
TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

PART 3. OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY 
GENERAL 

CHAPTER 65. LANDOWNER COMPENSA-
TION PROGRAM 
The Office of the Attorney General (OAG) proposes new Chapter 
65 in Title 1 of the Texas Administrative Code (TAC), relating to 
the Landowner Compensation Program. Proposed new Chapter 
65 consists of Subchapter A, §65.1 and §65.2, Scope, Construc-
tion, and Definitions; Subchapter B, §§65.200 - 65.203, Program 
Guidelines; Subchapter C, §§65.300 - 65.307, Application for 
Compensation; and Subchapter D, §§65.400 - 65.402, Admin-
istrative Remedies. Proposed new Chapter 65 is necessary to 
implement the Landowner Compensation Program in Chapter 
56C, Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. 
EXPLANATION OF AND JUSTIFICATION RULES 

The Legislature, in the 88th Regular Session (2023), added 
Chapter 56C to the Code of Criminal Procedure (S.B. 1133) 
which establishes the Landowner Compensation Program 
(LCP). The purpose of the LCP is to compensate certain 
landowners who suffer real property damage on agriculture land 
as a result of certain acts in connection with a border crime. 
Senate Bill 1133 provides that the OAG shall establish: Eligibility 
for compensation, application procedures, criteria for evaluating 
application and awarding compensation, guidelines for compen-
sation amounts not to exceed $75,000 per incident, and proce-
dures for monitoring the use of awarded compensation. 
Proposed new Chapter 65 is necessary to implement Chapter 
56C and Contingency Rider Section 18.03, General Appropria-
tions Act (GAA) for Fiscal Years 2024-2025, which appropriates 
funds to create and administer the LCP. Chapter 56C, Code of 
Criminal Procedure, as added by S.B.1133 will expire on the sec-
ond anniversary of the date that the money appropriated for the 
LCP has been expended. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

Proposed new Chapter 65 adds new Subchapter A - Scope, 
Construction, and Definitions. 
Proposed new §65.1, outlines the authority, scope, and con-
struction of the rules and law establishing the LCP. 
Proposed new §65.2, defines the following terms: "Agricul-
ture land," "Agriculture use," "Application," "Border crime," 
"Claimant," "Closed application," "Collateral source," "Incident," 
"Landowner," "Law enforcement agency," "LCP," "OAG," "Real 
property," "Report," and "Trespasser." 

Proposed new Chapter 65 adds new Subchapter B - Program 
Guidelines. 
Proposed new §65.200 outlines claimant eligibility requirements, 
the administration of the program, and compensation and award 
limits. The eligibility requirements are consistent with Chapter 
56C and require that a claimant submit an application in accor-
dance with proposed new Chapter 65. Proposed new §65.200 
also establishes that real property damage for which an appli-
cant files a claim must have occurred on or after September 1, 
2023. 
Proposed new §65.201 establishes that the OAG may award 
compensation to claimants that the OAG determines have met 
all eligibility requirements outlined in §65.200. Proposed new 
§65.201 also establishes parameters the OAG may use to de-
termine the amount of compensation that will be awarded to a 
claimant who the OAG determines is eligible to receive compen-
sation under the LCP. 
Proposed new §65.202 establishes the types of real property re-
pairs for which the OAG may award compensation and how the 
rates will be set, published, and reviewed. New §65.202 also es-
tablishes a maximum compensation amount of $75,000, which 
is consistent with Chapter 56C, and states that applications for 
$15 or less will not be considered. 
Proposed new §65.203, establishes procedures that the OAG 
may use to monitor a landowner's use of compensation awarded 
under the LCP. 
Proposed new Chapter 65 adds new Subchapter C - Application 
for Compensation. 
Proposed new §65.300 establishes the application requirements 
a claimant must meet to be eligible for compensation under the 
LCP. 
Proposed new §65.301 states that claimants must submit appli-
cations for compensation no later than 95 days after the date 
the incident occurred. The OAG has the discretion to extend the 
time frame for filing an application. 
Proposed new §65.302, requires the claimant report an incident 
to the appropriate state or local law enforcement agency within 
a reasonable time period as determined by the OAG. 
Proposed new §65.303 outlines when an application may be de-
nied or closed. The OAG may reconsider an application that has 
been closed. The OAG will not reconsider an application that has 
been denied. However, a claimant may reapply for compensa-
tion based on the same incident for which a previous application 
has been denied if the claimant discovers new relevant informa-
tion. 
Proposed new §65.304 establishes that the OAG is the payer 
of last resort pursuant to §56C.006 of the Code of Criminal Pro-
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cedure. Proposed new §65.304 provides that the OAG will not 
award compensation where another collateral source is or was 
available to compensate the landowner for real property dam-
age that otherwise qualified for compensation under the LCP. 
Proposed new §65.304 also establishes that the OAG may con-
sider the availability of collateral sources to determine, award, 
deny, or reduce compensation. 
Proposed new §65.305 establishes that the OAG may require a 
refund from a claimant if the claimant applied for compensation 
on the basis of fraud or mistake or based on new information 
that would disqualify a claimant from being eligible for compen-
sation. The OAG may also pursue available administrative or 
civil penalties in addition to seeking a refund upon determining 
that compensation was awarded based on fraud or mistake or 
based on new information that would disqualify a claimant from 
being eligible for compensation. 
Proposed new §65.306 provides that the OAG will not exceed 
the amount of money appropriated for compensation under the 
LCP and available funds will be awarded in a priority deemed 
appropriate by the OAG. 
Proposed new §65.307 provides that the OAG has authority to 
transmit the submission of notices, forms, and other documen-
tation electronically and also may require a claimant to do so. 
Proposed new Chapter 65 adds new Subchapter D - Adminis-
trative Remedies. 
Proposed new §65.400 outlines procedures to request a recon-
sideration of an application or award under the LCP. 
Proposed new §65.401 outlines the prehearing conference re-
quirements. 
Proposed new §65.402 outlines the hearing procedures. 
FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

Mr. Ryan Fisher, Chief of the Crime Victim Services Division, has 
determined that for each year of the first five years the proposed 
rules are in effect, there will be an anticipated additional cost to 
the state General Revenue Funds, estimated at $18,000,000 for 
the first fiscal year and $18,000,000 for the second fiscal year. 
The additional cost to the state was considered in the fiscal 
note for S.B. 1133, which amended the Texas Code of Criminal 
Procedure by adding Chapter 56C. Senate Bill 1133 grants the 
OAG the ability to adopt rules, establish, and administer the 
Landowner Compensation Program. 
The General Appropriations Act for Fiscal Year 2024-2025 ap-
propriated $18 million per fiscal year for two years, totaling $36 
million, with administrative costs of $342,617 per year included in 
the amount to implement S.B. 1133. Because the LCP is a new 
program, an accurate forecast of compensation payouts and op-
erating costs is not possible. 
Chapter 56C of the Code of Criminal Procedure, as added by 
S.B. 1133, will expire on the second anniversary of the date the 
money appropriated for the Landowner Compensation Program 
has been expended. 
Mr. Fisher has determined that there will be no additional costs 
to local government, no estimated reductions in costs to state 
or local government, and no estimated increase in revenue or 
estimated losses in revenue to state or local government. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATEMENT 

Mr. Fisher has determined that the proposed rules do not have 
an impact on local employment or economies because the pro-
posed rules impact landowners. Therefore, no local employment 
or economy impact statement is required under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2001.022. 
PUBLIC BENEFITS 

Mr. Fisher has determined that for each year of the first five-year 
period the proposed rules are in effect, the public benefit will be 
to the landowners who have suffered real property damage on 
agriculture land as a result of certain acts in connection with a 
border crime. Eligible claimants will receive compensation, an 
award amount of up to $75,000 per incident, for their losses. 
The compensation will allow for financial recovery for damage 
caused by trespassing on agricultural land or related to border 
crimes if compensation from other collateral sources is not avail-
able to the landowner. 
PROBABLE ECONOMIC COSTS TO PERSONS REQUIRED 
TO COMPLY WITH PROPOSAL 

Mr. Fisher has determined that for each year of the first five-
year period the proposed rules are in effect, there are no antic-
ipated economic costs to persons who are required to comply 
with the proposed rules. Senate Bill 1133 amended the Texas 
Code of Criminal Procedure adding Chapter 56C, which estab-
lishes the Landowner Compensation Program, to assist those 
affected by border crime on agricultural land to be eligible to re-
ceive compensation for real property damage. Those identified 
as affected by the proposed rules are potential claimants who 
may be eligible for compensation. Enforcing or administering 
the proposed rules do not have foreseeable economic costs to 
those claimants. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL BUSINESSES, MICROBUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

Mr. Fisher has determined that for each year of the first five-year 
period the proposed rules are in effect, there will be no adverse 
economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses, or rural 
communities as a result of the proposed rules. 
Since the proposed rules will have no adverse economic effect 
on small businesses, micro-businesses, or rural communities, 
preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and a Regulatory 
Flexibility Analysis, as detailed under Texas Government Code 
§2006.002, is not required. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

Pursuant to Government Code §2001.0221, the agency provides 
the following Government Growth Impact Statement for the pro-
posed rules. For each year of the first five years the proposed 
rules will be in effect, the agency has determined the following: 
1. Proposed new chapter 65 creates a new government pro-
gram. Senate Bill 1133 creates a government program called 
Landowner Compensation Program and appropriates General 
Revenue Funds to the OAG for two years to administer the pro-
gram. 
2. Implementation of proposed new chapter 65 requires the OAG 
to create 10 new full-time employee positions. The proposed 
rules are necessary to implement S.B. 1133, which resulted in 
the creation of a new program for which implementation requires 
additional staff in the Crime Victims Services Division. 

49 TexReg 822 February 16, 2024 Texas Register 



3. Implementation of the proposed rules does not require an 
increase or decrease in future legislative appropriations to the 
agency. The proposed rules implement General Appropriations 
Act for Fiscal Year 2024-2025, Contingency Rider Section 
18.03, which appropriates funds to create and administer the 
Landowner Compensation Program. The appropriated amount 
for the program is $18 million per fiscal year for two years, 
totaling $36 million, with administrative costs of $342,617 per 
year included in the amount. Chapter 56C, Code of Criminal 
Procedure, as added by S.B. 1133 will expire on the second 
anniversary of the date that the money appropriated for the 
Landowner Compensation Program has been expended. Un-
less continued by the Texas Legislature and funded through the 
General Appropriations Act, the proposed rules do not increase 
or decrease future legislative appropriations. 
4. The proposed rules will not require an increase or decrease 
in fees paid to the agency. 
5. The proposed rules will not create a new regulation. 
6. The proposed rules will not expand, limit, or repeal an existing 
regulation. 
7. The proposed rules increase the number of individuals subject 
to the rules' applicability. The proposed rules implement S.B. 
1133 which creates a new Landowner Compensation Program 
and therefore increases the number of individuals that may be 
eligible to be claimants. 
8. The proposed rules positively affect this state's economy. 
Senate Bill 1133 allows landowners who have suffered real prop-
erty damage on agriculture land as a result of certain acts in 
connection with a border crime. Eligible claimants will receive 
compensation, an award amount of up to $75,000 per incident, 
for their losses. This will allow for a quicker financial recovery for 
damage caused by trespassing on agricultural land or related to 
border crimes. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The OAG has determined that no private real property interests 
are affected by the proposed rules and the proposed rules do 
not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an owner's rights to 
his or her private real property that would otherwise exist in the 
absence of government action. As a result, the proposed rules 
do not constitute a taking or require a takings impact assessment 
under Government Code §2007.043. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS 

Written comments on the proposed rules may be submitted 
electronically to the Crime Victims Services Division by email at 
landowner.compensation@oag.texas.gov or by mail to Crime 
Victim Services Division, Office of the Attorney General, P.O. 
Box 12198, Austin, Texas 78711. 
The deadline for comments is 30 days after publication in the 
Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER A. SCOPE, CONSTRUCTION, 
AND DEFINITIONS 
1 TAC §65.1, §65.2 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

New 1 TAC Chapter 65 is proposed pursuant to the Texas Code 
of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 56C, as added by S.B. 1133 
passed by the 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2023) 

which requires the OAG to adopt rules necessary to implement 
Chapter 56C. 
Proposed new Chapter 65 is further proposed pursuant to the 
General Appropriations Act for Fiscal Year 2024-2025, Contin-
gency Rider Section 18.03, which appropriates funds to create 
and administer the Landowner Compensation Program. 
CROSS REFERENCE 

This regulation clarifies Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, 
Chapter 56C. No other rule, regulation, or law is affected by this 
proposed rule. 
§65.1. Authority, Scope, and Construction of Rules. 
This chapter applies to the administration of the Landowner Compen-
sation for Property Damage caused by Certain Criminal Activities pro-
gram pursuant to Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 56C. The 
Office of the Attorney General (OAG) adopts this chapter under the 
authority of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 56C and 
Texas Government Code, Chapter 402. 

§65.2. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings: 

(1) "Agricultural land" means any land the use of which 
qualifies the land for appraisal based on agricultural use as defined un-
der Subchapter D, Chapter 23, Texas Tax Code. 

(2) "Agriculture use" includes but is not limited to the fol-
lowing activities: cultivating the soil, producing crops for human food, 
animal feed, or planting seed or for the production of fibers; floricul-
ture, viticulture, and horticulture; raising or keeping livestock; raising 
or keeping exotic animals for the production of human food or of fiber, 
leather, pelts, or other tangible products having a commercial value; 
planting cover crops or leaving land idle for the purpose of participat-
ing in a governmental program, provided the land is not used for res-
idential purposes or a purpose inconsistent with agricultural use; and 
planting cover crops or leaving land idle in conjunction with normal 
crop or livestock rotation procedure. The term also includes the use 
of land to produce or harvest logs and posts for the use in constructing 
or repairing fences, pens, barns, or other agricultural improvements on 
adjacent qualified open-space land having the same owner and devoted 
to a different agricultural use. The term also includes the use of land for 
wildlife management. The term also includes the use of land to raise or 
keep bees for pollination or for the production of human food or other 
tangible products having a commercial value, defined by the Texas Tax 
Code §23.51(2). 

(3) "Application" means a written request for compensa-
tion under the Landowner Compensation for Property Damage caused 
by Certain Criminal Activities program and includes all supporting 
documentation that is provided for claim determination as prescribed 
by the OAG. 

(4) "Border crime" means conduct: 

(A) constituting an offense under: 

(i) Subchapter D, Chapter 481 (Texas Controlled 
Substances Act), Health and Safety Code; 

(ii) Section 20.05 (Smuggling of Persons) or 38.04 
(Evading Arrest or Detention), Penal Code; or 

(iii) Chapter 20A (Trafficking of Persons), Penal 
Code; and 

(B) involving transnational criminal activity. 
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(5) "Claimant" means any landowner applying for any ben-
efit under this chapter. 

(6) "Closed application" means an application which has 
been administratively closed under this chapter. 

(7) "Collateral source" means financial compensation for 
real property damage under a state, local, or federal funding program, 
or an insurance contract and may include property insurance; state 
funding; local funding; federal funding; or foreign consulate payments. 

(8) "Incident" means an occurrence of real property dam-
age on agricultural land caused by a trespasser as a result of an offense 
under Chapter 28, Penal Code, in the course or furtherance of a border 
crime or engaged in a border crime that has been reported to law en-
forcement. 

(9) "Landowner" means an individual or business that 
owns land in the State of Texas. 

(10) "Law enforcement agency" means a governmental or-
ganization that employs commissioned peace officers as defined by 
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 2.12. 

(11) "LCP" means Landowner Compensation Program. 

(12) "OAG" means Office of the Attorney General. 

(13) "Real Property" means agricultural land that has the 
meanings assigned by Texas Tax Code, §1.04(2). The term does not 
include crops, farm equipment, or livestock. 

(14) "Report" means written documentation created or pro-
vided by a law enforcement agency in connection with an incident. 

(15) "Trespasser" has the meaning assigned by Texas Civil 
Practice and Remedies Code §75.007. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5, 
2024. 
TRD-202400427 
Justin Gordon 
General Counsel 
Office of the Attorney General 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 565-8064 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER B. PROGRAM GUIDELINES 
1 TAC §§65.200 - 65.203 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

New 1 TAC Chapter 65 is proposed pursuant to the Texas Code 
of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 56C, as added by S.B. 1133 
passed by the 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2023) 
which requires the OAG to adopt rules necessary to implement 
Chapter 56C. 
Proposed new Chapter 65 is further proposed pursuant to the 
General Appropriations Act for Fiscal Year 2024-2025, Contin-
gency Rider Section 18.03, which appropriates funds to create 
and administer the Landowner Compensation Program. 
CROSS REFERENCE 

This regulation clarifies Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, 
Chapter 56C. No other rule, regulation, or law is affected by this 
proposed rule. 
§65.200. Eligibility and Administration. 

(a) The OAG shall determine the eligibility, standards, and 
reasonable limits on compensation for applications and payments in 
a manner consistent with the law and this chapter. Use of payments 
made under the LCP are subject to ongoing review by the OAG to en-
sure compliance with conditions of the awards. 

(b) The following requirements must be met in order for a 
claimant to be eligible for compensation under the LCP: 

(1) the claimant must be a landowner; 

(2) the land for which the claimant submits an application 
for compensation under the LCP must be agricultural land; 

(3) the damage for which the claimant submits an applica-
tion must be real property damage caused by a trespasser as a result of 
an offense under Chapter 28, Texas Penal Code, that was committed in 
the course of or in furtherance of a border crime or a law enforcement 
response to a trespasser who was engaged in a border crime; 

(4) the claimant must submit a written report created by 
a law enforcement agency stating real property damage occurred in 
connection with a border crime; and 

(5) the landowner sought and was not eligible to receive 
compensation from all available collateral sources. 

(c) The real property damage for which a claimant files a claim 
must have occurred on or after September 1, 2023. 

(d) A claimant may not be eligible for compensation under the 
LCP if the claimant does not submit an application in accordance with 
this chapter. 

§65.201. Program Compensation. 

(a) The OAG may award compensation to claimants deter-
mined by the OAG to have met all eligibility requirements in §65.200 
of this chapter. 

(b) Compensation will be reduced for any portion of the oth-
erwise eligible real property damage for which the claimant received 
compensation from a collateral source. 

(c) Awarded compensation will be an amount the OAG deter-
mines is reasonable to restore the real property to equal value of the 
real property before the damage. 

(d) The OAG may determine the fair market price of a cost to 
determine a reimbursable amount of compensation if a claimant does 
not, for a reasonable reason, submit proof of the actual cost for repair. 
The OAG has the discretion to determine whether the reason a claimant 
is not able to provide proof of actual cost for repair is reasonable. 

§65.202. Compensation Amount Guidelines. 

(a) Real property repairs are limited to the following cate-
gories: 

(1) labor cost for repairs made; 

(2) cost for fence repair, including materials; 

(3) cost for structure repair, including materials; 

(4) disposal and removal of damaged property; or 

(5) any other costs the OAG determines is reasonable to 
restore fair market value. 
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(b) The OAG will set the compensation rates for costs enu-
merated in subsection (a) of this section in accordance with fair market 
value guidelines and publish the rates on the OAG's website. The OAG 
may periodically review and adjust the compensation rates at its discre-
tion to ensure fair market value. 

(c) The maximum amount awarded per incident will not ex-
ceed $75,000. 

(d) Applications submitted by a claimant for $15 or less will 
not be considered. 

§65.203. Monitoring Use of Compensation. 

(a) The OAG may verify and investigate the use of compen-
sation awarded under the LCP. Verification and investigation includes 
but is not limited to: 

(1) verification of any documentation submitted to the 
OAG; 

(2) review of records submitted by a claimant; or 

(3) a post-award audit to verify actual charges, bills, pay-
ments, and the delivery of goods or services. 

(b) The OAG may require additional supporting documenta-
tion from a claimant. The claimant must respond to the OAG's request 
within 10 days, unless good cause is shown. 

(c) If the claimant fails to provide additional supporting 
documentation or the OAG determines the claimant improperly used 
awarded compensation, then the OAG may require a claimant to 
refund the awarded funds in accordance with this chapter. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5, 
2024. 
TRD-202400486 
Justin Gordon 
General Counsel 
Office of the Attorney General 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 565-8064 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. APPLICATION FOR 
COMPENSATION 
1 TAC §§65.300 - 65.307 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

New 1 TAC Chapter 65 is proposed pursuant to the Texas Code 
of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 56C, as added by S.B. 1133 
passed by the 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2023) 
which requires the OAG to adopt rules necessary to implement 
Chapter 56C. 
Proposed new Chapter 65 is further proposed pursuant to the 
General Appropriations Act for Fiscal Year 2024-2025, Contin-
gency Rider Section 18.03, which appropriates funds to create 
and administer the Landowner Compensation Program. 
CROSS REFERENCE 

This regulation clarifies Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, 
Chapter 56C. No other rule, regulation, or law is affected by this 
proposed rule. 
§65.300. Application for Compensation. 

(a) All communications and applications for compensation 
shall be submitted to the LCP in a manner and form prescribed by the 
OAG. 

(b) An application for compensation is complete when the ap-
plication: 

(1) is filled out in its entirety as prescribed by the OAG; 

(2) signed by the claimant; 

(3) contains all relevant required documentation; and 

(4) contains any other information requested by the OAG 
to determine eligibility. 

(c) The OAG will not consider an application until the appli-
cation is complete as prescribed in §65.300(b). 

(d) An application must include: 

(1) a written report, including an incident or claim number, 
by a law enforcement agency that documents the real property damage 
occurred in connection with a border crime; 

(2) photographic evidence of the real property damage; 

(3) a detailed description of the real property damage; 

(4) the Texas Comptrollers of Public Accounts - Ag/Tim-
ber Registration Number; and 

(5) insurance declarations or denial of coverage. 

(e) The OAG may require the claimant to provide: 

(1) Federal Tax Identification Number (EIN); 

(2) entity formation information; 

(3) the claimant's social security number; 

(4) the claimant's Individual Taxpayer Number (ITIN); 

(5) itemized receipts or invoices of cost for repair(s); or 

(6) itemized receipts or invoices of cost for labor. 

(f) If the claimant submits an application that is not complete, 
the OAG will notify the claimant in writing, that the application is in-
complete and request additional information be provided. 

(g) If the claimant does not return the completed application to 
the OAG within 30 days from the date generated on the OAG's request 
for additional information, the application may be closed in accordance 
with §65.303 of this chapter. 

§65.301. Timely Filing an Application. 

(a) An application must be submitted with the OAG no later 
than 90 days from the date of an incident. 

(b) The OAG may extend the time for filing an application 
upon good cause shown by the claimant. Good cause, as determined 
by the OAG, may include the following circumstances: 

(1) The claimant was not reasonably aware of the LCP; 

(2) Extenuating circumstances prevented the claimant 
from filing in a timely manner; or 

(3) Any other circumstance that the OAG considers signif-
icant. 
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§65.302. Law Enforcement Report. 

(a) A claimant must report an incident to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency within a reasonable period as determined by the 
OAG in order to be eligible for compensation under the LCP. 

(b) The OAG may extend the time for reporting an incident to 
law enforcement if the OAG determines that the extension is justified 
by extraordinary circumstances. 

(c) The report must include the location of the incident. 

§65.303. Denial or Closure of an Application. 

(a) The OAG will deny compensation under this article if: 

(1) real property damage was not caused by a trespasser 
committing a border crime on agricultural land; 

(2) the claimant was eligible for reimbursement from an-
other collateral source and failed to seek reimbursement from the col-
lateral source prior to submitting an application; 

(3) the claimant did not meet the requirements for eligibil-
ity under this chapter; or 

(4) the claimant knowingly or intentionally provided false 
or fraudulent information or supporting documentation to the OAG. 

(b) An application for compensation may be closed at the dis-
cretion of the OAG if any of the following conditions occurs: 

(1) No written report by a law enforcement agency was ob-
tained; 

(2) The claimant fails to respond within a 30-day period to 
a request made by the OAG for additional information as required by 
§65.300; 

(3) The OAG is unable, within 30 days of receiving an ap-
plication, to obtain information substantiating the incident; 

(4) The claimant fails to report that the claimant received 
or was eligible to receive compensation through a collateral source; 

(5) The 30-day time period for appealing the decision of 
the OAG to award or deny an application has passed without a request 
from the claimant for reconsideration; 

(6) The 30-day time period for appealing the reconsidera-
tion has passed without a request from the claimant for a hearing; 

(7) The 40-day period has passed for filing a written notice 
of dissatisfaction with the OAG's final decision; or 

(8) The 40-day period has passed to bring suit in district 
court after filing a written notice of dissatisfaction with the OAG's final 
decision. 

(c) The OAG may reopen an application that has been closed 
at its discretion upon written request from a claimant that establishes 
good cause. 

(d) The OAG will not reopen an application that has been de-
nied. A claimant may not reapply for compensation for an incident. 

§65.304. Collateral Sources. 

(a) The LCP is the payer of last resort, and the OAG will not 
award compensation to a claimant if the OAG determines the claimant 
is or was eligible for reimbursement from any available collateral 
source or failed to seek reimbursement from an available collateral 
source. 

(b) The OAG may deny or reduce the compensation if the 
OAG notifies the claimant of a possible reimbursement amount from 

any available collateral source, and the claimant fails to apply or pur-
sue the compensation within a reasonable time frame as determined by 
the OAG. The acceptable time frame will be determined by the OAG 
upon consideration of all relevant facts and circumstances. 

(c) A claimant must seek compensation from any available 
collateral sources prior to submitting a claim to the OAG, when rea-
sonably possible. 

(d) Unless good cause is shown, if a claimant receives com-
pensation from a collateral source, the claimant must report the com-
pensation amount and the source to the OAG before the claimant will 
be eligible to receive compensation. If a claimant is awarded com-
pensation by a collateral source after the OAG awarded compensation 
under the LCP, the claimant must notify the OAG of the amount and 
the source of the collateral source within 10 business days of becoming 
aware of the compensation from a collateral source. 

(e) If the claimant fails to utilize any available collateral source 
for all or a portion for real property damage, the OAG may deny or 
reduce an award under the LCP. 

(f) Gifts, donations, or charitable contributions made directly 
to a claimant are not a collateral source and may not reduce the deter-
mination of the actual real property damage incurred by the claimant. 

§65.305. Refunds from Claimants. 
(a) The OAG may require a refund from a claimant if any com-

pensation was awarded under the LCP based on fraud or mistake or 
based on new information that would disqualify a claimant from being 
eligible for compensation. 

(b) The OAG may require the claimant to refund any overpay-
ment in full or in installments or reduce future or pending payments by 
the amount of the overpayment. 

(c) The OAG may discontinue or suspend all current and fu-
ture payments to a claimant from whom the OAG has requested a re-
fund. 

(d) The OAG may pursue available administrative or civil 
penalties in addition to seeking a refund upon determining that com-
pensation was awarded based on fraud or mistake or based on new 
information that would disqualify a claimant from being eligible for 
compensation. 

§65.306. Insufficient Funds. 
The OAG will not exceed the amount of money appropriated for com-
pensation and available funds will be awarded in a priority deemed 
appropriate by the OAG. 

§65.307. Use of the Electronic Communication. 
(a) The OAG may send a claimant any notices, forms, or other 

documentation and information by electronic means. 

(b) The OAG may require a claimant to submit notices, forms, 
or other documentation and information by electronic means, unless 
good cause is shown. 

(c) In accordance with the Uniform Electronic Transactions 
Act, Texas Business and Commerce Code, Chapter 322, a notice, form, 
record, or signature may not be denied legal effect or enforceability 
solely because it is in electronic form. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5, 
2024. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

TRD-202400487 
Justin Gordon 
General Counsel 
Office of the Attorney General 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4291 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER D. ADMINISTRATIVE 
PENALTIES 
1 TAC §§65.400 - 65.402 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

New 1 TAC Chapter 65 is proposed pursuant to the Texas Code 
of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 56C, as added by S.B. 1133 
passed by the 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2023) 
which requires the OAG to adopt rules necessary to implement 
Chapter 56C. 
Proposed new Chapter 65 is further proposed pursuant to the 
General Appropriations Act for Fiscal Year 2024-2025, Contin-
gency Rider Section 18.03, which appropriates funds to create 
and administer the Landowner Compensation Program. 
CROSS REFERENCE 

This regulation clarifies Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, 
Chapter 56C. No other rule, regulation, or law is affected by this 
proposed rule. 
§65.400. Request for Reconsideration of Adverse Action. 

(a) A claimant may request a reconsideration of all or any part 
of the OAG's decision to make or deny an award on an application or 
on the amount of an award. 

(b) Within 30 days from the date that the OAG's office pro-
vides the claimant with the award written decision notice, the claimant 
must submit a signed, written request for reconsideration stating the 
reasons for the request for reconsideration. If the claimant fails to file a 
written request for reconsideration to the OAG's adverse action within 
the 30-day time period, the decision of the OAG becomes binding and 
the claimant waives the right to further appeal. 

(c) The OAG may not grant a reconsideration if a request is not 
filed by the claimant within the 30-day time period, unless the claimant 
shows good cause for late filing. The claimant must provide to the 
OAG a signed, written explanation showing good cause for failing to 
submit a written request for reconsideration of the OAG's adverse ac-
tion within the 30-day time period. If the OAG does not find that good 
cause exists for late filing, the decision of the OAG becomes binding 
and the claimant waives the right to further appeal. 

(d) The OAG will provide the claimant a written notification 
of its reconsideration decision. If the claimant is dissatisfied with the 
reconsideration of the OAG's award decision, the claimant must file a 
signed, written request for a hearing with the OAG within 30 days of 
the date of the reconsideration decision. If the claimant fails to file a 
written request for a hearing within the 30-day time period, the recon-
sideration decision becomes binding and the claimant waives the right 
to a hearing. 

(e) A claimant who fails to exhaust all available administrative 
remedies waives the right to seek judicial review. 

§65.401. Prehearing Conference. 
At any time before a hearing is conducted, the hearing officer may re-
quest a prehearing conference, either in person or by telephone, with 

the claimant or his or her legal representative in order to establish 
whether a hearing on an application for compensation is necessary. 

§65.402. Hearing. 
(a) If the claimant is dissatisfied with the reconsideration de-

cision, the claimant may file a signed, written request for a hearing. 

(b) The OAG may not grant a request for a hearing if a request 
is not filed by the claimant within the 30-day time period, unless the 
claimant shows good cause for late filing. The claimant must provide to 
the OAG a signed, written explanation showing good cause for failing 
to submit a written request for a hearing within the 30-day time period. 

(c) If the OAG does not find that good cause exists for late fil-
ing, the decision of the OAG becomes binding and the claimant waives 
the right to further appeal. If the OAG determines that a hearing is nec-
essary, then the claimant will receive notice of the hearing not less than 
10 days before the date of the hearing, stating the time, date, and place 
of the hearing. 

(d) The hearing shall be conducted in Texas in a manner con-
sistent with the law and rules adopted under this chapter. 

(e) Any costs for the claimant to travel to the hearing are en-
tirely the financial responsibility of the claimant and those costs will 
not be reimbursed by the OAG. 

(f) Failure of the claimant to appear for the hearing may re-
sult in the entry of a final decision based upon the available record. 
A claimant may have the hearing rescheduled by making a request to 
reschedule at least two OAG business days prior to the hearing. Mul-
tiple requests for reschedule may be denied by the OAG. If a claimant 
fails to make a timely request to reschedule, the OAG may reschedule 
the hearing upon good cause shown by the claimant. 

(g) The OAG will notify the claimant in writing of the final 
decision, including the reasons for the decision. 

(h) A claimant may seek judicial review of all or any part of 
the final decision. 

(i) In any proceeding under this subchapter, the burden of 
proof is upon the claimant to prove by a preponderance of the evidence 
that grounds for compensation exist. 

(j) A claimant who fails to exhaust all available administrative 
remedies waives the right to seek judicial review. 

(k) A final decision from the OAG may only be rendered by 
the OAG hearing officer after a prehearing conference, a final ruling 
hearing, or based on the available record. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5, 
2024. 
TRD-202400488 
Justin Gordon 
General Counsel 
Office of the Attorney General 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4291 

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND 
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION 
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CHAPTER 371. MEDICAID AND OTHER 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FRAUD 
AND ABUSE PROGRAM INTEGRITY 
SUBCHAPTER G. ADMINISTRATIVE 
ACTIONS AND SANCTIONS 
DIVISION 3. ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS 
AND SANCTIONS 
1 TAC §371.1723 

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission (HHSC), on behalf of the Office of Inspec-
tor General (OIG), proposes in the Texas Administrative Code, 
Title 1, Part 15, Chapter 371, Subchapter G, Division 3, new 
§371.1723, concerning Recoupment of Overpayments Identified 
by Retrospective Payment Review. 
BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The purpose of the proposal is to describe OIG's retrospective 
payment review procedures related to records requests, review 
processes, notices, and due process. 
Texas Government Code §531.102 authorizes OIG to conduct 
reviews related to the provision and delivery of all health and 
human services in Texas to identify fraud, waste, or abuse. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The proposed new §371.1723(a) identifies the types of retro-
spective payment reviews - data reviews and record reviews -
performed by OIG and states that OIG may recoup an overpay-
ment identified in a retrospective payment review. 
The proposed new §371.1723(b) describes the procedures re-
lated to a retrospective payment review records request, includ-
ing the time deadline required to submit records in response to 
a records request. The proposed new §371.1723(b) also states 
that failure to timely produce requested records may result in an 
OIG enforcement action. 
The proposed new §371.1723(c) describes the review proce-
dures related to a retrospective payment review, including the 
dollar limit of overpayment recoveries resulting from retrospec-
tive payment reviews and the ability of a person to produce 
records to address a review finding. 
The proposed new §371.1723(d) specifies the notices OIG 
sends during a retrospective payment review, which includes 
any finding of an overpayment amount and instructions for filing 
an appeal. 
The proposed new §371.1723(e) outlines the first and second 
level appeal options available to a person subject to a retrospec-
tive payment review. 
The proposed new §371.1723(f) specifies the timing and circum-
stances under which results of a retrospective payment review 
become final. 
FISCAL NOTE 

Trey Wood, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each 
year of the first five years that the rule will be in effect, enforcing 
or administering the rule does not have foreseeable implications 
relating to costs or revenues of state or local governments. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

HHSC has determined that during the first five years that the rule 
will be in effect: 
(1) the proposed rule will not create or eliminate a government 
program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rule will not affect the number 
of HHSC employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rule will result in no assumed 
change in future legislative appropriations; 
(4) the proposed rule will not affect fees paid to HHSC; 
(5) the proposed rule will create a new rule; 
(6) the proposed rule will not expand, limit, or repeal existing 
rule(s); 
(7) the proposed rule will not change the number of individuals 
subject to the rule; and 

(8) the proposed rule will not affect the state's economy. 
SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-
MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS 

Trey Wood, Chief Financial Officer, has also determined that 
there will be no adverse economic effect on small businesses, 
micro-businesses, or rural communities. The rule does not 
impose any additional costs on small businesses, micro-busi-
nesses, or rural communities that are required to comply with 
the rules. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

The proposed rule will not affect a local economy. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045 does not apply to this new 
rule because it does not impose a cost on regulated persons; is 
necessary to receive a source of federal funds or comply with 
federal law; and is necessary to implement legislation that does 
not specifically state that §2001.0045 applies to the rule. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS 

Frank Bryan, OIG Senior Counsel, has determined that for each 
year of the first five years the rule is in effect, the public benefit 
will be the identification and review of fraud, waste, and abuse 
in the provision and delivery of health and human services in the 
state of Texas. 
Trey Wood, Chief Financial Officer, has also determined that for 
the first five years the rule is in effect, there are no anticipated 
economic costs to persons who are required to comply with the 
proposed rule because the new rule does not require a change 
to business practices and does not create additional costs to 
comply with the rule. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

OIG has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit 
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist 
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not 
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code §2007.043. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to HHS 
Office of Inspector General - Chief Counsel Division, P.O. 
Box 85200, Austin, Texas 78708, or street address 4601 W. 
Guadalupe St., Austin, Texas 78751-3146; or by email to 
IG_Rules_Comments_Inbox@hhsc.state.tx.us. 
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To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than 
31 days after the date of this issue of the Texas Register. Com-
ments must be (1) postmarked or shipped before the last day of 
the comment period; (2) hand-delivered before 5:00 p.m. on the 
last working day of the comment period; or (3) emailed before 
midnight on the last day of the comment period. If the last day 
to submit comments falls on a holiday, comments must be post-
marked, shipped, or emailed before midnight on the following 
business day to be accepted. When emailing comments, please 
indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 23R032" in the subject 
line. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The proposed new section is authorized by Texas Government 
Code §531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commis-
sioner of HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision 
of services by the health and human services system; Texas 
Government Code §531.102(a), which grants OIG the respon-
sibility for the prevention, detection, audit, inspection, review, 
and investigation of fraud, waste, and abuse in the provision 
and delivery of all health and human services in the state, in-
cluding services through any state-administered health or hu-
man services program that is wholly or partly federally funded, 
and which provides OIG with the authority to obtain any informa-
tion or technology necessary to enable it to meet its responsi-
bilities; Texas Government Code §531.102(a-2), which requires 
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to work in consultation 
with OIG to adopt rules necessary to implement a power or duty 
of the office; Texas Government Code §531.102(x), which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC, in consultation 
with OIG to adopt rules establishing criteria for determining en-
forcement and punitive actions with regard to a provider who 
has violated state law, program rules, or the provider's Medicaid 
provider agreement; Texas Government Code §531.033, which 
requires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules 
necessary to carry out the commission's duties under Chapter 
531; Texas Human Resources Code §32.021 and Texas Govern-
ment Code §531.021(a), which provide HHSC with the author-
ity to administer the federal medical assistance (Medicaid) pro-
gram in Texas, to administer Medicaid funds, and to adopt rules 
necessary for the proper and efficient regulations of the Medic-
aid program; Texas Government Code §531.1131(e), which re-
quires the Executive Commissioner of HHSC to adopt rules nec-
essary to implement §531.1131; and Texas Human Resources 
Code §32.039, which provides authority to assess administrative 
penalties and damages and provides due process for persons 
potentially subject to damages and penalties. 
The proposed new section affects Texas Government Code 
§531.0055 and Texas Human Resources Code Chapter 32. 
§371.1723. Recoupment of Overpayments Identified by Retrospective 
Payment Review. 

(a) Introduction. The OIG conducts retrospective payment 
(RP) reviews related to the provision and delivery of all health and 
human services in the state. RP reviews include data reviews and 
record reviews. The OIG may recoup an overpayment identified in a 
RP review. 

(b) Records. 

(1) A person who receives a request for records and docu-
mentation for an OIG RP review must provide the requested records 
and documentation to the OIG within the time period requested by 
the OIG or 10 calendar days from the date of receipt of the request, 
whichever is later. 

(2) When requested, a person must submit a signed and no-
tarized OIG-approved records affidavit that properly authenticates the 
records and documentation provided to the OIG as business records 
pursuant to Texas Rules of Evidence Rule §803(6) and Rule §902(10). 

(3) Failure to timely produce requested records and affi-
davits may result in an OIG enforcement action under this chapter. 

(c) Review procedures. 

(1) A RP review conducted by the OIG: 

(A) limits the period covered by a RP review to five 
years; 

(B) includes any finding of an overpayment amount; 

(C) is limited to recovery of overpayments less than or 
equal to $100,000 per case, except recovery of overpayments is lim-
ited to less than or equal to $300,000 when the overpayment amount is 
based on a single Medicaid recipient's treatment; and 

(D) permits a person subject to a review to produce 
records and documentation to address any finding found during a RP 
review by the date specified by the OIG. 

(2) Overpayments identified in a RP review may be re-
ferred to other areas within the OIG or other entities outside of the 
OIG. 

(3) For purposes of this section, a case means the applica-
tion of the selected criteria to a particular set of data or records for a 
person subject to a review. 

(d) Notice. 

(1) The OIG provides written notice of review results, first 
level appeal results, if any, and second level appeal results, if any. 

(2) A notice of RP review results includes any finding of 
an overpayment amount, instructions for filing a first level appeal, and 
a date by which the first level appeal request must be received. 

(3) If applicable, a notice of first level appeal results in-
cludes any finding of an overpayment amount, instructions for filing a 
second level appeal, and a date by which the second level appeal re-
quest must be received. 

(4) If applicable, a notice of second level appeal results in-
cludes any finding of an overpayment amount and instructions related 
to payment of any overpayment amount. 

(5) OIG notices may be sent by electronic mail. 

(e) Due process. 

(1) A RP review provides an option for a first level appeal 
and, if necessary, a second level appeal. 

(2) A first level appeal is a review conducted by a reviewer 
who was not associated with the initial review. 

(3) A second level appeal, if necessary, is conducted by 
HHSC, or its contractor. 

(4) A request for a first or second level appeal must be 
timely and complete as specified in the notice of review results or first 
level appeal results. 

(f) Scope and effect. 

(1) A notice of RP review results becomes final and unap-
pealable 30 calendar days after the person's receipt of the RP review 
results notice, unless the OIG, or its contractor, has received a timely 
and complete request for a first level appeal. 
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(2) A notice of first level appeal results becomes final and 
unappealable 30 calendar days after the person's receipt of the first level 
appeal results notice, unless the OIG, or its contractor, has received a 
timely and complete request for a second level appeal. 

(3) A notice of second level appeal results becomes final 
and unappealable 30 calendar days after the person's receipt of the sec-
ond level appeal results notice. 

(4) The effect of a final notice as specified in this subsection 
is to create a final debt in favor of the State of Texas. 

(5) A person who receives a final notice as specified in this 
subsection must, within 60 calendar days after receipt of the final no-
tice: 

(A) pay the overpayment; or 

(B) submit a request for, and execute, a final payment 
plan agreement approved by the OIG. 

(6) Failure to pay a delinquent debt may result in OIG col-
lection efforts or enforcement action under this chapter. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 31, 
2024. 
TRD-202400342 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 221-7320 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 19. EDUCATION 

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION 
COORDINATING BOARD 

CHAPTER 4. RULES APPLYING TO 
ALL PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER 
EDUCATION IN TEXAS 
SUBCHAPTER B. TRANSFER OF CREDIT, 
CORE CURRICULUM AND FIELD OF STUDY 
CURRICULA 
19 TAC §§4.22, 4.23, 4.27, 4.29, 4.32, 4.34, 4.39 

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) proposes amendments to Texas Administrative Code, Ti-
tle 19, Part 1, Chapter 4, Subchapter B, §§4.22, 4.23, 4.27, 4.29, 
4.32, 4.34, and 4.39 concerning transfer of credit, core curricu-
lum, and field of study curricula. Specifically, this amendment will 
encourage transferability of lower division course credit among 
institutions of higher education and implement the requirements 
of Senate Bill 1887 (88R). 
This amendment will encourage the transferability of lower 
division course credit among institutions of higher education, 
and especially provide for the smooth transfer of lower division 

credit through core curricula, field of study curricula, and a 
procedure for the resolution of transfer disputes. The Board is 
authorized to adopt rules and establish policies and procedures 
for the development, adoption, implementation, funding, and 
evaluation of core curricula, field of study curricula, and a trans-
fer dispute resolution process under Texas Education Code, 
§§61.059, 61.0512, 61.0593, 61.821 - 61.828, and 61.834. 
Rule 4.22, Authority, lists the sections of Texas Education Code 
that grant the Board authority over transfer of credit, core cur-
riculum, and field of study curricula, and updates statutory refer-
ences as appropriate. 
Rule 4.23, Definitions, lists definitions broadly applicable to 
chapter 4. This rule provides the addition of definitions for Aca-
demic Associate Degrees and Applied Associate Degrees. This 
rule uses Texas Education Code, §61.003, to define categories 
of institutions. 
Rule 4.27, Resolution of Transfer Disputes for Lower-Division 
Courses, details the procedures in the resolution of credit trans-
fer disputes involving lower-division courses. This rule revision 
includes the Commissioner's role in the process placing empha-
sis on the fact the Commissioner or his designee's decision is 
final and there is no process for appeal. This revision also re-
moves problematic language no longer supported by statutory 
authority. 
Rule 4.29, Core Curricula Larger than 42 Semester Credit 
Hours, revision allows for an institution, contingent upon Board 
approval, to have a core curriculum of fewer than 42 semester 
credit hours for an associate degree program if it would facilitate 
the award of a degree or transfer of credit. 
Rule 4.32, Field of Study Curriculum, revised to correct an error 
in the timeline of the process. 
Rule 4.34, Revision of Approved Field of Study Curricula, revises 
the language of subsection (c) for clarity. 
Rule 4.39, Texas Direct Associate Degree, an addition to sub-
chapter B for the purpose of awarding a Texas Direct Associate 
Degree. The rule allows for the award of a "Texas Direct" asso-
ciate degree with the directive to include a notation on the stu-
dent's transcript who completes a field of study curriculum, the 
college's core curriculum; or an abbreviated core curriculum re-
lated to a specific approved field of study curriculum transferable 
to one or more general academic institutions. 
Elizabeth Mayer, Assistant Commissioner, Academic and Health 
Affairs, has determined that for each of the first five years the 
sections are in effect there would be no fiscal implications for 
state or local governments as a result of enforcing or adminis-
tering the rules. There are no estimated reductions in costs to 
the state and to local governments as a result of enforcing or ad-
ministering the rule. There are no estimated losses or increases 
in revenue to the state or to local governments as a result of en-
forcing or administering the rule. 
There is no impact on small businesses, micro businesses, and 
rural communities. There is no anticipated impact on local em-
ployment. 
Elizabeth Mayer has also determined that for each year of the 
first five years the section is in effect, the public benefit antici-
pated as a result of administering the section will be the improve-
ment of transferability of lower division course credit among insti-
tutions of higher education. There are no anticipated economic 
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costs to persons who are required to comply with the sections 
as proposed. 
Government Growth Impact Statement 
(1) the rules will not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) implementation of the rules will not require the creation or 
elimination of employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the rules will not require an increase or 
decrease in future legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rules will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rules will not create a new rule; 
(6) the rules will not limit an existing rule; 
(7) the rules will not change the number of individuals subject to 
the rule; and 

(8) the rules will not affect this state's economy. 
Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Elizabeth 
Mayer, Assistant Commissioner, Academic and Health Affairs, 
P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711-2788, or via email at Eliz-
abeth.Mayer@highered.texas.gov. Comments will be accepted 
for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the Texas 
Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Education Code, 
Sections §§61.059, 61.0512, 61.0593, 61.821 - 61.828, and 
61.834., which provides the Coordinating Board with the au-
thority to develop and implement policies affecting the transfer 
of lower division course credit among institutions of higher 
education. 
The proposed amendments affect transfer of credit, core curricu-
lum, and fields of study. 
§4.22. Authority. 
The Board is authorized to adopt rules and establish policies and pro-
cedures for the development, adoption, implementation, funding, and 
evaluation of Core Curricula, Field of Study Curricula, and a trans-
fer dispute resolution process under Texas Education Code, §§61.059, 
61.0512, 61.0593, 61.821 - 61.828, 61.834 [61.059, 61.0593, 61.821, 
61.8213-61.828]. 

§4.23. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise. 

(1) Academic Associate Degree--A type of degree program 
generally intended to transfer to an upper-level baccalaureate program 
that will satisfy the lower-division requirements for a baccalaureate de-
gree in a specific discipline. The Academic Associate Degree includes, 
but is not limited to, the Associate of Arts (A.A.), Associate of Science 
(A.S.). or Associate of Arts in Teaching (A.A.T.) degrees. 

(2) Applied Associate Degree--A type of degree program 
designed to lead the individual directly to employment in a specific ca-
reer. The Applied Associate Degree Program includes, but is not lim-
ited to, the Associate of Applied Arts (A.A.A.) or Associate of Applied 
Science (A.A.S.). 

(3) [(1)] Board--The governing body of the agency known 
as the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. 

(4) [(2)] Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Ed-
ucation. 

(5) [(3)] Core Curriculum or Texas Core Curriculum--The 
[the] curriculum in the liberal arts, humanities, sciences, and politi-
cal, social, and cultural history that all undergraduates of an institution 
of higher education are required to complete before receiving an aca-
demic undergraduate degree. Core curriculum provisions apply to all 
institutions of higher education that offer academic undergraduate de-
gree programs. 

(6) [(4)] Directed Electives--A [a] set of courses within a 
major course of study, consisting of at least six semester credit hours, 
specific to each general academic teaching institution and prescribed 
by the faculty of each general academic teaching institution. Directed 
Electives form part of the Field of Study Curriculum. 

(7) [(5)] Discipline Foundation Courses (DFC)--A [a] set 
of courses within a major course of study, consisting of up to twelve 
(12) semester credit hours. The Discipline Foundation Courses form 
part of the Field of Study Curriculum. 

(8) [(6)] Discipline-Specific Subcommittee--A [a] sub-
committee established under Title 19, Chapter 1, Subchapter V, §1.242 
and §1.243. Each subcommittee is comprised of faculty from general 
academic teaching institutions and public junior colleges in a single 
discipline. 

(9) Faculty Member--A person employed full-time by an 
institution of higher education as a member of the faculty whose pri-
mary duties include teaching, research, academic service, or adminis-
tration. However, the term does not include a person holding faculty 
rank who spends a majority of the person's time for the institution en-
gaged in managerial or supervisory activities, including a chancellor, 
vice chancellor, president, vice president, provost, associate of assis-
tant provost, or dean. 

(10) [(7)] Field of Study Curriculum--A [a] set of courses 
that will satisfy lower-division requirements for an academic major at 
a general academic teaching institution. The Field of Study Curricu-
lum has three components: (a) selected discipline-relevant Texas Core 
Curriculum courses, (b) the Discipline Foundation Courses, and (c) the 
Directed Electives. 

(11) [(8)] General Academic Teaching Institution 
[academic teaching institution]--An [an] institution of higher educa-
tion defined in Texas Education Code, §61.003(3). 

(12) Institution of Higher Education or Institution--Any 
public technical institute, public junior college, public senior college 
or university, medical or dental unit, other agency of higher education 
as defined in Texas Education Code, §61.003(8). 

(13) Lower-Division Academic Course Guide Manual 
(ACGM)--A Board-approved publication listing academic courses 
that public two-year colleges may teach and report for contact hour 
reimbursement from state appropriations without special approval 
from the Board. Courses (except for developmental courses) listed 
in the ACGM are freely transferable among all public institutions of 
higher education in Texas in accordance with the Texas Education 
Code, §61.822. 

(14) [(9)] Public Junior College [junior college]--An [an] 
institution of higher education defined in Texas Education Code, 
§61.003(2). 

(15) [(10)] Texas Common Course Numbering System 
(TCCNS)--A [a] Board-approved course numbering system for 
lower-division academic courses that assigns common course numbers 
in order to facilitate the transfer of lower-division academic courses 
among institutions of higher education by promoting consistency in 
course designation and identification. 
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(16) [(11)] Texas Transfer Advisory Committee--The [the] 
advisory committee established under Title 19, Chapter 1, Subchap-
ter V. The Texas Transfer Advisory Committee has responsibility for 
advising the Commissioner and Board on Field of Study Curricula, in-
cluding their establishment and revision. The Texas Transfer Advisory 
Committee may request to form a Discipline-Specific Committee to as-
sist in the development of a Field of Study Curriculum. 

[(12) Institution of Higher Education or Institution--any 
public technical institute, public junior college, public senior college 
or university, medical or dental unit, other agency of higher education 
as defined in Texas Education Code, §61.003(8).] 

[(13) Lower-Division Academic Course Guide Manual 
(ACGM)--a Board-approved publication listing academic courses 
that public two-year colleges may teach and report for contact hour 
reimbursement from state appropriations without special approval 
from the Board. Courses (except for developmental courses) listed 
in the ACGM are freely transferable among all public institutions of 
higher education in Texas in accordance with the Texas Education 
Code, §61.822.] 

[(14) Faculty Member--a person employed full-time by an 
institution of higher education as a member of the faculty whose pri-
mary duties include teaching, research, academic service, or adminis-
tration. However, the term does not include a person holding faculty 
rank who spends a majority of the person's time for the institution en-
gaged in managerial or supervisory activities, including a chancellor, 
vice chancellor, president, vice president, provost, associate of assis-
tant provost, or dean.] 

§4.27. Resolution of Transfer Disputes for Lower-Division Courses. 

(a) Each institution [Institutions] of higher education shall ap-
ply the following procedures in the resolution of credit transfer disputes 
involving lower-division courses: 

(1) If an institution of higher education does not accept 
[course credit] a course included in the field of study curriculum for 
the program in which a student is enrolled or a course in the core cur-
riculum earned by a student at another institution of higher education, 
the receiving institution shall give written notice to the student and to 
the sending institution that it intends to deny the transfer of the course 
credit and shall include in that notice the reasons for the proposed de-
nial. The receiving institution must attach the procedures for resolution 
of transfer disputes [for lower-division courses] as outlined in this sec-
tion to the notice. The notice and procedure must include: 

(A) clear instructions for appealing the decision to the 
Commissioner; and 

(B) the name and contact information for the designated 
official at the receiving institution who is authorized to resolve the 
credit transfer dispute. 

(2) A student who receives notice as specified in paragraph 
(1) of this subsection may dispute the denial of credit by contacting a 
designated official at either the sending or the receiving institution. 

(3) The two institutions and the student shall attempt to re-
solve the transfer of the course credit in accordance with this section. 
An institution that proposes to deny the credit shall resolve the dispute 
not later than the 45th day after the date that the student enrolls at the 
institution. 

(4) If the student or the sending institution is not satisfied 
with the resolution of the credit transfer dispute, the student or the send-
ing institution may notify the Commissioner in writing of the denial of 
the course credit and the reasons for denial. [request for transfer dispute 
resolution. A receiving institution that denies course credit for transfer 

shall notify the Commissioner in writing of its denial and the reasons 
for the denial not later than the 45th day after the date the receiving in-
stitution provided the required notice of the transfer credit denial under 
subsection (a)(1) of this section.] 

(b) Not later than the 20th business day after the date that the 
Commissioner receives the notice of dispute concerning the application 
of credit for the core curriculum or field of study curriculum, the Com-
missioner or the Commissioner's designee shall make the final determi-
nation about a credit transfer dispute and give written notice of the de-
termination to the student and each institution. [The Commissioner or 
the Commissioner's designee shall make the final determination about 
a credit transfer dispute and give written notice of the determination to 
the student and institutions. The decision is not a contested case. The 
Commissioner's decision is final and may not be appealed.] 

(c) If the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee de-
termines that an institution may not deny the transfer of credit for the 
core curriculum or the field of study curriculum, the receiving institu-
tion shall apply the credit toward the core curriculum or the field of 
study as determined by the Commissioner or the Commissioner's de-
signee. [Each institution of higher education shall publish in its course 
catalogs the procedures specified in this section.] 

(d) A decision under this section is not a contested case. The 
Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee's decision is final and 
may not be appealed. Each transfer credit dispute resolved by the Com-
missioner shall be posted on the Board website, including the final de-
termination. [The Board shall collect data on the types of transfer dis-
putes that are reported and the disposition of each case that is consid-
ered by the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee.] 

(e) Each institution of higher education shall publish in its 
course catalogs the procedures specified in this section. [If a receiving 
institution has cause to believe that a course being presented by a stu-
dent for transfer from another institution is not of an acceptable level 
of quality, it should first contact the sending institution and attempt to 
resolve the problem. In the event that the two institutions are unable to 
come to a satisfactory resolution, the receiving institution may notify 
the Commissioner who may investigate the course. If its quality is 
found to be unacceptable, the Board may discontinue funding for the 
course.] 

(f) The Board shall collect data on the types of transfer dis-
putes that are reported and the disposition of each case that is consid-
ered by the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee. 

§4.29. Core Curricula Larger than 42 Semester Credit Hours. 
(a)No institution may adopt a core curriculum of more than 42 

semester credit hours. 

(b) An institution may, with Board approval, have a core cur-
riculum of fewer than 42 semester credit hours for an associate degree 
program if it would facilitate the award of a degree or transfer of credit. 

§4.32. Field of Study Curriculum. 
(a) In accordance with Texas Education Code, §61.823, the 

Board is authorized to approve Field of Study Curricula for certain 
fields of study/academic disciplines. The Board delegates to the Com-
missioner development of Field of Study Curricula with the assistance 
of the Texas Transfer Advisory Committee, as defined by Title 19, 
Subchapter V, Chapter 1. The Texas Transfer Advisory Committee is 
responsible for convening Discipline-Specific Subcommittees. Disci-
pline-Specific Subcommittees shall provide subject-matter expertise to 
the Texas Transfer Advisory Committee in developing Field of Study 
Curricula in specific disciplines. 

(b) A complete Field of Study Curriculum will consist of the 
following components: 
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(1) Selected Texas Core Curriculum courses. 

(A) Selected Texas Core Curriculum courses relevant 
to the discipline may be included in the Field of Study Curriculum for 
that discipline. 

(B) Discipline-Specific Subcommittees are responsible 
for identifying discipline-relevant courses from a list of all Texas Core 
Curriculum courses provided by the Board that may be used to satisfy 
core curriculum requirements. Each Discipline-Specific Subcommit-
tee shall recommend identified Texas Core Curriculum courses to the 
Texas Transfer Advisory Committee. 

(C) The Texas Transfer Advisory Committee shall rec-
ommend the Texas Core Curriculum courses selected for inclusion in 
a Field of Study Curriculum to the Commissioner who may approve or 
deny the inclusion of the recommended Texas Core Curriculum courses 
in the Field of Study Curriculum. 

(D) Each institution of higher education must publish 
on its public website in manner easily accessed by students the Texas 
Core Curriculum courses selected for inclusion in a Field of Study Cur-
riculum with the cross-listed TCCNS course number. 

(2) Discipline Foundation Courses (DFC). 

(A) Discipline Foundation Courses are a set of courses 
within a major course of study, consisting of up to twelve (12) semester 
credit hours, selected for inclusion in a Field of Study Curriculum for 
that discipline. These courses will apply toward undergraduate degrees 
within the Field of Study Curriculum at all Texas public institutions 
that offer a corresponding major or track, except for those institutions 
approved to require alternative Discipline Foundation Courses under 
Title 19, Chapter 4, Subchapter B, §4.35 (relating to Petition for Alter-
native Discipline Foundation Courses). 

(B) Each receiving institution must apply the semester 
credit hours a student has completed in a Discipline Foundation Course 
upon the student's transfer into a corresponding major or track. The 
sending institution must indicate Discipline Foundation Courses on the 
transfer student's transcript. 

(C) Discipline-Specific Subcommittees are responsible 
for identifying discipline-relevant courses for inclusion on the Disci-
pline Foundation Courses list. The Discipline-Specific Subcommit-
tees must select from courses listed in the Lower-Division Academic 
Course Guide Manual. Each Discipline-Specific Subcommittee shall 
report this course list to the Texas Transfer Advisory Committee. 

(D) The Texas Transfer Advisory Committee shall rec-
ommend the Discipline Foundation Courses selected by the Discipline 
Specific Subcommittees for inclusion in a Field of Study Curriculum to 
the Commissioner. The Commissioner may approve or deny the Dis-
cipline Foundation Courses recommended by the Texas Transfer Ad-
visory Committee for inclusion in a Field of Study Curriculum. 

(E) General academic teaching institutions may submit 
a request for an alternative set of Discipline Foundation Courses for a 
specific program of study according to the process in Title 19, Chapter 
4, Subchapter B, §4.35. 

(F) Each institution of higher education must report to 
the Coordinating Board and publish on its public website in manner 
easily accessed by students the Discipline Foundation Courses with the 
cross-listed TCCNS course numbers for each course. 

(G) The Commissioner must publish the list of Disci-
pline Foundation Courses for each approved Field of Study Curriculum 
on the agency website with the cross-listed TCCNS course number for 
each course. 

(3) Directed Electives. 

(A) Directed Electives are a set of courses that apply 
toward a major course of study within a Field of Study Curriculum at 
a specific general academic teaching institution. 

(B) The Directed Electives for each Field of Study Cur-
riculum must consist of at least six (6) semester credit hours. The Di-
rected Electives and Discipline Foundation Courses components com-
bined may not exceed twenty (20) semester credit hours in total. 

(C) Faculty from each general academic teaching insti-
tution may select a list of Directed Electives for the major course of 
study corresponding to each Field of Study curriculum. Faculty must 
select the Directed Electives only from courses listed in the Lower-Di-
vision Academic Course Guide Manual. 

(D) The Chief Academic Officer of the institution shall 
[must] submit the list of Directed Electives for inclusion in a Field of 
Study Curriculum with the cross-listed TCCNS course number to the 
Commissioner not later than 45 days after being sent the request from 
the Coordinating Board. The Coordinating Board [who] shall publish 
the list of each institution's Directed Electives for each approved Field 
of Study Curriculum on the agency website with the cross-listed TC-
CNS course numbers for each course. 

(E) An institution that does not submit its Directed 
Electives in accordance with subparagraph (D) shall be required to 
accept any Directed Elective courses that appear on the Board's list 
for the Texas Direct Associate Degree for any institution's Field of 
Study Curriculum. [Each institution of higher education must publish 
on its public website in manner easily accessed by students Directed 
Electives with the cross-listed TCCNS course number.] 

(F) Each institution of higher education must publish 
on its public website in a manner easily accessed by students Directed 
Electives with the cross-listed TCCNS course number. 

(c) A receiving general academic teaching institution shall de-
termine whether a transfer student is Field of Study Curriculum com-
plete upon the transfer student's enrollment. If a student successfully 
completes an approved Field of Study Curriculum, a general academic 
teaching institution must substitute that block of courses for the receiv-
ing institution's lower-division requirements for the degree program for 
the corresponding Field of Study Curriculum into which the student 
transfers. Upon enrollment, the general academic teaching institution 
must grant the student full academic credit toward the degree program 
for the block of courses transferred. 

(d) If a student transfers from one institution of higher educa-
tion to another without completing the Field of Study Curriculum, the 
receiving institution must grant academic credit in the Field of Study 
Curriculum for each of the courses that the student has successfully 
completed in the Field of Study Curriculum of the sending institution. 
After granting the student credit for these courses, the institution may 
require the student to satisfy remaining course requirements in the cur-
rent Field of Study Curriculum of the receiving general academic teach-
ing institution, or to complete additional requirements in the receiving 
institution's program, as long as those requirements do not duplicate 
course content the student previously completed through the Field of 
Study Curriculum. 

(e) Each institution must note the selected Texas Core Cur-
riculum component and Discipline Foundation Courses components of 
the Field of Study Curriculum courses on student transcripts as recom-
mended by the Texas Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admis-
sions Officers (TACRAO). 
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(f) The Board shall publish on its website the components of 
each Field of Study Curriculum, including the selected Texas Core Cur-
riculum courses, the Discipline Foundation Courses, and the Directed 
Electives of each general academic teaching institution. 

(g) Effective Dates. 

(1) Unless repealed or replaced, Field of Study Curricula in 
effect as of March 1, 2021 will remain in effect until August 31, 2025, 
upon which date those Field of Study Curricula expire by operation of 
law. For Field of Study Curricula that are repealed, replaced, or expire 
by operation of law, the following transition or "teach out" provisions 
apply: 

(A) A student who has earned credit on or before Au-
gust 31, 2022, in one or more courses included in a Field of Study 
Curriculum that exists on March 1, 2021, is entitled to complete that 
Field of Study Curriculum on or before August 31, 2025. 

(B) A student who has not, on or before August 31, 
2022, earned any course credit toward a Field of Study Curriculum in 
effect on March 1, 2021, is not entitled to transfer credit for that Field 
of Study Curriculum. 

(2) After an institution's Spring 2026 enrollment deadline, 
a receiving institution is not required to transfer a complete Field of 
Study Curricula that expired prior to that date. A receiving institution 
may, at its discretion, choose to accept a complete or partial Field of 
Study Curricula that has expired. 

§4.34. Revision of Approved Fields of Study Curricula. 

(a) The Commissioner may modify or revise a Field of Study 
Curriculum when a need for such a revision is identified. 

(b) Any Chief Academic Officer of an institution that offers a 
corresponding major or track may request a modification or revision to 
an approved Field of Study Curriculum. The Texas Transfer Advisory 
Committee shall evaluate institutions' proposed modifications or revi-
sions to Field of Study Curricula and may refer the proposed revisions 
to Discipline-Specific Subcommittees prior to making a final recom-
mendation to the Commissioner. 

(c) A student is entitled to apply an institution's previously ap-
proved directed electives to the field of study curriculum for not fewer 
than two academic years after an institution modifies or revises its di-
rected electives. 

§4.39. Texas Direct Associate Degree. 

A junior college, public state college, or public technical institute shall 
award a student a "Texas Direct" associate degree and include a nota-
tion on the transcript of a student who completes any Board approved 
field of study curriculum developed by the Board and: 

(1) The college's core curriculum; or 

(2) An abbreviated core curriculum related to a specific ap-
proved field of study curriculum transferable to one or more general 
academic institutions. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5, 
2024. 
TRD-202400424 

Nichole Bunker-Henderson 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6182 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY 

CHAPTER 101. ASSESSMENT 
SUBCHAPTER DD. COMMISSIONER'S 
RULES CONCERNING SUBSTITUTE 
ASSESSMENTS FOR GRADUATION 
19 TAC §101.4003 

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) proposes an amendment 
to §101.4003, concerning Texas assessment of knowledge and 
skills exit-level alternate assessments. The proposed amend-
ment would update the performance standards for former stu-
dents whose assessment graduation requirement was the Texas 
Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) based on the re-
design of the State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readi-
ness (STAAR®). 
BACKGROUND INFORMATION AND JUSTIFICATION: Section 
101.4003 specifies the assessments and corresponding passing 
scores allowed as alternate assessments for certain former stu-
dents whose assessment graduation requirement was TAKS. As 
required in Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.025, some of the 
alternate assessments former students may use to satisfy grad-
uation assessment requirements in place of TAKS exit-level as-
sessments are the STAAR® end-of-course (EOC) assessments. 
In 2023, STAAR® was redesigned as required by House Bill (HB) 
3906, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019, and HB 3261, 87th Texas 
Legislature, Regular Session, 2021. Based on the required re-
design, STAAR® performance standards were re-evaluated and 
updated. 
The proposed amendment would update Figure: 19 TAC 
§101.4003(a) to align the performance standards for former stu-
dents whose assessment graduation requirements was TAKS 
with the updated performance standards for the STAAR® EOC 
assessments. The performance standards in Figure: 19 TAC 
§101.4003(a) for STAAR® Algebra I, English II, Biology, and 
U.S. History EOC assessments would be amended to ensure 
they reflect an equivalent level of rigor as the performance stan-
dards that were in place for the TAKS exit-level assessments. 
FISCAL IMPACT: Iris Tian, deputy commissioner of analytics, 
assessment, and reporting, has determined that for the first five-
year period the proposal is in effect, there are no additional costs 
to state or local government, including school districts and open-
enrollment charter schools, required to comply with the proposal. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT: The proposal has no effect on 
local economy; therefore, no local employment impact statement 
is required under Texas Government Code, §2001.022. 
SMALL BUSINESS, MICROBUSINESS, AND RURAL COMMU-
NITY IMPACT: The proposal has no direct adverse economic 
impact for small businesses, microbusinesses, or rural commu-
nities; therefore, no regulatory flexibility analysis, specified in 
Texas Government Code, §2006.002, is required. 
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COST INCREASE TO REGULATED PERSONS: The proposal 
does not impose a cost on regulated persons, another state 
agency, a special district, or a local government and, therefore, 
is not subject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0045. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT: The proposal does not im-
pose a burden on private real property and, therefore, does not 
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code, §2007.043. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT: TEA staff prepared a Gov-
ernment Growth Impact Statement assessment for this proposed 
rulemaking. During the first five years the proposed rulemaking 
would be in effect, it would not create or eliminate a government 
program; would not require the creation of new employee po-
sitions or elimination of existing employee positions; would not 
require an increase or decrease in future legislative appropria-
tions to the agency; would not require an increase or decrease 
in fees paid to the agency; would not create a new regulation; 
would not expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; would 
not increase or decrease the number of individuals subject to 
its applicability; and would not positively or adversely affect the 
state's economy. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST TO PERSONS: Ms. Tian has de-
termined that for each year of the first five years the proposal is in 
effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the 
proposal would be to provide school districts, open-enrollment 
charter schools, and former TAKS examinees with updated per-
formance standards for alternate assessments to meet gradua-
tion requirements and earn a high school diploma. 
DATA AND REPORTING IMPACT: The proposal would have no 
data and reporting impact. 
PRINCIPAL AND CLASSROOM TEACHER PAPERWORK RE-
QUIREMENTS: TEA has determined that the proposal would not 
require a written report or other paperwork to be completed by a 
principal or classroom teacher. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS: The public comment period on the 
proposal begins February 16, 2024, and ends March 18, 
2024. A request for a public hearing on the proposal submit-
ted under the Administrative Procedure Act must be received 
by the commissioner of education not more than 14 calen-
dar days after notice of the proposal has been published in 
the Texas Register on February 16, 2024. A form for sub-
mitting public comments is available on the TEA website 
at https://tea.texas.gov/About_TEA/Laws_and_Rules/Com-
missioner_Rules_(TAC)/Proposed_Commissioner_of_Educa-
tion_Rules/. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is proposed under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §28.02541, which requires the 
commissioner by rule to establish a procedure to determine 
whether certain former students, who have met curriculum re-
quirements for graduation but have not performed satisfactorily 
on an assessment instrument, may qualify to graduate and 
receive a high school diploma; and TEC, §39.025, which estab-
lishes the secondary-level performance required to receive a 
Texas high school diploma, establishes alternate assessment 
options for students who entered Grade 9 prior to the 2011-2012 
school year or Grade 10 or above in the 2011-2012 school 
year, and requires the commissioner to establish satisfactory 
performance levels on the alternate assessments. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments Texas Education Code, §28.02541 and §39.025. 

§101.4003. Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills Exit-Level Al-
ternate Assessments. 

(a) In accordance with the Texas Education Code (TEC), 
Chapter 39, Subchapter B, the commissioner of education adopts cer-
tain assessments as provided in the figure in this subsection as alternate 
assessments that a person may use in place of corresponding Texas 
Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) exit-level assessments 
beginning in the fall of 2017. 
Figure: 19 TAC §101.4003(a) 
[Figure: 19 TAC §101.4003(a)] 

(b) An eligible person who has met the passing standard on 
a state-approved alternate exit-level assessment as set by the commis-
sioner and provided in the figure in subsection (a) of this section in a 
particular subject area has satisfied the exit-level testing requirement in 
that subject area. 

(c) A person is eligible to substitute an alternate exit-level as-
sessment for a TAKS exit-level assessment for purposes of this sub-
chapter if the person was first enrolled in Grade 9 prior to the 2011-2012 
school year or first enrolled in Grade 10 or above in the 2011-2012 
school year. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5, 
2024. 
TRD-202400423 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

CHAPTER 104. ACCELERATED 
INSTRUCTION 
19 TAC §104.1001 

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) proposes an amendment 
to §104.1001, concerning the accelerated instruction, modified 
teacher assignment, and accelerated learning committee. The 
proposed amendment would implement House Bill (HB) 1416, 
88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2023, by providing ap-
proval criteria for instruction through automated, computerized, 
or other augmented method (ACAM); establishing school dis-
trict or open-enrollment charter school waivers of accelerated 
instruction requirements; and clarifying supplemental instruction 
requirements for students repeating an entire course. 
BACKGROUND INFORMATION AND JUSTIFICATION: Section 
104.1001 establishes the provision of accelerated instruction 
and related supports for students who have failed to perform 
satisfactorily on assessments required under Texas Education 
Code (TEC), §39.023. HB 1416, 88th Teas Legislature, Regular 
Session, 2023, changed the requirements for accelerated in-
struction by differentiating the required hours based on student 
performance, implementing the accelerated education plan, 
providing performance-based accelerated instruction waivers 
for qualifying school districts and open enrollment charter 
schools, and removing the ratio requirement for school districts 
and open enrollment charter schools using ACAM products for 
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providing supplemental instruction. The proposed amendment 
to §104.1001 would implement HB 1416 as follows. 
The term "supplemental accelerated instruction" would be 
changed to "accelerated instruction" throughout the rule. 
The requirements for accelerated instruction would be modified 
in subsection (b)(1). 
New subsection (b)(3) would be added to clarify that school 
districts and open-enrollment charter schools cannot excuse 
students from receiving the required accelerated instruction 
because of the provisions of renumbered subsection (b)(2). 
Subsection (c) would be amended to modify the provisions re-
lated to required transportation for students attending acceler-
ated instruction programs outside school hours. 
New subsection (d)(1) and (2) would be added to specify the 
hours of instruction that must be provided based on a student's 
performance on an assessment instrument specified under TEC, 
§28.0211(a-1). 
New subsection (e) would be added to outline provisions related 
to accelerated education plans and notification of the plans to a 
student's parent or guardian. 
Requirements for accelerated learning committees, including 
specific provisions for admission, review, and dismissal (ARD) 
committees serving as accelerated learning committees, would 
be removed. 
New subsection (g) would be added to describe new waivers of 
accelerated instruction requirements. 
New subsection (h) would be added to allow for the provision 
of accelerated instruction by ACAM. The new subsection would 
define ACAM; describe approval by TEA of ACAM to provide 
accelerated instruction that is more effective than individual or 
group instruction and waive the 4:1 student-to-teacher ratio re-
quirement; list school district and charter school responsibilities 
when implementing the use of ACAM for accelerated instruction; 
and state that vendors seeking provider approval will follow the 
process established by TEA. 
New subsection (i) would clarify that accelerated instruction 
waivers focus only on mathematics and reading because those 
subject areas are tested consecutively. The new subsection 
would also describe the conditions that will enable schools to 
qualify for the accelerated instruction waiver and explain how 
school districts and charter schools will be notified if they are 
included on the waiver list and how they can apply for a waiver 
using the Accelerated Instruction Waiver under TEA Login 
(TEAL). 
New subsection (j) would clarify that repeating a high school 
course in its entirety is the equivalent to grade retention, which 
would remove accelerated instruction requirements for students 
repeating an entire course at the high school level. 
FISCAL IMPACT: Andrew Hodge, associate commissioner for 
system innovation, has determined that for the first five-year pe-
riod the proposal is in effect, there are no additional costs to state 
or local government, including school districts and open-enroll-
ment charter schools, required to comply with the proposal. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT: The proposal has no effect on 
local economy; therefore, no local employment impact statement 
is required under Texas Government Code, §2001.022. 

SMALL BUSINESS, MICROBUSINESS, AND RURAL COMMU-
NITY IMPACT: The proposal has no direct adverse economic 
impact for small businesses, microbusinesses, or rural commu-
nities; therefore, no regulatory flexibility analysis, specified in 
Texas Government Code, §2006.002, is required. 
COST INCREASE TO REGULATED PERSONS: The proposal 
does not impose a cost on regulated persons, another state 
agency, a special district, or a local government and, therefore, 
is not subject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0045. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT: The proposal does not im-
pose a burden on private real property and, therefore, does not 
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code, §2007.043. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT: TEA staff prepared a Gov-
ernment Growth Impact Statement assessment for this proposed 
rulemaking. During the first five years the proposed rulemak-
ing would be in effect, it would expand an existing regulation by 
adding information related to instruction conducted by ACAM, 
introducing waivers of accelerated instruction requirements, and 
including provisions related to accelerated instruction plans. The 
proposal would limit an existing regulation by removing informa-
tion related to ARD committees serving as accelerated learning 
committees. In addition, the new waiver provisions would de-
crease the number of individuals subject to the rule for the dura-
tion of the waiver, which is one school year. 
The proposed rulemaking would not create or eliminate a gov-
ernment program; would not require the creation of new em-
ployee positions or elimination of existing employee positions; 
would not require an increase or decrease in future legislative 
appropriations to the agency; would not require an increase or 
decrease in fees paid to the agency; would not create a new 
regulation; would not repeal an existing regulation; would not in-
crease the number of individuals subject to its applicability; and 
would not positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST TO PERSONS: Mr. Hodge has 
determined that for each year of the first five years the proposal 
is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing 
the proposal would be to provide school districts and open-enroll-
ment charter schools that meet the set criteria a one-school-year 
waiver from accelerated instruction. Additionally, school districts 
and charter schools using products included on the TEA ACAM 
list will not have to adhere to the 4:1 student-to-teacher ratio for 
students who meet the set criteria. There is no anticipated eco-
nomic cost to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posal. 
DATA AND REPORTING IMPACT: The proposal would have no 
data and reporting impact. 
PRINCIPAL AND CLASSROOM TEACHER PAPERWORK RE-
QUIREMENTS: TEA has determined that the proposal would re-
quire a written report or other paperwork but does not specifically 
require a principal or classroom teacher to complete the report or 
paperwork. However, local district decisions may vary. Regard-
less, the proposal would impose the least burdensome require-
ment possible to achieve the objective of the rule. School dis-
tricts meeting the accelerated instruction waiver criteria will have 
to complete the Accelerated Instruction Waiver through TEAL. 
PUBLIC COMMENTS: The public comment period on the 
proposal begins February 16, 2024, and ends March 18, 
2024. A request for a public hearing on the proposal submit-
ted under the Administrative Procedure Act must be received 
by the commissioner of education not more than 14 calen-
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dar days after notice of the proposal has been published in 
the Texas Register on February 16, 2024. A form for sub-
mitting public comments is available on the TEA website 
at https://tea.texas.gov/About_TEA/Laws_and_Rules/Com-
missioner_Rules_(TAC)/Proposed_Commissioner_of_Educa-
tion_Rules/. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is proposed under 
Texas Education Code (TEC), §28.0211, as amended by House 
Bill 1416, 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2023, which 
requires that students are provided accelerated instruction each 
time a student fails to perform satisfactorily on an assessment 
instrument administered under TEC, §39.023(a), in Grades 3-8 
or fails to perform satisfactorily on an end-of-course assessment 
instrument administered under TEC, §39.023(c). 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments Texas Education Code, §28.0211, as amended by HB 
1416, 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2023. 
§104.1001. Accelerated Instruction and[,] Modified Teacher Assign-
ment[, and Accelerated Learning Committee]. 

(a) Definition of [supplemental] accelerated instruction. For 
purposes of this chapter, "[supplemental] accelerated instruction" 
means instruction required under Texas Education Code (TEC), 
§28.0211(a-1) and, if applicable, (a-4). 

(b) Requirements for [supplemental] accelerated instruction. 

(1) Each time a student fails to perform satisfactorily on an 
assessment instrument administered under TEC, §39.023(a), in Grades 
3-8, or on an end-of-course assessment instrument administered un-
der TEC, §39.023(c), other than an assessment instrument developed 
or adopted based on alternative academic achievement standards, the 
school district or open-enrollment charter school the student attends 
shall provide to the student accelerated instruction in the applicable 
subject area during the subsequent summer or school year and, subject 
to TEC, §28.0211(a-7) and (a-8), either: 

(A) allow the student to be assigned a classroom teacher 
who is certified as a master, exemplary, or recognized teacher under 
TEC, §21.3521, for the subsequent school year in the applicable subject 
area; or 

[(A) provide to the student supplemental accelerated in-
struction in the applicable subject area during the subsequent summer 
or school year; or] 

(B) provide the student supplemental instruction under 
TEC, §28.0211(a-4). 

[(B) allow the student to be assigned a classroom 
teacher who is certified as a master, exemplary, or recognized teacher 
under TEC, §21.3521, for the subsequent school year in the applicable 
subject area.] 

[(2) Each time a student fails to perform satisfactorily as 
determined by the commissioner under TEC, §39.0241(a), on an end-
of-course assessment instrument, a school district or open-enrollment 
charter school shall:] 

[(A) provide to the student supplemental accelerated in-
struction under TEC, §28.0217, in the subject assessed by the assess-
ment instrument; or] 

[(B) allow the student to be assigned a classroom 
teacher who is certified as a master, exemplary, or recognized teacher 
under TEC, §21.3521, for the subsequent school year in the applicable 
subject area.] 

[(3) For a student served by special education who does 
not perform satisfactorily on an assessment instrument administered 
under TEC, §39.023(a), the student's admission, review, and dismissal 
(ARD) committee must determine the manner in which the student will 
engage in supplemental accelerated instruction. ARD committees must 
consider the individual needs of a student with a disability when deter-
mining the manner in which supplemental accelerated instruction is to 
be provided to the student. If supplemental accelerated instruction is 
to be provided to the student, the supplemental accelerated instruction 
must meet the requirements outlined in this subsection unless the ARD 
committee specifically determines that some or all of the requirements 
for supplemental accelerated instruction would deny the student access 
to a free appropriate public education (FAPE).] 

(2) [(4)] The superintendent of each school district and 
chief administrative officer of each open-enrollment charter school 
shall establish procedures to ensure that each eligible student who 
is absent or does not receive a test score for any test administration 
shall receive appropriate [supplemental] accelerated instruction as 
warranted on an individual student basis. 

(3) Paragraph (2) of this subsection may not be used to ex-
cuse a student from appropriate accelerated instruction required by this 
subsection. 

(c) Participation in [supplemental] accelerated instruction. 
Accelerated [Supplemental accelerated] instruction may require a 
student to participate before or after normal school hours and may 
include participation at times of the year outside normal school opera-
tions. Each school district and open-enrollment charter school shall be 
responsible for providing transportation to students required to attend 
[supplemental] accelerated instruction programs if the programs occur 
outside of regular school hours, unless the school district or charter 
school does not operate, contract, or agree with another entity to 
operate a transportation system. 

(1) In providing [supplemental] accelerated instruction, 
a school district or an open-enrollment charter school may not re-
move a student from recess or from the foundation or enrichment 
curriculum as defined in TEC, §28.002, except under circumstances 
for which a student enrolled in the same grade level who is not receiv-
ing [supplemental] accelerated instruction would be removed. The 
foundation curriculum includes English language arts, mathematics, 
science, and social studies. Courses in the enrichment curriculum 
include languages other than English; health, with emphasis on phys-
ical health, proper nutrition, and exercise; mental health, including 
instruction about mental health conditions, substance abuse, skills to 
manage emotions, establishing and maintaining positive relationships, 
and responsible decision making; suicide prevention; physical educa-
tion; fine arts; career and technical education; technology applications; 
religious literature; and personal financial literacy. 

(2) In the event that a school week is three or less instruc-
tional days, the school is exempt from meeting the requirement of meet-
ing once per week for [supplemental] accelerated instruction. 

(d) Content and delivery of [supplemental] accelerated in-
struction. Accelerated [Supplemental accelerated] instruction shall be 
based on, but not limited to, targeted instruction in the essential knowl-
edge and skills for the applicable grade levels and subject areas and 
be provided by a person with training in the applicable instructional 
materials for the [supplemental] accelerated instruction and under the 
oversight of the school district or open-enrollment charter school. 
Accelerated [Supplemental accelerated] instruction shall be provided 
as outlined in TEC, §28.0211(a-4)(1) and (2) [§28.0211(a-4)(2)-(5) 
and (8)], to a student individually or in a group of no more than 
four [three] students, unless the parent or guardian of each student 
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in the group authorizes a larger group. School districts and charter 
schools shall provide students who fail to perform satisfactorily on an 
assessment instrument specified under TEC, §28.0211(a-1): 

(1) no less than 15 hours of supplemental instruction; or 

(2) no less than 30 hours of supplemental instruction for 
students who scored Low Did Not Meet Grade Level as indicated by 
state-provided district-level data files or failed to perform satisfactorily 
on any Grade 3 assessment. 

(e) Accelerated education plans. For each student who does 
not perform satisfactorily on an assessment instrument specified un-
der TEC, §28.0211(a-1), for two or more consecutive school years in 
the same subject area, the school district or open-enrollment charter 
school the student attends shall develop an accelerated education plan 
as described by TEC, §28.0211(f), and provide the student at least 30 
hours of supplemental instruction. A school district or charter school 
shall make a good faith attempt to provide to the parent or guardian 
of a student to whom TEC, §28.0211(b), applies a parent-teacher con-
ference with the student's primary teacher at the start and end of the 
subsequent school year. At the conference, the school district or char-
ter school shall provide the student's parent or guardian with: 

(1) the notice required under TEC, §28.0211(a-14); and 

(2) an explanation of: 

(A) the accelerated instruction to which the student is 
entitled under this section; and 

(B) the accelerated education plan that must be devel-
oped for the student under TEC, §28.0211(f), and the manner in which 
the parent or guardian may participate in developing the plan. 

[(e) Accelerated learning committee. A school district or an 
open-enrollment charter school shall establish an accelerated learning 
committee described by TEC, §28.0211(c), for each student who does 
not perform satisfactorily on a mathematics or reading assessment in-
strument under TEC, §39.023, in Grade 3, 5, or 8.] 

[(1) The accelerated learning committee shall be com-
posed of the principal or the principal's designee, the student's parent 
or guardian, and the teacher of the subject of an assessment instrument 
on which the student failed to perform satisfactorily. If a student 
is changing campuses, the committee must include the receiving 
principal or designee, the sending principal or designee, the receiv-
ing content teacher or designee, and the sending content teacher or 
designee.] 

[(2) The school district or open-enrollment charter school 
shall notify the parent or guardian of the time and place for convening 
the accelerated learning committee and the purpose of the committee.] 

[(3) The accelerated learning committee shall, not later 
than the start of the subsequent school year, develop an educational 
plan for the student that provides the necessary supplemental accel-
erated instruction to enable the student to perform at the appropriate 
grade level by the conclusion of the school year. The provisions 
of TEC, §28.0211(f-1)-(f-5), (h), and (j), must be satisfied, where 
applicable, in connection with the development and implementation 
of the educational plan.] 

[(f) Requirements for an ARD committee serving as an accel-
erated learning committee.] 

[(1) The ARD committee must serve as the accelerated 
learning committee for a student served by special education who does 
not perform satisfactorily on an assessment instrument described by 
subsection (e) of this section.] 

[(2) The ARD committee must serve as the accelerated 
learning committee for students who meet the criteria for participation 
in alternative assessment instruments under TEC, §39.023(b), who 
do not perform satisfactorily on a mathematics or reading assessment 
instrument in Grade 3, 5, or 8. The ARD committee must determine 
the manner in which the student will participate in supplemental 
accelerated instruction; however, the requirements for supplemental 
accelerated instruction described by subsection (b) of this section do 
not apply.] 

[(3) In serving as the accelerated learning committee for a 
student served by special education, the ARD committee must meet 
and develop a plan in accordance with TEC, §28.0211(f), to determine 
the manner in which the student will participate in supplemental accel-
erated instruction, and this meeting must include the required members 
of a properly constituted ARD committee as described in §89.1050 of 
this title (relating to The Admission, Review, and Dismissal Commit-
tee).] 

[(4) When the ARD committee for a student served by spe-
cial education serves as the accelerated learning committee, efforts 
must be taken to ensure parental participation as specified within the 
requirements of §89.1050(d) of this title and 34 Code of Federal Reg-
ulations §300.322.] 

[(5) The ARD committee, serving as the accelerated learn-
ing committee, must document decisions regarding supplemental ac-
celerated instruction in writing and a copy must be provided to the stu-
dent's parent or guardian in accordance with TEC, §28.0211(f-1). This 
documentation may either be included in ARD deliberations or as a 
supplemental attachment to the student's individualized education pro-
gram.] 

[(6) A parent or guardian of a student served by special ed-
ucation may use a dispute resolution mechanism specified in §89.1150 
of this title (relating to General Provisions) to resolve any dispute be-
tween the parent and a public education agency relating to the iden-
tification, evaluation, or educational placement of or the provision of 
a FAPE to a student with a disability. If a parent or guardian of a stu-
dent served by special education does not agree with the decision of the 
ARD committee serving as the accelerated learning committee regard-
ing supplemental accelerated instruction, the parent or guardian may 
follow the school district grievance policy provided for under TEC, 
§28.0211(f-3).] 

(f) [(g)] Request for teacher assignment. In accordance with 
TEC, §28.0211(a-5), the parent or guardian of a student who fails to 
perform satisfactorily on an assessment instrument specified under 
TEC, §28.0211(a-1), [a mathematics or reading assessment in Grade 
3, 5, or 8] may follow established school district or open-enrollment 
charter school processes to request that the student be assigned to 
a particular classroom teacher in the applicable subject area for the 
subsequent school year if more than one classroom teacher is available. 

(g) Waivers of accelerated instruction requirements. The com-
missioner of education may waive requirements of accelerated instruc-
tion for a school district or an open-enrollment charter school in which 
60% of the students who received accelerated instruction during the 
school year immediately preceding the previous school year, includ-
ing at least 60% of students whose performance on the applicable as-
sessment instrument was significantly below satisfactory, as defined by 
commissioner rule, performed satisfactorily in the previous school year 
on the assessment instrument in each subject in which the student pre-
viously failed to perform satisfactorily. The commissioner shall pub-
lish a list of school districts and open-enrollment charter schools that 
qualify for the waiver not later than the beginning of each school year, 
starting before the 2024-2025 school year. For purposes of determining 
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whether a school district or charter school qualifies for a waiver under 
this subsection, the commissioner shall: 

(1) if a student received accelerated instruction in more 
than one subject during the applicable school year, consider the 
student's performance on the assessment instrument in each subject 
separately from the student's performance on the assessment instru-
ment for each other subject; and 

(2) by rule provide that a school district may not qualify for 
a waiver if students who are receiving special education services or are 
educationally disadvantaged are overrepresented among the students in 
the district who received accelerated instruction during the school year 
immediately preceding the previous school year and did not perform 
satisfactorily in the previous school year on the assessment instrument 
in each applicable subject. 

(h) Approval of automated, computerized, or other augmented 
method (ACAM). The Texas Education Agency (TEA) shall approve 
one or more products that use an automated, computerized, or other 
augmented method for providing accelerated instruction under TEC, 
§28.0211(a-1)(2), that may be used in lieu of some or all of the individ-
ual or group instruction required under TEC, §28.0211(a-4)(6), as ap-
propriate for the applicable grade level and subject area and a student's 
academic deficiency. TEA may approve a product under this subsec-
tion only if evidence indicates that the product is more effective than the 
individual or group instruction required under TEC, §28.0211(a-4)(6). 

(1) For the purposes of this subsection, ACAM means an 
automated, computerized, or other augmented method for providing 
accelerated instruction under TEC, §28.0211(a-1)(2), that may be used 
in lieu of some or all of the individual or group instruction required 
under TEC, §28.0211(a-4)(6), as appropriate for the applicable grade 
level and subject area and a student's academic deficiency. 

(2) School districts and open-enrollment charter schools 
may provide accelerated instruction using an ACAM listed on the TEA 
website with information related to accelerated instruction. The 4:1 
student-to-teacher ratio requirement in subsection (d) of this section 
does not apply to a school district or charter school using a listed 
ACAM product to provide accelerated instruction to its students. 

(3) School districts and open-enrollment charter schools 
shall: 

(A) notify the parent or guardian of the use of ACAM 
for providing the required accelerated instruction; 

(B) ensure that the required hours of supplemental in-
struction are completed prior to the subsequent State of Texas Assess-
ments of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) administration; 

(C) use ACAM remotely, regardless of primary mode 
of instruction (i.e., in-person, virtual, or hybrid) only if the school dis-
trict ensures that time spent by the student engaged in ACAM is aligned 
with approved product usage expectations documented by the school 
district; 

(D) adhere to the ACAM usage fidelity requirements by 
product as approved by TEA to waive ratio requirements. A school 
district not fulfilling usage fidelity with an ACAM product will be re-
quired to revert to the 4:1 ratio for supplemental instruction as specified 
in subsection (d) of this section; and 

(E) be responsible for contracting and funding the se-
lected vendors included on the TEA list of approved vendors. 

(4) Entities seeking ACAM accelerated instruction 
provider approval shall follow a process required by TEA. 

(i) Accelerated instruction waivers. 

(1) For the purposes of this subsection: 

(A) "significantly below satisfactorily" is defined as 
achieving a performance level of Low Did Not Meet Grade Level on 
a STAAR® mathematics or reading administration; 

(B) "satisfactorily" is defined as achieving a perfor-
mance level of Approaches or better on a STAAR® mathematics or 
reading administration; and 

(C) "educationally disadvantaged" is defined as being 
identified in the Texas Student Data System Public Education Infor-
mation Management System (TSDS PEIMS) as being eligible to par-
ticipate in the national free or reduced-price lunch program established 
under 42 U.S.C. §1751 et seq. 

(2) Only those subject areas for which two consecutive 
years of assessment instrument distribution can be positively identified 
(i.e., mathematics and reading) for all students based on their grade 
level shall be considered in the determination of this waiver. 

(3) A school district or an open-enrollment charter school 
shall be eligible for the one-year waiver if it meets all of the following 
conditions when reviewing the most recent available year of STAAR® 
data: 

(A) 60% of total students eligible to receive accelerated 
instruction in mathematics and 60% of total students eligible to receive 
accelerated instruction in reading score satisfactorily on the applicable 
subject area assessment instrument; 

(B) 60% of students eligible to receive accelerated in-
struction who scored significantly below satisfactorily in the prior year 
score satisfactorily on the applicable subject area assessment instru-
ment(s). This condition is only applicable if at least 10 students receiv-
ing accelerated instruction scored significantly below satisfactorily in 
the prior year; and 

(C) at least 50% of students receiving special education 
services or qualifying as educationally disadvantaged who received ac-
celerated instruction in mathematics and/or reading score satisfactorily 
on the subsequent applicable subject area assessment instrument(s). 
This condition is only applicable if at least 10 students who received 
accelerated instruction receive special education services or qualified 
as educationally disadvantaged. 

(4) TEA shall generate a yearly report that identifies all 
school districts and open-enrollment charter schools that meet all appli-
cable conditions and are consequently eligible for the one-year waiver. 

(5) Eligible school districts and open-enrollment charter 
schools shall be notified via TEA communication pathways upon the 
publication of the annual list. 

(6) Upon distribution of the annual notification, eligible 
school districts and open-enrollment charter schools shall have 45 days 
to apply for the waiver using the Accelerated Instruction Waiver under 
TEA Login (TEAL). 

(7) The one-year waiver application shall contain the fol-
lowing at minimum: 

(A) the school district or open-enrollment charter 
school's name; 

(B) the signature of the school district's superintendent 
or the chief administrative officer of an open-enrollment charter school; 

(C) documentation of the approval of the board of 
trustees or governing board, as applicable; and 
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(D) an explanation of how the school district or open-
enrollment charter school will evaluate the impact of the waiver on 
student performance. 

(j) Repeating a high school course. 

(1) Credit recovery means completing a certain number of 
seat hours to satisfy the course requirements after failure or excessive 
absences. 

(2) For courses taken for high school credit, a student who 
is required to repeat any course in which the student was enrolled in 
during the previous school year and who is eligible for accelerated in-
struction for the current school year is exempt from accelerated instruc-
tion requirements for that specific course if that course is retaken in its 
entirety (i.e., to earn a full credit). However, a student who is participat-
ing in credit recovery is still required to receive accelerated instruction. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5, 
2024. 
TRD-202400422 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 26. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

PART 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN 
SERVICES COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 307. BEHAVIORAL HEALTH 
PROGRAMS 
SUBCHAPTER F. BEHAVIORAL HEALTH 
PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM 
26 TAC §§307.251, 307.253, 307.255, 307.257, 307.259,
307.261, 307.263, 307.265, 307.267 

The Executive Commissioner of the Texas Health and Human 
Services Commission (HHSC) proposes new Subchapter F, 
Behavioral Health Partnership Program in Texas Adminis-
trative Code, Chapter 307. New Subchapter F comprises 
§307.251, concerning Purpose; §307.253, concerning Applica-
tion; §307.255, concerning Definitions; §307.257, concerning 
Behavioral Health Partnership Program Liaison Qualifications; 
§307.259, concerning Local Mental Health Authority or Local 
Behavioral Health Authority Responsibilities; §307.261, con-
cerning Determining which Local Mental Health Authority or 
Local Behavioral Health Authority Employs a Behavioral Health 
Partnership Program Liaison; §307.263, concerning Respon-
sibilities of a Behavioral Health Partnership Program Liaison; 
§307.265, concerning Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission Waiver Process; §307.267, concerning Texas Health 
and Human Services Commission Notification. 
BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The purpose of the proposal is to implement Senate Bill 26, 88th 
Legislature, Regular Session, 2023, which amends Texas Edu-
cation Code §8.151 and §8.152 to establish a process for local 
mental health authorities (LMHAs) or local behavioral health au-
thorities (LBHAs) to submit a waiver request to HHSC to hire 
a licensed master social worker or licensed professional coun-
selor (LPC) associate in lieu of a non-physician mental health 
professional (NPMHP) if the LMHA is unable to hire a NPMHP 
in its designated regional education service center (ESC). The 
proposal establishes the behavioral health partnership program 
(BHPP) as the program name and "behavioral health partnership 
program liaison" as the position title that includes an NPMHP or 
a person hired under the waiver process. 
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

Proposed new §307.251 describes the purpose of the subchap-
ter, which is to implement the BHPP. 
Proposed new §307.253 establishes new Subchapter F's appli-
cability to LMHAs and LBHAs. 
Proposed new §307.255 provides definitions for terminology 
used in the subchapter. Additionally, for purposes of this 
subchapter, a "non-physician mental health professional" as 
referenced under Texas Education Code §8.152 is included in 
the term "behavioral health partnership program liaison." 
Proposed new §307.257 describes the BHPP liaison as a person 
who either meets the qualifications of an NPMHP or for whom the 
LMHA or LBHA submits a waiver request to HHSC. 
Proposed new §307.259 describes LMHA and LBHA responsi-
bilities to enter into a memorandum of understanding with the 
ESC addressing employment of a BHPP liaison; provide pay-
ment for costs for space and administrative costs; provide super-
vision of the BHPP liaison; provide reports to HHSC; and comply 
with parameters concerning how long an NPMHP waiver is ef-
fective. 
Proposed new §307.261 establishes which LMHA or LBHA em-
ploys a BHPP liaison based on the LMHA or LBHA serving the 
majority of counties in which the ESC is located and requires the 
LMHA or LBHA to consult with the other LMHA or LBHA in the 
same region before making the final hiring decision. 
Proposed new §307.263 establishes responsibilities of a BHPP 
liaison for carrying out the functions and duties required of an 
NPMHP in accordance with Texas Education Code §8.155. 
Proposed new §307.265 describes the HHSC waiver process 
for an LMHA or LBHA to employ an LMSW or LPC associate to 
serve as the BHPP liaison. 
Proposed new §307.267 describes HHSC's written notification 
regarding if an LMHA's or LBHA's waiver request is approved or 
the opportunity to remedy and resubmit the waiver request if it 
was denied. 
FISCAL NOTE 

Trey Wood, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each 
year of the first five years that the rules will be in effect, enforc-
ing or administering the rules does not have foreseeable implica-
tions relating to costs or revenues of state or local governments. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

HHSC has determined that during the first five years that the 
rules will be in effect: 
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(1) the proposed rules will not create or eliminate a government 
program; 
(2) implementation of the proposed rules will not affect the num-
ber of HHSC employee positions; 
(3) implementation of the proposed rules will result in no as-
sumed change in future legislative appropriations; 
(4) the proposed rules will not affect fees paid to HHSC; 
(5) the proposed rules will create new rules; 
(6) the proposed rules will not expand, limit, or repeal existing 
rules; 
(7) the proposed rules will not change the number of individuals 
subject to the rules; and 

(8) the proposed rules will not affect the state's economy. 
SMALL BUSINESS, MICRO-BUSINESS, AND RURAL COM-
MUNITY IMPACT ANALYSIS 

Trey Wood has also determined that there will be no adverse 
economic effect on small businesses, micro-businesses, or rural 
communities because there is no requirement to alter current 
business practices. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

The proposed rules will not affect local economy. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

Texas Government Code §2001.0045 does not apply to these 
rules because the rules are necessary to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of the residents of Texas, do not impose a 
cost on regulated persons, and are necessary to implement leg-
islation that does not specifically state that Section 2001.0045 
applies to the rule. 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS 

Sonja Gaines, Deputy Executive Commissioner of Behavioral 
Health Services, has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the rules are in effect, the public benefit will be to clarify 
provider expectations and broaden eligibility of NPMHPs through 
a waiver process to address workforce shortages and challenges 
in fulfilling statutory requirements for the safety and welfare of 
Texas residents. 
Trey Wood has also determined that for the first five years the 
rules are in effect, there are no anticipated economic costs to 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed rules 
because there are no new fees or costs imposed on those re-
quired to comply. Funds are currently allocated for the relevant 
LMHAs/LBHAs to hire masters' level professionals as BHPP Li-
aisons for this program. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

HHSC has determined that the proposal does not restrict or limit 
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist 
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not 
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code §2007.043. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Rules 
Coordination Office, P.O. Box 13247, Mail Code 4102, Austin, 
Texas 78711-3247, or street address 701 W. 51st Street, 
Austin, Texas 78751; or emailed to HHSRulesCoordinationOf-
fice@hhs.texas.gov. 

To be considered, comments must be submitted no later than 
31 days after the date of this issue of the Texas Register. Com-
ments must be (1) postmarked or shipped before the last day of 
the comment period; (2) hand-delivered before 5:00 p.m. on the 
last working day of the comment period; or (3) emailed before 
midnight on the last day of the comment period. If the last day 
to submit comments falls on a holiday, comments must be post-
marked, shipped, or emailed before midnight on the following 
business day to be accepted. When emailing comments, please 
indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 23R073" in the subject 
line. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The new sections are authorized by Texas Government Code 
§531.0055, which provides that the Executive Commissioner of 
HHSC shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of ser-
vices by the health and human services agencies, and Texas Ed-
ucation Code §8.152 which allows the Executive Commissioner 
to establish a waiver process for an LMHA to hire a person other 
than an NPMHP, if certain conditions are met, to provide mental 
health and substance use resources to school districts. 
The new sections affect Texas Government Code §531.0055 
and Texas Education Code §8.152. 
§307.251. Purpose. 
The purpose of this subchapter is to implement the Behavioral Health 
Partnership Program. This program delivers mental health and sub-
stance use resources to school districts served by a regional education 
service center and in which the local mental health authority (LMHA) 
or local behavioral health authority (LBHA) also delivers services. The 
program allows LMHAs and LBHAs to request a waiver to employ a 
professional who fulfills the duties outlined in Texas Education Code 
§8.152. 

§307.253. Application. 
The subchapter applies to local mental health authorities and local be-
havioral health authorities. 

§307.255. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the 
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) BHPP liaison--Behavioral Health Partnership Program 
liaison. For purposes of this subchapter, a "non-physician mental health 
professional" as referenced under Texas Education Code §8.152 is in-
cluded in the term "behavioral health partnership program liaison." 

(2) Business day--Any day except a Saturday, Sunday, or 
legal holiday listed in Texas Government Code §662.021. 

(3) Child--An individual under 18 years of age as defined 
under Texas Human Resources Code §42.002 and not emancipated as 
described in Texas Family Code Chapter 31. 

(4) ESC--Regional education service center. An entity 
designated as the educational service center by the Texas Education 
Agency in accordance with Texas Education Code, Subtitle B, Chapter 
8, Subchapter A. 

(5) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-
sion or its designee. 

(6) LBHA--Local behavioral health authority. An entity 
designated as the local behavioral health authority by HHSC in accor-
dance with Texas Health and Safety Code §533.0356. 

(7) LMHA--Local mental health authority. An entity des-
ignated as the local mental health authority by HHSC in accordance 
with Texas Health and Safety Code §533.035(a). 
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(8) LMSW--Licensed master social worker. A person who 
holds a master social worker license in accordance with Texas Occu-
pations Code Chapter 505. 

(9) LPC associate--Licensed professional counselor asso-
ciate. A person who holds a professional counselor associate license in 
accordance with 22 TAC §681.2 (relating to Definitions). 

(10) NPMHP--Non-Physician Mental Health Professional. 

(11) TAC--Texas Administrative Code. 

§307.257. Behavioral Health Partnership Program Liaison Qualifi-
cations. 
A BHPP liaison must meet the qualifications as an NPMHP under 
Texas Health and Safety Code §571.003 or serve under a waiver ap-
proved by HHSC in accordance with §307.267 of this subchapter (re-
lating to Texas Health and Human Services Commission Notification). 

§307.259. Local Mental Health Authority or Local Behavioral 
Health Authority Responsibilities. 

(a) The LMHA or LBHA must: 

(1) enter into a memorandum of understanding with the 
ESC to collaborate regarding the administration of this subchapter; 

(2) employ a BHPP liaison to serve as a mental health and 
substance use resource for school districts located in the region served 
by an ESC and in which the LMHA or LBHA delivers services; 

(3) pay the ESC a reasonable and negotiated cost-recovery 
fee, not to exceed $15,000 per year unless the LMHA or LBHA and the 
ESC agree to a higher amount, for providing the space and administra-
tive support necessary for the BHPP liaison to carry out the professional 
duties outlined in Texas Education Code §8.155; 

(4) supervise the BHPP liaison; 

(5) consult with any other LMHA or LBHA in the region 
and the regional ESC for input on supervising the BHPP liaison and 
coordinating services provided by the BHPP liaison; 

(6) submit a written quarterly activity and evaluation report 
to the HHSC contract manager regarding the outcomes for school dis-
tricts and students resulting from services delivered by a BHPP liaison 
in accordance with §307.263 of this subchapter (relating to Responsi-
bilities of a Behavioral Health Partnership Program Liaison); 

(7) submit a written annual activity and evaluation report to 
the HHSC contract manager regarding the outcomes for school districts 
and students resulting from services delivered by a BHPP liaison in 
accordance with Texas Education Code §8.153; 

(8) submit a written waiver request to the BHPP mailbox 
and the HHSC contract manager if required under Texas Education 
Code §8.152(c); 

(9) ensure an LMSW or an LPC associate is eligible for an 
HHSC waiver request as outlined in this subchapter and the LMSW 
or LPC associate has the ability to fulfill the duties outlined in this 
subchapter if a waiver is requested; 

(10) retain documentation in accordance with the LMHA's 
and LBHA's policies and procedures on efforts made to hire an NPMHP 
before submitting a waiver request; and 

(11) submit a new waiver request, as needed, if the HHSC 
BHPP liaison vacates the position. 

(b) If a BHPP liaison vacates the position within one year of 
approval of the waiver under subsection (a)(11) of this section, a new 
waiver request is not required. 

(c) If a BHPP liaison vacates the position more than a year 
after approval of the waiver under subsection (a)(11) of this section, the 
LMHA or LBHA must attempt to hire a professional pursuant to Texas 
Education Code §8.152 before requesting a waiver under subsection 
(a)(11) of this section. 

§307.261. Determining which Local Mental Health Authority or Lo-
cal Behavioral Health Authority Employs a Behavioral Health Part-
nership Program Liaison. 

If two or more LMHAs or LBHAs deliver services in a region served by 
a regional ESC, the LMHA or LBHA serving the majority of counties 
in which the ESC is located is required to hire the BHPP liaison. The 
LMHA or LBHA must consult with the other LMHA or LBHA in the 
same region before making the final hiring decision. 

§307.263. Responsibilities of a Behavioral Health Partnership Pro-
gram Liaison. 

(a) A BHPP liaison must: 

(1) serve as a mental health and substance use resource for 
school districts located in the region served by a regional ESC in which 
the LMHA or LBHA provides services; and 

(2) operate within the scope of their professional state li-
cense. 

(b) A BHPP liaison is responsible for carrying out the follow-
ing functions and duties required of an NPMHP in accordance with 
Texas Education Code §8.155: 

(1) helping school district personnel gain awareness and a 
better understanding of mental health and co-occurring mental health 
and substance use disorders; 

(2) assisting school district personnel to implement initia-
tives related to mental health or substance use under state law or agency 
rules, interagency memorandums of understanding, and related pro-
grams; and 

(3) ensuring school district personnel are aware of: 

(A) the list of recommended best practice-based pro-
grams and research-based practices developed under Texas Education 
Code §38.351; 

(B) other public and private mental health and sub-
stance use prevention, treatment, and recovery programs available 
in the school district, including evidence-based programs delivered 
by an LMHA or LBHA and other public and private mental health 
resources, such as the Texas School Mental Health Resources database 
as required by Texas Education Code §38.253; and 

(C) other available public and private mental health and 
substance use prevention, treatment, and recovery program resources 
administered by the LMHA or LBHA or HHSC to support school dis-
tricts, students, and families: 

(4) on a monthly basis, facilitating mental health first aid 
training; 

(5) on a monthly basis, facilitating training on the effects 
of grief and trauma and providing support to children with intellectual 
or developmental disabilities who suffer from grief or trauma; and 

(6) on a monthly basis, facilitating training on prevention 
and intervention programs that have been shown to be effective in help-
ing students cope with pressures to: 

(A) use alcohol, cigarettes, or illegal drugs; or 

(B) misuse prescription drugs. 
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(c) A BHPP liaison employed under this subchapter must not 
treat or provide counseling to a student or provide advice to school 
district personnel regarding a specific student. 

§307.265. Texas Health and Human Services Commission Waiver 
Process. 

(a) If an LMHA or LBHA is unable to employ a person who 
qualifies as an NPMHP for the BHPP liaison position in its designated 
ESC, the LMHA or LBHA may request a waiver from the HHSC Ex-
ecutive Commissioner, or designee, to employ an LMSW or LPC asso-
ciate to serve as the BHPP liaison, pursuant to Texas Education Code 
§8.152(c). 

(b) To apply for a waiver, the LMHA or LBHA must complete 
and submit the written HHSC Local Mental and Behavioral Health Au-
thority Waiver Request Form to the BHPP mailbox addressing the fol-
lowing information: 

(1) the name of the LMHA or LBHA requesting the waiver; 

(2) the name of LMHA's or LBHA's staff member's name 
and contact information; 

(3) the LMHA or LBHA's recruitment efforts to hire an 
NPMHP; 

(4) the duration of time the LMHA or LBHA was unable 
to hire for this position before requesting a waiver; and 

(5) the LMSW or LPC associate clinical licensure of the 
BHPP liaison waiver candidate. 

§307.267. Texas Health and Human Services Commission Notifica-
tion. 
The HHSC Executive Commissioner or designee will deliver written 
notification to the LMHA or LBHA within ten business days after re-
ceipt of the submission regarding: 

(1) whether the waiver request is approved; or 

(2) the opportunity to remedy and resubmit the waiver re-
quest if the waiver request is denied. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 31, 
2024. 
TRD-202400343 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Health and Human Services Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 243-4241 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS 

PART 15. TEXAS FORENSIC SCIENCE 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 651. DNA, CODIS, FORENSIC 
ANALYSIS, AND CRIME LABORATORIES 
SUBCHAPTER A. ACCREDITATION 

37 TAC §651.7 

The Texas Forensic Science Commission ("Commission") pro-
poses an amendment to rule to 37 Texas Administrative Code 
§651.7 to exempt from accreditation requirements, any College 
of American Pathologist (CAP)-accredited testing or Substance 
Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration of the Depart-
ment of Health and Human Services (SAMHSA/HHS)-certified 
testing limited to analysis of urine testing for approved classes 
of drugs on human specimens conducted by or under contract 
with a community supervision or corrections department of a 
county or municipality, the parole division of the Texas Depart-
ment of Criminal Justice, the Board of Pardons and Paroles, or 
any other government agency. The results of such testing are 
subsequently entered into evidence in an action to revise or re-
voke the terms of an individual's bail, bond, community supervi-
sion, or parole. The Commission amendments are necessary to 
reflect a rule proposal made by the Commission at its January 
26, 2024 quarterly meeting. 
Reasoned Justification for Rule Amendments. The current ex-
emption in §651.7(a)(17) does not expressly include bail or bond 
testing on human specimens conducted by or under contract with 
a community supervision or corrections department of a county 
or municipality, the parole division of the Texas Department of 
Criminal Justice, the Board of Pardons and Paroles, or any other 
government agency where the results of such testing are subse-
quently entered into evidence in an action to revise or revoke 
terms. The current rule only states that the exemption applies to 
community supervision or parole. The rule changes herein pro-
vide that clarity to criminal justice stakeholders which was the 
original intention of the rulemaking. The current rule does not 
state that the rule exemption applies to scenarios where such 
testing is used for pretrial diversion or intervention purposes. 
The rule changes add this language to provide that clarity to crim-
inal justice stakeholders which was also the original intention of 
the rulemaking. 
One-for-One Rule Requirement for Rules with a Fiscal Impact. 
Because Ms. Tomlin has determined that the rules do not have a 
fiscal impact that imposes a cost on a regulated person, including 
another state agency, a special district, or a local government, 
the agency is not required to take further action under Govern-
ment Code § 2001.0045. 
Fiscal Note. Leigh M. Tomlin, Associate General Counsel of the 
Texas Forensic Science Commission, has determined that for 
each year of the first five years the proposed amendments will 
be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to state or local gov-
ernments as a result of the enforcement or administration of the 
amendments. The proposed amendments exempt certain types 
of drug testing performed for pre-trial, community supervision, 
and related services. The amendments do not impose any costs 
to state or local governments. 
Rural Impact Statement. The Commission expects no adverse 
economic effect on rural communities as the proposed amend-
ments do not impose any direct costs or fees on municipalities in 
rural communities. The proposed amendments exempt certain 
types of drug testing performed for pre-trial, community supervi-
sion, and related services. 
Public Benefit/Cost Note. Ms. Tomlin has also determined that 
for each year of the first five years the proposed amendments are 
in effect, the anticipated public benefit includes providing clarity 
to criminal justice stakeholders that forensic testing for pretrial, 
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community supervision, and related services are exempt from 
crime laboratory accreditation requirements. 
Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 
for Small and Micro Businesses. As required by the Government 
Code § 2006.002(c) and (f), Ms. Tomlin has determined that 
the proposed amendments will not have an adverse economic 
effect on any small or micro business because the rule does not 
impose any economic costs to these businesses. The proposed 
amendments exempt certain types of drug testing performed for 
pre-trial, community supervision, and related services. 
Takings Impact Assessment. Ms. Tomlin has determined that 
no private real property interests are affected by this proposal 
and that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right 
to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of govern-
ment action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or re-
quire a takings impact assessment under the Government Code 
§2007.043. The proposed amendments exempt certain types of 
drug testing performed for pre-trial, community supervision, and 
related services. 
Environmental Rule Analysis. Ms. Tomlin has determined that 
the proposed rules are not brought with the specific intent to pro-
tect the environment or reduce risks to human health from en-
vironmental exposure; thus, the Commission asserts that this 
proposed rule is not a "major environmental rule," as defined by 
Government Code § 2001.0225. As a result, the Commission as-
serts that the preparation of an environmental impact analysis, 
as provided by Government Code §2001.0225, is not required. 
Government Growth Impact Statement. Ms. Tomlin has deter-
mined that for the first five-year period, implementation of the 
proposed amendment will have no government growth impact 
as described in Title 34, Part 1, Texas Administrative Code 
§11.1. Pursuant to the analysis required by Government Code 
2001.221(b): 1) the proposed amendments do not create or 
eliminate a government program; 2) implementation of the pro-
posed amendments do not require the creation of new employee 
positions or the elimination of existing employee positions; 3) 
implementation of the proposed amendments do not increase 
or decrease future legislative appropriations to the agency; 4) 
the proposed amendments do not require a fee; 5) the proposed 
amendments do not create a new regulation; 6) the proposed 
amendments do not increase the number of individual's subject 
to regulation; and 7) the proposed amendments have a neutral 
effect on the state's economy. The amendments do not expand 
any accreditation or licensing requirement under the current 
programs, but rather clarify that forensic testing for pretrial, 
community supervision and related services are exempt from 
crime laboratory accreditation requirements. 
Requirement for Rule Increasing Costs to Regulated Persons. 
Ms. Tomlin has determined that there are no anticipated in-
creased costs to regulated persons as the proposed amend-
ments do not impose any fees or costs. 
Public Comment. The Commission invites comments on the pro-
posal from any member of the public. Please submit comments 
to Leigh M. Tomlin, 1700 North Congress Avenue, Suite 445, 
Austin, Texas 78701 or leigh@fsc.texas.gov. Comments must 
be received by March 18, 2024, to be considered by the Com-
mission. 
Statutory Authority. The amendments are made in accordance 
with the Commission's accreditation authority under Code of 
Criminal Procedure, Art. 38.01 § 4-d(2), which establishes that 

the Commission may modify or remove crime laboratory accred-
itation exemptions, and the Commission's rulemaking authority 
under Art. 38.01 § 3-a, which directs the Commission to adopt 
rules necessary to implement Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 
38.01. 
Cross reference to statute. The proposal amends rule 37 Texas 
Administrative Code §651.7. 
§651.7. Disciplines Exempt from Commission Accreditation Require-
ments by Administrative Rule. 

(a) The Commission has exempted the following categories of 
forensic analysis from the accreditation requirement by administrative 
rule: 

(1) sexual assault examination of a person; 

(2) forensic anthropology, entomology, or botany; 

(3) environmental testing; 

(4) facial or traffic accident reconstruction; 

(5) serial number restoration; 

(6) polygraph examination; 

(7) voice stress, voiceprint, or similar voice analysis; 

(8) statement analysis; 

(9) forensic odontology for purposes of human identifica-
tion or age assessment, not to include bite mark comparison related to 
patterned injuries; 

(10) testing and/or screening conducted for sexually trans-
mitted diseases; 

(11) fire scene investigation, including but not limited to 
cause and origin determinations; 

(12) forensic photography; 

(13) non-criminal paternity testing; 

(14) non-criminal testing of human or nonhuman blood, 
urine, or tissue, including but not limited to workplace/employment 
drug testing; 

(15) the location, identification, collection, or preservation 
of physical evidence at a crime scene; 

(16) crime scene reconstruction; 

(17) confirmatory testing of a human specimen in a labora-
tory either accredited by the College of American Pathologists (CAP) 
forensic drug testing program, or certified by the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services of the Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS/CMS) under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement 
Amendments of 1988 (CLIA), or the Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health Services Administration of the Department of Health and 
Human Services (SAMHSA/HHS) limited to analysis of urine testing 
for approved classes of drugs. This is for the purposes of referring, 
offering, or making available treatment, diversion, intervention, or 
monitoring[,] conducted by or under contract with a community 
supervision and corrections department, the parole division of the 
Texas Department of Criminal Justice, [or] the Board of Pardons and 
Paroles, or another governmental entity. [and the] The results of such 
testing are subsequently entered into evidence in an action to revise or 
revoke the terms of an individual's bail, bond, community supervision, 
or parole; 

(18) document examination, including document authenti-
cation, physical comparison, and product determination; 
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(19) other evidence processing or handling that is excluded 
under §651.2(2) of this title (relating to Definitions); or 

(20) determination of National Integrated Ballistic Infor-
mation Network (NIBIN) suitability limited to triaging or grouping 
multiple items of evidence for NIBIN entry and assessing a set of test 
fires for purposes of NIBIN entry[,] as well as corresponding NIBIN 
entry. The suitability assessment may include test-firing, but only if 
no physical modification is made to the firearm other than what occurs 
during the act of test-firing the weapon, and subject to the condition 
that the test fire is for NIBIN suitability only and will not be used for 
comparison purposes or for determination of functionality. 

(b) A request for exemption for any discipline not listed in this 
subsection shall be submitted in writing to the Commission. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 31, 
2024. 
TRD-202400380 
Leigh Tomlin 
Associate General Counsel 
Texas Forensic Science Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-0661 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. FORENSIC ANALYST 
LICENSING PROGRAM 
37 TAC §651.202, §651.222 

The Texas Forensic Science Commission (Commission) pro-
poses amendments to 37 Texas Administrative Code §651.202, 
Definitions and §651.222, Voluntary Forensic Analyst Licensing 
Requirements Including Eligibility, License Term, Fee, and Pro-
cedure for Denial of Initial Application or Renewal Application 
and Reconsideration to change the minimum education require-
ment for a voluntary license for a document examination analyst 
from a high school diploma or equivalent degree or higher 
(i.e., baccalaureate or advanced degree) to a baccalaureate 
or advanced degree or from an accredited university and to 
provide a definition of document examination. 
Fiscal Note. Leigh M. Tomlin, Associate General Counsel of the 
Commission, has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the new rule is in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to 
state or local governments as a result of the enforcement or ad-
ministration of the proposal. There is no anticipated effect on 
local employment or the local economy as a result of the pro-
posal. There is no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the 
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the proposed rule amendments. 
One-for-One Rule Requirement for Rules with a Fiscal Impact. 
Because Ms. Tomlin has determined that the rule amendments 
do not have a fiscal impact that imposes a cost on a regulated 
person, including another state agency, a special district, or a lo-
cal government, the agency is not required to take further action 
under Government Code § 2001.0045. 
Rural Impact Statement. The Commission expects no adverse 
economic effect on rural communities as the new rule does not 

impose any direct costs or fees on municipalities in rural com-
munities. 
Public Benefit/Cost Note. Ms. Tomlin has also determined that 
for each year of the first five years the rule amendments are 
in effect, the anticipated public benefit is clarity with regard to 
the scope of forensic activities covered in the forensic discipline 
of forensic document examination and better assurance of the 
quality and educational background of voluntarily licensed foren-
sic document examiners in the State. 
Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 
for Small and Micro Businesses. As required by the Government 
Code § 2006.002(c) and (f), Ms. Tomlin has determined that the 
proposed amendments will not have an adverse economic effect 
on any small or micro business because there are no anticipated 
economic costs to any person or crime laboratory. 
Government Growth Impact Statement. Ms. Tomlin has de-
termined that for the first five-year period, implementation of 
the proposed new rules will have no government growth im-
pact. Pursuant to the analysis required by Government Code 
2001.221(b): (1) the proposed rule does not create or eliminate 
a government program; (2) implementation of the proposed rule 
does not require the creation of new employee positions or the 
elimination of existing employee positions; (3) implementation 
of the proposed rule does not increase or decrease future 
legislative appropriations to the agency; (4) the proposed rule 
does not require any change in fees; (5) the proposed rule does 
not create a new regulation; (6) the proposed rule does not 
expand, limit, or repeal an existing regulation; (7) the proposed 
rule does not increase or decrease the number of individuals 
subject to the rule's applicability; and (8) the proposed rule has 
no effect on the state's economy. 
Probable Economic Costs to Persons Required to Comply with 
Proposal. Ms. Tomlin has determined for the first five-year pe-
riod that the rules are in effect, there is no anticipated economic 
cost to persons who are required to comply with the proposed 
rules. 
Takings Impact Assessment. Ms. Tomlin has determined that 
no private real property interests are affected by this proposal 
and that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right 
to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of govern-
ment action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or re-
quire a takings impact assessment under the Government Code 
§2007.043. 
Environmental Rule Analysis. Ms. Tomlin has determined that 
the proposed rules are not brought with the specific intent to pro-
tect the environment or reduce risks to human health from en-
vironmental exposure; thus, the Commission asserts that this 
proposed rule is not a "major environmental rule," as defined by 
Government Code § 2001.0225. As a result, the Commission as-
serts that the preparation of an environmental impact analysis, 
as provided by Government Code §2001.0225, is not required. 
Request for Public Comment. The Commission invites 
comments on the proposal from any member of the public. 
Please submit comments to Leigh M. Tomlin, 1700 North 
Congress Avenue, Suite 445, Austin, Texas 78701 or leigh.tom-
lin@fsc.texas.gov. Comments must be received by March 18, 
2024, to be considered by the Commission. 
Statutory Authority. The amendments are adopted under the 
Commission's general rulemaking authority provided in Code of 
Criminal Procedure, Article 38.01 § 3-a, its authority to regulate 
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forensic analysts under Article 38.01 § 4-a, under its authority to 
establish voluntary licensing programs for forensic examinations 
or tests not subject to accreditation requirements under Article 
38.01 § 4-a(c). The adopted rules have been reviewed by legal 
counsel and found to be within the state agency's authority to 
adopt. 
Cross-reference to statute. The adopted rules affect Tex. Code 
Crim. Proc. art. 38.01 §§ 4-a and 4-a(c). 
§651.202. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise. 

(1) Forensic analyst - Means a person who on behalf of a 
crime laboratory accredited under Article 38.01 §4-d, Code of Criminal 
Procedure, technically reviews or performs a forensic analysis or draws 
conclusions from or interprets a forensic analysis for a court or crime 
laboratory. The term does not include a medical examiner or other 
forensic pathologist who is a licensed physician. 

(2) Forensic analysis - Has the meaning assigned by Article 
38.35, Code of Criminal Procedure. 

(3) Forensic pathology - Includes that portion of an autopsy 
conducted by a medical examiner or other forensic pathologist who is 
a licensed physician. 

(4) Accredited laboratory - Includes a public or private lab-
oratory or other entity that conducts forensic analysis as defined in Ar-
ticle 38.35, Code of Criminal Procedure and is accredited by a national 
accrediting body recognized by the Commission and listed in §651.4 
of this title (relating to List of Recognized Accrediting Bodies). 

(5) Physical evidence - Has the meaning assigned by Arti-
cle 38.35, Code of Criminal Procedure. 

(6) Accredited university - A college or university accred-
ited by a national accrediting body recognized by the United States 
Department of Education, or a foreign university with a degree pro-
gram(s) recognized as equivalent by the Commission. 

(7) Professional Misconduct - Professional misconduct 
means the forensic analyst or crime laboratory, through a material 
act or omission, deliberately failed to follow the standard of practice 
that an ordinary forensic analyst or crime laboratory would have 
followed, and the deliberate act or omission would substantially affect 
the integrity of the results of a forensic analysis. An act or omission 
was deliberate if the forensic analyst or crime laboratory was aware of 
and consciously disregarded an accepted standard of practice required 
for a forensic analysis. 

(8) Technician - An individual who performs basic analyt-
ical functions under the supervision of a qualified analyst but does not 
evaluate data, reach conclusions or sign any report for court or inves-
tigative purposes shall be considered a technician under the disciplines 
set forth in this section, with the exception of a Firearms/Toolmarks 
Technician who may issue a report provided it is limited to a represen-
tation that a firearm was test-fired and/or cartridge cases were entered 
into the National Integrated Ballistics Information Network. 

(9) Interpretation for toxicology - Interpretation is the con-
sideration of dose-response relationships between drugs, alcohol or 
other compounds of interest and the resulting behavioral or physical 
changes to human performance, including the evaluation of pharma-
cokinetic and pharmacodynamics parameters. Examples include but 
are not limited to: calculation of dose or other pharmacokinetic calcu-
lations; determination of drug/drug interactions; determination (or re-
porting) of therapeutic, toxic, or lethal drug ranges; evaluation of drug 

absorption, distribution, metabolism, or excretion; and determination 
of the effects (mental or physical). 

(10) Crime scene reconstruction - is the application of the 
scientific method to evaluate information regarding a crime scene from 
all reasonably available sources such as scene documentation, inves-
tigative reports, physical evidence, laboratory reports, autopsy docu-
mentation, photographs, video, and witness statements. Crime Scene 
Reconstruction--as distinguished from crime scene processing or crime 
scene investigation--includes the application of analytical methods be-
yond general observations or opinions about the scene to identify and 
test hypotheses. 

(11) Latent print examination - Includes the forensic exam-
ination of friction ridge detail from the hands and feet. 

(12) Latent print processing - Includes identifying and col-
lecting latent prints from items obtained at a crime scene utilizing ap-
propriate optical, physical, and/or chemical techniques with sequential 
processing to develop latent, patent, and/or plastic prints from a sub-
strate. 

(13) [(12)] Forensic anthropology - Includes the applica-
tion of anthropological methods and theory, particularly those relating 
to the recovery and analysis of human remains. 

(14) Document Examination - includes the scientific exam-
inations, analyses, and comparisons of documents in order to determine 
the origin, authenticity and authorship. 

§651.222. Voluntary Licensure Forensic Analyst and Technician Li-
censing Requirements, Including Eligibility, License Term, Fee and 
Procedure for Denial of Initial Application or Renewal Application and 
Reconsideration. 

(a) Issuance. The Commission may issue an individual's 
forensic analyst or technician license for forensic examinations or tests 
not subject to accreditation under this section. 

(b) Voluntary. Licensure under this section is voluntary and is 
not a prerequisite for practice in any of the forensic disciplines listed 
in this section. 

(c) The following forensic disciplines are eligible for a foren-
sic analyst or forensic technician license under this section: 

(1) forensic anthropology; 

(2) document examination, including document authenti-
cation, physical comparison, qualitative determination, and recovery 
[product determination]; 

(3) latent print examination, including the forensic exami-
nation of friction ridge detail from the hands and feet; 

(4) digital/multimedia evidence (limited to computer, mo-
bile, vehicle, call detail records (i.e., phone carrier record comparisons 
to mobile device), and location detail records); and 

(d) Application. Before being issued a forensic analyst 
license, an applicant shall complete and submit to the Commission a 
current forensic analyst license application and provide documentation 
that he or she has satisfied all applicable requirements set forth under 
this section. 

(e) Minimum Education Requirements. 

(1) Document Examination Analyst. An applicant for 
a forensic analyst license in document examination must have a 
baccalaureate or advanced degree from an accredited university [high 
school diploma or equivalent degree] or higher [(i.e., baccalaureate or 
advanced degree)]. 
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(2) Forensic Anthropologist. An applicant for a forensic 
analyst license in forensic anthropology must be certified by the Amer-
ican Board of Forensic Anthropology (ABFA), including fulfillment 
of any minimum education requirements required to comply with and 
maintain ABFA certification at the time of the candidate's application 
for a license. 

(3) Latent Print Analyst. An applicant for a forensic ana-
lyst license in latent print examination must have: 

(A) A baccalaureate or advanced degree from an ac-
credited university; 

(B) 3 years of experience in latent print examination 
with an Associates of Arts or Associates or Science; or 

(C) 4 years of experience in latent print examination 
and 176 hours of training that includes 16 hours of testimonial train-
ing (with only a maximum of 80 conference hours accepted as training 
hours). 

(4) Digital/Multimedia Evidence Analyst. An applicant for 
a forensic analyst license in digital/multimedia evidence must have: 

(A) a baccalaureate or advanced degree from an accred-
ited university; 

(B) a non-law enforcement or non-military background 
without a baccalaureate degree, demonstrating equivalent digital skill 
set through Certified Forensic Computer Examiner (CFCE), Global 
Information Assurance Certification Certified Forensic Examination 
(GCFE), or Global Information Assurance Certification Certified 
Forensic Analyst (GCFA) or equivalent non-vendor certification 
examination(s) with competency test(s); or 

(C) law enforcement or military experience equivalent 
demonstrated through forensic training through one of the following or-
ganizations: SysAdmin, Audit, Network, and Security (SANS), Inter-
national Association for Computer Investigative Specialists (IACIS), 
National White Collar Crime Center (NW3C), Law Enforcement & 
Emergency Services Video Association International, Inc. (LEVA), 
U.S. Military, Computer Analysis Response Team (CART) (FBI Train-
ing), Seized Computer Evidence Recovery Specialist (SCERS), or U.S. 
Secret Service. 

(5) Foreign/Non-U.S. degrees. The Commission shall 
recognize equivalent foreign, non-U.S. baccalaureate or advanced 
degrees. The Commission reserves the right to charge licensees a 
reasonable fee for credential evaluation services to assess how a 
particular foreign degree compares to a similar degree in the United 
States. The Commission may accept a previously obtained credential 
evaluation report from an applicant or licensee in fulfillment of the 
degree comparison assessment. 

(f) Specific Coursework Requirements and Certification Re-
quirements. 

(1) General Requirement for Statistics. With the exception 
of the categories of licensure specifically exempt in this sub-section, 
an applicant for any forensic analyst license under this section must 
have a three-semester credit hour (or equivalent) college-level statistics 
course from an accredited university or a program approved by the 
Commission. 

(2) Forensic Discipline-Specific Coursework Require-
ments. 

(A) Document Examination Analyst. An applicant for 
a forensic analyst license in document examination must have a three-
semester credit hour (or equivalent) college-level statistics course from 

an accredited university or a program approved by the Commission. No 
other specific college-level coursework is required. 

(B) Forensic Anthropologist. An applicant for a foren-
sic analyst license in forensic anthropology must be certified by the 
American Board of Forensic Anthropology (ABFA), including fulfill-
ment of any specific coursework requirements required to comply with 
and maintain ABFA certification at the time of the candidate's applica-
tion for a license. 

(C) Latent Print Analyst. 

(i) An applicant for a forensic analyst license 
in latent print examination who qualifies for a latent print analyst 
license based on the minimum education requirements forth in sub-
section (d)(3)(A) or (B) of this section must have a minimum of 24 
semester-credit hours or equivalent in science, technology, engineer-
ing, or mathematics (STEM) related coursework. 

(ii) All applicants for a forensic analyst license in la-
tent print examination must have a three-semester credit hour (or equiv-
alent) college-level statistics course from an accredited university or a 
program approved by the Commission. 

(iii) IAI Certification Requirement for Unaccredited 
Laboratory. All licensed latent print examination analysts and appli-
cants who are not employed by a laboratory accredited by the Com-
mission are required to be certified by the International Association 
for Identification (IAI) under the IAI's Latent Print Certification pro-
gram and are required to provide proof of certification upon request. 
Licensees are required to notify the Commission of any change in the 
status of their IAI certification within ten (10) business days of any 
changes. 

(D) Digital/Multimedia Evidence Analyst. An appli-
cant for a forensic analyst license in digital/multimedia evidence must 
have a three-semester credit hour (or equivalent) college-level statis-
tics course from an accredited university or a program approved by the 
Commission. No other specific college-level coursework is required. 

(3) Exemptions from Specific Coursework Requirements. 
Previously Licensed Document Examination Analyst Exemption. An 
applicant for a voluntary forensic analyst license previously licensed 
by the Commission when licensure was mandatory for the discipline is 
exempt from any specific coursework requirements in this subsection. 

(g) General Forensic Analyst Licensing Exam Requirement. 

(1) Exam Requirement. An applicant for a forensic analyst 
license under this section must pass the General Forensic Analyst Li-
censing Exam administered by the Commission. 

(A) An applicant is required to take and pass the Gen-
eral Forensic Analyst Licensing Exam one time. 

(B) An applicant may take the General Forensic Ana-
lyst Licensing Exam no more than three times. If an applicant fails 
the General Forensic Analyst Licensing Exam three times, the appli-
cant has thirty (30) days from the date the applicant receives notice 
of the failure to request special dispensation from the Commission as 
described in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph. Where special dis-
pensation is granted, the applicant has 90 days from the date he or she 
receives notice the request for exam is granted to successfully complete 
the exam requirement. However, for good cause shown, the Commis-
sion or its Designee at its discretion may waive this limitation. 

(C) Requests for Exam. If an applicant fails the Gen-
eral Forensic Analyst Licensing Exam three times, the applicant must 
request in writing special dispensation from the Commission to take 
the exam more than three times. Applicants may submit a letter of sup-
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port from their employing agency's director or licensing representative 
and any other supporting documentation supplemental to the written 
request. 

(D) If an applicant sits for the General Forensic Analyst 
Licensing Exam more than three times, the applicant must pay a $50 
exam fee each additional time the applicant sits for the exam beyond 
the three initial attempts. 

(2) Credit for Pilot Exam. If an individual passes a Pilot 
General Forensic Analyst Licensing Exam, regardless of his or her el-
igibility status for a voluntary or mandatory Forensic Analyst License 
at the time the exam is taken, the candidate has fulfilled the General 
Forensic Analyst Licensing Exam Requirement of this subsection. 

(h) Proficiency Monitoring Requirement. 

(1) Requirement for Applicants Employed by an Accred-
ited Laboratory. An applicant who is employed by an accredited 
laboratory must demonstrate the applicant participates in the lab-
oratory's process for intra agency [intra-laboratory] comparison, 
interagency [interagency-laboratory] comparison, proficiency test-
ing, or observation-based performance monitoring requirements in 
compliance with and on the timeline set forth by the laboratory's 
accrediting body's proficiency monitoring requirements as applicable 
to the Forensic Analyst's or Forensic Technician's specific forensic 
discipline and job duties. 

(2) Requirement for Applicants Not Employed at an Ac-
credited Laboratory or at an Accredited Laboratory in an Unaccredited 
Forensic Discipline. An applicant who is employed by an entity other 
than an accredited laboratory or performs a forensic examination or 
test at an accredited laboratory in a forensic discipline not covered by 
the scope of the laboratory's accreditation must demonstrate the ap-
plicant participates in the laboratory or employing entity's process for 
intraagency comparison, interagency comparison, proficiency testing, 
or observation-based performance monitoring requirements in compli-
ance with and on the timeline set forth by the laboratory or employing 
entity's Commission-approved process for proficiency monitoring as 
applicable to the Forensic Analyst's or Forensic Technician's specific 
forensic discipline and job duties. 

(3) A signed certification by the laboratory or entity's au-
thorized representative that the applicant has satisfied the applicable 
proficiency monitoring requirements, including any intraagency com-
parison, interagency comparisons, proficiency testing, or observation-
based performance monitoring requirements in paragraph (1) or (2) of 
this subsection as of the date of the analyst's application must be pro-
vided on the Proficiency Monitoring Certification form provided by the 
Commission. The licensee's authorized representative must designate 
the specific forensic discipline in which the Forensic Analyst or Foren-
sic Technician actively performs forensic casework or is currently au-
thorized to perform supervised or independent casework. 

(4) Applicants employed by an entity other than an accred-
ited laboratory or performing forensic examinations or tests at an ac-
credited laboratory in a discipline not covered by the scope of the labo-
ratory or employing entity's accreditation must include written proof of 
the Forensic Science Commission's approval described in paragraph (5) 
of this subsection with the Proficiency Monitoring Certification form 
required in paragraph (3) of this subsection. The applicant must in-
clude written documentation of performance in conformance with ex-
pected consensus results for the laboratory or employing entity's Com-
mission-approved activities or exercise(s) as applicable to the appli-
cant's specific forensic discipline and job duties in compliance with 
and on the timeline set forth by the laboratory or employing entity's 
Commission-approved process for proficiency monitoring. 

(5) Applicants employed by an entity other than an accred-
ited laboratory or performing forensic examinations or tests at an ac-
credited laboratory in a discipline not covered by the scope of the lab-
oratory or employing entity's accreditation seeking approval of profi-
ciency monitoring activities or exercise(s) must seek prior approval of 
the activities or exercise(s) from the Commission. 

(6) Special Proficiency Testing Requirements for Latent 
Print Analysts. 

(A) Where available and appropriate for the job func-
tion(s) being tested, proficiency tests shall be obtained from an external 
source through participation in a proficiency testing program offered by 
a provider accredited to the ISO/IEC 17043 international standard. 

(B) Where not available or not appropriate for the job 
function(s) being tested, proficiency tests may be obtained from an ex-
ternal source through participation in an interagency comparison or de-
veloped internally by the employing laboratory or entity through par-
ticipation in an interagency comparison or intraagency comparison. 

(C) All latent print examiner proficiency tests selected 
shall be developed and validated in accordance with the requirements 
set forth in Sections 4.2 and 4.3 of the Organization of Scientific Area 
Committees for Forensic Science (OSAC) 2022-S-0012 Friction Ridge 
Subcommittee's Standard for Proficiency Testing in Friction Ridge Ex-
amination. 

(7) Special Proficiency Testing Requirements for Crime 
Scene Processing Technicians, Crime Scene Investigation Analysts, 
and Crime Scene Reconstruction Analysts. 

(A) Where available and appropriate for the job func-
tion(s) being tested, proficiency tests shall be obtained from an external 
source through participation in a proficiency testing program offered by 
a provider accredited to the ISO/IEC 17043 international standard. 

(B) Where not available or not appropriate for the job 
function(s) being tested, proficiency tests may be obtained from an ex-
ternal source through participation in an interagency comparison or de-
veloped internally by the employing laboratory or entity through par-
ticipation in an interagency comparison or intraagency comparison. 

(i) Employing Laboratory or Agency Quality Requirement for 
Forensic Analysts. Applicants for a forensic analyst license under this 
section must be employed by a laboratory or agency that can demon-
strate, regardless of Commission accreditation status, compliance with 
specific standards as applicable to the applicant's forensic discipline as 
published on the Commission's website and updated January 15 of each 
calendar year. 

(j) License Term and Fee. 

(1) A Forensic Analyst license issued under this section 
shall expire on the last day of the applicant's birth month that occurs 
on the second birthdate occurring after the application is granted [ two 
years from the date the applicant is granted a license]. 

(2) Application Fee. A Forensic Analyst or Forensic Tech-
nician license applicant or current licensee under this section shall pay 
the following fee(s) as applicable: 

(A) Initial Application fee of $220 for Analysts and 
$150 for Technicians/Crime Scene Investigation Analysts; 

(B) Biennial renewal fee of $200 for Analysts and $130 
for Technicians/Crime Scene Investigation Analysts; 

(C) License Reinstatement fee of $220; or 
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(D) Special Exam Fee of $50 for General Forensic An-
alyst Licensing Exam, required only if testing beyond the three initial 
attempts. 

(k) Forensic Analyst License Renewal. Renewal of a Forensic 
Analyst License. Applicants for renewal of a Forensic Analyst License 
must comply with §651.208 (Forensic Analyst and Forensic Technician 
License Renewal) of this subchapter. 

(l) Forensic Analyst License Expiration and Reinstatement. 
Expiration and Reinstatement of a Forensic Analyst License. A 
Forensic Analyst must comply with §651.209 of this subchapter 
(Forensic Analyst and Forensic Technician License Expiration and 
Reinstatement). 

(m) Procedure for Denial of Initial Application or Renewal 
Application and Reconsideration. 

(1) Application Review. The Commission Director or De-
signee must review each initial application or renewal application and 
determine whether the applicant meets the qualifications and require-
ments set forth in this subchapter. If a person who has applied for a 
forensic analyst license under this section does not meet the qualifica-
tions or requirements set forth in this subchapter and has submitted a 
complete application, the Director or Designee must consult with mem-
bers of the Licensing Advisory Committee before denying the applica-
tion. 

(2) Denial of Application. The Commission, through its 
Director or Designee, may deny an initial or renewal application if the 
applicant fails to meet any of the qualifications or requirements set forth 
in this subchapter. 

(3) Notice of Denial. The Commission, through its Direc-
tor or Designee, shall provide the applicant a written statement of the 
reason(s) for denial of the initial or renewal application. 

(4) Request for Reconsideration. Within twenty (20) days 
of the date of the notice that the Commission has denied the application, 
the applicant may request that the Commission reconsider the denial. 
The request must be in writing, identify each point or matter about 
which reconsideration is requested, and set forth the grounds for the 
request for reconsideration. 

(5) Reconsideration Procedure. The Commission must 
consider a request for reconsideration at its next meeting where the 
applicant may appear and present testimony. 

(6) Commission Action on Request. After reconsidering 
its decision, the Commission may either affirm or reverse its original 
decision. 

(7) Final Decision. The Commission, through its Director 
or Designee, must notify the applicant in writing of its decision on re-
consideration within fifteen (15) business days of the date of its meeting 
where the final decision was rendered. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 5, 
2024. 
TRD-202400426 

Leigh Tomlin 
Associate General Counsel 
Texas Forensic Science Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-0661 

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 20. TEXAS WORKFORCE 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 813. SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION 
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM EMPLOYMENT AND 
TRAINING 
The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) proposes amend-
ments to the following sections of Chapter 813, relating to 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment and 
Training (SNAP E&T): 
PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 

The purpose of the proposed Chapter 813 rule change is to 
amend rule language to conform with SNAP provisions of the 
Fiscal Responsibility Act of 2023, revise references to the case 
management system, and update the allowable activities for 
able-bodied adults without dependents (ABAWDs). 
Texas Government Code §2001.039 requires that every four 
years each state agency review and consider for readoption, 
revision, or repeal each rule adopted by that agency. TWC 
has conducted a rule review of Chapter 813, Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program Employment and Training, and 
any resulting changes are described in Part II of this preamble. 
PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS 

(Note: Minor editorial changes are made that do not change the 
meaning of the rules and, therefore, are not discussed in the 
Explanation of Individual Provisions.) 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter A: 
§813.1. Purpose 

Section 813.1 updates the SNAP purpose to align with the Fiscal 
Responsibility Act of 2023. 
§813.2. Definitions 

Section 813.2 extends the age range of ABAWDs to align with 
the Fiscal Responsibility Act of 2023. 
§813.5. Documentation, Verification, and Supervision of Work 
Activities 

Section 813.5 updates language related to TWC's case manage-
ment system. 
SUBCHAPTER D. ALLOWABLE ACTIVITIES 

TWC proposes the following amendments to Subchapter D: 
§813.32. SNAP E&T Activities for ABAWDs 

Section 813.32 adds work experience as an allowable activity for 
ABAWDs. 
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PART III. IMPACT STATEMENTS 

Chris Nelson, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for 
each year of the first five years the rules will be in effect, the 
following statements will apply: 
There are no additional estimated costs to the state and to local 
governments expected as a result of enforcing or administering 
the rules. 
There are no estimated cost reductions to the state and to local 
governments as a result of enforcing or administering the rules. 
There are no estimated losses or increases in revenue to the 
state or to local governments as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the rules. 
There are no foreseeable implications relating to costs or rev-
enue of the state or local governments as a result of enforcing 
or administering the rules. 
There are no anticipated economic costs to individuals required 
to comply with the rules. 
There is no anticipated adverse economic impact on small busi-
nesses, microbusinesses, or rural communities as a result of en-
forcing or administering the rules. 
Based on the analyses required by Texas Government Code 
§2001.024, TWC has determined that the requirement to re-
peal or amend a rule, as required by Texas Government Code 
§2001.0045, does not apply to this rulemaking. 
Takings Impact Assessment 
Under Texas Government Code §2007.002(5), "taking" means a 
governmental action that affects private real property, in whole or 
in part or temporarily or permanently, in a manner that requires 
the governmental entity to compensate the private real property 
owner as provided by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to 
the US Constitution or the Texas Constitution, §17 or §19, Ar-
ticle I, or restricts or limits the owner's right to the property that 
would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental action, 
and is the producing cause of a reduction of at least 25 percent 
in the market value of the affected private real property, deter-
mined by comparing the market value of the property as if the 
governmental action is not in effect and the market value of the 
property determined as if the governmental action is in effect. 
TWC completed a Takings Impact Assessment for the proposed 
rulemaking action under Texas Government Code §2007.043. 
The primary purpose of this proposed rulemaking action, as dis-
cussed elsewhere in this preamble, is to amend the Chapter 813 
SNAP E&T rules to conform with the Fiscal Responsibility Act of 
2023, revise references to the case management system, and 
update the allowable activities for ABAWDs. 
The proposed rulemaking action will not create any additional 
burden on private real property or affect private real property in 
a manner that would require compensation to private real prop-
erty owners under the US Constitution or the Texas Constitution. 
The proposal also will not affect private real property in a man-
ner that restricts or limits an owner's right to the property that 
would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental ac-
tion. Therefore, the proposed rulemaking will not cause a taking 
under Texas Government Code Chapter 2007. 
Government Growth Impact Statement 
TWC has determined that during the first five years the rules will 
be in effect, they: 

--will not create or eliminate a government program; 
--will not require the creation or elimination of employee posi-
tions; 
--will not require an increase or decrease in future legislative ap-
propriations to TWC; 
--will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid to TWC; 
--will not create a new regulation; 
--will not expand, limit, or eliminate an existing regulation; 
--will not change the number of individuals subject to the rules; 
and 

--will not positively or adversely affect the state's economy. 
Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

TWC has determined that the rules will not have an adverse eco-
nomic impact on small businesses or rural communities, as the 
proposed rules place no requirements on small businesses or 
rural communities. 
Mariana Vega, Director, Labor Market Information, has deter-
mined that there is not a significant negative impact upon em-
ployment conditions in the state as a result of the rules. 
Courtney Arbour, Director, Workforce Development Division, has 
determined that for each year of the first five years the rules are 
in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing 
the proposed rules will be to align Chapter 813 rules with federal 
legislation. 
TWC hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by 
legal counsel and found to be within TWC's legal authority to 
adopt. 
PART IV. COORDINATION ACTIVITIES 

This rulemaking is in direct response to SNAP provisions added 
by the Fiscal Responsibility Act of 2023. The federal action made 
it necessary for TWC to amend Chapter 813 to conform with the 
updated federal rules. 
PART V. PUBLIC COMMENTS 

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted to TWCPoli-
cyComments@twc.texas.gov and must be received no later than 
March 18, 2024. 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
40 TAC §§813.1, 813.2, 813.5 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The rules are proposed under the authority of Texas Labor Code 
§301.0015 and §302.002(d), which provide TWC with the author-
ity to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of TWC services and activities. 
The proposed rules implement provisions of the federal Fiscal 
Responsibility Act of 2023 by making conforming changes 
to TWC rules regarding Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program Employment and Training. 
§813.1. Purpose. 

The purpose of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employ-
ment and Training (SNAP E&T) activities and support services is to 
assist SNAP recipients who are not receiving Temporary Assistance 
for Needy Families in entering employment and increasing their earn-
ings through participation in allowable job search, training, education, 
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or workfare activities that promote self-sufficiency. These rules may 
be cited as the SNAP E&T rules. 

§813.2. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) ABAWD--a SNAP household member who is deter-
mined by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission to be a 
mandatory work registrant and is: 

(A) classified as an able-bodied adult; 

(B) within the age range specified in 7 USC §2015(o)(3) 
[at least 18 but less than 50 years of age]; 

(C) without dependents; and 

(D) subject to a limitation on the receipt of SNAP ben-
efits for three months out of 36 months if the person does not work at 
least 20 hours per week or participate in employment and training ac-
tivities as specified in 7 USC [U.S.C.] §2015(o)(2)(A) - (B). 

(2) Exempt recipient--an individual who is part of the Gen-
eral Population, is not required to participate in SNAP E&T services, 
as set forth in 7 USC [U.S.C.] §2015(d)(2), and shall not be sanctioned 
for failure to cooperate with SNAP E&T requirements as set forth in 
§813.12 of this chapter. 

(3) Full-service counties--counties in which Boards ensure 
that: 

(A) ABAWDs, who are not working at least 20 hours 
per week, are outreached and receive SNAP E&T services; 

(B) the SNAP E&T General Population receives SNAP 
E&T services based on available funding; 

(C) mandatory work registrants shall be sanctioned 
(that is [i.e.], SNAP benefits are denied) for failure to cooperate with 
SNAP E&T requirements; and 

(D) exempt recipients who voluntarily participate in 
SNAP E&T services shall not be sanctioned for failure to cooperate 
with SNAP E&T requirements. 

(4) General Population--a mandatory or exempt SNAP 
household member who is: 

(A) at least 16 but less than 60 years of age; and 

(B) not classified as an ABAWD. 

(5) HHSC--the Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission. 

(6) Mandatory work registrant--a SNAP household mem-
ber who is required to register for SNAP E&T services, and is: 

(A) classified as General Population; or 

(B) an ABAWD. 

(7) Minimum-service counties--counties in which: 

(A) SNAP recipients (that is [i.e.], mandatory or ex-
empt) may volunteer to participate in SNAP E&T services; 

(B) Boards may provide services to SNAP recipients 
based on available funds; 

(C) outreach is not conducted; and 

(D) SNAP recipients (that is [i.e.], mandatory or ex-
empt) who voluntarily participate in SNAP E&T services shall not be 
sanctioned for failure to cooperate with SNAP E&T requirements. 

(8) Nonprofit organization--any corporation, trust, associ-
ation, cooperative, or other organization that is operated primarily for 
scientific, educational service, charitable, or similar purpose in the pub-
lic interest; is not organized primarily for profit; and uses its net pro-
ceeds to maintain, improve, or expand its operations. 

(9) SNAP E&T activities--Supplemental Nutrition Assis-
tance Program Employment and Training activities as specified in 
§813.31 of this chapter. 

(10) SNAP E&T support services--Supplemental Nutri-
tion Assistance Program Employment and Training support services 
as specified in §813.41 of this chapter. 

(11) Volunteer--an individual who is not required to partic-
ipate, but who voluntarily participates, in SNAP E&T services, includ-
ing: 

(A) exempt recipients in full-service counties; and 

(B) exempt recipients and mandatory work registrants 
in minimum-service counties. 

(12) Workfare--a work-based activity that consists of 
placement of an ABAWD with a public or private nonprofit entity in 
an unpaid job assignment for the number of hours per month equal to 
an ABAWD's monthly household SNAP allotment amount divided by 
the federal minimum wage. 

§813.5. Documentation, Verification, and Supervision of Work Activ-
ities. 

(a) A Board shall ensure that all required information related 
to the documentation and verification of participation in SNAP E&T 
work activities, as described in this section, is documented in the case 
management system [The Workforce Information System of Texas 
(TWIST)]. 

(b) A Board shall ensure that all participation in SNAP E&T 
is verified and documented and that self-attestation is not allowed. 

(c) For the activity described in §813.31(5) of this chapter, 
Boards shall ensure that all participation is verified and documented 
in the case management system [TWIST] at least monthly. 

(d) For the activities described in §813.31(1) and (4) and 
§813.32(a)(4) of this chapter, Boards shall ensure that all participation 
is: 

(1) supervised daily; and 

(2) verified and documented in the case management sys-
tem [TWIST] at least monthly. 

(e) For the activities described in §813.31(2) and (3) of this 
chapter, Boards shall ensure that: 

(1) no more than one hour of unsupervised study or home-
work time per each hour of class time is counted toward participation 
in SNAP E&T; 

(2) all study and homework time in excess of one hour per 
hour of class time is directly monitored, supervised, verified, and doc-
umented; 

(3) study or homework time is only counted toward partic-
ipation in SNAP E&T if: 

(A) the study or homework time is directly correlated 
to the demands of the coursework for out-of-class preparation as de-
scribed by the educational institution; and 

(B) the educational institution's policy requires a certain 
number of out-of-class preparation hours for the class; 
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(4) good or satisfactory progress, as determined by the edu-
cational institution, is verified and documented in the case management 
system [TWIST] at least monthly; 

(5) all participation in SNAP E&T is supervised daily; and 

(6) all participation in SNAP E&T is verified and docu-
mented in the case management system [TWIST] at least monthly. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 30, 
2024. 
TRD-202400334 
Les Trobman 
General Counsel 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 850-8356 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER D. ALLOWABLE ACTIVITIES 
40 TAC §813.32 

The rules are proposed under the authority of Texas Labor Code 
§301.0015 and §302.002(d), which provide TWC with the author-
ity to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of TWC services and activities. 
The proposed rules implement provisions of the federal Fiscal 
Responsibility Act of 2023 by making conforming changes 
to TWC rules regarding Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program Employment and Training. 
§813.32. SNAP E&T Activities for ABAWDs. 

(a) Boards shall ensure that SNAP E&T activities for 
ABAWDs are limited to participating in the following: 

(1) Services or activities under the Trade Act of 1974, as 
amended by the Trade Act of 2002 

(2) Activities under Workforce Innovation and Opportu-
nity Act (29 USC §3111 et seq.) 

(3) Education and training, which may include: 

(A) vocational training as described in §813.31(2) of 
this subchapter; or 

(B) nonvocational education as described in §813.31(3) 
of this subchapter; and 

(4) Workfare activities that shall: 

(A) be designed to improve the employability of 
ABAWDs through actual employment experience or training, or both; 

(B) be unpaid job assignments based in the public or 
private nonprofit sectors; 

(C) have hourly requirements based on the ABAWD's 
monthly household SNAP allotment divided by the number of 
ABAWDs in the SNAP household, as provided by HHSC and then 
divided by the federal minimum wage; and 

(D) include a four-week job search period before place-
ment in a workfare activity. 

(5) Work experience as described in §813.31(4) of this sub-
chapter. 

(b) Boards shall ensure that ABAWDs who are referred to 
a Workforce Solutions Office and subsequently become engaged 
in unsubsidized employment for at least 20 hours per week are not 
required to continue participation in SNAP E&T services because 
they have fulfilled their work requirement, as described in 7 USC 
§2015(o)(2)(A). Additionally, Boards shall ensure that HHSC is 
notified when ABAWDs obtain employment. 

(c) An employment and training program for veterans oper-
ated by the US Department of Labor or the US Department of Veterans 
Affairs, as tracked by HHSC, is an allowable SNAP E&T activity for 
ABAWDs. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 30, 
2024. 
TRD-202400335 
Les Trobman 
General Counsel 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 17, 2024 
For further information, please call: (512) 850-8356 
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