Reinstatement, with 
changes as to the proposed rule text as published in the 
September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
5672). This new rule allows persons who previously held a 
license issued by the Board to reinstate an expired license as 
authorized by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB). 

No comments were received on the new rule as proposed. How-
ever, staff recommends changes to subsections (d)(1)(A) and 
(d)(2)(B)(i) as published, for consistency and to provide better 
clarity for license holders. 

The            
rules with qualification criteria established by the AQB and to en-
courage and provide previous license holders with a mechanism 
to re-enter the appraisal profession. 

The revision to the rule as adopted does not change the nature 
or scope so much that the rule as adopted could be deemed a 
different rule. The rule as adopted does not affect individuals 
other than those contemplated by the rule as proposed. The 
rule as adopted does not impose more onerous requirements 
than the proposed rule. 

The new rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1103.152, which authorizes 
TALCB to prescribe qualifications for appraisers that are consis-
tent with the qualifications established by the AQB. 

The statute affected by the new rule is Chapter 1103, Texas Oc-
cupations Code. No other statute, code or article is affected by 
the new rule. 

§153.16. License Reinstatement. 
(a) This section applies only to a person who: 

(1) previously held an appraiser license issued by the Board 
that has expired; and 

(2) seeks to obtain the same level of appraiser license pre-
viously held by the person before its expiration. 

(b) A person described in subsection (a) may apply to reinstate 
the person's former license by: 

(1) submitting an application for reinstatement on a form 
approved by the Board; 

(2) paying the applicable fee; 

(3) satisfying the Board as to the person's honesty, trust-
worthiness and integrity; and 

(4) satisfying the experience requirements in this section. 

(c) Applicants for reinstatement under this section must 
demonstrate completion of 14 hours of appraiser continuing education 
for each year since the last renewal of the person's previous license. 

(d) Applicants for reinstatement must demonstrate that their 
appraisal experience complies with USPAP as follows: 

(1) Persons who have work files/license expired less than 
5 years. A person described in subsection (a) who has appraisal work 
files and whose previous license has been expired less than five years 
may apply to reinstate the person's previous license by submitting an 
experience log as follows: 

(A) For reinstatement as a licensed residential ap-
praiser, a minimum of 10 residential appraisal reports representing at 
least 200 hours of residential real estate appraisal experience. 

(B) For reinstatement as a certified residential real es-
tate appraiser, a minimum of 10 residential appraisal reports represent-
ing at least 250 hours of residential real estate appraisal experience. 

(C) For reinstatement as a certified general appraiser, a 
minimum of 10 non-residential appraisal reports representing at least 
300 hours of non-residential real estate appraisal experience. 

(2) Persons who do not have work files/license expired 
more than 5 years. 

(A) A person described in subsection (a) who does not 
have appraisal work files or whose previous license has been expired 

reasoned justification for the new rule is to align the Board's

ADOPTED RULES December 11, 2015 40 TexReg 8891 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

for more than five years may apply for a license as an appraiser trainee 
for the purpose of acquiring the appraisal experience required under 
this subsection. 

(B) An appraiser trainee licensed under this section may 
apply for reinstatement at the same level of appraiser license that the 
applicant previously held, after the applicant completes the required 
number of appraisal reports or hours of real estate appraisal experience 
as follows: 

(i) For reinstatement as a licensed residential ap-
praiser, the applicant must complete a minimum of 10 residential 
appraisal reports or 200 hours of residential real estate appraisal 
experience, whichever is more. 

(ii) For reinstatement as a certified residential ap-
praiser, the applicant must complete a minimum of 10 residential ap-
praisal reports or 250 hours of residential real estate appraisal experi-
ence, whichever is more. 

(iii) For reinstatement as a certified general ap-
praiser, the applicant must complete a minimum of 10 non-residential 
appraisal reports or 300 hours of non-residential real estate appraisal 
experience, whichever is more. 

(C) Upon completion of the required number of 
appraisal reports or hours of real estate appraisal experience, the 
applicant must submit an experience log. 

(e) Consistent with §153.15, the Board will evaluate each ap-
plicant's real estate appraisal experience for compliance with USPAP 
based on the submitted experience log. 

(f) For those persons described in subsection (a) the Board 
may waive the following requirements: 

(1) Proof of qualifying education; 

(2) College education or degree requirement; and 

(3) Examination. 

(g) Consistent with this chapter, upon review of the applicant's 
real estate appraisal experience, the Board may: 

(1) Reinstate the applicant's previous appraiser license; 

(2) Reinstate the applicant's previous appraiser license, 
contingent upon completion of additional education, experience or 
mentorship; or 

(3) Deny the application. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505134 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §153.17 

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §153.17, Renewal or Extension 
of License, without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
5673). 

The amendments change terminology in the rule and extend the 
license renewal period for persons serving on active duty in the 
military to be consistent with statutory changes to Chapters 55 
and 1103, Texas Occupations Code, adopted by the 84th Legis-
lature. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide ad-
ditional time for persons serving on active duty in the military to 
renew their appraiser license and to align the rule with statutory 
changes to Chapters 55 and 1103, Texas Occupations Code, 
adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1103.152, which authorizes 
TALCB to prescribe qualifications for appraisers that are con-
sistent with the qualifications established by the AQB. 

The statute affected by these amendments is Chapter 1103, 
Texas Occupations Code. No other statute, code or article is 
affected by the amendments. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505136 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

22 TAC §153.20 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §153.20, Guidelines for Revoca-
tion, Suspension, Denial of License; Probationary License, with 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 
4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 5674). The 
amendments implement changes regarding compliance with an 
agreed order of the Board and the statute of limitations for in-
vestigating a complaint to align the rule with statutory changes 
to Chapter 1103, Texas Occupations Code, adopted by the 84th 
Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 
However, the subsection numbering for this section has been 
changed to correct an error. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide clar-
ity to license holders and to align the rule with statutory changes 
adopted by the 84th Legislature. 
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The revision to the rule as adopted does not change the nature 
or scope so much that the rule as adopted could be deemed a 
different rule. The rule as adopted does not affect individuals 
other than those contemplated by the rule as proposed. The 
rule as adopted does not impose more onerous requirements 
than the proposed rule. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1103.152, which authorizes 
TALCB to prescribe qualifications for appraisers that are con-
sistent with the qualifications established by the AQB. 

The statute affected by these amendments is Chapter 1103, 
Texas Occupations Code. No other statute, code or article is 
affected by the amendments. 

§153.20. Guidelines for Revocation, Suspension, Denial of License; 
Probationary License. 

(a) The Board may suspend or revoke a license or deny issu-
ing a license to an applicant at any time the Board determines that the 
applicant or license holder: 

(1) disregards or violates a provision of the Act or the 
Board rules; 

(2) is convicted of a felony; 

(3) fails to notify the Board not later than the 30th day after 
the date of the final conviction if the person, in a court of this or another 
state or in a federal court, has been convicted of or entered a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or a criminal offense involving 
fraud or moral turpitude; 

(4) fails to notify the Board not later than the 30th day after 
the date of incarceration if the person, in this or another state, has been 
incarcerated for a criminal offense involving fraud or moral turpitude; 

(5) fails to notify the Board not later than the 30th day after 
the date disciplinary action becomes final against the person with re-
gard to any occupational license the person holds in Texas or any other 
jurisdiction; 

(6) fails to comply with the USPAP edition in effect at the 
time of the appraiser service; 

(7) acts or holds himself or herself or any other person out 
as a person licensed under the Act when not so licensed; 

(8) accepts payment for appraiser services but fails to de-
liver the agreed service in the agreed upon manner; 

(9) refuses to refund payment received for appraiser ser-
vices when he or she has failed to deliver the appraiser service in the 
agreed upon manner; 

(10) accepts payment for services contingent upon a min-
imum, maximum, or pre-agreed value estimate except when such ac-
tion would not interfere with the appraiser's obligation to provide an 
independent and impartial opinion of value and full disclosure of the 
contingency is made in writing to the client; 

(11) offers to perform appraiser services or agrees to per-
form such services when employment to perform such services is con-
tingent upon a minimum, maximum, or pre-agreed value estimate ex-
cept when such action would not interfere with the appraiser's obliga-
tion to provide an independent and impartial opinion of value and full 
disclosure of the contingency is made in writing to the client; 

(12) makes a material misrepresentation or omission of 
material fact; 

(13) has had a license as an appraiser revoked, suspended, 
or otherwise acted against by any other jurisdiction for an act which is 
a crime under Texas law; 

(14) procures, or attempts to procure, a license by making 
false, misleading, or fraudulent representation; 

(15) fails to actively, personally, and diligently supervise 
an appraiser trainee or any person not licensed under the Act who as-
sists the license holder in performing real estate appraiser services; 

(16) has had a final civil judgment entered against him or 
her on any one of the following grounds: 

(A) fraud; 

(B) intentional or knowing misrepresentation; 

(C) grossly negligent misrepresentation in the perfor-
mance of appraiser services; 

(17) fails to make good on a payment issued to the Board 
within thirty days after the Board has mailed a request for payment 
by certified mail to the license holder's last known business address as 
reflected by the Board's records; 

(18) knowingly or willfully engages in false or misleading 
conduct or advertising with respect to client solicitation; 

(19) acts or holds himself or any other person out as a per-
son licensed under this or another state's Act when not so licensed; 

(20) misuses or misrepresents the type of classification or 
category of license number; 

(21) engages in any other act relating to the business of ap-
praising that the Board, in its discretion, believes warrants a suspension 
or revocation; 

(22) uses any title, designation, initial or other insignia or 
identification that would mislead the public as to that person's cre-
dentials, qualifications, competency, or ability to perform licensed ap-
praisal services; 

(23) fails to comply with an agreed order or a final order of 
the Board; 

(24) fails to answer all inquiries concerning matters under 
the jurisdiction of the Board within 20 days of notice to said individual's 
address of record, or within the time period allowed if granted a written 
extension by the Board; or 

(25) after conducting reasonable due diligence, knowingly 
accepts an assignment from an appraisal management company that is 
not exempt from registration under the Act which: 

(A) has not registered with the Board; or 

(B) is registered with the Board but has not placed the 
appraiser on its panel of appraisers maintained with the Board; or 

(26) fails to approve, sign, and deliver to their ap-
praiser trainee the appraisal experience log and affidavit required by 
§153.15(f)(1) and §153.17(c)(1) of this title for all experience actually 
and lawfully acquired by the trainee while under the appraiser's 
sponsorship. 

(b) The Board has discretion in determining the appropriate 
penalty for any violation under subsection (a) of this section. 

(c) The Board may probate a penalty or sanction, and may im-
pose conditions of the probation, including, but not limited to: 

(1) the type and scope of appraisals or appraisal practice; 
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(2) the number of appraiser trainees or authority to sponsor 
appraiser trainees; 

(3) requirements for additional education; 

(4) monetary administrative penalties; and 

(5) requirements for reporting real property appraisal ac-
tivity to the Board. 

(d) A person applying for reinstatement after revocation or sur-
render of a license must comply with all requirements that would apply 
if the license had instead expired. 

(e) The provisions of this section do not relieve a person from 
civil liability or from criminal prosecution under the Act or other laws 
of this State. 

(f) The Board may not investigate a complaint submitted to the 
Board more than four years after the date on which the alleged violation 
occurred. 

(g) Except as provided by Texas Government Code 
§402.031(b) and Texas Penal Code §32.32(d), there shall be no 
undercover or covert investigations conducted by authority of the Act. 

(h) A license may be revoked or suspended by the Attorney 
General or other court of competent jurisdiction for failure to pay child 
support under the provisions of Chapter 232 of the Texas Family Code. 

(i) If the Board determines that issuance of a probationary li-
cense is appropriate, the order entered by the Board with regard to the 
application must set forth the terms and conditions for the probationary 
license. Terms and conditions for a probationary license may include 
any of the following: 

(1) that the probationary license holder comply with the 
Act and with the rules of the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certifi-
cation Board; 

(2) that the probationary license holder fully cooperate 
with the enforcement division of the Board in the investigation of any 
complaint filed against the license holder or any other complaint in 
which the license holder may have relevant information; 

(3) that the probationary license holder attend a prescribed 
number of classroom hours in specific areas of study during the proba-
tionary period; 

(4) that the probationary license holder limit appraisal 
practice as prescribed in the order; 

(5) that the probationary license holder work under the di-
rect supervision of a certified general or certified residential appraiser 
who will review and sign each appraisal report completed; 

(6) that the probationary license holder report regularly to 
the Board on any matter which is the basis of the probationary license; 
or 

(7) that the probationary license holder comply with any 
other terms and conditions contained in the order which have been 
found to be reasonable and appropriate by the Board after due con-
sideration of the circumstances involved in the particular application. 

(j) Unless the order granting a probationary license specifies 
otherwise, a probationary license holder may renew the license after 
the probationary period by filing a renewal application, satisfying ap-
plicable renewal requirements, and paying the prescribed renewal fee. 

(k) If a probationary license expires prior to the completion 
of a probationary term and the probationary license holder files a late 

renewal application, any remaining probationary period shall be rein-
stated effective as of the day following the renewal of the probationary 
license. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505138 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

22 TAC §153.21 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §153.21, Appraiser Trainees and 
Supervisory Appraisers, with changes to the proposed text as 
published in the September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Regis-
ter (40 TexReg 5676). The amendments implement changes to 
align the rule with statutory changes to Chapter 1103, Texas Oc-
cupations Code, adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 
However, the paragraph numbering for this section has been 
changed to provide greater clarity for license holders. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide clar-
ity to license holders and to align the rule with statutory changes 
adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

The revision to the rule as adopted does not change the nature 
or scope so much that the rule as adopted could be deemed a 
different rule. The rule as adopted does not affect individuals 
other than those contemplated by the rule as proposed. The 
rule as adopted does not impose more onerous requirements 
than the proposed rule. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1103.152, which authorizes 
TALCB to prescribe qualifications for appraisers that are con-
sistent with the qualifications established by the AQB. 

The statute affected by these amendments is Chapter 1103, 
Texas Occupations Code. No other statute, code or article is 
affected by the amendments. 

§153.21. Appraiser Trainees and Supervisory Appraisers. 

(a) Supervision of appraiser trainees required. 

(1) An appraiser trainee may perform appraisals or ap-
praiser services only under the active, personal and diligent direction 
and supervision of a supervisory appraiser. 

(2) An appraiser trainee may be supervised by more than 
one supervisory appraiser. 

(3) Supervisory appraisers may supervise no more than 
three appraiser trainees at one time. 
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(4) A supervisory appraiser may be added during the term 
of an appraiser trainee's license if: 

(A) The supervisory appraiser and appraiser trainee 
have provided proof to the Board of completion of an approved 
Appraiser Trainee/Supervisory Appraiser course; 

(B) an application to supervise has been received and 
approved by the Board; and 

(C) the applicable fee has been paid. 

(5) A licensed appraiser trainee who signs an appraisal re-
port must include his or her license number and the word "Trainee" as 
part of the appraiser trainee's signature in the report. 

(b) Eligibility requirements for appraiser trainee supervision. 

(1) To be eligible to supervise an appraiser trainee, a certi-
fied appraiser must: 

(A) be in good standing and not subject to any disci-
plinary action within the last three years that affected the certified ap-
praiser's eligibility to engage in appraisal practice; 

(B) complete an approved Appraiser Trainee/Supervi-
sory Appraiser course; and 

(C) submit proof of course completion to the Board. 

(2) Before supervising an appraiser trainee, the supervisory 
appraiser must notify the appraiser trainee in writing of any disciplinary 
action taken against the supervisory appraiser within the last three years 
that did not affect the supervisory appraiser's eligibility to engage in 
appraisal practice. 

(3) An application to supervise must be received and ap-
proved by the Board before supervision begins. 

(c) Maintaining eligibility to supervise appraiser trainees. 

(1) A supervisory appraiser who wishes to continue to 
supervise appraiser trainees upon renewal of his/her license must 
complete an approved Appraiser Trainee/Supervisory Appraiser 
course within four years before the expiration date of the supervisory 
appraiser's current license and provide proof of completion to the 
Board. 

(2) If a supervisory appraiser has not provided proof of 
course completion at the time of renewal, but has met all other require-
ments for renewing the license the supervisory appraiser will no longer 
be eligible to supervise appraiser trainees; and the Board will take the 
following actions: 

(A) the supervisory appraiser's license will be renewed 
on active status; and 

(B) the license of any appraiser trainees supervised 
solely by that supervisory appraiser will be placed on inactive status. 

(3) A certified appraiser may restore eligibility to supervise 
appraiser trainees by: 

(A) completing the course required by this section; and 

(B) submitting proof of course completion to the Board. 

(4) The supervisory appraiser's supervision of previously 
supervised appraiser trainees may be reinstated by: 

(A) submitting the required form to the Board; and 

(B) payment of any applicable fees. 

(d) Maintaining eligibility to act as an appraiser trainee. 

(1) An appraiser trainee must complete an approved Ap-
praiser Trainee/Supervisory Appraiser course within four years before 
the expiration date of the appraiser trainee's current license and provide 
proof of completion to the Board. 

(2) If an appraiser trainee has not provided proof of course 
completion at the time of renewal, but has met all other requirements 
for renewing the license: 

(A) the Board will renew the appraiser trainee's license 
on inactive status; 

(B) the appraiser trainee will no longer be eligible to 
perform appraisals or appraisal services; and 

(C) the appraiser trainee's relationship with any super-
visory appraiser will be terminated. 

(3) An appraiser trainee may return the appraiser trainee's 
license to active status by: 

(A) completing the course required by this section; 

(B) submitting proof of course completion to the Board; 

(C) submitting an application to return to active status, 
including an application to add a supervisory appraiser; and 

(D) paying any applicable fees. 

(e) Duties of the supervisory appraiser. 

(1) Supervisory appraisers are responsible to the public and 
to the Board for the conduct of the appraiser trainee under the Act. 

(2) The supervisory appraiser assumes all the duties, re-
sponsibilities, and obligations of a supervisory appraiser as specified 
in these rules and must diligently supervise the appraiser trainee. Dili-
gent supervision includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

(A) direct supervision and training as necessary; 

(B) ongoing training and supervision as necessary af-
ter the supervisory appraiser determines that the appraiser trainee no 
longer requires direct supervision; 

(C) communication with and accessibility to the ap-
praiser trainee; and 

(D) review and quality control of the appraiser trainee's 
work. 

(3) Supervisory appraisers must approve and sign the ap-
praiser trainee's appraisal log and experience affidavit at least quarterly 
and provide appraiser trainees with access to any appraisals and work 
files completed under the supervisory appraiser. 

(4) After notice and hearing, the Board may reprimand 
a supervisory appraiser or may suspend or revoke a supervisory ap-
praiser's license based on conduct by the appraiser trainee constituting 
a violation of the Act or Board rules. 

(f) Termination of supervision. 

(1) Supervision may be terminated by the supervisory ap-
praiser or the appraiser trainee. 

(2) If supervision is terminated, the terminating party must: 

(A) immediately notify the Board on a form approved 
by the Board; and 

(B) notify the non-terminating party in writing no later 
than the 10th day after the date of termination; and 
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(C) pay any applicable fees no later than the 10th day 
after the date of termination. 

(3) If an appraiser trainee is no longer under the supervision 
of a supervisory appraiser: 

(A) the appraiser trainee may no longer perform the du-
ties of an appraiser trainee; and 

(B) is not eligible to perform those duties until: 

(i) an application to supervise the trainee has been 
filed; 

(ii) any applicable fees have been paid; and 

(iii) the Board has approved the application. 

(g) Course approval. 

(1) To obtain Board approval of an Appraiser Trainee/Su-
pervisory Appraiser course, a course provider must: 

(A) submit form ATS-0, Appraiser Trainee/Supervisory 
Appraiser Course Approval, adopted herein by reference; and 

(B) satisfy the Board that all required content set out in 
form ATS-0 is adequately covered. 

(2) Approval of an Appraiser Trainee/Supervisory Ap-
praiser course shall expire two years from the date of Board approval. 

(3) An Appraiser Trainee/Supervisory Appraiser course 
may be delivered through: 

(A) classroom delivery method; or 

(B) distance education delivery method. The delivery 
mechanism for distance education courses offered by a non-academic 
provider must be approved by an AQB-approved organization provid-
ing approval of course design and delivery. 

(h) ACE credit. 

(1) Supervisory appraisers who complete the Appraiser 
Trainee/Supervisory Appraiser course may receive ACE credit for the 
course. 

(2) Appraiser Trainees may not receive qualifying or ACE 
credit for completing the Appraiser Trainee/Supervisory Appraiser 
course. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505139 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

CHAPTER 157. RULES RELATING TO 
PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

22 TAC §157.7, §157.8 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §157.7, Denial of a License, 
and §157.8, Adverse Action Against a License Holder or Reg-
istrant, without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
5678). The amendments reorganize these rules for better un-
derstanding and clarity. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide clar-
ity for license holders. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1104.051, which authorizes 
TALCB to adopt rules necessary to administer Chapter 1104. 

The statutes affected by these amendments are Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapters 1103 and 1104. No other statute, code or 
article is affected by the amendments. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505147 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

SUBCHAPTER B. CONTESTED CASE 
HEARINGS 
22 TAC §157.9, §157.12 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §157.9, Notice of Hearings, and 
§157.12, Failure to Attend Hearing; Default Judgment, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 
4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 5679). The 
amendments implement statutory changes to Chapter 2001, 
Texas Government Code, and Chapter 1103, Texas Occupa-
tions Code, adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to align the 
rules with statutory changes adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1104.051, which authorizes 
TALCB to adopt rules necessary to administer Chapter 1104. 

The statutes affected by these amendments are Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapters 1103 and 1104. No other statute, code or 
article is affected by the amendments. 
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505148 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

SUBCHAPTER C. POST HEARING 
22 TAC §§157.17, 157.18, 157.20 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §157.17, Final Decisions and Or-
ders, and §157.18, Motions for Rehearing; Finality of Decisions, 
and §157.20, Judicial Review, without changes to the proposed 
text as published in the September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas 
Register (40 TexReg 5680). The amendments implement statu-
tory changes to Chapter 1103, Texas Occupations Code, and 
Chapter 2001, Texas Government Code, adopted by the 84th 
Legislature and clarify the action to be taken by the Board when 
a motion for rehearing does not include specific grounds for re-
hearing. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide clar-
ity to license holders and to align the rules with statutory changes 
adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§1103.151, which authorizes TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1104.051, which authorizes 
TALCB to adopt rules necessary to administer Chapter 1104. 

The statutes affected by these amendments are Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapters 1103 and 1104. No other statute, code or 
article is affected by the amendments. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505149 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

22 TAC §157.19 

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts the repeal of 22 TAC §157.19, Prerequisite to Judicial 
Review, without changes to the proposal as published in the 
September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
5682). The language in this rule is being moved to §157.18, 
Motions for Rehearing. 

The reasoned justification for the repeal is to provide clarity for 
license holders by moving the language in this section to a more 
relevant section within the Board's rules. 

No comments were received on the repeal as proposed. 

The repeal is adopted under the Texas Occupations Code, 
§1103.151, Rules Relating to Certificates and Licenses, and 
§1104.051, Rules. 

The statutes affected by this repeal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapters 1103 and 1104. No other statute, code, or 
article is affected by the repeal. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505143 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

SUBCHAPTER D. PENALTIES AND OTHER 
ENFORCEMENT PROVISIONS 
22 TAC §157.25, §157.26 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §157.25, Temporary Suspen-
sion, and a new §157.26, Unlicensed Activity, without changes to 
the proposed text as published in the September 4, 2015, issue 
of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 5683). The amendments and 
new rule implement statutory changes to Chapter 2001, Texas 
Government Code, and Chapter 1103, Texas Occupations Code, 
adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to align the 
rules with statutory changes adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments and new rule are adopted under Texas Occu-
pations Code, §1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt 
rules relating to certificates and licenses, and §1104.051, which 
authorizes TALCB to adopt rules necessary to administer Chap-
ter 1104. 

The statutes affected by these amendments and the new rule are 
Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 1103 and 1104. No other 
statute, code or article is affected by the amendments and the 
new rule. 
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505150 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER E. ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE 
RESOLUTION 
22 TAC §157.31 
The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) 
adopts amendments to 22 TAC §157.31, Investigative Confer-
ence, without changes to the proposed text as published in the 
September 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
5684). 

The amendments implement statutory changes to Chapter 1103, 
Texas Occupations Code, adopted by the 84th Legislature and 
clarify the requirements for receiving a copy of an investigative 
report. 

The reasoned justification for the amendments is to provide clar-
ity to license holders and to align the rule with statutory changes 
adopted by the 84th Legislature. 

No comments were received on the amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1103.151, which authorizes the TALCB to adopt rules relating 
to certificates and licenses, and §1104.051, which authorizes 
TALCB to adopt rules necessary to administer Chapter 1104. 

The statutes affected by these amendments are Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapters 1103 and 1104. No other statute, code or 
article is affected by the amendments. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505145 
Kristen Worman 
General Counsel 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
Effective date: January 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 4, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 9. TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD 

CHAPTER 190. DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES 
SUBCHAPTER C. SANCTION GUIDELINES 
22 TAC §190.14 
The Texas Medical Board adopts an amendment to §190.14, 
concerning Disciplinary Sanction Guidelines, with non-substan-
tive changes to the proposed text as published in the July 17, 
2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 4527). The text of 
the rule will be republished. 

The Board sought stakeholder input through Stakeholder 
Groups, which made comments on the suggested changes to 
the rules at a meeting held on August 10, 2015. At the meet-
ing, one commenter pointed out that the category for "Crime: 
Misdemeanor deferred adjudication or conviction not involving 
moral turpitude that is not connected with physician's practice 
of medicine and not an offense under Chapter 22 or 25 of the 
Penal Code" is not a category of violation subject to discipline 
under the Medical Practice Act. The Board agrees and §190.14 
is adopted with non-substantive changes. 

The amendment revises the graphic table in §190.14(9) to up-
date the range and scope of sanctions for certain violations of 
the Medical Practice Act. 

SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED 

The Board received public written comments from the Texas 
Medical Association (TMA). No one appeared to testify at the 
public hearing held on August 28, 2015, regarding §190.14. 

TMA Comment: 

TMA asserted that the proposed high sanction of $7,000 per 
violation for the category of "Standard of care - one patient, 
more than one prior SOC or care-related violation" exceeds the 
amount allowed under the Medical Practice Act. TMA further op-
posed a proposed increase to the administrative penalty amount 
of $3,000 to $5,000, for the low sanction range for categories 
of "Standard of care, one patient, more than one prior SOC or 
care-related violation" and "Standard of care - more than one 
patient, prior SOC or care-related violations." TMA stated that 
because $5,000 is the maximum statutory amount permitted for 
each violation found, it should be reflected in the range of high 
sanctions, but not in the standard low sanction range. Finally, 
TMA recommended adding the phrase "for $50,000 in a 5-year 
period" to a citation referenced for §190.8(5) of this title (relating 
to Violation Guidelines) under the category of "Standard of care 
- one patient, more than one prior SOC or care-related violation" 
to improve consistency with citations made to the same rule 
shown for other violation categories. 

TMB Board Response: 

The Board agrees in part. The proposed language amending the 
high category sanction to $7,000 per violation for the category 
of "Standard of care - one patient, more than one prior SOC or 
care-related violation" was in error and §190.14 is adopted with 
non-substantive changes, reflecting the correction to the cate-
gory "Standard of care - one patient, more than one prior SOC 
or care-related violation", so that the penalty reflected for the cat-
egory's lower range is $3,000, and $5,000 for the higher range. 
The phrase "for $50,000 in a 5-year period" is further added to 
the statutory/rule citation column relating to same category of vi-
olation and referencing §190.8(5). 

The Board disagrees, however, that imposing the maximum 
sanction of $5,000 per violation allowed under the low range of 
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sanctions for the category of "Standard of care - more than one 
patient, prior SOC or care-related violations" would be incon-
sistent with or disproportionate to the amount(s) allowed under 
other violation categories. The category of violation "Standard 
of care -more than one patient, prior SOC or care-related vio-
lations" is more aggravated in nature, as it indicates a pattern 
of standard of care violations related to more than one patient, 
and previous disciplinary or remedial history involving standard 
of care issues. Further, the low range sanction providing for a 
penalty of $5,000 is consistent with the high range of sanctions 
for the same category, which contemplates "suspension or revo-
cation." Therefore, the Board declines to adopt the amendments 
with the requested change to the category of "Standard of care 
- more than one patient, prior SOC or care-related violations." 

The amendment is adopted under the authority of the Texas Oc-
cupations Code Annotated, §153.001, which provides authority 
for the Board to adopt rules and bylaws as necessary to: govern 
its own proceedings; perform its duties; regulate the practice of 
medicine in this state; enforce this subtitle; and establish rules 
related to licensure. The amendment is also adopted under the 
authority of Texas Occupations Code Annotated, Chapter 164. 

§190.14. Disciplinary Sanction Guidelines. 

These disciplinary sanction guidelines are designed to provide guid-
ance in assessing sanctions for violations of the Medical Practice Act. 
The ultimate purpose of disciplinary sanctions is to protect the public, 
deter future violations, offer opportunities for rehabilitation if appro-
priate, punish violators, and deter others from violations. These guide-
lines are intended to promote consistent sanctions for similar viola-
tions, facilitate timely resolution of cases, and encourage settlements. 

(1) The standard sanctions outlined in paragraph (9) of this 
section provide a range from "Low Sanction" to "High Sanction" based 
upon any aggravating or mitigating factors that are found to apply in a 
particular case. The board may impose more restrictive sanctions when 
there are multiple violations of the Act. The board may impose more 
or less severe or restrictive sanctions, based on any aggravating and/or 
mitigating factors listed in §190.15 of this chapter (relating to Aggra-
vating and Mitigating Factors) that are found to apply in a particular 
case. 

(2) The minimum sanctions outlined in paragraph (9) of 
this section are applicable to first time violators. In accordance with 
§164.001(g)(2) of the Act, the board shall consider revoking the per-
son's license if the person is a repeat offender. 

(3) The sanctions outlined in paragraph (9) of this section 
are based on the conclusion stated in §164.001(j) of the Act that a vi-
olation related directly to patient care is more serious than one that 
involves only an administrative violation. An administrative violation 
may be handled informally in accordance with §187.14(7) of this title 
(relating to Informal Resolutions of Violations). Administrative vio-
lations may be more or less serious, depending on the nature of the 
violation. Administrative violations that are considered by the board 
to be more serious are designated as being an "aggravated administra-
tive violation." 

(4) The maximum sanction in all cases is revocation of the 
licensee's license, which may be accompanied by an administrative 
penalty of up to $5,000 per violation. In accordance with §165.003 
of the Act, each day the violation continues is a separate violation. 

(5) Each statutory violation constitutes a separate offense, 
even if arising out of a single act. 

(6) If the licensee acknowledges a violation and agrees to 
comply with terms and conditions of remedial action through an agreed 
order, the standard sanctions may be reduced. 

(7) Any panel action that falls outside the guideline range 
shall be reviewed and voted on individually by the board at a regular 
meeting. 

(8) For any violation of the Act that is not specifically men-
tioned in this rule, the board shall apply a sanction that generally fol-
lows the spirit and scheme of the sanctions outlined in this rule. 

(9) The following standard sanctions shall apply to viola-
tions of the Act: 
Figure: 22 TAC §190.14(9) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 25, 

2015. 
TRD-201505185 
Mari Robinson, J.D. 
Executive Director 
Texas Medical Board 
Effective date: December 15, 2015 
Proposal publication date: July 17, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016 

TITLE 28. INSURANCE 

PART 2. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
INSURANCE, DIVISION OF WORKERS' 
COMPENSATION 

CHAPTER 110. REQUIRED NOTICES OF 
COVERAGE 
SUBCHAPTER B. EMPLOYER NOTICES 
28 TAC §110.108, §110.110 
The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Com-
pensation (division) adopts amendments to §110.108, concern-
ing employer notice regarding work-related exposure to commu-
nicable disease/HIV: posting requirements; payment for tests; 
and §110.110, concerning reporting requirements for building or 
construction projects for governmental entities. Section 110.108 
and §110.110 are adopted without changes to the proposed text 
published in the August 7, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 
TexReg 5044). There was not a request for public hearing sub-
mitted to the division. 

In accordance with Government Code §2001.033, the division's 
reasoned justification for the sections is set out in this order, 
which includes the preamble. The following paragraphs include 
a detailed section by section description and reasoned justifica-
tion for all amendments to §110.108 and §110.110. 

The non-substantive amendments to §110.108 and §110.110 
are necessary to provide employees with the updated division 
phone number to report possible exposure to communicable 
diseases or HIV under §110.108; or to inquire about, verify, 
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or report the lack of coverage at construction project sites 
under §110.110. Amended §110.108 achieves the goals of 
Health and Safety Code §81.050(j), concerning mandatory 
testing of persons suspected of exposing certain other persons 
to reportable diseases, including HIV infection; Health and 
Safety Code §85.116, concerning testing and counseling for 
state employees exposed to HIV infection on the job; and 
Government Code §607.002, concerning reimbursement of 
medical expenses for public safety employees exposed to con-
tagious diseases. The amendments provide updated contact 
information for the division to employees seeking guidance on 
exposure to a communicable disease and eligibility for benefits. 
Amended §110.110 achieves the goals of Labor Code §406.005, 
concerning employer notice to employees; administrative vio-
lation, by providing the division's updated contact information 
to employees inquiring about the requirements of the workers' 
compensation system and their employer's coverage. 

Section 110.108 addresses Employee Notice Regarding 
Work-Related Exposure to Communicable Disease/HIV: Post-
ing Requirements; Payment for Tests. The division amended 
Figure: 28 TAC §110.108(d), regarding employer notice, to 
update the telephone number employees use to contact the 
division. Amended Figure: 28 TAC §110.108(d) also reflects 
the change in agency name from "Texas Workers' Compensa-
tion Commission" to "Division of Workers' Compensation" and 
"Texas Department of Health" to "Texas Department of State 
Health Services." The amendments are necessary to ensure the 
required notice in §110.108 contains the updated phone number 
for the division and reflects the current agency names for the 
division and the Texas Department of State Health Services. 

Section 110.110 addresses Reporting Requirements for Building 
or Construction Projects for Governmental Entities. The division 
amended §110.110 to reflect a change in the agency's name. 
The division amended §110.110(a)(1), (c)(6), Figure: 28 TAC 
§110.110(c)(7), and Figure: 28 TAC §110.110(d)(7), by deleting 
"commission" and adding "division." In §110.110(a)(5), Figure: 
28 TAC §110.110(c)(7), and Figure: 28 TAC §110.110(d)(7), the 
division deleted "Texas Workers' Compensation Commission" 
and added "Division of Workers' Compensation." 

The division amended Figure: 28 TAC §110.110(d)(7), regarding 
required workers' compensation coverage, by updating the tele-
phone number that employees use to contact the division. Fig-
ure: 28 TAC §110.110(d)(7) was also amended to add the phrase 
"or access the division's website at www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/in-
dexwc.html." An injured employee can access the division's 
website in addition to calling the provided telephone number 
to receive information on the legal requirements for coverage, 
to verify whether the employee's employer has the required 
coverage, or to report an employer's failure to provide coverage. 

The division made non-substantive amendments in 
§110.110(a)(1), (a)(5), and Figure: 28 TAC §110.110(c)(7) to 
conform to current agency style. The division deleted the form 
names "TWCC-81, TWCC-82, TWCC-83, or TWCC-84" and 
added the form names "DWC Form-81, DWC Form-82, DWC 
Form-83, or DWC Form-84." 

The division amended §110.110(b), Figure: 28 TAC 
§110.110(c)(7), and (e)(3) to conform to current agency style by 
deleting the phrase "commission's Division of Self Insurance 
Regulation" and adding the word "division." The division 
amended §110.110(c)(7) to replace "Figure 1" with "figure" to 
conform to current agency style. 

The division did not receive any comments on the proposed 
amendments to §110.108 and §110.110. 

The amendments are adopted under Labor Code §402.061, 
concerning adoption of rules; §402.00111, concerning the rela-
tionship between commissioner of insurance and commissioner 
of workers' compensation; separation of authority; rulemaking; 
§406.005, concerning employer notice to employees; admin-
istrative violation; and §406.009, concerning collecting and 
maintaining information; monitoring and enforcing compliance. 

Labor Code §402.061 authorizes the commissioner to adopt 
rules as necessary for the implementation and administration of 
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act. Labor Code §402.00111 
provides that the commissioner of workers' compensation shall 
exercise all executive authority, including rulemaking authority, 
under Title 5 of the Labor Code. 

Labor Code §406.005 provides that an employer shall post a 
notice of whether the employer has workers' compensation in-
surance coverage, and vests the commissioner with the power 
to adopt rules relating to the form and content of the notice. 

Labor Code §406.009 requires the division to collect and main-
tain information, to monitor compliance, and to adopt rules as 
necessary to enforce Subchapter A of Chapter 406. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505160 
Dirk Johnson 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: August 7, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 804-4707 

TITLE 43. TRANSPORTATION 

PART 10. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
MOTOR VEHICLES 

CHAPTER 219. OVERSIZE AND 
OVERWEIGHT VEHICLES AND LOADS 
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (department) adopts 
amendments to Chapter 219, Oversize and Overweight Vehi-
cles and Loads, Subchapter A: §219.1, Purpose and Scope; 
and §219.2, Definitions; Subchapter B: §219.10, Purpose 
and Scope; §219.11, General Oversize/Overweight Permit 
Requirements and Procedures; §219.12, Single-Trip Permits 
Issued Under Transportation Code, Chapter 623, Subchapter D; 
§219.13, Time Permits; and §219.14, Manufactured Housing, 
and Industrialized Housing and Building Permits; Subchapter 
C: §219.31, Timber Permits; Subchapter D: §219.41, Gen-
eral Requirements; §219.42, Single-Trip Mileage Permits; 
§219.43, Quarterly Hubometer Permits; and §219.45, Permits 
for Vehicles Transporting Liquid Products Related to Oil Well 
Production; Subchapter E: §219.61, General Requirements 
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for Permits for Oversize and Overweight Unladen Lift Equip-
ment Motor Vehicles; §219.62, Single-Trip Mileage Permits; 
and §219.63, Quarterly Hubometer Permits; Subchapter G: 
§219.102, Records; and Subchapter H: §219.121, Adminis-
trative Penalties; and §219.125, Settlement Agreements. The 
amendments to §§219.11, 219.13, and 219.62 are adopted with 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 18, 
2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6317) and will be 
republished. 

EXPLANATION OF ADOPTED AMENDMENTS 

In §219.2(36), the department replaced the term "nondivisible 
load" with the term "nondivisible load or vehicle." The department 
also replaced the definition with the definition from 23 C.F.R. 
§658.5 for the term "nondivisible load or vehicle." Texas must 
comply with certain federal size and weight laws and regulations 
to receive federal highway funding. 

Amendments are made throughout Chapter 219 to use the term 
"nondivisible load" or "nondivisible vehicle" where the defined 
term applies. Other amendments replace the terms "nondivisi-
ble" and "non-divisible" with other language when the definition 
of the term "nondivisible load or vehicle" does not apply. Amend-
ments to §219.12(b)(6) and §219.13(e)(4) make it clear that the 
permit may not be used for containers, including trailers and in-
termodal containers, loaded with divisible cargo, unless the per-
mit is a single-trip permit issued for a load under §219.12(c). 

An amendment to §219.11(d)(1)(E) clarifies that a permit-
ted vehicle or combination of vehicles may not exceed the 
manufacturer's rated tire carrying capacity, unless expressly 
authorized in the language on the permit. Transportation 
Code, §621.101(a)(4) states that a vehicle or combination of 
vehicles may not be operated over or on a public highway 
or at a port-of-entry between Texas and the United Mexican 
States if the vehicle or combination of vehicles has tires that 
carry a weight heavier than the weight specified and marked 
on the sidewall of the tire, unless the vehicle is being oper-
ated under the terms of a special permit. The amendment to 
§219.11(d)(1)(E) is necessary because the department has re-
ceived calls from people who mistakenly believe that any permit 
authorizes the permitted vehicle or combination of vehicles to 
exceed the manufacturer's rated tire carrying capacity, even 
when the permit does not expressly authorize it. 

Amendments to §219.11(d)(2)(G) clarify the weight require-
ments for trunnion axles, add additional requirements, make it 
clear that there is an authorized weight per axle, and delete the 
unnecessary graphic because the requirements are stated in 
§219.11(d)(2)(G). These amendments assist law enforcement 
by providing clear requirements. 

Amendments to §219.11(e)(3) clarify that the permit authorizes 
the permitted vehicle to move oversize and overweight hauling 
equipment to pick up a permitted load, as well as on the return 
trip after dropping off the permitted load. The permit also au-
thorizes the permitted vehicle to transport a load on the way to 
pick up a permitted load and after dropping off a permitted load, 
as long as the load does not exceed legal size and weight lim-
its and as long as the transport complies with the permit. Sim-
ilar amendments clarify the movement of overwidth trailers in 
§219.13(c)(3). 

An adopted amendment deletes language from §219.11(e)(4)(A) 
and §219.13(e)(5)(D) regarding the requirement to keep the per-
mit in the permitted vehicle because this issue is addressed in 
the amendments to §219.102(b), which applies to all permits. An 

amendment deletes the remainder of §219.11(e)(4) because the 
department's requirements to retain records are contained in the 
department's records retention schedule. Also, some of the lan-
guage in §219.11(e)(4) was incorrect. 

An amendment modifies the language in §219.11(h)(1) and 
§219.13(e)(2)(D) because it is sometimes necessary for a route 
to include a designated lane, rather than the outside traffic lane, 
due to overhead structures of varying heights. 

An amendment to §219.11(k)(4)(A) clarifies the purpose of the 
height pole. 

An amendment to §219.11(k)(5) deletes the unnecessary exam-
ple regarding escort requirements. 

An amendment to §219.11(l)(4) clarifies that counties also im-
pose curfew restrictions; however, only the curfew restrictions 
listed on the permit apply to the permit. 

An amendment to §219.12(b)(6) deletes the exemption from the 
vehicle supervision fee under Transportation Code, §623.078 for 
single and multiple box culverts because the statute does not 
authorize this exemption. 

An amendment to §219.12(b)(7)(C) deletes the unnecessary re-
quirement for applicants to provide the department with a copy 
of the signed contract for the proposed shipment. The adopted 
amendment replaces this requirement with a form that provides 
the department with the necessary information. 

An amendment to §219.12(c)(2) increases the maximum width 
from nine feet to 10 feet because pipe boxes are now built slightly 
wider than nine feet. 

An amendment to §219.12(d)(5) and (6) deletes language that 
is outdated. The department will permit based on the size and 
weight, rather than the type of load, under this subsection. There 
is no reason to treat storage tanks and houses differently in this 
subsection. 

An amendment to §219.13(d)(2)(B) deletes language regarding 
an exception because the department does not issue this permit 
if there is more than 25 feet front overhang or more than 30 feet 
rear overhang. If a vehicle and load exceed one of these limits, 
a single-trip permit with a route inspection is required. 

Adopted §219.13(e)(8) implements the new annual overlength 
permit authorized by Senate Bill 562, 84th Legislature, Regular 
Session, 2015. Senate Bill 562 amended Transportation Code, 
§623.071 and §623.076, authorizing the department to issue a 
permit to a person to operate over a state highway or road a 
vehicle or combination of vehicles with a maximum length not to 
exceed 110 feet and a maximum height not to exceed 14 feet. 
Section 219.13(e)(8) establishes the requirements, restrictions, 
and procedures regarding this new permit. 

Amendments to §219.102 update the requirements regarding 
evidence of the permit. The amendments expressly authorize 
an operator to provide a department inspector or a peace officer 
with an electronic copy of certain permits on a wireless commu-
nication device. Industry requested this amendment because it 
is not always easy for the driver to obtain a hard copy of the per-
mit to carry in the vehicle, especially when the driver is operating 
in a rural part of Texas. 

An amendment to §219.121(b)(2) duplicates the definition of the 
word "knowingly" that is used in §218.71 because Transportation 
Code, §643.251 governs administrative penalties for Chapters 
218 and 219. 
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Amendments to §219.125 allow more flexibility regarding settle-
ment agreements. 

Amendments throughout Chapter 219 reflect the role of the 
Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) regarding permits. 
These amendments are necessary to describe the procedure 
and practice requirements regarding certain permits. 

Amendments in more than one section are adopted because a 
route must be inspected for the movement of both the vehicle 
and load to make sure both the vehicle and load can safely ne-
gotiate the route. 

Amendments are adopted to make the rules consistent with cur-
rent practice, current terminology, other department rules, and 
current statutes. For example, amendments add the application 
requirements to obtain certain permits, and amendments delete 
certain language because permit applications are no longer 
accepted at cash collection offices. Amendments also correct 
cross-references. 

Amendments delete language that repeats language found in 
other parts of Chapter 219 and in statute. Also, the department 
reorganized portions of Chapter 219 for clarity. Further, the de-
partment restructured portions of Chapter 219 due to deletions 
and additions. 

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES 

The department received written comments from the Texas 
Trucking Association (TXTA), TxDOT, and Larry Cernosek with 
Cernosek Wrecker/Deer Park Paint & Body. 

COMMENT 

TXTA supports the department's proposed amendments to 
Chapter 219 and respectfully urges the Board of the Texas 
Department of Motor Vehicles (board) to adopt the proposed 
amendments. 

COMMENT 

TxDOT requested changes to the proposed language in §219.11 
to make it clear that non-TxDOT engineers merely provide an 
analysis, rather than an approval, because TxDOT provides 
the approval. TxDOT also requested changes to the proposed 
language in §219.11 to make it clear that TxDOT determines 
whether a permitted vehicle or combination of vehicles is autho-
rized to exceed the manufacturer's rated tire carrying capacity. 
TxDOT further requested changes to the proposed deletion of 
language in §219.11(h)(1) and §219.13(e)(2)(D) because over-
width loads must travel in the outside traffic lane on multi-lane 
highways when the width of the load exceeds 12 feet, unless 
stated otherwise on the permit. The permit holder is not allowed 
to pick the lane in which they will travel. 

RESPONSE 

The department made the changes requested by TxDOT and 
republished §219.11 and §219.13. 

COMMENT 

Larry Cernosek with Cernosek Wrecker/Deer Park Paint & Body 
stated he did not see the overweight and overlength exemptions 
in Chapter 219 for tow trucks hauling vehicles from the scene of 
an accident or after a breakdown. 

RESPONSE 

Because the exemptions are included in Transportation Code, 
§§621.205(b), 622.902(6), and 622.954, there is no need to re-
peat the exemptions in Chapter 219. 

The department also made changes to the rules as published in 
the September 18, 2015, issue of the Texas Register as follows: 
changes were made to §219.11 and §219.62 to correct drafting 
errors. 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
43 TAC §219.1, §219.2 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code, 
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt 
rules that are necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of the department under the Transportation 
Code; and more specifically, Transportation Code, §§621.008, 
622.002, and 623.002, which authorize the board to adopt rules 
that are necessary to implement and enforce Chapters 621, 
622, and 623. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622, and 623. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505133 
David D. Duncan 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665 

SUBCHAPTER B. GENERAL PERMITS 
43 TAC §§219.10 - 219.14 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code, 
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt 
rules that are necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of the department under the Transportation 
Code; and more specifically, Transportation Code, §§621.008, 
622.002, and 623.002, which authorize the board to adopt rules 
that are necessary to implement and enforce Chapters 621, 
622, and 623. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622, and 623. 

§219.11. General Oversize/Overweight Permit Requirements and 
Procedures. 

(a) Purpose and scope. This section contains general require-
ments relating to oversize/overweight permits, including single-trip 
permits. Specific requirements for each type of specialty permit are 
provided for in this chapter. 
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(b) Prerequisites to obtaining an oversize/overweight permit. 
Unless exempted by law or this chapter, the following requirements 
must be met prior to the issuance of an oversize/overweight permit. 

(1) Commercial motor carrier registration or surety bond. 
Prior to obtaining an oversize/overweight permit, an applicant permit-
ted under the provisions of Transportation Code, Chapter 623, Sub-
chapter D, must be registered as a commercial motor carrier under 
Chapter 218 of this title (relating to Motor Carriers) or, if not required 
to obtain a motor carrier registration, file a surety bond with the depart-
ment as described in subsection (n) of this section. 

(2) Vehicle registration. A vehicle registered with a permit 
plate will not be issued an oversize/overweight permit under this sub-
chapter. A permitted vehicle operating under this subchapter must be 
registered with one of the following types of vehicle registration: 

(A) current Texas license plates that indicate the permit-
ted vehicle is registered for maximum legal gross weight or the maxi-
mum weight the vehicle can transport; 

(B) Texas temporary vehicle registration; 

(C) current out of state license plates that are appor-
tioned for travel in Texas; or 

(D) foreign commercial vehicles registered under Texas 
annual registration. 

(c) Permit application. 

(1) An application for a permit shall be made in a form and 
by the method prescribed by the department, and at a minimum shall 
include the following: 

(A) name, address, telephone number, and email ad-
dress (if requested) of the applicant; 

(B) applicant's customer identification number; 

(C) applicant's MCR number or USDOT Number, if ap-
plicable; 

(D) complete load description, including maximum 
width, height, length, overhang, and gross weight; 

(E) complete description of vehicle, including truck 
year, make, license plate number and state of issuance, and vehicle 
identification number, if required; 

(F) vehicle axle and tire information including number 
of axles, distance between axles, axle weights, number of tires, and tire 
size for overweight permit applications; and 

(G) any other information required by law. 

(2) Applications transmitted electronically are considered 
signed if a digital signature is transmitted with the application and in-
tended by the applicant to authenticate the application. 

(A) The department may only accept a digital signature 
used to authenticate an application under procedures that comply with 
any applicable rules adopted by the Department of Information Re-
sources regarding department use or acceptance of a digital signature. 

(B) The department may only accept a digital signature 
to authenticate an application if the digital signature is: 

(i) unique to the person using it; 

(ii) capable of independent verification; 

(iii) under the sole control of the person using it; and 

(iv) transmitted in a manner that will make it infeasi-
ble to change the data in the communication or digital signature without 
invalidating the digital signature. 

(d) Maximum permit weight limits. 

(1) General. An overweight permitted vehicle will not be 
routed over a load-restricted bridge when exceeding the posted capacity 
of the bridge, unless a special exception is granted by TxDOT, based 
on an analysis of the bridge performed by a TxDOT approved licensed 
professional engineer or by TxDOT. Any analysis by a non-TxDOT 
engineer must have final approval from TxDOT. 

(A) An axle group must have a minimum spacing of 
four feet, measured from center of axle to center of axle, between each 
axle in the group to achieve the maximum permit weight for the group. 

(B) The maximum permit weight for an axle group with 
spacing of five or more feet between each axle will be based on an 
engineering study of the equipment conducted by TxDOT. 

(C) A permitted vehicle will be allowed to have air sus-
pension, hydraulic suspension and mechanical suspension axles in a 
common weight equalizing suspension system for any axle group. 

(D) The department may permit axle weights greater 
than those specified in this section, for a specific individual permit re-
quest, based on an engineering study of the route and hauling equip-
ment performed by a TxDOT approved licensed professional engineer 
or by TxDOT. Any analysis by a non-TxDOT engineer must have final 
approval from TxDOT. 

(E) A permitted vehicle or combination of vehicles may 
not exceed the manufacturer's rated tire carrying capacity, unless ex-
pressly authorized in the language on the permit based on an analysis 
performed by a TxDOT approved licensed professional engineer or by 
TxDOT. Any analysis by a non-TxDOT engineer must have final ap-
proval from TxDOT. 

(F) Two or more consecutive axle groups having an axle 
spacing of less than 12 feet, measured from the center of the last axle 
of the preceding group to the center of the first axle of the following 
group, will be reduced by 2.5% for each foot less than 12 feet. 

(2) Maximum axle weight limits. Maximum permit weight 
for an axle or axle group is based on 650 pounds per inch of tire width 
or the following axle or axle group weights, whichever is the lesser 
amount: 

(A) single axle--25,000 pounds; 

(B) two axle group--46,000 pounds; 

(C) three axle group--60,000 pounds; 

(D) four axle group--70,000 pounds; 

(E) five axle group--81,400 pounds; 

(F) axle group with six or more axles--determined by 
TxDOT based on an engineering study of the equipment, which will 
include the type of steering system used, the type of axle suspension, 
the spacing distance between each axle, the number of tires per axle, 
and the tire size on each axle; or 

(G) trunnion axles--30,000 pounds per axle if the trun-
nion configuration has: 

(i) two axles; 

(ii) eight tires per axle; 

(iii) axles a minimum of 10 feet in width; and 
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(iv) at least five feet of spacing between the axles, 
not to exceed six feet. 

(3) Weight limits for load restricted roads. Maximum per-
mit weight for an axle or axle group, when traveling on a load restricted 
road, will be based on 650 pounds per inch of tire width or the follow-
ing axle or axle group weights, whichever is the lesser amount: 

(A) single axle--22,500 pounds; 

(B) two axle group--41,400 pounds; 

(C) three axle group--54,000 pounds; 

(D) four axle group--63,000 pounds; 

(E) five axle group--73,260 pounds; 

(F) axle group with six or more axles--determined by 
TxDOT based on an engineering study of the equipment, which will 
include the type of steering system used, the type of axle suspension, 
the spacing distance between each axle, the number of tires per axle, 
and the tire size on each axle; 

(G) trunnion axles--54,000 pounds; and 

(H) two or more consecutive axle groups having an axle 
spacing of less than 12 feet, measured from the center of the last axle 
of the preceding group to the center of the first axle of the following 
group will be reduced by 2.5% for each foot less than 12 feet. 

(e) Permit issuance. 

(1) General. Upon receiving an application in the form pre-
scribed by the department, the department will review the permit ap-
plication for the appropriate information and will then determine the 
most practical route based on information provided by TxDOT. After a 
route is selected and a permit number is assigned by the department, an 
applicant requesting a permit by telephone must legibly enter all nec-
essary information on the permit application, including the approved 
route and permit number. Permit requests made by methods other than 
telephone will be returned via facsimile, mail, or electronically. 

(2) Routing. 

(A) A permitted vehicle will be routed over the most 
practical route available taking into consideration: 

(i) the size and weight of the overdimension load 
in relation to vertical clearances, width restrictions, steep grades, and 
weak or load restricted bridges; 

(ii) the geometrics of the roadway in comparison to 
the overdimension load; 

(iii) sections of highways restricted to specific load 
sizes and weights due to construction, maintenance, and hazardous 
conditions; 

(iv) traffic conditions, including traffic volume; 

(v) route designations by municipalities in accor-
dance with Transportation Code, §623.072; 

(vi) load restricted roads; and 

(vii) other considerations for the safe transportation 
of the load. 

(B) When a permit applicant desires a route other than 
the most practical, more than one permit will be required for the trip 
unless an exception is granted by the department. 

(3) Movement to and from point of origin or place of busi-
ness. A permitted vehicle will be allowed to: 

(A) move empty oversize and overweight hauling 
equipment to and from the job site; and 

(B) move oversize and overweight hauling equipment 
with a load from the permitted vehicle's point of origin to pick up a 
permitted load, and to the permitted vehicle's point of origin or the 
permittee's place of business after dropping off a permitted load, as 
long as: 

(i) the load does not exceed legal size and weight 
limits under Transportation Code, Chapters 621 and 622; and 

(ii) the transport complies with the permit, including 
the time period stated on the permit. 

(f) Payment of permit fees, refunds. 

(1) Payment methods. All permit applications must be ac-
companied by the proper fee, which shall be payable as provided by 
§209.23 of this title (relating to Methods of Payment). 

(A) Permit Account Card (PAC). Application for a PAC 
should be made directly to the issuing institution. A PAC must be estab-
lished and maintained according to the contract provisions stipulated 
between the PAC holder and the financial institution under contract to 
the department and the Comptroller of Public Accounts. 

(B) Escrow accounts. A permit applicant may estab-
lish an escrow account with the department for the specific purpose of 
paying any fee that is related to the issuance of a permit under this sub-
chapter. 

(i) A permit applicant who desires to establish an es-
crow account shall complete and sign an escrow account agreement, 
and shall return the completed and signed agreement to the department 
with a check in the minimum amount of $305, which shall be deposited 
to the appropriate fund by the department with the Comptroller of Pub-
lic Accounts. In lieu of submitting a check for the initial deposit to an 
applicant's escrow account, the applicant may transfer funds to the de-
partment electronically. 

(ii) Upon initial deposit, and each subsequent de-
posit made by the escrow account holder, $5 will be charged as an es-
crow account administrative fee. 

(iii) The escrow account holder is responsible for 
monitoring of the escrow account balance. 

(iv) An escrow account holder must submit a written 
request to the department to terminate the escrow account agreement. 
Any remaining balance will be returned to the escrow account holder. 

(2) Refunds. A permit fee will not be refunded after the 
permit number has been issued unless such refund is necessary to cor-
rect an error made by the permit officer. 

(g) Amendments. A permit may be amended for the following 
reasons: 

(1) vehicle breakdown; 

(2) changing the intermediate points in an approved permit 
route; 

(3) extending the expiration date due to conditions which 
would cause the move to be delayed; 

(4) changing route origin or route destination prior to the 
start date as listed on the permit; 

(5) changing vehicle size limits prior to the permit start date 
as listed on the permit, provided that changing the vehicle size limit 
does not necessitate a change in the approved route; and 
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(6) correcting any mistake that is made due to permit offi-
cer error. 

(h) Requirements for overwidth loads. 

(1) Unless stated otherwise on the permit, an overwidth 
load must travel in the outside traffic lane on multi-lane highways, 
when the width of the load exceeds 12 feet. 

(2) Overwidth loads are subject to the escort requirements 
of subsection (k) of this section. 

(3) A permitted vehicle exceeding 16 feet in width will not 
be routed on the main lanes of a controlled access highway, unless an 
exception is granted by TxDOT, based on a route and traffic study. 
The load may be permitted on the frontage roads when available, if 
the movement will not pose a safety hazard to other highway users. 

(4) An applicant requesting a permit to move a load ex-
ceeding 20 feet wide will be furnished with a proposed route. The ap-
plicant must physically inspect the proposed route to determine if the 
vehicle and load can safely negotiate it, unless an exception is granted 
based on a route and traffic study conducted by TxDOT. A permit appli-
cation and the appropriate fee are required for every route inspection. 

(A) The applicant must notify the department in writ-
ing whether the vehicle and load can or cannot safely negotiate the 
proposed route. 

(B) If any section of the proposed route is unaccept-
able, the applicant shall provide the department with an alternate route 
around the unacceptable section. 

(C) Once a route is decided upon and a permit issued, 
the permit may not be amended unless an exception is granted by the 
department. 

(i) Requirements for overlength loads. 

(1) Overlength loads are subject to the escort requirements 
stated in subsection (k) of this section. 

(2) A single vehicle, such as a motor crane, that has a per-
manently mounted boom is not considered as having either front or rear 
overhang as a result of the boom because the boom is an integral part 
of the vehicle. 

(3) When a single vehicle with a permanently attached 
boom exceeds the maximum legal length of 45 feet, a permit will not 
be issued if the boom projects more than 25 feet beyond the front 
bumper of the vehicle, or when the boom projects more than 30 feet 
beyond the rear bumper of the vehicle, unless an exception is granted 
by TxDOT, based on a route and traffic study. 

(4) Maximum permit length for a single vehicle is 75 feet. 

(5) A load extending more than 20 feet beyond the front or 
rearmost portion of the load carrying surface of the permitted vehicle 
must have a rear escort, unless an exception is granted by TxDOT, 
based on a route and traffic study. 

(6) A permit will not be issued for a vehicle and oversize 
load with: 

(A) more than 25 feet front overhang; or 

(B) more than 30 feet rear overhang, unless an excep-
tion is granted by TxDOT, based on a route and traffic study. 

(7) An applicant requesting a permit to move an oversize 
vehicle and load exceeding 125 feet overall length will be furnished 
with a proposed route. The applicant must physically inspect the pro-
posed route to determine if the oversize vehicle and load can safely 

negotiate it, unless an exception is granted based on a route and traffic 
study conducted by TxDOT. A permit application and the appropriate 
fee are required for every route inspection. 

(A) The applicant must notify the department in writing 
whether the oversize vehicle and load can or cannot safely negotiate the 
proposed route. 

(B) If any section of the proposed route is unaccept-
able, the applicant shall provide the department with an alternate route 
around the unacceptable section. 

(C) Once a route is decided upon and a permit issued, 
the permit may not be amended unless an exception is granted by the 
department. 

(8) A permitted vehicle that is not overwidth or overheight, 
and does not exceed 150 feet overall length, may be moved in a con-
voy consisting of not more than four overlength permitted vehicles. A 
permitted vehicle that is not overwidth or overheight that exceeds 150 
feet, but does not exceed 180 feet overall length, may be moved in a 
convoy consisting of not more than two overlength permitted vehicles. 
Convoys are subject to the requirements of subsection (k) of this sec-
tion. Each permitted vehicle in the convoy must: 

(A) be spaced at least 1,000 feet, but not more than 
2,000 feet, from any other permitted vehicle in the convoy; and 

(B) have a rotating amber beacon or an amber pulsating 
light, not less than eight inches in diameter, mounted at the rear top of 
the load being transported. 

(j) Requirements for overheight loads. 

(1) Overheight loads are subject to the escort requirements 
stated in subsection (k) of this section. 

(2) An applicant requesting a permit to move an oversize 
vehicle and load with an overall height of 19 feet or greater will be fur-
nished with a proposed route. The applicant must physically inspect 
the proposed route to determine if the oversize vehicle and load can 
safely negotiate it, unless an exception is granted based on a route and 
traffic study conducted by TxDOT. A permit application and the appro-
priate fee are required for every route inspection. 

(A) The applicant must notify the department in writing 
whether the oversize vehicle and load can or cannot safely negotiate the 
proposed route. 

(B) If any section of the proposed route is unaccept-
able, the applicant shall provide the department with an alternate route 
around the unacceptable section. 

(C) Once a route is decided upon and a permit issued, 
the permit may not be amended unless an exception is granted by the 
department. 

(k) Escort vehicle requirements. Escort vehicle requirements 
are provided to facilitate the safe movement of permitted vehicles and 
to protect the traveling public during the movement of permitted vehi-
cles. A permittee must provide for escort vehicles and law enforcement 
assistance when required by TxDOT. The requirements in this subsec-
tion do not apply to the movement of manufactured housing, portable 
building units, or portable building compatible cargo. 

(1) General. 

(A) Applicability. The operator of an escort vehicle 
shall, consistent with applicable law, warn the traveling public when: 

(i) a permitted vehicle must travel over the center 
line of a narrow bridge or roadway; 
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(ii) a permitted vehicle makes any turning move-
ment that will require the permitted vehicle to travel in the opposing 
traffic lanes; 

(iii) a permitted vehicle reduces speed to cross under 
a low overhead obstruction or over a bridge; 

(iv) a permitted vehicle creates an abnormal and un-
usual traffic flow pattern; or 

(v) in the opinion of TxDOT, warning is required to 
ensure the safety of the traveling public or safe movement of the per-
mitted vehicle. 

(B) Law enforcement assistance. Law enforcement as-
sistance may be required by TxDOT to control traffic when a permit-
ted vehicle is being moved within the corporate limits of a city, or at 
such times when law enforcement assistance would provide for the safe 
movement of the permitted vehicle and the traveling public. 

(C) Obstructions. It is the responsibility of the permit-
tee to contact utility companies, telephone companies, television cable 
companies, or other entities as they may require, when it is necessary to 
raise or lower any overhead wire, traffic signal, street light, television 
cable, sign, or other overhead obstruction. The permittee is responsible 
for providing the appropriate advance notice as required by each entity. 

(2) Escort requirements for overwidth loads. Unless an ex-
ception is granted based on a route and traffic study conducted by Tx-
DOT, an overwidth load must: 

(A) have a front escort vehicle if the width of the load 
exceeds 14 feet, but does not exceed 16 feet, when traveling on a two 
lane roadway; 

(B) have a rear escort vehicle if the width of the load 
exceeds 14 feet, but does not exceed 16 feet, when traveling on a road-
way of four or more lanes; and 

(C) have a front and a rear escort vehicle for all roads, 
when the width of the load exceeds 16 feet. 

(3) Escort requirements for overlength loads. Unless an 
exception is granted by TxDOT, based on a route and traffic study, 
overlength loads must have: 

(A) a front escort vehicle when traveling on a two lane 
roadway if the vehicle exceeds 110 feet overall length, but does not 
exceed 125 feet overall length; 

(B) a rear escort vehicle when traveling on a multi-lane 
highway if the vehicle exceeds 110 feet overall length, but does not 
exceed 125 feet overall length; and 

(C) a front and rear escort vehicle at all times if the per-
mitted vehicle exceeds 125 feet overall length. 

(4) Escort requirements for overheight loads. Unless an 
exception is granted by TxDOT, based on a route and traffic study, 
overheight loads must have: 

(A) a front escort vehicle equipped with a height pole 
to ensure the vehicle and load can clear all overhead obstructions for 
any permitted vehicle that exceeds 17 feet in height; and 

(B) a front and rear escort vehicle for any permitted ve-
hicle exceeding 18 feet in height. 

(5) Escort requirements for permitted vehicles exceeding 
legal limits in more than one dimension. When a load exceeds more 
than one dimension that requires an escort under this subsection, front 
and rear escorts will be required unless an exception is granted by Tx-
DOT. 

(6) Escort requirements for convoys. Convoys must have 
a front escort vehicle and a rear escort vehicle on all highways at all 
times. 

(7) General equipment requirements. The following spe-
cial equipment requirements apply to permitted vehicles and escort ve-
hicles that are not motorcycles. 

(A) An escort vehicle must be a single unit with a gross 
vehicle weight (GVW) of not less than 1,000 pounds nor more than 
10,000 pounds. 

(B) An escort vehicle must be equipped with two flash-
ing amber lights or one rotating amber beacon of not less than eight 
inches in diameter, affixed to the roof of the escort vehicle, which must 
be visible to the front, sides, and rear of the escort vehicle while ac-
tively engaged in escort duties for the permitted vehicle. 

(C) An escort vehicle must display a sign, on either the 
roof of the vehicle, or the front and rear of the vehicle, with the words 
"OVERSIZE LOAD" or "WIDE LOAD." The sign must be visible 
from the front and rear of the vehicle while escorting the permitted 
load. The sign must meet the following specifications: 

(i) at least five feet, but not more than seven feet in 
length, and at least 12 inches, but not more than 18 inches in height; 

(ii) the sign must have a yellow background with 
black lettering; 

(iii) letters must be at least eight inches, but not more 
than 10 inches high with a brush stroke at least 1.41 inches wide; and 

(iv) the sign must be visible from the front or rear of 
the vehicle while escorting the permitted vehicle, and the signs must 
not be used at any other time. 

(D) An escort vehicle must maintain two-way commu-
nications with the permitted vehicle and other escort vehicles involved 
with the movement of the permitted vehicle. 

(E) Warning flags must be either red or orange fluores-
cent material, at least 12 inches square, securely mounted on a staff or 
securely fastened by at least one corner to the widest extremities of an 
overwidth permitted vehicle, and at the rear of an overlength permitted 
vehicle or a permitted vehicle with a rear overhang in excess of four 
feet. 

(8) Equipment requirements for motorcycles. 

(A) An official law enforcement motorcycle may be 
used as a primary escort vehicle for a permitted vehicle traveling 
within the limits of an incorporated city, if the motorcycle is operated 
by a highway patrol officer, sheriff, or duly authorized deputy, or 
municipal police officer. 

(B) An escort vehicle must maintain two-way commu-
nications with the permitted vehicle and other escort vehicles involved 
with the movement of the permitted vehicle. 

(l) Restrictions. 

(1) Restrictions pertaining to road conditions. Movement 
of a permitted vehicle is prohibited when road conditions are hazardous 
based upon the judgment of the operator and law enforcement officials. 
Law enforcement officials shall make the final determination regarding 
whether or not conditions are hazardous. Conditions that should be 
considered hazardous include, but are not limited to: 

(A) visibility of less than 2/10 of one mile; or 

(B) weather conditions such as wind, rain, ice, sleet, or 
snow. 
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(2) Daylight and night movement restrictions. 

(A) A permitted vehicle may be moved only during 
daylight hours unless: 

(i) the permitted vehicle is overweight only; 

(ii) the permitted vehicle is traveling on an interstate 
highway and does not exceed 10 feet wide and 100 feet long, with front 
and rear overhang that complies with legal standards; or 

(iii) the permitted vehicle meets the criteria of clause 
(ii) of this subparagraph and is overweight. 

(B) An exception may be granted allowing night move-
ment, based on a route and traffic study conducted by TxDOT. Es-
corts may be required when an exception allowing night movement 
is granted. 

(3) Holiday restrictions. The maximum size limits for a 
permit issued under Transportation Code, Chapter 623, Subchapter D, 
for holiday movement is 14 feet wide, 16 feet high, and 110 feet long, 
unless an exception is granted based on a route and traffic study con-
ducted by TxDOT. The department may restrict holiday movement of 
specific loads based on a determination that the load could pose a haz-
ard for the traveling public due to local road or traffic conditions. 

(4) Curfew restrictions. The operator of a permitted ve-
hicle must observe the curfew movement restrictions of any city or 
county in which the vehicle is operated. However, only the curfew 
restrictions listed on the permit apply to the permit. 

(m) General provisions. 

(1) Multiple commodities. 

(A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B) of this 
paragraph, when a permitted commodity creates a single overdimen-
sion, two or more commodities may be hauled as one permit load, 
provided legal axle weight and gross weight are not exceeded, and 
provided an overdimension of width, length or height is not created or 
made greater by the additional commodities. For example, a permit 
issued for the movement of a 12 foot wide storage tank may also 
include a 10 foot wide storage tank loaded behind the 12 foot wide tank 
provided that legal axle weight and gross weight are not exceeded, and 
provided an overdimension of width, length or height is not created. 

(B) When the transport of more than one commodity in 
a single load creates or makes greater an illegal dimension of length, 
width, or height the department may issue an oversize permit for such 
load subject to each of the following conditions. 

(i) The permit applicant or the shipper of the com-
modities files with the department a written certification by the Texas 
Department of Economic Development, approved by the Office of the 
Governor, attesting that issuing the permit will have a significant pos-
itive impact on the economy of Texas and that the proposed load of 
multiple commodities therefore cannot be reasonably dismantled. As 
used in this clause the term significant positive impact means the cre-
ation of not less than 100 new full-time jobs, the preservation of not less 
than 100 existing full-time jobs, that would otherwise be eliminated if 
the permit is not issued, or creates or retains not less than one percent 
of the employment base in the affected economic sector identified in 
the certification. 

(ii) Transport of the commodities does not exceed 
legal axle and gross load limits. 

(iii) The permit is issued in the same manner and 
under the same provisions as would be applicable to the transport of a 
single oversize commodity under this section; provided, however, that 

the shipper and the permittee also must indemnify and hold harmless 
the department, its board members, officers, and employees from any 
and all liability for damages or claims of damages including court costs 
and attorney fees, if any, which may arise from the transport of an 
oversized load under a permit issued pursuant to this subparagraph. 

(iv) The shipper and the permittee must file with the 
department a certificate of insurance on a form prescribed by the de-
partment, or otherwise acceptable to the department, naming the de-
partment, its board members, officers, and employees as named or ad-
ditional insurers on its comprehensive general liability insurance pol-
icy for coverage in the amount of $5 million per occurrence, including 
court costs and attorney fees, if any, which may arise from the trans-
port of an oversized load under a permit issued pursuant to this subpara-
graph. The insurance policy is to be procured from a company licensed 
to transact insurance business in the State of Texas. 

(v) The shipper and the permittee must file with the 
department, in addition to all insurance provided in clause (iv) of this 
subparagraph, a certificate of insurance on a form prescribed by the 
department, or otherwise acceptable to the department, naming the de-
partment, its board members, officers, and employees as insurers under 
an auto liability insurance policy for the benefit of said insurers in an 
amount of $5 million per accident. The insurance policy is to be pro-
cured from a company licensed to transact insurance business in the 
State of Texas. If the shipper or the permittee is self-insured with re-
gard to automobile liability then that party must take all steps and per-
form all acts necessary under the law to indemnify the department, its 
board members, officers, and employees as if the party had contracted 
for insurance pursuant to, and in the amount set forth in, the preced-
ing sentence and shall agree to so indemnify the department, its board 
members, officers, and employees in a manner acceptable to the de-
partment. 

(vi) Issuance of the permit is approved by written 
order of the board which written order may be, among other things, 
specific as to duration and routes. 

(C) An applicant requesting a permit to haul a dozer and 
its detached blade may be issued a permit, as a non-dismantable load, if 
removal of the blade will decrease the overall width of the load, thereby 
reducing the hazard to the traveling public. 

(2) Oversize hauling equipment. A vehicle that exceeds 
the legal size limits, as set forth by Transportation Code, Chapter 621, 
Subchapter C, may only haul a load that exceeds legal size limits un-
less otherwise noted in this subchapter, but such vehicle may haul an 
overweight load that does not exceed legal size limits, except for the 
special exception granted in §219.13(c)(3) of this title (relating to Time 
Permits). 

(n) Surety bonds. 

(1) General. The following conditions apply to surety 
bonds specified in Transportation Code, §623.075. 

(A) The surety bond must: 

(i) be made payable to the department with the con-
dition that the applicant will pay the department for any damage caused 
to the highway by the operation of the equipment covered by the surety 
bond; 

(ii) be effective the day it is issued and expires at 
the end of the state fiscal year, which is August 31st. For example, if 
you obtain a surety bond on August 30th, it will expire the next day at 
midnight. 

(iii) include the complete mailing address and zip 
code of the principal; 
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(iv) be filed with the department and have an original 
signature of the principal; 

(v) have a single entity as principal with no other 
principal names listed; and 

(vi) A non-resident agent with a valid Texas insur-
ance license may issue a bond on behalf of an authorized insurance 
company when in compliance with Insurance Code, Chapter 4056. 

(B) A certificate of continuation will not be accepted. 

(C) The owner of a vehicle bonded under Transporta-
tion Code, §623.075 or §623.163, that damages the state highway sys-
tem as a result of the permitted vehicle's movement will be notified by 
certified mail of the amount of damage and will be given 30 days to 
submit payment for such damage. Failure to make payment within 30 
days will result in TxDOT placing the claim with the attorney general 
for collection. 

(D) The venue of any suit for a claim against a surety 
bond for the movement of a vehicle permitted under the provisions of 
Transportation Code, Chapter 623, Subchapter D, will be any court of 
competent jurisdiction in Travis County. 

(2) Permit surety bonds. 

(A) A surety bond required under the provisions of 
Transportation Code, Chapter 623, Subchapter D, must be submitted 
on the department's standard surety bond form in the amount of 
$10,000. 

(B) A facsimile or electronic copy of the surety bond is 
acceptable in lieu of the original surety bond, for a period not to exceed 
10 days from the date of its receipt in the department. If the original 
surety bond has not arrived in the department by the end of the 10 days, 
the applicant will not be issued a permit until the original surety bond 
has been received in the department. 

(C) The surety bond requirement does apply to the de-
livery of farm equipment to a farm equipment dealer. 

(D) A surety bond is required when a dealer or trans-
porter of farm equipment or a manufacturer of farm equipment obtains 
a permit. 

(E) The surety bond requirement does not apply to driv-
ing or transporting farm equipment which is being used for agricultural 
purposes if it is driven or transported by or under the authority of the 
owner of the equipment. 

(F) The surety bond requirement does not apply to a ve-
hicle or equipment operated by a motor carrier registered with the de-
partment under Transportation Code, Chapters 643 or 645 as amended. 

§219.13. Time Permits. 

(a) General information. Applications for time permits issued 
under Transportation Code, Chapter 623, and this section shall be made 
in accordance with §219.11(b) and (c) of this title (relating to Gen-
eral Oversize/Overweight Permit Requirements and Procedures). Per-
mits issued under this section are governed by the requirements of 
§219.11(e)(1). 

(b) 30, 60, and 90 day permits. The following conditions apply 
to time permits issued for overwidth or overlength loads, or overlength 
vehicles, under this section. 

(1) Fees. The fee for a 30-day permit is $120; the fee for a 
60-day permit is $180; and the fee for a 90-day permit is $240. All fees 
are payable in accordance with §219.11(f). All fees are non-refundable. 

(2) Validity of Permit. Time permits are valid for a period 
of 30, 60, or 90 calendar days, based on the request of the applicant, 
and will begin on the effective date stated on the permit. 

(3) Weight/height limits. The permitted vehicle may not 
exceed the weight or height limits set forth by Transportation Code, 
Chapter 621, Subchapters B and C. 

(4) Registration requirements for permitted vehicles. Time 
permits will not be issued to a vehicle or vehicle combination that is 
registered with temporary vehicle registration. 

(5) Vehicle indicated on permit. The permit will indicate 
only the truck or truck-tractor transporting the load; however, any prop-
erly registered trailer or semi-trailer is covered by the permit. 

(6) Permit routes. The permit will allow travel on a 
statewide basis. 

(7) Restrictions. 

(A) The permitted vehicle must not cross a load re-
stricted bridge or load restricted road when exceeding the posted 
capacity of the road or bridge. 

(B) The permitted vehicle may travel through highway 
construction or maintenance areas if the dimensions do not exceed the 
construction restrictions as published by the department. 

(C) The permitted vehicle is subject to the restrictions 
specified in §219.11(l), and the permittee is responsible for obtaining 
from the department information concerning current restrictions. 

(8) Escort requirements. Permitted vehicles are subject to 
the escort requirements specified in §219.11(k). 

(9) Transfer of time permits. Time permits issued under 
this subsection are non-transferable between permittees or vehicles. 

(10) Amendments. With the exception of time permits is-
sued under subsection (e)(4) of this section, time permits issued under 
this subsection will not be amended except in the case of permit officer 
error. 

(c) Overwidth loads. An overwidth time permit may be issued 
for the movement of any load or overwidth trailer, subject to subsection 
(a) of this section and the following conditions: 

(1) Width requirements. 

(A) A time permit will not be issued for a vehicle with 
a width exceeding 13 feet. 

(B) When multiple items are hauled at the same time, 
the items may not be loaded in a manner that creates a width greater 
than the width of the widest item being hauled. 

(2) Weight, height, and length requirements. 

(A) The permitted vehicle shall not exceed legal weight, 
height, or length according to Transportation Code, Chapter 621, Sub-
chapters B and C. 

(B) When multiple items are hauled at the same time, 
the items may not be loaded in a manner that creates: 

(i) a height greater than 14 feet; 

(ii) an overlength load; or 

(iii) a gross weight exceeding the legal gross or axle 
weight of the vehicle hauling the load. 

(3) Movement of overwidth trailers. When the permitted 
vehicle is an overwidth trailer, it will be allowed to: 
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(A) move empty to and from the job site; and 

(B) haul a load from the permitted vehicle's point of ori-
gin to pick up a permitted load, and to the permitted vehicle's point of 
origin or the permittee's place of business after dropping off a permit-
ted load, as long as: 

(i) the load does not exceed legal size and weight 
limits under Transportation Code, Chapters 621 and 622; and 

(ii) the transport complies with the permit, including 
the time period stated on the permit. 

(4) Use in conjunction with other permits. An overwidth 
time permit may be used in conjunction with an overlength time permit. 

(d) Overlength loads. An overlength time permit may be is-
sued for the transportation of overlength loads or the movement of an 
overlength self-propelled vehicle, subject to subsection (a) of this sec-
tion and the following conditions: 

(1) Length requirements. 

(A) The maximum overall length for the permitted ve-
hicle may not exceed 110 feet. 

(B) The department may issue a permit under Trans-
portation Code, §623.071(a) for an overlength load or an overlength 
self-propelled vehicle that falls within the definition of a nondivisible 
load or vehicle. 

(2) Weight, height and width requirements. 

(A) The permitted vehicle may not exceed legal weight, 
height, or width according to Transportation Code, Chapter 621, Sub-
chapters B and C. 

(B) A permit will not be issued when the load has more 
than 25 feet front overhang, or more than 30 feet rear overhang. 

(3) Use in conjunction with other permits. An overlength 
time permit may be used in conjunction with an overwidth time permit. 

(4) Emergency movement. A permitted vehicle transport-
ing utility poles will be allowed emergency night movement for restor-
ing electrical utility service, provided the permitted vehicle is accom-
panied by a rear escort vehicle. 

(e) Annual permits. 

(1) General information. All permits issued under this sub-
section are subject to the following conditions. 

(A) Fees for permits issued under this subsection are 
payable as described in §219.11(f). 

(B) Permits issued under this subsection are not trans-
ferable. 

(C) Vehicles permitted under this subsection shall be 
operated according to the restrictions described in §219.11(l). The per-
mittee is responsible for obtaining information concerning current re-
strictions from the department. 

(D) Vehicles permitted under this subsection may not 
travel over a load restricted bridge or load restricted road when ex-
ceeding the posted capacity of the road or bridge. 

(E) Vehicles permitted under this subsection may travel 
through any highway construction or maintenance area provided the 
dimensions do not exceed the construction restrictions as published by 
the department. 

(F) With the exception of permits issued under para-
graph (5) of this subsection, vehicles permitted under this subsection 

shall          
§219.11(k). 

(2) Implements of husbandry. An annual permit may be 
issued for an implement of husbandry being moved by a dealer in those 
implements, and for harvesting equipment being moved as part of an 
agricultural operation. Permits issued under this paragraph are subject 
to the conditions described in paragraph (1) of this subsection. 

(A) The fee for a permit issued under this paragraph is 
$270, plus the highway maintenance fee specified in Transportation 
Code, §623.077. 

(B) The time period will be for one year and will start 
on the effective date stated on the permit. 

(C) The maximum width may not exceed 16 feet; max-
imum height may not exceed 16 feet; maximum length may not exceed 
110 feet; and maximum weight may not exceed the limits stated in 
§219.11(d). 

(D) Unless stated otherwise on the permit, the permitted 
vehicle must travel in the outside traffic lane on multi-lane highways, 
when the width of the load exceeds 12 feet. 

(E) The permitted vehicle must be registered in accor-
dance with Transportation Code, Chapter 502, for maximum weight 
for the vehicle or vehicle combination, as set forth by Transportation 
Code, Chapter 621. 

(3) Water well drilling machinery. The department may is-
sue annual permits under Transportation Code, §623.071, for water 
well drilling machinery and equipment that fall within the definition 
of a nondivisible load or vehicle. Permits issued under this paragraph 
are subject to the conditions described in paragraph (1) of this subsec-
tion. 

(A) The fee for a permit issued under this paragraph is 
$270, plus the highway maintenance fee specified in Transportation 
Code, §623.077 for an overweight load. 

(B) A water well drilling machinery permit is valid for 
one year from the effective date stated on the permit. 

(C) The maximum dimensions may not exceed 16 feet 
wide, 14 feet 6 inches high, 110 feet long, and maximum weight may 
not exceed the limits stated in §219.11(d). 

(D) The permitted vehicle must be registered in accor-
dance with Transportation Code, Chapter 502, for the maximum weight 
of the vehicle, as set forth by Transportation Code, Chapter 621. 

(E) A permit issued under this section authorizes a per-
mitted vehicle to operate only on the state highway system. 

(4) Envelope vehicle permits. 

(A) The department may issue an annual permit under 
Transportation Code, §623.071(c), to a specific vehicle, for the move-
ment of superheavy or oversize equipment that falls within the defi-
nition of a nondivisible load. This permit may not be used for a con-
tainer, including a trailer or an intermodal container, loaded with divisi-
ble cargo. Unless otherwise noted, permits issued under this paragraph 
are subject to the conditions described in paragraph (1) of this subsec-
tion. 

(i) Superheavy or oversize equipment operating un-
der an annual envelope vehicle permit may not exceed: 

(I) 12 feet in width; 

(II) 14 feet in height; 

be operated according to the escort requirements described in
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(III) 110 feet in length; or 

(IV) 120,000 pounds gross weight. 

(ii) Superheavy or oversize equipment operating un-
der an annual envelope vehicle permit may not transport a load that has 
more than 25 feet front overhang, or more than 30 feet rear overhang. 

(iii) The fee for an annual envelope vehicle permit 
is $4,000, and is non-refundable. 

(iv) The time period will be for one year and will 
start on the effective date stated on the permit. 

(v) This permit authorizes operation of the permitted 
vehicle only on the state highway system. 

(vi) The permitted vehicle must comply with 
§219.11(d)(2) and (3). 

(vii) The permitted vehicle or vehicle combination 
must be registered in accordance with Transportation Code, Chapter 
502, for maximum weight as set forth by Transportation Code, Chapter 
621. 

(viii) A permit issued under this paragraph is non-
transferable between permittees. 

(ix) A permit issued under this paragraph may be 
transferred from one vehicle to another vehicle in the permittee's fleet 
provided: 

(I) the permitted vehicle is destroyed or other-
wise becomes permanently inoperable, to an extent that it will no longer 
be utilized, and the permittee presents proof that the negotiable certifi-
cate of title or other qualifying documentation has been surrendered to 
the department; or 

(II) the certificate of title to the permitted vehicle 
is transferred to someone other than the permittee, and the permittee 
presents proof that the negotiable certificate of title or other qualifying 
documentation has been transferred from the permittee. 

(x) A single-trip permit, as described in §219.12 of 
this title (relating to Single-Trip Permits Issued Under Transportation 
Code, Chapter 623, Subchapter D), may be used in conjunction with an 
annual permit issued under this paragraph for the movement of vehicles 
or loads exceeding the height or width limits established in subpara-
graph (A) of this paragraph. The department will indicate the annual 
permit number on any single-trip permit to be used in conjunction with 
a permit issued under this paragraph, and permittees will be assessed a 
fee of $60 for the single-trip permit. 

(B) The department may issue an annual permit under 
Transportation Code, §623.071(d), to a specific motor carrier, for the 
movement of superheavy or oversize equipment that falls within the 
definition of a nondivisible load. This permit may not be used for a 
container, including a trailer or an intermodal container, loaded with di-
visible cargo. Unless otherwise noted, permits issued under this para-
graph are subject to the conditions described in paragraph (1) of this 
subsection and subparagraphs (A)(i)-(viii) of this paragraph. A permit 
issued under this paragraph may be transferred from one vehicle to an-
other vehicle in the permittee's fleet provided: 

(i) that no more than one vehicle is operated at a 
time; and 

(ii) the original certified permit is carried in the ve-
hicle that is being operated under the terms of the permit. 

(C) An annual envelope permit issued under subpara-
graph (B) of this paragraph will be sent to the permittee via registered 

mail, or at the permittee's request and expense overnight delivery ser-
vice. This permit may not be duplicated. This permit will be replaced 
only if: 

(i) the permittee did not receive the original permit 
within seven business days after its date of issuance; 

(ii) a request for replacement is submitted to the de-
partment within 10 business days after the original permit's date of is-
suance; and 

(iii) the request for replacement is accompanied by 
a notarized statement signed by a principle or officer of the permittee 
acknowledging that the permittee understands the permit may not be 
duplicated and that if the original permit is located, the permittee must 
return either the original or replacement permit to the department. 

(D) A request for replacement of a permit issued under 
subparagraph (B) of this paragraph will be denied if the department can 
verify that the permittee received the original. 

(E) Lost, misplaced, damaged, destroyed, or otherwise 
unusable permits will not be replaced. A new permit will be required. 

(5) Annual manufactured housing permit. The department 
may issue an annual permit for the transportation of new manufactured 
homes from a manufacturing facility to a temporary storage location, 
not to exceed 20 miles from the point of manufacture, in accordance 
with Transportation Code, §623.094. Permits issued under this para-
graph are subject to the requirements of paragraph (1), subparagraphs 
(A), (B), (C), (D), (E), and (G), of this subsection. 

(A) A permit shall contain the name of the company or 
person authorized to be issued permits by Transportation Code, Chapter 
623, Subchapter E. 

(B) The fee for a permit issued under this paragraph is 
$1,500. Fees are non-refundable, and shall be paid in accordance with 
§219.11(f). 

(C) The time period will be for one year from the effec-
tive date stated on the permit. 

(D) The permitted vehicle must travel in the outside 
traffic lane on multi-lane highways when the width of the load exceeds 
12 feet. 

(E) The permitted vehicle must be registered in accor-
dance with Transportation Code, Chapter 502. 

(F) Authorized movement for a vehicle permitted un-
der this section shall be valid during daylight hours only as defined by 
Transportation Code, §541.401. 

(G) The permitted vehicle must be operated in accor-
dance with the escort requirements described in §219.14(f) of this ti-
tle (relating to Manufactured Housing, and Industrialized Housing and 
Building Permits). 

(H) Permits issued under this section are non-transfer-
able between permittees. 

(6) Power line poles. An annual permit will be issued under 
Transportation Code, Chapter 622, Subchapter E, for the movement of 
poles required for the maintenance of electric power transmission and 
distribution lines. Permits issued under this paragraph are subject to 
the conditions described in paragraph (1) of this subsection. 

(A) The fee for the permit is $120. 

(B) The time period will be for one year and will start 
on the effective date stated on the permit. 
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(C) The maximum length of the permitted vehicle may 
not exceed 75 feet. 

(D) The width, height and gross weight of the permitted 
vehicle may not exceed the limits set forth by Transportation Code, 
Chapter 621. 

(E) Vehicles permitted under this paragraph may not 
travel over a load restricted bridge or load zoned road when exceed-
ing posted limits. 

(F) The permitted vehicle must be registered in accor-
dance with Transportation Code, Chapter 502, for maximum weight as 
set forth by Transportation Code, Chapter 621. 

(G) Movement will be between the hours of sunrise and 
sunset; however, the limitation on hours of operation does not apply 
to a vehicle being operated to prevent interruption or impairment of 
electric service, or to restore electric service that has been interrupted. 
When operated at night, a vehicle permitted under this subsection must 
be accompanied by a rear escort. 

(H) The permitted vehicle may not travel during haz-
ardous road conditions as stated in §219.11(l)(1)(A) and (B) except to 
prevent interruption or impairment of electric service, or to restore elec-
tric service that has been interrupted. 

(I) The speed of the permitted vehicle may not exceed 
50 miles per hour. 

(J) The permitted vehicle must display on the extreme 
end of the load: 

(i) two red lamps visible at a distance of at least 500 
feet from the rear; 

(ii) two red reflectors that indicate the maximum 
width and are visible, when light is insufficient or atmospheric condi-
tions are unfavorable, at all distances from 100 to 600 feet from the 
rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of headlamps; and 

(iii) two red lamps, one on each side, that indicate 
the maximum overhang, and are visible at a distance of at least 500 
feet from the side of the vehicle. 

(7) Cylindrically shaped bales of hay. An annual permit 
may be issued under Transportation Code, §623.017, for the movement 
of vehicles transporting cylindrically shaped bales of hay. Permits is-
sued under this paragraph are subject to the conditions described in 
paragraph (1) of this subsection. 

(A) The permit fee is $10. 

(B) The time period will be for one year, and will start 
on the effective date stated on the permit. 

(C) The maximum width of the permitted vehicle may 
not exceed 12 feet. 

(D) The length, height, and gross weight of the permit-
ted vehicle may not exceed the limits set forth by Transportation Code, 
Chapter 621. 

(E) Movement is restricted to daylight hours only. 

(F) The permitted vehicle must be registered in accor-
dance with Transportation Code, Chapter 502, for maximum weight, 
as set forth by Transportation Code, Chapter 621. 

(8) Overlength load or vehicles. An annual overlength per-
mit may be issued for the transportation of a nondivisible overlength 
load or the movement of a nondivisible overlength vehicle or combina-
tion of vehicles under Transportation Code, §623.071(c-1). This permit 

is subject to the portions of subsections (a), (b), and (d) of this section 
that are not limited to the fee or duration for the 30, 60, and 90 day 
permits. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505135 
David D. Duncan 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicle 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665 

SUBCHAPTER C. PERMITS FOR OVER AXLE 
AND OVER GROSS WEIGHT TOLERANCES 
43 TAC §219.31 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code, 
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt 
rules that are necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of the department under the Transportation 
Code; and more specifically, Transportation Code, §§621.008, 
622.002, and 623.002, which authorize the board to adopt rules 
that are necessary to implement and enforce Chapters 621, 
622, and 623. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622, and 623. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505137 
David D. Duncan 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665 

SUBCHAPTER D. PERMITS FOR OVERSIZE 
AND OVERWEIGHT OIL WELL RELATED 
VEHICLES 
43 TAC §§219.41 - 219.43, 219.45 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
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The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code, 
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt 
rules that are necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of the department under the Transportation 
Code; and more specifically, Transportation Code, §§621.008, 
622.002, and 623.002, which authorize the board to adopt rules 
that are necessary to implement and enforce Chapters 621, 
622, and 623. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622, and 623. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505140 
David D. Duncan 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665 

SUBCHAPTER E. PERMITS FOR OVERSIZE 
AND OVERWEIGHT UNLADEN LIFT 
EQUIPMENT MOTOR VEHICLES 
43 TAC §§219.61 - 219.63 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code, 
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt 
rules that are necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of the department under the Transportation 
Code; and more specifically, Transportation Code, §§621.008, 
622.002, and 623.002, which authorize the board to adopt rules 
that are necessary to implement and enforce Chapters 621, 
622, and 623. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622, and 623. 

§219.62. Single-Trip Mileage Permits. 

(a) General information. 

(1) Permits issued under this section are subject to the re-
quirements of §219.61 of this title (relating to General Requirements 
for Permits for Oversize and Overweight Unladen Lift Equipment Mo-
tor Vehicles). 

(2) A single-trip mileage permit: 

(A) is limited to a maximum of seven consecutive days; 

(B) is routed from the point of origin to the point of 
destination and has the route listed on the permit; and 

(C) allows the crane to be returned to the point of origin 
on the same permit, provided the return trip is made within the time 
period stated in the permit. 

(3) A crane permitted under Transportation Code, Chap-
ter 623, Subchapter J, must be registered under Transportation Code, 
Chapter 502, for the maximum gross weight applicable to the vehicle 
under Transportation Code, §621.101 or have the distinguishing license 
plates as provided by Transportation Code, §502.146 if applicable to 
the vehicle. 

(4) A crane exceeding 175,000 pounds gross weight must: 

(A) have front and rear escort vehicles to prevent traffic 
from traveling beside the crane as it crosses a bridge; 

(B) cross all multi-lane bridges by centering the crane 
on a lane line; 

(C) cross all two-lane bridges in the center of the bridge; 
and 

(D) cross each bridge at a speed not greater than 20 
miles per hour. 

(5) A crane exceeding 12 feet in width must be centered in 
the outside traffic lane of any highway that has paved shoulders. 

(6) The permitted vehicle must not cross a load restricted 
bridge when exceeding the posted capacity of such. 

(b) Maximum permit weight limits. 

(1) The maximum permit weight for any single axle, not 
connected to another axle by a weight equalizing suspension system, 
must not exceed 30,000 pounds or 850 pounds per inch of tire width, 
whichever is less. 

(2) The maximum permit weight for any group of axles on 
a crane is determined by calculating the "W" weight for the group, 
using the formulas shown in Figure 2: 43 TAC §219.62(f), "Maximum 
Permit Weight Formulas," and comparing the calculated "W" weight 
with the corresponding "W" weight that is established in Figure 1: 43 
TAC §219.62(f), "Maximum Permit Weight Table." 

(3) The maximum permit weight per inch of tire width for 
axles that are steerable must not exceed 950 pounds, and the maximum 
permit weight per inch of tire width for axles that are not steerable must 
not exceed 850 pounds. 

(4) A crane that does not have any group of axles that ex-
ceeds the limits established in Figure 1: 43 TAC §219.62(f), "Maxi-
mum Permit Weight Table," and Figure 2: 43 TAC §219.62(f), "Max-
imum Permit Weight Formulas," will be permitted with a single-trip 
mileage permit or a quarterly hubometer permit for travel on any route 
that does not include a load restricted bridge. 

(5) A crane that has any group of axles that exceeds the 
limits established by Figure 1: 43 TAC §219.62(f),"Maximum Permit 
Weight Table," and Figure 2: 43 TAC §219.62(f), "Maximum Permit 
Weight Formulas," will be eligible, on an individual case-by-case basis, 
for a single-trip mileage permit only. Permit approval or denial will be 
based on a detailed route study and an analysis conducted by TxDOT 
of each bridge on the proposed travel route to determine if the road(s) 
and bridges are capable of sustaining the movement. 

(6) A road or bridge that has been analyzed and determined 
to be incapable of sustaining the crane will be excluded from the permit 
route. 

(c) Permit application and issuance. 

(1) Application for single-trip mileage permit. 

(A) The applicant must submit the completed applica-
tion to the department by telephone, facsimile, mail, or Internet. The 
application shall include, at a minimum, the following information: 
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(i) name, address, telephone number, and email ad-
dress (if requested) of the applicant; 

(ii) origin and destination points of the crane; 

(iii) make and model of the crane; 

(iv) vehicle identification number of the crane; 

(v) license plate number of the crane; 

(vi) size and weight dimensions; and 

(vii) any other information required by law. 

(B) Upon receipt of the application, the department will 
review and verify size and weight information, check the route and 
mileage to be traveled, compute the permit fee, and advise the applicant 
of the permit fee. 

(2) Issuance of single-trip mileage permit. Upon receipt of 
the permit fee, the department will advise the applicant of the permit 
number, and will provide a copy of the permit to the applicant if re-
quested to do so. 

(d) Permit fees and refunds. 

(1) Minimum fee. The minimum fee for a single-trip per-
mit is either the calculated permit fee or $31, whichever is the greater 
amount. 

(2) Permit fee calculation. The permit fee for a single-trip 
mileage permit is calculated by multiplying the number of miles trav-
eled, the highway use factor and the total rate per mile, and the indirect 
cost share. 

(A) Highway use factor. The highway use factor for a 
single-trip mileage permit is 0.6. 

(B) Total rate per mile. The total rate per mile is the 
combined mileage rates for width, height, and weight for the unit. The 
rate per mile for a trailer mounted crane is based on the overall width, 
overall height, and all axle weights, including the truck-tractor axles. 

(i) The mileage rate for width is $.06 per mile for 
each foot (or fraction thereof) above legal width. 

(ii) The mileage rate for height is $.04 per mile for 
each foot (or fraction thereof) above legal height. 

(iii) The mileage rate for a single axle or any axle 
within a group that exceeds 20,000 pounds, but is less than or equal to 
25,000 pounds, is calculated by multiplying $.045 times the amount by 
which the axle or axle group weight exceeds the legal weight for the 
axle or axle group and dividing the resultant figure by 1,000 pounds. 

(iv) The mileage rate for a single axle or any axle 
within a group that exceeds 25,000 pounds, but is less than or equal to 
30,000 pounds, is calculated by multiplying $.055 times the amount by 
which the axle or axle group weight exceeds the legal weight for the 
axle or axle group and dividing the resultant figure by 1,000 pounds. 

(C) Indirect cost share. The indirect cost share is a pro-
rated share of administering department activities, other than the direct 
cost of the activities, including the cost of providing statewide sup-
port services. The indirect cost share factor is based upon the previous 
year's expenditures. 

(3) Exceptions to fee computations. A crane with two or 
more axle groups that does not have a spacing of at least 12 feet be-
tween the closest axles of the opposing groups must have the permit 
fee calculated by the following method. 

(A) The axle group with the lowest weight will have 
the axle closest to the next axle group temporarily disregarded from its 
group in order to create a spacing of at least 12 feet between the two 
groups for fee calculation purposes. 

(B) An axle group will not have more than one axle dis-
regarded. 

(C) The permit fee for the axle group with the temporar-
ily disregarded axle must be based on the actual weight of the entire 
axle group minus the legal weight for the remaining axles of the group. 

(4) Refunds. Fees for permits issued under this section are 
non-refundable. 

(e) Amendments. A single-trip mileage permit issued under 
this section may not be amended unless an exception is granted by the 
department. 

(f) Weight table and formulas. The following table entitled 
"Maximum Permit Weight Table" is Figure 1: 43 TAC §219.62(f), and 
the list of formulas entitled "Maximum Permit Weight Formulas," is 
Figure 2: 43 TAC §219.62(f). 
Figure 1: 43 TAC §219.62(f) (No change.) 
Figure 2: 43 TAC §219.62(f) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505141 
David D. Duncan 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665 

SUBCHAPTER G. RECORDS AND 
INSPECTIONS 
43 TAC §219.102 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code, 
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt 
rules that are necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of the department under the Transportation 
Code; and more specifically, Transportation Code, §§621.008, 
622.002, and 623.002, which authorize the board to adopt rules 
that are necessary to implement and enforce Chapters 621, 
622, and 623. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622, and 623. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015, 2015. 
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TRD-201505142 
David D. Duncan 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665 

SUBCHAPTER H. ENFORCEMENT 
43 TAC §219.121, §219.125 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code, 
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt 
rules that are necessary and appropriate to implement the 
powers and duties of the department under the Transportation 
Code; and more specifically, Transportation Code, §§621.008, 
622.002, and 623.002, which authorize the board to adopt rules 
that are necessary to implement and enforce Chapters 621, 
622, and 623. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

Transportation Code, Chapters 621, 622, and 623. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 24, 

2015. 
TRD-201505144 
David D. Duncan 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
Effective date: December 14, 2015 
Proposal publication date: September 18, 2015 
For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665 
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