PROPOSED

Proposed rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing rules.
l l LES A state agency shall give at least 30 days' notice of its intention to adopt a rule before it
adopts the rule. A state agency shall give all interested persons a reasonable opportunity to

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing (Government Code, Chapter 2001).

Symbols in proposed rule text. Proposed new language is indicated by underlined text. [Square-brackets-and-strikethrough]
indicate existing rule text that is proposed for deletion. “(No change)” indicates that existing rule text at this level will not be

amended.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION
PART 8. TEXAS JUDICIAL COUNCIL

CHAPTER 175. COLLECTION IMPROVE-
MENT PROGRAM

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL COLLECTION
IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM PROVISIONS

1 TAC §§175.1 - 175.3

The Texas Judicial Council (Council) proposes to amend 1
TAC §8175.1 - 175.3, concerning the Collection Improvement
Program (Program). The proposed amendments provide local
collections programs greater flexibility in establishing payment
plans and codifies the Program's policy that the Program's com-
ponents do not apply to defendants who have been determined
to be indigent.

Glenna Bowman, chief financial officer of the Office of Court Ad-
ministration (OCA), has determined that for the first five-year pe-
riod the amendments are in effect there will be no significant fis-
cal implications for state government.

Scott Griffith, director of research and court services of OCA, has
determined that for each year of the first five years the amend-
ments are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of
the amendments to these rules will be clarification of the intent
and meaning of the Program's rules and greater flexibility for lo-
cal programs to establish payment plans that defendants can
successfully pay.

There will be no cost to small business or individuals as a result
of the amendments.

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted in
writing to Scott Griffith by e-mail at scott.griffith@txcourts.gov, by
postal mail at P.O. Box 12066, Austin, Texas 78711-2066, or by
fax transmission at (512) 463-1648.

The amendments are proposed under §71.019 of the Texas Gov-
ernment Code, which authorizes the Council to adopt rules ex-
pedient for the administration of its functions.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposed
amendments.

$175.1.  Source, Purpose and Scope.
(a) The source is Article 103.0033 of the Code of Criminal
Procedure.

(b) The purpose is to provide notice to counties and munici-
palities of the scope and components of the Collection Improvement
Program and of the audit standards that will be used by the Office of
Court Administration to determine program implementation.

(¢) The Collection Improvement Program applies to criminal
cases in which the defendant agrees to or is required to pay court costs,
fees, and fines under a payment plan or extension rather than on the
assessment date. The program does not apply to cases in which the de-
fendant has been determined to be indigent. Although the program can
be utilized by a judge in virtually every criminal case to effectuate the
judge's financial orders, it is not designed to influence the judicial deter-
mination of whether to order payment of costs, fees and fines, or other-
wise to affect the sentencing or other disposition decision that is within
the judge's discretion. The program is simply designed to improve the
collection of court costs, fees and fines that have been imposed, while
helping defendants who have the ability to pay satisty their obligations.
The program is not intended to conflict with or undermine the provi-
sion to defendants of full procedural and substantive rights under the
constitution and laws of this state and of the United States.

(d) Although the program focuses on collection of court costs,
fees and fines, it should be implemented in the context of local, state
and national efforts to develop and apply systemic policy to the com-
peting financial obligations of people in the criminal justice system.

$§175.2.  Definitions.

(a) "Assessment date" is the date on which a defendant be-
comes obligated to pay court costs, fees and fines. When a defendant
remits partial payment of a citation without appearing in person, the
assessment date is the date the partial payment was received.

(b) "Contact" means a documented attempt to reach a defen-
dant.

(c) "Contact information" means the defendant's home address
and home or primary contact telephone number; the defendant's em-
ployer's or source of support's name, address and telephone number; at
least two personal references; and the date the information is obtained.

(d) "Designated counties" are those with a population of
50,000 or greater.

(e) "Designated municipalities" are those with a population of
100,000 or greater.

(f) "Eligible case" means a criminal case in which a judgment
has been entered by a trial court. The term does not include a crimi-
nal case in which a defendant has been determined to be indigent; has
been placed on deferred disposition; has elected to take a driving safety
course; or is incarcerated, unless the defendant is released and payment
is requested.

(g) "Jurisdiction" means a designated county or designated
municipality that is subject to this chapter.

(h) "OCA" means the Office of Court Administration of the
Texas Judicial System.

(i) "Collection Improvement Program" or "CIP" means the
program described in this subchapter.
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(j) "Payment ability information" means the defendant's
account balances in financial institutions, debt balances and payment
amounts, and stated income.

(k) "Payment Plan" or "Extension" means a schedule of pay-
ment(s) to be made by a defendant who does not pay all court costs,
fees and fines at the time they are assessed and payment is requested.
A judge's order that payment is due at a future date constitutes a pay-
ment plan or extension.

(1) "Program" or "Local Program" means the collection pro-
gram implemented by a jurisdiction.

§175.3.  Collection Improvement Program Components.

(a) Summary of CIP Components. The CIP has eleven com-
ponents. Four components relate to the way a local program must be
implemented, staffed, and operated. The other seven components relate
to the way program staff communicates with defendants and documents
those communications. In accordance with Article 103.0033(j), OCA
will periodically audit counties and municipalities to confirm imple-
mentation of the components of the CIP; the audit standards are more
fully described in §175.5. In computing any period of time under these
rules, when the last day of the period falls on a Saturday, Sunday, le-
gal holiday, or other day on which the office is not open for business,
then the period runs until the end of the next day on which the office
is open for business. The CIP components do not apply to defendants
who have been determined to be indigent.

(b) Components for Local Program Operations.

(1) Dedicated Program Staff. Each local program must
designate at least one employee whose job description contains an es-
sential job function of collection activities. The collection job function
may be concentrated in one individual employee or distributed among
two or more employees. The collection function need not require 40
hours per week of an employee's time, but must be a priority.

(2) Payment Plan or Extension Compliance Monitoring.
Program staff must monitor defendants' compliance with the terms of
their payment plans or extensions and document the ongoing monitor-
ing by either an updated payment due list or a manual or electronic
tickler system.

(3) Delinquent Cases. Each local program must have a
component designed to improve collection of balances more than 60
days past due.

(4) Proper Reporting. The program must report its collec-
tion activity data to OCA at least annually in a format approved by
OCA, as described in §175.4.

(¢) Components for Defendant Communications.

(1) Application or Contact Information. For payment plans
or extensions set by a judge, the defendant must provide or acknowl-
edge contact information and program staff must document it. In other
cases, the defendant must provide a signed or acknowledged applica-
tion for extended payment that includes both contact information and
payment ability information. Programs may use a single form for both
contact information and payment ability information, and the required
information must be obtained within one month of the assessment date.

(2) Verification of Contact Information. Within five days of
receiving the data, program staff must verify both the home or contact
telephone number and the employer or source of support, if applica-
ble. Verification may be conducted by reviewing written proof of the
contact information, by telephoning the contacts, or by using a veri-
fication service. Verification must be documented by identifying the
person conducting it and the date.

(3) Defendant Interviews. Within 14 days of receiving an
application or a judge-imposed payment plan or extension, program or
court staff must conduct an in-person or telephone interview with the
defendant either to review the application and determine an appropriate
payment plan or extension, or to review the terms of the judge-imposed
payment plan or extension. Interviews must be documented by indicat-
ing the name of the interviewer and date of the interview.

(4) Specified Payment Terms.

(A) Documentation. Payment plans or extensions must
be documented by notation in the judgment or court order, on a docket
sheet, by written or electronic record, or by other means enabling later
review.

(B) Payment Guidelines. Payment plans or extensions
should require the highest payment amounts, and should require pay-
ment in full in the shortest period of time that the defendant can success-
fully make, considering the amount owed, the defendant's ability to pay,
and the defendant's obligations to pay other court-mandated amounts,
including child support, victim restitution, and fees for drug testing,
rehabilitation programs, or community supervision.

(C) Time Requirements. Time requirements for pay-
ment plans or extensions set by a judge are within judicial discretion.
[Payment plans or extensions set by program staff must meet the fol-
lowing time requirements:|

) In municipal and justice court eases; full pay-
ment within four months of the assessment date.|

i) Extension of the time requirements for pay-
ment in full may be allowed if a defendant has multiple eases-}

(5) Telephone Contact for Past-Due Payments. Within one
month of a missed payment, a telephone call must be made to a defen-
dant who has not contacted the program staff. Telephone calls may be
made by an automated system, but an electronic report or manual doc-
umentation of the telephone contact must be available on request.

(6) Mail Contact for Past-Due Payments. Within one
month of a missed payment, a written delinquency notice must be sent
to a defendant who has not contacted the program. Written notice may
be sent by an automated system, but an electronic report or manual
documentation of the mail contact must be available on request.

(7) Contact if Capias Pro Fine Sought. If a capias pro fine
will be sought, the program must make another telephone call or send
another written notice to the defendant within one month of the tele-
phone call described in paragraph (5) of this subsection or the writ-
ten delinquency notice described in paragraph (6) of this subsection,
whichever is later. An electronic report or manual documentation of
the contact must be available on request.

(d) Exceptions to Defendant Communications Rules. Excep-
tions to the defendant communications rules described in subsection
(c) of this section are limited to those cases in which timely access to
the defendant in order to obtain the required application or contact in-
formation is not possible, and efforts to obtain an application or contact
information are documented, as provided in paragraphs (1) and (2) of
this subsection.
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(1) Attempt to Obtain Application or Contact Information.
An attempt to obtain an application or contact information described
in subsection (c)(1) of this section is made, either by mailing an ap-
plication or contact information form or by obtaining the information
via the telephone before a plea is made by the defendant or within 7
days of the court's acceptance of a plea. An electronic report or man-
ual documentation of the attempt must be available on request. Should
a completed application or contact information form not be returned
by the defendant and the post office has not returned the application or
contact information form as undeliverable, the program must make a
second attempt to contact the defendant with any existing available in-
formation within one month of the first attempt. An electronic report or
manual documentation of the second attempt must be made available
on request.

(2) Application or Contact Information Is Obtained.
Should a completed application or contact information form be
returned to the program by a defendant as the result of an attempt
described in paragraph (1) of this subsection, it will be considered
timely and all other timing requirements for defendant communica-
tions described in subsection (c)(2) and (3) of this section are based on
the later of the assessment date or the date the program receives the
application or contact information form.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 10, 2016.

TRD-201601202

Mena Ramon

General Counsel

Texas Judicial Council

Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 463-1682

¢ ¢ ¢

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 351. COORDINATED PLANNING
AND DELIVERY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

1 TAC §351.701

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
proposes amendments to §351.701, concerning Unrelated
Donor Umbilical Cord Blood Bank Program.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

In 2001, the Texas Legislature required the Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC) to establish a grant program for
the establishment of an umbilical cord blood bank and autho-
rized HHSC to adopt rules as necessary to implement the um-
bilical cord blood bank program. See Act of May 27, 2001, 77th
Leg.,R.S., ch. 1198, 2001 Tex. Gen. Laws 2719, 2719-20 (H.B.
3572). The Texas Legislature has, since that time, appropriated
funds to HHSC for the purpose awarding "a grant of start-up
money to establish an umbilical cord blood bank for recipients
of blood and blood components who are unrelated to the blood
donors."

The 2016-17 General Appropriations Act, H.B. 1, 84th Legisla-
ture, Regular Session, 2015 (Article I, Health and Human Ser-
vices Commission, Rider 59) appropriates $1,000,000 in Gen-
eral Revenue Funds in fiscal year 2016 and $1,000,000 in Gen-
eral Revenue Funds in fiscal year 2017 for this purpose. Rider
59 further requires HHSC to enter into a contract with a pub-
lic cord blood bank in Texas for gathering umbilical cord blood
from live births and retaining the blood at an unrelated donor
cord blood bank for the primary purpose of making umbilical
cord blood available for transplantation purpose. The contract-
ing blood bank must be accredited by the American Association
of Blood Banks and the International Organization for Standard-
ization.

The proposed rule amendments are part of the implementation
of Rider 59.

The current rule, §351.701, expired by its terms on August 31,
2004, but was never repealed. HHSC is amending the rule to
ensure that it clearly applies to the program.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

Proposed §351.701 implements the legislative directive to estab-
lish, by contract with a qualified entity, an unrelated donor um-
bilical cord blood bank for the primary purpose of making cord
blood available for transplantation purposes. As amended, the
section defines terms; sets conditions for the funding; sets eligi-
bility criteria for potential contractors; and establishes standards
for the contract between HHSC and the contractor.

FISCAL NOTE

Ms. Greta Rymal, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Financial
Services, has determined that during the first five years the pro-
posal is in effect there are no anticipated implications to costs or
revenues of state or local governments.

SMALL BUSINESS AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALY-
SIS

HHSC has determined that there will be no effect on small busi-
nesses or micro businesses to comply with the amended rule.
The one contractor currently meeting the criteria to participate in
the program does not meet the requirements to be classified as
a small business or micro-business.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Ms. Patricia Vojack, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Health
Policy and Clinical Services, has determined that for each year
of the first five years the rule is in effect, the public will benefit
from the adoption of the rule. The anticipated public benefit will
be continued funding for an unrelated donor umbilical cord blood
bank in Texas.

Ms. Rymal has also determined there is no cost to persons re-
quired to comply with the amendment as proposed. There is no
anticipated effect on any local economy or on local employment.

REGULATORY ANALYSIS

HHSC has determined that this proposal is not a "major environ-
mental rule" as defined by §2001.0225 of the Texas Government
Code. A "major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risk to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This
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proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under §2007.043 of the Government Code.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Amy
L. Williams, Institutional Outreach Liaison, Brown Heatly Build-
ing, 4900 N. Lamar Boulevard, Austin, Texas 78751; by fax to
(512) 424-6974; or by e-mail to Amy.Williams2@hhsc.state.tx.us
within 30 days of publication of this proposal in the Texas Reg-
ister.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are proposed under the uncodified Act of May
27,2001, 77th Leg., R.S., ch. 1198, 2001 Tex. Gen. Laws 2719,
2719-20, which requires HHSC to establish a grant program for
the establishment of an umbilical cord blood bank; requires the
Executive Commissioner to establish eligibility criteria by rule;
and provides generally for the adoption of rules necessary to
implement the act.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this proposal.

$351.701.  Unrelated Donor Umbilical Cord Blood Bank [Grant]
Program.
(a) Purpose. This section establishes [implements and is

adopted in accordance with the requirements of House Bill 3572
enacted by the 77th Texas Legislature (Aets 20045 77th Legs; RS
Commission to implement] a program to award funding for [a grant
for the establishment of] an unrelated donor umbilical cord blood bank
in Texas.

(b) Funding [Grant] objectives. The funding [grant] awarded
pursuant to this section is intended to improve public health in Texas
through obtaining efficiently delivered services for gathering and re-
taining unrelated umbilical cord blood from live births for the primary
purpose of making the cord blood available for transplantation pur-
poses.[:]

{(1) the establishment of an umbilical cord blood bank to
serve unrelated donors and recipients;}

H2) eoperation of such services for a minimum period of
eight years from the date of the grant award; and}

H3) the support and promotion of medical and seientifie re-

(¢) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in
this section, have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

(1) Blood bank--A facility that:

(A) obtains a human umbilical cord blood donation
from an unrelated donor; [and is either]

(B) is licensed, certified, or accredited as a blood bank,
blood and tissue center, laboratory, or other health care facility and
[that] is authorized by: [state and/or federal Jaw: rule of regulation to
collect; process; and preserve human umbilical cord blood donatiens:
or]

(i) state and/or federal law, rule, or regulation;

(ii) the American Association of Blood Banks; and

(iii) International Organization of Standardization
to collect, process, and preserve human umbilical cord blood dona-
tions; and

(C) is operated in compliance with professionally rec-
ognized standards regarding [the] quality and safety of collection of
human umbilical cord blood donations, including the American Asso-
ciation of Blood Banks and International Organization of Standardiza-
tion.[; but net limited to:]

i) the American Asseciation of Blood Banks er the
Transplanters:}

the Center for Biologies Evaluation and Re-
search of the United States Food and Drug Administration;}
fiv) the Foundation for Acereditation of
v} the International Seeiety for Cellular Therapy:]
Hvit) the Cord Bloed Transplantation Study spen-
Institutes of Health.]
(2) Commission--The Texas Health and Human Services
Commission or its designee.

(3) Contractor--The recipient of the funding awarded under
this section.

(4) [63)] Donation--Human umbilical cord blood obtained
from an unrelated donor and resulting from a live birth.

RS el H98; at 2574) and awarded pursuant to this section for the
bank program in Texas-}
[(5) Grantee--The recipient of the grant awarded under this
(5) [€6)] Services--Umbilical cord blood collection, stor-
age, preservation, and/or processing services provided by a blood bank.
(6) [€H] Unrelated donor--A person who:

(A) is legally authorized or competent;

(B) voluntarily provides a donation; and

(C) 1isnotrelated by affinity or consanguinity (as deter-
mined under Chapter 573, Texas Government Code) to the recipient of
the donation.

(7) Unrelated Donor Umbilical Cord Blood Bank Program
or Program--The Contractor-operated public blood bank program that
provides for gathering and retaining umbilical cord blood for transplan-
tation to recipients who are unrelated to the blood donors.

(d) General conditions of the funding [grant]. The funding
[grant] awarded pursuant to this section, and any extension, continu-
ation, or addition to such funding, is [grant; are] subject to:

(1) the availability of appropriated state funds;
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(2) an [a competitive] award process as established by the
commission;

(3) the requirements of Chapter 531, Texas Government
Code, and any administrative rules adopted thereunder, including
Chapter 391 of this title (relating to Purchase of Goods and Services
by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission); [the Uni-
form Grant and Contract Standards Act, Chapter 783,
Government Code and the rules and standards adopted by the Office
of the Governer in accordance with Chapter 783; Government Code;
seqs]

(4) the requirements of the contract executed by the com-
mission with the Contractor [grantee] as required under subsection (f)
of this section; and

(5) an audit by the commission, the State Auditor's Office,
or an entity approved by the commission of the Contractor's [grantee's]
performance of the services or compliance with applicable auditing
standards and State and federal law. [the rules and standards adepted
by the Office of the Governor in accordance with Chapter 783; Govern-
ment Code; and eodified at Title 1; Texas Administrative Code: See-
tions 5141 et seq:]

(e) Applicant eligibility criteria. To be eligible [A bleed bank
may apply] for the funding [grant] awarded under this section, a blood
bank [and] must, at a minimum, demonstrate:

(1) the ability to establish, operate, and maintain an unre-
lated donor umbilical cord blood bank in Texas and to provide related
services, including[; but not limited to:]

[€A)] experience operating similar facilities in this
state.[;]

By affiliation or agreements with research institutions
or other similar bloed banks and facilities to conduet related research
or improve the accessibility of umbilical cord blood serviees in Texas:}

(2) possession of an appropriate, current license, certifica-
tion, or certificate of good standing to operate as a blood bank from the
American Association of Blood Banks and International Organization
of Standardization;

(3) aplan to continue the operation of the unrelated donor
umbilical cord blood bank beyond the term of the contract required by
subsection (f) of this section, including an appropriate financial plan;

(4) the financial stability and resources sufficient to ensure
the achievement of the funding [grant] objectives and operation of the
unrelated donor umbilical cord blood bank;

(5) appropriate skills, qualifications, financial resources,
and experience necessary to perform the services and provide the
deliverables (both of which are specified in the contract entered under
subsection (f) of this section) in an efficient and cost-effective manner,
with the highest degree of quality and responsiveness within the
context of the requirements of the contract; and [dener and recipient

management plans; protoeols; including long-term management plans
where elinieally appropriate;]

(6) policies relating to non-discrimination regarding the se-
lection and treatment of donors and recipients of donations on the basis
of race, sex, national origin, or ability to pay.[:]

D  a quality improvement proeess or mechanism to:}
fA) identify problems relating to the delivery of the

measure and document improvement in the deliv-

ery of the services; and}
() provide approprinte monitoring of patient out-
comes; to the degree permitted under state and federal law and the
(f) Contract. The Contractor [grantee] must enter into a con-
tract with the commission that requires, among other things, [that] the

Contractor to [grantee]:

(1) operate and maintain an unrelated donor umbilical cord
blood bank in this state in accordance with standards described in sub-
section (¢)(1)[€€)] of this section;

[(2) operate the blood bank at least until the eighth anniver-
sary of the effective date of the eontract:}

(2) [63)] gather, collect, and preserve umbilical cord blood
[enly] from live births only;

(3) [)] comply with any financial or reporting require-
ments imposed on the Contractor [grantee] specified in the contract;
and

(4) [€5)] comply with all applicable federal and state laws[;
as amended;| and their implementing regulations.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 14, 2016.

TRD-201601213

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 354. MEDICAID HEALTH
SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER A. PURCHASED HEALTH
SERVICES

DIVISION 27. COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE
1 TAC §§354.1361, 354.1363 - 354.1368

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
proposes amendments to §354.1361, concerning Definitions;
§354.1363, concerning Assessment; §354.1364, concerning
Services and Limitations; §354.1365, concerning Provider
Qualifications; and §354.1366, concerning Consumer Directed
Services and Service Responsibility Option. HHSC proposes
new §354.1367, concerning Person-Centered Service Plan;
and §354.1368, concerning Fair Hearing.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

Community First Choice (CFC) is a state plan option to provide
certain home and community based services and supports to
qualified individuals. The CFC option was implemented in Texas
in June 2015.
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The new rules and proposed rule amendments add information
about person-centered service planning and fair hearing rights
related to CFC; make a change related to Senate Bill 202, 84th
Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, regarding emergency re-
sponse services; and clarify various aspects of the CFC option.
HHSC operates CFC in compliance with a state plan amend-
ment and a 1915(b)(4) waiver agreed upon with the Centers for
Medicare & Medicaid Services.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

Proposed amendments to §354.1361 add definitions for
"CLASS," "DBMD," "DSHS," "ICF-IID," "MAO," "Service Plan-
ning Team," "STAR Health," "STAR+PLUS," "STAR+PLUS
home and community-based services (HCBS)," and "SSI."
Multiple other definitions are amended for clarity.

Proposed amendments to §354.1363 revise language to be con-
sistent with revisions to the definitions in §354.1361 and make
other small revisions for clarity.

Proposed amendments to §354.1364 add minor clarifications
and remove one component of CFC habilitation to match the ap-
proved state plan amendment. New subsection (d) clarifies that
CFC services are limited by functional need as determined by
the assessment, and new subsection (e) clarifies that managed
care organizations (MCOs) are required to offer all CFC services
to those MCO members who are eligible and need the services.

Proposed amendment to §354.1365 removes "licensed" from
personal emergency response services agency, pursuant to
Senate Bill 202, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015.
These agencies no longer need state licensure. A capitalization
error is also corrected.

Proposed amendment to §354.1366 clarifies that a provider
agency is an available alternative to the consumer-directed
services option or service-responsibility option.

Proposed new §354.1367 sets forth requirements related to the
person-centered service planning process, person-centered ser-
vice plan facilitators, and the contents of the person-centered
service plan.

Proposed new §354.1368 clarifies that an individual may request
a fair hearing for eligibility denial; lack of prompt eligibility deter-
mination; or termination, suspension, denial, or reduction of CFC
services.

FISCAL NOTE

Greta Rymal, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Financial Ser-
vices, has determined that during the first five-year period the
amendments and new rules are in effect, there will be no im-
pact to costs and revenues of state and local governments. The
impact to local intellectual and developmental disability author-
ities was included in Texas Department of Aging and Disability
Services fiscal impact statements accompanying amendments
to Title 40, Part 1, Chapter 2 (Local Authority Responsibilities),
§2.560 (Staff Person Training).

SMALL AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALYSIS

HHSC has determined that there will be no adverse impact on
small businesses or micro-businesses for adoption of the pro-
posed rules. No Texas Medicaid MCO qualifies as a small busi-
ness or micro-business. Impact to entities such as providers was
included in Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services
fiscal impact statements accompanying amendments to Title 40,
Part 1, Chapter 42 (Deaf Blind With Multiple Disabilities (DBMD)

Program and Community First Choice), §42.403 (Training), and
Title 40, Part 1, Chapter 45 (Community Living Assistance and
Support Services and Community First Choice), §45.804 (Train-
ing of DSA Staff Persons).

PUBLIC BENEFIT

Gary Jessee, State Medicaid Director, has determined that for
each year of the first five years the rules are in effect, the public
will benefit from the adoption of the rules. The anticipated public
benefit will be more consistent and appropriate delivery of CFC
services to individuals who qualify for these services.

Ms. Rymal has also determined that there are probable antic-
ipated economic costs to persons who are required to comply
with the amendments and new rules. The total maximum annual
cost statewide to all MCOs is anticipated to be $222,000 for both
SFY 2016 and SFY 2017. This proposal merely reflects in rule
changes already made to the standard MCO contract for per-
son-centered planning. Therefore, business-process changes
for this proposal are already included in the capitation rates for
MCOs.

Ms. Rymal has also determined the proposed rules have no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

REGULATORY ANALYSIS

HHSC has determined that this proposal is not a "major environ-
mental rule" as defined by §2001.0225 of the Texas Government
Code. A "major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risk to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under §2007.043 of the Government Code.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Jennie
Costilow, Senior Policy Advisor, 4900 North Lamar Boulevard,
MC-H310, Austin, Texas 78751; by fax to (512) 730-7477; or
by e-mail to jennie.costilow@hhsc.state.tx.us, within 30 days of
publication of this proposal in the Texas Register.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments and new rules are proposed under Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.033, which provides the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking authority, and Texas
Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code
§531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the authority to adminis-
ter the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas.

The proposed amendments and new rules implement Texas Hu-
man Resources Code, Chapter 32; Texas Government Code,
Chapter 531; and §32.074(a), Texas Human Resources Code.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this proposal.

§354.1361.  Definitions.
The following terms, when used in this division, have the following
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.
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(1) Activities of daily living (ADLs)--Basic personal ev-
eryday activities including, but not limited to, tasks such as eating, toi-
leting, grooming, dressing, bathing, and transferring.

(2) CFC emergency response services--Back-up systems
and supports including electronic devices to ensure continuity of ser-
vices and supports.

(3) CFC habilitation--Acquisition, maintenance, and
enhancement of skills necessary for the individual to accomplish
ADLs, IADLs, and health-related tasks based on the individual's
person-centered service plan.

(4) CFC personal assistance services--Services provided to
assist an individual in performing ADLs, IADLs, and health-related
tasks based on the individual's person-centered service plan.

(5) CFC support management--Voluntary training on how
to select, manage, and dismiss attendants.

(6) CFR--Code of Federal Regulations.

(7) CLASS--The Community Living Assistance and Sup-
port Services Program operated by DADS as authorized by the Centers
for Medicare & Medicaid Services in accordance with §1915(c) of the
Social Security Act.

(8) [€H] Consumer Directed Services (CDS) option--A ser-
vice delivery option [(alse knewn as self-directed model with serviee
budget)] in which an individual or legally authorized representative
employs and retains service providers and directs the delivery of pro-
gram services.

(9) [€8)] DADS--The Texas Department of Aging and Dis-
ability Services.

(10) DBMD--The Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabilities
Program operated by DADS as authorized by the Centers for Medicare
& Medicaid Services in accordance with §1915(c) of the Social

Security Act.
(11) DSHS--Texas Department of State Health Services.

(12) [®)] Financial Management Services (FMS)--Ser-
vices including, but not limited to, the following activities for
individuals using the CDS option: collect and process timesheets of
the individual's attendant care providers; process payroll, withholding,
filing, and payment of applicable Federal, State, and local employ-
ment related taxes and insurance; separately track budget funds and
expenditures for each individual; track and report disbursements and
balances of each individual's funds; process and pay invoices for
services in the person-centered service plan; and provide individual
periodic reports of expenditures and the status of the approved service
budget to the individual and to HHSC.

(13) [(®)] Financial management services agency
(FMSA)--An entity that is qualified [eertified] by DADS and is con-
tracted with HHSC and/or an MCO to provide financial management
services.

(14) [ED] Health-related tasks--In accordance with 42
CFR §441.505 and state law, specific tasks related to the needs of an
individual which include tasks delegated by a registered nurse, health
maintenance activities, and extension of therapy.

(15) [E2)] HHSC--The Texas Health and Human Services
Commission, or its designee.

(16) [(}3)] Home and Community-based Services (HCS)
Program--The Home and Community-based Services Program oper-
ated by DADS as authorized by the Centers for Medicare & [and] Med-
icaid Services in accordance with §1915(c) of the Social Security Act.

(17) [¢4)] Home and Community Support Services
Agency (HCSSA)--Home and Community Support Services Agency

[community suppert services ageney| licensed by DADS in accor-
dance with Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142.

(18) Intermediate care facility for individuals with an intel-
lectual disability or related conditions (ICF-IID)--A facility providing
care and services to individuals with intellectual disabilities or related
conditions as defined in §1905(d) of the Social Security Act.

(19) [E5)] Instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs)-
-Activities [As defined in 42 CER 441.505; activities] related to liv-
ing independently in the community including, but not limited to, meal
planning and preparation; managing finances; shopping for food, cloth-
ing, and other essential items; performing essential household chores;
communicating by phone or other media; and traveling around and par-
ticipating in the community.

(20) [€46)] Legally authorized representative (LAR)--A
person authorized by law to act on behalf of an individual with regard
to a matter described in this division, and may include a parent,
guardian, or managing conservator of a minor, or the guardian of an
adult.

(21) [E@D] Local Intellectual and Developmental Disabil-
ity Authority (LIDDA) [@=A)]--An entity designated by DADS in ac-
cordance with the Texas Health and Safety Code, §533.035(a).

(22) [4®)] Managed Care Organization (MCO)--An or-
ganization contracted with HHSC in accordance with Chapter 353
[§353-1] of this title (relating to Medicaid Managed Care [Purpese]).

(23) Medical Assistance Only (MAQO)--An individual who
qualifies financially and functionally for Medicaid assistance but does
not receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits.

(24) [E19)] Person-centered service planning--A docu-
mented service planning process that includes people chosen by the
individual, is directed by the individual to the maximum extent possi-
ble, enables the individual to make informed choices and decisions, is
timely and occurs at times and locations convenient to the individual,
reflects cultural considerations of the individual, includes strategies
for solving conflict or disagreement within the process, offers choices
to the individual regarding the services and supports they receive and
from whom, includes a method for the individual to require updates to
the plan, and records alternative settings that were considered by the
individual.

(25) Service Planning Team--For an individual receiving
CFC services, the group of people responsible for creating the individ-
ual's person-centered service plan.

(26) [29)] Service responsibility option (SRO)--A service
delivery option in which an individual or LAR selects, trains, and pro-
vides daily management of a service provider, while the fiscal, per-
sonnel, and service back-up plan responsibilities remain with an SRO
provider.

(27) STAR Health--The managed care program that pri-
marily serves:

(A) children and youth in Texas Department of Family
and Protective Services (DFPS) conservatorship;

(B) young adults who voluntarily agree to continue in
a foster care placement (if the state as conservator elects to place the
child in managed care); and

(C) young adults who are eligible for Medicaid as a re-
sult of their former foster care status through the month of their 21st

birthday.
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(28) STAR+PLUS--The managed care program that oper-
ates under a federal waiver and primarily provides, arranges, and co-
ordinates preventive, primary, acute care, and long-term services and
supports to persons with disabilities and elderly persons age 65 and
over who qualify for Medicaid by virtue of their SSI or MAO status.

(29) STAR+PLUS home and community-based services
(HCBS)--The program that provides person-centered care services
that are delivered in the home or in a community setting, as authorized
through a federal waiver under §1115 of the Social Security Act, to
qualified clients who are 65 years of age or older, are blind, or have a

(2) Individuals are assessed for functional needs by a qual-
ified provider, at a time and location convenient for the individual. The
assessment is conducted as part of a person-centered planning process
with the individual and anyone else chosen by the individual. Initially
and at least annually, in partnership, the assessor, individual, and a ser-
vice planning team comprised of members chosen by the individual
develop a recommended service plan for review and consideration by
HHSC or the appropriate MCO.

(3) Qualified assessors of functional needs include
LIDDAs [local inteHeetual and developmental disability] and mental

disability, as cost-effective alternatives to institutional care in nursing
facilities.

(30) Supplemental Security Income (SSI)--The federal
cash assistance program of direct financial payments to people who
are 65 years of age or older, are blind, or have a disability administered
by the Social Security Administration (SSA) under Title XVI of the
Social Security Act.

(31) [EBH] Texas Home Living (TxHmL)--The Texas
Home Living Program operated by DADS as authorized by the Centers
for Medicare & [and] Medicaid Services in accordance with §1915(c)
of the Social Security Act.

$354.1363.  Assessment.

(a) Level of care (LOC) assessment.

(1) To determine nursing facility and hospital LOC, HHSC
uses the Medical Necessity/Level of Care (MN/LOC) assessment. MN
is the determination that an individual requires the services (supervi-
sion, assessment, planning, and intervention) of licensed nurses in an
institutional setting to carry out a physician's planned regimen for total
care.

(2) To determine ICF/IID LOC, HHSC uses the Intellec-
tual Disability/Related Condition assessment (ID/RC). The ID/RC as-
sessment includes all factors needed to determine an LOC: diagnos-
tic information that includes age of onset of the qualifying conditions,
names of qualifying conditions, the appropriate International Classifi-
cation of Diseases codes, results of standardized intelligence testing,
and the adaptive behavior level as determined by an approved adaptive
behavior assessment tool.

(3) To determine psychiatric inpatient LOC for individuals
under age 21, and institution for mental disease LOC for individuals
age 65 and over, the Child and Adolescent Needs and Strengths as-
sessment (CANS) or Adult Needs and Strengths assessment (ANSA)
is completed and entered into a State system which has an automated
clinical and diagnostic tool that helps determine an individual's LOC.
The system uses CANS or ANSA data to determine whether an indi-
vidual meets Medicaid inpatient psychiatric admission criteria.

(b) Functional needs assessment. Assessments for CFC ser-
vices are conducted by existing assessors who are determined to be
qualified by the State in a state plan or LTSS program already approved
by CMS. Assessments are provided without regard to an individual's
age or disability. The functional needs assessment and person-cen-
tered service plan development process comply with the requirements
set forth in 42 CFR §§441.535 - 441.540.

(1) CFC functional needs assessments are conducted ini-
tially and at least annually, unless a change in condition or health status
requires reassessment at an earlier date, or the individual requests a re-
assessment. The assessments are conducted face-to-face and include an
assessment of an individual's functional needs, strengths, preferences,
and goals for the services and supports provided under CFC.

health authorities, MCO service coordinators or service managers,
DSHS [DPepartment of State Health Services] case workers, direct
service agencies, and case management agencies [managers).

(c) Requirements on entities conducting the assessments.
A person or entity conducting the functional needs assessment
or facilitating [participating in] the person-centered service plan
[planning] for the individual must not:

(1) be related by blood or marriage to the individual, or to
any paid caregiver of the individual;

(2) be financially responsible for the individual,

(3) be empowered to make financial or health-related deci-
sions on behalf of the individual;

(4) Dbenefit financially from assessing the individual's needs
or providing CFC services to the individual; or

(5) beaprovider of CFC services [state plan HEBS] for the
individual or have an interest in or be employed by a provider of CFC
services [state plan HEBS] for the individual, unless:

(A) HHSC determines that the provider is the only will-
ing and qualified entity able to perform assessments of functional need
and develop person-centered service plans in a geographic area; and

(B) the provider adheres to a conflict of interest policy
developed by HHSC.

$354.1364. Services and Limitations.

(a) Subject to the specifications, conditions, requirements,
and limitations established by HHSC, Community First Choice (CFC)
services are provided subject to provisions in 42 CFR §§441.500 -
441.590. Services include:

(1) CFC personal assistance services. CFC personal assis-
tance services include:

(A) non skilled assistance with the performance of the
ADLs and IADLs through hands-on assistance, supervision, and/or

cueing;

(B) household chores necessary to maintain the home
in a clean, sanitary, and safe environment;

(C) escortservices, which consist of accompanying, but
not transporting, and assisting an individual to access personal assis-
tance services or activities in the community; and

(D) assistance with health-related tasks.

(2) CFC habilitation. CFC habilitation is provided to allow
an individual to reside successfully in a community setting by assisting
the individual to acquire, retain, and improve self-help, socialization,
and daily living skills or assisting with and training the individual on
ADLs and IADLs. Personal assistance may be a component of CFC
habilitation for some individuals. CFC habilitation services include
habilitation training, which is interacting face-to-face with an individ-
ual, to train the individual in activities such as:
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(A) self-care;

(B) personal hygiene;
(C) household tasks;

(D) mobility;

(E) money management;

(F) community integration, including how to get around
in the community;
(G) use of adaptive equipment;

(H) self-advocacy;

(I) personal decision making;

(J) interpersonal communication;

(K) reduction of challenging behaviors;

(L) socialization and the development of relationships;
(M) participating in leisure and recreational activities;

(N) use of natural supports and typical community ser-
vices available to the public; and

(O) self-administration of medication and other health-
maintenance activities.[; and]

HP) strategies to restore or compensate for redueced cog-

(3) CFC emergency response services. CFC emergency re-

sponse services are available for individuals who live alone, who are

alone for significant parts of the day, or have no regular caregiver for

extended periods of time, and who would otherwise require extensive
routine supervision.

(4) CFC support management. The CFC support manage-
ment benefit is available to individuals receiving CFC personal atten-
dant services or CFC habilitation services regardless of service delivery
option.

(b) CFCservices can only be delivered in a home and commu-
nity-based setting. These settings do not include:

(1) ahospital providing long-term services;
(2) anursing facility;
(3) an institution for mental disease;

(4) an intermediate care facility for individuals with an in-
tellectual disability or related conditions; or

(5) asetting with the characteristics of an institution as de-
scribed in 42 CFR §441.530(a)(2)(V).

(c) Individuals receiving services through CFC are not pre-
cluded from receiving other home and community-based long-term ser-
vices and supports through other Medicaid state plan, waiver, grant, or
demonstration authorities.

(d) Services are limited by functional need as determined by
the assessment described in §354.1363(b) of this division (relating to

Assessment).
(e) MCOs are required to offer all CFC services to those MCO

(a) Community First Choice (CFC) services are provided by
long-term services and supports (LTSS) and state plan service providers
determined to be qualified by the State in an existing program.

(b) HHSC ensures that all current qualification standards are
maintained.

(c) Providers delivering CFC services include licensed Home
and Community Support Services [heme and community suppert ser-
viees] agencies (HCSSAs), certified Home and Community-based Ser-
vices (HCS) Program and Texas Home Living (TxHmL) providers,
[licensed] personal emergency response services agencies, qualified fi-
nancial management services agencies, and providers hired by indi-
viduals using the Consumer Directed Services (CDS) option who meet
qualifications.

§354.1366.  Consumer Directed Services and Service Responsibility
Option.

An individual that is eligible to receive Community First Choice [€EC]
services may choose to receive those services through a provider

agency or:
(1) the Consumer Directed Services (CDS) option in accor-

dance with 40 TAC Chapter 41 (relating to Consumer Directed Services
Option); or

(2) the Service Responsibility Option (SRO) in accordance
with 40 TAC Chapter 43 (relating to the Service Responsibility Op-
tion).

§354.1367.  Person-Centered Service Plan.
(a) Compliance with federal law. A person-centered service
planning process is provided in accordance with 42 CFR §441.540.

(b) Person-centered service plan facilitators. A person-cen-
tered service plan facilitator must complete HHSC-approved training
on person-centered service planning by June 1, 2017, or within two
years of hire date. Person-centered plan facilitators include:

(1) those that conduct the functional assessment for CFC
in the DBMD and CLASS waiver programs;

(2) LIDDAs in the HCS, TxHmL, and STAR+PLUS pro-

rams;
(3) MCOs in the STAR+PLUS and STAR Health pro-
grams; and
(4) DSHS case workers.

(c) Development of the person-centered service plan. The per-
son-centered service plan is created simultaneously and in conjunction
with the functional needs assessment.

(1) The person-centered service planning meeting is con-
ducted face-to-face and occurs at a time and location convenient to the
individual receiving services.

(2) The person-centered service plan is developed by the
service planning team, which consists of the individual, the individ-
ual's LAR, the person-centered service plan facilitator, and any other
individuals selected by the individual or the individual's LAR. The
provider may be a participant on the person-centered service planning
team. Other program rules may require certain other participants (for
example, the program director or a registered nurse designated by the
program provider in DBMD).

members who are eligible and are determined to need the services based
on an assessment conducted in accordance with §354.1363 of this di-
vision.

§$354.1365.  Provider Qualifications.

(3) Astheindividual's functional needs are assessed simul-
taneously, the person-centered service plan facilitator works with the
individual to identify the individual's goals, needs, and preferences
with regard to his or her services.
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(4) The person-centered service plan facilitator ensures
consideration of information from the individual or LAR to determine
any risks that might exist to the health and welfare of the individual as
a result of living in the community, and identifies and documents in
the person-centered service plan those services that are critical to the
health and welfare of the individual for which a backup plan must be

developed.

(5) The person-centered service plan incorporates cultural
considerations of the individual.

(6) The person-centered service plan includes documenta-
tion on whether the individual has chosen to receive services through
Consumer Directed Services or the Service Responsibility Option.

(7) The person-centered service plan is finalized and
agreed to in writing by the individual and signed by all persons and
providers responsible for its implementation.

(8) The person-centered service plan and functional needs
assessment must be made available to the direct service providers de-
livering CFC services.

(9) The person-centered service plan reflects that the set-
ting in which the individual lives meets the criteria outlined in 42 CFR
§441.530 and is chosen by the individual.

(10) The person-centered service plan is reviewed and re-
vised by the person-centered service planning team:

(A) at least annually;

(B) upon reassessment of functional need;

(C) when the individual's circumstances or needs
change significantly; or

(D) atthe request of the individual or legally authorized
representative through contact with the individual's person-centered

plan facilitator.
§354.1368. Fair Hearing.

An individual whose request for eligibility for the CFC option is de-
nied or is not acted upon with reasonable promptness, or an individual
whose CFC services have been terminated, suspended, denied, or re-
duced by HHSC has the right to request a fair hearing in accordance
with federal and state law.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 14, 2016.

TRD-201601214

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. TEXAS HEALTHCARE
TRANSFORMATION AND QUALITY
IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM

DIVISION 5. ACTIONS IN PREPARATION
FOR EXTENSION OF THE DSRIP PROGRAM

1 TAC §§354.1641, 354.1643, 354.1645, 354.1647, 354.1649

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
proposes new Division 5, §§354.1641, 354.1643, 354.1645,
354.1647 and 354.1649, concerning Actions in Preparation for
Extension of the DSRIP Program.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

In September 2015, HHSC proposed an extension of the Texas
Healthcare Transformation and Quality Improvement Program,
a Section 1115 Waiver that expires on September 30, 2016. As
part of the extension of the 1115 Waiver, HHSC intends to ex-
tend the Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment (DSRIP)
program. DSRIP is a program for hospitals and certain other
providers to propose and implement transformative projects that
increase access to care and quality of care.

To prepare for expected changes in the structure of DSRIP,
HHSC proposed a transition year to coincide with the first
demonstration year in the extension period (or sixth demon-
stration year overall). DSRIP performing providers must take
certain steps to prepare for the transition year. These proposed
new rules describe the steps expected of performing providers.

First, a performing provider may elect to continue, end, or re-
place their existing projects. Second, a performing provider may
request adjustments to certain DSRIP project characteristics.
Third, HHSC plans to require the provision of Quantifiable Pa-
tient Impact (QPI) data by a particular method and will require
that performing providers report Medicaid IDs as a necessary
component to getting a DSRIP payment. HHSC is offering ex-
ceptions to certain performing providers.

HHSC is currently negotiating with the Centers for Medicare &
Medicaid Services (CMS) on the extension of the DSRIP pro-
gram and the policies surrounding the transition year. HHSC will
update these rules, as necessary, in accordance with CMS guid-
ance.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

Proposed §354.1641 provides definitions specific to the new di-
vision.

Proposed §354.1643 describes the requirements for a perform-
ing provider to categorize an individual as Medicaid and Low-in-
come or Uninsured (MLIU) for purposes of the Quantifiable Pa-
tient Impact (QPI) milestone.

Proposed §354.1645 describes the actions that a current per-
forming provider must undertake in preparation for the transition
year.

Proposed §354.1647 describes certain methods by which a
performing provider may request alterations to current DSRIP
projects for the transition year.

Proposed §354.1649 describes requirements for the planned
transition year and the manner in which a performing provider
may request an exception to those planned requirements.

FISCAL NOTE

Greta Rymal, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Financial Ser-
vices for HHSC, has determined that for each year of the first five
years the proposed rules will be in effect, there will be no impact
to costs or revenues of state government.

There could be a fiscal impact on local governments. HHSC
can recoup funds under these proposed rules. In that case,
the DSRIP performing provider would return all Medicaid funds
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specified in the rule that have been received for the project.
HHSC would refund federal funds to CMS and intergovernmen-
tal transfers used as the non-federal portion would be returned
to the transferring entity. Due to uncertainties regarding which
projects would have funds recouped, HHSC lacks sufficient data
to provide an estimate of the possible fiscal impact to local gov-
ernments.

PUBLIC BENEFITS AND COSTS

Gary Jessee, State Medicaid Director, has determined that,
for each year of the first five years the proposed rules will be
in effect, the public will benefit from adoption of the proposed
rules. The anticipated public benefit will be the continued
transformation of the Texas healthcare system through more
efficient means.

Ms. Rymal has also determined that there are no economic costs
to persons required to comply with the proposed rules.

HHSC has determined that the proposed rules will not affect a
local economy or local employment.

SMALL BUSINESS AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALY-
SIS

HHSC has determined that the proposed rules would have no
adverse economic effect on small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses. Participation in the DSRIP program and in the DSRIP
transition year is voluntary and no small business or micro-busi-
ness is required to be involved in the program.

REGULATORY ANALYSIS

HHSC has determined that this proposal is not a "major environ-
mental rule" as defined by §2001.0225 of the Texas Government
Code. A "major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risk to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment or the
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under §2007.043 of the Government Code.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kim
Tucker, Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Brown
Heatly Building, 4900 North Lamar Boulevard, Mail Code H-425,
Austin, Texas 78751; by fax to (512) 730-7479; or by e-mail to
kimberly.tucker@hhsc.state.tx.us, within 30 days after publica-
tion of this proposal in the Texas Register.

PUBLIC HEARING

A public hearing is scheduled for April 11, 2016, at 9:30 a.m.
(central time) at the Brown-Heatly Building, Public Hearing
Room, located at 4900 North Lamar Boulevard, Austin, Texas
78751. Persons requiring further information, special assis-
tance, or accommodations should contact Amy Chandler at
(512) 487-3419.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rules are proposed under Texas Government Code
§531.0055, which provides the Executive Commissioner of
HHSC with rulemaking authority; and Texas Human Resources
Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code §531.021, which
authorize HHSC to administer the federal medical assistance
(Medicaid) program in Texas.

The new rules implement Texas Government Code, Chapter
531. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this
proposal.

§354.1641.

The following terms, when used in this division, have the following
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

Definitions.

(1) Extension period--The period of time, as approved by
the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), for which the
waiver is extended beyond the initial demonstration period.

(2) Federal poverty level--The household income guide-
lines issued annually and published in the Federal Register by the
United States Department of Health and Human Services.

(3) Initial demonstration period--The first five demonstra-
tion years (DY) of the waiver, or December 12, 2011, through Septem-
ber 30, 2016.

(4) Medicaid and Low-income or Uninsured (MLIU)
Quantifiable Patient Impact (QPI)--The number of MLIU individuals
served or encounters provided during the applicable DY that are
attributable to a DSRIP project.

(5) MLIU QPI Goal--The number of MLIU individuals
that a performing provider intends to serve, or the number of MLIU
encounters that a performing provider intends to provide, during the
applicable DY that are attributable to a DSRIP project.

(6) Transition year--As it relates to DSRIP, the first DY of
the extension period.

§$354.1643.  Medicaid and Low-income or Uninsured (MLIU) Quan-
tifiable Patient Impact (QPI).

(a) To qualify as a Medicaid individual for purposes of MLIU
QPI, the individual must be enrolled in Medicaid at the time of at least
one DSRIP project encounter during the applicable demonstration year

(DY).

(b) To qualify as a low-income or uninsured individual for pur-
poses of MLIU QPI, the individual must either be below 200% of the
federal poverty level or must not have health insurance at the time of
at least one DSRIP project encounter during the applicable DY.

(¢) If an individual was enrolled in Medicaid at the time of
one DSRIP project encounter during the applicable DY, and was low-
income or uninsured at the time of a separate DSRIP project encounter
during the applicable DY, that individual is classified as a Medicaid
individual for purposes of MLIU QPI.

§354.1645.  Electing to Continue a DSRIP Project in the Waiver Ex-
tension Period.

(a) If HHSC determines that a DSRIP project is ineligible to
continue, that DSRIP project may not participate in the transition year.
A performing provider affected by such a determination may be eligible
to submit replacement DSRIP projects with the funds associated with
the discontinued DSRIP project to begin in DY7.

(b) For each DSRIP project that HHSC determines is eligible
to continue, the performing provider must indicate, by a date to be
determined by HHSC, whether it chooses to:
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(1) discontinue the DSRIP project in the transition year; or

(2) continue the DSRIP project in the transition year.

(c) Ifaperforming provider chooses to discontinue the DSRIP
project in the transition year, the performing provider may not propose
any new DSRIP projects for the entirety of the extension period with
funds associated with the discontinued DSRIP project.

(d) If a performing provider chooses to continue the DSRIP
project in the transition year, the performing provider must indicate,
by a date to be determined by HHSC, whether it chooses to:

(1) continue the DSRIP project for the remainder of the ex-
tension period; or

(2) replace the DSRIP project with a new DSRIP project to
commence at the beginning of the second DY of the extension period.

(e) If, after choosing to continue the DSRIP project in the tran-
sition year, a performing provider decides not to continue that DSRIP
project, or decides not to replace that DSRIP project, HHSC will recoup
any transition year payments that the performing provider received for

that DSRIP project.
§$354.1647.  Requests for Adjustments to Certain DSRIP Projects.

(a) Performing providers of certain DSRIP projects may, by
a date to be determined by HHSC, request an adjustment to a DSRIP
project's transition year MLIU QPI goal. A DSRIP project eligible for
such a request includes:

(1) aDSRIP project that is underperforming on MLIU QPI
in the initial demonstration period;

(2) a DSRIP project that is reporting on clients that meet
the MLIU definition for the initial demonstration period, but will not
meet the MLIU definition for the extension period; and

(3) any other DSRIP project that HHSC determines has a
strong justification for an adjustment.

(b) Performing providers with a total valuation less than
$250,000 in demonstration year (DY) 5 may increase their total
valuation to up to $250,000 for each subsequent DY across Categories
1-4. Categories 1-4 are each increased proportionately if a performing
provider chooses this option. Performing providers eligible for such
an option must make this choice by a date to be determined by HHSC.

§354.1649. Certain Requirements for the Planned Transition Year
and their Exceptions.

(a) Tobeeligible for the MLIU QPI milestone payment, begin-
ning in the transition year, performing providers must report for each
DSRIP project:

(1) the MLIU individuals served or encounters provided at
the individual or encounter level as opposed to the percentage of total

QPI; and
(2) the Medicaid IDs for the Medicaid-enrolled individuals

served.

(b) There are limited exceptions to these requirements. Per-
forming providers may request an exception to these requirements by
a date to be determined by HHSC. DSRIP projects eligible for such a

request include:

(1) a DSRIP project for which the performing provider did
not assess the DSRIP project participants' health insurance coverage or
financial status prior to September 30, 2015, and instead used a proxy
to estimate the MLIU population served in their October DY4 QPI Re-
porting Template, and:

(A) utilizes an intervention site that is a school, non-
medical social service office (i.e., shelter), or community health fair;

(B) isinProject Area 1.6 (Enhance Urgent Medical Ad-
vice), 2.6 (Implement Evidence-based Health Promotion), or 2.7 (Im-
plement Evidence-based Disease Prevention Programs); or

(C) the performing provider is a Local Health Depart-
ment that does not bill Medicaid for the types of services provided
through the DSRIP project; or

(2) any other DSRIP project that HHSC determines has a
strong justification for an exception.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 9, 2016.

TRD-201601187

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900
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CHAPTER 382.  WOMEN'S HEALTH SERVICES
SUBCHAPTER A. HEALTHY TEXAS WOMEN

1 TAC §§382.1, 382.3, 382.5, 382.7, 382.9, 382.11, 382.13,
382.15, 382.17, 382.19, 382.21, 382.23, 382.25, 382.27,
382.29

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
proposes new Chapter 382, Women's Health Services, Sub-
chapter A, Healthy Texas Women, §382.1, concerning Intro-
duction; §382.3, concerning Non-entitlement and Availability;
§382.5, concerning Definitions; §382.7, concerning Client
Eligibility; §382.9, concerning Application and Renewal Proce-
dures; §382.11, concerning Financial Eligibility Requirements;
§382.13, concerning Denial, Suspension, or Termination of
Services and Client Appeals; §382.15, concerning Covered
and Non-covered Services; §382.17, concerning Health-Care
Providers; §382.19, concerning Prohibition of Abortion; §382.21,
concerning Reimbursement; §382.23, concerning Provider's
Request for Review of Claim Denial; §382.25, concerning
Confidentiality and Consent; §382.27, concerning Audits and
Reports; and §382.29, concerning Severability.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

In 2014, the Sunset Advisory Commission reviewed the Texas
Health and Human Services agencies, including its women's
health programs. The Sunset Advisory Commission issued the
recommendation that HHSC consolidate the women's health
care programs in order to improve service and efficiency for
clients and providers. This included the recommendation to
consolidate the existing Texas Women's Health Program at
HHSC and the Expanded Primary Healthcare Program at the
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) into one program
and division at HHSC.

In response to the Sunset Advisory Commission's recommen-
dations, the 84th Texas Legislature enacted Texas Government
Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C) to transfer client services functions
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performed by DSHS to HHSC. Texas Government Code
§531.0204 was also enacted to require the HHSC Executive
Commissioner to develop a transition plan which included an
outline of HHSC's reorganized structure, and a definition of
"client services functions."

Furthermore, the 2016-17 General Appropriations Act, House
Bill 1, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, merged the
women's health strategies (DSHS Strategy B.1.3., Family Plan-
ning Services, and Strategy B.1.4., Community Primary Care
Services) into a single strategy within the HHSC Budget (HHSC
Strategy D.2.3., Women's Health Services).

The transition plan developed by HHSC pursuant to Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.0204 included the consolidation of women's
health services performed in the HHSC Texas Women's Health
Program and DSHS Expanded Primary Health Care Program
under HHSC as of September 1, 2015.

On July 1, 2016, HHSC plans to consolidate the Texas Women's
Health Program and the Expanded Primary Healthcare Program
into a new program fully funded by state general revenue. The
new program will be named Healthy Texas Women. The Healthy
Texas Women program will be a successor program to the Med-
icaid Women's Health Program, and therefore subject to Texas
Human Resources Code §32.024(c-1). These proposed rules
are intended to transition and consolidate the Texas Women's
Health Program and the Expanded Primary Healthcare Program
into the Healthy Texas Women (HTW) program, which will be op-
erated by HHSC.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

Proposed §382.1 introduces the purpose of the rules and de-
scribes the statutory authority for adopting the rules.

Proposed §382.3 states that these rules do not create an enti-
tlement and that the services described in the rules are subject
to appropriated funds.

Proposed §382.5 defines certain terms used throughout the
HTW subchapter.

Proposed §382.7 describes the eligibility requirements for an
HTW client.

Proposed §382.9 details the procedure a woman must follow to
apply for HTW services and renew HTW services.

Proposed §382.11 describes the financial eligibility requirements
for an HTW client.

Proposed §382.13 describes when HHSC may deny, suspend,
or terminate HTW services to a client and the client's fair hearing
rights.

Proposed §382.15 lists those services that a client may, and may
not, receive through HTW. The list of services is generalized,;
further detail will be provided in policy.

Proposed §382.17 describes the requirements for HTW
providers.

Proposed §382.19 describes the prohibition of abortion proce-
dures provided by HTW providers.

Proposed §382.21 pertains to reimbursement for services cov-
ered by HTW.

Proposed §382.23 pertains to an HTW provider's request to
HHSC to review a denied claim.

Proposed §382.25 describes the confidentiality and consent poli-
cies for HTW.

Proposed §382.27 provides for audits to verify compliance with
applicable statutes and rules.

Proposed §382.29 describes the severability provision for the
HTW subchapter.

FISCAL NOTE

Greta Rymal, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Financial Ser-
vices, has determined that for each year of the first five years the
proposed rules are in effect there will be no impact to costs and
revenues of state and local governments.

SMALL AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALYSIS

HHSC has determined that there will be no adverse economic
effect on small businesses or micro-businesses to comply with
the proposed rules, as they will not be required to alter current
business practices as a result of the proposed rules.

PUBLIC BENEFIT

Lesley French, Associate Commissioner for the Women's Health
Program, has determined that for each year of the first five years
the rules are in effect, the public will benefit from the adoption of
the rules. The anticipated public benefit will be increased ac-
cess to women's health and family planning services including
positively impacting the health and wellbeing of women and their
families.

Ms. Rymal has also determined that there are no probable eco-
nomic costs to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed rules. There is no anticipated impact on local economies
nor is there an anticipated negative impact on local employment.

REGULATORY ANALYSIS

HHSC has determined that this proposal is not a "major environ-
mental rule" as defined by §2001.0225 of the Texas Government
Code. A "major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risk to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under §2007.043 of the Government Code.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Mea-
gan Kirby, Program Specialist; 1100 W. 49th Street, P.O. Box
149347; Austin, Texas 78714; by fax to (512) 776-7203; or by
e-mail to meagan.kirby@hhsc.state.tx.us within 30 days of pub-
lication of this proposal in the Texas Register.

PUBLIC HEARING

A public hearing is scheduled for April 26, 2016, from 9:00 a.m.
to 10:00 a.m. (CST), in the Brown-Heatly Public Hearing Room
located at 4900 North Lamar Boulevard, Austin, Texas 78751.
Persons requiring further information, special assistance, or ac-
commodations should contact Amy Chandler at (512)-487-3419.
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STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rules are proposed under Texas Government Code
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC
with broad rulemaking authority to adopt rules necessary to carry
out the commission's duties under Chapter 531.

The proposed new rules are authorized generally by Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C), which transfers client ser-
vices functions performed by DSHS to HHSC.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this proposal.
§382.1.

(a) Governing rules. This subchapter sets out rules governing
the administration of the Healthy Texas Women program (HTW).

Introduction.

(b) Authority. This subchapter is authorized generally by
Texas Government Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C), which transfers client
services functions performed by the Texas Department of State Health
Services to HHSC, and Texas Government Code §531.0204, which
requires the HHSC Executive Commissioner to develop a transition
plan which includes an outline of HHSC's reorganized structure and a
definition of client services functions.

(c) Objectives. HTW is established to achieve the following
overarching objectives:

(1) to increase access to women's health and family plan-
ning services to:

(A) avert unintended pregnancies;

(B) positively affect the outcome of future pregnancies;

and

(C) positively impact the health and wellbeing of
women and their families;

(2) to implement the state policy to favor childbirth and
family planning services that do not include elective abortion or the
promotion of elective abortion within the continuum of care or services;

(3) to ensure the efficient and effective use of state funds
in support of these objectives and to avoid the direct or indirect use of
state funds to promote or support elective abortion;

(4) toreduce the overall cost of publicly-funded health care
(including federally-funded health care) by providing low-income Tex-
ans access to safe, effective services that are consistent with these ob-
jectives; and

(5) to enforce Texas Human Resources Code §32.024(c-1)
and any other state law that regulates the delivery of non-federally
funded family planning services, to the extent permitted by the Con-
stitution of the United States.

§382.3.  Non-entitlement and Availability.

(a) No entitlement. This subchapter does not establish an en-
titlement to the services described in this subchapter.

(b) Fund availability. The services described in this subchap-
ter are subject to the availability of appropriated funds.

§382.5.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Affiliate--

(A) An individual or entity that has a legal relationship

(i) _common ownership, management, or control;

(ii) _a franchise; or

(iii) the granting or extension of a license or other
agreement that authorizes the affiliate to use the other entity's brand
name, trademark, service mark, or other registered identification mark.

(B) The written instruments referenced in subparagraph
(A) of this definition may include a certificate of formation, a fran-
chise agreement, standards of affiliation, bylaws, articles of incorpora-
tion or a license, but do not include agreements related to a physician's
participation in a physician group practice, such as a hospital group
agreement, staffing agreement, management agreement, or collabora-
tive practice agreement.

(2) Applicant--A female applying to receive services under
HTW, including a current client who is applying to renew.

(3) Budget group--Members of a household whose needs,
income, resources, and expenses are considered in determining eligi-

bility.

(4) Child--An adoptive, step, or natural child who is under
19 years of age.
(5) Client--A female who receives services through HTW.

(6) Contraceptive method--A broad range of birth control
options, approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration,
with the exception of emergency contraception.

(7) Corporate entity--A foreign or domestic non-natural
person, including a for-profit or nonprofit corporation, a partnership,
or a sole proprietorship.

(8) Covered service--A medical procedure for which HTW
will reimburse an enrolled health-care provider.

(9) Elective abortion--The intentional termination of a
pregnancy by an attending physician who knows that the female is
pregnant, using any means that is reasonably likely to cause the death
of the fetus. The term does not include the use of any such means:

(A) to terminate a pregnancy that resulted from an act
of rape or incest;

(B) in a case in which a female suffers from a physical
disorder, physical disability, or physical illness, including a life-endan-
gering physical condition caused by or arising from the pregnancy, that
would, as certified by a physician, place the female in danger of death
or risk of substantial impairment of a major bodily function unless an
abortion is performed; or

(C) in a case in which a fetus has a life-threatening
physical condition that, in reasonable medical judgment, regardless of
the provision of life-saving treatment, is incompatible with life outside
the womb.

(10) Family planning services--Educational or comprehen-
sive medical activities that enable individuals to determine freely the
number and spacing of their children and to select the means by which
this may be achieved.

(11) Federal poverty level--The household income guide-
lines issued annually and published in the Federal Register by the
United States Department of Health and Human Services.

(12) Health-care provider--A physician, physician as-
sistant, nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse
midwife, federally qualified health center, family planning agency,

with another entity, which relationship is created or governed by at least

health clinic, ambulatory surgical center, hospital ambulatory surgical

one written instrument that demonstrates:

center, laboratory, or rural health center.
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(13) Health clinic--A corporate entity that provides com-
prehensive preventive and primary health care services to outpatient

(b) Age. For purposes of subsection (a)(1)(A) of this section,
an applicant is considered 18 years of age on the day of her 18th birth-

clients, which must include both family planning services and diagno-

day and 44 years of age through the last day of the month of her 45th

sis and treatment of both acute and chronic illnesses and conditions in

birthday. For purposes of subsection (a)(1)(B) of this section, an appli-

three or more organ systems. The term does not include a clinic spe-

cant is considered 15 years of age the first day of the month of her 15th

cializing in family planning services.

(14) HHSC--The Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission or its designee.

(15) HTW--The Healthy Texas Women program adminis-
tered by HHSC as outlined in this subchapter.

(16) HTW provider--A health-care provider that performs

birthday and 17 years of age through the day before her 18th birthday.
A female is ineligible for HTW if her application is received the month
before her 15th birthday or the month after she turns 45 years of age.

(c) Third-party resources. An applicant with creditable health
coverage that would pay for all or part of the costs of covered services
may be eligible to receive covered services if she affirms, in a manner
satisfactory to HHSC, her belief that a party may retaliate against her

covered services. An HTW provider may be contracted with HHSC to

or cause physical or emotional harm if she assists HHSC (by providing

provide additional services.

(17) Medicaid--The Texas Medical Assistance Program, a
joint federal and state program provided for in Texas Human Resources
Code Chapter 32, and subject to Title XIX of the Social Security Act,
42 U.S.C. §§1396 et seq.

(18) Minor--In accordance with the Texas Family Code, a
person under 18 years of age who has never been married and never
been declared an adult by a court (emancipated).

(19) Provider--A physician, physician assistant, nurse
practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse midwife, fed-
erally qualified health center, family planning agency, health clinic,
ambulatory surgical, hospital ambulatory surgical center, laboratory,
or rural health center that receives funding from HHSC to provide
family planning services.

(20) Third-party resource--A person or organization, other
than HHSC or a person living with the applicant or client, who may
be liable as a source of payment of the applicant's or client's medical
expenses (for example, a health insurance company).

(21) Unintended pregnancy--Pregnancy a female reports as
either mistimed or undesired at the time of conception.

(22) U.S.C.--United States Code.

§382.7.  Client Eligibility.

(a) Criteria. A female is eligible to receive services through
HTW if she:

(1) meets the following age requirements:

(A) is 18 through 44 years of age, inclusive; or

(B) is 15 through 17 years of age, inclusive, and has a
parent or legal guardian apply, renew, and report changes to her case
on her behalf;

(2) is not pregnant;

(3) has countable income (as calculated under §382.11 of
this subchapter (relating to Financial Eligibility Requirements) that
does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty level;

(4) is a United States citizen, a United States national, or
an alien who qualifies under §382.9(g) of this subchapter (relating to
Application and Renewal Procedures);

(5) resides in Texas;

(6) does not currently receive benefits through a Medicaid

information or by any other means) in pursuing claims against that third
party. An applicant with such creditable health coverage who does not
comply with this requirement is ineligible to receive HTW benefits.

(d) Period of eligibility. A client is deemed eligible to receive
covered services for 12 continuous months after her application is ap-

proved, unless:
(1) the client dies;

(2) the client voluntarily withdraws;

(3) the client no longer satisfies criteria set out in subsec-
tion (a) of this section;

(4) state law no longer allows the female to be covered; or

(5) HHSC determines the client provided information af-
fecting her eligibility that was false at the time of application.

(e) Transfer of eligibility. A female who received services
through the Texas Women's Health Program is automatically enrolled
as an HTW client and is eligible to receive covered services for as long
as she would have been eligible for the Texas Women's Health Pro-
gram.

(f) Auto-Enrollment. A female who is receiving Medicaid for
pregnant women is enrolled into HTW at the end of her Medicaid for
pregnant women certification period. A female enrolled into HTW has
the option to opt out of receiving HTW. To be auto-enrolled, a female
must:

(1) be 18 to 44 years of age, inclusive, as defined in sub-
section (b) of this section;

(2) not be receiving active third-party resources at the time
of auto-enrollment; and

(3) be ineligible for any other Medicaid or CHIP program.

$382.9.  Application and Renewal Procedures.

(a) Application. A female, or a parent or legal guardian acting
on her behalf if she is 15 through 17 years of age, inclusive, may apply
for HTW services by completing an application form and providing
documentation as required by HHSC.

(1) Anapplicant may obtain an application in the following

ways:

(A) from a local benefits office of HHSC, an HTW
provider's office, or any other location that makes HTW applications
available;

program, Children's Health Insurance Program, or Medicare Part A or
B; and

(7) does not have creditable health coverage that covers the
services HTW provides, except as specified in subsection (c) of this
section.

(B) from the HTW or HHSC website;
(C) Dby calling 2-1-1; or

(D) by any other means approved by HHSC.
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(2) HHSC accepts and processes every application re-
ceived through the following means:

(A) in person at a local benefits office of HHSC;

(B) by fax;
(C) through the mail; or

(D) by any other means approved by HHSC.

(b) Processing timeline. HHSC processes an HTW application
by the 45th day after the date HHSC receives the application.

(c) Start of coverage. Program coverage begins on the first
day of the month in which HHSC receives a valid application. For
applicants 18 through 44 years of age, inclusive, a valid application
has, at a minimum, the applicant's name, address, and signature. For
applicants 15 through 17 years of age, inclusive, a valid application
has, at a minimum, the applicant's name, address, and the signature of

(A) the female age 18 through 44, inclusive, applying

for HTW;
(i) the female's spouse; and
(ii) _the female's children age 18 and younger; or
(B) the female age 15 through 17, inclusive, applying
for HTW,

(i) the female's parent(s);

(ii) _the female's siblings age 18 and younger; and

(iii) the female's children;

(2) In determining countable income, HHSC deducts the
following items:

(A) work-related expense deductions of up to $120 of
earned income;

a parent or legal guardian.

(d) Social security number (SSN) required. In accordance

(B) a dependent care deduction of $200 per month for
each child under two years of age, and $175 per month for each depen-

with 42 U.S.C. §405(c)(2)(C)(i), HHSC requires an applicant to

dent two years of age or older, including an earned income deduction

provide or apply for a social security number. If an applicant is not

for the actual costs of unreimbursed payments if the person incurs an

eligible to receive an SSN, the applicant must provide HHSC with

expense for the care of a child or incapacitated adult or transportation

any documents requested by HHSC to verify the applicant's identity.

of a child to and from day care or school;

HHSC requests, but does not require, budget group members who are
not applying for HTW to provide or apply for an SSN.

(e) Interviews. HHSC does not require an interview for pur-
poses of an eligibility determination. An applicant may, however, re-
quest an interview for an initial or renewal application.

(f) Identity. An applicant must verify her identity the first time

(C) payments to dependents living outside the home;

(D) alimony;
(E) child support payments; and

(F) _up to $75 per month in received regular child sup-
port payments, except HHSC counts all child support payments an

she applies to receive covered services.

(g) Citizenship. If an applicant is a United States citizen, she
must provide proof of citizenship. If the applicant, who is otherwise el-
igible to receive HTW services, is not an United States citizen, HHSC

applicant received if HHSC determines the applicant has violated an
agreement to assign child support to the State.

(3) HHSC exempts from the determination of countable in-
come the following types of income:

determines her eligibility in accordance with §366.513 of this title (re-
lating to Citizenship).

(h) Renewal. A female, or a parent or legal guardian acting on
her behalf if she is 15 through 17 years of age, inclusive, may renew
HTW services by completing a renewal form and providing documen-

(A) any income that federal law excludes;

(B) the earnings of a child:

(i) who is 18 years of age and is a full-time student,
including a home-schooled student, or a part-time student employed

tation as required by HHSC.

(1)  An HTW client will be sent a renewal packet during the
10th month of her 12-month certification period for HTW.

(2) HHSC accepts and processes every renewal form re-

less than 30 hours a week; or

(ii) who is under 18 years of age and is:

() a full-time student,
schooled student; or

including a home-

ceived through the following means:
(A) in person at a local benefits office of HHSC;

(B) by fax;
(C) through the mail; or

(D) by any other means approved by HHSC.

§382.11.  Financial Eligibility Requirements.

(a) Calculating countable income. Unless an applicant is ad-
junctively eligible as described in subsection (b) of this section, HHSC
determines an applicant's financial eligibility by calculating the appli-
cant's countable income. To determine countable income, HHSC adds
the incomes listed in paragraph (1) of this subsection, less any de-
ductions listed in paragraph (2) of this subsection, and exempting any
amounts listed in paragraph (3) of this subsection.

(1) To determine income eligibility, HHSC counts the in-
come of the following individuals if living together:

(1l)  apart-time student employment less than 30

hours a week;

(C) up to $300 per federal fiscal quarter in cash gifts
and contributions that are from private, nonprofit organizations and are
based on need;

(D) proceeds from claims on insurance policies to com-
pensate for a loss or that are used to pay medical expenses;

(E) payments from federal volunteer programs for vol-
unteer service, such as payments:

(i) for volunteer service in a senior citizen volunteer
program, under the Domestic Volunteer Service Act (42 U.S.C. §§5000
et seq.);

(ii) _for volunteer service to Volunteers in Service to
America (VISTA), (42 U.S.C. §§4951 - 4960); and
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(iii) _for volunteer service under the National and
Community Service Act (42 U.S.C. §§12511 - 12657);

(F) payments under the Workforce Innovation and Op-
portunity Act (29 U.S.C. §§3101, et seq.);

(G) the value of any benefits received under a govern-
ment nutrition assistance program that is based on need, including ben-

(Y) funds from adoption subsidy payments made under
Title IV-A (42 U.S.C. §§601, et seq.) and Title IV-E (42 U.S.C. §§670,
et seq.) of the Social Security Act;

(Z) funds from insurance policy dividends;

(AA) funds from veterans payments earmarked as a
housebound allowance or as an aid and attendance allowance;

efits under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
(formerly the Food Stamp Program)(7 U.S.C. §§2011-2036), the Child
Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 U.S.C. §§1771-1793), the National School
Lunch Act (42 U.S.C. §§1751-1769), and the Older Americans Act of

(BB) earned income tax credit payments;

(CC) federal, state, or local government payments pro-
vided to rebuild a home or replace personal possessions damaged in a

1965 (42 U.S.C. §§3056, et seq.);

(H) foster care payments;

(I) payments made under a government housing assis-

disaster, including payments under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Re-
lief and Emergency Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. §§5121 et seq.), if the
recipient is subject to legal sanction if the payment is not used as in-
tended;

tance program based on need;

(J) energy assistance payments;

(K) job training payments that:

(i) are earmarked as reimbursement for training-re-
lated expenses; and
(i) do not duplicate payment for an item that is cov-

(DD) funds from educational assistance payments (but
only during the quarter, semester, or applicable period that the payment
is intended to cover);

(EE) loans, if the circumstances satisfy HHSC that
there exists an understanding that the money will be repaid, and the
applicant or client reasonably explains to HHSC how the money will
be repaid; and

ered by budgetary needs;

(L) a lump sum provided and used to pay burial, le-
gal, or medical bills, or to replace damaged or lost possessions, except
HHSC does not exclude amounts from lump sums used for another pur-

0se;

(M) reimbursements for monies spent on items not cov-
ered by budgetary needs;

(N) amounts deducted from royalties for production ex-
penses and severance taxes;

(0) all income of Supplemental Security Income recip-

ients;

(P) third-party funds received and used for a third-party
beneficiary who is not a household member;

(Q) vendor payments made from funds not legally ob-

(FF) crime victim's compensation payments.

(b) Adjunctive eligibility. An applicant or client is considered
adjunctively eligible at an initial or renewal application, and therefore
automatically financially eligible, if:

(1) a member in her budget group receives benefits under
the Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) supplemental nutrition pro-

gram,

(2) she is a member of a certified Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program (SNAP) household;

(3) sheis in a Children's Medicaid budget group for some-
one receiving Medicaid; or

(4) sheisreceiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Fam-
ilies (TANF) cash or is in a TANF budget group for someone receiving
TANF cash.

ligated to the household;

(R) veterans benefits for special needs that are not items

§382.13.  Denial, Suspension, or Termination of Services and Client
Appeals.

covered by budgetary needs;

(S) workers' compensation payments legally obligated
to the recipient that are earmarked and used for medical expenses;

(T) the amount of any nonfarm self-employment in-
come offsetting a tax deduction taken that year for a farm loss, for
households with farms generating income of at least $1,000 annually;

(U) up to $2,000 of gifts annually from tax-exempt or-

(a) Notice and opportunity for hearing. HHSC may deny, sus-
pend, or terminate services to an applicant or client if it determines that
the applicant or client is ineligible to participate in HTW.

(b) Notice and opportunity for a fair hearing. Before HHSC
finalizes the denial, suspension, or termination under subsection (a) of
this section, the applicant or client is notified and provided an opportu-
nity for a fair hearing in accordance with Chapter 357, Subchapter A,
of this title (relating to Uniform Fair Hearing Rules).

ganizations provided to children with life-threatening conditions;

(V) independent living payments to youths who are

(c) Appeal procedures. An applicant or client who is ag-
grieved by the denial, suspension, or termination of services under

leaving foster care, as provided by the Social Security Act, Title IV-E

subsection (a) of this section may appeal the decision in accordance

(42 U.S.C. §§670 et seq.);

(W) funds from payments of up to $2,000 to Native
Americans made under the federal Old Age Assistance Claims Settle-
ment Act (25 U.S.C. §§2301-2307) or the federal Alaska Native Claims
Settlement Act (43 U.S.C. §§1601-1629);

(X) funds from payments made to volunteers under
Title 1 of the Domestic Volunteer Services Act of 1973 (42 U.S.C.

§§4950, et seq.);

with Chapter 357, Subchapter A of this title. An applicant or client
may not appeal a decision to deny, suspend, or terminate services if
the decision is the result of a decision by the State to reduce or stop
funding the program.

$382.15.  Covered and Non-covered Services.
(a) Covered services. Services provided through HTW in-
clude:

(1) health history and physical,
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(2) counseling and education;

(3) laboratory testing;

(4) provision of a contraceptive method;

(5) referrals for additional services, as needed;

(6) immunizations; and

(7) breast and cervical cancer screening and diagnostic ser-

(c) Defining "promote." For purposes of subsection (b) of this
section, the term "promote" means advancing, furthering, advocating,
or popularizing elective abortion by, for example:

(1) taking affirmative action to secure elective abortion ser-
vices for an HTW client (such as making an appointment, obtaining
consent for the elective abortion, arranging for transportation, nego-
tiating a reduction in an elective abortion provider fee, or arranging
or scheduling an elective abortion procedure); however, the term does

vices.

(b) Non-covered services.
HTW include:

Services not provided through

(1) counseling on and provision of abortion services;

(2) counseling on and provision of emergency contracep-
tives; and

(3) other services that cannot be appropriately billed with

not include providing upon the patient's request neutral, factual infor-
mation and nondirective counseling, including the name, address, tele-
phone number, and other relevant information about a provider;

(2) furnishing or displaying to an HTW client information
that publicizes or advertises an elective abortion service or provider; or

(3) using, displaying, or operating under a brand name,
trademark, service mark, or registered identification mark of an
organization that performs or promotes elective abortions.

a permissible procedure code.
$382.17.

Health-Care Providers.

(a) Procedures. An HTW provider must:

(1) be enrolled as a Medicaid provider in accordance with
Chapter 352 of this title (relating to Medicaid and Children's Health
Insurance Program Provider Enrollment);

(2) complete the HTW certification process as described in
subsection (e) of this section; and

(3) comply with the requirements set out in Chapter 354,
Subchapter A, Division 1 of this title (relating to Medicaid Procedures
for Providers).

(b) Requirements. An HTW provider must ensure that:

(1) the provider does not perform or promote elective abor-
tions outside the scope of HTW and is not an affiliate of an entity that
performs or promotes elective abortions; and

(2) _in offering or performing an HTW service, the provider:

(A) does not promote elective abortion within the scope

of HTW;

(B) maintains physical and financial separation be-
tween its HTW activities and any elective abortion-performing or
abortion-promoting activity, as evidenced by the following:

(i) physical separation of HTW services from any

(d) Compliance information. Upon request, an HTW provider
must provide HHSC with all information HHSC requires to determine
the provider's compliance with this section.

(e) Certification. Upon initial application for enrollment in
HTW, a provider must certify its compliance with subsection (b) of this
section and any other requirement specified by HHSC. Each provider
enrolled in HTW must annually certify that the provider complies with
subsection (b) of this section.

(f) Provider disqualification. If HHSC determines that an
HTW provider fails to comply with subsection (b) of this section,
HHSC disqualifies the provider from HTW.

(g) Client assistance and recoupment. If an HTW provider is
disqualified, HHSC takes appropriate action to:

(1) assist an HTW client to find an alternate provider; and

(2) recoup any funds paid to a disqualified provider for
HTW services performed during the period of disqualification.

(h) Exemption from initial certification. The initial applica-
tion requirement of subsection (g) of this section does not apply to a
provider that certified and was determined to be in compliance with the
requirements of the Texas Women's Health Program administered by
HHSC pursuant to Texas Human Resources Code §32.024(c-1).

$382.19.  Prohibition of Abortion.

Abortion is not considered a method of family planning, and no state

elective abortion activities, no matter what entity is responsible for the

funds appropriated for HTW family planning services are used to pay

activities;

(ii) _a governing board or other body that controls the
HTW health care provider has no board members who are also mem-

the direct or indirect costs (including overhead, rent, phones, equip-
ment, and utilities) of abortion procedures.

§382.21.

Reimbursement.

bers of the governing board of an entity that performs or promotes elec-
tive abortions;

(iii) accounting records that confirm that none of the
funds used to pay for HTW services directly or indirectly support the
performance or promotion of elective abortions by an affiliate; and

(iv) display of signs and other media that identify
HTW and the absence of signs or materials promoting elective abortion
in the provider's location or in the provider's public electronic commu-
nications; and

(C) does not use, display, or operate under a brand
name, trademark, service mark, or registered identification mark of an
organization that performs or promotes elective abortions.

(a) Reimbursement.

(1) Covered services provided through HTW are re-
imbursed in accordance with Chapter 355 of this title (relating to
Reimbursement Rates).

(2) Entities that contract with HHSC to provide additional
services related to HTW that are separate from services referenced in
paragraph (1) of this subsection are reimbursed by HHSC in compli-
ance with program standards, policy and procedures, and contract re-
quirements unless payment is prohibited by law.

(b) Claims procedures. An HTW provider must comply with
Chapter 354, Subchapter A, Divisions 1 and 5 of this title (relating
to Medicaid Procedures for Providers and relating to Physician and
Physician Assistant Services).
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(c) Improper use of reimbursement. An HTW provider may
not use any HTW funds received to pay the direct or indirect costs
(including overhead, rent, phones, equipment, and utilities) of elective
abortions.

§382.23.  Provider's Request for Review of Claim Denial.

(a) Review of denied claim. An HTW provider may request
a review of a denied claim. The request must be submitted as an ad-
ministrative appeal under Chapter 354, Subchapter I, Division 3 of this
title (relating to Appeals).

(b) Appeal procedures. An administrative appeal is subject
to the timelines and procedures set out in Chapter 354, Subchapter I,
Division 3 of this title and all other procedures and timelines applicable
to a provider's appeal of a Medicaid claim denial.

$382.25.  Confidentiality and Consent.

(a) Confidentiality required. An HTW provider must maintain
all health care information as confidential to the extent required by law.

(b) Written release authorization. Before an HTW provider
may release any information that might identify a particular client, that
client must authorize the release in writing. If the client is 15 through
17 years of age, inclusive, the client's parent, managing conservator, or
guardian, as authorized by Chapter 32 of the Texas Family Code or by
federal law or regulations, must authorize the release.

(c) Confidentiality training. An HTW provider's staff (paid
and unpaid) must be informed during orientation of the importance of
keeping client information confidential.

(d) Records monitoring. An HTW provider must monitor
client records to ensure that only appropriate staff and HHSC may
access the records.

(e) Assurance of confidentiality. An HTW provider must ver-
bally assure each client that her records are confidential and must ex-
plain the meaning of confidentiality.

(f) Consent for minors. HTW services must be provided with
consent from the minor's parent, managing conservator, or guardian
only as authorized by Texas Family Code, Chapter 32, or by federal
law or regulations.

§$382.27.  Audits and Reports.

(a) Compliance audits. HHSC may audit any HTW provider
to verify compliance with any applicable law or regulation.

(b) Reporting duties. An HTW provider must submit informa-
tion to HHSC as HHSC requires.

§382.29.  Severability.

(a) Legislative intent. The Texas Legislature, in enacting
Texas Human Resources Code §32.024(c-1), confirmed its intent that
the Healthy Texas Women program, as successor to the Medicaid
Women's Health Program, must be operated only in a manner that
ensures that no funds spent under the program are:

(1) spent to perform or promote elective abortions; or

(2) used to contract with entities that perform or promote
elective abortions or affiliates of such entities.

(b) Limitation on administration. HHSC, as the agency re-
sponsible for administering HTW, is subject to the conditions specified
in Texas Human Resources Code §32.024(c-1). Its authority to oper-
ate the program is thus strictly limited, and HHSC has no authority to
operate the HTW program except in compliance with such conditions.

(c) Nonseverable provisions.

(1) Section 382.5(1) of this subchapter (relating to Def-
initions) and §382.17 of this subchapter (relating to Health Care
Providers) are necessary and integral to the implementation of the
requirements of Texas Human Resources Code §32.024(c-1), the
fulfillment of legislative intent, and the achievement of the objectives
of HTW. As such, HHSC regards the provisions and application of
these sections as essential aspects of HHSC's compliance with state
law and, therefore, not severable from the other provisions of this

subchapter.

(2) Accordingly, to the extent that §382.5(1), §382.17, or
this section is determined by a court of competent jurisdiction to be
unconstitutional or unenforceable, or to the degree an official or em-
ployee of HHSC or the State of Texas is enjoined from enforcing these
sections, HHSC will regard this entire subchapter as invalid and unen-
forceable and will cease operation of the program.

(d) Severable provisions. To the extent that any part of this
subchapter other than §382.5(1), §382.17, or this section are enjoined,
HHSC may enforce the parts of the subchapter not affected by such
injunctive relief to the extent that HHSC determines it can do so con-
sistent with legislative intent and the objectives of this subchapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 14, 2016.

TRD-201601215

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900
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SUBCHAPTER B. FAMILY PLANNING
PROGRAM

1 TAC §§382.101, 382.103, 382.105, 382.107, 382.109,
382.111, 382.113, 382.115, 382.117, 382.119, 382.121,
382.123, 382.125, 382.127, 382.129

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
proposes new Chapter 382, Women's Health Services, Sub-
chapter B, Family Planning Program, §382.101, concerning
Introduction; §382.103, concerning Non-entitlement and Avail-
ability; §382.105, concerning Definitions; §382.107, concerning
Client Eligibility; §382.109, concerning Financial Eligibility
Requirements; §382.111, concerning Denial, Suspension, or
Termination of Services and Client Appeals; §382.113, concern-
ing Covered and Non-covered Services; §382.115, concerning
Health-Care Providers; §382.117, concerning Prohibition of
Abortion; §382.119, concerning Reimbursement; §382.121,
concerning Provider's Request for Review of Claim Denial;
§382.123, concerning Records Retention; §382.125, concern-
ing Confidentiality and Consent; §382.127, concerning FPP
Services for Minors; and §382.129, concerning Severability.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The HHSC Family Planning Program (FPP) provides statewide
family planning services to low-income women and men who do
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not have other sources of payment for services. A male or fe-
male is eligible to receive services through the FPP if he or she
is 64 years of age or younger, resides in Texas, and is at or be-
low 250 percent of the federal poverty level for the household.
Family planning services include preventive health, medical ser-
vices, counseling, and educational services.

In 2014, the Sunset Advisory Commission reviewed the Texas
Health and Human Services agencies, including the Family
Planning Program. The Sunset Advisory Commission issued
the recommendation that the FPP transfer from the Texas
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to HHSC. In re-
sponse to the Sunset Advisory Commission's recommendation,
the 84th Texas Legislature enacted Texas Government Code
§531.0201(a)(2)(C) to transfer client services functions per-
formed by DSHS to HHSC. Texas Government Code §531.0204
was also enacted to require the HHSC Executive Commissioner
to develop a transition plan which included an outline of HHSC's
reorganized structure, and a definition for "client services func-
tions."

The 2016-17 General Appropriations Act, House Bill 1, 84th Leg-
islature, Regular Session, 2015, merged the women's health
strategies (DSHS Strategy B.1.3., Family Planning Services, and
Strategy B.1.4., Community Primary Care Services) into a sin-
gle strategy within the HHSC Budget (HHSC Strategy D.2.3.,
Women's Health Services).

The transition plan developed by HHSC pursuant to Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.0204 included the transfer of the FPP from
DSHS to HHSC as of September 1, 2015. On July 1, 2016,
HHSC plans to begin a new procurement period for the FPP,
which is funded by state general revenue for client services and
some federal funds for administrative costs.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

Proposed §382.101 sets out rules governing the administration
of the HHSC FPP, including the statutory authority for adopting
the rules, and the program objectives. This program is separate
from family planning services provided through Medicaid.

Proposed §382.103 states that the rules in this subchapter do
not create an entitlement and that the services described are
subject to appropriated funds.

Proposed §382.105 provides definitions for terms used in this
subchapter.

Proposed §382.107 describes client eligibility requirements, in-
cluding point of service eligibility determination.

Proposed §382.109 describes financial eligibility requirements.

Proposed §382.111 describes when HHSC may deny, suspend,
or terminate services to a client and the client's fair hearing rights.

Proposed §382.113 lists covered and non-covered services.

Proposed §382.115 describes health-care provider require-
ments.

Proposed §382.117 clarifies that abortion is not considered a
method of family planning.

Proposed §382.119 pertains to reimbursement for services.

Proposed §382.121 describes claim denial procedures for
providers.

Proposed §382.123 outlines record retention requirements.

Proposed §382.125 describes provider confidentiality and client
consent requirements.

Proposed §382.127 describes the provision of family planning
services for minors.

Proposed §382.129 sets out the legislative intent for the opera-
tion of the Family Planning Program, the limitation on adminis-
tration, and non-severable provisions.

FISCAL NOTE

Greta Rymal, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Financial Ser-
vices, has determined that for each year of the first five years the
proposed rules are in effect, there will be no impact to costs and
revenues of state and local governments.

SMALL BUSINESSES AND MICRO-BUSINESS
ANALYSIS

HHSC anticipates no adverse economic effect on small busi-
nesses or micro-businesses to comply with the proposed rules,
as there is no requirement to alter current business practices.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Lesley French, Associate Commissioner for the Women's Health
Program, has determined that for each year of the first five years
the rules are in effect, the public will benefit from the adoption of
the rules. The public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing
or administering the rules will be continued access to family plan-
ning services for eligible, low-income men and women in Texas.

IMPACT

Ms. Rymal has also determined that there are no probable eco-
nomic costs to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed rules. The proposed rules are not anticipated to affect a
local economy, nor is there any anticipated negative impact on
local employment.

REGULATORY ANALYSIS

HHSC has determined that this proposal is not a "major environ-
mental rule" as defined by §2001.0225 of the Texas Government
Code. A "major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risk to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under §2007.043 of the Government Code.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Clau-
dia Himes-Crayton, Nurse Consultant, P.O. Box 149347, Austin,
Texas 78714, MC 0224; by fax to (512) 776-7203; or by e-mail
to famplan@hhsc.state.tx.us within 30 days of publication of this
proposal in the Texas Register.

PUBLIC HEARING

A public hearing is scheduled for April 26, 2016, from 9:00 a.m.
to 10:00 a.m. (CST), in the Brown-Heatly Public Hearing Room
located at 4900 North Lamar Boulevard, Austin, Texas 78751.
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Persons requiring further information, special assistance, or ac-
commodations should contact Amy Chandler at (512) 487-3419.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rules are proposed under Texas Government Code
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC
with broad rulemaking authority to carry out the Commission's
duties under Chapter 531.

The proposed new rules are authorized generally by Texas Gov-
ernment Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C), which transfers client ser-
vices functions performed by DSHS to HHSC.

The proposed new rules implement Texas Government Code,
Chapter 531. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected
by this proposal.

$382.101.

(a) Governing rules. This subchapter sets out rules govern-
ing the administration of the HHSC Family Planning Program. This
program is separate from family planning services provided through
Medicaid.

Introduction.

(b) Authority. This subchapter is authorized generally by
Texas Government Code §531.0201(a)(2)(C), which transfers client
services functions performed by the Texas Department of State Health
Services to HHSC, and Texas Government Code §531.0204 which
requires the HHSC Executive Commissioner to develop a transition
plan which includes an outline of HHSC's reorganized structure and a
definition of client services functions.

(c) Objectives. The HHSC Family Planning Program is estab-
lished to achieve the following overarching objectives:

(1) to increase access to health and family planning ser-
vices to:

(A) avert unintended pregnancies;

(B) positively affect the outcome of future pregnancies;

and

(C) positively impact the health and well-being of
women and their families;

(2) to implement the state policy to favor childbirth and
family planning services that do not include elective abortion or the
promotion of elective abortion within the continuum of care or services;

(3) to ensure the efficient and effective use of state funds
in support of these objectives and to avoid the direct or indirect use of
state funds to promote or support elective abortion;

(4) toreduce the overall cost of publicly-funded health care
(including federally-funded health care) by providing low-income Tex-
ans access to safe, effective services that are consistent with these ob-
jectives; and

(5) to enforce any state law that regulates the delivery of
non-federally funded family planning services, to the extent permitted
by the Constitution of the United States.

§$382.103.  Non-entitlement and Availability.

(a) No entitlement. This subchapter does not establish an en-
titlement to the services described in this subchapter.

(b) Fund availability. The services described in this subchap-
ter are subject to the availability of appropriated funds.
§382.105.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Affiliate--

(A) An individual or entity that has a legal relationship
with another entity, which relationship is created or governed by at least
one written instrument that demonstrates:

(i) common ownership, management, or control;

(i) a franchise; or

(iii) the granting or extension of a license or other
agreement that authorizes the affiliate to use the other entity's brand
name, trademark, service mark, or other registered identification mark.

(B) The written instruments referenced in subparagraph
(A) of this definition may include a certificate of formation, a fran-
chise agreement, standards of affiliation, bylaws, articles of incorpora-
tion or a license, but do not include agreements related to a physician's
participation in a physician group practice, such as a hospital group
agreement, staffing agreement, management agreement, or collabora-
tive practice agreement.

(2) Applicant--An individual applying to receive services
under FPP, including a current client who is applying to renew.

(3) Budget group--Members of a household whose needs,
income, resources, and expenses are considered in determining eligi-

bility.

(4) Client--Any individual seeking assistance from an FPP
provider to meet their family planning goals.

(5) Contraceptive method--A broad range of birth control
options, approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration,
with the exception of emergency contraception.

(6) Contractor--An entity that HHSC has contracted with
to provide services. The contractor is the responsible entity, even if a
subcontractor provides the service.

(7) Corporate entity--A foreign or domestic non-natural
person, including a for-profit or nonprofit corporation, a partnership,
or a sole proprietorship.

(8) Covered service--A medical procedure for which FPP
will reimburse a contracted health-care provider.

(9) Elective abortion--The intentional termination of a
pregnancy by an attending physician who knows that the female is
pregnant, using any means that is reasonably likely to cause the death
of the fetus. The term does not include the use of any such means:

(A) to terminate a pregnancy that resulted from an act
of rape or incest;

(B) in a case in which a female suffers from a physical
disorder, physical disability, or physical illness, including a life-endan-
gering physical condition caused by or arising from the pregnancy, that
would, as certified by a physician, place the female in danger of death
or risk of substantial impairment of a major bodily function unless an
abortion is performed; or

(C) in a case in which a fetus has a life-threatening
physical condition that, in reasonable medical judgment, regardless of
the provision of life-saving treatment, is incompatible with life outside
the womb.

(10) Family Planning Program (FPP)--The non-Medicaid
program administered by HHSC as outlined in this subchapter.

(11) Family planning services--Educational or comprehen-
sive medical activities that enable individuals to determine freely the
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number and spacing of their children and to select the means by which
this may be achieved.

(12) Federal poverty level--The household income guide-

(2) Medicaid for Pregnant Women;

(3) Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women,
Infants, and Children (WIC); or

lines issued annually and published in the Federal Register by the
United States Department of Health and Human Services.

(13) Health-care provider--A physician, physician as-
sistant, nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse
midwife, federally qualified health center, family planning agency,
health clinic, ambulatory surgical center, hospital ambulatory surgical
center, laboratory, or rural health center.

(14) Health clinic--A corporate entity that provides com-
prehensive preventive and primary health care services to outpatient
clients, which must include both family planning services and diagno-
sis and treatment of both acute and chronic illnesses and conditions in
three or more organ systems. The term does not include a clinic spe-
cializing in family planning services.

(15) HHSC--The Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission or its designee.

(16) Medicaid--The Texas Medical Assistance Program, a
joint federal and state program provided for in Texas Human Resources
Code Chapter 32, and subject to Title XIX of the Social Security Act,
42 U.S.C. §§1396 et seq.

(17) Minor--In accordance with the Texas Family Code, a
person under 18 years of age who has never been married and never
been declared an adult by a court (emancipated).

(18) Point of Service--The location where an individual
can receive FPP services.

(19) Provider--A physician, physician assistant, nurse
practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse midwife, fed-
erally qualified health center, family planning agency, health clinic,
ambulatory surgical, hospital ambulatory surgical center, laboratory,
or rural health center that receives funding from HHSC to provide
family planning services.

(20) Third-party resource--A person or organization, other
than HHSC or a person living with the applicant or client, who may
be liable as a source of payment of the applicant's or client's medical
expenses (for example, a health insurance company).

(21) Unintended pregnancy--Pregnancy a female reports as
either mistimed or undesired at the time of conception.

(22) U.S.C.--United States Code.
Client Eligibility.

§382.107.

(a) Criteria. A male or female is eligible to receive services
through FPP if:

(1) he or she is 64 years of age or younger;

(2) he or she resides in Texas; and

(3) has countable income (as calculated under §382.109
of this subchapter (relating to Financial Eligibility Requirements) that
does not exceed 250 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL).

(b) Contractors determine eligibility at the point of service in
accordance with program policy and procedures.

(c) Adjunctive eligibility--An applicant is considered adjunc-
tively (automatically) eligible for FPP services at an initial or renewal
eligibility screening if the applicant can provide proof of active enroll-
ment in one of the following programs:

(1) Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) Perinatal,

(4) Supplement Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).

$382.109.  Financial Eligibility Requirements.

Calculating countable income. FPP determines an applicant's financial
eligibility by calculating the applicant's countable income. To deter-
mine countable income, FPP adds the incomes listed in paragraph (1)
of this section, less any deductions listed in paragraph (2) of this sec-
tion, and exempting any amounts listed in paragraph (3) of this section.

(1) To determine income eligibility, FPP counts the income
of the following individuals if living together:

(A) the individual age 18 through 64, inclusive, apply-
ing for FPP;

(i) the individual's spouse; and

(ii) _the individual's children age 18 and younger; or

(B) the individual age 17 or younger, inclusive, apply-
ing for FPP;

(i) the individual's parent(s);

(ii) _the individual's siblings age 18 and younger; and

(iii) the individual's children;

(2) In determining countable income, FPP deducts the fol-
lowing items:
(A) adependent care deduction of up to $200 per month

for each child under two years of age, and up to $175 per month for each
dependent two years of age or older;

(B) a deduction of up to $175 per month for each de-
pendent adult with a disability; and

(C) child support payments.

(3) FPP exempts from the determination of countable in-
come the following types of income:

(A) the earnings of a child;

(B) up to $300 per federal fiscal quarter in cash gifts
and contributions that are from private, nonprofit organizations and are
based on need;

(C) Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF);

(D) the value of any benefits received under a govern-
ment nutrition assistance program that is based on need, including ben-
efits under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
(formerly the Food Stamp Program) (7 U.S.C. §§2011-2036), the Child
Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 U.S.C. §§1771-1793), the National School
Lunch Act (42 U.S.C. §§1751-1769), and the Older Americans Act of
1965 (42 U.S.C. §§3056, et seq.);

(E) foster care payments;

(F) payments made under a government housing assis-
tance program based on need;

(G) energy assistance payments;

(H) job training payments;

(D lump sum payments;

(J) Supplemental Security Income;

(K) adoption payments;
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(L) dividends, interest and royalties;

(M) Veteran's Administration;

(N) earned income tax credit payments;

(O) federal, state, or local government payments pro-

(2) must complete the FPP certification process as de-
scribed in subsection (g) of this section; and

(3) must comply with the requirements set out in Chapter
354, Subchapter A, Division 1 of this title (relating to Medicaid Proce-
dures for Providers).

vided to rebuild a home or replace personal possessions damaged in a
disaster, including payments under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Re-
lief and Emergency Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. §§5121 et seq.), if the
recipient is subject to legal sanction if the payment is not used as in-

(b) Requirements. An FPP provider must ensure that:

(1) the provider does not perform or promote elective abor-
tions outside the scope of FPP and is not an affiliate of an entity that

tended;

(P) educational assistance payments; and

(Q) crime victim's compensation payments.

$382.111.
Appeals.

(a) Notice and opportunity for hearing. HHSC may deny, sus-
pend, or terminate services to an applicant or client if it determines that
the applicant or client is ineligible to participate in FPP.

Denial, Suspension, or Termination of Services and Client

(b) Notice and opportunity for a fair hearing. Before HHSC
finalizes the denial, suspension, or termination under subsection (a) of
this section, the applicant or client is notified and provided an oppor-
tunity for a fair hearing in accordance with Chapter 357, Subchapter A
of this title (relating to Uniform Fair Hearing Rules).

(c) Appeal procedures. An applicant or client who is ag-
grieved by the denial, suspension, or termination of services under
subsection (a) of this section may appeal the decision in accordance
with Chapter 357, Subchapter A of this title. An applicant or client
may not appeal a decision to deny, suspend, or terminate services if
the decision is the result of a decision by the State to reduce or stop
funding the program.

§382.113.
(a) Covered services. Services provided through FPP include:

Covered and Non-covered Services.

(1) health history and physical;

(2) counseling and education;

(3) laboratory testing;

(4) provision of a contraceptive method;

(5) referrals for additional services, as needed;

(6) immunizations;

(7) breast and cervical cancer screening and diagnostic ser-
vices; and

(8) prenatal services.

(b) Non-covered services. Services not provided through FPP
include:

(1) counseling on and provision of abortion services;

(2) counseling on and provision of emergency contracep-
tives; and

(3) other services that cannot be appropriately billed with
a permissible procedure code.

§382.115.  Health-Care Providers.
(a) Procedures. An FPP provider must:

(1) Dbe enrolled as a Medicaid provider in accordance with
Chapter 352 of this title (relating to Medicaid and Children's Health

performs or promotes elective abortions; and

(2) in offering or performing an FPP service, the provider:

(A) does not promote elective abortion within the scope

of FPP;

(B) maintains physical and financial separation be-
tween its FPP activities and any elective abortion-performing or
abortion-promoting activity, as evidenced by the following:

(i) physical separation of FPP services from any
elective abortion activities, no matter what entity is responsible for the
activities;

(i) agoverning board or other body that controls the
FPP health care provider has no board members who are also members
of the governing board of an entity that performs or promotes elective
abortions;

(iii) accounting records that confirm that none of the
funds used to pay for FPP services directly or indirectly support the
performance or promotion of elective abortions by an affiliate; and

(iv) display of signs and other media that identify
FPP services and the absence of signs or materials promoting elective
abortion in the provider's location or in the provider's public electronic
communications; and

(C) does not use, display, or operate under a brand
name, trademark, service mark, or registered identification mark of an
organization that performs or promotes elective abortions.

(c) Defining "promote." For purposes of subsection (b) of this
section, the term "promote" means advancing, furthering, advocating,
or popularizing elective abortion by, for example:

(1) taking affirmative action to secure elective abortion ser-
vices for an FPP client (such as making an appointment, obtaining con-
sent for the elective abortion, arranging for transportation, negotiating
a reduction in an elective abortion provider fee, or arranging or sched-
uling an elective abortion procedure); however, the term does not in-
clude providing upon the patient's request neutral, factual information
and nondirective counseling, including the name, address, telephone
number, and other relevant information about a provider;

(2) furnishing or displaying to an FPP client information
that publicizes or advertises an elective abortion service or provider;
or

(3) using, displaying, or operating under a brand name,
trademark, service mark, or registered identification mark of an
organization that performs or promotes elective abortions.

(d) Compliance information. Upon request, an FPP provider
must provide HHSC with all information HHSC requires to determine
the provider's compliance with this section.

(e) Certification. Upon initial application for enrollment in
FPP, an FPP contractor must certify its compliance with subsection (b)

Insurance Program Provider Enrollment);

of'this section and any other requirement specified by HHSC. Each FPP
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contractor must annually certify that the contractor complies with sub-
section (b) of this section.

(f)  Provider disqualification. If HHSC determines that an FPP
provider fails to comply with subsection (b) of this section, HHSC dis-
qualifies the provider from providing FPP services under this subchap-
ter.

(g) Client assistance and recoupment. If an FPP provider is
disqualified from providing FPP services under this subchapter, HHSC
takes appropriate action to:

(1) assist an FPP client to find an alternate provider; and

(2) recoup any funds paid to a disqualified provider for FPP

(b) Written release authorization. Before a provider may re-
lease any information that might identify a particular client, that client
must authorize the release in writing. If the client is a minor, the client's
parent, managing conservator, or guardian, as authorized by Chapter 32
of the Texas Family Code or by federal law or regulations, must autho-
rize the release.

(c) Confidentiality training. A provider's staff (paid and un-
paid) must be informed during orientation of the importance of keeping
client information confidential.

(d) Records monitoring. A provider must monitor client
records to ensure that only appropriate staff and HHSC may access
the records.

services performed during the period of disqualification.

§382.117.  Prohibition of Abortion.

Abortion is not considered a method of family planning, and no state
funds appropriated for the FPP are used to pay the direct or indirect
costs (including overhead, rent, phones, equipment, and utilities) of
abortion procedures.

§382.119.  Reimbursement.
(a) Reimbursement.

(1) Covered services provided through FPP are reimbursed
in accordance with Chapter 355 of this title (relating to Reimbursement

(e) Assurance of confidentiality. A provider must verbally as-
sure each client that her records are confidential and must explain the
meaning of confidentiality.

() Consent for minors. FPP services must be provided with
consent from the minor's parent, managing conservator, or guardian
only as authorized by Texas Family Code, Chapter 32, or by federal

law or regulations.
§382.127.  FPP Services for Minors.

(a) Minors must be provided individualized family planning
counseling and family planning medical services that meet their spe-

Rates).

(2) Entities that contract with HHSC to provide additional
services related to family planning that are separate from services ref-
erenced in paragraph (1) of this subsection are reimbursed by HHSC in
compliance with program standards, policy and procedures, and con-
tract requirements unless payment is prohibited by law.

(b) Claims procedures. An FPP provider must comply with
Chapter 354, Subchapter A, Divisions 1 and 5 of this title (relating
to Medicaid Procedures for Providers and relating to Physician and
Physician Assistant Services).

(c) Improper use of reimbursement. An FPP provider may not

cific needs as soon as possible.

(b) The provider must ensure that:

(1) counseling for minors seeking family planning services
is provided with parental consent;

(2) counseling for minors includes information on use and
effectiveness of all medically approved birth control methods, includ-

ing abstinence; and

(3) appointment schedules are flexible enough to accom-
modate access for minors requesting services.

§$382.129.  Severability.

use any FPP funds received to pay the direct or indirect costs (including
overhead, rent, phones, equipment, and utilities) of elective abortions.

§382.121.  Provider's Request for Review of Claim Denial.

(a) Review of denied claim. An FPP provider may request a
review of a denied claim. The request must be submitted as an admin-
istrative appeal under Chapter 354, Subchapter I, Division 3 of this title
(relating to Appeals).

(b) Appeal procedures. An administrative appeal is subject
to the timelines and procedures set out in Chapter 354, Subchapter I,
Division 3 of this title and all other procedures and timelines applicable
to a provider's appeal of a Medicaid claim denial.

$§382.123.  Records Retention.

(a) FPP contractors must maintain, for the time period speci-
fied by the HHSC, all records pertaining to client services, contracts,

and payments.

(b) FPP contractors must comply with the Medicaid record re-
tention requirements found in §354.1004 of this title (relating to Re-
tention of Records).

(c) All records relating to services must be accessible for ex-
amination at any reasonable time to representatives of HHSC and as

required by law.

§$382.125.  Confidentiality and Consent.
(a) Confidentiality required. A provider must maintain all

(a) Legislative intent. It is the intent of the Texas Legislature
that FPP must be operated only in a manner that ensures that no funds
spent under the program are used to:

(1) perform or promote elective abortions; or

(2) contract with entities that perform or promote elective
abortions or affiliates of such entities.

(b) Limitation on administration. HHSC, as the agency re-
sponsible for administering FPP, is subject to the conditions specified
in state law and legislative appropriations. Its authority to operate the
program is thus strictly limited, and HHSC has no authority to operate
FPP except in compliance with such conditions.

(c) Nonseverable provisions.

(1) Section 382.105(1) of this subchapter (relating to
Definitions) and §382.115 of this subchapter (relating to Health-Care
Providers) are necessary and integral to the implementation of the
requirements of state law and legislative appropriations and the
achievement of the objectives of FPP. As such, HHSC regards the
provisions and application of these sections as essential aspects of
HHSC's compliance with state law and, therefore, not severable from
the other provisions of this subchapter.

(2) Accordingly, to the extent that §382.105(1), §382.115,
or this section is determined by a court of competent jurisdiction to
be unconstitutional or unenforceable, or to the degree an official or

health care information as confidential to the extent required by law.

employee of HHSC or the State of Texas is enjoined from enforcing
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these sections, HHSC will regard this entire subchapter as invalid and
unenforceable and will cease operation of the program.

(d) Severable provisions. To the extent that any part of this
subchapter other than §382.105(1), §382.115, or this section are en-
joined, HHSC may enforce the parts of the subchapter not affected by
such injunctive relief to the extent that HHSC determines it can do so
consistent with legislative intent and the objectives of this subchapter.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 14, 2016.

TRD-201601216

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 9. TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD

CHAPTER 183. ACUPUNCTURE
22 TAC §§183.2, 183.4, 183.5, 183.18, 183.20

The Texas Medical Board (Board) proposes amendments to
§183.2, concerning Definitions; §183.4, concerning Licensure;
§183.5, concerning Annual Renewal of License; §183.18,
concerning Administrative Penalties; and §183.20, concerning
Continuing Acupuncture Education.

The amendment to §183.2 adds definitions for "Military service
member," "Military spouse," "Military veteran," "Active duty," and
"Armed forces of the United States." These amendments are in
accordance with the passage of SB 1307 (84th Legislature, Reg-
ular Session) which amended Chapter 55 of the Texas Occupa-
tions Code.

The amendment to §183.4 adds language to subsection (a)(10),
Alternative Licensing Procedure, expanding subsection (a)(10)
to include military service members and military veterans. The
amendment also includes language allowing the executive di-
rector to waive any prerequisite to obtaining a license for an ap-
plicant described in subsection (a)(10) after reviewing the appli-
cant's credentials. These amendments are in accordance with
the passage of SB 1307 (84th Legislature, Regular Session),
which amended Chapter 55 of the Texas Occupations Code.
Subsection (a)(10)(F) adds a provision for recognizing certain
training for Applicants with military experience, based on the
passage of SB 0162 (83rd Legislature, Regular Session). The
change to subsection (c)(2)(A) deletes the word "either" to make
the sentence grammatically correct.

The amendment to §183.5 adds new subsection (h) providing
that military service members who hold a license to practice in
Texas are entitled to two years of additional time to complete any
other requirement related to the renewal of the military service
member's license. This amendment is in accordance with the
passage of SB 1307 (84th Legislature, Regular Session) which
amended Chapter 55 of the Texas Occupations Code.

The amendment to §183.18 deletes subsection (g) due to redun-
dancy, as Chapters 187 and 189 relating to Procedural Rules
and Compliance already address Administrative Penalties.

The amendment to §183.20 adds new subsection (w) providing
that an acupuncturist, who is a military service member, may
request an extension of time, not to exceed two years, to com-
plete any continuing education requirements. This amendment
is in accordance with the passage of SB 1307 (84th Legislature,
Regular Session) which amended Chapter 55 of the Texas Oc-
cupations Code.

Elsewhere in this issue of the Texas Register, the Board contem-
poraneously proposes the rule review for Chapter 183.

Scott Freshour, General Counsel for the Board, has determined
that for each year of the first five years the amendments as pro-
posed are in effect the public benefit anticipated as a result of en-
forcing this proposal will be to have rules that are grammatically
correct; clear and consistent with current processes, without be-
ing confusing or redundant; and to have rules that are consistent
with statutes.

Mr. Freshour has also determined that for the first five-year pe-
riod the amendments are in effect there will be no fiscal impli-
cation to state or local government as a result of enforcing the
amendments as proposed. There will be no effect to individuals
required to comply with the rules as proposed. There will be no
effect on small or micro-businesses.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Rita Chapin,
P.O. Box 2018, Austin, Texas 78768-2018 or e-mail comments
to: rules.development@tmb.state.tx.us. A public hearing will be
held at a later date.

The amendments are proposed under the authority of the Texas
Occupations Code Annotated, §205.101, which provides author-
ity for the Board to recommend rules to establish licensing and
other fees and recommend rules necessary to administer and
enforce this chapter.

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by this proposal.
§183.2.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have
the following meanings, unless the content clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) - (34) (No change.)

(35) Miilitary service member--A person who is on active

duty.

(36) Military spouse--A person who is married to a military
service member.

(37) Military veteran--A person who served on active duty
and who was discharged or released from active duty.

(38) Active duty--A person who is currently serving as full-
time military service member in the armed forces of the United States
or active duty military service as a member of the Texas military forces,
as defined by §437.001, Government Code, or similar military service
of another state.

(39) Armed forces of the United States--Army, Navy, Air
Force, Coast Guard, or Marine Corps of the United States or a reserve
unit of one of those branches of the armed forces.

$183.4.  Licensure.

(a) Qualifications. An applicant must present satisfactory
proof to the acupuncture board that the applicant:
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(1) is atleast 21 years of age;

(2) 1is of good professional character as defined in §183.2
of this chapter [title] (relating to Definitions);

(3) has successfully completed 60 semester hours of gen-
eral academic college level courses, other than in acupuncture school,
that are not remedial and would be acceptable at the time they were
completed for credit on an academic degree at a two or four year in-
stitution of higher education within the United States accredited by an
agency recognized by the Higher Education Coordinating Board or its
equivalent in other states as a regional accrediting body. Coursework
completed as a part of a degree program in acupuncture or Oriental
medicine may be accepted by the acupuncture board if, in the opinion
of the acupuncture board, such coursework is substantially equivalent
to the required hours of general academic college level coursework;

(4) is a graduate of an acceptable approved acupuncture
school,

(5) has taken and passed, within five attempts, each com-
ponent of the full National Certification Commission for Acupuncture
and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) examination. If an applicant sub-
mits to multiple attempts on a component before and on or after June 1,
2004, the number of attempts shall be combined based on the subject
matter tested;

(6) has taken and passed the CCAOM (Council of Col-
leges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine) Clean Needle Technique
(CNT) course and practical examination;

(7) for applicants who apply for a license on or after
September 1, 2007, passes a jurisprudence examination ("JP exam"),
which shall be conducted on the licensing requirements and other
laws, rules, or regulations applicable to the acupuncture profession
in this state. The jurisprudence examination shall be developed and
administered as follows:

(A) Questions for the JP Exam shall be prepared by
agency staff with input from the Acupuncture board and the agency
staff shall make arrangements for a facility by which applicants can
take the examination.

(B) Applicants must pass the JP exam with a score of 75
or better within three attempts, unless the Board allows an additional
attempt based upon a showing of good cause. An applicant who is
unable to pass the JP exam within three attempts must appear before the
Licensure Committee of the board to address the applicant's inability
to pass the examination and to re-evaluate the applicant's eligibility for
licensure. It is at the discretion of the committee to allow an applicant
additional attempts to take the JP exam.

(C) An examinee shall not be permitted to bring medi-
cal books, compends, notes, medical journals, calculators or other help
into the examination room, nor be allowed to communicate by word or
sign with another examinee while the examination is in progress with-
out permission of the presiding examiner, nor be allowed to leave the
examination room except when so permitted by the presiding exam-
iner.

(D) TIrregularities during an examination such as giving
or obtaining unauthorized information or aid as evidenced by observa-
tion or subsequent statistical analysis of answer sheets, shall be suffi-
cient cause to terminate an applicant's participation in an examination,
invalidate the applicant's examination results, or take other appropriate
action.

(E) A person who has passed the JP Exam shall not be
required to retake the Exam for another or similar license, except as a
specific requirement of the board.

(8) is able to communicate in English as demonstrated by
one of the following:

(A) passage of the NCCAOM examination taken in
English;

(B) passage ofthe TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign
Language) with a score of at least "intermediate" on the Reading and
Listening sections and a score of at least "fair" on the Speaking and
Writing sections of the Internet Based Test (iBT®), or a score of 550
or higher on the paper based test (PBT);

(C) passage of the TSE (Test of Spoken English) with a
score of 45 or higher;

(D) passage of the TOEIC (Test of English for Interna-
tional Communication) with a score of 500 or higher;

(E) graduation from an acceptable approved school of
acupuncture located in the United States or Canada; or

(F) at the discretion of the acupuncture board, passage
of any other similar, validated exam testing English competency given
by a testing service with results reported directly to the acupuncture
board or with results otherwise subject to verification by direct contact
between the testing service and the acupuncture board.

(9) can demonstrate current competence through the active
practice of acupuncture.

(A) All applicants for licensure shall provide sufficient
documentation to the board that the applicant has, on a full-time ba-
sis, actively treated persons, been a student at an acceptable approved
acupuncture school, or been on the active teaching faculty of an accept-
able approved acupuncture school, within either of the last two years
preceding receipt of an application for licensure.

(B) The term "full-time basis," for purposes of this sec-
tion, shall mean at least 20 hours per week for 40 weeks duration during
a given year.

(C) Applicants who do not meet the requirements of
subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph may, in the discretion of
the executive director or board, be eligible for an unrestricted license or
a restricted license subject to one or more of the following conditions
or restrictions:

(i) limitation of the practice of the applicant to spec-
ified components of the practice of acupuncture and/or exclusion of
specified components of the practice of acupuncture;

(i) remedial education; or

(iii)  such other remedial or restrictive conditions or
requirements that, in the discretion of the board, are necessary to ensure
protection of the public and minimal competency of the applicant to
safely practice acupuncture.

(10) Alternative License Procedure for Military Service
Members, Military Veterans and Military Spouses [Speuse].

(A) Anapplicant who is a military service member, mil-
itary veteran or military [the] spouse [of a member of the armed forees
of the United States assigned to a military unit headquartered in Texas]
may be eligible for alternative demonstrations of competency for cer-
tain licensure requirements. Unless specifically allowed in this subsec-
tion, an applicant must meet the requirements for licensure as specified
in this chapter.

(B) To be eligible, an applicant must be a military ser-
vice member, military veteran or military [the] spouse [ef a person serv-
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ing on active duty as a member of the armed forees of the United States]
and meet one of the following requirements:

(i) holds an active unrestricted acupuncture
[medieal] license issued by another state that has licensing require-
ments that are substantially equivalent to the requirements for a Texas
acupuncture license; or

(i) within the five years preceding the application
date held an acupuncture license in this state. [that expired and was
canecelled for nonpayment while the applicant lived in anether state for
at least six months:|

(C) The executive director may waive any prerequisite
to obtaining a license for an applicant described by this subsection after
reviewing the applicant's credentials.

(D) [€S)] Applications for licensure from applicants

qualifying under [paragraph (9)(A) and (B) of] this subsection shall be
expedited by the board's licensure division.

(E) [6B)] Alternative Demonstrations of Competency
Allowed. Applicants qualifying under [paragraph (9)}A) and (B) of]

this subsection:

(i) arenot required to comply with subsection (c)(1)
of this section; and

(i) notwithstanding the one year expiration in sub-
section (b)(1)(B) of this section, are allowed an additional 6 months to
complete the application prior to it becoming inactive; and

(iii) notwithstanding the 60 day deadline in subsec-
tion (b)(1)(G) of this section, may be considered for permanent licen-
sure up to 5 days prior to the board meeting.

(F) Applicants with Military Experience.

(i) For applications filed on or after March 1, 2014,
the board shall, with respect to an applicant who is a military service
member or military veteran as defined in §183.2 of this chapter, credit
verified military service, training, or education toward the licensing re-
quirements, other than an examination requirement, for a license issued

by the board.

(ii) This section does not apply to an applicant who:

(1) has had an acupuncture license suspended or
revoked by another state or a Canadian province;

(1) holds an acupuncture license issued by an-
other state or a Canadian province that is subject to a restriction, disci-
plinary order, or probationary order; or

(1II) has an unacceptable criminal history.

(b) Procedural rules for licensure applicants. The following
provisions shall apply to all licensure applicants.

(1) Applicants for licensure:

(A) whose documentation indicates any name other
than the name under which the applicant has applied must furnish
proof of the name change;

(B) whose applications have been filed with the board
in excess of one year will be considered expired. Any fee previously
submitted with that application shall be forfeited unless otherwise pro-
vided by §175.5 of this title (relating to Payment of Fees or Penalties).
Any further request for licensure will require submission of a new ap-
plication and inclusion of the current licensure fee. An extension to an
application may be granted under certain circumstances, including:

(i) Delay by board staff in processing an application;

(i) Application requires Licensure Committee
review after completion of all other processing and will expire prior to
the next scheduled meeting;

(iii) Licensure Committee requires an applicant to
meet specific additional requirements for licensure and the application
will expire prior to deadline established by the Committee;

(iv) Applicant requires a reasonable, limited addi-
tional period of time to obtain documentation after completing all other
requirements and demonstrating diligence in attempting to provide the
required documentation;

(v) Applicant is delayed due to unanticipated mili-
tary assignments, medical reasons, or catastrophic events;

(C) who in any way falsify the application may be re-
quired to appear before the acupuncture board. It will be at the dis-
cretion of the acupuncture board whether or not the applicant will be
issued a Texas acupuncture license;

(D) on whom adverse information is received by the
acupuncture board may be required to appear before the acupuncture
board. It will be at the discretion of the acupuncture board whether or
not the applicant will be issued a Texas license;

(E) shall be required to comply with the acupuncture
board's rules and regulations which are in effect at the time the com-
pleted application form and fee are filed with the board;

(F) may be required to sit for additional oral, written,
or practical examinations or demonstrations that, in the opinion of the
acupuncture board, are necessary to determine competency of the ap-
plicant;

(G) must have the application for licensure completed
and legible in every detail 60 days prior to the acupuncture board meet-
ing in which they are to be considered for licensure unless otherwise
determined by the acupuncture board based on good cause.

(2) Applicants for licensure who wish to request reasonable
accommodation due to a disability must submit the request at the time
of filing the application.

(3) Applicants who have been licensed in any other state,
province, or country shall complete a notarized oath or other verified
sworn statement in regard to the following:

(A) whether the license, certificate, or authority has
been the subject of proceedings against the applicant for the restriction
for cause, cancellation for cause, suspension for cause, or revocation
of the license, certificate, or authority to practice in the state, province,
or country, and if so, the status of such proceedings and any resulting
action; and

(B) whether an investigation in regard to the applicant
is pending in any jurisdiction or a prosecution is pending against the
applicant in any state, federal, national, local, or provincial court for

any offense that under the laws of the state of Texas is a felony, and if
so, the status of such prosecution or investigation.

(4) An applicant for a license to practice acupuncture
may not be required to appear before the acupuncture board or any
of its committees unless the application raises questions about the
applicant's:

(A) physical or mental impairment;
(B) criminal conviction; or
(C) revocation of a professional license.

(c) Licensure documentation.
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(1) Original documents/interview. Upon request, any ap-
plicant must appear for a personal interview at the board offices and
present original documents to a representative of the board for inspec-
tion. Original documents may include, but are not limited to, those
listed in paragraph (2) of this subsection.

(2) Required documentation. Documentation required of
all applicants for licensure shall include the following:

(A) Birth certificate/proof of age. Each applicant for
licensure must provide a copy of [either] a birth certificate, and trans-
lation[;] if necessary, to prove that the applicant is at least 21 years of
age. In instances where a birth certificate is not available, the applicant
must provide copies of a passport or other suitable alternate documen-
tation.

(B) Name change. Any applicant who submits docu-
mentation showing a name other than the name under which the ap-
plicant has applied must present copies of marriage licenses, divorce
decrees, or court orders stating the name change. In cases where the
applicant's name has been changed by naturalization the applicant must
submit the original naturalization certificate by hand delivery or by cer-
tified mail to the board office for inspection.

(C) Examination scores. Each applicant for licensure
must have a certified transcript of grades submitted directly from the
appropriate testing service to the acupuncture board for all examina-
tions used in Texas for purposes of licensure in Texas.

(D) Dean's certification. Each applicant for licensure
must have a certificate of graduation submitted directly from the
school of acupuncture on a form provided by the acupuncture board.
The applicant shall attach to the form a recent photograph, meeting
United States Government passport standards, before submitting it
to the school of acupuncture. The school shall have the Dean or the
designated appointee sign the form attesting to the information on the
form and placing the school seal over the photograph.

(E) Diploma or certificate. All applicants for licensure
must submit a copy of their diploma or certificate of graduation.

(F) Evaluations. All applicants must provide, on a form
furnished by the acupuncture board, evaluations of their professional
affiliations for the past ten years or since graduation from acupuncture
school, whichever is the shorter period.

(G) Preacupuncture school transcript. Each applicant
must have the appropriate school or schools submit a copy of the record
of their undergraduate education directly to the acupuncture board.
Transcripts must show courses taken and grades obtained. If deter-
mined that the documentation submitted by the applicant is not suffi-
cient to show proof of the completion of 60 semester hours of college
courses other than in acupuncture school, the applicant must obtain
coursework verification by submitting documentation to the acupunc-
ture board for a determination as to the adequacy of such education or
to a two or four year institution of higher education within the United
States. The institution must be preapproved by the board's executive
director and accredited by an agency recognized as a regional accred-
iting body by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board or its
equivalent in another state.

(H) School of acupuncture transcript. Each applicant
must have his or her acupuncture school submit a transcript of courses
taken and grades obtained directly to the acupuncture board. Tran-
scripts must clearly demonstrate completion of 1,800 instructional
hours, with at least 450 hours of herbal studies.

(I) Fingerprint card. Each applicant must submit his or
her fingerprints according to the procedure prescribed by the board.

(J) Other verification. For good cause shown, with the
approval of the acupuncture board, verification of any information re-
quired by this subsection may be made by a means not otherwise pro-
vided for in this subsection.

(3) Additional documentation. Applicants may be required
to submit other documentation, including but not limited to the follow-
ing:

(A) Translations. An accurate certified translation of
any document that is in a language other than the English language
must be submitted along with the original document or a certified copy
of the original document which has been translated.

(B) Arrest Records. If an applicant has ever been ar-
rested, a copy of the arrest and arrest disposition from the arresting au-
thority and must be submitted by that authority directly to the acupunc-
ture board.

(C) Malpractice. If an applicant has ever been named
in a malpractice claim filed with any liability carrier or if an applicant
has ever been named in a malpractice suit, the applicant shall submit
the following:

(i) a completed liability carrier form furnished by
the acupuncture board regarding each claim filed against the applicant's
insurance;

(ii)  for each claim that becomes a malpractice suit, a
letter from the attorney representing the applicant directly to this board
explaining the allegation, dates of the allegation, and current status of
the suit. If the suit has been closed, the attorney must state the dispo-
sition of the suit, and if any money was paid, the amount of the set-
tlement, unless release of such information is prohibited by law or an
order of a court with competent jurisdiction. If such letter is not avail-
able, the applicant will be required to furnish a notarized affidavit ex-
plaining why this letter cannot be provided; and

(iii) a statement, composed by the applicant, ex-
plaining the circumstances pertaining to patient care in defense of the
allegations.

(D) Inpatient treatment for alcohol/substance abuse or
mental illness. Each applicant that has been admitted to an inpatient
facility within the last five years for the treatment of alcohol/substance
abuse or mental illness must submit the following:

(i) an applicant's statement explaining the circum-
stances of the hospitalization;

(i) an admitting summary and discharge summary,
submitted directly from the inpatient facility;

(iii) a statement from the applicant's treating
physician/psychotherapist as to diagnosis, prognosis, medications
prescribed, and follow-up treatment recommended; and

(iv) a copy of any contracts or agreements signed
with any licensing authority.

(E) Outpatient treatment for alcohol/substance abuse or
mental illness. Each applicant that has been treated on an outpatient
basis within the last five years for alcohol/substance abuse or mental
illness must submit the following:

(i) an applicant's statement explaining the circum-
stances of the outpatient treatment;

(i) a statement from the applicant's treating
physician/psychotherapist as to diagnosis, prognosis, medications
prescribed, and follow-up treatment recommended; and
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(iii) a copy of any contracts or agreements signed
with any licensing authority.

(F) Additional documentation. Additional documenta-
tion as is deemed necessary to facilitate the investigation of any appli-
cation for licensure.

(G) DD214. A copy ofthe DD214 indicating separation
from any branch of the United States military must be submitted.

(H) Other verification. For good cause shown, with the
approval of the acupuncture board, verification of any information re-
quired by this subsection may be made by a means not otherwise pro-
vided for in this subsection.

(I) False documentation. Falsification of any affidavit
or submission of false information to obtain a license may subject an
acupuncturist to denial of a license or to discipline pursuant to the Act,
§205.351.

(4) Substitute documents/proof. The acupuncture board
may, at its discretion, allow substitute documents where proof of
exhaustive efforts on the applicant's part to secure the required docu-
ments is presented. These exceptions are reviewed by the acupuncture
board, a board committee, or the board's executive director on an
individual case-by-case basis.

(d) Temporary license.

(1) Issuance. The acupuncture board may, through the ex-
ecutive director of the agency, issue a temporary license to a licensure
applicant who:

(A) appears to meet all the qualifications for an
acupuncture license under the Act, but is waiting for the next sched-
uled meeting of the acupuncture board for review and for the license
to be issued; or

(B) has not, on a full-time basis, actively practiced as
an acupuncturist as defined under subsection (a)(9) of this section but
meets all other requirements for licensure.

(2) Duration/renewal. A temporary license shall be valid
for 100 days from the date issued and may be extended only for another
30 days after the date the initial temporary license expires. Issuance of
a temporary license may be subject to restrictions at the discretion of
the executive director and shall not be deemed dispositive in regard to
the decision by the acupuncture board to grant or deny an application
for a permanent license.

(e) Distinguished professor temporary license.

(1) Issuance. The acupuncture board may issue a distin-
guished professor temporary license to an acupuncturist who:

(A) holds a substantially equivalent license, certificate,
or authority to practice acupuncture in another state, province, or coun-
try;

(B) agrees to and limits any acupuncture practice in this
state to acupuncture practice for demonstration or teaching purposes for
acupuncture students and/or instructors, and in direct affiliation with an
acupuncture school that is a candidate for accreditation or has accredi-
tation through the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Ori-
ental Medicine (ACAOM) at which the students are trained and/or the
instructors teach;

(C) agrees to and limits practice to demonstrations or
instruction under the direct supervision of a licensed Texas acupunc-
turist who holds an unrestricted license to practice acupuncture in this
state;

(D) pays any required fees for issuance of the distin-
guished professor temporary license; and

(E) passes the JP Exam, as provided in subsection (a)(7)
of this section.

(2) Duration. The distinguished professor temporary li-
cense shall be valid for a continuous one-year period; however, the
permit is revocable at any time the board deems necessary. The dis-
tinguished professor temporary license shall automatically expire one
year after the date of issuance. The distinguished professor temporary
license may not be renewed or reissued.

(3) Disciplinary action. A distinguished professor tempo-
rary license may be denied, terminated, canceled, suspended, or re-
voked for any violation of acupuncture board rules or the Act, Sub-
chapter H.

(f) Relicensure. If an acupuncturist's license has been expired
for one year, it is considered to have been canceled, and the acupunc-
turist may not renew the license. The acupuncturist may submit an
application for relicensure and must comply with the requirements and
procedures for obtaining an original license.

§183.5. Annual Renewal of License.

(a) Acupuncturists licensed under the Act shall register annu-
ally and pay a fee. An acupuncturist may renew an unexpired license
by submitting the required form and by paying the required renewal
fee to the acupuncture board on or before the expiration date each year.
The fee shall accompany a written application which legibly sets forth
the licensee's name, mailing address, the place or places where the li-
censee is engaged in the practice of acupuncture, and other necessary
information prescribed by the acupuncture board.

(b) Falsification of an affidavit or submission of false infor-
mation to obtain renewal of a license shall subject an acupuncturist to
denial of a license renewal or to discipline pursuant to §205.351 of the
Act.

(c) If the renewal fee and completed application form are not
received on or before the expiration date, penalty fees will be imposed
as outlined in §175.3(3) of this title (relating to Penalties).

(d) If a acupuncturist's permit has been expired for 90 days or
less, the acupuncturist may obtain a new permit by submitting to the
board a completed permit application, the registration fee, as defined in
§175.2(3) of this title (relating to Registration and Renewal Fees) and
the penalty fee, as defined in §175.3(3)(A) of this title.

(e) If a acupuncturist's permit has been expired for more than
90 days but less than one year, the acupuncturist may obtain a new
permit by submitting to the board a completed permit application, the
registration fee, as defined in §175.2(3) of this title and the penalty fee,
as defined in §175.3(3)(B) of this title.

(f) Ifaacupuncturist's registration permit has been expired for
one year or longer, the acupuncturist's license is automatically can-
celed, unless an investigation is pending, and the acupuncturist may
not register for a new permit.

(g) Practicing acupuncture after a acupuncturist's permit has
expired under subsection (c) of this section without obtaining a new
registration permit for the current registration period has the same ef-
fect as, and is subject to all penalties of, practicing acupuncture without
a license.

(h) A military service member who holds an acupuncture li-
cense in Texas is entitled to two years of additional time to complete
any other requirement related to the renewal of the military service
member's license.
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§$183.18.  Administrative Penalties.

(a) Pursuant to §205.352 of the Act and Chapter 165 of the
Medical Practice Act, the board by order may impose an administra-
tive penalty, subject to the provisions of the APA, against a person li-
censed or regulated under the Act who violates the Act or a rule or
order adopted under the Act. The imposition of such a penalty shall be
consistent with the requirements of the Act and the APA.

(b) The penalty for a violation may be in an amount not to
exceed $5,000. Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate
violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.

(c) Prior to the imposition of an administrative penalty by
board order, a person must be given notice and opportunity to respond
and present evidence and argument on each issue that is the basis for
the proposed administrative penalty at a show compliance proceeding.

(d) The amount of the penalty shall be based on the factors set
forth under Chapter 190 of this title (relating to Disciplinary Guide-
lines).

(e) If the board by order determines that a violation has oc-
curred and imposes an administrative penalty on a person licensed or
regulated under the Act, the board shall give notice to the person of the
board's order which shall include a statement of the right of the person
to seek judicial review of the order.

(f) An administrative penalty may be imposed under this sec-
tion for the following:

(1) failure to timely comply with a board subpoena issued
by the board shall be grounds for the imposition of an administrative
penalty of no less than $100 and no more than $5,000 for each separate
violation;

(2) failure to timely comply with the terms, conditions, or
requirements of a board order shall be grounds for imposition of an
administrative penalty of no less than $100 and no more than $5,000
for each separate violation;

(3) failure to timely report a change of address to the board
shall be grounds for imposition of an administrative penalty of no less
than $100 and no more than $5,000 for each separate violation;

(4) failure to timely respond to a patient's communications
shall be grounds for imposition of an administrative penalty of no less
than $100 and no more than $5,000 for each separate violation;

(5) failure to comply with the complaint procedure notifi-
cation requirements as set forth in §183.11 of this chapter [title] (relat-
ing to Complaint Procedure Notification) shall be grounds for imposi-
tion of an administrative penalty of no less than $100 and no more than
$5,000 for each separate violation;

(6) failure to provide show compliance proceeding infor-
mation in the prescribed time shall be grounds for imposition of an
administrative penalty of no less than $100 and no more than $5,000
for each separate violation; and

(7) for any other violation other than quality of care that
the board deems appropriate shall be grounds for imposition of an ad-
ministrative penalty of no less than $100 and no more than $5,000 for
each separate violation.

He) In the case of untimely compliance with a board order; the
boeard staff shall not be authorized to impose an administrative penalty
or regulated under the Aet has net first been brought inte compliance

(g) [(1)] Any order proposed under this section shall be subject
to final approval by the board.

(h) [€)] Failure to pay an administrative penalty imposed
through an order shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the board
pursuant to the Act, §205.351(a)(10), regarding unprofessional or
dishonorable conduct likely to deceive or defraud, or injure the public,
and shall also be grounds for the executive director to refer the matter
to the attorney general for collection of the amount of the penalty.

(i) [6)] A person who becomes financially unable to pay an
administrative penalty after entry of an order imposing such a penalty,
upon a showing of good cause by a writing executed by the person
under oath and at the discretion of the Discipline and Ethics Committee
of'the board, may be granted an extension of time or deferral of no more
than one year from the date the administrative penalty is due. Upon the
conclusion of any such extension of time or deferral, if payment has not
been made in the manner and in the amount required, action authorized
by the terms of the order or subsection (h) [(1)] of this section.

$183.20. Continuing Acupuncture Education.
(a) - (¢) (No change.)

(d) Grounds for Exemption from Continuing Acupuncture Ed-
ucation. An acupuncturist may request in writing and may be exempt
from the annual minimum continuing acupuncture education require-
ments for one or more of the following reasons:

(1) the licensee's catastrophic illness;

(2) the licensee's military service of longer than one year
in duration;

(3) the licensee's acupuncture practice and residence of
longer than one year in duration outside the United States; and/or

(4) good cause shown on written application of the licensee
which gives satisfactory evidence to the board that the licensee is un-
able to comply with the requirements of continuing acupuncture edu-
cation.

(e) - (v) (No change.)
(W) An acupuncturist, who is a military service member, may

request an extension of time, not to exceed two years, to complete any
CAE requirements.
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 14, 2016.

TRD-201601217

Mari Robinson, J.D.

Executive Director

Texas Medical Board

Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 188. PERFUSIONISTS

22 TAC §§188.1 - 188.15, 188.17 - 188.24, 188.26, 188.28,
188.29

The Texas Medical Board (Board), and the Perfusionist Licen-
sure Advisory Committee (Advisory Committee), propose new
§§188.1 - 188.15, 188.17 - 188.24, 188.26, 188.28 and 188.29,
concerning Perfusionists. The proposed rules establish quali-
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fications, procedures, requirements and processes that enable
the Board to regulate the practice of perfusion and perform the
various functions, including licensing, compliance, and enforce-
ment, as it relates to the practice of perfusion in Texas.

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202),
84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which transferred
the Perfusionist licensing program, under Chapter 603 of the
Texas Occupations Code, from the Department of State Health
Services (DSHS) to the Texas Medical Board (Board). The
statutory amendments transferring regulation of Perfusionists
from DSHS to the Board took effect on September 1, 2015.

The proposed new rules under 22 TAC Chapter 188 are pro-
posed in accordance with the changes to Chapter 603 of the
Texas Occupations Code, as enacted by S.B. 202, and are nec-
essary to enable the Board to regulate the practice of perfusion
and perform the various functions, including licensing, compli-
ance, and enforcement relating the practice of perfusion.

The Advisory Committee met on February 12, 2016, to consider
a draft of these rules and recommended proposing them in the
Texas Register for public comment.

Scott Freshour, General Counsel for the Board, has determined
that for each year of the first five years the rules as proposed
are in effect the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforc-
ing the sections will be to implement the new statutory provisions
of Chapter 603 of the Texas Occupations Code, as enacted by
S.B. 202, which transfers the primary responsibility of licensing
and regulating the practice of perfusion to the Board and the Ad-
visory Committee. The proposed rules align processes and pro-
cedures, related to licensing and regulating the practice of per-
fusion, with the Board's current processes and procedures and
further enable the Board to perform the various functions, includ-
ing licensing, compliance, and enforcement, as it relates to the
practice of perfusion in Texas. Additionally, the proposed rules
benefit the public by setting forth practice and licensing require-
ments, as well as describe the disciplinary process and proce-
dures as it pertains to perfusionists. The rules clarify the Board's
authority and help insure the safe practice of properly trained and
qualified perfusionists in Texas. Moreover, the proposed rules
provide a mechanism for licensees to obtain treatment through
the Texas Physician Health Program for health conditions that
impair, or may impair, a licensee's practice of perfusion. The
proposed rules are organized to assist the public and the regu-
lated community in easily locating rules and regulations specific
to licensing, compliance, and enforcement, as it relates to the
practice of perfusion in Texas. Finally, the proposed rules are
streamlined so as to not duplicate provisions that are already lo-
cated in the statute under Chapter 603 of the Occupations Code
and other applicable rules in 22 TAC Part 9, which apply uni-
formly to licensees regulated by the Board.

Mr. Freshour has also determined that for the first five-year pe-
riod the rules are in effect there will be no fiscal implication to
state or local government as a result of enforcing the sections
as proposed. The effect to individuals required to comply with
the sections, as proposed, will be the fees associated with licen-
sure and registration. There will be no effect on small or micro
businesses.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Rita Chapin,
P.O. Box 2018, Austin, Texas 78768-2018 or e-mail comments
to: rules.development@tmb.state.tx.us. A public hearing will be
held at a later date.

The new rules are proposed under the authority of the Texas
Occupations Code Annotated, §603.152, which provide author-
ity for the Board to adopt rules as necessary to: regulate the
practice of perfusion; enforce Chapter 603 of the Texas Occu-
pations Code; and perform its duties under Chapter 603 of the
Texas Occupations Code.

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by this proposal.

§188.1. Purpose.

These rules are promulgated under the authority Medical Practice Act
Title 3, Subtitle B, Tex. Occ. Code and the Licensed Perfusionist Act,
Texas Occupations Code Annotated Chapter 603. The purpose of these
rules is to establish procedures and standards for the training, educa-
tion, licensing, and discipline of persons performing perfusion in this
state so as to establish an orderly system of regulating the practice of
perfusion in a manner which protects the health, safety, and welfare of
the public. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be construed
to relieve the supervising or ordering physician of the professional or
legal responsibility for the care and treatment of his or her patients.
In addition, nothing in these rules and regulations shall be construed
to require licensure as a perfusionist for those individuals who are ex-
empted, under §603.004 of the Act.

§188.2.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Act--The Licensed Perfusionists Act, Title 3, Subtitle
K, Texas Occupations Code Annotated Chapter 603.

(2) Active duty--A person who is currently serving as full-
time military service member in the armed forces of the United States
or active duty military service as a member of the Texas military forces,
as defined by §437.001, Government Code, or similar military service
of another state.

(3) Address of record--The mailing address of each li-
censee or applicant as provided to the agency pursuant to the Act.

(4) Advisory committee--The Perfusionist Licensure Ad-
visory Committee, an informal advisory committee to the board whose
purpose is to advise the board regarding rules relating to the licensure,
enforcement, and discipline of perfusionists.

(5) APA--Administrative Procedure Act, Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 2001 as amended.

(6) Applicant--A person seeking a perfusionist license
from the board.

(7) Armed forces of the United States--Army, Navy, Air
Force, Coast Guard, or Marine Corps of the United States or a reserve
unit of one of those branches of the armed forces.

(8) Board--The Texas Medical Board.

(9) Delegating physician--A physician licensed by the
board who delegates, to a licensed perfusionist, the practice of perfu-
sion.

(10) Health care professional--A licensed perfusionist,
provisional licensed perfusionist, or any person licensed, certified, or
registered by the state in a health-related profession.

(11) Military service member--A person who is on active

duty.

(12) Military spouse--A person who is married to a military
service member.
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(13) Military veteran--A person who served on active duty

the activities of, and accepting responsibility for, the perfusion services

and who was discharged or released from active duty.

(14) Perfusion--The function necessary for the support,

rendered by a provisionally licensed perfusionist.
§188.3.  Meetings.

treatment, measurement, or supplementation of the cardiovascular,
circulatory, or respiratory system, or a combination of those activities,
and to ensure the safe management of physiologic functions by
monitoring the parameters of the system under an order and under the
supervision of a licensed physician, including:

(A) the use of extracorporeal circulation, cardiopul-
monary support techniques, and other therapeutic and diagnostic

technologies;

(B) counterpulsation, ventricular assistance, or auto-
transfusion (including blood conservation techniques), administration
of cardioplegia, and isolated limb perfusion;

(C) theuse of techniques involving blood management,
advanced life support, and other related functions; and

(D) in the performance of the acts described in this sub-

section:

(i) the administration of:

(I) pharmacological and therapeutic agents; or

(II) blood products or anesthetic agents through
the extracorporeal circuit or through an intravenous line as ordered by

a physician;

(ii) the performance and use of:

(1) anticoagulation analysis;

(1l) _physiologic analysis;

(I1I) blood gas and chemistry analysis;

(IV) hematocrit analysis;

(V) _hypothermia;
(VI) hyperthermia;

(VII) hemoconcentration; and
(VIIl) hemodilution; and

(iii) _the observation of signs and symptoms related
to perfusion services, the determination of whether the signs and symp-
toms exhibit abnormal characteristics, and the implementation of ap-
propriate reporting, perfusion protocols, or changes in or the initiation
of emergency procedures.

(15) Perfusionist--A person licensed as a perfusionist by
the board.

(16) Perfusion protocols--Perfusion-related policies and
protocols developed or approved by a licensed health facility or a
physician through collaboration with administrators, licensed perfu-
sionists, and other health professionals.

(17) Provisional licensed perfusionist--A person provi-
sionally licensed as a perfusionist by the board.

(18) Submit--The term used to indicate that a completed
item has been actually received and date-stamped by the board along
with all required documentation and fees, if any.

(19) Supervision--Supervision of a provisionally licensed
perfusionist by a licensed perfusionist or a physician who is licensed
by the Texas Medical Board and certified by the American Board of
Thoracic Surgery or certified in cardiovascular surgery by the Amer-
ican Osteopathic Board of Surgery. Supervision includes overseeing

(a) The advisory committee shall meet as requested by the
board to carry out the mandates of the Act.

(b) A meeting may be held by telephone conference call.

(c) Special meetings may be called by the president of the
board, by resolution of the board, or upon written request to the presid-
ing officer of the board signed by at least three members of the board.

(d) Advisory committee meetings shall, to the extent possible,
be conducted pursuant to the provisions of Robert's Rules of Order
Newly Revised unless, by rule, the board adopts a different procedure.

(e) All issues requiring a vote of the committee shall be de-
cided by a simple majority of the members present.

$188.4.  Qualifications for Licensure.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, an individual
applying for licensure must:

(1) submit an application on forms approved by the board;

(2) pay the appropriate application fee;

(3) certify that the applicant is mentally and physically able
to function safely as a perfusionist;

(4) not have a license, certification, or registration in this
state or from any other licensing authority or certifying professional
organization that is currently revoked, suspended, or subject to proba-
tion or other disciplinary action for cause;

(5) have no proceedings that have been instituted against
the applicant for the restriction, cancellation, suspension, or revocation
of certificate, license, or authority to practice perfusion in the state, ter-
ritory, Canadian province, country, or uniformed service of the United
States in which it was issued;

(6) have no prosecution pending against the applicant in
any state, federal, or Canadian court for any offense that under the laws
of this state is a felony;

(7) be of good professional character;

(8) not have violated any provision of any federal or state
statute relating to confidentiality of patient communications or records;

(9) nothave been convicted of a felony or a crime involving
moral turpitude;

(10) not use drugs or alcohol to an extent that affects the
applicant's professional competency;

(11) not have engaged in fraud or deceit in applying for a

license;

(12) pass an independently evaluated perfusionist exami-
nation approved by the board;

(13) have successfully completed an educational program
as set forth in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph:

(A) aperfusion education program that is accredited by
the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
(CAAHEP) at the time of graduation; or

(B) a substantially equivalent program with require-
ments as stringent as those established by the Accreditation Committee
for Perfusion Education (AC-PE) and approved by the board.
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(i) Degrees and course work received in interna-

amination room, nor be allowed to communicate by word or sign

tional countries shall be acceptable only if the degree or coursework

with another examinee while the examination is in progress without

has educational standards that are as stringent as those established by

permission of the presiding examiner, nor be allowed to leave the ex-

the AC-PE and approved by CAAHEP or their successors.

(ii) An international training program shall be ac-
ceptable only if it has educational standards as stringent as those es-

amination room except when so permitted by the presiding examiner.

(4) Irregularities during an examination such as giving or
obtaining unauthorized information or aid as evidenced by observation

tablished by the AC-PE and approved by the CAAHEP or their succes-

or subsequent statistical analysis of answer sheets, shall be sufficient

SOrS.

(14) submit a complete and legible set of fingerprints, on
a form prescribed by the medical board, to the medical board or to
the Department of Public Safety for the purpose of obtaining criminal
history record information from the Department of Public Safety and

cause to terminate an applicant's participation in an examination, in-
validate the applicant's examination results, or take other appropriate
action.

(5) A person who has passed the JP Exam shall not be re-
quired to retake the Exam for another or similar license, except as a

the Federal Bureau of Investigation, as required by §603.2571 of the

specific requirement of the board.

Act.

(15) submit to the board any other information the board

(6) The JP examination must be taken and passed no more
than two years prior to the date of the application for licensure.

considers necessary to evaluate the applicant's qualifications.

(b) Competency Examination. An individual applying for li-

(d) Alternative License Procedures for Military Service Mem-
bers, Military Veterans, and Military Spouses.

censure must submit proof of passage of the required perfusion exam-
ination administered by the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfu-

sion (ABCP).
(1) If an applicant has already successfully completed the

(1) Anapplicant who is a military service member, military
veteran, or military spouse may be eligible for alternative demonstra-
tions of competency for certain licensure requirements. Unless specif-
ically allowed in this subsection, an applicant must meet the require-

required examination administered by the ABCP, the applicant shall not

ments for licensure as specified in this chapter.

be required to be reexamined, provided that the applicant furnishes the
board with a copy of the test results indicating that the applicant passed
the examination and proof'that he or she has been certified by the ABCP
for some time period within three years immediately preceding date of
application.

(2) An applicant who fails the required competency exam-
ination administered by the ABCP four times may not reapply as a pro-
visional licensed perfusionist.

(3) The board shall waive the examination requirement for
an applicant who, at the time of application:

(A) s licensed or certified by another state that has li-
censing or certification requirements that the board determines to be
substantially equivalent to the requirements of this chapter; or

(B) holds a certificate as a certified clinical perfusionist
issued by the ABCP before January 1, 1994, authorizing the holder to
practice perfusion in a state that does not license or certify perfusionists.

(c) Jurisprudence Examination. Applicants for licensure must
pass a jurisprudence examination ("JP exam"), which shall be con-
ducted on the licensing requirements and other laws, rules, or regu-
lations applicable to the perfusionist profession in this state. The ju-
risprudence examination shall be developed and administered as fol-

(2) To be eligible, an applicant must be a military service
member, military veteran, or military spouse and meet one of the fol-
lowing requirements:

(A) holds an active unrestricted perfusionist license is-
sued by another state that has licensing requirements that are substan-
tially equivalent to the requirements for a Texas perfusionist license; or

(B) within the five years preceding the application date
held a perfusionist license in this state.

(3) The executive director may waive any prerequisite to
obtaining a license for an applicant described by this subsection after
reviewing the applicant's credentials.

(4) Applications for licensure from applicants qualifying
under this section, shall be expedited by the board's licensure division.
Such applicants shall be notified, in writing or by electronic means, as
soon as practicable, of the requirements and process for renewal of the
license.

(5) Alternative Demonstrations of Competency Allowed.
Applicants qualifying under this section, notwithstanding:

(A) the one year expiration in §188.5 of this chapter (re-
lating to Procedural Rules for Licensure Applicants), are allowed an

lows:

(1) Questions for the JP Exam shall be prepared by agency
staff with input from the Advisory Committee and board and the agency
staff shall make arrangements for a facility by which applicants can

additional six months to complete the application prior to it becoming
inactive; and

(B) the requirement to produce a copy of a valid and
current certificate demonstrating completion of an educational program

take the examination.

(2) Applicants must pass the JP exam with a score of 75
or better within three attempts, unless the board allows an additional
attempt based upon a showing of good cause. An applicant who is
unable to pass the JP exam within three attempts must appear before the
Licensure Committee of the board to address the applicant's inability
to pass the examination and to re-evaluate the applicant's eligibility for
licensure. It is at the discretion of the committee to allow an applicant
additional attempts to take the JP exam.

(3) An examinee shall not be permitted to bring books,
compends, notes, journals, calculators or other help into the ex-

as described in this section and required in §188.6 of this chapter (re-
lating to Licensure Documentation), may substitute certification from
the ABCP if'it is made on a valid examination transcript.

(e) Applicants with Military Experience.

(1) The board shall, with respect to an applicant who is a
military service member or military veteran as defined in §188.2 of
this chapter (relating to Definitions), credit verified military service,
training, or education toward the licensing requirements, other than an
examination requirement, for a license issued by the board.

(2) This section does not apply to an applicant who:
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(A) has had a perfusionist license suspended or revoked

board following a recommendation by the Licensure Committee, in

by another state, territory, Canadian province or country;

(B) holds a perfusionist license issued by another state,
territory, Canadian province or country that is subject to a restriction,
disciplinary order, or probationary order; or

(C) has an unacceptable criminal history.

§$188.5.  Procedural Rules for Licensure Applicants.
(a) An applicant for licensure:

(1) whose documentation indicates any name other than the
name under which the applicant has applied must furnish proof of the

name change;

(2) whose applications have been filed with the board in
excess of one year will be considered expired. Any fee previously sub-
mitted with that application shall be forfeited unless otherwise provided
by §175.5 of this title (relating to Payment of Fees or Penalties). Any
further request for licensure will require submission of a new appli-
cation and inclusion of the current licensure fee. An extension to an
application may be granted under certain circumstances, including:

(A) Delay by board staff in processing an application;

(B) Application requires Licensure Committee review
after completion of all other processing and will expire prior to the next
scheduled meeting;

(C) Licensure Committee requires an applicant to meet

specific additional requirements for licensure and the application will
expire prior to deadline established by the Committee;

(D) Applicant requires a reasonable, limited additional
period of time to obtain documentation after completing all other re-
quirements and demonstrating diligence in attempting to provide the
required documentation;

(E) Applicant is delayed due to unanticipated military
assignments, medical reasons, or catastrophic events;

(3) who in any way falsifies the application may be re-
quired to appear before the board. It will be at the discretion of the
board whether or not the applicant will be issued a license;

(4) on whom adverse information is received by the board
may be required to appear before the board. It will be at the discretion
of the board whether or not the applicant will be issued a license;

(5) shall be required to comply with the board's rules and
regulations which are in effect at the time the completed application
form and fee are received by the board; and

(6) must complete an oath swearing that the applicant has
submitted an accurate and complete application.

(b) Review and Recommendations by the Executive Director.

(1) The executive director or designee shall review appli-
cations for licensure and may determine whether an applicant is eligible
for licensure or refer an application to a committee of the board for re-
view.

(2) Ifthe executive director or designee determines that the

accordance with §603.151 and §603.255 of the Act and §187.13 of
this title (relating to Informal Board Proceedings Relating to Licensure
Eligibility). Not later than the 20th day after the date the applicant
receives notice of the executive director's determination the applicant
shall:

(A) request a review of the executive director's recom-
mendation by a committee of the board conducted in accordance with
§187.13 of this title; or

(B) withdraw his or her application.

(C) If an applicant fails to take timely action, as pro-
vided under this subsection, such inaction shall be deemed a with-
drawal of his or her application.

(4) To promote the expeditious resolution of any licensure
matter, the executive director, with the approval of the board, may rec-
ommend that an applicant be eligible for a license, but only under cer-
tain terms and conditions and present a proposed agreed order or reme-
dial plan to the applicant. Not later than the 20th day after the date the
applicant receives notice of the executive director's recommendation,
the applicant shall do one of the following:

(A) sign the order/remedial plan and the order/remedial
plan shall be presented to the board for consideration and acceptance
without initiating a Disciplinary Licensure Investigation (as defined in
§187.13 of this title) or appearing before a committee of the board con-
cerning issues relating to licensure eligibility; or

(B) request a review of the executive director's recom-
mendation by a committee of the board conducted in accordance with
§187.13 of this title; or

(C) withdraw his or her application.

(D) If an applicant fails to take timely action, as pro-
vided under this subsection, such inaction shall be deemed a with-
drawal of his or her application

(c) Committee Referrals. An applicant who has either re-
quested to appear before the licensure committee of the board or has
elected to be referred to the licensure committee of the board due to a
determination of ineligibility by the Executive Director in accordance
with section, in lieu of withdrawing the application for licensure,
may be subject to a Disciplinary Licensure Investigation as defined in
§187.13 of this title. Review of the executive director's determination
by a committee of the board shall be conducted in accordance with
§187.13 of this title.

$188.6.  Licensure Documentation.

(a) Original documents include, but are not limited to, those
listed in subsections (b) and (¢) of this section.

(b) Documentation required of all applicants for licensure.

(1) Birth Certificate/Proof of Age. Each applicant for li-
censure must provide a copy of a birth certificate and translation if
necessary to prove that the applicant is at least 21 years of age. In
instances where a birth certificate is not available the applicant must
provide copies of a passport or other suitable alternate documentation.

applicant clearly meets all licensing requirements, the executive direc-
tor or designee, may issue a license to the applicant, to be effective
on the date issued without formal board approval, as authorized by
§603.151 of the Act.

(3) If the executive director determines that the applicant

(2) Name change. Any applicant who submits documen-
tation showing a name other than the name under which the applicant
has applied must present copies of marriage licenses, divorce decrees,
or court orders stating the name change. In cases where the applicant's
name has been changed by naturalization, the applicant should send

does not clearly meet all licensing requirements as prescribed by the

the original naturalization certificate by certified mail to the board of-

Act and this chapter, a license may be issued only upon action by the

fice for inspection.
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(3) Examination verification. Each applicant for licensure
must have the appropriate testing service that administered the required

(C) Documents must be translated by a translation
agency who is a member of the American Translation Association or

perfusionist competency examination, described in §188.4 of this chap-

a United States college or university official.

ter (relating to Qualifications of Licensure), submit verification of the
applicant's passage of the examination directly to the board or verifica-
tion of current certification by the ABCP.

(4) Certificate from Educational Program or other State Li-

(D) The translation must be on the translator's letter-
head, and the translator must verify that it is a "true word for word
translation" to the best of his/her knowledge, and that he/she is fluent
in the language translated, and is qualified to translate the document.

cense. All applicants must submit:

(A) a certificate of successful completion of an educa-

(E) The translation must be signed in the presence of a
notary public and then notarized. The translator's name must be printed

tional program as described in §188.4 of this chapter, unless the appli-

below his/her signature. The notary public must use the phrase: "Sub-

cant qualifies for the special eligibility provision regarding education

scribed and Sworn this day of ,20  ." The notary

under §188.4 of this chapter;

(B) If an applicant is or has been licensed, certified, or
registered in another state, territory, or jurisdiction, the applicant must
submit information required by the board concerning that license, cer-

must then sign and date the translation, and affix his/her notary seal to
the document.

(2) Arrest records. If an applicant has ever been arrested,
the applicant must request that the arresting authority submit to the

tificate or registration on official board forms.

(5) Transcripts. Each applicant must have his or her ed-
ucational program(s) submit a transcript of courses taken and grades

board copies of the arrest and arrest disposition.

(3) Inpatient treatment for alcohol/substance disorder or
mental illness. An inpatient facility shall include a hospital, ambula-

obtained to demonstrate compliance with curriculum requirements un-

tory surgical center, nursing home, and rehabilitation facility. Each

der §188.4 of this chapter.
(6) Evaluations.

(A) All applicants must provide evaluations, on forms

applicant that has been admitted to an inpatient facility within the
last five years for treatment of alcohol/substance disorder or mental
illness (recurrent or severe major depressive disorder, bipolar disorder,
schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, or any severe personality dis-

provided by the board, of their professional affiliations for the past three

order), or a physical illness that impairs or has impaired the applicant's

years or since graduation from an educational program, in compliance

ability to practice perfusion, shall submit documentation must submit

with §188.4 of this chapter (relating to Qualifications for Licensure),

the following:

whichever is the shorter period.

(B) The evaluations must come from at least three su-

(A) applicant's statement explaining the circumstances
of the inpatient treatment/hospitalization;

pervisors or instructors who are either licensed perfusionists or licensed
physicians and have each supervised the applicant's work experience.

(C) An exception to subparagraph (B) of this paragraph
may be made for those applicants who provide adequate documenta-
tion that they have not been supervised by at least three licensed physi-
cians or licensed perfusionists for the three years preceding the board's
receipt of application or since graduation, whichever is the shorter pe-
riod.

(7) License verifications. Each applicant for licensure who
is licensed, registered, or certified in another state must have that state

(B) allrecords, submitted directly from the inpatient fa-

cility;
(C) a statement from the applicant's treating physi-

cian/psychotherapist as to diagnosis, prognosis, medications pre-
scribed, and follow-up treatment recommended; and

(D) a copy of any contracts signed with any licensing
authority, professional society or impaired practitioner committee.

(4) Outpatient treatment for alcohol/substance disorder or
mental illness. Each applicant that has been treated on an outpatient ba-

submit, directly to the board, proof that the applicant's license, regis-

sis within the past five years for alcohol/substance disorder or mental

tration, or certification is current and in full force and that the license,

illness (recurrent or severe major depressive disorder, bipolar disorder,

registration, or certification has not been restricted, suspended, revoked

schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, or any severe personality dis-

or otherwise subject to disciplinary action. The other state shall also

order), or a physical illness that impairs or has impaired the applicant's

include a description of any sanctions imposed by or disciplinary mat-

ability to practice perfusion, shall submit documentation to include, but

ters pending in the state.

(c) Applicants may be required to submit other documentation,
which may include the following:

(1) Translations. Any document that is in a language other
than the English language will need to have a certified translation pre-

not limited to the following:

(A) applicant's statement explaining the circumstances
of the outpatient treatment;

(B) a statement from the applicant's treating physi-
cian/psychotherapist as to diagnosis, prognosis, medications pre-

pared and a copy of the translation submitted with the translated doc-

scribed, and follow-up treatment recommended; and

ument.

(A) An official translation from the school or appropri-

(C) a copy of any contracts signed with any licensing
authority, professional society or impaired practitioners committee.

ate agency attached to the foreign language transcript or other docu-
ment is acceptable.

(B) 1If a foreign document is received without a trans-

(5) Malpractice. If an applicant has ever been named in a
malpractice claim filed with any liability carrier or if an applicant has
ever been named in a malpractice suit, the applicant must:

lation, the board will send the applicant a copy of the document to be
translated and returned to the board.

(A) have each liability carrier complete a form fur-
nished by this board regarding each claim filed against the applicant's
insurance;
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(B) for each claim that becomes a malpractice suit, have
the attorney representing the applicant in each suit submit a letter to

(iii) _the name, address, and copies of the credentials
for verification that the physician is licensed by the Texas Medical

the board explaining the allegation, relevant dates of the allegation,

Board and certified and/or eligible for certification by the American

and current status of the suit. If the suit has been closed, the attorney

Board of Thoracic Surgeons, Inc., or certified and/or eligible for certi-

must state the disposition of the suit and, if any money was paid, the

fication in cardiovascular surgery by the American Osteopathic Board

amount of the settlement. If such letter is not available, the applicant

of Surgery.

will be required to furnish a notarized affidavit explaining why this
letter cannot be provided; and

(C) provide a statement composed by the applicant, ex-
plaining the circumstances pertaining to patient care in defense of the

allegations.
(6) Additional documentation. Additional documentation

(B) The applicant will be notified of approval or denial
of the request in writing.

(c) Termination. The supervising licensee must submit written
notification of termination of supervision to the board and the super-
visee within 14 days of when supervision has ceased. The provisional
licensed perfusionist shall make a good faith effort to ensure that the

may be required as is deemed necessary to facilitate the investigation

supervising licensee submits an appropriate notification.

of any application for licensure.

(d) The board may, in unusual circumstances, allow substitute

(d) Changes. Any change in the supervision shall be submitted
in writing to the Executive Director. The signature of the supervising

documents where proof of exhaustive efforts on the applicant's part

licensee shall be included in the written notice.

to secure the required documents is presented. These exceptions are
reviewed by the board's executive director on a case-by-case basis.

§188.7.  Provisional Licensed Perfusionists.

(a) The board may issue a provisional license to an applicant

who:

(1) files an application and pays the application fee as spec-
ified in Chapter 175 of this title (relating to Fees and Penalties);

(2) meets all the qualifications for a license under the Act
and this chapter, with the exception of passage of the required com-
petency examination described in §188.4 of this chapter (relating to
Qualifications for Licensure); and

(3) practices under the supervision and direction of a li-
censee while performing perfusion, as described in this section.

(b) Supervision.

(1) A provisional licensed perfusionist shall be under the
supervision and direction of a currently licensed perfusionist who re-
sides in Texas.

(2) Supervision and direction shall be defined as procedural
guidance provided by a licensed perfusionist.

(3) The supervising licensed perfusionist must sign the ap-
plication for a provisional license and the application for renewal of the
provisional license.

(4) The supervising licensee must:

(A) have an unrestricted license in Texas;

(B) not have an investigation or proceeding pending for
the restriction, cancellation, suspension, revocation, or other discipline

(e) Required supervisor. A provisional licensed perfusionist
must have a supervising licensed perfusionist or licensed physician at
all times whether or not the provisional licensed perfusionist is actively

employed.

() An applicant shall be determined ineligible for a provi-
sional license if the applicant:

(1) has had a perfusionist license or certificate suspended
or revoked by another state, territory, Canadian province or country;

(2) holds a perfusionist license or certificate issued by an-
other state, territory, Canadian province or country that is subject to a
restriction, disciplinary order, or probationary order; or

(3) has an unacceptable criminal history.

(g) A provisional license expires on the earlier of:

(1) the date the board issues the provisional license holder a
full Texas perfusionist license or denies the provisional license holder's
application for a full license;

(2) one year after the date the provisional license was is-
sued; or

(3) upon determination by the Executive Director that the
provisional license holder is ineligible for licensure pursuant to the Act

or this chapter.

(h) An individual may not renew a provisional license more
than five times.

§188.8.  Temporary Licensure.

(a) The executive director of the board may issue a temporary
license to an applicant:

of the supervisor's license, permit, or authority to practice medicine or
perfusion; and

(C) not have been the subject of a disciplinary order,
unless the order was administrative in nature.

(5) An applicant or provisional licensee may request the

(1) whose completed application has been filed, processed,
and found to be in order; and

(2) who has met all other requirements for licensure under
the Act, but is waiting for the next scheduled meeting of the board for
the license to be issued.

board to approve that supervision and direction be performed by a li-
censed physician in lieu of a licensed perfusionist.

(A) The request for a variance must be in writing and

(b) A temporary license is valid for 100 days from the date
issued and may be extended for not more than an additional 30 days
after the expiration date of the initial temporary license.

must include the following:

(i) the individual's name and address;

(ii) the reason(s) why a licensed perfusionist is not

§188.9. License Renewal.

(a) Perfusionists licensed by the board shall register biennially
and pay a fee. A perfusionist may, on notification from the board, renew

reasonably available to provide supervision and direction; and

an unexpired licensed by submitting a required form and paying the
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required renewal fee to the board on or before the expiration date of

perfusionist's license has expired under this subsection without obtain-

the license. The fee shall accompany a written application that sets

ing a new registration license for the current registration period has the

forth the licensee's name, mailing address, the address of each of the

same effect as, and is subject to all penalties of, practicing perfusion

licensee's offices, and other necessary information prescribed by the

without a license.

board.

(b) An applicant renewing a license shall submit a complete

(k) A military service member who holds a perfusionist license
in Texas is entitled to two years of additional time to complete any other

and legible set of fingerprints for purposes of performing a criminal

requirement related to the renewal of the military service member's

history check of the applicant if required, as provided by §603.3031 of

license.

the Act.

(c) The board may prorate the length of the initial perfusionist
registration and registration fees, so that registrations expire on a sin-
gle date, regardless of the board meeting at which the perfusionist is
licensed.

(d) The board shall provide written notice to each practitioner

(1)  Renewal of Expired License by Out-Of-State Practitioner.

(1) The board may renew, without reexamination, an ex-
pired license of a person who was licensed as a perfusionist in this
state, moved to another state, and is licensed or certified and has been
in practice in the other state for the two years preceding the date the
person applies for renewal of the expired license in this state.

at the practitioner's address of record at least 30 days prior to the expi-
ration date of the license.

(e) Within 30 days of a perfusionist's change of mailing or of-
fice address from the address on file with the board, a perfusionist shall
notify the board in writing of such change.

(f) A licensee shall furnish a written explanation of his or her
affirmative answer to any question asked on the application for license
renewal, if requested by the board. This explanation shall include all

(2) The person must pay to the board a fee that is equal to
the amount of the renewal fee for the license.

§188.10. Code of Ethics.

(a) The rules in this chapter shall constitute a code of ethics as
authorized by the Act, §603.151.

(b) Perfusionists are obligated to maintain ethical and profes-
sional responsibilities and shall be expected to conform to all state and

details as the board may request and shall be furnished within 14 days

federal laws, rules, ethical and professional standards, including those

of the date of the board's request.

(g) The board may deny renewal of a license, pursuant to

set forth in Chapter 603 of the Act and this title.
§188.11.

Perfusionist Scope of Practice.

§603.401 of the Act, under the following circumstances:

(1) A licensee's falsification of an affidavit or submission

The practice of perfusion is limited to perfusion performed as described
under §603.003 of the Act.

of false information to obtain renewal of a license;

(2) A licensee's violation of the Act or rules;

(3) Alicensee's default on a student loan as provided by the

§188.12.  Supervision.

(a) Perfusionists shall perform perfusion under an order and
under the supervision of a licensed physician and in accordance with

Education Code, §57.491 relating to student loan default; or

(4) Alicensee's default on a child support obligation as pro-
vided by the Texas Family Code, Title 5, Subtitle D, Chapter 232.

(h) The board shall deny renewal of the license of a person for
whom a contested case is pending until resolution of the case, but such
individual remains licensed pending resolution of the contested case, if
timely application for renewal is made.

(1) The board may refuse to renew the license of a person who
fails to pay an administrative penalty imposed under the Act, unless
enforcement of the penalty is stayed or a court has ordered that the

§603.003 of the Act and this chapter.

(b) Perfusion-related policies and protocols shall be developed
or approved by a licensed health facility or a physician through col-
laboration with administrators, licensed perfusionists, and other health
professionals as required by §603.003 of the Act and this chapter.

(c) A provisionally licensed perfusionist under §188.7 of this
chapter (relating to Provisional Licensed Perfusionists), shall be super-
vised by a perfusionist or physician who has an active and unrestricted
license to practice as a perfusionist or physician in Texas.

§188.13.

Grounds for Denial of Licensure and for Disciplinary Ac-

administrative penalty is not owed.

(j) Expired Annual Registration License.

(1) If a perfusionist's license has been expired for 90 days
or less, the perfusionist may obtain a new license by submitting to the
board a completed license application and fee, and the penalty fee, as
defined in §175.3 of this title (relating to Penalties).

(2) If a perfusionist's license has been expired for longer
than 90 days, but less than one year, the perfusionist may obtain a new

tion.

The board may refuse to issue a license to any person and may, fol-
lowing notice of hearing as provided for in the APA, take disciplinary
action against any perfusionist that:

(1) fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to ob-
tain a license;

(2) fraudulently or deceptively uses a license or misrepre-
sents his or her qualifications or credentials;

license by submitting a completed application and fee, and a penalty
fee as defined in §175.3 of this title.

(3) Ifaperfusionist's license has been expired for one year
or longer, the perfusionist's license is automatically canceled, unless
an investigation is pending, and the perfusionist may not obtain a new
license.

(4) A perfusionist may not hold himself out as a licensed
perfusionist if he holds an expired license. Practicing perfusion after a

(3) falsely represents that the person is a physician;

(4) violates the Act, Code of Ethics, Code of Ethics pro-
mulgated by the ABCP or any rule relating to the practice of perfusion;

(5) is convicted of a felony, or has imposition of deferred
adjudication or pre-trial diversion;

(6) habitually uses drugs or alcohol to the extent that, in the
opinion of the board, the person cannot safely perform as a perfusionist;
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(7) _has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a
mental or physical condition that renders the person unable to safely

(23) refers a patient to a facility, laboratory, or other health-
care establishment without disclosing the existence of the licensee's

perform as a perfusionist;

(8) has acted in an unprofessional or dishonorable manner
that is likely to deceive, defraud, or injure any member of the public;

ownership interest in the entity to the patient;

(24) behaving in an abusive or assaultive manner towards
a patient or the patient's family or representatives that interferes with

(9) has failed to practice as a perfusionist in an acceptable
manner consistent with public health and welfare;

(10) has committed any act that is in violation of the laws
of this state if the act is connected with practice as a perfusionist; a
complaint, indictment, or conviction of a law violation is not necessary
for the enforcement of this provision. Proof of the commission of the
act while in practice as a perfusionist or under the guise of practice as
a perfusionist is sufficient for action by the board under this section;

(11) has had the person's license or other authorization to
practice as a perfusionist suspended, revoked, or restricted or who has
had other disciplinary action taken by another state, territory, Canadian
province or country regarding practice as a perfusionist or had disci-
plinary action taken by the uniformed services of the United States. A

patient care or could be reasonably expected to adversely impact the
quality of care rendered to a patient;

(25) fails to timely respond to communications from a pa-

tient;

(26) fails to complete the required amounts of CE;

(27) fails to maintain the confidentiality of a patient;

(28) Dbehaves in a disruptive manner toward licensees, hos-
pital personnel, other medical personnel, patients, family members or
others that interferes with patient care or could be reasonably expected
to adversely impact the quality of care rendered to a patient;

(29) enters into any agreement whereby a licensee, peer re-
view committee, hospital, medical staff, or medical society is restricted

certified copy of the record of the state, territory, Canadian province,

in providing information to the board;

country or uniformed services of the United States taking the action is
conclusive evidence of it;

(12) unlawfully advertises in a false, misleading, or decep-

(30) contacts or attempt to contact a complainant, witness,
medical peer review committee member, or professional review body
regarding statements used in an active investigation by the board for

tive manner as defined by §101.201 of the Texas Occupations Code or

purposes of intimidation. It is not a violation for a licensee under in-

promotes or endorses products in a false or misleading manner;

(13) alters, with fraudulent intent, any perfusionist license,
certificate, or diploma;

(14) uses any perfusionist license, certificate, or diploma
that has been fraudulently purchased, issued, or counterfeited or that
has been materially altered;

(15) is removed or suspended or has disciplinary action

vestigation to have contact with a complainant, witness, medical peer
review committee member, or professional review body if the contact
is in the normal course of business and unrelated to the investigation.

(31) defaults on student loans;

(32) fails to pay child support as required by court order;

(33) aids or abets, directly or indirectly, the practice of per-
fusion by any person not duly licensed to practice as a perfusionist by

taken by his peers in any professional association or society, whether

the board;

the association or society is local, regional, state, or national in scope,
or is being disciplined by a licensed hospital or medical staff of a hos-
pital, including removal, suspension, limitation of privileges, or other
disciplinary action, if that action, in the opinion of the board, was based
on unprofessional conduct or professional incompetence that was likely
to harm the public. This action does not constitute state action on the
part of the association, society, or hospital medical staff;

(16) has repeated or recurring meritorious health care lia-
bility claims that in the opinion of the board evidence professional in-
competence likely to harm the public;

(17) sexually abuses or exploits another person through the
licensee's practice as a perfusionist;

(18) provides medically unnecessary services to a patient
or submitting a billing statement to a patient or a third party payer that
the licensee knew or should have known was improper, as further pro-
vided by §311.0025 of the Texas Health and Safety Code and §101.203
of the Texas Occupations Code. "Improper" means the billing state-
ment is false, fraudulent, misrepresents services provided, or otherwise
does not meet professional standards;

(19) violates a board order;

(20) fails to comply with a board subpoena or request for
information or action;

(21) provides false information to the board;

(22) fails to cooperate with board staff;

(34) fails to practice in an acceptable professional manner
consistent with public health and welfare, including, but not limited to,
failing to treat a patient according to the generally accepted standard of
care, negligence in performing perfusion services, failing to use proper
diligence in one's professional practice, failing to safeguard against po-
tential complications;

(35) fails to adequately supervise the provisionally li-
censed perfusionist according to Act or rules adopted by the board; or

(36) lacks the competency, skill or ability to provide perfu-
sion services according to the standard of care.

§188.14.  Discipline of Perfusionists.

(a) The board, upon finding a perfusionist has committed any
of the acts set forth in §188.13 of this chapter (relating to Grounds for
Denial of Licensure and for Disciplinary Action), may enter an order
imposing one or more of the allowable actions set forth under §603.151
and §603.401 of the Act including:

(1) deny the person's application for a license or other au-
thorization to practice as a perfusionist;

(2) administer a public reprimand;

(3) order revocation, suspension, limitation, or restriction
of a perfusionist's license, or other authorization to practice as a per-
fusionist, including limiting the practice of the person to, or excluding
from the practice, one or more specified activities of the practice as a
perfusionist or stipulating periodic board review;
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(4) require a perfusionist to submit to care, counseling, or

ports, and other investigative information in the possession of, or re-

treatment by a health care practitioner designated by the board;

(5) order the perfusionist to perform public service;

(6) require the perfusionist to complete additional training;

ceived, or gathered by the board or its employees or agents relating to a
person, licensee, an application for license, or a criminal investigation
or proceeding are privileged and confidential and are not subject to dis-
covery, subpoena, or other means of legal compulsion for their release

(7) require the perfusionist to participate in continuing ed-
ucation programs; or

(8) assess an administrative penalty against the perfusion-

ist.

(b) The board may stay enforcement of any order and place

to anyone other than the board or its employees or agents involved in
the investigation or discipline of a person or license holder.

(c) Permitted disclosure of investigative information. Inves-
tigative information in the possession of the board or its employees
or agents that relates to discipline of a licensee and information con-
tained in such files may not be disclosed except in the following cir-

the perfusionist on probation. The board shall retain the right to vacate

cumstances:

the probationary stay and enforce the original order for noncompliance
with the terms of probation or to impose any other remedial measures
or sanctions authorized by subsection (a) of this section in addition to
or instead of enforcing the original order.

(c) Thetime period of an order shall be extended for any period
of time in which the person subject to an order subsequently resides or
practices outside this state or for any period during which the person's
license is subsequently cancelled for nonpayment of licensure fees.

$188.15.  Disciplinary Guidelines.
(a) Chapter 190 of this title (relating to Disciplinary Guide-

(1) to the appropriate licensing or regulatory authorities in
other states or the District of Columbia or a territory or country where
the perfusionist is licensed, registered, or certified or has applied for a
license;

(2) to apeer assistance program approved by the board un-
der Chapter 467, Health and Safety Code;

(3) to appropriate law enforcement agencies if the inves-
tigative information indicates a crime may have been committed and
the board shall cooperate with and assist all law enforcement agencies
conducting criminal investigations of licensees by providing informa-

lines) shall apply to perfusionists regulated under this chapter to be

tion relevant to the criminal investigation to the investigating agency

used as guidelines for the following areas as they relate to the denial of

and any information disclosed by the board to an investigative agency

licensure or disciplinary action of a licensee:

(1) practice inconsistent with public health and welfare;

(2) unprofessional and dishonorable conduct;

(3) disciplinary actions by state boards and peer groups;

(4) repeated and recurring meritorious health care liability

claims;

(5) aggravating and mitigating factors; and

(6) criminal convictions.

(b) If the provisions of Chapter 190 of this title conflict with
the Act or rules under this chapter, the Act and provisions of this chapter
shall control.

(c) Pursuant to §603.151 of the Act, §187.9 of this title (relat-
ing to Board Actions), and §187.13 of this title (relating to Informal
Board Proceedings Relating to Licensure Eligibility) the Board may
impose a nondisciplinary remedial plan to resolve an investigation of
a complaint or as a condition for licensure.

§188.17.

Pursuant to §603.202 of the Act, §178.3 of this title (relating to Com-
plaint Procedure Notification) shall govern perfusionists with regard to
methods of notification for filing complaints with the agency. If the
provisions of §178.3 of this title conflict with the Act or rules under
this chapter, the Act and provisions of this chapter shall control.

§188.18.

Complaint Procedure Notification.

Investigations.

(a) Investigation of complaints shall be conducted in accor-
dance with Chapter 178 of this title (relating to Complaints) and Chap-
ter 179 of this title (relating to Investigations) and referred to an in-
formal settlement conference in accordance with Chapter 187 of this
title (relating to Procedural Rules), if appropriate. If the provisions of
Chapters 178, 179 or 187 of this title conflict with the Act or rules un-

shall remain confidential and shall not be disclosed by the investigating
agency except as necessary to further the investigation; or

(4) persons engaged in bona fide research, if all individual-
identifying information has been deleted.

§188.19.  Third Party Reports to the Board.

(a) Any medical peer review committee in this state, any per-
fusionist licensed to practice in this state shall report relevant informa-
tion to the board related to the acts of any perfusionist in this state if,
in the opinion of the medical peer review committee, the perfusionist
poses a continuing threat to the public welfare through his practice as a
perfusionist. The duty to report under this section shall not be nullified

through contract.

(b) Professional Review Actions. A written report of a profes-
sional review action taken by a peer review committee or a health-care
entity provided to the board must contain the results and circumstances
of the professional review action. Such results and circumstances shall
include:

(1) the specific basis for the professional review action,
whether or not such action was directly related to the care of individual

patients; and
(2) the specific limitations imposed upon the perfusionist's

clinical privileges, upon membership in the professional society or as-
sociation, and the duration of such limitations.

(c) Reporting a Perfusionist's Continuing Threat to the Public.

(1) Relevant information shall be reported to the board in-
dicating that a perfusionist's practice poses a continuing threat to the
public welfare and shall include a narrative statement describing the
time, date, and place of the acts or omissions on which the report is
based.

(2) A report that a perfusionist's practice constitutes a con-
tinuing threat to the public welfare shall be made to the board as soon

der this chapter, the Act and provisions of this chapter shall control.

as possible after the peer review committee reaches that conclusion and

(b) Confidentiality. All complaints, adverse reports, monitor-
ing reports, investigation files, investigation materials, investigative re-

is able to assemble the relevant information.

(d) Reporting Professional Liability Claims.
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(1) Reporting responsibilities. The reporting form must be
completed and forwarded to the board for each defendant perfusionist

(8) Voluntary Reporting. Claims that are not required to be
reported under this chapter may, however, be voluntarily reported.

against whom a professional liability claim or complaint has been filed.
The information is to be reported by insurers or other entities providing
professional liability insurance for a perfusionist. If a non-admitted
insurance carrier does not report or if the perfusionist has no insurance
carrier, reporting shall be the responsibility of the perfusionist.

(2) In addition, as part of the registration process, each li-
censee shall report:
(A) the name and address of any entity that provides the

(9) Reporting Form. The reporting form shall be as fol-

lows:
Figure: 22 TAC §188.19(d)(9)

(10)  Professional Liability Suits and Claims. Following re-
ceipt of a notice of claim letter or a complaint filed in court against a
licensee that is reported to the board, the licensee shall furnish to the
board the following information within 14 days of the date of receipt
of the board's request for said information:

licensee coverage for health care liability claims;

(B) any health care liability lawsuits that have been

(A) acompleted questionnaire to provide summary in-
formation concerning the suit or claim;

filed since the last registration, including the date that the licensee was
served with the lawsuit, the cause number, court, and county of suit;
and

(C) any settlements of health care liability claims or
lawsuits that have been made since the last registration, including the
date of the settlement, the amount paid by or on behalf of the licensee,
and, if a lawsuit had been filed on the claim, the cause number, court,

(B) a completed questionnaire to provide information
deemed necessary in assessing the licensee's competency,

(C) information on the status of any suit or claim previ-
ously reported to the board.

(¢) Immunity and Reporting Requirements. A person, health
care entity, medical peer review committee, or other entity that with-

and county of suit.

(3) Separate reports required and identifying information.
One separate report shall be filed for each defendant perfusionist in-

out malice furnishes records, information, or assistance to the board is
immune from any civil liability arising from such act.

$188.20.  Impaired Perfusionists.

sured. When Part 11 is filed, it shall be accompanied by the completed
Part I or other identifying information as described in paragraph (4) of

(a) Mental or physical examination requirement. The board
may require a licensee to submit to a mental and/or physical examina-

this subsection.

(4) Time frames and attachments. The information in Part
I of the form must be provided within 30 days of receipt of the claim
or suit. A copy of the claim letter or petition and expert report must be
attached. If the expert report is not filed with the Court at the time the
lawsuit is filed, the expert report shall be filed with the board, together
with an updated Part I of the form, not later than the 30th day after
receipt of the expert report. Part II of the form, reporting the settlement
of a health care liability claim, shall be filed not later than the 30th day

tion by a physician or physicians designated by the board if the board
has probable cause to believe that the licensee is impaired. Impairment
is present if one appears to be unable to practice with reasonable skill
and safety to patients by reason of age, illness, drunkenness, excessive
use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type of material; or as
a result of any mental or physical condition. Probable cause may in-
clude, but is not limited to, any one of the following:

(1) sworn statements from two people, willing to testify be-
fore the board or the State Office of Administrative Hearings that a cer-

after the date of settlement of a health care liability claim, whether or

tain licensee is impaired;

not a lawsuit has been filed..

(5) Penalty. Failure by a licensed insurer to report under

(2) evidence that a licensee left a treatment program for
alcohol or chemical dependency before completion of that program;

this section shall be referred to the Texas Department of Insurance.

(6) Definition. For the purposes of this subsection a profes-

(3) evidence that a licensee has engaged in the intemperate
use of drugs or alcohol;

sional liability claim or complaint shall be defined as a cause of action
against a perfusionist for treatment, lack of treatment, or other claimed
departure from accepted standards of health care or safety which prox-
imately results in injury to or death of the patient, whether the patient's
claim or cause of action sounds in tort or contract.

(7) Claims not required to be reported. Examples of claims
that are not required to be reported under this chapter but which may

(4) evidence of repeated arrests of a licensee for intoxica-
tion or drug use;

(5) evidence of recurring temporary commitments of a li-
censee to a mental institution; or

(6) medical records indicating that a licensee has an illness
or condition which results in the inability to function properly in his or

be reported include, but are not limited to, the following:

(A) product liability claims (i.e. where a perfusionist
invented a device which may have injured a patient, but the perfusionist

her practice.

(b) Chapter 180 of this title (relating to Texas Physician Health
Program and Rehabilitation Orders) shall be applied to perfusionists

has had no patient relationship with the specific patient claiming injury

who are believed to be impaired and eligible for the Texas Physician

by the device);

(B) antitrust allegations;

(C) allegations involving improper peer review activi-

ties;

(D) civil rights violations; or

(E) allegations of liability for injuries occurring on an

Health Program.

§188.21.  Procedure.

Chapter 187 of this title (relating to Procedural Rules) shall govern
procedures relating to perfusionists where applicable. If the provisions
of Chapter 187 of this title conflict with the Act or rules under this
chapter, the Act and provisions of this chapter shall control.

§188.22.  Compliance.

perfusionist's property, but not involving a breach of duty to the patient

Chapter 189 of this title (relating to Compliance Program) shall be ap-

(i.e. slip and fall accidents).

plied to perfusionists who are under board orders. If the provisions of
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Chapter 189 of this title conflict with the Act or rules under this chap-
ter, the Act and provisions of this chapter shall control.

§188.23.

Construction.

The provisions of this chapter shall be construed and interpreted so as
to be consistent with the statutory provisions of the Act and the Medi-
cal Practice Act. In the event of a conflict between this chapter and the
provisions of the Acts, the provisions of the Acts shall control; how-
ever, this chapter shall be construed so that all other provisions of this
chapter which are not in conflict with the Acts shall remain in effect.

§188.24. Continuing Education.

(a) Completion of continuing education (CE) requirements by
licensee with current certification by the ABCP or its successor agency.
Completion of continuing education requirements may be documented
by demonstrating current certification by the ABCP annual license re-
newal.

(b) Completion of CE requirements by licensee without cur-
rent certification by the ABCP. A licensee without current certification
by the ABCP at the time of license renewal must meet the following
criteria.

(1) Document a minimum of 30 continuing education
credit (CEUs) every 24 months (24 month timeline is in relation to the
biennial registration period, not the calendar year). A licensee must
report during registration if she or he has completed the required CE.
Documentation of CE courses shall be made available to the Board
upon request, but should not be mailed with the registration payment.
Random audits will be made to assure compliance. A minimum of
15 hours of CEU must be earned in Category I. The activity period
covered in the professional activity report is from the date of licensure
to the third licensure renewal date and every subsequent third license
renewal date.

(2) Document a minimum of 40 clinical perfusion cases in
a two-year period by submitting a clinical activity report upon renewal,
on the approved form, demonstrating completion of 40 cases each bien-
nial as the Primary Perfusionist for Cardiopulmonary bypass (instructor
or primary), ECMO, VAD, Isolated Limb Perfusion, or VENO-VENO

bypass.

(3) One CEU or contact hour activity is defined as 50 min-
utes spent in an organized, structured or unstructured learning experi-
ence. Categories of CEU activities are:

(A) Category I--Perfusion Meetings and Other Perfu-
sion Related Activity--Perfusion meetings are those programs and sem-
inars in which a minimum of 75% of the contact hours consist of per-
fusion related material. Only those meetings approved by the ABCP
will qualify for Category 1 hours. Examples:

(i) International, national regional, and state perfu-
sion meetings.

(ii) _Publication of perfusion related book chapter or
paper in a professional journal.

(iii) Presentation at an international, national, re-
gional or state perfusion journal.

(B) Category II--Non-Accredited Perfusion Meetings
and Other Medical Meetings--This category includes international,
national, regional, and state meetings that have not been approved by
the ABCP, local perfusion meetings and all other medically related
meetings. Examples:

(i) International, National, Regional, and State, per-
fusion meetings that have not been accredited by the ABCP.

(i) Local perfusion meetings (do not require ABCP
accreditation). Any perfusion meeting NOT EQUALLY ACCESSI-
BLE to the general CCP community, this includes manufacturer-spe-
cific and company-sponsored educational activities.

(iii) International, National, Regional, or Local
medically-related meetings.

(C) Category IlI--Individual Education and Other Self-
Study Activities Credit in this category is acquired on an hour for hour
basis of the time spent in these non-accredited or non-supervised activ-
ities. Examples:
(i) Reading or viewing medical journals, audio-vi-
sual, or other educational material.

(ii) _ Participation in electronic forums.

(iii)  Participation in a Journal Club.

(iv) Participation in
sional-related course work.

degree-oriented,  profes-

(v) Presentation of perfusion topic at a non-perfu-

sion meeting.

(4) Documentation of activities. Licensees are responsible
for reporting completion of their professional activities. This informa-
tion must be reported to the board at the time of registration and renewal
and documentation must be submitted to the board upon request. Credit
will not be granted for activities that are not documented. The suitable
documentation is outlined as follows:

(A) Category I--Perfusion meetings--Approved perfu-
sion meetings held before June 30, 1998, may be documented by copies
of registration receipts or official meeting name tags. For approved per-
fusion meetings held after June 30, 1998, an official document from the
meeting sponsor documenting attendance and the number of hours re-
ceived must be provided.

(i) Perfusion Publications must have complete refer-
ence of book or article (authors, title, journal and date/volume of jour-
nal.

(ii) Perfusion Presentations must have copy of pro-

gram agenda.

(B) Category II--International, national, regional, and
state perfusion meetings not accredited by the ABCP, local perfusion
meetings and all other medical meetings--must provide an official doc-
ument stating CEUs awarded and copy of the meeting program.

(C) Category III--All self-study activities will require
an official record of completion or written summary of the activity.

(D) Submission of a clinical activity report upon re-
newal, on the approved form, demonstrating completion of 40 cases
each biennial as the Primary Perfusionist for Cardiopulmonary bypass
(instructor or primary), ECMO, VAD, Isolated Limb Perfusion, or
VENO-VENO bypass.

(c) A licensee may request in writing an exemption for the fol-
lowing reasons:

(1) the licensee's catastrophic illness;

(2) the licensee's military service of longer than one year's
duration outside the state;

(3) the licensee's residence of longer than one year's dura-
tion outside the United States; or
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(4) good cause shown submitted in writing by the licensee
that gives satisfactory evidence to the board that the licensee is unable

(1) the perfusionist's practice of perfusion does not include
the provision of perfusion services for either direct or indirect compen-

to comply with the requirement for continuing education.

(d) Exemptions are subject to the approval of the executive
director of the board and must be requested in writing at least 30 days

sation which has monetary value of any kind;

(2) the perfusionist's practice is limited to voluntary charity
care for which the perfusionist receives no direct or indirect compen-

prior to the expiration date of the license.

(e) An exception under subsection (c) of this section may not
exceed one year but may be requested annually, subject to the approval

sation of any kind for perfusion services rendered; and

(3) the perfusionist's practice does not include the provi-
sion of perfusion services to members of the perfusionist's family.

of the executive director of the board.

(f) This section does not prevent the board from taking board

(d) A perfusionist who qualifies for and obtains an exemption
from the registration fee authorized under this section shall obtain and

action with respect to a licensee or an applicant for a license by re-

report continuing education as required under the Act and §188.24 of

quiring additional hours of continuing education or of specific course

this chapter (relating to Continuing Education), except that the number

subjects.

(g) The board may require written verification of both formal
and informal credits from any licensee within 30 days of request. Fail-
ure to provide such verification may result in disciplinary action by the
board.

(h) Unless exempted under the terms of this section, a li-
censee's apparent failure to obtain and timely report the number of
hours of CE as required annually and provided for in this section shall
result in the denial of licensure renewal until such time as the licensee
obtains and reports the required CE hours.

(1) CE hours that are obtained to comply with the CE require-
ments for the preceding year as a prerequisite for obtaining licensure
renewal, shall first be credited to meet the CE requirements for the pre-
vious year. Once the previous year's CE requirement is satisfied, any
additional hours obtained shall be credited to meet the CE requirements
for the current year.

(j) A false report or statement to the board by a licensee re-
garding CE hours reportedly obtained shall be a basis for disciplinary
action by the board pursuant to §603.401 of the Act. A licensee who is
disciplined by the board for such a violation may be subject to the full
range of actions authorized by the Act including suspension or revoca-
tion of the perfusionist's license, but such action shall not be less than
an administrative penalty of $500.

(k) A perfusionist, who is a military service member, may re-
quest an extension of time, not to exceed two years, to complete any

CE requirements.
§188.26. Exemption from Registration Fee for Retired Perfusionists

of credits of CE required shall be equal to two-thirds of the number of
continuing education hours required for renewal for a licensed perfu-
sionist.

(e) A retired perfusionist who has obtained an exemption from
the registration fee as provided for under this section, may be subject
to disciplinary action under the Act based on unprofessional or dishon-
orable conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or injure the public if the
perfusionist engages in the compensated practice of perfusion or the
provision of perfusion services to members of the perfusionist's fam-

ily.

(f) A perfusionist who attempts to obtain an exemption from
the registration fee under this section by submitting false or misleading
statements to the board shall be subject to disciplinary action pursuant
to the Act in addition to any civil or criminal actions provided for by
state or federal law.

(g) A perfusionist may return to active status by applying to the
board, paying an application fee equal to an application fee for a per-
fusionist license, complying with the requirements for license renewal
under the Act, and submitting professional evaluations from each em-
ployment held before the license was placed on retired status, demon-
strate any formal or informal continuing education obtained during the
period of retired status, provide a description of all voluntary charity
care provided during the period of retired status, and complying with
paragraph (h) of this section.

(h) The request of a perfusionist seeking a return to active sta-
tus whose license has been placed on official retired status for two years
or longer shall be submitted to the Licensure Committee of the board
for consideration and a recommendation to the full board for approval

Providing Voluntary Charity Care.

(a) A retired perfusionist licensed by the board whose only
practice is the provision of voluntary charity care shall be exempt from

the registration fee.
(b) As used in this section:

(1) "voluntary charity care" means perfusion services pro-
vided for no compensation to:

(A) indigent populations;

(B) in medically underserved areas; or

(C) for a disaster relief organization.

(2) "compensation" means direct or indirect payment of
anything of monetary value, except payment or reimbursement of rea-
sonable, necessary, and actual travel and related expenses.

(c) To qualify for and obtain such an exemption, a perfusionist
must truthfully certify under oath, on a form approved by the board that
the following information is correct:

or denial of the request. After consideration of the request and the
recommendation of the Licensure Committee, the board shall grant or
deny the request. If the request is granted, it may be granted without
conditions or subject to such conditions which the board determines are
necessary to adequately protect the public including but not limited to:

(1) completion of specified continuing education hours ap-
proved for Category 1 credits by a CE sponsor approved by the ABCP;

(2) limitation and/or exclusion of the practice of the appli-
cant to specified activities of the practice as a perfusionist;

(3) remedial education; and/or

(4) such other remedial or restrictive conditions or require-
ments which, in the discretion of the board are necessary to ensure pro-
tection of the public and minimal competency of the applicant to safely
practice as a perfusionist.

(i) The request of a perfusionist seeking a return to active sta-
tus whose license has been placed on retired status providing voluntary
charity care for less than two years may be approved by the executive
director of the board or submitted by the executive director to the Li-
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censure Committee for consideration and a recommendation to the full

tection of the public and minimal competency of the applicant to safely

board for approval or denial of the request. In those instances in which

practice as a perfusionist.

the executive director submits the request to the Licensure Committee
of the board, the Licensure Committee shall make a recommendation to
the full board for approval or denial. After consideration of the request
and the recommendation of the Licensure Committee, the board shall
grant or deny the request subject to such conditions which the board de-
termines are necessary to adequately protect the public including, but
not limited to, those options provided in subsection (h) of this section.

(j) _In evaluating a request of a perfusionist seeking a return to

(e) The request of a perfusionist seeking a return to active sta-
tus whose license has been placed on official retired status for less than
two years may be approved by the executive director of the board or
submitted by the executive director to the Licensure Committee for
consideration and a recommendation to the full board for approval or
denial of the request. In those instances in which the executive director
submits the request to the Licensure Committee of the board, the Li-
censure Committee shall make a recommendation to the full board for

active status whose license has been placed on retired status provid-

approval or denial. After consideration of the request and the recom-

ing voluntary charity care, the Licensure Committee or the full board

mendation of the Licensure Committee, the board shall grant or deny

may require a personal appearance by the requesting perfusionist at

the request subject to such conditions which the board determines are

the offices of the board, and may also require a physical or mental ex-

necessary to adequately protect the public including but not limited to

amination by one or more perfusionists or other health care providers

those options provided in subsection (d)(1) - (4) of this section.

approved in advance in writing by the executive director, the secretary-
treasurer, the Licensure committee, or other designee(s) determined by
majority vote of the board.

$188.28.  Exemption from Registration Fee for Retired Perfusionists.

(f) In evaluating a request to return to active status, the Licen-
sure Committee or the full board may require a personal appearance
by the requesting perfusionist at the offices of the board, and may also
require a physical or mental examination by one or more physicians or

(a) The registration fee shall not apply to retired perfusionists.
To become exempt from the registration fee due to retirement:

(1) the perfusionist's current license must not be under an
investigation or order with the board or otherwise have a restricted li-
cense; and

(2) the perfusionist must request in writing on a form pre-
scribed by the board for his or her license to be placed on official retired
status.

(b) The following restrictions shall apply to perfusionists
whose licenses are on official retired status:

(1) the perfusionist must not engage in clinical activities or
practice perfusion in any state; and

(2) the perfusionist's license may not be endorsed to any
other state.

(c) A perfusionist may return to active status by applying to the
board, paying an application fee equal to an application fee for a per-
fusionist license, complying with the requirements for license renewal
under the Act, and submitting professional evaluations from each em-
ployment held before the license was placed on retired status, demon-
strate any formal or informal continuing education obtained during the
period of retired status and complying with paragraph (d) of this sec-
tion.

(d) The request of a perfusionist seeking a return to active sta-
tus whose license has been placed on official retired status for two years
or longer shall be submitted to the Licensure Committee of the board
for consideration and a recommendation to the full board for approval
or denial of the request. After consideration of the request and the
recommendation of the Licensure Committee, the board shall grant or
deny the request. If the request is granted, it may be granted without
conditions or subject to such conditions which the board determines are
necessary to adequately protect the public including but not limited to:

(1) completion of specified continuing education hours ap-
proved for Category 1 credits by a CE sponsor approved by the ABCP;

(2) limitation and/or exclusion of the practice of the appli-
cant to specified activities of the practice as a perfusionist;

(3) remedial education; and/or

(4) such other remedial or restrictive conditions or require-
ments which, in the discretion of the board are necessary to ensure pro-

other health care providers approved in advance in writing by the ex-
ecutive director, the secretary-treasurer, the Licensure Committee, or
other designee(s) determined by majority vote of the board.

(g) A perfusionist applying for retired status under subsections
(a) and (b) of this section may be approved for emeritus retired status, a
subgroup of "official retired status," provided that the perfusionist has:

(1) never received a remedial plan or been the subject of
disciplinary action by the Texas Medical Board,

(2) no criminal history, including pending charges, indict-
ment, conviction and/or deferred adjudication in Texas; and

(3) never held a license, registration or certification that has
been restricted for cause, canceled for cause, suspended for cause, re-
voked or subject to another form of discipline in a state, or territory
of the United States, a province of Canada, a uniformed service of the
United States or other regulatory agency.

§188.29.  Voluntary Relinquishment or Surrender of a License.

Chapter 196 of this title (relating to Voluntary Relinquishment or Sur-
render of a Medical License) shall govern procedures relating to perfu-
sionists where applicable. If the provisions of Chapter 196 of this title
conflict with the Licensed Perfusionist Act or rules under this chapter,
the Licensed Perfusionist Act and provisions of this chapter shall con-
trol.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 11, 2016.

TRD-201601209

Mari Robinson, J.D.

Executive Director

Texas Medical Board

Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES

PART 11. CANCER PREVENTION AND
RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF TEXAS
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CHAPTER 703. GRANTS FOR CANCER
PREVENTION AND RESEARCH
25 TAC §703.12, §703.21

The Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (Insti-
tute) proposes amendments to §703.12 and §703.21, regarding
authorized grant expenses and a process to appeal a waiver of
reimbursement of project costs. The proposed changes affect
financial reimbursement paid to grant recipients.

Background and Justification

The proposed change to §703.12 clarifies that expenses asso-
ciated with acquiring or maintaining a visa are not authorized
expenses to be paid with grant funds. The proposed change to
§703.21 provides a process for a grant recipient to appeal to the
Institute a waiver of reimbursement costs. Currently, there is no
process in place for a grant recipient to appeal a waiver of costs
caused when the grant recipient fails to receive a deferral or sub-
mit a required financial status report (FSR) within 30 days of the
FSR due date. Pursuant to the proposed change, a grant recipi-
ent may provide a written appeal that demonstrates good cause
for not submitting the FSR within the required timeframe. The
Chief Executive Officer will review the appeal, and if approved,
must notify the Oversight Committee.

Fiscal Note

Kristen Pauling Doyle, General Counsel for the Cancer Preven-
tion and Research Institute of Texas, has determined that for the
first five-year period the rule changes are in effect there will be
no foreseeable implications relating to costs or revenues for state
or local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
rules.

Public Benefit and Costs

Ms. Doyle has determined that for each year of the first five
years the rule changes are in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of enforcing the rules will be clarification of policies
and procedures the Institute will follow to implement its statutory
duties.

Small Business and Micro-business Impact Analysis

Ms. Doyle has determined that the rule changes shall not have
an effect on small businesses or on micro businesses.

Written comments on the proposed rule changes may be submit-
ted to Ms. Doyle, Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of
Texas, P.O. Box 12097, Austin, Texas 78711, no later than April
25, 2016. Parties filing comments are asked to indicate whether
or not they support the rule revisions proposed by the Institute
and, if a change is requested, to provide specific text proposed
to be included in the rule. Comments may be submitted electron-
ically to kdoyle@cprit.texas.gov. Comments may be submitted
by facsimile transmission to (512) 475-2563.

Statutory Authority

The rule changes are proposed under the authority of the Texas
Health and Safety Code Annotated, §102.108, which provides
the Institute with broad rule-making authority to administer the
chapter. Ms. Doyle, the Institute's General Counsel, has re-
viewed the proposed amendment and certifies the proposal to
be within the Institute's authority to adopt.

There is no other statute, article or code that is affected by these
rules.

§703.12.  Limitation on Use of Funds.

(a) A Grant Recipient may use Grant Award funds only for
Cancer Research and Cancer Prevention projects consistent with the
purpose of the Act, and in accordance with the Grant Contract. Grant
Award funds may not be used for purposes other than those purposes
for which the grant was awarded. The Institute may require a Grant
Recipient to repay Grant Award funds if the Grant Recipient fails to
expend the Grant Award funds in accordance with the terms and con-
ditions of the Grant Contract and the provisions of this chapter.

(b) Grant Award funds must be used for Authorized Expenses.

(1) Expenses that are not authorized and shall not be paid
from Grant Award funds, include, but are not limited to:

(A) Bad debt, such as losses arising from uncollectible
accounts and other claims and related costs.

(B) Contributions to a contingency reserve or any sim-
ilar provision for unforeseen events.

(C) Contributions and donations made to any individual
or organization.

(D) Costs of entertainment, amusements, social activi-
ties, and incidental costs relating thereto, including tickets to shows or
sports events, meals, alcoholic beverages, lodging, rentals, transporta-
tion and gratuities.

(E) Costs relating to food and beverage items, unless
the food item is related to the issue studied by the project that is the
subject of the Grant Award.

(F) Fines, penalties, or other costs resulting from viola-
tions of or failure to comply with federal, state, local or Indian tribal
laws and regulations.

(G) An honorary gift or a gratuitous payment.

(H) Interest and other financial costs related to borrow-
ing and the cost of financing.

(I) Legislative expenses such as salaries and other ex-
penses associated with lobbying the state or federal legislature or sim-
ilar local governmental bodies, whether incurred for purposes of legis-
lation or executive direction.

(J) Liability insurance coverage.

(K) Benefit replacement pay or legislatively-mandated
pay increases for eligible general revenue-funded state employees at
Grant Recipient state agencies or universities.

(L) Professional association fees or dues for the Grant
Recipient or an individual.

(M) Promotional items and costs relating to items such
as T-shirts, coffee mugs, buttons, pencils, and candy that advertise or
promote the project or Grant Recipient.

(N) Patient support services costs relating to services
such as personal care items and financial assistance for low-income
clients.

(O) Fees for visa services.

(2) Additional guidance regarding Authorized Expenses
for a specific program may be provided by the terms of the Grant
Contract and by the Uniform Grant Management Standards (UGMS)
adopted by the Comptroller's Office. If guidance from UGMS on
a particular issue conflicts with a specific provision of the Grant
Contract, Chapter 102, Texas Health and Safety Code, or the Institute's

41 TexReg 2302 March 25, 2016 Texas Register


mailto:kdoyle@cprit.texas.gov

administrative rules, then the Grant Contract, statute, or Institute
administrative rule shall prevail.

(3) The Institute is responsible for making the final deter-
mination regarding whether an expense shall be considered an Autho-
rized Expense.

(c) A Grant Recipient of Grant Award funds for a Cancer Re-
search or Cancer Prevention project may not spend more than five per-
cent (5%) of the Grant Award funds for Indirect Costs.

(d) The Institute may not award more than five percent (5%)
of the total Grant Award funds for each fiscal year to be used for fa-
cility purchase, construction, remodel, or renovation purposes during
any year. Any Grant Award funds that are to be expended by a Grant
Recipient for facility purchase, construction, remodel, or renovations
are subject to the following conditions:

(1) The use of Grant Award funds must be specifically ap-
proved by the Chief Executive Officer with notification to the Oversight
Committee;

(2) Grant Award funds spent on facility purchase, construc-
tion, remodel, or renovation projects must benefit Cancer Prevention
and Research;

(3) If Grant Award funds are used to build a capital im-
provement, then the state retains a lien or other interest in the capital
improvement in proportion to the percentage of the Grant Award funds
used to pay for the capital improvement. If the capital improvement
is sold, then the Grant Recipient agrees to repay to the state the Grant
Award funds used to pay for the capital improvement, with interest, and
share with the state a proportionate amount of any profit realized from
the sale.

(e) The Institute may not award more than ten percent (10%) of
the money awarded from the Cancer Prevention and Research Fund or
from the proceeds of bonds issued on behalf of the Institute to be used
for Cancer Prevention and Control programs during any year. Grant
Awards for Cancer Prevention research projects shall not be counted
toward the Grant Award amount limit for Cancer Prevention and Con-
trol Programs. For purposes of this subsection, the Institute is pre-
sumed to award the full amount of funds available. At the first regular
Oversight Committee meeting of the fiscal year, the Chief Executive
Officer shall report that full amount of Grant Award funds available to
be awarded for the fiscal year subject to periodic updates announced at
regular meetings of the Oversight Committee.

§703.21.  Monitoring Grant Award Performance and Expenditures.

(a) The Institute, under the direction of the Chief Executive
Officer, shall monitor Grant Awards to ensure that Grant Recipients
comply with applicable financial, administrative, and programmatic
terms and conditions and exercise proper stewardship over Grant
Award funds. Such terms and conditions include requirements set
forth in statute, administrative rules, and the Grant Contract.

(b) Methods used by the Institute to monitor a Grant Recipi-
ent's performance and expenditures may include:

(1) Financial Status Reports Review - Quarterly financial
status reports shall be submitted to the Institute within 90 days of the
end of the state fiscal quarter (based upon a September 1 - August 31
fiscal year). The Institute shall review expenditures and supporting
documents to determine whether expenses charged to the Grant Award
are:

(A) Allowable, allocable, reasonable, necessary, and
consistently applied regardless of the source of funds; and

(B) Adequately supported with documentation such as
cost reports, receipts, third party invoices for expenses, or payroll in-
formation.

(2) Timely submission of Financial Status Reports - Except
as provided herein, the [The] Grant Recipient waives the right to reim-
bursement of project costs incurred during the reporting period if the
financial status report (FSR) for that quarter is not submitted to the In-
stitute within 30 days of the FSR due date. Waiver of reimbursement of
project costs incurred during the reporting period also applies to Grant
Recipients that have received advancement of Grant Award funds.

(A) For purposes of this rule, the "FSR due date" is 90
days following the end of the state fiscal quarter.

(B) The Chief Executive Officer may approve a Grant
Recipient's request to defer submission of the reimbursement request
for the current fiscal quarter until the next fiscal quarter if, on or be-
fore the original FSR due date, the Grant Recipient submits a written
explanation for the Grant Recipient's inability to complete a timely sub-
mission of the FSR.

(C) A Grant Recipient may appeal the waiver of its right
to reimbursement of project costs.

(i) The appeal shall be in writing, provide good
cause for failing to submit the FSR within 30 days of the FSR due
date, and be submitted through CPRIT's Grant Management System.

(i) The Chief Executive Officer may approve the
appeal for good cause. The decision by the Chief Executive Officer
to approve or deny the grant recipient's appeal shall be in writing and
provided through CPRIT's Grant Management System.

(iii) The Chief Executive Officer's decision to ap-
prove or deny the Grant Recipient's appeal is final, unless the Grant
Recipient timely seeks reconsideration of the Chief Executive Officer's
decision by the Oversight Committee.

(iv) The Grant Recipient may request that the Over-
sight Committee reconsider the Chief Executive Officer's decision re-
garding the Grant Recipient's appeal. The request for reconsideration
shall be in writing and submitted to the Chief Executive Officer within
10 days of the date that the Chief Executive Officer notifies the Grant
Recipient of the decision regarding the appeal as noted in clause (iii)
of this subparagraph.

(v) The Chief Executive Officer shall notify the
Oversight Committee in writing of the decision to approve or deny
the Grant Recipient's appeal. The notice should provide justification
for the Chief Executive Officer's decision. In the event that the
Grant Recipient timely seeks reconsideration of the Chief Executive
Officer's decision, the Chief Executive Officer shall provide the Grant
Recipient's written request to the Oversight Committee at the same
time.

(vi) The Grant Recipient's request for reconsidera-
tion is deemed denied unless three or more Oversight Committee mem-
bers request that the Chief Executive Officer add the Grant Recipient's
request for reconsideration to the agenda for action at the next regular
Oversight Committee meeting. The decision made by the Oversight
Committee is final.

(vii) If the Grant Recipient's appeal is approved by
the Chief Executive Officer or the Oversight Committee, the Grant Re-
cipient shall report the project costs and provide supporting documen-
tation for the costs incurred during the reporting period covered by the
appeal on the next available financial status report to be filed by the

Grant Recipient.
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(viii) _Approval of the waiver appeal does not con-
note approval of the expenditures; the expenditures and supporting doc-
umentation shall be reviewed according to paragraph (1) of this subsec-
tion.

(ix) This subsection applies to any waivers of its re-
imbursement decided by the Institute on or after September 1, 2015.

(D) [€S)] Notwithstanding paragraph (2) of this subsec-
tion [subseetion (2)], in the event that the Grant Recipient and Institute
execute the Grant Contract after the effective date of the Grant Con-
tract, the Chief Program Officer may approve additional time for the
Grant Recipient to prepare and submit the outstanding FSR(s). The
approval shall be in writing and maintained in the Institute's electronic
Grants Management System. The Chief Program Officer's approval
may cover more than one FSR and more than one fiscal quarter.

(E) [®)] In order to receive disbursement of grant
funds, the most recently due FSR must be approved by CPRIT.

(3) Grant Progress Reports - The Institute shall review
Grant Progress Reports to determine whether sufficient progress is
made consistent with the scope of work and timeline set forth in the
Grant Contract.

(A) The Grant Progress Reports shall be submitted at
least annually, but may be required more frequently pursuant to Grant
Contract terms or upon request and reasonable notice of the Institute.

(B) The annual Grant Progress Report shall be submit-
ted within sixty (60) days after the anniversary of the effective date of
the Grant Contract. The annual Grant Progress Report shall include at
least the following information:

(i) An affirmative verification by the Grant Recipi-
ent of compliance with the terms and conditions of the Grant Contract;

(i) A description of the Grant Recipient's progress
made toward completing the scope of work specified by the Grant Con-
tract, including information, data, and program metrics regarding the
achievement of project goals and timelines;

(iii) The number of new jobs created and the number
of jobs maintained for the preceding twelve month period as a result of
Grant Award funds awarded to the Grant Recipient for the project;

(iv) Aninventory of the equipment purchased for the
project in the preceding twelve month period using Grant Award funds;

(v) A verification of the Grant Recipient's efforts to
purchase from suppliers in this state more than 50 percent goods and
services purchased for the project with grant funds;

(vi) A Historically Underutilized Businesses report;

(vii) Scholarly articles, presentations, and educa-
tional materials produced for the public addressing the project funded
by the Institute;

(viii)  The number of patents applied for or issued ad-
dressing discoveries resulting from the research project funded by the
Institute;

(ix) A statement of the identities of the funding
sources, including amounts and dates for all funding sources support-
ing the project;

(x) A verification of the amounts of Matching Funds
dedicated to the research that is the subject of the Grant Award for the
period covered by the annual report, which shall be submitted pursuant
to the timeline in §703.11. In order to receive disbursement of grant

funds, the most recently due verification of the amount of Matching
Funds must be approved by CPRIT;

(xi) All financial information necessary to support
the calculation of the Institute's share of revenues, if any, received by
the Grant Recipient resulting from the project; and

(xii) A single audit determination form.

(C) Notwithstanding subparagraph (B) of this para-
graph [subseetion (B)], in the event that the Grant Recipient and
Institute execute the Grant Contract after the effective date of the Grant
Contract, the Chief Program Officer may approve additional time for
the Grant Recipient to prepare and submit the outstanding reports. The
approval shall be in writing and maintained in the Institute's electronic
Grants Management System. The Chief Program Officer's approval
may cover more than one report and more than one fiscal quarter.

(D) Inaddition to annual Grant Progress Reports, a final
Grant Progress Report shall be filed no more than ninety (90) days af-
ter the termination date of the Grant Contract. The final Grant Progress
Report shall include a comprehensive description of the Grant Recipi-
ent's progress made toward completing the scope of work specified by
the Grant Contract, as well as other information specified by the Insti-
tute.

(E) The Grant Progress Report will be evaluated by a
grant manager pursuant to criteria established by the Institute. The
evaluation shall be conducted under the direction of the Chief Pre-
vention Officer, the Chief Product Development Officer, or the Chief
Scientific Officer, as may be appropriate. Required financial reports
associated with the Grant Progress Report will be reviewed by the In-
stitute's financial staff. In order to receive disbursement of grant funds,
the final progress report must be approved by CPRIT.

(F) If the Grant Progress Report evaluation indicates
that the Grant Recipient has not demonstrated progress in accordance
with the Grant Contract, then the Chief Program Officer shall notify the
Chief Executive Officer and the General Counsel for further action.

(i) The Chief Program Officer shall submit written
recommendations to the Chief Executive Officer and General Counsel
for actions to be taken, if any, to address the issue.

(i) The recommended action may include termina-
tion of the Grant Award pursuant to the process described in §703.14
of this chapter (relating to Termination, Extension, and Close Out of
Grant Contracts).

(G) Ifthe Grant Recipient fails to submit required finan-
cial reports associated with the Grant Progress Report, then the Institute
financial staff shall notify the Chief Executive Officer and the General
Counsel for further action.

(H) In order to receive disbursement of grant funds, the
most recently due progress report must be approved by CPRIT.

(I) If a Grant Recipient fails to submit the Grant
Progress Report within 60 days of the anniversary of the effective date
of the Grant Contract, then the Institute shall not disburse any Grant
Award funds as reimbursement or advancement of Grant Award funds
until such time that the delinquent Grant Progress Report is approved.

(J) In addition to annual Grant Progress Reports, Prod-
uct Development Grant Recipients shall submit a Grant Progress Re-
port at the completion of specific tranches of funding specified in the
Award Contract. For the purpose of this subsection, a Grant Progress
Report submitted at the completion of a tranche of funding shall be
known as "Tranche Grant Progress Report."
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(i) The Institute may specify other required reports,
if any, that are required to be submitted at the time of the Tranche Grant
Progress Report.

(i) Grant Funds for the next tranche of funding
specified in the Grant Contract shall not be disbursed until the Tranche
Grant Progress Report has been reviewed and approved pursuant to
the process described in this section.

(4) Desk Reviews - The Institute may conduct a desk re-
view for a Grant Award to review and compare individual source doc-
umentation and materials to summary data provided during the Finan-
cial Status Report review for compliance with financial requirements
set forth in the statute, administrative rules, and the Grant Contract.

(5) Site Visits and Inspection Reviews - The Institute may
conduct a scheduled site visit to a Grant Recipient's place of business
to review Grant Contract compliance and Grant Award performance
issues. Such site visits may be comprehensive or limited in scope.

(6) Audit Reports - The Institute shall review audit reports
submitted pursuant to §703.13 of this chapter (relating to Audits and
Investigations).

(A) If the audit report findings indicate action to be
taken related to the Grant Award funds expended by the Grant Re-
cipient or for the Grant Recipient's fiscal processes that may impact
Grant Award expenditures, the Institute and the Grant Recipient shall
develop a written plan and timeline to address identified deficiencies,
including any necessary Grant Contract amendments.

(B) The written plan shall be retained by the Institute as
part of the Grant Contract record.

(c) All required Grant Recipient reports and submissions de-
scribed in this section shall be made via an electronic grant portal des-
ignated by the Institute, unless specifically directed to the contrary in
writing by the Institute.

(d) The Institute shall document the actions taken to monitor
Grant Award performance and expenditures, including the review, ap-
provals, and necessary remedial steps, if any.

(1) To the extent that the methods described in subsection
(b) of this section are applied to a sample of the Grant Recipients or
Grant Awards, then the Institute shall document the Grant Contracts
reviewed and the selection criteria for the sample reviewed.

(2) Records will be maintained in the electronic Grant
Management System as described in §703.4 of this chapter (relating
to Grants Management System).

() The Chief Compliance Officer shall be engaged in the In-
stitute's Grant Award monitoring activities and shall notify the General
Counsel and Oversight Committee if a Grant Recipient fails to mean-
ingfully comply with the Grant Contract reporting requirements and
deadlines, including Matching Funds requirements.

(f) The Chief Executive Officer shall report to the Oversight
Committee at least annually on the progress and continued merit of
each Grant Program funded by the Institute. The written report shall
also be included in the Annual Public Report. The report should be
presented to the Oversight Committee at the first meeting following
the publication of the Annual Public Report.

(g) The Institute may rely upon third parties to conduct Grant
Award monitoring services independently or in conjunction with Insti-
tute staff.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 9, 2016.

TRD-201601195

Heidi McConnell

Chief Operating Officer

Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas
Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 463-3190

L4 L4 ¢
TITLE 28. INSURANCE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 5. PROPERTY AND CASUALTY
INSURANCE

SUBCHAPTER O. TEXAS COMMERCIAL
LINES STATISTICAL PLAN

28 TAC §5.9501

The Texas Department of Insurance proposes amendments to
28 TAC §5.9501, concerning the Texas Commercial Lines Sta-
tistical Plan (Plan). The proposed amendments adopt by refer-
ence a revised Plan, effective April 1, 2017. These amendments
are necessary to effectively implement Insurance Code Chapter
38, Subchapter E, relating to statistical data collection; put the
Plan's requirements for surety and fidelity risks in line with re-
porting requirements in other states; allow for better experience
comparison by the department, the designated statistical agent,
and the industry in general; and provide accurate contact infor-
mation.

EXPLANATION. The revised Plan proposed to be adopted by
reference in the amended section incorporates the same require-
ments and instructions for the reporting of direct commercial
lines insurance premium and loss data to the designated sta-
tistical agent as the existing Plan, with the exception of a new
class code and two new indicators for insurers who write surety
bonds, and updated contact information for the department and
the statistical agent.

The department proposes changes to the Plan to require surety
insurers to report a small business indicator, an expedited un-
derwriting indicator, and add a new class code identifying pub-
lic-private partnerships. The proposed changes to surety risk re-
porting are for the purpose of standardizing the manner in which
those insurers report premium and loss experience. When the
Plan was last updated, effective January 1, 2010, the department
revised the fields and codes used for reporting premium or loss
experience for surety and fidelity risks to be consistent with the
standard fields and codes required in the statistical plan used in
all other states. In 2015, that statistical plan added a new class
code and indicators. The proposed updates to the Plan are nec-
essary to keep its reporting requirements in line with those in the
statistical plan used in all other states, which will ease reporting
for insurers who write in multiple states; potentially lower com-
pliance costs; and allow for better experience comparison by the
department, the designated statistical agent, and the industry in
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general. Under the proposed amendments to §5.9501, insurers
would be required to begin reporting under the revised Plan by
April 1, 2017. Insurers could voluntarily begin reporting under
the revised Plan beginning July 1, 2016.

The department also proposes changes to the Plan to update
contact information for the department and the designated statis-
tical agent. The changes are necessary to avoid confusion and
facilitate communication among insurers, the department, and
the designated statistical agent by ensuring that insurers have
accurate and current contact information. Insurers should begin
using the updated contact information to communicate with the
department and the designated statistical agent immediately, if
they are not already doing so.

Proposed amendments to §5.9501(b) adopt by reference the re-
vised Plan. Proposed amendments to §5.9501(a)(4) provide that
insurers must use the revised version of the Plan beginning April
1, 2017. These amendments are necessary to implement the
revised Plan and set the effective date by which insurers must
report under the revised Plan.

Nonsubstantive changes to §5.9501 are also necessary to cor-
rect grammar errors and conform to the department's writing
guidelines, and nonsubstantive changes to the Plan are neces-
sary to make corrections to page cross-references.

FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. J'ne Byckovski, director and chief actuary, Property and
Casualty Actuarial Office, has determined that for each year of
the first five years the proposed section will be in effect, there will
be no fiscal impact to state and local governments as a result of
the enforcement or administration of the rule. There will be no
measurable effect on local employment or the local economy as
a result of the proposal.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. Ms. Byckovski has also
determined that for each year of the first five years the section
is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of the pro-
posed amendments will be an updated Plan that is consistent
with surety and fidelity risk reporting standards in other states,
which will ease reporting for insurers who write in multiple states;
potentially lower compliance costs; and allow for better experi-
ence comparison by the department, the designated statistical
agent, and the industry in general. The updated Plan will also
avoid confusion and facilitate communication by ensuring that
insurers have accurate contact information for the department
and the statistical agent.

The department does not anticipate costs to insurers associated
with the proposed update of contact information for the depart-
ment and the designated statistical agent in the Plan; however,
the department does anticipate some costs associated with com-
plying with the new requirements for reporting of surety risks.

Under the proposed revisions to the Plan, surety and fidelity in-
surers will be required to report a small business indicator and
expedited underwriting indicator, if the insurer already collects
this information. The cost for insurers that write surety and fi-
delity bonds in states other than Texas will be negligible, or may
resultin savings, since the proposed revisions will align reporting
requirements in Texas with the national reporting requirements
of the Surety and Fidelity Association of America. Insurers that
only write this business in Texas and that collect this information
will need to reprogram their data reporting systems to include
the extra indicators and possibly translate the company's unique
indicators to the Plan codes. The department estimates that it

will take a computer programmer approximately two to five hours
to perform this task. For Texas-only insurers that do not collect
information on small businesses or expedited underwriting, the
addition of the indicators may involve a small initial cost in order
to report the correct "not available" code in the small business
indicator and expedited underwriting indicator positions. These
insurers will have to reprogram their data reporting systems to
include the extra indicators using the "not available" code. The
department estimates that it will take a computer programmer
approximately one to two hours to perform this task. While it
is not feasible to determine the actual cost of any employees
needed to comply with the small business indicator and expe-
dited underwriting indicator requirements, the latest State Occu-
pational Employment and Wage Estimates for Texas published
by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Sta-
tistics (May 2014) indicates that the mean hourly wage for a com-
puter programmer in Texas is $38.85 (see: www.bls.gov/oes/cur-
rent/oes_tx.htm).

Under the proposed revisions to the Plan, insurers who write
surety bonds for public-private partnerships will have to begin
reporting these surety bonds with a new class code. The depart-
ment expects that insurers that write surety bonds for public-pri-
vate partnerships are larger insurers that write surety in multiple
states, and already report this new class code in other states.
The cost for insurers that write these bonds in states other than
Texas will be negligible, or may result in savings since the pro-
posed revisions to the Plan align reporting requirements in Texas
with the national reporting requirements of the Surety and Fi-
delity Association of America; however, any Texas-only insur-
ers that write these bonds will need to amend their classification
system in order to identify these risks and report this information
to the designated statistical agent. To comply, affected insurers
will have to determine if the principal's project is a public-private
partnership through the underwriting process. Affected insurers
will also have to update their classification tables and policy pro-
cessing systems for the new class code, and will need to change
their systems to accept an alphanumeric class code instead of a
numeric class code. Affected insurers will also have to change
their data reporting systems to accept the new class code. It is
not feasible at this time for the department to accurately approx-
imate the cost for affected insurers to make these changes. The
exact cost to an affected insurer will depend on the number of
surety bonds for public-private partnerships the affected insurer
writes and how modern the affected insurer's policy processing,
claims, and data reporting systems are.

ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL AND MICRO BUSINESSES.
As required by Government Code §2006.002(c), the department
has determined that the proposal may have an adverse eco-
nomic effect on approximately four insurers that are small or mi-
cro businesses required to comply with the proposed rules.

Adverse economic impact may result from costs associated with
reporting a new class code and indicators for surety and fidelity
risks. The cost of compliance will not vary between large busi-
nesses and small or micro businesses, and the department's
cost analysis in the public benefit or cost note portion of this pro-
posal is equally applicable to small or micro businesses. The
total cost of compliance is not dependent on the size of the
business, but rather is dependent on whether the insurer writes
surety bonds in other states, whether the insurer collects the ad-
ditional information to be reported, and the insurer's existing sys-
tems and staff.
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In accordance with Government Code §2006.002(c-1), the de-
partment has considered other regulatory methods to accom-
plish the objectives of the proposal that will also minimize any
adverse impact on small and micro businesses. The primary
objective of the proposal is to align surety and fidelity reporting
requirements with those in other states and to provide current
and accurate contact information for the department and the des-
ignated statistical agent. The other regulatory methods consid-
ered by the department include: (i) not adopting the proposed
rule, (ii) adopting different reporting requirements, and (iii) ex-
empting small or micro businesses from the revised reporting
requirements.

Not adopting the proposed rule. Without adopting the proposed
rule, surety insurers would face different requirements for report-
ing in Texas than for the rest of the nation, resulting in potentially
higher compliance costs over time and certain Texas data be-
ing unavailable for comparison or other informational purposes.
This option has been rejected.

Adopting different reporting requirements. Adopting different re-
porting requirements for small and micro businesses would not
alleviate adverse economic impact from compliance with this
proposal because it would still require adjustments to insurers'
computer systems in order to accommodate the new require-
ments. In fact, the adverse economic impact could be increased
because alternate requirements would not be in line with those in
other states in which the insurer also writes business. In addition,
multiple sets of reporting requirements are not feasible. Hav-
ing different requirements for insurers of different sizes would be
burdensome for the department, the designated statistical agent,
and the insurers. The department does not expect any small or
micro businesses to write surety bonds for private-public part-
nerships, and the adjustment to reporting for the small business
indicator and the expedited underwriting indicator will be small
because insurers that do not collect that information can report
the correct "not available" code. The proposal does not require
any insurer, regardless of size, to collect information that it is
not already collecting. Further, multiple sets of reporting require-
ments would diminish the utility of experience comparisons. This
option has been rejected.

Exempting small or micro businesses from the revised report-
ing requirements. As previously noted, multiple sets of reporting
requirements would be burdensome and would diminish the util-
ity of experience comparisons. The negative effects of exempt-
ing small or micro businesses from the revised reporting require-
ments would outweigh the relatively small anticipated costs for
small and micro businesses to comply. This option has been re-
jected.

After considering the relative benefits and costs of the alterna-
tives and the purpose of the proposed revisions to the Plan, the
department does not believe it is feasible to waive or modify the
requirements of the proposal for small and micro businesses.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. The department has de-
termined that no private real property interests are affected by
this proposal and that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to property that would otherwise exist in the
absence of government action and, therefore, does not con-
stitute a taking or require a takings impact assessment under
Government Code §2007.043.

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. If you wish to comment
on this proposal or request a hearing, you must do so in
writing no later than 5 p.m., Central time, on April 25, 2016.

Send your written comments or hearing request by email to
chiefclerk@tdi.texas.gov, or by mail to Chief Clerk, Mail Code
113-2A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104,
Austin, Texas 78714-9104. You must simultaneously submit
an additional copy of the written comments or hearing request
by email to jne.byckovski@tdi.texas.gov or by mail to J'ne
Byckovski, Director and Chief Actuary, Property and Casu-
alty Actuarial Office, Mail Code 105-5F, Texas Department of
Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104. A
request for a hearing must be submitted separately from written
comments on the proposal. If a hearing is held, the department
will consider written comments and public testimony presented
at the hearing.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The department proposes the
amendments under Insurance Code §§38.202, 38.204(a),
38.205, 38.207, and 36.001.

Section 38.202 allows the commissioner to, for a line or subline
of insurance, designate or contract with a qualified organization
to serve as the statistical agent for the commissioner to gather
data relevant for regulatory purposes.

Section 38.204(a) provides that a designated statistical agent
must collect data from reporting insurers under a statistical plan
adopted by the commissioner.

Section 38.205 requires insurers to provide all premium and loss
cost data to the commissioner or the designated statistical agent
as the commissioner or agent requires.

Section 38.207 authorizes the commissioner to adopt rules nec-
essary to accomplish the purposes of Chapter 38, Subchapter
E, relating to statistical data collection.

Section 36.001 provides the commissioner's general rulemaking
authority to adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to imple-
ment the powers and duties of the department under the Insur-
ance Code and other laws of the state.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. Section 5.9501 imple-

ments Insurance Code Chapter 38, Subchapter E, codified by

SB 1467, 76th Legislature, Regular Session (1999).

§5.9501.
(a) Purpose and Applicability.

Texas Commercial Lines Statistical Plan.

(1) The purpose of this section is to establish requirements
for the reporting of premium and loss data by direct commercial lines
insurers under [pursuant to the] Insurance Code Chapter 38, Subchapter
E.

(2) Under [Pursuant to the] Insurance Code §38.202, the
commissioner has designated a statistical agent for commercial lines
of insurance.

(3) As provided by [Pursuant to the] Insurance Code
§38.205, all insurers writing direct commercial lines business in [the
State of] Texas are required to provide a report of their premium
and loss cost experience to the commissioner or the statistical agent
designated under [the] Insurance Code §38.202. The report must
comply with the reporting requirements and instructions specified in
the Texas Commercial Lines Statistical Plan adopted by reference in
[pursuant to] subsection (b) of this section.

(4) This section applies to all reports required to be filed

with the department under this section [filed with the department] for
reporting periods beginning on or after April 1, 2017 [January 15 2010].

(b) Adoption by Reference. The commissioner adopts by
reference the Texas Commercial Lines Statistical Plan, effective
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April 1, 2017 [January 45 2040]. This document is published by the
department [Fexas Department of Insuranee] and is available on [from
of Insuranece; PO. Box 149104, Austin; Texas 78714-9104 or] the
department's [department] website at www.tdi.texas.gov.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 10, 2016.

TRD-201601204

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 31. NATURAL RESOURCES AND
CONSERVATION

PART 1. GENERAL LAND OFFICE

CHAPTER 13. LAND RESOURCES
SUBCHAPTER B. RIGHTS-OF-WAY OVER
PUBLIC LANDS

31 TAC §13.17

The General Land Office (GLO) proposes an amendment to 31
TAC §13.17 relating to fees for pipeline right-of-way easements
and power line right-of-way easements, respectively. The pro-
posed amendment will update the attached graphicsin §13.17(a)
and §13.17(e) to accurately depict current GLO fees. An addi-
tional note will also be added that provides the Commissioner of
the General Land Office (Commissioner) the ability to negotiate
the terms of right-of-way easements for pipelines transporting oil
and gas related products outside the State of Texas.

BACKGROUND AND ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED AMEND-
MENT

In accordance with Texas Natural Resources Code §51.291, the
Commissioner of the General Land Office may execute grants of
easements for rights-of-way across, through, and under unsold
public school land, the portion of the Gulf of Mexico within the
jurisdiction of the state, the state-owned riverbeds and beds of
navigable streams in the public domain, and all islands, saltwater
lakes, bays, inlets, marshes, and reefs owned by the state within
tidewater limits. Texas Natural Resources Code §51.295 pro-
vides that right-of-way easements shall be executed on terms to
be determined by the Commissioner. Figure: 31 TAC §13.17(a)
and Figure: 31 TAC §13.17(e) list the fees, surface damages
and terms for pipeline right-of-way easements and power line
right-of-way easements across public lands as established by
the Commissioner. The graphics were last updated in 2008.
However, the notes included in the graphics provide for a base
rate adjustment on September 1 of each year according to the
change in the Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers (CPI-
U), so long as the annual increase does not exceed 3% of the
previous year rate. The duration since the last update coupled
with the yearly adjustments have left a discrepancy in what is cur-
rently charged from what is listed. This discrepancy could create

confusion. Furthermore, the increase in pipelines transporting oil
and gas related products outside the State of Texas necessitate
an additional note which allows for the Commissioner to negoti-
ate the terms of these right-of-way easements on a case-by-case
basis.

FISCAL AND EMPLOYMENT IMPACTS

Brian Carter, Senior Deputy Director of Asset Enhancement, has
determined that during the first five-year period the proposed
amended rule is in effect, there will be no negative fiscal impli-
cations for state or local government or small businesses. Since
the fees are not actually increasing, but rather the graphics are
being updated to reflect the cumulative annual increases since
the last update in 2008, the amendment will only serve to clarify
the rates and prevent any confusion.

The additional note regarding easements for pipelines transport-
ing oil and gas related products outside the State of Texas will
allow the Commissioner the flexibility to negotiate based on the
merits of each of these specific easements.

PUBLIC BENEFIT

Mr. Carter has determined that the public will benefit from the
proposed amendments by preventing any future confusion with
regard to GLO fees.

ENVIRONMENTAL REGULATORY ANALYSIS

The GLO has evaluated the proposed rulemaking action in light
of the regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government
Code §2001.0225, and determined that the action is not subject
to §2001.0225 because it does not meet the definition of a "major
environmental rule" as defined in the statute.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The GLO has evaluated the proposed rulemaking in accordance
with Texas Government Code §2007.043(b) and §2.18 of the At-
torney General's Private Real Property Rights Preservation Act
Guidelines to determine whether a detailed takings impact as-
sessment is required. GLO has determined that the proposed
rulemaking does not affect private real property in a manner that
requires real property owners to be compensated as provided
by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution or Article |, §17 and §19 of the Texas Constitution.
Furthermore, GLO has determined that the proposed rulemak-
ing would not affect any private real property in a manner that
restricts or limits the owner's right to the property that would oth-
erwise exist in the absence of the rule amendment.

PUBLIC COMMENT REQUEST

Comments may be submitted to Walter Talley, Office of General
Counsel, Texas General Land Office, 1700 N. Congress Avenue,
Austin, Texas 78701 or by facsimile to (512) 463-6311 by no later
than 30 days after publication.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments to §13.17(a) and §13.17(e) are proposed un-
der the Texas Natural Resources Code §§51.291 - 51.307 re-
lating to the Commissioner's ability to grant easements or other
interests in property for rights-of-way or access across, through,
and under state public land; and Texas Natural Resources Code
§51.014 providing that the Commissioner may adopt rules nec-
essary to carry out the provisions of Chapter 51, Texas Natural
Resources Code and may alter or amend the rules to protect the
public interest.
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The proposed amendment affects no other code, article, or
statute.

§13.17.  Fees for Right-of-Way Easement.

(a) The following table lists the fees, surface damages and
terms for pipeline right-of-way easements across public lands as es-
tablished by the commissioner of the General Land Office.

Figure: 31 TAC §13.17(a)

(b) - (d) (No change.)

(e) The following table lists the fees, rates, and terms for power
line rights-of-way easements over and across public lands as estab-
lished by the commissioner.

Figure: 31 TAC §13.17(¢e)

(H) - (g) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 14, 2016.

TRD-201601220

Anne L. Idsal

Chief Clerk, Deputy Land Commissioner

General Land Office

Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1859

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC
ACCOUNTS

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER O. STATE AND LOCAL SALES
AND USE TAXES

34 TAC §3.364

The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments
to §3.364, concerning staff leasing services. The proposed
amendments implement Senate Bill 1286, 83rd Legislature,
2013 (SB 1286). The title of this section is amended to "Profes-
sional Employer Services" to reflect the changes to the Labor
Code made by SB 1286. Definitions are amended and new
terminology is introduced to reflect the conforming changes to
Tax Code, §151.057 made by SB 1286.

Subsection (a) is amended to incorporate new terminology and
definitions. Existing paragraphs (1) and (2) are deleted and new
paragraphs (1) - (4) are added.

New paragraph (1) defines the term "client" to mean any person
who enters into a professional employer services agreement with
a professional employer organization. This definition is based
upon Labor Code, §91.001(3).

New paragraph (2) defines the term "coemployer" to mean a pro-
fessional employer organization or a client that is a party to a co-
employment relationship. This definition restates Labor Code,
§91.001(3-a).

New paragraph (3) defines the term "coemployment relationship”
to mean a contractual relationship between a client and a profes-

sional employer organization that involves the sharing of employ-
ment responsibilities with or allocation of employment responsi-
bilities to covered employees in accordance with a professional
employer services agreement. This definition is based upon La-
bor Code, §91.001(3-b).

New paragraph (4) defines "covered employee." This definition
implements Labor Code, §91.001(7-a) and §91.0012 and incor-
porates guidance previously provided in the definition of the term
"assigned employee," which is proposed to be deleted. Subse-
quent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Renumbered paragraph (5) (formerly paragraph (3)) defines the
term "independent contractor." This paragraph is amended to
replace the phrase in subparagraph (A) from "is paid by the job
even when consideration is based on a time-measure basis" to
"is paid by the job, not by the hour or some other time measured
basis." This amendment is made to reflect the definition set out
in Labor Code, §91.0001(10)(A).

Paragraphs (4) and (5), defining shared employment relationship
and staff leasing company, respectively, are deleted.

Paragraph (6) is amended to define the term "professional em-
ployer organization." The term "staff leasing services" and its
definition are deleted. A professional employer organization is
defined by Tax Code, §151.057 as a business that offers pro-
fessional employer services and is licensed under Labor Code,
Chapter 91, or is exempt from the licensing requirements of La-
bor Code, Chapter 91. Currently, the Labor Code does not ex-
empt any professional employer organizations from the licensing
requirements of Chapter 91. Consequently, this portion of the
definition is not included in the rule.

New paragraph (7) defines the term "professional employer ser-
vices" to mean services provided through coemployment rela-
tionships in which all or a majority of the employees providing
services to a client or to a division or work unit of a client are
covered employees. The term does not include temporary help;
an independent contractor; the provision of services that other-
wise meet the definition of "professional employer services" by
one person solely to other persons who are related to the service
provider by common ownership; or a temporary common worker
employer as defined by Labor Code, Chapter 92. This definition
is based upon Labor Code, §91.001(14).

New paragraph (8) defines the term "temporary help" to mean
an arrangement by which an organization hires its own employ-
ees and assigns them to a company to support or supplement
the company's work force in a special work situation, including:
an employee absence; a temporary skill shortage; a seasonal
workload; or a special assignment or project. The definition is
based on the definition given in Labor Code, §91.001(16).

Subsection (b), which sets out the responsibilities of persons
providing staff leasing services, is amended to implement the ter-
minology of Labor Code, Chapter 91 and Tax Code, §151.057.
No substantive change is intended as a result of these revisions.

Subsection (c), which relates to independent contractors, is
amended to replace the terms "staff leasing services" and
"staff leasing company" with the terms "professional employer
services" and "professional employer organization." All other
changes in subsection (c) reflect the changes in terminology
made to Tax Code, §151.057 by SB 1286 and are not substan-
tive in nature.

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for
the first five-year period the rule will be in effect, there will be no
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significant revenue impact on the state or units of local govern-
ment.

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of enforcing the rule will be by conforming the rule to
current statutes. This rule is proposed under Tax Code, Title 2,
and does not require a statement of fiscal implications for small
businesses. There is no significant anticipated economic cost to
individuals who are required to comply with the proposed rule.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Teresa G.
Bostick, Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin,
Texas 78711-3528. Comments must be received no later than
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas
Register.

The amendment is proposed under Tax Code, §111.002, which
provides the comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt,
and enforce rules relating to the administration and enforcement
of the provisions of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendment implements Tax Code, §151.057 (Services by
Employees).

$§3.364.  Professional Employer [Staff Leasing] Services.

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Client--Any person who enters into a professional em-
ployer services agreement with a professional employer organization.

(2) Coemployer--A professional employer organization or
a client that is a party to a coemployment relationship.

(3) Coemployment relationship--A contractual relation-
ship between a client and a professional employer organization that
involves the sharing of employment responsibilities with or allocation
of employment responsibilities to covered employees in accordance
with a professional employer services agreement and the provisions
of Labor Code, Chapter 91.

(4) Covered employee--An individual having a coem-
ployment relationship with a professional employer organization and
a client. The term does not include an independent contractor, a
temporary common worker as defined by Labor Code, Chapter 92, or
an employee providing temporary help.

1) Assigned employee—An employee who is assigned to
a client company by a staff leasing company, whese work is performed
in this state; and as to whem the staff leasing company and the elient
company share employment responsibilities: The term does not include
an employee or independent contractor retained or hired by a elient
company for a limited period of time to support or supplement a client
company's workforee in a speeial work situation; including:}

A) an employee absenee;}

{B) a temporary skill shertage;}
HES) a seasonal workload: or}

[(D) a special assignment or project.}

2y Client company—A person that contracts with a staff
leasing company and is assigned employees by the staff leasing com-
pany under the eontract]

(5) [63)] Independent contractor--A person who contracts

to perform work or provide a service for the benefit of another and
who:

(A) is paid by the job even, not by the hour or some
other time measured basis [when consideration is based on a time mea-
sured basis];

(B) is free to hire as many helpers as the person desires
and to determine what each helper will be paid,

(C) is free to work for other customers, or to send
helpers to work for other customers, while under contract to the hiring
customer; and

(D) s in control of the details of the work and the right
to terminate the employment of its employees.

4y Shared employment relationship—An employment re-
mg%mpanymwhwhby%ﬁeﬂeeﬁ&aetaﬁdmﬁeﬁhes@afﬂe&smg
company and client company share employment responsibilities.]

5 Staff leasing company-—-A business that offers staff
or a business that offers staff leasing services but is exempt from the
licensing requirements of the Laboer Code}

(6) Professional employer organization--A business entity
that offers profess1onal employer serv1ces and is licensed under Labor

eempaﬂyaﬁdfela%edteshafedemﬁ}eye%wtheeh%teempaﬂyuﬂ-
der a written contract between the staff leasing company and the elient
company that provides for a shared employment relationship as to the
assigned employees:]

(7)  Professional employer services--Services provided to a
client by a professional employer organization through a coemploy-
ment relationship when a majority of the employees providing services
to the client, or to a division or work unit of the client, are covered em-
ployees. The term does not include:

(A) temporary help;

(B) the provision of services by an independent contrac-

tor;

(C) the provision of services that otherwise meet the
definition of "professional employer services" by one person solely to
other persons who are related to the service provider by common own-
ership; or

(D) services provided by a temporary common worker
employer as defined by Labor Code, Chapter 92.

(8) Temporary help--An arrangement by which an organi-
zation hires its own employees and assigns them to a company to sup-
port or supplement the company's work force in a special work situa-
tion, including:

(A) an employee absence;

(B) atemporary skill shortage;

(C) a seasonal workload; or

(D) a special assignment or project.

(b) Tax responsibilities of professional employer organiza-
tions [persons whe perform staff leasing serviees].

(1) Sales tax is not due on professional employer [staff
leasing] services if all of the following conditions are met:
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(A) at least 75% of the covered [assigned] employees
providing services under the professional employer services agree-
ment [staff leasing eontraet] were previously employees of the client
[eempany] for a period of at least three months immediately prior
to commencement of the professional employer services agreement
[staff leasing contract];

(B) none of the covered [assigred] employees were em-
ployed previously:

(i) by the company providing professional employer
[staff leasing] services under the agreement [eentraet] unless the pre-

vious employment was through a coemployment [shared employment]
relationship; or

(i) by a person [an entity] that previously provided
or currently provides taxable services to the client [eempany]; and

(C) acoemployment [shared employment] relationship
exists between the client [eempany] and the professional employer or-

ganization [staff leasing company] as to the covered [assigned] em-
ployees.

(2) The following are exceptions to paragraph (1) of this
subsection.

(A) A professional employer services agreement [staff
leasing eontraet] must comply only with paragraph (1)(B) and (C) of
this subsection when the client [eempany] has been in operation for
less than a year; provided that a client [eompany] that has been in ex-
istence less than a year solely due to a change in legal entity, merger,
or corporate reorganization must meet all three conditions. In the lat-
ter situation, the combined experience of all entities involved in such
legal change, merger, or corporate reorganization will be considered
when applying the tests set forth in paragraph (1) of this subsection.

(B) When a professional employer organization [staff

leasing eompany] enters into an agreement [a eentraet] with a client
[eompany] that previously was in a coemployment [shared employ-
ment] relationship with another professional employer organization

[staff leasing company| immediately prior to the effective date of such
new agreement [eentraet], the [shared] employees that were subject to
the coemployment relationship will be considered employees of the
client [eempany] in meeting the requirement in paragraph (1)(A) of
this subsection.

(C) A professional employer services agreement [staff
leasing econtraet] that has met the qualifications in paragraph (1) of
this subsection will not have to re-qualify if a covered [an] employee
[assigned under the eontraet] is fired or resigns and is replaced. How-
ever, an agreement [a eentract] must re-qualify under paragraph (1) if,
within six months after it is entered into, all of the covered [assigned]
employees or an identifiable segment of the covered [assigned] em-
ployees are replaced by:

(i) employees previously employed by the
professional employer organization [staff leasing company] unless the
previous employment was through a coemployment [shared employ-
ment] relationship with another client [eempany]; or

(i) employees of an entity that previously provided
or currently provides taxable services to the client [company].

(D) If the scope of an existing professional employer
services agreement [staff leasing eentraet] is expanded to increase the
volume of services of the type already provided by the professional
employer organization [staff leasing company] by adding employees
to perform the same work functions of employees already under the
agreement (for example [eentract {e-g:], another shift is added), the

amended agreement [eentract] must meet the qualifications in para-
graph (1)(B)(i) and (C) of this subsection.

(E) 1If the scope of an existing professional employer
services agreement [staff leasing eontraet] is expanded to include ser-
vices not previously provided by the professional employer organiza-
tion [staff leasing eompany] by adding employees to perform functions
that are not currently performed by employees under the agreement (for
example [eontraet (e-g:], employees are added to perform debt collec-
tion services for a client who previously had not performed those ser-
vices in house), the amended agreement [eentract] must meet the qual-
ifications in paragraph (1)(B) and (C) of this subsection.

(3) The client [eompany] and the professional employer or-
ganization [staff leasing eompany| must sign a written certification that
the professional employer services agreement [staff leasing contract]
or amendments to the agreement [eentraet] meet the requirements and
conditions set out in this section, and both parties must retain a copy of
the certification in their files.

(4) If an agreement [a eontraet] does not meet the condi-
tions for exemption set out in subsection (b) of this section, taxable
services as defined in [the] Tax Code, §151.0101, performed under the
agreement [eontraet] are subject to sales tax, unless purchased for re-
sale as provided in §3.285 of this title (relating to Sales for Resale;
Resale Certificates).

(5) When both nontaxable professional employer [staff
leasing] services and taxable services are being performed under the
same agreement [eentraet], the parties to the agreement [centraet]
should separately identify the taxable from nontaxable services in the
agreement [a eentract] and the charges applicable to each. Failure
to separate the charges will result in the entire agreement [econtraet]
being presumed to be for taxable services. Documentation that clearly
defines the work being performed should be retained by both parties
to show that had the nontaxable professional employer [staff leasing]
services and taxable services been performed independently of each
other, the cost of each would be reasonably near the allocation of
charges. Examples of acceptable documentation include written
agreements, [eentraets] which detail the scope of work, bid sheets,
tally sheets, payroll records, and job descriptions. If there is not a
written agreement [eentraet] signed by both parties clearly showing
agreement as to the taxable and nontaxable work being performed, the
customer and the service provider may prepare a written certification
verifying the allocation of nontaxable professional employer services
[staff leasing]| and taxable services. All services performed will be
presumed to be taxable if the parties fail to provide the written certifi-
cation. The comptroller may recalculate the charges if the allocation
appears unreasonable and either party may be held responsible for the
additional tax due.

(c) Independent contractor. Professional employer [Staff
leasing] services do not include services performed by an independent
contractor regardless of the status of the contractor as a licensed

professional employer organization [staff leasing company].
(d) Temporary help service. For information on the taxability

of services performed by a temporary help service, see §3.356 of this
title (relating to Real Property Service).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 10, 2016.
TRD-201601200

PROPOSED RULES March 25,2016 41 TexReg 2311



Don Neal

Chief Deputy General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Earliest possible date of adoption: April 24, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387
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